1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 2835 as follows:
1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"Section 1. DEPUTY REGISTRAR REIMBURSEMENTS.
1.4	(a) \$9,000,000 in fiscal year 2018 is appropriated from the driver services operating
1.5	account in the special revenue fund to the commissioner of management and budget for
1.6	grants to deputy registrars under Minnesota Statutes, section 168.33. This is a onetime
1.7	appropriation and is available in fiscal year 2019.
1.8	(b) The reimbursement to each deputy registrar, as identified by Driver and Vehicle
1.9	Services designated office location number, is calculated as follows:
1.10	(1) 50 percent of available funds allocated proportionally based on (i) the number of
1.11	transactions where a filing fee under Minnesota Statutes, 168.33, subdivision 7, is retained
1.12	by each deputy registrar from August 1, 2017, through January 31, 2018, compared to (ii)
1.13	the total number of transactions where a filing fee is retained by all deputy registrars during
1.14	that time period; and
1.15	(2) 50 percent of available funds, or 100 percent of available funds if there is insufficient
1.16	data to perform the calculation under clause (1), allocated proportionally based on (i) the
1.17	number of transactions where a filing fee is retained by each deputy registrar from July 1,
1.18	2014, through June 30, 2017, compared to (ii) the total number of transactions where a filing
1.19	fee is retained by all deputy registrars during that time period.
1.20	(c) For a deputy registrar appointed after July 1, 2014, the commissioner of management
1.21	and budget must identify whether there is a corresponding discontinued deputy registrar
1.22	appointment. If a corresponding discontinued deputy registrar is identified, the commissioner
1.23	must include the transactions of the discontinued deputy registrar in the calculations under
1.24	paragraph (b) for the deputy registrar appointed after July 1, 2014.

1

03/11/18 01:13 PM

2.1	(d) For a deputy registrar appointed after July 1, 2014, for which paragraph (c) does not
2.2	apply, the commissioner of management and budget must calculate that deputy registrar's
2.3	proportional share under paragraph (b), clause (2), based on the average number of
2.4	transactions where a filing fee is retained among the deputy registrars, as calculated excluding
2.5	any deputy registrars for which this paragraph applies.
2.6	(e) In the calculations under paragraph (b), the commissioner of management and budget
2.7	must exclude transactions for a deputy registrar office operated by the state. A deputy
2.8	registrar office operated by the state is not eligible to receive funds under this section.
2.9	(f) The commissioner of public safety must provide information as necessary for
2.10	calculations under this section to the commissioner of management and budget.
2.11	(g) The commissioner of management and budget must make efforts to reimburse deputy
2.12	registrars within 30 days of the effective date of this section. The commissioner must use
2.13	existing resources to administer the reimbursements.

2.14 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective the day following final enactment."