A guide to Minnesota's Child Labor Standards Act

MINORS UNDER 16 MAY NOT WORK

e During the school year:
—later than 7 p.m.;
—more than three hours a day; or
—more than 18 hours a week.

e During the school year:
—later than 9 p.m.;
— more than three hours a day; or
—more than 18 hours a week or after 9 p.m., with

the exception of a newspaper carrier

e For more than 40 hours a week or more than eight
hours per 24-hour period, except in agricultural
operations

» During school hours on school days without an
employment certificate issued by the appropriate
school officials

16- AND 17-YEAR-OLDS MAY NOT WORK

» tater than 11 p.m. on evenings before school days
or before 5 a.m. on school days. With written
permission from a parent or guardian, these hours
may be expanded to 11:30 p.m. and 4:30 a.m.

Note: If employers are covered by state and federal
requirements, both laws must be followed.

MINIMUM AGE

A minor younger than 14 years of age } FA l

may not be employed, except: e

* asanewspaper carrier, if at least 11
years of age;

* inagriculture, if at least 12 years of age and with
parent or guardian consent;

* asan actor or model; or

® as ayouth athletic program referee, if at least 11
years of age and with parent or guardian consent.

PROOF OF AGE N
A minor's proof of age must be maintained \
as part of the payroll records. Acceptable

proof is one of the following: a copy of a

birth certificate; a copy of a driver’s license

or permit; an age certificate issued by the
school; or an I-9.

@

PROHIBITED OCCUPATIONS FOR MINORS

Minors cannot work in the following capacities:

e serving liquor;

e working with hazardous materials such as explosives;

= operating power-driven machinery, including motor
vehicles; and

® on or about construction sites.

A detailed list of prohibited work for minors can be
found in Minnesota Rules 5200.0910 and 5200.0920.

PENALTIES FOR VIOLATION OF CHILD LABOR STANDARDS ACT

An employer that fails to comply with provisions of the Minnesota Child Labor Standards Act will be subject to
penalties under Minnesota Statutes §181A.12. Penalties range in amount from $250 to $5,000 for each violation.
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February 11, 2019

Representative Cheryl Youakim

Chair, House Education Policy

591 State Office Building

100 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd
St. Paul, MN 55155

Dear Representative Youakim,

On behalf of the Minnesota Grocers Association, | am writing this letter to voice our
opposition to a provision in H.F. 314 that allows school districts to start classes before
Labor Day.

Minnesota is a state full of tradition. There is nothing more Minnesotan than spending time with
the entire family “up north” or “at the lake.” These traditions are so embedded in our culture that
entire portions of the economy rely on these tourism dollars to continue providing jobs and
economic growth to local communities. The retail food industry is one of these industries.

Greater Minnesota grocery stores rely heavily on employing high school students during the
busy summer months. With a shortened tourism season and various back to school dates,
stores will not have the employment pool necessary to meet demand. The legislature would do
a great disservice by limiting valuable first time employment opportunities for our youth.

In today's new economy, it is hard enough for local grocers to survive while providing services
to consumers, stable careers and benefits to the community. Starting school early would only
add to that stress. Please keep Minnesota’s school schedule working in its traditional manner.

I look forward to working with you or any of the members of your committee on this important
issue. If | can be of any assistance to you on this or any other legislative matter, please do not
hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

Jamie Pfuhl
President

The Minnesota Grocers Association (MGA) is the only state trade association that represents the food industry of
Minnesota from farm to fork. We are one of the oldest trade assaciations in the state, celebrating over 120 years of
advaricing industry. We have over 300 retail, manufacture, and wholesale members supporting nearly 1,300 locations
statewide. Our member companies employ over 150,000 union and non-union Minnesotans. We actively advance the
common interest of all those engaged in any aspect of the retail food industry as a leader and advocate in
govemment affairs



