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 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

1  General. 

Amends § 13.46, subd. 2. Allows DHS to disseminate data on CCAP 

participants, applicants, and providers to the commissioner of 

education. Provides an immediate effective date. 

Same Article 2, Section 1 (13.46, subdivision 2) authorizes the 

Department of Human Services to share welfare data about child care 

assistance program participants, applicants, and providers with the 

Department of Education. 

2  Investigative data. 

Amends § 13.46, subd. 3. Allows welfare data that is collected as 

part of an enforcement investigation to be disclosed to other agents 

within the welfare system or to other government investigators, 

unless the disclosure would compromise an ongoing DHS 

investigation. 

House Only  

  Senate Only Article 2, Section 2 (13.46, subdivision 4) makes child care 

provider correction orders or fines due to licensing violations private 

or nonpublic if the correction order or fine is at least seven years old. 

3  Child care assistance program. 

Amends § 13.461, subd. 28. Specifies the classification of CCAP 

data. Provides an immediate effective date. 

Similar. Staff recommends House language, in part to remove 

paragraph (b) from the Senate’s proposed language, which is 

properly included in the Senate E12 omnibus bill.  

Article 2, Section 3 (13.461, subdivision 28) provides cross-

references in chapter 13 (Minnesota Government Data Practices 

Act) for data classified in the sections governing the child care 

assistance program. 

4  Liability for certain acts. 

Amends § 15C.02. Changes the penalty for fraud against the 

government under chapter 15C so that the civil penalty is tied to the 

federal False Claims Act, which applies a civil penalty of not less 

than $5,000 and not more than $10,000, as adjusted by the Federal 

Civil Penalties Inflation Adjustment Act of 1990, and which means 

the penalties are reviewed each year by January 15. 

Same Article 1, Section 1 (15C.02) sets the penalties for violation of the 

Minnesota False Claims Act at the same levels as the penalties for 

violations of the federal False Claims Act. 
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 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

  Senate Only Article 7, Section 1 (16A.055, subdivision 1a) adds definitions for 

the results first evaluations conducted by the commissioner of 

management and budget on grant programs administered by the 

commissioner of human services. 

  Senate Only Article 1, Section 8 (119B.125, subdivision 10) requires proof of 

surety bond coverage for child care centers that receive $250,000 or 

more in CCAP funds per year. If the provider’s revenue is 

$250,000 or more in the previous year, the provider must purchase 

a surety bond of $100,000. The surety bond must be in a form 

approved by the commissioner, must be renewed annually, and 

must allow for recovery of costs and fees in pursuing a claim on the 

bond. 

  Senate Only Article 1, Section 9 (119B.125, subdivision 11) permits county 

human services agencies to conduct investigations of financial 

misconduct by child care providers, after the county agency has 

verified that the provider is not currently being investigated by the 

Department of Human Services. A county agency may immediately 

suspend a provider’s CCAP authorization if the investigation 

uncovers a preponderance of evidence of financial misconduct. The 

county agency must notify the provider and any affected families of 

its determination and suspension, and the determination is subject 

to appeal and a fair hearing. 

5  Data. 

Amends § 119B.02, subd. 6. Defines “child care assistance program 

payment data.” Classifies as private payment data that identifies an 

individual assistance recipient. Specifies that payment data is public 

if it relates to payments made to a child care center under certain 

circumstances. Provides an immediate effective date. 

Same Article 2, Section 4 (119B.02, subdivision 6) defines “child care 

assistance program data” as data for a specific time period showing 

that a child care assistance program payment was made and the 

amount of the payment to the child care center. Certain payment data 

is public but any data identifying a child is private. 



Bill Summary Comparison of House File 2414-2/Senate File UEH2414-1  May 7, 2019 

   Page 4 

 

 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

6  Date of eligibility for assistance. 

Amends § 119B.09, subd. 7. Limits retroactive payments to three 

months from the date of application for CCAP (the current limit is 

six months). Provides a July 1, 2019, effective date. 

Different. Senate sets retroactive eligibility at 0 months and 

House sets it at three months. 

Technical difference in effective date language. 

Article 1, Section 4 (119B.09, subdivision 7) sets retroactivity for 

CCAP reimbursement at a maximum of zero months from the date 

of application, for applications processed on or after July 1, 2019. 

7  Record-keeping requirement. 

Amends § 119B.125, subd. 6. Modifies record-keeping requirements 

CCAP providers must meet. Provides a July 1, 2019, effective date. 

Technical difference in organization of paragraphs (a) and (b).  

Senate paragraph (b) provides exception for agreed upon delay 

of record production. 

Paragraph (c) is the same. 

Technical differences in paragraphs (d) and (e). 

House provides July 1, 2019 effective date. 

Article 1, Section 7 (119B.125, subdivision 6) requires that CCAP 

attendance records be provided at the time of request, and records 

produced at a subsequent date are not valid for purposes of 

establishing proof that the child was present, and modifies the 

calculation for overpayments so that if a record is insufficient to 

support the billing, an overpayment results, regardless of whether 

the child is subsequently determined eligible due to an excused 

absence. 

8  Provider payments. 

Amends § 119B.13, subd. 6. Requires providers to bill only for 

services that meet specified documentation requirements. Expands 

the list of conditions under which the commissioner or a county may 

refuse to issue a child care authorization to a provider, revoke an 

existing child care authorization, stop payment issued to a provider, 

or refuse to pay a bill submitted by a provider. Provides a July 1, 

2019, effective date. 

Same Article 1, Section 10 (119B.13, subdivision 6) permits child care 

providers to bill for CCAP reimbursement only for services 

documented in attendance records, and permits a county or the 

commissioner to suspend a provider’s authorization or stop a 

reimbursement payment if the provider fails to report decreases in 

child attendance. 

9  Absent days. 

Amends § 119B.13, subd. 7. Defines “absent day” and “holidays 

limit.” Requires providers to properly bill for absent days and 

holidays. Specifies that a provider’s failure to properly bill for these 

days results in an overpayment. Provides a July 1, 2019, effective 

date. 

Technical punctuation differences. Staff recommends House 

language. 

Article 1, Section 11 (119B.13, subdivision 7) sets the CCAP 

provider reimbursement cap for absent days at 25 per calendar year, 

defines “absent day” to mean any day that the child is authorized 

and scheduled to be in care but is absent for the entire day, sets the 

holidays limit at 10 full days per child per year, requires providers 

to bill absent days or holidays when they occur, and dictates that a 

failure to bill an absent day or holiday constitutes an overpayment.  
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 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

10  Reconsiderations.  

Amends § 144.057, subd. 3. Requires the Commissioner of Health to 

use the same set aside criteria as the Commissioner of Human 

Services, for individuals employed or seeking employment in the 

substance use disorder treatment field. 

Same Article 9, Section 6 (144.057, subdivision 3) requires the 

commissioner to use the same set aside criteria as the commissioner 

of human services with respect to individuals employed or seeking 

employment in the substance use disorder field. 

11  Limits on receiving public funds. 

Amends § 245.095. 

Subd. 1. Prohibition. For providers who are excluded from 

a program administered by the DHS, requires the 

commissioner to: (1) prohibit the excluded provider from 

receiving grant funds or registering in any other program 

administered by the commissioner; and (2) disenroll, 

revoke, or suspend a license, disqualify, or debar the 

excluded provider, vendor, or individual in any other 

program administered by the commissioner. 

Subd. 2. Definitions. Modifies the definitions of 

“excluded” and “provider.” Provides an immediate effective 

date.  

Technical difference in language and cross-reference in 

subdivision 2, paragraph (b). 

House amends “Provider” definition in subdivision 2, 

paragraph (d); Senate does not. 

House provides immediate effective date. 

Article 1, Section 13 (245.095) strengthens the authority of the 

Commissioner of Human Services to prevent individuals and 

providers from receiving state funds through a DHS administered 

program after being excluded from any program administered by 

DHS. 

12  Applicant. 

Amends § 245A.02, subd. 3. Modifies the definition of “applicant” 

under the chapter of statutes governing human services licensing. 

Provides a January 1, 2020, effective date. 

House Only  

13  Authorized agent. 

Amends § 245A.02, by adding subd. 3b. Defines “authorized agent” 

under the chapter of statutes governing human services licensing. 

Provides a January 1, 2020, effective date. 

House Only  
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 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

14  License. 

Amends § 245A.02, subd. 8. Makes a technical change to the 

definition of “license” under the chapter of statutes governing human 

services licensing. Provides a January 1, 2020, effective date. 

House Only  

15  License holder. 

Amends § 245A.02, subd. 9. Modifies the definition of “license 

holder” under the chapter of statutes governing human services 

licensing. Provides a January 1, 2020, effective date. 

House Only  

16  Organization. 

Amends § 245A.02, subd. 10c. Defines “organization” under the 

chapter of statutes governing human services licensing. Provides a 

January 1, 2020, effective date. 

House Only  

17  Private agency. 

Amends § 245A.02, subd. 12. Modifies the definition of “private 

agency” under the chapter of statutes governing human services 

licensing. Provides a January 1, 2020, effective date. 

House Only  

18  Residential program. 

Amends § 245A.02, subd. 14. Modifies the definition of “residential 

program” under the chapter of statutes governing human services 

licensing to add a separate definition for residential programs 

providing home and community-based services under an MA 

waiver. 

House Only  
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 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

19  Supervision. 

Amends § 245A.02, subd. 18. Modifies requirements for supervision 

of school-aged children in licensed child care centers and adds 

exceptions for restroom use and retrieval or delivery of personal 

items from a storage space. Provides a September 30, 2019 effective 

date. 

House Only  

20  License required. 

Amends § 245A.03, subd. 1. Modifies the list of entities prohibited 

from conducting certain actions without a license under the human 

services licensing statutes. Provides a January 1, 2020, effective 

date. 

House Only  

  Senate Only Article 2, Section 6 (245A.03, subdivision 2) permits legal 

nonlicensed childcare providers to care for up to six unrelated 

children, with a combined maximum of two toddlers and infants. 

21  Unlicensed programs. 

Amends § 245A.03, subd. 3. Makes conforming changes related to 

actions that may be taken against an unlicensed entity. Provides a 

January 1, 2020, effective date. 

House Only  

22  Application for licensure. 

Amends § 245A.04, subd. 1. Makes conforming and other changes, 

including modifying the list of information that must be provided by 

the applicant, to licensure application requirements under the chapter 

of statutes governing human services licensing. Provides a January 

1, 2020, effective date. 

House Only  
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 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

23  Notification of affected municipality. 

Amends § 245A.04, subd. 2. Allows the commissioner to provide 

electronic notification to a municipality or other political subdivision 

affected by a license issued under the human services licensing 

statutes. Provides a January 1, 2020, effective date. 

House Only  

24  Inspections; waiver. 

Amends § 245A.04, subd. 4. Paragraphs (a) and (b) modify the list 

of items a licensing inspection must include and make other 

technical and conforming changes. Paragraphs (c) and (d) modify 

requirements related to child care licensing inspections, exit 

interviews, and adverse licensing actions. Provides a January 1, 

2020, effective date for paragraphs (a) and (b), and a September 30, 

2019, effective date for paragraphs (c) and (d). 

Different: House removes provision for program to be 

evaluated by its consumers as part of the licensing inspection 

process; House establishes written process for family child care 

providers to challenge licensor interpretation of licensing 

provisions (compare with Senate article 2, section 11).  

Senate includes cross-reference to new chapter establishing 

family child care provider licensing inspection procedures and 

standards; Senate stipulates that it is not a violation for a family 

child care provider’s relative who resides in the residence to be 

present in the home; Senate limits public posting of inspection 

results for no longer than minimum time required by federal 

law. 

Similar: Both preclude issuing correction orders or negative 

licensing actions for violations not discussed during an exit 

interview; House provides exception if a license holder does 

not complete or participate in an exit interview. House requires 

proposing alternate time to complete exit interview if interview 

cannot be completed. 

Article 2, Section 7 (245A.04, subdivision 4) precludes the 

commissioner of human services from issuing a correction order or 

negative action for a licensing violation found during an inspection 

but not discussed during an exit interview. Provides that inspection 

results must not be publicly available on the DHS website for a 

period longer than the minimum time imposed by federal law. 

This section also establishes that inspections of family child care 

providers shall follow the provisions of section 245A.055, and 

stipulates that the presence of a family child care provider’s relative 

in the residence does not constitute a violation, unless the relative is 

an employee of the child care center or provides a sufficient 

amount of child care services to exceed the threshold for being 

subject to the statutory training requirements. 

25  Commissioner’s evaluation. 

Amends § 245A.04, subd. 6. Modifies the list of items the 

commissioner must evaluate before issuing, denying, suspending, 

revoking, or making a conditional license. Provides a January 1, 

2020, effective date. 

House Only  
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 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

26  Grant of license; license extension. 

Amends § 245A.04, subd. 7. Specifies the commissioner must issue 

a license consistent with human services licensing application 

procedures or temporary change of ownership procedures. Removes 

language prohibiting the transfer of a license and requiring a license 

holder to notify the commissioner before making any changes that 

would alter the information included on the license (this is moved to 

a new subdivision). Makes technical and conforming changes. 

Provides a January 1, 2020, effective date. 

Similar: House includes technical conforming change to 

remove cross-reference to 245A.04, subdivision 4, paragraph 

(a), clause (3), which the House removes in Section 24. 

 

House limits provision precluding issuance of a license if an 

applicant has been denied a license under chapter 245A, while 

Senate does not specify under which chapter the denied license 

was sought. 

 

House limits collateral consequence of having license revoked 

to the preclusion of holding a license under chapter 245A; 

Senate does not limit the provision, includes both chapter 245A 

and 245D. 

Article 7, Section 2 (245A.04, subdivision 7) allows the 

commissioner of human services to issue a temporary change of 

ownership license or provisional license, but prohibits the 

commissioner from issuing or reissuing a license if the applicant 

had been denied a license, including a license 

following expiration of a provisional license, within the past two 

years. 

27  Notification required. 

Amends § 245A.04, by adding subd. 7a. Requires a license holder to 

notify the commissioner and obtain the commissioner’s approval 

before making any change that would alter the information included 

on the license. Lists other changes of which the license holder must 

notify the commissioner. Specifies the documentation that a license 

holder must provide to the commissioner when a license holder 

changes information on file with the secretary of state. Provides a 

January 1, 2020, effective date. 

Similar: House specifies that notice of change must be in a 

manner approved by commissioner; Senate requires notice to 

be given 30 days before change; House includes giving notice 

of changes to license holder’s authorized agent; Senate does 

not. House provides ten additional days for license holder to 

provide required notice to commissioner if events outside the 

license holder’s control prevent giving notice prior to the 

change. Other technical language differences.  

Article 7, Section 3 (245A.04, subdivision 7a), paragraph 

(a) requires a license holder to notify the commissioner and obtain 

approval before making any changes that would alter the license 

information. 

Paragraph (b) requires a license holder to notify the 

commissioner at least 30 days before the change is 

effective, in writing, of certain listed changes. 

Paragraph (c) requires a license holder to provide 

amended articles of incorporation or other documents 

reflecting a change to business structure or services. 
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 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

28  Child foster home variances for capacity.  

Amends § 245A.04 by adding subd. 9a. Allows the commissioner to 

grant a variance for additional foster children in a family foster home 

if: 

1) The variance is needed to maintain family connections or 

because the child has a severe disability; 

2) There is no risk of harm to a child in the home; 

3) The home can accommodate additional children;  

4) The home in compliance with applicable codes; and 

5) There is an exception to capacity limits and the ratio of 

adults to children would still ensure safety and 

supervision of the children. 

House Only  

29  Adoption agency; additional requirements. 

Amends § 245A.04, subd. 10. Modifies the list of entities that must 

meet certain requirements when applying for a license to place 

children for adoption. Provides a January 1, 2020, effective date. 

House Only  

  Senate Only Article 2, Section 8 (245A.04, subdivision 18) directs the 

commissioner of human services to consult with relevant child care 

stakeholders to develop, publicly post, and distribute a plain-

language handbook for family child care providers to understand 

the application and licensing process, and all applicable rules and 

statutes, by January 1, 2020. 

30  License application after change of ownership. 

Creates § 245A.043. 

Subd. 1. Transfer prohibited. Specifies a license is not 

transferable or assignable. 

Subd. 2. Change of ownership. Requires submission of a 

new license application if the commissioner determines that 

Subdivision 1 

Same 

 

Subdivision 2 

Article 7, Section 4 [245A.043] establishes procedures for a 

license application after a change of ownership. 

Subdivision 1 specifies that a license is not transferable or 

assignable. 

Subdivision 2 requires submission of a new license 

application when the commissioner determines that a change 
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 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

there is a change in ownership. Lists the conditions under 

which a change in ownership occurs. 

Subd. 3. Change of ownership process. Specifies the 

licensing application process when a change of ownership 

occurs. Specifies this process does not apply to a licensed 

program or service located in a home where the license 

holder resides. 

Subd. 4. Temporary change in ownership license. Allows 

the commissioner to issue a temporary change in ownership 

license while the commissioner evaluates the licensing 

application when a change in ownership is proposed and 

under certain other circumstances. Specifies requirements 

regarding the operation of the program or service until a 

decision is made to grant or deny a license. 

Provides a January 1, 2020, effective date. 

Similar: Technical differences in verb tense. Technical 

differences in phrasing and organization. 

Different: House exempts programs located in homes where 

the license holder resides from submitting a new license 

application after a change in ownership; Senate does not. 

Senate provides further detail on when a change of controlling 

individuals constitutes a change of ownership. 

Subdivision 3 

Paragraph (a): Similar: Technical differences. 

Paragraph (b): Different: Senate specifies that form and 

manner of license change application shall be prescribed by the 

commissioner. 

Paragraph (c): Similar: Technical differences; Senate specifies 

that applicant’s compliance is with standards of chapter 245A 

and other applicable rules. 

Paragraph (d): Similar: Technical differences. 

Paragraph (e): Similar: Technical clarifying differences. Staff 

recommends combining language. 

Paragraph (f): Different: House permits applicants to submit 

letter demonstrating remediation of any outstanding actions 

under chapter 245A.06 and 245A.07; Senate permits applicants 

to submit letter demonstrating remediation of correction orders 

only. 

in ownership will occur. Specifies what constitutes a change 

in ownership. 

Subdivision 3, paragraph (a) requires written notice to the 

commissioner of any proposed sale or change of ownership 

at least 60 days prior to the anticipated change, when the 

new owner intends to assume operation without interruption. 

Paragraph (b) requires a prospective new owner or 

operator to submit a license application at least 30 

days prior to the change, and comply with all 

statutory requirements. 

Paragraph (c) allows the commissioner to develop 

application procedures for when the applicant is a 

current license holder, and the program is currently 

licensed by DHS and in substantial compliance. 

Paragraph (d) specifies that the existing license 

holder is responsible for operating the program until a 

license is issued to the new owner or operator. 

Paragraph (e) allows the commissioner to waive a 

new owner or operator’s licensing inspection, under 

certain circumstances. 

Paragraph (f) requires a new owner or operator to 

submit a letter identifying how and when they will 

resolve any outstanding correction orders, if 

applicable. 
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 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

House Paragraph (g): Requires the commissioner to issue a 

license or conditional license if the commissioner determines 

that the applicant has remedied or has ability to remedy 

outstanding actions against the license. Content aligns with 

Senate paragraphs (g) and (h). 

Senate paragraph (g): Specifies that outstanding action against 

applicant’s license pursuant to chapter 245A.06 or 245A.07 

remains in effect until commissioner determines that basis for 

action has been remedied.  

Senate paragraph (h): Establishes that the commissioner may 

issue a temporary change of ownership license after reviewing 

an application. 

House Paragraph (h): Same as Senate paragraph (i) 

House Paragraph (i): Same as Senate paragraph (j) 

Subdivision 4 

Similar: Technical differences in phrasing and structure. 

Senate paragraph (b) allows the commissioner to establish 

criteria for a temporary change of ownership license; House 

allows the commissioner to issue the license. 

Paragraph (g) specifies that any licensing actions 

taken against the existing license holder when the 

new owner or operator is applying for a license will 

remain in effect until the grounds for the action are 

corrected or no longer exist. 

Paragraph (h) requires the commissioner to evaluate 

a license application according to statute. 

Paragraph (i) allows the commissioner to deny an 

application according to statute, and allows for 

appeals. 

Paragraph (j) specifies that this subdivision does not 

apply to a home-based program or service. 

Subdivision 4 establishes a temporary change of ownership 

license for a new owner or operator while the commissioner 

evaluates the new owner or operator’s license application, 

and allows commissioner to establish criteria for issuing 

such licenses. 

31  Denial of application. 

Amends § 245A.05. Modifies the list of circumstances under which 

the commissioner may deny a license. Provides a January 1, 2020, 

effective date. 

House Only  
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 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

32  Closing a license. 

Creates § 245A.055. 

Subd. 1. Inactive programs. Requires the commissioner to 

close a license if the commissioner determines that a 

licensed program has not been serving any client for a 

consecutive period of 12 months or longer. Does not 

prohibit the license holder from reapplying for a license if 

the license holder’s license was closed. 

Subd. 2. Reconsideration of closure. Specifies the process 

of notification and reconsideration if a license is closed. 

Subd. 3. Reconsideration final. Specifies the 

commissioner’s disposition of a request for reconsideration 

is final and not subject to appeal. 

Provides a January 1, 2020, effective date. 

House Only  

  Senate Only Article 2, Section 9 (245A.055) establishes the statutory 

requirements, procedures, and standards for inspections of family 

child care providers. 

Subdivision 1 reiterates that family child care providers 

shall be inspected annually, as required under current law. 

Subdivision 2 defines four types of inspections: initial 

inspection, full inspection, abbreviated inspection, and 

follow-up inspection. A full inspection covers all applicable 

rules and statutes for family care providers. An abbreviated 

inspection covers certain key indicators that statistically 

predict full compliance with all applicable rules and statutes. 

Providers qualify for abbreviated inspections by having a 
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 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

clean inspection history for at least three years. Failure to 

comply with any key indicator during an abbreviated 

inspection triggers a full inspection. A follow-up inspection 

is a full inspection that takes place within six months an 

inspection that finds a violation that warrants a correction 

order. 

Subdivision 3 establishes that the risk of the violation 

determines the type of corrective action that may be issued 

by a county licensor, as follows: 

 Level 1: violation presents no risk of harm or a 

minimal risk of harm and warrants verbal technical 

assistance from the licensor 

 Level 2: violation presents a low risk of harm and 

warrants a written technical assistance notice from the 

licensor 

 Level 3: violation presents moderate risk of harm and 

warrants a fixit ticket 

 Level 4: violation presents a substantial risk of harm 

and warrants a correction order or conditional license 

By January 1, 2020, the commissioner is directed to consult 

with the relevant industry stakeholders to propose which 

rules and statutes, if violated, fall into each risk level, as well 

as which rules and statues may fall into multiple risk levels, 

depending on the nature of the violation. The commissioner 

is also directed to identify which violations must be enforced 

under federal law. By July 1, 2020, the commissioner must 

provide training to implement the risk-based violation levels 

during family child care inspections. 
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 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

Subdivision 4 establishes that a follow-up inspection shall 

take place within six months of an investigation that finds 

more than one Level 4 violation. The follow-up inspection 

date does not alter the provider’s typical annual inspection 

date. 

  Senate Only Article 2, Section 10 (245A.06, subdivision 1) amends the 

correction order statute to permit licensors to issue correction 

orders for Level 4 violations, or a failure to correct a Level 3 

violation, found during an inspection of a family child care 

provider. 

  Compare with House Section 24, paragraph (d) – Different: 

Senate requires licensor to seek clarification from DHS; House 

permits license holder to seek clarification within five days of 

inspection exit interview. Similar: License holder must be 

included on any correspondence between DHS and county; 

correction order may not be issued until interpretation dispute is 

resolved. 

Article 2, Section 11 (245A.06, subdivision 10) requires a county 

licensor to seek clarification from the Department of Human 

Services in writing if a child care provider disputes the 

interpretation of a licensing requirement, before the licensor may 

issue a correction order to the child care provider. 
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 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

  Senate Only Article 2, Section 12 (245A.065) amends the fix-it ticket statute to 

permit licensors to issue fix-it tickets for Level 3 violations found 

during an inspection of a family child care provider, beginning July 

1, 2020. The commissioner of human services may not publicly 

post a fix-it ticket unless required by federal law. Effective 

immediately, this section expands the rules and statutes eligible for 

fix-it tickets during inspection of a licensed child care provider, to 

include violations that do not present imminent danger, cannot be 

corrected at the time of the inspection, and are not a repeat 

violation. A fix-it ticket may not be issued for violations corrected 

at the time of the inspection. The section also lists rules and statutes 

that may qualify only for fix-it tickets, if violated, and requires 

publicly posted fix-it tickets to identify the federal law requiring 

publication. 

  Senate Only Article 2, Section 13 [245A.066] establishes the authority for 

county licensors to issue verbal technical assistance for Level 1 

violations, and written technical assistance notices for Level 2 

violations, found during an inspection of a family child care 

provider. The commissioner of human services may not publicly 

post a written technical assistance order unless required by federal 

law. 

33  Sanctions; appeals; license. 

Amends § 245A.07, subd. 1. Makes technical and conforming 

changes. 

House Only  

34  Temporary immediate suspension. 

Amends § 245A.07, subd. 2. Modifies the list of circumstances 

under which the commissioner must act immediately to temporarily 

suspend a license. Provides a January 1, 2020, effective date. 

House Only  
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35  Immediate suspension; expedited hearing. 

Amends § 245A.07, subd. 2a. Sets the burden of proof in an 

expedited hearing as a preponderance of evidence for suspensions in 

cases where the license holder is criminally charged in state or 

federal court with an offense that involves fraud or theft against a 

program administered by the commissioner. 

House Only  

36  License suspension, revocation, or fine. 

Amends § 245A.07, subd. 3. Modifies the list of circumstances 

under which the commissioner may suspend or revoke a license, or 

impose a fine. Makes technical changes. Provides a January 1, 2020, 

effective date. 

House Only  

37  License or certification fee for certain programs.  

Amends § 245A.10, subd. 4. Increases licensing fees for home and 

community-based services and supports programs and includes 

additional revenue categories for fees. Removes obsolete language. 

House Only  

38  Special family day care homes.  

Amends § 245A.14, subd. 4. Clarifies applicable fire code for 

special family day care homes. Allows two or more licensed 

programs to be housed in the same location, if the programs are 

operated as separate, distinct programs and comply with all 

applicable rules and laws. Allows for variances for collaborative 

child care models. Provides a September 30, 2019, effective date. 

Similar: House provides updated cross-references to fire code. 

Technical differences in capitalization. Staff recommends 

House language. 

 

Paragraph (g): Similar: House authorizes issuance of two or 

more licenses under existing paragraphs (a) through (f) for 

multiple providers in the same building, provided that 

applicants demonstrate compliance with all applicable rules and 

laws and operate distinct programs; Senate creates new 

category of license for providers who are located in the same 

Article 2, Section 14 (245A.14, subdivision 4) authorizes the 

commissioner of human services to grant a special family day care 

license to individuals that provide child care services out of a 

portion of a commercial or other building that meets certain 

building code standards. 
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building, provided that the applicant’s building satisfies 

existing criteria for licenses under paragraph (f). 

 

Paragraph (h): House only 

39  Experienced aides; child care centers.  

Amends § 245A.14, subd. 8. Removes training requirements that are 

consolidated in this article. Provides a September 30, 2019, effective 

date. 

House Only  

40  Valid driver’s license.  

Amends § 245A.14 by adding subd. 16. Allows a person with a 

current, valid driver’s license appropriate to the vehicle to transport 

children for a licensed child care center. Provides a September 30, 

2019 effective date. 

House Only  

41  Reusable water bottles or cups.  

Amends § 245A.14 by adding subd. 17. Allows a child care center to 

provide drinking water to a child in a reusable water bottle or cup if 

the center develops and ensures implementation of a written policy 

that includes procedures for cleaning and sanitizing, proper labeling, 

and storage. Provides a September 30, 2019, effective date. 

Similar. Technical differences in organization. Difference in 

specific reusable cup or water bottle requirements. 

House includes reusable cups, and a provision specifying that 

water bottle or cup must be used only for water. 

House effective date is September 30, 2019; Senate effective 

date is the day following final enactment. 

Article 2, Section 15 (245A.14, subdivision 16) permits child care 

centers to provide drinking water in bottles to children, so long as 

the bottles are washed, rinsed, and sanitized daily after use and 

stored in a clean and dry manner. 
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42  Policies and procedures.  

Amends § 245A.145, subd. 1. Requires the Department of Human 

Services, rather than licensed child care providers, to develop 

policies and procedures for reporting suspected child maltreatment, 

and to provide the policies and procedures to providers in plain 

language. Provides a September 30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  

43  Licensing agency phone number displayed.  

Amends § 245A.145, subd. 2. Removes obsolete date; removes 

requirement for licensing agency telephone number to be printed in 

bold and large font on a child care provider license; modifies 

terminology. Provides an immediate effective date. 

House Only  

44  Supervision of family child care license holder’s own child.  

Proposes coding for § 245A.149. Allows an individual to supervise a 

family child care license holder’s own child, without meeting 

licensure requirements, if the individual:  

1) is related to the license holder;  

2) is not a caregiver, helper, or substitute for the program; 

and  

3) cares only for the license holder’s child.  

Provides a September 30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  

45  Fire marshal inspection.  

Amends § 245A.151. Adds certified license-exempt child care 

centers to fire marshal inspection provision. Provides a September 

30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  
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46  Delegation of authority to agencies.  

Amends § 245A.16, subd. 1. Allows time-limited variances for 

substitute care in family child care. Requires reporting of fires. 

Provides a September 30, 2019, effective date.  

Different. House includes provision for variance recipient to 

give notice to parents and guardians, and for provider to notify 

DHS of fires. 

House effective date is September 30, 2019; Senate effective 

date is the day following final enactment. 

Article 2, Section 16 (245A.16, subdivision 1) makes conforming 

technical changes to accommodate the differential monitoring 

inspection model. 

47  Licensed family child foster care.  

Adds subd. 9 to § 245A.16. Requires a county agency or private 

agency to review specified information relating to non-disqualifying 

background study results before denying or revoking a family child 

foster care license, and to send a summary of the review to the 

commissioner, including a recommendation for licensing action. 

Provides a March 1, 2020, effective date.  

House Only  

48  Child passenger restraint systems; training requirement.  

Amends § 245A.18, subd. 2. Removes obsolete language; removes 

exception for child care providers that only transport school age 

children in school buses. Lowers age of children transported from 

nine to eight; establishes variance to training requirements for 

emergency relative placement under specified circumstances. 

Provides a September 30, 2019, effective date. 

House only  

49  Mandatory reporting. 

Creates § 245A.24. Requires all county and DHS licensors to report 

suspected fraud to the appropriate authorities. 

Similar. Senate specifies that reports must be made to county 

or department investigators; House specifies the reports must 

be made to the appropriate authorities. 

Article 1, Section 14 [245A.24] requires all child care licensors, 

whether at the county or Department of Human Services, to report 

suspected fraud to county or department investigators. 
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50  Child care center training requirements.  

Amends § 245A.40. Clarifies and consolidates child care center 

training and documentation requirements for orientation, in-service 

training, child development and learning, first aid, CPR, abusive 

head trauma, sudden unexpected infant death, and child passenger 

restraint systems. Adds definitions for “substitute,” “staff person,” 

and “unsupervised volunteer.” Provides a September 30, 2019, 

effective date. 

House Only  

51  Child care center health and safety requirements.  

Amends § 245A.41. Clarifies and consolidates child care training 

and documentation requirements for allergy prevention and response 

and handling and disposal of bodily fluids. Modifies emergency 

preparedness plan requirements. Moves requirements for child 

passenger restraint requirements. Allows for a provider to satisfy 

telephone requirements with a cellular phone. Provides a September 

30, 2019 effective date. 

House Only  

52  Family child care training requirements.  

Amends § 245A.50. Consolidates and clarifies training family child 

care training requirements for initial training (adding CPR and first 

aid training), child development and learning, behavior guidance, 

first aid, CPR, sudden unexpected infant death and abusive head 

trauma, child passenger restraint systems, and ongoing training. 

Defines “helper,” “substitute,” “caregiver,” and “The Basics of 

Family Child Care for Substitutes.” Provides a September 30, 2019, 

effective date. 

 

Subdivision 1 

Different: House provides specific initial training requirements 

for license holders, caregivers, substitutes, and helpers to 

complete before providing care; Senate requires helpers to 

complete six hours of training within one year of beginning to 

provide care. 

Senate provides that relocating providers are exempt from 

repeating initial training requirements and from completing 

county orientation for new license holders. 

Article 2: 

 

Section 17 (245A.50, subdivision 1) requires child care providers 

who relocate within the state to continue to satisfy their annual, 

ongoing training requirements, but relocating providers are not 

required to complete initial training requirements that the provider 

completed prior to licensure. If the provider relocates to a new 

county, the county may not require the relocating provider to 

complete orientation or training required for new providers. 
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Subdivision 1a 

House Only 

Subdivision 2 

Different: House requires initial training for license holder and 

all caregivers; Senate maintains current statutory language 

requiring initial training for license holder and adult caregivers 

providing more than 30 hours of care in a 12-month period. 

House removes language defining training content. House 

permits annual training to be completed through new courses in 

Knowledge and Competency Areas I or II; Senate adds annual 

training in this area to new annual refresher training course. 

Subdivision 3 

Different: House requires first aid training for license holder, 

caregivers, substitutes; Senate maintains current statutory 

language requiring training for at least one caregiver. House 

removes exemption from training for substitutes providing less 

than 30 hours of care in a 12-month period. Senate includes 

technical clarification that 2-year renewal must take place in the 

year prior to the second year from the date of licensure. Staff 

recommends Senate language on this point. 

 

Subdivision 4 

Different: House requires CPR training for license holder, 

caregivers, substitutes; Senate maintains current statutory 

 

 

 

Section 18 (245A.50, subdivision 2) removes the annual 

requirement for family child care providers to complete two hours 

of child development and learning and behavior guidance training 

and replaces that requirement with completion of an annual 

refresher training course, which will include those topics. 

 

 

 

Sections 19, 20, and 22 (245A.50, subdivisions 3, 4, and 6) clarify 

the statutory requirements that family child care providers must 

repeat first aid training and CPR training every two years, prior to 

the date that the provider’s annual license expires. The same 

clarification is made for the statutory requirements that family child 

care providers must repeat child passenger restraint systems 

training every five years. The section also requires that providers 

serving or transporting children 8 years old and younger to have 

received the child passenger restraint systems training. 
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language requiring training for at least one caregiver. House 

removes exemption from training for substitutes providing less 

than 30 hours of care in a 12-month period. House updates 

CPR training content requirements. Senate includes technical 

clarification that 2-year renewal must take place in the year 

prior to the second year from the date of licensure. Staff 

recommends Senate language on this point.  

Subdivision 5 

Similar: House requires license holders to ensure caregivers, 

substitutes, and helpers receive SUID/AHT training prior to 

providing care; Senate requires license holders to document 

receipt of training. Technical differences in structure. House 

specifies that substitutes are included in training requirements. 

Different: House removes requirement that content of training 

must be developed in conjunction with the Minnesota Sudden 

Infant Death Center and adds approval by Achieve – the MN 

center for professional development. 

Different: Senate includes SUID/AHT annual training 

requirement in new annual refresher training course. 

Subdivision 6 

Different: House removes existing paragraphs (a) and (b) 

Similar: Senate includes technical clarification that 5-year 

renewal must take place in the year prior to the fifth year from 

 

 

 

 

 

Section 21 (245A.50, subdivision 5) adds Sudden Unexpected 

Infant Death and Abusive Head Trauma training to the annual 

refresher course. 
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the date of licensure. Staff recommends Senate language on this 

point. 

Same: Both reduce minimum age from 9 to 8 

Subdivision 7 

Different: Senate reduces annual ongoing training hours 

requirement for license holders and caregivers to 10; House 

maintains 16-hour requirement, and establishes specific topic 

areas for ongoing training; Senate provides January 1, 2020 

effective date. 

Subdivision 8 

House Only: establishes requirements for ongoing training for 

substitutes and helpers. 

Subdivision 9 

Different: House eliminates subdivision 9 and includes 

supervising for safety in the schedule of ongoing training in 

subdivision 7; Senate maintains current initial and 5-year 

training requirements, and includes supervising for safety in 

annual two-hour refresher course. 

Subdivision 10 

House Only 

Subdivision 11 

 

 

Section 23 (245A.50, subdivision 7) reduces the number of 

ongoing training hours for family child care providers to 10 hours 

and establishes that the annual refresher course shall count toward 

that hours requirement. 

 

 

 

 

Section 24 (245A.50, subdivision 9) clarifies the statutory 

requirement that family child care providers must repeat the full 

supervising for safety training every five years, prior to the date 

that the provider’s annual license expires, and replaces the 

requirement to complete an annual two-hour supervising for safety 

course with completion of an annual refresher course, which will 

include this topic. 
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House Only 

Subdivision 12 

Different: 

House requires providers to document completion of training 

requirements under the chapter. 

Senate establishes annual two-hour refresher training course to 

replace annual training on certain topics, beginning January 1, 

2020. 

Subdivision 13 

Similar: Provides training exemption for related individuals; 

House permits exemption for individual related to license 

holder who cares for license holder’s child; Senate permits 

exemption for individual related to child who cares for that 

child.  

House provides September 30, 2019 effective date. 

Subdivision 14 

Senate Only: Emergency substitutes exempt from training and 

background study requirements. 

Article 2, Section 25 (245A.50, subdivision 12) replaces certain 

ongoing training requirements for family child care providers with 

an annual course of up to two hours that refreshes child care 

provider training on active supervision, child development and 

behavior guidance, sudden unexpected infant death, head trauma, 

and any training required by the child care development block 

grant, beginning January 1, 2020. The course must be available to 

complete online or through self-study. 

 

Section 26 (245A.50, subdivision 13) exempts relatives of children 

in child care programs from having to complete child care training 

requirements in order to care for or have contact with the related 

child at the child care site. Relatives that are designated caregivers, 

helpers, or substitutes for the child care program must complete the 

training requirements. 

 

 

Article 2, Section 27 (245A.50, subdivision 14) exempts substitute 

caregivers from completing child care training and background 

study requirements when providing care during an emergency 

situation. 
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53  Emergency preparedness plan.  

Amends § 245A.51, subd. 3. Removes obsolete date; adds 

requirement for accommodations for infants and toddlers in family 

child care emergency preparedness plans. Provides a September 30, 

2019, effective date. 

Different: House adds requirement for emergency 

preparedness plan to include accommodations for infants and 

toddlers and provides September 30, 2019 effective date; 

Senate does not. Senate eliminates requirements for providers 

to post or distribute copy of plan; House does not. 

House removes outdated implementation date. Staff 

recommends House language on this point. 

 

Article 2, Section 28 (245A.51, subdivision 3) eliminates the 

requirement for a licensed child care provider to post in a 

prominent location and provide a physical or electronic copy of its 

emergency preparedness plan to a child’s parent or legal guardian 

upon enrollment. 

54  Transporting children.  

Amends § 245A.51 by adding subd. 4. Moves requirements for 

transporting children in family child care. Provides a September 30, 

2019, effective date. 

House Only  

55  Telephone requirement. 

Amends § 245A.51 by adding subd. 5. Allows for a family child care 

provider to satisfy telephone requirements with a cellular phone and 

specifies that a provider is not required to post emergency numbers. 

Provides a September 30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  

56  Family child care physical space requirements.  

Proposes coding for § 245A.52. Updates family child care physical 

space requirements to align with current fire code. Moves 

requirements from rule to statute and updates requirements to align 

with current code. Provides a September 30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  

57  Substitute and replacement caregivers in family child care. 

Proposes coding for § 245A.53.  

Subd. 1. Total hours allowed. Permits the use of a 

substitute caregiver for family child care for up to 400 hours 

Subdivision 1 Article 2, Section 29 (245A.52) permits family child care 

providers to use substitute caregivers for up to 720 hours in a 12-

month period. 
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in a calendar year. Requires the license holder to document 

the substitute care. 

Subd. 2. Emergency replacement supervision. Paragraph 

(a) allows for an emergency replacement, who has not 

completed training or background study requirements, in a 

licensed family or group family day care; specifies what 

constitutes an emergency situation. 

Paragraph (b) requires the license holder to minimize the 

time an emergency replacement cares for children, not to 

exceed 24 hours per incident. 

Paragraph (c) prohibits the license holder from knowingly 

using an emergency replacement caregiver who would be 

disqualified from caring for children if a background study 

were conducted. 

Paragraph (d) requires the license holder to arrange for 

emergency care by a substitute, if possible. 

Paragraph (e) requires the license holder to notify the 

county licensing agency within 7 days that an emergency 

replacement was used, and the circumstances leading to the 

use of the emergency replacement. Requires the county 

licensing agency to then notify DHS within 3 business days 

after receiving the notice from the license holder. 

Paragraph (f) specifies that a license holder is not required 

to provide names of substitutes or emergency replacements 

to parents or the county licensing agency.  

Provides a September 30, 2019, effective date. 

Different: House increases permitted hours for use of 

substitutes to 400 hours per year; Senate increases to 720 hours 

per 12-month period. 

House provides effective date of September 30, 2019. 

Subdivision 2 

House Only 
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  Senate Only Article 2, Section 30 (245A.60) creates and funds a new Office of 

the Ombudsperson for Child Care Providers. It directs the governor 

to appoint an ombudsperson for child care providers to serve a six-

year term and carry out duties to support and inform family and 

legal nonlicensed child care providers with all areas of concern 

related to the provision of child care services, including licensing 

and regulatory compliance correction orders and appeals, service 

improvement, and application assistance. The ombudsperson is 

authorized to hire staff, to access data necessary for discharging the 

duties of the office, and to receive copies of all provider correction 

orders, penalty assessments, and complaint investigations on a 

quarterly basis. The ombudsperson must operate independently of 

the department of human services and must have experience 

providing child care as a family child care provider, interpretation 

of laws and regulations, investigations, record keeping, report 

writing, public speaking, and management. A person is not eligible 

to serve as ombudsperson while holding public office and cannot 

have been previously employed by the child care licensing division 

of the Department of Human Services or as a county licensor. The 

commissioner of human services must provide the ombudsperson 

with office space, supplies, and other support, and must post 

provide child care providers with the contact information for the 

ombudsperson. 

58  Child care centers; risk reduction plan.  

Amends § 245A.66, subd. 2. Adds supervision of school-age 

children to requirements for risk reduction plan. Provides a 

September 30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  
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59  Yearly review of risk reduction plan.  

Amends § 245A.66, subd. 3. Clarifies that review of the risk 

reduction plan must occur each calendar year. Removes orientation 

language that is consolidated elsewhere. Provides a September 30, 

2019, effective date. 

House Only  

60  License-exempt child care center certification holder. 

Amends § 245C.02 by adding subd. 5a. Defines “license-exempt 

child care center certification holder” for purposes of the background 

studies chapter. Provides a September 30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  

61  Child care background study subject. 

Amends § 245C.02, subd. 6a. Modifies and clarifies the individuals 

who are required to have a child care-related background study. 

House Only  

62  Children’s residential facility.  

Amends § 245C.02 by adding subd. 6b. Defines “children’s 

residential facility” for purposes of the background studies chapter. 

Provides a July 1, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  

63  Licensed family child foster care. 

Amends § 245C.02 by adding subd. 12a. Defines “licensed family 

child foster care” for purposes of the background studies chapter. 

Provides a March 1, 2020, effective date. 

House Only  

64  Substance use disorder treatment field.  

Amends § 245C.02 by adding subd. 20. Defines “substance use 

disorder treatment field” for purposes of the background studies 

chapter. 

Same Article 7, Section 5 (245C.02, subdivision 20) defines “substance 

use disorder treatment field” as a licensed, registered program 

exclusively serving individuals 18 years old and older for substance 

use disorder treatment or recovery. 
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65  Licensed programs.  

Amends § 245C.03, subd. 1. Clarifies that child care background 

study subjects are defined in section 245C.02, subd. 6a. 

House Only  

66  Privacy notice to background study subject.  

Amends § 245C.05, subd. 2c. Clarifies language regarding FBI 

fingerprint retention.  

House Only  

67  Fingerprint data notification.  

Amends § 245C.05, subd. 2d. Clarifies language regarding FBI 

fingerprint retention. 

House Only  

68  Electronic transmission.  

Amends § 245C.05, subd. 4. Adds a summary of nondisqualifying 

background study results and relevant underlying investigative 

information to the information that DHS must transmit electronically 

to county and private agencies for child foster care. Provides a 

March 1, 2020, effective date. 

House Only  

69  Fingerprints and photograph.  

Amends § 245C.05, subd. 5. Adds children’s residential facilities. 

Clarifies language regarding FBI fingerprint retention. Provides a 

July 1, 2019, effective date for paragraph (a). 

House Only  

70  Background study requirements for minors.  

Amends § 245C.05, subd. 5a. Requires individuals 17 or younger 

employed by a child care program, or when there is otherwise 

reasonable cause, to submit non-fingerprint-based data for a check of 

out-of-state criminal and sex offender registries.  

House Only  
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71  Background studies conducted by Department of Human 

Services.  

Amends § 245C.08, subd. 1. Adds children’s residential facilities to 

background study provisions. Requires individuals 18 or older 

affiliated with a child care program to submit non-fingerprint-based 

data for a check of out-of-state criminal and sex offender registries. 

Provides a July 1, 2019, effective date for paragraph (a). 

House Only  

72  Arrest and investigative information.  

Amends § 245C.08, subd. 3.  

(a) Allows for the review of arrest and investigative information by 

the commissioners of health and human services.  

(b) Allows the commissioner to review a subject’s FBI records more 

than once, when specifically required by law.  

(c) Specifies that national criminal history check information is 

private data that cannot be shared.  

(d) Specifies that the entity that submitted a background study is not 

required to obtain a copy of the disqualification letter if the 

commissioner disqualifies a subject based on national criminal 

history check information. 

Provides an October 1, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  

73  Children’s residential facilities. 

Amends § 245C.10 by adding subd. 14. Specifies that the 

commissioner will recover a fee for children’s residential facility 

background studies not to exceed $51. Provides a July 1, 2019, 

effective date.  

Different. House sets fee for children’s residential facility 

background studies. 

Senate sets fee for guardian and conservator background 

studies. 

Article 7, Section 6 (245C.10, subdivision 14) sets a fee of $110 

for background studies for guardians or conservators, beginning 

January 1, 2020. 
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74  Direct contact pending completion of background study.  

Amends § 245C.13, subd. 2. Requires direct continuous supervision 

prior to completion of a background study for an individual affiliated 

with a child care center. Prohibits direct contact services in child 

care centers prior to the receipt of notice that a subject is not 

disqualified or that more time is needed.  

House Only  

75  Other state information.  

Amends § 245C.13 by adding subd. 3. Allows the commissioner to 

issue a notice of background study results when the commissioner 

has not received certain records from other states within ten days of 

requesting the information.  

House Only  

76  Disqualification from direct contact. 

Amends § 245C.14, subd. 1. Specifies that the commissioner must 

disqualify an individual applying for family child foster care 

licensure from any position allowing direct contact with persons 

served, if the background study contains disqualifying information, 

as listed in section 245C.15, subdivision 6 (new subdivision). 

Provides a March 1, 2020, effective date. 

House Only  

77  15-year disqualification. 

Amends § 245C.15, subd. 2. Adds felony criminal penalties for acts 

including human services programs to list of offenses leading to 

disqualification for direct contact for 15 years. 

House Only  
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78  Ten-year disqualification. 

Amends § 245C.15, subd. 3. Adds gross misdemeanor criminal 

penalties for acts involving human services programs to list of 

offenses leading to disqualification from direct contact for ten years. 

House Only  

79  Seven-year disqualification. 

Amends § 245C.15, subd. 4. Adds misdemeanor criminal penalties 

for acts involving human services programs to list of offenses 

leading to disqualification from direct contact for seven years. 

House Only  

80  Licensed family child foster care disqualifications.  

Adds subdivision 6 to § 245C.15. Specifies disqualifying crimes and 

creates new criteria for disqualification for background studies 

affiliated with family child foster care license applicants.  

Paragraphs (a) and (b) list actions and crimes for which an applicant 

is disqualified, no matter how much time has passed.  

Paragraphs (c) and (d) list actions and crimes for which an applicant 

is disqualified if less than five years have passed.  

Provides a March 1, 2020, effective date. 

House Only  

81  Risk of harm; set aside. 

Amends § 245C.22, subd. 4. 

Specifies criteria for a set-aside of a background study 

disqualification for an individual seeking employment in the 

substance use disorder treatment field; lists crimes and conduct for 

which an individual would remain disqualified; requires the 

individual to have successfully completed substance use disorder 

Similar. Senate includes technical clarification in paragraph 

(d), item (1). Staff recommends House language. 

Article 7, Section 7 (245C.22, subdivision 4) specifies the criteria 

for setting aside a disqualification for an individual seeking 

employment in the substance use disorder field. 
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treatment at least one year prior and to abstain from controlled 

substances for at least one year prior to the reconsideration request. 

82  Scope of set-aside. 

Amends § 245C.22, subd. 5. Provides an exception for a set-aside 

for a person employed in the substance use disorder treatment field, 

under subdivision 4, when the individual previously received a set-

aside for a different program or agency. 

Same Article 7, Section 8 (245C.22, subdivision 5) provides an 

exception for a set-aside for a person employed in the substance use 

disorder field, under subdivision 4, where the individual received a 

previous set aside for a different program or agency. 

83  Disqualification; bar to set aside a disqualification; request for 

variance.  

Amends § 245C.24.  

(b) Requires the commissioner of human services to consider 

granting a licensing variance or set-aside for an individual if more 

than 20 years have passed since the discharge of a criminal sentence 

for a crime or conduct that would otherwise warrant a permanent 

disqualification from direct contact services. Specifies that the 

commissioner is not required to consider a variance or set-aside for a 

person disqualified for criminal sexual conduct. 

Adds paragraph (d) to subdivision 2, specifying that the 

commissioner must not set aside a disqualification for any of the 

crimes or actions listed in section 245C.15, subdivision 6, paragraph 

(a), for anyone 18 or older affiliated with a licensed family child 

foster care program.  

Amends subdivisions 3 and 4 to allow the commissioner to set aside 

disqualifications for family child foster care licensing, in certain 

circumstances.  

Adds subdivision 5, specifying that the commissioner must not set 

aside a disqualification for any of the crimes or actions listed in 

House Only  
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section 245C.15, subdivision 6, paragraph (c) committed within the 

past five years, for anyone 18 or older affiliated with a licensed 

family child foster care program.  

Adds subdivision 6, specifying that the commissioner must not set 

aside a disqualification for an individual affiliated with a children’s 

residential facility who was convicted of a felony for physical 

assault or a drug-related offense in the past five years. 

Provides a March 1, 2020, effective date and a July 1, 2019, 

effective date for subdivision 6.  

84  License holder and license-exempt child care center certification 

holder variance.  

Amends § 245C.30, subd. 1. Adds license-exempt child care center 

certification holders to those to whom the commissioner may grant a 

variance. Provides a September 30, 2019 effective date. 

House Only  

85  Disclosure of reason for disqualification.  

Amends § 245C.30, subd. 2. Adds license-exempt child care center 

certification holders to provision relating to disqualification 

disclosure. Provides September 30, 2019, effective date.  

House Only  

86  Consequences for failing to comply with conditions of variance.  

Amends § 245C.30, subd. 3. Adds license-exempt child care center 

certification holders to provisions relating to failure to comply with 

variance conditions. Provides September 30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  

  Senate Only Article 7, Section 9 (245C.32, subdivision 2) makes a conforming 

change related to background studies for guardians or conservators, 

effective January 1, 2020. 
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87  Financial misconduct or misconduct. 

Amends § 245E.01, subd. 8. Modifies the definition of “financial 

misconduct” or “misconduct” under the statute governing CCAP 

fraud investigations to include the new crimes and criminal penalties 

created in section 120. 

House Only  

88  Provider definitions. 

Amends § 245E.02, by adding subd. 1a. Defines “provider.” 

Same Article 1, Section 15 (245E.02, subdivision 1a) clarifies that the 

definition of “provider” for purposes of CCAP financial 

misconduct investigations includes individual providers or entities, 

including the owners and controlling individuals of an entity. 

89  Substitute. 

Amends § 245H.01 by adding subd. 7. Defines “substitute” for 

purposes of certified license-exempt child care centers. Provides a 

September 30, 2019, effective date.  

House Only  

90  Staff Person. 

Amends § 245H.01 by adding subd. 8. Defines “staff person” for 

purposes of certified license-exempt child care centers. Provides a 

September 30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  

91  Unsupervised volunteer.  

Amends § 245H.01 by adding subd. 9. Defines “unsupervised 

volunteer” for purposes of certified license-exempt child care 

centers. Provides a September 30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  

92  Reconsideration of certification denial.  

Amends § 245H.03 by adding subd. 4. Adds provision allowing for 

reconsideration of a denial of a certification application. Provides a 

September 30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  



Bill Summary Comparison of House File 2414-2/Senate File UEH2414-1  May 7, 2019 

   Page 37 

 

 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

93  Decertification.  

Amends § 245H.07. Adds provisions allowing for reconsideration of 

a decertification of a certified license-exempt child care center and 

provides specific procedures for decertifications due to maltreatment 

and CCAP revocation. Provides a September 30, 2019 effective date 

for subdivision 1 to 3 and a February 26, 2021, effective date for 

subdivision 4. 

House Only  

94  Individuals to be studied.  

Amends § 245H.10, subd. 1. Adds reference to child care 

background study provisions.  

House Only  

95  Reporting.  

Amends § 245H.11. Requires license-exempt child care center 

certification holder to have written policies for reporting of abuse 

and neglect. Provides a September 30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  

96  Fees.  

Amends § 245H.12. Creates a $200 application fee and $100 

renewal fee for certification of license-exempt child care centers. 

Provides a July 1, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  

97  Building and physical premises; free of hazards.  

Amends § 245H.13, subd. 5. Adds reference to state fire code and 

fire marshal inspection requirements for certification of license-

exempt child care centers. Provides September 30, 2019, effective 

date. 

House Only  
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98  Risk reduction plan.  

Amends § 245H.13 by adding subd. 7. Requires a certified license-

exempt child care center to develop a risk reduction plan; specifies 

what the plan must include. Provides September 30, 2019, effective 

date. 

House Only  

99  Required policies.  

Amends § 245H.13 by adding subd. 8. Requires a certified center to 

have written health and safety policies. Provides September 30, 

2019, effective date. 

House Only  

100 Behavior guidance.  

Amends § 245H.13 by adding subd. 9. Requires a certified center to 

ensure that staff and volunteers use positive behavior guidance; lists 

prohibited acts. Provides September 30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  

101 Supervision. 

Amends § 245H. 13 by adding subd. 10. Outlines supervision 

requirements for certified centers. Provides September 30, 2019, 

effective date. 

House Only  

102 First aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation.  

Amends § 245H.14, subd. 1. Requires director and all staff persons 

in certified centers to have initial first aid and CPR training within 

specified timelines and every other calendar year thereafter. Provides 

September 30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  
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103 Abusive head trauma.  

Amends § 245H.14, subd. 3. Requires director and all staff persons 

in certified centers to complete abusive head trauma training before 

assisting in the care of a child under school age. Provides September 

30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  

104 Child development.  

Amends § 245H.14, subd. 4. Requires director and all staff persons 

in certified centers to complete child development training within 

specified timeframes. Provides September 30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  

105 Orientation.  

Amends § 245H.14, subd. 5. Requires director and all staff persons 

in certified centers to complete orientation health and safety training 

within specified timeframes. Provides September 30, 2019, effective 

date. 

House Only  

106 In service.  

Amends § 245H.14, subd. 6. Requires director and all staff persons 

in certified centers to complete annual health and safety training 

within specified timeframes. Provides September 30, 2019, effective 

date. 

House Only  

107 Written emergency plan.  

Amends § 245H. 51, subd. 1. Adds requirement for accommodations 

for infants and toddlers in certified license-exempt child care center 

written emergency plans. Provides September 30, 2019, effective 

date. 

House Only  
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  Senate Only Article 7, Section 10 (245I.01) creates a state Office of Inspector 

General, with an inspector general, who shall be in the unclassified 

service, appointed by the governor and confirmed by the Senate to 

a 6 year term. Upon full implementation, the Office of the Inspector 

General shall assume the duties of the office of the inspector 

general at the department of human services, the licensing division 

at the department of health, and the office of health facility 

complaints at the department of health. 

  Senate Only Article 7, Section 11 (245I.02) phases-in the implementation of the 

Office of Inspector General by transferring the relevant Department 

of Human Services duties effective July 1, 2020, and the 

Department of Health duties effective July 1, 2022.  

  Senate Only Article 7, Section 12 (256.0113) permits counties and tribes 

receiving human services grants funded exclusively with state 

dollars to, at the start of the fourth fiscal quarter each year, re-

allocate unspent grant dollars for any county or tribal human 

services purpose. Any proposed re-allocation must be approved by 

majority vote of the county board or governing tribal body, and all 

approved re-allocations must be reported to the commissioner of 

human services. 

108 Hearing authority. 

Amends § 256.046, subd. 1. Makes technical changes. 

House Only  

109 Administrative disqualification of child care providers caring for 

children receiving child care assistance. 

Amends § 256.046, by adding subd. 3. Specifies the process for 

DHS or a local agency to pursue an administrative disqualification 

of a child care provider. Allows a provider to appeal an 

administrative disqualification. 

House Only  
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  Senate Only Article 1, Section 16 (256.98, subdivision 1) adds a cross-

reference to the housing support chapter to the section 

prohibiting wrongfully obtaining assistance.  

110 Disqualification from program. 

Amends § 256.98, subd. 8. Modifies the disqualification period for 

child care providers caring for children receiving child care 

assistance.  

Paragraphs (a), (b) 

Different: Senate establishes that disqualification based on a 

court finding is permanent, disqualification based on 

administrative hearing, consent agreement, or court-ordered 

stay results in a two-year disqualification for a first offense and 

a permanent disqualification for a repeat offense; House 

maintains existing language. 

Paragraph (c) 

Different: Senate establishes that disqualification based on a 

court finding is permanent, disqualification based on 

administrative hearing, consent agreement, or court-ordered 

stay results in a two-year disqualification for a first offense and 

a permanent disqualification for a repeat offense; House 

amends existing language to begin with a three-year 

disqualification for a first offense. 

 

Article 1, Section 17 (256.98, subdivision 8) permanently 

disqualifies clients, families, and providers from participating in the 

program in which they committed fraud if there is a finding or an 

action by a federal court or state court.  If the finding or action is by 

administrative hearing, the first offense results in a two-year 

disqualification and a second offense is a permanent 

disqualification.  

  Senate Only Article 1, Section 18 (256.983, subdivision 5) authorizes counties 

to investigate financial misconduct by any DHS-licensed provider, 

provided that the department is not actively investigating the 

provider, and to suspend available assistance payments upon 

finding a preponderance of evidence of financial misconduct. The 

section provides for a fair hearing for affected providers. 
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  Senate Only Article 1, Section 19 (256.987, subdivision 1) requires that EBT 

cards include a photograph of the head of household and a list of 

family members authorized to use the card. It also requires that 

cardholders show identification before making a purchase. 

  Senate Only Article 1, Section 20 (256.987, subdivision 2) prohibits the receipt 

of cash for the return of items purchased with an EBT card, 

requiring that the cost of items purchased with an EBT card be 

credited back to the card. 

111 Vendor of medical care. 

Amends § 256B.02, subd. 7. Modifies the definition of “vendor of 

medical care” under the chapter of statutes governing MA. 

Different: House continues to define “vendor” as including 

only licensed providers; Senate defines “vendor” as including 

any provider that furnishes a good or service eligible for 

reimbursement under MA state plan or waiver. 

Article 1, Section 21 (256B.02, subdivision 7) modifies the 

definition of “vendor of medical care” to include all home and 

community-based service providers, thereby clarifying the 

commissioner’s authority to exclude and sanction these providers 

for violations of medical assistance requirements. 

  Senate Only Article 7, Section 13 (256B.04, subdivision 21) provides an 

exception to provider enrollment requirements under medical 

assistance for pediatric therapy providers if the only reason the 

provider would be denied enrollment is that the provider has not 

billed the Medicare program. 

112 Grounds for sanctions against vendors. 

Amends § 256B.064, subd. 1a. Expands the list of reasons for which 

the commissioner may impose sanctions against a vendor of medical 

care. 

House Only  

113 Sanctions available. 

Amends § 256B.064, subd. 1b. Requires the commissioner to 

suspend a vendor's participation in MA for a minimum of five years 

under certain circumstances. 

Similar. Technical phrasing difference. 

Staff recommends Senate language. 

Article 1, Section 33 (256B.064, subdivision 1b) specifies the 

length of exclusion for medical assistance for a provider sanctioned 

by a court for a violation of medical assistance requirements. 



Bill Summary Comparison of House File 2414-2/Senate File UEH2414-1  May 7, 2019 

   Page 43 

 

 HOUSE  SENATE  

Section Article 2: Operations  Article 7: Operations 

114 Imposition of monetary recovery and sanctions. 

Amends sec. 256B.064, subd. 2. Allows DHS or a managed care 

organization to keep any payments being withheld when a provider 

is convicted of a crime related to MA. Grants the commissioner 

additional fining authority for providers who repeatedly violate MA 

program rules. 

Similar. Senate clarifies that funds must be forfeited to the 

department. 

Staff recommends Senate language. 

Article 1, Section 34 (256B.064, subdivision 2) establishes that 

funds that are the subject of medical assistance fraud shall be 

forfeited to the commissioner of human services, either as a result 

of a criminal conviction or a repeat violation. 

115 Vendor mandates on prohibited payments. 

Amends § 256B.064, by adding subd. 3. Paragraph (a) requires the 

commissioner to maintain and publish a list of each excluded 

individual and entity that was convicted of a crime related to an MA 

health service, or suspended or terminated. Prohibits MA payments 

from being made by a vendor for items or services furnished by an 

individual or entity that is on the exclusion list. 

Paragraph (b) specifies vendor requirements related to frequency of 

checking the exclusion list. 

Paragraph (c) specifies the vendor's requirement to check the 

exclusion list and terminate payments to individuals or entities on 

the list. 

Paragraph (d) lists sanctions that may be applied if a vendor pays 

MA funds to an individual or entity on the exclusion list. 

Similar: House confines provisions to payments to excluded 

individuals or entities; Senate prohibits vendors who receive 

MA funds from hiring or having a business relationship with an 

excluded individual or entity regardless of whether the vendor 

makes MA payments to the excluded individual or entity. 

Article 1, Section 35 (256B.064, subdivision 3) requires the 

commissioner of human services to maintain and post a list of each 

excluded individual and entity that was convicted of a crime related 

to medical assistance fraud, and excludes from medical assistance 

eligibility vendors who employ or conduct business with 

individuals or entities on the list. Vendors employing or doing 

business with individuals or entities on the list may be subject to 

administrative sanctions or a civil penalty of up to $25,000. 
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116 Notice. 

Amends § 256B.064, by adding subd. 4. Paragraph (a) allows DHS 

to serve notices by first class mail with an affidavit of service. 

Paragraph (b) requires DHS to give notice in writing to a recipient 

placed in the Minnesota restricted recipient program. Requires the 

notice to be sent by first class mail. Allows a recipient placed in the 

Minnesota restricted recipient program to contest the placement by 

submitting a written request for a hearing to DHS within 90 days of 

the notice being mailed. 

House Only  

117 Immunity; good faith reporters. 

Amends § 256B.064, by adding subd. 5. Grants civil and criminal 

immunity to persons who make a good faith report of fraud or abuse 

in public assistance programs and ensures the identity of the reporter 

remains confidential. 

House Only  

118 Minnesota restricted recipient program; personal care 

assistance services. 

Creates § 256B.0646. Paragraph (a) allows the commissioner to 

place a recipient of PCA or community first services and supports 

(CFSS) in the Minnesota restricted recipient program when the 

recipient's use of those programs results in abusive or fraudulent 

billing. 

Paragraph (b) requires a recipient to comply with additional 

conditions for the use of PCA services or CFSS if the commissioner 

determines it is necessary to prevent future misuse of PCA services 

or abusive or fraudulent billing. Lists the additional conditions that 

may apply. 

Similar: Technical organizational and phrasing differences; 

staff recommends House language.  

House provides an immediate effective date. 

Article 1, Section 36 [256B.0646] permits the commissioner to 

place a recipient of PCA or CFSS services in the Minnesota 

restricted recipient program upon evidence of abusive or fraudulent 

billing. Placement in the program is subject to appeal. 
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Paragraph (c) allows a recipient placed in the Minnesota restricted 

recipient program to appeal this placement. 

Provides an immediate effective date. 

119 Recipient protection. 

Amends § 256B.0651, subd. 17. Allows the commissioner to notify 

recipients who receive care from a provider that the provider's 

payments may be withheld or that the provider's participation in MA 

may be suspended or terminated. Provides an immediate effective 

date. 

House provides an immediate effective date; Senate does not. Article 1, Section 37 (256B.0651, subdivision 17) clarifies the 

authority of the commissioner to notify recipients of services that 

their provider will be terminated as a medical assistance provider. 

120 Documentation of PCA services provided. 

Amends § 256B.0659, subd. 12. Requires the PCA time sheet to 

include a recipient's MA identification number or date of birth. 

Provides an immediate effective date. 

House provides an immediate effective date; Senate does not. Article 1, Section 39 (256B.0659, subdivision 12) modifies the 

service delivery documentation requirements of PCAs. 

121 Access to medical records. 

Amends § 256B.27, subd. 3. Removes a requirement that a vendor of 

medical care receive 24 hour notification from the commissioner 

before the commissioner gains access to records. Grants the 

commissioner immediate access to medical records when 

investigating a possible overpayment of MA funds. Specifies that 

denying the commissioner access is cause for the vendor's immediate 

suspension of payment or termination. 

Senate requires department to first confer with Office of 

Inspector General and document evidentiary basis for 

demanding records, prior to demanding immediate production 

of records; House does not. 

Article 1, Section 45 (256B.27, subdivision 3) permits the 

commissioner of human services to demand immediate access to 

medical records from a vendor suspected of a Medicaid 

overpayment, without prior notice and during regular business 

hours, provided that the commissioner has first conferred with the 

Office of Inspector General and has documented the evidentiary 

basis for the decision to demand immediate access to the records. 

Denying access to records is cause for immediate suspension of 

payment or termination of the vendor’s eligibility. 
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122 Home and community-based service billing requirements. 

Amends § 256B.4912, by adding subd. 11. Paragraph (a) lists 

requirements in order for a home and community-based service to be 

eligible for reimbursement. 

Paragraph (b) requires the provider to maintain documentation that 

staff have attested to and understand a statement regarding service 

billings for MA or services provided under a federally approved 

waiver plan. 

Paragraph (c) allows DHS to recover payment for a service that does 

not satisfy the requirements of this subdivision. 

Technical differences: staff recommends House language. Article 1, Section 47 (256B.4912, subdivision 11) expands the 

service delivery documentation requirements for home and 

community-based services offered through the disability waivers. 

123 Home and community-based service documentation 

requirements. 

Amends § 256B.4912, by adding subd. 12. Paragraph (a) allows 

documentation to be collected and maintained electronically or in 

paper form by providers and requires documentation to be produced 

upon request of the commissioner. 

Paragraph (b) requires documentation of a service to be in English 

and to be legible according to the standard of a reasonable person. 

Paragraph (c) lists the documentation that must be included for a 

service that is reimbursed at an hourly or specified minute-based 

rate. 

Paragraph (d) lists the documentation that must be included for a 

service that is reimbursed at a daily rate. 

Technical differences: staff recommends House language. 

 

Substantive difference: Senate permits documentation that 

complies with electronic visit verification to satisfy the 

requirements of this subdivision; House does not. 

Article 1, Section 48 (256B.4912, subdivision 12) expands the 

service delivery documentation requirements for home and 

community-based services offered through the disability waivers. 
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124 Waiver transportation documentation and billing requirements. 

Amends § 256B.4912, by adding subd. 13. Establishes 

documentation and billing requirements for waiver transportation 

services. 

Technical differences: staff recommends House language. Article 1, Section 49 (256B.4912, subdivision 13) expands the 

service delivery documentation requirements for home and 

community-based services offered through the disability waivers. 

125 Equipment and supply documentation requirements. 

Amends § 256B.4912, by adding subd. 14. Establishes 

documentation and billing requirements for equipment and supplies 

paid for under a home and community-based services waiver. 

Technical differences: staff recommends House language. Article 1, Section 50 (256B.4912, subdivision 14) expands the 

service delivery documentation requirements for home and 

community-based services offered through the disability waivers. 

126 Adult day service documentation and billing requirements. 

Amends § 256B.4912, by adding subd. 15. Establishes 

documentation and billing requirements for adult day services paid 

for under a home and community-based services waiver. Provides an 

August 1, 2019, effective date. 

Technical difference: staff recommends House language. Article 1, Section 51 (256B.4912, subdivision 15) expands the 

service delivery documentation requirements for home and 

community-based services offered through the disability waivers. 

  Senate Only Article 7, Section 14 (524.5-118) extends the time period for 

background studies of guardians and conservators from two years 

to five years, updates terminology to use “national criminal history 

record check,” requires signed privacy notice to subject of study, 

establishes requirements to share background study results with 

courts, and establishes requirements for DHS to review disciplinary 

sanctions from the background study subject’s affiliated agencies, 

if any, all to be effective January 1, 2020. 

127 Criminal penalties for acts involving human services programs. 

Creates § 609.817. 

Subd. 1. Prohibited payments made relating to human 

services programs. Creates a felony offense for knowingly 

and willfully offering payment to a person to induce that 

person to: (1) apply for or receive, or induce another person 

House Only  
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to apply for or receive, a human services benefit; or (2) 

purchase, lease, order, or arrange for the purchase, lease, or 

order of any good, facility, service, or item administered or 

funded by the DHS. 

Subd. 2. Receipt of prohibited payments relating to 

human services programs. Creates a felony offense for 

knowingly and willfully soliciting or receiving payment in 

return for: (1) applying for or receiving a human services 

benefit, service, or grant; or (2) purchasing, leasing, 

ordering, or arranging for the purchase, lease, or order of 

any good, facility, service, or item for which payment may 

be made by DHS or a local social services agency. 

Subd. 3. Payments exempt. Specifies this section does not 

apply to remuneration exempted from the federal Anti-

Kickback laws and regulations. 

Subd. 4. Penalties. Specifies criminal penalties for persons 

who violate subdivision 1 or 2. 

Subd. 5. Aggregation. Allows the value of the money, 

property, or services received by the defendant within any 

six-month period to be aggregated in any prosecution. 

Subd. 6. Venue. Specifies the venue for prosecution. 

Subd. 7. False claims. Specifies a claim that includes items 

or services resulting from a violation of this section 

constitutes a false claim.  

Subd. 8. Actual knowledge or specific intent not 

required. Specifies a person need not have actual 
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knowledge of this section or specific intent to commit a 

violation of this section. 

128 Limitations. 

Amends § 628.26. Requires indictments or complaints of violations 

of section 126 to be filed in the proper court within six years of the 

commission of the offense. 

House Only  

  Senate Only Article 7, Section 15 (Information Technology Projects; 

Performance Requirement) requires the commissioner of human 

services to incorporate measureable indicators of progress toward 

completion on every information technology project contract.  The 

indicators or progress must be periodic and at least measure 

progress for every 25 percent increment toward the completion of 

the project. Each contract must withhold at least 10 percent of the 

total contract amount until the project is complete and must specify 

that where an indicator is not met that a specified proportion of the 

contract will be withheld. 

  Senate Only Article 7, Section 16 (Results First Evaluation of Grant 

Programs; Proven-Effective Practices) requires the 

commissioner of management and budget, in consultation with the 

commissioner of human services, to establish a schedule to review 

each grant program administered by the commissioner of human 

services to determine if the grant uses or promotes proven-effective 

or promising practices and can be evaluated using experimental or 

quasiexperimental design. 
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  Senate Only Article 2, Section 43 (Direction to Commissioner; Abbreviated 

Inspections) directs the commissioner of human services to consult 

with relevant industry stakeholders to develop the key indicators to 

be used during abbreviated inspections, and to report the proposed 

indicators to the legislature by January 1, 2020. The section also 

directs the commissioner to develop training to implement the 

abbreviated inspections beginning July 1, 2020. 

  Senate Only Article 2, Section 44 (Direction to Commissioner; Training 

Requirements) directs the commissioner of human services to 

develop an annual refresher course for family child care providers 

to cover certain subjects, and to propose legislative changes to 

eliminate duplicative training requirements. 

  Senate Only Article 2, Section 45 (Direction to Commissioner; Correction 

Order Enforcement Review) directs the commissioner of human 

services to develop and implement a process to review licensing 

inspection results at the county level, to identify trends of over- or 

under-enforcement and issue additional guidance and training as 

needed to correct any imbalance or inaccuracy in correction order 

enforcement. The commissioner shall include the results of this 

work in the annual report on child care. 
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  Senate Only Article 2, Section 46 (Family Child Care Task Force) establishes 

an 18-member task force intended to increase the number of family 

child care providers and improve the quality of family child care 

services throughout the state, to be comprised of legislators, child 

care providers, family child care associations, child care licensors, 

and business associations. The task force will meet monthly 

beginning August 1, 2019, and must identify 

licensing requirements that have led to the closure of family child 

care programs, recommend business development and technical 

assistance resources to promote provider recruitment and 

retainment, identify alternative family child care provider business 

models, identify and recommend family child care regulatory 

reforms that improve licensing efficiencies, review Parent Aware 

participation to identify obstacles and improvements, and review 

the Revisor’s recodification of Minnesota Rules, chapters 9502 and 

9503, and Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A. The task force’s 

report is due by March 1, 2020.   

  Senate Only Article 2, Section 47 (Direction to Commissioner; Licensing and 

Background Study Review) instructs the commissioner of human 

services to review the rules and statutes relating to child care 

provider licensing and background study requirements and propose 

legislation to eliminate unnecessary and duplicative record keeping 

or documentation requirements. The commissioner is also directed 

to create a process for child care providers to electronically submit 

information requested by the department of human services for 

these purposes. 
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  Senate Only Article 1, Section 67 (Direction to commissioners; universal 

child identification number) requires the commissioners of MDE, 

MDH, and DHS to jointly identify what is needed to establish and 

use a universal identification number for children participating in 

early childhood programs to determine the extent of potential 

duplication in the programs, report to the legislature on their 

findings by July 1, 2020, and implement the system by July 1, 

2021. Universal identification numbers would be considered 

private data on individuals, but could be shared between MDE, 

MDH, and DHS. 

  Senate Only Article 2, Section 50 (Revisor Instruction) instructs the Revisor 

of Statutes to consult with nonpartisan legislative staff and the 

Department of Human Services to recodify the rules governing day 

care facility licensing as statutes. 

  Senate Only Article 2, Section 51 (Revisor Instruction) instructs the Revisor 

of Statutes to consult with nonpartisan legislative staff and the 

Department of Human Services to recodify the rules governing 

child care facility licensing as statutes. 

  Senate Only Article 2, Section 52 (Revisor Instruction) instructs the Revisor 

of Statutes to consult with nonpartisan legislative staff and the 

Department of Human Services to prepare legislation for the 2020 

session that recodifies Minnesota Statutes, chapter 245A, and 

repeals and enacts as statutes the rules governing day care 

licensing. 

  Senate Only Article 7, Section 17 (Revisor’s Instruction) directs the Revisor, 

non-partisan legislative staff, and the relevant departments to draft 

for the 2020 legislative session proposed legislation to implement 

the transition of duties to the Office of the Inspector General. 
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129 Repealer.  

Repeals rules relating to child care fire safety and telephone 

requirements that are moved to statute in this article; repeals 

subdivision relating to certified license-exempt child care direct 

contact and a subdivision related to child care assistance program 

overpayments for failure to comply with access to records 

requirements. Provides a September 30, 2019, effective date. 

House Only  

  Senate Only Article 7, Section 18 (Repealer) repeals the statutory subdivisions 

imposing staffing credentials on individuals performing 

comprehensive assessments and providing care coordination 

services for counties. 

 


