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Approved by
Revisor of Statutes

JRM

Hornstein from the Transportation Finance and Policy Division to which was referred:

H. F. No. 104, A bill for an act relating to public safety; increasing the penalties for
texting while driving and authorizing the forfeiture of wireless communications devices
used in certain violations; providing that certain improper use of wireless communications
devices while driving crimes are not payable offenses; expanding the criminal vehicular
operation crime; requiring driver education and driver's manual to cover distracted driving;
authorizing rulemaking; amending Minnesota Statutes 2018, sections 169.475, subdivision
2, by adding a subdivision; 171.0701, subdivision 1; 171.0705, by adding a subdivision;
609.2112, subdivision 1; 609.2113, subdivisions 1, 2, 3; 609.2114, subdivisions 1, 2; 609.531,
subdivision 1; 609.5312, subdivision 2.

Reported the same back with the following amendments:

Page 1, delete section 1 and insert:

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2018, section 169.475, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Prohibition on use; penalty. (a) Ne When a motor vehicle is in motion or a

part of traffic, the person may-eperate-a-meter operating the vehicle while is prohibited

from using a wireless communications device to compose, read, or send an electronic

otion-or-a-part-ef-traffie. A person who violates this

paragraph for the first time is guilty of a misdemeanor and must pay a fine of $150.

message;

(b) A person who violates paragraph (a) a second ersubsequent time is guilty of a
misdemeanor and must pay a fine of $225;plus-the-amount-speeified-in-the uniformfine
it $300.

(c) A person who violates paragraph (a) a third or subsequent time is guilty of a

misdemeanor and must pay a fine of $500.

(d) Notwithstanding section 609.101, subdivision 4, the Judicial Council may not add

a violation of this subdivision that is a third or subsequent violation to the Statewide Payables
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2019, and applies to crimes

committed on or after that date."

Page 2, delete section 2

Page 9, delete section 11

Page 10, delete section 12

Page 11, line 18, delete "3" and insert "2"
Renumber the sections in sequence
Amend the title as follows:

Page 1, line 2, delete "and"

Page 1, delete line 3

Page 1, line 4, delete "violations"
Correct the title numbers accordingly

With the recommendation that the bill as amended be returned to the Committee on

Ways and Means with a recommended re-referral to the Public Safety Division.



