1.1	moves to amend H.F. No. 4361 as follows:
1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 517.08, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
1.4	Subd. 1a. Form. Application for a civil marriage license shall be made by both of the
1.5	parties upon a form provided for the purpose and shall contain the following information:
1.6	(1) the full names of the parties and the sex of each party;
1.7	(2) their post office addresses and county and state of residence;
1.8	(3) their full ages and dates of birth;
1.9	(4) if either party has previously been married, the party's married name, and for each
1.10	previous marriage, the date, place and court in which the civil marriage was dissolved or
1.11	annulled or the date and place of death of the former spouse;
1.12	(5) whether the parties are related to each other, and, if so, their relationship;
1.13	(6) the address of the parties after the civil marriage is entered into to which the local
1.14	registrar shall send a certified copy of the civil marriage certificate;
1.15	(7) the full names the parties will have after the civil marriage is entered into and the
1.16	parties' Social Security numbers. The Social Security numbers must be collected for the
1.17	application but must not appear on the civil marriage license. If a party listed on a civil
1.18	marriage application does not have a Social Security number, the party must certify on the
1.19	application, or a supplement to the application, that the party does not have a Social Security
1.20	number;
1.21	(8) if one or both of the parties to the civil marriage license has a felony conviction under

1.22 Minnesota law or the law of another state or federal jurisdiction, the parties shall provide

03/25/22

A22-0386

- to the county proof of service upon the prosecuting authority and, if applicable, the attorney
 general, as required by section 259.13; and
- (9) notice that a party who has a felony conviction under Minnesota law or the law of
 another state or federal jurisdiction may not use a different name after a civil marriage
 except as authorized by section 259.13, and that doing so is a gross misdemeanor.
- 2.6 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 517.10, is amended to read:

2.7 **517.10 CERTIFICATE; WITNESSES.**

The person solemnizing a civil marriage shall prepare and sign a certificate provided by 28 the local registrar. The certificate shall contain the full names of the parties before and after 2.9 the civil marriage, the birth dates of the parties, and county and state of residences of the 2.10 parties and the date and place of the civil marriage. The certificate shall also contain the 2.11 signatures of at least two of the witnesses present at the civil marriage who shall be at least 2.12 16 years of age. The person solemnizing the civil marriage shall immediately make a record 2.13 of such civil marriage, and file such certificate with the local registrar of the county in which 2.14 the license was issued within five days after the ceremony. The local registrar shall record 2.15 such certificate in the county civil marriage records. 2.16

2.17 Sec. 3. [517.102] FEES FOR MARRIAGE RECORDS.

2.18 (a) The fee for each certified marriage record or a letter of no record is \$20 per copy.

2.19 The fee for an uncertified marriage record is \$20. These fees must be retained by the local

2.20 registrar issuing the records. The fee is payable at the time of application and is

2.21 <u>nonrefundable</u>.

2.22 (b) The fee for administrative review and processing of a request for the amendment of
2.23 a marriage record is \$40. The fee is payable at the time of application and is nonrefundable.

2.24 Sec. 4. [517.103] CORRECTION OF MARRIAGE RECORDS.

- 2.25 (a) To correct an error in a marriage record, both parties to the marriage must submit to
 2.26 the local registrar:
- 2.27 (1) an affidavit stating the reason for a marriage record correction; and
- 2.28 (2) documentation supporting the correction.
- 2.29 (b) When one party to the marriage is unavailable and the available party to the marriage
- 2.30 requests to correct an error in a marriage record, the available party must submit to the local

2.31 registrar:

Sec. 4.

BD/KA

- 3.1 (1) an affidavit stating the reason that the other party to the marriage is unavailable and
- 3.2 <u>the reason for the marriage record correction; and</u>
- 3.3 (2) documentation supporting the correction.
- 3.4 (c) Upon receiving a request to correct an error in a marriage record, the local registrar
- 3.5 may amend the marriage record as long as the registrar determines that the correction request
- 3.6 <u>and supporting documents establish that the marriage record contains an error.</u>"
- 3.7 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references
- 3.8 Amend the title accordingly