...... moves to amend H.F. No. 1684, the delete everything amendment 1.1 (H1684DE2), as follows: 1.2 1.3 Page 18, delete lines 9 to 13 and insert: "(b) Vehicle Services 37,480,000 35,716,000 1.4 Appropriations by Fund 1.5 2022 2023 1.6 29,244,000 1.7 Special Revenue 27,480,000 H.U.T.D. 8,236,000 8,236,000" 1.8 Page 18, after line 17, insert: 1.9 1.10 "\$221,000 in fiscal year 2022 and \$198,000 in fiscal year 2023 from the vehicle services 1.11 operating account in the special revenue fund 1.12 are for one additional vehicle inspection site, 1.13 including the costs of equipment and staff." 1.14 Page 70, after line 10, insert: 1.15 "Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, subdivision 6a, is amended to read: 1.16 Subd. 6a. High-value vehicle. "High-value vehicle" means a vehicle that had an actual 1.17 cash value in excess of \$9,000 \$7,000 before being damaged, or a vehicle with a 1.18 manufacturer's rating of over 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight that is not a late-model 1.19 vehicle. 1.20 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2023. 1.21

Sec. 28.

04/06/21 07:06 pm HOUSE RESEARCH MB/JF H1684A5

Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, subdivision 8a, is amended to read: 2.1 Subd. 8a. Late-model vehicle. "Late-model vehicle" means a vehicle with a 2.2 manufacturer's designated model year equal to or greater more recent than the fifth seventh 2.3 calendar year immediately preceding the current calendar year. 2.4 2.5 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2023." Page 71, after line 13, insert: 2.6 "Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.151, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 2.7 Subdivision 1. Salvage titles. (a) When an insurer, licensed to conduct business in 2.8 Minnesota, acquires ownership of a late-model or high-value vehicle through payment of 2.9 damages, the insurer shall immediately apply for a salvage certificate of title or shall stamp 2.10 the existing certificate of title with the legend "SALVAGE CERTIFICATE OF TITLE" in 2.11 a manner prescribed by the department. Within ten days of obtaining the title of a vehicle 2.12 2.13 through payment of damages, an insurer must notify the department in a manner prescribed by the department, and must identify the nature of the damage to the vehicle, including 2.14 whether the damage was due to: 2.15 2.16 (1) flood; (2) hail; 2.17 (3) fire; or 2.18 2.19 (4) collision. (b) A person shall immediately apply for a salvage certificate of title if the person acquires 2.20 a damaged late-model or high-value vehicle with an out-of-state title and the vehicle: 2.21 (1) is a vehicle that was acquired by an insurer through payment of damages; 2.22 (2) is a vehicle for which the cost of repairs exceeds the value of the damaged vehicle; 2.23 or 2.24 (3) has an out-of-state salvage certificate of title as proof of ownership. 2.25 (c) A self-insured owner of a late-model or high-value vehicle that sustains damage by 2.26 collision or other occurrence which exceeds 80 percent of its actual cash value shall 2.27 immediately apply for a salvage certificate of title. 2.28 (d) A person who retains ownership of a late-model or high-value motor vehicle and 2.29

receives a total loss settlement from an insurance company, must immediately apply for a

Sec. 32. 2

salvage certificate of title.

2.30

2.31

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, and applies to: (1) a vehicle subject to this section that is acquired on or after that date; (2) a vehicle that sustains damage by collision as described in paragraph (c) on or after that date; or (3) a vehicle for which a person receives a total loss settlement as described in paragraph (d) on or after that date."

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references

3.1

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

Sec. 32. 3