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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 1554 as follows:1.1

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:1.2

"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 17.03, subdivision 11a, is amended to read:1.3

Subd. 11a. Permitting efficiency goal and report. (a) It is the goal of the1.4

Department of Agriculture that environmental and resource management permits be1.5

issued or denied within 150 days of the submission of a completed permit application.1.6

The commissioner of agriculture shall establish management systems designed to achieve1.7

the goal.1.8

(b) The commissioner shall prepare semiannual an annual permitting efficiency1.9

reports report that include includes statistics on meeting the goal in paragraph (a). The1.10

reports are report is due February 1 and August 1 of each year. For permit applications1.11

that have not met the goal, the report must state the reasons for not meeting the goal, steps1.12

that will be taken to complete action on the application, and the expected timeline. In1.13

stating the reasons for not meeting the goal, the commissioner shall separately identify1.14

delays caused by the responsiveness of the proposer, lack of staff, scientific or technical1.15

disagreements, or the level of public engagement. The report must specify the number1.16

of days from initial submission of the application to the day of determination that the1.17

application is complete. The report for the final quarter of the fiscal year must aggregate1.18

the data for the year and assess whether program or system changes are necessary to1.19

achieve the goal. The report must be posted on the department Web site and submitted to1.20

the governor and the chairs of the house of representatives and senate committees having1.21

jurisdiction over agriculture policy and finance.1.22

(c) The commissioner shall allow electronic submission of environmental review1.23

and permit documents to the department.1.24

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 17.117, subdivision 11, is amended to read:1.25
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Subd. 11. Loans issued to borrower. (a) Local lenders may issue loans only for2.1

projects that are approved and certified by the local government unit as meeting priority2.2

needs identified in a comprehensive water management plan or other local planning2.3

documents, are in compliance with accepted practices, standards, specifications, or2.4

criteria, and are eligible for financing under Environmental Protection Agency or other2.5

applicable guidelines.2.6

(b) The local lender may use any additional criteria considered necessary to2.7

determine the eligibility of borrowers for loans.2.8

(c) Local lenders shall set the terms and conditions of loans to borrowers, except that:2.9

(1) no loan to a borrower may exceed $100,000 $200,000;2.10

(2) no loan for a project may exceed $100,000 $200,000; and2.11

(3) no borrower shall, at any time, have multiple loans from this program with a total2.12

outstanding loan balance of more than $100,000 $200,000.2.13

(d) The maximum term length for projects in this paragraph is ten years.2.14

(e) Fees charged at the time of closing must:2.15

(1) be in compliance with normal and customary practices of the local lender;2.16

(2) be in accordance with published fee schedules issued by the local lender;2.17

(3) not be based on participation program; and2.18

(4) be consistent with fees charged other similar types of loans offered by the local2.19

lender.2.20

(f) The interest rate assessed to an outstanding loan balance by the local lender must2.21

not exceed three percent per year.2.22

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18B.065, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:2.23

Subd. 2a. Disposal site requirement. (a) For agricultural waste pesticides, the2.24

commissioner must may enter into a contract with a county or group of counties under a2.25

joint powers agreement for household hazardous waste disposal or designate a place in2.26

each county of the state that is available at least every other year for persons to dispose2.27

of unused portions of agricultural pesticides. The commissioner shall consult with the2.28

person responsible for solid waste management and disposal in each county not under2.29

agreement to determine an appropriate location and to advertise each collection event.2.30

The commissioner may provide a collection opportunity in a county more frequently2.31

Additional collection events may be provided if the commissioner determines that a2.32

collection is additional collections are warranted.2.33

(b) For nonagricultural waste pesticides, the commissioner must provide a disposal2.34

opportunity each year in each county or may enter into a contract with a county or group2.35
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of counties under a joint powers agreement or contract for household hazardous waste3.1

disposal or designate a place that is available at least every other year for persons to3.2

dispose of unused portions of nonagricultural pesticides.3.3

(c) As provided under subdivision 7, the commissioner may enter into cooperative3.4

agreements with local units of government to provide the collections required under3.5

paragraph (a) or (b) and shall provide a local unit of government, as part of the cooperative3.6

agreement, with funding for reasonable costs incurred including, but not limited to, related3.7

supplies, transportation, advertising, and disposal costs as well as reasonable overhead3.8

costs.3.9

(d) A person who collects waste pesticide under this section shall, on a form3.10

provided or in a method approved by the commissioner, record information on each the3.11

actual or estimated weight of agricultural waste pesticide product products collected3.12

including, but not limited to, the quantity collected and either the product name and its3.13

active ingredient or ingredients or the United States Environmental Protection Agency3.14

registration number. The person must and submit this information to the commissioner3.15

at least annually by January 30.3.16

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18B.065, subdivision 7, is amended to read:3.17

Subd. 7. Cooperative agreements. (a) The commissioner may enter into3.18

cooperative agreements with state agencies and local units of government for3.19

administration of the waste pesticide collection program. The commissioner shall ensure3.20

that the program is carried out in all counties provides collection opportunities statewide. If3.21

the commissioner cannot contract with another party to administer the program in a county,3.22

the commissioner shall perform collections according to the provisions of this section.3.23

(b) The commissioner, according to the terms of a cooperative agreement between3.24

the commissioner and a local unit of government, may establish limits for unusual types3.25

or excessive quantities of waste pesticide offered by pesticide end users to the local unit3.26

of government.3.27

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18B.37, subdivision 2, is amended to read:3.28

Subd. 2. Commercial and noncommercial applicators. (a) A commercial or3.29

noncommercial applicator, or the applicator's authorized agent, must maintain a record of3.30

pesticides used on each site. Noncommercial applicators must keep records of restricted3.31

use pesticides. The record must include the:3.32

(1) date of the pesticide use;3.33

(2) time the pesticide application was completed;3.34
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(3) brand name of the pesticide, the United States Environmental Protection Agency4.1

registration number, and dosage rate used;4.2

(4) number of units treated;4.3

(5) temperature, wind speed, and wind direction;4.4

(6) location of the site where the pesticide was applied;4.5

(7) name and address of the customer;4.6

(8) name and signature of applicator, name of company, license number of applicator,4.7

and address of applicator company; and4.8

(9) any other information required by the commissioner.4.9

(b) Portions of records not relevant to a specific type of application may be omitted4.10

upon approval from the commissioner.4.11

(c) All information for this record requirement must be contained in a single page4.12

document for each pesticide application, except a map may be attached to identify treated4.13

areas. For the rights-of-way and wood preservative categories, the required record may4.14

not exceed five pages. An invoice containing the required information may constitute4.15

the required record. The commissioner shall make sample forms available to meet the4.16

requirements of this paragraph.4.17

(d) The record must be completed no later than five days after the application of4.18

the pesticide.4.19

(e) The applicator must post a complete record in a public area or conspicuous4.20

location to notify occupants of multiple-unit dwellings or users of other public buildings4.21

that a pesticide application was made on the property.4.22

(d) (f) A commercial applicator must give a copy of the record to the customer.4.23

(e) (g) Records must be retained by the applicator, company, or authorized agent4.24

for five years after the date of treatment.4.25

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18B.37, subdivision 3, is amended to read:4.26

Subd. 3. Structural pest control applicators. (a) A structural pest control4.27

applicator must maintain a record of each structural pest control application conducted by4.28

that person or by the person's employees. The record must include the:4.29

(1) date of structural pest control application;4.30

(2) target pest;4.31

(3) brand name of the pesticide, United States Environmental Protection Agency4.32

registration number, and amount used;4.33

(4) for fumigation, the temperature and exposure time;4.34

(5) time the pesticide application was completed;4.35
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(6) name and address of the customer;5.1

(7) name and signature of structural pest control applicator;, name of company5.2

and address of applicator or company, applicator's signature, and license number of5.3

applicator; and5.4

(8) any other information required by the commissioner.5.5

(b) All information for this record requirement must be contained in a single-page5.6

document for each pesticide application. An invoice containing the required information5.7

may constitute the record.5.8

(c) The record must be completed no later than five days after the application of5.9

the pesticide.5.10

(d) The applicator must post a complete record in a public area or conspicuous5.11

location to notify occupants of multiple-unit dwellings or users of other public buildings5.12

that a pesticide application was made on the property.5.13

(c) (e) Records must be retained for five years after the date of treatment.5.14

(d) (f) A copy of the record must be given to a person who ordered the application5.15

that is present at the site where the structural pest control application is conducted, placed5.16

in a conspicuous location at the site where the structural pest control application is5.17

conducted immediately after the application of the pesticides, or delivered to the person5.18

who ordered an application or the owner of the site. The commissioner must make sample5.19

forms available that meet the requirements of this subdivision.5.20

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18B.37, subdivision 4, is amended to read:5.21

Subd. 4. Incident response plan. A pesticide dealer, agricultural pesticide dealer,5.22

or a commercial, noncommercial, or structural pest control business company or a person5.23

who is required to be permitted to store or produce bulk agricultural chemicals must5.24

develop and maintain an incident response plan that describes the actions that will be5.25

taken to prevent and respond to pesticide agricultural chemical incidents. The plan must5.26

contain the same information as forms provided by the commissioner include information5.27

the commissioner deems necessary to respond to an agricultural chemical emergency5.28

incident. The commissioner shall make sample incident response plan forms available.5.29

The plan must be kept at a principal business site or location within this state and must be5.30

submitted to the commissioner upon request. The plan must be:5.31

(1) updated every three years, or whenever information on the form becomes out of5.32

date, whichever is earlier;5.33

(2) reviewed with employees at least once per calendar year and include5.34

documentation of training events; and5.35
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(3) made available to local first responders and documented accordingly.6.1

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18C.235, subdivision 1, is amended to read:6.2

Subdivision 1. Plan required. A person required to be licensed under section6.3

18C.415, or a person who stores fertilizers, soil amendment, or plant amendment products6.4

in bulk must develop and maintain a contingency plan that describes the storage, handling,6.5

disposal, and incident handling practices. an incident response plan that describes the6.6

actions that will be taken to prevent and respond to agricultural chemical incidents.6.7

The plan must include information the commissioner deems necessary to respond to an6.8

agricultural chemical emergency incident. The commissioner shall make sample incident6.9

response plan forms available. The plan must be kept at a principal business site or6.10

location within this state and must be submitted to the commissioner upon request. The6.11

plan must be:6.12

(1) updated every three years, or whenever information on the form becomes out of6.13

date, whichever is earlier;6.14

(2) reviewed with employees at least once per calendar year and include6.15

documentation of training events; and6.16

(3) made available to local first responders and documented accordingly.6.17

(b) A person also required to maintain an incident response plan under section6.18

18B.37 is not required to maintain a separate incident response plan under this subdivision.6.19

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18C.411, is amended by adding a subdivision6.20

to read:6.21

Subd. 5. Discontinuance of specialty fertilizer, soil amendment, and plant6.22

amendment registration. To ensure complete withdrawal from distribution or further6.23

use of a specialty fertilizer, soil amendment, or plant amendment a person who intends to6.24

discontinue a specialty fertilizer, soil amendment, and plant amendment registration must:6.25

(1) terminate any further distribution of the specialty fertilizer, soil amendment, or6.26

plant amendment within the state;6.27

(2) continue to register the specialty fertilizer, soil amendment, or plant amendment6.28

annually for two successive years;6.29

(3) initiate and complete a total recall of the specialty fertilizer, soil amendment,6.30

or plant amendment from all distribution in the state within 60 days from the date of6.31

notification to the commissioner of intent to discontinue registration; or6.32
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(4) submit to the commissioner evidence adequate to document that no distribution7.1

of the registered specialty fertilizer, soil amendment, or plant amendment has occurred in7.2

the state.7.3

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 21.81, is amended by adding a subdivision7.4

to read:7.5

Subd. 1a. Address. "Address" means the complete primary mailing address of the7.6

labeler or the person or firm selling seed. A complete address includes the street address,7.7

post office box, or rural route, and city, state, and zip code or postal code.7.8

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 21.81, is amended by adding a subdivision to7.9

read:7.10

Subd. 27a. Total viable. "Total viable" means the sum of the germination7.11

percentage, plus hard seeds, dormant seeds, or both.7.12

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 21.82, subdivision 2, is amended to read:7.13

Subd. 2. Content. For agricultural, vegetable, flower, or wildflower seeds offered7.14

for sale as agricultural seed, except as otherwise provided in subdivisions 4, 5, and 6, the7.15

label must contain:7.16

(a) The name of the kind or kind and variety for each seed component in excess7.17

of five percent of the whole and the percentage by weight of each in order of its7.18

predominance. The commissioner shall by rule designate the kinds that are required to be7.19

labeled as to variety. If the variety of those kinds generally labeled as to variety is not7.20

stated and it is not required to be stated, the label shall show the name of the kind and the7.21

words: "Variety not stated." The heading "pure seed" must be indicated on the seed label7.22

in close association with other required label information.7.23

(1) The percentage that is hybrid shall be at least 95 percent of the percentage of pure7.24

seed shown unless the percentage of pure seed which is hybrid seed is shown separately.7.25

If two or more kinds or varieties are present in excess of five percent and are named on7.26

the label, each that is hybrid shall be designated as hybrid on the label. Any one kind or7.27

kind and variety that has pure seed which is less than 95 percent but more than 75 percent7.28

hybrid seed as a result of incompletely controlled pollination in a cross shall be labeled to7.29

show the percentage of pure seed that is hybrid seed or a statement such as "contains from7.30

75 percent to 95 percent hybrid seed." No one kind or variety of seed shall be labeled as7.31

hybrid if the pure seed contains less than 75 percent hybrid seed. The word hybrid shall be7.32

shown on the label in conjunction with the kind.7.33
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(2) Blends shall be listed on the label using the term "blend" in conjunction with8.1

the kind.8.2

(3) Mixtures shall be listed on the label using the term "mixture," "mix," or "mixed."8.3

(b) Lot number or other lot identification.8.4

(c) Origin, if known, or that the origin is unknown.8.5

(d) Percentage by weight of all weed seeds present. This percentage may not exceed8.6

one percent. The heading "weed seed" must be indicated on the seed label in close8.7

association with other required label information.8.8

(e) Name and rate of occurrence per pound of each kind of restricted noxious weed8.9

seeds present. They must be listed under the heading "noxious weed seeds" in close8.10

association with other required label information.8.11

(f) Percentage by weight of seeds other than those kinds and varieties required8.12

to be named on the label. They must be listed under the heading "other crop" in close8.13

association with other required label information.8.14

(g) Percentage by weight of inert matter. The heading "inert matter" must be8.15

indicated on the seed label in close association with other required label information.8.16

(h) Net weight of contents, to appear on either the container or the label.8.17

(i) For each named kind or variety of seed:8.18

(1) percentage of germination, exclusive of hard or dormant seed or both;8.19

(2) percentage of hard or dormant seed or both, if present; and8.20

(3) the calendar month and year the percentages were determined by test or the8.21

statement "sell by (month and year)" which may not be more than 12 months from the8.22

date of test, exclusive of the month of test.8.23

The headings for "germination" and "hard seed or dormant seed" percentages must be8.24

stated separately on the seed label. A separate percentage derived from combining these8.25

percentages may also be stated on the seed label, but the heading for this percentage must8.26

be "total germination and hard seed or dormant seed when applicable." They must not be8.27

stated as "total live seed," "total germination," or in any other unauthorized manner. as8.28

"total viable."8.29

(j) Name and address of the person who labeled the seed or who sells the seed within8.30

this state, or a code number which has been registered with the commissioner.8.31

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 21.82, subdivision 4, is amended to read:8.32

Subd. 4. Hybrid seed corn. For hybrid seed corn purposes a label must contain:8.33

(1) a statement indicating the number of seeds in the container may be listed along8.34

with or in lieu of the net weight of contents; and8.35
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(2) for each variety of hybrid seed field corn, the day classification as determined9.1

by the originator or owner. The day classification must approximate the number of days9.2

of growing season necessary from emergence of the corn plant above ground to relative9.3

maturity and must conform to the day classification established by the director of be9.4

within three days of maturity ratings determined in comparative trials by the Minnesota9.5

agricultural experiment station for the appropriate zone.9.6

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 21.85, subdivision 2, is amended to read:9.7

Subd. 2. Seed laboratory. (a) The commissioner shall establish and maintain a seed9.8

laboratory for seed testing, employing necessary agents and assistants to administer and9.9

enforce sections 21.80 to 21.92, who shall be governed by chapter 43A.9.10

(b) The laboratory procedures for testing official seed samples are the procedures9.11

set forth in the Rules for Testing Seeds that is published annually by the Association of9.12

Official Seed Analysts. If a laboratory procedure rule does not exist for a particular type9.13

of seed, then laboratory procedures from other recognized seed testing sources may be9.14

used, including procedures under the Code of Federal Regulations, title 7, part 201, or9.15

the International Rules for Testing Seeds.9.16

Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 21.85, is amended by adding a subdivision9.17

to read:9.18

Subd. 15. Prohibited and restricted seeds. The commissioner shall determine9.19

species that are considered prohibited weed seeds and restricted noxious weed seeds and9.20

the allowable rate of occurrence of restricted noxious weed seeds.9.21

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 21.87, is amended to read:9.22

21.87 EXEMPTION.9.23

(a) Sections 21.82 and 21.83 do not apply to:9.24

(a) to (1) seed or grain not intended for sowing purposes;9.25

(b) to (2) seed in storage in or being transported or consigned to a conditioning9.26

establishment for conditioning, provided that the invoice or label accompanying any9.27

shipment of the seeds bears the statement "seeds for conditioning," and provided that any9.28

labeling or other representation which may be made with respect to the unconditioned9.29

seed is subject to the provisions of sections 21.82 and 21.83; or9.30

(c) to (3) any carrier with respect to seed transported or delivered for transportation9.31

in the ordinary course of its business as a carrier, provided that the carrier is not engaged9.32

in producing, conditioning, or marketing seeds subject to sections 21.82 and 21.83; or9.33
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(4) interpersonal sharing of seed for home, educational, charitable, or personal10.1

non-commercial use.10.2

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), sections 21.82 and 21.83 do apply if a person10.3

distributes seed found to:10.4

(1) contain seed of patented, protected, or proprietary varieties used without10.5

permission of the patent or certificate holder of the intellectual property associated with10.6

the variety;10.7

(2) have been misrepresented as certified seed; or10.8

(3) contain prohibited or restricted weed seeds or seeds from species listed as10.9

noxious by the commissioner under chapter 18.10.10

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 34A.11, is amended to read:10.11

34A.11 EMBARGO, SEIZURE, AND CONDEMNATION.10.12

Subdivision 1. Tag, notice, or withdrawal from distribution. If the commissioner10.13

finds probable cause to believe that any food, animal, or consumer commodity is being10.14

distributed in violation of this chapter or rules under this chapter, or is adulterated or so10.15

misbranded as to be dangerous or fraudulent, the commissioner shall affix to the food,10.16

animal, equipment, facility, or consumer commodity a tag, withdrawal from distribution10.17

order, or other appropriate marking giving notice that the food, animal, equipment,10.18

facility, or consumer commodity is, or is suspected of being, adulterated, misbranded, or10.19

distributed in violation of this chapter, and has been detained or embargoed, and warning10.20

all persons not to remove or dispose of the food, animal, equipment, facility, or consumer10.21

commodity by sale or otherwise until permission for removal or disposal is given by the10.22

commissioner or the court. It is unlawful for a person to remove or dispose of a detained or10.23

embargoed food, animal, equipment, food stored in a facility, or consumer commodity by10.24

sale or otherwise without the commissioner's or a court's permission and each transaction10.25

is a separate violation of this subdivision.10.26

Subd. 2. Seizure. A carcass; part of a carcass; meat or meat food product of an10.27

animal; or dead, dying, disabled, or diseased animal that is being transported in intrastate10.28

commerce, or is held for sale in this state after transportation in intrastate commerce, may10.29

be proceeded against, seized, and condemned if:10.30

(1) it is or has been prepared, sold, transported, or otherwise distributed, offered, or10.31

received for distribution in violation of this chapter;10.32

(2) it is usable as human food and is adulterated or misbranded; or10.33

(3) it is in any other way in violation of this chapter.10.34
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The commissioner may act against the article or animal at any time on a complaint11.1

in the district court of the judicial district where the article or animal is found.11.2

Subd. 3. Action for condemnation. If food or an, article, equipment, or animal11.3

detained or embargoed under subdivision 1 has been found by the commissioner to be11.4

adulterated or misbranded or in violation of this chapter, the commissioner shall petition11.5

the district court in the county in which the food, article, equipment, or animal is detained11.6

or embargoed for an order and decree for the condemnation of the food, article, equipment,11.7

or animal. The commissioner shall release the food, article, equipment, or animal when11.8

this chapter and rules adopted under this chapter have been complied with or the food,11.9

article, equipment, or animal is found to be not adulterated or misbranded.11.10

Subd. 4. Remedies. If the court finds that a detained or embargoed food, article,11.11

equipment, or animal is adulterated, misbranded, or in violation of this chapter or rules11.12

adopted under this chapter, the following remedies are available:11.13

(1) after entering a decree, the food, article, equipment, or animal may be destroyed11.14

at the expense of the claimant under the supervision of the commissioner, and all court11.15

costs, fees, storage, and other proper expenses must be assessed against the claimant of the11.16

food, article, equipment, or animal or the claimant's agent; and11.17

(2) if adulteration or misbranding can be corrected by proper labeling or processing of11.18

the food or, animal, or repair of the equipment, the court, after entry of the decree and after11.19

costs, fees, and expenses have been paid and a good and sufficient bond, conditioned that11.20

the food or animal must be properly labeled or processed or equipment properly repaired,11.21

has been executed, may by order direct that the food or animal be delivered to the claimant11.22

for proper labeling or processing or repairing of equipment under the supervision of the11.23

commissioner. The expense of the supervision must be paid by the claimant. The food or,11.24

animal, or equipment must be returned to the claimant and the bond must be discharged on11.25

the representation to the court by the commissioner that the food or, animal, or equipment11.26

is no longer in violation and that the expenses for the supervision have been paid.11.27

Subd. 5. Duties of commissioner. If the commissioner finds in any room, building,11.28

piece of equipment, vehicle of transportation, or other structure any meat, seafood,11.29

poultry, vegetable, fruit, or other perishable articles of food that are unsound, or contain11.30

any filthy, decomposed, or putrid substance, or that may be poisonous or deleterious to11.31

health or otherwise unsafe, the commissioner shall condemn or destroy the item or in any11.32

other manner render the item as unsalable as human food, and no one has any cause of11.33

action against the commissioner on account of the commissioner's action.11.34

Subd. 6. Emergency response. If the governor declares an emergency order under11.35

section 12.31 and if the commissioner finds or has probable cause to believe that livestock,11.36
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food, or a consumer commodity within a specific area is likely to be adulterated because12.1

of the emergency or so misbranded as to be dangerous or fraudulent, or is in violation of12.2

section 31.131, subdivision 1, the commissioner may embargo a geographic area that is12.3

included in the declared emergency. The commissioner shall provide notice to the public12.4

and to those with custody of the product in as thorough a manner as is practicable under12.5

the emergency circumstances.12.6

Subd. 7. Emergency powers. After an emergency declaration issued under chapter12.7

12, chapter 35, or the federal Stafford Act, the commissioner may restrict the movement12.8

of food if the commissioner has probable cause to believe that the movement of food may:12.9

threaten the agricultural economy; transport a dangerous, infectious, or communicable12.10

disease; or threaten the health of animals. The commissioner may provide for the issuance12.11

of permits to allow for the continued movement of food upon meeting the disease control12.12

measures established by the commissioner.12.13

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 232.22, subdivision 5, is amended to read:12.14

Subd. 5. Statement of grain in storage; reports. (a) All public grain warehouse12.15

operators must by February 15 of each year file with the commissioner on a form approved12.16

by the commissioner a report showing the annual average liability of all grain outstanding12.17

on grain warehouse receipts, open storage, and grain stored for feed processing that12.18

occurred during the preceding calendar year. This report shall be used for the purpose12.19

of establishing the penal sum of the bond.12.20

(b) Warehouse operators that are at a maximum bond and want to continue at12.21

maximum bond do not need to file this report.12.22

(c) It is a violation of this chapter for any public grain warehouse operator to fail to12.23

file the report required in paragraph (a).12.24

(d) Every public grain warehouse operator shall keep in a place of safety complete12.25

and accurate records and accounts relating to any grain warehouse operated. The records12.26

shall reflect each commodity received and shipped daily, the balance remaining in the12.27

grain warehouse at the close of each business day, a listing of all unissued grain warehouse12.28

receipts in the operator's possession, a record of all grain warehouse receipts issued which12.29

remain outstanding and a record of all grain warehouse receipts which have been returned12.30

for cancellation. Copies of grain warehouse receipts or other documents evidencing12.31

ownership of grain by a depositor, or other liability of the grain warehouse operator, shall12.32

be retained as long as the liability exists but must be kept for a minimum of three years.12.33

Sec. 18. 12
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(e) Every public grain warehouse operator must maintain in the grain warehouse13.1

at all times grain of proper grade and sufficient quantity to meet delivery obligations on13.2

all outstanding grain warehouse receipts.13.3

Sec. 19. [604A.40] AGRITOURISM; IMMUNITY FROM LIABILITY.13.4

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the terms in13.5

paragraphs (b) to (g) have the meanings given them.13.6

(b) "Agricultural products" means livestock, aquaculture, poultry, horticultural,13.7

floricultural, viticultural, silvicultural, or other products of a farm or ranch.13.8

(c) "Agritourism activity" means activity carried out on a farm or ranch that allows13.9

organizations or members of the general public, for recreational, entertainment, charitable,13.10

or educational purposes, to view, enjoy, or participate in rural activities, including, but13.11

not limited to: farming; viticulture; winemaking; ranching; and historical, cultural, farm13.12

stay, gleaning, harvest-your-own, or natural activities and attractions. An activity is an13.13

agritourism activity whether or not the participant pays to participate in the activity.13.14

(d) "Agritourism professional" means a person who is engaged in providing one or13.15

more agritourism activities, whether or not for compensation.13.16

(e) "Farm or ranch" means one or more areas of land used for the production,13.17

cultivation, growing, harvesting, or processing of agricultural products.13.18

(f) "Inherent risks of agritourism activity" mean dangers or conditions that are an13.19

integral part of an agritourism activity including but not limited to:13.20

(1) natural hazards and conditions of land, vegetation, and waters including surface13.21

and subsurface conditions;13.22

(2) the behavior of wild or domestic animals; and13.23

(3) ordinary dangers of structures or equipment ordinarily used in farming or13.24

ranching operations.13.25

(g) "Participant" means a person, other than an agritourism professional, who13.26

engages in an agritourism activity and who has the capacity to understand the inherent13.27

risks of agricultural tourism.13.28

Subd. 2. Liability limited. (a) Except as provided in paragraphs (b) and (c), an13.29

agritourism professional is not liable for injury, damage, or death of a participant resulting13.30

from the inherent risks of agritourism activities.13.31

(b) Nothing in paragraph (a) prevents or limits the liability of an agritourism13.32

professional if the agritourism professional:13.33
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(1) commits an act or omission that constitutes negligence or willful or wanton14.1

disregard for the safety of the participant, and that act or omission proximately causes14.2

injury, damage, or death of the participant;14.3

(2) has actual knowledge or reasonably should have known of a dangerous condition14.4

on the land or in the facilities or equipment used in the activity, or the dangerous14.5

propensity of a particular animal used in such activity;14.6

(3) intentionally injures the participant; or14.7

(4) fails to comply with the notice requirement of subdivision 3.14.8

(c) Nothing in paragraph (a) affects a claim under chapter 340A, or a claim arising14.9

out of the sale or use of alcohol at an agritourism facility.14.10

Subd. 3. Posting notice. An agritourism professional shall post plainly visible signs14.11

at one or more prominent locations in the premises where the agritourism activity takes14.12

place that include a warning of the inherent risks of agritourism activity.14.13

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2015, and applies to14.14

actions arising from incidents occurring on or after that date.14.15

Sec. 20. REPEALER.14.16

Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 18C.235, subdivision 2, and Minnesota Rules, part14.17

1510.0111, are repealed."14.18

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references14.19

Amend the title accordingly14.20
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