1.2	Delete everything af	ter the enacting	clause and	d inse	t:	
1.3		",	ARTICLI	E 1		
1.4		APPF	ROPRIAT	TIONS	8	
1.5 1.6	Section 1. <u>LABOR AN APPROPRIATIONS.</u>	D INDUSTRY	AND BU	REAU	J OF MEDIATIO	N SERVICES
1.7	(a) The sums shown	in the columns	marked "A	Appro	priations" are appro	opriated to the
1.8	agencies and for the pur	poses specified	in this arti	icle. T	he appropriations a	are from the
1.9	general fund, or another	named fund, ar	nd are avai	ilable	for the fiscal years	indicated for
1.10	each purpose. The figure	es "2022" and "20	023" used	in this	article mean that th	e appropriations
1.11	listed under them are av	ailable for the fi	iscal year	ending	g June 30, 2022, or	June 30, 2023,
1.12	respectively. "The first y	vear" is fiscal yea	ar 2022. "T	The sec	cond year" is fiscal	year 2023. "The
1.13	biennium" is fiscal year	s 2022 and 2023	<u>3.</u>			
1.14	(b) If an appropriation	on in this article	is enacted	l more	than once in the 2	021 regular or
1.15	special legislative session	on, the appropria	ation must	be gi	ven effect only onc	e.
1.16					APPROPRIAT	TIONS
1.17					Available for th	
1.18					Ending June	
1.19					2022	2023
1.20 1.21	Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT INDUSTRY	Γ OF LABOR A	AND			
1.22	Subdivision 1. Total Ap	opropriation_		<u>\$</u>	33,158,000 \$	33,442,000
1.23	Appropri	ations by Fund				
1.24		2022	2023			
1.25	General	6,320,000	6,604,0	<u>000</u>		

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 1670 as follows:

	04/01/21 11:42 am		HOUSE RESEARC	CH	MJ/JF	H1670DE3
2.1 2.2	Workers' Compensation 23,	,691,000	23,691,000			
2.3 2.4	Workforce Development 3,	,147,000	3,147,000			
2.5	The amounts that may be sp	ent for each				
2.6	purpose are specified in the	following				
2.7	subdivisions.					
2.8	Subd. 2. General Support			6,515,	000	6,515,000
2.9	Appropriation	ns by Fund				
2.10	General	476,000	476,000			
2.11 2.12	Workers' Compensation 6	,039,000	6,039,000			
2.13	\$476,000 each year is for sy	stem upgrad	es.			
2.14	This appropriation is availab	ole until June	e 30 <u>,</u>			
2.15	2023. The base amount in fi	scal year 202	24 is			
2.16	zero. This appropriation incl	ludes funds 1	<u>for</u>			
2.17	information technology proj	ject services	<u>and</u>			
2.18	support subject to Minnesota	a Statutes, see	ction			
2.19	16E.0466. Any ongoing info	ormation				
2.20	technology costs must be inc	corporated in	<u>nto</u>			
2.21	the service level agreement	and must be	paid			
2.22	to the Office of MN.IT Serv	vices by the				
2.23	commissioner of labor and in	ndustry unde	er the			
2.24	rates and mechanism specifi	ied in that				
2.25	agreement.					
2.26	Subd. 3. Labor Standards	and Appren	ticeship	7,391,	000	7,675,000
2.27	Appropriation	ns by Fund				
2.28	General 5	,644,000	5,928,000			
2.29	Workforce Development	747 000	1 747 000			
2.30	<u>Development</u> <u>1</u>	,747,000	1,747,000			
2.31	(a) \$2,046,000 each year is	for wage the	<u>ft</u>			
2.32	prevention.					
2.33	(b) \$151,000 each year is fro	om the work	force			
2.34	development fund for preva	iling wage				
2.35	enforcement.					

3.1	(c) \$1,271,000 each year is from the workforce
3.2	development fund for the apprenticeship
3.3	program under Minnesota Statutes, chapter
3.4	<u>178.</u>
3.5	(d) \$100,000 each year is from the workforce
3.6	development fund for labor education and
3.7	advancement program grants under Minnesota
3.8	Statutes, section 178.11, to expand and
3.9	promote registered apprenticeship training for
3.10	minorities and women.
3.11	(e) \$225,000 each year is from the workforce
3.12	development fund for grants to the
3.13	Construction Careers Foundation for the
3.14	Helmets to Hard Hats Minnesota initiative.
3.15	Grant funds must be used to recruit, retain,
3.16	assist, and support National Guard, reserve,
3.17	and active duty military members' and
3.18	veterans' participation into apprenticeship
3.19	programs registered with the Department of
3.20	Labor and Industry and connect them with
3.21	career training and employment in the building
3.22	and construction industry. The recruitment,
3.23	selection, employment, and training must be
3.24	without discrimination due to race, color,
3.25	creed, religion, national origin, sex, sexual
3.26	orientation, marital status, physical or mental
3.27	disability, receipt of public assistance, or age.
3.28	This is a onetime appropriation.
3.29	(f) \$84,000 the first year and \$34,000 the
3.30	second year are for outreach and enforcement
3.31	efforts related to changes to the parenting
3.32	leave and accommodation law.
3.33	(g) \$84,000 the first year and \$34,000 the
3.34	second year are for outreach and enforcement

04/01/21 11:42 am HOUSE RESEARCH MJ/JF H1670DE3 efforts related to changes to the Women's 4.1 Economic Security Act. 4.2 (h) \$1,306,000 the first year and \$1,941,000 4.3 the second year are for earned sick and safe 4.4 4.5 time compliance and enforcement efforts under Minnesota Statutes, sections 181.9445 4.6

4.7 to 181.9448, and chapter 177. The base

amount in fiscal years 2024 and 2025 is

4.9 \$1,631,000.

4.10 (i) \$300,000 each year is for earned sick and

4.11 safe time grants to community organizations

4.12 under Minnesota Statutes, section 177.50,

4.13 subdivision 4.

4.14 (j) \$131,000 the first year and \$27,000 the

4.15 second year are for purposes of implementing

4.16 the Emergency Rehire and Retention Law.

4.17 The base amount in fiscal year 2024 and after

4.18 is zero.

4.19 (k) \$344,000 the first year and \$147,000 the

4.20 second year are for the purposes of the Safe

4.21 Workplaces for Meat and Poultry Processing

4.22 Workers Act under Minnesota Statutes,

4.23 sections 179.87 to 179.8757.

4.24 Subd. 4. Workers' Compensation

4.25 (a) This appropriation is from the workers'

4.26 compensation fund.

4.27 (b) \$700,000 each year is from the workers'

4.28 compensation fund for the workers'

4.29 <u>compensation Claims Access and Management</u>

4.30 Platform User System (CAMPUS)

4.31 modernization. This appropriation is available

until June 30, 2023. The base amount in fiscal

4.33 year 2024 is zero.

12,582,000

12,582,000

	04/01/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARC	CH MJ/JF	H1670DE3
5.1	Subd. 5. Workplace Safety		5,070,000	5,070,000
5.2	This appropriation is from the workers'			
5.3	compensation fund.			
5.4	Subd. 6. Workforce Development Init	<u>iatives</u>	1,600,000	1,600,000
5.5	Appropriations by Fund			
5.6	<u>General</u> <u>200,000</u>	200,000		
5.7 5.8	Workforce Development 1,400,000	1,400,000		
5.9	(a) \$200,000 each year is for identificat	ion of		
5.10	competency standards under Minnesota	<u>.</u>		
5.11	Statutes, section 175.46.			
5.12	(b) \$1,100,000 each year is from the			
5.13	workforce development fund for the yo	<u>uth</u>		
5.14	skills training grants under Minnesota Sta	itutes,		
5.15	section 175.46. Of this amount, \$100,000	each each		
5.16	year is for administration of the program	<u>n.</u>		
5.17	(c) \$300,000 each year is from the work	<u>cforce</u>		
5.18	development fund for the pipeline progr	ram.		
5.19 5.20	Sec. 3. WORKERS' COMPENSATION OF APPEALS	NCOURT §	<u>2,283,000</u> §	2,283,000
5.21	This appropriation is from the workers'			
5.22	compensation fund.			
5.23	Sec. 4. BUREAU OF MEDIATION SI	ERVICES \$	2,805,000 \$	2,850,000
5.24	(a) \$68,000 each year is for grants to ar	<u>ea</u>		
5.25	labor management committees. Grants	may		
5.26	be awarded for a 12-month period begin	nning		
5.27	July 1 each year. Any unencumbered ba	lance		
5.28	remaining at the end of the first year do	es not		
5.29	cancel but is available for the second ye	ear.		
5.30	(b) \$560,000 each year is for purposes of	of the		
5.31	Public Employment Relations Board un	<u>ider</u>		
5.32	Minnesota Statutes, section 179A.041.			

6.1	(c) \$47,000 each year is for rulemaking,			
6.2	staffing, and other costs associated with peace			
6.3	officer grievance procedures.			
6.4 6.5	Sec. 5. MINNESOTA MANAGEMENT AND BUDGET	<u>\$</u>	<u>3,000</u> <u>\$</u>	
6.6	\$3,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for printing costs			
6.7	associated with earned sick and safe time. This			
6.8	is a onetime appropriation.			
6.9	Sec. 6. ATTORNEY GENERAL	<u>\$</u>	<u>222,000</u> <u>\$</u>	222,000
6.10	\$222,000 each year is for enforcement of the			
6.11	Safe Workplaces for Meat and Poultry			
6.12	Processing Workers Act under Minnesota			
6.13	Statutes, sections 179.87 to 179.8757.			
6.14	Sec. 7. <u>CANCELLATION</u> ; FISCAL YEAR 2 (a) \$203,000 of the fiscal year 2021 general for		propriation under Laws 20)19. First
6.16	Special Session chapter 7, article 1, section 3, sub	•	•	<u> </u>
6.17	(b) \$102,000 of the fiscal year 2021 general for)19, First
6.18	Special Session chapter 7, article 1, section 5 is c			
			<u> </u>	
6.19	ARTICLE			
6.20	LABOR AND INDUS	TRY 1	POLICY	
6.21	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.	7905,	subdivision 6, is amended	l to read:
6.22	Subd. 6. Occupational safety and health. (a)	<u>Certa</u>	in data gathered or prepar	ed by the
6.23	commissioner of labor and industry as part of occ	upatio	nal safety and health inspe	ections or
6.24	reports are classified under sections 182.659, sub	divisio	on 8, 182.663, subdivision	4, and
6.25	182.668, subdivision 2.			
6.26	(b) Certain data gathered or prepared by the co	ommis	sioner of labor and industr	ry as part
6.27	of occupational safety and health citations are cla	ssified	d under section 182.66, sul	<u>bdivision</u>
6.28	<u>4.</u>			

HOUSE RESEARCH MJ/JF

H1670DE3

04/01/21 11:42 am

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.7905, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:

- 7.3 Subd. 8. Data on individuals who are minors. Disclosure of data on minors is governed
 7.4 by section 181A.112.
- 7.5 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.24, is amended by adding a subdivision to read:
- Subd. 3a. Gratuities; credit cards or charges. (a) Gratuities received by an employee
 through a debit, charge, or credit card payment shall be credited to that pay period in which
 they are received by the employee.
 - (b) Where a gratuity is received by an employee through a debit, charge, or credit card payment, the full amount of gratuity indicated in the payment must be distributed to the employee for the pay period in which it is received and no later than the next scheduled pay period.
- 7.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective August 1, 2021.
- 7.15 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 4. Compliance orders. The commissioner may issue an order requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031, 181.032, 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), 181.275, subdivision 2a, 181.722, 181.79, and 181.939 to 181.943, and 181.987, or with any rule promulgated under section 177.28. The commissioner shall issue an order requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.41 to 177.435 or 181.987 if the violation is repeated. For purposes of this subdivision only, a violation is repeated if at any time during the two years that preceded the date of violation, the commissioner issued an order to the employer for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.435 or 181.987 and the order is final or the commissioner and the employer have entered into a settlement agreement that required the employer to pay back wages that were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The department shall serve the order upon the employer or the employer's authorized representative in person or by certified mail at the employer's place of business. An employer who wishes to contest the order must file written notice of objection to the order with the commissioner within 15 calendar days after being served with the order. A contested case proceeding must then be held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69. If, within 15 calendar days after being served with the order, the employer fails to file a written notice of objection with the commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the commissioner.

7.10

7.11

7.12

7.13

7.16

7.17

7.18

7.19

7.20

7.21

7.22

7.23

7.24

7.25

7.26

7.27

7.28

7.29

7.30

7.31

7.32

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 15, 2021.

8.2 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 178.012, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. **Apprenticeship rules.** Federal regulations governing apprenticeship in effect on July 1, 2013 January 18, 2017, as provided by Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, part parts 29, sections 29.1 to 29.6 and 29.11, and 30 are the apprenticeship rules in this state, subject to amendment by this chapter or by rule under section 178.041.

- state, subject to amendment by this chapter or by rule under section 178.041.
- 8.7 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 179A.10, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- 8.8 Subd. 2. **State employees.** Unclassified employees, unless otherwise excluded, are included within the units which include the classifications to which they are assigned for purposes of compensation. Supervisory employees shall only be assigned to units 12 and,
- 8.11 16, and 18. The following are the appropriate units of executive branch state employees:
- 8.12 (1) law enforcement unit;
- 8.13 (2) craft, maintenance, and labor unit;
- 8.14 (3) service unit;

8.1

8.3

8.4

- 8.15 (4) health care nonprofessional unit;
- 8.16 (5) health care professional unit;
- 8.17 (6) clerical and office unit;
- 8.18 (7) technical unit;
- 8.19 (8) correctional guards unit;
- 8.20 (9) state university instructional unit;
- 8.21 (10) state college instructional unit;
- 8.22 (11) state university administrative unit;
- 8.23 (12) professional engineering unit;
- 8.24 (13) health treatment unit;
- 8.25 (14) general professional unit;
- 8.26 (15) professional state residential instructional unit;
- 8.27 (16) supervisory employees unit; and
- 8.28 (17) public safety radio communications operator unit-; and

(18) law enforcement supervisors unit.

9.1

9.2

9.3

9.4

9.5

9.6

9.7

9.8

9.9

9.10

9.11

9.12

9.13

9.14

9.15

9.16

9.17

9.18

9.19

9.20

9.21

9.22

9.23

9.24

9.25

9.26

9.27

9.28

9.29

9.30

9.31

Each unit consists of the classifications or positions assigned to it in the schedule of state employee job classification and positions maintained by the commissioner. The commissioner may only make changes in the schedule in existence on the day prior to August 1, 1984, as required by law or as provided in subdivision 4.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 179A.10, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. State employee severance. Each of the following groups of employees has the right, as specified in this subdivision, to separate from the general professional, health treatment, or general supervisory units provided for in subdivision 2: attorneys, physicians, and professional employees of the Minnesota Office of Higher Education who are compensated under section 43A.18, subdivision 4, State Patrol-supervisors, enforcement supervisors employed by the Department of Natural Resources, and criminal apprehension investigative-supervisors. This right must be exercised by petition during the 60-day period commencing 270 days prior to the termination of a contract covering the units. If one of these groups of employees exercises the right to separate from the units they have no right to meet and negotiate, but retain the right to meet and confer with the commissioner of management and budget and with the appropriate appointing authority on any matter of concern to them. The right to separate must be exercised as follows: An employee organization or group of employees claiming that a majority of any one of these groups of employees on a statewide basis wish to separate from their units may petition the commissioner for an election during the petitioning period. If the petition is supported by a showing of at least 30 percent support for the petitioner from the employees, the commissioner shall hold an election to ascertain the wishes of the majority with respect to the issue of remaining within or severing from the units provided in subdivision 2. This election must be conducted within 30 days of the close of the petition period. If a majority of votes cast endorse severance from the unit in favor of separate meet and confer status for any one of these groups of employees, the commissioner shall certify that result. This election, where not inconsistent with other provisions of this section, is governed by section 179A.12. If a group of employees elects to sever, the group may rejoin that unit by following the same procedures specified above for severance, but may only do so during the periods provided for severance.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.53, is amended to read:

- (a) No person, whether acting directly or through an agent, or as the agent or employee of another, shall require as a condition precedent to employment any written statement as to the participation of the applicant in a strike, or as to a personal record, for more than one year immediately preceding the date of application; nor shall any person, acting in any of these capacities, use or require blanks or forms of application for employment in contravention of this section. Nothing in this section precludes an employer from requesting or considering an applicant's criminal history pursuant to section 364.021 or other applicable law.
- (b) Except as provided in paragraph (c), no person or employer, whether acting directly
 or through an agent, shall seek to obtain; require consent to a request for; or use an employee
 or prospective employee's credit information, including the employee or prospective
 employee's credit score, credit history, credit account balances, payment history, savings
 or checking account balances, or savings or checking account numbers:
 - (1) as a condition precedent to employment;
- 10.17 (2) as a basis for hiring, compensation, or any other term, privilege, or condition of employment; or
- 10.19 (3) as a basis for discharge or any other adverse employment action.
- (c) Paragraph (b) does not apply if:

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

10.10

- (1) the information sought is required by a state or federal law or regulation;
- 10.22 (2) the employer or prospective employer is a financial institution or a credit union;
- 10.23 (3) the employer or prospective employer has a bona fide business purpose for requesting
 the information that is substantially related to the employee or prospective employee's
 position; or
- 10.26 (4) the employee or prospective employee's position:
- 10.27 (i) is a managerial position that involves setting the financial direction or control of the employer or prospective employer;
- 10.29 (ii) involves routine access to confidential financial and personal information, other than
 10.30 information customarily provided in a routine retail transaction;

04/01/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MJ/JF	H1670DE3

11.1	(iii) involves regular access to cash totaling \$10,000 or more of the employer, prospective
11.2	employer, a customer, or a client;
11.3	(iv) is a peace officer; or
11.4	(v) requires a financial fiduciary responsibility to the employer, prospective employer,
11.5	a customer, or a client, including the authority to issue payments, collect debts, transfer
11.6	money, or enter into contracts.
11.7	(d) In addition to any remedies otherwise provided by law, an employee or prospective
11.8	employee injured by a violation of paragraph (b) may bring a civil action to recover any
11.9	and all damages recoverable at law, together with costs and disbursements, including
11.10	reasonable attorney fees, and may receive such injunctive and other equitable relief as
11.11	determined by the court. If the district court determines that a violation of paragraph (b)
11.12	occurred, the court may order any appropriate relief, including but not limited to
11.13	reinstatement, back pay, restoration of lost service credit, if appropriate, compensatory
11.14	damages, and the expungement of any adverse records of an employee or prospective
11.15	employee who was the subject of the alleged acts of misconduct.
11.16	Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.939, is amended to read:
11.17	181.939 NURSING MOTHERS, LACTATING EMPLOYEES, AND PREGNANCY
11.18	ACCOMMODATIONS.
11.19	Subdivision 1. Nursing mothers. (a) An employer must provide reasonable unpaid
11.20	break time times each day to an employee who needs to express breast milk for her infant
11.21	child. The break time must, if possible, times may run concurrently with any break time
11.22	times already provided to the employee. An employer is not required to provide break time
11.23	under this section if to do so would unduly disrupt the operations of the employer. An
11.24	employer shall not reduce an employee's compensation for time used for the purpose of
11.25	expressing milk.
11.26	(b) The employer must make reasonable efforts to provide a room or other location, in
11.27	close proximity to the work area, other than a bathroom or a toilet stall, that is shielded from
11.28	view and free from intrusion from coworkers and the public and that includes access to an
11.29	electrical outlet, where the employee can express her milk in privacy. The employer would
11.30	be held harmless if reasonable effort has been made.
11.31	Subd. 2. Pregnancy accommodations. (a) An employer must provide reasonable
11.32	accommodations to an employee for health conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth

11.32

11.33

upon request, with the advice of a licensed health care provider or certified doula, unless

the employer demonstrates that the accommodation would impose an undue hardship on the operation of the employer's business. A pregnant employee shall not be required to obtain the advice of a licensed health care provider or certified doula, nor may an employer claim undue hardship for the following accommodations: (1) more frequent restroom, food, and water breaks; (2) seating; and (3) limits on lifting over 20 pounds. The employee and employer shall engage in an interactive process with respect to an employee's request for a reasonable accommodation. "Reasonable accommodation" may include but is not limited to temporary transfer to a less strenuous or hazardous position, seating, frequent restroom breaks, and limits to heavy lifting. Notwithstanding any other provision of this subdivision, an employer shall not be required to create a new or additional position in order to accommodate an employee pursuant to this subdivision and shall not be required to discharge an employee, transfer another employee with greater seniority, or promote an employee.

(b) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to affect any other provision of law

- (b) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to affect any other provision of law relating to sex discrimination or pregnancy or in any way diminish the coverage of pregnancy, childbirth, or health conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth under any other provisions of any other law.
- 12.17 (c) An employer shall not require an employee to take a leave or accept an accommodation.
- Subd. 3. Employer. (e) For the purposes of this section, "employer" means a person or entity that employs one or more employees and includes the state and its political subdivisions.
- Subd. 4. No employer retribution. (d) An employer may shall not retaliate against an employee for asserting rights or remedies under this section.
- Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.940, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Employee.** "Employee" means a person who performs services for hire for an employer from whom a leave is requested under sections 181.940 to 181.944 for:
- 12.27 (1) at least 12 months 90 days preceding the request; and
- (2) for an average number of hours per week equal to one-half the full-time equivalent position in the employee's job classification as defined by the employer's personnel policies or practices or pursuant to the provisions of a collective bargaining agreement, during the 12.31 12-month 90-day period immediately preceding the leave.
- Employee includes all individuals employed at any site owned or operated by the employer but does not include an independent contractor.

12.1

12.2

12.3

12.4

12.5

12.6

12.7

12.8

12.9

12.10

12.11

12.12

12.13

12.14

12.15

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.940, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. **Employer.** "Employer" means a person or entity that employs <u>21 one</u> or more employees at at least one site, except that, for purposes of the school leave allowed under section 181.9412, employer means a person or entity that employs one or more employees in Minnesota. The term <u>and</u> includes an individual, corporation, partnership, association, nonprofit organization, group of persons, state, county, town, city, school district, or other governmental subdivision.

Sec. 12. [181.987] USE OF SKILLED AND TRAINED CONTRACTOR

WORKFORCES AT OIL REFINERIES.

13.1

13.2

13.3

13.4

13.5

13.6

13.7

13.8

13.9

13.12

13.13

13.14

13.15

13.16

13.17

13.18

13.19

13.20

- Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given.
 - (b) "Contractor" means a vendor that enters into or seeks to enter into a contract with an owner or operator of an oil refinery to perform construction, alteration, demolition, installation, repair, maintenance, or hazardous material handling work at the site of the oil refinery. Contractor includes all contractors or subcontractors of any tier performing work as described in this paragraph at the site of the oil refinery. Contractor does not include employees of the owner or operator of an oil refinery.
 - (c) "Registered apprenticeship program" means an apprenticeship program registered with the Department of Labor and Industry under chapter 178 or with the United States

 Department of Labor Office of Apprenticeship or a recognized state apprenticeship agency under Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, parts 29 and 30.
- (d) "Skilled and trained workforce" means a workforce in which a minimum of 85 percent
 of the employees of the contractor or subcontractor of any tier working at the site of the oil
 refinery meet one of the following criteria:
- (1) are currently registered as apprentices in a registered apprenticeship program in the applicable trade;
- 13.27 (2) have graduated from a registered apprenticeship program in the applicable trade; or
- 13.28 (3) have completed all of the classroom training and work hour requirements needed to
 13.29 graduate from the registered apprenticeship program their employer participates in.
- Subd. 2. Use of contractors by owner, operator; requirement. (a) An owner or operator of an oil refinery shall, when contracting with contractors for the performance of construction, alteration, demolition, installation, repair, maintenance, or hazardous material handling

work at the site of the oil refinery, require that the contractors performing that work, and any subcontractors of any tier, use a skilled and trained workforce when performing all work at the site of the oil refinery. (b) The requirement under this subdivision applies only when each contractor and subcontractor of any tier is performing work at the site of the oil refinery. Subd. 3. **Penalties.** The Division of Labor Standards shall receive complaints of violations 14.6 of this section. The commissioner of labor and industry shall fine an owner, operator, 14.7 contractor, or subcontractor of any tier not less than \$5,000 nor more than \$10,000 for each 14.8 violation of the requirements in this section. Each shift on which a violation of this section 14.9 14.10 occurs shall be considered a separate violation. This penalty is in addition to any penalties provided under section 177.27, subdivision 7. In determining the amount of a civil penalty 14.11 under this subdivision, the appropriateness of the penalty to the size of the violator's business 14.12 and the gravity of the violation shall be considered. 14.13 Subd. 4. Civil actions. A person injured by a violation of this section may bring a civil 14.14 action for damages against an owner or operator of an oil refinery. The court may award to 14.15 a prevailing plaintiff under this subdivision damages, attorney fees, costs, disbursements, 14.16 and any other appropriate relief as otherwise provided by law. 14.17 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective October 15, 2021. 14.18 Sec. 13. [181A.112] DATA ON INDIVIDUALS WHO ARE MINORS. 14.19 (a) When the commissioner collects, creates, receives, maintains, or disseminates the 14.20 following data on individuals who the commissioner knows are minors, the data are 14.21 considered private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12, except 14.22 for data classified as public data according to section 13.43: 14.23 14.24 (1) name; (2) date of birth; 14.25 (3) Social Security number; 14.26 14.27 (4) telephone number; 14.28 (5) e-mail address; (6) physical or mailing address; 14.29 14.30 (7) location data; 14.31 (8) online account access information; and

14.1

14.2

14.3

14.4

(9) other data that would identify participants who have registered for events, programs, 15.1 or classes sponsored by the Department of Labor and Industry. 15.2 (b) Data about minors classified under this section maintain their classification as private 15.3 data on individuals after the individual is no longer a minor. 15.4 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.66, is amended by adding a subdivision to 15.5 read: 15.6 Subd. 4. Classification of citation data. Notwithstanding section 13.39, subdivision 2, 15.7 the data in a written citation is classified as public as soon as the commissioner has received 15.8 confirmation that the employer has received the citation. All data in the citation is public, 15.9 including but not limited to the employer's name; the employer's address; the address of the 15.10 worksite; the date or dates of inspection; the date the citation was issued; the provision of 15.11 the act, standard, rule, or order alleged to have been violated; the severity level of the citation; 15.12 the description of the nature of the violation; the proposed abatement date; the proposed 15.13 penalty; and any abatement guidelines. 15.14 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 15.15 Subdivision 1. Willful or repeated violations. Any employer who willfully or repeatedly 15.16 violates the requirements of section 182.653, or any standard, rule, or order adopted under 15.17 the authority of the commissioner as provided in this chapter, may be assessed a fine not to 15.18 exceed \$70,000 \$136,532 for each violation. The minimum fine for a willful violation is 15.19 \$5,000 \$9,753. 15.20 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 15.21 Subd. 2. Serious violations. Any employer who has received a citation for a serious 15.22 violation of its duties under section 182.653, or any standard, rule, or order adopted under 15.23 the authority of the commissioner as provided in this chapter, shall be assessed a fine not 15.24 to exceed \$7,000 \$13,653 for each violation. If a serious violation under section 182.653, 15.25 subdivision 2, causes or contributes to the death of an employee, the employer shall be 15.26 assessed a fine of up to \$25,000 for each violation. 15.27 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 15.28 Subd. 3. **Nonserious violations.** Any employer who has received a citation for a violation 15.29 of its duties under section 182.653, subdivisions 2 to 4, where the violation is specifically 15.30

determined not to be of a serious nature as provided in section 182.651, subdivision 12, 16.1 may be assessed a fine of up to \$7,000 \$13,653 for each violation. 16.2

- Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 16.3
- Subd. 4. Failure to correct a violation. Any employer who fails to correct a violation for which a citation has been issued under section 182.66 within the period permitted for its correction, which period shall not begin to run until the date of the final order of the commissioner in the case of any review proceedings under this chapter initiated by the employer in good faith and not solely for delay or avoidance of penalties, may be assessed a fine of not more than \$7,000 \$13,653 for each day during which the failure or violation continues. 16.10
- 16.11 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
- Subd. 5. Posting violations. Any employer who violates any of the posting requirements, 16.12 as prescribed under this chapter, except those prescribed under section 182.661, subdivision 16.13 3a, shall be assessed a fine of up to \$7,000 \$13,653 for each violation. 16.14
- Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 182.666, is amended by adding a subdivision 16.15 to read: 16.16
- 16.17 Subd. 6a. Increases for inflation. (a) Each year, beginning in 2022, the commissioner shall determine the percentage change in the Minneapolis-St. Paul-Bloomington, MN-WI, 16.18 16.19 Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U) from the month of October in the preceding calendar year to the month of October in the current calendar year. 16.20
- (b) The commissioner shall increase the fines in subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5, except 16.21 for the fine for a serious violation under section 182.653, subdivision 2, that causes or 16.22 contributes to the death of an employee, by the percentage change determined by the 16.23 commissioner under paragraph (a), if the percentage change is greater than zero. The fines 16.24 shall be increased to the nearest one dollar. 16.25
- (c) If the percentage change determined by the commissioner under paragraph (a) is not 16.26 greater than zero, the commissioner shall not change any of the fines in subdivisions 1, 2, 16.27 3, 4, and 5. 16.28
- (d) A fine increase under this subdivision takes effect on the next January 1 after the 16.29 commissioner determines the percentage change under paragraph (a) and the increase applies 16.30 to all fines assessed on or after the next January 1. 16.31

16.4

16.5

16.6

16.7

16.8

(e) No later than December 1 of each year, the commissioner shall give notice in the

State Register of any increase to the fines in subdivisions 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5.

Sec. 21. [299F.48] AUTOMATIC SPRINKLER SYSTEMS IN EXISTING

HIGH-RISE BUILDINGS.

17.3

17.4

17.5

17.6

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

- Subdivision 1. Requirements. This section applies to an existing building in which at least one story used for human occupancy is 75 feet or more above the lowest level of fire department vehicle access. An automatic sprinkler system must be installed in those portions of the entire existing building in which an automatic sprinkler system would be required if the building were constructed on the effective date of this section. The automatic sprinkler system must comply with standards in the State Fire Code and the State Building Code and must be fully operational by August 1, 2033.
- Subd. 2. **Exemptions.** (a) Subdivision 1 does not apply to:
- 17.13 (1) a monument or war memorial that is included in the National Register of Historic
 17.14 Places or the state register of historic places;
- 17.15 (2) an airport control tower or control room;
- 17.16 (3) an open parking structure;
- 17.17 (4) a building used for agricultural purposes;
- 17.18 (5) a residential building in which at least 70 percent of the dwelling units are owner occupied;
- 17.20 (6) elevator equipment rooms and elevator shafts;
- 17.21 (7) electric generation and distribution facilities operated by a public utility, a municipal utility, or a cooperative electric association;
- 17.23 (8) areas utilized for surgery, surgical recovery, emergency backup power systems, and
 17.24 electrical closets within facilities licensed by the Department of Health; or
- 17.25 (9) a manufacturing facility that is required to meet the fire safety standards adopted by
 the Occupational Safety and Health Administration in Code of Federal Regulations, title
 29, part 1910, subpart L.
- (b) Subdivision 1 does not apply to an area used exclusively for telecommunications
 equipment and associated generator and power equipment and under exclusive control of
 a telecommunications provider if:

(1) the area is separated from the remainder of the building by construction equivalent
to a one-hour fire resistant wall and two-hour floor and ceiling assemblies; and
(2) the area has an automatic fire detection and alarm system that complies with standard
in the State Fire Code and State Building Code.
Subd. 3. Reporting. By August 1, 2023, the owner of a building subject to subdivis
1 shall submit to the state fire marshal a letter stating the owner's intent to comply with t
section and a plan for achieving compliance by the deadline in subdivision 1.
Subd. 4. Extensions. The commissioner, or the state fire marshal as the commissioner
designee, may grant extensions to the deadline for reporting under subdivision 3 or the
deadline for compliance under subdivision 1. Any extension must observe the spirit and
ntent of this section and be tailored to ensure public welfare and safety. To be eligible
an extension, the building owner must apply to the commissioner and demonstrate a genu
nability to comply within the time prescribed despite appropriate effort to do so.
Subd. 5. Rules. The commissioner may adopt rules to implement this section.
Subd. 6. Working group. The commissioner may appoint a working group to advis
the commissioner on the implementation of this section, including the adoption of rules
and to advise the commissioner on applications for extensions. If appointed, a working
group must include a representative from: the state fire marshal's office, the Departmen
Administration, the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association, a chapter of the Minnesota
Building Owners and Managers Association, the Minneapolis Public Housing Authorit
the Minnesota Multi Housing Association, the Minnesota Hotel and Motel Association,
Fire Marshals Association of Minnesota, professional engineers or licensed architects,
nunicipal water authority of a city of the first class, a national association of fire sprink
contractors, and a resident of a building subject to subdivision 1.
Subd. 7. Effect on other laws. This section does not supersede the State Building Co
or State Fire Code.
Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326B.07, subdivision 1, is amended to read
Subdivision 1. Membership. (a) The Construction Codes Advisory Council consists
the following members:
(1) the commissioner or the commissioner's designee representing the department's
Construction Codes and Licensing Division;

19.1	(2) the commissioner of public safety or the commissioner of public safety's designee
19.2	representing the Department of Public Safety's State Fire Marshal Division;
19.3	(3) one member, appointed by the commissioner, engaged in each of the following
19.4	occupations or industries:
19.5	(i) certified building officials;
19.6	(ii) fire chiefs or fire marshals;
19.7	(iii) licensed architects;
19.8	(iv) licensed professional engineers;
19.9	(v) commercial building owners and managers;
19.10	(vi) the licensed residential building industry;
19.11	(vii) the commercial building industry;
19.12	(viii) the heating and ventilation industry;
19.13	(ix) a member of the Plumbing Board;
19.14	(x) a member of the Board of Electricity;
19.15	(xi) a member of the Board of High Pressure Piping Systems;
19.16	(xii) the boiler industry;
19.17	(xiii) the manufactured housing industry;
19.18	(xiv) public utility suppliers;
19.19	(xv) the Minnesota Building and Construction Trades Council; and
19.20	(xvi) local units of government-;
19.21	(xvii) the energy conservation industry; and
19.22	(xviii) a building accessibility advocate.
19.23	(b) The commissioner or the commissioner's designee representing the department's
19.24	Construction Codes and Licensing Division shall serve as chair of the advisory council. For
19.25	members who are not state officials or employees, compensation and removal of members
19.26	of the advisory council are governed by section 15.059. The terms of the members of the
19.27	advisory council shall be four years. The terms of eight of the appointed members shall be
19.28	coterminous with the governor and the terms of the remaining nine appointed members
19.29	shall end on the first Monday in January one year after the terms of the other appointed

members expire. An appointed member may be reappointed. Each council member shall appoint an alternate to serve in their absence.

- Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326B.092, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. License fees and license renewal fees. (a) The license fee for each license is the base license fee plus any applicable board fee, continuing education fee, and contractor recovery fund fee and additional assessment, as set forth in this subdivision.
- (b) For purposes of this section, "license duration" means the number of years for which the license is issued except that if the initial license is not issued for a whole number of years, the license duration shall be rounded up to the next whole number.
- (c) If there is a continuing education requirement for renewal of the license, then a continuing education fee must be included in the renewal license fee. The continuing education fee for all license classifications shall be \$5.
- (e) (d) The base license fee shall depend on whether the license is classified as an entry level, master, journeyworker, or business license, and on the license duration. The base license fee shall be:

20.16	License Classification	License Duration	
20.17		1 year	2 years
20.18	Entry level	\$10	\$20
20.19	Journeyworker	\$20	\$40
20.20	Master	\$40	\$80
20.21	Business		\$180

- (d) If there is a continuing education requirement for renewal of the license, then a continuing education fee must be included in the renewal license fee. The continuing education fee for all license classifications shall be: \$10 if the renewal license duration is one year; and \$20 if the renewal license duration is two years.
- (e) If the license is issued under sections 326B.31 to 326B.59 or 326B.90 to 326B.925, then a board fee must be included in the license fee and the renewal license fee. The board fee for all license classifications shall be: \$4 if the license duration is one year; and \$8 if the license duration is two years.
- (f) If the application is for the renewal of a license issued under sections 326B.802 to 326B.885, then the contractor recovery fund fee required under section 326B.89, subdivision 3, and any additional assessment required under section 326B.89, subdivision 16, must be included in the license renewal fee.

20.1

20.2

20.3

20.4

20.5

20.6

20.7

20.8

20.9

20.10

20.11

20.12

20.13

20 14

20.15

20.22

20.23

20.24

20.25

20.26

20.27

20.28

20.29

20.30

20.31

20.32

(g) Notwithstanding the fee amounts described in paragraphs (e) (d) to (f), for the period July 1, 2017 October 1, 2021, through September 30, 2021 2023, the following fees apply:

21.3	License Classification	License Dura	ation
21.4		1 year	2 years
21.5	Entry level	\$10	\$20
21.6	Journeyworker	\$15	\$30
21.7	Master	\$30	\$60
21.8	Business		\$120

21.1

21.2

21.9

21.10

21.11

21.12

21.13

21.14

21.15

21.16

21.17

21.18

21.19

21.20

21.21

21.22

If there is a continuing education requirement for renewal of the license, then a continuing education fee must be included in the renewal license fee. The continuing education fee for all license classifications shall be \$5.

- Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326B.0981, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
- Subd. 4. **Internet continuing education.** (a) The design and delivery of an Internet continuing education course must be approved by the International Distance Education Certification Center (IDECC) or the International Association for Continuing Education and Training (IACET) before the course is submitted for the commissioner's approval. The approval must accompany the course submitted.
- (b) Paragraphs (a) and (c) do not apply to approval of an Internet continuing education course for manufactured home installers. An Internet continuing education course for manufactured home installers must be approved by the United States Department of Housing and Urban Development or by the commissioner of labor and industry. The approval must accompany the course completion certificate issued to each student by the course sponsor.
- (c) An Internet continuing education course must:
- 21.24 (1) specify the minimum computer system requirements;
- 21.25 (2) provide encryption that ensures that all personal information, including the student's name, address, and credit card number, cannot be read as it passes across the Internet;
- 21.27 (3) include technology to guarantee seat time;
- 21.28 (4) include a high level of interactivity;
- 21.29 (5) include graphics that reinforce the content;
- 21.30 (6) include the ability for the student to contact an instructor or course sponsor within a reasonable amount of time;

04/01/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MJ/JF	H1670DE3

22.1	(7) include the ability for the student to get technical support within a reasonable amount
22.2	of time;
22.3	(8) include a statement that the student's information will not be sold or distributed to
22.4	any third party without prior written consent of the student. Taking the course does not
22.5	constitute consent;
22.6	(9) be available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, excluding minimal downtime for
22.7	updating and administration, except that this provision does not apply to live courses taught
22.8	by an actual instructor and delivered over the Internet;
22.9	(10) provide viewing access to the online course at all times to the commissioner,
22.10	excluding minimal downtime for updating and administration;
22.11	(11) include a process to authenticate the student's identity;
22.12	(12) inform the student and the commissioner how long after its purchase a course will
22.13	be accessible;
22.14	(13) inform the student that license education credit will not be awarded for taking the
22.15	course after it loses its status as an approved course;
22.16	(14) provide clear instructions on how to navigate through the course;
22.17	(15) provide automatic bookmarking at any point in the course;
22.18	(16) provide questions after each unit or chapter that must be answered before the student
22.19	can proceed to the next unit or chapter;
22.20	(17) include a reinforcement response when a quiz question is answered correctly;
22.21	(18) include a response when a quiz question is answered incorrectly;
22.22	(19) include a final examination in which the student must correctly answer 70 percent
22.23	of the questions;
22.24	(20) allow the student to go back and review any unit at any time, except during the final
22.25	examination;
22.26	(21) provide a course evaluation at the end of the course. At a minimum, the evaluation
22.27	must ask the student to report any difficulties caused by the online education delivery
22.28	method;
22.29	(22) provide a completion certificate when the course and exam have been completed
22.30	and the provider has verified the completion. Electronic certificates are sufficient and shall
22.31	include the name of the provider, date and location of the course, educational program

identification that was provided by the department, hours of instruction or continuing education hours, and licensee's or attendee's name and license, certification, or registration number or the last four digits of the licensee's or attendee's Social Security number; and

- (23) allow the commissioner the ability to electronically review the class to determine if credit can be approved.
- (e) (d) The final examination must be either an encrypted online examination or a paper examination that is monitored by a proctor who certifies that the student took the examination.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326B.106, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Adoption of code. (a) Subject to paragraphs (c) and (d) and sections 326B.101 to 326B.194, the commissioner shall by rule and in consultation with the Construction Codes Advisory Council establish a code of standards for the construction, reconstruction, alteration, and repair of buildings, governing matters of structural materials, design and construction, fire protection, health, sanitation, and safety, including design and construction standards regarding heat loss control, illumination, and climate control. The code must also include duties and responsibilities for code administration, including procedures for administrative action, penalties, and suspension and revocation of certification. The code must conform insofar as practicable to model building codes generally accepted and in use throughout the United States, including a code for building conservation. In the preparation of the code, consideration must be given to the existing statewide specialty codes presently in use in the state. Model codes with necessary modifications and statewide specialty codes may be adopted by reference. The code must be based on the application of scientific principles, approved tests, and professional judgment. To the extent possible, the code must be adopted in terms of desired results instead of the means of achieving those results, avoiding wherever possible the incorporation of specifications of particular methods or materials. To that end the code must encourage the use of new methods and new materials. Except as otherwise provided in sections 326B.101 to 326B.194, the commissioner shall administer and enforce the provisions of those sections.

(b) The commissioner shall develop rules addressing the plan review fee assessed to similar buildings without significant modifications including provisions for use of building systems as specified in the industrial/modular program specified in section 326B.194. Additional plan review fees associated with similar plans must be based on costs commensurate with the direct and indirect costs of the service.

23.1

23.2

23.3

23.4

23.5

23.6

23.7

23.8

23.9

23.10

23.11

23.12

23.13

23.14

23.15

23.16

23.17

23.18

23.19

23.20

23.21

23.22

23.23

23.24

23.25

23.26

23.27

23.28

23.29

23.30

23.31

23.32

(c) Beginning with the 2018 edition of the model building codes and every six years thereafter, the commissioner shall review the new model building codes and adopt the model codes as amended for use in Minnesota, within two years of the published edition date. The commissioner may adopt amendments to the building codes prior to the adoption of the new building codes to advance construction methods, technology, or materials, or, where necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public, or to improve the efficiency or the use of a building.

- (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (c), the commissioner shall act on each new model residential energy code and the new model commercial energy code in accordance with federal law for which the United States Department of Energy has issued an affirmative determination in compliance with United States Code, title 42, section 6833. Beginning in 2022, the commissioner shall act on the new model commercial energy code by adopting each new published edition of ASHRAE 90.1 or a more efficient standard, and amending it as necessary to achieve a minimum of eight percent energy efficiency with each edition, as measured against energy consumption by an average building in each applicable building sector in 2003. These amendments must achieve a net zero energy standard for new commercial buildings by 2036 and thereafter. The commissioner may adopt amendments prior to adoption of the new energy codes, as amended for use in Minnesota, to advance construction methods, technology, or materials, or, where necessary to protect the health, safety, and welfare of the public, or to improve the efficiency or use of a building.
- Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326B.89, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given them.
 - (b) "Gross annual receipts" means the total amount derived from residential contracting or residential remodeling activities, regardless of where the activities are performed, and must not be reduced by costs of goods sold, expenses, losses, or any other amount.
 - (c) "Licensee" means a person licensed as a residential contractor or residential remodeler.
- 24.28 (d) "Residential real estate" means a new or existing building constructed for habitation 24.29 by one to four families, and includes detached garages intended for storage of vehicles 24.30 associated with the residential real estate.
 - (e) "Fund" means the contractor recovery fund.
- 24.32 (f) "Owner" when used in connection with real property, means a person who has any legal or equitable interest in real property and includes a condominium or townhome

24.1

24.2

24.3

24.4

24.5

24.6

24.7

24.8

24.9

24.10

24.11

24.12

24.13

24.14

24.15

24.16

24.17

24.18

24.19

24.20

24.21

24.24

24.25

24.26

24.27

association that owns common property located in a condominium building or townhome building or an associated detached garage. Owner does not include any real estate developer or any owner using, or intending to use, the property for a business purpose and not as owner-occupied residential real estate.

- (g) "Cycle One" means the time period between July 1 and December 31.
- 25.6 (h) "Cycle Two" means the time period between January 1 and June 30.

25.1

25.2

25.3

25.4

25.5

25.8

25.9

25.10

25.11

25.12

25.13

25.14

25.16

25.17

25.18

25.19

25.20

25.21

25.22

25.23

25.24

25.25

25.26

25.27

25.28

25.29

25.30

25.31

25.32

- Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326B.89, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 5. **Payment limitations.** The commissioner shall not pay compensation from the fund to an owner or a lessee in an amount greater than \$75,000 per licensee. The commissioner shall not pay compensation from the fund to owners and lessees in an amount that totals more than \$300,000 \$800,000 per licensee. The commissioner shall only pay compensation from the fund for a final judgment that is based on a contract directly between the licensee and the homeowner or lessee that was entered into prior to the cause of action and that requires licensure as a residential building contractor or residential remodeler.
- Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 326B.89, subdivision 9, is amended to read:
 - Subd. 9. Satisfaction of applications for compensation. The commissioner shall pay compensation from the fund to an owner or a lessee pursuant to the terms of an agreement that has been entered into under subdivision 7, clause (1), or pursuant to a final order that has been issued under subdivision 7, clause (2), or subdivision 8 by December 1 of the fiscal year following the fiscal year during which the agreement was entered into or during which the order became final, subject to the limitations of this section. At the end of each fiscal year the commissioner shall calculate the amount of compensation to be paid from the fund pursuant to agreements that have been entered into under subdivision 7, clause (1), and final orders that have been issued under subdivision 7, clause (2), or subdivision 8. If the calculated amount exceeds the amount available for payment, then the commissioner shall allocate the amount available among the owners and the lessees in the ratio that the amount agreed to or ordered to be paid to each owner or lessee bears to the amount calculated. The commissioner shall mail notice of the allocation to all owners and lessees not less than 45 days following the end of the fiscal year. 31 for applications submitted by July 1 or June 30 for applications submitted by January 1 of the fiscal year. The commissioner shall not pay compensation to owners or lessees that totals more than \$400,000 per licensee during Cycle One of a fiscal year nor shall the commissioner pay out during Cycle One if the payout will result in the exhaustion of a licensee's fund. If compensation paid to owners or lessees

in Cycle One would total more than \$400,000 or would result in exhaustion of a licensee's fund in Cycle One, the commissioner shall not make a final determination of compensation for claims against the licensee until the completion of Cycle Two. If the claims against a licensee for the fiscal year result in the exhaustion of a licensee's fund or the fund as a whole, the commissioner must prorate the amount available among the owners and lessees based on the amount agreed to or ordered to be paid to each owner or lessee. The commissioner shall mail notice of the proration to all owners and lessees no later than March 31 of the current fiscal year. Any compensation paid by the commissioner in accordance with this subdivision shall be deemed to satisfy and extinguish any right to compensation from the fund based upon the verified application of the owner or lessee.

Sec. 29. LAW ENFORCEMENT SUPERVISORS TRANSITION.

- 26.12 (a) Until a negotiated collective bargaining agreement with an exclusive representative
 26.13 of the law enforcement supervisors unit established under Minnesota Statutes, section
 26.14 179A.10, subdivision 2, clause (18), is approved under Minnesota Statutes, section 3.855:
- 26.15 (1) state patrol supervisors and enforcement supervisors employed by the Department of Natural Resources shall remain in the commissioner's plan;
 - (2) criminal apprehension investigative supervisors and other law enforcement supervisor positions currently in the general supervisory employees unit shall remain in the general supervisory employees unit represented by the Middle Management Association; and
 - (3) employees in positions to be included in the law enforcement supervisors unit shall be authorized to participate in certification elections for the law enforcement supervisors unit and any negotiation and collective bargaining activities of the law enforcement supervisors unit.
- (b) In assigning positions included in the law enforcement supervisors unit, employees in positions under paragraph (a), clause (2), shall have the right to remain in the general supervisory employees unit represented by the Middle Management Association. If a group of employees exercises this right, the appropriate unit for such employees shall be the general supervisory employees unit represented by the Middle Management Association, and the commissioner shall assign them to such unit.

26.30 Sec. 30. **REPEALER.**

26.1

26.2

26.3

26.4

26.5

26.6

26.7

26.8

26.9

26.10

26.11

26.17

26.18

26.19

26.20

26.21

26.22

- 26.31 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.9414, is repealed.
- (b) Minnesota Rules, part 5200.0080, subpart 7, is repealed effective August 1, 2021.

04/01/01 11:40	HOUSE DECEADOR	MI/IE	111770DE2
04/01/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MJ/JF	H1670DE3

27.1	ARTICLE 3
27.2	EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME
27.3	Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.942, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
27.4	Subdivision 1. Comparable position. (a) An employee returning from a leave of absence
27.5	under section 181.941 is entitled to return to employment in the employee's former position
27.6	or in a position of comparable duties, number of hours, and pay. An employee returning
27.7	from a leave of absence longer than one month must notify a supervisor at least two weeks
27.8	prior to return from leave. An employee returning from a leave under section 181.9412 or
27.9	181.9413 sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 is entitled to return to employment in the employee's
27.10	former position.
27.11	(b) If, during a leave under sections 181.940 to 181.944, the employer experiences a
27.12	layoff and the employee would have lost a position had the employee not been on leave,
27.13	pursuant to the good faith operation of a bona fide layoff and recall system, including a
27.14	system under a collective bargaining agreement, the employee is not entitled to reinstatement
27.15	in the former or comparable position. In such circumstances, the employee retains all rights
27.16	under the layoff and recall system, including a system under a collective bargaining
27.17	agreement, as if the employee had not taken the leave.
27.18	Sec. 2. [181.9445] DEFINITIONS.
27.19	Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purposes of section 177.50 and sections 181.9445
27.20	to 181.9447, the terms defined in this section have the meanings given them.
27.21	Subd. 2. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor and industry
27.22	or authorized designee or representative.
27.23	Subd. 3. Domestic abuse. "Domestic abuse" has the meaning given in section 518B.01.
27.24	Subd. 4. Earned sick and safe time. "Earned sick and safe time" means leave, including
27.25	paid time off and other paid leave systems, that is paid at the same hourly rate as an employee
27.26	earns from employment that may be used for the same purposes and under the same
27.27	conditions as provided under section 181.9447.
27.28	Subd. 5. Employee. "Employee" means any person who is employed by an employer,
27.29	including temporary and part-time employees, who performs work for at least 80 hours in
27.30	a year for that employer in Minnesota. Employee does not include:
27.31	(1) an independent contractor; or

28.1	(2) an individual employed by an air carrier as a flight deck or cabin crew member who
28.2	is subject to United States Code, title 45, sections 181 to 188, and who is provided with
28.3	paid leave equal to or exceeding the amounts in section 181.9446.
28.4	Subd. 6. Employer. "Employer" means a person who has one or more employees.
28.5	Employer includes an individual, a corporation, a partnership, an association, a business
28.6	trust, a nonprofit organization, a group of persons, a state, county, town, city, school district,
28.7	or other governmental subdivision. In the event that a temporary employee is supplied by
28.8	a staffing agency, absent a contractual agreement stating otherwise, that individual shall be
28.9	an employee of the staffing agency for all purposes of section 177.50 and sections 181.9445
28.10	<u>to 181.9448.</u>
28.11	Subd. 7. Family member. "Family member" means:
28.12	(1) an employee's:
28.13	(i) child, foster child, adult child, legal ward, or child for whom the employee is legal
28.14	guardian;
28.15	(ii) spouse or registered domestic partner;
28.16	(iii) sibling, stepsibling, or foster sibling;
28.17	(iv) parent or stepparent;
28.18	(v) grandchild, foster grandchild, or stepgrandchild; or
28.19	(vi) grandparent or stepgrandparent;
28.20	(2) any of the family members listed in clause (1) of a spouse or registered domestic
28.21	partner;
28.22	(3) any individual related by blood or affinity whose close association with the employee
28.23	is the equivalent of a family relationship; and
28.24	(4) up to one individual annually designated by the employee.
28.25	Subd. 8. Health care professional. "Health care professional" means any person licensed
28.26	under federal or state law to provide medical or emergency services, including doctors,
28.27	physician assistants, nurses, and emergency room personnel.
28.28	Subd. 9. Prevailing wage rate. "Prevailing wage rate" has the meaning given in section
28.29	177.42 and as calculated by the Department of Labor and Industry.
28 30	Subd 10 Retaliatory nersonnel action. "Retaliatory personnel action" means:
28 30	Slipo TU Retallatory personnel action . "Retallatory personnel action" means:

04/01/21 11:42 am HOUS	E RESEARCH M	MJ/JF H16	570DE3
------------------------	--------------	-----------	--------

29.1	(1) any form of intimidation, threat, reprisal, harassment, discrimination, or adverse
29.2	employment action, including discipline, discharge, suspension, transfer, or reassignment
29.3	to a lesser position in terms of job classification, job security, or other condition of
29.4	employment; reduction in pay or hours or denial of additional hours; the accumulation of
29.5	points under an attendance point system; informing another employer that the person has
29.6	engaged in activities protected by this chapter; or reporting or threatening to report the actual
29.7	or suspected citizenship or immigration status of an employee, former employee, or family
29.8	member of an employee to a federal, state, or local agency; and
29.9	(2) interference with or punishment for participating in any manner in an investigation,
29.10	proceeding, or hearing under this chapter.
29.11	Subd. 11. Sexual assault. "Sexual assault" means an act that constitutes a violation
29.12	under sections 609.342 to 609.3453 or 609.352.
29.13	Subd. 12. Stalking. "Stalking" has the meaning given in section 609.749.
29.14	Subd. 13. Year. "Year" means a regular and consecutive 12-month period, as determined
29.15	by an employer and clearly communicated to each employee of that employer.
29.16	Sec. 3. [181.9446] ACCRUAL OF EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME.
29.17	(a) An employee accrues a minimum of one hour of earned sick and safe time for every
29.18	30 hours worked up to a maximum of 48 hours of earned sick and safe time in a year.
29.19	Employees may not accrue more than 48 hours of earned sick and safe time in a year unless
29.20	the employer agrees to a higher amount.
29.21	(b) Employers must permit an employee to carry over accrued but unused sick and safe
29.22	time into the following year. The total amount of accrued but unused earned sick and safe
29.23	time for an employee must not exceed 80 hours at any time, unless an employer agrees to
29.24	a higher amount.
29.25	(c) Employees who are exempt from overtime requirements under United States Code,
29.26	title 29, section 213(a)(1), as amended through the effective date of this section, are deemed
29.27	to work 40 hours in each workweek for purposes of accruing earned sick and safe time,
29.28	except that an employee whose normal workweek is less than 40 hours will accrue earned
29.29	sick and safe time based on the normal workweek.
29.30	(d) Earned sick and safe time under this section begins to accrue at the commencement
29.31	of employment of the employee.

0.4/0.1/21 11.42 am	HOUSE DESEADOH	NAT/IE	H1470DE2
04/01/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MJ/JF	H1670DE3

30.1	(e) Employees may use accrued earned sick and safe time beginning 90 calendar days
30.2	after the day their employment commenced. After 90 days from the day employment
30.3	commenced, employees may use earned sick and safe time as it is accrued. The
30.4	90-calendar-day period under this paragraph includes both days worked and days not worked.
30.5	Sec. 4. [181.9447] USE OF EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME.
30.6	Subdivision 1. Eligible use. An employee may use accrued earned sick and safe time
30.7	<u>for:</u>
30.8	(1) an employee's:
30.9	(i) mental or physical illness, injury, or other health condition;
30.10	(ii) need for medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness, injury,
30.11	or health condition; or
30.12	(iii) need for preventive medical or health care;
30.13	(2) care of a family member:
30.14	(i) with a mental or physical illness, injury, or other health condition;
30.15	(ii) who needs medical diagnosis, care, or treatment of a mental or physical illness,
30.16	injury, or other health condition; or
30.17	(iii) who needs preventive medical or health care;
30.18	(3) absence due to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking of the employee or
30.19	employee's family member, provided the absence is to:
30.20	(i) seek medical attention related to physical or psychological injury or disability caused
30.21	by domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking;
30.22	(ii) obtain services from a victim services organization;
30.23	(iii) obtain psychological or other counseling;
30.24	(iv) seek relocation due to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking; or
30.25	(v) seek legal advice or take legal action, including preparing for or participating in any
30.26	civil or criminal legal proceeding related to or resulting from domestic abuse, sexual assault,
30.27	or stalking;
30.28	(4) closure of the employee's place of business due to weather or other public emergency
30.29	or an employee's need to care for a family member whose school or place of care has been
30.30	closed due to weather or other public emergency: and

(5) when it has been determined by the health authorities having jurisdiction or by a 31.1 health care professional that the presence of the employee or family member of the employee 31.2 31.3 in the community would jeopardize the health of others because of the exposure of the employee or family member of the employee to a communicable disease, whether or not 31.4 the employee or family member has actually contracted the communicable disease. 31.5 31.6 Subd. 2. **Notice.** An employer may require notice of the need for use of earned sick and safe time as provided in this paragraph. If the need for use is foreseeable, an employer may 31.7 require advance notice of the intention to use earned sick and safe time but must not require 31.8 more than seven days' advance notice. If the need is unforeseeable, an employer may require 31.9 an employee to give notice of the need for earned sick and safe time as soon as practicable. 31.10 Subd. 3. **Documentation.** When an employee uses earned sick and safe time for more 31.11 than three consecutive days, an employer may require reasonable documentation that the 31.12 earned sick and safe time is covered by subdivision 1. For earned sick and safe time under 31.13 subdivision 1, clauses (1) and (2), reasonable documentation may include a signed statement 31.14 by a health care professional indicating the need for use of earned sick and safe time. For 31.15 earned sick and safe time under subdivision 1, clause (3), an employer must accept a court 31.16 record or documentation signed by a volunteer or employee of a victims services organization, 31.17 an attorney, a police officer, or an antiviolence counselor as reasonable documentation. An 31.18 employer must not require disclosure of details relating to domestic abuse, sexual assault, 31.19 or stalking or the details of an employee's or an employee's family member's medical 31.20 condition as related to an employee's request to use earned sick and safe time under this 31.21 31.22 section. Subd. 4. Replacement worker. An employer may not require, as a condition of an 31.23 employee using earned sick and safe time, that the employee seek or find a replacement 31.24 worker to cover the hours the employee uses as earned sick and safe time. 31.25 31.26 Subd. 5. **Increment of time used.** Earned sick and safe time may be used in the smallest increment of time tracked by the employer's payroll system, provided such increment is not 31.27 more than four hours. 31.28 Subd. 6. Retaliation prohibited. An employer shall not take retaliatory personnel action 31.29 against an employee because the employee has requested earned sick and safe time, used 31.30 earned sick and safe time, requested a statement of accrued sick and safe time, or made a 31.31 complaint or filed an action to enforce a right to earned sick and safe time under this section. 31.32 Subd. 7. Reinstatement to comparable position after leave. An employee returning 31.33 from a leave under this section is entitled to return to employment in a comparable position. 31.34

If, during a leave under this section, the employer experiences a layoff and the employee 32.1 would have lost a position had the employee not been on leave, pursuant to the good faith 32.2 32.3 operation of a bona fide layoff and recall system, including a system under a collective bargaining agreement, the employee is not entitled to reinstatement in the former or 32.4 comparable position. In such circumstances, the employee retains all rights under the layoff 32.5 and recall system, including a system under a collective bargaining agreement, as if the 32.6 employee had not taken the leave. 32.7 32.8 Subd. 8. Pay and benefits after leave. An employee returning from a leave under this section is entitled to return to employment at the same rate of pay the employee had been 32.9 receiving when the leave commenced, plus any automatic adjustments in the employee's 32.10 pay scale that occurred during leave period. The employee returning from a leave is entitled 32.11 to retain all accrued preleave benefits of employment and seniority as if there had been no 32.12 interruption in service, provided that nothing under this section prevents the accrual of 32.13 benefits or seniority during the leave pursuant to a collective bargaining or other agreement 32.14 between the employer and employees. 32.15 Subd. 9. Part-time return from leave. An employee, by agreement with the employer, 32.16 may return to work part time during the leave period without forfeiting the right to return 32.17 to employment at the end of the leave, as provided under this section. 32.18 Subd. 10. Notice and posting by employer. (a) Employers must give notice to all 32.19 employees that they are entitled to earned sick and safe time, including the amount of earned 32.20 sick and safe time, the accrual year for the employee, and the terms of its use under this 32.21 section; that retaliation against employees who request or use earned sick and safe time is 32.22 prohibited; and that each employee has the right to file a complaint or bring a civil action 32.23 if earned sick and safe time is denied by the employer or the employee is retaliated against 32.24 for requesting or using earned sick and safe time. 32.25 32.26 (b) Employers must supply employees with a notice in English and other appropriate languages that contains the information required in paragraph (a) at commencement of 32.27 32.28 employment or the effective date of this section, whichever is later. 32.29 (c) The means used by the employer must be at least as effective as the following options for providing notice: 32.30 (1) posting a copy of the notice at each location where employees perform work and 32.31 where the notice must be readily observed and easily reviewed by all employees performing 32.32 work; or 32.33 (2) providing a paper or electronic copy of the notice to employees. 32.34

	04/01/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MJ/JF	H1670DE3
33.1	The notice must contain all information	required under paragrap	oh (a). The con	nmissioner
33.2	shall create and make available to emplo	oyers a poster and a mod	lel notice that	contains the
33.3	information required under paragraph (a	a) for their use in comply	ying with this s	section.
33.4	(d) An employer that provides an em	unlovee handbook to its	emnlovees mu	st include in
33.5	the handbook notice of employee rights		•	<u>st interace in</u>
				4l
33.6	Subd. 11. Required statement to en			
33.7	employer must provide, in writing or ele	ectronically, current info	rmation stating	g the
33.8	employee's amount of:			
33.9	(1) earned sick and safe time availab	ele to the employee; and		
33.10	(2) used earned sick and safe time.			
33.11	(b) Employers may choose a reasonab	le system for providing the	ne information	in paragraph
33.12	(a), including but not limited to listing in	formation on each pay st	ub or developi	ng an online
33.13	system where employees can access the	ir own information.		
33.14	Subd. 12. Employer records. (a) En	nployers shall retain acc	urate records d	ocumenting
33.15	hours worked by employees and earned	sick and safe time taker	and comply v	vith all
33.16	requirements under section 177.30.			
33.17	(b) An employer must allow an empl	oyee to inspect records r	equired by this	section and
33.18	relating to that employee at a reasonable	e time and place.		
33.19	Subd. 13. Confidentiality and none	lisclosure. (a) If, in conj	junction with t	his section,
33.20	an employer possesses:			
33.21	(1) health or medical information reg	garding an employee or	an employee's	family
33.22	member;			
33.23	(2) information pertaining to domest	ic abuse, sexual assault,	or stalking;	
33.24	(3) information that the employee ha	s requested or obtained	leave under thi	s section; or

information as confidential.

33.25

33.26

33.27

33.28

33.29

33.30

(4) any written or oral statement, documentation, record, or corroborating evidence

provided by the employee or an employee's family member, the employer must treat such

Information given by an employee may only be disclosed by an employer if the disclosure

is requested or consented to by the employee, when ordered by a court or administrative

agency, or when otherwise required by federal or state law.

(b) Records and documents relating to medical certifications, recertifications, or medical histories of employees or family members of employees created for purposes of section 177.50 or sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 must be maintained as confidential medical records separate from the usual personnel files. At the request of the employee, the employer must destroy or return the records required by sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 that are older than three years prior to the current calendar year. (c) Employers may not discriminate against any employee based on records created for the purposes of section 177.50 or sections 181.9445 to 181.9448. Sec. 5. [181.9448] EFFECT ON OTHER LAW OR POLICY. Subdivision 1. No effect on more generous sick and safe time policies. (a) Nothing in sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 shall be construed to discourage employers from adopting or retaining earned sick and safe time policies that meet or exceed, and do not otherwise conflict with, the minimum standards and requirements provided in sections 181.9445 to 181.9447. (b) Nothing in sections 181.9445 to 181.9447 shall be construed to limit the right of parties to a collective bargaining agreement to bargain and agree with respect to earned sick and safe time policies or to diminish the obligation of an employer to comply with any contract, collective bargaining agreement, or any employment benefit program or plan that meets or exceeds, and does not otherwise conflict with, the minimum standards and requirements provided in this section. (c) Employers who provide earned sick and safe time to their employees under a paid time off policy or other paid leave policy that meets or exceeds, and does not otherwise conflict with, the minimum standards and requirements provided in sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 are not required to provide additional earned sick and safe time. (d) An employer may opt to satisfy the requirements of sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 for construction industry employees by: (1) paying at least the prevailing wage rate as defined by section 177.42 and as calculated by the Department of Labor and Industry; or (2) paying at least the required rate established in a registered apprenticeship agreement for apprentices registered with the Department of Labor and Industry. An employer electing this option is deemed to be in compliance with sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 for construction industry employees who receive either at least the prevailing

34.1

34.2

34.3

34.4

34.5

34.6

34.7

34.8

34.9

34.10

34.11

34.12

34.13

34.14

34.15

34.16

34.17

34.18

34.19

34.20

34.21

34.22

34.23

34.24

34.25

34.26

34.27

34.28

34.29

34.30

34.31

wage rate or the rate required in the applicable apprenticeship agreement regardless of

whether the employees are working on private or public projects. 35.2 (e) Sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 do not prohibit an employer from establishing a policy 35.3 whereby employees may donate unused accrued sick and safe time to another employee. 35.4 35.5 (f) Sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 do not prohibit an employer from advancing sick and safe time to an employee before accrual by the employee. 35.6 35.7 Subd. 2. Termination; separation; transfer. Sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 do not require financial or other reimbursement to an employee from an employer upon the 35.8 employee's termination, resignation, retirement, or other separation from employment for 35.9 accrued earned sick and safe time that has not been used. If an employee is transferred to 35.10 a separate division, entity, or location, but remains employed by the same employer, the 35.11 35.12 employee is entitled to all earned sick and safe time accrued at the prior division, entity, or location and is entitled to use all earned sick and safe time as provided in sections 181.9445 35.13 to 181.9448. When there is a separation from employment and the employee is rehired 35.14 within 180 days of separation by the same employer, previously accrued earned sick and 35.15 safe time that had not been used must be reinstated. An employee is entitled to use accrued 35.16 earned sick and safe time and accrue additional earned sick and safe time at the 35.17 commencement of reemployment. 35.18 35.19 Subd. 3. Employer succession. (a) When a different employer succeeds or takes the place of an existing employer, all employees of the original employer who remain employed 35.20 by the successor employer are entitled to all earned sick and safe time accrued but not used 35.21 when employed by the original employer, and are entitled to use all earned sick and safe 35.22 time previously accrued but not used. 35.23 (b) If, at the time of transfer of the business, employees are terminated by the original 35.24 employer and hired within 30 days by the successor employer following the transfer, those 35.25 employees are entitled to all earned sick and safe time accrued but not used when employed 35.26 by the original employer, and are entitled to use all earned sick and safe time previously 35.27 35.28 accrued but not used. Sec. 6. **REPEALER.** 35.29 Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 181.9413, is repealed. 35.30 Sec. 7. EFFECTIVE DATE. 35.31 This article is effective 180 days following final enactment. 35.32

36.1 ARTICLE 4

36.2

36.3

36.4

36.5

36.6

36.7

36.8

36.9

36.10

36.11

36.12

36.13

36.14

36.15

36.16

36.17

36.18

36.19

36.20

36.21

36.22

36.23

36.24

36.25

36.26

36.27

36.28

36.29

36.30

36.31

36.32

36.33

EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME ENFORCEMENT

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.27, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. **Submission of records; penalty.** The commissioner may require the employer of employees working in the state to submit to the commissioner photocopies, certified copies, or, if necessary, the originals of employment records which the commissioner deems necessary or appropriate. The records which may be required include full and correct statements in writing, including sworn statements by the employer, containing information relating to wages, hours, names, addresses, and any other information pertaining to the employer's employees and the conditions of their employment as the commissioner deems necessary or appropriate.

The commissioner may require the records to be submitted by certified mail delivery or, if necessary, by personal delivery by the employer or a representative of the employer, as authorized by the employer in writing.

The commissioner may fine the employer up to \$1,000 \$10,000 for each failure to submit or deliver records as required by this section, and up to \$5,000 for each repeated failure. This penalty is in addition to any penalties provided under section 177.32, subdivision 1. In determining the amount of a civil penalty under this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penalty to the size of the employer's business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.27, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. **Compliance orders.** The commissioner may issue an order requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.21 to 177.435, 181.02, 181.03, 181.031, 181.032, 181.101, 181.11, 181.13, 181.14, 181.145, 181.15, 181.172, paragraph (a) or (d), 181.275, subdivision 2a, 181.722, 181.79, and 181.939 to 181.943, and 181.9445 to 181.9448, or with any rule promulgated under section 177.28. The commissioner shall issue an order requiring an employer to comply with sections 177.41 to 177.435 if the violation is repeated. For purposes of this subdivision only, a violation is repeated if at any time during the two years that preceded the date of violation, the commissioner issued an order to the employer for violation of sections 177.41 to 177.435 and the order is final or the commissioner and the employer have entered into a settlement agreement that required the employer to pay back wages that were required by sections 177.41 to 177.435. The department shall serve the order upon the employer or the employer's authorized representative in person or by

Article 4 Sec. 2.

certified mail at the employer's place of business. An employer who wishes to contest the order must file written notice of objection to the order with the commissioner within 15 calendar days after being served with the order. A contested case proceeding must then be held in accordance with sections 14.57 to 14.69. If, within 15 calendar days after being served with the order, the employer fails to file a written notice of objection with the commissioner, the order becomes a final order of the commissioner.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 177.27, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Employer liability. If an employer is found by the commissioner to have violated a section identified in subdivision 4, or any rule adopted under section 177.28, and the commissioner issues an order to comply, the commissioner shall order the employer to cease and desist from engaging in the violative practice and to take such affirmative steps that in the judgment of the commissioner will effectuate the purposes of the section or rule violated. The commissioner shall order the employer to pay to the aggrieved parties back pay, gratuities, and compensatory damages, less any amount actually paid to the employee by the employer, and for an additional equal amount as liquidated damages. Any employer who is found by the commissioner to have repeatedly or willfully violated a section or sections identified in subdivision 4 shall be subject to a civil penalty of up to \$1,000 \$10,000 for each violation for each employee. In determining the amount of a civil penalty under this subdivision, the appropriateness of such penalty to the size of the employer's business and the gravity of the violation shall be considered. In addition, the commissioner may order the employer to reimburse the department and the attorney general for all appropriate litigation and hearing costs expended in preparation for and in conducting the contested case proceeding, unless payment of costs would impose extreme financial hardship on the employer. If the employer is able to establish extreme financial hardship, then the commissioner may order the employer to pay a percentage of the total costs that will not cause extreme financial hardship. Costs include but are not limited to the costs of services rendered by the attorney general, private attorneys if engaged by the department, administrative law judges, court reporters, and expert witnesses as well as the cost of transcripts. Interest shall accrue on, and be added to, the unpaid balance of a commissioner's order from the date the order is signed by the commissioner until it is paid, at an annual rate provided in section 549.09, subdivision 1, paragraph (c). The commissioner may establish escrow accounts for purposes of distributing damages.

Sec. 4. [177.50] EARNED SICK AND SAFE TIME ENFORCEMENT.

Subdivision 1. **Definitions.** The definitions in section 181.9445 apply to this section.

37.1

37.2

37.3

37.4

37.5

37.6

37.7

37.8

37.9

37.10

37.11

37.12

37.13

37.14

37.15

37.16

37.17

37.18

37.19

37.20

37.21

37.22

37.23

37.24

37.25

37.26

37.27

37.28

37.29

37.30

37.31

37.32

37.33

Subd. 2. Rulemaking authority. The commissioner may adopt rules to carry out the

purposes of this section and sections 181.9445 to 181.9448. 38.2 38.3 Subd. 3. Individual remedies. In addition to any other remedies provided by law, a person injured by a violation of sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 may bring a civil action to 38.4 38.5 recover general and special damages, along with costs, fees, and reasonable attorney fees, and may receive injunctive and other equitable relief as determined by a court. An action 38.6 to recover damages under this subdivision must be commenced within three years of the 38.7 violation of sections 181.9445 to 181.9448 that caused the injury to the employee. 38.8 Subd. 4. Grants to community organizations. The commissioner may make grants to 38.9 38.10 community organizations for the purpose of outreach to and education for employees regarding their rights under sections 181.9445 to 181.9448. The community-based 38.11 organizations must be selected based on their experience, capacity, and relationships in 38.12 high-violation industries. The work under such a grant may include the creation and 38.13 administration of a statewide worker hotline. 38.14 Subd. 5. Report to legislature. (a) The commissioner must submit an annual report to 38.15 the legislature, including to the chairs and ranking minority members of any relevant 38.16 legislative committee. The report must include, but is not limited to: 38.17 (1) a list of all violations of sections 181.9445 to 181.9448, including the employer 38.18 involved, and the nature of any violations; and 38.19 (2) an analysis of noncompliance with sections 181.9445 to 181.9448, including any 38.20 patterns by employer, industry, or county. 38.21 (b) A report under this section must not include an employee's name or other identifying 38.22 information, any health or medical information regarding an employee or an employee's 38.23 family member, or any information pertaining to domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking 38.24 of an employee or an employee's family member. 38.25 Subd. 6. Contract for labor or services. It is the responsibility of all employers to not 38.26 enter into any contract or agreement for labor or services where the employer has any actual 38.27 knowledge or knowledge arising from familiarity with the normal facts and circumstances 38.28 of the business activity engaged in, or has any additional facts or information that, taken 38.29 together, would make a reasonably prudent person undertake to inquire whether, taken 38.30 together, the contractor is not complying or has failed to comply with this section. For 38.31 purposes of this subdivision, "actual knowledge" means information obtained by the employer 38.32 that the contractor has violated this section within the past two years and has failed to present 38.33

38.34

38.1

the employer with credible evidence that such noncompliance has been cured going forward.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective 180 days after final enactment.

39.2	ARTICLE 5
39.3	EMERGENCY REHIRE AND RETENTION
39.4	Section 1. DEFINITIONS.
39.5	Subdivision 1. Applicability. For the purposes of sections 1 to 4, the following terms
39.6	have the meanings given in this section.
39.7 39.8	Subd. 2. Air carrier. "Air carrier" means a person undertaking by any means, directly or indirectly, to provide air transportation of persons, property, or mail.
39.9 39.10	Subd. 3. Aircraft. "Aircraft" means any contrivance invented, used, or designed for navigation of or flight in the air, but excluding parachutes.
39.11	Subd. 4. Airport. "Airport" means any area of land or water, except a restricted landing
39.12	area, which is designed for the landing and takeoff of aircraft, whether or not facilities are
39.13	provided for the shelter, surfacing, or repair of aircraft, or for receiving or discharging
39.14	passengers or cargo, and all appurtenant areas used or suitable for airport buildings or other
39.15	airport facilities, and all appurtenant rights-of-way, whether heretofore or hereafter
39.16	established.
39.17	Subd. 5. Airport authority. "Airport authority" means an authority created pursuant to
39.18	Minnesota Statutes, section 360.0426.
39.19	Subd. 6. Airport facility management. "Airport facility management" means a person
39.20	directing or supervising airport management activities, including but not limited to:
39.21	(1) information management;
39.22	(2) building and property management;
39.23	(3) civil services;
39.24	(4) procurement and logistics management; and
39.25	(5) legal services.
39.26	Subd. 7. Airport hospitality operation. (a) "Airport hospitality operation" means a
39.27	business that:
39.28	(1) prepares, delivers, inspects, or provides any other service in connection with the
39.29	preparation of food or beverage for aircraft crew or passengers at an airport; or

40.1	(2) provides food and beverage, retail, or other consumer goods or services to the public
40.2	at an airport.
40.3	(b) Airport hospitality operation does not include an air carrier certified by the Federal
40.4	Aviation Administration.
40.5	Subd. 8. Airport service provider. (a) "Airport service provider" means a business that
40.6	performs, under contract with a passenger air carrier, airport facility management, or airport
40.7	authority, functions on the property of the airport that are directly related to the air
40.8	transportation of persons, property, or mail, including but not limited to:
40.9	(1) the loading and unloading of property on aircraft;
40.10	(2) assistance to passengers under Code of Federal Regulations, title 14, part 382;
40.11	(3) security;
40.12	(4) airport ticketing and check-in functions;
40.13	(5) ground-handling of aircraft;
40.14	(6) aircraft cleaning and sanitization functions; or
40.15	(7) airport authority.
40.16	(b) Airport service provider does not include an air carrier certificated by the Federal
40.17	Aviation Administration.
40.18	Subd. 9. Building service. "Building service" means janitorial, building maintenance,
40.19	or security services.
40.20	Subd. 10. Business day. "Business day" means Monday through Friday, excluding any
40.21	holidays as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 645.44.
40.22	Subd. 11. Change in control. "Change in control" means any sale, assignment, transfer,
40.23	contribution, or other disposition of all or substantially all of the assets used in the operation
40.24	of an enterprise or a discrete portion of the enterprise that continues in operation as an
40.25	enterprise, or a controlling interest, including by consolidation, merger, or reorganization,
40.26	of the incumbent employer or any person who controls the incumbent employer.
40.27	Subd. 12. Declared emergency. "Declared emergency" means a national security or
40.28	peacetime emergency declared by the governor under Minnesota Statutes, section 12.31, a
40.29	local emergency declared by the mayor of a municipality or the chair of a county board of
40.30	commissioners under Minnesota Statutes, section 12.29, a federal public health emergency

41.1	declared by the secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services, or a major
41.2	disaster or national emergency declared by the president.
41.3	Subd. 13. Eligible employee. (a) "Eligible employee" means an individual:
41.4	(1) whose primary place of employment is at an enterprise subject to a change in control;
41.5	(2) who is employed directly by the incumbent employer, or by an employer who has
41.6	contracted with the incumbent employer to provide services at the enterprise subject to a
41.7	change in control; and
41.8	(3) who has worked for the incumbent employer for at least one month prior to the
41.9	execution of the transfer document.
41.10	(b) Eligible employee does not include a managerial, supervisory, or confidential
41.11	employee.
41.12	Subd. 14. Employee. "Employee" means an individual who performs services for hire
41.13	for at least two hours in a particular week for an employer.
41.14	Subd. 15. Employer. "Employer" means any person who directly, indirectly, or through
41.15	an agent or any other person, including through the services of a temporary service or staffing
41.16	agency or similar entity, owns or operates an enterprise and employs one or more employees.
41.17	Subd. 16. Enterprise. "Enterprise" means a hotel, event center, airport hospitality
41.18	operation, airport service provider, or the provision of building service to office, retail, or
41.19	other commercial buildings.
41.20	Subd. 17. Event center. (a) "Event center" means a publicly or privately owned structure
41.21	of more than 50,000 square feet or 2,000 seats that is used for the purposes of public
41.22	performances, sporting events, business meetings, or similar events, and includes concert
41.23	halls, stadiums, sports arenas, racetracks, coliseums, and convention centers.
41.24	(b) Event center also includes any contracted, leased, or sublet premises connected to
41.25	or operated in conjunction with the event center's purpose, including food preparation
41.26	facilities, concessions, retail stores, restaurants, bars, and structured parking facilities.
41.27	Subd. 18. Hotel. (a) "Hotel" means a building, structure, enclosure, or any part thereof:
41.28	(1) used as, maintained as, advertised as, or held out to be a place where sleeping
41.29	accommodations, lodging, and other related services are furnished to the public; and
41.30	(2) containing 75 or more guest rooms, or suites of rooms, except adjoining rooms do
41.31	not constitute a suite of rooms. The number of guest rooms, or suites of rooms, shall be

04/01/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MJ/JF	H1670DE3

42.1	calculated based on the room count on the opening of the hotel or on December 31, 2019,
42.2	whichever is greater.
42.3	(b) Hotel also includes any contracted, leased, or sublet premises connected to or operated
42.4	in conjunction with the hotel's purpose, or providing services thereat.
42.5	Subd. 19. Incumbent employer. "Incumbent employer" means a person who owns or
42.6	operates an enterprise subject to a change in control prior to the change in control.
42.7	Subd. 20. Laid-off employee. "Laid-off employee" means any employee who was
42.8	employed by the employer for six months or more in the 12 months preceding January 31,
42.9	2020, and whose most recent separation from actively performing services for hire occurred
42.10	after January 31, 2020, and was due to a public health directive, government shutdown
42.11	order, lack of business, a reduction in force, or other economic, nondisciplinary reason
42.12	related to the declared emergency.
42.13	Subd. 21. Length of service. "Length of service" means the total of all periods of time
42.14	during which an employee has actively been performing services for hire with the employer,
42.15	including periods of time when the employee was on leave or on vacation.
42.16	Subd. 22. Person. "Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, limited
42.17	partnership, limited liability partnership, limited liability company, business trust, estate,
42.18	trust, association, joint venture, agency, instrumentality, or any other legal or commercial
42.19	entity, whether domestic or foreign.
42.20	Subd. 23. Successor employer. "Successor employer" means a person that owns or
42.21	operates an enterprise subject to a change in control after the change in control.
42.22	Subd. 24. Transfer document. "Transfer document" means the purchase agreement or
42.23	other documents creating a binding agreement to effect the change in control.
42.24	Sec. 2. EMERGENCY REHIRE AND RETENTION OF LAID-OFF EMPLOYEES.
42.25	Subdivision 1. Rehire and recall requirements. (a) An employer shall offer its laid-off
42.26	employees in writing, to their last known physical address, and by e-mail and text message
42.27	to the extent the employer possesses such information, all job positions that become available
42.28	after the effective date of this section for which the laid-off employees are qualified. A
42.29	laid-off employee is qualified for a position if the employee either:
42.30	(1) held the same or similar position at the enterprise at the time of the employee's most
42.31	recent separation from actively performing services for hire with the employer; or

43.1	(2) is or can be qualified for the position with the same training that would be provided
43.2	to a new employee hired into that position.
43.3	(b) The employer shall offer positions to laid-off employees in an order of preference
43.4	corresponding to paragraph (a), clauses (1) and (2). If more than one employee is entitled
43.5	to preference for a position, the employer shall offer the position to the laid-off employee
43.6	with the greatest length of service for the enterprise.
43.7	(c) A laid-off employee who is offered a position pursuant to this section shall be given
43.8	at least five business days in which to accept or decline the offer. An employer may make
43.9	simultaneous conditional offers of employment to laid-off employees, with a final offer of
43.10	employment conditioned on application of the priority system in paragraph (b).
43.11	(d) An employer that declines to recall a laid-off employee on the grounds of lack of
43.12	qualifications and instead hires someone other than a laid-off employee shall provide the
43.13	laid-off employee a written notice within 30 days identifying those hired in lieu of that
43.14	recall, along with all reasons for the decision.
43.15	(e) This section also applies in any of the following circumstances:
43.16	(1) the ownership of the employer changed after the separation from employment of a
43.17	laid-off employee but the enterprise is conducting the same or similar operations as before
43.18	the declared emergency;
43.19	(2) the form of organization of the employer changed after the declared emergency;
43.20	(3) substantially all of the assets of the employer were acquired by another entity which
43.21	conducts the same or similar operations using substantially the same assets; or
43.22	(4) the employer relocates the operations at which a laid-off employee was employed
43.23	before the declared emergency to a different location.
43.24	Subd. 2. Successor employer and retention requirements (a)(1) The incumbent
43.25	employer shall, within 15 days after the execution of a transfer document, provide to the
43.26	successor employer the name, address, date of hire, and employment occupation classification
43.27	of each eligible employee.
43.28	(2) The successor employer shall maintain a preferential hiring list of eligible employees
43.29	identified by the incumbent employer under clause (1), and shall be required to hire from
43.30	that list for a period beginning upon the execution of the transfer document and continuing
43.31	for six months after the enterprise is open to the public under the successor employer.

(3) If the successor employer extends an offer of employment to an eligible employee, the successor employer shall retain written verification of that offer for at least three years from the date the offer was made. The verification shall include the name, address, date of hire, and employment occupation classification of each eligible employee.

- (b)(1) A successor employer shall retain each eligible employee hired pursuant to this subdivision for no fewer than 90 days following the eligible employee's employment commencement date. During this 90-day transition employment period, eligible employees shall be employed under the terms and conditions established by the successor employer or as required by law. The successor employer shall provide eligible employees with a written offer of employment. This offer shall remain open for at least five business days from the date of the offer. A successor employer may make simultaneous conditional offers of employment to eligible employees, with a final offer of employment conditioned on application of the priority system set forth in clause (2).
- (2) If, within the period established in paragraph (a), clause (2), the successor employer determines that it requires fewer eligible employees than were required by the incumbent employer, the successor employer shall retain eligible employees by seniority within each job classification to the extent that comparable job classifications exist.
- (3) During the 90-day transition employment period, the successor employer shall not discharge without cause an eligible employee retained pursuant to this subdivision.
- (4) At the end of the 90-day transition employment period, the successor employer shall perform a written performance evaluation for each eligible employee retained pursuant to this section. If the eligible employee's performance during the 90-day transition employment period is satisfactory, the successor employer shall consider offering the eligible employee continued employment under the terms and conditions established by the successor employer or as required by law. The successor employer shall retain a record of the written performance evaluation for a period of no fewer than three years.
- (c)(1) The incumbent employer shall post written notice of the change in control at the location of the affected enterprise within five business days following the execution of the transfer document. Notice shall remain posted during any closure of the enterprise and for six months after the enterprise is open to the public under the successor employer.
- (2) Notice shall include but not be limited to the name of the incumbent employer and its contact information, the name of the successor employer and its contact information, and the effective date of the change in control.

44.1

44.2

44.3

44.4

44.5

44.6

44.7

44.8

44.9

44.10

44.11

44.12

44.13

44.14

44.15

44.16

44.17

44.18

44.19

44.20

44.21

44.22

44.23

44.24

44.25

44.26

44.27

44.28

44.29

45.1	(3) Notice shall be posted in a conspicuous place at the enterprise so as to be readily
45.2	viewed by eligible employees, other employees, and applicants for employment.
45.3	Subd. 3. Employment protections. No employer shall refuse to employ, terminate,
45.4	reduce in compensation, or otherwise take any adverse action against any employee for
45.5	seeking to enforce their rights under sections 1 to 4, by any lawful means, for participating
45.6	in proceedings related to these sections, opposing any practice prescribed by these sections,
45.7	or otherwise asserting rights under these sections. This subdivision shall also apply to any
45.8	employee who mistakenly, but in good faith, alleges noncompliance with these sections.
45.9	Subd. 4. Collective bargaining rights. (a) All of the provisions in sections 1 to 4 may
45.10	be waived in a valid collective bargaining agreement, but only if the waiver is explicitly set
45.11	forth in that agreement in clear and unambiguous terms. Unilateral implementation of terms
45.12	and conditions of employment by either party to a collective bargaining relationship shall
45.13	not constitute or be permitted as a waiver of all or any part of the provisions of sections 1
45.14	<u>to 4.</u>
45.15	(b) Nothing in sections 1 to 4 limits the right of employees to bargain collectively with
45.16	their employers through representatives of their own choosing to establish retention or
45.17	rehiring conditions more favorable to the employees than those required by these sections.
45.18	Sec. 3. ENFORCEMENT AND COMPLIANCE.
45.19	Subdivision 1. Enforcement. (a) An employee, including any eligible employee, may
45.20	file an action in the Minnesota District Court, or may file a complaint with the Department
45.21	of Labor and Industry, Labor Standards and Apprenticeship Division, against the employer,
45.22	or in the case of a violation of section 2, subdivision 2, incumbent employer or the successor
45.23	employer, for violations of section 2, and may be awarded any or all of the following, as
45.24	appropriate:
45.25	(1) hiring and reinstatement rights pursuant to section 2, with the 90-day transition
45.26	employment period not commencing until the eligible employee's employment
45.27	commencement date with the successor employer;
45.28	(2) front pay or back pay for each day during which the violation continues, which shall
45.29	be calculated at a rate of compensation not less than the highest of any of the following
45.30	rates:
45.31	(i) the average regular rate of pay received by the employee or eligible employee during
45.32	the last three years of that employee's employment in the same occupation classification;

04/01/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MJ/JF	H1670DE3
U4/U1/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	VI,J/,J F	H 10/01/E/3

46.1	(ii) the most recent regular rate received by the employee or eligible employee while
46.2	employed by the employer, incumbent employer, or successor employer; or
46.3	(iii) the regular rate received by the individual in the position during the time that the
46.4	employee or eligible employee should have been employed;
46.5	(3) value of the benefits the employee or eligible employee would have received under
46.6	the employer or successor employer's benefit plan; or
46.7	(4) in an action brought in the district court, a prevailing employee shall be awarded
46.8	reasonable attorneys' fees and costs.
46.9	(b) The Labor Standards and Apprenticeship Division shall investigate complaints filed
46.10	under this section, and if an employer, incumbent employer, or successor employer is found
46.11	to have violated section 2, the division shall determine and issue an award to an employee
46.12	pursuant to paragraph (a).
46.13	(c) No criminal penalties shall be imposed for a violation of section 2.
46.14	(d) This subdivision shall not be construed to limit a discharged employee or eligible
46.15	employee's right to pursue any other remedies available to an employee in law or equity.
46.16	Subd. 2. Compliance. The commissioner of labor and industry may issue a compliance
46.17	order under Minnesota Statutes, section 177.27, subdivision 4, requiring an employer to
46.18	comply with section 2.
46.19	Subd. 3. Interaction with local law. Nothing in this section shall prohibit a local
46.20	government agency from enacting ordinances that impose greater standards than, or establish
46.21	additional enforcement provisions to, those prescribed by this section.
46.22	Sec. 4. CITATION.
10.22	
46.23	Sections 1 to 4 may be cited as the "Emergency Rehire and Retention Law."
46.24	Sec. 5. EFFECTIVE DATES.
46.25	Sections 1 to 4 are effective the day following final enactment and expire December 31,
46.26	<u>2022.</u>

47.1	ARTICLE 6
47.2	ESSENTIAL WORKERS EMERGENCY LEAVE
47.3	Section 1. ESSENTIAL WORKERS EMERGENCY LEAVE ACT.
47.4	Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have
47.5	the meanings given.
47.6	(b) "Airport service provider" means a business other than an air carrier certificated by
47.7	the Federal Aviation Administration, that performs, under contract with a passenger air
47.8	carrier, airport facility management, or airport authority, functions on the property of the
47.9	airport that are directly related to the air transportation of persons, property, or mail, including
47.10	but not limited to:
47.11	(1) the loading and unloading of property on aircraft;
47.12	(2) assistance to passengers under Code of Federal Regulations, title 14, part 382;
47.13	(3) security;
47.14	(4) airport ticketing and check-in functions;
47.15	(5) ground-handling of aircraft;
47.16	(6) aircraft cleaning and sanitization functions; or
47.17	(7) airport authority.
47.18	(c) "Child" means a biological, adopted, or foster child, stepchild, legal ward, or child
47.19	for whom the essential worker is a legal guardian.
47.20	(d) "Emergency paid sick leave" means paid leave time provided under this section for
47.21	a reason provided in subdivision 2 that is not:
47.22	(1) fully compensated through workers' compensation benefits or unemployment
47.23	insurance benefits; or
47.24	(2) guaranteed to essential workers through other paid sick leave benefits under state
47.25	law or federal law or an executive order related to COVID-19.
47.26	(e) "Essential worker" means a person who performs services for hire for an employer
47.27	for one day or more, and who:
47.28	(1) is an emergency responder or health care provider as defined in Code of Federal
47.29	Regulations, title 29, section 826.30(c), including but not limited to nurses, peace officers,
47.30	firefighters, correctional institution personnel, emergency medical services personnel, and
47.31	social workers;

48.1	(2) is a licensed or unlicensed personnel employed by or under contract with:
48.2	(i) a hospital, boarding care home, or outpatient surgical center licensed under Minnesota
48.3	Statutes, sections 144.50 to 144.56;
48.4	(ii) a nursing home licensed under Minnesota Statutes, sections 144A.01 to 144A.162;
48.5	(iii) a housing with services establishment registered under Minnesota Statutes, section
48.6	144D.02, and operating under Minnesota Statutes, sections 144G.01 to 144G.07;
48.7	(iv) the arranged home care provider of an establishment specified in item (iii);
48.8	(v) an unlicensed health care clinic; or
48.9	(vi) an unlicensed office of a physician or advanced practice registered nurse;
48.10	(3) is a public school employee;
48.11	(4) works for an airport service provider; or
48.12	(5) works for a private employer performing work in the following sectors:
48.13	(i) building service, including janitorial, building maintenance, and security services;
48.14	(ii) child care;
48.15	(iii) food service, including food manufacture, production, processing, preparation, sale,
48.16	and delivery;
48.17	(iv) hotel accommodations;
48.18	(v) manufacturing; or
48.19	(vi) retail, including but not limited to sales, fulfillment, distribution, and delivery.
48.20	(f) "Employer" means a person who employs one or more essential workers, including
48.21	but not limited to a corporation, partnership, limited liability company, association, group
48.22	of persons, hospital, state, county, town, city, school district, or governmental subdivision,
48.23	excluding the federal government.
48.24	(g) "Retaliatory personnel action" means any form of intimidation, threat, reprisal,
48.25	harassment, discrimination, or adverse employment action, including discipline, discharge,
48.26	suspension, transfer, or reassignment to a lesser position in terms of job classification, job
48.27	security, or other condition of employment; reduction in pay or hours or denial of additional
48.28	hours; the accumulation of points under an attendance point system; informing another
48.29	employer that the person has engaged in activities protected by this section; or reporting or

04/01/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MJ/JF	H1670DE3

49.1	threatening to report the actual or suspected citizenship or immigration status of an employee,
49.2	former employee, or family member of an employee to a federal, state, or local agency.
49.3	Subd. 2. Emergency paid sick leave. An employer shall provide emergency paid sick
49.4	leave to an essential worker who is unable to work or telework due to any of the following
49.5	reasons:
49.6	(1) the essential worker is subject to a federal, state, or local quarantine or isolation order
49.7	related to COVID-19;
49.8	(2) the essential worker has been advised by a health care provider to self-quarantine
49.9	due to concerns related to COVID-19;
49.10	(3) the essential worker is experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 and seeking a medical
49.11	diagnosis;
49.12	(4) the essential worker is seeking or awaiting the results of a diagnostic test for, or a
49.13	medical diagnosis of, COVID-19 and the essential worker has been exposed to COVID-19
49.14	or the essential worker's employer has requested a test or diagnosis;
49.15	(5) the essential worker is obtaining an immunization related to COVID-19 or recovering
49.16	from an injury, disability, illness, or condition related to the immunization;
49.17	(6) the essential worker is caring for an individual who is subject to an order as described
49.18	in clause (1) or has been advised as described in clause (2); or
49.19	(7) the essential worker is caring for a child of the essential worker if the school or place
49.20	of care of the child has been closed, or the child care provider of the child is unavailable
49.21	due to COVID-19 precautions.
49.22	Subd. 3. Duration and use of leave. (a) An essential worker shall be entitled to
49.23	emergency paid sick leave as provided under this section for the following number of hours
49.24	through March 31, 2021, and an equal number of hours for the period beginning April 1,
49.25	<u>2021:</u>
49.26	(1) up to 80 hours for an essential worker who:
49.27	(i) the employer considers to work full time;
49.28	(ii) works or was scheduled to work on average what are considered full-time hours by
49.29	the employer, including pursuant to any applicable collective bargaining agreement; or
49.30	(iii) works or was scheduled to work at least 40 hours per week for the employer on
49.31	average over a two-week period;

04/01/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MJ/JF	H1670DE3
0 1/01/21 11:12 am		1110/01	1110/000

50.1	(2) a number of hours equal to the number of hours that an essential worker works for
50.2	the employer on average over a two-week period for any essential worker who:
50.3	(i) the employer considers to work part time;
50.4	(ii) works or was scheduled to work on average what are considered part-time hours by
50.5	the employer, including pursuant to any applicable collective bargaining agreement; or
50.6	(iii) works or was scheduled to work fewer than 40 hours per week for the employer on
50.7	average over a two-week period; or
50.8	(3) 14 times the average number of hours an essential worker worked per day for the
50.9	employer for the previous six months, or for the entire period the essential worker has
50.10	worked for the employer, whichever is shorter, for an essential worker who works variable hours and who is not covered by clause (1) or (2).
00.11	
50.12	(b) Leave under this section shall be available for use by an essential worker for a reason
50.13	listed in subdivision 2 beginning the day following final enactment and may be used
50.14	intermittently, provided that any amount of leave taken under this section shall end with
50.15	the essential worker's next scheduled work shift immediately following the termination of
50.16	the essential worker's need for leave under a reason provided in subdivision 2.
50.17	(c) After the first workday or portion thereof that an essential worker receives leave
50.18	under this section, an employer may require the essential worker to follow reasonable notice
50.19	procedures to continue receiving leave.
50.20	(d) Leave under this section expires 30 days after a peacetime emergency declared by
50.21	the governor in an executive order that relates to the infectious disease known as COVID-19
50.22	is terminated or rescinded.
50.23	Subd. 4. Amount of compensation. (a) An essential worker shall receive compensation
50.24	for each hour of emergency paid sick leave received under this section in an amount that
50.25	shall be the greater of:
50.26	(1) the essential worker's regular rate of pay for the essential worker's last pay period,
50.27	including pursuant to any collective bargaining agreement that applies;
50.28	(2) the state minimum wage in effect under Minnesota Statutes, section 177.24; or
50.29	(3) the local minimum wage to which the essential worker is entitled.
50.30	(b) In no event shall emergency paid sick time provided under this section exceed \$511
50.31	per day, nor shall emergency paid sick time provided under this section exceed \$5,110 in

the aggregate for the period ending March 31, 2021, or \$5,110 in the aggregate for the period beginning April 1, 2021.

- (c) Unused or remaining leave under this section shall not carry over past the expiration of this section.
- (d) Nothing in this section shall be construed to require financial or other reimbursement to an essential worker from an employer upon the essential worker's termination, resignation, retirement, or other separation from employment for emergency paid sick time under this section that has not been used by the essential worker.
- Subd. 5. Relationship to other leave. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (c), emergency paid sick leave under this section shall be in addition to any paid or unpaid leave provided to an essential worker by an employer under a collective bargaining agreement, negotiated agreement, contract, or any other employment policy.
- (b) An essential worker may use leave provided under this section first, and except as provided in paragraph (c), an employer shall not require an essential worker to use other paid or unpaid leave provided by the employer before the essential worker uses the leave provided under this section or in lieu of the leave provided under this section.
- (c) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b), if an employer has already provided an essential worker with additional paid leave for any reason provided in subdivision 2, and the leave was in addition to the regular amount of paid leave provided by the employer and compensated the essential worker in an amount equal to or greater than the amount of compensation provided under this section, the employer may credit the other additional paid leave toward the total number of hours of emergency paid sick leave required under this section; provided, however, that if the other paid leave compensated the essential worker at an amount less than the amount of compensation provided under this section, the employer is required to comply with this section to the extent of the deficiency to receive the credit under this paragraph.
- (d) An employer shall provide notice to essential workers of the requirements for emergency paid sick leave provided under this section.
- (e) Nothing in this section shall be deemed:
- (1) to limit the rights of an essential worker or employer under any law, rule, regulation, or collectively negotiated agreement, or the rights and benefits that accrue to essential workers through collective bargaining agreements, or the rights of essential workers with respect to any other employment benefits; or

51.1

51.2

51.3

51.4

51.5

51.6

51.7

51.8

51.9

51.10

51.11

51.12

51.13

51.14

51.15

51.16

51.17

51.18

51.19

51.20

51.21

51.22

51.23

51.24

51.25

51.26

51.27

52.1	(2) to prohibit any personnel action that otherwise would have been taken regardless of
52.2	a request to use, or use of, any leave provided by this section.
52.3	(f) Nothing in this section shall prevent an employer from providing, or the parties to a
52.4	collective bargaining agreement from agreeing to, leave benefits that meet or exceed and
52.5	do not otherwise conflict with the requirements for emergency paid sick leave under this
52.6	section.
52.7	Subd. 6. Requirements and enforcement. (a) An employer shall not take any retaliatory
52.8	personnel action against an essential worker for requesting or obtaining emergency paid
52.9	sick leave under this section or for bringing a complaint related to this section, including a
52.10	proceeding that seeks enforcement of this section.
52.11	(b) The Department of Labor and Industry shall enforce this section. The commissioner
52.12	has the authority provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 177.27, subdivision 4, including
52.13	the authority to issue an order requiring an employer to comply with this section. The
52.14	commissioner may investigate complaints of violations of this section as necessary to
52.15	determine whether a violation has occurred. If the commissioner finds that an employer has
52.16	violated this section, the commissioner shall fine the employer up to \$1,000 for each willful
52.17	violation for each essential worker.
52.18	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment for
52.19	essential workers hired by an employer on or after the day following final enactment. This
52.20	section applies retroactively from March 13, 2020, for essential workers who were employed
52.21	on or after March 13, 2020, and are currently employed as of the day following final
52.22	enactment or May 17, 2021, whichever is earlier. Subdivisions 1 to 5 sunset on September
52.23	30, 2021, or 30 days after a peacetime emergency declared by the governor in an executive
52.24	order that relates to the infectious disease known as COVID-19 is terminated or rescinded,
52.25	whichever is later. Subdivision 6 sunsets June 30, 2023.
52.26	ARTICLE 7
52.27	SAFE WORKPLACES FOR MEAT AND POULTRY PROCESSING WORKERS
52.28	Section 1. [179.87] TITLE.
52.29	Sections 179.87 to 179.8757 may be titled the Safe Workplaces for Meat and Poultry
52.30	Processing Workers Act.

53.1	Sec. 2. [179.871] DEFINITIONS.
53.2	Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of sections 179.87 to 179.8757, the terms in
53.3	this section have the meanings given.
53.4	Subd. 2. Authorized employee representative. "Authorized employee representative"
53.5	has the meaning given in section 182.651, subdivision 22.
53.6	Subd. 3. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of labor and industry
53.7	or the commissioner's designee.
53.8	Subd. 4. Coordinator. "Coordinator" means the meatpacking industry worker rights
53.9	coordinator or the coordinator's designee.
53.10	Subd. 5. Meat-processing worker. "Meat-processing worker" or "worker" means any
53.11	individual who a meat-processing employer suffers or permits to work directly in contact
53.12	with raw meatpacking products in a meatpacking operation, including independent contractors
53.13	and persons performing work for an employer through a temporary service or staffing
53.14	agency.
53.15	Subd. 6. Meatpacking operation. "Meatpacking operation" or "meat-processing
53.16	employer" means a business in which slaughtering, butchering, meat canning, meatpacking,
53.17	meat manufacturing, poultry canning, poultry packing, poultry manufacturing, pet food
53.18	manufacturing, egg production, processing of meatpacking products, or rendering occurs.
53.19	Meatpacking operation or meat-processing employer does not mean a grocery store, deli,
53.20	restaurant, or other business preparing meat or poultry products for immediate consumption.
53.21	Subd. 7. Meatpacking products. "Meatpacking products" means meat food products
53.22	and poultry food products as defined in section 31A.02, subdivision 10.
53.23	Subd. 8. Public health emergency. "Public health emergency" means a peacetime
53.24	emergency declared by the governor under section 12.31, a federal public health emergency
53.25	declared by the secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services, or a national
53.26	emergency declared by the president due to infectious disease or another significant threat
53.27	to public health.
53.28	Sec. 3. [179.8715] WORKER RIGHTS COORDINATOR.
53.29	(a) The commissioner must appoint a meatpacking industry worker rights coordinator

space, furniture, equipment, supplies, and assistance.

53.30

53.31

in the Department of Labor and Industry and provide the coordinator with necessary office

(b) The coordinator must enforce sections 179.87 to 179.8757, including inspecting,
reviewing, and recommending improvements to the practices and procedures of meatpacking
operations in Minnesota. A meat-processing employer must grant the coordinator full access
to all meatpacking operations in this state at any time that meatpacking products are being
processed or meat-processing workers are on the job.
(c) No later than December 1 each year, the coordinator must submit a report to the
governor and the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with
jurisdiction over labor. The report must include recommendations to promote better treatment
of meat-processing workers. The coordinator shall also post the report on the Department
of Labor and Industry's website.
Sec. 4. [179.872] REFUSAL TO WORK UNDER DANGEROUS CONDITIONS.
(a) A meat-processing worker has a right to refuse to work under conditions that the
worker reasonably believes would expose the worker, other workers, or the public to an
unreasonable risk of illness or injury, or exposure to illness or injury, including the infectious
disease known as COVID-19.
(b) A meat-processing employer must not discriminate or take adverse action against
any worker for a good faith refusal to work if the worker has requested that the employer
correct a hazardous condition and that condition remains uncorrected.
(c) A meat-processing worker who has refused in good faith to work under paragraph
(a) or (b) and who has not been reassigned to other work by the meat-processing employer
must, in addition to retaining a right to continued employment, continue to be paid by the
employer for the hours that would have been worked until such time as the meat-processing
employer can demonstrate that the condition has been remedied.
Soc 5 [170 974] LINEMDI OVMENT INCLIDANCE, DANCEDOLIS MEAT
Sec. 5. [179.874] UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE; DANGEROUS MEAT
PACKING CONDITIONS.
(a) Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, the provisions of this section govern
unemployment insurance claims for meat-processing workers.
(b) An individual who left employment because a meat-processing employer failed to

54.30 reasons has good cause for leaving employment.

54.1

54.2

54.3

54.4

54.5

54.6

54.7

54.8

54.9

54.10

54.11

54.12

54.13

54.14

54.15

54.16

54.17

54.18

54.19

54.20

54.21

54.22

54.23

54.24

54.25

54.26

54.27

54.28

54.29

cure a working condition that made the work environment unsuitable for health or safety

04/01/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MJ/JF	H1670DE3

55.1	(c) During a public health emergency, an individual must not be required to prove that
55.2	a working condition that made the environment unsuitable for health or safety reasons was
55.3	unique to the worker or that the risk was not customary to the worker's occupation.
55.4	(d) An individual must be deemed to have exhausted reasonable alternatives to leaving
55.5	if the individual, authorized employee representative, or another employee notified the
55.6	meat-processing employer of the unsafe or unhealthy working condition and the employer
55.7	did not cure it or if the employer knew or should have had reason to know that the condition
55.8	made the work environment unsuitable and did not cure it.
55.9	(e) During a public health emergency, an individual has good cause to leave employment
55.10	if the individual leaves to care for a seriously ill or quarantined family or household member.
55.11	(f) An individual has good cause to refuse an offer of employment or reemployment if
55.12	the meat-processing employer has not cured a working condition that makes the work
55.13	environment unsuitable for health or safety reasons, including any condition that required
55.14	the workplace to close or reduce operations pursuant to a state or federal executive order
55.15	issued during a public health emergency.
55.16	(g) An individual has good cause to refuse an offer of employment or reemployment
55.17	from a meat-processing employer if the conditions of work would require the individual to
55.18	violate government public health guidance or to assume an unreasonable health risk.
55.19	(h) An individual has good cause to refuse an offer of employment or reemployment
55.20	from a meat-processing employer if the individual is required to care for a child whose
55.21	school is closed due to a public health emergency or if the individual is required to otherwise
55.22	care for a family or household member during a public health emergency.
55.23	Sec. 6. [179.875] ENFORCEMENT AND COMPLIANCE.
55.24	Subdivision 1. Administrative enforcement. The coordinator, either on the coordinator's
55.25	initiative or in response to a complaint, may inspect a meatpacking operation and subpoena
55.26	records and witnesses. If a meat-processing employer does not comply with the coordinator's
55.27	inspection, the coordinator may seek relief as provided in this section.
55.28	Subd. 2. Compliance authority. The commissioner of labor and industry may issue a
55.29	compliance order under section 177.27, subdivision 4, requiring an employer to comply
55.30	with sections 179.87 to 179.8757.
55.31	Subd. 3. Private civil action. If a meat-processing employer does not comply with a
55.32	provision in sections 179.87 to 179.8757, an aggrieved worker, authorized employee
55.33	representative, or other person may bring a civil action in a court of competent jurisdiction

$04/01/21\ 11.42\ am$	HOUSE RESEARCH	MI/IF	H1670DF3

wit	thin three years of an alleged violation and, upon prevailing, must be awarded the relief
pro	ovided in this section. Pursuing administrative relief is not a prerequisite for bringing a
civ	ril action.
	Subd. 4. Other government enforcement. The attorney general may enforce sections
179	9.87 to 179.8757 under section 8.31. A city or county attorney may also enforce these
sec	ctions. Such law enforcement agencies may inspect meatpacking operations and subpoena
rec	ords and witnesses and, where such agencies determine that a violation has occurred,
ma	by bring a civil action as provided in this section.
	Subd. 5. Relief. (a) In a civil action or administrative proceeding brought to enforce
sec	etions 179.87 to 179.8757, the court or coordinator must order relief as provided in this
sul	odivision.
	(b) For any violation of sections 179.87 to 179.8757:
	(1) an injunction to order compliance and restrain continued violations, including through
a s	top work order or business closure;
	(2) payment to a prevailing worker by a meat-processing employer of reasonable costs,
dis	bursements, and attorney fees; and
	(3) a civil penalty payable to the state of not less than \$100 per day per worker affected
by	the meat-processing employer's noncompliance with sections 179.87 to 179.8757.
	(c) For any violation of section 179.872:
	(1) reinstatement of the worker to the same position held before any adverse personnel
act	ion or to an equivalent position, reinstatement of full fringe benefits and seniority rights,
and	d compensation for unpaid wages, benefits and other remuneration, or front pay in lieu
of	reinstatement; and
	(2) compensatory damages payable to the aggrieved worker equal to the greater of \$5,000
or	twice the actual damages, including unpaid wages, benefits and other remuneration, and
pu	nitive damages.
	Subd. 6. Whistleblower enforcement; penalty distribution. (a) The relief provided in
thi	s section may be recovered through a private civil action brought on behalf of the
<u>co</u> 1	mmissioner in a court of competent jurisdiction by another individual, including an
aut	chorized employee representative, pursuant to this subdivision.
	(b) The individual must give written notice to the coordinator of the specific provision
or	provisions of sections 179.87 to 179.8757 alleged to have been violated. The individual

04/01/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MJ/JF	H1670DE3

or representative organization may commence a civil action under this subdivision if no 57.1 enforcement action is taken by the coordinator within 30 days. 57.2 57.3 (c) Civil penalties recovered pursuant to this subdivision must be distributed as follows: (1) 70 percent to the commissioner for enforcement of sections 179.87 to 179.8757; and 57.4 57.5 (2) 30 percent to the individual or authorized employee representative. 57.6 (d) The right to bring an action under this subdivision shall not be impaired by private 57.7 contract. A public enforcement action must be tried promptly, without regard to concurrent adjudication of a private claim for the same alleged violation. 57.8 Sec. 7. [179.8755] RETALIATION AGAINST EMPLOYEES AND 57.9 WHISTLEBLOWERS PROHIBITED. 57.10 (a) No meat-processing employer or other person may discriminate or take adverse 57.11 action against any worker or other person who raises a concern about meatpacking operation 57.12 57.13 health and safety practices or hazards to the employer, the employer's agent, other workers, a government agency, or to the public, including through print, online, social, or any other 57.14 57.15 media. (b) If an employer or other person takes adverse action against a worker or other person 57.16 within 90 days of the worker's or person's engagement or attempt to engage in activities 57.17 protected by sections 179.87 to 179.8757, such conduct raises a presumption that the action 57.18 is retaliatory. The presumption may be rebutted by clear and convincing evidence that the 57.19 57.20 action was taken for other permissible reasons. (c) No meat-processing employer or other person may attempt to require any worker to 57.21 sign a contract or other agreement that would limit or prevent the worker from disclosing 57.22 information about workplace health and safety practices or hazards, or to otherwise abide 57.23 by a workplace policy that would limit or prevent such disclosures. Any such agreements 57.24 or policies are hereby void and unenforceable as contrary to the public policy of this state. 57.25 An employer's attempt to impose such a contract, agreement, or policy shall constitute an 57.26 adverse action enforceable under sections 179.87 to 179.8757. 57.27 (d) Reporting or threatening to report a meat-processing worker's suspected citizenship 57.28 57.29 or immigration status, or the suspected citizenship or immigration status of a family member of the worker, to a federal, state, or local agency because the worker exercises a right under 57.30 sections 179.87 to 179.8757 constitutes an adverse action for purposes of establishing a 57.31 violation of that worker's rights. For purposes of this paragraph, "family member" means a 57.32

04/01/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MJ/JF	H1670DE3
04/01/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MJ/JF	H10/0DE3

spouse, parent, sibling, child, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, cousin, grandparent, or grandchild 58.1 related by blood, adoption, marriage, or domestic partnership. 58.2 (e) Any worker who brings a complaint under sections 179.87 to 179.8757 and suffers 58.3 retaliation is entitled to treble damages in addition to lost pay and recovery of attorney fees 58.4 and costs. 58.5 (f) Any company who is found to have retaliated against a food processing worker must 58.6 pay a fine of up to \$5,000 to the commissioner. 58.7 Sec. 8. [179.8756] MEATPACKING WORKER CHRONIC INJURIES AND 58.8 WORKPLACE SAFETY. 58.9 Subdivision 1. Safe worker program required; facility committee. (a) Meat-processing 58.10 58.11 employers must adopt a safe worker program as part of the employer's work accident and injury reduction program to minimize and prevent musculoskeletal disorders. For purposes 58.12 of this section, "musculoskeletal disorders" includes carpal tunnel syndrome, tendinitis, 58.13 rotator cuff injuries, trigger finger, epicondylitis, muscle strains, and lower back injuries. 58.14 58.15 (b) The meat-processing employer's safe worker program must be developed and implemented by a committee of individuals who are knowledgeable of the tasks and work 58.16 processes performed by workers at the employer's facility. The committee must include: 58.17 58.18 (1) a certified professional ergonomist; (2) a licensed, board-certified physician, with preference given to a physician who has 58.19 specialized experience and training in occupational medicine, or if it is not practicable for 58.20 a physician to be a member of the committee, the employer must ensure that its safe worker 58.21 program is reviewed and approved by a licensed, board-certified physician, with preference 58.22 given to a physician who has specialized experience and training in occupational medicine; 58.23 58.24 and (3) at least three workers employed in the employer's facility who have completed a 58.25 general industry outreach course approved by the commissioner, one of whom must be an 58.26 authorized employee representative if the employer is party to a collective bargaining 58.27 agreement. 58.28 58.29 Subd. 2. **Program elements.** (a) The committee must establish written procedures to identify ergonomic hazards and contributing risk factors, which must include: 58.30 58.31 (1) the ergonomic assessment tools used to measure ergonomic hazards;

04/01/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MJ/JF	H1670DE3

59.1	(2) an jobs where the committee has an indication of knowledge that ergonomic nazards
59.2	may exist; and
59.3	(3) workers who perform the same job or a sample of workers in that job who have the
59.4	greatest exposure to the ergonomic hazard.
59.5	(b) The committee must conduct ergonomic assessments to identify hazards and
59.6	contributing risk factors; review all surveillance data at least quarterly to identify ergonomic
59.7	hazards and contributing risk factors; and maintain records of the hazard identification
59.8	process, which, at a minimum, must include the completed ergonomic assessment tools,
59.9	the results of the ergonomic assessments including the jobs and workers evaluated, and the
59.10	assessment dates.
59.11	(c) The committee must implement a written ergonomic hazard prevention and control
59.12	plan to identify and select methods to eliminate, prevent, or control the ergonomic hazards
59.13	and contributing risk factors. The plan must:
59.14	(1) set goals, priorities, and a timeline to eliminate, prevent, or control the ergonomic
59.15	hazards and contributing risk factors identified;
59.16	(2) identify the person or persons responsible for ergonomic hazard assessments and
59.17	implementation of controls;
59.18	(3) rely upon the surveillance data and the ergonomic risk assessment results; and
59.19	(4) take into consideration the severity of the risk, the numbers of workers at risk, and
59.20	the likelihood that the intervention will reduce the risk.
59.21	(d) A meat-processing employer must control, reduce, or eliminate ergonomic hazards
59.22	which lead to musculoskeletal disorders to the extent feasible by using engineering, work
59.23	practice, and administrative controls.
59.24	(e) The committee must monitor at least annually the implementation of the plan including
59.25	the effectiveness of controls and evaluate progress in meeting program goals.
59.26	Subd. 3. New employee training. (a) A meat-processing employer must work with the
59.27	committee to provide each new employee with information regarding:
59.28	(1) the committee and its members;
59.29	(2) the facility's hazard prevention and control plan;
59.30	(3) early signs and symptoms of musculoskeletal injuries and the procedures for reporting
59.31	them;

(4) procedures for reporting other injuries and hazards;

60.1

60.2

60.3

60.4

60.5

60.6

60.7

60.8

60.9

60.10

60.11

60.12

60.13

60.14

60.15

60.16

60.17

60.18

60.19

60.20

60.21

60.22

60.23

60.24

60.25

60.26

60.27

60.28

60.29

60.30

60.31

60.32

60.33

(5) engineering and administrative hazard controls implemented in the workplace, including ergonomic hazard controls; and

(6) the availability and use of personal protective equipment.

(b) A meat-processing employer must work with the committee and ensure that new workers receive safety training prior to staring a job that the worker has not performed before. The employer must provide the safety training during working hours and compensate the new employee at the employee's standard rate of pay. The employer also must give a new employee an opportunity within 30 days of the employee's hire date to receive a refresher training on the topics covered in the new worker safety training. The employer must provide new employee training in a language and with vocabulary that the employee can understand.

Subd. 4. New task and annual safety training. (a) Meat-processing employers must provide every worker who is assigned a new task if the worker has no previous work experience with training on how to safely perform the task, the ergonomic and other hazards associated with the task, and training on the early signs and symptoms of musculoskeletal injuries and the procedures for reporting them. The employer must give a worker an opportunity within 30 days of receiving the new task training to receive refresher training on the topics covered in the new task training. The employer must provide this training in a language and with vocabulary that the employee can understand.

(b) Meat-processing employers must provide each worker with no less than eight hours of safety training each year. This annual training must address health and safety topics that are relevant to the establishment, such as cuts, lacerations, amputations, machine guarding, biological hazards, lockout/tagout, hazard communication, ergonomic hazards, and personal protective equipment. At least two of the eight hours of annual training must be on topics related to the facility's ergonomic injury prevention program, including the assessment of surveillance data, the ergonomic hazard prevention and control plan, and the early signs and symptoms of musculoskeletal disorders and the procedures for reporting them. The employer must provide this training in a language and with vocabulary that the employee can understand.

Subd. 5. Attestation and record keeping. Meat-processing employers must maintain a written attestation dated and signed by each person who provides training and each employee who receives training pursuant to this section. This attestation must certify that the employer has provided training consistent with the requirements of this section. The

$04/01/21\ 11.42\ am$	HOUSE RESEARCH	MI/IF	H1670DF3

61.1	employer must ensure that these records are up to date and available to the commissioner,
61.2	the coordinator, and the authorized employee representative upon request.
61.3	Subd. 6. Medical services and qualifications. (a) Meat-processing employers must
61.4	ensure that:
61.5	(1) all first-aid providers, medical assistants, nurses, and physicians engaged by the
61.6	employer are licensed and perform their duties within the scope of their licensed practice;
61.7	(2) medical management of musculoskeletal disorders is under direct supervision of a
61.8	licensed physician specializing in occupational medicine who will advise on best practices
61.9	for management and prevention of work-related musculoskeletal disorders; and
61.10	(3) medical management of musculoskeletal injuries follows the most current version
61.11	of the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine practice guidelines
61.12	(b) Meat-processing employers must make a record of all worker visits to medical or
61.13	first aid personnel, regardless of severity or type of illness or injury, and make these records
61.14	available to the coordinator and the authorized employee representative.
61.15	(c) Meat-processing employers must maintain records of all ergonomic injuries suffered
61.16	by workers for at least five years.
61.17	(d) The coordinator may compile, analyze, and publish annually, either in summary or
61.18	detailed form, all reports or information obtained under sections 179.87 to 179.8757,
61.19	including information about safe worker programs, and may cooperate with the United
61.20	States Department of Labor in obtaining national summaries of occupational deaths, injuries
61.21	and illnesses. The coordinator must preserve the anonymity of each employee with respect
61.22	to whom medical reports or information is obtained.
61.23	(e) Meat-processing employers must not institute or maintain any program, policy, or
61.24	practice that discourages employees from reporting injuries, hazards, or safety standard
61.25	violations.
61.26	Subd. 7. Rulemaking required. The commissioner must adopt rules requiring employers
61.27	to maintain accurate records of meat-processing worker exposure to ergonomic hazards.
61.28	Subd. 8. Pandemic protections. (a) This subdivision applies during a peacetime public
61.29	health emergency declared under section 12.31, subdivision 2.
61.30	(b) Meat-processing employers must maintain at least a six-foot radius of space around
61.31	and between each worker. An employer may accomplish such distancing by increasing
61.32	physical space between workstations, slowing production speeds, staggering shifts and

62.1	breaks, adjusting shift size, or a combination thereof. The employer must reconfigure
62.2	common or congregate spaces to allow for such distancing, including lunch rooms, break
62.3	rooms, and locker rooms. The coordinator must reinforce social distancing by allowing
62.4	workers to maintain six feet of distance along with the use of plastic barriers.
62.5	(c) Meat-processing employers must provide employees with face masks and must make
62.6	face shields available on request. Face masks, including replacement face masks, and face
62.7	shields must be provided at no cost to the employee. All persons present at the meatpacking
62.8	operation must wear face masks in the facility except in those parts of the facility where
62.9	infection risk is low because workers work in isolation.
62.10	(d) Meat-processing employers must provide all meat-processing workers with the ability
62.11	to frequently and routinely sanitize their hands with either hand-washing or hand-sanitizing
62.12	stations. The employer must ensure that restrooms have running hot and cold water and
62.13	paper towels and are in sanitary condition. The employer must provide gloves to those who
62.14	request them.
62.15	(e) Meat-processing employers must clean and regularly disinfect all frequently touched
62.16	surfaces in the workplace, such as workstations, training rooms, machinery controls, tools,
62.17	protective garments, eating surfaces, bathrooms, showers, and other similar areas. Employers
62.18	must install and maintain ventilation systems that ensure unidirectional air flow, outdoor
62.19	air, and filtration in both production areas and common areas such as cafeterias and locker
62.20	rooms.
62.21	(f) Meat-processing employers must disseminate all required communications, notices,
62.22	and any published materials regarding these protections in English, Spanish, and other
62.23	languages as required for employees to understand the communication.
62.24	(g) Meat-processing employers must provide adequate break time for workers to use
62.25	the bathroom, wash their hands, and don and doff protective equipment.
62.26	(h) Meat-processing employers must provide sufficient personal protective equipment
62.27	for each employee for each shift, plus replacements, at no cost to the employee.
62.28	Meat-processing employers must provide training in proper use of personal protective
62.29	equipment, safety procedures, and sanitation.
62.30	(i) As part of the meat-processing employer's accident, injury, and illness reduction
62.31	program, the employer must create a health and safety committee consisting of equal parts
62.32	company management, employees, and authorized employee representatives. The health
62.33	and safety committee must meet at least twice a year and present results to the commissioner.

63.1	If the meatpacking operation has no collective bargaining agreement, a local labor
63.2	representative must be appointed.
63.3	(j) Meat-processing employers must record all injuries and illnesses in the facility and
63.4	make these records available upon request to the health and safety committee. The employer
63.5	also must make its records available to the commissioner, and where there is a collective
63.6	bargaining agreement, to the authorized bargaining representative.
63.7	(k) Meat-processing employers must provide paid sick time for workers to recuperate
63.8	from illness or injury or to care for ill family members. For purposes of this paragraph,
63.9	"family member" includes:
63.10	(1) biological, adopted, or foster children, stepchildren, children of domestic partners
63.11	or spouses, and legal wards of workers;
63.12	(2) biological parents, stepparents, foster parents, adoptive parents, or legal guardians
63.13	of a worker or a worker's spouse or domestic partner;
63.14	(3) a worker's legally married spouse or domestic partner as registered under the laws
63.15	of any state or political subdivision;
63.16	(4) a worker's grandparent, whether from a biological, step-, foster, or adoptive
63.17	relationship;
63.18	(5) a worker's grandchild, whether from a biological, step-, foster, or adoptive
63.19	relationship;
63.20	(6) a worker's sibling, whether from a biological, step-, foster, or adoptive relationship
63.21	<u>and</u>
63.22	(7) any other individual related by blood or affinity to the worker whose association
63.23	with the worker is the equal of a family relationship.
63.24	(l) All meat-processing workers must accrue at least one hour of paid sick time for every
63.25	30 hours worked. For purposes of this paragraph, paid sick time means time that is
63.26	compensated at the same hourly rate, including the same benefits, as is normally earned by
63.27	the worker.
63.28	(m) Meat-processing employers may provide all paid sick time a worker is expected to
63.29	accrue at the beginning of the year or at the start of the worker's employment.
63.30	(n) Meat-processing employers must carry an employee's earned paid sick time over
63.31	into the following calendar year. If a worker does not wish to carry over sick time, the
63.32	meat-processing employer must pay the worker for accrued sick time. If a worker chooses

to receive pay in lieu of carried-over sick time, the employer must provide the worker with an amount of paid sick time that meets or exceeds the requirements of sections 179.87 to 179.8757, to be available for the worker's immediate use at the start of the following calendar year. (o) Meat-processing employers must maintain records for at least three years showing hours worked and paid sick time accrued and used by workers. Employers must allow the commissioner and coordinator access to these records in order to ensure compliance with the requirements of sections 179.87 to 179.8757. (p) If a meat-processing employer transfers a worker to another division or location of 64.10 the same meat-processing employer, the worker is entitled to all earned paid sick time accrued in the worker's previous position. If a worker is separated from employment and 64.11 rehired within one year by the same meat-processing employer, the meat-processing employer 64.12 must reinstate the worker's earned sick time to the level accrued by the worker as of the 64.13 date of separation. 64.14 (q) If a meat-processing employer is succeeded by a different employer, all workers of 64.15 the original employer are entitled to all earned paid sick time they accrued when employed 64.16 by the original employer. 64.17 (r) Meat-processing employers must not require workers to find or search for a 64.18 replacement worker to take the place of the worker as a condition of the worker using paid 64.19 sick time. 64.20 (s) Meat-processing employers must not require workers to disclose details of private 64.21 matters as a condition of using paid sick time, including details of a worker or family 64.22 member's illness, domestic violence, sexual abuse or assault, or stalking and harassment. 64.23 If the employer does possess such information, it must be treated as confidential and not 64.24 disclosed without the express permission of the worker. 64.25 (t) Meat-processing employers must provide workers written notice of their rights and 64.26 the employer's requirements under this section at the time the worker begins employment. 64.27 This notice must be provided in English, Spanish, or the employee's language of fluency. 64.28 The amount of paid sick time a worker has accrued, the amount of paid sick time a worker 64.29 has used during the current year, and the amount of pay the worker has received as paid 64.30sick time must be recorded on or attached to the worker's paycheck. Meat-processing 64.31 employers must display a poster in a conspicuous location in each facility where workers 64.32 are employed that displays the information required under this paragraph. The poster must 64.33

64.1

64.2

64.3

64.4

64.5

64.6

64.7

64.8

	04/01/21 11:42 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MJ/JF	H1670DE3
65.1	be displayed in English and any language	ge of fluency that is read	or spoken by	at least five
65.2	percent of the employer's workers.			
65.3	(u) Nothing in this subdivision shall	be construed to:		
65.4	(1) prohibit or discourage an employ	er from adopting or retaini	ing a paid sick	time policy
65.5	that is more generous than the one prov	ided in this subdivision;		
65.6	(2) diminish the obligation of an em	ployer to comply with a c	collective barg	gaining
65.7	agreement, or any other contract that pr	ovides more generous pai	d sick time to	o a worker
65.8	than provided for in this subdivision; or	•		
65.9	(3) override any provision of local la	aw that provides greater r	ights for paid	sick time
65.10	than is provided for in this subdivision.			
65.11	Subd. 9. Small Processor Exemption	on. Meat-processing oper	ations having	gross sales
65.12	or service of \$1,000,000 or less for the	immediately previous lice	ense or fiscal	year are
65.13	exempt from the requirements of this se	ection.		
65.14	Sec. 9. [179.8757] NOTIFICATION	REQUIRED.		
65.15	(a) Meat-processing employers must	provide written information	on and notific	ations about
65.16	employee rights under section 179.86 a	nd sections 179.87 to 179	.8757 to worl	kers in their
65.17	language of fluency at least annually. If a	worker is unable to under	estand written	information
65.18	and notifications, the employer must pro	ovide such information ar	nd notices ora	lly in the
65.19	worker's language of fluency.			
65.20	(b) The coordinator must notify cover	ered employers of the prov	visions of sect	tions 179.87
65.21	to 179.8757 and any recent updates at le	east annually.		
65.22	(c) The coordinator must place infor	mation explaining section	ns 179.87 to 1	79.8757 on
65.23	the Department of Labor and Industry's	website in at least Englis	h, Spanish, ar	nd any other

acuity."

65.24

65.25

65.26

language that at least ten percent of meat-processing workers communicate in fluently. The

coordinator must also make the information accessible to persons with impaired visual