STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

PROPERTY TAX DIVISION

MINUTES

Representative Youakim, Chair of the Property Tax Division, called the remote meeting to order at 3:00 P.M. on January 27, 2021, pursuant to House Rule 10.01. The meeting is being broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

YOUAKIM, Cheryl (Chair) GOMEZ, Aisha (Vice-Chair) HERTAUS, Jerry (GOP-Lead) ANDERSON, Paul BECKER-FINN, Jamie FISCHER, Peter GREEN, Steve HASSAN, Hodan MARQUART, Paul MORTENSEN, Erik PELOWSKI, Gene TORKELSON, Paul

A quorum was present.

Vice-Chair Gomez moved the approval of the January 20, 2021 minutes. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Continued overview from House Research staff of state and local property tax system

Alex Haigler, House Research

Introduction of local government and other groups to the Property Tax Division

Gary Carlson, League of Minnesota Cities Matt Hilgart, Association of Minnesota Counties Steve Fenske, Minnesota Association of Townships Bradley Peterson, Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities Patricia Nauman, Metro Cities Matt Massman, Minnesota Inter-County Association Jill Larson, Minnesota Business Partnership Nan Madden, Minnesota Budget Project

The committee adjourned at 4:11 P.M

Representative Cheryl Youakim, Chair

Eric Petersen, Committee Legislative Assistant