
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 3138 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND PUBLIC HEALTH​

1.5 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.005, subdivision 2, is​

1.6 amended to read:​

1.7 Subd. 2. Boring. "Boring" means a hole or excavation that is not used to extract water​

1.8 and includes exploratory borings, bored geothermal heat exchangers, temporary borings,​

1.9 and elevator borings.​

1.10 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.005, subdivision 8a, is amended​

1.11 to read:​

1.12 Subd. 8a. Environmental well. "Environmental well" means an excavation 15 or more​

1.13 feet in depth that is drilled, cored, bored, washed, driven, dug, jetted, or otherwise constructed​

1.14 to:​

1.15 (1) conduct physical, chemical, or biological testing of groundwater, and includes a​

1.16 groundwater quality monitoring or sampling well;​

1.17 (2) lower a groundwater level to control or remove contamination in groundwater, and​

1.18 includes a remedial well and excludes horizontal trenches; or​

1.19 (3) monitor or measure physical, chemical, radiological, or biological parameters of the​

1.20 earth and earth fluids, or for vapor recovery or venting systems. An environmental well​

1.21 includes an excavation used to:​

1.22 (i) measure groundwater levels, including a piezometer;​
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2.1 (ii) determine groundwater flow direction or velocity;​

2.2 (iii) measure earth properties such as hydraulic conductivity, bearing capacity, or​

2.3 resistance;​

2.4 (iv) obtain samples of geologic materials for testing or classification; or​

2.5 (v) remove or remediate pollution or contamination from groundwater or soil through​

2.6 the use of a vent, vapor recovery system, or sparge point.​

2.7 An environmental well does not include an exploratory boring.​

2.8 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.005, subdivision 17a, is amended​

2.9 to read:​

2.10 Subd. 17a. Temporary environmental well boring. "Temporary environmental well"​

2.11 means an environmental well as defined in section 103I.005, subdivision 8a, that is sealed​

2.12 within 72 hours of the time construction on the well begins. "Temporary boring" means an​

2.13 excavation that is 15 feet or more in depth that is sealed within 72 hours of the start of​

2.14 construction and is drilled, cored, washed, driven, dug, jetted, or otherwise constructed to:​

2.15 (1) conduct physical, chemical, or biological testing of groundwater, including​

2.16 groundwater quality monitoring;​

2.17 (2) monitor or measure physical, chemical, radiological, or biological parameters of​

2.18 earth materials or earth fluids, including hydraulic conductivity, bearing capacity, or​

2.19 resistance;​

2.20 (3) measure groundwater levels, including use of a piezometer;​

2.21 (4) determine groundwater flow direction or velocity; or​

2.22 (5) collect samples of geologic materials for testing or classification, or soil vapors for​

2.23 testing or extraction.​

2.24 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.205, subdivision 1, is amended​

2.25 to read:​

2.26 Subdivision 1. Notification required. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (d), a person​

2.27 may not construct a water-supply, dewatering, or environmental well until a notification of​

2.28 the proposed well on a form prescribed by the commissioner is filed with the commissioner​

2.29 with the filing fee in section 103I.208, and, when applicable, the person has met the​

2.30 requirements of paragraph (e). If after filing the well notification an attempt to construct a​

2.31 well is unsuccessful, a new notification is not required unless the information relating to​
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3.1 the successful well has substantially changed. A notification is not required prior to​

3.2 construction of a temporary environmental well boring.​

3.3 (b) The property owner, the property owner's agent, or the licensed contractor where a​

3.4 well is to be located must file the well notification with the commissioner.​

3.5 (c) The well notification under this subdivision preempts local permits and notifications,​

3.6 and counties or home rule charter or statutory cities may not require a permit or notification​

3.7 for wells unless the commissioner has delegated the permitting or notification authority​

3.8 under section 103I.111.​

3.9 (d) A person who is an individual that constructs a drive point water-supply well on​

3.10 property owned or leased by the individual for farming or agricultural purposes or as the​

3.11 individual's place of abode must notify the commissioner of the installation and location of​

3.12 the well. The person must complete the notification form prescribed by the commissioner​

3.13 and mail it to the commissioner by ten days after the well is completed. A fee may not be​

3.14 charged for the notification. A person who sells drive point wells at retail must provide​

3.15 buyers with notification forms and informational materials including requirements regarding​

3.16 wells, their location, construction, and disclosure. The commissioner must provide the​

3.17 notification forms and informational materials to the sellers.​

3.18 (e) When the operation of a well will require an appropriation permit from the​

3.19 commissioner of natural resources, a person may not begin construction of the well until​

3.20 the person submits the following information to the commissioner of natural resources:​

3.21 (1) the location of the well;​

3.22 (2) the formation or aquifer that will serve as the water source;​

3.23 (3) the maximum daily, seasonal, and annual pumpage rates and volumes that will be​

3.24 requested in the appropriation permit; and​

3.25 (4) other information requested by the commissioner of natural resources that is necessary​

3.26 to conduct the preliminary assessment required under section 103G.287, subdivision 1,​

3.27 paragraph (c).​

3.28 The person may begin construction after receiving preliminary approval from the​

3.29 commissioner of natural resources.​
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4.1 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.205, subdivision 4, is amended​

4.2 to read:​

4.3 Subd. 4. License required. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), (c), (d), or (e),​

4.4 section 103I.401, subdivision 2, or 103I.601, subdivision 2, a person may not drill, construct,​

4.5 repair, or seal a well or boring unless the person has a well contractor's license in possession.​

4.6 (b) A person may construct, repair, and seal an environmental well or temporary boring​

4.7 if the person:​

4.8 (1) is a professional engineer licensed under sections 326.02 to 326.15 in the branches​

4.9 of civil or geological engineering;​

4.10 (2) is a hydrologist or hydrogeologist certified by the American Institute of Hydrology;​

4.11 (3) is a professional geoscientist licensed under sections 326.02 to 326.15;​

4.12 (4) is a geologist certified by the American Institute of Professional Geologists; or​

4.13 (5) meets the qualifications established by the commissioner in rule.​

4.14 A person must be licensed by the commissioner as an environmental well contractor on​

4.15 forms provided by the commissioner.​

4.16 (c) A person may do the following work with a limited well/boring contractor's license​

4.17 in possession. A separate license is required for each of the four activities:​

4.18 (1) installing, repairing, and modifying well screens, pitless units and pitless adaptors,​

4.19 well pumps and pumping equipment, and well casings from the pitless adaptor or pitless​

4.20 unit to the upper termination of the well casing;​

4.21 (2) sealing wells and borings;​

4.22 (3) constructing, repairing, and sealing dewatering wells; or​

4.23 (4) constructing, repairing, and sealing bored geothermal heat exchangers.​

4.24 (d) A person may construct, repair, and seal an elevator boring with an elevator boring​

4.25 contractor's license.​

4.26 (e) Notwithstanding other provisions of this chapter requiring a license, a license is not​

4.27 required for a person who complies with the other provisions of this chapter if the person​

4.28 is:​

4.29 (1) an individual who constructs a water-supply well on land that is owned or leased by​

4.30 the individual and is used by the individual for farming or agricultural purposes or as the​

4.31 individual's place of abode; or​
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5.1 (2) an individual who performs labor or services for a contractor licensed under the​

5.2 provisions of this chapter in connection with the construction, sealing, or repair of a well​

5.3 or boring at the direction and under the personal supervision of a contractor licensed under​

5.4 the provisions of this chapter; or.​

5.5 (3) a licensed plumber who is repairing submersible pumps or water pipes associated​

5.6 with well water systems if: (i) the repair location is within an area where there is no licensed​

5.7 well contractor within 50 miles, and (ii) the licensed plumber complies with all relevant​

5.8 sections of the plumbing code.​

5.9 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 103I.205, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

5.10 Subd. 9. Report of work. Within 30 90 days after completion or sealing of a well or​

5.11 boring, the person doing the work must submit a verified report to the commissioner​

5.12 containing the information specified by rules adopted under this chapter.​

5.13 Within 30 days after receiving the report, the commissioner shall send or otherwise​

5.14 provide access to a copy of the report to the commissioner of natural resources, to the local​

5.15 soil and water conservation district where the well is located, and to the director of the​

5.16 Minnesota Geological Survey.​

5.17 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.208, subdivision 1, is amended​

5.18 to read:​

5.19 Subdivision 1. Well notification fee. The well notification fee to be paid by a property​

5.20 owner is:​

5.21 (1) for construction of a water supply well, $275, which includes the state core function​

5.22 fee;​

5.23 (2) for a well sealing, $75 for each well or boring, which includes the state core function​

5.24 fee, except that a single fee of $75 is required for all temporary environmental wells borings​

5.25 recorded on the sealing notification for a single property, having depths within a 25 foot​

5.26 range, and sealed within 72 hours of start of construction, except that temporary borings​

5.27 less than 25 feet in depth are exempt from the notification and fee requirements in this​

5.28 chapter;​

5.29 (3) for construction of a dewatering well, $275, which includes the state core function​

5.30 fee, for each dewatering well except a dewatering project comprising five or more dewatering​

5.31 wells shall be assessed a single fee of $1,375 for the dewatering wells recorded on the​

5.32 notification; and​
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6.1 (4) for construction of an environmental well, $275, which includes the state core function​

6.2 fee, except that a single fee of $275 is required for all environmental wells recorded on the​

6.3 notification that are located on a single property, and except that no fee is required for​

6.4 construction of a temporary environmental well boring.​

6.5 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.235, subdivision 3, is amended​

6.6 to read:​

6.7 Subd. 3. Temporary environmental well boring and unsuccessful well exemption.​

6.8 This section does not apply to temporary environmental wells borings or unsuccessful wells​

6.9 that have been sealed by a licensed contractor in compliance with this chapter.​

6.10 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 103I.301, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

6.11 Subd. 6. Notification required. A person may not seal a well or boring until a notification​

6.12 of the proposed sealing is filed as prescribed by the commissioner. Temporary borings less​

6.13 than 25 feet in depth are exempt from the notification requirements in this chapter.​

6.14 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 103I.601, subdivision 4, is amended​

6.15 to read:​

6.16 Subd. 4. Notification and map of borings. (a) By ten days before beginning exploratory​

6.17 boring, an explorer must submit to the commissioner of health a notification of the proposed​

6.18 boring on a form prescribed by the commissioner, map and a fee of $275 for each exploratory​

6.19 boring.​

6.20 (b) By ten days before beginning exploratory boring, an explorer must submit to the​

6.21 commissioners of health and natural resources a county road map on a single sheet of paper​

6.22 that is eight and one-half by 11 inches in size and having a scale of one-half inch equal to​

6.23 one mile, as prepared by the Department of Transportation, or a 7.5 minute series topographic​

6.24 map (1:24,000 scale), as prepared by the United States Geological Survey, showing the​

6.25 location of each proposed exploratory boring to the nearest estimated 40 acre parcel.​

6.26 Exploratory boring that is proposed on the map may not be commenced later than 180 days​

6.27 after submission of the map, unless a new map is submitted.​

6.28 Sec. 11. [137.68] ADVISORY COUNCIL ON RARE DISEASES.​

6.29 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The Board of Regents of the University of Minnesota is​

6.30 requested to establish an advisory council on rare diseases to provide advice on research,​

6.31 diagnosis, treatment, and education related to rare diseases. For purposes of this section,​
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7.1 "rare disease" has the meaning given in United States Code, title 21, section 360bb. The​

7.2 council shall be called the Chloe Barnes Advisory Council on Rare Diseases.​

7.3 Subd. 2. Membership. (a) The advisory council may consist of public members appointed​

7.4 by the Board of Regents or a designee according to paragraph (b) and four members of the​

7.5 legislature appointed according to paragraph (c).​

7.6 (b) The Board of Regents or a designee is requested to appoint the following public​

7.7 members:​

7.8 (1) three physicians licensed and practicing in the state with experience researching,​

7.9 diagnosing, or treating rare diseases;​

7.10 (2) one registered nurse or advanced practice registered nurse licensed and practicing​

7.11 in the state with experience treating rare diseases;​

7.12 (3) at least two hospital administrators, or their designees, from hospitals in the state​

7.13 that provide care to persons diagnosed with a rare disease. One administrator or designee​

7.14 appointed under this clause must represent a hospital in which the scope of service focuses​

7.15 on rare diseases of pediatric patients;​

7.16 (4) three persons age 18 or older who either have a rare disease or are a caregiver of a​

7.17 person with a rare disease;​

7.18 (5) a representative of a rare disease patient organization that operates in the state;​

7.19 (6) a social worker with experience providing services to persons diagnosed with a rare​

7.20 disease;​

7.21 (7) a pharmacist with experience with drugs used to treat rare diseases;​

7.22 (8) a representative of the biotechnology industry;​

7.23 (9) a representative of health plan companies;​

7.24 (10) a medical researcher with experience conducting research on rare diseases;​

7.25 (11) a genetic counselor with experience providing services to persons diagnosed with​

7.26 a rare disease or caregivers of those persons; and​

7.27 (12) other public members, who may serve on an ad hoc basis.​

7.28 (c) The advisory council shall include two members of the senate, one appointed by the​

7.29 majority leader and one appointed by the minority leader; and two members of the house​

7.30 of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the house and one appointed by the​

7.31 minority leader.​
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8.1 (d) The commissioner of health or a designee, a representative of Mayo Medical School,​

8.2 and a representative of the University of Minnesota Medical School, shall serve as ex officio,​

8.3 nonvoting members of the advisory council.​

8.4 (e) Initial appointments to the advisory council shall be made no later than July 1, 2018.​

8.5 Members appointed according to paragraph (b) shall serve for a term of three years, except​

8.6 that the initial members appointed according to paragraph (b) shall have an initial term of​

8.7 two, three, or four years determined by lot by the chairperson. Members appointed according​

8.8 to paragraph (b) shall serve until their successors have been appointed.​

8.9 Subd. 3. Meetings. The Board of Regents or a designee is requested to convene the first​

8.10 meeting of the advisory council no later than September 1, 2018. The advisory council shall​

8.11 meet at the call of the chairperson or at the request of a majority of advisory council members.​

8.12 Subd. 4. Duties. The advisory council's duties may include, but are not limited to:​

8.13 (1) in conjunction with the state's medical schools, the state's schools of public health,​

8.14 and hospitals in the state that provide care to persons diagnosed with a rare disease,​

8.15 developing resources or recommendations relating to quality of and access to treatment and​

8.16 services in the state for persons with a rare disease, including but not limited to:​

8.17 (i) a list of existing, publicly accessible resources on research, diagnosis, treatment, and​

8.18 education relating to rare diseases;​

8.19 (ii) identifying best practices for rare disease care implemented in other states, at the​

8.20 national level, and at the international level, that will improve rare disease care in the state​

8.21 and seeking opportunities to partner with similar organizations in other states and countries;​

8.22 (iii) identifying problems faced by patients with a rare disease when changing health​

8.23 plans, including recommendations on how to remove obstacles faced by these patients to​

8.24 finding a new health plan and how to improve the ease and speed of finding a new health​

8.25 plan that meets the needs of patients with a rare disease; and​

8.26 (iv) identifying best practices to ensure health care providers are adequately informed​

8.27 of the most effective strategies for recognizing and treating rare diseases; and​

8.28 (2) advising, consulting, and cooperating with the Department of Health, the Advisory​

8.29 Committee on Heritable and Congenital Disorders, and other agencies of state government​

8.30 in developing information and programs for the public and the health care community​

8.31 relating to diagnosis, treatment, and awareness of rare diseases.​

8.32 Subd. 5. Conflict of interest. Advisory council members are subject to the Board of​

8.33 Regents policy on conflicts of interest.​
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9.1 Subd. 6. Annual report. By January 1 of each year, beginning January 1, 2019, the​

9.2 advisory council shall report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative​

9.3 committees with jurisdiction over higher education and health care policy on the advisory​

9.4 council's activities under subdivision 4 and other issues on which the advisory council may​

9.5 choose to report.​

9.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

9.7 Sec. 12. [144.064] THE VIVIAN ACT.​

9.8 Subdivision 1. Short title. This section shall be known and may be cited as the "Vivian​

9.9 Act."​

9.10 Subd. 2. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings​

9.11 given them:​

9.12 (1) "commissioner" means the commissioner of health;​

9.13 (2) "health care practitioner" means a medical professional that provides prenatal or​

9.14 postnatal care;​

9.15 (3) "CMV" means the human herpesvirus cytomegalovirus, also called HCMV, human​

9.16 herpesvirus 5, and HHV-5; and​

9.17 (4) "congenital CMV" means the transmission of a CMV infection from a pregnant​

9.18 mother to her fetus.​

9.19 Subd. 3. Commissioner duties. (a) The commissioner shall make available to health​

9.20 care practitioners and women who may become pregnant, expectant parents, and parents​

9.21 of infants up-to-date and evidence-based information about congenital CMV that has been​

9.22 reviewed by experts with knowledge of the disease. The information shall include the​

9.23 following:​

9.24 (1) the recommendation to consider testing for congenital CMV in babies who did not​

9.25 pass their newborn hearing screen or in which a pregnancy history suggests increased risk​

9.26 for congenital CMV infection;​

9.27 (2) the incidence of CMV;​

9.28 (3) the transmission of CMV to pregnant women and women who may become pregnant;​

9.29 (4) birth defects caused by congenital CMV;​

9.30 (5) available preventative measures to avoid the infection of women who are pregnant​

9.31 or may become pregnant; and​
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10.1 (6) resources available for families of children born with congenital CMV.​

10.2 (b) The commissioner shall follow existing department practice, inclusive of community​

10.3 engagement, to ensure that the information in paragraph (a) is culturally and linguistically​

10.4 appropriate for all recipients.​

10.5 (c) The department shall establish an outreach program to:​

10.6 (1) educate women who may become pregnant, expectant parents, and parents of infants​

10.7 about CMV; and​

10.8 (2) raise awareness for CMV among health care providers who provide care to expectant​

10.9 mothers or infants.​

10.10 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.121, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

10.11 Subd. 1a. Fees for ionizing radiation-producing equipment. (a) A facility with ionizing​

10.12 radiation-producing equipment must pay an annual initial or annual renewal registration​

10.13 fee consisting of a base facility fee of $100 and an additional fee for each radiation source,​

10.14 as follows:​

100​$​medical or veterinary equipment​10.15 (1)​

40​$​dental x-ray equipment​10.16 (2)​

100​$​x-ray equipment not used on​
10.18 humans or animals​
10.17 (3)​

100​$​devices with sources of ionizing​
10.20 radiation not used on humans or​
10.21 animals​

10.19 (4)​

100​$​security screening system​10.22 (5)​

10.23 (b) A facility with radiation therapy and accelerator equipment must pay an annual​

10.24 registration fee of $500. A facility with an industrial accelerator must pay an annual​

10.25 registration fee of $150.​

10.26 (c) Electron microscopy equipment is exempt from the registration fee requirements of​

10.27 this section.​

10.28 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.121, is amended by adding a subdivision​

10.29 to read:​

10.30 Subd. 9. Exemption from examination requirements; operators of security screening​

10.31 systems. (a) This subdivision applies to security screening systems that are​

10.32 radiation-producing equipment, designed and used for security screening of humans who​
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11.1 are in custody of a correctional or detention facility to image and identify contraband items​

11.2 concealed within or on all sides of the body.​

11.3 (b) For purposes of this subdivision, a correctional or detention facility means an agency​

11.4 of the state or a political subdivision charged with detection, enforcement, or incarceration​

11.5 in respect to state criminal or traffic laws and that is licensed as a correctional or detention​

11.6 facility by the commissioner of corrections under section 241.021.​

11.7 (c) An employee of a correctional or detention facility who operates a security screening​

11.8 system that meets the definition under paragraph (a) and the facility in which an individual​

11.9 who operates a security screening system are exempt from the requirements of subdivisions​

11.10 5 and 6.​

11.11 (d) An employee of a correctional or detention facility who operates a security screening​

11.12 system that meets the definition under paragraph (a) and the facility in which an individual​

11.13 operates a security screening system must meet the requirements of a variance to Minnesota​

11.14 Rules, parts 4732.0305 and 4732.0565, issued under Minnesota Rules, parts 4717.7000 to​

11.15 4717.7050, until permanent rules governing security screening systems are adopted under​

11.16 section 83.​

11.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective 30 days following final enactment.​

11.18 Paragraph (d) expires on the December 31 that occurs in the same year following the​

11.19 publication in the State Register of rules adopted under section 83.​

11.20 Sec. 15. [144.131] ADVISORY COUNCIL ON PANDAS AND PANS.​

11.21 Subdivision 1. Advisory council established. The commissioner of health shall establish​

11.22 an advisory council on pediatric autoimmune neuropsychiatric disorders associated with​

11.23 streptococcal infections (PANDAS) and pediatric acute-onset neuropsychiatric syndrome​

11.24 (PANS) to advise the commissioner regarding research, diagnosis, treatment, and education​

11.25 relating to PANDAS and PANS.​

11.26 Subd. 2. Membership. (a) The advisory council shall consist of 14 public members​

11.27 appointed according to paragraph (b) and two members of the legislature appointed according​

11.28 to paragraph (c).​

11.29 (b) The commissioner shall appoint the following public members to the advisory council​

11.30 in the manner provided in section 15.0597:​

11.31 (1) an immunologist who is licensed by the Board of Medical Practice and who has​

11.32 experience treating PANS with the use of intravenous immunoglobulin;​
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12.1 (2) a health care provider who is licensed and practicing in Minnesota and who has​

12.2 experience treating persons with PANS and autism spectrum disorder;​

12.3 (3) a representative of a nonprofit PANS advocacy organization;​

12.4 (4) a family practice physician who is licensed by the Board of Medical Practice and​

12.5 practicing in Minnesota and who has experience treating persons with PANS;​

12.6 (5) a medical researcher with experience conducting research on PANDAS, PANS,​

12.7 obsessive-compulsive disorder, and other neurological disorders;​

12.8 (6) a health care provider who is licensed and practicing in Minnesota and who has​

12.9 expertise in treating patients with eating disorders;​

12.10 (7) a representative of a professional organization in Minnesota for school psychologists​

12.11 or school social workers;​

12.12 (8) a child psychiatrist who is licensed by the Board of Medical Practice and practicing​

12.13 in Minnesota and who has experience treating persons with PANS;​

12.14 (9) a pediatrician who is licensed by the Board of Medical Practice and practicing in​

12.15 Minnesota and who has experience treating persons with PANS;​

12.16 (10) a representative of an organization focused on autism spectrum disorder;​

12.17 (11) a parent of a child who has been diagnosed with PANS and autism spectrum disorder;​

12.18 (12) a social worker licensed by the Board of Social Work and practicing in Minnesota;​

12.19 (13) a designee of the commissioner of education with expertise in special education;​

12.20 and​

12.21 (14) a representative of health plan companies that offer health plans in the individual​

12.22 or group markets.​

12.23 (c) Legislative members shall be appointed to the advisory council as follows:​

12.24 (1) the Subcommittee on Committees of the Committee on Rules and Administration​

12.25 in the senate shall appoint one member from the senate; and​

12.26 (2) the speaker of the house shall appoint one member from the house of representatives.​

12.27 (d) The commissioner of health or a designee shall serve as a nonvoting member of the​

12.28 advisory council.​

12.29 Subd. 3. Terms. Members of the advisory council shall serve for a term of three years​

12.30 and may be reappointed. Members shall serve until their successors have been appointed.​
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13.1 Subd. 4. Administration. The commissioner of health or the commissioner's designee​

13.2 shall provide meeting space and administrative services for the advisory council.​

13.3 Subd. 5. Compensation and expenses. Public members of the advisory council shall​

13.4 not receive compensation but may be reimbursed for allowed actual and necessary expenses​

13.5 incurred in the performance of the member's duties for the advisory council, in the same​

13.6 manner and amount as authorized by the commissioner's plan adopted under section 43A.18,​

13.7 subdivision 2.​

13.8 Subd. 6. Chair; meetings. (a) At the advisory council's first meeting, and every two​

13.9 years thereafter, the members of the advisory council shall elect from among their​

13.10 membership a chair and a vice-chair, whose duties shall be established by the advisory​

13.11 council.​

13.12 (b) The chair of the advisory council shall fix a time and place for regular meetings. The​

13.13 advisory council shall meet at least four times each year at the call of the chair or at the​

13.14 request of a majority of the advisory council's members.​

13.15 Subd. 7. Duties. The advisory council shall:​

13.16 (1) advise the commissioner regarding research, diagnosis, treatment, and education​

13.17 relating to PANDAS and PANS;​

13.18 (2) annually develop recommendations on the following issues related to PANDAS and​

13.19 PANS:​

13.20 (i) practice guidelines for diagnosis and treatment;​

13.21 (ii) ways to increase clinical awareness and education of PANDAS and PANS among​

13.22 pediatricians, other physicians, school-based health centers, and providers of mental health​

13.23 services;​

13.24 (iii) outreach to educators and parents to increase awareness of PANDAS and PANS;​

13.25 and​

13.26 (iv) development of a network of volunteer experts on the diagnosis and treatment of​

13.27 PANDAS and PANS to assist in education and research; and​

13.28 (3) by October 1, 2019, and each October 1 thereafter, complete an annual report with​

13.29 the advisory council's recommendations on the issues listed in clause (2), and submit the​

13.30 report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with​

13.31 jurisdiction over health care and education. The commissioner shall also post a copy of each​

13.32 annual report on the Department of Health Web site.​
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14.1 Subd. 8. Expiration. The advisory council expires October 1, 2024.​

14.2 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.1501, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

14.3 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following definitions​

14.4 apply.​

14.5 (b) "Advanced dental therapist" means an individual who is licensed as a dental therapist​

14.6 under section 150A.06, and who is certified as an advanced dental therapist under section​

14.7 150A.106.​

14.8 (c) "Alcohol and drug counselor" means an individual who is licensed as an alcohol and​

14.9 drug counselor under chapter 148F.​

14.10 (c) (d) "Dental therapist" means an individual who is licensed as a dental therapist under​

14.11 section 150A.06.​

14.12 (d) (e) "Dentist" means an individual who is licensed to practice dentistry.​

14.13 (e) (f) "Designated rural area" means a statutory and home rule charter city or township​

14.14 that is outside the seven-county metropolitan area as defined in section 473.121, subdivision​

14.15 2, excluding the cities of Duluth, Mankato, Moorhead, Rochester, and St. Cloud.​

14.16 (f) (g) "Emergency circumstances" means those conditions that make it impossible for​

14.17 the participant to fulfill the service commitment, including death, total and permanent​

14.18 disability, or temporary disability lasting more than two years.​

14.19 (g) (h) "Mental health professional" means an individual providing clinical services in​

14.20 the treatment of mental illness who is qualified in at least one of the ways specified in section​

14.21 245.462, subdivision 18.​

14.22 (h) (i) "Medical resident" means an individual participating in a medical residency in​

14.23 family practice, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, or psychiatry.​

14.24 (i) (j) "Midlevel practitioner" means a nurse practitioner, nurse-midwife, nurse anesthetist,​

14.25 advanced clinical nurse specialist, or physician assistant.​

14.26 (j) (k) "Nurse" means an individual who has completed training and received all licensing​

14.27 or certification necessary to perform duties as a licensed practical nurse or registered nurse.​

14.28 (k) (l) "Nurse-midwife" means a registered nurse who has graduated from a program of​

14.29 study designed to prepare registered nurses for advanced practice as nurse-midwives.​

14.30 (l) (m) "Nurse practitioner" means a registered nurse who has graduated from a program​

14.31 of study designed to prepare registered nurses for advanced practice as nurse practitioners.​
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15.1 (m) (n) "Pharmacist" means an individual with a valid license issued under chapter 151.​

15.2 (n) (o) "Physician" means an individual who is licensed to practice medicine in the areas​

15.3 of family practice, internal medicine, obstetrics and gynecology, pediatrics, or psychiatry.​

15.4 (o) (p) "Physician assistant" means a person licensed under chapter 147A.​

15.5 (p) (q) "Public health nurse" means a registered nurse licensed in Minnesota who has​

15.6 obtained a registration certificate as a public health nurse from the Board of Nursing in​

15.7 accordance with Minnesota Rules, chapter 6316.​

15.8 (q) (r) "Qualified educational loan" means a government, commercial, or foundation​

15.9 loan for actual costs paid for tuition, reasonable education expenses, and reasonable living​

15.10 expenses related to the graduate or undergraduate education of a health care professional.​

15.11 (r) (s) "Underserved urban community" means a Minnesota urban area or population​

15.12 included in the list of designated primary medical care health professional shortage areas​

15.13 (HPSAs), medically underserved areas (MUAs), or medically underserved populations​

15.14 (MUPs) maintained and updated by the United States Department of Health and Human​

15.15 Services.​

15.16 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144.1501, subdivision 2, is amended​

15.17 to read:​

15.18 Subd. 2. Creation of account. (a) A health professional education loan forgiveness​

15.19 program account is established. The commissioner of health shall use money from the​

15.20 account to establish a loan forgiveness program:​

15.21 (1) for medical residents and mental health professionals agreeing to practice in designated​

15.22 rural areas or underserved urban communities or specializing in the area of pediatric​

15.23 psychiatry;​

15.24 (2) for midlevel practitioners agreeing to practice in designated rural areas or to teach​

15.25 at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in the nursing field in a postsecondary program​

15.26 at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level;​

15.27 (3) for nurses who agree to practice in a Minnesota nursing home; an intermediate care​

15.28 facility for persons with developmental disability; a hospital if the hospital owns and operates​

15.29 a Minnesota nursing home and a minimum of 50 percent of the hours worked by the nurse​

15.30 is in the nursing home; a housing with services establishment as defined in section 144D.01,​

15.31 subdivision 4; or for a home care provider as defined in section 144A.43, subdivision 4; or​
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16.1 agree to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720 hours per year in the nursing field in a​

16.2 postsecondary program at the undergraduate level or the equivalent at the graduate level;​

16.3 (4) for other health care technicians agreeing to teach at least 12 credit hours, or 720​

16.4 hours per year in their designated field in a postsecondary program at the undergraduate​

16.5 level or the equivalent at the graduate level. The commissioner, in consultation with the​

16.6 Healthcare Education-Industry Partnership, shall determine the health care fields where the​

16.7 need is the greatest, including, but not limited to, respiratory therapy, clinical laboratory​

16.8 technology, radiologic technology, and surgical technology;​

16.9 (5) for pharmacists, advanced dental therapists, dental therapists, and public health​

16.10 nurses, and alcohol and drug counselors who agree to practice in designated rural areas;​

16.11 and​

16.12 (6) for dentists agreeing to deliver at least 25 percent of the dentist's yearly patient​

16.13 encounters to state public program enrollees or patients receiving sliding fee schedule​

16.14 discounts through a formal sliding fee schedule meeting the standards established by the​

16.15 United States Department of Health and Human Services under Code of Federal Regulations,​

16.16 title 42, section 51, chapter 303.​

16.17 (b) Appropriations made to the account do not cancel and are available until expended,​

16.18 except that at the end of each biennium, any remaining balance in the account that is not​

16.19 committed by contract and not needed to fulfill existing commitments shall cancel to the​

16.20 fund.​

16.21 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.1501, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

16.22 Subd. 3. Eligibility. (a) To be eligible to participate in the loan forgiveness program, an​

16.23 individual must:​

16.24 (1) be a medical or dental resident; a licensed pharmacist; or be enrolled in a training or​

16.25 education program to become a dentist, dental therapist, advanced dental therapist, mental​

16.26 health professional, pharmacist, public health nurse, midlevel practitioner, registered nurse,​

16.27 or a licensed practical nurse, or alcohol and drug counselor. The commissioner may also​

16.28 consider applications submitted by graduates in eligible professions who are licensed and​

16.29 in practice; and​

16.30 (2) submit an application to the commissioner of health.​

16.31 (b) An applicant selected to participate must sign a contract to agree to serve a minimum​

16.32 three-year full-time service obligation according to subdivision 2, which shall begin no later​

16.33 than March 31 following completion of required training, with the exception of a nurse,​
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17.1 who must agree to serve a minimum two-year full-time service obligation according to​

17.2 subdivision 2, which shall begin no later than March 31 following completion of required​

17.3 training.​

17.4 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.1506, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

17.5 Subd. 2. Expansion grant program. (a) The commissioner of health shall award primary​

17.6 care residency expansion grants to eligible primary care residency programs to plan and​

17.7 implement new residency slots. A planning grant shall not exceed $75,000, and a training​

17.8 grant shall not exceed $150,000 per new residency slot for the first year, $100,000 for the​

17.9 second year, and $50,000 for the third year of the new residency slot. For eligible residency​

17.10 programs longer than three years, training grants may be awarded for the duration of the​

17.11 residency, not exceeding an average of $100,000 per residency slot per year.​

17.12 (b) Funds may be spent to cover the costs of:​

17.13 (1) planning related to establishing an accredited primary care residency program;​

17.14 (2) obtaining accreditation by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education​

17.15 or another national body that accredits residency programs;​

17.16 (3) establishing new residency programs or new resident training slots;​

17.17 (4) recruitment, training, and retention of new residents and faculty;​

17.18 (5) travel and lodging for new residents;​

17.19 (6) faculty, new resident, and preceptor salaries related to new residency slots;​

17.20 (7) training site improvements, fees, equipment, and supplies required for new primary​

17.21 care resident training slots; and​

17.22 (8) supporting clinical education in which trainees are part of a primary care team model.​

17.23 Sec. 20. [144.397] STATEWIDE TOBACCO CESSATION SERVICES.​

17.24 (a) The commissioner of health shall administer, or contract for the administration of,​

17.25 statewide tobacco cessation services to assist Minnesotans who are seeking advice or services​

17.26 to help them quit using tobacco products. The commissioner shall establish statewide public​

17.27 awareness activities to inform the public of the availability of the services and encourage​

17.28 the public to utilize the services because of the dangers and harm of tobacco use and​

17.29 dependence.​

17.30 (b) Services to be provided may include, but are not limited to:​
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18.1 (1) telephone-based coaching and counseling;​

18.2 (2) referrals;​

18.3 (3) written materials mailed upon request;​

18.4 (4) Web-based texting or e-mail services; and​

18.5 (5) free Food and Drug Administration-approved tobacco cessation medications.​

18.6 (c) Services provided must be consistent with evidence-based best practices in tobacco​

18.7 cessation services. Services provided must be coordinated with employer, health plan​

18.8 company, and private sector tobacco prevention and cessation services that may be available​

18.9 to individuals depending on their employment or health coverage.​

18.10 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.608, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

18.11 Subdivision 1. Trauma Advisory Council established. (a) A Trauma Advisory Council​

18.12 is established to advise, consult with, and make recommendations to the commissioner on​

18.13 the development, maintenance, and improvement of a statewide trauma system.​

18.14 (b) The council shall consist of the following members:​

18.15 (1) a trauma surgeon certified by the American Board of Surgery or the American​

18.16 Osteopathic Board of Surgery who practices in a level I or II trauma hospital;​

18.17 (2) a general surgeon certified by the American Board of Surgery or the American​

18.18 Osteopathic Board of Surgery whose practice includes trauma and who practices in a​

18.19 designated rural area as defined under section 144.1501, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (f);​

18.20 (3) a neurosurgeon certified by the American Board of Neurological Surgery who​

18.21 practices in a level I or II trauma hospital;​

18.22 (4) a trauma program nurse manager or coordinator practicing in a level I or II trauma​

18.23 hospital;​

18.24 (5) an emergency physician certified by the American Board of Emergency Medicine​

18.25 or the American Osteopathic Board of Emergency Medicine whose practice includes​

18.26 emergency room care in a level I, II, III, or IV trauma hospital;​

18.27 (6) a trauma program manager or coordinator who practices in a level III or IV trauma​

18.28 hospital;​

18.29 (7) a physician certified by the American Board of Family Medicine or the American​

18.30 Osteopathic Board of Family Practice whose practice includes emergency department care​
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19.1 in a level III or IV trauma hospital located in a designated rural area as defined under section​

19.2 144.1501, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (f);​

19.3 (8) a nurse practitioner, as defined under section 144.1501, subdivision 1, paragraph (l)​

19.4 (m), or a physician assistant, as defined under section 144.1501, subdivision 1, paragraph​

19.5 (o) (p), whose practice includes emergency room care in a level IV trauma hospital located​

19.6 in a designated rural area as defined under section 144.1501, subdivision 1, paragraph (e)​

19.7 (f);​

19.8 (9) a physician certified in pediatric emergency medicine by the American Board of​

19.9 Pediatrics or certified in pediatric emergency medicine by the American Board of Emergency​

19.10 Medicine or certified by the American Osteopathic Board of Pediatrics whose practice​

19.11 primarily includes emergency department medical care in a level I, II, III, or IV trauma​

19.12 hospital, or a surgeon certified in pediatric surgery by the American Board of Surgery whose​

19.13 practice involves the care of pediatric trauma patients in a trauma hospital;​

19.14 (10) an orthopedic surgeon certified by the American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery or​

19.15 the American Osteopathic Board of Orthopedic Surgery whose practice includes trauma​

19.16 and who practices in a level I, II, or III trauma hospital;​

19.17 (11) the state emergency medical services medical director appointed by the Emergency​

19.18 Medical Services Regulatory Board;​

19.19 (12) a hospital administrator of a level III or IV trauma hospital located in a designated​

19.20 rural area as defined under section 144.1501, subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (f);​

19.21 (13) a rehabilitation specialist whose practice includes rehabilitation of patients with​

19.22 major trauma injuries or traumatic brain injuries and spinal cord injuries as defined under​

19.23 section 144.661;​

19.24 (14) an attendant or ambulance director who is an EMT, EMT-I, or EMT-P within the​

19.25 meaning of section 144E.001 and who actively practices with a licensed ambulance service​

19.26 in a primary service area located in a designated rural area as defined under section 144.1501,​

19.27 subdivision 1, paragraph (e) (f); and​

19.28 (15) the commissioner of public safety or the commissioner's designee.​

19.29 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.43, subdivision 11, is amended to read:​

19.30 Subd. 11. Medication administration. "Medication administration" means performing​

19.31 a set of tasks to ensure a client takes medications, and includes that include the following:​

19.32 (1) checking the client's medication record;​
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20.1 (2) preparing the medication as necessary;​

20.2 (3) administering the medication to the client;​

20.3 (4) documenting the administration or reason for not administering the medication; and​

20.4 (5) reporting to a registered nurse or appropriate licensed health professional any concerns​

20.5 about the medication, the client, or the client's refusal to take the medication.​

20.6 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.43, is amended by adding a subdivision​

20.7 to read:​

20.8 Subd. 12a. Medication reconciliation. "Medication reconciliation" means the process​

20.9 of identifying the most accurate list of all medications the client is taking, including the​

20.10 name, dosage, frequency, and route by comparing the client record to an external list of​

20.11 medications obtained from the client, hospital, prescriber, or other provider.​

20.12 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.43, subdivision 27, is amended to read:​

20.13 Subd. 27. Service plan agreement. "Service plan agreement" means the written plan​

20.14 agreement between the client or client's representative and the temporary licensee or licensee​

20.15 about the services that will be provided to the client.​

20.16 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.43, subdivision 30, is amended to read:​

20.17 Subd. 30. Standby assistance. "Standby assistance" means the presence of another​

20.18 person within arm's reach to minimize the risk of injury while performing daily activities​

20.19 through physical intervention or cuing to assist a client with an assistive task by providing​

20.20 cues, oversight, and minimal physical assistance.​

20.21 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.472, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

20.22 Subd. 5. Transfers prohibited; Changes in ownership. Any (a) A home care license​

20.23 issued by the commissioner may not be transferred to another party. Before acquiring​

20.24 ownership of or a controlling interest in a home care provider business, a prospective​

20.25 applicant owner must apply for a new temporary license. A change of ownership is a transfer​

20.26 of operational control to a different business entity of the home care provider business and​

20.27 includes:​

20.28 (1) transfer of the business to a different or new corporation;​

20.29 (2) in the case of a partnership, the dissolution or termination of the partnership under​

20.30 chapter 323A, with the business continuing by a successor partnership or other entity;​
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21.1 (3) relinquishment of control of the provider to another party, including to a contract​

21.2 management firm that is not under the control of the owner of the business' assets;​

21.3 (4) transfer of the business by a sole proprietor to another party or entity; or​

21.4 (5) in the case of a privately held corporation, the change in transfer of ownership or​

21.5 control of 50 percent or more of the outstanding voting stock controlling interest of a home​

21.6 care provider business not covered by clauses (1) to (4).​

21.7 (b) An employee who was employed by the previous owner of the home care provider​

21.8 business prior to the effective date of a change in ownership under paragraph (a), and who​

21.9 will be employed by the new owner in the same or a similar capacity, shall be treated as if​

21.10 no change in employer occurred, with respect to orientation, training, tuberculosis testing,​

21.11 background studies, and competency testing and training on the policies identified in​

21.12 subdivision 1, clause (14), and subdivision 2, if applicable.​

21.13 (c) Notwithstanding paragraph (b), a new owner of a home care provider business must​

21.14 ensure that employees of the provider receive and complete training and testing on any​

21.15 provisions of policies that differ from those of the previous owner, within 90 days after the​

21.16 date of the change in ownership.​

21.17 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144A.472, subdivision 7, is amended​

21.18 to read:​

21.19 Subd. 7. Fees; application, change of ownership, and renewal. (a) An initial applicant​

21.20 seeking temporary home care licensure must submit the following application fee to the​

21.21 commissioner along with a completed application:​

21.22 (1) for a basic home care provider, $2,100; or​

21.23 (2) for a comprehensive home care provider, $4,200.​

21.24 (b) A home care provider who is filing a change of ownership as required under​

21.25 subdivision 5 must submit the following application fee to the commissioner, along with​

21.26 the documentation required for the change of ownership:​

21.27 (1) for a basic home care provider, $2,100; or​

21.28 (2) for a comprehensive home care provider, $4,200.​

21.29 (c) For the period ending June 30, 2018, a home care provider who is seeking to renew​

21.30 the provider's license shall pay a fee to the commissioner based on revenues derived from​

21.31 the provision of home care services during the calendar year prior to the year in which the​

21.32 application is submitted, according to the following schedule:​
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22.1 License Renewal Fee​

Fee​22.2 Provider Annual Revenue​

$6,625​22.3 greater than $1,500,000​

$5,797​
22.4 greater than $1,275,000 and no more than​
22.5 $1,500,000​

$4,969​
22.6 greater than $1,100,000 and no more than​
22.7 $1,275,000​

$4,141​
22.8 greater than $950,000 and no more than​
22.9 $1,100,000​

$3,727​22.10 greater than $850,000 and no more than $950,000​

$3,313​22.11 greater than $750,000 and no more than $850,000​

$2,898​22.12 greater than $650,000 and no more than $750,000​

$2,485​22.13 greater than $550,000 and no more than $650,000​

$2,070​22.14 greater than $450,000 and no more than $550,000​

$1,656​22.15 greater than $350,000 and no more than $450,000​

$1,242​22.16 greater than $250,000 and no more than $350,000​

$828​22.17 greater than $100,000 and no more than $250,000​

$500​22.18 greater than $50,000 and no more than $100,000​

$400​22.19 greater than $25,000 and no more than $50,000​

$200​22.20 no more than $25,000​

22.21 (d) For the period between July 1, 2018, and June 30, 2020, a home care provider who​

22.22 is seeking to renew the provider's license shall pay a fee to the commissioner in an amount​

22.23 that is ten percent higher than the applicable fee in paragraph (c). A home care provider's​

22.24 fee shall be based on revenues derived from the provision of home care services during the​

22.25 calendar year prior to the year in which the application is submitted.​

22.26 (e) Beginning July 1, 2020, a home care provider who is seeking to renew the provider's​

22.27 license shall pay a fee to the commissioner based on revenues derived from the provision​

22.28 of home care services during the calendar year prior to the year in which the application is​

22.29 submitted, according to the following schedule:​

22.30 License Renewal Fee​

Fee​22.31 Provider Annual Revenue​

$7,651​22.32 greater than $1,500,000​

$6,695​22.33 greater than $1,275,000 and no more than​
22.34 $1,500,000​

$5,739​22.35 greater than $1,100,000 and no more than​
22.36 $1,275,000​

$4,783​22.37 greater than $950,000 and no more than​
22.38 $1,100,000​
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$4,304​23.1 greater than $850,000 and no more than $950,000​

$3,826​23.2 greater than $750,000 and no more than $850,000​

$3,347​23.3 greater than $650,000 and no more than $750,000​

$2,870​23.4 greater than $550,000 and no more than $650,000​

$2,391​23.5 greater than $450,000 and no more than $550,000​

$1,913​23.6 greater than $350,000 and no more than $450,000​

$1,434​23.7 greater than $250,000 and no more than $350,000​

$957​23.8 greater than $100,000 and no more than $250,000​

$577​23.9 greater than $50,000 and no more than $100,000​

$462​23.10 greater than $25,000 and no more than $50,000​

$231​23.11 no more than $25,000​

23.12 (f) If requested, the home care provider shall provide the commissioner information to​

23.13 verify the provider's annual revenues or other information as needed, including copies of​

23.14 documents submitted to the Department of Revenue.​

23.15 (g) At each annual renewal, a home care provider may elect to pay the highest renewal​

23.16 fee for its license category, and not provide annual revenue information to the commissioner.​

23.17 (h) A temporary license or license applicant, or temporary licensee or licensee that​

23.18 knowingly provides the commissioner incorrect revenue amounts for the purpose of paying​

23.19 a lower license fee, shall be subject to a civil penalty in the amount of double the fee the​

23.20 provider should have paid.​

23.21 (i) The fee for failure to comply with the notification requirements of section 144A.473,​

23.22 subdivision 2, paragraph (c), is $1,000.​

23.23 (j) Fees and penalties collected under this section shall be deposited in the state treasury​

23.24 and credited to the state government special revenue fund. All fees are nonrefundable. Fees​

23.25 collected under paragraphs (c), (d), and (e) are nonrefundable even if received before July​

23.26 1, 2017, for temporary licenses or licenses being issued effective July 1, 2017, or later.​

23.27 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.473, is amended to read:​

23.28 144A.473 ISSUANCE OF TEMPORARY LICENSE AND LICENSE RENEWAL.​

23.29 Subdivision 1. Temporary license and renewal of license. (a) The department shall​

23.30 review each application to determine the applicant's knowledge of and compliance with​

23.31 Minnesota home care regulations. Before granting a temporary license or renewing a license,​

23.32 the commissioner may further evaluate the applicant or licensee by requesting additional​
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24.1 information or documentation or by conducting an on-site survey of the applicant to​

24.2 determine compliance with sections 144A.43 to 144A.482.​

24.3 (b) Within 14 calendar days after receiving an application for a license, the commissioner​

24.4 shall acknowledge receipt of the application in writing. The acknowledgment must indicate​

24.5 whether the application appears to be complete or whether additional information is required​

24.6 before the application will be considered complete.​

24.7 (c) Within 90 days after receiving a complete application, the commissioner shall issue​

24.8 a temporary license, renew the license, or deny the license.​

24.9 (d) The commissioner shall issue a license that contains the home care provider's name,​

24.10 address, license level, expiration date of the license, and unique license number. All licenses,​

24.11 except for temporary licenses issued under subdivision 2, are valid for up to one year from​

24.12 the date of issuance.​

24.13 Subd. 2. Temporary license. (a) For new license applicants, the commissioner shall​

24.14 issue a temporary license for either the basic or comprehensive home care level. A temporary​

24.15 license is effective for up to one year from the date of issuance, except that a temporary​

24.16 license may be extended according to subdivision 3. Temporary licensees must comply with​

24.17 sections 144A.43 to 144A.482.​

24.18 (b) During the temporary license year period, the commissioner shall survey the temporary​

24.19 licensee within 90 calendar days after the commissioner is notified or has evidence that the​

24.20 temporary licensee is providing home care services.​

24.21 (c) Within five days of beginning the provision of services, the temporary licensee must​

24.22 notify the commissioner that it is serving clients. The notification to the commissioner may​

24.23 be mailed or e-mailed to the commissioner at the address provided by the commissioner. If​

24.24 the temporary licensee does not provide home care services during the temporary license​

24.25 year period, then the temporary license expires at the end of the year period and the applicant​

24.26 must reapply for a temporary home care license.​

24.27 (d) A temporary licensee may request a change in the level of licensure prior to being​

24.28 surveyed and granted a license by notifying the commissioner in writing and providing​

24.29 additional documentation or materials required to update or complete the changed temporary​

24.30 license application. The applicant must pay the difference between the application fees​

24.31 when changing from the basic level to the comprehensive level of licensure. No refund will​

24.32 be made if the provider chooses to change the license application to the basic level.​
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25.1 (e) If the temporary licensee notifies the commissioner that the licensee has clients within​

25.2 45 days prior to the temporary license expiration, the commissioner may extend the temporary​

25.3 license for up to 60 days in order to allow the commissioner to complete the on-site survey​

25.4 required under this section and follow-up survey visits.​

25.5 Subd. 3. Temporary licensee survey. (a) If the temporary licensee is in substantial​

25.6 compliance with the survey, the commissioner shall issue either a basic or comprehensive​

25.7 home care license. If the temporary licensee is not in substantial compliance with the survey,​

25.8 the commissioner shall either: (1) not issue a basic or comprehensive license and there will​

25.9 be no contested hearing right under chapter 14 terminate the temporary license; or (2) extend​

25.10 the temporary license for a period not to exceed 90 days and apply conditions, as permitted​

25.11 under section 144A.475, subdivision 2, to the extension of a temporary license. If the​

25.12 temporary licensee is not in substantial compliance with the survey within the time period​

25.13 of the extension, or if the temporary licensee does not satisfy the license conditions, the​

25.14 commissioner may deny the license.​

25.15 (b) If the temporary licensee whose basic or comprehensive license has been denied or​

25.16 extended with conditions disagrees with the conclusions of the commissioner, then the​

25.17 temporary licensee may request a reconsideration by the commissioner or commissioner's​

25.18 designee. The reconsideration request process must be conducted internally by the​

25.19 commissioner or commissioner's designee, and chapter 14 does not apply.​

25.20 (c) The temporary licensee requesting reconsideration must make the request in writing​

25.21 and must list and describe the reasons why the temporary licensee disagrees with the decision​

25.22 to deny the basic or comprehensive home care license or the decision to extend the temporary​

25.23 license with conditions.​

25.24 (d) The reconsideration request and supporting documentation must be received by the​

25.25 commissioner within 15 calendar days after the date the temporary licensee receives the​

25.26 correction order.​

25.27 (e) A temporary licensee whose license is denied, is permitted to continue operating as​

25.28 a home care provider during the period of time when:​

25.29 (1) a reconsideration request is in process;​

25.30 (2) an extension of a temporary license is being negotiated;​

25.31 (3) the placement of conditions on a temporary license is being negotiated; or​

25.32 (4) a transfer of home care clients from the temporary licensee to a new home care​

25.33 provider is in process.​

25​Article 1 Sec. 28.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



26.1 (f) A temporary licensee whose license is denied must comply with the requirements​

26.2 for notification and transfer of clients in section 144A.475, subdivision 5.​

26.3 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.474, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

26.4 Subd. 2. Types of home care surveys. (a) "Initial full survey" means the survey of a​

26.5 new temporary licensee conducted after the department is notified or has evidence that the​

26.6 temporary licensee is providing home care services to determine if the provider is in​

26.7 compliance with home care requirements. Initial full surveys must be completed within 14​

26.8 months after the department's issuance of a temporary basic or comprehensive license.​

26.9 (b) "Change in ownership survey" means a full survey of a new licensee due to a change​

26.10 in ownership. Change in ownership surveys must be completed within six months after the​

26.11 department's issuance of a new license due to a change in ownership.​

26.12 (c) "Core survey" means periodic inspection of home care providers to determine ongoing​

26.13 compliance with the home care requirements, focusing on the essential health and safety​

26.14 requirements. Core surveys are available to licensed home care providers who have been​

26.15 licensed for three years and surveyed at least once in the past three years with the latest​

26.16 survey having no widespread violations beyond Level 1 as provided in subdivision 11.​

26.17 Providers must also not have had any substantiated licensing complaints, substantiated​

26.18 complaints against the agency under the Vulnerable Adults Act or Maltreatment of Minors​

26.19 Act, or an enforcement action as authorized in section 144A.475 in the past three years.​

26.20 (1) The core survey for basic home care providers must review compliance in the​

26.21 following areas:​

26.22 (i) reporting of maltreatment;​

26.23 (ii) orientation to and implementation of the home care bill of rights;​

26.24 (iii) statement of home care services;​

26.25 (iv) initial evaluation of clients and initiation of services;​

26.26 (v) client review and monitoring;​

26.27 (vi) service plan agreement implementation and changes to the service plan agreement;​

26.28 (vii) client complaint and investigative process;​

26.29 (viii) competency of unlicensed personnel; and​

26.30 (ix) infection control.​
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27.1 (2) For comprehensive home care providers, the core survey must include everything​

27.2 in the basic core survey plus these areas:​

27.3 (i) delegation to unlicensed personnel;​

27.4 (ii) assessment, monitoring, and reassessment of clients; and​

27.5 (iii) medication, treatment, and therapy management.​

27.6 (c) (d) "Full survey" means the periodic inspection of home care providers to determine​

27.7 ongoing compliance with the home care requirements that cover the core survey areas and​

27.8 all the legal requirements for home care providers. A full survey is conducted for all​

27.9 temporary licensees and, for licensees that receive licenses due to an approved change in​

27.10 ownership, for providers who do not meet the requirements needed for a core survey, and​

27.11 when a surveyor identifies unacceptable client health or safety risks during a core survey.​

27.12 A full survey must include all the tasks identified as part of the core survey and any additional​

27.13 review deemed necessary by the department, including additional observation, interviewing,​

27.14 or records review of additional clients and staff.​

27.15 (d) (e) "Follow-up surveys" means surveys conducted to determine if a home care​

27.16 provider has corrected deficient issues and systems identified during a core survey, full​

27.17 survey, or complaint investigation. Follow-up surveys may be conducted via phone, e-mail,​

27.18 fax, mail, or on-site reviews. Follow-up surveys, other than complaint surveys, shall be​

27.19 concluded with an exit conference and written information provided on the process for​

27.20 requesting a reconsideration of the survey results.​

27.21 (e) (f) Upon receiving information alleging that a home care provider has violated or is​

27.22 currently violating a requirement of sections 144A.43 to 144A.482, the commissioner shall​

27.23 investigate the complaint according to sections 144A.51 to 144A.54.​

27.24 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.475, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

27.25 Subdivision 1. Conditions. (a) The commissioner may refuse to grant a temporary​

27.26 license, refuse to grant a license as a result of a change in ownership, refuse to renew a​

27.27 license, suspend or revoke a license, or impose a conditional license if the home care provider​

27.28 or owner or managerial official of the home care provider:​

27.29 (1) is in violation of, or during the term of the license has violated, any of the requirements​

27.30 in sections 144A.471 to 144A.482;​

27.31 (2) permits, aids, or abets the commission of any illegal act in the provision of home​

27.32 care;​
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28.1 (3) performs any act detrimental to the health, safety, and welfare of a client;​

28.2 (4) obtains the license by fraud or misrepresentation;​

28.3 (5) knowingly made or makes a false statement of a material fact in the application for​

28.4 a license or in any other record or report required by this chapter;​

28.5 (6) denies representatives of the department access to any part of the home care provider's​

28.6 books, records, files, or employees;​

28.7 (7) interferes with or impedes a representative of the department in contacting the home​

28.8 care provider's clients;​

28.9 (8) interferes with or impedes a representative of the department in the enforcement of​

28.10 this chapter or has failed to fully cooperate with an inspection, survey, or investigation by​

28.11 the department;​

28.12 (9) destroys or makes unavailable any records or other evidence relating to the home​

28.13 care provider's compliance with this chapter;​

28.14 (10) refuses to initiate a background study under section 144.057 or 245A.04;​

28.15 (11) fails to timely pay any fines assessed by the department;​

28.16 (12) violates any local, city, or township ordinance relating to home care services;​

28.17 (13) has repeated incidents of personnel performing services beyond their competency​

28.18 level; or​

28.19 (14) has operated beyond the scope of the home care provider's license level.​

28.20 (b) A violation by a contractor providing the home care services of the home care provider​

28.21 is a violation by the home care provider.​

28.22 Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.475, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

28.23 Subd. 2. Terms to suspension or conditional license. (a) A suspension or conditional​

28.24 license designation may include terms that must be completed or met before a suspension​

28.25 or conditional license designation is lifted. A conditional license designation may include​

28.26 restrictions or conditions that are imposed on the provider. Terms for a suspension or​

28.27 conditional license may include one or more of the following and the scope of each will be​

28.28 determined by the commissioner:​

28.29 (1) requiring a consultant to review, evaluate, and make recommended changes to the​

28.30 home care provider's practices and submit reports to the commissioner at the cost of the​

28.31 home care provider;​
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29.1 (2) requiring supervision of the home care provider or staff practices at the cost of the​

29.2 home care provider by an unrelated person who has sufficient knowledge and qualifications​

29.3 to oversee the practices and who will submit reports to the commissioner;​

29.4 (3) requiring the home care provider or employees to obtain training at the cost of the​

29.5 home care provider;​

29.6 (4) requiring the home care provider to submit reports to the commissioner;​

29.7 (5) prohibiting the home care provider from taking any new clients for a period of time;​

29.8 or​

29.9 (6) any other action reasonably required to accomplish the purpose of this subdivision​

29.10 and section 144A.45, subdivision 2.​

29.11 (b) A home care provider subject to this subdivision may continue operating during the​

29.12 period of time home care clients are being transferred to other providers.​

29.13 Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.475, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

29.14 Subd. 5. Plan required. (a) The process of suspending or revoking a license must include​

29.15 a plan for transferring affected clients to other providers by the home care provider, which​

29.16 will be monitored by the commissioner. Within three business days of being notified of the​

29.17 final revocation or suspension action, the home care provider shall provide the commissioner,​

29.18 the lead agencies as defined in section 256B.0911, and the ombudsman for long-term care​

29.19 with the following information:​

29.20 (1) a list of all clients, including full names and all contact information on file;​

29.21 (2) a list of each client's representative or emergency contact person, including full names​

29.22 and all contact information on file;​

29.23 (3) the location or current residence of each client;​

29.24 (4) the payor sources for each client, including payor source identification numbers; and​

29.25 (5) for each client, a copy of the client's service plan, and a list of the types of services​

29.26 being provided.​

29.27 (b) The revocation or suspension notification requirement is satisfied by mailing the​

29.28 notice to the address in the license record. The home care provider shall cooperate with the​

29.29 commissioner and the lead agencies during the process of transferring care of clients to​

29.30 qualified providers. Within three business days of being notified of the final revocation or​

29.31 suspension action, the home care provider must notify and disclose to each of the home​
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30.1 care provider's clients, or the client's representative or emergency contact persons, that the​

30.2 commissioner is taking action against the home care provider's license by providing a copy​

30.3 of the revocation or suspension notice issued by the commissioner.​

30.4 (c) A home care provider subject to this subdivision may continue operating during the​

30.5 period of time home care clients are being transferred to other providers.​

30.6 Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.476, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

30.7 Subdivision 1. Prior criminal convictions; owner and managerial officials. (a) Before​

30.8 the commissioner issues a temporary license, issues a license as a result of an approved​

30.9 change in ownership, or renews a license, an owner or managerial official is required to​

30.10 complete a background study under section 144.057. No person may be involved in the​

30.11 management, operation, or control of a home care provider if the person has been disqualified​

30.12 under chapter 245C. If an individual is disqualified under section 144.057 or chapter 245C,​

30.13 the individual may request reconsideration of the disqualification. If the individual requests​

30.14 reconsideration and the commissioner sets aside or rescinds the disqualification, the individual​

30.15 is eligible to be involved in the management, operation, or control of the provider. If an​

30.16 individual has a disqualification under section 245C.15, subdivision 1, and the disqualification​

30.17 is affirmed, the individual's disqualification is barred from a set aside, and the individual​

30.18 must not be involved in the management, operation, or control of the provider.​

30.19 (b) For purposes of this section, owners of a home care provider subject to the background​

30.20 check requirement are those individuals whose ownership interest provides sufficient​

30.21 authority or control to affect or change decisions related to the operation of the home care​

30.22 provider. An owner includes a sole proprietor, a general partner, or any other individual​

30.23 whose individual ownership interest can affect the management and direction of the policies​

30.24 of the home care provider.​

30.25 (c) For the purposes of this section, managerial officials subject to the background check​

30.26 requirement are individuals who provide direct contact as defined in section 245C.02,​

30.27 subdivision 11, or individuals who have the responsibility for the ongoing management or​

30.28 direction of the policies, services, or employees of the home care provider. Data collected​

30.29 under this subdivision shall be classified as private data on individuals under section 13.02,​

30.30 subdivision 12.​

30.31 (d) The department shall not issue any license if the applicant or owner or managerial​

30.32 official has been unsuccessful in having a background study disqualification set aside under​

30.33 section 144.057 and chapter 245C; if the owner or managerial official, as an owner or​

30.34 managerial official of another home care provider, was substantially responsible for the​
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31.1 other home care provider's failure to substantially comply with sections 144A.43 to​

31.2 144A.482; or if an owner that has ceased doing business, either individually or as an owner​

31.3 of a home care provider, was issued a correction order for failing to assist clients in violation​

31.4 of this chapter.​

31.5 Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.479, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

31.6 Subd. 7. Employee records. The home care provider must maintain current records of​

31.7 each paid employee, regularly scheduled volunteers providing home care services, and of​

31.8 each individual contractor providing home care services. The records must include the​

31.9 following information:​

31.10 (1) evidence of current professional licensure, registration, or certification, if licensure,​

31.11 registration, or certification is required by this statute or other rules;​

31.12 (2) records of orientation, required annual training and infection control training, and​

31.13 competency evaluations;​

31.14 (3) current job description, including qualifications, responsibilities, and identification​

31.15 of staff providing supervision;​

31.16 (4) documentation of annual performance reviews which identify areas of improvement​

31.17 needed and training needs;​

31.18 (5) for individuals providing home care services, verification that required any health​

31.19 screenings required by infection control programs established under section 144A.4798​

31.20 have taken place and the dates of those screenings; and​

31.21 (6) documentation of the background study as required under section 144.057.​

31.22 Each employee record must be retained for at least three years after a paid employee, home​

31.23 care volunteer, or contractor ceases to be employed by or under contract with the home care​

31.24 provider. If a home care provider ceases operation, employee records must be maintained​

31.25 for three years.​

31.26 Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

31.27 Subdivision 1. Home care bill of rights; notification to client. (a) The home care​

31.28 provider shall provide the client or the client's representative a written notice of the rights​

31.29 under section 144A.44 before the initiation of date that services are first provided to that​

31.30 client. The provider shall make all reasonable efforts to provide notice of the rights to the​
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32.1 client or the client's representative in a language the client or client's representative can​

32.2 understand.​

32.3 (b) In addition to the text of the home care bill of rights in section 144A.44, subdivision​

32.4 1, the notice shall also contain the following statement describing how to file a complaint​

32.5 with these offices.​

32.6 "If you have a complaint about the provider or the person providing your home care​

32.7 services, you may call, write, or visit the Office of Health Facility Complaints, Minnesota​

32.8 Department of Health. You may also contact the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term​

32.9 Care or the Office of Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities."​

32.10 The statement should include the telephone number, Web site address, e-mail address,​

32.11 mailing address, and street address of the Office of Health Facility Complaints at the​

32.12 Minnesota Department of Health, the Office of the Ombudsman for Long-Term Care, and​

32.13 the Office of the Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities. The​

32.14 statement should also include the home care provider's name, address, e-mail, telephone​

32.15 number, and name or title of the person at the provider to whom problems or complaints​

32.16 may be directed. It must also include a statement that the home care provider will not retaliate​

32.17 because of a complaint.​

32.18 (c) The home care provider shall obtain written acknowledgment of the client's receipt​

32.19 of the home care bill of rights or shall document why an acknowledgment cannot be obtained.​

32.20 The acknowledgment may be obtained from the client or the client's representative.​

32.21 Acknowledgment of receipt shall be retained in the client's record.​

32.22 Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

32.23 Subd. 3. Statement of home care services. Prior to the initiation of date that services​

32.24 are first provided to the client, a home care provider must provide to the client or the client's​

32.25 representative a written statement which identifies if the provider has a basic or​

32.26 comprehensive home care license, the services the provider is authorized to provide, and​

32.27 which services the provider cannot provide under the scope of the provider's license. The​

32.28 home care provider shall obtain written acknowledgment from the clients that the provider​

32.29 has provided the statement or must document why the provider could not obtain the​

32.30 acknowledgment.​
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33.1 Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

33.2 Subd. 6. Initiation of services. When a provider initiates provides home care services​

33.3 and to a client before the individualized review or assessment by a licensed health​

33.4 professional or registered nurse as required in subdivisions 7 and 8 has not been is completed,​

33.5 the provider licensed health professional or registered nurse must complete a temporary​

33.6 plan and agreement with the client for services and orient staff assigned to deliver services​

33.7 as identified in the temporary plan.​

33.8 Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

33.9 Subd. 7. Basic individualized client review and monitoring. (a) When services being​

33.10 provided are basic home care services, an individualized initial review of the client's needs​

33.11 and preferences must be conducted at the client's residence with the client or client's​

33.12 representative. This initial review must be completed within 30 days after the initiation of​

33.13 the date that home care services are first provided.​

33.14 (b) Client monitoring and review must be conducted as needed based on changes in the​

33.15 needs of the client and cannot exceed 90 days from the date of the last review. The monitoring​

33.16 and review may be conducted at the client's residence or through the utilization of​

33.17 telecommunication methods based on practice standards that meet the individual client's​

33.18 needs.​

33.19 Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

33.20 Subd. 8. Comprehensive assessment, monitoring, and reassessment. (a) When the​

33.21 services being provided are comprehensive home care services, an individualized initial​

33.22 assessment must be conducted in person by a registered nurse. When the services are provided​

33.23 by other licensed health professionals, the assessment must be conducted by the appropriate​

33.24 health professional. This initial assessment must be completed within five days after initiation​

33.25 of the date that home care services are first provided.​

33.26 (b) Client monitoring and reassessment must be conducted in the client's home no more​

33.27 than 14 days after initiation of the date that home care services are first provided.​

33.28 (c) Ongoing client monitoring and reassessment must be conducted as needed based on​

33.29 changes in the needs of the client and cannot exceed 90 days from the last date of the​

33.30 assessment. The monitoring and reassessment may be conducted at the client's residence​

33.31 or through the utilization of telecommunication methods based on practice standards that​

33.32 meet the individual client's needs.​

33​Article 1 Sec. 39.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



34.1 Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

34.2 Subd. 9. Service plan agreement, implementation, and revisions to service plan​

34.3 agreement. (a) No later than 14 days after the initiation of date that home care services are​

34.4 first provided, a home care provider shall finalize a current written service plan agreement.​

34.5 (b) The service plan agreement and any revisions must include a signature or other​

34.6 authentication by the home care provider and by the client or the client's representative​

34.7 documenting agreement on the services to be provided. The service plan agreement must​

34.8 be revised, if needed, based on client review or reassessment under subdivisions 7 and 8.​

34.9 The provider must provide information to the client about changes to the provider's fee for​

34.10 services and how to contact the Office of the Ombudsman for Long-Term Care.​

34.11 (c) The home care provider must implement and provide all services required by the​

34.12 current service plan agreement.​

34.13 (d) The service plan agreement and revised service plan agreement must be entered into​

34.14 the client's record, including notice of a change in a client's fees when applicable.​

34.15 (e) Staff providing home care services must be informed of the current written service​

34.16 plan agreement.​

34.17 (f) The service plan agreement must include:​

34.18 (1) a description of the home care services to be provided, the fees for services, and the​

34.19 frequency of each service, according to the client's current review or assessment and client​

34.20 preferences;​

34.21 (2) the identification of the staff or categories of staff who will provide the services;​

34.22 (3) the schedule and methods of monitoring reviews or assessments of the client;​

34.23 (4) the frequency of sessions of supervision of staff and type of personnel who will​

34.24 supervise staff; and the schedule and methods of monitoring staff providing home care​

34.25 services; and​

34.26 (5) a contingency plan that includes:​

34.27 (i) the action to be taken by the home care provider and by the client or client's​

34.28 representative if the scheduled service cannot be provided;​

34.29 (ii) information and a method for a client or client's representative to contact the home​

34.30 care provider;​
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35.1 (iii) names and contact information of persons the client wishes to have notified in an​

35.2 emergency or if there is a significant adverse change in the client's condition, including​

35.3 identification of and information as to who has authority to sign for the client in an​

35.4 emergency; and​

35.5 (iv) the circumstances in which emergency medical services are not to be summoned​

35.6 consistent with chapters 145B and 145C, and declarations made by the client under those​

35.7 chapters.​

35.8 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4792, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

35.9 Subdivision 1. Medication management services; comprehensive home care license.​

35.10 (a) This subdivision applies only to home care providers with a comprehensive home care​

35.11 license that provide medication management services to clients. Medication management​

35.12 services may not be provided by a home care provider who has a basic home care license.​

35.13 (b) A comprehensive home care provider who provides medication management services​

35.14 must develop, implement, and maintain current written medication management policies​

35.15 and procedures. The policies and procedures must be developed under the supervision and​

35.16 direction of a registered nurse, licensed health professional, or pharmacist consistent with​

35.17 current practice standards and guidelines.​

35.18 (c) The written policies and procedures must address requesting and receiving​

35.19 prescriptions for medications; preparing and giving medications; verifying that prescription​

35.20 drugs are administered as prescribed; documenting medication management activities;​

35.21 controlling and storing medications; monitoring and evaluating medication use; resolving​

35.22 medication errors; communicating with the prescriber, pharmacist, and client and client​

35.23 representative, if any; disposing of unused medications; and educating clients and client​

35.24 representatives about medications. When controlled substances are being managed, stored,​

35.25 and secured by the comprehensive home care provider, the policies and procedures must​

35.26 also identify how the provider will ensure security and accountability for the overall​

35.27 management, control, and disposition of those substances in compliance with state and​

35.28 federal regulations and with subdivision 22.​

35.29 Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4792, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

35.30 Subd. 2. Provision of medication management services. (a) For each client who​

35.31 requests medication management services, the comprehensive home care provider shall,​

35.32 prior to providing medication management services, have a registered nurse, licensed health​

35.33 professional, or authorized prescriber under section 151.37 conduct an assessment to​
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36.1 determine what medication management services will be provided and how the services​

36.2 will be provided. This assessment must be conducted face-to-face with the client. The​

36.3 assessment must include an identification and review of all medications the client is known​

36.4 to be taking. The review and identification must include indications for medications, side​

36.5 effects, contraindications, allergic or adverse reactions, and actions to address these issues.​

36.6 (b) The assessment must:​

36.7 (1) identify interventions needed in management of medications to prevent diversion of​

36.8 medication by the client or others who may have access to the medications.; and​

36.9 (2) provide instructions to the client or client's representative on interventions to manage​

36.10 the client's medications and prevent diversion of medications.​

36.11 "Diversion of medications" means the misuse, theft, or illegal or improper disposition of​

36.12 medications.​

36.13 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4792, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

36.14 Subd. 5. Individualized medication management plan. (a) For each client receiving​

36.15 medication management services, the comprehensive home care provider must prepare and​

36.16 include in the service plan agreement a written statement of the medication management​

36.17 services that will be provided to the client. The provider must develop and maintain a current​

36.18 individualized medication management record for each client based on the client's assessment​

36.19 that must contain the following:​

36.20 (1) a statement describing the medication management services that will be provided;​

36.21 (2) a description of storage of medications based on the client's needs and preferences,​

36.22 risk of diversion, and consistent with the manufacturer's directions;​

36.23 (3) documentation of specific client instructions relating to the administration of​

36.24 medications;​

36.25 (4) identification of persons responsible for monitoring medication supplies and ensuring​

36.26 that medication refills are ordered on a timely basis;​

36.27 (5) identification of medication management tasks that may be delegated to unlicensed​

36.28 personnel;​

36.29 (6) procedures for staff notifying a registered nurse or appropriate licensed health​

36.30 professional when a problem arises with medication management services; and​
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37.1 (7) any client-specific requirements relating to documenting medication administration,​

37.2 verifications that all medications are administered as prescribed, and monitoring of​

37.3 medication use to prevent possible complications or adverse reactions.​

37.4 (b) The medication management record must be current and updated when there are any​

37.5 changes.​

37.6 (c) Medication reconciliation must be completed when a licensed nurse, licensed health​

37.7 professional, or authorized prescriber is providing medication management.​

37.8 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4792, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

37.9 Subd. 10. Medication management for clients who will be away from home. (a) A​

37.10 home care provider who is providing medication management services to the client and​

37.11 controls the client's access to the medications must develop and implement policies and​

37.12 procedures for giving accurate and current medications to clients for planned or unplanned​

37.13 times away from home according to the client's individualized medication management​

37.14 plan. The policy and procedures must state that:​

37.15 (1) for planned time away, the medications must be obtained from the pharmacy or set​

37.16 up by the registered a licensed nurse according to appropriate state and federal laws and​

37.17 nursing standards of practice;​

37.18 (2) for unplanned time away, when the pharmacy is not able to provide the medications,​

37.19 a licensed nurse or unlicensed personnel shall give the client or client's representative​

37.20 medications in amounts and dosages needed for the length of the anticipated absence, not​

37.21 to exceed 120 hours seven calendar days;​

37.22 (3) the client or client's representative must be provided written information on​

37.23 medications, including any special instructions for administering or handling the medications,​

37.24 including controlled substances;​

37.25 (4) the medications must be placed in a medication container or containers appropriate​

37.26 to the provider's medication system and must be labeled with the client's name and the dates​

37.27 and times that the medications are scheduled; and​

37.28 (5) the client or client's representative must be provided in writing the home care​

37.29 provider's name and information on how to contact the home care provider.​

37.30 (b) For unplanned time away when the licensed nurse is not available, the registered​

37.31 nurse may delegate this task to unlicensed personnel if:​
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38.1 (1) the registered nurse has trained the unlicensed staff and determined the unlicensed​

38.2 staff is competent to follow the procedures for giving medications to clients; and​

38.3 (2) the registered nurse has developed written procedures for the unlicensed personnel,​

38.4 including any special instructions or procedures regarding controlled substances that are​

38.5 prescribed for the client. The procedures must address:​

38.6 (i) the type of container or containers to be used for the medications appropriate to the​

38.7 provider's medication system;​

38.8 (ii) how the container or containers must be labeled;​

38.9 (iii) the written information about the medications to be given to the client or client's​

38.10 representative;​

38.11 (iv) how the unlicensed staff must document in the client's record that medications have​

38.12 been given to the client or the client's representative, including documenting the date the​

38.13 medications were given to the client or the client's representative and who received the​

38.14 medications, the person who gave the medications to the client, the number of medications​

38.15 that were given to the client, and other required information;​

38.16 (v) how the registered nurse shall be notified that medications have been given to the​

38.17 client or client's representative and whether the registered nurse needs to be contacted before​

38.18 the medications are given to the client or the client's representative; and​

38.19 (vi) a review by the registered nurse of the completion of this task to verify that this task​

38.20 was completed accurately by the unlicensed personnel.; and​

38.21 (vii) how the unlicensed staff must document in the client's record any unused medications​

38.22 that are returned to the provider, including the name of each medication and the doses of​

38.23 each returned medication.​

38.24 Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4793, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

38.25 Subd. 6. Treatment and therapy orders or prescriptions. There must be an up-to-date​

38.26 written or electronically recorded order or prescription from an authorized prescriber for​

38.27 all treatments and therapies. The order must contain the name of the client, a description of​

38.28 the treatment or therapy to be provided, and the frequency, duration, and other information​

38.29 needed to administer the treatment or therapy. Treatment and therapy orders must be renewed​

38.30 at least every 12 months.​
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39.1 Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144A.4796, subdivision 2, is​

39.2 amended to read:​

39.3 Subd. 2. Content. (a) The orientation must contain the following topics:​

39.4 (1) an overview of sections 144A.43 to 144A.4798;​

39.5 (2) introduction and review of all the provider's policies and procedures related to the​

39.6 provision of home care services by the individual staff person;​

39.7 (3) handling of emergencies and use of emergency services;​

39.8 (4) compliance with and reporting of the maltreatment of minors or vulnerable adults​

39.9 under sections 626.556 and 626.557;​

39.10 (5) home care bill of rights under section 144A.44;​

39.11 (6) handling of clients' complaints, reporting of complaints, and where to report​

39.12 complaints including information on the Office of Health Facility Complaints and the​

39.13 Common Entry Point;​

39.14 (7) consumer advocacy services of the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care,​

39.15 Office of Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities, Managed Care​

39.16 Ombudsman at the Department of Human Services, county managed care advocates, or​

39.17 other relevant advocacy services; and​

39.18 (8) review of the types of home care services the employee will be providing and the​

39.19 provider's scope of licensure.​

39.20 (b) In addition to the topics listed in paragraph (a), orientation may also contain training​

39.21 on providing services to clients with hearing loss. Any training on hearing loss provided​

39.22 under this subdivision must be high quality and research-based, may include online training,​

39.23 and must include training on one or more of the following topics:​

39.24 (1) an explanation of age-related hearing loss and how it manifests itself, its prevalence,​

39.25 and challenges it poses to communication;​

39.26 (2) health impacts related to untreated age-related hearing loss, such as increased​

39.27 incidence of dementia, falls, hospitalizations, isolation, and depression; or​

39.28 (3) information about strategies and technology that may enhance communication and​

39.29 involvement, including communication strategies, assistive listening devices, hearing aids,​

39.30 visual and tactile alerting devices, communication access in real time, and closed captions.​
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40.1 Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4797, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

40.2 Subd. 3. Supervision of staff providing delegated nursing or therapy home care​

40.3 tasks. (a) Staff who perform delegated nursing or therapy home care tasks must be supervised​

40.4 by an appropriate licensed health professional or a registered nurse periodically where the​

40.5 services are being provided to verify that the work is being performed competently and to​

40.6 identify problems and solutions related to the staff person's ability to perform the tasks.​

40.7 Supervision of staff performing medication or treatment administration shall be provided​

40.8 by a registered nurse or appropriate licensed health professional and must include observation​

40.9 of the staff administering the medication or treatment and the interaction with the client.​

40.10 (b) The direct supervision of staff performing delegated tasks must be provided within​

40.11 30 days after the date on which the individual begins working for the home care provider​

40.12 and first performs delegated tasks for clients and thereafter as needed based on performance.​

40.13 This requirement also applies to staff who have not performed delegated tasks for one year​

40.14 or longer.​

40.15 Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4798, is amended to read:​

40.16 144A.4798 EMPLOYEE HEALTH STATUS DISEASE PREVENTION AND​

40.17 INFECTION CONTROL.​

40.18 Subdivision 1. Tuberculosis (TB) prevention and infection control. (a) A home care​

40.19 provider must establish and maintain a TB prevention and comprehensive tuberculosis​

40.20 infection control program based on according to the most current tuberculosis infection​

40.21 control guidelines issued by the United States Centers for Disease Control and Prevention​

40.22 (CDC), Division of Tuberculosis Elimination, as published in the CDC's Morbidity and​

40.23 Mortality Weekly Report. Components of a TB prevention and control program include​

40.24 screening all staff providing home care services, both paid and unpaid, at the time of hire​

40.25 for active TB disease and latent TB infection, and developing and implementing a written​

40.26 TB infection control plan. The commissioner shall make the most recent CDC standards​

40.27 available to home care providers on the department's Web site. This program must include​

40.28 a tuberculosis infection control plan that covers all paid and unpaid employees, contractors,​

40.29 students, and volunteers. The commissioner shall provide technical assistance regarding​

40.30 implementation of the guidelines.​

40.31 (b) Written evidence of compliance with this subdivision must be maintained by the​

40.32 home care provider.​
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41.1 Subd. 2. Communicable diseases. A home care provider must follow current federal​

41.2 or state guidelines state requirements for prevention, control, and reporting of human​

41.3 immunodeficiency virus (HIV), hepatitis B virus (HBV), hepatitis C virus, or other​

41.4 communicable diseases as defined in Minnesota Rules, part parts 4605.7040, 4605.7044,​

41.5 4605.7050, 4605.7075, 4605.7080, and 4605.7090.​

41.6 Subd. 3. Infection control program. A home care provider must establish and maintain​

41.7 an effective infection control program that complies with accepted health care, medical,​

41.8 and nursing standards for infection control.​

41.9 Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4799, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

41.10 Subdivision 1. Membership. The commissioner of health shall appoint eight persons​

41.11 to a home care and assisted living program advisory council consisting of the following:​

41.12 (1) three public members as defined in section 214.02 who shall be either persons who​

41.13 are currently receiving home care services or, persons who have received home care services​

41.14 within five years of the application date, persons who have family members receiving home​

41.15 care services, or persons who have family members who have received home care services​

41.16 within five years of the application date;​

41.17 (2) three Minnesota home care licensees representing basic and comprehensive levels​

41.18 of licensure who may be a managerial official, an administrator, a supervising registered​

41.19 nurse, or an unlicensed personnel performing home care tasks;​

41.20 (3) one member representing the Minnesota Board of Nursing; and​

41.21 (4) one member representing the Office of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care.​

41.22 Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144A.4799, subdivision 3, is​

41.23 amended to read:​

41.24 Subd. 3. Duties. (a) At the commissioner's request, the advisory council shall provide​

41.25 advice regarding regulations of Department of Health licensed home care providers in this​

41.26 chapter, including advice on the following:​

41.27 (1) community standards for home care practices;​

41.28 (2) enforcement of licensing standards and whether certain disciplinary actions are​

41.29 appropriate;​

41.30 (3) ways of distributing information to licensees and consumers of home care;​

41.31 (4) training standards;​
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42.1 (5) identifying emerging issues and opportunities in the home care field, including and​

42.2 assisted living;​

42.3 (6) identifying the use of technology in home and telehealth capabilities;​

42.4 (6) (7) allowable home care licensing modifications and exemptions, including a method​

42.5 for an integrated license with an existing license for rural licensed nursing homes to provide​

42.6 limited home care services in an adjacent independent living apartment building owned by​

42.7 the licensed nursing home; and​

42.8 (7) (8) recommendations for studies using the data in section 62U.04, subdivision 4,​

42.9 including but not limited to studies concerning costs related to dementia and chronic disease​

42.10 among an elderly population over 60 and additional long-term care costs, as described in​

42.11 section 62U.10, subdivision 6.​

42.12 (b) The advisory council shall perform other duties as directed by the commissioner.​

42.13 (c) The advisory council shall annually review the balance of the account in the state​

42.14 government special revenue fund described in section 144A.474, subdivision 11, paragraph​

42.15 (i), and make annual recommendations by January 15 directly to the chairs and ranking​

42.16 minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human​

42.17 services regarding appropriations to the commissioner for the purposes in section 144A.474,​

42.18 subdivision 11, paragraph (i).​

42.19 Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.484, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

42.20 Subdivision 1. Integrated licensing established. (a) From January 1, 2014, to June 30,​

42.21 2015, the commissioner of health shall enforce the home and community-based services​

42.22 standards under chapter 245D for those providers who also have a home care license pursuant​

42.23 to this chapter as required under Laws 2013, chapter 108, article 8, section 60, and article​

42.24 11, section 31. During this period, the commissioner shall provide technical assistance to​

42.25 achieve and maintain compliance with applicable law or rules governing the provision of​

42.26 home and community-based services, including complying with the service recipient rights​

42.27 notice in subdivision 4, clause (4). If during the survey, the commissioner finds that the​

42.28 licensee has failed to achieve compliance with an applicable law or rule under chapter 245D​

42.29 and this failure does not imminently endanger the health, safety, or rights of the persons​

42.30 served by the program, the commissioner may issue a licensing survey report with​

42.31 recommendations for achieving and maintaining compliance.​

42.32 (b) Beginning July 1, 2015, A home care provider applicant or license holder may apply​

42.33 to the commissioner of health for a home and community-based services designation for​
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43.1 the provision of basic support services identified under section 245D.03, subdivision 1,​

43.2 paragraph (b). The designation allows the license holder to provide basic support services​

43.3 that would otherwise require licensure under chapter 245D, under the license holder's home​

43.4 care license governed by sections 144A.43 to 144A.481 144A.4799.​

43.5 Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144E.16, is amended by adding a subdivision​

43.6 to read:​

43.7 Subd. 9. Rules authorizing patient-assisted medication administration. (a) The board​

43.8 shall adopt rules authorizing EMTs, AEMTs, and paramedics certified under section 144E.28​

43.9 to assist a patient, in emergency situations, with administering prescription medications that​

43.10 are:​

43.11 (1) carried by a patient;​

43.12 (2) intended to treat adrenal insufficiency; and​

43.13 (3) administered via routes of delivery that are within the skill set of the EMT, AEMT,​

43.14 or paramedic.​

43.15 (b) EMTs, AEMTs, and paramedics assisting a patient with medication administration​

43.16 according to the rules adopted under this subdivision may do so only under the authority​

43.17 of guidelines approved by the ambulance service medical director or under direct medical​

43.18 control.​

43.19 Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144E.16, is amended by adding a subdivision​

43.20 to read:​

43.21 Subd. 10. Rules establishing standards for communication with patients regarding​

43.22 need for emergency medical services. The board shall adopt rules to establish standards​

43.23 for ambulance services to communicate with a patient in the service area of the ambulance​

43.24 service, and with the patient's caregivers, concerning the patient's health condition, the​

43.25 likelihood that the patient will need emergency medical services, and how to collaboratively​

43.26 develop emergency medical services care plans to meet the patient's needs.​

43.27 Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144H.01, subdivision 5, is amended​

43.28 to read:​

43.29 Subd. 5. Medically complex or technologically dependent child. "Medically complex​

43.30 or technologically dependent child" means a child under 21 years of age who, because of​

43.31 a medical condition, requires continuous therapeutic interventions or skilled nursing​
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44.1 supervision which must be prescribed by a licensed physician and administered by, or under​

44.2 the direct supervision of, a licensed registered nurse meets the criteria for medical complexity​

44.3 described in the federally approved community alternative care waiver.​

44.4 Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144H.04, subdivision 1, is amended​

44.5 to read:​

44.6 Subdivision 1. Licenses. (a) A person seeking licensure for a PPEC center must submit​

44.7 a completed application for licensure to the commissioner, in a form and manner determined​

44.8 by the commissioner. The applicant must also submit the application fee, in the amount​

44.9 specified in section 144H.05, subdivision 1. Effective For the period January 1, 2019,​

44.10 through December 31, 2020, the commissioner shall issue licenses for no more than two​

44.11 PPEC centers according to the requirements in the phase-in of licensure of prescribed​

44.12 pediatric extended care centers in section 80. Beginning January 1, 2018 2021, the​

44.13 commissioner shall issue a license for a PPEC center if the commissioner determines that​

44.14 the applicant and center meet the requirements of this chapter and rules that apply to PPEC​

44.15 centers. A license issued under this subdivision is valid for two years.​

44.16 (b) The commissioner may limit issuance of PPEC center licenses to PPEC centers​

44.17 located in areas of the state with a demonstrated home care worker shortage.​

44.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

44.19 Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 145.56, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

44.20 Subd. 2. Community-based programs. To the extent funds are appropriated for the​

44.21 purposes of this subdivision, the commissioner shall establish a grant program to fund:​

44.22 (1) community-based programs to provide education, outreach, and advocacy services​

44.23 to populations who may be at risk for suicide;​

44.24 (2) community-based programs that educate community helpers and gatekeepers, such​

44.25 as family members, spiritual leaders, coaches, and business owners, employers, and​

44.26 coworkers on how to prevent suicide by encouraging help-seeking behaviors;​

44.27 (3) community-based programs that educate populations at risk for suicide and community​

44.28 helpers and gatekeepers that must include information on the symptoms of depression and​

44.29 other psychiatric illnesses, the warning signs of suicide, skills for preventing suicides, and​

44.30 making or seeking effective referrals to intervention and community resources;​
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45.1 (4) community-based programs to provide evidence-based suicide prevention and​

45.2 intervention education to school staff, parents, and students in grades kindergarten through​

45.3 12, and for students attending Minnesota colleges and universities;​

45.4 (5) community-based programs to provide evidence-based suicide prevention and​

45.5 intervention to public school nurses, teachers, administrators, coaches, school social workers,​

45.6 peace officers, firefighters, emergency medical technicians, advanced emergency medical​

45.7 technicians, paramedics, primary care providers, and others; and​

45.8 (6) community-based, evidence-based postvention training to mental health professionals​

45.9 and practitioners in order to provide technical assistance to communities after a suicide and​

45.10 to prevent suicide clusters and contagion; and​

45.11 (7) a nonprofit organization to provide crisis telephone counseling services across the​

45.12 state to people in suicidal crisis or emotional distress, 24 hours a day, seven days a week,​

45.13 365 days a year.​

45.14 Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 145.928, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

45.15 Subdivision 1. Goal; establishment. It is the goal of the state, by 2010, to decrease by​

45.16 50 percent the disparities in infant mortality rates and adult and child immunization rates​

45.17 for American Indians and populations of color, as compared with rates for whites. To do​

45.18 so and to achieve other measurable outcomes, the commissioner of health shall establish a​

45.19 program to close the gap in the health status of American Indians and populations of color​

45.20 as compared with whites in the following priority areas: infant mortality, access to and​

45.21 utilization of high-quality prenatal care, breast and cervical cancer screening, HIV/AIDS​

45.22 and sexually transmitted infections, adult and child immunizations, cardiovascular disease,​

45.23 diabetes, and accidental injuries and violence.​

45.24 Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 145.928, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

45.25 Subd. 7. Community grant program; immunization rates, prenatal care access and​

45.26 utilization, and infant mortality rates. (a) The commissioner shall award grants to eligible​

45.27 applicants for local or regional projects and initiatives directed at reducing health disparities​

45.28 in one or both more of the following priority areas:​

45.29 (1) decreasing racial and ethnic disparities in infant mortality rates; or​

45.30 (2) decreasing racial and ethnic disparities in access to and utilization of high-quality​

45.31 prenatal care; or​
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46.1 (2) (3) increasing adult and child immunization rates in nonwhite racial and ethnic​

46.2 populations.​

46.3 (b) The commissioner may award up to 20 percent of the funds available as planning​

46.4 grants. Planning grants must be used to address such areas as community assessment,​

46.5 coordination activities, and development of community supported strategies.​

46.6 (c) Eligible applicants may include, but are not limited to, faith-based organizations,​

46.7 social service organizations, community nonprofit organizations, community health boards,​

46.8 tribal governments, and community clinics. Applicants must submit proposals to the​

46.9 commissioner. A proposal must specify the strategies to be implemented to address one or​

46.10 both more of the priority areas listed in paragraph (a) and must be targeted to achieve the​

46.11 outcomes established according to subdivision 3.​

46.12 (d) The commissioner shall give priority to applicants who demonstrate that their​

46.13 proposed project or initiative:​

46.14 (1) is supported by the community the applicant will serve;​

46.15 (2) is research-based or based on promising strategies;​

46.16 (3) is designed to complement other related community activities;​

46.17 (4) utilizes strategies that positively impact both two or more priority areas;​

46.18 (5) reflects racially and ethnically appropriate approaches; and​

46.19 (6) will be implemented through or with community-based organizations that reflect the​

46.20 race or ethnicity of the population to be reached.​

46.21 Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 147A.08, is amended to read:​

46.22 147A.08 EXEMPTIONS.​

46.23 (a) This chapter does not apply to, control, prevent, or restrict the practice, service, or​

46.24 activities of persons listed in section 147.09, clauses (1) to (6) and (8) to (13), persons​

46.25 regulated under section 214.01, subdivision 2, or persons defined in section 144.1501,​

46.26 subdivision 1, paragraphs (i), (k), and (j), (l), and (m).​

46.27 (b) Nothing in this chapter shall be construed to require licensure of:​

46.28 (1) a physician assistant student enrolled in a physician assistant educational program​

46.29 accredited by the Accreditation Review Commission on Education for the Physician Assistant​

46.30 or by its successor agency approved by the board;​
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47.1 (2) a physician assistant employed in the service of the federal government while​

47.2 performing duties incident to that employment; or​

47.3 (3) technicians, other assistants, or employees of physicians who perform delegated​

47.4 tasks in the office of a physician but who do not identify themselves as a physician assistant.​

47.5 Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.512, subdivision 17a, is amended to read:​

47.6 Subd. 17a. Speech-language pathology assistant. "Speech-language pathology assistant"​

47.7 means a person who provides speech-language pathology services under the supervision of​

47.8 a licensed speech-language pathologist in accordance with section 148.5192 practices​

47.9 speech-language pathology assisting, meets the requirements under section 148.5185 or​

47.10 148.5186, and is licensed by the commissioner.​

47.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

47.12 Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.513, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

47.13 Subdivision 1. Unlicensed practice prohibited. A person must not engage in the practice​

47.14 of speech-language pathology or, audiology, or speech-language pathology assisting unless​

47.15 the person is licensed as a speech-language pathologist or, an audiologist, or a​

47.16 speech-language pathology assistant under sections 148.511 to 148.5198 or is practicing as​

47.17 a speech-language pathology assistant in accordance with section 148.5192. For purposes​

47.18 of this subdivision, a speech-language pathology assistant's duties are limited to the duties​

47.19 described in accordance with section 148.5192, subdivision 2.​

47.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

47.21 Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.513, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

47.22 Subd. 2. Protected titles and restrictions on use; speech-language pathologists and​

47.23 audiologists. (a) Notwithstanding paragraph (b) Except as provided in subdivision 2b, the​

47.24 use of the following terms or initials which represent the following terms, alone or in​

47.25 combination with any word or words, by any person to form an occupational title is prohibited​

47.26 unless that person is licensed as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist under sections​

47.27 148.511 to 148.5198:​

47.28 (1) speech-language;​

47.29 (2) speech-language pathologist, S, SP, or SLP;​

47.30 (3) speech pathologist;​
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48.1 (4) language pathologist;​

48.2 (5) audiologist, A, or AUD;​

48.3 (6) speech therapist;​

48.4 (7) speech clinician;​

48.5 (8) speech correctionist;​

48.6 (9) language therapist;​

48.7 (10) voice therapist;​

48.8 (11) voice pathologist;​

48.9 (12) logopedist;​

48.10 (13) communicologist;​

48.11 (14) aphasiologist;​

48.12 (15) phoniatrist;​

48.13 (16) audiometrist;​

48.14 (17) audioprosthologist;​

48.15 (18) hearing therapist;​

48.16 (19) hearing clinician; or​

48.17 (20) hearing aid audiologist.​

48.18 Use of the term "Minnesota licensed" in conjunction with the titles protected under this​

48.19 paragraph subdivision by any person is prohibited unless that person is licensed as a​

48.20 speech-language pathologist or audiologist under sections 148.511 to 148.5198.​

48.21 (b) A speech-language pathology assistant practicing under section 148.5192 must not​

48.22 represent, indicate, or imply to the public that the assistant is a licensed speech-language​

48.23 pathologist and shall only utilize one of the following titles: "speech-language pathology​

48.24 assistant," "SLP assistant," or "SLP asst."​

48.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

48.26 Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.513, is amended by adding a subdivision​

48.27 to read:​

48.28 Subd. 2b. Protected titles and restrictions on use; speech-language pathology​

48.29 assistants.  (a) Use of the following titles is prohibited, unless that person is licensed under​

48​Article 1 Sec. 63.​
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49.1 section 148.5185 or 148.5186: "speech-language pathology assistant," "SLP assistant," or​

49.2 "SLP asst."​

49.3 (b) A speech-language pathology assistant licensed under section 148.5185 or 148.5186​

49.4 must not represent, indicate, or imply to the public that the assistant is a licensed​

49.5 speech-language pathologist and shall only utilize one of the following titles:​

49.6 "speech-language pathology assistant," "SLP assistant," or "SLP asst." A speech-language​

49.7 pathology assistant licensed under section 148.5185 or 148.5186 may use the term "licensed"​

49.8 or "Minnesota licensed" in connection with a title listed in this paragraph. Use of the term​

49.9 "Minnesota licensed" in conjunction with any of the titles protected under paragraph (a) by​

49.10 any person is prohibited unless that person is licensed under section 148.5185 or 148.5186.​

49.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

49.12 Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.515, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

49.13 Subdivision 1. Applicability. Except as provided in section 148.516 or 148.517, an​

49.14 applicant for licensure as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist must meet the​

49.15 requirements in this section.​

49.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

49.17 Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.516, is amended to read:​

49.18 148.516 LICENSURE BY EQUIVALENCY.​

49.19 An applicant who applies for licensure by equivalency as a speech-language pathologist​

49.20 or audiologist must show evidence of possessing a current certificate of clinical competence​

49.21 issued by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association or board certification by​

49.22 the American Board of Audiology and must meet the requirements of section 148.514.​

49.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

49.24 Sec. 66. [148.5185] RESTRICTED LICENSURE; SPEECH-LANGUAGE​

49.25 PATHOLOGY ASSISTANTS.​

49.26 Subdivision 1. Qualifications for a restricted license. To be eligible for restricted​

49.27 licensure as a speech-language pathology assistant, an applicant must satisfy the requirements​

49.28 in subdivision 2, 3, or 4.​

49.29 Subd. 2. Person practicing as a speech-language pathology assistant before January​

49.30 1, 2019. (a) A person who is practicing as a speech-language pathology assistant before​

49​Article 1 Sec. 66.​
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50.1 January 1, 2019, and who does not meet the qualifications for a license under section​

50.2 148.5186 may apply for a restricted speech-language pathology assistant license from the​

50.3 commissioner. An applicant under this paragraph must submit to the commissioner:​

50.4 (1) proof of current employment as a speech-language pathology assistant; and​

50.5 (2) a signed affidavit affirming supervision, from the licensed speech-language pathologist​

50.6 currently supervising the applicant.​

50.7 (b) In order to be licensed as a speech-language pathology assistant under section​

50.8 148.5186, a licensee with a restricted license under this subdivision must obtain an associate​

50.9 degree from a speech-language pathology assistant program that is accredited by the Higher​

50.10 Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges or its equivalent, as​

50.11 approved by the commissioner, and that includes (1) coursework on an introduction to​

50.12 communication disorders, phonetics, language development, articulation disorders, language​

50.13 disorders, anatomy of speech/language hearing, stuttering, adult communication disorders,​

50.14 and clinical documentations and materials management; and (2) at least 100 hours of​

50.15 supervised field work experience in speech-language pathology assisting. Upon completion​

50.16 of the requirements in this paragraph prior to January 1, 2025, a licensee with a restricted​

50.17 license under this subdivision is eligible to apply for licensure under section 148.5186.​

50.18 Subd. 3. Person with a bachelor's degree in communication sciences or disorders​

50.19 and practicing as a speech-language pathology assistant before January 1, 2019. (a) A​

50.20 person with a bachelor's degree in the discipline of communication sciences or disorders​

50.21 and who is practicing as a speech-language pathology assistant before January 1, 2019, but​

50.22 who does not meet the qualifications for a license under section 148.5186, may apply for a​

50.23 restricted speech-language pathology assistant license from the commissioner. An applicant​

50.24 under this paragraph must submit to the commissioner:​

50.25 (1) a transcript from an educational institution documenting satisfactory completion of​

50.26 a bachelor's degree in the discipline of communication sciences or disorders;​

50.27 (2) proof of current employment as a speech-language pathology assistant; and​

50.28 (3) a signed affidavit affirming supervision, from the licensed speech-language pathologist​

50.29 currently supervising the applicant.​

50.30 (b) In order to be licensed as a speech-language pathology assistant under section​

50.31 148.5186, a licensee with a restricted license under this subdivision must complete (1)​

50.32 coursework from a speech-language pathology assistant program in articulation disorders,​

50.33 language disorders, adult communication disorders, and stuttering; and (2) at least 100 hours​

50​Article 1 Sec. 66.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



51.1 of supervised field work experience in speech-language pathology assisting. Upon completion​

51.2 of the requirements in this paragraph prior to January 1, 2025, a licensee with a restricted​

51.3 license under this subdivision is eligible to apply for licensure under section 148.5186.​

51.4 Subd. 4. Person with an associate degree from a program that does not meet​

51.5 requirements in section 148.5186. (a) A person with an associate degree from a​

51.6 speech-language pathology assistant program that does not meet the requirements in section​

51.7 148.5186, subdivision 1, clause (1), may apply for a restricted speech-language pathology​

51.8 assistant license from the commissioner. An applicant under this paragraph must submit to​

51.9 the commissioner a transcript from an educational institution documenting satisfactory​

51.10 completion of an associate degree from a speech-language pathology assistant program. If​

51.11 the commissioner determines that the applicant's speech-language pathology assistant​

51.12 program does not include coursework or supervised field work experience that is equivalent​

51.13 to a program under section 148.5186, subdivision 1, clause (1), the commissioner may issue​

51.14 a restricted license to the applicant.​

51.15 (b) In order to be licensed as a speech-language pathology assistant under section​

51.16 148.5186, a licensee with a restricted license under this subdivision must complete any​

51.17 missing coursework or supervised field work experience, as determined by the commissioner,​

51.18 in a speech-language pathology assisting program. Upon completion of the requirements​

51.19 in this paragraph prior to January 1, 2025, a licensee with a restricted license under this​

51.20 subdivision is eligible to apply for licensure under section 148.5186.​

51.21 Subd. 5. Additional requirements; restricted license. (a) A restricted license issued​

51.22 under subdivision 2, 3, or 4 may be renewed biennially until January 1, 2025.​

51.23 (b) A licensee with a restricted license under subdivision 2 or 3 may only practice​

51.24 speech-language pathology assisting for the employer with whom the licensee was employed​

51.25 when the licensee applied for licensure.​

51.26 Subd. 6. Continuing education. In order to renew a restricted license, a licensee must​

51.27 comply with the continuing education requirements in section 148.5193, subdivision 1a.​

51.28 Subd. 7. Scope of practice. Scope of practice for a speech-language pathology assistant​

51.29 licensed under this section is governed by section 148.5192, subdivision 2.​

51.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

51​Article 1 Sec. 66.​
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52.1 Sec. 67. [148.5186] LICENSURE; SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY​

52.2 ASSISTANTS.​

52.3 Subdivision 1. Requirements for licensure. To be eligible for licensure as a​

52.4 speech-language pathology assistant, an applicant must submit to the commissioner a​

52.5 transcript from an educational institution documenting satisfactory completion of either:​

52.6 (1) an associate degree from a speech-language pathology assistant program that is​

52.7 accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges​

52.8 or its equivalent as approved by the commissioner, which includes at least 100 hours of​

52.9 supervised field work experience in speech-language pathology assisting; or​

52.10 (2) a bachelor's degree in the discipline of communication sciences or disorders and a​

52.11 speech-language pathology assistant certificate program that includes (i) coursework in an​

52.12 introduction to speech-language pathology assisting, stuttering, articulation disorders, and​

52.13 language disorders; and (ii) at least 100 hours of supervised field work experience in​

52.14 speech-language pathology assisting.​

52.15 Subd. 2. Licensure by equivalency. An applicant who applies for licensure by​

52.16 equivalency as a speech-language pathology assistant must provide evidence to the​

52.17 commissioner of satisfying the requirements in subdivision 1.​

52.18 Subd. 3. Scope of practice. Scope of practice for a speech-language pathology assistant​

52.19 licensed under this section is governed by section 148.5192, subdivision 2.​

52.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

52.21 Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 148.519, subdivision 1, is amended​

52.22 to read:​

52.23 Subdivision 1. Applications for licensure; speech-language pathologists and​

52.24 audiologists. (a) An applicant for licensure as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist​

52.25 must:​

52.26 (1) submit a completed application for licensure on forms provided by the commissioner.​

52.27 The application must include the applicant's name, certification number under chapter 153A,​

52.28 if applicable, business address and telephone number, or home address and telephone number​

52.29 if the applicant practices speech-language pathology or audiology out of the home, and a​

52.30 description of the applicant's education, training, and experience, including previous work​

52.31 history for the five years immediately preceding the date of application. The commissioner​

52​Article 1 Sec. 68.​
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53.1 may ask the applicant to provide additional information necessary to clarify information​

53.2 submitted in the application; and​

53.3 (2) submit documentation of the certificate of clinical competence issued by the American​

53.4 Speech-Language-Hearing Association, board certification by the American Board of​

53.5 Audiology, or satisfy the following requirements:​

53.6 (i) submit a transcript showing the completion of a master's or doctoral degree or its​

53.7 equivalent meeting the requirements of section 148.515, subdivision 2;​

53.8 (ii) submit documentation of the required hours of supervised clinical training;​

53.9 (iii) submit documentation of the postgraduate clinical or doctoral clinical experience​

53.10 meeting the requirements of section 148.515, subdivision 4; and​

53.11 (iv) submit documentation of receiving a qualifying score on an examination meeting​

53.12 the requirements of section 148.515, subdivision 6.​

53.13 (b) In addition, an applicant must:​

53.14 (1) sign a statement that the information in the application is true and correct to the best​

53.15 of the applicant's knowledge and belief;​

53.16 (2) submit with the application all fees required by section 148.5194;​

53.17 (3) sign a waiver authorizing the commissioner to obtain access to the applicant's records​

53.18 in this or any other state in which the applicant has engaged in the practice of speech-language​

53.19 pathology or audiology; and​

53.20 (4) consent to a fingerprint-based criminal history background check as required under​

53.21 section 144.0572, pay all required fees, and cooperate with all requests for information. An​

53.22 applicant must complete a new criminal history background check if more than one year​

53.23 has elapsed since the applicant last applied for a license.​

53.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

53.25 Sec. 69. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.519, is amended by adding a subdivision​

53.26 to read:​

53.27 Subd. 1a. Applications for licensure; speech-language pathology assistants. An​

53.28 applicant for licensure as a speech-language pathology assistant must submit to the​

53.29 commissioner:​

53.30 (1) a completed application on forms provided by the commissioner. The application​

53.31 must include the applicant's name, business address and telephone number, home address​

53​Article 1 Sec. 69.​
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54.1 and telephone number, and a description of the applicant's education, training, and experience,​

54.2 including previous work history for the five years immediately preceding the application​

54.3 date. The commissioner may ask the applicant to provide additional information needed to​

54.4 clarify information submitted in the application;​

54.5 (2) documentation that the applicant satisfied one of the qualifications listed in section​

54.6 148.5185 or 148.5186;​

54.7 (3) a signed statement that the information in the application is true and correct to the​

54.8 best of the applicant's knowledge and belief;​

54.9 (4) all fees required under section 148.5194; and​

54.10 (5) a signed waiver authorizing the commissioner to obtain access to the applicant's​

54.11 records in this or any other state in which the applicant has worked as a speech-language​

54.12 pathology assistant.​

54.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

54.14 Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.5192, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

54.15 Subdivision 1. Delegation requirements. A licensed speech-language pathologist may​

54.16 delegate duties to a speech-language pathology assistant in accordance with this section.​

54.17 Duties may only be delegated to an individual who has documented with a transcript from​

54.18 an educational institution satisfactory completion of either:​

54.19 (1) an associate degree from a speech-language pathology assistant program that is​

54.20 accredited by the Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges​

54.21 or its equivalent as approved by the commissioner; or​

54.22 (2) a bachelor's degree in the discipline of communication sciences or disorders with​

54.23 additional transcript credit in the area of instruction in assistant-level service delivery​

54.24 practices and completion of at least 100 hours of supervised field work experience as a​

54.25 speech-language pathology assistant student is licensed under section 148.5185 or 148.5186.​

54.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

54.27 Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 148.5193, subdivision 1, is amended​

54.28 to read:​

54.29 Subdivision 1. Number of contact hours required. (a) An applicant for licensure​

54.30 renewal as a speech-language pathologist or audiologist must meet the requirements for​

54.31 continuing education stipulated by the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association​

54​Article 1 Sec. 71.​
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55.1 or the American Board of Audiology, or satisfy the requirements described in paragraphs​

55.2 (b) to (e).​

55.3 (b) Within one month following expiration of a license, an applicant for licensure renewal​

55.4 as either a speech-language pathologist or an audiologist must provide evidence to the​

55.5 commissioner of a minimum of 30 contact hours of continuing education obtained within​

55.6 the two years immediately preceding licensure expiration. A minimum of 20 contact hours​

55.7 of continuing education must be directly related to the licensee's area of licensure. Ten​

55.8 contact hours of continuing education may be in areas generally related to the licensee's​

55.9 area of licensure. Licensees who are issued licenses for a period of less than two years shall​

55.10 prorate the number of contact hours required for licensure renewal based on the number of​

55.11 months licensed during the biennial licensure period. Licensees shall receive contact hours​

55.12 for continuing education activities only for the biennial licensure period in which the​

55.13 continuing education activity was performed.​

55.14 (c) An applicant for licensure renewal as both a speech-language pathologist and an​

55.15 audiologist must attest to and document completion of a minimum of 36 contact hours of​

55.16 continuing education offered by a continuing education sponsor within the two years​

55.17 immediately preceding licensure renewal. A minimum of 15 contact hours must be received​

55.18 in the area of speech-language pathology and a minimum of 15 contact hours must be​

55.19 received in the area of audiology. Six contact hours of continuing education may be in areas​

55.20 generally related to the licensee's areas of licensure. Licensees who are issued licenses for​

55.21 a period of less than two years shall prorate the number of contact hours required for licensure​

55.22 renewal based on the number of months licensed during the biennial licensure period.​

55.23 Licensees shall receive contact hours for continuing education activities only for the biennial​

55.24 licensure period in which the continuing education activity was performed.​

55.25 (d) If the licensee is licensed by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards​

55.26 Board:​

55.27 (1) activities that are approved in the categories of Minnesota Rules, part 8710.7200,​

55.28 subpart 3, items A and B, and that relate to speech-language pathology, shall be considered:​

55.29 (i) offered by a sponsor of continuing education; and​

55.30 (ii) directly related to speech-language pathology;​

55.31 (2) activities that are approved in the categories of Minnesota Rules, part 8710.7200,​

55.32 subpart 3, shall be considered:​

55.33 (i) offered by a sponsor of continuing education; and​
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56.1 (ii) generally related to speech-language pathology; and​

56.2 (3) one clock hour as defined in Minnesota Rules, part 8710.7200, subpart 1, is equivalent​

56.3 to 1.0 contact hours of continuing education.​

56.4 (e) Contact hours may not be accumulated in advance and transferred to a future​

56.5 continuing education period.​

56.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

56.7 Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.5193, is amended by adding a subdivision​

56.8 to read:​

56.9 Subd. 1a. Continuing education; speech-language pathology assistants. An applicant​

56.10 for licensure renewal as a speech-language pathology assistant must meet the requirements​

56.11 for continuing education established by the commissioner.​

56.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

56.13 Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.5194, is amended by adding a subdivision​

56.14 to read:​

56.15 Subd. 3b. Speech-language pathology assistant initial licensure and renewal fees.​

56.16 The fee for initial speech-language pathology assistant licensure under section 148.5185 or​

56.17 148.5186 is $130. The fee for licensure renewal is $120.​

56.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

56.19 Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.5194, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

56.20 Subd. 8. Penalty fees. (a) The penalty fee for practicing speech-language pathology or​

56.21 audiology or using protected titles without a current license after the credential has expired​

56.22 and before it is renewed is the amount of the license renewal fee for any part of the first​

56.23 month, plus the license renewal fee for any part of any subsequent month up to 36 months.​

56.24 The penalty fee for a speech-language pathology assistant who practices speech-language​

56.25 pathology assisting or uses protected titles without a current license after a license has​

56.26 expired and before it is renewed is the amount of the license renewal fee for any part of the​

56.27 first month, plus the license renewal fee for any part of any subsequent month up to 36​

56.28 months.​

56.29 (b) The penalty fee for applicants who engage in the unauthorized practice of​

56.30 speech-language pathology or audiology or using protected titles before being issued a​

56.31 license is the amount of the license application fee for any part of the first month, plus the​
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57.1 license application fee for any part of any subsequent month up to 36 months. The penalty​

57.2 fee for a speech-language pathology assistant who engages in the unauthorized practice of​

57.3 speech-language pathology assisting or uses protected titles without being issued a license​

57.4 is the amount of the license application fee for any part of the first month, plus the license​

57.5 application fee for any part of any subsequent month up to 36 months. This paragraph does​

57.6 not apply to applicants not qualifying for a license who engage in the unauthorized practice​

57.7 of speech language pathology or audiology.​

57.8 (c) The penalty fee for practicing speech-language pathology or audiology and failing​

57.9 to submit a continuing education report by the due date with the correct number or type of​

57.10 hours in the correct time period is $100 plus $20 for each missing clock hour. The penalty​

57.11 fee for a licensed speech-language pathology assistant who fails to submit a continuing​

57.12 education report by the due date with the correct number or type of hours in the correct time​

57.13 period is $100 plus $20 for each missing clock hour. "Missing" means not obtained between​

57.14 the effective and expiration dates of the certificate, the one-month period following the​

57.15 certificate expiration date, or the 30 days following notice of a penalty fee for failing to​

57.16 report all continuing education hours. The licensee must obtain the missing number of​

57.17 continuing education hours by the next reporting due date.​

57.18 (d) Civil penalties and discipline incurred by licensees prior to August 1, 2005, for​

57.19 conduct described in paragraph (a), (b), or (c) shall be recorded as nondisciplinary penalty​

57.20 fees. For conduct described in paragraph (a) or (b) occurring after August 1, 2005, and​

57.21 exceeding six months, payment of a penalty fee does not preclude any disciplinary action​

57.22 reasonably justified by the individual case.​

57.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

57.24 Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.5195, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

57.25 Subd. 3. Grounds for disciplinary action by commissioner. The commissioner may​

57.26 take any of the disciplinary actions listed in subdivision 4 on proof that the individual has:​

57.27 (1) intentionally submitted false or misleading information to the commissioner or the​

57.28 advisory council;​

57.29 (2) failed, within 30 days, to provide information in response to a written request by the​

57.30 commissioner or advisory council;​

57.31 (3) performed services of a speech-language pathologist or, audiologist, or​

57.32 speech-language pathology assistant in an incompetent or negligent manner;​

57.33 (4) violated sections 148.511 to 148.5198;​
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58.1 (5) failed to perform services with reasonable judgment, skill, or safety due to the use​

58.2 of alcohol or drugs, or other physical or mental impairment;​

58.3 (6) violated any state or federal law, rule, or regulation, and the violation is a felony or​

58.4 misdemeanor, an essential element of which is dishonesty, or which relates directly or​

58.5 indirectly to the practice of speech-language pathology or, audiology, or speech-language​

58.6 pathology assisting. Conviction for violating any state or federal law which relates to​

58.7 speech-language pathology or, audiology, or speech-language pathology assisting is​

58.8 necessarily considered to constitute a violation, except as provided in chapter 364;​

58.9 (7) aided or abetted another person in violating any provision of sections 148.511 to​

58.10 148.5198;​

58.11 (8) been or is being disciplined by another jurisdiction, if any of the grounds for the​

58.12 discipline is the same or substantially equivalent to those under sections 148.511 to 148.5198;​

58.13 (9) not cooperated with the commissioner or advisory council in an investigation​

58.14 conducted according to subdivision 1;​

58.15 (10) advertised in a manner that is false or misleading;​

58.16 (11) engaged in conduct likely to deceive, defraud, or harm the public; or demonstrated​

58.17 a willful or careless disregard for the health, welfare, or safety of a client;​

58.18 (12) failed to disclose to the consumer any fee splitting or any promise to pay a portion​

58.19 of a fee to any other professional other than a fee for services rendered by the other​

58.20 professional to the client;​

58.21 (13) engaged in abusive or fraudulent billing practices, including violations of federal​

58.22 Medicare and Medicaid laws, Food and Drug Administration regulations, or state medical​

58.23 assistance laws;​

58.24 (14) obtained money, property, or services from a consumer through the use of undue​

58.25 influence, high pressure sales tactics, harassment, duress, deception, or fraud;​

58.26 (15) performed services for a client who had no possibility of benefiting from the services;​

58.27 (16) failed to refer a client for medical evaluation or to other health care professionals​

58.28 when appropriate or when a client indicated symptoms associated with diseases that could​

58.29 be medically or surgically treated;​

58.30 (17) had the certification required by chapter 153A denied, suspended, or revoked​

58.31 according to chapter 153A;​
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59.1 (18) used the term doctor of audiology, doctor of speech-language pathology, AuD, or​

59.2 SLPD without having obtained the degree from an institution accredited by the North Central​

59.3 Association of Colleges and Secondary Schools, the Council on Academic Accreditation​

59.4 in Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology, the United States Department of Education,​

59.5 or an equivalent;​

59.6 (19) failed to comply with the requirements of section 148.5192 regarding supervision​

59.7 of speech-language pathology assistants; or​

59.8 (20) if the individual is an audiologist or certified hearing instrument dispenser:​

59.9 (i) prescribed or otherwise recommended to a consumer or potential consumer the use​

59.10 of a hearing instrument, unless the prescription from a physician or recommendation from​

59.11 an audiologist or certified dispenser is in writing, is based on an audiogram that is delivered​

59.12 to the consumer or potential consumer when the prescription or recommendation is made,​

59.13 and bears the following information in all capital letters of 12-point or larger boldface type:​

59.14 "THIS PRESCRIPTION OR RECOMMENDATION MAY BE FILLED BY, AND​

59.15 HEARING INSTRUMENTS MAY BE PURCHASED FROM, THE LICENSED​

59.16 AUDIOLOGIST OR CERTIFIED DISPENSER OF YOUR CHOICE";​

59.17 (ii) failed to give a copy of the audiogram, upon which the prescription or​

59.18 recommendation is based, to the consumer when the consumer requests a copy;​

59.19 (iii) failed to provide the consumer rights brochure required by section 148.5197,​

59.20 subdivision 3;​

59.21 (iv) failed to comply with restrictions on sales of hearing instruments in sections​

59.22 148.5197, subdivision 3, and 148.5198;​

59.23 (v) failed to return a consumer's hearing instrument used as a trade-in or for a discount​

59.24 in the price of a new hearing instrument when requested by the consumer upon cancellation​

59.25 of the purchase agreement;​

59.26 (vi) failed to follow Food and Drug Administration or Federal Trade Commission​

59.27 regulations relating to dispensing hearing instruments;​

59.28 (vii) failed to dispense a hearing instrument in a competent manner or without appropriate​

59.29 training;​

59.30 (viii) delegated hearing instrument dispensing authority to a person not authorized to​

59.31 dispense a hearing instrument under this chapter or chapter 153A;​
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60.1 (ix) failed to comply with the requirements of an employer or supervisor of a hearing​

60.2 instrument dispenser trainee;​

60.3 (x) violated a state or federal court order or judgment, including a conciliation court​

60.4 judgment, relating to the activities of the individual's hearing instrument dispensing; or​

60.5 (xi) failed to include on the audiogram the practitioner's printed name, credential type,​

60.6 credential number, signature, and date.​

60.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

60.8 Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 148.5196, subdivision 1, is amended​

60.9 to read:​

60.10 Subdivision 1. Membership. The commissioner shall appoint 12 13 persons to a​

60.11 Speech-Language Pathologist and Audiologist Advisory Council. The 12 13 persons must​

60.12 include:​

60.13 (1) three public members, as defined in section 214.02. Two of the public members shall​

60.14 be either persons receiving services of a speech-language pathologist or audiologist, or​

60.15 family members of or caregivers to such persons, and at least one of the public members​

60.16 shall be either a hearing instrument user or an advocate of one;​

60.17 (2) three speech-language pathologists licensed under sections 148.511 to 148.5198,​

60.18 one of whom is currently and has been, for the five years immediately preceding the​

60.19 appointment, engaged in the practice of speech-language pathology in Minnesota and each​

60.20 of whom is employed in a different employment setting including, but not limited to, private​

60.21 practice, hospitals, rehabilitation settings, educational settings, and government agencies;​

60.22 (3) one speech-language pathologist licensed under sections 148.511 to 148.5198, who​

60.23 is currently and has been, for the five years immediately preceding the appointment,​

60.24 employed by a Minnesota public school district or a Minnesota public school district​

60.25 consortium that is authorized by Minnesota Statutes and who is licensed in speech-language​

60.26 pathology by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board;​

60.27 (4) three audiologists licensed under sections 148.511 to 148.5198, two of whom are​

60.28 currently and have been, for the five years immediately preceding the appointment, engaged​

60.29 in the practice of audiology and the dispensing of hearing instruments in Minnesota and​

60.30 each of whom is employed in a different employment setting including, but not limited to,​

60.31 private practice, hospitals, rehabilitation settings, educational settings, industry, and​

60.32 government agencies;​
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61.1 (5) one nonaudiologist hearing instrument dispenser recommended by a professional​

61.2 association representing hearing instrument dispensers; and​

61.3 (6) one physician licensed under chapter 147 and certified by the American Board of​

61.4 Otolaryngology, Head and Neck Surgery; and​

61.5 (7) one speech-language pathology assistant licensed under section 148.5186.​

61.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

61.7 Sec. 77. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.5196, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

61.8 Subd. 3. Duties. The advisory council shall:​

61.9 (1) advise the commissioner regarding speech-language pathologist and, audiologist,​

61.10 and speech-language pathology assistant licensure standards;​

61.11 (2) advise the commissioner regarding the delegation of duties to and the training required​

61.12 for speech-language pathology assistants;​

61.13 (3) advise the commissioner on enforcement of sections 148.511 to 148.5198;​

61.14 (4) provide for distribution of information regarding speech-language pathologist and,​

61.15 audiologist, and speech-language pathology assistant licensure standards;​

61.16 (5) review applications and make recommendations to the commissioner on granting or​

61.17 denying licensure or licensure renewal;​

61.18 (6) review reports of investigations relating to individuals and make recommendations​

61.19 to the commissioner as to whether licensure should be denied or disciplinary action taken​

61.20 against the individual;​

61.21 (7) advise the commissioner regarding approval of continuing education activities​

61.22 provided by sponsors using the criteria in section 148.5193, subdivision 2; and​

61.23 (8) perform other duties authorized for advisory councils under chapter 214, or as directed​

61.24 by the commissioner.​

61.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

61.26 Sec. 78. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 149A.40, subdivision 11, is amended to read:​

61.27 Subd. 11. Continuing education. The commissioner shall require 15 continuing education​

61.28 hours for renewal of a license to practice mortuary science. Nine of the hours must be in​

61.29 the following areas: body preparation, care, or handling, and cremation, 3 CE hours;​

61.30 professional practices, 3 CE hours; and regulation and ethics, 3 CE hours. Continuing​
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62.1 education hours shall be reported to the commissioner every other year based on the licensee's​

62.2 license number. Licensees whose license ends in an odd number must report CE hours at​

62.3 renewal time every odd year. If a licensee's license ends in an even number, the licensee​

62.4 must report the licensee's CE hours at renewal time every even year.​

62.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019, and applies to mortuary​

62.6 science license renewals on or after that date.​

62.7 Sec. 79. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 149A.95, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

62.8 Subd. 3. Unlicensed personnel. (a) A licensed crematory may employ unlicensed​

62.9 personnel, provided that all applicable provisions of this chapter are followed. It is the duty​

62.10 of the licensed crematory to provide proper training for to all unlicensed personnel and​

62.11 ensure that unlicensed personnel performing cremations are in compliance with the​

62.12 requirements in paragraph (b). The licensed crematory shall be strictly accountable for​

62.13 compliance with this chapter and other applicable state and federal regulations regarding​

62.14 occupational and workplace health and safety.​

62.15 (b) Unlicensed personnel performing cremations at a licensed crematory must:​

62.16 (1) complete a certified crematory operator course that is approved by the commissioner​

62.17 and that covers at least the following subjects:​

62.18 (i) cremation and incinerator terminology;​

62.19 (ii) combustion principles;​

62.20 (iii) maintenance of and troubleshooting for cremation devices;​

62.21 (iv) how to operate cremation devices;​

62.22 (v) identification, the use of proper forms, and the record-keeping process for​

62.23 documenting chain of custody of human remains;​

62.24 (vi) guidelines for recycling, including but not limited to compliance, disclosure, recycling​

62.25 procedures, and compensation;​

62.26 (vii) legal and regulatory requirements regarding environmental issues, including specific​

62.27 environmental regulations with which compliance is required; and​

62.28 (viii) cremation ethics;​

62.29 (2) obtain a crematory operator certification;​

62.30 (3) publicly post the crematory operator certification at the licensed crematory where​

62.31 the unlicensed personnel performs cremations; and​
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63.1 (4) maintain crematory operator certification through:​

63.2 (i) recertification, if such recertification is required by the program through which the​

63.3 unlicensed personnel is certified; or​

63.4 (ii) if recertification is not required by the program, completion of at least seven hours​

63.5 of continuing education credits in crematory operation every five years.​

63.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019, and applies to unlicensed​

63.7 personnel performing cremations on or after that date.​

63.8 Sec. 80. PHASE-IN OF LICENSURE OF PRESCRIBED PEDIATRIC EXTENDED​

63.9 CARE CENTERS.​

63.10 Subdivision 1. 2019-2020 licensure period. The commissioner of health shall phase in​

63.11 the licensure of prescribed pediatric extended care centers (PPEC centers) under Minnesota​

63.12 Statutes, chapter 144H, by issuing licenses for no more than two PPEC centers for the​

63.13 licensure period January 1, 2019, through December 31, 2020. To be eligible for licensure​

63.14 for the licensure period January 1, 2019, through December 31, 2020, an entity must hold​

63.15 a current comprehensive home care license under Minnesota Statutes, sections 144A.43 to​

63.16 144A.482, and must have experience providing home care services to medically complex​

63.17 or technologically dependent children, as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 144H.01,​

63.18 subdivision 5. Beginning January 1, 2021, the commissioner shall license additional PPEC​

63.19 centers if the commissioner determines that the applicant and the center meet the licensing​

63.20 requirements of Minnesota Statutes, chapter 144H.​

63.21 Subd. 2. Quality measures; development and reporting. The commissioner of health,​

63.22 in consultation with prescribed pediatric extended care centers licensed for the 2019-2020​

63.23 licensure period, shall develop quality measures for PPEC centers, procedures for PPEC​

63.24 centers to report quality measures to the commissioner, and methods for the commissioner​

63.25 to make the results of the quality measures available to the public.​

63.26 Sec. 81. OLDER ADULT SOCIAL ISOLATION WORKING GROUP.​

63.27 Subdivision 1. Establishment; members. The commissioner of health or the​

63.28 commissioner's designee shall convene an older adult social isolation working group that​

63.29 consists of no more than 35 members including, but not limited to:​

63.30 (1) one person diagnosed with Alzheimer's or dementia;​

63.31 (2) one caregiver of a person diagnosed with Alzheimer's or dementia;​
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64.1 (3) the executive director of Giving Voice;​

64.2 (4) one representative from the Mayo Clinic Alzheimer's Disease Research Center;​

64.3 (5) one representative from AARP Minnesota;​

64.4 (6) one representative from Little Brothers-Friends of the Elderly, Minneapolis/St. Paul;​

64.5 (7) one representative from the Alzheimer's Association Minnesota-North Dakota Chapter;​

64.6 (8) one representative from the American Heart Association Minnesota Chapter;​

64.7 (9) one representative from the Minnesota HomeCare Association;​

64.8 (10) two representatives from long-term care trade associations;​

64.9 (11) one representative from the Minnesota Rural Health Association;​

64.10 (12) the commissioner of health or the commissioner's designee;​

64.11 (13) one representative from the Minnesota Board on Aging;​

64.12 (14) one representative from the Commission of Deaf, Deafblind and Hard of Hearing​

64.13 Minnesotans;​

64.14 (15) one representative from the Minnesota Nurses Association;​

64.15 (16) one representative from the Minnesota Council of Churches;​

64.16 (17) one representative from the Minnesota Leadership Council on Aging;​

64.17 (18) one representative from the Minnesota Association of Senior Services;​

64.18 (19) one representative from Metro Meals on Wheels;​

64.19 (20) one rural Minnesota geriatrician or family physician;​

64.20 (21) at least two representatives from the University of Minnesota;​

64.21 (22) one representative from one of the Minnesota Area Agencies on Aging;​

64.22 (23) at least two members representing Minnesota rural communities;​

64.23 (24) additional members representing communities of color;​

64.24 (25) one representative from the National Alliance on Mental Illness; and​

64.25 (26) one representative from the Citizens League.​

64.26 Subd. 2. Duties; recommendations. The older adult social isolation working group​

64.27 must assess the current and future impact of social isolation on the lives of Minnesotans​

64.28 over age 55. The working group shall consider and make recommendations to the governor​
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65.1 and chairs and members of the health and human services committees in the house of​

65.2 representatives and senate on the following issues:​

65.3 (1) the public health impact of social isolation in the older adult population of Minnesota;​

65.4 (2) identify existing Minnesota resources, services, and capacity to respond to the issue​

65.5 of social isolation in older adults;​

65.6 (3) needed policies or community responses, including but not limited to expanding​

65.7 current services or developing future services after identifying gaps in service for rural​

65.8 geographical areas;​

65.9 (4) needed policies or community responses, including but not limited to the expansion​

65.10 of culturally appropriate current services or developing future services after identifying​

65.11 gaps in service for persons of color; and​

65.12 (5) impact of social isolation on older adults with disabilities and needed policies or​

65.13 community responses.​

65.14 Subd. 3. Meetings. The working group must hold at least four public meetings beginning​

65.15 August 10, 2018. To the extent possible, technology must be utilized to reach the greatest​

65.16 number of interested persons throughout the state. The working group must complete the​

65.17 required meeting schedule by December 10, 2018.​

65.18 Subd. 4. Report. The commissioner of health must submit a report and the working​

65.19 group's recommendations to the governor and chairs and members of the health and human​

65.20 services committees in the house of representatives and senate no later than January 14,​

65.21 2019.​

65.22 Subd. 5. Sunset. The working group sunsets upon delivery of the required report to the​

65.23 governor and legislative committees.​

65.24 Sec. 82. RULEMAKING; WELL AND BORING RECORDS.​

65.25 (a) The commissioner of health shall amend Minnesota Rules, part 4725.1851, subpart​

65.26 1, to require the licensee, registrant, or property owner or lessee to submit the record of well​

65.27 or boring construction or sealing within 90 days after completion of the work, rather than​

65.28 within 30 days after completion of the work.​

65.29 (b) The commissioner may use the good cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes,​

65.30 section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to adopt rules under this section, and Minnesota​

65.31 Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply, except as provided under Minnesota Statutes,​

65.32 section 14.388.​
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66.1 Sec. 83. RULEMAKING; SECURITY SCREENING SYSTEMS.​

66.2 The commissioner may adopt permanent rules to implement Minnesota Statutes, section​

66.3 144.121, subdivision 9.​

66.4 Sec. 84. ADVISORY COUNCIL ON PANDAS AND PANS; INITIAL​

66.5 APPOINTMENTS AND FIRST MEETING.​

66.6 The appointing authorities shall appoint the first members of the advisory council on​

66.7 PANDAS and PANS under Minnesota Statutes, section 144.131, no later than October 1,​

66.8 2018. The commissioner of health shall convene the first meeting by November 1, 2018,​

66.9 and the commissioner or the commissioner's designee shall act as chair until the advisory​

66.10 council elects a chair at its first meeting. Notwithstanding the length of terms specified in​

66.11 Minnesota Statutes, section 144.131, subdivision 3, at the first meeting of the advisory​

66.12 council, the chair elected by the members shall determine by lot one-third of the advisory​

66.13 council members whose terms shall expire on September 30 of the calendar year following​

66.14 the year of first appointment, one-third of the advisory council members whose terms shall​

66.15 expire on September 30 of the second calendar year following the year of first appointment,​

66.16 and the remaining advisory council members whose terms shall expire on September 30 of​

66.17 the third calendar year following the year of first appointment.​

66.18 Sec. 85. REVISOR'S INSTRUCTIONS.​

66.19 (a) The revisor of statutes shall change the terms "service plan or service agreement"​

66.20 and "service agreement or service plan" to "service agreement" in the following sections of​

66.21 Minnesota Statutes: sections 144A.442; 144D.045; 144G.03, subdivision 4, paragraph (c);​

66.22 and 144G.04.​

66.23 (b) The revisor of statutes shall change the term "service plan" to "service agreement"​

66.24 and the term "service plans" to "service agreements" in the following sections of Minnesota​

66.25 Statutes: sections 144A.44; 144A.45; 144A.475; 144A.4791; 144A.4792; 144A.4793;​

66.26 144A.4794; 144D.04; and 144G.03, subdivision 4, paragraph (a).​

66.27 Sec. 86.  REPEALER.​

66.28 Minnesota Statutes 2016, sections 144A.45, subdivision 6; and 144A.481, are repealed.​
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67.1 ARTICLE 2​

67.2 HEALTH CARE​

67.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 13.69, subdivision 1, is amended​

67.4 to read:​

67.5 Subdivision 1. Classifications. (a) The following government data of the Department​

67.6 of Public Safety are private data:​

67.7 (1) medical data on driving instructors, licensed drivers, and applicants for parking​

67.8 certificates and special license plates issued to physically disabled persons;​

67.9 (2) other data on holders of a disability certificate under section 169.345, except that (i)​

67.10 data that are not medical data may be released to law enforcement agencies, and (ii) data​

67.11 necessary for enforcement of sections 169.345 and 169.346 may be released to parking​

67.12 enforcement employees or parking enforcement agents of statutory or home rule charter​

67.13 cities and towns;​

67.14 (3) Social Security numbers in driver's license and motor vehicle registration records,​

67.15 except that Social Security numbers must be provided to the Department of Revenue for​

67.16 purposes of tax administration, the Department of Labor and Industry for purposes of​

67.17 workers' compensation administration and enforcement, the judicial branch for purposes of​

67.18 debt collection, and the Department of Natural Resources for purposes of license application​

67.19 administration, and except that the last four digits of the Social Security number must be​

67.20 provided to the Department of Human Services for purposes of recovery of Minnesota health​

67.21 care program benefits paid; and​

67.22 (4) data on persons listed as standby or temporary custodians under section 171.07,​

67.23 subdivision 11, except that the data must be released to:​

67.24 (i) law enforcement agencies for the purpose of verifying that an individual is a designated​

67.25 caregiver; or​

67.26 (ii) law enforcement agencies who state that the license holder is unable to communicate​

67.27 at that time and that the information is necessary for notifying the designated caregiver of​

67.28 the need to care for a child of the license holder.​

67.29 The department may release the Social Security number only as provided in clause (3)​

67.30 and must not sell or otherwise provide individual Social Security numbers or lists of Social​

67.31 Security numbers for any other purpose.​
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68.1 (b) The following government data of the Department of Public Safety are confidential​

68.2 data: data concerning an individual's driving ability when that data is received from a member​

68.3 of the individual's family.​

68.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2018.​

68.5 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256.014, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

68.6 Subd. 2. State systems account created. (a) A state systems account is created in the​

68.7 state treasury. Money collected by the commissioner of human services for the programs​

68.8 in subdivision 1 must be deposited in the account. Money in the state systems account and​

68.9 federal matching money is appropriated to the commissioner of human services for purposes​

68.10 of this section. Any unexpended balance in the appropriations for information systems​

68.11 projects for MAXIS, PRISM, MMIS, ISDS, METS, or SSIS does not cancel and is available​

68.12 for ongoing development and operations, subject to review by the Legislative Advisory​

68.13 Commission under paragraphs (b) and (c).​

68.14 (b) No unexpended balance under paragraph (a) may be expended by the commissioner​

68.15 of human services until the commissioner of management and budget has submitted the​

68.16 proposed expenditure to the members of the Legislative Advisory Commission for review​

68.17 and recommendation. If the commission makes a positive recommendation or no​

68.18 recommendation, or if the commission has not reviewed the request within 20 days after​

68.19 the date the proposed expenditure was submitted, the commissioner of management and​

68.20 budget may approve the proposed expenditure. If the commission recommends further​

68.21 review of the proposed expenditure, the commissioner shall provide additional information​

68.22 to the commission. If the commission makes a negative recommendation on the proposed​

68.23 expenditure within ten days of receiving further information, the commissioner shall not​

68.24 approve the proposed expenditure. If the commission makes a positive recommendation or​

68.25 no recommendation within ten days of receiving further information, the commissioner may​

68.26 approve the proposed expenditure.​

68.27 (c) A recommendation of the commission must be made at a meeting of the commission​

68.28 unless a written recommendation is signed by all members entitled to vote on the item as​

68.29 specified in section 3.30, subdivision 2. A recommendation of the commission must be​

68.30 made by a majority of the commission.​
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69.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 3b, is​

69.2 amended to read:​

69.3 Subd. 3b. Telemedicine services. (a) Medical assistance covers medically necessary​

69.4 services and consultations delivered by a licensed health care provider via telemedicine in​

69.5 the same manner as if the service or consultation was delivered in person. Coverage is​

69.6 limited to three telemedicine services per enrollee per calendar week, except as provided​

69.7 in paragraph (f). Telemedicine services shall be paid at the full allowable rate.​

69.8 (b) The commissioner shall establish criteria that a health care provider must attest to​

69.9 in order to demonstrate the safety or efficacy of delivering a particular service via​

69.10 telemedicine. The attestation may include that the health care provider:​

69.11 (1) has identified the categories or types of services the health care provider will provide​

69.12 via telemedicine;​

69.13 (2) has written policies and procedures specific to telemedicine services that are regularly​

69.14 reviewed and updated;​

69.15 (3) has policies and procedures that adequately address patient safety before, during,​

69.16 and after the telemedicine service is rendered;​

69.17 (4) has established protocols addressing how and when to discontinue telemedicine​

69.18 services; and​

69.19 (5) has an established quality assurance process related to telemedicine services.​

69.20 (c) As a condition of payment, a licensed health care provider must document each​

69.21 occurrence of a health service provided by telemedicine to a medical assistance enrollee.​

69.22 Health care service records for services provided by telemedicine must meet the requirements​

69.23 set forth in Minnesota Rules, part 9505.2175, subparts 1 and 2, and must document:​

69.24 (1) the type of service provided by telemedicine;​

69.25 (2) the time the service began and the time the service ended, including an a.m. and p.m.​

69.26 designation;​

69.27 (3) the licensed health care provider's basis for determining that telemedicine is an​

69.28 appropriate and effective means for delivering the service to the enrollee;​

69.29 (4) the mode of transmission of the telemedicine service and records evidencing that a​

69.30 particular mode of transmission was utilized;​

69.31 (5) the location of the originating site and the distant site;​
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70.1 (6) if the claim for payment is based on a physician's telemedicine consultation with​

70.2 another physician, the written opinion from the consulting physician providing the​

70.3 telemedicine consultation; and​

70.4 (7) compliance with the criteria attested to by the health care provider in accordance​

70.5 with paragraph (b).​

70.6 (d) For purposes of this subdivision, unless otherwise covered under this chapter,​

70.7 "telemedicine" is defined as the delivery of health care services or consultations while the​

70.8 patient is at an originating site and the licensed health care provider is at a distant site. A​

70.9 communication between licensed health care providers, or a licensed health care provider​

70.10 and a patient that consists solely of a telephone conversation, e-mail, or facsimile transmission​

70.11 does not constitute telemedicine consultations or services. Telemedicine may be provided​

70.12 by means of real-time two-way, interactive audio and visual communications, including the​

70.13 application of secure video conferencing or store-and-forward technology to provide or​

70.14 support health care delivery, which facilitate the assessment, diagnosis, consultation,​

70.15 treatment, education, and care management of a patient's health care.​

70.16 (e) For purposes of this section, "licensed health care provider" means a licensed health​

70.17 care provider under section 62A.671, subdivision 6, a community paramedic as defined​

70.18 under section 144E.001, subdivision 5f, and a mental health practitioner defined under​

70.19 section 245.462, subdivision 17, or 245.4871, subdivision 26, working under the general​

70.20 supervision of a mental health professional; "health care provider" is defined under section​

70.21 62A.671, subdivision 3; and "originating site" is defined under section 62A.671, subdivision​

70.22 7.​

70.23 (f) The limit on coverage of three telemedicine services per enrollee per calendar week​

70.24 does not apply if:​

70.25 (1) the telemedicine services provided by the licensed health care provider are for the​

70.26 treatment and control of tuberculosis; and​

70.27 (2) the services are provided in a manner consistent with the recommendations and best​

70.28 practices specified by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and the commissioner​

70.29 of health.​

70.30 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0625, subdivision 30, is amended to read:​

70.31 Subd. 30. Other clinic services. (a) Medical assistance covers rural health clinic services,​

70.32 federally qualified health center services, nonprofit community health clinic services, and​

70.33 public health clinic services. Rural health clinic services and federally qualified health center​
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71.1 services mean services defined in United States Code, title 42, section 1396d(a)(2)(B) and​

71.2 (C). Payment for rural health clinic and federally qualified health center services shall be​

71.3 made according to applicable federal law and regulation.​

71.4 (b) A federally qualified health center that is beginning initial operation shall submit an​

71.5 estimate of budgeted costs and visits for the initial reporting period in the form and detail​

71.6 required by the commissioner. A federally qualified health center that is already in operation​

71.7 shall submit an initial report using actual costs and visits for the initial reporting period.​

71.8 Within 90 days of the end of its reporting period, a federally qualified health center shall​

71.9 submit, in the form and detail required by the commissioner, a report of its operations,​

71.10 including allowable costs actually incurred for the period and the actual number of visits​

71.11 for services furnished during the period, and other information required by the commissioner.​

71.12 Federally qualified health centers that file Medicare cost reports shall provide the​

71.13 commissioner with a copy of the most recent Medicare cost report filed with the Medicare​

71.14 program intermediary for the reporting year which support the costs claimed on their cost​

71.15 report to the state.​

71.16 (c) In order to continue cost-based payment under the medical assistance program​

71.17 according to paragraphs (a) and (b), a federally qualified health center or rural health clinic​

71.18 must apply for designation as an essential community provider within six months of final​

71.19 adoption of rules by the Department of Health according to section 62Q.19, subdivision 7.​

71.20 For those federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics that have applied for​

71.21 essential community provider status within the six-month time prescribed, medical assistance​

71.22 payments will continue to be made according to paragraphs (a) and (b) for the first three​

71.23 years after application. For federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics that​

71.24 either do not apply within the time specified above or who have had essential community​

71.25 provider status for three years, medical assistance payments for health services provided​

71.26 by these entities shall be according to the same rates and conditions applicable to the same​

71.27 service provided by health care providers that are not federally qualified health centers or​

71.28 rural health clinics.​

71.29 (d) Effective July 1, 1999, the provisions of paragraph (c) requiring a federally qualified​

71.30 health center or a rural health clinic to make application for an essential community provider​

71.31 designation in order to have cost-based payments made according to paragraphs (a) and (b)​

71.32 no longer apply.​

71.33 (e) Effective January 1, 2000, payments made according to paragraphs (a) and (b) shall​

71.34 be limited to the cost phase-out schedule of the Balanced Budget Act of 1997.​
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72.1 (f) Effective January 1, 2001, each federally qualified health center and rural health​

72.2 clinic may elect to be paid either under the prospective payment system established in United​

72.3 States Code, title 42, section 1396a(aa), or under an alternative payment methodology​

72.4 consistent with the requirements of United States Code, title 42, section 1396a(aa), and​

72.5 approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. The alternative payment​

72.6 methodology shall be 100 percent of cost as determined according to Medicare cost​

72.7 principles.​

72.8 (g) For purposes of this section, "nonprofit community clinic" is a clinic that:​

72.9 (1) has nonprofit status as specified in chapter 317A;​

72.10 (2) has tax exempt status as provided in Internal Revenue Code, section 501(c)(3);​

72.11 (3) is established to provide health services to low-income population groups, uninsured,​

72.12 high-risk and special needs populations, underserved and other special needs populations;​

72.13 (4) employs professional staff at least one-half of which are familiar with the cultural​

72.14 background of their clients;​

72.15 (5) charges for services on a sliding fee scale designed to provide assistance to​

72.16 low-income clients based on current poverty income guidelines and family size; and​

72.17 (6) does not restrict access or services because of a client's financial limitations or public​

72.18 assistance status and provides no-cost care as needed.​

72.19 (h) Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2015, all claims for payment​

72.20 of clinic services provided by federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics shall​

72.21 be paid by the commissioner. the commissioner shall determine the most feasible method​

72.22 for paying claims from the following options:​

72.23 (1) federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics submit claims directly to​

72.24 the commissioner for payment, and the commissioner provides claims information for​

72.25 recipients enrolled in a managed care or county-based purchasing plan to the plan, on a​

72.26 regular basis; or​

72.27 (2) federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics submit claims for recipients​

72.28 enrolled in a managed care or county-based purchasing plan to the plan, and those claims​

72.29 are submitted by the plan to the commissioner for payment to the clinic.​

72.30 (h) Federally qualified health centers and rural health clinics shall submit claims directly​

72.31 to the commissioner for payment, and the commissioner shall provide claims information​
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73.1 for recipients enrolled in a managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan to the plan​

73.2 on a regular basis as determined by the commissioner.​

73.3 (i) For clinic services provided prior to January 1, 2015, the commissioner shall calculate​

73.4 and pay monthly the proposed managed care supplemental payments to clinics, and clinics​

73.5 shall conduct a timely review of the payment calculation data in order to finalize all​

73.6 supplemental payments in accordance with federal law. Any issues arising from a clinic's​

73.7 review must be reported to the commissioner by January 1, 2017. Upon final agreement​

73.8 between the commissioner and a clinic on issues identified under this subdivision, and in​

73.9 accordance with United States Code, title 42, section 1396a(bb), no supplemental payments​

73.10 for managed care plan or county-based purchasing plan claims for services provided prior​

73.11 to January 1, 2015, shall be made after June 30, 2017. If the commissioner and clinics are​

73.12 unable to resolve issues under this subdivision, the parties shall submit the dispute to the​

73.13 arbitration process under section 14.57.​

73.14 (j) The commissioner shall seek a federal waiver, authorized under section 1115 of the​

73.15 Social Security Act, to obtain federal financial participation at the 100 percent federal​

73.16 matching percentage available to facilities of the Indian Health Service or tribal organization​

73.17 in accordance with section 1905(b) of the Social Security Act for expenditures made to​

73.18 organizations dually certified under Title V of the Indian Health Care Improvement Act,​

73.19 Public Law 94-437, and as a federally qualified health center under paragraph (a) that​

73.20 provides services to American Indian and Alaskan Native individuals eligible for services​

73.21 under this subdivision.​

73.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019, and applies to services​

73.23 provided on or after that date.​

73.24 Sec. 5. ENCOUNTER REPORTING OF 340B ELIGIBLE DRUGS.​

73.25 (a) The commissioner of human services, in consultation with federally qualified health​

73.26 centers, managed care organizations, and contract pharmacies, shall develop​

73.27 recommendations for a process to identify and report at point of sale the 340B drugs that​

73.28 are dispensed to enrollees of managed care organizations who are patients of a federally​

73.29 qualified health center, and to exclude these claims from the Medicaid Drug Rebate Program​

73.30 and ensure that duplicate discounts for drugs do not occur. In developing this process, the​

73.31 commissioner shall assess the impact of allowing federally qualified health centers to utilize​

73.32 the 340B Drug Pricing Program drug discounts if a federally qualified health center utilizes​

73.33 a contract pharmacy for a patient enrolled in the prepaid medical assistance program.​
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74.1 (b) By March 1, 2019, the commissioner shall report the recommendations to the chairs​

74.2 and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees with​

74.3 jurisdiction over medical assistance.​

74.4 Sec. 6. RECONCILIATION OF MINNESOTACARE PREMIUMS.​

74.5 Subdivision 1. Reconciliation required. (a) The commissioner of human services shall​

74.6 reconcile all MinnesotaCare premiums paid or due for health coverage provided during the​

74.7 period January 1, 2014, through December 31, 2017, by July 1, 2018. Based on this​

74.8 reconciliation, the commissioner shall notify each MinnesotaCare enrollee or former enrollee​

74.9 of any amount owed as premiums, refund to the enrollee or former enrollee any premium​

74.10 overpayment, and enter into a payment arrangement with the enrollee or former enrollee as​

74.11 necessary.​

74.12 (b) The commissioner of human services is prohibited from using agency staff and​

74.13 resources to plan, develop, or promote any proposal that would offer a health insurance​

74.14 product on the individual market that would offer consumers similar benefits and networks​

74.15 as the standard MinnesotaCare program, until the commissioner of management and budget​

74.16 has determined under subdivision 2 that the commissioner is in compliance with the​

74.17 requirements of this section.​

74.18 Subd. 2. Determination of compliance; contingent transfer. The commissioner of​

74.19 management and budget shall determine whether the commissioner of human services has​

74.20 complied with the requirements of subdivision 1. If the commissioner of management and​

74.21 budget determines that the commissioner of human services is not in compliance with​

74.22 subdivision 1, the commissioner of management and budget shall transfer $10,000 from​

74.23 the central office operations account of the Department of Human Services to the premium​

74.24 security plan account established under Minnesota Statutes, section 62E.25, for each business​

74.25 day of noncompliance.​

74.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

74.27 Sec. 7. CONTRACT TO RECOVER THIRD-PARTY LIABILITY.​

74.28 The commissioner shall contract with a vendor to implement a third-party liability​

74.29 recovery program for medical assistance and MinnesotaCare. Under the terms of the contract,​

74.30 the vendor shall be reimbursed using a percentage of the money recovered through the​

74.31 third-party liability recovery program. All money recovered that remains after reimbursement​

74.32 of the vendor is available for operation of the medical assistance and MinnesotaCare​

74.33 programs. The use of this money must be authorized in law by the legislature.​
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75.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2018.​

75.2 Sec. 8. STUDY AND REPORT ON DISPARITIES BETWEEN GEOGRAPHIC​

75.3 RATING AREAS IN INDIVIDUAL AND SMALL GROUP MARKET HEALTH​

75.4 INSURANCE RATES.​

75.5 Subdivision 1. Study and recommendations. (a) As permitted by the availability of​

75.6 resources, the legislative auditor is requested to study disparities between Minnesota's nine​

75.7 geographic rating areas in individual and small group market health insurance rates and​

75.8 recommend ways to reduce or eliminate rate disparities between the geographic rating areas​

75.9 and provide for stability of the individual and small group health insurance markets in the​

75.10 state. In the study, if conducted, the legislative auditor shall:​

75.11 (1) identify the factors that cause higher individual and small group market health​

75.12 insurance rates in certain geographic rating areas, and determine the extent to which each​

75.13 identified factor contributes to the higher rates;​

75.14 (2) identify the impact of referral centers on individual and small group market health​

75.15 insurance rates in southeastern Minnesota, and identify ways to reduce the rate disparity​

75.16 between southeastern Minnesota and the metropolitan area, taking into consideration the​

75.17 patterns of referral center usage by patients in those regions;​

75.18 (3) determine the extent to which individuals and small employers located in a geographic​

75.19 rating area with higher health insurance rates than surrounding geographic rating areas have​

75.20 obtained health insurance in a lower-cost geographic rating area, identify the strategies that​

75.21 individuals and small employers use to obtain health insurance in a lower-cost geographic​

75.22 rating area, and measure the effects of this practice on the rates of the individuals and small​

75.23 employers remaining in the geographic rating area with higher health insurance rates; and​

75.24 (4) develop proposals to redraw the boundaries of Minnesota's geographic rating areas,​

75.25 and calculate the effect each proposal would have on rates in each of the proposed rating​

75.26 areas. The legislative auditor shall examine at least three options for redrawing the boundaries​

75.27 of Minnesota's geographic rating areas, at least one of which must reduce the number of​

75.28 geographic rating areas. All options for redrawing Minnesota's geographic rating areas​

75.29 considered by the legislative auditor must be designed:​

75.30 (i) with the purposes of reducing or eliminating rate disparities between geographic​

75.31 rating areas and providing for stability of the individual and small group health insurance​

75.32 markets in the state;​
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76.1 (ii) with consideration of the composition of existing provider networks and referral​

76.2 patterns in regions of the state; and​

76.3 (iii) in compliance with the requirements for geographic rating areas in Code of Federal​

76.4 Regulations, title 45, section 147.102(b), and other applicable federal law and guidance.​

76.5 (b) Health carriers that cover Minnesota residents, health systems that provide care to​

76.6 Minnesota residents, and the commissioner of health shall cooperate with any requests for​

76.7 information from the legislative auditor that the legislative auditor determines is necessary​

76.8 to conduct the study.​

76.9 (c) The legislative auditor may recommend one or more proposals for redrawing​

76.10 Minnesota's geographic rating areas if the legislative auditor determines that the proposal​

76.11 would reduce or eliminate individual and small group market health insurance rate disparities​

76.12 between the geographic rating areas and provide for stability of the individual and small​

76.13 group health insurance markets in the state.​

76.14 Subd. 2. Contract. The legislative auditor may contract with another entity for technical​

76.15 assistance in conducting the study and developing recommendations according to subdivision​

76.16 1.​

76.17 Subd. 3. Report. The legislative auditor is requested to complete the study and​

76.18 recommendations by January 1, 2019, and to submit a report on the study and​

76.19 recommendations by that date to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative​

76.20 committees with jurisdiction over health care and health insurance.​

76.21 ARTICLE 3​

76.22 CHEMICAL AND MENTAL HEALTH​

76.23 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 13.851, is amended by adding a subdivision​

76.24 to read:​

76.25 Subd. 11. Mental health screening. The treatment of data collected by a sheriff or local​

76.26 corrections agency related to individuals who may have a mental illness is governed by​

76.27 section 641.15, subdivision 3a.​

76.28 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 245A.04, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

76.29 Subd. 7. Grant of license; license extension. (a) If the commissioner determines that​

76.30 the program complies with all applicable rules and laws, the commissioner shall issue a​

76.31 license consistent with this section or, if applicable, a temporary change of ownership license​

76.32 under section 245A.043. At minimum, the license shall state:​
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77.1 (1) the name of the license holder;​

77.2 (2) the address of the program;​

77.3 (3) the effective date and expiration date of the license;​

77.4 (4) the type of license;​

77.5 (5) the maximum number and ages of persons that may receive services from the program;​

77.6 and​

77.7 (6) any special conditions of licensure.​

77.8 (b) The commissioner may issue an initial a license for a period not to exceed two years​

77.9 if:​

77.10 (1) the commissioner is unable to conduct the evaluation or observation required by​

77.11 subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clauses (3) and (4), because the program is not yet operational;​

77.12 (2) certain records and documents are not available because persons are not yet receiving​

77.13 services from the program; and​

77.14 (3) the applicant complies with applicable laws and rules in all other respects.​

77.15 (c) A decision by the commissioner to issue a license does not guarantee that any person​

77.16 or persons will be placed or cared for in the licensed program. A license shall not be​

77.17 transferable to another individual, corporation, partnership, voluntary association, other​

77.18 organization, or controlling individual or to another location.​

77.19 (d) A license holder must notify the commissioner and obtain the commissioner's approval​

77.20 before making any changes that would alter the license information listed under paragraph​

77.21 (a).​

77.22 (e) (d) Except as provided in paragraphs (g) (f) and (h) (g), the commissioner shall not​

77.23 issue or reissue a license if the applicant, license holder, or controlling individual has:​

77.24 (1) been disqualified and the disqualification was not set aside and no variance has been​

77.25 granted;​

77.26 (2) been denied a license within the past two years;​

77.27 (3) had a license issued under this chapter revoked within the past five years;​

77.28 (4) an outstanding debt related to a license fee, licensing fine, or settlement agreement​

77.29 for which payment is delinquent; or​
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78.1 (5) failed to submit the information required of an applicant under subdivision 1,​

78.2 paragraph (f) or (g), after being requested by the commissioner.​

78.3 When a license issued under this chapter is revoked under clause (1) or (3), the license​

78.4 holder and controlling individual may not hold any license under chapter 245A or 245D for​

78.5 five years following the revocation, and other licenses held by the applicant, license holder,​

78.6 or controlling individual shall also be revoked.​

78.7 (f) (e) The commissioner shall not issue or reissue a license under this chapter if an​

78.8 individual living in the household where the licensed services will be provided as specified​

78.9 under section 245C.03, subdivision 1, has been disqualified and the disqualification has not​

78.10 been set aside and no variance has been granted.​

78.11 (g) (f) Pursuant to section 245A.07, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), when a license issued​

78.12 under this chapter has been suspended or revoked and the suspension or revocation is under​

78.13 appeal, the program may continue to operate pending a final order from the commissioner.​

78.14 If the license under suspension or revocation will expire before a final order is issued, a​

78.15 temporary provisional license may be issued provided any applicable license fee is paid​

78.16 before the temporary provisional license is issued.​

78.17 (h) (g) Notwithstanding paragraph (g) (f), when a revocation is based on the​

78.18 disqualification of a controlling individual or license holder, and the controlling individual​

78.19 or license holder is ordered under section 245C.17 to be immediately removed from direct​

78.20 contact with persons receiving services or is ordered to be under continuous, direct​

78.21 supervision when providing direct contact services, the program may continue to operate​

78.22 only if the program complies with the order and submits documentation demonstrating​

78.23 compliance with the order. If the disqualified individual fails to submit a timely request for​

78.24 reconsideration, or if the disqualification is not set aside and no variance is granted, the​

78.25 order to immediately remove the individual from direct contact or to be under continuous,​

78.26 direct supervision remains in effect pending the outcome of a hearing and final order from​

78.27 the commissioner.​

78.28 (i) (h) For purposes of reimbursement for meals only, under the Child and Adult Care​

78.29 Food Program, Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, subtitle B, chapter II, subchapter A,​

78.30 part 226, relocation within the same county by a licensed family day care provider, shall​

78.31 be considered an extension of the license for a period of no more than 30 calendar days or​

78.32 until the new license is issued, whichever occurs first, provided the county agency has​

78.33 determined the family day care provider meets licensure requirements at the new location.​
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79.1 (j) (i) Unless otherwise specified by statute, all licenses issued under this chapter expire​

79.2 at 12:01 a.m. on the day after the expiration date stated on the license. A license holder must​

79.3 apply for and be granted a new license to operate the program or the program must not be​

79.4 operated after the expiration date.​

79.5 (k) (j) The commissioner shall not issue or reissue a license under this chapter if it has​

79.6 been determined that a tribal licensing authority has established jurisdiction to license the​

79.7 program or service.​

79.8 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 245A.04, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

79.9 read:​

79.10 Subd. 7a. Notification required. (a) A license holder must notify the commissioner and​

79.11 obtain the commissioner's approval before making any change that would alter the license​

79.12 information listed under subdivision 7, paragraph (a).​

79.13 (b) At least 30 days before the effective date of a change, the license holder must notify​

79.14 the commissioner in writing of any change:​

79.15 (1) to the license holder's controlling individual as defined in section 245A.02, subdivision​

79.16 5a;​

79.17 (2) to license holder information on file with the secretary of state;​

79.18 (3) in the location of the program or service licensed under this chapter; and​

79.19 (4) in the federal or state tax identification number associated with the license holder.​

79.20 (c) When a license holder notifies the commissioner of a change to the business structure​

79.21 governing the licensed program or services but is not selling the business, the license holder​

79.22 must provide amended articles of incorporation and other documentation of the change and​

79.23 any other information requested by the commissioner.​

79.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2018.​

79.25 Sec. 4. [245A.043] LICENSE APPLICATION AFTER CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP.​

79.26 Subdivision 1. Transfer prohibited. A license issued under this chapter is only valid​

79.27 for a premises and individual, organization, or government entity identified by the​

79.28 commissioner on the license. A license is not transferable or assignable.​

79.29 Subd. 2. Change of ownership. If the commissioner determines that there will be a​

79.30 change of ownership, the commissioner shall require submission of a new license application.​

79.31 A change of ownership occurs when:​
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80.1 (1) the license holder sells or transfers 100 percent of the property, stock, or assets;​

80.2 (2) the license holder merges with another organization;​

80.3 (3) the license holder consolidates with two or more organizations, resulting in the​

80.4 creation of a new organization;​

80.5 (4) there is a change in the federal tax identification number associated with the license​

80.6 holder; or​

80.7 (5) there is a turnover of each controlling individual associated with the license within​

80.8 a 12-month period. A change to the license holder's controlling individuals, including a​

80.9 change due to a transfer of stock, is not a change of ownership if at least one controlling​

80.10 individual who was listed on the license for at least 12 consecutive months continues to be​

80.11 a controlling individual after the reported change.​

80.12 Subd. 3. Change of ownership requirements. (a) A license holder who intends to​

80.13 change the ownership of the program or service under subdivision 2 to a party that intends​

80.14 to assume operation without an interruption in service longer than 60 days after acquiring​

80.15 the program or service must provide the commissioner with written notice of the proposed​

80.16 sale or change, on a form provided by the commissioner, at least 60 days before the​

80.17 anticipated date of the change in ownership. For purposes of this subdivision and subdivision​

80.18 4, "party" means the party that intends to operate the service or program.​

80.19 (b) The party must submit a license application under this chapter on a form and in the​

80.20 manner prescribed by the commissioner at least 30 days before the change of ownership is​

80.21 complete and must include documentation to support the upcoming change. The form and​

80.22 manner of the application prescribed by the commissioner shall require only information​

80.23 which is specifically required by statute or rule. The party must comply with background​

80.24 study requirements under chapter 245C and shall pay the application fee required in section​

80.25 245A.10. A party that intends to assume operation without an interruption in service longer​

80.26 than 60 days after acquiring the program or service is exempt from the requirements of​

80.27 Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6800.​

80.28 (c) The commissioner may develop streamlined application procedures when the party​

80.29 is an existing license holder under this chapter and is acquiring a program licensed under​

80.30 this chapter or service in the same service class as one or more licensed programs or services​

80.31 the party operates and those licenses are in substantial compliance according to the licensing​

80.32 standards in this chapter and applicable rules. For purposes of this subdivision, "substantial​

80.33 compliance" means within the past 12 months the commissioner did not: (i) issue a sanction​
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81.1 under section 245A.07 against a license held by the party or (ii) make a license held by the​

81.2 party conditional according to section 245A.06.​

81.3 (d) Except when a temporary change of ownership license is issued pursuant to​

81.4 subdivision 4, the existing license holder is solely responsible for operating the program​

81.5 according to applicable rules and statutes until a license under this chapter is issued to the​

81.6 party.​

81.7 (e) If a licensing inspection of the program or service was conducted within the previous​

81.8 12 months and the existing license holder's license record demonstrates substantial​

81.9 compliance with the applicable licensing requirements, the commissioner may waive the​

81.10 party's inspection required by section 245A.04, subdivision 4. The party must submit to the​

81.11 commissioner proof that the premises was inspected by a fire marshal or that the fire marshal​

81.12 deemed that an inspection was not warranted and proof that the premises was inspected for​

81.13 compliance with the building code or that no inspection was deemed warranted.​

81.14 (f) If the party is seeking a license for a program or service that has an outstanding​

81.15 correction order, the party must submit a letter with the license application identifying how​

81.16 and within what length of time the party shall resolve the outstanding correction order and​

81.17 come into full compliance with the licensing requirements.​

81.18 (g) Any action taken under section 245A.06 or 245A.07 against the existing license​

81.19 holder's license at the time the party is applying for a license, including when the existing​

81.20 license holder is operating under a conditional license or is subject to a revocation, shall​

81.21 remain in effect until the commissioner determines that the grounds for the action are​

81.22 corrected or no longer exist.​

81.23 (h) The commissioner shall evaluate the application of the party according to section​

81.24 245A.04, subdivision 6. Pursuant to section 245A.04, subdivision 7, if the commissioner​

81.25 determines that the party complies with applicable laws and rules, the commissioner may​

81.26 issue a license or a temporary change of ownership license.​

81.27 (i) The commissioner may deny an application as provided in section 245A.05. An​

81.28 applicant whose application was denied by the commissioner may appeal the denial according​

81.29 to section 245A.05.​

81.30 (j) This subdivision does not apply to a licensed program or service located in a home​

81.31 where the license holder resides.​

81.32 Subd. 4. Temporary change of ownership license. (a) After receiving the party's​

81.33 application and upon the written request of the existing license holder and the party, the​
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82.1 commissioner may issue a temporary change of ownership license to the party while the​

82.2 commissioner evaluates the party's application. Until a decision is made to grant or deny a​

82.3 license under this chapter, the existing license holder and the party shall both be responsible​

82.4 for operating the program or service according to applicable laws and rules, and the sale or​

82.5 transfer of the license holder's ownership interest in the licensed program or service does​

82.6 not terminate the existing license.​

82.7 (b) The commissioner may establish criteria to issue a temporary change of ownership​

82.8 license, if a license holder's death, divorce, or other event affects the ownership of the​

82.9 program, when an applicant seeks to assume operation of the program or service to ensure​

82.10 continuity of the program or service while a license application is evaluated. This subdivision​

82.11 applies to any program or service licensed under this chapter.​

82.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2018.​

82.13 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 245C.22, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

82.14 Subd. 4. Risk of harm; set aside. (a) The commissioner may set aside the disqualification​

82.15 if the commissioner finds that the individual has submitted sufficient information to​

82.16 demonstrate that the individual does not pose a risk of harm to any person served by the​

82.17 applicant, license holder, or other entities as provided in this chapter.​

82.18 (b) In determining whether the individual has met the burden of proof by demonstrating​

82.19 the individual does not pose a risk of harm, the commissioner shall consider:​

82.20 (1) the nature, severity, and consequences of the event or events that led to the​

82.21 disqualification;​

82.22 (2) whether there is more than one disqualifying event;​

82.23 (3) the age and vulnerability of the victim at the time of the event;​

82.24 (4) the harm suffered by the victim;​

82.25 (5) vulnerability of persons served by the program;​

82.26 (6) the similarity between the victim and persons served by the program;​

82.27 (7) the time elapsed without a repeat of the same or similar event;​

82.28 (8) documentation of successful completion by the individual studied of training or​

82.29 rehabilitation pertinent to the event; and​

82.30 (9) any other information relevant to reconsideration.​
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83.1 (c) If the individual requested reconsideration on the basis that the information relied​

83.2 upon to disqualify the individual was incorrect or inaccurate and the commissioner determines​

83.3 that the information relied upon to disqualify the individual is correct, the commissioner​

83.4 must also determine if the individual poses a risk of harm to persons receiving services in​

83.5 accordance with paragraph (b).​

83.6 (d) For an individual in the chemical dependency field, the commissioner must set aside​

83.7 the disqualification if the following criteria are met:​

83.8 (1) the individual submits sufficient documentation to demonstrate that the individual​

83.9 is a nonviolent controlled substance offender under section 244.0513, subdivision 2, clauses​

83.10 (1), (2), and (6);​

83.11 (2) the individual is disqualified exclusively for one or more offenses listed under section​

83.12 152.021, subdivision 2 or 2a; 152.022, subdivision 2; 152.023, subdivision 2; 152.024; or​

83.13 152.025;​

83.14 (3) the individual provided documentation of successful completion of treatment, at least​

83.15 one year prior to the date of the request for reconsideration, at a program licensed under​

83.16 chapter 245G;​

83.17 (4) the individual provided documentation demonstrating abstinence from controlled​

83.18 substances, as defined in section 152.01, subdivision 4, for the period one year prior to the​

83.19 date of the request for reconsideration; and​

83.20 (5) the individual is seeking employment in the chemical dependency field.​

83.21 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 245C.22, subdivision 5, is amended​

83.22 to read:​

83.23 Subd. 5. Scope of set-aside. (a) If the commissioner sets aside a disqualification under​

83.24 this section, the disqualified individual remains disqualified, but may hold a license and​

83.25 have direct contact with or access to persons receiving services. Except as provided in​

83.26 paragraph (b), the commissioner's set-aside of a disqualification is limited solely to the​

83.27 licensed program, applicant, or agency specified in the set aside notice under section 245C.23.​

83.28 For personal care provider organizations, the commissioner's set-aside may further be limited​

83.29 to a specific individual who is receiving services. For new background studies required​

83.30 under section 245C.04, subdivision 1, paragraph (h), if an individual's disqualification was​

83.31 previously set aside for the license holder's program and the new background study results​

83.32 in no new information that indicates the individual may pose a risk of harm to persons​

83.33 receiving services from the license holder, the previous set-aside shall remain in effect.​
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84.1 (b) If the commissioner has previously set aside an individual's disqualification for one​

84.2 or more programs or agencies, and the individual is the subject of a subsequent background​

84.3 study for a different program or agency, the commissioner shall determine whether the​

84.4 disqualification is set aside for the program or agency that initiated the subsequent​

84.5 background study. A notice of a set-aside under paragraph (c) shall be issued within 15​

84.6 working days if all of the following criteria are met:​

84.7 (1) the subsequent background study was initiated in connection with a program licensed​

84.8 or regulated under the same provisions of law and rule for at least one program for which​

84.9 the individual's disqualification was previously set aside by the commissioner;​

84.10 (2) the individual is not disqualified for an offense specified in section 245C.15,​

84.11 subdivision 1 or 2;​

84.12 (3) the individual is not disqualified for an offense specified in section 245C.15,​

84.13 subdivision 2, unless the individual is employed in the chemical dependency field;​

84.14 (4) the commissioner has received no new information to indicate that the individual​

84.15 may pose a risk of harm to any person served by the program; and​

84.16 (4) (5) the previous set-aside was not limited to a specific person receiving services.​

84.17 (c) When a disqualification is set aside under paragraph (b), the notice of background​

84.18 study results issued under section 245C.17, in addition to the requirements under section​

84.19 245C.17, shall state that the disqualification is set aside for the program or agency that​

84.20 initiated the subsequent background study. The notice must inform the individual that the​

84.21 individual may request reconsideration of the disqualification under section 245C.21 on the​

84.22 basis that the information used to disqualify the individual is incorrect.​

84.23 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 245G.03, subdivision 1, is amended​

84.24 to read:​

84.25 Subdivision 1. License requirements. (a) An applicant for a license to provide substance​

84.26 use disorder treatment must comply with the general requirements in chapters 245A and​

84.27 245C, sections 626.556 and 626.557, and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9544.​

84.28 (b) The assessment of need process under Minnesota Rules, parts 9530.6800 and​

84.29 9530.6810, is not applicable to programs licensed under this chapter. However, the​

84.30 commissioner may deny issuance of a license to an applicant if the commissioner determines​

84.31 that the services currently available in the local area are sufficient to meet local need and​

84.32 the addition of new services would be detrimental to individuals seeking these services.​
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85.1 (c) The commissioner may grant variances to the requirements in this chapter that do​

85.2 not affect the client's health or safety if the conditions in section 245A.04, subdivision 9,​

85.3 are met.​

85.4 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 254B.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

85.5 Subdivision 1. Chemical dependency treatment allocation. The chemical dependency​

85.6 treatment appropriation shall be placed in a special revenue account. The commissioner​

85.7 shall annually transfer funds from the chemical dependency fund to pay for operation of​

85.8 the drug and alcohol abuse normative evaluation system and to pay for all costs incurred​

85.9 by adding two positions for licensing of chemical dependency treatment and rehabilitation​

85.10 programs located in hospitals for which funds are not otherwise appropriated. The remainder​

85.11 of the money in the special revenue account must be used according to the requirements in​

85.12 this chapter.​

85.13 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 254B.03, subdivision 2, is amended​

85.14 to read:​

85.15 Subd. 2. Chemical dependency fund payment. (a) Payment from the chemical​

85.16 dependency fund is limited to payments for services other than detoxification licensed under​

85.17 Minnesota Rules, parts 9530.6510 to 9530.6590, that, if located outside of federally​

85.18 recognized tribal lands, would be required to be licensed by the commissioner as a chemical​

85.19 dependency treatment or rehabilitation program under sections 245A.01 to 245A.16, and​

85.20 services other than detoxification provided in another state that would be required to be​

85.21 licensed as a chemical dependency program if the program were in the state. Out of state​

85.22 vendors must also provide the commissioner with assurances that the program complies​

85.23 substantially with state licensing requirements and possesses all licenses and certifications​

85.24 required by the host state to provide chemical dependency treatment. Vendors receiving​

85.25 payments from the chemical dependency fund must not require co-payment from a recipient​

85.26 of benefits for services provided under this subdivision. The vendor is prohibited from using​

85.27 the client's public benefits to offset the cost of services paid under this section. The vendor​

85.28 shall not require the client to use public benefits for room or board costs. This includes but​

85.29 is not limited to cash assistance benefits under chapters 119B, 256D, and 256J, or SNAP​

85.30 benefits. Retention of SNAP benefits is a right of a client receiving services through the​

85.31 consolidated chemical dependency treatment fund or through state contracted managed care​

85.32 entities. Payment from the chemical dependency fund shall be made for necessary room​

85.33 and board costs provided by vendors certified according to section 254B.05, or in a​
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86.1 community hospital licensed by the commissioner of health according to sections 144.50​

86.2 to 144.56 to a client who is:​

86.3 (1) determined to meet the criteria for placement in a residential chemical dependency​

86.4 treatment program according to rules adopted under section 254A.03, subdivision 3; and​

86.5 (2) concurrently receiving a chemical dependency treatment service in a program licensed​

86.6 by the commissioner and reimbursed by the chemical dependency fund.​

86.7 (b) A county may, from its own resources, provide chemical dependency services for​

86.8 which state payments are not made. A county may elect to use the same invoice procedures​

86.9 and obtain the same state payment services as are used for chemical dependency services​

86.10 for which state payments are made under this section if county payments are made to the​

86.11 state in advance of state payments to vendors. When a county uses the state system for​

86.12 payment, the commissioner shall make monthly billings to the county using the most recent​

86.13 available information to determine the anticipated services for which payments will be made​

86.14 in the coming month. Adjustment of any overestimate or underestimate based on actual​

86.15 expenditures shall be made by the state agency by adjusting the estimate for any succeeding​

86.16 month.​

86.17 (c) The commissioner shall coordinate chemical dependency services and determine​

86.18 whether there is a need for any proposed expansion of chemical dependency treatment​

86.19 services. The commissioner shall deny vendor certification to any provider that has not​

86.20 received prior approval from the commissioner for the creation of new programs or the​

86.21 expansion of existing program capacity. The commissioner shall consider the provider's​

86.22 capacity to obtain clients from outside the state based on plans, agreements, and previous​

86.23 utilization history, when determining the need for new treatment services The commissioner​

86.24 may deny vendor certification to a provider if the commissioner determines that the services​

86.25 currently available in the local area are sufficient to meet local need and that the addition​

86.26 of new services would be detrimental to individuals seeking these services.​

86.27 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.0625, subdivision 56a, is​

86.28 amended to read:​

86.29 Subd. 56a. Post-arrest Officer-involved community-based service care coordination.​

86.30 (a) Medical assistance covers post-arrest officer-involved community-based service care​

86.31 coordination for an individual who:​

86.32 (1) has been identified as having screened positive for benefiting from treatment for a​

86.33 mental illness or substance use disorder using a screening tool approved by the commissioner;​
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87.1 (2) does not require the security of a public detention facility and is not considered an​

87.2 inmate of a public institution as defined in Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section​

87.3 435.1010;​

87.4 (3) meets the eligibility requirements in section 256B.056; and​

87.5 (4) has agreed to participate in post-arrest officer-involved community-based service​

87.6 care coordination through a diversion contract in lieu of incarceration.​

87.7 (b) Post-arrest Officer-involved community-based service care coordination means​

87.8 navigating services to address a client's mental health, chemical health, social, economic,​

87.9 and housing needs, or any other activity targeted at reducing the incidence of jail utilization​

87.10 and connecting individuals with existing covered services available to them, including, but​

87.11 not limited to, targeted case management, waiver case management, or care coordination.​

87.12 (c) Post-arrest Officer-involved community-based service care coordination must be​

87.13 provided by an individual who is an employee of a county or is under contract with a county,​

87.14 or is an employee of or under contract with an Indian health service facility or facility owned​

87.15 and operated by a tribe or a tribal organization operating under Public Law 93-638 as a 638​

87.16 facility to provide post-arrest officer-involved community-based care coordination and is​

87.17 qualified under one of the following criteria:​

87.18 (1) a licensed mental health professional as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 18,​

87.19 clauses (1) to (6);​

87.20 (2) a mental health practitioner as defined in section 245.462, subdivision 17, working​

87.21 under the clinical supervision of a mental health professional; or​

87.22 (3) a certified peer specialist under section 256B.0615, working under the clinical​

87.23 supervision of a mental health professional;​

87.24 (4) an individual qualified as an alcohol and drug counselor under section 254G.11,​

87.25 subdivision 5; or​

87.26 (5) a recovery peer qualified under section 245G.11, subdivision 8, working under the​

87.27 supervision of an individual qualified as an alcohol and drug counselor under section​

87.28 245G.11, subdivision 5.​

87.29 (d) Reimbursement is allowed for up to 60 days following the initial determination of​

87.30 eligibility.​

87.31 (e) Providers of post-arrest officer-involved community-based service care coordination​

87.32 shall annually report to the commissioner on the number of individuals served, and number​
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88.1 of the community-based services that were accessed by recipients. The commissioner shall​

88.2 ensure that services and payments provided under post-arrest officer-involved​

88.3 community-based service care coordination do not duplicate services or payments provided​

88.4 under section 256B.0625, subdivision 20, 256B.0753, 256B.0755, or 256B.0757.​

88.5 (f) Notwithstanding section 256B.19, subdivision 1, the nonfederal share of cost for​

88.6 post-arrest community-based service coordination services shall be provided by the county​

88.7 providing the services, from sources other than federal funds or funds used to match other​

88.8 federal funds.​

88.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraphs (a) to (e) are effective retroactively from March 1,​

88.10 2018.​

88.11 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 641.15, subdivision 3a, is amended to read:​

88.12 Subd. 3a. Intake procedure; approved mental health screening. As part of its intake​

88.13 procedure for new prisoners inmates, the sheriff or local corrections shall use a mental health​

88.14 screening tool approved by the commissioner of corrections in consultation with the​

88.15 commissioner of human services and local corrections staff to identify persons who may​

88.16 have mental illness. Names of persons who have screened positive or may have a mental​

88.17 illness may be shared with the local county social services agency. The jail may refer an​

88.18 offender to county personnel of the welfare system, as defined in section 13.46, subdivision​

88.19 1, paragraph (c), in order to arrange for services upon discharge and may share private data​

88.20 as necessary to carry out the following:​

88.21 (1) providing assistance in filling out an application for medical assistance or​

88.22 MinnesotaCare;​

88.23 (2) making a referral for case management as outlined under section 245.467, subdivision​

88.24 4;​

88.25 (3) providing assistance in obtaining a state photo identification;​

88.26 (4) securing a timely appointment with a psychiatrist or other appropriate community​

88.27 mental health provider;​

88.28 (5) providing prescriptions for a 30-day supply of all necessary medications; or​

88.29 (6) behavioral health service coordination.​
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89.1 Sec. 12. Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 6, article 8, section 71, the effective​

89.2 date, is amended to read:​

89.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for services provided on July 1, 2017,​

89.4 through April 30, 2019, and expires May 1, 2019 June 30, 2019, and expires July 1, 2019.​

89.5 Sec. 13. Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 6, article 8, section 72, the effective​

89.6 date, is amended to read:​

89.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for services provided on July 1, 2017,​

89.8 through April 30, 2019, and expires May 1, 2019 June 30, 2019, and expires July 1, 2019.​

89.9 Sec. 14. Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 6, article 8, section 74, is amended to​

89.10 read:​

89.11 Sec. 74. CHILDREN'S MENTAL HEALTH REPORT AND​

89.12 RECOMMENDATIONS.​

89.13 The commissioner of human services shall conduct a comprehensive analysis of​

89.14 Minnesota's continuum of intensive mental health services and shall develop​

89.15 recommendations for a sustainable and community-driven continuum of care for children​

89.16 with serious mental health needs, including children currently being served in residential​

89.17 treatment. The commissioner's analysis shall include, but not be limited to:​

89.18 (1) data related to access, utilization, efficacy, and outcomes for Minnesota's current​

89.19 system of residential mental health treatment for a child with a severe emotional disturbance;​

89.20 (2) potential expansion of the state's psychiatric residential treatment facility (PRTF)​

89.21 capacity, including increasing the number of PRTF beds and conversion of existing children's​

89.22 mental health residential treatment programs into PRTFs;​

89.23 (3) the capacity need for PRTF and other group settings within the state if adequate​

89.24 community-based alternatives are accessible, equitable, and effective statewide;​

89.25 (4) recommendations for expanding alternative community-based service models to​

89.26 meet the needs of a child with a serious mental health disorder who would otherwise require​

89.27 residential treatment and potential service models that could be utilized, including data​

89.28 related to access, utilization, efficacy, and outcomes;​

89.29 (5) models of care used in other states; and​

89.30 (6) analysis and specific recommendations for the design and implementation of new​

89.31 service models, including analysis to inform rate setting as necessary.​

89​Article 3 Sec. 14.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



90.1 The analysis shall be supported and informed by extensive stakeholder engagement.​

90.2 Stakeholders include individuals who receive services, family members of individuals who​

90.3 receive services, providers, counties, health plans, advocates, and others. Stakeholder​

90.4 engagement shall include interviews with key stakeholders, intentional outreach to individuals​

90.5 who receive services and the individual's family members, and regional listening sessions.​

90.6 The commissioner shall provide a report with specific recommendations and timelines​

90.7 for implementation to the legislative committees with jurisdiction over children's mental​

90.8 health policy and finance by November 15, 2018 January 15, 2019.​

90.9 ARTICLE 4​

90.10 OPIOIDS AND PRESCRIPTION DRUGS​

90.11 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.214, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

90.12 Subd. 2. No prohibition on disclosure. No contracting agreement between an​

90.13 employer-sponsored health plan or health plan company, or its contracted pharmacy benefit​

90.14 manager, and a resident or nonresident pharmacy registered licensed under this chapter,​

90.15 may prohibit the:​

90.16 (1) a pharmacy from disclosing to patients information a pharmacy is required or given​

90.17 the option to provide under subdivision 1; or​

90.18 (2) a pharmacist from informing a patient when the amount the patient is required to​

90.19 pay under the patient's health plan for a particular drug is greater than the amount the patient​

90.20 would be required to pay for the same drug if purchased out-of-pocket at the pharmacy's​

90.21 usual and customary price.​

90.22 Sec. 2. [151.555] PRESCRIPTION DRUG REPOSITORY PROGRAM.​

90.23 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms defined in this​

90.24 subdivision have the meanings given.​

90.25 (b) "Central repository" means a wholesale distributor that meets the requirements under​

90.26 subdivision 3 and enters into a contract with the Board of Pharmacy in accordance with this​

90.27 section.​

90.28 (c) "Distribute" means to deliver, other than by administering or dispensing.​

90.29 (d) "Donor" means:​

90.30 (1) a health care facility as defined in this subdivision;​

90.31 (2) a skilled nursing facility licensed under chapter 144A;​
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91.1 (3) an assisted living facility registered under chapter 144D where there is centralized​

91.2 storage of drugs and 24-hour on-site licensed nursing coverage provided seven days a week;​

91.3 (4) a pharmacy licensed under section 151.19, and located either in the state or outside​

91.4 the state;​

91.5 (5) a drug wholesaler licensed under section 151.47; or​

91.6 (6) a drug manufacturer licensed under section 151.252.​

91.7 (e) "Drug" means any prescription drug that has been approved for medical use in the​

91.8 United States, is listed in the United States Pharmacopoeia or National Formulary, and​

91.9 meets the criteria established under this section for donation. This definition includes cancer​

91.10 drugs and antirejection drugs, but does not include controlled substances, as defined in​

91.11 section 152.01, subdivision 4, or a prescription drug that can only be dispensed to a patient​

91.12 registered with the drug's manufacturer in accordance with federal Food and Drug​

91.13 Administration requirements.​

91.14 (f) "Health care facility" means:​

91.15 (1) a physician's office or health care clinic where licensed practitioners provide health​

91.16 care to patients;​

91.17 (2) a hospital licensed under section 144.50;​

91.18 (3) a pharmacy licensed under section 151.19 and located in Minnesota; or​

91.19 (4) a nonprofit community clinic, including a federally qualified health center; a rural​

91.20 health clinic; public health clinic; or other community clinic that provides health care utilizing​

91.21 a sliding fee scale to patients who are low-income, uninsured, or underinsured.​

91.22 (g) "Local repository" means a health care facility that elects to accept donated drugs​

91.23 and medical supplies and meets the requirements of subdivision 4.​

91.24 (h) "Medical supplies" or "supplies" means any prescription and nonprescription medical​

91.25 supply needed to administer a prescription drug.​

91.26 (i) "Original, sealed, unopened, tamper-evident packaging" means packaging that is​

91.27 sealed, unopened, and tamper-evident, including a manufacturer's original unit dose or​

91.28 unit-of-use container, a repackager's original unit dose or unit-of-use container, or unit-dose​

91.29 packaging prepared by a licensed pharmacy according to the standards of Minnesota Rules,​

91.30 part 6800.3750.​

91.31 (j) "Practitioner" has the meaning given in section 151.01, subdivision 23, except that​

91.32 it does not include a veterinarian.​
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92.1 Subd. 2. Establishment. By January 1, 2019, the Board of Pharmacy shall establish a​

92.2 drug repository program, through which donors may donate a drug or medical supply for​

92.3 use by an individual who meets the eligibility criteria specified under subdivision 5. The​

92.4 board shall contract with a central repository that meets the requirements of subdivision 3​

92.5 to implement and administer the prescription drug repository program.​

92.6 Subd. 3. Central repository requirements. (a) The board shall publish a request for​

92.7 proposal for participants who meet the requirements of this subdivision and are interested​

92.8 in acting as the central repository for the drug repository program. The board shall follow​

92.9 all applicable state procurement procedures in the selection process.​

92.10 (b) To be eligible to act as the central repository, the participant must be a wholesale​

92.11 drug distributor located in Minnesota, licensed pursuant to section 151.47, and in compliance​

92.12 with all applicable federal and state statutes, rules, and regulations.​

92.13 (c) The central repository shall be subject to inspection by the board pursuant to section​

92.14 151.06, subdivision 1.​

92.15 Subd. 4. Local repository requirements. (a) To be eligible for participation in the drug​

92.16 repository program, a health care facility must agree to comply with all applicable federal​

92.17 and state laws, rules, and regulations pertaining to the drug repository program, drug storage,​

92.18 and dispensing. The facility must also agree to maintain in good standing any required state​

92.19 license or registration that may apply to the facility.​

92.20 (b) A local repository may elect to participate in the program by submitting the following​

92.21 information to the central repository on a form developed by the board and made available​

92.22 on the board's Web site:​

92.23 (1) the name, street address, and telephone number of the health care facility and any​

92.24 state-issued license or registration number issued to the facility, including the issuing state​

92.25 agency;​

92.26 (2) the name and telephone number of a responsible pharmacist or practitioner who is​

92.27 employed by or under contract with the health care facility; and​

92.28 (3) a statement signed and dated by the responsible pharmacist or practitioner indicating​

92.29 that the health care facility meets the eligibility requirements under this section and agrees​

92.30 to comply with this section.​

92.31 (c) Participation in the drug repository program is voluntary. A local repository may​

92.32 withdraw from participation in the drug repository program at any time by providing written​

92.33 notice to the central repository on a form developed by the board and made available on​
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93.1 the board's Web site. The central repository shall provide the board with a copy of the​

93.2 withdrawal notice within ten business days from the date of receipt of the withdrawal notice.​

93.3 Subd. 5. Individual eligibility and application requirements. (a) To be eligible for​

93.4 the drug repository program, an individual must submit to a local repository an intake​

93.5 application form that is signed by the individual and attests that the individual:​

93.6 (1) is a resident of Minnesota;​

93.7 (2) is uninsured or has no prescription drug coverage;​

93.8 (3) acknowledges that the drugs or medical supplies to be received through the program​

93.9 may have been donated; and​

93.10 (4) consents to a waiver of the child-resistant packaging requirements of the federal​

93.11 Poison Prevention Packaging Act.​

93.12 (b) Upon determining that an individual is eligible for the program, the local repository​

93.13 shall furnish the individual with an identification card. The card shall be valid for one year​

93.14 from the date of issuance and may be used at any local repository. A new identification card​

93.15 may be issued upon expiration once the individual submits a new application form.​

93.16 (c) The local repository shall send a copy of the intake application form to the central​

93.17 repository by regular mail, facsimile, or secured e-mail within ten days from the date the​

93.18 application is approved by the local repository.​

93.19 (d) The board shall develop and make available on the board's Web site an application​

93.20 form and the format for the identification card.​

93.21 Subd. 6. Standards and procedures for accepting donations of drugs and supplies.​

93.22 (a) A donor may donate prescription drugs or medical supplies to the central repository or​

93.23 a local repository if the drug or supply meets the requirements of this section as determined​

93.24 by a pharmacist or practitioner who is employed by or under contract with the central​

93.25 repository or a local repository.​

93.26 (b) A prescription drug is eligible for donation under the drug repository program if the​

93.27 following requirements are met:​

93.28 (1) the donation is accompanied by a drug repository donor form described under​

93.29 paragraph (d) that is signed by an individual who is authorized by the donor to attest to the​

93.30 donor's knowledge in accordance with paragraph (d);​

93.31 (2) the drug's expiration date is at least six months after the date the drug was donated.​

93.32 If a donated drug bears an expiration date that is less than six months from the donation​
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94.1 date, the drug may be accepted and distributed if the drug is in high demand and can be​

94.2 dispensed for use by a patient before the drug's expiration date;​

94.3 (3) the drug is in its original, sealed, unopened, tamper-evident packaging that includes​

94.4 the expiration date. Single-unit-dose drugs may be accepted if the single-unit-dose packaging​

94.5 is unopened;​

94.6 (4) the drug or the packaging does not have any physical signs of tampering, misbranding,​

94.7 deterioration, compromised integrity, or adulteration;​

94.8 (5) the drug does not require storage temperatures other than normal room temperature​

94.9 as specified by the manufacturer or United States Pharmacopoeia, unless the drug is being​

94.10 donated directly by its manufacturer, a wholesale drug distributor, or a pharmacy located​

94.11 in Minnesota; and​

94.12 (6) the prescription drug is not a controlled substance.​

94.13 (c) A medical supply is eligible for donation under the drug repository program if the​

94.14 following requirements are met:​

94.15 (1) the supply has no physical signs of tampering, misbranding, or alteration and there​

94.16 is no reason to believe it has been adulterated, tampered with, or misbranded;​

94.17 (2) the supply is in its original, unopened, sealed packaging;​

94.18 (3) the donation is accompanied by a drug repository donor form described under​

94.19 paragraph (d) that is signed by an individual who is authorized by the donor to attest to the​

94.20 donor's knowledge in accordance with paragraph (d); and​

94.21 (4) if the supply bears an expiration date, the date is at least six months later than the​

94.22 date the supply was donated. If the donated supply bears an expiration date that is less than​

94.23 six months from the date the supply was donated, the supply may be accepted and distributed​

94.24 if the supply is in high demand and can be dispensed for use by a patient before the supply's​

94.25 expiration date.​

94.26 (d) The board shall develop the drug repository donor form and make it available on the​

94.27 board's Web site. The form must state that to the best of the donor's knowledge the donated​

94.28 drug or supply has been properly stored and that the drug or supply has never been opened,​

94.29 used, tampered with, adulterated, or misbranded.​

94.30 (e) Donated drugs and supplies may be shipped or delivered to the premises of the central​

94.31 repository or a local repository, and shall be inspected by a pharmacist or an authorized​

94.32 practitioner who is employed by or under contract with the repository and who has been​
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95.1 designated by the repository to accept donations. A drop box must not be used to deliver​

95.2 or accept donations.​

95.3 (f) The central repository and local repository shall inventory all drugs and supplies​

95.4 donated to the repository. For each drug, the inventory must include the drug's name, strength,​

95.5 quantity, manufacturer, expiration date, and the date the drug was donated. For each medical​

95.6 supply, the inventory must include a description of the supply, its manufacturer, the date​

95.7 the supply was donated, and, if applicable, the supply's brand name and expiration date.​

95.8 Subd. 7. Standards and procedures for inspecting and storing donated prescription​

95.9 drugs and supplies. (a) A pharmacist or authorized practitioner who is employed by or​

95.10 under contract with the central repository or a local repository shall inspect all donated​

95.11 prescription drugs and supplies to determine, to the extent reasonably possible in the​

95.12 professional judgment of the pharmacist or practitioner, that the drug or supply is not​

95.13 adulterated or misbranded, has not been tampered with, is safe and suitable for dispensing,​

95.14 and meets the requirements for donation. The pharmacist or practitioner who inspects the​

95.15 drugs or supplies shall sign an inspection record stating that the requirements for donation​

95.16 have been met. If a local repository receives drugs and supplies from the central repository,​

95.17 the local repository does not need to reinspect the drugs and supplies.​

95.18 (b) The central repository and local repositories shall store donated drugs and supplies​

95.19 in a secure storage area under environmental conditions appropriate for the drug or supply​

95.20 being stored. Donated drugs and supplies may not be stored with nondonated inventory. If​

95.21 donated drugs or supplies are not inspected immediately upon receipt, a repository must​

95.22 quarantine the donated drugs or supplies separately from all dispensing stock until the​

95.23 donated drugs or supplies have been inspected and approved for dispensing under the​

95.24 program.​

95.25 (c) The central repository and local repositories shall dispose of all prescription drugs​

95.26 and medical supplies that are not suitable for donation in compliance with applicable federal​

95.27 and state statutes, regulations, and rules concerning hazardous waste.​

95.28 (d) In the event that controlled substances or prescription drugs that can only be dispensed​

95.29 to a patient registered with the drug's manufacturer are shipped or delivered to a central or​

95.30 local repository for donation, the shipment delivery must be documented by the repository​

95.31 and returned immediately to the donor or the donor's representative that provided the drugs.​

95.32 (e) Each repository must develop drug and medical supply recall policies and procedures.​

95.33 If a repository receives a recall notification, the repository shall destroy all of the drug or​

95.34 medical supply in its inventory that is the subject of the recall and complete a record of​
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96.1 destruction form in accordance with paragraph (f). If a drug or medical supply that is the​

96.2 subject of a Class I or Class II recall has been dispensed, the repository shall immediately​

96.3 notify the recipient of the recalled drug or medical supply. A drug that potentially is subject​

96.4 to a recall need not be destroyed if its packaging bears a lot number and that lot of the drug​

96.5 is not subject to the recall. If no lot number is on the drug's packaging, it must be destroyed.​

96.6 (f) A record of destruction of donated drugs and supplies that are not dispensed under​

96.7 subdivision 8, are subject to a recall under paragraph (e), or are not suitable for donation​

96.8 shall be maintained by the repository for at least five years. For each drug or supply​

96.9 destroyed, the record shall include the following information:​

96.10 (1) the date of destruction;​

96.11 (2) the name, strength, and quantity of the drug destroyed; and​

96.12 (3) the name of the person or firm that destroyed the drug.​

96.13 Subd. 8. Dispensing requirements. (a) Donated drugs and supplies may be dispensed​

96.14 if the drugs or supplies are prescribed by a practitioner for use by an eligible individual and​

96.15 are dispensed by a pharmacist or practitioner. A repository shall dispense donated prescription​

96.16 drugs in compliance with applicable federal and state laws and regulations for dispensing​

96.17 prescription drugs, including all requirements relating to packaging, labeling, record keeping,​

96.18 drug utilization review, and patient counseling.​

96.19 (b) Before dispensing or administering a drug or supply, the pharmacist or practitioner​

96.20 shall visually inspect the drug or supply for adulteration, misbranding, tampering, and date​

96.21 of expiration. Drugs or supplies that have expired or appear upon visual inspection to be​

96.22 adulterated, misbranded, or tampered with in any way must not be dispensed or administered.​

96.23 (c) Before a drug or supply is dispensed or administered to an individual, the individual​

96.24 must sign a drug repository recipient form acknowledging that the individual understands​

96.25 the information stated on the form. The board shall develop the form and make it available​

96.26 on the board's Web site. The form must include the following information:​

96.27 (1) that the drug or supply being dispensed or administered has been donated and may​

96.28 have been previously dispensed;​

96.29 (2) that a visual inspection has been conducted by the pharmacist or practitioner to ensure​

96.30 that the drug or supply has not expired, has not been adulterated or misbranded, and is in​

96.31 its original, unopened packaging; and​

96.32 (3) that the dispensing pharmacist, the dispensing or administering practitioner, the​

96.33 central repository or local repository, the Board of Pharmacy, and any other participant of​
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97.1 the drug repository program cannot guarantee the safety of the drug or medical supply being​

97.2 dispensed or administered and that the pharmacist or practitioner has determined that the​

97.3 drug or supply is safe to dispense or administer based on the accuracy of the donor's form​

97.4 submitted with the donated drug or medical supply and the visual inspection required to be​

97.5 performed by the pharmacist or practitioner before dispensing or administering.​

97.6 Subd. 9. Handling fees. (a) The central or local repository may charge the individual​

97.7 receiving a drug or supply a handling fee of no more than 250 percent of the medical​

97.8 assistance program dispensing fee for each drug or medical supply dispensed or administered​

97.9 by that repository.​

97.10 (b) A repository that dispenses or administers a drug or medical supply through the drug​

97.11 repository program shall not receive reimbursement under the medical assistance program​

97.12 or the MinnesotaCare program for that dispensed or administered drug or supply.​

97.13 Subd. 10. Distribution of donated drugs and supplies. (a) The central repository and​

97.14 local repositories may distribute drugs and supplies donated under the drug repository​

97.15 program to other participating repositories for use pursuant to this program.​

97.16 (b) A local repository that elects not to dispense donated drugs or supplies must transfer​

97.17 all donated drugs and supplies to the central repository. A copy of the donor form that was​

97.18 completed by the original donor under subdivision 6 must be provided to the central​

97.19 repository at the time of transfer.​

97.20 Subd. 11. Forms and record-keeping requirements. (a) The following forms developed​

97.21 for the administration of this program shall be utilized by the participants of the program​

97.22 and shall be available on the board's Web site:​

97.23 (1) intake application form described under subdivision 5;​

97.24 (2) local repository participation form described under subdivision 4;​

97.25 (3) local repository withdrawal form described under subdivision 4;​

97.26 (4) drug repository donor form described under subdivision 6;​

97.27 (5) record of destruction form described under subdivision 7; and​

97.28 (6) drug repository recipient form described under subdivision 8.​

97.29 (b) All records, including drug inventory, inspection, and disposal of donated prescription​

97.30 drugs and medical supplies must be maintained by a repository for a minimum of five years.​

97.31 Records required as part of this program must be maintained pursuant to all applicable​

97.32 practice acts.​
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98.1 (c) Data collected by the drug repository program from all local repositories shall be​

98.2 submitted quarterly or upon request to the central repository. Data collected may consist of​

98.3 the information, records, and forms required to be collected under this section.​

98.4 (d) The central repository shall submit reports to the board as required by the contract​

98.5 or upon request of the board.​

98.6 Subd. 12. Liability. (a) The manufacturer of a drug or supply is not subject to criminal​

98.7 or civil liability for injury, death, or loss to a person or to property for causes of action​

98.8 described in clauses (1) and (2). A manufacturer is not liable for:​

98.9 (1) the intentional or unintentional alteration of the drug or supply by a party not under​

98.10 the control of the manufacturer; or​

98.11 (2) the failure of a party not under the control of the manufacturer to transfer or​

98.12 communicate product or consumer information or the expiration date of the donated drug​

98.13 or supply.​

98.14 (b) A health care facility participating in the program, a pharmacist dispensing a drug​

98.15 or supply pursuant to the program, a practitioner dispensing or administering a drug or​

98.16 supply pursuant to the program, or a donor of a drug or medical supply is immune from​

98.17 civil liability for an act or omission that causes injury to or the death of an individual to​

98.18 whom the drug or supply is dispensed and no disciplinary action by a health-related licensing​

98.19 board shall be taken against a pharmacist or practitioner so long as the drug or supply is​

98.20 donated, accepted, distributed, and dispensed according to the requirements of this section.​

98.21 This immunity does not apply if the act or omission involves reckless, wanton, or intentional​

98.22 misconduct, or malpractice unrelated to the quality of the drug or medical supply.​

98.23 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.71, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

98.24 read:​

98.25 Subd. 3. Lowest cost to consumers. (a) A health plan company or pharmacy benefits​

98.26 manager shall not require an individual to make a payment at the point of sale for a covered​

98.27 prescription medication in an amount greater than the allowable cost to consumers, as​

98.28 defined in paragraph (b).​

98.29 (b) For purposes of paragraph (a), "allowable cost to consumers" means the lowest of:​

98.30 (1) the applicable co-payment for the prescription medication; or (2) the amount an individual​

98.31 would pay for the prescription medication if the individual purchased the prescription​

98.32 medication without using a health plan benefit.​
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99.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 152.11, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

99.2 read:​

99.3 Subd. 5. Limitations on the dispensing of opioid prescription drug orders. (a) No​

99.4 prescription drug order for an opioid drug listed in Schedule II may be dispensed by a​

99.5 pharmacist or other dispenser more than 30 days after the date on which the prescription​

99.6 drug order was issued.​

99.7 (b) No prescription drug order for an opioid drug listed in Schedules III through V may​

99.8 be initially dispensed by a pharmacist or other dispenser more than 30 days after the date​

99.9 on which the prescription drug order was issued. No prescription drug order for an opioid​

99.10 drug listed in Schedules III through V may be refilled by a pharmacist or other dispenser​

99.11 more than 30 days after the previous date on which it was dispensed.​

99.12 (c) For purposes of this section, "dispenser" has the meaning given in section 152.126,​

99.13 subdivision 1.​

99.14 Sec. 5. STUDENT HEALTH INITIATIVE TO LIMIT OPIOID HARM.​

99.15 Subdivision 1. Grant awards. The commissioner of human services, in consultation​

99.16 with the commissioner of education, the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges​

99.17 and Universities, the Board of Directors of the Minnesota Private College Council, and the​

99.18 regents of the University of Minnesota, shall develop and administer a program to award​

99.19 grants to secondary school students in grades 7 through 12 and undergraduate students​

99.20 attending a Minnesota postsecondary educational institution, and their community partner​

99.21 or partners, to conduct opioid awareness and opioid abuse prevention activities. If a grant​

99.22 proposal includes more than one community partner, the proposal must designate a primary​

99.23 community partner. Grant applications must be submitted by the primary community partner​

99.24 and any grant award must be managed by the primary community partner on behalf of​

99.25 secondary school and undergraduate student applicants and grantees. Grants shall be awarded​

99.26 for a fiscal year and are onetime.​

99.27 Subd. 2. Grant criteria. (a) Grant dollars may be used for opioid awareness campaigns​

99.28 and events, education related to opioid addiction and abuse prevention, initiatives to limit​

99.29 inappropriate opioid prescriptions, peer education programs targeted to students at high risk​

99.30 of opioid addiction and abuse, and other related initiatives as approved by the commissioner.​

99.31 Grant projects must include one or more of the following components as they relate to opioid​

99.32 abuse and prevention and the role of the community partner: high-risk populations, law​

99.33 enforcement, education, clinical services, or social services.​
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100.1 (b) The commissioner of human services shall seek to provide grant funding for at least​

100.2 one proposal that addresses opioid abuse in the American Indian community.​

100.3 Subd. 3. Community partners. For purposes of the grant program, community partners​

100.4 may include but are not limited to public health agencies; local law enforcement; community​

100.5 health centers; medical clinics; emergency medical service professionals; schools and​

100.6 postsecondary educational institutions; opioid addiction, advocacy, and recovery​

100.7 organizations; tribal governments; local chambers of commerce; and city councils and​

100.8 county boards.​

100.9 Subd. 4. Report. The commissioner of human services shall report to the chairs and​

100.10 ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and​

100.11 human services policy and finance, K-12 education policy and finance, and higher education​

100.12 policy and finance by September 1, 2019, on the implementation of the grant program and​

100.13 the grants awarded under this section.​

100.14 Subd. 5. Federal grants. (a) The commissioner of human services shall apply for any​

100.15 federal grant funding that aligns with the purposes of this section. The commissioner shall​

100.16 submit to the legislature any changes to the program established under this section that are​

100.17 necessary to comply with the terms of the federal grant.​

100.18 (b) The commissioner shall notify the chairs and ranking minority members of the​

100.19 legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and finance,​

100.20 K-12 education policy and finance, and higher education policy and finance of any grant​

100.21 applications submitted and any federal actions taken related to the grant applications.​

100.22 Sec. 6. OPIOID OVERDOSE REDUCTION PILOT PROGRAM.​

100.23 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of health shall provide grants to​

100.24 ambulance services to fund activities by community paramedic teams to reduce opioid​

100.25 overdoses in the state. Under this pilot program, ambulance services shall develop and​

100.26 implement projects in which community paramedics connect with patients who are discharged​

100.27 from a hospital or emergency department following an opioid overdose episode, develop​

100.28 personalized care plans for those patients in consultation with the ambulance service medical​

100.29 director, and provide follow-up services to those patients.​

100.30 Subd. 2. Priority areas; services. (a) In a project developed under this section, an​

100.31 ambulance service must target community paramedic team services to portions of the service​

100.32 area with high levels of opioid use, high death rates from opioid overdoses, and urgent needs​

100.33 for interventions.​

100​Article 4 Sec. 6.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



101.1 (b) In a project developed under this section, a community paramedic team shall:​

101.2 (1) provide services to patients released from a hospital following an opioid overdose​

101.3 episode and place priority on serving patients who were administered the opiate antagonist​

101.4 naloxone hydrochloride by emergency medical services personnel in response to a 911 call​

101.5 during the opioid overdose episode;​

101.6 (2) provide the following evaluations during an initial home visit: a home safety​

101.7 assessment including whether there is a need to dispose of prescription drugs that are expired​

101.8 or no longer needed; medication reconciliation; an HIV risk assessment; instruction on the​

101.9 use of naloxone hydrochloride; and a basic needs assessment;​

101.10 (3) provide patients with health assessments, medication management, chronic disease​

101.11 monitoring and education, and assistance in following hospital discharge orders; and​

101.12 (4) work with a multidisciplinary team to address the overall physical and mental health​

101.13 needs of patients and health needs related to substance use disorder treatment.​

101.14 Subd. 3. Evaluation. An ambulance service that receives a grant under this section must​

101.15 evaluate the extent to which the project was successful in reducing the number of opioid​

101.16 overdoses and opioid overdose deaths among patients who received services and in reducing​

101.17 the inappropriate use of opioids by patients who received services. The commissioner of​

101.18 health shall develop specific evaluation measures and reporting timelines for ambulance​

101.19 services receiving grants. Ambulance services must submit the information required by the​

101.20 commissioner to the commissioner and the chairs and ranking minority members of the​

101.21 legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services by December 1,​

101.22 2019.​

101.23 Sec. 7.  REPEALER.​

101.24 Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.55, is repealed.​

101.25 ARTICLE 5​

101.26 COMMUNITY SUPPORTS AND CONTINUING CARE​

101.27 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 252.41, subdivision 3, is amended​

101.28 to read:​

101.29 Subd. 3. Day training and habilitation services for adults with developmental​

101.30 disabilities. (a) "Day training and habilitation services for adults with developmental​

101.31 disabilities" means services that:​
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102.1 (1) include supervision, training, assistance, center-based work-related activities, or​

102.2 other community-integrated activities designed and implemented in accordance with the​

102.3 individual service and individual habilitation plans required under Minnesota Rules, parts​

102.4 9525.0004 to 9525.0036, to help an adult reach and maintain the highest possible level of​

102.5 independence, productivity, and integration into the community; and​

102.6 (2) are provided by a vendor licensed under sections 245A.01 to 245A.16 and 252.28,​

102.7 subdivision 2, to provide day training and habilitation services.​

102.8 (b) Day training and habilitation services reimbursable under this section do not include​

102.9 special education and related services as defined in the Education of the Individuals with​

102.10 Disabilities Act, United States Code, title 20, chapter 33, section 1401, clauses (6) and (17),​

102.11 or vocational services funded under section 110 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, United​

102.12 States Code, title 29, section 720, as amended.​

102.13 (c) Except for specified service units authorized and provided in the transition period​

102.14 defined in section 256B.4913, subdivision 7, paragraph (b), day training and habilitation​

102.15 services do not include employment exploration, employment development, or employment​

102.16 support services as defined in the home and community-based services waivers for people​

102.17 with disabilities authorized under sections 256B.092 and 256B.49.​

102.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from January 1, 2018.​

102.19 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision​

102.20 to read:​

102.21 Subd. 65. Prescribed pediatric extended care center services. Medical assistance​

102.22 covers prescribed pediatric extended care center basic services as defined under section​

102.23 144H.01, subdivision 2. The commissioner shall set two payment rates for basic services​

102.24 provided at prescribed pediatric extended care centers licensed under chapter 144H: (1) a​

102.25 $250 half-day rate per child attending a prescribed pediatric extended care center for less​

102.26 than four hours per day; and (2) a $500 full-day rate per child attending a prescribed pediatric​

102.27 extended care center for four hours or more per day. The rates established in this subdivision​

102.28 may be reevaluated by the commissioner two years after the effective date of this subdivision.​

102.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019, or upon federal approval,​

102.30 whichever occurs later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of​

102.31 statutes when federal approval is obtained.​
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103.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.0921, is amended to read:​

103.2 256B.0921 HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED SERVICES INCENTIVE​

103.3 INNOVATION POOL.​

103.4 The commissioner of human services shall develop an initiative to provide incentives​

103.5 for innovation in: (1) achieving integrated competitive employment; (2) achieving integrated​

103.6 competitive employment for youth under age 25 upon their graduation from school; (3)​

103.7 living in the most integrated setting; and (4) other outcomes determined by the commissioner.​

103.8 The commissioner shall seek requests for proposals and shall contract with one or more​

103.9 entities to provide incentive payments for meeting identified outcomes.​

103.10 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4913, subdivision 7, is amended​

103.11 to read:​

103.12 Subd. 7. New services. (a) A service added to section 256B.4914 after January 1, 2014,​

103.13 is not subject to rate stabilization adjustment in this section.​

103.14 (b) The commissioner shall implement the new services in section 256B.4914, subdivision​

103.15 3, clauses (23), (24), and (25). Transition to the new services shall occur as service​

103.16 agreements renew or service plans change, except that service authorizations of daily units​

103.17 of day training and habilitation services and prevocational services that have rates subject​

103.18 to rate stabilization under this section as of July 1, 2018, shall transition service unit​

103.19 authorizations that fall under the new services in section 256B.4914, subdivision 3, clauses​

103.20 (23), (24), and (25), no later than June 30, 2019.​

103.21 (c) Service authorizations that include the delayed transition under paragraph (b) shall​

103.22 not also authorize and bill for the new services in section 256B.4914, subdivision 3, clauses​

103.23 (23), (24), and (25), on the same day that a daily unit or partial day unit of day training and​

103.24 habilitation services or prevocational services is billed.​

103.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2018, or upon federal approval,​

103.26 whichever is later. The commissioner of human services shall notify the revisor of statutes​

103.27 when federal approval is obtained.​

103.28 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4914, subdivision 2, is amended​

103.29 to read:​

103.30 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the​

103.31 meanings given them, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.​

103.32 (b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of human services.​
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104.1 (c) "Component value" means underlying factors that are part of the cost of providing​

104.2 services that are built into the waiver rates methodology to calculate service rates.​

104.3 (d) "Customized living tool" means a methodology for setting service rates that delineates​

104.4 and documents the amount of each component service included in a recipient's customized​

104.5 living service plan.​

104.6 (e) "Direct care staff" means employees providing direct service provision to people​

104.7 receiving services under this section. Direct care staff does not include executive, managerial,​

104.8 and administrative staff.​

104.9 (f) "Disability waiver rates system" means a statewide system that establishes rates that​

104.10 are based on uniform processes and captures the individualized nature of waiver services​

104.11 and recipient needs.​

104.12 (f) (g) "Individual staffing" means the time spent as a one-to-one interaction specific to​

104.13 an individual recipient by staff to provide direct support and assistance with activities of​

104.14 daily living, instrumental activities of daily living, and training to participants, and is based​

104.15 on the requirements in each individual's coordinated service and support plan under section​

104.16 245D.02, subdivision 4b; any coordinated service and support plan addendum under section​

104.17 245D.02, subdivision 4c; and an assessment tool. Provider observation of an individual's​

104.18 needs must also be considered.​

104.19 (g) (h) "Lead agency" means a county, partnership of counties, or tribal agency charged​

104.20 with administering waivered services under sections 256B.092 and 256B.49.​

104.21 (h) (i) "Median" means the amount that divides distribution into two equal groups,​

104.22 one-half above the median and one-half below the median.​

104.23 (i) (j) "Payment or rate" means reimbursement to an eligible provider for services​

104.24 provided to a qualified individual based on an approved service authorization.​

104.25 (j) (k) "Rates management system" means a Web-based software application that uses​

104.26 a framework and component values, as determined by the commissioner, to establish service​

104.27 rates.​

104.28 (k) (l) "Recipient" means a person receiving home and community-based services funded​

104.29 under any of the disability waivers.​

104.30 (l) (m) "Shared staffing" means time spent by employees, not defined under paragraph​

104.31 (f) (g), providing or available to provide more than one individual with direct support and​

104.32 assistance with activities of daily living as defined under section 256B.0659, subdivision​

104.33 1, paragraph (b); instrumental activities of daily living as defined under section 256B.0659,​
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105.1 subdivision 1, paragraph (i); ancillary activities needed to support individual services; and​

105.2 training to participants, and is based on the requirements in each individual's coordinated​

105.3 service and support plan under section 245D.02, subdivision 4b; any coordinated service​

105.4 and support plan addendum under section 245D.02, subdivision 4c; an assessment tool; and​

105.5 provider observation of an individual's service need. Total shared staffing hours are divided​

105.6 proportionally by the number of individuals who receive the shared service provisions.​

105.7 (m) (n) "Staffing ratio" means the number of recipients a service provider employee​

105.8 supports during a unit of service based on a uniform assessment tool, provider observation,​

105.9 case history, and the recipient's services of choice, and not based on the staffing ratios under​

105.10 section 245D.31.​

105.11 (n) (o) "Unit of service" means the following:​

105.12 (1) for residential support services under subdivision 6, a unit of service is a day. Any​

105.13 portion of any calendar day, within allowable Medicaid rules, where an individual spends​

105.14 time in a residential setting is billable as a day;​

105.15 (2) for day services under subdivision 7:​

105.16 (i) for day training and habilitation services, a unit of service is either:​

105.17 (A) a day unit of service is defined as six or more hours of time spent providing direct​

105.18 services and transportation; or​

105.19 (B) a partial day unit of service is defined as fewer than six hours of time spent providing​

105.20 direct services and transportation; and​

105.21 (C) for new day service recipients after January 1, 2014, 15 minute units of service must​

105.22 be used for fewer than six hours of time spent providing direct services and transportation;​

105.23 (ii) for adult day and structured day services, a unit of service is a day or 15 minutes. A​

105.24 day unit of service is six or more hours of time spent providing direct services;​

105.25 (iii) for prevocational services, a unit of service is a day or an hour. A day unit of service​

105.26 is six or more hours of time spent providing direct service;​

105.27 (3) for unit-based services with programming under subdivision 8:​

105.28 (i) for supported living services, a unit of service is a day or 15 minutes. When a day​

105.29 rate is authorized, any portion of a calendar day where an individual receives services is​

105.30 billable as a day; and​

105.31 (ii) for all other services, a unit of service is 15 minutes; and​
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106.1 (4) for unit-based services without programming under subdivision 9, a unit of service​

106.2 is 15 minutes.​

106.3 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.4914, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

106.4 Subd. 4. Data collection for rate determination. (a) Rates for applicable home and​

106.5 community-based waivered services, including rate exceptions under subdivision 12, are​

106.6 set by the rates management system.​

106.7 (b) Data for services under section 256B.4913, subdivision 4a, shall be collected in a​

106.8 manner prescribed by the commissioner.​

106.9 (c) Data and information in the rates management system may be used to calculate an​

106.10 individual's rate.​

106.11 (d) Service providers, with information from the community support plan and oversight​

106.12 by lead agencies, shall provide values and information needed to calculate an individual's​

106.13 rate into the rates management system. The determination of service levels must be part of​

106.14 a discussion with members of the support team as defined in section 245D.02, subdivision​

106.15 34. This discussion must occur prior to the final establishment of each individual's rate. The​

106.16 values and information include:​

106.17 (1) shared staffing hours;​

106.18 (2) individual staffing hours;​

106.19 (3) direct registered nurse hours;​

106.20 (4) direct licensed practical nurse hours;​

106.21 (5) staffing ratios;​

106.22 (6) information to document variable levels of service qualification for variable levels​

106.23 of reimbursement in each framework;​

106.24 (7) shared or individualized arrangements for unit-based services, including the staffing​

106.25 ratio;​

106.26 (8) number of trips and miles for transportation services; and​

106.27 (9) service hours provided through monitoring technology.​

106.28 (e) Updates to individual data must include:​

106.29 (1) data for each individual that is updated annually when renewing service plans; and​
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107.1 (2) requests by individuals or lead agencies to update a rate whenever there is a change​

107.2 in an individual's service needs, with accompanying documentation.​

107.3 (f) Lead agencies shall review and approve all services reflecting each individual's needs,​

107.4 and the values to calculate the final payment rate for services with variables under​

107.5 subdivisions 6, 7, 8, and 9 for each individual. Lead agencies must notify the individual and​

107.6 the service provider of the final agreed-upon values and rate, and provide information that​

107.7 is identical to what was entered into the rates management system. If a value used was​

107.8 mistakenly or erroneously entered and used to calculate a rate, a provider may petition lead​

107.9 agencies to correct it. Lead agencies must respond to these requests. When responding to​

107.10 the request, the lead agency must consider:​

107.11 (1) meeting the health and welfare needs of the individual or individuals receiving​

107.12 services by service site, identified in their coordinated service and support plan under section​

107.13 245D.02, subdivision 4b, and any addendum under section 245D.02, subdivision 4c;​

107.14 (2) meeting the requirements for staffing under subdivision 2, paragraphs (f) (g), (i) (m),​

107.15 and (m) (n); and meeting or exceeding the licensing standards for staffing required under​

107.16 section 245D.09, subdivision 1; and​

107.17 (3) meeting the staffing ratio requirements under subdivision 2, paragraph (n), and​

107.18 meeting or exceeding the licensing standards for staffing required under section 245D.31.​

107.19 (g) To aid in the transition required in section 256B.4913, subdivision 7, paragraph (b),​

107.20 discussion of transition to the new services in subdivision 3, clauses (23), (24), and (25),​

107.21 shall be a part of the service planning process. Lead agencies authorizing daily units of day​

107.22 training and habilitation services and prevocational services shall enter information into the​

107.23 rate management system indicating the average units of employment development services,​

107.24 employment exploration services, and employment support services that are expected to be​

107.25 provided within the transition period daily rate.​

107.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2018.​

107.27 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4914, subdivision 5, is amended​

107.28 to read:​

107.29 Subd. 5. Base wage index and standard component values. (a) The base wage index​

107.30 is established to determine staffing costs associated with providing services to individuals​

107.31 receiving home and community-based services. For purposes of developing and calculating​

107.32 the proposed base wage, Minnesota-specific wages taken from job descriptions and standard​

107.33 occupational classification (SOC) codes from the Bureau of Labor Statistics as defined in​
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108.1 the most recent edition of the Occupational Handbook must be used. The base wage index​

108.2 must be calculated as follows:​

108.3 (1) for residential direct care staff, the sum of:​

108.4 (i) 15 percent of the subtotal of 50 percent of the median wage for personal and home​

108.5 health aide (SOC code 39-9021); 30 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC​

108.6 code 31-1014); and 20 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC​

108.7 code 21-1093); and​

108.8 (ii) 85 percent of the subtotal of 20 percent of the median wage for home health aide​

108.9 (SOC code 31-1011); 20 percent of the median wage for personal and home health aide​

108.10 (SOC code 39-9021); 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code​

108.11 31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);​

108.12 and 20 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093);​

108.13 (2) for day services, 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code​

108.14 31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);​

108.15 and 60 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093);​

108.16 (3) for residential asleep-overnight staff, the wage is the minimum wage in Minnesota​

108.17 for large employers, except in a family foster care setting, the wage is 36 percent of the​

108.18 minimum wage in Minnesota for large employers;​

108.19 (4) for behavior program analyst staff, 100 percent of the median wage for mental health​

108.20 counselors (SOC code 21-1014);​

108.21 (5) for behavior program professional staff, 100 percent of the median wage for clinical​

108.22 counseling and school psychologist (SOC code 19-3031);​

108.23 (6) for behavior program specialist staff, 100 percent of the median wage for psychiatric​

108.24 technicians (SOC code 29-2053);​

108.25 (7) for supportive living services staff, 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant​

108.26 (SOC code 31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code​

108.27 29-2053); and 60 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code​

108.28 21-1093);​

108.29 (8) for housing access coordination staff, 100 percent of the median wage for community​

108.30 and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);​

108.31 (9) for in-home family support staff, 20 percent of the median wage for nursing aide​

108.32 (SOC code 31-1012); 30 percent of the median wage for community social service specialist​
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109.1 (SOC code 21-1099); 40 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide​

109.2 (SOC code 21-1093); and ten percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC​

109.3 code 29-2053);​

109.4 (10) for individualized home supports services staff, 40 percent of the median wage for​

109.5 community social service specialist (SOC code 21-1099); 50 percent of the median wage​

109.6 for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093); and ten percent of the median​

109.7 wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);​

109.8 (11) for independent living skills staff, 40 percent of the median wage for community​

109.9 social service specialist (SOC code 21-1099); 50 percent of the median wage for social and​

109.10 human services aide (SOC code 21-1093); and ten percent of the median wage for psychiatric​

109.11 technician (SOC code 29-2053);​

109.12 (12) for independent living skills specialist staff, 100 percent of mental health and​

109.13 substance abuse social worker (SOC code 21-1023);​

109.14 (13) for supported employment staff, 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant​

109.15 (SOC code 31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code​

109.16 29-2053); and 60 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code​

109.17 21-1093);​

109.18 (14) for employment support services staff, 50 percent of the median wage for​

109.19 rehabilitation counselor (SOC code 21-1015); and 50 percent of the median wage for​

109.20 community and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);​

109.21 (15) for employment exploration services staff, 50 percent of the median wage for​

109.22 rehabilitation counselor (SOC code 21-1015); and 50 percent of the median wage for​

109.23 community and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);​

109.24 (16) for employment development services staff, 50 percent of the median wage for​

109.25 education, guidance, school, and vocational counselors (SOC code 21-1012); and 50 percent​

109.26 of the median wage for community and social services specialist (SOC code 21-1099);​

109.27 (17) for adult companion staff, 50 percent of the median wage for personal and home​

109.28 care aide (SOC code 39-9021); and 50 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant​

109.29 (SOC code 31-1014);​

109.30 (18) for night supervision staff, 20 percent of the median wage for home health aide​

109.31 (SOC code 31-1011); 20 percent of the median wage for personal and home health aide​

109.32 (SOC code 39-9021); 20 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code​
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110.1 31-1014); 20 percent of the median wage for psychiatric technician (SOC code 29-2053);​

110.2 and 20 percent of the median wage for social and human services aide (SOC code 21-1093);​

110.3 (19) for respite staff, 50 percent of the median wage for personal and home care aide​

110.4 (SOC code 39-9021); and 50 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant (SOC code​

110.5 31-1014);​

110.6 (20) for personal support staff, 50 percent of the median wage for personal and home​

110.7 care aide (SOC code 39-9021); and 50 percent of the median wage for nursing assistant​

110.8 (SOC code 31-1014);​

110.9 (21) for supervisory staff, 100 percent of the median wage for community and social​

110.10 services specialist (SOC code 21-1099), with the exception of the supervisor of behavior​

110.11 professional, behavior analyst, and behavior specialists, which is 100 percent of the median​

110.12 wage for clinical counseling and school psychologist (SOC code 19-3031);​

110.13 (22) for registered nurse staff, 100 percent of the median wage for registered nurses​

110.14 (SOC code 29-1141); and​

110.15 (23) for licensed practical nurse staff, 100 percent of the median wage for licensed​

110.16 practical nurses (SOC code 29-2061).​

110.17 (b) Component values for residential support services are:​

110.18 (1) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;​

110.19 (2) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;​

110.20 (3) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;​

110.21 (4) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;​

110.22 (5) program-related expense ratio: 1.3 percent; and​

110.23 (6) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.​

110.24 (c) Component values for family foster care are:​

110.25 (1) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;​

110.26 (2) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;​

110.27 (3) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;​

110.28 (4) general administrative support ratio: 3.3 percent;​

110.29 (5) program-related expense ratio: 1.3 percent; and​

110.30 (6) absence factor: 1.7 percent.​
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111.1 (d) Component values for day services for all services are:​

111.2 (1) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;​

111.3 (2) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;​

111.4 (3) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;​

111.5 (4) program plan support ratio: 5.6 percent;​

111.6 (5) client programming and support ratio: ten percent;​

111.7 (6) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;​

111.8 (7) program-related expense ratio: 1.8 percent; and​

111.9 (8) absence and utilization factor ratio: 9.4 percent.​

111.10 (e) Component values for unit-based services with programming are:​

111.11 (1) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;​

111.12 (2) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;​

111.13 (3) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;​

111.14 (4) program plan supports ratio: 15.5 percent;​

111.15 (5) client programming and supports ratio: 4.7 percent;​

111.16 (6) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;​

111.17 (7) program-related expense ratio: 6.1 percent; and​

111.18 (8) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.​

111.19 (f) Component values for unit-based services without programming except respite are:​

111.20 (1) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;​

111.21 (2) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;​

111.22 (3) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;​

111.23 (4) program plan support ratio: 7.0 percent;​

111.24 (5) client programming and support ratio: 2.3 percent;​

111.25 (6) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;​

111.26 (7) program-related expense ratio: 2.9 percent; and​

111.27 (8) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.​
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112.1 (g) Component values for unit-based services without programming for respite are:​

112.2 (1) supervisory span of control ratio: 11 percent;​

112.3 (2) employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio: 8.71 percent;​

112.4 (3) employee-related cost ratio: 23.6 percent;​

112.5 (4) general administrative support ratio: 13.25 percent;​

112.6 (5) program-related expense ratio: 2.9 percent; and​

112.7 (6) absence and utilization factor ratio: 3.9 percent.​

112.8 (h) On July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall update the base wage index in paragraph​

112.9 (a) based on the wage data by standard occupational code (SOC) from the Bureau of Labor​

112.10 Statistics available on December 31, 2016. The commissioner shall publish these updated​

112.11 values and load them into the rate management system. On July January 1, 2022, and every​

112.12 five two years thereafter, the commissioner shall update the base wage index in paragraph​

112.13 (a) based on the most recently available wage data by SOC from the Bureau of Labor​

112.14 Statistics available on December 31 of the year two years prior to the scheduled update.​

112.15 The commissioner shall publish these updated values and load them into the rate management​

112.16 system.​

112.17 (i) On July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall update the framework components in​

112.18 paragraph (d), clause (5); paragraph (e), clause (5); and paragraph (f), clause (5); subdivision​

112.19 6, clauses (8) and (9); and subdivision 7, clauses (10), (16), and (17), for changes in the​

112.20 Consumer Price Index. The commissioner will adjust these values higher or lower by the​

112.21 percentage change in the Consumer Price Index-All Items, United States city average​

112.22 (CPI-U) from January 1, 2014, to January 1, 2017. The commissioner shall publish these​

112.23 updated values and load them into the rate management system. On July January 1, 2022,​

112.24 and every five two years thereafter, the commissioner shall update the framework components​

112.25 in paragraph (d), clause (5); paragraph (e), clause (5); and paragraph (f), clause (5);​

112.26 subdivision 6, clauses (8) and (9); and subdivision 7, clauses (10), (16), and (17), for changes​

112.27 in the Consumer Price Index. The commissioner shall adjust these values higher or lower​

112.28 by the percentage change in the CPI-U from the date of the previous update to the date of​

112.29 the data most recently available on December 31 of the year two years prior to the scheduled​

112.30 update. The commissioner shall publish these updated values and load them into the rate​

112.31 management system.​
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113.1 (j) In this subdivision, if Bureau of Labor Statistics occupational codes or Consumer​

113.2 Price Index items are unavailable in the future, the commissioner shall recommend to the​

113.3 legislature codes or items to update and replace missing component values.​

113.4 (k) The commissioner shall increase the updated base wage index in paragraph (h) with​

113.5 a competitive workforce factor of 8.35 percent.​

113.6 EFFECTIVE DATE. (a) The amendments to paragraphs (h) and (i) are effective January​

113.7 1, 2022, or upon federal approval, whichever is later. The commissioner shall inform the​

113.8 revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​

113.9 (b) Paragraph (k) is effective July 1, 2018, or upon federal approval, whichever is later.​

113.10 The commissioner shall inform the revisor of statutes when federal approval is obtained.​

113.11 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4914, subdivision 6, is amended​

113.12 to read:​

113.13 Subd. 6. Payments for residential support services. (a) Payments for residential support​

113.14 services, as defined in sections 256B.092, subdivision 11, and 256B.49, subdivision 22,​

113.15 must be calculated as follows:​

113.16 (1) determine the number of shared staffing and individual direct staff hours to meet a​

113.17 recipient's needs provided on site or through monitoring technology;​

113.18 (2) personnel hourly wage rate must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics​

113.19 Minnesota-specific rates or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision​

113.20 5. This is defined as the direct-care rate;​

113.21 (3) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language​

113.22 accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12​

113.23 to the result of clause (2). This is defined as the customized direct-care rate;​

113.24 (4) multiply the number of shared and individual direct staff hours provided on site or​

113.25 through monitoring technology and nursing hours by the appropriate staff wages in​

113.26 subdivision 5, paragraph (a), or the customized direct-care rate;​

113.27 (5) multiply the number of shared and individual direct staff hours provided on site or​

113.28 through monitoring technology and nursing hours by the product of the supervision span​

113.29 of control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause (1), and the appropriate supervision​

113.30 wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);​

113.31 (6) combine the results of clauses (4) and (5), excluding any shared and individual direct​

113.32 staff hours provided through monitoring technology, and multiply the result by one plus​
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114.1 the employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b),​

114.2 clause (2). This is defined as the direct staffing cost;​

114.3 (7) for employee-related expenses, multiply the direct staffing cost, excluding any shared​

114.4 and individual direct staff hours provided through monitoring technology, by one plus the​

114.5 employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (b), clause (3);​

114.6 (8) for client programming and supports, the commissioner shall add $2,179; and​

114.7 (9) for transportation, if provided, the commissioner shall add $1,680, or $3,000 if​

114.8 customized for adapted transport, based on the resident with the highest assessed need.​

114.9 (b) The total rate must be calculated using the following steps:​

114.10 (1) subtotal paragraph (a), clauses (7) to (9), and the direct staffing cost of any shared​

114.11 and individual direct staff hours provided through monitoring technology that was excluded​

114.12 in clause (7);​

114.13 (2) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,​

114.14 and the absence and utilization ratio; and​

114.15 (3) divide the result of clause (1) by one minus the result of clause (2). This is the total​

114.16 payment amount; and.​

114.17 (4) adjust the result of clause (3) by a factor to be determined by the commissioner to​

114.18 adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services.​

114.19 (c) The payment methodology for customized living, 24-hour customized living, and​

114.20 residential care services must be the customized living tool. Revisions to the customized​

114.21 living tool must be made to reflect the services and activities unique to disability-related​

114.22 recipient needs.​

114.23 (d) For individuals enrolled prior to January 1, 2014, the days of service authorized must​

114.24 meet or exceed the days of service used to convert service agreements in effect on December​

114.25 1, 2013, and must not result in a reduction in spending or service utilization due to conversion​

114.26 during the implementation period under section 256B.4913, subdivision 4a. If during the​

114.27 implementation period, an individual's historical rate, including adjustments required under​

114.28 section 256B.4913, subdivision 4a, paragraph (c), is equal to or greater than the rate​

114.29 determined in this subdivision, the number of days authorized for the individual is 365.​

114.30 (e) The number of days authorized for all individuals enrolling after January 1, 2014,​

114.31 in residential services must include every day that services start and end.​

114.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022.​
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115.1 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4914, subdivision 7, is amended​

115.2 to read:​

115.3 Subd. 7. Payments for day programs. Payments for services with day programs​

115.4 including adult day care, day treatment and habilitation, prevocational services, and structured​

115.5 day services must be calculated as follows:​

115.6 (1) determine the number of units of service and staffing ratio to meet a recipient's needs:​

115.7 (i) the staffing ratios for the units of service provided to a recipient in a typical week​

115.8 must be averaged to determine an individual's staffing ratio; and​

115.9 (ii) the commissioner, in consultation with service providers, shall develop a uniform​

115.10 staffing ratio worksheet to be used to determine staffing ratios under this subdivision;​

115.11 (2) personnel hourly wage rates must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics​

115.12 Minnesota-specific rates or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision​

115.13 5;​

115.14 (3) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language​

115.15 accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12​

115.16 to the result of clause (2). This is defined as the customized direct-care rate;​

115.17 (4) multiply the number of day program direct staff hours and nursing hours by the​

115.18 appropriate staff wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), or the customized direct-care rate;​

115.19 (5) multiply the number of day direct staff hours by the product of the supervision span​

115.20 of control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (1), and the appropriate supervision​

115.21 wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);​

115.22 (6) combine the results of clauses (4) and (5), and multiply the result by one plus the​

115.23 employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause​

115.24 (2). This is defined as the direct staffing rate;​

115.25 (7) for program plan support, multiply the result of clause (6) by one plus the program​

115.26 plan support ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (4);​

115.27 (8) for employee-related expenses, multiply the result of clause (7) by one plus the​

115.28 employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (3);​

115.29 (9) for client programming and supports, multiply the result of clause (8) by one plus​

115.30 the client programming and support ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (d), clause (5);​

115.31 (10) for program facility costs, add $19.30 per week with consideration of staffing ratios​

115.32 to meet individual needs;​
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116.1 (11) for adult day bath services, add $7.01 per 15 minute unit;​

116.2 (12) this is the subtotal rate;​

116.3 (13) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,​

116.4 and the absence and utilization factor ratio;​

116.5 (14) divide the result of clause (12) by one minus the result of clause (13). This is the​

116.6 total payment amount;​

116.7 (15) adjust the result of clause (14) by a factor to be determined by the commissioner​

116.8 to adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services;​

116.9 (16) (15) for transportation provided as part of day training and habilitation for an​

116.10 individual who does not require a lift, add:​

116.11 (i) $10.50 for a trip between zero and ten miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle without​

116.12 a lift, $8.83 for a shared ride in a vehicle without a lift, and $9.25 for a shared ride in a​

116.13 vehicle with a lift;​

116.14 (ii) $15.75 for a trip between 11 and 20 miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle without​

116.15 a lift, $10.58 for a shared ride in a vehicle without a lift, and $11.88 for a shared ride in a​

116.16 vehicle with a lift;​

116.17 (iii) $25.75 for a trip between 21 and 50 miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle without​

116.18 a lift, $13.92 for a shared ride in a vehicle without a lift, and $16.88 for a shared ride in a​

116.19 vehicle with a lift; or​

116.20 (iv) $33.50 for a trip of 51 miles or more for a nonshared ride in a vehicle without a lift,​

116.21 $16.50 for a shared ride in a vehicle without a lift, and $20.75 for a shared ride in a vehicle​

116.22 with a lift; and​

116.23 (17) (16) for transportation provided as part of day training and habilitation for an​

116.24 individual who does require a lift, add:​

116.25 (i) $19.05 for a trip between zero and ten miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle with a​

116.26 lift, and $15.05 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift;​

116.27 (ii) $32.16 for a trip between 11 and 20 miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle with a​

116.28 lift, and $28.16 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift;​

116.29 (iii) $58.76 for a trip between 21 and 50 miles for a nonshared ride in a vehicle with a​

116.30 lift, and $58.76 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift; or​
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117.1 (iv) $80.93 for a trip of 51 miles or more for a nonshared ride in a vehicle with a lift,​

117.2 and $80.93 for a shared ride in a vehicle with a lift.​

117.3 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022.​

117.4 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4914, subdivision 8, is​

117.5 amended to read:​

117.6 Subd. 8. Payments for unit-based services with programming. Payments for unit-based​

117.7 services with programming, including behavior programming, housing access coordination,​

117.8 in-home family support, independent living skills training, independent living skills specialist​

117.9 services, individualized home supports, hourly supported living services, employment​

117.10 exploration services, employment development services, supported employment, and​

117.11 employment support services provided to an individual outside of any day or residential​

117.12 service plan must be calculated as follows, unless the services are authorized separately​

117.13 under subdivision 6 or 7:​

117.14 (1) determine the number of units of service to meet a recipient's needs;​

117.15 (2) personnel hourly wage rate must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics​

117.16 Minnesota-specific rates or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision​

117.17 5;​

117.18 (3) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language​

117.19 accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12​

117.20 to the result of clause (2). This is defined as the customized direct-care rate;​

117.21 (4) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the appropriate staff wage in subdivision​

117.22 5, paragraph (a), or the customized direct-care rate;​

117.23 (5) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the product of the supervision span of​

117.24 control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (e), clause (1), and the appropriate supervision​

117.25 wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);​

117.26 (6) combine the results of clauses (4) and (5), and multiply the result by one plus the​

117.27 employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (e), clause​

117.28 (2). This is defined as the direct staffing rate;​

117.29 (7) for program plan support, multiply the result of clause (6) by one plus the program​

117.30 plan supports ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (e), clause (4);​

117.31 (8) for employee-related expenses, multiply the result of clause (7) by one plus the​

117.32 employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (e), clause (3);​
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118.1 (9) for client programming and supports, multiply the result of clause (8) by one plus​

118.2 the client programming and supports ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (e), clause (5);​

118.3 (10) this is the subtotal rate;​

118.4 (11) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,​

118.5 and the absence and utilization factor ratio;​

118.6 (12) divide the result of clause (10) by one minus the result of clause (11). This is the​

118.7 total payment amount; and​

118.8 (13) for supported employment provided in a shared manner, divide the total payment​

118.9 amount in clause (12) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed three. For​

118.10 employment support services provided in a shared manner, divide the total payment amount​

118.11 in clause (12) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed six. For independent living​

118.12 skills training and individualized home supports provided in a shared manner, divide the​

118.13 total payment amount in clause (12) by the number of service recipients, not to exceed two;​

118.14 and.​

118.15 (14) adjust the result of clause (13) by a factor to be determined by the commissioner​

118.16 to adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services.​

118.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022.​

118.18 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4914, subdivision 9, is​

118.19 amended to read:​

118.20 Subd. 9. Payments for unit-based services without programming. Payments for​

118.21 unit-based services without programming, including night supervision, personal support,​

118.22 respite, and companion care provided to an individual outside of any day or residential​

118.23 service plan must be calculated as follows unless the services are authorized separately​

118.24 under subdivision 6 or 7:​

118.25 (1) for all services except respite, determine the number of units of service to meet a​

118.26 recipient's needs;​

118.27 (2) personnel hourly wage rates must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics​

118.28 Minnesota-specific rate or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision 5;​

118.29 (3) for a recipient requiring customization for deaf and hard-of-hearing language​

118.30 accessibility under subdivision 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12​

118.31 to the result of clause (2). This is defined as the customized direct care rate;​
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119.1 (4) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the appropriate staff wage in subdivision​

119.2 5 or the customized direct care rate;​

119.3 (5) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the product of the supervision span of​

119.4 control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (f), clause (1), and the appropriate supervision​

119.5 wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);​

119.6 (6) combine the results of clauses (4) and (5), and multiply the result by one plus the​

119.7 employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (f), clause​

119.8 (2). This is defined as the direct staffing rate;​

119.9 (7) for program plan support, multiply the result of clause (6) by one plus the program​

119.10 plan support ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (f), clause (4);​

119.11 (8) for employee-related expenses, multiply the result of clause (7) by one plus the​

119.12 employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (f), clause (3);​

119.13 (9) for client programming and supports, multiply the result of clause (8) by one plus​

119.14 the client programming and support ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (f), clause (5);​

119.15 (10) this is the subtotal rate;​

119.16 (11) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,​

119.17 and the absence and utilization factor ratio;​

119.18 (12) divide the result of clause (10) by one minus the result of clause (11). This is the​

119.19 total payment amount;​

119.20 (13) for respite services, determine the number of day units of service to meet an​

119.21 individual's needs;​

119.22 (14) personnel hourly wage rates must be based on the 2009 Bureau of Labor Statistics​

119.23 Minnesota-specific rate or rates derived by the commissioner as provided in subdivision 5;​

119.24 (15) for a recipient requiring deaf and hard-of-hearing customization under subdivision​

119.25 12, add the customization rate provided in subdivision 12 to the result of clause (14). This​

119.26 is defined as the customized direct care rate;​

119.27 (16) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the appropriate staff wage in subdivision​

119.28 5, paragraph (a);​

119.29 (17) multiply the number of direct staff hours by the product of the supervisory span of​

119.30 control ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (g), clause (1), and the appropriate supervision​

119.31 wage in subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause (21);​
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120.1 (18) combine the results of clauses (16) and (17), and multiply the result by one plus​

120.2 the employee vacation, sick, and training allowance ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (g),​

120.3 clause (2). This is defined as the direct staffing rate;​

120.4 (19) for employee-related expenses, multiply the result of clause (18) by one plus the​

120.5 employee-related cost ratio in subdivision 5, paragraph (g), clause (3);​

120.6 (20) this is the subtotal rate;​

120.7 (21) sum the standard general and administrative rate, the program-related expense ratio,​

120.8 and the absence and utilization factor ratio; and​

120.9 (22) divide the result of clause (20) by one minus the result of clause (21). This is the​

120.10 total payment amount; and.​

120.11 (23) adjust the result of clauses (12) and (22) by a factor to be determined by the​

120.12 commissioner to adjust for regional differences in the cost of providing services.​

120.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2022.​

120.14 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4914, subdivision 10, is​

120.15 amended to read:​

120.16 Subd. 10. Updating payment values and additional information. (a) From January​

120.17 1, 2014, through December 31, 2017, the commissioner shall develop and implement uniform​

120.18 procedures to refine terms and adjust values used to calculate payment rates in this section.​

120.19 (b) No later than July 1, 2014, the commissioner shall, within available resources, begin​

120.20 to conduct research and gather data and information from existing state systems or other​

120.21 outside sources on the following items:​

120.22 (1) differences in the underlying cost to provide services and care across the state; and​

120.23 (2) mileage, vehicle type, lift requirements, incidents of individual and shared rides, and​

120.24 units of transportation for all day services, which must be collected from providers using​

120.25 the rate management worksheet and entered into the rates management system; and​

120.26 (3) the distinct underlying costs for services provided by a license holder under sections​

120.27 245D.05, 245D.06, 245D.07, 245D.071, 245D.081, and 245D.09, and for services provided​

120.28 by a license holder certified under section 245D.33.​

120.29 (c) Beginning January 1, 2014, through December 31, 2018, using a statistically valid​

120.30 set of rates management system data, the commissioner, in consultation with stakeholders,​

120.31 shall analyze for each service the average difference in the rate on December 31, 2013, and​
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121.1 the framework rate at the individual, provider, lead agency, and state levels. The​

121.2 commissioner shall issue semiannual reports to the stakeholders on the difference in rates​

121.3 by service and by county during the banding period under section 256B.4913, subdivision​

121.4 4a. The commissioner shall issue the first report by October 1, 2014, and the final report​

121.5 shall be issued by December 31, 2018.​

121.6 (d) No later than July 1, 2014, the commissioner, in consultation with stakeholders, shall​

121.7 begin the review and evaluation of the following values already in subdivisions 6 to 9, or​

121.8 issues that impact all services, including, but not limited to:​

121.9 (1) values for transportation rates;​

121.10 (2) values for services where monitoring technology replaces staff time;​

121.11 (3) values for indirect services;​

121.12 (4) values for nursing;​

121.13 (5) values for the facility use rate in day services, and the weightings used in the day​

121.14 service ratios and adjustments to those weightings;​

121.15 (6) values for workers' compensation as part of employee-related expenses;​

121.16 (7) values for unemployment insurance as part of employee-related expenses;​

121.17 (8) any changes in state or federal law with a direct impact on the underlying cost of​

121.18 providing home and community-based services; and​

121.19 (9) direct care staff labor market measures; and​

121.20 (10) outcome measures, determined by the commissioner, for home and community-based​

121.21 services rates determined under this section.​

121.22 (e) The commissioner shall report to the chairs and the ranking minority members of​

121.23 the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over health and human services​

121.24 policy and finance with the information and data gathered under paragraphs (b) to (d) on​

121.25 the following dates:​

121.26 (1) January 15, 2015, with preliminary results and data;​

121.27 (2) January 15, 2016, with a status implementation update, and additional data and​

121.28 summary information;​

121.29 (3) January 15, 2017, with the full report; and​

121.30 (4) January 15, 2020, with another full report, and a full report once every four years​

121.31 thereafter.​
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122.1 (f) The commissioner shall implement a regional adjustment factor to all rate calculations​

122.2 in subdivisions 6 to 9, effective no later than January 1, 2015. Beginning July 1, 2017, the​

122.3 commissioner shall renew analysis and implement changes to the regional adjustment factors​

122.4 when adjustments required under subdivision 5, paragraph (h), occur. Prior to​

122.5 implementation, the commissioner shall consult with stakeholders on the methodology to​

122.6 calculate the adjustment.​

122.7 (g) The commissioner shall provide a public notice via LISTSERV in October of each​

122.8 year beginning October 1, 2014, containing information detailing legislatively approved​

122.9 changes in:​

122.10 (1) calculation values including derived wage rates and related employee and​

122.11 administrative factors;​

122.12 (2) service utilization;​

122.13 (3) county and tribal allocation changes; and​

122.14 (4) information on adjustments made to calculation values and the timing of those​

122.15 adjustments.​

122.16 The information in this notice must be effective January 1 of the following year.​

122.17 (h) When the available shared staffing hours in a residential setting are insufficient to​

122.18 meet the needs of an individual who enrolled in residential services after January 1, 2014,​

122.19 or insufficient to meet the needs of an individual with a service agreement adjustment​

122.20 described in section 256B.4913, subdivision 4a, paragraph (f), then individual staffing hours​

122.21 shall be used.​

122.22 (i) The commissioner shall study the underlying cost of absence and utilization for day​

122.23 services. Based on the commissioner's evaluation of the data collected under this paragraph,​

122.24 the commissioner shall make recommendations to the legislature by January 15, 2018, for​

122.25 changes, if any, to the absence and utilization factor ratio component value for day services.​

122.26 (j) Beginning July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall collect transportation and trip​

122.27 information for all day services through the rates management system.​

122.28 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 256B.4914, subdivision 10a, is​

122.29 amended to read:​

122.30 Subd. 10a. Reporting and analysis of cost data. (a) The commissioner must ensure​

122.31 that wage values and component values in subdivisions 5 to 9 reflect the cost to provide the​

122.32 service. As determined by the commissioner, in consultation with stakeholders identified​
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123.1 in section 256B.4913, subdivision 5, a provider enrolled to provide services with rates​

123.2 determined under this section must submit requested cost data to the commissioner to support​

123.3 research on the cost of providing services that have rates determined by the disability waiver​

123.4 rates system. Requested cost data may include, but is not limited to:​

123.5 (1) worker wage costs;​

123.6 (2) benefits paid;​

123.7 (3) supervisor wage costs;​

123.8 (4) executive wage costs;​

123.9 (5) vacation, sick, and training time paid;​

123.10 (6) taxes, workers' compensation, and unemployment insurance costs paid;​

123.11 (7) administrative costs paid;​

123.12 (8) program costs paid;​

123.13 (9) transportation costs paid;​

123.14 (10) vacancy rates; and​

123.15 (11) other data relating to costs required to provide services requested by the​

123.16 commissioner.​

123.17 (b) At least once in any five-year period, a provider must submit cost data for a fiscal​

123.18 year that ended not more than 18 months prior to the submission date. The commissioner​

123.19 shall provide each provider a 90-day notice prior to its submission due date. If a provider​

123.20 fails to submit required reporting data, the commissioner shall provide notice to providers​

123.21 that have not provided required data 30 days after the required submission date, and a second​

123.22 notice for providers who have not provided required data 60 days after the required​

123.23 submission date. The commissioner shall temporarily suspend payments to the provider if​

123.24 cost data is not received 90 days after the required submission date. Withheld payments​

123.25 shall be made once data is received by the commissioner.​

123.26 (c) The commissioner shall conduct a random validation of data submitted under​

123.27 paragraph (a) to ensure data accuracy. The commissioner shall analyze cost documentation​

123.28 in paragraph (a) and provide recommendations for adjustments to cost components.​

123.29 (d) The commissioner shall analyze cost documentation in paragraph (a) and, in​

123.30 consultation with stakeholders identified in section 256B.4913, subdivision 5, may submit​

123.31 recommendations on component values and inflationary factor adjustments to the chairs​
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124.1 and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over human​

124.2 services every four years beginning January 1, 2020. The commissioner shall make​

124.3 recommendations in conjunction with reports submitted to the legislature according to​

124.4 subdivision 10, paragraph (e). The commissioner shall release cost data in an aggregate​

124.5 form, and cost data from individual providers shall not be released except as provided for​

124.6 in current law.​

124.7 (e) The commissioner, in consultation with stakeholders identified in section 256B.4913,​

124.8 subdivision 5, shall develop and implement a process for providing training and technical​

124.9 assistance necessary to support provider submission of cost documentation required under​

124.10 paragraph (a).​

124.11 (f) Beginning January 1, 2019, providers enrolled to provide services with rates​

124.12 determined under this section shall submit labor market data to the commissioner annually,​

124.13 including, but not limited to:​

124.14 (1) number of direct care staff;​

124.15 (2) wages of direct care staff;​

124.16 (3) overtime wages of direct care staff;​

124.17 (4) hours worked by direct care staff;​

124.18 (5) overtime hours worked by direct care staff;​

124.19 (6) benefits provided to direct care staff;​

124.20 (7) direct care staff job vacancies; and​

124.21 (8) direct care staff retention rates.​

124.22 (g) Beginning January 15, 2020, the commissioner shall publish annual reports on​

124.23 provider and state-level labor market data, including, but not limited to:​

124.24 (1) number of direct care staff;​

124.25 (2) wages of direct care staff;​

124.26 (3) overtime wages of direct care staff;​

124.27 (4) hours worked by direct care staff;​

124.28 (5) overtime hours worked by direct care staff;​

124.29 (6) benefits provided to direct care staff;​

124.30 (7) direct care staff job vacancies; and​
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125.1 (8) direct care staff retention rates.​

125.2 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.5012, is amended by adding a subdivision​

125.3 to read:​

125.4 Subd. 18. ICF/DD rate increase effective July 1, 2018; Steele County. Effective July​

125.5 1, 2018, the daily rate for an intermediate care facility for persons with developmental​

125.6 disabilities located in Steele County that is classified as a class B facility and licensed for​

125.7 16 beds is $400. The increase under this subdivision is in addition to any other increase that​

125.8 is effective on July 1, 2018.​

125.9 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256R.53, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

125.10 Subd. 2. Nursing facility facilities in Breckenridge border cities. The operating​

125.11 payment rate of a nonprofit nursing facility that exists on January 1, 2015, is located within​

125.12 the boundaries of the city cities of Breckenridge or Moorhead, and is reimbursed under this​

125.13 chapter, is equal to the greater of:​

125.14 (1) the operating payment rate determined under section 256R.21, subdivision 3; or​

125.15 (2) the median case mix adjusted rates, including comparable rate components as​

125.16 determined by the median case mix adjusted rates, including comparable rate components​

125.17 as determined by the commissioner, for the equivalent case mix indices of the nonprofit​

125.18 nursing facility or facilities located in an adjacent city in another state and in cities contiguous​

125.19 to the adjacent city. The commissioner shall make the comparison required in this subdivision​

125.20 on November 1 of each year and shall apply it to the rates to be effective on the following​

125.21 January 1. The Minnesota facility's operating payment rate with a case mix index of 1.0 is​

125.22 computed by dividing the adjacent city's nursing facility or facilities' median operating​

125.23 payment rate with an index of 1.02 by 1.02. If the adjustments under this subdivision result​

125.24 in a rate that exceeds the limits in section 256R.23, subdivision 5, and whose costs exceed​

125.25 the rate in section 256R.24, subdivision 3, in a given rate year, the facility's rate shall not​

125.26 be subject to the limits in section 256R.23, subdivision 5, and shall not be limited to the​

125.27 rate established in section 256R.24, subdivision 3, for that rate year.​

125.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. The rate increases for a facility located in Moorhead are effective​

125.29 for the rate year beginning January 1, 2020, and annually thereafter.​

125.30 Sec. 16. Laws 2014, chapter 312, article 27, section 76, is amended to read:​

125.31 Sec. 76. DISABILITY WAIVER REIMBURSEMENT RATE ADJUSTMENTS.​
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126.1 Subdivision 1. Historical rate. The commissioner of human services shall adjust the​

126.2 historical rates calculated in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4913, subdivision 4a,​

126.3 paragraph (b), in effect during the banding period under Minnesota Statutes, section​

126.4 256B.4913, subdivision 4a, paragraph (a), for the reimbursement rate increases effective​

126.5 April 1, 2014, and any rate modification enacted during the 2014 legislative session.​

126.6 Subd. 2. Residential support services. The commissioner of human services shall adjust​

126.7 the rates calculated in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4914, subdivision 6, paragraphs​

126.8 (b), clause (4), and (c), for the reimbursement rate increases effective April 1, 2014, and​

126.9 any rate modification enacted during the 2014 legislative session.​

126.10 Subd. 3. Day programs. The commissioner of human services shall adjust the rates​

126.11 calculated in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4914, subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clauses​

126.12 (15) to (17), for the reimbursement rate increases effective April 1, 2014, and any rate​

126.13 modification enacted during the 2014 legislative session.​

126.14 Subd. 4. Unit-based services with programming. The commissioner of human services​

126.15 shall adjust the rate calculated in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4914, subdivision 8,​

126.16 paragraph (a), clause (14), for the reimbursement rate increases effective April 1, 2014, and​

126.17 any rate modification enacted during the 2014 legislative session.​

126.18 Subd. 5. Unit-based services without programming. The commissioner of human​

126.19 services shall adjust the rate calculated in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4914, subdivision​

126.20 9, paragraph (a), clause (23), for the reimbursement rate increases effective April 1, 2014,​

126.21 and any rate modification enacted during the 2014 legislative session.​

126.22 Sec. 17. Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 6, article 3, section 49, is amended to​

126.23 read:​

126.24 Sec. 49. ELECTRONIC SERVICE DELIVERY DOCUMENTATION SYSTEM​

126.25 VISIT VERIFICATION.​

126.26 Subdivision 1. Documentation; establishment. The commissioner of human services​

126.27 shall establish implementation requirements and standards for an electronic service delivery​

126.28 documentation system visit verification to comply with the 21st Century Cures Act, Public​

126.29 Law 114-255. Within available appropriations, the commissioner shall take steps to comply​

126.30 with the electronic visit verification requirements in the 21st Century Cures Act, Public​

126.31 Law 114-255.​

126.32 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms in this subdivision have​

126.33 the meanings given them.​
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127.1 (b) "Electronic service delivery documentation visit verification" means the electronic​

127.2 documentation of the:​

127.3 (1) type of service performed;​

127.4 (2) individual receiving the service;​

127.5 (3) date of the service;​

127.6 (4) location of the service delivery;​

127.7 (5) individual providing the service; and​

127.8 (6) time the service begins and ends.​

127.9 (c) "Electronic service delivery documentation visit verification system" means a system​

127.10 that provides electronic service delivery documentation verification of services that complies​

127.11 with the 21st Century Cures Act, Public Law 114-255, and the requirements of subdivision​

127.12 3.​

127.13 (d) "Service" means one of the following:​

127.14 (1) personal care assistance services as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0625,​

127.15 subdivision 19a, and provided according to Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0659; or​

127.16 (2) community first services and supports under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.85;​

127.17 (3) home health services under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0625, subdivision 6a;​

127.18 or​

127.19 (4) other medical supplies and equipment or home and community-based services that​

127.20 are required to be electronically verified by the 21st Century Cures Act, Public Law 114-255.​

127.21 Subd. 3. Requirements. (a) In developing implementation requirements for an electronic​

127.22 service delivery documentation system visit verification, the commissioner shall consider​

127.23 electronic visit verification systems and other electronic service delivery documentation​

127.24 methods. The commissioner shall convene stakeholders that will be impacted by an electronic​

127.25 service delivery system, including service providers and their representatives, service​

127.26 recipients and their representatives, and, as appropriate, those with expertise in the​

127.27 development and operation of an electronic service delivery documentation system, to ensure​

127.28 that the requirements:​

127.29 (1) are minimally administratively and financially burdensome to a provider;​

127.30 (2) are minimally burdensome to the service recipient and the least disruptive to the​

127.31 service recipient in receiving and maintaining allowed services;​
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128.1 (3) consider existing best practices and use of electronic service delivery documentation​

128.2 visit verification;​

128.3 (4) are conducted according to all state and federal laws;​

128.4 (5) are effective methods for preventing fraud when balanced against the requirements​

128.5 of clauses (1) and (2); and​

128.6 (6) are consistent with the Department of Human Services' policies related to covered​

128.7 services, flexibility of service use, and quality assurance.​

128.8 (b) The commissioner shall make training available to providers on the electronic service​

128.9 delivery documentation visit verification system requirements.​

128.10 (c) The commissioner shall establish baseline measurements related to preventing fraud​

128.11 and establish measures to determine the effect of electronic service delivery documentation​

128.12 visit verification requirements on program integrity.​

128.13 (d) The commissioner shall make a state-selected electronic visit verification system​

128.14 available to providers of services. Providers of services may select their own electronic visit​

128.15 verification system that meets the requirements established by the commissioner.​

128.16 (e) All electronic visit verification systems used by providers to comply with the​

128.17 requirements established by the commissioner must provide data to the commissioner in a​

128.18 format and at a frequency to be established by the commissioner.​

128.19 Subd. 4. Legislative report. (a) The commissioner shall submit a report by January 15,​

128.20 2018, to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with​

128.21 jurisdiction over human services with recommendations, based on the requirements of​

128.22 subdivision 3, to establish electronic service delivery documentation system requirements​

128.23 and standards. The report shall identify:​

128.24 (1) the essential elements necessary to operationalize a base-level electronic service​

128.25 delivery documentation system to be implemented by January 1, 2019; and​

128.26 (2) enhancements to the base-level electronic service delivery documentation system to​

128.27 be implemented by January 1, 2019, or after, with projected operational costs and the costs​

128.28 and benefits for system enhancements.​

128.29 (b) The report must also identify current regulations on service providers that are either​

128.30 inefficient, minimally effective, or will be unnecessary with the implementation of an​

128.31 electronic service delivery documentation system.​

128.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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129.1 Sec. 18. COMPETITIVE WORKFORCE SUSTAINABILITY GRANTS.​

129.2 Subdivision 1. Establishment; eligibility. The commissioner of human services shall​

129.3 establish competitive workforce sustainability grants for providers reimbursed under​

129.4 Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4914.​

129.5 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have the​

129.6 meanings given in this subdivision.​

129.7 (b) "Provider" means a provider of services with rates determined under Minnesota​

129.8 Statutes, section 256B.4914, that has:​

129.9 (1) a unique Minnesota provider identifier or national provider identifier; and​

129.10 (2) revenues from unbanded services for the period beginning July 1, 2018, and ending​

129.11 on January 31, 2019, that are ten percent or more of its total revenues from all services with​

129.12 rates determined under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4914, for that same period.​

129.13 (c) "Unbanded services" means services with rates determined under Minnesota Statutes,​

129.14 section 256B.4914, that are not banded under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4913.​

129.15 Subd. 3. Applications. Eligible providers must apply to the commissioner of human​

129.16 services on the forms and according to the timelines established by the commissioner.​

129.17 Subd. 4. Grant awards. The commissioner may award grants in an amount up to 7.1​

129.18 percent of the total revenues generated from unbanded services delivered by a provider​

129.19 during the period beginning July 1, 2018, and ending January 31, 2019.​

129.20 Sec. 19. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; PRESCRIBED PEDIATRIC​

129.21 EXTENDED CARE.​

129.22 No later than August 15, 2018, the commissioner of human services shall submit to the​

129.23 federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services any medical assistance state plan​

129.24 amendments necessary to cover prescribed pediatric extended care center basic services​

129.25 according to Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0625, subdivision 65.​

129.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

129.27 Sec. 20. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; BI AND CADI WAIVER​

129.28 CUSTOMIZED LIVING SERVICES PROVIDER LOCATED IN HENNEPIN​

129.29 COUNTY.​

129.30 (a) The commissioner of human services shall allow a housing with services establishment​

129.31 located in Minneapolis that provides customized living and 24-hour customized living​
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130.1 services for clients enrolled in the brain injury (BI) or community access for disability​

130.2 inclusion (CADI) waiver and had a capacity to serve 66 clients as of July 1, 2017, to transfer​

130.3 service capacity of up to 66 clients to no more than three new housing with services​

130.4 establishments located in Hennepin County.​

130.5 (b) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.492, the commissioner shall​

130.6 determine the new housing with services establishments described under paragraph (a) meet​

130.7 the BI and CADI waiver customized living and 24-hour customized living size limitation​

130.8 exception for clients receiving those services at the new housing with services establishments​

130.9 described under paragraph (a).​

130.10 Sec. 21. DIRECTION TO COMMISSIONER; HOME AND COMMUNITY-BASED​

130.11 SERVICES FEDERAL WAIVER SUBMISSION.​

130.12 No later than July 1, 2018, the commissioner of human services shall submit to the​

130.13 federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid services any home and community-based services​

130.14 waivers necessary to implement the changes to the disability waiver rate system under​

130.15 Minnesota Statutes, sections 256B.4913 and 256B.4914. The priorities for submittal to the​

130.16 federal Centers for Medicare and Medicaid services are as follows:​

130.17 (1) first priority for submittal are the changes related to the transition to the new​

130.18 employment services and the establishment of the competitive workforce factor; and​

130.19 (2) second priority for submittal are the changes related to the inflationary adjustments,​

130.20 removal of the regional variance factor, and changes to the reporting requirements.​

130.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

130.22 Sec. 22. REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.​

130.23 The revisor of statutes shall codify Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 6, article​

130.24 3, section 49, as amended in this article, in Minnesota Statutes, chapter 256B.​

130.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

130.26 Sec. 23.  REPEALER.​

130.27 Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0705, is repealed.​

130.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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131.1 ARTICLE 6​

131.2 PROTECTIONS FOR OLDER ADULTS AND VULNERABLE ADULTS​

131.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.651, subdivision 20, is amended to read:​

131.4 Subd. 20. Grievances. Patients and residents shall be encouraged and assisted, throughout​

131.5 their stay in a facility or their course of treatment, to understand and exercise their rights​

131.6 as patients, residents, and citizens. Patients and residents may voice grievances and,​

131.7 recommend changes in policies and services to facility staff and others of their choice, and​

131.8 otherwise exercise their rights under this section free from restraint, interference, coercion,​

131.9 discrimination, or reprisal, including threat of discharge. Notice of the grievance procedure​

131.10 of the facility or program, as well as addresses and telephone numbers for the Office of​

131.11 Health Facility Complaints and the area nursing home ombudsman pursuant to the Older​

131.12 Americans Act, section 307(a)(12) shall be posted in a conspicuous place.​

131.13 Every acute care inpatient facility, every residential program as defined in section​

131.14 253C.01, every nonacute care facility, and every facility employing more than two people​

131.15 that provides outpatient mental health services shall have a written internal grievance​

131.16 procedure that, at a minimum, sets forth the process to be followed; specifies time limits,​

131.17 including time limits for facility response; provides for the patient or resident to have the​

131.18 assistance of an advocate; requires a written response to written grievances; and provides​

131.19 for a timely decision by an impartial decision maker if the grievance is not otherwise resolved.​

131.20 Compliance by hospitals, residential programs as defined in section 253C.01 which are​

131.21 hospital-based primary treatment programs, and outpatient surgery centers with section​

131.22 144.691 and compliance by health maintenance organizations with section 62D.11 is deemed​

131.23 to be compliance with the requirement for a written internal grievance procedure.​

131.24 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 144A.10, subdivision 4, is amended​

131.25 to read:​

131.26 Subd. 4. Correction orders. Whenever a duly authorized representative of the​

131.27 commissioner of health finds upon inspection of a nursing home, that the facility or a​

131.28 controlling person or an employee of the facility is not in compliance with sections 144.411​

131.29 to 144.417, 144.651, 144.6503, 144A.01 to 144A.155, or 626.557 or the rules promulgated​

131.30 thereunder, a correction order shall be issued to the facility. The correction order shall state​

131.31 the deficiency, cite the specific rule or statute violated, state the suggested method of​

131.32 correction, and specify recommend the time allowed for correction. Upon receipt of a​

131.33 correction order, a facility shall develop and submit to the commissioner a corrective action​

131​Article 6 Sec. 2.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



132.1 plan based on the correction order. The corrective action plan must specify the steps the​

132.2 facility will take to correct the violation and to prevent such violations in the future, how​

132.3 the facility will monitor its compliance with the corrective action plan, and when the facility​

132.4 plans to complete the steps in the corrective action plan. The commissioner is presumed to​

132.5 accept a corrective action plan unless the commissioner notifies the submitting facility that​

132.6 the plan is not accepted within 15 calendar days after the plan is submitted to the​

132.7 commissioner. The commissioner shall monitor the facility's compliance with the corrective​

132.8 action plan. If the commissioner finds that the nursing home had uncorrected or repeated​

132.9 violations which create a risk to resident care, safety, or rights, the commissioner shall notify​

132.10 the commissioner of human services.​

132.11 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.44, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

132.12 Subdivision 1. Statement of rights. A person who receives home care services has these​

132.13 rights:​

132.14 (1) the right to receive written information about rights before receiving services,​

132.15 including what to do if rights are violated;​

132.16 (2) the right to receive care and services according to a suitable and up-to-date plan, and​

132.17 subject to accepted health care, medical or nursing standards, to take an active part in​

132.18 developing, modifying, and evaluating the plan and services;​

132.19 (3) the right to be told before receiving services the type and disciplines of staff who​

132.20 will be providing the services, the frequency of visits proposed to be furnished, other choices​

132.21 that are available for addressing home care needs, and the potential consequences of refusing​

132.22 these services;​

132.23 (4) the right to be told in advance of any recommended changes by the provider in the​

132.24 service plan and to take an active part in any decisions about changes to the service plan;​

132.25 (5) the right to refuse services or treatment;​

132.26 (6) the right to know, before receiving services or during the initial visit, any limits to​

132.27 the services available from a home care provider;​

132.28 (7) the right to be told before services are initiated what the provider charges for the​

132.29 services; to what extent payment may be expected from health insurance, public programs,​

132.30 or other sources, if known; and what charges the client may be responsible for paying;​
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133.1 (8) the right to know that there may be other services available in the community,​

133.2 including other home care services and providers, and to know where to find information​

133.3 about these services;​

133.4 (9) the right to choose freely among available providers and to change providers after​

133.5 services have begun, within the limits of health insurance, long-term care insurance, medical​

133.6 assistance, or other health programs;​

133.7 (10) the right to have personal, financial, and medical information kept private, and to​

133.8 be advised of the provider's policies and procedures regarding disclosure of such information;​

133.9 (11) the right to access the client's own records and written information from those​

133.10 records in accordance with sections 144.291 to 144.298;​

133.11 (12) the right to be served by people who are properly trained and competent to perform​

133.12 their duties;​

133.13 (13) the right to be treated with courtesy and respect, and to have the client's property​

133.14 treated with respect;​

133.15 (14) the right to be free from physical and verbal abuse, neglect, financial exploitation,​

133.16 and all forms of maltreatment covered under the Vulnerable Adults Act and the Maltreatment​

133.17 of Minors Act;​

133.18 (15) the right to reasonable, advance notice of changes in services or charges;​

133.19 (16) the right to know the provider's reason for termination of services;​

133.20 (17) the right to at least ten days' advance notice of the termination of a service by a​

133.21 provider, except in cases where:​

133.22 (i) the client engages in conduct that significantly alters the terms of the service plan​

133.23 with the home care provider;​

133.24 (ii) the client, person who lives with the client, or others create an abusive or unsafe​

133.25 work environment for the person providing home care services; or​

133.26 (iii) an emergency or a significant change in the client's condition has resulted in service​

133.27 needs that exceed the current service plan and that cannot be safely met by the home care​

133.28 provider;​

133.29 (18) the right to a coordinated transfer when there will be a change in the provider of​

133.30 services;​

133​Article 6 Sec. 3.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



134.1 (19) the right to complain about services that are provided, or fail to be provided, and​

134.2 the lack of courtesy or respect to the client or the client's property;​

134.3 (20) the right to recommend changes in policies and services to the home care provider,​

134.4 provider staff, and others of the person's choice, free from restraint, interference, coercion,​

134.5 discrimination, or reprisal, including threat of termination of services;​

134.6 (20) (21) the right to know how to contact an individual associated with the home care​

134.7 provider who is responsible for handling problems and to have the home care provider​

134.8 investigate and attempt to resolve the grievance or complaint;​

134.9 (21) (22) the right to know the name and address of the state or county agency to contact​

134.10 for additional information or assistance; and​

134.11 (22) (23) the right to assert these rights personally, or have them asserted by the client's​

134.12 representative or by anyone on behalf of the client, without retaliation.​

134.13 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.473, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

134.14 Subd. 2. Temporary license. (a) For new license applicants, the commissioner shall​

134.15 issue a temporary license for either the basic or comprehensive home care level. A temporary​

134.16 license is effective for up to one year from the date of issuance. Temporary licensees must​

134.17 comply with sections 144A.43 to 144A.482.​

134.18 (b) During the temporary license year period, the commissioner shall survey the temporary​

134.19 licensee within 90 days after the commissioner is notified or has evidence that the temporary​

134.20 licensee is providing home care services.​

134.21 (c) Within five days of beginning the provision of services, the temporary licensee must​

134.22 notify the commissioner that it is serving clients. The notification to the commissioner may​

134.23 be mailed or e-mailed to the commissioner at the address provided by the commissioner. If​

134.24 the temporary licensee does not provide home care services during the temporary license​

134.25 year period, then the temporary license expires at the end of the year period and the applicant​

134.26 must reapply for a temporary home care license.​

134.27 (d) A temporary licensee may request a change in the level of licensure prior to being​

134.28 surveyed and granted a license by notifying the commissioner in writing and providing​

134.29 additional documentation or materials required to update or complete the changed temporary​

134.30 license application. The applicant must pay the difference between the application fees​

134.31 when changing from the basic level to the comprehensive level of licensure. No refund will​

134.32 be made if the provider chooses to change the license application to the basic level.​
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135.1 (e) If the temporary licensee notifies the commissioner that the licensee has clients within​

135.2 45 days prior to the temporary license expiration, the commissioner may extend the temporary​

135.3 license for up to 60 days in order to allow the commissioner to complete the on-site survey​

135.4 required under this section and follow-up survey visits.​

135.5 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.474, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

135.6 Subd. 2. Types of home care surveys. (a) "Initial full survey" means the survey of a​

135.7 new temporary licensee conducted after the department is notified or has evidence that the​

135.8 temporary licensee is providing home care services to determine if the provider is in​

135.9 compliance with home care requirements. Initial full surveys must be completed within 14​

135.10 months after the department's issuance of a temporary basic or comprehensive license.​

135.11 (b) "Change in ownership survey" means a full survey of a new licensee due to a change​

135.12 in ownership. Change in ownership surveys must be completed within six months after the​

135.13 department's issuance of a new license due to a change in ownership.​

135.14 (c) "Core survey" means periodic inspection of home care providers to determine ongoing​

135.15 compliance with the home care requirements, focusing on the essential health and safety​

135.16 requirements. Core surveys are available to licensed home care providers who have been​

135.17 licensed for three years and surveyed at least once in the past three years with the latest​

135.18 survey having no widespread violations beyond Level 1 as provided in subdivision 11.​

135.19 Providers must also not have had any substantiated licensing complaints, substantiated​

135.20 complaints against the agency under the Vulnerable Adults Act or Maltreatment of Minors​

135.21 Act, or an enforcement action as authorized in section 144A.475 in the past three years.​

135.22 (1) The core survey for basic home care providers must review compliance in the​

135.23 following areas:​

135.24 (i) reporting of maltreatment;​

135.25 (ii) orientation to and implementation of the home care bill of rights;​

135.26 (iii) statement of home care services;​

135.27 (iv) initial evaluation of clients and initiation of services;​

135.28 (v) client review and monitoring;​

135.29 (vi) service plan implementation and changes to the service plan;​

135.30 (vii) client complaint and investigative process;​

135.31 (viii) competency of unlicensed personnel; and​
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136.1 (ix) infection control.​

136.2 (2) For comprehensive home care providers, the core survey must include everything​

136.3 in the basic core survey plus these areas:​

136.4 (i) delegation to unlicensed personnel;​

136.5 (ii) assessment, monitoring, and reassessment of clients; and​

136.6 (iii) medication, treatment, and therapy management.​

136.7 (c) (d) "Full survey" means the periodic inspection of home care providers to determine​

136.8 ongoing compliance with the home care requirements that cover the core survey areas and​

136.9 all the legal requirements for home care providers. A full survey is conducted for all​

136.10 temporary licensees and for providers who do not meet the requirements needed for a core​

136.11 survey, and when a surveyor identifies unacceptable client health or safety risks during a​

136.12 core survey. A full survey must include all the tasks identified as part of the core survey​

136.13 and any additional review deemed necessary by the department, including additional​

136.14 observation, interviewing, or records review of additional clients and staff.​

136.15 (d) (e) "Follow-up surveys" means surveys conducted to determine if a home care​

136.16 provider has corrected deficient issues and systems identified during a core survey, full​

136.17 survey, or complaint investigation. Follow-up surveys may be conducted via phone, e-mail,​

136.18 fax, mail, or on-site reviews. Follow-up surveys, other than complaint surveys, shall be​

136.19 concluded with an exit conference and written information provided on the process for​

136.20 requesting a reconsideration of the survey results.​

136.21 (e) (f) Upon receiving information alleging that a home care provider has violated or is​

136.22 currently violating a requirement of sections 144A.43 to 144A.482, the commissioner shall​

136.23 investigate the complaint according to sections 144A.51 to 144A.54.​

136.24 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.474, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

136.25 Subd. 8. Correction orders. (a) A correction order may be issued whenever the​

136.26 commissioner finds upon survey or during a complaint investigation that a home care​

136.27 provider, a managerial official, or an employee of the provider is not in compliance with​

136.28 sections 144A.43 to 144A.482. The correction order shall cite the specific statute and​

136.29 document areas of noncompliance and the time allowed for correction.​

136.30 (b) The commissioner shall mail copies of any correction order to the last known address​

136.31 of the home care provider, or electronically scan the correction order and e-mail it to the​

136.32 last known home care provider e-mail address, within 30 calendar days after the survey exit​
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137.1 date. A copy of each correction order and copies of any documentation supplied to the​

137.2 commissioner shall be kept on file by the home care provider, and public documents shall​

137.3 be made available for viewing by any person upon request. Copies may be kept electronically.​

137.4 (c) By the correction order date, the home care provider must document in the provider's​

137.5 records any action taken to comply with the correction order. The commissioner may request​

137.6 a copy of this documentation and the home care provider's action to respond to the correction​

137.7 order in future surveys, upon a complaint investigation, and as otherwise needed develop​

137.8 and submit to the commissioner a corrective action plan based on the correction order. The​

137.9 corrective action plan must specify the steps the provider will take to comply with the​

137.10 correction order and how to prevent noncompliance in the future, how the provider will​

137.11 monitor its compliance with the corrective action plan, and when the provider plans to​

137.12 complete the steps in the corrective action plan. The commissioner is presumed to accept​

137.13 a corrective action plan unless the commissioner notifies the submitting home care provider​

137.14 that the plan is not accepted within 15 calendar days after the plan is submitted to the​

137.15 commissioner. The commissioner shall monitor the provider's compliance with the corrective​

137.16 action plan.​

137.17 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.53, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

137.18 Subdivision 1. Powers. The director may:​

137.19 (a) Promulgate by rule, pursuant to chapter 14, and within the limits set forth in​

137.20 subdivision 2, the methods by which complaints against health facilities, health care​

137.21 providers, home care providers, or residential care homes, or administrative agencies are​

137.22 to be made, reviewed, investigated, and acted upon; provided, however, that a fee may not​

137.23 be charged for filing a complaint.​

137.24 (b) Recommend legislation and changes in rules to the state commissioner of health,​

137.25 governor, administrative agencies or the federal government.​

137.26 (c) Investigate, upon a complaint or upon initiative of the director, any action or failure​

137.27 to act by a health care provider, home care provider, residential care home, or a health​

137.28 facility.​

137.29 (d) Request and receive access to relevant information, records, incident reports, or​

137.30 documents in the possession of an administrative agency, a health care provider, a home​

137.31 care provider, a residential care home, or a health facility, and issue investigative subpoenas​

137.32 to individuals and facilities for oral information and written information, including privileged​

137.33 information which the director deems necessary for the discharge of responsibilities. For​
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138.1 purposes of investigation and securing information to determine violations, the director​

138.2 need not present a release, waiver, or consent of an individual. The identities of patients or​

138.3 residents must be kept private as defined by section 13.02, subdivision 12.​

138.4 (e) Enter and inspect, at any time, a health facility or residential care home and be​

138.5 permitted to interview staff; provided that the director shall not unduly interfere with or​

138.6 disturb the provision of care and services within the facility or home or the activities of a​

138.7 patient or resident unless the patient or resident consents.​

138.8 (f) Issue correction orders and assess civil fines for all licensing violations or maltreatment​

138.9 determinations, including licensing violations or maltreatment determinations identified in​

138.10 the appeals or review process following final disposition of a maltreatment report or issuance​

138.11 of a citation for a licensing violation. Correction orders shall be issued and civil penalties​

138.12 shall be assessed pursuant to section 144.653 or any other law which provides for the issuance​

138.13 of correction orders to health facilities or home care provider, or under section 144A.45. A​

138.14 facility's or home's refusal to cooperate in providing lawfully requested information may​

138.15 also be grounds for a correction order.​

138.16 (g) Recommend the certification or decertification of health facilities pursuant to Title​

138.17 XVIII or XIX of the United States Social Security Act.​

138.18 (h) Assist patients or residents of health facilities or residential care homes in the​

138.19 enforcement of their rights under Minnesota law.​

138.20 (i) Work with administrative agencies, health facilities, home care providers, residential​

138.21 care homes, and health care providers and organizations representing consumers on programs​

138.22 designed to provide information about health facilities to the public and to health facility​

138.23 residents.​

138.24 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.53, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

138.25 read:​

138.26 Subd. 5. Safety and quality improvement technical panel. The director shall establish​

138.27 an expert technical panel to examine and make recommendations, on an ongoing basis, on​

138.28 how to apply proven safety and quality improvement practices and infrastructure to settings​

138.29 and providers that provide long-term services and supports. The technical panel must include​

138.30 representation from nonprofit Minnesota-based organizations dedicated to patient safety or​

138.31 innovation in health care safety and quality, Department of Health staff with expertise in​

138.32 issues related to adverse health events, the University of Minnesota, organizations​

138.33 representing long-term care providers and home care providers in Minnesota, national patient​
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139.1 safety experts, and other experts in the safety and quality improvement field. The technical​

139.2 panel shall periodically provide recommendations to the legislature on legislative changes​

139.3 needed to promote safety and quality improvement practices in long-term care settings and​

139.4 with long-term care providers.​

139.5 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.53, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

139.6 read:​

139.7 Subd. 6. Training and operations panel. (a) The director shall establish a training and​

139.8 operations panel within the Office of Health Facility Complaints to examine and make​

139.9 recommendations, on an ongoing basis, on continual improvements to the operation of the​

139.10 office. The training and operations panel shall be composed of office staff, including​

139.11 investigators and intake and triage staff, one or more representatives of the commissioner's​

139.12 office, and employees from any other divisions in the Department of Health with relevant​

139.13 knowledge or expertise. The training and operations panel may also consult with employees​

139.14 from other agencies in state government with relevant knowledge or expertise.​

139.15 (b) The training and operations panel shall examine and make recommendations to the​

139.16 director and the commissioner regarding introducing or refining office systems, procedures,​

139.17 and staff training in order to improve office and staff efficiency; enhance communications​

139.18 between the office, health care facilities, home care providers, and residents or clients; and​

139.19 provide for appropriate, effective protection for vulnerable adults through rigorous​

139.20 investigations and enforcement of laws. Panel duties include but are not limited to:​

139.21 (1) developing the office's training processes to adequately prepare and support​

139.22 investigators in performing their duties;​

139.23 (2) developing clear, consistent internal policies for conducting investigations as required​

139.24 by federal law, including policies to ensure staff meet the deadlines in state and federal laws​

139.25 for triaging, investigating, and making final dispositions of cases involving maltreatment,​

139.26 and procedures for notifying the vulnerable adult, reporter, and facility of any delays in​

139.27 investigations; communicating these policies to staff in a clear, timely manner; and​

139.28 developing procedures to evaluate and modify these internal policies on an ongoing basis;​

139.29 (3) developing and refining quality control measures for the intake and triage processes,​

139.30 through such practices as reviewing a random sample of the triage decisions made in case​

139.31 reports or auditing a random sample of the case files to ensure the proper information is​

139.32 being collected, the files are being properly maintained, and consistent triage and​

139.33 investigations determinations are being made;​
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140.1 (4) developing and maintaining systems and procedures to accurately determine the​

140.2 situations in which the office has jurisdiction over a maltreatment allegation;​

140.3 (5) developing and maintaining audit procedures for investigations, to ensure investigators​

140.4 obtain and document information necessary to support decisions;​

140.5 (6) developing and maintaining procedures to, following a maltreatment determination,​

140.6 clearly communicate the appeal or review rights of all parties upon final disposition;​

140.7 (7) continuously upgrading the information on and utility of the office's Web site through​

140.8 such steps as providing clear, detailed information about the appeal or review rights of​

140.9 vulnerable adults, alleged perpetrators, and providers and facilities; and​

140.10 (8) publishing, in coordination with other areas at the Department of Health and in the​

140.11 manner that does not duplicate information already published by the Department of Health,​

140.12 the public portions of all investigation memoranda prepared by the commissioner of health​

140.13 in the past three years under section 626.557, subdivision 12b, and the public portions of​

140.14 all final orders in the past three years related to licensing violations under this chapter. These​

140.15 memoranda and orders must be published in a manner that allows consumers to search​

140.16 memoranda and orders by facility or provider name and by the physical location of the​

140.17 facility or provider.​

140.18 Sec. 10. [144D.044] INFORMATION REQUIRED TO BE POSTED.​

140.19 A housing with services establishment must post conspicuously within the establishment,​

140.20 in a location accessible to public view, the following information:​

140.21 (1) the name and mailing address of the current owner or owners of the establishment​

140.22 and, if the owner or owners are not natural persons, identification of the type of business​

140.23 entity of the owner or owners;​

140.24 (2) the name and mailing address of the managing agent, through management agreement​

140.25 or lease agreement, of the establishment, if different from the owner or owners, and the​

140.26 name of the on-site manager, if any; and​

140.27 (3) the name and mailing address of at least one natural person who is authorized to​

140.28 accept service of process on behalf of the owner or owners and managing agent.​

140.29 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 626.557, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

140.30 Subd. 5. Immunity; protection for reporters. (a) A person who makes a good faith​

140.31 report is immune from any civil or criminal liability that might otherwise result from making​
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141.1 the report, or from participating in the investigation, or for failure to comply fully with the​

141.2 reporting obligation under section 609.234 or 626.557, subdivision 7.​

141.3 (b) A person employed by a lead investigative agency or a state licensing agency who​

141.4 is conducting or supervising an investigation or enforcing the law in compliance with this​

141.5 section or any related rule or provision of law is immune from any civil or criminal liability​

141.6 that might otherwise result from the person's actions, if the person is acting in good faith​

141.7 and exercising due care.​

141.8 (c) A person who knows or has reason to know a report has been made to a common​

141.9 entry point and who in good faith participates in an investigation of alleged maltreatment​

141.10 is immune from civil or criminal liability that otherwise might result from making the report,​

141.11 or from failure to comply with the reporting obligation or from participating in the​

141.12 investigation.​

141.13 (d) The identity of any reporter may not be disclosed, except as provided in subdivision​

141.14 subdivisions 9c and 12b.​

141.15 (e) For purposes of this subdivision, "person" includes a natural person or any form of​

141.16 a business or legal entity.​

141.17 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 626.557, subdivision 9c, is amended to read:​

141.18 Subd. 9c. Lead investigative agency; notifications, dispositions, determinations. (a)​

141.19 Upon request of the reporter, The lead investigative agency shall notify the reporter that it​

141.20 has received the report, and provide information on the initial disposition of the report within​

141.21 five business days of receipt of the report, provided that the notification will not endanger​

141.22 the vulnerable adult or hamper the investigation. If a vulnerable adult who is the subject of​

141.23 the report, or the vulnerable adult's guardian or health care agent, so inquires, the lead​

141.24 investigative agency shall disclose to the person who inquired whether the lead investigative​

141.25 agency has received a report from a facility regarding maltreatment of the vulnerable adult.​

141.26 (b) Upon conclusion of every investigation it conducts, the lead investigative agency​

141.27 shall make a final disposition as defined in section 626.5572, subdivision 8.​

141.28 (c) When determining whether the facility or individual is the responsible party for​

141.29 substantiated maltreatment or whether both the facility and the individual are responsible​

141.30 for substantiated maltreatment, the lead investigative agency shall consider at least the​

141.31 following mitigating factors:​

141.32 (1) whether the actions of the facility or the individual caregivers were in accordance​

141.33 with, and followed the terms of, an erroneous physician order, prescription, resident care​
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142.1 plan, or directive. This is not a mitigating factor when the facility or caregiver is responsible​

142.2 for the issuance of the erroneous order, prescription, plan, or directive or knows or should​

142.3 have known of the errors and took no reasonable measures to correct the defect before​

142.4 administering care;​

142.5 (2) the comparative responsibility between the facility, other caregivers, and requirements​

142.6 placed upon the employee, including but not limited to, the facility's compliance with related​

142.7 regulatory standards and factors such as the adequacy of facility policies and procedures,​

142.8 the adequacy of facility training, the adequacy of an individual's participation in the training,​

142.9 the adequacy of caregiver supervision, the adequacy of facility staffing levels, and a​

142.10 consideration of the scope of the individual employee's authority; and​

142.11 (3) whether the facility or individual followed professional standards in exercising​

142.12 professional judgment.​

142.13 (d) When substantiated maltreatment is determined to have been committed by an​

142.14 individual who is also the facility license holder, both the individual and the facility must​

142.15 be determined responsible for the maltreatment, and both the background study​

142.16 disqualification standards under section 245C.15, subdivision 4, and the licensing actions​

142.17 under section 245A.06 or 245A.07 apply.​

142.18 (e) The lead investigative agency shall complete its final disposition within 60 calendar​

142.19 days. If the lead investigative agency is unable to complete its final disposition within 60​

142.20 calendar days, the lead investigative agency shall notify the following persons provided​

142.21 that the notification will not endanger the vulnerable adult or hamper the investigation: (1)​

142.22 the vulnerable adult or the vulnerable adult's guardian or health care agent, when known,​

142.23 if the lead investigative agency knows them to be aware of the investigation; and (2) the​

142.24 facility, where applicable; and (3) the reporter. The notice shall contain the reason for the​

142.25 delay and the projected completion date. If the lead investigative agency is unable to complete​

142.26 its final disposition by a subsequent projected completion date, the lead investigative agency​

142.27 shall again notify the vulnerable adult or the vulnerable adult's guardian or health care agent,​

142.28 when known if the lead investigative agency knows them to be aware of the investigation,​

142.29 and; the facility, where applicable; and the reporter, of the reason for the delay and the​

142.30 revised projected completion date provided that the notification will not endanger the​

142.31 vulnerable adult or hamper the investigation. The lead investigative agency must notify the​

142.32 health care agent of the vulnerable adult only if the health care agent's authority to make​

142.33 health care decisions for the vulnerable adult is currently effective under section 145C.06​

142.34 and not suspended under section 524.5-310 and the investigation relates to a duty assigned​

142.35 to the health care agent by the principal. A lead investigative agency's inability to complete​
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143.1 the final disposition within 60 calendar days or by any projected completion date does not​

143.2 invalidate the final disposition.​

143.3 (f) Within ten calendar days of completing the final disposition, the lead investigative​

143.4 agency shall provide a copy of the public investigation memorandum under subdivision​

143.5 12b, paragraph (b), clause (1), when required to be completed under this section, to the​

143.6 following persons: (1) the vulnerable adult, or the vulnerable adult's guardian or health care​

143.7 agent, if known, unless the lead investigative agency knows that the notification would​

143.8 endanger the well-being of the vulnerable adult; (2) the reporter, if the reporter requested​

143.9 notification when making the report, provided this notification would not endanger the​

143.10 well-being of the vulnerable adult; (3) the alleged perpetrator, if known; (4) the facility;​

143.11 and (5) the ombudsman for long-term care, or the ombudsman for mental health and​

143.12 developmental disabilities, as appropriate.​

143.13 (g) If, as a result of a reconsideration, review, or hearing, the lead investigative agency​

143.14 changes the final disposition, or if a final disposition is changed on appeal, the lead​

143.15 investigative agency shall notify the parties specified in paragraph (f).​

143.16 (h) The lead investigative agency shall notify the vulnerable adult who is the subject of​

143.17 the report or the vulnerable adult's guardian or health care agent, if known, and any person​

143.18 or facility determined to have maltreated a vulnerable adult, of their appeal or review rights​

143.19 under this section or section 256.021.​

143.20 (i) The lead investigative agency shall routinely provide investigation memoranda for​

143.21 substantiated reports to the appropriate licensing boards. These reports must include the​

143.22 names of substantiated perpetrators. The lead investigative agency may not provide​

143.23 investigative memoranda for inconclusive or false reports to the appropriate licensing boards​

143.24 unless the lead investigative agency's investigation gives reason to believe that there may​

143.25 have been a violation of the applicable professional practice laws. If the investigation​

143.26 memorandum is provided to a licensing board, the subject of the investigation memorandum​

143.27 shall be notified and receive a summary of the investigative findings.​

143.28 (j) In order to avoid duplication, licensing boards shall consider the findings of the lead​

143.29 investigative agency in their investigations if they choose to investigate. This does not​

143.30 preclude licensing boards from considering other information.​

143.31 (k) The lead investigative agency must provide to the commissioner of human services​

143.32 its final dispositions, including the names of all substantiated perpetrators. The commissioner​

143.33 of human services shall establish records to retain the names of substantiated perpetrators.​
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144.1 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 626.557, subdivision 9e, is amended to read:​

144.2 Subd. 9e. Education requirements. (a) The commissioners of health, human services,​

144.3 and public safety shall cooperate in the development of a joint program for education of​

144.4 lead investigative agency investigators in the appropriate techniques for investigation of​

144.5 complaints of maltreatment. This program must be developed by July 1, 1996. The program​

144.6 must include but need not be limited to the following areas: (1) information collection and​

144.7 preservation; (2) analysis of facts; (3) levels of evidence; (4) conclusions based on evidence;​

144.8 (5) interviewing skills, including specialized training to interview people with unique needs;​

144.9 (6) report writing; (7) coordination and referral to other necessary agencies such as law​

144.10 enforcement and judicial agencies; (8) human relations and cultural diversity; (9) the​

144.11 dynamics of adult abuse and neglect within family systems and the appropriate methods​

144.12 for interviewing relatives in the course of the assessment or investigation; (10) the protective​

144.13 social services that are available to protect alleged victims from further abuse, neglect, or​

144.14 financial exploitation; (11) the methods by which lead investigative agency investigators​

144.15 and law enforcement workers cooperate in conducting assessments and investigations in​

144.16 order to avoid duplication of efforts; and (12) data practices laws and procedures, including​

144.17 provisions for sharing data.​

144.18 (b) The commissioner of human services shall conduct an outreach campaign to promote​

144.19 the common entry point for reporting vulnerable adult maltreatment. This campaign shall​

144.20 use the Internet and other means of communication.​

144.21 (c) The commissioners of health, human services, and public safety shall offer at least​

144.22 annual education to others on the requirements of this section, on how this section is​

144.23 implemented, and investigation techniques.​

144.24 (d) The commissioner of human services, in coordination with the commissioner of​

144.25 public safety shall provide training for the common entry point staff as required in this​

144.26 subdivision and the program courses described in this subdivision, at least four times per​

144.27 year. At a minimum, the training shall be held twice annually in the seven-county​

144.28 metropolitan area and twice annually outside the seven-county metropolitan area. The​

144.29 commissioners shall give priority in the program areas cited in paragraph (a) to persons​

144.30 currently performing assessments and investigations pursuant to this section.​

144.31 (e) The commissioner of public safety shall notify in writing law enforcement personnel​

144.32 of any new requirements under this section. The commissioner of public safety shall conduct​

144.33 regional training for law enforcement personnel regarding their responsibility under this​

144.34 section.​
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145.1 (f) Each lead investigative agency investigator must complete the education program​

145.2 specified by this subdivision within the first 12 months of work as a lead investigative​

145.3 agency investigator.​

145.4 A lead investigative agency investigator employed when these requirements take effect​

145.5 must complete the program within the first year after training is available or as soon as​

145.6 training is available.​

145.7 All lead investigative agency investigators having responsibility for investigation duties​

145.8 under this section must receive a minimum of eight hours of continuing education or​

145.9 in-service training each year specific to their duties under this section.​

145.10 (g) The commissioners of health and human services shall develop and maintain written​

145.11 guidance materials for facilities that explain and illustrate the reporting requirements under​

145.12 this section, and the reporting requirements under Code of Federal Regulations, title 42,​

145.13 section 483.12(c) for facilities subject to those requirements.​

145.14 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 626.557, subdivision 12b, is amended to read:​

145.15 Subd. 12b. Data management. (a) In performing any of the duties of this section as a​

145.16 lead investigative agency, the county social service agency shall maintain appropriate​

145.17 records. Data collected by the county social service agency under this section are welfare​

145.18 data under section 13.46. Notwithstanding section 13.46, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), data​

145.19 under this paragraph that are inactive investigative data on an individual who is a vendor​

145.20 of services are private data on individuals, as defined in section 13.02. The identity of the​

145.21 reporter may only be disclosed as provided in paragraph (c).​

145.22 Data maintained by the common entry point are confidential data on individuals or​

145.23 protected nonpublic data as defined in section 13.02. Notwithstanding section 138.163, the​

145.24 common entry point shall maintain data for three calendar years after date of receipt and​

145.25 then destroy the data unless otherwise directed by federal requirements.​

145.26 (b) The commissioners of health and human services shall prepare an investigation​

145.27 memorandum for each report alleging maltreatment investigated under this section. County​

145.28 social service agencies must maintain private data on individuals but are not required to​

145.29 prepare an investigation memorandum. During an investigation by the commissioner of​

145.30 health or the commissioner of human services, data collected under this section are​

145.31 confidential data on individuals or protected nonpublic data as defined in section 13.02.​

145.32 Upon completion of the investigation, the data are classified as provided in clauses (1) to​

145.33 (3) and paragraph (c).​

145​Article 6 Sec. 14.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



146.1 (1) The investigation memorandum must contain the following data, which are public:​

146.2 (i) the name of the facility investigated;​

146.3 (ii) a statement of the nature of the alleged maltreatment;​

146.4 (iii) pertinent information obtained from medical or other records reviewed;​

146.5 (iv) the identity of the investigator;​

146.6 (v) a summary of the investigation's findings;​

146.7 (vi) statement of whether the report was found to be substantiated, inconclusive, false,​

146.8 or that no determination will be made;​

146.9 (vii) a statement of any action taken by the facility;​

146.10 (viii) a statement of any action taken by the lead investigative agency; and​

146.11 (ix) when a lead investigative agency's determination has substantiated maltreatment, a​

146.12 statement of whether an individual, individuals, or a facility were responsible for the​

146.13 substantiated maltreatment, if known.​

146.14 The investigation memorandum must be written in a manner which protects the identity​

146.15 of the reporter and of the vulnerable adult and may not contain the names or, to the extent​

146.16 possible, data on individuals or private data listed in clause (2).​

146.17 (2) Data on individuals collected and maintained in the investigation memorandum are​

146.18 private data, including:​

146.19 (i) the name of the vulnerable adult;​

146.20 (ii) the identity of the individual alleged to be the perpetrator;​

146.21 (iii) the identity of the individual substantiated as the perpetrator; and​

146.22 (iv) the identity of all individuals interviewed as part of the investigation.​

146.23 (3) Other data on individuals maintained as part of an investigation under this section​

146.24 are private data on individuals upon completion of the investigation.​

146.25 (c) After the assessment or investigation is completed, the name of the reporter must be​

146.26 confidential. The subject of the report may compel disclosure of the name of the reporter​

146.27 only with the consent of the reporter or upon a written finding by a court that the report was​

146.28 false and there is evidence that the report was made in bad faith. This subdivision does not​

146.29 alter disclosure responsibilities or obligations under the Rules of Criminal Procedure, except​

146.30 that where the identity of the reporter is relevant to a criminal prosecution, the district court​
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147.1 shall do an in-camera review prior to determining whether to order disclosure of the identity​

147.2 of the reporter.​

147.3 (d) Notwithstanding section 138.163, data maintained under this section by the​

147.4 commissioners of health and human services must be maintained under the following​

147.5 schedule and then destroyed unless otherwise directed by federal requirements:​

147.6 (1) data from reports determined to be false, maintained for three years after the finding​

147.7 was made;​

147.8 (2) data from reports determined to be inconclusive, maintained for four years after the​

147.9 finding was made;​

147.10 (3) data from reports determined to be substantiated, maintained for seven years after​

147.11 the finding was made; and​

147.12 (4) data from reports which were not investigated by a lead investigative agency and for​

147.13 which there is no final disposition, maintained for three years from the date of the report.​

147.14 (e) The commissioners of health and human services shall annually publish on their Web​

147.15 sites the number and type of reports of alleged maltreatment involving licensed facilities​

147.16 reported under this section, the number of those requiring investigation under this section,​

147.17 and the resolution of those investigations. On a biennial basis, the commissioners of health​

147.18 and human services shall jointly report the following information to the legislature and the​

147.19 governor:​

147.20 (1) the number and type of reports of alleged maltreatment involving licensed facilities​

147.21 reported under this section, the number of those requiring investigations under this section,​

147.22 the resolution of those investigations, and which of the two lead agencies was responsible;​

147.23 (2) trends about types of substantiated maltreatment found in the reporting period;​

147.24 (3) if there are upward trends for types of maltreatment substantiated, recommendations​

147.25 for preventing, addressing, and responding to them substantiated maltreatment;​

147.26 (4) efforts undertaken or recommended to improve the protection of vulnerable adults;​

147.27 (5) whether and where backlogs of cases result in a failure to conform with statutory​

147.28 time frames and recommendations for reducing backlogs if applicable;​

147.29 (6) recommended changes to statutes affecting the protection of vulnerable adults; and​

147.30 (7) any other information that is relevant to the report trends and findings.​

147.31 (f) Each lead investigative agency must have a record retention policy.​
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148.1 (g) Lead investigative agencies, prosecuting authorities, and law enforcement agencies​

148.2 may exchange not public data, as defined in section 13.02, if the agency or authority​

148.3 requesting the data determines that the data are pertinent and necessary to the requesting​

148.4 agency in initiating, furthering, or completing an investigation under this section. Data​

148.5 collected under this section must be made available to prosecuting authorities and law​

148.6 enforcement officials, local county agencies, and licensing agencies investigating the alleged​

148.7 maltreatment under this section. The lead investigative agency shall exchange not public​

148.8 data with the vulnerable adult maltreatment review panel established in section 256.021 if​

148.9 the data are pertinent and necessary for a review requested under that section.​

148.10 Notwithstanding section 138.17, upon completion of the review, not public data received​

148.11 by the review panel must be destroyed.​

148.12 (h) Each lead investigative agency shall keep records of the length of time it takes to​

148.13 complete its investigations.​

148.14 (i) A lead investigative agency may notify other affected parties and their authorized​

148.15 representative if the lead investigative agency has reason to believe maltreatment has occurred​

148.16 and determines the information will safeguard the well-being of the affected parties or dispel​

148.17 widespread rumor or unrest in the affected facility.​

148.18 (j) Under any notification provision of this section, where federal law specifically​

148.19 prohibits the disclosure of patient identifying information, a lead investigative agency may​

148.20 not provide any notice unless the vulnerable adult has consented to disclosure in a manner​

148.21 which conforms to federal requirements.​

148.22 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 626.557, subdivision 17, is amended to read:​

148.23 Subd. 17. Retaliation prohibited. (a) A facility or person shall not retaliate against any​

148.24 person who reports in good faith suspected maltreatment pursuant to this section, or against​

148.25 a vulnerable adult with respect to whom a report is made, because of the report.​

148.26 (b) In addition to any remedies allowed under sections 181.931 to 181.935, any facility​

148.27 or person which retaliates against any person because of a report of suspected maltreatment​

148.28 is liable to that person for actual damages, punitive damages up to $10,000, and attorney​

148.29 fees.​

148.30 (c) There shall be a rebuttable presumption that any adverse action, as defined below,​

148.31 within 90 days of a report, is retaliatory. For purposes of this clause, the term "adverse​

148.32 action" refers to action taken by a facility or person involved in a report against the person​
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149.1 making the report or the person with respect to whom the report was made because of the​

149.2 report, and includes, but is not limited to:​

149.3 (1) discharge or transfer from the facility;​

149.4 (2) discharge from or termination of employment;​

149.5 (3) demotion or reduction in remuneration for services;​

149.6 (4) restriction or prohibition of access to the facility or its residents; or​

149.7 (5) any restriction of rights set forth in section 144.651, 144A.44, or 144A.441.​

149.8 Sec. 16. REPORT; SAFETY AND QUALITY IMPROVEMENT PRACTICES.​

149.9 By January 15, 2019, the safety and quality improvement technical panel established​

149.10 under Minnesota Statutes, section 144A.53, subdivision 5, shall provide recommendations​

149.11 to the legislature on legislative changes needed to promote safety and quality improvement​

149.12 practices in long-term care settings and with long-term care providers. The recommendations​

149.13 must address:​

149.14 (1) how to implement a system for adverse health events reporting, learning, and​

149.15 prevention in long-term care settings and with long-term care providers; and​

149.16 (2) interim actions to improve systems for the timely analysis of reports and complaints​

149.17 submitted to the Office of Health Facility Complaints to identify common themes and key​

149.18 prevention opportunities, and to disseminate key findings to providers across the state for​

149.19 the purposes of shared learning and prevention.​

149.20 Sec. 17. REPORT AND RECOMMENDATIONS; IMMEDIATE PENALTIES FOR​

149.21 SERIOUS VIOLATIONS OF STATE LAW.​

149.22 The commissioner of health shall develop a proposal and draft legislation to allow the​

149.23 commissioner to impose immediate penalties on long-term care facilities and providers for​

149.24 serious violations of state law. The proposal and draft legislation must determine what​

149.25 actions constitute a serious violation of state law and specify appropriate penalties for each​

149.26 category of serious violation. The commissioner shall develop this proposal in consultation​

149.27 with representatives of long-term care facilities, representatives of home care providers,​

149.28 and elder justice advocates. The proposal and draft legislation must be submitted to the​

149.29 chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over​

149.30 health care or aging and long-term care by January 15, 2019.​
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150.1 Sec. 18. REPORTS; OFFICE OF HEALTH FACILITY COMPLAINTS' RESPONSE​

150.2 TO VULNERABLE ADULT MALTREATMENT ALLEGATIONS.​

150.3 (a) On a quarterly basis until January 2021, and annually thereafter, the commissioner​

150.4 of health must publish on the Department of Health Web site, a report on the Office of​

150.5 Health Facility Complaints' response to allegations of maltreatment of vulnerable adults.​

150.6 The report must include:​

150.7 (1) a description and assessment of the office's efforts to improve its internal processes​

150.8 and compliance with federal and state requirements concerning allegations of maltreatment​

150.9 of vulnerable adults, including any relevant timelines;​

150.10 (2)(i) the number of reports received by type of reporter; (ii) the number of reports​

150.11 investigated; (iii) the percentage and number of reported cases awaiting triage; (iv) the​

150.12 number and percentage of open investigations; (v) the number and percentage of reports​

150.13 that have failed to meet state or federal timelines for triaging, investigating, or making a​

150.14 final disposition of an investigation by cause of delay; and (vi) processes the office will​

150.15 implement to bring the office into compliance with state and federal timelines for triaging,​

150.16 investigating, and making final dispositions of investigations;​

150.17 (3) a trend analysis of internal audits conducted by the office; and​

150.18 (4) trends and patterns in maltreatment of vulnerable adults, licensing violations by​

150.19 facilities or providers serving vulnerable adults, and other metrics as determined by the​

150.20 commissioner.​

150.21 (b) The commissioner shall maintain on the Department of Health Web site reports​

150.22 published under this section for at least the past three years.​

150.23 Sec. 19. ASSISTED LIVING AND DEMENTIA CARE LICENSING WORKING​

150.24 GROUP.​

150.25 Subdivision 1. Establishment; membership. (a) An assisted living and dementia care​

150.26 licensing working group is established.​

150.27 (b) The commissioner of health shall appoint the following members of the working​

150.28 group:​

150.29 (1) four providers from the senior housing with services profession, two providing​

150.30 services in the seven-county metropolitan area and two providing services outside the​

150.31 seven-county metropolitan area. The providers appointed must include providers from​

150.32 establishments of different sizes;​
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151.1 (2) two persons who reside in senior housing with services establishments, or family​

151.2 members of persons who reside in senior housing with services establishments. One resident​

151.3 or family member must reside in the seven-county metropolitan area and one resident or​

151.4 family member must reside outside the seven-county metropolitan area;​

151.5 (3) one representative from the Home Care and Assisted Living Program Advisory​

151.6 Council;​

151.7 (4) one representative of a health plan company;​

151.8 (5) one representative from Care Providers of Minnesota;​

151.9 (6) one representative from LeadingAge Minnesota;​

151.10 (7) one representative from the Alzheimer's Association;​

151.11 (8) one representative from the Metropolitan Area Agency on Aging and one​

151.12 representative from an area agency on aging other than the Metropolitan Area Agency on​

151.13 Aging;​

151.14 (9) one representative from the Minnesota Rural Health Association;​

151.15 (10) one federal compliance official; and​

151.16 (11) one representative from the Minnesota Home Care Association.​

151.17 (c) The following individuals shall also be members of the working group:​

151.18 (1) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the​

151.19 house and one appointed by the minority leader;​

151.20 (2) two members of the senate, one appointed by the majority leader and one appointed​

151.21 by the minority leader;​

151.22 (3) one member of the Minnesota Council on Disability or a designee, selected by the​

151.23 council;​

151.24 (4) one member of the Commission of Deaf, Deafblind and Hard of Hearing Minnesotans​

151.25 or a designee, selected by the commission;​

151.26 (5) the commissioner of health or a designee;​

151.27 (6) the commissioner of human services or a designee;​

151.28 (7) the ombudsman for long-term care or a designee; and​

151.29 (8) one member of the Minnesota Board of Aging, selected by the board.​
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152.1 (d) The appointing authorities under this subdivision must complete their appointments​

152.2 no later than July 1, 2018.​

152.3 Subd. 2. Duties; recommendations. (a) The assisted living and dementia care licensing​

152.4 working group shall consider and make recommendations on a new regulatory framework​

152.5 for assisted living and dementia care. In developing the licensing framework, the working​

152.6 group must address at least the following:​

152.7 (1) the appropriate level of regulation, including licensure, registration, or certification;​

152.8 (2) coordination of care;​

152.9 (3) the scope of care to be provided, and limits on acuity levels of residents;​

152.10 (4) consumer rights;​

152.11 (5) building design and physical environment;​

152.12 (6) dietary services;​

152.13 (7) support services;​

152.14 (8) transition planning;​

152.15 (9) the installation and use of electronic monitoring in settings in which assisted living​

152.16 or dementia care services are provided;​

152.17 (10) staff training and qualifications;​

152.18 (11) options for the engagement of seniors and their families;​

152.19 (12) notices and financial requirements; and​

152.20 (13) compliance with federal Medicaid waiver requirements for home and​

152.21 community-based services settings.​

152.22 (b) Facilities and providers licensed by the commissioner of human services shall be​

152.23 exempt from licensing requirements for assisted living recommended under this section.​

152.24 Subd. 3. Meetings. The commissioner of health or a designee shall convene the first​

152.25 meeting of the working group no later than August 1, 2018. The members of the working​

152.26 group shall elect a chair from among the group's members at the first meeting, and the​

152.27 commissioner of health or a designee shall serve as the working group's chair until a chair​

152.28 is elected. Meetings of the working group shall be open to the public.​

152.29 Subd. 4. Compensation. Members of the working group appointed under subdivision​

152.30 1, paragraph (b), shall serve without compensation or reimbursement for expenses.​
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153.1 Subd. 5. Administrative support. The commissioner of health shall provide​

153.2 administrative support for the working group and arrange meeting space.​

153.3 Subd. 6. Report. By January 15, 2019, the working group must submit a report with​

153.4 findings, recommendations, and draft legislation to the chairs and ranking minority members​

153.5 of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and​

153.6 finance.​

153.7 Subd. 7. Expiration. The working group expires January 16, 2019, or the day after the​

153.8 working group submits the report required under subdivision 6, whichever is earlier.​

153.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

153.10 Sec. 20. DEMENTIA CARE CERTIFICATION WORKING GROUP.​

153.11 Subdivision 1. Establishment; membership. (a) A dementia care certification working​

153.12 group is established.​

153.13 (b) The commissioner of health shall appoint the following members of the working​

153.14 group:​

153.15 (1) two caregivers of persons who have been diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease or​

153.16 other dementia, one caregiver residing in the seven-county metropolitan area and one​

153.17 caregiver residing outside the seven-county metropolitan area;​

153.18 (2) two providers from the senior housing with services profession, one providing services​

153.19 in the seven-county metropolitan area and one providing services outside the seven-county​

153.20 metropolitan area;​

153.21 (3) two geriatricians, one of whom serves a diverse or underserved community;​

153.22 (4) one psychologist who specializes in dementia care;​

153.23 (5) one representative of the Alzheimer's Association;​

153.24 (6) one representative from Care Providers of Minnesota;​

153.25 (7) one representative from LeadingAge Minnesota; and​

153.26 (8) one representative from the Minnesota Home Care Association.​

153.27 (c) The following individuals shall also be members of the working group:​

153.28 (1) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the​

153.29 house and one appointed by the minority leader;​
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154.1 (2) two members of the senate, one appointed by the majority leader and one appointed​

154.2 by the minority leader;​

154.3 (3) the commissioner of health or a designee;​

154.4 (4) the commissioner of human services or a designee;​

154.5 (5) the ombudsman for long-term care or a designee;​

154.6 (6) one member of the Minnesota Board on Aging, selected by the board; and​

154.7 (7) the executive director of the Minnesota Board on Aging, who shall serve as a​

154.8 nonvoting member of the working group.​

154.9 (d) The appointing authorities under this subdivision must complete their appointments​

154.10 no later than July 1, 2018.​

154.11 Subd. 2. Duties; recommendations. The dementia care certification working group​

154.12 shall consider and make recommendations regarding the certification of providers offering​

154.13 dementia care services to clients diagnosed with Alzheimer's disease or other dementias.​

154.14 The working group must:​

154.15 (1) develop standards in the following areas that nursing homes, boarding care homes,​

154.16 and housing with services establishments that offer care for clients diagnosed with​

154.17 Alzheimer's disease or other dementias must meet in order to obtain dementia care​

154.18 certification: staffing, egress control, access to secured outdoor spaces, specialized therapeutic​

154.19 activities, and specialized life enrichment programming;​

154.20 (2) develop requirements for disclosing dementia care certification standards to​

154.21 consumers; and​

154.22 (3) develop mechanisms for enforcing dementia care certification standards.​

154.23 Subd. 3. Meetings. The commissioner of health or a designee shall convene the first​

154.24 meeting of the working group no later than August 1, 2018. The members of the working​

154.25 group shall elect a chair from among the group's members at the first meeting, and the​

154.26 commissioner of health or a designee shall serve as the working group's chair until a chair​

154.27 is elected. Meetings of the working group shall be open to the public.​

154.28 Subd. 4. Compensation. Members of the working group appointed under subdivision​

154.29 1, paragraph (b), shall serve without compensation or reimbursement for expenses.​

154.30 Subd. 5. Administrative support. The commissioner of health shall provide​

154.31 administrative support for the working group and arrange meeting space.​
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155.1 Subd. 6. Report. By January 15, 2019, the working group must submit a report with​

155.2 findings, recommendations, and draft legislation to the chairs and ranking minority members​

155.3 of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and​

155.4 finance.​

155.5 Subd. 7. Expiration. The working group expires January 16, 2019, or the day after the​

155.6 working group submits the report required under subdivision 6, whichever is earlier.​

155.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

155.8 Sec. 21. ASSISTED LIVING REPORT CARD WORKING GROUP.​

155.9 Subdivision 1. Establishment; membership. (a) An assisted living report card working​

155.10 group, tasked with researching and making recommendations on the development of an​

155.11 assisted living report card, is established.​

155.12 (b) The commissioner of human services shall appoint the following members of the​

155.13 working group:​

155.14 (1) two persons who reside in senior housing with services establishments, one residing​

155.15 in an establishment in the seven-county metropolitan area and one residing in an​

155.16 establishment outside the seven-county metropolitan area;​

155.17 (2) four representatives of the senior housing with services profession, two providing​

155.18 services in the seven-county metropolitan area and two providing services outside the​

155.19 seven-county metropolitan area;​

155.20 (3) one family member of a person who resides in a senior housing with services​

155.21 establishment in the seven-county metropolitan area, and one family member of a person​

155.22 who resides in a senior housing with services establishment outside the seven-county​

155.23 metropolitan area;​

155.24 (4) a representative from the Home Care and Assisted Living Program Advisory Council;​

155.25 (5) a representative from the University of Minnesota with expertise in data and analytics;​

155.26 (6) a representative from Care Providers of Minnesota; and​

155.27 (7) a representative from LeadingAge Minnesota.​

155.28 (c) The following individuals shall also be appointed to the working group:​

155.29 (1) the commissioner of human services or a designee;​

155.30 (2) the commissioner of health or a designee;​
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156.1 (3) the ombudsman for long-term care or a designee;​

156.2 (4) one member of the Minnesota Board on Aging, selected by the board; and​

156.3 (5) the executive director of the Minnesota Board on Aging who shall serve on the​

156.4 working group as a nonvoting member.​

156.5 (d) The appointing authorities under this subdivision must complete their appointments​

156.6 no later than July 1, 2018.​

156.7 Subd. 2. Duties. The assisted living report card working group shall consider and make​

156.8 recommendations on the development of an assisted living report card. The quality metrics​

156.9 considered shall include, but are not limited to:​

156.10 (1) an annual customer satisfaction survey measure using the CoreQ questions for assisted​

156.11 living residents and family members;​

156.12 (2) a measure utilizing level 3 or 4 citations from Department of Health home care survey​

156.13 findings and substantiated Office of Health Facility Complaints findings against a home​

156.14 care provider;​

156.15 (3) a home care staff retention measure; and​

156.16 (4) a measure that scores a provider's staff according to their level of training and​

156.17 education.​

156.18 Subd. 3. Meetings. The commissioner of human services or a designee shall convene​

156.19 the first meeting of the working group no later than August 1, 2018. The members of the​

156.20 working group shall elect a chair from among the group's members at the first meeting, and​

156.21 the commissioner of human services or a designee shall serve as the working group's chair​

156.22 until a chair is elected. Meetings of the working group shall be open to the public.​

156.23 Subd. 4. Compensation. Members of the working group shall serve without compensation​

156.24 or reimbursement for expenses.​

156.25 Subd. 5. Administrative support. The commissioner of human services shall provide​

156.26 administrative support for the working group and arrange meeting space.​

156.27 Subd. 6. Report. By January 15, 2019, the working group must submit a report with​

156.28 findings, recommendations, and draft legislation to the chairs and ranking minority members​

156.29 of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services policy and​

156.30 finance.​

156.31 Subd. 7. Expiration. The working group expires January 16, 2019, or the day after the​

156.32 working group submits the report required in subdivision 6, whichever is later.​
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157.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

157.2 ARTICLE 7​

157.3 CHILDREN AND FAMILIES​

157.4 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 119B.011, is amended by adding a subdivision​

157.5 to read:​

157.6 Subd. 13b. Homeless. "Homeless" means a self-declared housing status as defined in​

157.7 the McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act and United States Code, title 42, section​

157.8 11302, paragraph (a).​

157.9 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 119B.011, subdivision 20, is amended​

157.10 to read:​

157.11 Subd. 20. Transition year families. "Transition year families" means families who have​

157.12 received MFIP assistance, or who were eligible to receive MFIP assistance after choosing​

157.13 to discontinue receipt of the cash portion of MFIP assistance under section 256J.31,​

157.14 subdivision 12, or families who have received DWP assistance under section 256J.95 for​

157.15 at least three one of the last six months before losing eligibility for MFIP or DWP.​

157.16 Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, parts 3400.0040, subpart 10, and 3400.0090, subpart 2,​

157.17 transition year child care may be used to support employment, approved education or training​

157.18 programs, or job search that meets the requirements of section 119B.10. Transition year​

157.19 child care is not available to families who have been disqualified from MFIP or DWP due​

157.20 to fraud.​

157.21 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 119B.02, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

157.22 Subd. 7. Child care market rate survey. Biennially, The commissioner shall survey​

157.23 prices charged by child care providers in Minnesota every three years to determine the 75th​

157.24 percentile for like-care arrangements in county price clusters.​

157.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from the market rate survey​

157.26 conducted in calendar year 2016 and applies to any market rate survey conducted after the​

157.27 2016 market rate survey.​

157​Article 7 Sec. 3.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



158.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 119B.025, subdivision 1, is amended​

158.2 to read:​

158.3 Subdivision 1. Applications. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (c), clause (4), the​

158.4 county shall verify the following at all initial child care applications using the universal​

158.5 application:​

158.6 (1) identity of adults;​

158.7 (2) presence of the minor child in the home, if questionable;​

158.8 (3) relationship of minor child to the parent, stepparent, legal guardian, eligible relative​

158.9 caretaker, or the spouses of any of the foregoing;​

158.10 (4) age;​

158.11 (5) immigration status, if related to eligibility;​

158.12 (6) Social Security number, if given;​

158.13 (7) counted income;​

158.14 (8) spousal support and child support payments made to persons outside the household;​

158.15 (9) residence; and​

158.16 (10) inconsistent information, if related to eligibility.​

158.17 (b) The county must mail a notice of approval or denial of assistance to the applicant​

158.18 within 30 calendar days after receiving the application. The county may extend the response​

158.19 time by 15 calendar days if the applicant is informed of the extension.​

158.20 (c) For an applicant who declares that the applicant is homeless and who meets the​

158.21 definition of homeless in section 119B.011, subdivision 13b, the county must:​

158.22 (1) if information is needed to determine eligibility, send a request for information to​

158.23 the applicant within five working days after receiving the application;​

158.24 (2) if the applicant is eligible, send a notice of approval of assistance within five working​

158.25 days after receiving the application;​

158.26 (3) if the applicant is ineligible, send a notice of denial of assistance within 30 days after​

158.27 receiving the application. The county may extend the response time by 15 calendar days if​

158.28 the applicant is informed of the extension;​

158.29 (4) not require verifications required by paragraph (a) before issuing the notice of approval​

158.30 or denial; and​
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159.1 (5) follow limits set by the commissioner for how frequently expedited application​

159.2 processing may be used for an applicant who declares that the applicant is homeless.​

159.3 (d) An applicant who declares that the applicant is homeless must submit proof of​

159.4 eligibility within three months of the date the application was received. If proof of eligibility​

159.5 is not submitted within three months, eligibility ends. A 15-day adverse action notice is​

159.6 required to end eligibility.​

159.7 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 119B.03, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

159.8 Subd. 9. Portability pool. (a) The commissioner shall establish a pool of up to five​

159.9 percent of the annual appropriation for the basic sliding fee program to provide continuous​

159.10 child care assistance for eligible families who move between Minnesota counties. At the​

159.11 end of each allocation period, any unspent funds in the portability pool must be used for​

159.12 assistance under the basic sliding fee program. If expenditures from the portability pool​

159.13 exceed the amount of money available, the reallocation pool must be reduced to cover these​

159.14 shortages.​

159.15 (b) To be eligible for portable basic sliding fee assistance, A family that has moved from​

159.16 a county in which it was receiving basic sliding fee assistance to a county with a waiting​

159.17 list for the basic sliding fee program must:​

159.18 (1) meet the income and eligibility guidelines for the basic sliding fee program; and​

159.19 (2) notify the new county of residence within 60 days of moving and submit information​

159.20 to the new county of residence to verify eligibility for the basic sliding fee program the​

159.21 family's previous county of residence of the family's move to a new county of residence.​

159.22 (c) The receiving county must:​

159.23 (1) accept administrative responsibility for applicants for portable basic sliding fee​

159.24 assistance at the end of the two months of assistance under the Unitary Residency Act;​

159.25 (2) continue portability pool basic sliding fee assistance for the lesser of six months or​

159.26 until the family is able to receive assistance under the county's regular basic sliding program;​

159.27 and​

159.28 (3) notify the commissioner through the quarterly reporting process of any family that​

159.29 meets the criteria of the portable basic sliding fee assistance pool.​

159​Article 7 Sec. 5.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



160.1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 119B.095, is amended by adding a​

160.2 subdivision to read:​

160.3 Subd. 3. Assistance for persons who are experiencing homelessness. An applicant​

160.4 who is homeless and eligible for child care assistance under this chapter is eligible for 60​

160.5 hours of child care assistance per service period for three months from the date the county​

160.6 receives the application. Additional hours may be authorized as needed based on the​

160.7 applicant's participation in employment, education, or MFIP or DWP employment plan. To​

160.8 continue receiving child care assistance after the initial three months, the parent must verify​

160.9 that the parent meets eligibility and activity requirements for child care assistance under​

160.10 this chapter.​

160.11 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 119B.13, subdivision 1, is amended​

160.12 to read:​

160.13 Subdivision 1. Subsidy restrictions. (a) Beginning February 3, 2014 July 1, 2019, the​

160.14 maximum rate paid for child care assistance in any county or county price cluster under the​

160.15 child care fund shall be the greater of the 25th percentile of the 2011 2016 child care provider​

160.16 rate survey under section 119B.02, subdivision 7, or the maximum rate effective November​

160.17 28, 2011. rates in effect at the time of the update. For a child care provider located within​

160.18 the boundaries of a city located in two or more of the counties of Benton, Sherburne, and​

160.19 Stearns, the maximum rate paid for child care assistance shall be equal to the maximum​

160.20 rate paid in the county with the highest maximum reimbursement rates or the provider's​

160.21 charge, whichever is less. The commissioner may: (1) assign a county with no reported​

160.22 provider prices to a similar price cluster; and (2) consider county level access when​

160.23 determining final price clusters.​

160.24 (b) A rate which includes a special needs rate paid under subdivision 3 may be in excess​

160.25 of the maximum rate allowed under this subdivision.​

160.26 (c) The department shall monitor the effect of this paragraph on provider rates. The​

160.27 county shall pay the provider's full charges for every child in care up to the maximum​

160.28 established. The commissioner shall determine the maximum rate for each type of care on​

160.29 an hourly, full-day, and weekly basis, including special needs and disability care.​

160.30 (d) If a child uses one provider, the maximum payment for one day of care must not​

160.31 exceed the daily rate. The maximum payment for one week of care must not exceed the​

160.32 weekly rate.​
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161.1 (e) If a child uses two providers under section 119B.097, the maximum payment must​

161.2 not exceed:​

161.3 (1) the daily rate for one day of care;​

161.4 (2) the weekly rate for one week of care by the child's primary provider; and​

161.5 (3) two daily rates during two weeks of care by a child's secondary provider.​

161.6 (f) Child care providers receiving reimbursement under this chapter must not be paid​

161.7 activity fees or an additional amount above the maximum rates for care provided during​

161.8 nonstandard hours for families receiving assistance.​

161.9 (g) If the provider charge is greater than the maximum provider rate allowed, the parent​

161.10 is responsible for payment of the difference in the rates in addition to any family co-payment​

161.11 fee.​

161.12 (h) All maximum provider rates changes shall be implemented on the Monday following​

161.13 the effective date of the maximum provider rate.​

161.14 (i) Notwithstanding Minnesota Rules, part 3400.0130, subpart 7, maximum registration​

161.15 fees in effect on January 1, 2013, shall remain in effect.​

161.16 (j) For calendar year 2019, notwithstanding section 119B.03, subdivisions 6, 6a, and​

161.17 6b, the commissioner must allocate the additional basic sliding fee child care funds for​

161.18 calendar year 2019 due to the updated provider rate survey under paragraph (a) to counties​

161.19 based on relative need to cover the maximum rate increases. In distributing the additional​

161.20 funds, the commissioner shall consider the following factors by county:​

161.21 (1) expenditures;​

161.22 (2) provider type;​

161.23 (3) age of children; and​

161.24 (4) amount of the increase in maximum rates.​

161.25 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 245A.06, subdivision 8, is amended​

161.26 to read:​

161.27 Subd. 8. Requirement to post correction order conditional license. (a) For licensed​

161.28 family child care providers and child care centers, upon receipt of any correction order or​

161.29 order of conditional license issued by the commissioner under this section, and​

161.30 notwithstanding a pending request for reconsideration of the correction order or order of​

161.31 conditional license by the license holder, the license holder shall post the correction order​
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162.1 or order of conditional license in a place that is conspicuous to the people receiving services​

162.2 and all visitors to the facility for two years. When the correction order or order of conditional​

162.3 license is accompanied by a maltreatment investigation memorandum prepared under section​

162.4 626.556 or 626.557, the investigation memoranda must be posted with the correction order​

162.5 or order of conditional license.​

162.6 (b) If the commissioner reverses or rescinds a violation in a correction order upon​

162.7 reconsideration under subdivision 2, the commissioner shall issue an amended correction​

162.8 order and the license holder shall post the amended order according to paragraph (a).​

162.9 (c) If the correction order is rescinded or reversed in full upon reconsideration under​

162.10 subdivision 2, the license holder shall remove the original correction order posted according​

162.11 to paragraph (a).​

162.12 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 245A.50, subdivision 7, is amended​

162.13 to read:​

162.14 Subd. 7. Training requirements for family and group family child care. (a) For​

162.15 purposes of family and group family child care, the license holder and each primary caregiver​

162.16 must complete 16 hours of ongoing training each year. For purposes of this subdivision, a​

162.17 primary caregiver is an adult caregiver who provides services in the licensed setting for​

162.18 more than 30 days in any 12-month period. Repeat of topical training requirements in​

162.19 subdivisions 2 to 8 9 shall count toward the annual 16-hour training requirement. Additional​

162.20 ongoing training subjects to meet the annual 16-hour training requirement must be selected​

162.21 from the following areas:​

162.22 (1) child development and learning training under subdivision 2, paragraph (a);​

162.23 (2) developmentally appropriate learning experiences, including training in creating​

162.24 positive learning experiences, promoting cognitive development, promoting social and​

162.25 emotional development, promoting physical development, promoting creative development;​

162.26 and behavior guidance;​

162.27 (3) relationships with families, including training in building a positive, respectful​

162.28 relationship with the child's family;​

162.29 (4) assessment, evaluation, and individualization, including training in observing,​

162.30 recording, and assessing development; assessing and using information to plan; and assessing​

162.31 and using information to enhance and maintain program quality;​
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163.1 (5) historical and contemporary development of early childhood education, including​

163.2 training in past and current practices in early childhood education and how current events​

163.3 and issues affect children, families, and programs;​

163.4 (6) professionalism, including training in knowledge, skills, and abilities that promote​

163.5 ongoing professional development; and​

163.6 (7) health, safety, and nutrition, including training in establishing healthy practices;​

163.7 ensuring safety; and providing healthy nutrition.​

163.8 (b) A family or group family child care license holder or primary caregiver who is an​

163.9 approved trainer through the Minnesota Center for Professional Development and who​

163.10 conducts an approved training course through the Minnesota Center for Professional​

163.11 Development in any of the topical training in subdivisions 2 to 9 shall receive training credit​

163.12 for the training topic in the applicable annual period. Each hour of approved training​

163.13 conducted shall count toward the annual 16-hour training requirement.​

163.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

163.15 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256K.45, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

163.16 Subd. 2. Homeless youth report. The commissioner shall prepare a biennial report,​

163.17 beginning in February 2015, which provides meaningful information to the legislative​

163.18 committees having jurisdiction over the issue of homeless youth, that includes, but is not​

163.19 limited to: (1) a list of the areas of the state with the greatest need for services and housing​

163.20 for homeless youth, and the level and nature of the needs identified; (2) details about grants​

163.21 made; (3) the distribution of funds throughout the state based on population need; (4)​

163.22 follow-up information, if available, on the status of homeless youth and whether they have​

163.23 stable housing two years after services are provided; and (5) any other outcomes for​

163.24 populations served to determine the effectiveness of the programs and use of funding. The​

163.25 commissioner is exempt from preparing this report in 2019 and must instead update the​

163.26 2007 report on homeless youth under section 16.​

163.27 Sec. 11. [256K.46] STABLE HOUSING AND SUPPORT SERVICES FOR​

163.28 VULNERABLE YOUTH.​

163.29 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the​

163.30 meanings given them:​

163.31 (a) "Eligible applicant" means a program licensed by the commissioner of human services​

163.32 to provide transitional housing and support services to youth. An eligible applicant must​
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164.1 have staff on site 24 hours per day and must have established confidentiality protocols as​

164.2 required by state and federal law.​

164.3 (b) "Living essentials" means clothing, toiletries, transportation, interpreters, other​

164.4 supplies, and services necessary for daily living.​

164.5 (c) "Support services" has the meaning given in section 256E.33, subdivision 1, paragraph​

164.6 (b), and includes crisis intervention, conflict mediation, family reunification services,​

164.7 educational services, and employment resources.​

164.8 (d) "Transitional housing" means secure shelter and housing that:​

164.9 (1) is provided at low or no cost;​

164.10 (2) is designed to assist people transitioning from homelessness, family or relationship​

164.11 violence, or sexual exploitation, to living independently in the community; and​

164.12 (3) provides residents with regular staff interaction, supervision plans, and living skills​

164.13 training and assistance.​

164.14 (e) "Vulnerable youth" means youth 13 years of age through 17 years of age who have​

164.15 reported histories of sexual exploitation or family or relationship violence. Vulnerable youth​

164.16 includes youth who are homeless and youth who are parents and their children.​

164.17 Subd. 2. Grants authorized. The commissioner of human services may award grants​

164.18 to eligible applicants to plan, establish, or operate programs to provide transitional housing​

164.19 and support services to vulnerable youth. An applicant may apply for and the commissioner​

164.20 may award grants for two-year periods, and the commissioner shall determine the number​

164.21 of grants awarded. The commissioner may reallocate underspending among grantees within​

164.22 the same grant period.​

164.23 Subd. 3. Program variance. For purposes of this grant program, the commissioner may​

164.24 grant a program variance under chapter 245A allowing a program licensed to provide​

164.25 transitional housing and support services to youth 16 years of age through 17 years of age​

164.26 to serve youth 13 years of age through 17 years of age.​

164.27 Subd. 4. Allocation of grants. (a) An application must be on a form and contain​

164.28 information as specified by the commissioner but at a minimum must contain:​

164.29 (1) a description of the purpose or project for which grant funds will be used;​

164.30 (2) a description of the specific problem the grant funds are intended to address;​

164.31 (3) a description of achievable objectives, a work plan, and a timeline for implementation​

164.32 and completion of processes or projects enabled by the grant;​
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165.1 (4) a description of the eligible applicant's existing frameworks and experience providing​

165.2 transitional housing and support services to vulnerable youth; and​

165.3 (5) a proposed process for documenting and evaluating results of the grant.​

165.4 (b) Grant funds allocated under this section may be used for purposes that include, but​

165.5 are not limited to, the following:​

165.6 (1) transitional housing, meals, and living essentials for vulnerable youth and their​

165.7 children;​

165.8 (2) support services;​

165.9 (3) mental health and substance use disorder counseling;​

165.10 (4) staff training;​

165.11 (5) case management and referral services; and​

165.12 (6) aftercare and follow-up services, including ongoing adult and peer support.​

165.13 (c) The commissioner shall review each application to determine whether the application​

165.14 is complete and whether the applicant and the project are eligible for a grant. In evaluating​

165.15 applications, the commissioner shall establish criteria including, but not limited to:​

165.16 (1) the eligibility of the applicant or project;​

165.17 (2) the applicant's thoroughness and clarity in describing the problem grant funds are​

165.18 intended to address;​

165.19 (3) a description of the population demographics and service area of the proposed project;​

165.20 and​

165.21 (4) the proposed project's longevity and demonstrated financial sustainability after the​

165.22 initial grant period.​

165.23 (d) In evaluating applications, the commissioner may request additional information​

165.24 regarding a proposed project, including information on project cost. An applicant's failure​

165.25 to provide the information requested disqualifies an applicant.​

165.26 Subd. 5. Awarding of grants. The commissioner must notify grantees of awards by​

165.27 January 1, 2019.​

165.28 Subd. 6. Update. The commissioner shall consult with providers serving homeless youth,​

165.29 sex-trafficked youth, or sexually exploited youth, including providers serving older youth​

165.30 under the Safe Harbor Act and Homeless Youth Act to make recommendations that resolve​

165.31 conflicting requirements placed on providers and foster best practices in delivering services​
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166.1 to these populations of older youth. The recommendations may include the development​

166.2 of additional certifications not currently available under Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960.​

166.3 The commissioner shall provide an update on the stakeholder work and recommendations​

166.4 identified through this process to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative​

166.5 committees with jurisdiction over health and human services finance and policy by January​

166.6 15, 2019.​

166.7 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256M.41, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

166.8 Subd. 3. Payments based on performance. (a) The commissioner shall make payments​

166.9 under this section to each county board on a calendar year basis in an amount determined​

166.10 under paragraph (b).​

166.11 (b) Calendar year allocations under subdivision 1 shall be paid to counties in the following​

166.12 manner:​

166.13 (1) 80 percent of the allocation as determined in subdivision 1 must be paid to counties​

166.14 on or before July 10 of each year;​

166.15 (2) ten percent of the allocation shall be withheld until the commissioner determines if​

166.16 the county has met the performance outcome threshold of 90 percent based on face-to-face​

166.17 contact with alleged child victims. In order to receive the performance allocation, the county​

166.18 child protection workers must have a timely face-to-face contact with at least 90 percent of​

166.19 all alleged child victims of screened-in maltreatment reports. The standard requires that​

166.20 each initial face-to-face contact occur consistent with timelines defined in section 626.556,​

166.21 subdivision 10, paragraph (i). The commissioner shall make threshold determinations in​

166.22 January of each year and payments to counties meeting the performance outcome threshold​

166.23 shall occur in February of each year. Any withheld funds from this appropriation for counties​

166.24 that do not meet this requirement shall be reallocated by the commissioner to those counties​

166.25 meeting the requirement transferred to children and families operations for use under section​

166.26 626.5591, subdivision 2, to support the Child Welfare Training Academy; and​

166.27 (3) ten percent of the allocation shall be withheld until the commissioner determines​

166.28 that the county has met the performance outcome threshold of 90 percent based on​

166.29 face-to-face visits by the case manager. In order to receive the performance allocation, the​

166.30 total number of visits made by caseworkers on a monthly basis to children in foster care​

166.31 and children receiving child protection services while residing in their home must be at least​

166.32 90 percent of the total number of such visits that would occur if every child were visited​

166.33 once per month. The commissioner shall make such determinations in January of each year​

166.34 and payments to counties meeting the performance outcome threshold shall occur in February​
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167.1 of each year. Any withheld funds from this appropriation for counties that do not meet this​

167.2 requirement shall be reallocated by the commissioner to those counties meeting the​

167.3 requirement transferred to children and families operations for use under section 626.5591,​

167.4 subdivision 2, to support the Child Welfare Training Academy. For 2015, the commissioner​

167.5 shall only apply the standard for monthly foster care visits.​

167.6 (c) The commissioner shall work with stakeholders and the Human Services Performance​

167.7 Council under section 402A.16 to develop recommendations for specific outcome measures​

167.8 that counties should meet in order to receive funds withheld under paragraph (b), and include​

167.9 in those recommendations a determination as to whether the performance measures under​

167.10 paragraph (b) should be modified or phased out. The commissioner shall report the​

167.11 recommendations to the legislative committees having jurisdiction over child protection​

167.12 issues by January 1, 2018.​

167.13 Sec. 13. [260C.81] MINN-LINK STUDY.​

167.14 (a) The commissioner of human services shall partner with the University of Minnesota's​

167.15 Minn-LInK statewide integrated administrative data project to conduct an annual study to​

167.16 understand characteristics, experiences, and outcomes of children and families served by​

167.17 the child welfare system. Minn-LInK researchers shall annually conduct research and provide​

167.18 research briefs, reports, and consultation to the Child Welfare Training Academy to inform​

167.19 the development and revision of training curriculum.​

167.20 (b) The commissioner shall report a summary of the research results to the governor and​

167.21 to the committees in the house of representatives and senate with jurisdiction over human​

167.22 services annually by December 15.​

167.23 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 518A.32, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

167.24 Subd. 3. Parent not considered voluntarily unemployed, underemployed, or employed​

167.25 on a less than full-time basis. A parent is not considered voluntarily unemployed,​

167.26 underemployed, or employed on a less than full-time basis upon a showing by the parent​

167.27 that:​

167.28 (1) the unemployment, underemployment, or employment on a less than full-time basis​

167.29 is temporary and will ultimately lead to an increase in income;​

167.30 (2) the unemployment, underemployment, or employment on a less than full-time basis​

167.31 represents a bona fide career change that outweighs the adverse effect of that parent's​

167.32 diminished income on the child; or​
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168.1 (3) the unemployment, underemployment, or employment on a less than full-time basis​

168.2 is because a parent is physically or mentally incapacitated or due to incarceration, except​

168.3 where the reason for incarceration is the parent's nonpayment of support.; or​

168.4 (4) the parent has been determined by an authorized government agency to be eligible​

168.5 to receive general assistance or Supplemental Security Income payments. Any income, not​

168.6 including public assistance payments, earned by the parent who is eligible for general​

168.7 assistance or Supplemental Security Income payments may be considered for the purpose​

168.8 of calculating child support.​

168.9 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 518A.685, is amended to read:​

168.10 518A.685 CONSUMER REPORTING AGENCY; REPORTING ARREARS.​

168.11 (a) If a public authority determines that an obligor has not paid the current monthly​

168.12 support obligation plus any required arrearage payment for three months, the public authority​

168.13 must report this information to a consumer reporting agency.​

168.14 (b) Before reporting that an obligor is in arrears for court-ordered child support, the​

168.15 public authority must:​

168.16 (1) provide written notice to the obligor that the public authority intends to report the​

168.17 arrears to a consumer reporting agency; and​

168.18 (2) mail the written notice to the obligor's last known mailing address at least 30 days​

168.19 before the public authority reports the arrears to a consumer reporting agency.​

168.20 (c) The obligor may, within 21 days of receipt of the notice, do the following to prevent​

168.21 the public authority from reporting the arrears to a consumer reporting agency:​

168.22 (1) pay the arrears in full; or​

168.23 (2) request an administrative review. An administrative review is limited to issues of​

168.24 mistaken identity, a pending legal action involving the arrears, or an incorrect arrears balance.​

168.25 (d) If the public authority has reported that an obligor is in arrears for court-ordered​

168.26 child support and subsequently determines that the obligor has paid the court-ordered child​

168.27 support arrears in full, or is paying the current monthly support obligation plus any required​

168.28 arrearage payment, the public authority must report to the consumer reporting agency that​

168.29 the obligor is currently paying child support as ordered by the court.​

168.30 (e) (d) A public authority that reports arrearage information under this section must​

168.31 make monthly reports to a consumer reporting agency. The monthly report must be consistent​

168.32 with credit reporting industry standards for child support.​
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169.1 (f) (e) For purposes of this section, "consumer reporting agency" has the meaning given​

169.2 in section 13C.001, subdivision 4, and United States Code, title 15, section 1681a(f).​

169.3 Sec. 16. 2018 REPORT TO LEGISLATURE ON HOMELESS YOUTH.​

169.4 Subdivision 1. Report development. In lieu of the biennial homeless youth report under​

169.5 Minnesota Statutes, section 256K.45, subdivision 2, the commissioner of human services​

169.6 shall update the information in the 2007 legislative report on runaway and homeless youth.​

169.7 In developing the updated report, the commissioner may use existing data, studies, and​

169.8 analysis provided by state, county, and other entities including, but not limited to:​

169.9 (1) Minnesota Housing Finance Agency analysis on housing availability;​

169.10 (2) Minnesota state plan to end homelessness;​

169.11 (3) continuum of care counts of youth experiencing homelessness and assessments as​

169.12 provided by Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD)-required coordinated​

169.13 entry systems;​

169.14 (4) data collected through the Department of Human Services Homeless Youth Act grant​

169.15 program;​

169.16 (5) Wilder Research homeless study;​

169.17 (6) Voices of Youth Count sponsored by Hennepin County; and​

169.18 (7) privately funded analysis, including:​

169.19 (i) nine evidence-based principles to support youth in overcoming homelessness;​

169.20 (ii) return on investment analysis conducted for YouthLink by Foldes Consulting; and​

169.21 (iii) evaluation of Homeless Youth Act resources conducted by Rainbow Research.​

169.22 Subd. 2. Key elements; due date. (a) The report may include three key elements where​

169.23 significant learning has occurred in the state since the 2007 report, including:​

169.24 (1) unique causes of youth homelessness;​

169.25 (2) targeted responses to youth homelessness, including significance of positive youth​

169.26 development as fundamental to each targeted response; and​

169.27 (3) recommendations based on existing reports and analysis on what it will take to end​

169.28 youth homelessness.​

169.29 (b) To the extent data is available, the report must include:​
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170.1 (1) general accounting of the federal and philanthropic funds leveraged to support​

170.2 homeless youth activities;​

170.3 (2) general accounting of the increase in volunteer responses to support youth​

170.4 experiencing homelessness; and​

170.5 (3) data-driven accounting of geographic areas or distinct populations that have gaps in​

170.6 service or are not yet served by homeless youth responses.​

170.7 (c) The commissioner of human services may consult with community-based providers​

170.8 of homeless youth services and other expert stakeholders to complete the report. The​

170.9 commissioner shall submit the report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the​

170.10 legislative committees with jurisdiction over youth homelessness by February 15, 2019.​

170.11 Sec. 17. TASK FORCE ON CHILDHOOD TRAUMA-INFORMED POLICY AND​

170.12 PRACTICES.​

170.13 Subdivision 1. Establishment. The commissioner of human services must establish and​

170.14 appoint a task force on trauma-informed policy and practices to prevent and reduce children's​

170.15 exposure to adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) consisting of the following members:​

170.16 (1) the commissioners of human services, public safety, health, and education or the​

170.17 commissioners' designees;​

170.18 (2) two members representing law enforcement with expertise in juvenile justice;​

170.19 (3) two members representing county social services agencies;​

170.20 (4) four members, one representing each of the three ethnic councils established under​

170.21 Minnesota Statutes, section 15.0145, and one representing the Indian Affairs Council​

170.22 established under Minnesota Statutes, section 3.922;​

170.23 (5) two members representing tribal social services providers;​

170.24 (6) two members with expertise in prekindergarten through grade 12 education;​

170.25 (7) three licensed health care professionals with expertise in the neurobiology of​

170.26 childhood development representing public health, mental health, and primary health;​

170.27 (8) one member representing family service or children's mental health collaboratives;​

170.28 (9) two parents who had ACEs;​

170.29 (10) two ombudspersons from the Minnesota Office of Ombudsperson for Families; and​
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171.1 (11) representatives of any other group the commissioner of human services deems​

171.2 appropriate to complete the duties of the task force.​

171.3 Subd. 2. Staff. The commissioner of human services must provide meeting space, support​

171.4 staff, and administrative services for the task force.​

171.5 Subd. 3. Duties. The task force must perform the following duties:​

171.6 (1) engage the human services, education, public health, juvenile justice, and criminal​

171.7 justice systems in the creation of trauma-informed policy and practices in each of these​

171.8 systems to prevent and reduce ACEs and to support the health and well-being of all families;​

171.9 and​

171.10 (2) identify social determinants of the health and well-being of all families and​

171.11 recommend solutions to eliminate racial and ethnic disparities in the state.​

171.12 Subd. 4. Report. The task force must submit a report on the results of its duties outlined​

171.13 in subdivision 3 and any policy recommendations to the chairs and ranking minority members​

171.14 of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over health and human services, public safety,​

171.15 judiciary, and education by January 15, 2019.​

171.16 Subd. 5. Expiration. The task force expires upon submission of the report required​

171.17 under subdivision 4.​

171.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

171.19 Sec. 18. CHILD WELFARE TRAINING ACADEMY.​

171.20 Subdivision 1. Modifications. (a) The commissioner of human services shall modify​

171.21 the Child Welfare Training System developed pursuant to Minnesota Statutes, section​

171.22 626.5591, subdivision 2, as provided in this section. The new training framework shall be​

171.23 known as the Child Welfare Training Academy.​

171.24 (b) The Child Welfare Training Academy shall be administered through five regional​

171.25 hubs in northwest, northeast, southwest, southeast, and central Minnesota. Each hub shall​

171.26 deliver training targeted to the needs of its particular region, taking into account varying​

171.27 demographics, resources, and practice outcomes.​

171.28 (c) The Child Welfare Training Academy shall use training methods best suited to the​

171.29 training content. National best practices in adult learning must be used to the greatest extent​

171.30 possible, including online learning methodologies, coaching, mentoring, and simulated skill​

171.31 application.​
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172.1 (d) Each child welfare worker and supervisor shall be required to complete a certification,​

172.2 including a competency-based knowledge test and a skills demonstration, at the completion​

172.3 of the worker's initial training and biennially thereafter. The commissioner shall develop​

172.4 ongoing training requirements and a method for tracking certifications.​

172.5 (e) Each regional hub shall have a regional organizational effectiveness specialist trained​

172.6 in continuous quality improvement strategies. The specialist shall provide organizational​

172.7 change assistance to counties and tribes, with priority given to efforts intended to impact​

172.8 child safety.​

172.9 (f) The Child Welfare Training Academy shall include training and resources that address​

172.10 worker well-being and secondary traumatic stress.​

172.11 (g) The Child Welfare Training Academy shall serve the primary training audiences of​

172.12 (1) county and tribal child welfare workers, (2) county and tribal child welfare supervisors,​

172.13 and (3) staff at private agencies providing out-of-home placement services for children​

172.14 involved in Minnesota's county and tribal child welfare system.​

172.15 Subd. 2. Partners. (a) The commissioner of human services shall enter into a partnership​

172.16 with the University of Minnesota to collaborate in the administration of workforce training.​

172.17 (b) The commissioner of human services shall enter into a partnership with one or more​

172.18 agencies to provide consultation, subject matter expertise, and capacity building in​

172.19 organizational resilience and child welfare workforce well-being.​

172.20 Sec. 19. CHILD WELFARE CASELOAD STUDY.​

172.21 (a) The commissioner of human services shall conduct a child welfare caseload study​

172.22 to collect data on (1) the number of child welfare workers in Minnesota, and (2) the amount​

172.23 of time that child welfare workers spend on different components of child welfare work.​

172.24 The study must be completed by July 1, 2019.​

172.25 (b) The commissioner shall report the results of the child welfare caseload study to the​

172.26 governor and to the committees in the house of representatives and senate with jurisdiction​

172.27 over human services by December 1, 2019.​

172.28 (c) After the child welfare caseload study is complete, the commissioner shall work with​

172.29 counties and other stakeholders to develop a process for ongoing monitoring of child welfare​

172.30 workers' caseloads.​
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173.1 Sec. 20. RULEMAKING.​

173.2 The commissioner of human services may adopt rules as necessary to establish the Child​

173.3 Welfare Training Academy.​

173.4 Sec. 21. REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.​

173.5 The revisor of statutes, in consultation with the Department of Human Services, House​

173.6 Research Department, and Senate Counsel, Research and Fiscal Analysis shall change the​

173.7 terms "food support" and "food stamps" to "Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program"​

173.8 or "SNAP" in Minnesota Statutes and Minnesota Rules when appropriate. The revisor may​

173.9 make technical and other necessary changes to sentence structure to preserve the meaning​

173.10 of the text.​

173.11 Sec. 22. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

173.12 (a) Sections 1, 2, and 4 to 7 are effective as soon as practicable contingent upon:​

173.13 (1) receipt of additional federal child care and development funds above the amount​

173.14 received in federal fiscal year 2017 appropriated in the federal Consolidated Appropriations​

173.15 Act of 2018, Public Law 115-141, and any subsequent federal appropriations, in an amount​

173.16 sufficient to cover the cost associated with the amendments to those sections through June​

173.17 30, 2021; and​

173.18 (2) satisfactory completion of the requirements in Minnesota Statutes, section 3.3005.​

173.19 (b) If the additional federal child care and development funds are not sufficient to cover​

173.20 the cost of the amendments to sections 1, 2, and 4 to 7, those sections are effective upon​

173.21 implementation by the commissioner of human services.​

173.22 The commissioner of human services shall prioritize implementation of those sections as​

173.23 follows:​

173.24 (1) first priority is implementation of the amendments to Minnesota Statutes, sections​

173.25 119B.011, subdivision 13b; 119B.025, subdivision 1; and 119B.095, subdivision 3;​

173.26 (2) second priority is implementation of the amendments to Minnesota Statutes, section​

173.27 119B.011, subdivision 20;​

173.28 (3) third priority is implementation of the amendments to Minnesota Statutes, section​

173.29 119B.03, subdivision 9; and​

173.30 (4) fourth priority is implementation of the amendments to Minnesota Statutes, section​

173.31 119B.13, subdivision 1.​
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174.1 (c) The commissioner of human services shall determine if the additional child care and​

174.2 development funds are sufficient by June 30, 2018, and notify the revisor of statutes when​

174.3 sections 1, 2, and 4 to 7 are effective.​

174.4 ARTICLE 8​

174.5 HEALTH LICENSING BOARDS​

174.6 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 13.83, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

174.7 Subd. 2. Public data. Unless specifically classified otherwise by state statute or federal​

174.8 law, the following data created or collected by a medical examiner or coroner on a deceased​

174.9 individual are public: name of the deceased; date of birth; date of death; address; sex; race;​

174.10 citizenship; height; weight; hair color; eye color; build; complexion; age, if known, or​

174.11 approximate age; identifying marks, scars and amputations; a description of the decedent's​

174.12 clothing; marital status; location of death including name of hospital where applicable; name​

174.13 of spouse; whether or not the decedent ever served in the armed forces of the United States;​

174.14 occupation; business; father's name (also birth name, if different); mother's name (also birth​

174.15 name, if different); birthplace; birthplace of parents; cause of death; causes of cause of​

174.16 death; whether an autopsy was performed and if so, whether it was conclusive; date and​

174.17 place of injury, if applicable, including work place; how injury occurred; whether death​

174.18 was caused by accident, suicide, homicide, or was of undetermined cause; certification of​

174.19 attendance by physician or advanced practice registered nurse; physician's or advanced​

174.20 practice registered nurse's name and address; certification by coroner or medical examiner;​

174.21 name and signature of coroner or medical examiner; type of disposition of body; burial​

174.22 place name and location, if applicable; date of burial, cremation or removal; funeral home​

174.23 name and address; and name of local register or funeral director.​

174.24 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144.651, subdivision 21, is amended to read:​

174.25 Subd. 21. Communication privacy. Patients and residents may associate and​

174.26 communicate privately with persons of their choice and enter and, except as provided by​

174.27 the Minnesota Commitment Act, leave the facility as they choose. Patients and residents​

174.28 shall have access, at their expense, to writing instruments, stationery, and postage. Personal​

174.29 mail shall be sent without interference and received unopened unless medically or​

174.30 programmatically contraindicated and documented by the physician or advanced practice​

174.31 registered nurse in the medical record. There shall be access to a telephone where patients​

174.32 and residents can make and receive calls as well as speak privately. Facilities which are​

174.33 unable to provide a private area shall make reasonable arrangements to accommodate the​
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175.1 privacy of patients' or residents' calls. Upon admission to a facility where federal law​

175.2 prohibits unauthorized disclosure of patient or resident identifying information to callers​

175.3 and visitors, the patient or resident, or the legal guardian or conservator of the patient or​

175.4 resident, shall be given the opportunity to authorize disclosure of the patient's or resident's​

175.5 presence in the facility to callers and visitors who may seek to communicate with the patient​

175.6 or resident. To the extent possible, the legal guardian or conservator of a patient or resident​

175.7 shall consider the opinions of the patient or resident regarding the disclosure of the patient's​

175.8 or resident's presence in the facility. This right is limited where medically inadvisable, as​

175.9 documented by the attending physician or advanced practice registered nurse in a patient's​

175.10 or resident's care record. Where programmatically limited by a facility abuse prevention​

175.11 plan pursuant to section 626.557, subdivision 14, paragraph (b), this right shall also be​

175.12 limited accordingly.​

175.13 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.26, is amended to read:​

175.14 144A.26 RECIPROCITY WITH OTHER STATES AND EQUIVALENCY OF​

175.15 HEALTH SERVICES EXECUTIVE.​

175.16 Subdivision 1. Reciprocity. The Board of Examiners may issue a nursing home​

175.17 administrator's license, without examination, to any person who holds a current license as​

175.18 a nursing home administrator from another jurisdiction if the board finds that the standards​

175.19 for licensure in the other jurisdiction are at least the substantial equivalent of those prevailing​

175.20 in this state and that the applicant is otherwise qualified.​

175.21 Subd. 2. Health services executive license. The Board of Examiners may issue a health​

175.22 services executive license to any person who (1) has been validated by the National​

175.23 Association of Long Term Care Administrator Boards as a health services executive, and​

175.24 (2) has met the education and practice requirements for the minimum qualifications of a​

175.25 nursing home administrator, assisted living administrator, and home and community-based​

175.26 service provider. Licensure decisions made by the board under this subdivision are final.​

175.27 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 144A.4791, subdivision 13, is amended to read:​

175.28 Subd. 13. Request for discontinuation of life-sustaining treatment. (a) If a client,​

175.29 family member, or other caregiver of the client requests that an employee or other agent of​

175.30 the home care provider discontinue a life-sustaining treatment, the employee or agent​

175.31 receiving the request:​

175.32 (1) shall take no action to discontinue the treatment; and​
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176.1 (2) shall promptly inform the supervisor or other agent of the home care provider of the​

176.2 client's request.​

176.3 (b) Upon being informed of a request for termination of treatment, the home care provider​

176.4 shall promptly:​

176.5 (1) inform the client that the request will be made known to the physician or advanced​

176.6 practice registered nurse who ordered the client's treatment;​

176.7 (2) inform the physician or advanced practice registered nurse of the client's request;​

176.8 and​

176.9 (3) work with the client and the client's physician or advanced practice registered nurse​

176.10 to comply with the provisions of the Health Care Directive Act in chapter 145C.​

176.11 (c) This section does not require the home care provider to discontinue treatment, except​

176.12 as may be required by law or court order.​

176.13 (d) This section does not diminish the rights of clients to control their treatments, refuse​

176.14 services, or terminate their relationships with the home care provider.​

176.15 (e) This section shall be construed in a manner consistent with chapter 145B or 145C,​

176.16 whichever applies, and declarations made by clients under those chapters.​

176.17 Sec. 5. [148.2855] NURSE LICENSURE COMPACT.​

176.18 The Nurse Licensure Compact is enacted into law and entered into with all other​

176.19 jurisdictions legally joining in it, in the form substantially as follows:​

176.20 ARTICLE I​

176.21 DEFINITIONS​

176.22 As used in this compact:​

176.23 (a) "Adverse action" means any administrative, civil, equitable, or criminal action​

176.24 permitted by a state's law that is imposed by a licensing board or other authority against a​

176.25 nurse, including actions against an individual's license or multistate licensure privilege such​

176.26 as revocation, suspension, probation, monitoring of the licensee, limitation on the licensee's​

176.27 practice, or any other encumbrance on licensure affecting a nurse's authorization to practice,​

176.28 including issuance of a cease and desist action.​

176.29 (b) "Alternative program" means a nondisciplinary monitoring program approved by a​

176.30 licensing board.​
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177.1 (c) "Coordinated licensure information system" means an integrated process for collecting,​

177.2 storing, and sharing information on nurse licensure and enforcement activities related to​

177.3 nurse licensure laws that is administered by a nonprofit organization composed of and​

177.4 controlled by licensing boards.​

177.5 (d) "Current significant investigative information" means:​

177.6 (1) investigative information that a licensing board, after a preliminary inquiry that​

177.7 includes notification and an opportunity for the nurse to respond, if required by state law,​

177.8 has reason to believe is not groundless and, if proved true, would indicate more than a minor​

177.9 infraction; or​

177.10 (2) investigative information that indicates that the nurse represents an immediate threat​

177.11 to public health and safety, regardless of whether the nurse has been notified and had an​

177.12 opportunity to respond.​

177.13 (e) "Encumbrance" means a revocation or suspension of, or any limitation on, the full​

177.14 and unrestricted practice of nursing imposed by a licensing board.​

177.15 (f) "Home state" means the party state which is the nurse's primary state of residence.​

177.16 (g) "Licensing board" means a party state's regulatory body responsible for issuing nurse​

177.17 licenses.​

177.18 (h) "Multistate license" means a license to practice as a registered or a licensed​

177.19 practical/vocational nurse (LPN/VN) issued by a home state licensing board that authorizes​

177.20 the licensed nurse to practice in all party states under a multistate licensure privilege.​

177.21 (i) "Multistate licensure privilege" means a legal authorization associated with a multistate​

177.22 license permitting the practice of nursing as either a registered nurse (RN) or licensed​

177.23 practical/vocational nurse (LPN/VN) in a remote state.​

177.24 (j) "Nurse" means a registered nurse (RN) or licensed practical/vocational nurse​

177.25 (LPN/VN), as those terms are defined by each party state's practice laws.​

177.26 (k) "Party state" means any state that has adopted this compact.​

177.27 (l) "Remote state" means a party state, other than the home state.​

177.28 (m) "Single-state license" means a nurse license issued by a party state that authorizes​

177.29 practice only within the issuing state and does not include a multistate licensure privilege​

177.30 to practice in any other party state.​

177.31 (n) "State" means a state, territory, or possession of the United States and the District​

177.32 of Columbia.​
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178.1 (o) "State practice laws" means a party state's laws, rules, and regulations that govern​

178.2 the practice of nursing, define the scope of nursing practice, and create the methods and​

178.3 grounds for imposing discipline. State practice laws do not include requirements necessary​

178.4 to obtain and retain a license, except for qualifications or requirements of the home state.​

178.5 ARTICLE II​

178.6 GENERAL PROVISIONS AND JURISDICTION​

178.7 (a) A multistate license to practice registered or licensed practical/vocational nursing​

178.8 issued by a home state to a resident in that state will be recognized by each party state as​

178.9 authorizing a nurse to practice as an RN or as a LPN/VN under a multistate licensure​

178.10 privilege in each party state.​

178.11 (b) A state must implement procedures for considering the criminal history records of​

178.12 applicants for initial multistate license or licensure by endorsement. Such procedures shall​

178.13 include the submission of fingerprints or other biometric-based information by applicants​

178.14 for the purpose of obtaining an applicant's criminal history record information from the​

178.15 Federal Bureau of Investigation and the agency responsible for retaining that state's criminal​

178.16 records.​

178.17 (c) Each party state shall require the following for an applicant to obtain or retain a​

178.18 multistate license in the home state:​

178.19 (1) meets the home state's qualifications for licensure or renewal of licensure, as well​

178.20 as all other applicable state laws;​

178.21 (2)(i) has graduated or is eligible to graduate from a licensing board-approved RN or​

178.22 LPN/VN prelicensure education program; or​

178.23 (ii) has graduated from a foreign RN or LPN/VN prelicensure education program that:​

178.24 (A) has been approved by the authorized accrediting body in the applicable country; and​

178.25 (B) has been verified by an independent credentials review agency to be comparable to​

178.26 a licensing board-approved prelicensure education program;​

178.27 (3) has, if a graduate of a foreign prelicensure education program not taught in English​

178.28 or if English is not the individual's native language, successfully passed an English​

178.29 proficiency examination that includes the components of reading, speaking, writing, and​

178.30 listening;​

178.31 (4) has successfully passed an NCLEX-RN or NCLEX-PN Examination or recognized​

178.32 predecessor, as applicable;​
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179.1 (5) is eligible for or holds an active, unencumbered license;​

179.2 (6) has submitted, in connection with an application for initial licensure or licensure by​

179.3 endorsement, fingerprints, or other biometric data for the purpose of obtaining criminal​

179.4 history record information from the Federal Bureau of Investigation and the agency​

179.5 responsible for retaining that state's criminal records;​

179.6 (7) has not been convicted or found guilty, or has entered into an agreed disposition, of​

179.7 a felony offense under applicable state or federal criminal law;​

179.8 (8) has not been convicted or found guilty, or has entered into an agreed disposition, of​

179.9 a misdemeanor offense related to the practice of nursing as determined on a case-by-case​

179.10 basis;​

179.11 (9) is not currently enrolled in an alternative program;​

179.12 (10) is subject to self-disclosure requirements regarding current participation in an​

179.13 alternative program; and​

179.14 (11) has a valid United States Social Security number.​

179.15 (d) All party states shall be authorized, in accordance with existing state due process​

179.16 law, to take adverse action against a nurse's multistate licensure privilege such as revocation,​

179.17 suspension, probation, or any other action that affects a nurse's authorization to practice​

179.18 under a multistate licensure privilege, including cease and desist actions. If a party state​

179.19 takes such action, it shall promptly notify the administrator of the coordinated licensure​

179.20 information system. The administrator of the coordinated licensure information system shall​

179.21 promptly notify the home state of any such actions by remote states.​

179.22 (e) A nurse practicing in a party state must comply with the state practice laws of the​

179.23 state in which the client is located at the time service is provided. The practice of nursing​

179.24 is not limited to patient care, but shall include all nursing practice as defined by the state​

179.25 practice laws of the party state in which the client is located. The practice of nursing in a​

179.26 party state under a multistate licensure privilege will subject a nurse to the jurisdiction of​

179.27 the licensing board, the courts, and the laws of the party state in which the client is located​

179.28 at the time service is provided.​

179.29 (f) Individuals not residing in a party state shall continue to be able to apply for a party​

179.30 state's single-state license as provided under the laws of each party state. However, the​

179.31 single-state license granted to these individuals will not be recognized as granting the​

179.32 privilege to practice nursing in any other party state. Nothing in this compact shall affect​

179.33 the requirements established by a party state for the issuance of a single-state license.​
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180.1 (g) Any nurse holding a home state multistate license, on the effective date of this​

180.2 compact, may retain and renew the multistate license issued by the nurse's then-current​

180.3 home state, provided that:​

180.4 (1) a nurse, who changes primary state of residence after this compact's effective date,​

180.5 must meet all applicable paragraph (c) requirements to obtain a multistate license from a​

180.6 new home state; or​

180.7 (2) a nurse who fails to satisfy the multistate licensure requirements in paragraph (c)​

180.8 due to a disqualifying event occurring after this compact's effective date shall be ineligible​

180.9 to retain or renew a multistate license, and the nurse's multistate license shall be revoked​

180.10 or deactivated in accordance with applicable rules adopted by the Interstate Commission​

180.11 of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators ("Commission").​

180.12 ARTICLE III​

180.13 APPLICATIONS FOR LICENSURE IN A PARTY STATE​

180.14 (a) Upon application for a multistate license, the licensing board in the issuing party​

180.15 state shall ascertain, through the coordinated licensure information system, whether the​

180.16 applicant has ever held, or is the holder of, a license issued by any other state, whether there​

180.17 are any encumbrances on any license or multistate licensure privilege held by the applicant,​

180.18 whether any adverse action has been taken against any license or multistate licensure privilege​

180.19 held by the applicant, and whether the applicant is currently participating in an alternative​

180.20 program.​

180.21 (b) A nurse may hold a multistate license, issued by the home state, in only one party​

180.22 state at a time.​

180.23 (c) If a nurse changes primary state of residence by moving between two party states,​

180.24 the nurse must apply for licensure in the new home state, and the multistate license issued​

180.25 by the prior home state will be deactivated in accordance with applicable rules adopted by​

180.26 the commission:​

180.27 (1) the nurse may apply for licensure in advance of a change in primary state of residence;​

180.28 and​

180.29 (2) a multistate license shall not be issued by the new home state until the nurse provides​

180.30 satisfactory evidence of a change in primary state of residence to the new home state and​

180.31 satisfies all applicable requirements to obtain a multistate license from the new home state.​
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181.1 (d) If a nurse changes primary state of residence by moving from a party state to a​

181.2 nonparty state, the multistate license issued by the prior home state will convert to a​

181.3 single-state license, valid only in the former home state.​

181.4 ARTICLE IV​

181.5 ADDITIONAL AUTHORITIES INVESTED IN PARTY STATE LICENSING BOARDS​

181.6 (a) In addition to the other powers conferred by state law, a licensing board shall have​

181.7 the authority to:​

181.8 (1) take adverse action against a nurse's multistate licensure privilege to practice within​

181.9 that party state:​

181.10 (i) only the home state shall have the power to take adverse action against a nurse's​

181.11 license issued by the home state; and​

181.12 (ii) for purposes of taking adverse action, the home state licensing board shall give the​

181.13 same priority and effect to reported conduct received from a remote state as it would if such​

181.14 conduct occurred within the home state. In so doing, the home state shall apply its own state​

181.15 laws to determine appropriate action;​

181.16 (2) issue cease and desist orders or impose an encumbrance on a nurse's authority to​

181.17 practice within that party state;​

181.18 (3) complete any pending investigations of a nurse who changes primary state of residence​

181.19 during the course of such investigations. The licensing board shall also have the authority​

181.20 to take appropriate action(s) and shall promptly report the conclusions of such investigations​

181.21 to the administrator of the coordinated licensure information system. The administrator of​

181.22 the coordinated licensure information system shall promptly notify the new home state of​

181.23 any such actions;​

181.24 (4) issue subpoenas for both hearings and investigations that require the attendance and​

181.25 testimony of witnesses, as well as the production of evidence. Subpoenas issued by a licensing​

181.26 board in a party state for the attendance and testimony of witnesses or the production of​

181.27 evidence from another party state shall be enforced in the latter state by any court of​

181.28 competent jurisdiction, according to the practice and procedure of that court applicable to​

181.29 subpoenas issued in proceedings pending before it. The issuing authority shall pay any​

181.30 witness fees, travel expenses, mileage, and other fees required by the service statutes of the​

181.31 state in which the witnesses or evidence are located;​

181.32 (5) obtain and submit, for each nurse licensure applicant, fingerprint, or other​

181.33 biometric-based information to the Federal Bureau of Investigation for criminal background​

181​Article 8 Sec. 5.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



182.1 checks, receive the results of the Federal Bureau of Investigation record search on criminal​

182.2 background checks, and use the results in making licensure decisions;​

182.3 (6) if otherwise permitted by state law, recover from the affected nurse the costs of​

182.4 investigations and disposition of cases resulting from any adverse action taken against that​

182.5 nurse; and​

182.6 (7) take adverse action based on the factual findings of the remote state, provided that​

182.7 the licensing board follows its own procedures for taking such adverse action.​

182.8 (b) If adverse action is taken by the home state against a nurse's multistate license, the​

182.9 nurse's multistate licensure privilege to practice in all other party states shall be deactivated​

182.10 until all encumbrances have been removed from the multistate license. All home state​

182.11 disciplinary orders that impose adverse action against a nurse's multistate license shall​

182.12 include a statement that the nurse's multistate licensure privilege is deactivated in all party​

182.13 states during the pendency of the order.​

182.14 (c) Nothing in this compact shall override a party state's decision that participation in​

182.15 an alternative program may be used in lieu of adverse action. The home state licensing board​

182.16 shall deactivate the multistate licensure privilege under the multistate license of any nurse​

182.17 for the duration of the nurse's participation in an alternative program.​

182.18 ARTICLE V​

182.19 COORDINATED LICENSURE INFORMATION SYSTEM AND EXCHANGE OF​

182.20 INFORMATION​

182.21 (a) All party states shall participate in a coordinated licensure information system of all​

182.22 licensed registered nurses (RNs) and licensed practical/vocational nurses (LPN/VNs). This​

182.23 system will include information on the licensure and disciplinary history of each nurse, as​

182.24 submitted by party states, to assist in the coordination of nurse licensure and enforcement​

182.25 efforts.​

182.26 (b) The commission, in consultation with the administrator of the coordinated licensure​

182.27 information system, shall formulate necessary and proper procedures for the identification,​

182.28 collection, and exchange of information under this compact.​

182.29 (c) All licensing boards shall promptly report to the coordinated licensure information​

182.30 system any adverse action, any current significant investigative information, denials of​

182.31 applications, including the reasons for such denials, and nurse participation in alternative​

182.32 programs known to the licensing board, regardless of whether such participation is deemed​

182.33 nonpublic or confidential under state law.​
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183.1 (d) Current significant investigative information and participation in nonpublic or​

183.2 confidential alternative programs shall be transmitted through the coordinated licensure​

183.3 information system only to party state licensing boards.​

183.4 (e) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, all party state licensing boards​

183.5 contributing information to the coordinated licensure information system may designate​

183.6 information that may not be shared with nonparty states or disclosed to other entities or​

183.7 individuals without the express permission of the contributing state.​

183.8 (f) Any personally identifiable information obtained from the coordinated licensure​

183.9 information system by a party state licensing board shall not be shared with nonparty states​

183.10 or disclosed to other entities or individuals except to the extent permitted by the laws of the​

183.11 party state contributing the information.​

183.12 (g) Any information contributed to the coordinated licensure information system that is​

183.13 subsequently required to be expunged by the laws of the party state contributing that​

183.14 information shall also be expunged from the coordinated licensure information system.​

183.15 (h) The compact administrator of each party state shall furnish a uniform data set to the​

183.16 compact administrator of each other party state, which shall include, at a minimum:​

183.17 (1) identifying information;​

183.18 (2) licensure data;​

183.19 (3) information related to alternative program participation; and​

183.20 (4) other information that may facilitate the administration of this compact, as determined​

183.21 by commission rules.​

183.22 (i) The compact administrator of a party state shall provide all investigative documents​

183.23 and information requested by another party state.​

183.24 ARTICLE VI​

183.25 ESTABLISHMENT OF THE INTERSTATE COMMISSION OF NURSE LICENSURE​

183.26 COMPACT ADMINISTRATORS​

183.27 (a) The party states hereby create and establish a joint public entity known as the Interstate​

183.28 Commission of Nurse Licensure Compact Administrators:​

183.29 (1) the commission is an instrumentality of the party states;​

183.30 (2) venue is proper, and judicial proceedings by or against the commission shall be​

183.31 brought solely and exclusively, in a court of competent jurisdiction where the principal​
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184.1 office of the commission is located. The commission may waive venue and jurisdictional​

184.2 defenses to the extent it adopts or consents to participate in alternative dispute resolution​

184.3 proceedings; and​

184.4 (3) nothing in this compact shall be construed to be a waiver of sovereign immunity.​

184.5 (b) Membership, voting, and meetings:​

184.6 (1) each party state shall have and be limited to one administrator. The head of the state​

184.7 licensing board or designee shall be the administrator of this compact for each party state.​

184.8 Any administrator may be removed or suspended from office as provided by the law of the​

184.9 state from which the administrator is appointed. Any vacancy occurring in the commission​

184.10 shall be filled in accordance with the laws of the party state in which the vacancy exists;​

184.11 (2) each administrator shall be entitled to one vote with regard to the promulgation of​

184.12 rules and creation of bylaws and shall otherwise have an opportunity to participate in the​

184.13 business and affairs of the commission. An administrator shall vote in person or by such​

184.14 other means as provided in the bylaws. The bylaws may provide for an administrator's​

184.15 participation in meetings by telephone or other means of communication;​

184.16 (3) the commission shall meet at least once during each calendar year. Additional​

184.17 meetings shall be held as set forth in the bylaws or rules of the commission;​

184.18 (4) all meetings shall be open to the public, and public notice of meetings shall be given​

184.19 in the same manner as required under the rulemaking provisions in article VII;​

184.20 (5) the commission may convene in a closed, nonpublic meeting if the commission must​

184.21 discuss:​

184.22 (i) noncompliance of a party state with its obligations under this compact;​

184.23 (ii) the employment, compensation, discipline, or other personnel matters, practices, or​

184.24 procedures related to specific employees or other matters related to the commission's internal​

184.25 personnel practices and procedures;​

184.26 (iii) current, threatened, or reasonably anticipated litigation;​

184.27 (iv) negotiation of contracts for the purchase or sale of goods, services, or real estate;​

184.28 (v) accusing any person of a crime or formally censuring any person;​

184.29 (vi) disclosure of trade secrets or commercial or financial information that is privileged​

184.30 or confidential;​
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185.1 (vii) disclosure of information of a personal nature where disclosure would constitute a​

185.2 clearly unwarranted invasion of personal privacy;​

185.3 (viii) disclosure of investigatory records compiled for law enforcement purposes;​

185.4 (ix) disclosure of information related to any reports prepared by or on behalf of the​

185.5 commission for the purpose of investigation of compliance with this compact; or​

185.6 (x) matters specifically exempted from disclosure by federal or state statute; and​

185.7 (6) if a meeting, or portion of a meeting, is closed pursuant to this provision, the​

185.8 commission's legal counsel or designee shall certify that the meeting may be closed and​

185.9 shall reference each relevant exempting provision. The commission shall keep minutes that​

185.10 fully and clearly describe all matters discussed in a meeting and shall provide a full and​

185.11 accurate summary of actions taken, and the reasons therefore, including a description of the​

185.12 views expressed. All documents considered in connection with an action shall be identified​

185.13 in minutes. All minutes and documents of a closed meeting shall remain under seal, subject​

185.14 to release by a majority vote of the commission or order of a court of competent jurisdiction.​

185.15 (c) The commission shall, by a majority vote of the administrators, prescribe bylaws or​

185.16 rules to govern its conduct as may be necessary or appropriate to carry out the purposes and​

185.17 exercise the powers of this compact, including, but not limited to:​

185.18 (1) establishing the fiscal year of the commission;​

185.19 (2) providing reasonable standards and procedures:​

185.20 (i) for the establishment and meetings of other committees; and​

185.21 (ii) governing any general or specific delegation of any authority or function of the​

185.22 commission;​

185.23 (3) providing reasonable procedures for calling and conducting meetings of the​

185.24 commission, ensuring reasonable advance notice of all meetings and providing an opportunity​

185.25 for attendance of such meetings by interested parties, with enumerated exceptions designed​

185.26 to protect the public's interest, the privacy of individuals, and proprietary information,​

185.27 including trade secrets. The commission may meet in closed session only after a majority​

185.28 of the administrators vote to close a meeting in whole or in part. As soon as practicable, the​

185.29 commission must make public a copy of the vote to close the meeting revealing the vote of​

185.30 each administrator, with no proxy votes allowed;​

185.31 (4) establishing the titles, duties, and authority and reasonable procedures for the election​

185.32 of the officers of the commission;​
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186.1 (5) providing reasonable standards and procedures for the establishment of the personnel​

186.2 policies and programs of the commission. Notwithstanding any civil service or other similar​

186.3 laws of any party state, the bylaws shall exclusively govern the personnel policies and​

186.4 programs of the commission; and​

186.5 (6) providing a mechanism for winding up the operations of the commission and the​

186.6 equitable disposition of any surplus funds that may exist after the termination of this compact​

186.7 after the payment or reserving of all of its debts and obligations.​

186.8 (d) The commission shall publish its bylaws and rules, and any amendments thereto, in​

186.9 a convenient form on the Web site of the commission.​

186.10 (e) The commission shall maintain its financial records in accordance with the bylaws.​

186.11 (f) The commission shall meet and take actions as are consistent with the provisions of​

186.12 this compact and the bylaws.​

186.13 (g) The commission shall have the following powers:​

186.14 (1) to promulgate uniform rules to facilitate and coordinate implementation and​

186.15 administration of this compact. The rules shall have the force and effect of law and shall​

186.16 be binding in all party states;​

186.17 (2) to bring and prosecute legal proceedings or actions in the name of the commission,​

186.18 provided that the standing of any licensing board to sue or be sued under applicable law​

186.19 shall not be affected;​

186.20 (3) to purchase and maintain insurance and bonds;​

186.21 (4) to borrow, accept, or contract for services of personnel, including, but not limited​

186.22 to, employees of a party state or nonprofit organizations;​

186.23 (5) to cooperate with other organizations that administer state compacts related to the​

186.24 regulation of nursing, including, but not limited to, sharing administrative or staff expenses,​

186.25 office space, or other resources;​

186.26 (6) to hire employees, elect or appoint officers, fix compensation, define duties, grant​

186.27 such individuals appropriate authority to carry out the purposes of this compact, and to​

186.28 establish the commission's personnel policies and programs relating to conflicts of interest,​

186.29 qualifications of personnel, and other related personnel matters;​

186.30 (7) to accept any and all appropriate donations, grants, and gifts of money, equipment,​

186.31 supplies, materials, and services, and to receive, utilize, and dispose of the same; provided​
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187.1 that at all times the commission shall avoid any appearance of impropriety or conflict of​

187.2 interest;​

187.3 (8) to lease, purchase, accept appropriate gifts or donations of, or otherwise to own,​

187.4 hold, improve, or use any property, whether real, personal, or mixed; provided that at all​

187.5 times the commission shall avoid any appearance of impropriety;​

187.6 (9) to sell, convey, mortgage, pledge, lease, exchange, abandon, or otherwise dispose​

187.7 of any property, whether real, personal, or mixed;​

187.8 (10) to establish a budget and make expenditures;​

187.9 (11) to borrow money;​

187.10 (12) to appoint committees, including advisory committees comprised of administrators,​

187.11 state nursing regulators, state legislators or their representatives, and consumer​

187.12 representatives, and other such interested persons;​

187.13 (13) to provide and receive information from, and to cooperate with, law enforcement​

187.14 agencies;​

187.15 (14) to adopt and use an official seal; and​

187.16 (15) to perform such other functions as may be necessary or appropriate to achieve the​

187.17 purposes of this Compact consistent with the state regulation of nurse licensure and practice.​

187.18 (h) Financing of the commission:​

187.19 (1) the commission shall pay, or provide for the payment of, the reasonable expenses of​

187.20 its establishment, organization, and ongoing activities;​

187.21 (2) the commission may also levy on and collect an annual assessment from each party​

187.22 state to cover the cost of its operations, activities, and staff in its annual budget as approved​

187.23 each year. The aggregate annual assessment amount, if any, shall be allocated based upon​

187.24 a formula to be determined by the commission, which shall promulgate a rule that is binding​

187.25 upon all party states;​

187.26 (3) the commission shall not incur obligations of any kind prior to securing the funds​

187.27 adequate to meet the same; nor shall the commission pledge the credit of any of the party​

187.28 states, except by, and with the authority of, such party state; and​

187.29 (4) the commission shall keep accurate accounts of all receipts and disbursements. The​

187.30 receipts and disbursements of the commission shall be subject to the audit and accounting​

187.31 procedures established under its bylaws. However, all receipts and disbursements of funds​

187.32 handled by the commission shall be audited yearly by a certified or licensed public​
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188.1 accountant, and the report of the audit shall be included in and become part of the annual​

188.2 report of the commission.​

188.3 (i) Qualified immunity, defense, and indemnification:​

188.4 (1) the administrators, officers, executive director, employees, and representatives of​

188.5 the commission shall be immune from suit and liability, either personally or in their official​

188.6 capacity, for any claim for damage to or loss of property or personal injury or other civil​

188.7 liability caused by or arising out of any actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred,​

188.8 or that the person against whom the claim is made had a reasonable basis for believing​

188.9 occurred, within the scope of commission employment, duties, or responsibilities; provided​

188.10 that nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to protect any such person from suit or​

188.11 liability for any damage, loss, injury, or liability caused by the intentional, willful, or wanton​

188.12 misconduct of that person;​

188.13 (2) the commission shall defend any administrator, officer, executive director, employee,​

188.14 or representative of the commission in any civil action seeking to impose liability arising​

188.15 out of any actual or alleged act, error, or omission that occurred within the scope of​

188.16 commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, or that the person against whom the​

188.17 claim is made had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within the scope of commission​

188.18 employment, duties, or responsibilities; provided that nothing herein shall be construed to​

188.19 prohibit that person from retaining his or her own counsel; and provided further that the​

188.20 actual or alleged act, error, or omission did not result from that person's intentional, willful,​

188.21 or wanton misconduct; and​

188.22 (3) the commission shall indemnify and hold harmless any administrator, officer,​

188.23 executive director, employee, or representative of the commission for the amount of any​

188.24 settlement or judgment obtained against that person arising out of any actual or alleged act,​

188.25 error, or omission that occurred within the scope of commission employment, duties, or​

188.26 responsibilities, or that such person had a reasonable basis for believing occurred within​

188.27 the scope of commission employment, duties, or responsibilities, provided that the actual​

188.28 or alleged act, error, or omission did not result from the intentional, willful, or wanton​

188.29 misconduct of that person.​

188.30 ARTICLE VII​

188.31 RULEMAKING​

188.32 (a) The commission shall exercise its rulemaking powers pursuant to the criteria set​

188.33 forth in this article and the rules adopted thereunder. Rules and amendments shall become​
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189.1 binding as of the date specified in each rule or amendment and shall have the same force​

189.2 and effect as provisions of this compact.​

189.3 (b) Rules or amendments to the rules shall be adopted at a regular or special meeting of​

189.4 the commission.​

189.5 (c) Prior to promulgation and adoption of a final rule or rules by the commission, and​

189.6 at least 60 days in advance of the meeting at which the rule will be considered and voted​

189.7 upon, the commission shall file a notice of proposed rulemaking:​

189.8 (1) on the Web site of the commission; and​

189.9 (2) on the Web site of each licensing board or the publication in which state would​

189.10 otherwise publish proposed rules.​

189.11 (d) The notice of proposed rulemaking shall include:​

189.12 (1) the proposed time, date, and location of the meeting in which the rule will be​

189.13 considered and voted upon;​

189.14 (2) the text of the proposed rule or amendment, and the reason for the proposed rule;​

189.15 (3) a request for comments on the proposed rule from any interested person; and​

189.16 (4) the manner in which interested persons may submit notice to the commission of their​

189.17 intention to attend the public hearing and any written comments.​

189.18 (e) Prior to adoption of a proposed rule, the commission shall allow persons to submit​

189.19 written data, facts, opinions, and arguments, which shall be made available to the public.​

189.20 (f) The commission shall grant an opportunity for a public hearing before it adopts a​

189.21 rule or amendment.​

189.22 (g) The commission shall publish the place, time, and date of the scheduled public​

189.23 hearing:​

189.24 (1) hearings shall be conducted in a manner providing each person who wishes to​

189.25 comment a fair and reasonable opportunity to comment orally or in writing. All hearings​

189.26 will be recorded, and a copy will be made available upon request; and​

189.27 (2) nothing in this section shall be construed as requiring a separate hearing on each​

189.28 rule. Rules may be grouped for the convenience of the commission at hearings required by​

189.29 this section.​

189.30 (h) If no one appears at the public hearing, the commission may proceed with​

189.31 promulgation of the proposed rule.​
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190.1 (i) Following the scheduled hearing date, or by the close of business on the scheduled​

190.2 hearing date if the hearing was not held, the commission shall consider all written and oral​

190.3 comments received.​

190.4 (j) The commission shall, by majority vote of all administrators, take final action on the​

190.5 proposed rule and shall determine the effective date of the rule, if any, based on the​

190.6 rulemaking record and the full text of the rule.​

190.7 (k) Upon determination that an emergency exists, the commission may consider and​

190.8 adopt an emergency rule without prior notice, opportunity for comment or hearing, provided​

190.9 that the usual rulemaking procedures provided in this compact and in this section shall be​

190.10 retroactively applied to the rule as soon as reasonably possible, in no event later than 90​

190.11 days after the effective date of the rule. For the purposes of this provision, an emergency​

190.12 rule is one that must be adopted immediately in order to:​

190.13 (1) meet an imminent threat to public health, safety, or welfare;​

190.14 (2) prevent a loss of commission or party state funds; or​

190.15 (3) meet a deadline for the promulgation of an administrative rule that is required by​

190.16 federal law or rule.​

190.17 (l) The commission may direct revisions to a previously adopted rule or amendment for​

190.18 purposes of correcting typographical errors, errors in format, errors in consistency, or​

190.19 grammatical errors. Public notice of any revisions shall be posted on the Web site of the​

190.20 commission. The revision shall be subject to challenge by any person for a period of 30​

190.21 days after posting. The revision may be challenged only on grounds that the revision results​

190.22 in a material change to a rule. A challenge shall be made in writing, and delivered to the​

190.23 commission prior to the end of the notice period. If no challenge is made, the revision will​

190.24 take effect without further action. If the revision is challenged, the revision may not take​

190.25 effect without the approval of the commission.​

190.26 ARTICLE VIII​

190.27 OVERSIGHT, DISPUTE RESOLUTION, AND ENFORCEMENT​

190.28 (a) Oversight:​

190.29 (1) each party state shall enforce this compact and take all actions necessary and​

190.30 appropriate to effectuate this compact's purposes and intent; and​

190.31 (2) the commission shall be entitled to receive service of process in any proceeding that​

190.32 may affect the powers, responsibilities, or actions of the commission, and shall have standing​
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191.1 to intervene in such a proceeding for all purposes. Failure to provide service of process in​

191.2 such proceeding to the commission shall render a judgment or order void as to the​

191.3 commission, this compact, or promulgated rules.​

191.4 (b) Default, technical assistance, and termination:​

191.5 (1) if the commission determines that a party state has defaulted in the performance of​

191.6 its obligations or responsibilities under this compact or the promulgated rules, the commission​

191.7 shall:​

191.8 (i) provide written notice to the defaulting state and other party states of the nature of​

191.9 the default, the proposed means of curing the default or any other action to be taken by the​

191.10 commission; and​

191.11 (ii) provide remedial training and specific technical assistance regarding the default;​

191.12 (2) if a state in default fails to cure the default, the defaulting state's membership in this​

191.13 compact may be terminated upon an affirmative vote of a majority of the administrators,​

191.14 and all rights, privileges, and benefits conferred by this compact may be terminated on the​

191.15 effective date of termination. A cure of the default does not relieve the offending state of​

191.16 obligations or liabilities incurred during the period of default;​

191.17 (3) termination of membership in this compact shall be imposed only after all other​

191.18 means of securing compliance have been exhausted. Notice of intent to suspend or terminate​

191.19 shall be given by the commission to the governor of the defaulting state and to the executive​

191.20 officer of the defaulting state's licensing board and each of the party states;​

191.21 (4) a state whose membership in this compact has been terminated is responsible for all​

191.22 assessments, obligations, and liabilities incurred through the effective date of termination,​

191.23 including obligations that extend beyond the effective date of termination;​

191.24 (5) the commission shall not bear any costs related to a state that is found to be in default​

191.25 or whose membership in this compact has been terminated, unless agreed upon in writing​

191.26 between the commission and the defaulting state; and​

191.27 (6) the defaulting state may appeal the action of the commission by petitioning the U.S.​

191.28 District Court for the District of Columbia or the federal district in which the commission​

191.29 has its principal offices. The prevailing party shall be awarded all costs of such litigation,​

191.30 including reasonable attorneys' fees.​

191.31 (c) Dispute resolution:​
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192.1 (1) upon request by a party state, the commission shall attempt to resolve disputes related​

192.2 to the compact that arise among party states and between party and nonparty states;​

192.3 (2) the commission shall promulgate a rule providing for both mediation and binding​

192.4 dispute resolution for disputes, as appropriate; and​

192.5 (3) in the event the commission cannot resolve disputes among party states arising under​

192.6 this compact:​

192.7 (i) the party states may submit the issues in dispute to an arbitration panel, which will​

192.8 be comprised of individuals appointed by the compact administrator in each of the affected​

192.9 party states and an individual mutually agreed upon by the compact administrators of all​

192.10 the party states involved in the dispute; and​

192.11 (ii) the decision of a majority of the arbitrators shall be final and binding.​

192.12 (d) Enforcement:​

192.13 (1) the commission, in the reasonable exercise of its discretion, shall enforce the​

192.14 provisions and rules of this compact;​

192.15 (2) by majority vote, the commission may initiate legal action in the U.S. District Court​

192.16 for the District of Columbia or the federal district in which the commission has its principal​

192.17 offices against a party state that is in default to enforce compliance with the provisions of​

192.18 this compact and its promulgated rules and bylaws. The relief sought may include both​

192.19 injunctive relief and damages. In the event judicial enforcement is necessary, the prevailing​

192.20 party shall be awarded all costs of such litigation, including reasonable attorneys' fees; and​

192.21 (3) the remedies herein shall not be the exclusive remedies of the commission. The​

192.22 commission may pursue any other remedies available under federal or state law.​

192.23 ARTICLE IX​

192.24 EFFECTIVE DATE, WITHDRAWAL, AND AMENDMENT​

192.25 (a) This compact shall become effective and binding on the earlier of the date of​

192.26 legislative enactment of this compact into law by no less than 26 states or December 31,​

192.27 2018. All party states to this compact, that also were parties to the prior Nurse Licensure​

192.28 Compact, superseded by this compact, ("prior compact"), shall be deemed to have withdrawn​

192.29 from said prior compact within six months after the effective date of this compact.​

192.30 (b) Each party state to this compact shall continue to recognize a nurse's multistate​

192.31 licensure privilege to practice in that party state issued under the prior compact until such​

192.32 party state has withdrawn from the prior compact.​
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193.1 (c) Any party state may withdraw from this compact by enacting a statute repealing the​

193.2 same. A party state's withdrawal shall not take effect until six months after enactment of​

193.3 the repealing statute.​

193.4 (d) A party state's withdrawal or termination shall not affect the continuing requirement​

193.5 of the withdrawing or terminated state's licensing board to report adverse actions and​

193.6 significant investigations occurring prior to the effective date of such withdrawal or​

193.7 termination.​

193.8 (e) Nothing contained in this compact shall be construed to invalidate or prevent any​

193.9 nurse licensure agreement or other cooperative arrangement between a party state and a​

193.10 nonparty state that is made in accordance with the other provisions of this compact.​

193.11 (f) This compact may be amended by the party states. No amendment to this compact​

193.12 shall become effective and binding upon the party states, unless and until it is enacted into​

193.13 the laws of all party states.​

193.14 (g) Representatives of nonparty states to this compact shall be invited to participate in​

193.15 the activities of the commission, on a nonvoting basis, prior to the adoption of this compact​

193.16 by all states.​

193.17 ARTICLE X​

193.18 CONSTRUCTION AND SEVERABILITY​

193.19 This compact shall be liberally construed so as to effectuate the purposes thereof. The​

193.20 provisions of this compact shall be severable, and if any phrase, clause, sentence, or provision​

193.21 of this compact is declared to be contrary to the constitution of any party state or of the​

193.22 United States, or if the applicability thereof to any government, agency, person, or​

193.23 circumstance is held invalid, the validity of the remainder of this compact and the​

193.24 applicability thereof to any government, agency, person, or circumstance shall not be affected​

193.25 thereby. If this compact shall be held to be contrary to the constitution of any party state,​

193.26 this compact shall remain in full force and effect as to the remaining party states and in full​

193.27 force and effect as to the party state affected as to all severable matters.​

193.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon implementation of the coordinated​

193.29 licensure information system defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.2855, article V,​

193.30 but no sooner than July 1, 2019.​
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194.1 Sec. 6. [148.2856] APPLICATION OF NURSE LICENSURE COMPACT TO​

194.2 EXISTING LAWS.​

194.3 (a) Section 148.2855 does not relieve employers of nurses from complying with statutorily​

194.4 imposed obligations.​

194.5 (b) Section 148.2855 does not supersede existing state labor laws.​

194.6 (c) For purposes of the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act, chapter 13, an​

194.7 individual not licensed as a nurse under sections 148.171 to 148.285 who practices​

194.8 professional or practical nursing in Minnesota under the authority of section 148.2855 is​

194.9 considered to be a licensee of the board.​

194.10 (d) Proceedings brought against an individual's multistate privilege shall be adjudicated​

194.11 following the procedures listed in sections 14.50 to 14.62 and shall be subject to judicial​

194.12 review as provided for in sections 14.63 to 14.69.​

194.13 (e) The reporting requirements of sections 144.4175, 148.263, 626.52, and 626.557​

194.14 apply to individuals not licensed as registered or licensed practical nurses under sections​

194.15 148.171 to 148.285 who practice professional or practical nursing in Minnesota under the​

194.16 authority of section 148.2855.​

194.17 (f) The board may take action against an individual's multistate privilege based on the​

194.18 grounds listed in section 148.261, subdivision 1, and any other statute authorizing or requiring​

194.19 the board to take corrective or disciplinary action.​

194.20 (g) The board may take all forms of disciplinary action provided for in section 148.262,​

194.21 subdivision 1, and corrective action provided for in section 214.103, subdivision 6, against​

194.22 an individual's multistate privilege.​

194.23 (h) The immunity provisions of section 148.264, subdivision 1, apply to individuals who​

194.24 practice professional or practical nursing in Minnesota under the authority of section​

194.25 148.2855.​

194.26 (i) The cooperation requirements of section 148.265 apply to individuals who practice​

194.27 professional or practical nursing in Minnesota under the authority of section 148.2855.​

194.28 (j) The provisions of section 148.283 shall not apply to individuals who practice​

194.29 professional or practical nursing in Minnesota under the authority of section 148.2855.​

194.30 (k) Complaints against individuals who practice professional or practical nursing in​

194.31 Minnesota under the authority of section 148.2855 shall be handled as provided in sections​

194.32 214.10 and 214.103.​
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195.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon implementation of the coordinated​

195.2 licensure information system defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.2855, article V,​

195.3 but no sooner than July 1, 2019.​

195.4 Sec. 7. [148.2858] MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS.​

195.5 (a) For the purposes of section 148.2855, "head of the Nurse Licensing Board" means​

195.6 the executive director of the board.​

195.7 (b) The Board of Nursing shall have the authority to recover from a nurse practicing​

195.8 professional or practical nursing in Minnesota under the authority of section 148.2855 the​

195.9 costs of investigation and disposition of cases resulting from any adverse action taken against​

195.10 the nurse.​

195.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective upon implementation of the coordinated​

195.12 licensure information system defined in Minnesota Statutes, section 148.2855, article V,​

195.13 but no sooner than July 1, 2019.​

195.14 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148.59, is amended to read:​

195.15 148.59 LICENSE RENEWAL; LICENSE AND REGISTRATION FEES.​

195.16 A licensed optometrist shall pay to the state Board of Optometry a fee as set by the board​

195.17 in order to renew a license as provided by board rule. No fees shall be refunded. Fees may​

195.18 not exceed the following amounts but may be adjusted lower by board direction and are for​

195.19 the exclusive use of the board:​

195.20 (1) optometry licensure application, $160;​

195.21 (2) optometry annual licensure renewal, $135 $170;​

195.22 (3) optometry late penalty fee, $75;​

195.23 (4) annual license renewal card, $10;​

195.24 (5) continuing education provider application, $45;​

195.25 (6) emeritus registration, $10;​

195.26 (7) endorsement/reciprocity application, $160;​

195.27 (8) replacement of initial license, $12; and​

195.28 (9) license verification, $50.;​

195.29 (10) jurisprudence state examination, $75;​
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196.1 (11) Optometric Education Continuing Education data bank registration, $20; and​

196.2 (12) data requests and labels, $50.​

196.3 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 148E.180, is amended to read:​

196.4 148E.180 FEE AMOUNTS.​

196.5 Subdivision 1. Application fees. Nonrefundable application fees for licensure are as​

196.6 follows may not exceed the following amounts but may be adjusted lower by board action:​

196.7 (1) for a licensed social worker, $45 $75;​

196.8 (2) for a licensed graduate social worker, $45 $75;​

196.9 (3) for a licensed independent social worker, $45 $75;​

196.10 (4) for a licensed independent clinical social worker, $45 $75;​

196.11 (5) for a temporary license, $50; and​

196.12 (6) for a licensure by endorsement, $85 $115.​

196.13 The fee for criminal background checks is the fee charged by the Bureau of Criminal​

196.14 Apprehension. The criminal background check fee must be included with the application​

196.15 fee as required according to section 148E.055.​

196.16 Subd. 2. License fees. Nonrefundable license fees are as follows may not exceed the​

196.17 following amounts but may be adjusted lower by board action:​

196.18 (1) for a licensed social worker, $81 $115;​

196.19 (2) for a licensed graduate social worker, $144 $210;​

196.20 (3) for a licensed independent social worker, $216 $305;​

196.21 (4) for a licensed independent clinical social worker, $238.50 $335;​

196.22 (5) for an emeritus inactive license, $43.20 $65;​

196.23 (6) for an emeritus active license, one-half of the renewal fee specified in subdivision​

196.24 3; and​

196.25 (7) for a temporary leave fee, the same as the renewal fee specified in subdivision 3.​

196.26 If the licensee's initial license term is less or more than 24 months, the required license​

196.27 fees must be prorated proportionately.​
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197.1 Subd. 3. Renewal fees. Nonrefundable renewal fees for licensure are as follows the​

197.2 two-year renewal term may not exceed the following amounts but may be adjusted lower​

197.3 by board action:​

197.4 (1) for a licensed social worker, $81 $115;​

197.5 (2) for a licensed graduate social worker, $144 $210;​

197.6 (3) for a licensed independent social worker, $216 $305; and​

197.7 (4) for a licensed independent clinical social worker, $238.50 $335.​

197.8 Subd. 4. Continuing education provider fees. Continuing education provider fees are​

197.9 as follows the following nonrefundable amounts:​

197.10 (1) for a provider who offers programs totaling one to eight clock hours in a one-year​

197.11 period according to section 148E.145, $50;​

197.12 (2) for a provider who offers programs totaling nine to 16 clock hours in a one-year​

197.13 period according to section 148E.145, $100;​

197.14 (3) for a provider who offers programs totaling 17 to 32 clock hours in a one-year period​

197.15 according to section 148E.145, $200;​

197.16 (4) for a provider who offers programs totaling 33 to 48 clock hours in a one-year period​

197.17 according to section 148E.145, $400; and​

197.18 (5) for a provider who offers programs totaling 49 or more clock hours in a one-year​

197.19 period according to section 148E.145, $600.​

197.20 Subd. 5. Late fees. Late fees are as follows the following nonrefundable amounts:​

197.21 (1) renewal late fee, one-fourth of the renewal fee specified in subdivision 3;​

197.22 (2) supervision plan late fee, $40; and​

197.23 (3) license late fee, $100 plus the prorated share of the license fee specified in subdivision​

197.24 2 for the number of months during which the individual practiced social work without a​

197.25 license.​

197.26 Subd. 6. License cards and wall certificates. (a) The fee for a license card as specified​

197.27 in section 148E.095 is $10.​

197.28 (b) The fee for a license wall certificate as specified in section 148E.095 is $30.​

197.29 Subd. 7. Reactivation fees. Reactivation fees are as follows the following nonrefundable​

197.30 amounts:​
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198.1 (1) reactivation from a temporary leave or emeritus status, the prorated share of the​

198.2 renewal fee specified in subdivision 3; and​

198.3 (2) reactivation of an expired license, 1-1/2 times the renewal fees specified in subdivision​

198.4 3.​

198.5 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.15, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

198.6 read:​

198.7 Subd. 5. Receipt of emergency prescription orders. A pharmacist, when that pharmacist​

198.8 is not present within a licensed pharmacy, may accept a written, verbal, or electronic​

198.9 prescription drug order from a practitioner only if:​

198.10 (1) the prescription drug order is for an emergency situation where waiting for the​

198.11 licensed pharmacy from which the prescription will be dispensed to open would likely cause​

198.12 the patient to experience significant physical harm or discomfort;​

198.13 (2) the pharmacy from which the prescription drug order will be dispensed is closed for​

198.14 business;​

198.15 (3) the pharmacist has been designated to be on call for the licensed pharmacy that will​

198.16 fill the prescription drug order;​

198.17 (4) in the case of an electronic prescription drug order, the order must be received through​

198.18 secure and encrypted electronic means;​

198.19 (5) the pharmacist takes reasonable precautions to ensure that the prescription drug order​

198.20 will be handled in a manner consistent with federal and state statutes regarding the handling​

198.21 of protected health information; and​

198.22 (6) the pharmacy from which the prescription drug order will be dispensed has relevant​

198.23 and appropriate policies and procedures in place and makes them available to the board​

198.24 upon request.​

198.25 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.15, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

198.26 read:​

198.27 Subd. 6. Processing of emergency prescription orders. A pharmacist, when that​

198.28 pharmacist is not present within a licensed pharmacy, may access a pharmacy prescription​

198.29 processing system through secure and encrypted electronic means in order to process an​

198.30 emergency prescription accepted pursuant to subdivision 5 only if:​
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199.1 (1) the pharmacy from which the prescription drug order will be dispensed is closed for​

199.2 business;​

199.3 (2) the pharmacist has been designated to be on call for the licensed pharmacy that will​

199.4 fill the prescription drug order;​

199.5 (3) the prescription drug order is for a patient of a long-term care facility or a county​

199.6 correctional facility;​

199.7 (4) the prescription drug order is processed pursuant to this chapter and rules adopted​

199.8 under this chapter; and​

199.9 (5) the pharmacy from which the prescription drug order will be dispensed has relevant​

199.10 and appropriate policies and procedures in place and makes them available to the board​

199.11 upon request.​

199.12 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.19, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

199.13 Subdivision 1. Pharmacy licensure requirements. (a) No person shall operate a​

199.14 pharmacy without first obtaining a license from the board and paying any applicable fee​

199.15 specified in section 151.065. The license shall be displayed in a conspicuous place in the​

199.16 pharmacy for which it is issued and expires on June 30 following the date of issue. It is​

199.17 unlawful for any person to operate a pharmacy unless the license has been issued to the​

199.18 person by the board.​

199.19 (b) Application for a pharmacy license under this section shall be made in a manner​

199.20 specified by the board.​

199.21 (c) No license shall be issued or renewed for a pharmacy located within the state unless​

199.22 the applicant agrees to operate the pharmacy in a manner prescribed by federal and state​

199.23 law and according to rules adopted by the board. No license shall be issued for a pharmacy​

199.24 located outside of the state unless the applicant agrees to operate the pharmacy in a manner​

199.25 prescribed by federal law and, when dispensing medications for residents of this state, the​

199.26 laws of this state, and Minnesota Rules.​

199.27 (d) No license shall be issued or renewed for a pharmacy that is required to be licensed​

199.28 or registered by the state in which it is physically located unless the applicant supplies the​

199.29 board with proof of such licensure or registration.​

199.30 (e) The board shall require a separate license for each pharmacy located within the state​

199.31 and for each pharmacy located outside of the state at which any portion of the dispensing​

199.32 process occurs for drugs dispensed to residents of this state.​
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200.1 (f) The board shall not issue an initial or renewed license for a pharmacy unless the​

200.2 pharmacy passes an inspection conducted by an authorized representative of the board. In​

200.3 the case of a pharmacy located outside of the state, the board may require the applicant to​

200.4 pay the cost of the inspection, in addition to the license fee in section 151.065, unless the​

200.5 applicant furnishes the board with a report, issued by the appropriate regulatory agency of​

200.6 the state in which the facility is located, of an inspection that has occurred within the 24​

200.7 months immediately preceding receipt of the license application by the board. The board​

200.8 may deny licensure unless the applicant submits documentation satisfactory to the board​

200.9 that any deficiencies noted in an inspection report have been corrected.​

200.10 (g) The board shall not issue an initial or renewed license for a pharmacy located outside​

200.11 of the state unless the applicant discloses and certifies:​

200.12 (1) the location, names, and titles of all principal corporate officers and all pharmacists​

200.13 who are involved in dispensing drugs to residents of this state;​

200.14 (2) that it maintains its records of drugs dispensed to residents of this state so that the​

200.15 records are readily retrievable from the records of other drugs dispensed;​

200.16 (3) that it agrees to cooperate with, and provide information to, the board concerning​

200.17 matters related to dispensing drugs to residents of this state;​

200.18 (4) that, during its regular hours of operation, but no less than six days per week, for a​

200.19 minimum of 40 hours per week, a toll-free telephone service is provided to facilitate​

200.20 communication between patients in this state and a pharmacist at the pharmacy who has​

200.21 access to the patients' records; the toll-free number must be disclosed on the label affixed​

200.22 to each container of drugs dispensed to residents of this state; and​

200.23 (5) that, upon request of a resident of a long-term care facility located in this state, the​

200.24 resident's authorized representative, or a contract pharmacy or licensed health care facility​

200.25 acting on behalf of the resident, the pharmacy will dispense medications prescribed for the​

200.26 resident in unit-dose packaging or, alternatively, comply with section 151.415, subdivision​

200.27 5.​

200.28 (h) This subdivision does not apply to a manufacturer licensed under section 151.252,​

200.29 subdivision 1, a wholesale drug distributor licensed under section 151.47, or a third-party​

200.30 logistics provider, to the extent the manufacturer, wholesale drug distributor, or third-party​

200.31 logistics provider is engaged in the distribution of dialysate or devices necessary to perform​

200.32 home peritoneal dialysis on patients with end-stage renal disease, if:​
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201.1 (1) the manufacturer or its agent leases or owns the licensed manufacturing or wholesaling​

201.2 facility from which the dialysate or devices will be delivered;​

201.3 (2) the dialysate is comprised of dextrose or icodextrin and has been approved by the​

201.4 United States Food and Drug Administration;​

201.5 (3) the dialysate is stored and delivered in its original, sealed, and unopened​

201.6 manufacturer's packaging;​

201.7 (4) the dialysate or devices are delivered only upon:​

201.8 (i) receipt of a physician's order by a Minnesota licensed pharmacy; and​

201.9 (ii) the review and processing of the prescription by a pharmacist licensed by the state​

201.10 in which the pharmacy is located, who is employed by or under contract to the pharmacy;​

201.11 (5) prescriptions, policies, procedures, and records of delivery are maintained by the​

201.12 manufacturer for a minimum of three years and are made available to the board upon request;​

201.13 and​

201.14 (6) the manufacturer or the manufacturer's agent delivers the dialysate or devices directly​

201.15 to:​

201.16 (i) a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written or the​

201.17 patient's designee, for the patient's self-administration of the dialysis therapy; or​

201.18 (ii) a health care provider or institution, for administration or delivery of the dialysis​

201.19 therapy to a patient with end-stage renal disease for whom the prescription was written.​

201.20 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 151.46, is amended to read:​

201.21 151.46 PROHIBITED DRUG PURCHASES OR RECEIPT.​

201.22 It is unlawful for any person to knowingly purchase or receive a prescription drug from​

201.23 a source other than a person or entity licensed under the laws of the state, except where​

201.24 otherwise provided. Licensed wholesale drug distributors other than pharmacies shall not​

201.25 dispense or distribute prescription drugs directly to patients except for licensed facilities​

201.26 that dispense or distribute home peritoneal dialysis products directly to patients pursuant​

201.27 to section 151.19, subdivision 1, paragraph (h). A person violating the provisions of this​

201.28 section is guilty of a misdemeanor.​
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202.1 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.075, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

202.2 Subdivision 1. Applications. (a) By January 1, 2018, Each health-related licensing​

202.3 board, as defined in section 214.01, subdivision 2, shall require applicants for initial licensure,​

202.4 licensure by endorsement, or reinstatement or other relicensure after a lapse in licensure,​

202.5 as defined by the individual health-related licensing boards, the following individuals to​

202.6 submit to a criminal history records check of state data completed by the Bureau of Criminal​

202.7 Apprehension (BCA) and a national criminal history records check, including a search of​

202.8 the records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI).:​

202.9 (1) applicants for initial licensure or licensure by endorsement. An applicant is exempt​

202.10 from this paragraph if the applicant submitted to a state and national criminal history records​

202.11 check as described in this paragraph for a license issued by the same board;​

202.12 (2) applicants seeking reinstatement or relicensure, as defined by the individual​

202.13 health-related licensing board, if more than one year has elapsed since the applicant's license​

202.14 or registration expiration date; or​

202.15 (3) licensees applying for eligibility to participate in an interstate licensure compact.​

202.16 (b) An applicant must complete a criminal background check if more than one year has​

202.17 elapsed since the applicant last submitted a background check to the board. An applicant's​

202.18 criminal background check results are valid for one year from the date the background check​

202.19 results were received by the board. If more than one year has elapsed since the results were​

202.20 received by the board, then an applicant who has not completed the licensure, reinstatement,​

202.21 or relicensure process must complete a new background check.​

202.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

202.23 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.075, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

202.24 Subd. 4. Refusal to consent. (a) The health-related licensing boards shall not issue a​

202.25 license to any applicant who refuses to consent to a criminal background check or fails to​

202.26 submit fingerprints within 90 days after submission of an application for licensure. Any​

202.27 fees paid by the applicant to the board shall be forfeited if the applicant refuses to consent​

202.28 to the criminal background check or fails to submit the required fingerprints.​

202.29 (b) The failure of a licensee to submit to a criminal background check as provided in​

202.30 subdivision 3 is grounds for disciplinary action by the respective health-related licensing​

202.31 board.​

202.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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203.1 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.075, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

203.2 Subd. 5. Submission of fingerprints to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. The​

203.3 health-related licensing board or designee shall submit applicant or licensee fingerprints to​

203.4 the BCA. The BCA shall perform a check for state criminal justice information and shall​

203.5 forward the applicant's or licensee's fingerprints to the FBI to perform a check for national​

203.6 criminal justice information regarding the applicant or licensee. The BCA shall report to​

203.7 the board the results of the state and national criminal justice information history records​

203.8 checks.​

203.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

203.10 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.075, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

203.11 Subd. 6. Alternatives to fingerprint-based criminal background checks. The​

203.12 health-related licensing board may require an alternative method of criminal history checks​

203.13 for an applicant or licensee who has submitted at least three two sets of fingerprints in​

203.14 accordance with this section that have been unreadable by the BCA or the FBI.​

203.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

203.16 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.077, is amended to read:​

203.17 214.077 TEMPORARY LICENSE SUSPENSION; IMMINENT RISK OF SERIOUS​

203.18 HARM.​

203.19 (a) Notwithstanding any provision of a health-related professional practice act, when a​

203.20 health-related licensing board receives a complaint regarding a regulated person and has​

203.21 probable cause to believe that the regulated person has violated a statute or rule that the​

203.22 health-related licensing board is empowered to enforce, and continued practice by the​

203.23 regulated person presents an imminent risk of serious harm, the health-related licensing​

203.24 board shall issue an order temporarily suspending the regulated person's authority to practice.​

203.25 The temporary suspension order shall specify the reason for the suspension, including the​

203.26 statute or rule alleged to have been violated. The temporary suspension order shall take​

203.27 effect upon personal service on the regulated person or the regulated person's attorney, or​

203.28 upon the third calendar day after the order is served by first class mail to the most recent​

203.29 address provided to the health-related licensing board for the regulated person or the regulated​

203.30 person's attorney.​

203.31 (b) The temporary suspension shall remain in effect until the health-related licensing​

203.32 board or the commissioner completes an investigation, holds a contested case hearing​
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204.1 pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, and issues a final order in the matter as​

204.2 provided for in this section.​

204.3 (c) At the time it issues the temporary suspension order, the health-related licensing​

204.4 board shall schedule a contested case hearing, on the merits of whether discipline is​

204.5 warranted, to be held pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act. The regulated person​

204.6 shall be provided with at least ten days' notice of any contested case hearing held pursuant​

204.7 to this section. The contested case hearing shall be scheduled to begin no later than 30 days​

204.8 after the effective service of the temporary suspension order.​

204.9 (d) The administrative law judge presiding over the contested case hearing shall issue​

204.10 a report and recommendation to the health-related licensing board no later than 30 days​

204.11 after the final day of the contested case hearing. If the administrative law judge's report and​

204.12 recommendations are for no action, the health-related licensing board shall issue a final​

204.13 order pursuant to sections 14.61 and 14.62 within 30 days of receipt of the administrative​

204.14 law judge's report and recommendations. If the administrative law judge's report and​

204.15 recommendations are for action, the health-related licensing board shall issue a final order​

204.16 pursuant to sections 14.61 and 14.62 within 60 days of receipt of the administrative law​

204.17 judge's report and recommendations. Except as provided in paragraph (e), if the health-related​

204.18 licensing board has not issued a final order pursuant to sections 14.61 and 14.62 within 30​

204.19 days of receipt of the administrative law judge's report and recommendations for no action​

204.20 or within 60 days of receipt of the administrative law judge's report and recommendations​

204.21 for action, the temporary suspension shall be lifted.​

204.22 (e) If the regulated person requests a delay in the contested case proceedings provided​

204.23 for in paragraphs (c) and (d) for any reason, the temporary suspension shall remain in effect​

204.24 until the health-related licensing board issues a final order pursuant to sections 14.61 and​

204.25 14.62.​

204.26 (f) This section shall not apply to the Office of Unlicensed Complementary and​

204.27 Alternative Health Practice established under section 146A.02. The commissioner of health​

204.28 shall conduct temporary suspensions for complementary and alternative health care​

204.29 practitioners in accordance with section 146A.09.​

204.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

204.31 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.10, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

204.32 Subd. 8. Special requirements for health-related licensing boards. In addition to the​

204.33 provisions of this section that apply to all examining and licensing boards, the requirements​
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205.1 in this subdivision apply to all health-related licensing boards, except the Board of Veterinary​

205.2 Medicine.​

205.3 (a) If the executive director or consulted board member determines that a communication​

205.4 received alleges a violation of statute or rule that involves sexual contact with a patient or​

205.5 client, the communication shall be forwarded to the designee of the attorney general for an​

205.6 investigation of the facts alleged in the communication. If, after an investigation it is the​

205.7 opinion of the executive director or consulted board member that there is sufficient evidence​

205.8 to justify disciplinary action, the board shall conduct a disciplinary conference or hearing.​

205.9 If, after a hearing or disciplinary conference the board determines that misconduct involving​

205.10 sexual contact with a patient or client occurred, the board shall take disciplinary action.​

205.11 Notwithstanding subdivision 2, a board may not attempt to correct improper activities or​

205.12 redress grievances through education, conciliation, and persuasion, unless in the opinion of​

205.13 the executive director or consulted board member there is insufficient evidence to justify​

205.14 disciplinary action. The board may settle a case by stipulation prior to, or during, a hearing​

205.15 if the stipulation provides for disciplinary action.​

205.16 (b) A board member who has a direct current or former financial connection or​

205.17 professional relationship to a person who is the subject of board disciplinary activities must​

205.18 not participate in board activities relating to that case.​

205.19 (c) Each health-related licensing board shall establish procedures for exchanging​

205.20 information with other Minnesota state boards, agencies, and departments responsible for​

205.21 regulating health-related occupations, facilities, and programs, and for coordinating​

205.22 investigations involving matters within the jurisdiction of more than one regulatory body.​

205.23 The procedures must provide for the forwarding to other regulatory bodies of all information​

205.24 and evidence, including the results of investigations, that are relevant to matters within that​

205.25 licensing body's regulatory jurisdiction. Each health-related licensing board shall have access​

205.26 to any data of the Department of Human Services relating to a person subject to the​

205.27 jurisdiction of the licensing board. The data shall have the same classification under chapter​

205.28 13, the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act, in the hands of the agency receiving the​

205.29 data as it had in the hands of the Department of Human Services.​

205.30 (d) Each health-related licensing board shall establish procedures for exchanging​

205.31 information with other states regarding disciplinary actions against licensees. The procedures​

205.32 must provide for the collection of information from other states about disciplinary actions​

205.33 taken against persons who are licensed to practice in Minnesota or who have applied to be​

205.34 licensed in this state and the dissemination of information to other states regarding​

205.35 disciplinary actions taken in Minnesota. In addition to any authority in chapter 13 permitting​
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206.1 the dissemination of data, the board may, in its discretion, disseminate data to other states​

206.2 regardless of its classification under chapter 13. Criminal history record information shall​

206.3 not be exchanged. Before transferring any data that is not public, the board shall obtain​

206.4 reasonable assurances from the receiving state that the data will not be made public.​

206.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

206.6 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.12, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

206.7 read:​

206.8 Subd. 6. Opioid and controlled substances prescribing. (a) The Board of Medical​

206.9 Practice, the Board of Nursing, the Board of Dentistry, the Board of Optometry, and the​

206.10 Board of Podiatric Medicine shall require that licensees with the authority to prescribe​

206.11 controlled substances obtain at least two hours of continuing education credit on best practices​

206.12 in prescribing opioids and controlled substances, as part of the continuing education​

206.13 requirements for licensure renewal. Licensees shall not be required to complete more than​

206.14 two credit hours of continuing education on best practices in prescribing opioids and​

206.15 controlled substances before this subdivision expires. Continuing education credit on best​

206.16 practices in prescribing opioids and controlled substances must meet board requirements.​

206.17 (b) This subdivision expires January 1, 2023.​

206.18 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2019.​

206.19 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 245G.22, subdivision 2, is amended​

206.20 to read:​

206.21 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms defined in this subdivision​

206.22 have the meanings given them.​

206.23 (b) "Diversion" means the use of a medication for the treatment of opioid addiction being​

206.24 diverted from intended use of the medication.​

206.25 (c) "Guest dose" means administration of a medication used for the treatment of opioid​

206.26 addiction to a person who is not a client of the program that is administering or dispensing​

206.27 the medication.​

206.28 (d) "Medical director" means a physician licensed to practice medicine in the jurisdiction​

206.29 that the opioid treatment program is located who assumes responsibility for administering​

206.30 all medical services performed by the program, either by performing the services directly​

206.31 or by delegating specific responsibility to (1) authorized program physicians and; (2)​

206.32 advanced practice registered nurses, when approved by variance by the State Opioid​
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207.1 Treatment Authority under section 254A.03 and the federal Substance Abuse and Mental​

207.2 Health Services Administration; or (3) health care professionals functioning under the​

207.3 medical director's direct supervision.​

207.4 (e) "Medication used for the treatment of opioid use disorder" means a medication​

207.5 approved by the Food and Drug Administration for the treatment of opioid use disorder.​

207.6 (f) "Minnesota health care programs" has the meaning given in section 256B.0636.​

207.7 (g) "Opioid treatment program" has the meaning given in Code of Federal Regulations,​

207.8 title 42, section 8.12, and includes programs licensed under this chapter.​

207.9 (h) "Placing authority" has the meaning given in Minnesota Rules, part 9530.6605,​

207.10 subpart 21a.​

207.11 (i) "Unsupervised use" means the use of a medication for the treatment of opioid use​

207.12 disorder dispensed for use by a client outside of the program setting.​

207.13 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256.975, subdivision 7b, is amended to read:​

207.14 Subd. 7b. Exemptions and emergency admissions. (a) Exemptions from the federal​

207.15 screening requirements outlined in subdivision 7a, paragraphs (b) and (c), are limited to:​

207.16 (1) a person who, having entered an acute care facility from a certified nursing facility,​

207.17 is returning to a certified nursing facility; or​

207.18 (2) a person transferring from one certified nursing facility in Minnesota to another​

207.19 certified nursing facility in Minnesota.​

207.20 (b) Persons who are exempt from preadmission screening for purposes of level of care​

207.21 determination include:​

207.22 (1) persons described in paragraph (a);​

207.23 (2) an individual who has a contractual right to have nursing facility care paid for​

207.24 indefinitely by the Veterans Administration;​

207.25 (3) an individual enrolled in a demonstration project under section 256B.69, subdivision​

207.26 8, at the time of application to a nursing facility; and​

207.27 (4) an individual currently being served under the alternative care program or under a​

207.28 home and community-based services waiver authorized under section 1915(c) of the federal​

207.29 Social Security Act.​
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208.1 (c) Persons admitted to a Medicaid-certified nursing facility from the community on an​

208.2 emergency basis as described in paragraph (d) or from an acute care facility on a nonworking​

208.3 day must be screened the first working day after admission.​

208.4 (d) Emergency admission to a nursing facility prior to screening is permitted when all​

208.5 of the following conditions are met:​

208.6 (1) a person is admitted from the community to a certified nursing or certified boarding​

208.7 care facility during Senior LinkAge Line nonworking hours;​

208.8 (2) a physician or advanced practice registered nurse has determined that delaying​

208.9 admission until preadmission screening is completed would adversely affect the person's​

208.10 health and safety;​

208.11 (3) there is a recent precipitating event that precludes the client from living safely in the​

208.12 community, such as sustaining an injury, sudden onset of acute illness, or a caregiver's​

208.13 inability to continue to provide care;​

208.14 (4) the attending physician or advanced practice registered nurse has authorized the​

208.15 emergency placement and has documented the reason that the emergency placement is​

208.16 recommended; and​

208.17 (5) the Senior LinkAge Line is contacted on the first working day following the​

208.18 emergency admission.​

208.19 Transfer of a patient from an acute care hospital to a nursing facility is not considered​

208.20 an emergency except for a person who has received hospital services in the following​

208.21 situations: hospital admission for observation, care in an emergency room without hospital​

208.22 admission, or following hospital 24-hour bed care and from whom admission is being sought​

208.23 on a nonworking day.​

208.24 (e) A nursing facility must provide written information to all persons admitted regarding​

208.25 the person's right to request and receive long-term care consultation services as defined in​

208.26 section 256B.0911, subdivision 1a. The information must be provided prior to the person's​

208.27 discharge from the facility and in a format specified by the commissioner.​

208.28 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0575, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

208.29 Subdivision 1. Income deductions. When an institutionalized person is determined​

208.30 eligible for medical assistance, the income that exceeds the deductions in paragraphs (a)​

208.31 and (b) must be applied to the cost of institutional care.​
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209.1 (a) The following amounts must be deducted from the institutionalized person's income​

209.2 in the following order:​

209.3 (1) the personal needs allowance under section 256B.35 or, for a veteran who does not​

209.4 have a spouse or child, or a surviving spouse of a veteran having no child, the amount of​

209.5 an improved pension received from the veteran's administration not exceeding $90 per​

209.6 month;​

209.7 (2) the personal allowance for disabled individuals under section 256B.36;​

209.8 (3) if the institutionalized person has a legally appointed guardian or conservator, five​

209.9 percent of the recipient's gross monthly income up to $100 as reimbursement for guardianship​

209.10 or conservatorship services;​

209.11 (4) a monthly income allowance determined under section 256B.058, subdivision 2, but​

209.12 only to the extent income of the institutionalized spouse is made available to the community​

209.13 spouse;​

209.14 (5) a monthly allowance for children under age 18 which, together with the net income​

209.15 of the children, would provide income equal to the medical assistance standard for families​

209.16 and children according to section 256B.056, subdivision 4, for a family size that includes​

209.17 only the minor children. This deduction applies only if the children do not live with the​

209.18 community spouse and only to the extent that the deduction is not included in the personal​

209.19 needs allowance under section 256B.35, subdivision 1, as child support garnished under a​

209.20 court order;​

209.21 (6) a monthly family allowance for other family members, equal to one-third of the​

209.22 difference between 122 percent of the federal poverty guidelines and the monthly income​

209.23 for that family member;​

209.24 (7) reparations payments made by the Federal Republic of Germany and reparations​

209.25 payments made by the Netherlands for victims of Nazi persecution between 1940 and 1945;​

209.26 (8) all other exclusions from income for institutionalized persons as mandated by federal​

209.27 law; and​

209.28 (9) amounts for reasonable expenses, as specified in subdivision 2, incurred for necessary​

209.29 medical or remedial care for the institutionalized person that are recognized under state law,​

209.30 not medical assistance covered expenses, and not subject to payment by a third party.​

209.31 For purposes of clause (6), "other family member" means a person who resides with the​

209.32 community spouse and who is a minor or dependent child, dependent parent, or dependent​

209​Article 8 Sec. 23.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



210.1 sibling of either spouse. "Dependent" means a person who could be claimed as a dependent​

210.2 for federal income tax purposes under the Internal Revenue Code.​

210.3 (b) Income shall be allocated to an institutionalized person for a period of up to three​

210.4 calendar months, in an amount equal to the medical assistance standard for a family size of​

210.5 one if:​

210.6 (1) a physician or advanced practice registered nurse certifies that the person is expected​

210.7 to reside in the long-term care facility for three calendar months or less;​

210.8 (2) if the person has expenses of maintaining a residence in the community; and​

210.9 (3) if one of the following circumstances apply:​

210.10 (i) the person was not living together with a spouse or a family member as defined in​

210.11 paragraph (a) when the person entered a long-term care facility; or​

210.12 (ii) the person and the person's spouse become institutionalized on the same date, in​

210.13 which case the allocation shall be applied to the income of one of the spouses.​

210.14 For purposes of this paragraph, a person is determined to be residing in a licensed nursing​

210.15 home, regional treatment center, or medical institution if the person is expected to remain​

210.16 for a period of one full calendar month or more.​

210.17 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0595, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

210.18 Subd. 3. Homestead exception to transfer prohibition. (a) An institutionalized person​

210.19 is not ineligible for long-term care services due to a transfer of assets for less than fair market​

210.20 value if the asset transferred was a homestead and:​

210.21 (1) title to the homestead was transferred to the individual's:​

210.22 (i) spouse;​

210.23 (ii) child who is under age 21;​

210.24 (iii) blind or permanently and totally disabled child as defined in the Supplemental​

210.25 Security Income program;​

210.26 (iv) sibling who has equity interest in the home and who was residing in the home for​

210.27 a period of at least one year immediately before the date of the individual's admission to​

210.28 the facility; or​

210.29 (v) son or daughter who was residing in the individual's home for a period of at least​

210.30 two years immediately before the date the individual became an institutionalized person,​

210.31 and who provided care to the individual that, as certified by the individual's attending​
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211.1 physician or advanced practice registered nurse, permitted the individual to reside at home​

211.2 rather than receive care in an institution or facility;​

211.3 (2) a satisfactory showing is made that the individual intended to dispose of the homestead​

211.4 at fair market value or for other valuable consideration; or​

211.5 (3) the local agency grants a waiver of a penalty resulting from a transfer for less than​

211.6 fair market value because denial of eligibility would cause undue hardship for the individual,​

211.7 based on imminent threat to the individual's health and well-being. Whenever an applicant​

211.8 or recipient is denied eligibility because of a transfer for less than fair market value, the​

211.9 local agency shall notify the applicant or recipient that the applicant or recipient may request​

211.10 a waiver of the penalty if the denial of eligibility will cause undue hardship. With the written​

211.11 consent of the individual or the personal representative of the individual, a long-term care​

211.12 facility in which an individual is residing may file an undue hardship waiver request, on​

211.13 behalf of the individual who is denied eligibility for long-term care services on or after July​

211.14 1, 2006, due to a period of ineligibility resulting from a transfer on or after February 8,​

211.15 2006. In evaluating a waiver, the local agency shall take into account whether the individual​

211.16 was the victim of financial exploitation, whether the individual has made reasonable efforts​

211.17 to recover the transferred property or resource, and other factors relevant to a determination​

211.18 of hardship. If the local agency does not approve a hardship waiver, the local agency shall​

211.19 issue a written notice to the individual stating the reasons for the denial and the process for​

211.20 appealing the local agency's decision.​

211.21 (b) When a waiver is granted under paragraph (a), clause (3), a cause of action exists​

211.22 against the person to whom the homestead was transferred for that portion of long-term​

211.23 care services provided within:​

211.24 (1) 30 months of a transfer made on or before August 10, 1993;​

211.25 (2) 60 months if the homestead was transferred after August 10, 1993, to a trust or portion​

211.26 of a trust that is considered a transfer of assets under federal law;​

211.27 (3) 36 months if transferred in any other manner after August 10, 1993, but prior to​

211.28 February 8, 2006; or​

211.29 (4) 60 months if the homestead was transferred on or after February 8, 2006,​

211.30 or the amount of the uncompensated transfer, whichever is less, together with the costs​

211.31 incurred due to the action.​
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212.1 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256B.0625, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

212.2 Subd. 2. Skilled and intermediate nursing care. (a) Medical assistance covers skilled​

212.3 nursing home services and services of intermediate care facilities, including training and​

212.4 habilitation services, as defined in section 252.41, subdivision 3, for persons with​

212.5 developmental disabilities who are residing in intermediate care facilities for persons with​

212.6 developmental disabilities. Medical assistance must not be used to pay the costs of nursing​

212.7 care provided to a patient in a swing bed as defined in section 144.562, unless (1) the facility​

212.8 in which the swing bed is located is eligible as a sole community provider, as defined in​

212.9 Code of Federal Regulations, title 42, section 412.92, or the facility is a public hospital​

212.10 owned by a governmental entity with 15 or fewer licensed acute care beds; (2) the Centers​

212.11 for Medicare and Medicaid Services approves the necessary state plan amendments; (3) the​

212.12 patient was screened as provided by law; (4) the patient no longer requires acute care​

212.13 services; and (5) no nursing home beds are available within 25 miles of the facility. The​

212.14 commissioner shall exempt a facility from compliance with the sole community provider​

212.15 requirement in clause (1) if, as of January 1, 2004, the facility had an agreement with the​

212.16 commissioner to provide medical assistance swing bed services.​

212.17 (b) Medical assistance also covers up to ten days of nursing care provided to a patient​

212.18 in a swing bed if: (1) the patient's physician or advanced practice registered nurse certifies​

212.19 that the patient has a terminal illness or condition that is likely to result in death within 30​

212.20 days and that moving the patient would not be in the best interests of the patient and patient's​

212.21 family; (2) no open nursing home beds are available within 25 miles of the facility; and (3)​

212.22 no open beds are available in any Medicare hospice program within 50 miles of the facility.​

212.23 The daily medical assistance payment for nursing care for the patient in the swing bed is​

212.24 the statewide average medical assistance skilled nursing care per diem as computed annually​

212.25 by the commissioner on July 1 of each year.​

212.26 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 259.24, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

212.27 Subd. 2. Parents, guardian. If an unmarried parent who consents to the adoption of a​

212.28 child is under 18 years of age, the consent of the minor parent's parents or guardian, if any,​

212.29 also shall be required; if either or both the parents are disqualified for any of the reasons​

212.30 enumerated in subdivision 1, the consent of such parent shall be waived, and the consent​

212.31 of the guardian only shall be sufficient; and, if there be neither parent nor guardian qualified​

212.32 to give such consent, the consent may be given by the commissioner. The agency overseeing​

212.33 the adoption proceedings shall ensure that the minor parent is offered the opportunity to​

212.34 consult with an attorney, a member of the clergy or, a physician, or an advanced practice​
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213.1 registered nurse before consenting to adoption of the child. The advice or opinion of the​

213.2 attorney, clergy member or, physician, or advanced practice registered nurse shall not be​

213.3 binding on the minor parent. If the minor parent cannot afford the cost of consulting with​

213.4 an attorney, a member of the clergy or, a physician, or an advanced practice registered nurse,​

213.5 the county shall bear that cost.​

213.6 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 260C.007, subdivision 6, is amended​

213.7 to read:​

213.8 Subd. 6. Child in need of protection or services. "Child in need of protection or​

213.9 services" means a child who is in need of protection or services because the child:​

213.10 (1) is abandoned or without parent, guardian, or custodian;​

213.11 (2)(i) has been a victim of physical or sexual abuse as defined in section 626.556,​

213.12 subdivision 2, (ii) resides with or has resided with a victim of child abuse as defined in​

213.13 subdivision 5 or domestic child abuse as defined in subdivision 13, (iii) resides with or​

213.14 would reside with a perpetrator of domestic child abuse as defined in subdivision 13 or child​

213.15 abuse as defined in subdivision 5 or 13, or (iv) is a victim of emotional maltreatment as​

213.16 defined in subdivision 15;​

213.17 (3) is without necessary food, clothing, shelter, education, or other required care for the​

213.18 child's physical or mental health or morals because the child's parent, guardian, or custodian​

213.19 is unable or unwilling to provide that care;​

213.20 (4) is without the special care made necessary by a physical, mental, or emotional​

213.21 condition because the child's parent, guardian, or custodian is unable or unwilling to provide​

213.22 that care;​

213.23 (5) is medically neglected, which includes, but is not limited to, the withholding of​

213.24 medically indicated treatment from an infant with a disability with a life-threatening​

213.25 condition. The term "withholding of medically indicated treatment" means the failure to​

213.26 respond to the infant's life-threatening conditions by providing treatment, including​

213.27 appropriate nutrition, hydration, and medication which, in the treating physician's or​

213.28 physicians' advanced practice registered nurse's reasonable medical judgment, will be most​

213.29 likely to be effective in ameliorating or correcting all conditions, except that the term does​

213.30 not include the failure to provide treatment other than appropriate nutrition, hydration, or​

213.31 medication to an infant when, in the treating physician's or physicians' advanced practice​

213.32 registered nurse's reasonable medical judgment:​

213.33 (i) the infant is chronically and irreversibly comatose;​
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214.1 (ii) the provision of the treatment would merely prolong dying, not be effective in​

214.2 ameliorating or correcting all of the infant's life-threatening conditions, or otherwise be​

214.3 futile in terms of the survival of the infant; or​

214.4 (iii) the provision of the treatment would be virtually futile in terms of the survival of​

214.5 the infant and the treatment itself under the circumstances would be inhumane;​

214.6 (6) is one whose parent, guardian, or other custodian for good cause desires to be relieved​

214.7 of the child's care and custody, including a child who entered foster care under a voluntary​

214.8 placement agreement between the parent and the responsible social services agency under​

214.9 section 260C.227;​

214.10 (7) has been placed for adoption or care in violation of law;​

214.11 (8) is without proper parental care because of the emotional, mental, or physical disability,​

214.12 or state of immaturity of the child's parent, guardian, or other custodian;​

214.13 (9) is one whose behavior, condition, or environment is such as to be injurious or​

214.14 dangerous to the child or others. An injurious or dangerous environment may include, but​

214.15 is not limited to, the exposure of a child to criminal activity in the child's home;​

214.16 (10) is experiencing growth delays, which may be referred to as failure to thrive, that​

214.17 have been diagnosed by a physician and are due to parental neglect;​

214.18 (11) is a sexually exploited youth;​

214.19 (12) has committed a delinquent act or a juvenile petty offense before becoming ten​

214.20 years old;​

214.21 (13) is a runaway;​

214.22 (14) is a habitual truant;​

214.23 (15) has been found incompetent to proceed or has been found not guilty by reason of​

214.24 mental illness or mental deficiency in connection with a delinquency proceeding, a​

214.25 certification under section 260B.125, an extended jurisdiction juvenile prosecution, or a​

214.26 proceeding involving a juvenile petty offense; or​

214.27 (16) has a parent whose parental rights to one or more other children were involuntarily​

214.28 terminated or whose custodial rights to another child have been involuntarily transferred to​

214.29 a relative and there is a case plan prepared by the responsible social services agency​

214.30 documenting a compelling reason why filing the termination of parental rights petition under​

214.31 section 260C.503, subdivision 2, is not in the best interests of the child.​
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215.1 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 364.09, is amended to read:​

215.2 364.09 EXCEPTIONS.​

215.3 (a) This chapter does not apply to the licensing process for peace officers; to law​

215.4 enforcement agencies as defined in section 626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f); to fire​

215.5 protection agencies; to eligibility for a private detective or protective agent license; to the​

215.6 licensing and background study process under chapters 245A and 245C; to the licensing​

215.7 and background investigation process under chapter 240; to eligibility for school bus driver​

215.8 endorsements; to eligibility for special transportation service endorsements; to eligibility​

215.9 for a commercial driver training instructor license, which is governed by section 171.35​

215.10 and rules adopted under that section; to emergency medical services personnel, or to the​

215.11 licensing by political subdivisions of taxicab drivers, if the applicant for the license has​

215.12 been discharged from sentence for a conviction within the ten years immediately preceding​

215.13 application of a violation of any of the following:​

215.14 (1) sections 609.185 to 609.2114, 609.221 to 609.223, 609.342 to 609.3451, or 617.23,​

215.15 subdivision 2 or 3; or Minnesota Statutes 2012, section 609.21;​

215.16 (2) any provision of chapter 152 that is punishable by a maximum sentence of 15 years​

215.17 or more; or​

215.18 (3) a violation of chapter 169 or 169A involving driving under the influence, leaving​

215.19 the scene of an accident, or reckless or careless driving.​

215.20 This chapter also shall not apply to eligibility for juvenile corrections employment, where​

215.21 the offense involved child physical or sexual abuse or criminal sexual conduct.​

215.22 (b) This chapter does not apply to a school district or to eligibility for a license issued​

215.23 or renewed by the Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board or the commissioner​

215.24 of education.​

215.25 (c) Nothing in this section precludes the Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Training​

215.26 Board or the state fire marshal from recommending policies set forth in this chapter to the​

215.27 attorney general for adoption in the attorney general's discretion to apply to law enforcement​

215.28 or fire protection agencies.​

215.29 (d) This chapter does not apply to a license to practice medicine that has been denied or​

215.30 revoked by the Board of Medical Practice pursuant to section 147.091, subdivision 1a.​

215.31 (e) This chapter does not apply to any person who has been denied a license to practice​

215.32 chiropractic or whose license to practice chiropractic has been revoked by the board in​

215.33 accordance with section 148.10, subdivision 7.​
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216.1 (f) This chapter does not apply to any license, registration, or permit that has been denied​

216.2 or revoked by the Board of Nursing in accordance with section 148.261, subdivision 1a.​

216.3 (g) (d) This chapter does not apply to any license, registration, permit, or certificate that​

216.4 has been denied or revoked by the commissioner of health according to section 148.5195,​

216.5 subdivision 5; or 153A.15, subdivision 2.​

216.6 (h) (e) This chapter does not supersede a requirement under law to conduct a criminal​

216.7 history background investigation or consider criminal history records in hiring for particular​

216.8 types of employment.​

216.9 (f) This chapter does not apply to the licensing or registration process for, or to any​

216.10 license, registration, or permit that has been denied or revoked by, a health licensing board​

216.11 listed in section 214.01, subdivision 2.​

216.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

216.13 Sec. 29. COUNCIL OF HEALTH BOARDS WORK GROUP.​

216.14 (a) The Council of Health Boards shall convene a work group to study and make​

216.15 recommendations on:​

216.16 (1) increasing the use of telehealth technologies including, but not limited to, high-fidelity​

216.17 simulation and teleconferencing to complete portions of the clinical experiences required​

216.18 as part of postsecondary educational programs that relate to counseling. Clinical experiences​

216.19 may include supervised practicum and internship hours. The study shall include the​

216.20 parameters in which the proposed technology may be utilized in order to ensure that students​

216.21 are integrating classroom theory in a lifelike clinical setting without compromising clinical​

216.22 competency outcomes;​

216.23 (2) increasing access to telehealth technologies for use in supervision of persons​

216.24 completing postdegree supervised practice work experience and training required for​

216.25 licensure. The study shall include the parameters in which the proposed technology may be​

216.26 utilized for supervision to ensure the quality and competence of the activities supervised;​

216.27 and​

216.28 (3) increasing client access to mental health services through use of telehealth​

216.29 technologies.​

216.30 (b) The work group must consist of representatives of:​

216.31 (1) the Boards of Psychology, Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, and Behavioral​

216.32 Health and Therapy;​
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217.1 (2) postsecondary educational institutions that have accredited educational programs​

217.2 for social work, psychology, alcohol and drug counseling, marriage and family therapy,​

217.3 and professional counseling; and​

217.4 (3) the relevant professional counseling associations, including the Minnesota Counseling​

217.5 Association; Minnesota Psychology Association; National Association of Social Workers,​

217.6 Minnesota chapter; Minnesota Association for Marriage and Family Therapy; and the​

217.7 Minnesota Association of Resources for Recovery and Chemical Health.​

217.8 (c) By February 1, 2019, the council shall submit recommendations for using telehealth​

217.9 technologies to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with​

217.10 jurisdiction over health occupations and higher education, and shall include a plan for​

217.11 implementing the recommendations and any legislative changes necessary for​

217.12 implementation.​

217.13 Sec. 30.  REPEALER.​

217.14 Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 214.075, subdivision 8, is repealed.​

217.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

217.16 ARTICLE 9​

217.17 MISCELLANEOUS​

217.18 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 62V.05, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

217.19 Subd. 2. Operations funding. (a) Prior to January 1, 2015, MNsure shall retain or collect​

217.20 up to 1.5 percent of total premiums for individual and small group market health plans and​

217.21 dental plans sold through MNsure to fund the cash reserves of MNsure, but the amount​

217.22 collected shall not exceed a dollar amount equal to 25 percent of the funds collected under​

217.23 section 62E.11, subdivision 6, for calendar year 2012.​

217.24 (b) Beginning January 1, 2015, MNsure shall retain or collect up to 3.5 percent of total​

217.25 premiums for individual and small group market health plans and dental plans sold through​

217.26 MNsure to fund the operations of MNsure, but the amount collected shall not exceed a​

217.27 dollar amount equal to 50 percent of the funds collected under section 62E.11, subdivision​

217.28 6, for calendar year 2012.​

217.29 (c) (a) Beginning January 1, 2016, through December 31, 2018, MNsure shall retain or​

217.30 collect up to 3.5 percent of total premiums for individual and small group market health​

217.31 plans and dental plans sold through MNsure to fund the operations of MNsure, but the​

217​Article 9 Section 1.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



218.1 amount collected may never exceed a dollar amount greater than 100 percent of the funds​

218.2 collected under section 62E.11, subdivision 6, for calendar year 2012.​

218.3 (d) For fiscal years 2014 and 2015, the commissioner of management and budget is​

218.4 authorized to provide cash flow assistance of up to $20,000,000 from the special revenue​

218.5 fund or the statutory general fund under section 16A.671, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), to​

218.6 MNsure. Any funds provided under this paragraph shall be repaid, with interest, by June​

218.7 30, 2015.​

218.8 (b) Beginning January 1, 2019, MNsure shall retain or collect up to two percent of total​

218.9 premiums for individual and small group health plans and dental plans sold through MNsure​

218.10 to fund the operations of MNsure, but the amount collected may never exceed a dollar​

218.11 amount greater than 25 percent of the funds collected under section 62E.11, subdivision 6,​

218.12 for calendar year 2012.​

218.13 (e) (c) Funding for the operations of MNsure shall cover any compensation provided to​

218.14 navigators participating in the navigator program.​

218.15 (d) Interagency agreements between MNsure and the Department of Human Services,​

218.16 and the Public Assistance Cost Allocation Plan for the Department of Human Services,​

218.17 shall not be modified to reflect any changes to the percentage of premiums that MNsure is​

218.18 allowed to retain or collect under this section, and no additional funding shall be transferred​

218.19 from the Department of Human Services to MNsure as a result of any changes to the​

218.20 percentage of premiums that MNsure is allowed to retain or collect under this section.​

218.21 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 62V.05, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

218.22 Subd. 5. Health carrier and health plan requirements; participation. (a) Beginning​

218.23 January 1, 2015, the board may establish certification requirements for health carriers and​

218.24 health plans to be offered through MNsure that satisfy federal requirements under section​

218.25 1311(c)(1) of the Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148 United States Code, title 42,​

218.26 section 18031(c)(1).​

218.27 (b) Paragraph (a) does not apply if by June 1, 2013, the legislature enacts regulatory​

218.28 requirements that:​

218.29 (1) apply uniformly to all health carriers and health plans in the individual market;​

218.30 (2) apply uniformly to all health carriers and health plans in the small group market; and​

218.31 (3) satisfy minimum federal certification requirements under section 1311(c)(1) of the​

218.32 Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148 United States Code, title 42, section 18031(c)(1).​
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219.1 (c) In accordance with section 1311(e) of the Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148​

219.2 United States Code, title 42, section 18031(e), the board shall establish policies and​

219.3 procedures for certification and selection of health plans to be offered as qualified health​

219.4 plans through MNsure. The board shall certify and select a health plan as a qualified health​

219.5 plan to be offered through MNsure, if:​

219.6 (1) the health plan meets the minimum certification requirements established in paragraph​

219.7 (a) or the market regulatory requirements in paragraph (b);​

219.8 (2) the board determines that making the health plan available through MNsure is in the​

219.9 interest of qualified individuals and qualified employers;​

219.10 (3) the health carrier applying to offer the health plan through MNsure also applies to​

219.11 offer health plans at each actuarial value level and service area that the health carrier currently​

219.12 offers in the individual and small group markets; and​

219.13 (4) the health carrier does not apply to offer health plans in the individual and small​

219.14 group markets through MNsure under a separate license of a parent organization or holding​

219.15 company under section 60D.15, that is different from what the health carrier offers in the​

219.16 individual and small group markets outside MNsure.​

219.17 (d) In determining the interests of qualified individuals and employers under paragraph​

219.18 (c), clause (2), the board may not exclude a health plan for any reason specified under section​

219.19 1311(e)(1)(B) of the Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148 United States Code, title​

219.20 42, section 18031(e)(1)(B). The board may consider:​

219.21 (1) affordability;​

219.22 (2) quality and value of health plans;​

219.23 (3) promotion of prevention and wellness;​

219.24 (4) promotion of initiatives to reduce health disparities;​

219.25 (5) market stability and adverse selection;​

219.26 (6) meaningful choices and access;​

219.27 (7) alignment and coordination with state agency and private sector purchasing strategies​

219.28 and payment reform efforts; and​

219.29 (8) other criteria that the board determines appropriate.​

219.30 (e) A health plan that meets the minimum certification requirements under paragraph​

219.31 (c) and United States Code, title 42, section 18031(c)(1), and any regulations and guidance​

219​Article 9 Sec. 2.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



220.1 issued under that section, is deemed to be in the interest of qualified individuals and qualified​

220.2 employers. The board shall not establish certification requirements for health carriers and​

220.3 health plans for participation in MNsure that are in addition to the certification requirements​

220.4 under paragraph (c) and United States Code, title 42, section 18031(c)(1), and any regulations​

220.5 and guidance issued under that section. The board shall not determine the cost of, cost-sharing​

220.6 elements of, or benefits provided in health plans sold through MNsure.​

220.7 (e) (f) For qualified health plans offered through MNsure on or after January 1, 2015,​

220.8 the board shall establish policies and procedures under paragraphs (c) and (d) for selection​

220.9 of health plans to be offered as qualified health plans through MNsure by February 1 of​

220.10 each year, beginning February 1, 2014. The board shall consistently and uniformly apply​

220.11 all policies and procedures and any requirements, standards, or criteria to all health carriers​

220.12 and health plans. For any policies, procedures, requirements, standards, or criteria that are​

220.13 defined as rules under section 14.02, subdivision 4, the board may use the process described​

220.14 in subdivision 9.​

220.15 (f) For 2014, the board shall not have the power to select health carriers and health plans​

220.16 for participation in MNsure. The board shall permit all health plans that meet the certification​

220.17 requirements under section 1311(c)(1) of the Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148, to​

220.18 be offered through MNsure.​

220.19 (g) Under this subdivision, the board shall have the power to verify that health carriers​

220.20 and health plans are properly certified to be eligible for participation in MNsure.​

220.21 (h) The board has the authority to decertify health carriers and health plans that fail to​

220.22 maintain compliance with section 1311(c)(1) of the Affordable Care Act, Public Law 111-148​

220.23 United States Code, title 42, section 18031(c)(1).​

220.24 (i) For qualified health plans offered through MNsure beginning January 1, 2015, health​

220.25 carriers must use the most current addendum for Indian health care providers approved by​

220.26 the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and the tribes as part of their contracts with​

220.27 Indian health care providers. MNsure shall comply with all future changes in federal law​

220.28 with regard to health coverage for the tribes.​

220.29 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 62V.05, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

220.30 Subd. 10. Limitations; risk-bearing. (a) The board shall not bear insurance risk or enter​

220.31 into any agreement with health care providers to pay claims.​

220.32 (b) Nothing in this subdivision shall prevent MNsure from providing insurance for its​

220.33 employees.​

220​Article 9 Sec. 3.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



221.1 (c) The commissioner of human services shall not bear insurance risk or enter into any​

221.2 agreement with providers to pay claims for any health coverage administered by the​

221.3 commissioner that is made available for purchase through the MNsure Web site as an​

221.4 alternative to purchasing a qualifying health plan through MNsure or an individual health​

221.5 plan offered outside of MNsure.​

221.6 (d) Nothing in this subdivision shall prohibit:​

221.7 (1) the commissioner of human services from administering the medical assistance​

221.8 program under chapter 256B and the MinnesotaCare program under chapter 256L, as long​

221.9 as health coverage under these programs is not purchased by the individual through the​

221.10 MNsure Web site; and​

221.11 (2) employees of the Department of Human Services from obtaining insurance from the​

221.12 state employee group insurance program.​

221.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

221.14 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 169.345, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

221.15 Subd. 2. Definitions. (a) For the purpose of section 168.021 and this section, the following​

221.16 terms have the meanings given them in this subdivision.​

221.17 (b) "Health professional" means a licensed physician, licensed physician assistant,​

221.18 advanced practice registered nurse, licensed physical therapist, or licensed chiropractor.​

221.19 (c) "Long-term certificate" means a certificate issued for a period greater than 12 months​

221.20 but not greater than 71 months.​

221.21 (d) "Organization certificate" means a certificate issued to an entity other than a natural​

221.22 person for a period of three years.​

221.23 (e) "Permit" refers to a permit that is issued for a period of 30 days, in lieu of the​

221.24 certificate referred to in subdivision 3, while the application is being processed.​

221.25 (f) "Physically disabled person" means a person who:​

221.26 (1) because of disability cannot walk without significant risk of falling;​

221.27 (2) because of disability cannot walk 200 feet without stopping to rest;​

221.28 (3) because of disability cannot walk without the aid of another person, a walker, a cane,​

221.29 crutches, braces, a prosthetic device, or a wheelchair;​
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222.1 (4) is restricted by a respiratory disease to such an extent that the person's forced​

222.2 (respiratory) expiratory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, is less than​

222.3 one liter;​

222.4 (5) has an arterial oxygen tension (PaO2) of less than 60 mm/Hg on room air at rest;​

222.5 (6) uses portable oxygen;​

222.6 (7) has a cardiac condition to the extent that the person's functional limitations are​

222.7 classified in severity as class III or class IV according to standards set by the American​

222.8 Heart Association;​

222.9 (8) has lost an arm or a leg and does not have or cannot use an artificial limb; or​

222.10 (9) has a disability that would be aggravated by walking 200 feet under normal​

222.11 environmental conditions to an extent that would be life threatening.​

222.12 (g) "Short-term certificate" means a certificate issued for a period greater than six months​

222.13 but not greater than 12 months.​

222.14 (h) "Six-year certificate" means a certificate issued for a period of six years.​

222.15 (i) "Temporary certificate" means a certificate issued for a period not greater than six​

222.16 months.​

222.17 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 243.166, subdivision 4b, is amended to read:​

222.18 Subd. 4b. Health care facility; notice of status. (a) For the purposes of this subdivision,:​

222.19 (1) "health care facility" means a facility:​

222.20 (1) (i) licensed by the commissioner of health as a hospital, boarding care home or​

222.21 supervised living facility under sections 144.50 to 144.58, or a nursing home under chapter​

222.22 144A;​

222.23 (2) (ii) registered by the commissioner of health as a housing with services establishment​

222.24 as defined in section 144D.01; or​

222.25 (3) (iii) licensed by the commissioner of human services as a residential facility under​

222.26 chapter 245A to provide adult foster care, adult mental health treatment, chemical dependency​

222.27 treatment to adults, or residential services to persons with disabilities; and​

222.28 (2) "home care provider" has the meaning given in section 144A.43.​

222.29 (b) Prior to admission to a health care facility or home care services from a home care​

222.30 provider, a person required to register under this section shall disclose to:​
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223.1 (1) the health care facility employee or the home care provider processing the admission​

223.2 the person's status as a registered predatory offender under this section; and​

223.3 (2) the person's corrections agent, or if the person does not have an assigned corrections​

223.4 agent, the law enforcement authority with whom the person is currently required to register,​

223.5 that inpatient admission will occur.​

223.6 (c) A law enforcement authority or corrections agent who receives notice under paragraph​

223.7 (b) or who knows that a person required to register under this section is planning to be​

223.8 admitted and receive, or has been admitted and is receiving health care at a health care​

223.9 facility or home care services from a home care provider, shall notify the administrator of​

223.10 the facility or the home care provider and deliver a fact sheet to the administrator or provider​

223.11 containing the following information: (1) name and physical description of the offender;​

223.12 (2) the offender's conviction history, including the dates of conviction; (3) the risk level​

223.13 classification assigned to the offender under section 244.052, if any; and (4) the profile of​

223.14 likely victims.​

223.15 (d) Except for a hospital licensed under sections 144.50 to 144.58, if a health care facility​

223.16 receives a fact sheet under paragraph (c) that includes a risk level classification for the​

223.17 offender, and if the facility admits the offender, the facility shall distribute the fact sheet to​

223.18 all residents at the facility. If the facility determines that distribution to a resident is not​

223.19 appropriate given the resident's medical, emotional, or mental status, the facility shall​

223.20 distribute the fact sheet to the patient's next of kin or emergency contact.​

223.21 (e) If a home care provider receives a fact sheet under paragraph (c) that includes a risk​

223.22 level classification for the offender, the provider shall distribute the fact sheet to any​

223.23 individual who will provide direct services to the offender before the individual begins to​

223.24 provide the service.​

223.25 Sec. 6. HUMAN SERVICES DEPARTMENT RESTRUCTURING WORKING​

223.26 GROUP.​

223.27 Subdivision 1. Establishment; membership. (a) A working group to consider​

223.28 restructuring the Department of Human Services is established.​

223.29 (b) The working group shall include 17 members as follows:​

223.30 (1) two members of the house of representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the​

223.31 house and one appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives;​

223.32 (2) two members of the senate, one appointed by the senate majority leader and one​

223.33 appointed by the senate minority leader;​
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224.1 (3) the legislative auditor or a designee;​

224.2 (4) the commissioner of administration or a designee;​

224.3 (5) two representatives from county social services agencies, appointed by the​

224.4 commissioner of human services;​

224.5 (6) two representatives from tribal social services agencies, appointed by the​

224.6 commissioner of human services;​

224.7 (7) two representatives from organizations that represent people served by programs​

224.8 administered by the Department of Human Services, appointed by the commissioner of​

224.9 human services;​

224.10 (8) two representatives from organizations that represent service providers that are either​

224.11 licensed or reimbursed by the Department of Human Services, appointed by the commissioner​

224.12 of human services;​

224.13 (9) one member representing the Cultural and Ethnic Communities Leadership Council,​

224.14 appointed by the commissioner of human services; and​

224.15 (10) two representatives of labor organizations, who must be full-time employees of the​

224.16 Department of Human Services working in facilities located in different geographic regions​

224.17 of the state, appointed by the governor.​

224.18 (c) The appointing authorities under this subdivision must complete their appointments​

224.19 no later than July 1, 2018.​

224.20 Subd. 2. Duties. The working group shall review the current structure of the Department​

224.21 of Human Services and programs administered by that agency and propose a restructuring​

224.22 of the agency to provide for better coordination and control of programs, accountability,​

224.23 and continuity. In making recommendations, the working group must consider:​

224.24 (1) how human services agencies are structured in other states;​

224.25 (2) transferring duties to other state agencies;​

224.26 (3) the effect of a restructuring on clients and counties;​

224.27 (4) administrative efficiencies;​

224.28 (5) various analytical methods to evaluate efficiencies, including but not limited to​

224.29 zero-based budgeting;​

224.30 (6) budget and policy priorities;​

224.31 (7) program funding sources;​
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225.1 (8) avoiding conflicting agency roles;​

225.2 (9) the extent to which the agency should provide direct services to clients;​

225.3 (10) eliminating any duplication of services; and​

225.4 (11) staffing issues.​

225.5 Subd. 3. Meetings. The legislative auditor or a designee shall convene the first meeting​

225.6 of the working group no later than August 1, 2018. The legislative auditor or a designee​

225.7 shall serve as the chair of the working group. Meetings of the working group are open to​

225.8 the public.​

225.9 Subd. 4. Compensation. Members of the working group shall serve without compensation​

225.10 or reimbursement for expenses.​

225.11 Subd. 5. Administrative support. The Legislative Coordinating Commission shall​

225.12 provide administrative support for the working group and arrange for meeting space.​

225.13 Subd. 6. Report. By March 1, 2019, the working group must submit a report with​

225.14 findings, recommendations, and draft legislation to the chairs and ranking minority members​

225.15 of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over human services policy and finance. The​

225.16 report must include a discussion of the costs and benefits associated with any proposed​

225.17 restructuring.​

225.18 Subd. 7. Expiration. The working group expires March 2, 2019, or the day after the​

225.19 working group submits the report required under subdivision 6, whichever is earlier.​

225.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

225.21 Sec. 7. RATES FOR INDIVIDUAL MARKET HEALTH AND DENTAL PLANS​

225.22 FOR 2019.​

225.23 (a) Health carriers must take into account the reduction in the premium withhold​

225.24 percentage under Minnesota Statutes, section 62V.05, subdivision 2, applicable beginning​

225.25 in calendar year 2019 for individual market health plans and dental plans sold through​

225.26 MNsure when setting rates for individual market health plans and dental plans for calendar​

225.27 year 2019.​

225.28 (b) For purposes of this section, "dental plan," "health carrier," "health plan," and​

225.29 "individual market" have the meanings given in Minnesota Statutes, section 62V.02.​

225​Article 9 Sec. 7.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



226.1 ARTICLE 10​

226.2 FORECAST ADJUSTMENTS​

226.3 Section 1. HUMAN SERVICES APPROPRIATION.​

226.4 The dollar amounts shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are added to or, if​

226.5 shown in parentheses, are subtracted from the appropriations in Laws 2017, First Special​

226.6 Session chapter 6, article 18, from the general fund or any fund named to the Department​

226.7 of Human Services for the purposes specified in this article, to be available for the fiscal​

226.8 year indicated for each purpose. The figures "2018" and "2019" used in this article mean​

226.9 that the appropriations listed under them are available for the fiscal years ending June 30,​

226.10 2018, or June 30, 2019, respectively. "The first year" is fiscal year 2018. "The second year"​

226.11 is fiscal year 2019. "The biennium" is fiscal years 2018 and 2019.​

226.12 APPROPRIATIONS​

226.13 Available for the Year​

226.14 Ending June 30​

2019​226.15 2018​

226.16 Sec. 2. COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN​
226.17 SERVICES​

(88,363,000)​$​(208,963,000)​$​226.18 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

226.19 Appropriations by Fund​

(103,535,000)​(210,083,000)​226.20 General Fund​

9,258,000​7,620,000​
226.21 Health Care Access​
226.22 Fund​

5,914,000​(6,500,000)​226.23 Federal TANF​

226.24 Subd. 2. Forecasted Programs​

226.25 (a) MFIP/DWP​

226.26 Appropriations by Fund​

(11,267,000)​(3,749,000)​226.27 General Fund​

4,565,000​(7,418,000)​226.28 Federal TANF​

(521,000)​(7,995,000)​226.29 (b) MFIP Child Care Assistance​

(3,770,000)​(4,850,000)​226.30 (c) General Assistance​

(821,000)​(1,179,000)​226.31 (d) Minnesota Supplemental Aid​

(3,038,000)​(3,260,000)​226.32 (e) Housing Support​

(6,458,000)​(5,168,000)​226.33 (f) Northstar Care for Children​
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9,258,000​7,620,000​227.1 (g) MinnesotaCare​

227.2 These appropriations are from the health care​

227.3 access fund.​

227.4 (h) Medical Assistance​

227.5 Appropriations by Fund​

(106,124,000)​(199,817,000)​227.6 General Fund​

-0-​-0-​
227.7 Health Care Access​
227.8 Fund​

-0-​-0-​227.9 (i) Alternative Care Program​

28,464,000​15,935,000​227.10 (j) CCDTF Entitlements​

1,349,000​918,000​227.11 Subd. 3. Technical Activities​

227.12 These appropriations are from the federal​

227.13 TANF fund.​

227.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

227.15 ARTICLE 11​

227.16 HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES APPROPRIATIONS​

227.17 Section 1. HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES APPROPRIATIONS.​

227.18 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are added to or, if shown in​

227.19 parentheses, subtracted from the appropriations in Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter​

227.20 6, article 18, to the agencies and for the purposes specified in this article. The appropriations​

227.21 are from the general fund and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose.​

227.22 The figures "2018" and "2019" used in this article mean that the addition to or subtraction​

227.23 from the appropriation listed under them is available for the fiscal year ending June 30,​

227.24 2018, or June 30, 2019, respectively. Base adjustments mean the addition to or subtraction​

227.25 from the base level adjustment set in Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 6, article 18.​

227.26 Supplemental appropriations and reductions to appropriations for the fiscal year ending​

227.27 June 30, 2018, are effective the day following final enactment unless a different effective​

227.28 date is explicit.​

227.29 APPROPRIATIONS​

227.30 Available for the Year​

227.31 Ending June 30​
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2019​228.1 2018​

228.2 Sec. 2. COMMISSIONER OF HUMAN​
228.3 SERVICES​

18,997,000​$​-0-​$​228.4 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

5,735,000​-0-​228.5 Subd. 2. Central Office; Operations​

228.6 (a) Foster Care Recruitment Models.​

228.7 $75,000 in fiscal year 2019 is from the general​

228.8 fund for a grant to Hennepin County to​

228.9 establish and promote family foster care​

228.10 recruitment models. The county shall use the​

228.11 grant funds for the purpose of increasing foster​

228.12 care providers through administrative​

228.13 simplification, nontraditional recruitment​

228.14 models, and family incentive options, and​

228.15 develop a strategic planning model to recruit​

228.16 family foster care providers. This is a onetime​

228.17 appropriation.​

228.18 (b) Transfer; Advisory Council on Rare​

228.19 Diseases. $150,000 in fiscal year 2019 is from​

228.20 the general fund for transfer to the Board of​

228.21 Regents of the University of Minnesota for​

228.22 the advisory council on rare diseases under​

228.23 Minnesota Statutes, section 137.68.​

228.24 (c) Transfer; Study and Report on Health​

228.25 Insurance Rate Disparities between​

228.26 Geographic Rating Areas. $251,000 in fiscal​

228.27 year 2019 is from the general fund for transfer​

228.28 to the Legislative Coordinating Commission​

228.29 for the Office of the Legislative Auditor to​

228.30 study and report on disparities between​

228.31 geographic rating areas in individual and small​

228.32 group market health insurance rates. This is a​

228.33 onetime appropriation.​
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229.1 (d) Substance Abuse Recovery Services​

229.2 Provided through Minnesota Recovery​

229.3 Corps. $450,000 in fiscal year 2019 is from​

229.4 the general fund for transfer to​

229.5 ServeMinnesota under Minnesota Statutes,​

229.6 section 124D.37, for purposes of providing​

229.7 evidenced-based substance abuse recovery​

229.8 services through Minnesota Recovery Corps.​

229.9 Funds shall be used to support training,​

229.10 supervision, and deployment of AmeriCorps​

229.11 members to serve as recovery navigators. The​

229.12 Minnesota Commission on National and​

229.13 Community Service shall include in the​

229.14 commission's report to the legislature under​

229.15 Minnesota Statutes, section 124D.385,​

229.16 subdivision 3, an evaluation of program data​

229.17 to determine the efficacy of the services​

229.18 promoting sustained substance abuse recovery,​

229.19 including but not limited to stable housing,​

229.20 relationship-building, employment skills, or​

229.21 a year of AmeriCorps service. This is a​

229.22 onetime appropriation.​

229.23 (e) Base Adjustment. The general fund base​

229.24 is increased $6,074,000 in fiscal year 2020​

229.25 and $6,083,000 in fiscal year 2021.​

1,420,000​-0-​229.26 Subd. 3. Central Office; Children and Families​

229.27 (a) Task Force on Childhood​

229.28 Trauma-Informed Policy and Practices.​

229.29 $55,000 in fiscal year 2019 is from the general​

229.30 fund for the task force on childhood​

229.31 trauma-informed policy and practices. This is​

229.32 a onetime appropriation.​

229.33 (b) Child Welfare Training Academy.​

229.34 $786,000 in fiscal year 2019 is from the​

229.35 general fund for the child welfare training​

229​Article 11 Sec. 2.​

REVISOR ACF/IL A18-0776​04/17/18  ​



230.1 academy, which shall provide training to​

230.2 county and tribal child welfare workers,​

230.3 county and tribal child welfare supervisors,​

230.4 and staff at agencies providing out-of-home​

230.5 placement services.​

230.6 (c) Child Welfare Caseload Study. $400,000​

230.7 in fiscal year 2019 is from the general fund​

230.8 for a child welfare caseload study.​

230.9 (d) Minn-LInK Study. $150,000 in fiscal​

230.10 year 2019 is from the general fund for the​

230.11 Minn-LInK study under Minnesota Statutes,​

230.12 section 260C.81.​

1,150,000​-0-​230.13 Subd. 4. Central Office; Health Care​

230.14 (a) Encounter Reporting of 340B Eligible​

230.15 Drugs. $35,000 in fiscal year 2019 is from the​

230.16 general fund for development of​

230.17 recommendations for a process to identify​

230.18 340B eligible drugs and report them at the​

230.19 point of sale. This is a onetime appropriation.​

230.20 (b) Base Adjustment. The general fund base​

230.21 is increased $858,000 in fiscal year 2020 and​

230.22 $872,000 in fiscal year 2021.​

640,000​-0-​230.23 Subd. 5. Central Office; Continuing Care​

230.24 (a) Regional Ombudsmen. $640,000 in fiscal​

230.25 year 2019 is from the general fund to fund five​

230.26 additional regional ombudsman in the Office​

230.27 of Ombudsman for Long-Term Care, to​

230.28 perform the duties in Minnesota Statutes,​

230.29 section 256.9742.​

230.30 (b) Base Adjustment. The general fund base​

230.31 is increased $730,000 in fiscal year 2020 and​

230.32 $730,000 in fiscal year 2021.​

4,571,000​-0-​230.33 Subd. 6. Central Office; Community Supports​
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231.1 Base Adjustment. The general fund base is​

231.2 increased $4,127,000 in fiscal year 2020 and​

231.3 $4,012,000 in fiscal year 2021.​

8,917,000​-0-​
231.4 Subd. 7. Forecasted Programs; Medical​
231.5 Assistance​

(28,000)​-0-​231.6 Subd. 8. Forecasted Programs; Alternative Care​

(14,243,000)​-0-​
231.7 Subd. 9. Forecasted Programs; Chemical​
231.8 Dependency Treatment Fund​

1,900,000​-0-​
231.9 Subd. 10. Grant Programs; Child and Economic​
231.10 Support Grants​

231.11 (a) Community Action Grants. $750,000 in​

231.12 fiscal year 2019 is from the general fund for​

231.13 community action grants under Minnesota​

231.14 Statutes, sections 256E.30 to 256E.32. This is​

231.15 a onetime appropriation.​

231.16 (b) Mobile food shelf grants. (1) $750,000​

231.17 in fiscal year 2019 is from the general fund​

231.18 for mobile food shelf grants to be awarded by​

231.19 Hunger Solutions. Of this appropriation,​

231.20 $375,000 is for sustaining existing mobile​

231.21 food shelf programs and $375,000 is for​

231.22 creating new mobile food shelf programs.​

231.23 (2) Hunger Solutions shall award grants on a​

231.24 priority basis under clause (4). A grant to​

231.25 sustain an existing mobile food shelf program​

231.26 shall not exceed $25,000. A grant to create a​

231.27 new mobile food shelf program shall not​

231.28 exceed $75,000.​

231.29 (3) An applicant for a mobile food shelf grant​

231.30 must provide the following information to​

231.31 Hunger Solutions:​

231.32 (i) the location of the project;​

231.33 (ii) a description of the mobile program,​

231.34 including the program's size and scope;​
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232.1 (iii) evidence regarding the unserved or​

232.2 underserved nature of the community in which​

232.3 the program is located;​

232.4 (iv) evidence of community support for the​

232.5 program;​

232.6 (v) the total cost of the program;​

232.7 (vi) the amount of the grant request and how​

232.8 funds will be used;​

232.9 (vii) sources of funding or in-kind​

232.10 contributions for the program that may​

232.11 supplement any grant award;​

232.12 (viii) the applicant's commitment to maintain​

232.13 the mobile program; and​

232.14 (ix) any additional information requested by​

232.15 Hunger Solutions.​

232.16 (4) In evaluating applications and awarding​

232.17 grants, Hunger Solutions must give priority​

232.18 to an applicant who:​

232.19 (i) serves unserved or underserved areas;​

232.20 (ii) creates a new mobile program or expands​

232.21 an existing mobile program;​

232.22 (iii) serves areas where a high level of need is​

232.23 identified;​

232.24 (iv) provides evidence of strong support for​

232.25 the program from residents and other​

232.26 institutions in the community;​

232.27 (v) leverages funding for the program from​

232.28 other private and public sources; and​

232.29 (vi) commits to maintaining the program on​

232.30 a multiyear basis.​

232.31 (5) This is a onetime appropriation.​
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233.1 (c) Project Legacy. $400,000 in fiscal year​

233.2 2019 is from the general fund for a grant to​

233.3 Project Legacy to provide counseling and​

233.4 outreach to youth and young adults from​

233.5 families with a history of generational poverty.​

233.6 Money from this appropriation must be spent​

233.7 for mental health care, medical care, chemical​

233.8 dependency interventions, housing, and​

233.9 mentoring and counseling services for first​

233.10 generation college students. This is a onetime​

233.11 appropriation.​

7,740,000​-0-​233.12 Subd. 11. Grant Programs; Disabilities Grants​

233.13 Disability grants. $7,740,000 in fiscal year​

233.14 2019 is from the general fund for the home​

233.15 and community-based services innovation pool​

233.16 under Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.0921;​

233.17 disability waiver rate system transition grants​

233.18 under Laws 2017, First Special Session​

233.19 chapter 6, article 18, section 2, subdivision​

233.20 29; and competitive workforce sustainability​

233.21 grants under article 5, section 18. These funds​

233.22 shall be provided to home and​

233.23 community-based waiver service providers​

233.24 that are projected to be negatively impacted​

233.25 due to the transition to rates calculated under​

233.26 Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.4914. The​

233.27 commissioner may transfer funds from this​

233.28 appropriation to budget activity 52, other​

233.29 long-term care grants, as necessary. This is a​

233.30 onetime appropriation.​

250,000​-0-​
233.31 Subd. 12. Grant Programs; Child Mental Health​
233.32 Grants​

233.33 School-Linked Mental Health Services​

233.34 Delivered by Telemedicine. $250,000 in​

233.35 fiscal year 2019 is from the general fund for​
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234.1 grants for four pilot projects to deliver​

234.2 school-linked mental health services by​

234.3 telemedicine. The grants are for new or​

234.4 existing providers and must be two pilot​

234.5 projects in greater Minnesota, one in the​

234.6 seven-county metropolitan area excluding​

234.7 Minneapolis and St. Paul, and one in​

234.8 Minneapolis or St. Paul. No later than six​

234.9 months after the funds are expended, the​

234.10 commissioner shall report to the legislative​

234.11 committees with jurisdiction over mental​

234.12 health issues on the effectiveness of the pilot​

234.13 projects. This is a onetime appropriation and​

234.14 is available until June 30, 2021.​

945,000​-0-​
234.15 Subd. 13. Grant Programs; Chemical​
234.16 Dependency Treatment Support Grants​

234.17 Student Health Initiative to Limit Opioid​

234.18 Harm. $945,000 in fiscal year 2019 is from​

234.19 the general fund for the student health​

234.20 initiative to limit opioid harm. This is a​

234.21 onetime appropriation.​

234.22 Sec. 3. COMMISSIONER OF HEALTH​

11,937,000​$​-0-​$​234.23 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

234.24 Appropriations by Fund​

2019​234.25 2018​

11,853,000​-0-​234.26 General​

84,000​-0-​
234.27 State Government​
234.28 Special Revenue​

9,127,000​-0-​234.29 Subd. 2. Health Improvement​

234.30 (a) Health Professional Education Loan​

234.31 Forgiveness Program. $1,000,000 in fiscal​

234.32 year 2019 is from the general fund for the​

234.33 health professional education loan forgiveness​

234.34 program under Minnesota Statutes, section​

234.35 144.1501.​
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235.1 (b) Transfer; Minnesota Biomedicine and​

235.2 Bioethics Innovation Grants. $2,897,000 in​

235.3 fiscal year 2019 is from the general fund for​

235.4 transfer to the Board of Regents of the​

235.5 University of Minnesota for Minnesota​

235.6 biomedicine and bioethics innovation grants​

235.7 under Minnesota Statutes, section 137.67. This​

235.8 appropriation is available until June 30, 2021.​

235.9 The general fund base for this program is​

235.10 $30,000 in fiscal year 2020 and $30,000 in​

235.11 fiscal year 2021.​

235.12 (c) Addressing Disparities in Prenatal Care​

235.13 Access and Utilization. $613,000 in fiscal​

235.14 year 2019 is from the general fund for grants​

235.15 under Minnesota Statutes, section 145.928,​

235.16 subdivision 7, paragraph (a), clause (2), to​

235.17 decrease racial and ethnic disparities in access​

235.18 to and utilization of high-quality prenatal care.​

235.19 This is a onetime appropriation.​

235.20 (d) Information on Congenital​

235.21 Cytomegalovirus. $127,000 in fiscal year​

235.22 2019 is from the general fund for the​

235.23 development and dissemination of information​

235.24 about congenital cytomegalovirus according​

235.25 to Minnesota Statutes, section 144.064.​

235.26 (e) Older Adult Social Isolation Working​

235.27 Group. $85,000 in fiscal year 2018 is from​

235.28 the general fund for the older adult social​

235.29 isolation working group, for costs related to​

235.30 the salary of an independent, professional​

235.31 facilitator, printing and duplicating costs, and​

235.32 expenses related to meeting management for​

235.33 the working group. This is a onetime​

235.34 appropriation.​
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236.1 (f) The TAP Program. $10,000 in fiscal year​

236.2 2019 is from the general fund for a grant to​

236.3 the TAP in St. Paul to support mental health​

236.4 in disability communities through spoken art​

236.5 forms, community supports, and community​

236.6 engagement. This is a onetime appropriation.​

236.7 (g) Statewide Tobacco Cessation Services.​

236.8 $291,000 in fiscal year 2019 is from the​

236.9 general fund for statewide tobacco cessation​

236.10 services under Minnesota Statutes, section​

236.11 144.397. The general fund base for this​

236.12 appropriation is $1,550,000 in fiscal year 2020​

236.13 and $2,955,000 in fiscal year 2021.​

236.14 (h) Opioid Abuse Prevention Pilot Project.​

236.15 $2,000,000 in fiscal year 2019 is from the​

236.16 general fund for opioid abuse prevention pilot​

236.17 projects under Laws 2017, First Special​

236.18 Session chapter 6, article 10, section 144. Of​

236.19 this amount: (1) $1,400,000 is for the opioid​

236.20 abuse prevention pilot project through CHI​

236.21 St. Gabriel's Health Family Medical Center,​

236.22 also known as Unity Family Health Care; and​

236.23 (2) $600,000 is for Project Echo through CHI​

236.24 St. Gabriel's Health Family Medical Center​

236.25 for e-learning sessions centered around opioid​

236.26 case management and best practices for opioid​

236.27 abuse prevention. This is a onetime​

236.28 appropriation.​

236.29 (i) Opioid Overdose Reduction Pilot​

236.30 Program. $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2019 is​

236.31 from the general fund for the opioid overdose​

236.32 reduction pilot program, which provides grants​

236.33 to ambulance services to fund community​

236.34 paramedic teams. Of this appropriation, the​

236.35 commissioner may use up to $50,000 to​
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237.1 administer the program. This is a onetime​

237.2 appropriation and is available until June 30,​

237.3 2021.​

237.4 (j) Prescription Drug Deactivation and​

237.5 Disposal Products. (1) $1,104,000 in fiscal​

237.6 year 2019 is from the general fund to provide​

237.7 grants to pharmacists and other prescription​

237.8 drug dispensers, health care providers, local​

237.9 law enforcement and emergency services​

237.10 personnel, and local health and human services​

237.11 departments to purchase at-home prescription​

237.12 drug deactivation and disposal products that​

237.13 render drugs and medications inert and​

237.14 irretrievable. The grants must be awarded on​

237.15 a competitive basis and targeted toward​

237.16 geographic areas of the state with the highest​

237.17 rates of overdose deaths.​

237.18 (2) Grant recipients must provide these​

237.19 deactivation and disposal products free of​

237.20 charge to members of the public. Grant​

237.21 recipients, and the vendors providing​

237.22 deactivation and disposal products to grant​

237.23 recipients, shall provide information necessary​

237.24 to evaluate the effectiveness of the grant​

237.25 program to the commissioner of health, in the​

237.26 form and manner specified by the​

237.27 commissioner.​

237.28 (3) This is a onetime appropriation.​

237.29 (k) Base Adjustments. The general fund base​

237.30 is increased $2,707,000 in fiscal year 2020​

237.31 and $4,112,000 in fiscal year 2021.​

237.32 Subd. 3. Health Protection​

237.33 Appropriations by Fund​

2,726,000​-0-​237.34 General​
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84,000​-0-​
238.1 State Government​
238.2 Special Revenue​

238.3 Base Adjustments. The general fund base is​

238.4 increased $1,980,000 in fiscal year 2020 and​

238.5 $1,933,000 in fiscal year 2021. The state​

238.6 government special revenue fund base is​

238.7 increased $365,000 in fiscal year 2020 and​

238.8 $77,000 in fiscal year 2021.​

238.9 Sec. 4. HEALTH-RELATED BOARDS​

216,000​$​-0-​$​238.10 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

238.11 Unless otherwise noted, this appropriation is​

238.12 from the state government special revenue​

238.13 fund. The amounts that may be spent for each​

238.14 purpose are specified in the following​

238.15 subdivisions.​

5,000​-0-​238.16 Subd. 2. Board of Dentistry​

238.17 This is a onetime appropriation.​

162,000​-0-​238.18 Subd. 3. Board of Nursing​

238.19 (a) Nurse Licensure Compact. $157,000 in​

238.20 fiscal year 2019 is for implementation of​

238.21 Minnesota Statutes, section 148.2855.​

238.22 (b) Base Adjustments. The state government​

238.23 special revenue fund base is increased by​

238.24 $6,000 in fiscal year 2020 and $6,000 in fiscal​

238.25 year 2021.​

25,000​-0-​238.26 Subd. 4. Board of Nursing Home Administrators​

238.27 Council of Health Boards Work Group.​

238.28 $25,000 in fiscal year 2019 is for the​

238.29 administrative services unit to convene a​

238.30 Council of Health Boards work group to study​

238.31 and make recommendations on the use of​

238.32 telehealth technologies. This is a onetime​

238.33 appropriation.​
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5,000​-0-​239.1 Subd. 5. Board of Optometry​

239.2 This is a onetime appropriation.​

14,000​-0-​239.3 Subd. 6. Board of Pharmacy​

239.4 Base Adjustments. The state government​

239.5 special revenue fund base is increased by​

239.6 $12,000 in fiscal year 2020 and $12,000 in​

239.7 fiscal year 2021.​

5,000​-0-​239.8 Subd. 7. Board of Podiatric Medicine​

239.9 This is a onetime appropriation.​

35,000​$​-0-​$​
239.10 Sec. 5. EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES​
239.11 REGULATORY BOARD​

239.12 Base Adjustment. The general fund base is​

239.13 increased by $15,000 in fiscal year 2020 only.​

239.14 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 256.01, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

239.15 read:​

239.16 Subd. 17a. Transfers for routine administrative operations. (a) The commissioner​

239.17 may only transfer money from the general fund to any other fund for routine administrative​

239.18 operations and may not transfer money from the general fund to any other fund without​

239.19 approval from the commissioner of management and budget unless specifically authorized​

239.20 by law. If the commissioner of management and budget determines that a transfer proposed​

239.21 by the commissioner is necessary for routine administrative operations of the Department​

239.22 of Human Services, the commissioner may approve the transfer. If the commissioner of​

239.23 management and budget determines that the transfer proposed by the commissioner is not​

239.24 necessary for routine administrative operations of the Department of Human Services, the​

239.25 commissioner may not approve the transfer unless the requirements of paragraph (b) are​

239.26 met.​

239.27 (b) If the commissioner of management and budget determines that a transfer under​

239.28 paragraph (a) is not necessary for routine administrative operations of the Department of​

239.29 Human Services, the commissioner may request approval of the transfer from the Legislative​

239.30 Advisory Commission under section 3.30. To request approval of a transfer from the​

239.31 Legislative Advisory Commission, the commissioner must submit a request that includes​

239.32 the amount of the transfer, the budget activity and fund from which money would be​

239.33 transferred and the budget activity and fund to which money would be transferred, an​
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240.1 explanation of the administrative necessity of the transfer, and a statement from the​

240.2 commissioner of management and budget explaining why the transfer is not necessary for​

240.3 routine administrative operations of the Department of Human Services. The Legislative​

240.4 Advisory Commission shall review the proposed transfer and make a recommendation​

240.5 within 20 days of the request from the commissioner. If the Legislative Advisory Commission​

240.6 makes a positive recommendation or no recommendation, the commissioner may approve​

240.7 the transfer. If the Legislative Advisory Commission makes a negative recommendation or​

240.8 a request for more information, the commissioner may not approve the transfer. A​

240.9 recommendation of the Legislative Advisory Commission must be made by a majority of​

240.10 the commission and must be made at a meeting of the commission unless a written​

240.11 recommendation is signed by a majority of the commission members required to vote on​

240.12 the question. If the commission makes a negative recommendation or a request for more​

240.13 information, the commission may subsequently withdraw or change its recommendation.​

240.14 Sec. 7. Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter 6, article 18, section 16, subdivision 2,​

240.15 is amended to read:​

240.16 Subd. 2. Administration. Subject to Minnesota Statutes, section 256.01, subdivision​

240.17 17a, positions, salary money, and nonsalary administrative money may be transferred within​

240.18 the Departments of Health and Human Services as the commissioners consider necessary,​

240.19 with the advance approval of the commissioner of management and budget. The​

240.20 commissioner shall inform the chairs and ranking minority members of the senate Health​

240.21 and Human Services Finance and Policy Committee, the senate Human Services Reform​

240.22 Finance and Policy Committee, and the house of representatives Health and Human Services​

240.23 Finance Committee quarterly about transfers made under this subdivision.​

240.24 Sec. 8. TRANSFERS.​

240.25 By June 30, 2018, the commissioner of management and budget shall transfer:​

240.26 (1) $14,000,000 from the systems operations account in the special revenue fund to the​

240.27 general fund;​

240.28 (2) $2,000,000 from the system long-term care options product account in the special​

240.29 revenue fund to the general fund; and​

240.30 (3) $2,400,000 from the direct care and treatment special health care receipts account​

240.31 in the special revenue fund to the general fund.​
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241.1 Sec. 9. EXPIRATION OF UNCODIFIED LANGUAGE.​

241.2 All uncodified language contained in this article expires on June 30, 2019, unless a​

241.3 different expiration date is explicit.​

241.4 Sec. 10. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

241.5 This article is effective July 1, 2018, unless a different effective date is specified."​

241.6 Amend the title accordingly​

241​Article 11 Sec. 10.​
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