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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 2497, the first engrossment, as follows:1.1

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:1.2

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 144D.01, subdivision 4, is amended to1.3

read:1.4

Subd. 4. Housing with services establishment or establishment. (a) "Housing1.5

with services establishment" or "establishment" means:1.6

(1) an establishment providing sleeping accommodations to one or more adult1.7

residents, at least 80 percent of which are 55 years of age or older, and offering or1.8

providing, for a fee, one or more regularly scheduled health-related services or two or1.9

more regularly scheduled supportive services, whether offered or provided directly by the1.10

establishment or by another entity arranged for by the establishment; or1.11

(2) an establishment that registers under section 144D.025.1.12

(b) Housing with services establishment does not include:1.13

(1) a nursing home licensed under chapter 144A;1.14

(2) a hospital, certified boarding care home, or supervised living facility licensed1.15

under sections 144.50 to 144.56;1.16

(3) a board and lodging establishment licensed under chapter 157 and Minnesota1.17

Rules, parts 9520.0500 to 9520.0670, 9525.0215 to 9525.0355, 9525.0500 to 9525.0660,1.18

or 9530.4100 to 9530.4450, or under chapter 245D;1.19

(4) a board and lodging establishment which serves as a shelter for battered women1.20

or other similar purpose;1.21

(5) a family adult foster care home licensed by the Department of Human Services;1.22

(6) private homes in which the residents are related by kinship, law, or affinity with1.23

the providers of services;1.24

(7) residential settings for persons with developmental disabilities in which the1.25

services are licensed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.2100 to 9525.2140, or applicable1.26

successor rules or laws;1.27
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(8) a home-sharing arrangement such as when an elderly or disabled person or2.1

single-parent family makes lodging in a private residence available to another person2.2

in exchange for services or rent, or both;2.3

(9) a duly organized condominium, cooperative, common interest community, or2.4

owners' association of the foregoing where at least 80 percent of the units that comprise the2.5

condominium, cooperative, or common interest community are occupied by individuals2.6

who are the owners, members, or shareholders of the units; or2.7

(10) services for persons with developmental disabilities that are provided under2.8

a license according to Minnesota Rules, parts 9525.2000 to 9525.2140 in effect until2.9

January 1, 1998, or under chapter 245D; or2.10

(11) a temporary family health care dwelling as defined in sections 394.307 and2.11

462.3593.2.12

Sec. 2. [394.307] TEMPORARY FAMILY HEALTH CARE DWELLINGS.2.13

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms2.14

have the meanings given.2.15

(b) "Caregiver" means an individual 18 years of age or older who:2.16

(1) provides care for a mentally or physically impaired person; and2.17

(2) is a relative, legal guardian, or health care agent of the mentally or physically2.18

impaired person for whom the individual is caring.2.19

(c) "Instrumental activities of daily living" has the meaning given in section2.20

256B.0659, subdivision 1, paragraph (i).2.21

(d) "Mentally or physically impaired person" means a person who is a resident of2.22

this state and who requires assistance with two or more instrumental activities of daily2.23

living as certified in writing by a physician or a physician assistant licensed to practice in2.24

this state, or a certified nurse practitioner.2.25

(e) "Relative" means a spouse, parent, child, grandchild, sibling, uncle, aunt,2.26

nephew, or niece of the mentally or physically impaired person. Relative includes half,2.27

step, and in-law relationships.2.28

(f) "Temporary family health care dwelling" or "dwelling" means a mobile2.29

residential dwelling providing an environment facilitating a caregiver's provision of care2.30

for a mentally or physically impaired person that meets the requirements of subdivision 2.2.31

Subd. 2. Temporary family health care dwelling. A temporary family health2.32

care dwelling must:2.33

(1) be primarily assembled at a location other than its site of installation;2.34

(2) be no more than 300 gross square feet;2.35
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(3) not be attached to a permanent foundation;3.1

(4) be universally designed and meet state-recognized accessibility standards;3.2

(5) provide access to water, sewer, and electric utilities either by connecting to the3.3

utilities that are serving the principal dwelling on the lot or by other comparable means;3.4

(6) have exterior materials that are compatible in composition, appearance, and3.5

durability to the exterior materials used in standard residential construction;3.6

(7) have a minimum insulation rating of R-15;3.7

(8) be able to be installed, removed, and transported by a one-ton pickup truck as3.8

defined in section 168.002, subdivision 21b;3.9

(9) be built to American National Standards Institute Code 119.2; and3.10

(10) be equipped with a backflow check valve.3.11

Subd. 3. Temporary conditional use; application. (a) Unless the county has3.12

designated temporary health care dwellings as permitted uses, a temporary health care3.13

dwelling is a temporary conditional use subject to the provisions in this section. A3.14

temporary family health care dwelling that meets the requirements of this section as a3.15

temporary conditional use cannot be prohibited under any other local ordinance regulating3.16

accessory uses or recreational vehicle parking or storage.3.17

(b) The caregiver or relative must get a temporary conditional use permit from the3.18

county. The permit application must be signed by the primary caregiver and the owner3.19

of the property on which the dwelling will be located, and the resident of the property3.20

if different from the owner, and include:3.21

(1) the name, address, and telephone number of the property owner, the resident of3.22

the property if different from the owner, and the primary caregiver responsible for the care3.23

of the mentally or physically impaired person, and the name of the mentally or physically3.24

impaired person who will live in the dwelling;3.25

(2) proof of the provider network from which the mentally or physically impaired3.26

person may receive respite care, primary care, or remote patient monitoring services;3.27

(3) an executed contract for septic service management or other proof of adequate3.28

septic service management;3.29

(4) an affidavit that the applicants have provided notice to adjacent property owners3.30

and residents of the application for the temporary conditional use permit; and3.31

(5) a general site map to show the location of the dwelling and other structures3.32

on the lot.3.33

(c) The temporary family health care dwelling must be located on property where3.34

the caregiver or relative resides. A dwelling must comply with all setback requirements3.35

that apply to the primary structure and with any maximum floor area ratio limitations3.36
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that may apply to the primary structure. The dwelling must be located on the lot so that4.1

septic services and emergency vehicles can gain access to the dwelling in a safe and4.2

timely manner.4.3

(d) A temporary family health care dwelling is limited to one occupant who is4.4

identified in the application and only one temporary health care dwelling is allowed on a lot.4.5

(e) Unless otherwise provided, a temporary family health care dwelling installed4.6

under this section must comply with all applicable state law, local ordinances, and other4.7

requirements.4.8

Subd. 4. Initial permit term; renewal. The initial temporary conditional use permit4.9

is valid for six months. The applicant may renew the permit once for an additional six4.10

months, or a longer period of time negotiated between the applicant and the county.4.11

Subd. 5. Inspection. The county may require that the permit holder provide4.12

evidence of compliance with this section as long as the temporary family health care4.13

dwelling remains on the property. The county may inspect the dwelling at reasonable4.14

times convenient to the caregiver to determine if the dwelling is occupied and meeting4.15

the requirements of this section.4.16

Subd. 6. Revocation of permit. The county may revoke the temporary conditional4.17

use permit if the permit holder violates any requirement of this section. If the county4.18

revokes a permit, the permit holder has 60 days from the date of revocation to remove4.19

the temporary family health care dwelling.4.20

Subd. 7. Fee. Unless otherwise provided by ordinance, the county may charge a fee4.21

of up to $100 for the initial permit and up to $50 for a renewal of the permit.4.22

Subd. 8. No public hearing required; application of section 15.99. (a) Due to the4.23

time-sensitive nature of issuing a temporary conditional use for a temporary family health4.24

care dwelling, the county does not have to hold a public hearing on the request.4.25

(b) The procedures governing the time limit for deciding an application for the4.26

temporary conditional use permit under this section are governed by section 15.99, except4.27

that a county has 15 days to issue a permit requested under this section or to deny it. If the4.28

county receives a written request that does not contain all required information, the 15-day4.29

limit starts over only if the county sends written notice within five business days of receipt4.30

of the request telling the requester what information is missing. Notwithstanding section4.31

15.99, subdivision 3, paragraph (f), the county cannot extend the period of time to decide.4.32

Subd. 9. Opt-out. A county may by resolution opt-out of the requirements of4.33

this section.4.34
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment5.1

and applies to temporary conditional use permit applications made under this section5.2

on or after that date.5.3

Sec. 3. [462.3593] TEMPORARY FAMILY HEALTH CARE DWELLINGS.5.4

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms5.5

have the meanings given.5.6

(b) "Caregiver" means an individual 18 years of age or older who:5.7

(1) provides care for a mentally or physically impaired person; and5.8

(2) is a relative, legal guardian, or health care agent of the mentally or physically5.9

impaired person for whom the individual is caring.5.10

(c) "Instrumental activities of daily living" has the meaning given in section5.11

256B.0659, subdivision 1, paragraph (i).5.12

(d) "Mentally or physically impaired person" means a person who is a resident of5.13

this state and who requires assistance with two or more instrumental activities of daily5.14

living as certified in writing by a physician or physician assistant licensed to practice in5.15

this state, or a certified nurse practitioner.5.16

(e) "Relative" means a spouse, parent, child, grandchild, sibling, uncle, aunt,5.17

nephew, or niece of the mentally or physically impaired person. Relative includes half,5.18

step, and in-law relationships.5.19

(f) "Temporary family health care dwelling" or "dwelling" means a mobile5.20

residential dwelling providing an environment facilitating a caregiver's provision of care5.21

for a mentally or physically impaired person that meets the requirements of subdivision 2.5.22

Subd. 2. Temporary family health care dwelling. A temporary family health5.23

care dwelling must:5.24

(1) be primarily assembled at a location other than its site of installation;5.25

(2) be no more than 300 gross square feet;5.26

(3) not be attached to a permanent foundation;5.27

(4) be universally designed and meet state-recognized accessibility standards;5.28

(5) provide access to water, sewer, and electric utilities either by connecting to the5.29

utilities that are serving the principal dwelling on the lot or by other comparable means;5.30

(6) have exterior materials that are compatible in composition, appearance, and5.31

durability to the exterior materials used in standard residential construction;5.32

(7) have a minimum insulation rating of R-15;5.33

(8) be able to be installed, removed, and transported by a one-ton pickup truck as5.34

defined in section 168.002, subdivision 21b;5.35
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(9) be built to American National Standards Institute Code 119.2; and6.1

(10) be equipped with a backflow check valve.6.2

Subd. 3. Temporary conditional use; application. (a) Unless the municipality6.3

has designated temporary health care dwellings as permitted uses, a temporary health6.4

care dwelling is a temporary conditional use subject to the provisions in this section. A6.5

temporary family health care dwelling that meets the requirements of this section as a6.6

temporary conditional use cannot be prohibited under any other local ordinance regulating6.7

accessory uses or recreational vehicle parking or storage.6.8

(b) The caregiver or relative must get a temporary conditional use permit from6.9

the municipality. The permit application must be signed by the primary caregiver and6.10

the owner of the property on which the dwelling will be located, and the resident of the6.11

property if different from the owner, and include:6.12

(1) the name, address, and telephone number of the property owner, the resident of6.13

the property if different from the owner, and the primary caregiver responsible for the care6.14

of the mentally or physically impaired person, and the name of the mentally or physically6.15

impaired person who will live in the dwelling;6.16

(2) proof of the provider network from which the mentally or physically impaired6.17

person may receive respite care, primary care, or remote patient monitoring services;6.18

(3) an executed contract for septic service management or other proof of adequate6.19

septic service management;6.20

(4) an affidavit that the applicants have provided notice to adjacent property owners6.21

and residents of the application for the temporary conditional use permit; and6.22

(5) a general site map to show the location of the dwelling and other structures6.23

on the lot.6.24

(c) The temporary family health care dwelling must be located on property where6.25

the caregiver or relative resides. A dwelling must comply with all setback requirements6.26

that apply to the primary structure and with any maximum floor area ratio limitations6.27

that may apply to the primary structure. The dwelling must be located on the lot so that6.28

septic services and emergency vehicles can gain access to the dwelling in a safe and6.29

timely manner.6.30

(d) A temporary family health care dwelling is limited to one occupant who is6.31

identified in the application and only one temporary health care dwelling is allowed on a lot.6.32

(e) Unless otherwise provided, a temporary family health care dwelling installed6.33

under this section must comply with all applicable state law, local ordinances, and other6.34

requirements.6.35
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Subd. 4. Initial permit term; renewal. The initial temporary conditional use permit7.1

is valid for six months. The applicant may renew the permit once for an additional six7.2

months, or a longer period of time negotiated between the applicant and the municipality.7.3

Subd. 5. Inspection. The municipality may require that the permit holder provide7.4

evidence of compliance with this section as long as the temporary family health care7.5

dwelling remains on the property. The municipality may inspect the dwelling at reasonable7.6

times convenient to the caregiver to determine if the dwelling is occupied and meeting7.7

the requirements of this section.7.8

Subd. 6. Revocation of permit. The municipality may revoke the temporary7.9

conditional use permit if the permit holder violates any requirement of this section. If the7.10

municipality revokes a permit, the permit holder has 60 days from the date of revocation7.11

to remove the temporary family health care dwelling.7.12

Subd. 7. Fee. Unless otherwise provided by ordinance, the municipality may charge7.13

a fee of up to $100 for the initial permit and up to $50 for a renewal of the permit.7.14

Subd. 8. No public hearing required; application of section 15.99. (a) Due to the7.15

time-sensitive nature of issuing a temporary conditional use for a temporary family health7.16

care dwelling, the municipality does not have to hold a public hearing on the request.7.17

(b) The procedures governing the time limit for deciding an application for the7.18

temporary conditional use permit under this section are governed by section 15.99,7.19

except that a municipality has 15 days to issue a permit requested under this section or to7.20

deny it. If the municipality receives a written request that does not contain all required7.21

information, the 15-day limit starts over only if the municipality sends written notice7.22

within five business days of receipt of the request telling the requester what information is7.23

missing. Notwithstanding section 15.99, subdivision 3, paragraph (f), the municipality7.24

cannot extend the period of time to decide.7.25

Subd. 9. Opt-out. A municipality may by resolution opt-out of the requirements7.26

of this section.7.27

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment7.28

and applies to temporary conditional use permit applications made under this section on7.29

or after that date."7.30

Amend the title accordingly7.31
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