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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. ..... as follows:1.1

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:1.2

"ARTICLE 11.3

APPROPRIATIONS1.4

Section 1. APPROPRIATIONS1.5

The sums shown in the columns under "Appropriations" are added to or, if shown1.6

in parentheses, subtracted from the appropriations in Laws 2015, First Special Session,1.7

chapter 1, or other law to the specified agencies. The appropriations are from the general1.8

fund, or another named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each1.9

purpose. The figures "2016" and "2017" used in this article mean that the appropriations1.10

listed under them are available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2016, or June 30, 2017,1.11

respectively. Appropriations for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2016, are effective the day1.12

following final enactment. Reductions may be taken in either fiscal year.1.13

APPROPRIATIONS1.14
Available for the Year1.15

Ending June 301.16
2016 20171.17

Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF EMPLOYMENT1.18
AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT1.19

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ ....... $ 7,653,0001.20

Subd. 2. Business and Community1.21
Development1.22 (11,947,000)

(a) $12,000,000 in fiscal year 2017 is a1.23

onetime reduction in the general fund1.24

appropriation for the Minnesota investment1.25

fund under Minnesota Statutes, section1.26
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116J.8731. The base funding for this purpose2.1

is $5,000,000 in fiscal year 2018 and each2.2

fiscal year thereafter.2.3

(b) $8,500,000 in fiscal year 2017 is a2.4

onetime reduction in the general fund2.5

appropriation for the Minnesota job creation2.6

fund under Minnesota Statutes, section2.7

116J.8748. The base funding for this2.8

program is $7,500,000 in fiscal year 20182.9

and each fiscal year thereafter.2.10

(c) $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the2.11

general fund for the redevelopment program2.12

under Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.571.2.13

This is a onetime appropriation.2.14

(d) $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the2.15

workforce development fund for a grant to2.16

the Neighborhood Development Center for2.17

developing and supporting entrepreneurial2.18

skills and job creation in communities served2.19

by the Neighborhood Development Center.2.20

Funds may be used for activities including but2.21

not limited to business plan training, business2.22

workshops, technical assistance to small2.23

business owners, development and support2.24

of business incubators, entrepreneurial2.25

network development, and the expansion2.26

of entrepreneurial capacity in communities.2.27

This is a onetime appropriation.2.28

(e) $100,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from2.29

the general fund for an easy-to-understand2.30

manual to instruct aspiring business owners2.31

in how to start a child care business. The2.32

commissioner shall work in consultation2.33

with relevant state and local agencies2.34

and affected stakeholders to produce the2.35
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manual. The manual must be made available3.1

electronically to interested persons. This is a3.2

onetime appropriation and is available until3.3

June 30, 2019.3.4

(f) $500,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the3.5

workforce development fund for a grant to3.6

Enterprise Minnesota, Inc. Of this amount,3.7

$250,000 is for the small business growth3.8

acceleration program under Minnesota3.9

Statutes, section 116O.115, and $250,0003.10

is for operations under Minnesota Statutes,3.11

sections 116O.01 to 116O.061. This is a3.12

onetime appropriation.3.13

(g) $12,000 in fiscal year 2017 is a reduction3.14

in the general fund appropriation for the3.15

Upper Minnesota Film Office.3.16

(h) $1,825,000 in fiscal year 2017 is a3.17

reduction in the general fund appropriation3.18

for the general fund for the Minnesota Film3.19

and TV Board.3.20

(i) $5,000,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from3.21

the general fund for the workforce housing3.22

grant program in Minnesota Statutes, section3.23

116J.549. This is a onetime appropriation.3.24

(j) $2,290,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the3.25

general fund for a grant to Mille Lacs County3.26

to develop and operate the Lake Mille Lacs3.27

area economic relief program established3.28

in article 2, section 19. This is a onetime3.29

appropriation.3.30

(k) $500,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the3.31

general fund for grants to local communities3.32

outside of the metropolitan area as defined3.33

under Minnesota Statutes, section 473.121,3.34
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subdivision 4, to increase the supply of4.1

quality child care providers in order to4.2

support regional economic development.4.3

Grant recipients must match state funds on a4.4

dollar for dollar basis. Grant funds available4.5

under this section must be used to implement4.6

solutions to reduce the child care shortage4.7

in the state, including but not limited to4.8

funding for child care business start-up or4.9

expansion, training, facility modifications4.10

or improvements required for licensing,4.11

and assistance with licensing and other4.12

regulatory requirements. In awarding grants,4.13

the commissioner must give priority to4.14

communities in greater Minnesota that have4.15

documented a shortage of child care providers4.16

in the area. This is a onetime appropriation4.17

and is available until June 30, 2019.4.18

By September 30, 2017, grant recipients must4.19

report to the commissioner on the outcomes4.20

of the grant program, including but not4.21

limited to the number of new providers, the4.22

number of additional child care provider jobs4.23

created, the number of additional child care4.24

slots, and the amount of local funds invested.4.25

By January 1, 2018, the commissioner4.26

must report on the outcomes to date of the4.27

program to the standing committees of the4.28

legislature having jurisdiction over child care4.29

and economic development.4.30

Subd. 3. Workforce Development 3,900,0004.31

(a) $600,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the4.32

workforce development fund for a grant to4.33

Ujamaa Place for job training, employment4.34

preparation, internships, education, training4.35
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in the construction trades, housing, and5.1

organizational capacity building. This is a5.2

onetime appropriation.5.3

(b) $800,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the5.4

workforce development fund for a grant5.5

to Latino Communities United in Service5.6

(CLUES) to expand culturally tailored5.7

programs that address employment and5.8

education skill gaps for working parents5.9

and underserved youth. Funds must be5.10

used to provide new job skills training to5.11

stimulate: higher wages for low-income5.12

people, family support systems designed5.13

to reduce generational poverty, and youth5.14

programming to promote educational5.15

advancement and career pathways. At5.16

least 50 percent of the total grant funds5.17

must be used for programming in greater5.18

Minnesota. CLUES shall submit a report to5.19

the chairs and ranking minority members of5.20

the legislative committees and divisions of5.21

the senate and house of representatives with5.22

primary jurisdiction over jobs with findings5.23

of program outcomes by March 1, 2018. The5.24

report must include the type, duration, and5.25

attendance of each program and quantifiable5.26

measures of success. This is a onetime5.27

appropriation and is available until June 30,5.28

2019.5.29

(c) $600,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the5.30

workforce development fund for performance5.31

grants under Minnesota Statutes, section5.32

116J.8747, to Twin Cities RISE! to provide5.33

training to hard-to-train individuals. This is5.34

onetime appropriation.5.35
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(d) $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the6.1

general fund for a grant to the Construction6.2

Careers Foundation for the construction6.3

career pathway initiative to provide6.4

year-round educational and experiential6.5

learning opportunities for teens and young6.6

adults under the age of 21 that lead to careers6.7

in the construction industry. This is a onetime6.8

appropriation and is available until June 30,6.9

2019. Grant funds must be used to:6.10

(1) increase construction industry exposure6.11

activities for middle school and high school6.12

youth, parents, and counselors to reach amore6.13

diverse demographic and broader statewide6.14

audience. This requirement includes, but6.15

is not limited to, an expansion of programs6.16

to provide experience in different crafts to6.17

youth and young adults throughout the state;6.18

(2) increase the number of high schools6.19

in Minnesota offering construction classes6.20

during the academic year that utilize a6.21

multicraft curriculum;6.22

(3) increase the number of summer internship6.23

opportunities;6.24

(4) enhance activities to support graduating6.25

seniors in their efforts to obtain employment6.26

in the construction industry;6.27

(5) increase the number of young adults6.28

employed in the construction industry and6.29

ensure that they reflect Minnesota's diverse6.30

workforce; and6.31

(6) enhance an industrywide marketing6.32

campaign targeted to youth and young adults6.33
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about the depth and breadth of careers within7.1

the construction industry.7.2

Programs and services supported by grant7.3

funds must give priority to individuals and7.4

groups that are economically disadvantaged7.5

or historically underrepresented in the7.6

construction industry, including but not7.7

limited to women, veterans, and members of7.8

minority and immigrant groups.7.9

(e) $400,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the7.10

general fund for the Youth at Work youth7.11

workforce development competitive grant7.12

program. Of this amount, up to five percent7.13

is for administration and monitoring of the7.14

program. This is a onetime appropriation and7.15

is available until June 30, 2018.7.16

(f) $500,000 in fiscal year 2017 is7.17

appropriated from the workforce7.18

development fund for a grant to the YWCA7.19

of Minneapolis to provide economically7.20

challenged individuals the jobs skills7.21

training, career counseling, and job7.22

placement assistance necessary to secure7.23

a child development associate credential7.24

and to have a career path in early childhood7.25

education. This is a onetime appropriation.7.26

Subd. 4. Vocational Rehabilitation 500,0007.27

$500,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from7.28

the general fund for grants to centers7.29

for independent living under Minnesota7.30

Statutes, section 268A.11. This is a onetime7.31

appropriation.7.32

Subd. 5. State Services for the Blind 200,0007.33
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$200,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the8.1

general fund for State Services for the8.2

Blind. Funds appropriated must be used to8.3

provide services for senior citizens who are8.4

becoming blind. At least half of the funds8.5

appropriated must be used to provide training8.6

services for seniors who are becoming blind.8.7

Training services must provide independent8.8

living skills to seniors who are becoming8.9

blind to allow them to continue to live8.10

independently in their homes. This is a8.11

onetime appropriation.8.12

Subd. 6. Broadband Development 15,000,0008.13

(a) $15,000,000 in fiscal year 2017 is8.14

from the general fund for deposit in the8.15

border-to-border broadband fund account8.16

under Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.3968.17

for the purposes of that section. The base8.18

funding for this program is $25,000,0008.19

in fiscal year 2018. These are onetime8.20

appropriations.8.21

(b) Notwithstanding any other law to the8.22

contrary, except as provided in paragraphs8.23

(c) and (d), of the amounts appropriated in8.24

paragraph (a), 33 percent shall be for grants8.25

to expand access to broadband service that8.26

the commissioner determines will result8.27

in the creation and retention of jobs in8.28

greater Minnesota. Grants funded under this8.29

paragraph:8.30

(i) may not fund more than 22 percent of the8.31

total cost of a project;8.32

(ii) may utilize federal Connect America8.33

Fund funds for the non-state portion of8.34

project costs; and8.35
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(iii) must expend a majority of the grant in9.1

a city whose population is 2,000 or greater.9.2

The commissioner shall give priority to9.3

applications with a higher ratio of jobs9.4

created and retained per dollar of grants9.5

awarded under this paragraph.9.6

(c) Of the amounts appropriated in paragraph9.7

(a), $1,000,000 shall be for grants to9.8

expand broadband service in unserved areas9.9

via fixed or mobile wireless technology.9.10

For grants funded under this paragraph,9.11

the commissioner shall give priority to9.12

applications whose cost per customer of9.13

providing service is lowest.9.14

(d) $500,000 must be awarded to projects9.15

that propose to expand the availability and9.16

adoption of broadband service to areas9.17

that contain a significant proportion of9.18

low-income households. For the purposes of9.19

this subdivision, "low-income households"9.20

means households whose household income9.21

is less than or equal to 200 percent of the9.22

most recent calculation of the United States9.23

federal poverty guidelines published by the9.24

federal Department of Health and Human9.25

Services, adjusted for family size.9.26

(e) Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.395,9.27

subdivision 5a, does not apply to applications9.28

for grants under paragraphs (b), (c), or (d)9.29

and does not apply to applications for grants9.30

under paragraph (a) in underserved areas.9.31

Sec. 3. HOUSING FINANCE AGENCY9.32

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ ....... $ (4,750,000)9.33

Subd. 2. Challenge Program (5,000,000)9.34
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(a) This is a onetime general fund10.1

appropriation reduction in fiscal year 2017.10.2

(b) The base funding for this program in fiscal10.3

year 2018 and thereafter is $12,925,000.10.4

Subd. 3. Family Homeless Prevention 250,00010.5

$250,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the10.6

general fund for grants to eligible applicants10.7

to create or expand risk mitigation programs10.8

to reduce landlord financial risks for renting10.9

to persons eligible under Minnesota Statutes,10.10

section 462A.204. Eligible programs may10.11

reimburse landlords for costs including but10.12

not limited to nonpayment of rent, or damage10.13

costs above those costs covered by security10.14

deposits. The agency may give higher10.15

priority to applicants that can demonstrate10.16

a matching amount of money by a local10.17

unit of government, business, or nonprofit10.18

organization. Grantees must establish a10.19

procedure to review and validate claims and10.20

reimbursements under this grant program.10.21

This is a onetime appropriation.10.22

Sec. 4. EXPLORE MINNESOTA TOURISM $ ....... $ 800,00010.23

(a) $300,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from10.24

the general fund for a grant to the Mille10.25

Lacs Tourism Council to enhance marketing10.26

activities related to tourism promotion in10.27

the Mille Lacs Lake area. This is a onetime10.28

appropriation.10.29

(b) $500,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the10.30

general fund for a pilot project to assist in10.31

funding and securing major events benefiting10.32

communities throughout the state. The pilot10.33

project must measure the economic impact10.34
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of visitors on state and local economies,11.1

increased lodging and nonlodging sales taxes11.2

in addition to visitor spending, and increased11.3

media awareness of the state as an event11.4

destination. This is a onetime appropriation.11.5

Sec. 5. DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND11.6
INDUSTRY11.7

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ ....... $ 250,00011.8

Subd. 2. Labor Standards and Apprenticeship $ 250,00011.9

$250,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the11.10

general fund for the apprenticeship program11.11

under Minnesota Statutes, chapter 178.11.12

Sec. 6. BUREAU OF MEDIATION11.13
SERVICES11.14 $ ....... $ (125,000)

This is a reduction in the general fund11.15

appropriation in fiscal year 2017 for the11.16

Public Employment Relations Board.11.17

Sec. 7. DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE11.18

Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation $ ....... $ (151,000)11.19

Subd. 2. Telecommunications (376,000)11.20

The base amount for this purpose is $558,00011.21

in fiscal year 2018 and $482,000 in fiscal11.22

year 2019.11.23

Subd. 3. Energy Resources ....... 100,00011.24

$100,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the11.25

general fund for energy regulation and11.26

planning unit staff. This appropriation is11.27

not subject to assessment under Minnesota11.28

Statutes, section 216B.62.11.29

Subd. 4. Insurance 125,00011.30
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$125,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the12.1

general fund for insurance fraud enforcement12.2

under Minnesota Statutes, section 45.0135,12.3

subdivision 9.12.4

Sec. 8. PUBLIC UTILITIES AUTHORITY $ ....... $ (263,000)12.5

(a) Of the amount appropriated, $112,00012.6

in fiscal year 2017 is from the general fund12.7

for costs related to implementation of solar12.8

energy standards and community solar garden12.9

requirements under Laws of Minnesota 2013,12.10

chapter 85, and Laws of Minnesota 2015,12.11

First Special Session chapter 1, article 3. This12.12

appropriation is not subject to assessment12.13

under Minnesota Statutes, section 216B.62.12.14

(b) Of the amount in fiscal year 2017,12.15

$375,000 is a onetime reduction in the general12.16

fund appropriation for telecommunications12.17

regulation.12.18

(c) The base funding for the Public Utilities12.19

Commission is $6,704,000 in fiscal year12.20

2018 and $6,629,000 in fiscal year 2019.12.21

Sec. 9. PUBLIC FACILITIES AUTHORITY $ ....... $ 11,500,00012.22

$11,500,000 in fiscal year 2017 is from the12.23

general fund for a grant to the Lewis and12.24

Clark Joint Powers Board to acquire land,12.25

design, engineer, and construct facilities12.26

and infrastructure necessary to complete12.27

Phase 3 of the Lewis and Clark Regional12.28

Water System project, including extension12.29

of the project from the Lincoln-Pipestone12.30

Rural Water System connection near12.31

Adrian to Worthington, construction of a12.32

reservoir in Nobles County and a meter12.33
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building in Worthington, and to acquire13.1

and install a supervisory control and data13.2

acquisition (SCADA) system. This is a13.3

onetime appropriation and is not available13.4

until the commissioner of management and13.5

budget determines that at least $9,000,00013.6

is committed to the Phase 3 of the project13.7

from nonstate sources. This appropriation13.8

is available until the project is completed or13.9

abandoned, subject to Minnesota Statutes,13.10

section 16A.642.13.11

Sec. 10. Laws 2015, First Special Session chapter 1, article 1, section 2, subdivision 3,13.12

is amended to read:13.13

Subd. 3. Workforce Development13.14

Appropriations by Fund13.15

General 2,189,000 1,789,00013.16

Workforce13.17
Development13.18 17,567,000 16,767,000

(a) $1,039,000 each year from the general13.19

fund and $3,104,000 each year from the13.20

workforce development fund are for the adult13.21

workforce development competitive grant13.22

program. Of this amount, up to five percent13.23

is for administration and monitoring of the13.24

adult workforce development competitive13.25

grant program. All grant awards shall be13.26

for two consecutive years. Grants shall be13.27

awarded in the first year.13.28

(b) $4,050,000 each year is from the13.29

workforce development fund for the13.30

Minnesota youth program under Minnesota13.31

Statutes, sections 116L.56 and 116L.561, to13.32

provide employment and career advising to13.33

youth, including career guidance in secondary13.34

schools, to address the youth career advising13.35
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deficiency, to carry out activities outlined14.1

in Minnesota Statutes, section 116L.561,14.2

to provide support services, and to provide14.3

work experience to youth in the workforce14.4

service areas. The funds in this paragraph14.5

may be used for expansion of the pilot14.6

program combining career and higher14.7

education advising in Laws 2013, chapter 85,14.8

article 3, section 27. Activities in workforce14.9

services areas under this paragraph may14.10

serve all youth up to age 24.14.11

(c) $1,000,000 each year is from the14.12

workforce development fund for the14.13

youthbuild program under Minnesota14.14

Statutes, sections 116L.361 to 116L.366.14.15

(d) $450,000 each year is from the workforce14.16

development fund for a grant to Minnesota14.17

Diversified Industries, Inc., to provide14.18

progressive development and employment14.19

opportunities for people with disabilities.14.20

(e) $3,348,000 each year is from the14.21

workforce development fund for the "Youth14.22

at Work" youth workforce development14.23

competitive grant program. Of this amount,14.24

up to five percent is for administration14.25

and monitoring of the youth workforce14.26

development competitive grant program. All14.27

grant awards shall be for two consecutive14.28

years. Grants shall be awarded in the first14.29

year.14.30

(f) $500,000 each year is from the workforce14.31

development fund for the Opportunities14.32

Industrialization Center programs.14.33

(g) $750,000 each year is from the workforce14.34

development fund for a grant to the14.35
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Minnesota Alliance of Boys and Girls15.1

Clubs to administer a statewide project15.2

of youth jobs skills development. This15.3

project, which may have career guidance15.4

components, including health and life skills,15.5

is to encourage, train, and assist youth in15.6

job-seeking skills, workplace orientation,15.7

and job-site knowledge through coaching.15.8

This grant requires a 25 percent match from15.9

nonstate resources.15.10

(h) $250,000 the first year and $250,000 the15.11

second year are for pilot programs in the15.12

workforce service areas to combine career15.13

and higher education advising.15.14

(i) $215,000 each year is from the workforce15.15

development fund for a grant to Big15.16

Brothers, Big Sisters of the Greater Twin15.17

Cities for workforce readiness, employment15.18

exploration, and skills development for15.19

youth ages 12 to 21. The grant must serve15.20

youth in the Twin Cities, Central Minnesota15.21

and Southern Minnesota Big Brothers, Big15.22

Sisters chapters.15.23

(j) $900,000 in fiscal year 2016 and15.24

$1,100,000 in fiscal year 2017 are from the15.25

workforce development fund for a grant to the15.26

Minnesota High Tech Association to support15.27

SciTechsperience, a program that supports15.28

science, technology, engineering, and math15.29

(STEM) internship opportunities for two-15.30

and four-year college students in their field15.31

of study. The internship opportunities15.32

must match students with paid internships15.33

within STEM disciplines at small, for-profit15.34

companies located in the seven-county15.35
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metropolitan area, having fewer than 15016.1

total employees; or at small or medium,16.2

for-profit companies located outside of the16.3

seven-county metropolitan area, having16.4

fewer than 250 total employees. At least 20016.5

students must be matched in the first year16.6

and at least 250 students must be matched in16.7

the second year. Selected hiring companies16.8

shall receive from the grant 50 percent of the16.9

wages paid to the intern, capped at $2,50016.10

per intern. The program must work toward16.11

increasing the participation among women or16.12

other underserved populations.16.13

(k) $50,000 each year is from the workforce16.14

development fund for a grant to the St. Cloud16.15

Area Somali Salvation Youth Organization16.16

for youth development and crime prevention16.17

activities. Grant funds may be used to16.18

train and place mentors in elementary and16.19

secondary schools; for athletic, social,16.20

and other activities to foster leadership16.21

development; to provide a safe place for16.22

participating youth to gather after school, on16.23

weekends, and on holidays; and activities to16.24

improve the organizational and job readiness16.25

skills of participating youth. This is a16.26

onetime appropriation and is available until16.27

June 30, 2019. Funds appropriated the first16.28

year are available for use in the second year16.29

of the biennium.16.30

(l) $500,000 each year is for rural career16.31

counseling coordinator positions in the16.32

workforce service areas and for the purposes16.33

specified in Minnesota Statutes, section16.34

116L.667. The commissioner, in consultation16.35

with local workforce investment boards and16.36
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local elected officials in each of the service17.1

areas receiving funds, shall develop a method17.2

of distributing funds to provide equitable17.3

services across workforce service areas.17.4

(m) $400,000 in fiscal year 2016 is for a grant17.5

to YWCA Saint Paul for training and job17.6

placement assistance, including commercial17.7

driver's license training, through the job17.8

placement and retention program. This is a17.9

onetime appropriation.17.10

(n) $800,000 in fiscal year 2016 is from17.11

the workforce development fund for17.12

the customized training program for17.13

manufacturing industries under article 2,17.14

section 24. This is a onetime appropriation17.15

and is available in either year of the17.16

biennium. Of this amount:17.17

(1) $350,000 is for a grant to Central Lakes17.18

College for the purposes of this paragraph;17.19

(2) $250,000 is for Minnesota West17.20

Community and Technical College for the17.21

purposes of this paragraph; and17.22

(3) $200,000 is for South Central College for17.23

the purposes of this paragraph.17.24

(o) $500,000 each year is from the workforce17.25

development fund for a grant to Resource,17.26

Inc. to provide low-income individuals17.27

career education and job skills training that17.28

are fully integrated with chemical and mental17.29

health services.17.30

(p) $200,000 in fiscal year 2016 and $200,00017.31

in fiscal year 2017 are from the workforce17.32

development fund for performance grants17.33

under Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.8747,17.34
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to Twin Cities RISE! to provide training to18.1

hard-to-train individuals. This is a onetime18.2

appropriation.18.3

(q) $200,000 in fiscal year 2016 is from18.4

the workforce development fund for the18.5

foreign-trained health care professionals18.6

grant program modeled after the pilot18.7

program conducted under Laws 2006,18.8

chapter 282, article 11, section 2, subdivision18.9

12, to encourage state licensure of18.10

foreign-trained health care professionals,18.11

including: physicians, with preference given18.12

to primary care physicians who commit18.13

to practicing for at least five years after18.14

licensure in underserved areas of the state;18.15

nurses; dentists; pharmacists; mental health18.16

professionals; and other allied health care18.17

professionals. The commissioner must18.18

collaborate with health-related licensing18.19

boards and Minnesota workforce centers to18.20

award grants to foreign-trained health care18.21

professionals sufficient to cover the actual18.22

costs of taking a course to prepare health18.23

care professionals for required licensing18.24

examinations and the fee for the state18.25

licensing examinations. When awarding18.26

grants, the commissioner must consider the18.27

following factors:18.28

(1) whether the recipient's training involves18.29

a medical specialty that is in high demand in18.30

one or more communities in the state;18.31

(2) whether the recipient commits to18.32

practicing in a designated rural area or an18.33

underserved urban community, as defined in18.34

Minnesota Statutes, section 144.1501;18.35
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(3) whether the recipient's language skills19.1

provide an opportunity for needed health care19.2

access for underserved Minnesotans; and19.3

(4) any additional criteria established by the19.4

commissioner.19.5

This is a onetime appropriation and is19.6

available until June 30, 2019.19.7

Sec. 11. Laws 2015, First Special Session chapter 1, article 1, section 8, subdivision 8,19.8

is amended to read:19.9

Subd. 8. Insurance19.10

Appropriations by Fund19.11

General 4,095,000 4,004,00019.12

Workers'19.13
Compensation19.14 553,000 553,000

$642,000 each year is for health insurance19.15

rate review staffing.19.16

$91,000 in fiscal year 2016 is for the task19.17

force on no-fault auto insurance issues.19.18

$125,000 in fiscal year 2017 is for insurance19.19

fraud enforcement under Minnesota Statutes,19.20

section 45.0135, subdivision 9.19.21

ARTICLE 219.22

JOBS AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT19.23

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2015 Supplement, section 16A.967, subdivision 2,19.24

is amended to read:19.25

Subd. 2. Authorization to issue appropriation bonds. (a) Subject to the limitations19.26

of this subdivision, the commissioner may sell and issue appropriation bonds of the state19.27

under this section for public purposes as provided by law, including, in particular, the19.28

financing of the land acquisition, design, engineering, and construction of facilities and19.29

infrastructure necessary to complete the next phase of the Lewis and Clark Regional Water19.30

System project, including completion of the pipeline to Magnolia, extension of the project19.31

to the Lincoln-Pipestone Rural Water System connection near Adrian, and engineering,19.32

design, and easement acquisition for the final phase of the project to Worthington. No19.33
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bonds shall be sold until the commissioner determines that a nonstate match of at least20.1

$9,000,000 is committed to this project phase. Grant agreements entered into under this20.2

section must provide for reimbursement to the state from any federal money provided for20.3

the project, consistent with the Lewis and Clark Regional Water System, Inc., agreement.20.4

(b) The appropriation bonds may be issued and sold only after the commissioner20.5

determines that the construction and administration for work done on the project will20.6

comply with (1) all federal requirements and regulations associated with the Lewis and20.7

Clark Rural Water System Act of 2000, and (2) the cooperative agreement between the20.8

United States Department of the Interior and the Lewis and Clark Regional Water System,20.9

Inc. Proceeds of the appropriation bonds must be credited to a special appropriation Lewis20.10

and Clark bond proceeds fund in the state treasury. All income from investment of the20.11

bond proceeds, as estimated by the commissioner, is appropriated to the commissioner for20.12

the payment of principal and interest on the appropriation bonds.20.13

(c) Appropriation bonds may be sold and issued in amounts that, in the opinion of the20.14

commissioner, are necessary to provide sufficient money to the Public Facilities Authority20.15

under subdivision 7, not to exceed $19,000,000 net of costs of issuance, for the purposes as20.16

provided under this paragraph (a), and pay debt service including capitalized interest, costs20.17

of issuance, costs of credit enhancement, or make payments under other agreements entered20.18

into under paragraph (e). The bonds authorized by this paragraph are for the purposes20.19

of financing the land acquisition, design, engineering, and construction of facilities and20.20

infrastructure necessary to complete Phase 2 of the Lewis and Clark Regional Water20.21

System project, including completion of the pipeline to Magnolia; extension of the project20.22

to the Lincoln-Pipestone Rural Water System connection near Adrian; and engineering,20.23

design, and easement acquisition for the final phase of the project to Worthington. No20.24

bonds shall be sold under this subdivision until the commissioner determines that a20.25

nonstate match of at least $9,000,000 is committed to this project phase. Upon completion20.26

of Phase 2, the unspent, unencumbered portion of the appropriation in this subdivision20.27

is available for the purposes of Phase 3, which includes extension of the project from20.28

the Lincoln-Pipestone Rural Water System connection near Adrian to Worthington,20.29

construction of a reservoir in Nobles County and a meter building in Worthington, and to20.30

acquire and install a supervisory control and data acquisition (SCADA) system.20.31

(d) Appropriation bonds may be issued in one or more issues or series on the terms and20.32

conditions the commissioner determines to be in the best interests of the state, but the term20.33

on any series of appropriation bonds may not exceed 25 years. The appropriation bonds of20.34

each issue and series thereof shall be dated and bear interest, and may be includable in or20.35

excludable from the gross income of the owners for federal income tax purposes.20.36
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(e) At the time of, or in anticipation of, issuing the appropriation bonds, and at any21.1

time thereafter, so long as the appropriation bonds are outstanding, the commissioner may21.2

enter into agreements and ancillary arrangements relating to the appropriation bonds,21.3

including but not limited to trust indentures, grant agreements, lease or use agreements,21.4

operating agreements, management agreements, liquidity facilities, remarketing or21.5

dealer agreements, letter of credit agreements, insurance policies, guaranty agreements,21.6

reimbursement agreements, indexing agreements, or interest exchange agreements. Any21.7

payments made or received according to the agreement or ancillary arrangement shall be21.8

made from or deposited as provided in the agreement or ancillary arrangement. The21.9

determination of the commissioner included in an interest exchange agreement that the21.10

agreement relates to an appropriation bond shall be conclusive.21.11

(f) The commissioner may enter into written agreements or contracts relating to the21.12

continuing disclosure of information necessary to comply with or facilitate the issuance21.13

of appropriation bonds in accordance with federal securities laws, rules, and regulations,21.14

including Securities and Exchange Commission rules and regulations in Code of Federal21.15

Regulations, title 17, section 240.15c 2-12. An agreement may be in the form of covenants21.16

with purchasers and holders of appropriation bonds set forth in the order or resolution21.17

authorizing the issuance of the appropriation bonds, or a separate document authorized21.18

by the order or resolution.21.19

(g) The appropriation bonds are not subject to chapter 16C.21.20

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.21.21

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2015 Supplement, section 16A.967, subdivision 7, is21.22

amended to read:21.23

Subd. 7. Appropriation of proceeds. The proceeds of appropriation bonds issued21.24

under this section and interest credited to the special appropriation Lewis and Clark bond21.25

proceeds fund are appropriated to the commissioner:21.26

(1) the Public Facilities Authority for a grant to the Lewis and Clark Joint Powers21.27

Board for payment of capital expenses for the purposes provided by as specified in21.28

subdivision 2, paragraph (a),; and21.29

(2) to the commissioner for debt service on the bonds including capitalized interest,21.30

nonsalary costs of issuance of the bonds, costs of credit enhancement of the bonds and21.31

payments under any agreements entered into under subdivision 2, paragraph (e), each as21.32

permitted by state and federal law, and such proceeds may be granted, loaned, or otherwise21.33

provided for the public purposes provided by subdivision 2, paragraph (a).21.34
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.22.1

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 116J.548, subdivision 2, is amended to read:22.2

Subd. 2. Definitions. For purposes of this section:22.3

(a) "Capital costs" means expenditures for the public acquisition and of land and22.4

buildings, betterment of public lands and buildings, and for other publicly owned capital22.5

improvements. Capital costs also include expenditures for predesign, design, engineering,22.6

and similar activities for specifically identified eligible projects.22.7

(b) "Eligible project" means a development or redevelopment project that will22.8

generate economic development within a time frame of five years or less or facilitate the22.9

preparation of long-term economic development within a host community.22.10

(c) "Economic development" means assistance in preparation of a redevelopment or22.11

development area contained in the application that results in at least one of the following:22.12

(1) job creation, including jobs relating to construction and temporary jobs;22.13

(2) an increase in the tax base,;22.14

(3) the capacity ability of the eligible project to attract private investment, and;22.15

(4) long-term economic development;22.16

(5) needed public infrastructure or transportation-related improvements to facilitate22.17

long-term redevelopment or development; or22.18

(6) other objective criteria established by the commissioner that demonstrate a22.19

public benefit to the host community.22.20

(d) "Host community" means a city located within the seven-county metropolitan22.21

area, as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2, that is the site of a waste disposal22.22

facility that meets the standards in section 473.849, that accepts unprocessed mixed22.23

municipal solid waste generated in the metropolitan area.22.24

(e) "Long-term economic development" means capital costs associated with22.25

economic development projects identified by a host community comprehensive plan or22.26

redevelopment plan that will generate eligible economic development.22.27

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 116J.548, subdivision 3, is amended to read:22.28

Subd. 3. Application. Host communities may apply for a grant under this section22.29

on a form and in a manner prescribed by the commissioner. In awarding grants under22.30

this section, the commissioner shall give priority to eligible projects that, based on a22.31

cost-benefit analysis, provide the highest return on public investment. the commissioner22.32

must allocate available money between host communities as evenly as practicable.22.33
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Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 116J.871, subdivision 1, is amended to read:23.1

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms23.2

have the meanings given them.23.3

(b) "Economic development" means financial assistance provided to a person23.4

directly or to a local unit of government or nonprofit organization on behalf of a person23.5

who is engaged in the manufacture or sale of goods and services. Economic development23.6

does not include (1) financial assistance for rehabilitation of existing housing or (2)23.7

financial assistance for new housing construction in which total financial assistance at a23.8

single project site is less than $100,000 per housing unit.23.9

(c) "Financial assistance" means (1) a grant awarded by a state agency for economic23.10

development related purposes if a single business receives $200,000 or more of the grant23.11

proceeds; (2) a loan or the guaranty or purchase of a loan made by a state agency for23.12

economic development related purposes if a single business receives $500,000 or more23.13

of the loan proceeds; or (3) a reduction, credit, or abatement of a tax assessed under23.14

chapter 297A where the tax reduction, credit, or abatement applies to a geographic area23.15

smaller than the entire state and was granted for economic development related purposes.23.16

Financial assistance does not include payments by the state of aids and credits under23.17

chapter 273 or 477A to a political subdivision.23.18

(d) "Project site" means the location where improvements are made that are financed23.19

in whole or in part by the financial assistance; or the location of employees that receive23.20

financial assistance in the form of employment and training services as defined in section23.21

116L.19, subdivision 4, or customized training from a technical college.23.22

(e) "State agency" means any agency defined under section 16B.01, subdivision 2,23.23

Enterprise Minnesota, Inc., and the Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board.23.24

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 116J.8737, subdivision 3, is amended to read:23.25

Subd. 3. Certification of qualified investors. (a) Investors may apply to the23.26

commissioner for certification as a qualified investor for a taxable year. The application23.27

must be in the form and be made under the procedures specified by the commissioner,23.28

accompanied by an application fee of $350. Application fees are deposited in the small23.29

business investment tax credit administration account in the special revenue fund. The23.30

application for certification for 2010 must be made available on the department's Web23.31

site by August 1, 2010. Applications for subsequent years' certification must be made23.32

available on the department's Web site by November 1 of the preceding year.23.33

(b) Within 30 days of receiving an application for certification under this subdivision,23.34

the commissioner must either certify the investor as satisfying the conditions required23.35
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of a qualified investor, request additional information from the investor, or reject the24.1

application for certification. If the commissioner requests additional information from the24.2

investor, the commissioner must either certify the investor or reject the application within24.3

30 days of receiving the additional information. If the commissioner neither certifies the24.4

investor nor rejects the application within 30 days of receiving the original application or24.5

within 30 days of receiving the additional information requested, whichever is later, then24.6

the application is deemed rejected, and the commissioner must refund the $350 application24.7

fee. An investor who applies for certification and is rejected may reapply.24.8

(c) To receive certification, an investor must (1) be a natural person; and (2) certify24.9

to the commissioner that the investor will only invest in a transaction that is exempt under24.10

section 80A.46, clause (13) or (14), in a security exempt under section 80A.461, or in a24.11

security registered under section 80A.50, paragraph (b).24.12

(d) In order for a qualified investment in a qualified small business to be eligible24.13

for tax credits, a qualified investor who makes the investment must have applied for24.14

and received certification for the calendar year prior to making the qualified investment,24.15

except in the case of an investor who is not an accredited investor, within the meaning of24.16

Regulation D of the Securities and Exchange Commission, Code of Federal Regulations,24.17

title 17, section 230.501, paragraph (a), application for certification may be made within24.18

30 days after making the qualified investment.24.19

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after24.20

December 31, 2015.24.21

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 116J.8747, subdivision 1, is amended to read:24.22

Subdivision 1. Grant allowed. The commissioner may provide a grant to a qualified24.23

job training program from money appropriated for the purposes of this section as follows:24.24

(1) a $9,000 an $11,000 placement grant paid to a job training program upon24.25

placement in employment of a qualified graduate of the program; and24.26

(2) a $9,000 an $11,000 retention grant paid to a job training program upon retention24.27

in employment of a qualified graduate of the program for at least one year.24.28

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 116J.8747, subdivision 2, is amended to read:24.29

Subd. 2. Qualified job training program. To qualify for grants under this section,24.30

a job training program must satisfy the following requirements:24.31

(1) the program must be operated by a nonprofit corporation that qualifies under24.32

section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code;24.33
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(2) the program must spend at least, on average, $15,000 or more per graduate25.1

of the program;25.2

(3) the program must provide education and training in:25.3

(i) basic skills, such as reading, writing, mathematics, and communications;25.4

(ii) thinking skills, such as reasoning, creative thinking, decision making, and25.5

problem solving; and25.6

(iii) personal qualities, such as responsibility, self-esteem, self-management,25.7

honesty, and integrity;25.8

(4) the program must may provide income supplements, when needed, to participants25.9

for housing, counseling, tuition, and other basic needs;25.10

(5) the program's education and training course must last for an average of at least25.11

six months;25.12

(6) individuals served by the program must:25.13

(i) be 18 years of age or older;25.14

(ii) have federal adjusted gross income of no more than $11,000 $12,000 per year in25.15

the calendar year immediately before entering the program;25.16

(iii) have assets of no more than $7,000 $10,000, excluding the value of a25.17

homestead; and25.18

(iv) not have been claimed as a dependent on the federal tax return of another person25.19

in the previous taxable year; and25.20

(7) the program must be certified by the commissioner of employment and economic25.21

development as meeting the requirements of this subdivision.25.22

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 116M.15, subdivision 1, is amended to read:25.23

Subdivision 1. Creation; membership. The Urban Initiative Board is created and25.24

consists of the commissioner of employment and economic development, the commissioner25.25

of human rights, the chair of the Metropolitan Council, and eight members from the general25.26

public appointed by the governor. Six of the public members must be representatives from25.27

minority business enterprises. No more than four of the public members may be of one25.28

gender. All public members must be experienced in business or economic development.25.29

Sec. 10. LAKE MILLE LACS AREA ECONOMIC RELIEF PROGRAM.25.30

Subdivision 1. Relief program established. Mille Lacs County must develop and25.31

implement a Lake Mille Lacs area economic relief program to assist businesses adversely25.32

affected by a decline in walleye fishing on Lake Mille Lacs.25.33
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Subd. 2. Available relief. (a) The economic relief program established under this26.1

section may include grants or loans as provided below to the extent that funds are available.26.2

Prior to awarding a grant to Mille Lacs County for the relief program under this section:26.3

(1) the county must develop criteria, procedures, and requirements for:26.4

(i) determining eligibility for assistance;26.5

(ii) the duration, terms, underwriting and security requirements, and repayment26.6

requirements for loans;26.7

(iii) evaluating applications for assistance;26.8

(iv) awarding assistance; and26.9

(v) administering the grant and loan program authorized under this section;26.10

(2) the county must submit its criteria, procedures, and requirements developed26.11

pursuant to clause (1) to the commissioner of employment and economic development26.12

for review; and26.13

(3) the commissioner must approve the criteria, procedures, and requirements as26.14

developed pursuant to clause (1) to be used by the county in determining eligibility for26.15

assistance, evaluating, awarding, and administering the grant and loan program.26.16

(b) The relief authorized under this section includes:26.17

(1) grants not to exceed $50,000 per business. Grants may be awarded to applicants26.18

only when the county determines that a loan is not appropriate to address the needs of26.19

the applicant; and26.20

(2) loans, with or without interest, and deferred or forgivable loans. The maximum26.21

loan amount under this subdivision is $100,000 per business. The lending criteria adopted26.22

by the county for loans under this subdivision must:26.23

(i) specify that an entity receiving a deferred or forgivable loan must remain in26.24

the local community a minimum of five years after the date of the loan. The maximum26.25

loan deferral period may not exceed five years from the date the loan is approved. The26.26

maximum amount of a loan that may be forgiven cannot exceed 50 percent of the principle26.27

amount and may be forgiven only if the business has remained in operation in the26.28

community for at least ten years after the loan is approved; and26.29

(ii) require submission of a business plan for continued operation until the walleye26.30

fishing resource recovers. The plan must document the probable success of the applicant's26.31

business plan and probable success in repaying the loan according to the terms established26.32

for the loan program; and26.33

(3) tourism promotion grants to the Mille Lacs Tourism Council.26.34
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(c) All loan repayment funds under this subdivision must be paid to the commissioner27.1

of employment and economic development for deposit in the Minnesota investment fund27.2

disaster contingency account under Minnesota Statutes, section 116J.8731.27.3

Subd. 3. Qualification requirements. To qualify for assistance under this section, a27.4

business must:27.5

(1) be located within one of the following municipalities surrounding Lake Mille27.6

Lacs:27.7

(i) in Crow Wing County, the city of Garrison, township of Garrison, or township27.8

of Roosevelt;27.9

(ii) in Aitkin County, the township of Hazelton, township of Wealthwood, township27.10

of Malmo, or township of Lakeside; or27.11

(iii) in Mille Lacs County, the city of Isle, city of Wahkon, city of Onamia, township27.12

of East Side, township of Isle Harbor, township of South Harbor, or township of Kathio;27.13

(2) document a reduction of at least ten percent in gross receipts in any two-year27.14

period since 2010; and27.15

(3) be a business in one of the following industries, as defined within the27.16

North American Industry Classification System: accommodation, restaurants, bars,27.17

amusement and recreation, food and beverages retail, sporting goods, miscellaneous retail,27.18

general retail, museums, historical sites, health and personal care, gas station, general27.19

merchandise, business and professional membership, movies, or nonstore retailer, as27.20

determined by Mille Lacs County in consultation with the commissioner of employment27.21

and economic development.27.22

Subd. 4. Monitoring. (a) Mille Lacs County must establish performance measures27.23

that include, but is not limited to, the following components:27.24

(1) the number of loans approved and the amounts and terms of the loans;27.25

(2) the number of grants awarded, award amounts, and the reason that a grant award27.26

was made in lieu of a loan;27.27

(3) the loan default rate;27.28

(4) the number of jobs created or retained as a result of the assistance including27.29

information on the wages and benefit levels, the status of the jobs as full-time or part-time27.30

and the status of the jobs as temporary or permanent;27.31

(5) the amount of business activity and changes in gross revenues of the grant or27.32

loan recipient as a result of the assistance; and27.33

(6) the new tax revenue generated as a result of the assistance.27.34
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(b) The commissioner of employment and economic development must monitor28.1

Mille Lacs County's compliance with the provisions of this section and the performance28.2

measures developed under paragraph (a).28.3

(c) Mille Lacs County must comply with all requests made by the commissioner28.4

under this section.28.5

Subd. 5. Business subsidy requirements. Sections 116J.993 through 116J.995, do28.6

not apply to assistance under this section. Businesses in receipt of assistance under this28.7

section, must provide for job creation and retention goals, and wage and benefit goals.28.8

Subd. 6. Administrative costs. The commissioner of employment and economic28.9

development may use up to one percent of the appropriation made under section 2 for28.10

administrative expenses of the department.28.11

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section, except for subdivision 4, is effective July 1,28.12

2016, and expires June 30, 2017. Subdivision 4 is effective July 1, 2016, and sunsets on28.13

the date the last loan is repaid or forgiven as provided under this section.28.14

Sec. 11. REPEALER.28.15

Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 116U.26, is repealed.28.16

ARTICLE 328.17

LABOR AND INDUSTRY28.18

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 182.653, subdivision 9, is amended to read:28.19

Subd. 9. Standard industrial classification list. The commissioner shall adopt,28.20

in accordance with section 182.655, a rule specifying a list of either standard industrial28.21

classifications of employers or North American industry classifications of employers who28.22

must comply with subdivision 8. The commissioner shall demonstrate the need to include28.23

each industrial classification on the basis of the safety record or workers' compensation28.24

record of that industry segment. An employer must comply with subdivision 8 six months28.25

following the date the standard industrial classification or North American industry28.26

classification that applies to the employee is placed on the list. An employer having less28.27

than 51 employees must comply with subdivision 8 six months following the date the28.28

standard industrial classification or North American industry classification that applies28.29

to the employee is placed on the list or by July 1, 1993, whichever is later. The list shall28.30

be updated every two five years.28.31

Sec. 2. HANDS OFF CHILD CARE; REPEALER.28.32
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Minnesota Statutes 2014, sections 179A.50; 179A.51; 179A.52; and 179A.53, are29.1

repealed.29.2

ARTICLE 429.3

HOUSING29.4

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 462A.204, subdivision 1, is amended to29.5

read:29.6

Subdivision 1. Establishment. The agency may establish a family homeless29.7

prevention and assistance program to assist families who are homeless or are at imminent29.8

risk of homelessness. The term "family" may include single individuals. The agency may29.9

make grants to develop and implement family homeless prevention and assistance projects29.10

under the program. For purposes of this section, "families" means families and persons29.11

under the age of 22 24 years of age or younger.29.12

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 462A.204, subdivision 3, is amended to read:29.13

Subd. 3. Set aside. At least one grant must be awarded in an area located outside of29.14

the metropolitan area. A county, a group of contiguous counties jointly acting together, a29.15

tribe, a group of tribes, or a community-based nonprofit organization with a sponsoring29.16

resolution from each of the county boards of the counties located within its operating29.17

jurisdiction may apply for and receive grants for areas located outside the metropolitan area.29.18

ARTICLE 529.19

WORKERS' COMPENSATION COURT OF APPEALS PROPOSALS29.20

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.081, subdivision 1, is amended to read:29.21

Subdivision 1. Limitation of fees. (a) A fee for legal services of 20 percent of the29.22

first $130,000 of compensation awarded to the employee is the maximum permissible fee29.23

and does not require approval by the commissioner, compensation judge, or any other29.24

party. All fees, including fees for obtaining medical or rehabilitation benefits, must be29.25

calculated according to the formula under this subdivision, except as otherwise provided29.26

in clause (1) or (2).29.27

(1) The contingent attorney fee for recovery of monetary benefits according to the29.28

formula in this section is presumed to be adequate to cover recovery of medical and29.29

rehabilitation benefit or services concurrently in dispute. Attorney fees for recovery of29.30

medical or rehabilitation benefits or services shall be assessed against the employer or29.31

insurer only if the attorney establishes that the contingent fee is inadequate to reasonably29.32

compensate the attorney for representing the employee in the medical or rehabilitation29.33
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dispute. In cases where the contingent fee is inadequate the employer or insurer is liable30.1

for attorney fees based on the formula in this subdivision or in clause (2).30.2

For the purposes of applying the formula where the employer or insurer is liable for30.3

attorney fees, the amount of compensation awarded for obtaining disputed medical and30.4

rehabilitation benefits under sections 176.102, 176.135, and 176.136 shall be the dollar30.5

value of the medical or rehabilitation benefit awarded, where ascertainable.30.6

(2) The maximum attorney fee for obtaining a change of doctor or qualified30.7

rehabilitation consultant, or any other disputed medical or rehabilitation benefit for which30.8

a dollar value is not reasonably ascertainable, is the amount charged in hourly fees for the30.9

representation or $500, whichever is less, to be paid by the employer or insurer.30.10

(3) The fees for obtaining disputed medical or rehabilitation benefits are included30.11

in the $26,000 limit in paragraph (b). An attorney must concurrently file all outstanding30.12

disputed issues. An attorney is not entitled to attorney fees for representation in any30.13

issue which could reasonably have been addressed during the pendency of other issues30.14

for the same injury.30.15

(b) All fees for legal services related to the same injury are cumulative and may30.16

not exceed $26,000. If multiple injuries are the subject of a dispute, the commissioner,30.17

compensation judge, or court of appeals shall specify the attorney fee attributable to30.18

each injury.30.19

(c) If the employer or the insurer or the defendant is given written notice of claims30.20

for legal services or disbursements, the claim shall be a lien against the amount paid30.21

or payable as compensation. Subject to the foregoing maximum amount for attorney30.22

fees, up to 20 percent of the first $130,000 of periodic compensation awarded to the30.23

employee may be withheld from the periodic payments for attorney fees or disbursements30.24

if the payor of the funds clearly indicates on the check or draft issued to the employee for30.25

payment the purpose of the withholding, the name of the attorney, the amount withheld,30.26

and the gross amount of the compensation payment before withholding. In no case30.27

shall fees be calculated on the basis of any undisputed portion of compensation awards.30.28

Allowable fees under this chapter shall be based solely upon genuinely disputed claims or30.29

portions of claims, including disputes related to the payment of rehabilitation benefits or30.30

to other aspects of a rehabilitation plan. The existence of a dispute is dependent upon a30.31

disagreement after the employer or insurer has had adequate time and information to take30.32

a position on liability. Neither the holding of a hearing nor the filing of an application for a30.33

hearing alone may determine the existence of a dispute. Except where the employee is30.34

represented by an attorney in other litigation pending at the department or at the Office30.35

of Administrative Hearings, a fee may not be charged after June 1, 1996, for services30.36
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with respect to a medical or rehabilitation issue arising under section 176.102, 176.135,31.1

or 176.136 performed before the employee has consulted with the department and the31.2

department certifies that there is a dispute and that it has tried to resolve the dispute.31.3

(d) An attorney who is claiming legal fees for representing an employee in a workers'31.4

compensation matter shall file a statement of attorney fees with the commissioner, or31.5

compensation judge before whom the matter was heard, or Workers' Compensation Court31.6

of Appeals on cases before the court. A copy of the signed retainer agreement shall also31.7

be filed. The employee and insurer shall receive a copy of the statement. The statement31.8

shall be on a form prescribed by the commissioner and shall report the number of hours31.9

spent on the case.31.10

(e) Employers and insurers may not pay attorney fees or wages for legal services31.11

of more than $26,000 per case.31.12

(f) An attorney must file a statement of attorney fees within 12 months of the date31.13

the attorney has submitted the written notice specified in paragraph (c). If the attorney31.14

has not filed a statement of attorney fees within the 12 months, the attorney must send a31.15

renewed notice of lien to the insurer. If 12 months have elapsed since the last notice of31.16

lien has been received by the insurer and no statement of attorney fees has been filed, the31.17

insurer must release the withheld money to the employee, except that before releasing the31.18

money to the employee, the insurer must give the attorney 30 days' written notice of the31.19

pending release. The insurer must not release the money if the attorney files a statement of31.20

attorney fees within the 30 days.31.21

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.081, subdivision 3, is amended to read:31.22

Subd. 3. Review. A party that is dissatisfied with its attorney fees awarded by the31.23

commissioner or a compensation judge may file an application a petition for review by the31.24

Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals. The application petition shall state the basis for31.25

the need of review and whether or not a hearing is requested. A copy of the application31.26

petition shall be served by the court upon the party's attorney by the court administrator31.27

and if a hearing is requested by either party, the matter shall be set for hearing awarded31.28

or denied attorney fees. The notice of hearing shall be served upon known interested31.29

parties. The Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals shall have the authority to raise31.30

the issue of the attorney fees at any time upon its own motion and shall have continuing31.31

jurisdiction over attorney fees.31.32

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.471, subdivision 3, is amended to read:31.33
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Subd. 3. Service of writ and bond; filing fee. To effect a review upon certiorari,32.1

the party shall serve a writ of certiorari and a bond upon the administrator of the Workers'32.2

Compensation Court of Appeals within the 30-day period referred to in subdivision 1. The32.3

party shall also at this time pay to the administrator clerk of the appellate courts the fee32.4

prescribed by rule 103.01 116.03 of the Rules of Civil Appellate Procedure which shall be32.5

disposed of in the manner provided by that rule.32.6

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.471, subdivision 5, is amended to read:32.7

Subd. 5. Bond. The bond required by subdivision 3 shall be executed in such32.8

amount and with such sureties as the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals directs32.9

and approves. The bond shall be conditioned to pay the cost of the review. The Workers'32.10

Compensation Court of Appeals may, upon motion of any respondent and a showing that32.11

extraordinary circumstances warrant the requirement of a cost bond, order that a bond be32.12

provided as prescribed by rule 107.02 of the Rules of Civil Appellate Procedure.32.13

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.511, subdivision 2, is amended to read:32.14

Subd. 2. Disbursements, taxation. The commissioner or compensation judge, or32.15

on appeal the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals on cases before the court, may32.16

award the prevailing party reimbursement for actual and necessary disbursements. These32.17

Disbursements shall be taxed upon five ten days' written notice to adverse parties.32.18

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.511, subdivision 3, is amended to read:32.19

Subd. 3. Attorney fee, allowance. Where upon an appeal to the Workers'32.20

Compensation Court of Appeals, (1) an award of compensation is affirmed, or modified32.21

and affirmed, or (2) an order disallowing compensation is reversed, or (3) a petition to32.22

vacate an award is granted, the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals may include in32.23

its award as an incident to its review on appeal an amount to cover a reasonable attorney32.24

fee, or it may allow the an attorney fee in a proceeding to tax disbursements.32.25

If the employer or insurer files a notice of discontinuance of an employee's benefits32.26

and an administrative conference is held to resolve the dispute, but the employer or insurer32.27

fails to attend the administrative conference, the commissioner or compensation judge32.28

may order the employer or insurer to pay the employee's attorney fees as a cost under this32.29

section if the employee's benefits are continued.32.30

Sec. 7. EFFECTIVE DATE.32.31

Sections 1 to 6 are effective the day following final enactment.32.32
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ARTICLE 633.1

WORKERS' COMPENSATION DEPARTMENT PROPOSALS33.2

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2015 Supplement, section 176.135, subdivision 7a,33.3

is amended to read:33.4

Subd. 7a. Electronic transactions. (a) For purposes of this subdivision, the33.5

following terms have the meanings given:33.6

(1) "workers' compensation payer" means a workers' compensation insurer and an33.7

employer, or group of employers, that is self-insured for workers' compensation;33.8

(2) "clearinghouse" has the meaning given in section 62J.51, subdivision 11a; and33.9

(3) "electronic transactions" means the health care administrative transactions33.10

described in section 62J.536.33.11

(b) In addition to the requirements of section 62J.536, workers' compensation payers33.12

and health care providers must comply with the requirements in paragraphs (c) to (e).33.13

(c) No later than January 1, 2016, each workers' compensation payer must place33.14

the following information in a prominent location on its Web site or otherwise provide33.15

the information to health care providers:33.16

(1) the name of each clearinghouse with which the workers' compensation payer has33.17

an agreement to exchange or transmit electronic transactions, along with the identification33.18

number each clearinghouse has assigned to the payer in order to route electronic33.19

transactions through intermediaries or other clearinghouses to the payer;33.20

(2) information about how a health care provider can obtain the claim number33.21

assigned by the workers' compensation payer for an employee's claim and how the33.22

provider should submit the claim number in the appropriate field on the electronic bill to33.23

the payer; and33.24

(3) the name, phone number, and e-mail address of contact persons who can answer33.25

questions related to electronic transactions on behalf of the workers' compensation payer33.26

and the clearinghouses with which the payer has agreements.33.27

(d) No later than July 1, 2016 January 1, 2017:33.28

(1) health care providers must electronically submit copies of medical records or33.29

reports that substantiate the nature of the charge and its relationship to the work injury33.30

using the most recently approved ASC X12N 5010 version of the ASC X12N 27533.31

transaction ("Additional Information to Support Health Care Claim or Encounter"),33.32

according to the requirements in the corresponding implementation guide. The ASC X12N33.33

275 transaction is the only one that shall be used to electronically submit attachments33.34

unless a national standard is adopted by federal law or rule. If a new version of the33.35

attachment transaction is approved, it must be used one year after the approval date;33.36
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(2) workers' compensation payers and all clearinghouses receiving or transmitting34.1

workers' compensation bills must accept attachments using the ASC X12N 275 transaction34.2

and must respond with the most recently approved ASC X12N 5010 version of the ASC34.3

X12 electronic acknowledgment for the attachment transaction. If a new version of the34.4

acknowledgment transaction is approved, it must be used one year after the approval34.5

date; and34.6

(3) if a different national claims attachment or acknowledgment requirement is34.7

adopted by federal law or rule, it will replace the ASC X12N 275 transaction, and the new34.8

standard must be used on the date that it is required by the federal law or rule.34.9

(e) No later than September 1, 2015, workers' compensation payers must provide34.10

the patient's name and patient control number on or with all payments made to a provider34.11

under this chapter, whether payment is made by check or electronic funds transfer. The34.12

information provided on or with the payment must be sufficient to allow providers to34.13

match the payment to specific bills. If a bulk payment is made to a provider for more than34.14

one patient, the check or electronic funds transfer statement must also specify the amount34.15

being paid for each patient. For purposes of this paragraph, the patient control number is34.16

located on the electronic health care claim 837 transaction, loop 2300, segment CLM01,34.17

and on the electronic health care claim payment/advice 835 transaction, loop 2100, CLP01.34.18

(f) The commissioner may assess a monetary penalty of $500 for each violation of34.19

this section, not to exceed $25,000 for identical violations during a calendar year. Before34.20

issuing a penalty for a first violation of this section, the commissioner must provide written34.21

notice to the noncompliant payer, clearinghouse, or provider that a penalty may be issued34.22

if the violation is not corrected within 30 days. Penalties under this paragraph are payable34.23

to the commissioner for deposit in the assigned risk safety account.34.24

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2015 Supplement, section 176.136, subdivision 1b, is34.25

amended to read:34.26

Subd. 1b. Limitation of liability. (a) The liability of the employer for treatment,34.27

articles, and supplies provided to an employee while an inpatient or outpatient at a Critical34.28

Access Hospital certified by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, or while an34.29

outpatient at a hospital with 100 or fewer licensed beds, shall be the hospital's usual and34.30

customary charge, unless the charge is determined by the commissioner or a compensation34.31

judge to be unreasonably excessive.34.32

(b) The liability of the employer for the treatment, articles, and supplies that are not34.33

limited by paragraph (a), subdivision 1a, 1c, or section 176.1362 shall be limited to 8534.34

percent of the provider's usual and customary charge, or 85 percent of the prevailing34.35
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charges for similar treatment, articles, and supplies furnished to an injured person when35.1

paid for by the injured person, whichever is lower. On this basis, the commissioner or35.2

compensation judge may determine the reasonable value of all treatment, services, and35.3

supplies, and the liability of the employer is limited to that amount. The commissioner35.4

may by rule establish the reasonable value of a service, article, or supply in lieu of the35.5

85 percent limitation in this paragraph. A prevailing charge established under Minnesota35.6

Rules, part 5221.0500, subpart 2, must be based on no more than two years of billing data35.7

immediately preceding the date of the service.35.8

(c) The limitation of liability for charges provided by paragraph (b) does not apply35.9

to a nursing home that participates in the medical assistance program and whose rates are35.10

established by the commissioner of human services.35.11

(d) An employer's liability for treatment, articles, and supplies provided under this35.12

chapter by a health care provider located outside of Minnesota is limited to the payment that35.13

the health care provider would receive if the treatment, article, or supply were paid under35.14

the workers' compensation law of the jurisdiction in which the treatment was provided.35.15

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.571, subdivision 1, is amended to read:35.16

Subdivision 1. Preliminary investigation. When the head of a department has filed35.17

a report or the commissioner of administration has otherwise received information of35.18

the occurrence of an injury to a state employee for which liability to pay compensation35.19

may exist, the commissioner of administration shall make a preliminary investigation to35.20

determine the question of probable liability.35.21

In making this investigation, the commissioner of administration may require the35.22

assistance of the head of any department or any employee of the state. The commissioner35.23

of management and budget administration may require that all facts be furnished which35.24

appear in the records of any state department bearing on the issue.35.25

Sec. 4. EFFECTIVE DATE.35.26

Sections 1 to 3 are effective the day following enactment.35.27

ARTICLE 735.28

WORKERS' COMPENSATION LITIGATION-RELATED PROPOSALS35.29

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.011, subdivision 7a, is amended to read:35.30

Subd. 7a. (1) Compensation judge. "Compensation judge" means a workers'35.31

compensation judge at the Office of Administrative Hearings.35.32
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(2) Calendar judge. "Calendar judge" means a workers' compensation judge at the36.1

Office of Administrative Hearings.36.2

(3) Compensation judge. "Compensation judge" means a compensation judge at36.3

the Department of Labor and Industry. Compensation judges may conduct settlement36.4

conferences, issue summary decisions, approve settlements and issue awards thereon,36.5

determine petitions for attorney fees and costs, and make other determinations,36.6

decisions, orders, and awards as may be delegated to them by law or the commissioner.36.7

Compensation judges must be learned in the law.36.8

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.137, subdivision 1, is amended to read:36.9

Subdivision 1. Requirement; determination. The employer shall furnish to an36.10

employee who is permanently disabled because of a personal injury suffered in the course36.11

of employment with that employer such alteration or remodeling of the employee's36.12

principal residence as is reasonably required to enable the employee to move freely into36.13

and throughout the residence and to otherwise adequately accommodate the disability.36.14

Any remodeling or alteration shall be furnished only when the division or Workers'36.15

Compensation Court of Appeals determines that the injury is to such a degree that the36.16

employee is substantially prevented from functioning within the principal residence.36.17

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.137, subdivision 4, is amended to read:36.18

Subd. 4. Certification required; exceptions. (a) Except as provided in paragraph36.19

(b), no award may be made except upon the certification of a licensed architect to the36.20

division or Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals that the proposed alteration or36.21

remodeling of an existing residence or the building or purchase of a new or different36.22

residence is reasonably required for the purposes specified in subdivision 1. The Council on36.23

Disability shall advise the division orWorkers' Compensation Court of Appeals as provided36.24

in section 256.482, subdivision 5, clause (7). The alteration or remodeling of an existing36.25

residence, or the building or purchase of a new home must be done under the supervision36.26

of a licensed architect relative to the specific needs to accommodate the disability.36.27

(b) Remodeling or alteration projects do not require an architect's certification and36.28

supervision if the project is:36.29

(1) approved by the Council on Disability;36.30

(2) performed by a residential building contractor or residential remodeler licensed36.31

under section 326B.805, subdivision 1; and36.32

(3) approved by a certified building official or certified accessibility specialist under36.33

section 326B.133, subdivision 3a, paragraphs (b) and (d), who states in writing that the36.34
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proposed remodeling or alterations are reasonably required to enable the employee to move37.1

freely into and throughout the residence and to otherwise accommodate the disability.37.2

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.137, is amended by adding a subdivision37.3

to read:37.4

Subd. 6. Disputes. A proceeding to resolve a dispute under this section shall be37.5

initiated by petition under sections 176.271 and 176.291 and decided by a compensation37.6

judge at the office under section 176.305, 176.322, or 176.341. The decision of the37.7

compensation judge is appealable to the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals under37.8

section 176.421.37.9

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.331, is amended to read:37.10

176.331 PROCEEDINGS WHEN ANSWER NOT FILED.37.11

Except in cases involving multiple employers or multiple insurers, if an adverse37.12

party fails to file and serve an answer or obtain an extension from the commissioner or the37.13

petitioner as required by section 176.321, subdivision 3, the commissioner shall refer the37.14

matter to the chief administrative law judge for an immediate hearing and prompt award37.15

or other order. The adverse party that failed to file an answer may appear at the hearing,37.16

present evidence and question witnesses, but shall not be granted a continuance for any37.17

reason except upon a showing of good cause.37.18

If an adverse party who fails to serve and file an answer is neither insured for37.19

workers' compensation liability nor a licensed self-insured as required by section 176.18137.20

and the special compensation fund is a party to the proceeding, the commissioner or37.21

compensation judge may enter an order awarding benefits to the petitioning party without37.22

a hearing if so requested by the special compensation fund.37.23

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.361, subdivision 1, is amended to read:37.24

Subdivision 1. Right to intervene. A person who has an interest in any matter37.25

before the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals, or commissioner, or compensation37.26

judge such that the person may either gain or lose by an order or decision may intervene in37.27

the proceeding by filing an application or a motion in writing stating the facts which show37.28

the interest. The commissioner is considered to have an interest and shall be permitted37.29

to intervene at the appellate level when a party relies in its claim or defense upon any37.30

statute or rule administered by the commissioner, or upon any rule, order, requirement, or37.31

agreement issued or made under the statute or rule.37.32
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The commissioner may adopt rules, not inconsistent with this section to govern38.1

intervention. The Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals shall adopt rules to govern the38.2

procedure for intervention in matters before it.38.3

If the Department of Human Services or the Department of Employment and38.4

Economic Development seeks to intervene in any matter before the division, a38.5

compensation judge or the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals, a nonattorney38.6

employee of the department, acting at the direction of the staff of the attorney general,38.7

may prepare, sign, serve and file motions for intervention and related documents, appear38.8

at attend prehearing conferences, and participate in matters before a compensation judge38.9

or the Workers' Compensation Court of Appeals. Any other interested party may intervene38.10

using a nonattorney and may participate in any proceeding to the same extent an attorney38.11

could. This activity shall not be considered to be the unauthorized practice of law. An38.12

intervenor represented by a nonattorney shall be deemed to be represented by an attorney38.13

for the purposes of the conclusive presumption of section 176.521, subdivision 2.38.14

Subdivisions 3 to 6 do not apply to matters pending in the mediation or rehabilitation38.15

and medical services sections the following proceedings conducted by the Department38.16

of Labor and Industry or the office: mediation proceedings; discontinuance conferences38.17

under section 176.239; or administrative conferences under section 176.106.38.18

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.361, subdivision 2, is amended to read:38.19

Subd. 2. Written application or motion. A person desiring to intervene in a38.20

workers' compensation case as a party, including but not limited to a health care provider38.21

who has rendered services to an employee or an insurer who has paid benefits under38.22

section 176.191, shall submit a timely written application or motion to intervene to the38.23

commissioner, the office, or to the court of appeals, whichever is applicable.38.24

(a) The application or motion must be served on all parties, except for other38.25

intervenors, either personally, by first class mail, or by registered mail, return receipt38.26

requested. An application or A motion to intervene must be served and filed within 6038.27

days after a potential intervenor has been served with notice of a right to intervene or38.28

within 30 days of notice of an administrative conference. Upon the filing of a timely38.29

application or motion to intervene, the potential intervenor shall be granted intervenor38.30

status without the need for an order. Objections to the intervention may be subsequently38.31

addressed by a compensation judge. Where a motion to intervene is not timely filed38.32

under this section, the potential intervenor interest shall be extinguished and the potential38.33

intervenor may not collect, or attempt to collect, the extinguished interest from the38.34

employee, employer, insurer, or any government program.38.35

Article 7 Sec. 7. 38



04/14/16 06:33 PM HOUSE RESEARCH AN/SK AN-A09

(b) The application or motion must show how the applicant's legal rights, duties, or39.1

privileges may be determined or affected by the case; state the grounds and purposes for39.2

which intervention is sought; and indicate the statutory right to intervene. The application39.3

or motion must be accompanied by the following:39.4

(1) an itemization of disability payments showing the period during which the39.5

payments were or are being made; the weekly or monthly rate of the payments; and the39.6

amount of reimbursement claimed;39.7

(2) a summary of the medical or treatment payments, or rehabilitation services39.8

provided by the Vocational Rehabilitation Unit, broken down by creditor, showing the39.9

total bill submitted, the period of treatment or rehabilitation covered by that bill, the39.10

amount of payment on that bill, and to whom the payment was made;39.11

(3) copies of all medical or treatment bills on which some for which payment was39.12

made is sought;39.13

(4) copies of the work sheets or other information stating how the payments on39.14

medical or treatment bills were calculated;39.15

(5) a copy of the relevant policy or contract provisions upon which the claim for39.16

reimbursement is based;39.17

(6) the name and telephone number of the person representing the intervenor who39.18

has authority to represent the intervenor, including but not limited to the authority to39.19

reach a settlement of the issues in dispute;39.20

(7) proof of service or copy of the registered mail receipt evidencing service on all39.21

parties except for other intervenors;39.22

(8) at the option of the intervenor, a proposed stipulation which states that all of the39.23

payments for which reimbursement is claimed are related to the injury or condition in39.24

dispute in the case and that, if the petitioner is successful in proving the compensability of39.25

the claim, it is agreed that the sum be reimbursed to the intervenor; and39.26

(9) if represented by an attorney, the name, address, telephone number, and39.27

Minnesota Supreme Court license number of the attorney.39.28

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.361, subdivision 3, is amended to read:39.29

Subd. 3. Stipulation. If the person submitting the application or motion for39.30

intervention to intervene has included a proposed stipulation, all parties shall either39.31

execute and return the signed stipulation to the intervenor who must file it with the39.32

division or judge or serve upon the intervenor and all other parties and file with the39.33

division specific and detailed objections to any payments made by the intervenor which39.34

are not conceded to be correct and related to the injury or condition the petitioner has39.35
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asserted is compensable. If a party has not returned the signed stipulation or filed specific40.1

and detailed objections within 30 days of service of the application or motion to intervene,40.2

the intervenor's right to reimbursement for the amount sought is deemed established40.3

provided that the petitioner's claim is determined to be compensable. The office may40.4

establish procedures for filing objections if a timely motion to intervene is filed less than40.5

30 days before a scheduled hearing.40.6

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.361, subdivision 4, is amended to read:40.7

Subd. 4. Attendance by intervenor. Unless a stipulation has been signed and filed or40.8

the intervenor's right to reimbursement has otherwise been established, the intervenor shall40.9

attend all settlement or pretrial conferences, administrative conferences, and the hearing.40.10

Failure A person who has submitted a timely written motion to intervene, as required by40.11

subdivision 2, is not required to attend settlement or pretrial conferences or the hearing,40.12

unless attendance is ordered by the compensation judge assigned to the case, pursuant to a40.13

motion to require the intervenor's attendance filed by a party or as a matter of the judge's40.14

discretion. A motion to require attendance must be served and filed at least 20 days before40.15

a scheduled hearing, and the compensation judge must serve and file an order granting or40.16

denying the motion at least ten days before a scheduled hearing. If attendance is ordered,40.17

failure of the intervenor to appear attend a proceeding either in person or, if approved by40.18

the compensation judge, by telephone or some other electronic medium, shall result in the40.19

denial of the claim for reimbursement. except upon a showing of good cause. If attendance40.20

has not been ordered, this subdivision does not prohibit an intervenor from attending a40.21

conference or hearing in person, or from requesting permission from the compensation40.22

judge to attend a conference or hearing by telephone or other electronic medium.40.23

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.361, subdivision 5, is amended to read:40.24

Subd. 5. Order Objections. If an a specific and detailed objection to intervention40.25

remains following settlement or pretrial conferences, the issue shall be addressed at the40.26

hearing. If the intervenor has not been ordered to attend the hearing pursuant to subdivision40.27

4, or has received permission to attend the hearing by telephone or other electronic40.28

medium, the intervenor may provide a written response to the objection before the hearing40.29

according to subdivision 6 for consideration as a matter of discretion by the judge.40.30

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.361, subdivision 6, is amended to read:40.31

Subd. 6. Presentation of evidence by intervenor. Unless a stipulation has been40.32

signed and filed or the intervenor's right to reimbursement has otherwise been established,40.33
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the intervenor shall present evidence in support of the claim at or before the hearing unless41.1

otherwise ordered by the compensation judge. When the intervenor has not been ordered41.2

to attend the hearing pursuant to subdivision 4, or has received permission to attend the41.3

hearing by telephone or other electronic medium, the office may establish a procedure41.4

for submission of the intervenor's evidence and response to outstanding objections to41.5

intervention. If the intervenor does not submit a written response to the objection before41.6

the hearing, the compensation judge's determination on the objection must be based on41.7

the information and evidence submitted prior to or at the hearing, as a matter of judicial41.8

discretion.41.9

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 176.361, is amended by adding a subdivision41.10

to read:41.11

Subd. 8. Chief administrative law judge orders. The chief administrative law41.12

judge may issue standing orders to implement this section. The chief administrative law41.13

judge has the authority to issue standing orders instead of, or in addition to, the authority41.14

granted to the office or compensation judges under this section, provided that any standing41.15

order issued by the chief administrative law judge must be consistent with this section.41.16

Sec. 13. EFFECTIVE DATE.41.17

This article is effective August 1, 2016.41.18

ARTICLE 841.19

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL POLICY41.20

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.051, subdivision 5, is amended to read:41.21

Subd. 5. Tax rate for new employers. (a) Each new taxpaying employer that does41.22

not qualify for an experience rating under subdivision 3, except new employers in a high41.23

experience rating industry, must be assigned, for a calendar year, a tax rate the higher of41.24

(1) one percent, or (2) the tax rate computed, to the nearest 1/100 of a percent, by dividing41.25

the total amount of unemployment benefits paid all applicants during the 48 calendar41.26

months ending on June 30 of the prior calendar year by the total taxable wages of all41.27

taxpaying employers during the same period, plus the applicable base tax rate and any41.28

additional assessments under subdivision 2, paragraph (c).41.29

(b) Each new taxpaying employer in a high experience rating industry that does not41.30

qualify for an experience rating under subdivision 3, must be assigned, for a calendar year,41.31

a tax rate the higher of (1) that assigned under paragraph (a), or (2) the tax rate, computed41.32

to the nearest 1/100 of a percent, by dividing the total amount of unemployment benefits41.33
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paid to all applicants from high experience rating industry employers during the 4842.1

calendar months ending on June 30 of the prior calendar year by the total taxable wages42.2

of all high experience rating industry employers during the same period, to a maximum42.3

provided for under subdivision 3, paragraph (b), plus the applicable base tax rate and any42.4

additional assessments under subdivision 2, paragraph (c).42.5

(c) An employer is considered to be in a high experience rating industry if:42.6

(1) the employer is engaged in residential, commercial, or industrial construction,42.7

including general contractors;42.8

(2) the employer is engaged in sand, gravel, or limestone mining;42.9

(3) the employer is engaged in the manufacturing of concrete, concrete products,42.10

or asphalt; or42.11

(4) the employer is engaged in road building, repair, or resurfacing, including bridge42.12

and tunnels and residential and commercial driveways and parking lots.42.13

(a) Each new taxpaying employer that does not qualify for an experience rating42.14

under subdivision 3 must be assigned, for the calendar year, a tax rate equal to the average42.15

experience rating for the employer's industry, plus the applicable base tax rate and any42.16

additional assessments under subdivision 2, paragraph (c). The tax rate assigned may not42.17

be less than one percent.42.18

(b) The employer's industry, except for construction, is determined by the first two42.19

digits of the North American Industrial Classification System (NAICS). The construction42.20

industry is determined to five digits. For each calendar year the commissioner must42.21

compute, in accordance with subdivision 3, the average industry experience rating for42.22

the employer's industry.42.23

(d) (c) Regardless of any law to the contrary, a taxpaying employer must be42.24

assigned a tax rate under this subdivision if the employer had no taxable wages during the42.25

experience rating period under subdivision 3.42.26

(e) (d) The commissioner must send to the new employer, by mail or electronic42.27

transmission, a determination of tax rate. An employer may appeal the determination of42.28

tax rate in accordance with the procedures in subdivision 6, paragraph (c).42.29

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2018, and applies to tax42.30

rates assigned for the calendar year 2018 and thereafter.42.31

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2015 Supplement, section 268.07, subdivision 3b, is42.32

amended to read:42.33

Subd. 3b. Limitations on applications and benefit accounts. (a) An application for42.34

unemployment benefits is effective the Sunday of the calendar week that the application42.35
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was filed. An application for unemployment benefits may be backdated one calendar week43.1

before the Sunday of the week the application was actually filed if the applicant requests43.2

the backdating at within seven calendar days of the time date the application is filed. An43.3

application may be backdated only if the applicant was unemployed during the period of43.4

the backdating. If an individual attempted to file an application for unemployment benefits,43.5

but was prevented from filing an application by the department, the application is effective43.6

the Sunday of the calendar week the individual first attempted to file an application.43.7

(b) A benefit account established under subdivision 2 is effective the date the43.8

application for unemployment benefits was effective.43.9

(c) A benefit account, once established, may later be withdrawn only if:43.10

(1) the applicant has not been paid any unemployment benefits on that benefit43.11

account; and43.12

(2) a new application for unemployment benefits is filed and a new benefit account is43.13

established at the time of the withdrawal.43.14

A determination or amended determination of eligibility or ineligibility issued under43.15

section 268.101, that was sent before the withdrawal of the benefit account, remains in43.16

effect and is not voided by the withdrawal of the benefit account.43.17

(d) An application for unemployment benefits is not allowed before the Sunday43.18

following the expiration of the benefit year on a prior benefit account. Except as allowed43.19

under paragraph (c), an applicant may establish only one benefit account each 52 calendar43.20

weeks. This paragraph applies to benefit accounts established under any federal law or43.21

the law of any other state.43.22

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 31, 2016, and applies to43.23

applications for unemployment benefits filed after that date.43.24

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.095, subdivision 1, is amended to read:43.25

Subdivision 1. Quit. An applicant who quit employment is ineligible for all43.26

unemployment benefits according to subdivision 10 except when:43.27

(1) the applicant quit the employment because of a good reason caused by the43.28

employer as defined in subdivision 3;43.29

(2) the applicant quit the employment to accept other covered employment that43.30

provided substantially equal to or better terms and conditions of employment, but43.31

the applicant did not work long enough at the second employment to have sufficient43.32

subsequent earnings wages paid to satisfy the period of ineligibility that would otherwise43.33

be imposed under subdivision 10 for quitting the first employment;43.34
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(3) the applicant quit the employment within 30 calendar days of beginning the44.1

employment because and the employment was unsuitable for the applicant;44.2

(4) the employment was unsuitable for the applicant and the applicant quit to enter44.3

reemployment assistance training;44.4

(5) the employment was part time and the applicant also had full-time employment44.5

in the base period, from which full-time employment the applicant separated because of44.6

reasons for which the applicant was held is not to be ineligible, and the wage credits from44.7

the full-time employment are sufficient to meet the minimum requirements to establish a44.8

benefit account under section 268.07;44.9

(6) the applicant quit because the employer notified the applicant that the applicant44.10

was going to be laid off because of lack of work within 30 calendar days. An applicant44.11

who quit employment within 30 calendar days of a notified date of layoff because of lack44.12

of work is ineligible for unemployment benefits through the end of the week that includes44.13

the scheduled date of layoff;44.14

(7) the applicant quit the employment (i) because the applicant's serious illness or44.15

injury made it medically necessary that the applicant quit; or (ii) in order to provide44.16

necessary care because of the illness, injury, or disability of an immediate family member44.17

of the applicant. This exception only applies if the applicant informs the employer of44.18

the medical problem and requests accommodation and no reasonable accommodation44.19

is made available.44.20

If the applicant's serious illness is chemical dependency, this exception does not44.21

apply if the applicant was previously diagnosed as chemically dependent or had treatment44.22

for chemical dependency, and since that diagnosis or treatment has failed to make44.23

consistent efforts to control the chemical dependency.44.24

This exception raises an issue of the applicant's being available for suitable44.25

employment under section 268.085, subdivision 1, that the commissioner must determine;44.26

(8) the applicant's loss of child care for the applicant's minor child caused the44.27

applicant to quit the employment, provided the applicant made reasonable effort to obtain44.28

other child care and requested time off or other accommodation from the employer and no44.29

reasonable accommodation is available.44.30

This exception raises an issue of the applicant's being available for suitable44.31

employment under section 268.085, subdivision 1, that the commissioner must determine;44.32

(9) the applicant quit because domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking of the44.33

applicant or an immediate family member of the applicant, necessitated the applicant's44.34

quitting the employment.44.35

For purposes of this subdivision:44.36
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(i) "domestic abuse" has the meaning given in section 518B.01;45.1

(ii) "sexual assault" means an act that would constitute a violation of sections45.2

609.342 to 609.3453 or 609.352; and45.3

(iii) "stalking" means an act that would constitute a violation of section 609.749; or45.4

(10) the applicant quit in order to relocate to accompany a spouse:45.5

(1) who is in the military; or45.6

(2) whose job was transferred by the spouse's employer to a new location changed45.7

making it impractical for the applicant to commute.45.8

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 31, 2016, and applies to all45.9

matters pending a determination or a decision by an unemployment law judge.45.10

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.101, subdivision 2, is amended to read:45.11

Subd. 2. Determination. (a) The commissioner must determine any issue of45.12

ineligibility raised by information required from an applicant under subdivision 1,45.13

paragraph (a) or (c), and send to the applicant and any involved employer, by mail or45.14

electronic transmission, a document titled a determination of eligibility or a determination45.15

of ineligibility, as is appropriate. The determination on an issue of ineligibility as a result45.16

of a quit or a discharge of the applicant must state the effect on the employer under section45.17

268.047. A determination must be made in accordance with this paragraph even if a45.18

notified employer has not raised the issue of ineligibility.45.19

(b) The commissioner must determine any issue of ineligibility raised by an45.20

employer and send to the applicant and that employer, by mail or electronic transmission,45.21

a document titled a determination of eligibility or a determination of ineligibility as is45.22

appropriate. The determination on an issue of ineligibility as a result of a quit or discharge45.23

of the applicant must state the effect on the employer under section 268.047.45.24

If a base period employer:45.25

(1) was not the applicant's most recent employer before the application for45.26

unemployment benefits;45.27

(2) did not employ the applicant during the six calendar months before the45.28

application for unemployment benefits; and45.29

(3) did not raise an issue of ineligibility as a result of a quit or discharge of the45.30

applicant within ten calendar days of notification under subdivision 1, paragraph (b);45.31

then any exception under section 268.047, subdivisions 2 and 3, begins the Sunday two45.32

weeks following the week that the issue of ineligibility as a result of a quit or discharge of45.33

the applicant was raised by the employer.45.34

Article 8 Sec. 4. 45



04/14/16 06:33 PM HOUSE RESEARCH AN/SK AN-A09

A communication from an employer must specifically set out why the applicant46.1

should be determined ineligible for unemployment benefits for that communication to be46.2

considered to have raised an issue of ineligibility for purposes of this section. A statement46.3

of "protest" or a similar term without more information does not constitute raising an issue46.4

of ineligibility for purposes of this section.46.5

(c) Subject to section 268.031, an issue of ineligibility is determined based upon46.6

that information required of an applicant, any information that may be obtained from an46.7

applicant or employer, and information from any other source.46.8

(d) Regardless of the requirements of this subdivision, the commissioner is not46.9

required to send to an applicant a copy of the determination where the applicant has46.10

satisfied a period of ineligibility because of a quit or a discharge under section 268.095,46.11

subdivision 10.46.12

(e) The commissioner may issue a determination on an issue of ineligibility at any46.13

time within 24 months from the establishment of a benefit account based upon information46.14

from any source, even if the issue of ineligibility was not raised by the applicant or an46.15

employer. This paragraph does not prevent the imposition of a penalty on46.16

If an applicant obtained unemployment benefits through fraud under section 268.18,46.17

subdivision 2, or 268.182 a determination of ineligibility may be issued within 48 months46.18

of the establishment of the benefit account.46.19

(f) A determination of eligibility or determination of ineligibility is final unless an46.20

appeal is filed by the applicant or notified employer within 20 calendar days after sending.46.21

The determination must contain a prominent statement indicating the consequences of not46.22

appealing. Proceedings on the appeal are conducted in accordance with section 268.105.46.23

(g) An issue of ineligibility required to be determined under this section includes46.24

any question regarding the denial or allowing of unemployment benefits under this chapter46.25

except for issues under section 268.07. An issue of ineligibility for purposes of this section46.26

includes any question of effect on an employer under section 268.047.46.27

(h) Except for issues of ineligibility as a result of a quit or discharge of the applicant,46.28

the employer will be (1) sent a copy of the determination of eligibility or a determination46.29

of ineligibility, or (2) considered an involved employer for purposes of an appeal under46.30

section 268.105, only if the employer raised the issue of ineligibility.46.31

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 31, 2016, and applies to all46.32

matters pending a determination.46.33

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.182, subdivision 2, is amended to read:46.34
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Subd. 2. Administrative penalties. (a) Any applicant who knowingly makes a false47.1

statement or representation, who knowingly fails to disclose a material fact, or who makes47.2

a false statement or representation without a good faith belief as to the correctness of the47.3

statement or representation, in order to obtain or in an attempt to obtain unemployment47.4

benefits may be assessed, in addition to any other penalties, an administrative penalty of47.5

being ineligible for unemployment benefits for 13 to 104 weeks.47.6

(b) A determination of ineligibility setting out the weeks the applicant is ineligible47.7

must be sent to the applicant by mail or electronic transmission. A determination of47.8

ineligibility under this subdivision may be issued within 48 months of the establishment of47.9

the benefit account upon which the unemployment benefits were obtained, or attempted to47.10

be obtained. Unless an appeal is filed within 20 calendar days of sending, the determination47.11

is final. Proceedings on the appeal are conducted in accordance with section 268.105.47.12

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 31, 2016 and applies to all47.13

matters pending a determination.47.14

ARTICLE 947.15

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL HOUSEKEEPING47.16

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.035, subdivision 12, is amended to read:47.17

Subd. 12. Covered employment. (a) "Covered employment" means the following47.18

unless excluded as "noncovered employment" under subdivision 20:47.19

(1) an employee's entire employment during the calendar quarter if:47.20

(i) the employment during the quarter is performed primarily in Minnesota;47.21

(ii) the employment during the quarter is not performed primarily in Minnesota or47.22

any other state but some of the employment is performed in Minnesota and the base47.23

of operations or the place from which the employment is directed or controlled is in47.24

Minnesota; or47.25

(iii) the employment during the quarter is not performed primarily in Minnesota47.26

or any other state and the base of operations or place from which the employment is47.27

directed or controlled is not in any state where part of the employment is performed, but47.28

the employee's residence is in Minnesota;47.29

(2) an employee's entire employment during the calendar quarter performed within47.30

the United States or Canada, if:47.31

(i) the employment is not considered covered employment under the unemployment47.32

insurance program of any other state, federal law, or the law of Canada; and47.33

(ii) the place from which the employment is directed or controlled is in Minnesota;47.34
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(3) the employment during the calendar quarter, performed entirely outside of the48.1

United States and Canada, by an employee who is a United States citizen in the employ of48.2

an American employer if the employer's principal place of business in the United States is48.3

located in Minnesota. An "American employer," for the purposes of this clause, means a48.4

corporation organized under the laws of any state, an individual who is a resident of the48.5

United States, or a partnership if two-thirds or more of the partners are residents of the48.6

United States, or a trust, if all of the trustees are residents of the United States; and48.7

(4) all employment during the calendar quarter performed by an officer or member48.8

of the crew of an American vessel on or in connection with the vessel, if the operating48.9

office from which the operations of the vessel operating on navigable waters within, or48.10

within and without, the United States are ordinarily and regularly supervised, managed,48.11

directed, and controlled is in Minnesota.48.12

(b) "Covered employment" includes covered agricultural employment under48.13

subdivision 11.48.14

(c) For the purposes of satisfying the period of ineligibility under section 268.095,48.15

subdivision 10, "covered employment" includes covered employment covered under an48.16

unemployment insurance program:48.17

(1) of any other state; or48.18

(2) established by an act of Congress.48.19

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 31, 2016, and applies to all48.20

matters pending a determination or a decision by an unemployment law judge48.21

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.035, subdivision 29, is amended to read:48.22

Subd. 29. Wages. (a) "Wages" means all compensation for employment, including48.23

commissions; bonuses, awards, and prizes; severance payments; standby pay; vacation and48.24

holiday pay; back pay as of the date of payment; tips and gratuities paid to an employee by48.25

a customer of an employer and accounted for by the employee to the employer; sickness48.26

and accident disability payments, except as otherwise provided in this subdivision; and48.27

the cash value of housing, utilities, meals, exchanges of services, and any other goods48.28

and services provided to compensate an employee, except:48.29

(1) the amount of any payment made to, or on behalf of, an employee under a plan48.30

established by an employer that makes provision for employees generally or for a class or48.31

classes of employees, including any amount paid by an employer for insurance or annuities,48.32

or into a plan, to provide for a payment, on account of (i) retirement or (ii) medical and48.33

hospitalization expenses in connection with sickness or accident disability, or (iii) death;48.34
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(2) the payment by an employer of the tax imposed upon an employee under United49.1

States Code, title 26, section 3101 of the Federal Insurance Contribution Act, with respect49.2

to compensation paid to an employee for domestic employment in a private household of49.3

the employer or for agricultural employment;49.4

(3) any payment made to, or on behalf of, an employee or beneficiary (i) from or49.5

to a trust described in United States Code, title 26, section 401(a) of the federal Internal49.6

Revenue Code, that is exempt from tax under section 501(a) at the time of the payment49.7

unless the payment is made to an employee of the trust as compensation for services as an49.8

employee and not as a beneficiary of the trust, or (ii) under or to an annuity plan that, at49.9

the time of the payment, is a plan described in section 403(a);49.10

(4) the value of any special discount or markdown allowed to an employee on goods49.11

purchased from or services supplied by the employer where the purchases are optional and49.12

do not constitute regular or systematic payment for services;49.13

(5) customary and reasonable directors' fees paid to individuals who are not49.14

otherwise employed by the corporation of which they are directors;49.15

(6) the payment to employees for reimbursement of meal expenses when employees49.16

are required to perform work after their regular hours;49.17

(7) the payment into a trust or plan for purposes of providing legal or dental services49.18

if provided for all employees generally or for a class or classes of employees;49.19

(8) the value of parking facilities provided or paid for by an employer, in whole or in49.20

part, if provided for all employees generally or for a class or classes of employees;49.21

(9) royalties to an owner of a franchise, license, copyright, patent, oil, mineral,49.22

or other right;49.23

(10) advances or reimbursements for traveling or other bona fide ordinary and49.24

necessary expenses incurred or reasonably expected to be incurred in the business of the49.25

employer. Traveling and other reimbursed expenses must be identified either by making49.26

separate payments or by specifically indicating the separate amounts where both wages49.27

and expense allowances are combined in a single payment;49.28

(11) residual payments to radio, television, and similar artists that accrue after49.29

the production of television commercials, musical jingles, spot announcements, radio49.30

transcriptions, film sound tracks, and similar activities;49.31

(12) the income to a former employee resulting from the exercise of a nonqualified49.32

stock option;49.33

(13) payments made to supplement supplemental unemployment benefits benefit49.34

payments under a plan established by an employer, that makes provisions for employees49.35

generally or for a class or classes of employees under the written terms of an agreement,49.36
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contract, trust arrangement, or other instrument if the payment is not wages under the50.1

Federal Unemployment Tax Act. The plan must provide supplemental payments are50.2

wages unless made solely for the supplementing of weekly state or federal unemployment50.3

benefits. The plan must provide supplemental payments only for those weeks the applicant50.4

has been paid regular, extended, or additional unemployment benefits. The supplemental50.5

payments, when combined with the applicant's weekly unemployment benefits paid, may50.6

not exceed the applicant's regular weekly pay. The plan must not allow the assignment50.7

of Supplemental unemployment benefit payments or provide for any type of additional50.8

payment. The plan must not require may not be assigned, nor may any consideration be50.9

required from the applicant, other than a release of claims, and must not be designed for50.10

the purpose of avoiding the payment of Social Security obligations, or unemployment50.11

taxes on money disbursed from the plan in order to be excluded from wages;50.12

(14) sickness or accident disability payments made by the employer after the50.13

expiration of six calendar months following the last calendar month that the individual50.14

worked for the employer;50.15

(15) disability payments made under the provisions of any workers' compensation50.16

law;50.17

(16) sickness or accident disability payments made by a third-party payer such as50.18

an insurance company; or50.19

(17) payments made into a trust fund, or for the purchase of insurance or an annuity,50.20

to provide for sickness or accident disability payments to employees under a plan or50.21

system established by the employer that provides for the employer's employees generally50.22

or for a class or classes of employees.50.23

(b) Nothing in this subdivision excludes from the term "wages" any payment50.24

made under any type of salary reduction agreement, including payments made under a50.25

cash or deferred arrangement and cafeteria plan, as defined in United States Code, title50.26

26, sections 401(k) and 125 of the federal Internal Revenue Code, to the extent that the50.27

employee has the option to receive the payment in cash.50.28

(c) Wages includes the total payment to the operator and supplier of a vehicle or50.29

other equipment where the payment combines compensation for personal services as well50.30

as compensation for the cost of operating and hiring the equipment in a single payment.50.31

This paragraph does not apply if:50.32

(1) there is a preexisting written agreement providing for allocation of specific50.33

amounts; or50.34

(2) at the time of each payment there is a written acknowledgement acknowledgment50.35

indicating the separate allocated amounts.50.36
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(d) Wages includes payments made for services as a caretaker. Unless there is a51.1

contract or other proof to the contrary, compensation is considered as being equally51.2

received by a married couple where the employer makes payment to only one spouse, or51.3

by all tenants of a household who perform services where two or more individuals share51.4

the same dwelling and the employer makes payment to only one individual.51.5

(e) Wages includes payments made for services by a migrant family. Where services51.6

are performed by a married couple or a family and an employer makes payment to only51.7

one individual, each worker is considered as having received an equal share of the51.8

compensation unless there is a contract or other proof to the contrary.51.9

(f) Wages includes advances or draws against future earnings, when paid, unless51.10

the payments are designated as a loan or return of capital on the books of the employer51.11

at the time of payment.51.12

(g) Wages includes payments made by a subchapter "S" corporation, as organized51.13

under the Internal Revenue Code, to or on behalf of officers and shareholders that are51.14

reasonable compensation for services performed for the corporation.51.15

For a subchapter "S" corporation, wages does not include:51.16

(1) a loan for business purposes to an officer or shareholder evidenced by a51.17

promissory note signed by an officer before the payment of the loan proceeds and recorded51.18

on the books and records of the corporation as a loan to an officer or shareholder;51.19

(2) a repayment of a loan or payment of interest on a loan made by an officer to the51.20

corporation and recorded on the books and records of the corporation as a liability;51.21

(3) a reimbursement of reasonable corporation expenses incurred by an officer and51.22

documented by a written expense voucher and recorded on the books and records of51.23

the corporation as corporate expenses; and51.24

(4) a reasonable lease or rental payment to an officer who owns property that is51.25

leased or rented to the corporation.51.26

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2015 Supplement, section 268.085, subdivision 2, is51.27

amended to read:51.28

Subd. 2. Not eligible. An applicant is ineligible for unemployment benefits for51.29

any week:51.30

(1) that occurs before the effective date of a benefit account;51.31

(2) that the applicant, at the beginning of any time during the week, has an51.32

outstanding fraud overpayment balance under section 268.18, subdivision 2, including51.33

any penalties and interest;51.34
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(3) that occurs in a period when the applicant is a student in attendance at, or on52.1

vacation from a secondary school including the period between academic years or terms;52.2

(4) that the applicant is incarcerated or performing court-ordered community service.52.3

The applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount is reduced by one-fifth for each day52.4

the applicant is incarcerated or performing court-ordered community service;52.5

(5) that the applicant fails or refuses to provide information on an issue of52.6

ineligibility required under section 268.101;52.7

(6) that the applicant is performing services 32 hours or more, in employment,52.8

covered employment, noncovered employment, volunteer work, or self-employment52.9

regardless of the amount of any earnings; or52.10

(7) with respect to which the applicant has filed an application for unemployment52.11

benefits under any federal law or the law of any other state. If the appropriate agency52.12

finally determines that the applicant is not entitled to establish a benefit account under52.13

federal law or the law of any other state, this clause does not apply.52.14

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.0865, subdivision 3, is amended to read:52.15

Subd. 3. Continued request for unemployment benefits by electronic52.16

transmission. (a) A continued request for unemployment benefits by electronic52.17

transmission must be filed to that electronic mail address, telephone number, or Internet52.18

address prescribed by the commissioner for that applicant. In order to constitute a52.19

continued request, all information asked for, including information authenticating that the52.20

applicant is sending the transmission, must be provided in the format required. If all of the52.21

information asked for is not provided, the communication does not constitute a continued52.22

request for unemployment benefits.52.23

(b) The continued request by electronic transmission communication must be filed52.24

within four calendar weeks following the week for which payment is requested on the52.25

date day of the week and during the time of day designated for the applicant for filing a52.26

continued request by electronic transmission.52.27

(c) If the electronic transmission continued request is not filed as required under52.28

paragraph (b), a continued request by electronic transmission must be accepted if the52.29

applicant files the continued request by electronic transmission within three calendar52.30

weeks following the week for which payment is requested. If the continued request by52.31

electronic transmission is not filed within three four calendar weeks following the week52.32

for which payment is requested, the electronic continued request will not be accepted52.33

and the applicant is ineligible for unemployment benefits for the period covered by the52.34
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continued request, unless the applicant shows good cause for failing to file the continued53.1

request by electronic transmission within the time period required.53.2

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.0865, subdivision 4, is amended to read:53.3

Subd. 4. Continued request for unemployment benefits by mail. (a) A53.4

continued request for unemployment benefits by mail must be on a form prescribed by53.5

the commissioner. The form, in order to constitute a continued request, must be totally53.6

completed and signed by the applicant. The form must be filed by mail, in an envelope53.7

with postage prepaid, and sent to the address designated during the week following the53.8

week for which payment is requested.53.9

(b) If the mail continued request for unemployment benefits is not filed as required53.10

under paragraph (a), a continued request must be accepted if the form is filed by mail53.11

within three four calendar weeks following the week for which payment is requested.53.12

(b) If the continued request form is not filed within three four calendar weeks53.13

following the week for which payment is requested, the form will not be accepted and the53.14

applicant is ineligible for unemployment benefits for the period covered by the continued53.15

request for unemployment benefits, unless the applicant shows good cause for failing to53.16

file the form by mail within the time period required.53.17

(c) If the applicant has been designated to file a continued request for unemployment53.18

benefits by mail, an applicant may submit the form by facsimile transmission within53.19

three four calendar weeks following the week for which payment is requested. A form53.20

submitted by facsimile transmission must be sent only to the telephone number assigned53.21

for that purpose.53.22

(d) An applicant who has been designated to file a continued request by mail may53.23

personally deliver a continued request form only to the location to which the form was53.24

otherwise designated to be mailed.53.25

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.095, subdivision 2, is amended to read:53.26

Subd. 2. Quit defined. (a) A quit from employment occurs when the decision to end53.27

the employment was, at the time the employment ended, the employee's.53.28

(b) When determining if an applicant quit, the theory of a constructive quit does53.29

not apply.53.30

(b) (c) An employee who has been notified that the employee will be discharged in53.31

the future, who chooses to end the employment while employment in any capacity is still53.32

available, is considered to have has quit the employment.53.33
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(c) (d) An employee who seeks to withdraw a previously submitted notice of quitting54.1

is considered to have has quit the employment, as of the intended date of quitting, if the54.2

employer does not agree that the notice may be withdrawn.54.3

(d) (e) An applicant who has quit employment with a staffing service if, within54.4

five calendar days after completion of a suitable job assignment from a staffing service,54.5

the applicant:54.6

(1) fails without good cause to affirmatively request an additional suitable job54.7

assignment,;54.8

(2) refuses without good cause an additional suitable job assignment offered,; or54.9

(3) accepts employment with the client of the staffing service, is considered to have54.10

quit employment with the staffing service. Accepting employment with the client of the54.11

staffing service meets the requirements of the exception to ineligibility under subdivision54.12

1, clause (2).54.13

This paragraph applies only if, at the time of beginning of employment with the54.14

staffing service, the applicant signed and was provided a copy of a separate document54.15

written in clear and concise language that informed the applicant of this paragraph and54.16

that unemployment benefits may be affected.54.17

For purposes of this paragraph, "good cause" is a reason that is significant and would54.18

compel an average, reasonable worker, who would otherwise want an additional suitable54.19

job assignment with the staffing service (1) to fail to contact the staffing service, or (2)54.20

to refuse an offered assignment.54.21

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.095, subdivision 5, is amended to read:54.22

Subd. 5. Discharge defined. (a) A discharge from employment occurs when any54.23

words or actions by an employer would lead a reasonable employee to believe that the54.24

employer will no longer allow the employee to work for the employer in any capacity. A54.25

layoff because of lack of work is considered a discharge. A suspension from employment54.26

without pay of more than 30 calendar days is considered a discharge.54.27

(b) When determining if an applicant was discharged, the theory of a constructive54.28

discharge does not apply.54.29

(b) (c) An employee who gives notice of intention to quit the employment and is not54.30

allowed by the employer to work the entire notice period is considered discharged from54.31

the employment as of the date the employer will no longer allow the employee to work. If54.32

the discharge occurs within 30 calendar days before the intended date of quitting, then,54.33

as of the intended date of quitting, the separation from employment is considered a quit54.34

from employment subject to subdivision 1.54.35
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(c) (d) The end of a job assignment with the client of a staffing service is considered55.1

a discharge from employment with the staffing service unless subdivision 2, paragraph55.2

(d), applies.55.3

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.18, is amended to read:55.4

268.18 UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFIT OVERPAYMENTS.55.5

Subdivision 1. Nonfraud Repaying an overpayment. (a) Any applicant who (1)55.6

because of a determination or amended determination issued under section 268.07 or55.7

268.101, or any other section of this chapter, or (2) because of an unemployment law55.8

judge's decision under section 268.105, has received any unemployment benefits that the55.9

applicant was held not entitled to, is overpaid the benefits, and must promptly repay the55.10

unemployment benefits to the trust fund.55.11

(b) If the applicant fails to repay the unemployment benefits overpaid, the55.12

commissioner may offset from any future unemployment benefits otherwise payable the55.13

amount of the overpayment. Except when the overpayment resulted because the applicant55.14

failed to report deductible earnings or deductible or benefit delaying payments, no single55.15

offset may exceed 50 percent of the amount of the payment from which the offset is made.55.16

The overpayment may also including any penalty and interest assessed under subdivisions55.17

2 and 2a, the total due may be collected by the methods allowed under state and federal law.55.18

(c) If an applicant has been overpaid unemployment benefits under the law of55.19

another state, because of a reason other than fraud, and that state certifies that the applicant55.20

is liable under its law to repay the unemployment benefits and requests the commissioner55.21

to recover the overpayment, the commissioner may offset from future unemployment55.22

benefits otherwise payable the amount of overpayment, except that no single offset may55.23

exceed 50 percent of the amount of the payment from which the offset is made.55.24

Subd. 2. Overpayment because of fraud. (a) Any An applicant who receives has55.25

committed fraud if the applicant is overpaid unemployment benefits by:55.26

(1) knowingly misrepresenting, misstating, or failing to disclose any material fact,;55.27

or who makes55.28

(2) making a false statement or representation without a good faith belief as to the55.29

correctness of the statement or representation, has committed fraud.55.30

After the discovery of facts indicating fraud, the commissioner must make issue a55.31

determination that the applicant obtained unemployment benefits by fraud and that the55.32

applicant must promptly repay the unemployment benefits to the trust fund. In addition, the55.33

commissioner must assess of overpayment penalty assessing a penalty equal to 40 percent55.34
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of the amount fraudulently obtained overpaid. This penalty is in addition to penalties under56.1

section 268.182. The determination is effective the Sunday of the week that it was issued.56.2

(b) Unless the applicant files an appeal within 20 calendar days after the sending of56.3

the a determination of overpayment by fraud penalty to the applicant by mail or electronic56.4

transmission, the determination is final. Proceedings on the appeal are conducted in56.5

accordance with section 268.105.56.6

(c) If the applicant fails to repay the unemployment benefits, penalty, and interest56.7

assessed, the total due may be collected by the methods allowed under state and federal56.8

law. A determination of overpayment by fraud penalty must state the methods of collection56.9

the commissioner may use to recover the overpayment, penalty, and interest assessed.56.10

Money received in repayment of fraudulently obtained overpaid unemployment benefits,56.11

penalties, and interest is first applied to the unemployment benefits overpaid, then to the56.12

penalty amount due, then to any interest due. 62.5 percent of the payments made toward the56.13

penalty are credited to the contingent account and 37.5 percent credited to the trust fund.56.14

(d) If an applicant has been overpaid unemployment benefits under the law of56.15

another state because of fraud and that state certifies that the applicant is liable to repay56.16

the unemployment benefits and requests the commissioner to recover the overpayment,56.17

the commissioner may offset from future unemployment benefits otherwise payable the56.18

amount of overpayment.56.19

(e) Regardless of the limitations in section 268.101, subdivision 2, paragraph (e),56.20

unemployment benefits paid for weeks more than four years before the date of (d) A56.21

determination of overpayment by fraud issued penalty under this subdivision are not56.22

considered overpaid unemployment benefits may be issued within 48 months of the56.23

establishment of the benefit account upon which the unemployment benefits were obtained56.24

though fraud.56.25

Subd. 2b. Interest. On any unemployment benefits fraudulently obtained, and any56.26

penalty amounts assessed under subdivision 2, the commissioner must assess interest at the56.27

rate of one percent per month on any amount that remains unpaid beginning 30 calendar56.28

days after the date of the a determination of overpayment by fraud penalty. A determination56.29

of overpayment by fraud penalty must state that interest will be assessed. Interest is56.30

assessed in the same manner as on employer debt under section 268.057, subdivision 5.56.31

Interest payments collected under this subdivision are credited to the trust fund.56.32

Subd. 3a. Offset of federal unemployment benefits. The commissioner is56.33

authorized to enter into reciprocal agreements with the United States Secretary of Labor,56.34

whereby, (a) The commissioner may offset from any future unemployment benefits56.35

otherwise payable the amount of a nonfraud overpayment. Except when the nonfraud56.36
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overpayment resulted because the applicant failed to report deductible earnings or57.1

deductible or benefit delaying payments, no single offset may exceed 50 percent of the57.2

amount of the payment from which the offset is made.57.3

(b) Overpayments of unemployment benefits as determined under a federal law57.4

program, may be recovered by offset from unemployment future benefits otherwise57.5

payable and.57.6

(c) If an applicant has been overpaid unemployment benefits under the law of57.7

another state, the commissioner may offset from future benefits otherwise payable the57.8

amount of overpayment.57.9

(d) Nonfraud unemployment benefit overpayments under subdivisions 1 and 257.10

may be recovered by offset from unemployment future benefits otherwise payable under57.11

a federal program.57.12

Subd. 4. Cancellation of overpayments. (a) If unemployment benefits overpaid57.13

under subdivision 1 for reasons other than fraud are not repaid or offset from subsequent57.14

unemployment benefits as provided for in subdivision 1 within six years after the date57.15

of the determination or decision holding the applicant overpaid, the commissioner must57.16

cancel the overpayment balance, and no administrative or legal proceedings may be used57.17

to enforce collection of those amounts.57.18

(b) If unemployment benefits determined overpaid under subdivision 2 because of57.19

fraud including penalties and interest are not repaid within ten years after the date of57.20

the determination of overpayment by fraud penalty, the commissioner must cancel the57.21

overpayment balance and any penalties and interest due, and no administrative or legal57.22

proceeding may be used to enforce collection of those amounts.57.23

(c) The commissioner may cancel at any time any overpayment, including penalties57.24

and interest, that the commissioner determines is uncollectible because of death or57.25

bankruptcy.57.26

Subd. 4a. Court fees; collection fees. (a) If the commissioner department57.27

is required to pay any court fees in an attempt to enforce collection of overpaid57.28

unemployment benefits, penalties, or interest, the commissioner may add the amount of57.29

the court fees may be added to the total amount due.57.30

(b) If an applicant who has been determined overpaid unemployment benefits57.31

because of fraud seeks to have any portion of the debt discharged under the federal57.32

bankruptcy code, and the commissioner department files an objection in bankruptcy court57.33

to the discharge, the commissioner may add the commissioner's cost of any court fees may57.34

be added to the debt if the bankruptcy court does not discharge the debt.57.35
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(c) If the Internal Revenue Service assesses the commissioner department a fee for58.1

offsetting from a federal tax refund the amount of any overpayment, including penalties58.2

and interest, the amount of the fee may be added to the total amount due. The offset58.3

amount must be put in the trust fund and that amount credited to the total amount due58.4

from the applicant.58.5

Subd. 5. Remedies. (a) Any method undertaken to recover an overpayment of58.6

unemployment benefits, including any penalties and interest, is not considered an election58.7

of a method of recovery.58.8

(b) Intervention or lack thereof, in whole or in part, in a workers' compensation58.9

matter under section 176.361 is not considered an election of a remedy and does not58.10

prevent the commissioner from determining any unemployment benefits overpaid under58.11

subdivision 1 or 2 or taking action under section 268.182.58.12

Subd. 6. Collection of overpayments. (a) The commissioner may not compromise58.13

the amount that has been determined of any overpaid under this section unemployment58.14

benefits including penalties and interest.58.15

(b) The commissioner has discretion regarding the recovery of any overpayment58.16

under subdivision 1 for reasons other than fraud. Regardless of any law to the contrary, the58.17

commissioner is not required to refer any amount determined overpaid under subdivision58.18

1 overpayment for reasons other than fraud to a public or private collection agency,58.19

including agencies of this state.58.20

(c) Amounts determined overpaid under subdivision 1 for reasons other than fraud58.21

are not considered a "debt" to the state of Minnesota for purposes of any reporting58.22

requirements to the commissioner of management and budget.58.23

(d) A pending appeal under section 268.105 does not suspend the assessment of58.24

interest, penalties, or collection of an overpayment under this section.58.25

(e) Section 16A.626 applies to the repayment by an applicant of any overpayment,58.26

penalty, or interest under this section.58.27

Sec. 9. EFFECTIVE DATE.58.28

This article is effective July 31, 2016, unless indicated otherwise.58.29

ARTICLE 1058.30

UNEMPLOYMENT INSURANCE ADVISORY COUNCIL TECHNICAL58.31

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.035, is amended by adding a58.32

subdivision to read:58.33
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Subd. 12e. Earnings. "Earnings" means all compensation to which the applicant has59.1

a legal claim and is earned income under state and federal law for income tax purposes.59.2

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.035, subdivision 20, is amended to read:59.3

Subd. 20. Noncovered employment. "Noncovered employment" means:59.4

(1) employment for the United States government or an instrumentality thereof,59.5

including military service;59.6

(2) employment for a state, other than Minnesota, or a political subdivision or59.7

instrumentality thereof;59.8

(3) employment for a foreign government;59.9

(4) employment for an instrumentality wholly owned by a foreign government,59.10

if the employment is of a character similar to that performed in foreign countries by59.11

employees of the United States government or an instrumentality thereof and the United59.12

States Secretary of State has certified that the foreign government grants an equivalent59.13

exemption to similar employment performed in the foreign country by employees of the59.14

United States government and instrumentalities thereof;59.15

(5) (4) employment covered under United States Code, title 45, section 351, the59.16

federal Railroad Unemployment Insurance Act;59.17

(6) employment covered by a reciprocal arrangement between the commissioner and59.18

another state or the federal government that provides that all employment performed by an59.19

individual for an employer during the period covered by the reciprocal arrangement is59.20

considered performed entirely within another state;59.21

(7) (5) employment for a church or convention or association of churches, or an59.22

a nonprofit organization operated primarily for religious purposes that is operated,59.23

supervised, controlled, or principally supported by a church or convention or association59.24

of churches described in United States Code, title 26, section 501(c)(3) of the federal59.25

Internal Revenue Code and exempt from income tax under section 501(a);59.26

(8) (6) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or a nonprofit59.27

organization, of a duly ordained or licensed minister of a church in the exercise of a59.28

ministry or by a member of a religious order in the exercise of duties required by the order,59.29

for Minnesota or a political subdivision or an organization described in United States59.30

Code, title 26, section 501(c)(3) of the federal Internal Revenue Code and exempt from59.31

income tax under section 501(a);59.32

(9) (7) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or a nonprofit59.33

organization, of an individual receiving rehabilitation of "sheltered" work in a facility59.34

conducted for the purpose of carrying out a program of rehabilitation for individuals59.35
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whose earning capacity is impaired by age or physical or mental deficiency or injury or a60.1

program providing "sheltered" work for individuals who because of an impaired physical60.2

or mental capacity cannot be readily absorbed in the competitive labor market. This60.3

clause applies only to services performed for Minnesota or a political subdivision or an60.4

organization described in United States Code, title 26, section 501(c)(3) of the federal60.5

Internal Revenue Code and exempt from income tax under section 501(a) in a facility60.6

certified by the Rehabilitation Services Branch of the department or in a day training or60.7

habilitation program licensed by the Department of Human Services;60.8

(10) (8) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, or a nonprofit60.9

organization, of an individual receiving work relief or work training as part of an60.10

unemployment work relief or work training program assisted or financed in whole or60.11

in part by any federal agency or an agency of a state or political subdivision thereof.60.12

This clause applies only to employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision or an60.13

organization described in United States Code, title 26, section 501(c)(3) of the federal60.14

Internal Revenue Code and exempt from income tax under section 501(a). This clause does60.15

not apply to programs that require unemployment benefit coverage for the participants;60.16

(11) (9) employment for Minnesota or a political subdivision, as an elected official, a60.17

member of a legislative body, or a member of the judiciary;60.18

(12) (10) employment as a member of the Minnesota National Guard or Air National60.19

Guard;60.20

(13) (11) employment for Minnesota, or a political subdivision, or instrumentality60.21

thereof, as an employee of an individual serving only on a temporary basis in case of60.22

fire, flood, tornado, or similar emergency;60.23

(14) (12) employment as an election official or election worker for Minnesota or60.24

a political subdivision, but only if the compensation for that employment was less than60.25

$1,000 in a calendar year;60.26

(15) (13) employment for Minnesota that is a major policy-making or advisory60.27

position in the unclassified service;60.28

(16) (14) employment for Minnesota in an unclassified position established under60.29

section 43A.08, subdivision 1a;60.30

(17) (15) employment for a political subdivision of Minnesota that is a nontenured60.31

major policy making or advisory position;60.32

(18) (16) domestic employment in a private household, local college club, or local60.33

chapter of a college fraternity or sorority performed for a person, only, if the wages paid60.34

in any calendar quarter in either the current or prior calendar year to all individuals in60.35

domestic employment totaled less than $1,000.60.36
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"Domestic employment" includes all service in the operation and maintenance of a61.1

private household, for a local college club, or local chapter of a college fraternity or61.2

sorority as distinguished from service as an employee in the pursuit of an employer's61.3

trade or business;61.4

(19) (17) employment of an individual by a son, daughter, or spouse, and61.5

employment of a child under the age of 18 by the child's father or mother;61.6

(20) (18) employment of an inmate of a custodial or penal institution;61.7

(21) (19) employment for a school, college, or university, by a student who is61.8

enrolled and whose primary relation to the school, college, or university is as a student.61.9

This does not include an individual whose primary relation to the school, college, or61.10

university is as an employee who also takes courses;61.11

(22) (20) employment of an individual who is enrolled as a student in a full-time61.12

program at a nonprofit or public educational institution that maintains a regular faculty61.13

and curriculum and has a regularly organized body of students in attendance at the place61.14

where its educational activities are carried on, taken for credit at the institution, that61.15

combines academic instruction with work experience, if the employment is an integral61.16

part of the program, and the institution has so certified to the employer, except that this61.17

clause does not apply to employment in a program established for or on behalf of an61.18

employer or group of employers;61.19

(23) (21) employment of university, college, or professional school students in an61.20

internship or other training program with the city of St. Paul or the city of Minneapolis61.21

under Laws 1990, chapter 570, article 6, section 3;61.22

(24) (22) employment for a hospital by a patient of the hospital. "Hospital" means61.23

an institution that has been licensed by the Department of Health as a hospital;61.24

(25) (23) employment as a student nurse for a hospital or a nurses' training school by61.25

an individual who is enrolled and is regularly attending classes in an accredited nurses'61.26

training school;61.27

(26) (24) employment as an intern for a hospital by an individual who has completed61.28

a four-year course in an accredited medical school;61.29

(27) (25) employment as an insurance salesperson, by other than a corporate61.30

officer, if all the wages from the employment is solely by way of commission. The word61.31

"insurance" includes an annuity and an optional annuity;61.32

(28) (26) employment as an officer of a township mutual insurance company or61.33

farmer's mutual insurance company operating under chapter 67A;61.34

(29) (27) employment of a corporate officer, if the officer directly or indirectly,61.35

including through a subsidiary or holding company, owns 25 percent or more of the61.36
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employer corporation, and employment of a member of a limited liability company, if the62.1

member directly or indirectly, including through a subsidiary or holding company, owns62.2

25 percent or more of the employer limited liability company;62.3

(30) (28) employment as a real estate salesperson, by other than a corporate officer,62.4

if all the wages from the employment is solely by way of commission;62.5

(31) (29) employment as a direct seller as defined in United States Code, title 26,62.6

section 3508;62.7

(32) (30) employment of an individual under the age of 18 in the delivery or62.8

distribution of newspapers or shopping news, not including delivery or distribution to any62.9

point for subsequent delivery or distribution;62.10

(33) (31) casual employment performed for an individual, other than domestic62.11

employment under clause (18) (16), that does not promote or advance that employer's62.12

trade or business;62.13

(34) (32) employment in "agricultural employment" unless considered it is "covered62.14

agricultural employment" under subdivision 11; or62.15

(35) (33) if employment during one-half or more of any pay period was covered62.16

employment, all the employment for the pay period is considered covered employment;62.17

but if during more than one-half of any pay period the employment was noncovered62.18

employment, then all of the employment for the pay period is considered noncovered62.19

employment. "Pay period" means a period of not more than a calendar month for which a62.20

payment or compensation is ordinarily made to the employee by the employer.62.21

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.035, is amended by adding a subdivision62.22

to read:62.23

Subd. 20b. Nonprofit organization. "Nonprofit organization" means an62.24

organization described in United States Code, title 26, section 501(c)(3), and is exempt62.25

from income tax under section 501(a).62.26

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.035, subdivision 23a, is amended to read:62.27

Subd. 23a. Suitable employment. (a) Suitable employment means employment in62.28

the applicant's labor market area that is reasonably related to the applicant's qualifications.62.29

In determining whether any employment is suitable for an applicant, the degree of risk62.30

involved to the health and safety, physical fitness, prior training, experience, length62.31

of unemployment, prospects for securing employment in the applicant's customary62.32

occupation, and the distance of the employment from the applicant's residence is62.33

considered.62.34
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(b) In determining what is suitable employment, primary consideration is given to the63.1

temporary or permanent nature of the applicant's separation from employment and whether63.2

the applicant has favorable prospects of finding employment in the applicant's usual or63.3

customary occupation at the applicant's past wage level within a reasonable period of time.63.4

If prospects are unfavorable, employment at lower skill or wage levels is suitable63.5

if the applicant is reasonably suited for the employment considering the applicant's63.6

education, training, work experience, and current physical and mental ability.63.7

The total compensation must be considered, including the wage rate, hours of63.8

employment, method of payment, overtime practices, bonuses, incentive payments, and63.9

fringe benefits.63.10

(c) When potential employment is at a rate of pay lower than the applicant's former63.11

rate, consideration must be given to the length of the applicant's unemployment and the63.12

proportion of difference in the rates. Employment that may not be suitable because of63.13

lower wages during the early weeks of the applicant's unemployment may become suitable63.14

as the duration of unemployment lengthens.63.15

(d) For an applicant seasonally unemployed, suitable employment includes63.16

temporary work in a lower skilled occupation that pays average gross weekly wages equal63.17

to or more than 150 percent of the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount.63.18

(e) If a majority of the applicant's weeks of employment in the base period includes63.19

part-time employment, part-time employment in a position with comparable skills and63.20

comparable hours that pays comparable wages is considered suitable employment.63.21

Full-time employment is not considered suitable employment for an applicant if a63.22

majority of the applicant's weeks of employment in the base period includes part-time63.23

employment.63.24

(f) To determine suitability of employment in terms of shifts, the arrangement of63.25

hours in addition to the total number of hours is to be considered. Employment on a63.26

second, third, rotating, or split shift is suitable employment if it is customary in the63.27

occupation in the labor market area.63.28

(g) Employment is not considered suitable if:63.29

(1) the position offered is vacant because of a labor dispute;63.30

(2) the wages, hours, or other conditions of employment are substantially less63.31

favorable than those prevailing for similar employment in the labor market area; or63.32

(3) as a condition of becoming employed, the applicant would be required to join a63.33

company union or to resign from or refrain from joining any bona fide labor organization; or63.34

(4) the employment is with a staffing service and less than 25 percent of the63.35

applicant's wage credits are from a job assignment with the client of a staffing service.63.36

Article 10 Sec. 4. 63



04/14/16 06:33 PM HOUSE RESEARCH AN/SK AN-A09

(h) A job assignment with a staffing service is considered suitable only if 2564.1

percent or more of the applicant's wage credits are from job assignments with clients of64.2

a staffing service and the job assignment meets the definition of suitable employment64.3

under paragraph (a).64.4

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.085, subdivision 4, is amended to read:64.5

Subd. 4. Social Security old age insurance benefits. (a) Any applicant aged 62 or64.6

over is required to state when filing an application for unemployment benefits and when64.7

filing continued requests for unemployment benefits if the applicant is receiving, has filed64.8

for, or intends to file for, primary Social Security old age benefits.64.9

(b) Unless paragraph (b) (c) applies, 50 percent of the weekly equivalent of the64.10

primary Social Security old age benefit the applicant has received, has filed for, or64.11

intends to file for, with respect to that week must be deducted from an applicant's weekly64.12

unemployment benefit amount.64.13

(b) (c) If all of the applicant's wage credits were earned while the applicant was64.14

claiming Social Security old age benefits, there is no deduction of the Social Security64.15

benefits from the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount.64.16

(c) (d) Information from the Social Security Administration is considered conclusive,64.17

absent specific evidence showing that the information was erroneous.64.18

(d) (e) This subdivision does not apply to Social Security survivor benefits.64.19

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 268.085, subdivision 5, is amended to read:64.20

Subd. 5. Deductible earnings. (a) If the applicant has earnings, including holiday64.21

pay, with respect to any week, from employment, covered employment, noncovered64.22

employment, self-employment, or volunteer work, equal to or in excess of the applicant's64.23

weekly unemployment benefit amount, the applicant is ineligible for unemployment64.24

benefits for that week.64.25

(b) If the applicant has earnings, including holiday pay, with respect to any week,64.26

that is less than the applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount, from employment,64.27

covered employment, noncovered employment, self-employment, or volunteer work, 5064.28

percent of the earnings are deducted from the weekly unemployment benefit amount.64.29

(c) No deduction is made from an applicant's weekly unemployment benefit amount64.30

for earnings from service in the National Guard or a United States military reserve unit or64.31

from direct service as a volunteer firefighter or volunteer ambulance service personnel.64.32

This exception to paragraphs (a) and (b) does not apply to on-call or standby pay provided64.33
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to a volunteer firefighter or volunteer ambulance service personnel. No deduction is made65.1

for jury duty pay or for pay as an election judge.65.2

(d) The applicant may report deductible earnings on continued requests for65.3

unemployment benefits at the next lower whole dollar amount.65.4

(e) Deductible earnings does not include any money considered that is a deductible65.5

payment under subdivision 3, but includes all compensation considered wages under65.6

section 268.035, subdivision 29, and any other compensation considered earned income65.7

under state and federal law for income tax purposes.65.8

Sec. 7. REVISOR'S INSTRUCTION.65.9

(a) The revisor of statutes shall change "liability" to "liability for damages" in65.10

Minnesota Rules, part 3315.0555, subpart 1.65.11

(b) The revisor of statutes shall change "entitled to" to "eligible for" in Minnesota65.12

Statutes, section 268.085, subdivision 1, clause (6).65.13

(c) The revisor of statutes shall change "shall calculate" to "must calculate" in65.14

Minnesota Statutes, section 268.035, subdivision 23.65.15

(d) The revisor of statutes shall renumber Minnesota Statutes, section 268.035,65.16

subdivision 12d, to subdivision 12f.65.17

(e) The revisor of statutes shall reletter the paragraphs in Minnesota Statutes, section65.18

268.085, subdivision 4, as follows:65.19

(1) paragraph (a) shall be relettered paragraph (c); and65.20

(2) paragraph (c) shall be relettered paragraph (a).65.21

(f) The revisor of statutes shall renumber the reference to "clause (29)" to "clause65.22

(27)" in Minnesota Statutes, section 268.046, subdivision 1.65.23

(g) The revisor of statutes shall renumber the reference to "clause (10)" to "clause65.24

(8)" in Minnesota Statutes, section 383C.19.65.25

Sec. 8. EFFECTIVE DATE.65.26

This article is effective July 31, 2016, and applies to all matters pending a65.27

determination or a decision by an unemployment law judge.65.28

ARTICLE 1165.29

TELEPHONE REGULATION65.30

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 237.01, is amended by adding a65.31

subdivision to read:65.32
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Subd. 9. Voice-over-Internet protocol service. "Voice-over-Internet protocol66.1

service" or "VoIP service" means any service that (1) enables real-time two-way voice66.2

communications that originate from or terminate at the user's location in Internet protocol66.3

or any successor protocol, and (2) permits users generally to receive calls that originate66.4

on the public switched telephone network and terminate calls to the public switched66.5

telephone network.66.6

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 237.01, is amended by adding a subdivision66.7

to read:66.8

Subd. 10. Internet protocol-enabled service. "Internet protocol-enabled service"66.9

or "IP-enabled service" means any service, capability, functionality, or application66.10

provided using Internet protocol, or any successor protocol, that enables an end user to66.11

send or receive a communication in Internet protocol format or any successor format,66.12

regardless of whether that communication is voice, data, or video.66.13

Sec. 3. [237.037] VOICE-OVER-INTERNET PROTOCOL SERVICE AND66.14

INTERNET PROTOCOL-ENABLED SERVICE.66.15

Subdivision 1. Regulation prohibited. Except as provided in this section, no66.16

state agency, including the commission and the Department of Commerce, or political66.17

subdivision of this state shall by rule, order, or other means directly or indirectly regulate66.18

the entry, rates, terms, quality of service, availability, classification, or any other aspect of66.19

VoIP service or IP-enabled service.66.20

Subd. 2. VoIP regulation. (a) To the extent permitted by federal law, VoIP service66.21

is subject to the requirements of sections 237.49, 237.52, 237.70, and 403.11 with regard66.22

to the collection and remittance of the surcharges governed by those sections.66.23

(b) A service provider required by state or federal law to provide 911 service must66.24

comply with all the requirements of chapter 403 regarding the provision of 911 service by66.25

a service provider.66.26

Subd. 3. Relation to other law. Nothing in this section restricts, creates, expands,66.27

or otherwise affects or modifies:66.28

(1) the commission's authority under the Federal Communications Act of 1934,66.29

United States Code, title 47, sections 251 and 252;66.30

(2) any applicable wholesale tariff or any commission authority related to wholesale66.31

services;66.32

(3) any commission jurisdiction over (i) intrastate switched access rates, terms,66.33

and conditions, including the implementation of federal law with respect to intercarrier66.34
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compensation, or (ii) existing commission authority to address or affect the resolution of67.1

disputes regarding intercarrier compensation;67.2

(4) the rights of any entity, or the authority of the commission and local government67.3

authorities, with respect to the use and regulation of public rights-of-way under sections67.4

237.162 and 237.163; or67.5

(5) the establishment or enforcement of standards, requirements or procedures in67.6

procurement policies, internal operational policies, or work rules of any state agency or67.7

political subdivision of the state relating to the protection of individual property.67.8

Subd. 4. Exemption. The following services delivered by IP-enabled service are67.9

not regulated under this chapter:67.10

(1) video services provided by a cable communications system, as defined in section67.11

238.02, subdivision 3; or67.12

(2) cable service, as defined in United States Code, title 47, section 522, clause (6); or67.13

(3) any other IP-enabled video service.67.14

ARTICLE 1267.15

BROADBAND DEVELOPMENT67.16

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2015 Supplement, section 116J.394, is amended to read:67.17

116J.394 DEFINITIONS.67.18

(a) For the purposes of sections 116J.394 to 116J.396 116J.398, the following terms67.19

have the meanings given them.67.20

(b) "Broadband" or "broadband service" has the meaning given in section 116J.39,67.21

subdivision 1, paragraph (b).67.22

(c) "Broadband infrastructure" means networks of deployed telecommunications67.23

equipment and technologies necessary to provide high-speed Internet access and other67.24

advanced telecommunications services for end users.67.25

(d) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of employment and economic67.26

development.67.27

(e) "Last-mile infrastructure" means broadband infrastructure that serves as the67.28

final leg connecting the broadband service provider's network to the end-use customer's67.29

on-premises telecommunications equipment.67.30

(f) "Middle-mile infrastructure" means broadband infrastructure that links a67.31

broadband service provider's core network infrastructure to last-mile infrastructure.67.32

(g) "Political subdivision" means any county, city, town, school district, special67.33

district or other political subdivision, or public corporation.67.34
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(h) "Underserved areas" means areas of Minnesota in which households or businesses68.1

lack access to wire-line broadband service at speeds that meet the state broadband goals of68.2

ten to 20 megabits per second download and five to ten megabits per second upload.68.3

(i) "Unserved areas" means areas of Minnesota in which households or businesses68.4

lack access to wire-line broadband service, as defined in section 116J.39.68.5

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.68.6

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 116J.395, subdivision 4, is amended to read:68.7

Subd. 4. Application process. (a) An eligible applicant must submit an application68.8

to the commissioner on a form prescribed by the commissioner. The commissioner shall68.9

develop administrative procedures governing the application and grant award process.68.10

The commissioner shall act as fiscal agent for the grant program and shall be responsible68.11

for receiving and reviewing grant applications and awarding grants under this section.68.12

(b) At least 30 days prior to the first day applications may be submitted each fiscal68.13

year, the commissioner must publish the specific criteria and any quantitative weighting68.14

scheme or scoring system the commissioner will use to evaluate or rank applications and68.15

award grants under subdivision 6 on the department's Web site.68.16

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.68.17

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 116J.395, is amended by adding a subdivision68.18

to read:68.19

Subd. 5a. Incumbent right of first refusal. (a) An applicant shall submit a copy of68.20

its application to all incumbent broadband service providers operating in the geographic68.21

area in which the proposed project is to be located at the same time the application is68.22

submitted to the commissioner.68.23

(b) An applicant shall withdraw its application if it receives notice in writing from an68.24

incumbent broadband service provider of the service provider's intention and commitment68.25

to begin construction, within 12 months of the date on which grant awards are to be68.26

made under this section, and to complete construction within 24 months of that date, of a68.27

project to extend or upgrade broadband service to speeds equal to or greater than the state68.28

broadband speed goal contained in section 237.012, subdivision 1, throughout the area in68.29

which the proposed project that is the subject of the application is to be located.68.30

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.68.31

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 116J.395, subdivision 6, is amended to read:68.32
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Subd. 6. Awarding grants. (a) In evaluating applications and awarding grants, the69.1

commissioner shall give priority to applications that are constructed in areas identified by69.2

the director of the Office of Broadband Development as unserved.69.3

(b) In evaluating applications and awarding grants, the commissioner may give69.4

priority to applications that:69.5

(1) are constructed in areas identified by the director of the Office of Broadband69.6

Development as underserved;69.7

(2) offer new or substantially upgraded broadband service to important community69.8

institutions including, but not limited to, libraries, educational institutions, public safety69.9

facilities, and healthcare facilities;69.10

(3) facilitate the use of telemedicine and electronic health records;69.11

(4) serve economically distressed areas of the state, as measured by indices of69.12

unemployment, poverty, or population loss that are significantly greater than the statewide69.13

average;69.14

(5) provide technical support and train residents, businesses, and institutions in the69.15

community served by the project to utilize broadband service;69.16

(6) include a component to actively promote the adoption of the newly available69.17

broadband services in the community;69.18

(7) provide evidence of strong support for the project from citizens, government,69.19

businesses, and institutions in the community;69.20

(8) provide access to broadband service to a greater number of unserved or69.21

underserved households and businesses; or69.22

(9) leverage greater amounts of funding for the project from other private and69.23

public sources.69.24

(c) The commissioner shall endeavor to award grants under this section to qualified69.25

applicants in all regions of the state.69.26

(d) Within 90 days after the first grant is awarded under this section in a fiscal year,69.27

the commissioner shall notify in writing each applicant who did not receive a grant why69.28

the specific application was unsuccessful.69.29

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.69.30

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 116J.395, is amended by adding a subdivision69.31

to read:69.32

Subd. 8. Application evaluation report. By June 30 of each year, the Office of69.33

Broadband Development shall place on the Department of Employment and Economic69.34

Development's Web site and provide to the chairs and ranking minority members of the69.35
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senate and house of representatives committees with primary jurisdiction over broadband70.1

a list of all applications for grants under this section received during the previous year70.2

and, for each application:70.3

(1) the results of any quantitative weighting scheme or scoring system the70.4

commissioner used to award grants or rank the applications;70.5

(2) the grant amount requested; and70.6

(3) the grant amount awarded, if any.70.7

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.70.8

The initial report submission required under this section is due June 30, 2016.70.9

Sec. 6. [116J.397] UPDATED BROADBANDDEPLOYMENTDATAANDMAPS.70.10

Beginning in 2016, and continuing each year thereafter, the Office of Broadband70.11

Development shall contract with one or more independent organizations that have70.12

extensive experience working with Minnesota broadband providers to:70.13

(1) collect broadband deployment data from Minnesota providers, verify its accuracy70.14

through on-the-ground testing, and create state and county maps available to the public by70.15

February 1, 2017, and each February 1 thereafter, showing the availability of broadband70.16

service at various upload and download speeds throughout Minnesota;70.17

(2) analyze the deployment data collected to help inform future investments in70.18

broadband infrastructure; and70.19

(3) conduct business and residential surveys that measure broadband adoption and70.20

use in the state.70.21

Data provided by a broadband provider under this section is nonpublic data under70.22

section 13.02, subdivision 9. Maps produced under this paragraph are public data under70.23

section 13.03.70.24

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.70.25

Sec. 7. [116J.398] BROADBAND PREVAILING WAGE EXEMPTION.70.26

Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, Sections 116J.871 and 177.4170.27

through 177.44 do not apply to the construction, installation, remodeling, and repair of last70.28

mile infrastructure as defined under section 116J.394, paragraph (e).70.29

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.70.30

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 237.012, subdivision 1, is amended to read:70.31

Article 12 Sec. 8. 70



04/14/16 06:33 PM HOUSE RESEARCH AN/SK AN-A09

Subdivision 1. Universal access and high-speed goal. It is a state goal that as soon71.1

as possible, but no later than 2015 2020, all state residents and businesses have access to71.2

high-speed broadband that provides minimum download speeds of ten to 20 megabits per71.3

second and minimum upload speeds of five to ten megabits per second.71.4

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.71.5

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 237.012, subdivision 2, is amended to read:71.6

Subd. 2. State broadband leadership position. It is a goal of the state that by71.7

2015 2020 and thereafter, the state be in:71.8

(1) the top five states of the United States for broadband speed universally accessible71.9

to residents and businesses;71.10

(2) the top five states for broadband access; and71.11

(3) the top 15 when compared to countries globally for broadband penetration.71.12

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.71.13

ARTICLE 1371.14

ENERGY71.15

Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 116C.779, subdivision 1, is amended to71.16

read:71.17

Subdivision 1. Renewable development account. (a) Except as provided in71.18

subdivision 1a, the public utility that owns the Prairie Island nuclear generating plant71.19

must transfer to a renewable development account $500,000 each year for each dry cask71.20

containing spent fuel that is located at the Prairie Island power plant for each year the plant71.21

is in operation, and $7,500,000 each year the plant is not in operation if ordered by the71.22

commission pursuant to paragraph (c). The fund transfer must be made if nuclear waste71.23

is stored in a dry cask at the independent spent-fuel storage facility at Prairie Island for71.24

any part of a year.71.25

(b) Except as provided in subdivision 1a, the public utility that owns the Monticello71.26

nuclear generating plant must transfer to the renewable development account $350,00071.27

each year for each dry cask containing spent fuel that is located at the Monticello nuclear71.28

power plant for each year the plant is in operation, and $5,250,000 each year the plant is71.29

not in operation if ordered by the commission pursuant to paragraph (c). The fund transfer71.30

must be made if nuclear waste is stored in a dry cask at the independent spent-fuel storage71.31

facility at Monticello for any part of a year.71.32
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(c) After discontinuation of operation of the Prairie Island nuclear plant or the72.1

Monticello nuclear plant and each year spent nuclear fuel is stored in dry cask at the72.2

discontinued facility, the commission shall require the public utility to pay $7,500,000 for72.3

the discontinued Prairie Island facility and $5,250,000 for the discontinued Monticello72.4

facility for any year in which the commission finds, by the preponderance of the evidence,72.5

that the public utility did not make a good faith effort to remove the spent nuclear72.6

fuel stored at the facility to a permanent or interim storage site out of the state. This72.7

determination shall be made at least every two years.72.8

(d) Funds in the account may be expended only for any of the following purposes:72.9

(1) to increase the market penetration within the state of renewable electric energy72.10

resources at reasonable costs;72.11

(2) to promote the start-up, expansion, and attraction of renewable electric energy72.12

projects and companies within the state;72.13

(3) to stimulate research and development within the state into renewable electric72.14

energy technologies; and72.15

(4) to develop near-commercial and demonstration scale renewable electric projects72.16

or near-commercial and demonstration scale electric infrastructure delivery projects if72.17

those delivery projects enhance the delivery of renewable electric energy.72.18

The utility that owns a nuclear generating plant is eligible to apply for renewable72.19

development account grants.72.20

(e) Expenditures authorized by this subdivision from the account may be made only72.21

after approval by order of the Public Utilities Commission upon a petition by the public72.22

utility. The commission may approve proposed expenditures, may disapprove proposed72.23

expenditures that it finds to be not in compliance with this subdivision or otherwise72.24

not in the public interest, and may, if agreed to by the public utility, modify proposed72.25

expenditures. The commission may approve reasonable and necessary expenditures72.26

for administering the account in an amount not to exceed five percent of expenditures.72.27

Commission approval is not required for expenditures required under subdivisions 272.28

and 3, section 116C.7791, or other law.72.29

(f) The account shall be managed by the public utility but the public utility must72.30

consult about account expenditures with an advisory group that includes, among others,72.31

representatives of its ratepayers. The commission may require that other interests be72.32

represented on the advisory group. The advisory group must be consulted with respect to72.33

the general scope of expenditures in designing a request for proposal and in evaluating72.34

projects submitted in response to a request for proposals. In addition to consulting with the72.35

advisory group, the public utility must utilize an independent third-party expert to evaluate72.36
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proposals submitted in response to a request for proposal, including all proposals made by73.1

the public utility. A request for proposal for research and development under paragraph (d),73.2

clause (3), may be limited to or include a request to higher education institutions located in73.3

Minnesota for multiple projects authorized under paragraph (d), clause (3). The request for73.4

multiple projects may include a provision that exempts the projects from the third-party73.5

expert review and instead provides for project evaluation and selection by a merit peer73.6

review grant system. The utility should attempt to reach agreement with the advisory73.7

group after consulting with it but the utility has full and sole authority to determine which73.8

expenditures shall be submitted to the commission for commission approval. In the73.9

process of determining request for proposal scope and subject and in evaluating responses73.10

to request for proposals, the public utility must strongly consider, where reasonable,73.11

potential benefit to Minnesota citizens and businesses and the utility's ratepayers.73.12

(g) Funds in the account may not be directly appropriated by the legislature by a law73.13

enacted after January 1, 2012, and unless appropriated by a law enacted prior to that date73.14

may be expended only pursuant to an order of the commission according to this subdivision.73.15

(h) A request for proposal for renewable energy generation projects must, when73.16

feasible and reasonable, give preference to projects that are most cost-effective for a73.17

particular energy source.73.18

(i) The public utility must annually, by February 15, report to the chairs and ranking73.19

minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over energy policy on73.20

projects funded by the account for the prior year and all previous years. The report must,73.21

to the extent possible and reasonable, itemize the actual and projected financial benefit to73.22

the public utility's ratepayers of each project.73.23

(j) A project receiving funds from the account must produce a written final report73.24

that includes sufficient detail for technical readers and a clearly written summary for73.25

nontechnical readers. The report must include an evaluation of the project's financial,73.26

environmental, and other benefits to the state and the public utility's ratepayers.73.27

(k) Final reports, any mid-project status reports, and renewable development account73.28

financial reports must be posted online on a public Web site designated by the commission.73.29

(l) All final reports must acknowledge that the project was made possible in whole73.30

or part by the Minnesota renewable development fund, noting that the fund is financed73.31

by the public utility's ratepayers.73.32

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 116C.779, is amended by adding a subdivision73.33

to read:73.34
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Subd. 1a. Payment termination. (a) The commissioner shall track the cumulative74.1

transfers made to the account each year since 1999 for each dry cask containing spent fuel74.2

that is stored at an independent spent-fuel storage facility at Prairie Island and Monticello.74.3

During the time when state law required the public utility to transfer a specific amount of74.4

funds to the account for all the casks stored, the per-cask allocation shall be calculated by74.5

dividing the total amount transferred by the number of casks stored that year.74.6

(b) When the commissioner determines that the cumulative transfers calculated74.7

under paragraph (a) for a specific cask reach $10,000,000, the commissioner shall notify74.8

the public utility that no additional transfers to the account for that cask shall be made.74.9

(c) This subdivision does not affect any provisions of subdivision 1, paragraph (a) or74.10

(b), with respect to transfers to the account made after a plant has ceased operation.74.11

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 216A.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:74.12

Subdivision 1. Members. The Public Utilities Commission shall consist of five nine74.13

members, eight of whom shall each represent one of the state's congressional districts, and74.14

one member appointed at large. At the time of appointment, each member, except for the74.15

at-large appointee, must reside in the congressional district the member is to represent.74.16

The terms of members shall be six years and until their successors have been appointed74.17

and qualified. Each commissioner shall be appointed by the governor by and with the74.18

advice and consent of the senate. Not more than three five commissioners shall belong74.19

to the same political party. At least one commissioner must have been domiciled at the74.20

time of appointment outside the seven-county metropolitan area. If the membership of the74.21

commission after July 31, 1986, does not consist of at least one member domiciled at the74.22

time of appointment outside the seven-county metropolitan area, the membership shall74.23

conform to this requirement following normal attrition of the present commissioners. The74.24

governor when selecting commissioners shall give consideration to persons learned in the74.25

law or persons who have engaged in the profession of engineering, public accounting,74.26

property and utility valuation, finance, physical or natural sciences, production agriculture,74.27

or natural resources as well as being representative of the general public.74.28

For purposes of this subdivision, "seven-county metropolitan area" means Anoka,74.29

Carver, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington Counties.74.30

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.74.31

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 216A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision74.32

to read:74.33
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Subd. 2c. Transition. (a) Until the governor has appointed commissioners from75.1

each congressional district and one at-large commissioner, this subdivision governs75.2

membership of the commission.75.3

(b) Members of the commission as of July 1, 2016 shall continue to serve until the75.4

expiration of their term.75.5

(c) No later than October 1, 2016, the governor shall appoint commissioners from75.6

the first, seventh, and eighth congressional districts for terms to begin January 2, 2017.75.7

(d) No later than October 1, 2018, the governor shall appoint a commissioner from75.8

the second congressional district for a term to begin January 7, 2019.75.9

(e) No later than October 1, 2019, the governor shall appoint commissioners from75.10

the third, fourth, and fifth congressional districts for terms to begin January 6, 2020.75.11

(f) No later than October 1, 2020, the governor shall appoint a commissioner from75.12

the sixth congressional district for a term to begin January 4, 2021.75.13

(g) No later than October 1, 2021, the governor shall appoint an at-large75.14

commissioner for a term to begin January 3, 2022.75.15

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.75.16

Sec. 5. [216B.1615] ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE ALTERNATIVE RATE CASE75.17

PROCESS.75.18

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms75.19

have the meanings given them.75.20

(b) "Base revenue" means the revenue generated by permanent rates and charges,75.21

excluding revenue generated through (1) rider mechanisms, and (2) miscellaneous service75.22

charges.75.23

(c) "CFC" means the National Rural Utilities Cooperative Finance Corporation.75.24

(d) "Rate structure change" means any of the following: (1) introduction of a new75.25

rate schedule; (2) elimination of an existing rate schedule; (3) a change in base revenue75.26

generated by any one rate class greater than 1.5 times the overall base revenue percent75.27

increase; or (4) a change greater than 25 percent in the customer charge within a rate75.28

schedule for residential customers.75.29

(e) "RUS" means the United States Department of Agriculture, Rural Utilities75.30

Service.75.31

(f) "Test year" means a cooperative association's historic 12-month actual operating75.32

results, adjusted for known and measurable changes.75.33
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Subd. 2. Eligibility. A cooperative association may propose and the commission76.1

may approve a general rate application under this section, provided all of the following76.2

eligibility criteria are met:76.3

(1) the cooperative is subject to rate regulation by the commission through a member76.4

vote under section 216B.026;76.5

(2) the commission has issued a final determination, as defined in section 216B.16,76.6

subdivision 2, regarding a rate change within the 180-month period immediately preceding76.7

the filing of the cooperative's rate application;76.8

(3) the commission's final determination in the cooperative's most recent general rate76.9

case or alternative rate case process resulted in the cooperative receiving a minimum of 8076.10

percent of its original revenue increase request;76.11

(4) the cooperative has not filed a rate application under this section within the 1276.12

months immediately preceding the filing of the cooperative's rate application;76.13

(5) the cooperative is required by law or contract to make a certified annual financial76.14

and statistical report to (i) a federal agency, including the RUS or the Federal Energy76.15

Regulatory Commission, or (ii) an established national nonprofit lender that specializes76.16

in the utility industry, including the CFC;76.17

(6) the test year used in the cooperative's rate application complies with the76.18

definition of a test year in subdivision 1;76.19

(7) the cooperative's rate application includes audited financials for a period ending76.20

no more than nine months before the beginning of the test year;76.21

(8) the cooperative's rate application proposes an increase in total base revenue no76.22

greater than six percent of the test year actual total base revenue;76.23

(9) the cooperative's rate application proposes only a change in its monthly fixed76.24

charges or volumetric charges, and does not include: (i) a change in an existing surcharge76.25

or refund mechanism; (ii) adoption of a new surcharge or refund mechanism, unless76.26

incorporating a charge or charges otherwise previously approved by the commission; or76.27

(iii) adoption of a new connection or other fixed fee;76.28

(10) the cooperative's rate application does not propose a rate structure change;76.29

(11) the cooperative's rate application does not request consolidation with any other76.30

docket; and76.31

(12) the customer notice provided by the cooperative meets the requirements of76.32

subdivision 4.76.33

Subd. 3. Notice. A cooperative is prohibited from changing a rate that has been duly76.34

established under this chapter, except upon 60 days' notice to the commission. The notice76.35

for an application to change a rate under this subdivision must include the information in76.36
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subdivision 4, clause (5). The cooperative must also give written notice of the proposed77.1

change to the governing body of each municipality and county in the area affected, and77.2

must publish notice of the proposed change in newspapers of general circulation in all77.3

county seats in its service area.77.4

Subd. 4. Filing requirements. A cooperative filing for alternative rate review and77.5

approval under this subdivision must provide:77.6

(1) the name, address, and telephone number of the cooperative, without abbreviation;77.7

(2) the name, address, and telephone number of the attorney for the cooperative, if77.8

the cooperative is using an attorney;77.9

(3) the date of the filing and the date the proposed rate change will go into effect;77.10

(4) the signature and title of the utility employee responsible for the filing;77.11

(5) a brief summary of the rate request, including sufficient detail to inform77.12

potentially interested parties of its nature and general content;77.13

(6) the information required under Minnesota Rules, parts 7825.3900 to 7829.4400,77.14

as applicable for a cooperative;77.15

(7) a copy of audited financials for the cooperative, for a period ending no earlier77.16

than nine months before the beginning of the test year; and77.17

(8) any additional information necessary for the commission to confirm the77.18

eligibility of the cooperative for alternative review, as established under subdivision 2.77.19

Subd. 5. Interim rates. If the cooperative rate application follows the alternative77.20

procedure, interim rates up to 50 percent of the requested revenue increase must be77.21

allowed and put into effect not later than 60 days after the rate application is filed. If the77.22

commission fails to confirm that the application qualifies for the alternative rate case77.23

process within 20 days after receipt of the application, the cooperative may implement77.24

interim rates consistent with section 216B.16, subdivision 3.77.25

Subd. 6. Eligibility and sufficiency review. Any person who objects to the77.26

cooperative's rate application under this section must file an objection within 20 days of77.27

the date of the application. The cooperative may reply within ten days of the date of an77.28

objection. Within 30 days after the deadline for objections, the commission must determine77.29

whether the cooperative is eligible and has met all applicable filing requirements. If the77.30

commission determines the application is complete and the cooperative is eligible, the77.31

application must be reviewed under subdivision 7.77.32

Subd. 7. Review and report. Upon acceptance of an application by the commission,77.33

the department must conduct a substantive review of the application and file its report and77.34

recommendations within 90 days. The department review must consider the cooperative's77.35

use of models and methodologies approved by the commission in prior general rate77.36
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case proceedings, and may request an extension of 30 days for the filing of its report if78.1

necessary to fully review the application. Any interested party may also file comments78.2

concurrently with the filing of the department report. The cooperative, the department,78.3

and any interested person or party may file a response to the report within 15 days.78.4

Subd. 8. Final decision. The commission must make its final decision regarding a78.5

rate increase application under this section within 180 days of submission of a complete78.6

application, unless the commission has granted a department extension request under78.7

subdivision 7. If the commission has granted the department's extension request, the78.8

commission must make its final determination within 210 days. The commission must78.9

approve the cooperative's application unless it determines that the resulting rates would be78.10

unjust and unreasonable. If the rates are deemed unjust and unreasonable, the commission78.11

must determine the rates the cooperative may charge for the service or services in question.78.12

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.78.13

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 216B.1641, is amended to read:78.14

216B.1641 COMMUNITY SOLAR GARDEN.78.15

(a) The public utility subject to section 116C.779 shall file by September 30, 2013, a78.16

plan with the commission to operate a community solar garden program which shall begin78.17

operations within 90 days after commission approval of the plan. Other public utilities78.18

may file an application at their election. The community solar garden program must be78.19

designed to offset the energy use of not less than five subscribers in each community78.20

solar garden facility of which no single subscriber has more than a 40 percent interest.78.21

The owner of the community solar garden may be a public utility or any other entity or78.22

organization that contracts to sell the output from the community solar garden to the78.23

utility under section 216B.164. There shall be no limitation on the number or cumulative78.24

generating capacity of community solar garden facilities other than the limitations imposed78.25

under section 216B.164, subdivision 4c, or other limitations provided in law or regulations.78.26

(b) A solar garden is a facility that generates electricity bymeans of a ground-mounted78.27

or roof-mounted solar photovoltaic device whereby subscribers receive a bill credit for78.28

the electricity generated in proportion to the size of their subscription. The solar garden78.29

must have a nameplate capacity of no more than one megawatt. Each subscription shall be78.30

sized to represent at least 200 watts of the community solar garden's generating capacity78.31

and to supply, when combined with other distributed generation resources serving the78.32

premises, no more than 120 percent of the average annual consumption of electricity by78.33

each subscriber at the premises to which the subscription is attributed.78.34
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(c) The solar generation facility must be located in the service territory of the public79.1

utility filing the plan. Subscribers must be retail customers of the public utility located in79.2

the same county or a county contiguous to where the facility is located.79.3

(d) The public utility must purchase from the community solar garden all energy79.4

generated by the solar garden. The purchase shall be at the rate calculated under section79.5

216B.164, subdivision 10, or, until that rate for the public utility has been approved by79.6

the commission, the applicable retail rate. A solar garden is eligible for any incentive79.7

programs offered under either section 116C.7792 or section 216C.415. A subscriber's79.8

portion of the purchase shall be provided by a credit on the subscriber's bill.79.9

(e) The commission may approve, disapprove, or modify a community solar garden79.10

program. Any plan approved by the commission must:79.11

(1) reasonably allow for the creation, financing, and accessibility of community79.12

solar gardens;79.13

(2) establish uniform standards, fees, and processes for the interconnection79.14

of community solar garden facilities that allow the utility to recover reasonable79.15

interconnection costs for each community solar garden;79.16

(3) not apply different requirements to utility and nonutility community solar garden79.17

facilities;79.18

(4) be consistent with the public interest;79.19

(5) identify the information that must be provided to potential subscribers to ensure79.20

fair disclosure of future costs and benefits of subscriptions;79.21

(6) include a program implementation schedule;79.22

(7) identify all proposed rules, fees, and charges; and79.23

(8) identify the means by which the program will be promoted.;79.24

(9) certify that the utility and the owner of a solar garden must submit copies of all79.25

marketing and promotional material and sample contracts to the commission, and that79.26

the materials will be updated periodically;79.27

(10) provide a mechanism for subscribers to transfer subscriptions to other new or79.28

current subscribers;79.29

(11) require an owner of a solar garden and the utility purchasing electricity79.30

generated by the solar garden to forward customer complaints regarding the operation of79.31

the solar garden to the commission; and79.32

(12) reflect the commission's determination that:79.33

(i) the plan is financially viable; and79.34

(ii) the contract between a subscriber and the owner of a solar garden is fair,79.35

reasonable, and not discriminatory.79.36
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(f) Notwithstanding any other law, neither the manager of nor the subscribers to a80.1

community solar garden facility shall be considered a utility solely as a result of their80.2

participation in the community solar garden facility.80.3

(g) Within 180 days of commission approval of a plan under this section, a utility80.4

shall begin crediting subscriber accounts for each community solar garden facility in80.5

its service territory, and shall file with the commissioner of commerce a description of80.6

its crediting system.80.7

(h) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings given:80.8

(1) "subscriber" means a retail customer of a utility who owns one or more80.9

subscriptions of a community solar garden facility interconnected with that utility; and80.10

(2) "subscription" means a contract between a subscriber and the owner of a solar80.11

garden.80.12

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment80.13

and applies to any plan submitted to the commission for approval on or after that date.80.14

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 216B.241, subdivision 1, is amended to read:80.15

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section and section 216B.16,80.16

subdivision 6b, the terms defined in this subdivision have the meanings given them.80.17

(a) "Commission" means the Public Utilities Commission.80.18

(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of commerce.80.19

(c) "Department" means the Department of Commerce.80.20

(d) "Energy conservation" means demand-side management of energy supplies80.21

resulting in a net reduction in energy use. Load management that reduces overall energy80.22

use is energy conservation.80.23

(e) "Energy conservation improvement" means a project that results in energy80.24

efficiency or energy conservation. Energy conservation improvement may include waste80.25

heat that is recovered and converted into electricity, but does not include electric utility80.26

infrastructure projects approved by the commission under section 216B.1636. Energy80.27

conservation improvement also includes waste heat recovered and used as thermal energy.80.28

(f) "Energy efficiency" means measures or programs, including energy conservation80.29

measures or programs, that target consumer behavior, equipment, processes, or devices80.30

designed to produce either an absolute decrease in consumption of electric energy or natural80.31

gas or a decrease in consumption of electric energy or natural gas on a per unit of production80.32

basis without a reduction in the quality or level of service provided to the energy consumer.80.33

(g) "Gross annual retail energy sales" means annual electric sales to all retail80.34

customers in a utility's or association's Minnesota service territory or natural gas80.35
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throughput to all retail customers, including natural gas transportation customers, on a81.1

utility's distribution system in Minnesota. For purposes of this section, gross annual81.2

retail energy sales exclude:81.3

(1) gas sales to:81.4

(i) a large energy facility;81.5

(ii) a large customer facility whose natural gas utility has been exempted by the81.6

commissioner under subdivision 1a, paragraph (b), with respect to natural gas sales made81.7

to the large customer facility; and81.8

(iii) a commercial gas customer facility whose natural gas utility has been exempted81.9

by the commissioner under subdivision 1a, paragraph (c), with respect to natural gas sales81.10

made to the commercial gas customer facility; and81.11

(iv) a pipeline facility; and81.12

(2) electric sales to:81.13

(i) a large customer facility whose electric utility has been exempted by the81.14

commissioner under subdivision 1a, paragraph (b), with respect to electric sales made to81.15

the large customer facility; and81.16

(ii) a pipeline facility.81.17

(h) "Investments and expenses of a public utility" includes the investments81.18

and expenses incurred by a public utility in connection with an energy conservation81.19

improvement, including but not limited to:81.20

(1) the differential in interest cost between the market rate and the rate charged on a81.21

no-interest or below-market interest loan made by a public utility to a customer for the81.22

purchase or installation of an energy conservation improvement;81.23

(2) the difference between the utility's cost of purchase or installation of energy81.24

conservation improvements and any price charged by a public utility to a customer for81.25

such improvements.81.26

(i) "Large customer facility" means all buildings, structures, equipment, and81.27

installations at a single site that collectively (1) impose a peak electrical demand on an81.28

electric utility's system of not less than 20,000 kilowatts, measured in the same way as the81.29

utility that serves the customer facility measures electrical demand for billing purposes or81.30

(2) consume not less than 500 million cubic feet of natural gas annually. In calculating81.31

peak electrical demand, a large customer facility may include demand offset by on-site81.32

cogeneration facilities and, if engaged in mineral extraction, may aggregate peak energy81.33

demand from the large customer facility's mining and processing operations.81.34

(j) "Large energy facility" has the meaning given it in section 216B.2421,81.35

subdivision 2, clause (1).81.36
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(k) "Load management" means an activity, service, or technology to change the82.1

timing or the efficiency of a customer's use of energy that allows a utility or a customer to82.2

respond to wholesale market fluctuations or to reduce peak demand for energy or capacity.82.3

(l) "Low-income programs" means energy conservation improvement programs that82.4

directly serve the needs of low-income persons, including low-income renters.82.5

(m) "Petroleum products" has the meaning given in section 296A.01, subdivision 42,82.6

and includes propane, as defined in section 216B.02, subdivision 3a.82.7

(n) "Pipeline facility" means a pipeline located within Minnesota with a diameter of82.8

six inches or greater and through which natural gas, petroleum, or petroleum products are82.9

transported under pressure to a utility, petroleum refinery, or other wholesale customer.82.10

Pipeline facility includes natural gas compressor stations, petroleum pumping stations,82.11

and other facilities necessary to physically transport fuel through a pipeline to a wholesale82.12

customer, but does not include facilities used to transport natural gas, petroleum, or82.13

petroleum products within a petroleum refinery, storage, or manufacturing facility.82.14

(o) "Qualifying utility" means a utility that supplies the energy to a customer that82.15

enables the customer to qualify as a large customer facility.82.16

(n) (p) "Waste heat recovered and used as thermal energy" means capturing82.17

heat energy that would otherwise be exhausted or dissipated to the environment from82.18

machinery, buildings, or industrial processes and productively using such recovered82.19

thermal energy where it was captured or distributing it as thermal energy to other locations82.20

where it is used to reduce demand-side consumption of natural gas, electric energy, or both.82.21

(o) (q) "Waste heat recovery converted into electricity" means an energy recovery82.22

process that converts otherwise lost energy from the heat of exhaust stacks or pipes used82.23

for engines or manufacturing or industrial processes, or the reduction of high pressure82.24

in water or gas pipelines.82.25

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.82.26

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 216B.241, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:82.27

Subd. 1a. Investment, expenditure, and contribution; public utility. (a) For82.28

purposes of this subdivision and subdivision 2, "public utility" has the meaning given it82.29

in section 216B.02, subdivision 4. Each public utility shall spend and invest for energy82.30

conservation improvements under this subdivision and subdivision 2 the following82.31

amounts:82.32

(1) for a utility that furnishes gas service, 0.5 percent of its gross operating revenues82.33

from service provided in the state;82.34
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(2) for a utility that furnishes electric service, 1.5 percent of its gross operating83.1

revenues from service provided in the state; and83.2

(3) for a utility that furnishes electric service and that operates a nuclear-powered83.3

electric generating plant within the state, two percent of its gross operating revenues83.4

from service provided in the state.83.5

For purposes of this paragraph (a), "gross operating revenues" do not include83.6

revenues from large customer facilities exempted under paragraph (b), or from commercial83.7

gas customers that are exempted under paragraph (c) or (e), or from a customer that is83.8

a pipeline facility.83.9

(b) The owner of a large customer facility may petition the commissioner to exempt83.10

both electric and gas utilities serving the large customer facility from the investment and83.11

expenditure requirements of paragraph (a) with respect to retail revenues attributable to83.12

the large customer facility. The filing must include a discussion of the competitive or83.13

economic pressures facing the owner of the facility and the efforts taken by the owner83.14

to identify, evaluate, and implement energy conservation and efficiency improvements.83.15

A filing submitted on or before October 1 of any year must be approved within 90 days83.16

and become effective January 1 of the year following the filing, unless the commissioner83.17

finds that the owner of the large customer facility has failed to take reasonable measures83.18

to identify, evaluate, and implement energy conservation and efficiency improvements.83.19

If a facility qualifies as a large customer facility solely due to its peak electrical demand83.20

or annual natural gas usage, the exemption may be limited to the qualifying utility if83.21

the commissioner finds that the owner of the large customer facility has failed to take83.22

reasonable measures to identify, evaluate, and implement energy conservation and83.23

efficiency improvements with respect to the nonqualifying utility. Once an exemption is83.24

approved, the commissioner may request the owner of a large customer facility to submit,83.25

not more often than once every five years, a report demonstrating the large customer83.26

facility's ongoing commitment to energy conservation and efficiency improvement after83.27

the exemption filing. The commissioner may request such reports for up to ten years after83.28

the effective date of the exemption, unless the majority ownership of the large customer83.29

facility changes, in which case the commissioner may request additional reports for up to83.30

ten years after the change in ownership occurs. The commissioner may, within 180 days83.31

of receiving a report submitted under this paragraph, rescind any exemption granted under83.32

this paragraph upon a determination that the large customer facility is not continuing83.33

to make reasonable efforts to identify, evaluate, and implement energy conservation83.34

improvements. A large customer facility that is, under an order from the commissioner,83.35

exempt from the investment and expenditure requirements of paragraph (a) as of83.36
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December 31, 2010, is not required to submit a report to retain its exempt status, except as84.1

otherwise provided in this paragraph with respect to ownership changes. No exempt large84.2

customer facility may participate in a utility conservation improvement program unless the84.3

owner of the facility submits a filing with the commissioner to withdraw its exemption.84.4

(c) A commercial gas customer that is not a large customer facility and that84.5

purchases or acquires natural gas from a public utility having fewer than 600,000 natural84.6

gas customers in Minnesota may petition the commissioner to exempt gas utilities serving84.7

the commercial gas customer from the investment and expenditure requirements of84.8

paragraph (a) with respect to retail revenues attributable to the commercial gas customer.84.9

The petition must be supported by evidence demonstrating that the commercial gas84.10

customer has acquired or can reasonably acquire the capability to bypass use of the utility's84.11

gas distribution system by obtaining natural gas directly from a supplier not regulated by84.12

the commission. The commissioner shall grant the exemption if the commissioner finds84.13

that the petitioner has made the demonstration required by this paragraph.84.14

(d) The commissioner may require investments or spending greater than the amounts84.15

required under this subdivision for a public utility whose most recent advance forecast84.16

required under section 216B.2422 or 216C.17 projects a peak demand deficit of 10084.17

megawatts or greater within five years under midrange forecast assumptions.84.18

(e) A public utility or owner of a large customer facility may appeal a decision of the84.19

commissioner under paragraph (b), (c), or (d) to the commission under subdivision 2. In84.20

reviewing a decision of the commissioner under paragraph (b), (c), or (d), the commission84.21

shall rescind the decision if it finds that the required investments or spending will:84.22

(1) not result in cost-effective energy conservation improvements; or84.23

(2) otherwise not be in the public interest.84.24

(f) No pipeline facility may participate in a utility conservation improvement84.25

program.84.26

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.84.27

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 216B.241, subdivision 1c, is amended to read:84.28

Subd. 1c. Energy-saving goals. (a) The commissioner shall establish energy-saving84.29

goals for energy conservation improvement expenditures and shall evaluate an energy84.30

conservation improvement program on how well it meets the goals set.84.31

(b) Each individual utility and association shall have an annual energy-savings84.32

goal equivalent to 1.5 percent of gross annual retail energy sales unless modified by the84.33

commissioner under paragraph (d). The savings goals must be calculated based on the84.34

most recent three-year weather-normalized average. A utility or association may elect to84.35
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carry forward energy savings in excess of 1.5 percent for a year to the succeeding three85.1

calendar years, except that savings from electric utility infrastructure projects allowed85.2

under paragraph (d) may be carried forward for five years. A particular energy savings can85.3

be used only for one year's goal.85.4

(c) The commissioner must adopt a filing schedule that is designed to have all85.5

utilities and associations operating under an energy-savings plan by calendar year 2010.85.6

(d) In its energy conservation improvement plan filing, a utility or association may85.7

request the commissioner to adjust its annual energy-savings percentage goal based on85.8

its historical conservation investment experience, customer class makeup, load growth, a85.9

conservation potential study, or other factors the commissioner determines warrants utility85.10

or association asserts warrant an adjustment. The commissioner:85.11

(1) must approve a request by a municipal utility or cooperative electric association85.12

to adjust the utility's or association's annual energy-savings goal;85.13

(2) may approve a request from a public utility to adjust its annual energy-savings85.14

goal; and85.15

(3) may not approve is prohibited from approving a plan of a public utility that85.16

provides for an annual energy-savings goal of less than one percent of gross annual retail85.17

energy sales from energy conservation improvements.85.18

A public utility or association may include in its energy conservation plan energy85.19

savings from electric utility infrastructure projects approved by the commission under85.20

section 216B.1636 or waste heat recovery converted into electricity projects that, each of85.21

which may count as energy savings only in addition to a minimum energy-savings goal of85.22

at least one percent for energy conservation improvements. Energy savings from electric85.23

utility infrastructure projects, as defined in section 216B.1636, may be included in the85.24

energy conservation plan of a municipal utility or cooperative electric association. Electric85.25

utility infrastructure projects must result in increased energy efficiency greater than that85.26

which would have occurred through normal maintenance activity.85.27

(e) An energy-savings goal is not satisfied by attaining the revenue expenditure85.28

requirements of subdivisions 1a and 1b, but can only be satisfied by meeting the85.29

energy-savings goal established in this subdivision.85.30

(f) An association or utility is not required to make energy conservation investments85.31

to attain the energy-savings goals of this subdivision that are not cost-effective even85.32

if the investment is necessary to attain the energy-savings goals. For the purpose of85.33

this paragraph, in determining cost-effectiveness, the commissioner shall consider the85.34

costs and benefits to ratepayers, the utility, participants, and society. In addition, the85.35
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commissioner shall consider the rate at which an association or municipal utility is86.1

increasing its energy savings and its expenditures on energy conservation.86.2

(g) On an annual basis, the commissioner shall produce and make publicly available86.3

a report on the annual energy savings and estimated carbon dioxide reductions achieved86.4

by the energy conservation improvement programs for the two most recent years for86.5

which data is available. The commissioner shall report on program performance both in86.6

the aggregate and for each entity filing an energy conservation improvement plan for86.7

approval or review by the commissioner.86.8

(h) By January 15, 2010, the commissioner shall report to the legislature whether86.9

the spending requirements under subdivisions 1a and 1b are necessary to achieve the86.10

energy-savings goals established in this subdivision.86.11

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.86.12

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2014, section 216B.243, subdivision 8, is amended to read:86.13

Subd. 8. Exemptions. This section does not apply to:86.14

(1) cogeneration or small power production facilities as defined in the Federal Power86.15

Act, United States Code, title 16, section 796, paragraph (17), subparagraph (A), and86.16

paragraph (18), subparagraph (A), and having a combined capacity at a single site of less86.17

than 80,000 kilowatts; plants or facilities for the production of ethanol or fuel alcohol; or86.18

any case where the commission has determined after being advised by the attorney general86.19

that its application has been preempted by federal law;86.20

(2) a high-voltage transmission line proposed primarily to distribute electricity to86.21

serve the demand of a single customer at a single location, unless the applicant opts to86.22

request that the commission determine need under this section or section 216B.2425;86.23

(3) the upgrade to a higher voltage of an existing transmission line that serves the86.24

demand of a single customer that primarily uses existing rights-of-way, unless the applicant86.25

opts to request that the commission determine need under this section or section 216B.2425;86.26

(4) a high-voltage transmission line of one mile or less required to connect a new or86.27

upgraded substation to an existing, new, or upgraded high-voltage transmission line;86.28

(5) conversion of the fuel source of an existing electric generating plant to using86.29

natural gas;86.30

(6) the modification of an existing electric generating plant to increase efficiency,86.31

as long as the capacity of the plant is not increased more than ten percent or more than86.32

100 megawatts, whichever is greater; or86.33

(7) a wind energy conversion system or solar electric generation facility if the system86.34

or facility is owned and operated by an independent power producer and the electric output86.35
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of the system or facility is not sold to an entity that provides retail service in Minnesota87.1

or wholesale electric service to another entity in Minnesota other than an entity that is a87.2

federally recognized regional transmission organization or independent system operator; or87.3

(8) an interstate pipeline traversing Minnesota whose termini lie outside the state.87.4

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment87.5

and applies to (1) a pipeline that has not filed a certificate of need application before the87.6

effective date of this section, and (2) a pipeline that has a certificate of need application87.7

pending before the commission on the effective date of this section.87.8

Sec. 11. Laws 2001, chapter 130, section 3, is amended to read:87.9

Sec. 3. ASSESSMENT.87.10

A propane education and research council, established and certified pursuant to87.11

section 2, may assess propane producers and retail marketers an amount not to exceed one87.12

mill the maximum assessment authorized in United States Code, title 15, section 6405(a),87.13

per gallon of odorized propane in a manner established by the council in compliance with87.14

United States Code, title 15, section 6405, subsections (a) to (c). Propane producers and87.15

retail marketers shall be responsible for the amounts assessed.87.16

Sec. 12. PROHIBITION ON EXPENDITURE OF STATE FUNDS; CLEAN87.17

POWER PLAN.87.18

No state agency shall expend state funds to develop a state plan as required by the87.19

federal Clean Power Plan unless and until a final decision in the case of West Virginia,87.20

et. al., v. United States Environmental Protection Agency, et. al., determines that the87.21

federal Environmental Protection Agency has legal authority to require the submission87.22

of such state plans.87.23

For the purposes of this section, "Clean Power Plan" means the final rule of the federal87.24

Carbon Pollution Emission Guidelines for Existing Stationary Sources: Electric Utility87.25

Generating Units, issued by the United States Environmental Protection Agency in Docket87.26

No. EPA-HQ-OAR-2013-0602, and any subsequent amendments made to the plan."87.27

Amend the title accordingly87.28
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