02/27/17 10:40 AM HOUSE RESEARCH TS/JF H0535DE1

...... moves to amend H.F. No. 535 as follows:

1.1

1.2

1.3

1.4

1.5

1.6

1.7

1.8

1.9

1.10

1.11

1.12

1.13

1.14

1.15

1.16

1.17

1.18

1.19

1.20

1.21

1.22

1.23

1.24

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 126C.05, subdivision 8, is amended to read:

Subd. 8. Average daily membership. (a) Membership for pupils in grades kindergarten through 12 and for prekindergarten pupils with disabilities shall mean the number of pupils on the current roll of the school, counted from the date of entry until withdrawal. The date of withdrawal shall mean the day the pupil permanently leaves the school or the date it is officially known that the pupil has left or has been legally excused. However, a pupil, regardless of age, who has been absent from school for 15 consecutive school days during the regular school year or for five consecutive school days during summer school or intersession classes of flexible school year programs without receiving instruction in the home or hospital shall be dropped from the roll and classified as withdrawn. Nothing in this section shall be construed as waiving the compulsory attendance provisions cited in section 120A.22. Average daily membership equals the sum for all pupils of the number of days of the school year each pupil is enrolled in the district's schools divided by the number of days the schools are in session. Days of summer school or intersession classes of flexible school year programs are only included in the computation of membership for pupils with a disability not appropriately served primarily in the regular classroom. A student must not be counted as more than 1.2 pupils in average daily membership under this section and section 126C.10, subdivision 2a, paragraph (b). When the initial total average daily membership exceeds 1.2 for a pupil enrolled in more than one school district during the fiscal year, each district's average daily membership must be reduced proportionately.

(b) A student must not be counted as more than one pupil in average daily membership except for purposes of section 126C.10, subdivision 2a.

Section 1.

02/27/17 10:40 AM	HOUSE RESEARCH	TS/JF	H0535DE1

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 126C.10, subdivision 2a, is amended to read: 2.1 Subd. 2a. Extended time revenue. (a) A school district's extended time revenue is equal 2.2 to the product of \$5,117 and the sum of the adjusted pupil units of the district for each pupil 2.3 in average daily membership in excess of 1.0 and less than 1.2 according to section 126C.05, 2.4 subdivision 8. 2.5 (b) Extended time revenue for pupils placed in an on-site education program at the Prairie 2.6 Lakes Education Center or the Lake Park School, located within the borders of Independent 2.7 School District No. 347, Willmar, for instruction provided after the end of the just prior 2.8 regular school year and before the beginning of the following regular school year equals 2.9 membership hours divided by the minimum annual instructional hours in section 126C.05, 2.10 subdivision 15, not to exceed 0.20, times the pupil unit weighting in section 126C.05, 2.11 subdivision 1, times \$5,117. 2.12 (c) A school district's extended time revenue may be used for extended day programs, 2.13 extended week programs, summer school, vacation break academies such as spring break 2.14 academies and summer term academies, and other programming authorized under the 2.15 learning year program." 2.16 Delete the title and insert: 2.17 "A bill for an act 2.18 relating to education finance; modifying the calculation of extended time revenue 2.19 for summer instruction for pupils placed in certain on-site education programs; 2.20 amending Minnesota Statutes 2016, sections 126C.05, subdivision 8; 126C.10, 2.21 subdivision 2a." 2.22

Sec. 2. 2