AGRICULTURAL FINANCE & POLICY COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Samantha Vang, Chair of the Committee on Agricultural Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM on January 19, 2023, in Room 120 of the State Capitol Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

VANG, Samantha, Chair PURSELL, Kristi, Vice Chair ANDERSON, Paul, Republican Lead CHA, Ethan REHM, Lucy SENCER-MURA, Samantha TABKE, Brad HARDER, Bobbie JACOB, Steven NELSON, Nathan BURKEL, John

Members Excused:

HANSEN, Rick

A quorum was present.

Representative Tabke moved to adopt the minutes. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Vang moved to recess the meeting for five minutes at 1:08 pm

Agriculture Committee returned from recess at 1:14 pm.

Presentation from the Minnesota Department of Agriculture.

Presenting:

- Matt McDevitt, Minnesota Department of Agriculture, Finance & Budget, Ag Finance Supervisor
- Peder Kjeseth, Minnesota Department of Agriculture, Assistant Commissioner.

Representative Burkel moved that HF 103 be re-referred to the Capital Investment Committee.

Representative Burkel presented HF103.

The following testified on HF 103:

- Peder Kjeseth, Minn. Department of Agriculture, Assistant Commissioner
- Matt McDevitt, Minn. Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Finance Supervisor
- Stu Lorney, Government Relations Director, Minnesota Farmers Union
- Daryn McBeth, Compeer Financial and Agriculture Country Farm Credit Services
- Kaytlin Bemis, Minnesota Farm Bureau

Representative Burkel renewed the motion that HF 103 be re-referred to the Capital Investment. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Representative Pursell assumes the Chair.

Representative Vang moved that HF 463 be re-referred to the Capital Investment Committee.

Representative Vang presented HF 463.

Representative Vang renewed the motion that HF 463 be re-referred to the Capital Investment Committee. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

The meeting adjourned at 1:54 P.M.

Representative Samantha Vang, Chair

Matthew Sauser, Committee Legislative Assistant