## TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

## **MINUTES**

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair of the Transportation Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:15pm on February 26, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

## Members present:

HORNSTEIN, Frank, Chair KOEGEL, Erin, Vice-Chair PETERSBURG, John, Lead BAHR, Cal BERNARDY, Connie ELKINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael OLSON, Bjorn TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

Members excused:

RICHARDSON, Ruth

A quorum was present.

HF 1306 (Elkins) Metropolitan Council authorized to issue administrative citations for transit fare evasion and impose civil fines, and technical and clarifying changes made

Rep. Elkins moved that HF 1306 be referred to the Public Safety and Criminal Justice Reform Committee.

Rep. Elkins gave an overview of HF 1306.

Public Testimony on HF 1306

Wes Kooistra, General Manager, Metro Transit Will Schroeer, East Metro Strong Finn McGarrity, Move Minnesota Madi Johnson, Clean Transportation and Membership Organizer, MN 350 Amity Foster, Twin Cities Transit Riders Union Claire Pardubsky

Rep. Koznick moved that the H1306DE1 amendment be adopted.

Rep. Koznick withdrew the H1306DE1 amendment.

Rep. Torkelson moved that the H1306A1 amendment be adopted. Rep. Torkelson requested a roll call vote. The results were as follows:

AYES:

PETERSBURG, John BAHR, Cal

HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon OLSON, Bjorn TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

NAYS:

HORNSTEIN, Frank KOEGEL, Erin BERNARDY, Connie ELKINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael

EXCUSED:

RICHARDSON, Ruth

There being 7 AYES and 9 NAYS and 1 EXCUSED, THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.

Rep. Petersburg moved that the H1306A2 amendment be adopted. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Elkins renewed the motion that HF 1306, as amended, be referred to the Public Safety and Criminal Justice Reform Committee. The results were as follows:

## AYES:

HORNSTEIN, Frank KOEGEL, Erin PETERSBURG, John BERNARDY, Connie ELKINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael OLSON, Bjorn TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

NAYS:

BAHR, Cal

**EXCUSED:** 

RICHARDSON, Ruth

There being 15 AYES and 1 NAY and 1 EXCUSED, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Hornstein adjourned the meeting at 2:45pm.

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair

Dan Dodge, Committee Legislative Assistant