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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 3784 as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82B.03, is amended by adding a subdivision

to read:

Subd. 4. Minimum damage acquisition report. A real estate appraiser may provide a

minimum damage acquisition report for purposes of section 117.036. When providing a

minimum damage acquisition report, a real estate appraiser is not engaged in real estate

appraisal activity and is not subject to this chapter.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82B.19, is amended by adding a subdivision to

read:

Subd. 5. Out-of-state continuing education credit. (a) For purposes of this subdivision,

the following terms having the meanings given:

(1) "asynchronous educational offering" has the meaning given in the most recent version

of the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria, as established by the Appraiser

Qualifications Board; and

(2) "synchronous educational offering" has the meaning given in the most recent version

of the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria, as established by the Appraiser

Qualifications Board and includes an educational process based on live or real-time

instruction where there is no geographic separation of instructor and student.

(b) Notwithstanding section 45.30, subdivisions 1 and 6, a real estate appraiser may

submit, in a form prescribed by the commissioner, an application for continuing education

credit for a synchronous educational offering that has not been submitted for prior approval

Sec. 2. 1
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in this state. The commissioner must grant a real estate appraiser continuing education credit

(1) the application is submitted on or before August 1 of the year in which the real estate

appraiser license is due for renewal;

(2) the synchronous educational offering has been approved for continuing education

credit by the regulator of real estate appraisers in at least one other state or United States

territory; and

(3) an application is submitted by the real estate appraiser to the commissioner within

30 days of successful completion of the synchronous education offering.

(c) The application must include a certificate of successful completion from the

synchronous education offering provider. The commissioner must grant a real estate appraiser

the same number of continuing education credits for the successful completion of the

synchronous educational offering as was approved for the offering by the out-of-state real

estate appraiser regulatory authority. The commissioner must grant a real estate appraiser

continuing education credit within 60 days of the submission of the completed application

for out-of-state continuing education credit.

(d) The commissioner may charge a fee to a real estate appraiser, in an amount to be

determined by the commissioner, to submit an application under this subdivision.

(e) This subdivision does not apply to asynchronous educational offerings.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 82B.25, subdivision 2, is amended

to read:

Subd. 2. Education. Withintwe-years-ef reeetvingaticenseunder-thischapterand-as
required-by-the- Appraiser Qualifieations Beard; A real property appraiser shall provide to

the commissioner evidence of satisfactory completion of a continuing education course on

the valuation bias of real property. Appraisers licensed after September 1, 2021, must

complete the course required by this section prior to their first license renewal.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 82C.17, subdivision 2, i1s amended to read:

Subd. 2. Evidence. (a) An appraisal management company can evidence that the fees

paid to an appraiser were reasonable and customary through:

(1) objective third-party information, including, but not limited to, government agency

fee schedules or academic studies. An academic study used must exclude appraisal

Sec. 4. 2
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assignments ordered by an appraisal management company-—Fhe-eommissionermay-establish

(2) reviewing each of the following factors and making adjustments to recent fees paid

for appraisal services performed in the market area:
(1) the type of property appraised;
(i1) the scope of the appraisal work;
(ii1) the time in which the appraisal service must be performed;
(iv) appraiser qualifications;
(v) appraiser experience and professional record; and
(vi) appraiser work quality.

(b) The fees paid for a complex appraisal assignment shall reflect the increased time,

difficulty, and scope of work required.

(c) An appraisal management company shall maintain written documentation describing
and substantiating all methods and information used to determine the customary and

reasonable fees required by this section.

Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATE.

Sections 1 to 4 are effective September 1, 2022."

Amend the title accordingly

Sec. 5. 3
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