1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 2048 as follows:
1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245A.50, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
1.4	Subd. 3. First aid. (a) When children are present in a family child care home governed
1.5	by Minnesota Rules, parts 9502.0315 to 9502.0445, at least one staff person must be present
1.6	in the home who has been trained in first aid. The first aid training must have been provided
1.7	by an individual approved to provide first aid instruction. First aid training may be less than
1.8	eight hours and persons qualified to provide first aid training include individuals approved
1.9	as first aid instructors. First aid training must be repeated every two years before the license
1.10	holder's license expires in the second year after the prior first aid training.
1.11	(b) A family child care provider is exempt from the first aid training requirements under
1.12	this subdivision related to any substitute caregiver who provides less than 30 hours of care
1.13	during any 12-month period.
1.14	(c) Video training reviewed and approved by the county licensing agency satisfies the
1.15	training requirement of this subdivision.
1.16	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 30, 2019.
1.17	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245A.50, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
1.18	Subd. 4. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation. (a) When children are present in a family
1.19	child care home governed by Minnesota Rules, parts 9502.0315 to 9502.0445, at least one
1.20	caregiver must be present in the home who has been trained in cardiopulmonary resuscitation

1.21 (CPR), including CPR techniques for infants and children, and in the treatment of obstructed

- 1.22 airways. The CPR training must have been provided by an individual approved to provide
- 1.23 CPR instruction, must be repeated at least once every two years before the license holder's

03/14/19 02:44 pm

2.1 license expires in the second year after the prior CPR training, and must be documented in
2.2 the caregiver's records.

(b) A family child care provider is exempt from the CPR training requirement in this
subdivision related to any substitute caregiver who provides less than 30 hours of care during
any 12-month period.

2.6 (c) Persons providing CPR training must use CPR training that has been developed:

2.7 (1) by the American Heart Association or the American Red Cross and incorporates
2.8 psychomotor skills to support the instruction; or

2.9 (2) using nationally recognized, evidence-based guidelines for CPR training and
 2.10 incorporates psychomotor skills to support the instruction.

2.11 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective September 30, 2019.

2.12 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245A.50, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma training. (a) 2.13 License holders must document that before staff persons, caregivers, and helpers assist in 2.14 the care of infants, they are instructed on the standards in section 245A.1435 and receive 2.15 training on reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death. In addition, license holders 2.16 must document that before staff persons, caregivers, and helpers assist in the care of infants 2.17 and children under school age, they receive training on reducing the risk of abusive head 2.18 trauma from shaking infants and young children. The training in this subdivision may be 2.19 provided as initial training under subdivision 1 or ongoing annual training under subdivision 2.20 7. 2.21

(b) Sudden unexpected infant death reduction training required under this subdivision
must, at a minimum, address the risk factors related to sudden unexpected infant death,
means of reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant death in child care, and license
holder communication with parents regarding reducing the risk of sudden unexpected infant
death.

(c) Abusive head trauma training required under this subdivision must, at a minimum,
address the risk factors related to shaking infants and young children, means of reducing
the risk of abusive head trauma in child care, and license holder communication with parents
regarding reducing the risk of abusive head trauma.

(d) Training for family and group family child care providers must be developed by thecommissioner in conjunction with the Minnesota Sudden Infant Death Center and approved

2

03/14/19 02:44 pm

by the Minnesota Center for Professional Development. Sudden unexpected infant death
reduction training and abusive head trauma training may be provided in a single course of
no more than two hours in length.

(e) Sudden unexpected infant death reduction training and abusive head trauma training 3.4 required under this subdivision must be completed in person or as allowed under subdivision 3.5 10, clause (1) or (2), at least once every two years before the license holder's license expires 3.6 in the second year after the prior sudden unexpected infant death reduction training and 3.7 abusive head trauma training. On the years when the license holder is not receiving training 3.8 in person or as allowed under subdivision 10, clause (1) or (2), the license holder must 3.9 receive sudden unexpected infant death reduction training and abusive head trauma training 3.10 through a video of no more than one hour in length. The video must be developed or approved 3.11 by the commissioner. 3.12

(f) An individual who is related to the license holder as defined in section 245A.02,
subdivision 13, and who is involved only in the care of the license holder's own infant or
child under school age and who is not designated to be a caregiver, helper, or substitute, as
defined in Minnesota Rules, part 9502.0315, for the licensed program, is exempt from the
sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head trauma training.

3.18 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective September 30, 2019.

3.19 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245A.50, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

3.20 Subd. 6. Child passenger restraint systems; training requirement. (a) A license
3.21 holder must comply with all seat belt and child passenger restraint system requirements
3.22 under section 169.685.

3.23 (b) Family and group family child care programs licensed by the Department of Human
3.24 Services that serve a child or children under <u>nine eight</u> years of age must document training
3.25 that fulfills the requirements in this subdivision.

(1) Before a license holder, staff person, caregiver, or helper transports a child or children
under age <u>nine eight</u> in a motor vehicle, the person placing the child or children in a passenger
restraint must satisfactorily complete training on the proper use and installation of child
restraint systems in motor vehicles. Training completed under this subdivision may be used
to meet initial training under subdivision 1 or ongoing training under subdivision 7.

3.31 (2) Training required under this subdivision must be at least one hour in length, completed
3.32 at initial training, and repeated at least once every five years before the license holder's
3.33 license expires in the fifth year after the prior child passenger restraint system training. At

3

a minimum, the training must address the proper use of child restraint systems based on the 4.1 child's size, weight, and age, and the proper installation of a car seat or booster seat in the 4.2 motor vehicle used by the license holder to transport the child or children. 4.3

(3) Training under this subdivision must be provided by individuals who are certified 4.4 and approved by the Department of Public Safety, Office of Traffic Safety. License holders 4.5 may obtain a list of certified and approved trainers through the Department of Public Safety 4.6 website or by contacting the agency. 4.7

(c) Child care providers that only transport school-age children as defined in section 4.8 245A.02, subdivision 19, paragraph (f), in child care buses as defined in section 169.448, 4.9 subdivision 1, paragraph (e), are exempt from this subdivision. 4.10

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 30, 2019. 4.11

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 245A.50, subdivision 9, is amended to read: 4.12

4.13 Subd. 9. Supervising for safety; training requirement. (a) Before initial licensure and before caring for a child, all family child care license holders and each adult caregiver who 4.14 provides care in the licensed family child care home for more than 30 days in any 12-month 4.15 period shall complete and document the completion of the six-hour Supervising for Safety 4.16 for Family Child Care course developed by the commissioner. 4.17

4.18 (b) The family child care license holder and each adult caregiver who provides care in the licensed family child care home for more than 30 days in any 12-month period shall 4.19 complete and document: 4.20

(1) the annual completion of a two-hour active supervision course developed by the 4.21 commissioner; and 4.22

(2) the completion at least once every five years before the license holder's license expires 4.23 in the fifth year after the prior supervising for safety training of the two-hour courses Health 4.24 and Safety I and Health and Safety II. A license holder's or adult caregiver's completion of 4.25 either training in a given year meets the annual active supervision training requirement in 4.26 clause (1). 4.27

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 30, 2019." 4.28

Amend the title accordingly 4.29