## Conference Committee on S.F. 2809/H.F. 3273 – Metropolitan Council Reform Bill

## **Overview of Differences**

S.F. 2809 and H.F. 3273 differ in three ways:

- 1. Membership. The differences affect the allocation of county commissioners for purposes of staggering terms.
  - The Senate has 29 members, including a mayoral appointee from Minneapolis and St. Paul.
  - The House has 28 members, not including mayoral appointees but instead adding a second Hennepin County commissioner (one from Minneapolis and one outside).
- 2. Compensation. The Senate provides for compensation that is in addition to compensation paid by local governments; the House does not.
- 3. TAC. The Senate requires a technical advisory committee on transportation matters; the House does not.

## **Staff Recommendation**

Nonpartisan Senate and House staff recommend conforming changes to section 1 of both bills, which is currently in conflict with other provisions of both bills.

## **Comparison Chart**

Side by Side Page #	Senate Lines	House Lines	Comparison	Description
R2	2.14	2.14	Substantial Difference	Membership: size. The Senate provides for 29 metropolitan council members. The House provides for 28 members.
R2	2.16-2.17	2.16-2.21	Substantial Difference	Membership: county commissioners.  The Senate appoints one county commissioner from each metropolitan county. The House authorizes two county commissioners from Hennepin County – one from Minneapolis and one from outside Minneapolis.
R2	2.20-2.22	n/a	Senate Only	Membership: mayoral appointees.  The Senate authorizes the mayors of Minneapolis and St. Paul to each appoint a locally elected official to the metropolitan council.
R3	3.30-4.3	n/a	Senate Only	Terms: mayoral appointees. The Senate provides for staggered terms for mayoral appointees.
R3	4.7	3.31	Substantial Difference	Terms: county commissioners The Senate authorizes Anoka County's commissioner's first term to end in the year ending with the numeral "3." The House authorizes Anoka County's commissioner's first term to end in the year ending in the numeral "1."
R4	4.22-5.6	4.14-4.19	Substantial Difference	Compensation and reimbursements.  The Senate authorizes the metropolitan council to pay council members \$20,000 annually and pay the chair \$40,000 annually. The House does not authorize compensation.
R9	9.13-9.16	n/a	Senate Only	Technical advisory committee.  The Senate requires the metropolitan council to establish a technical advisory committee to provide expertise to the council on transportation issue.

House Research Department May 16, 2018