03/16/23 09:18 am HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H0615DE3

1.3	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.01, is amended by adding a subdivision
1.4	to read:
1.5	Subd. 25. Fentanyl. As used in sections 152.021 to 152.025, "fentanyl" includes fentanyl,
1.6	carfentanil, and any fentanyl analogs and fentanyl-related substances listed in section 152.02,
1.7	subdivisions 2 and 3.
1.8	Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.021, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
1.9	Subdivision 1. Sale crimes. A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the first
1.10	degree if:
1.11	(1) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
1.12	more mixtures of a total weight of 17 grams or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine;
1.13	(2) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
1.14	more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine
1.15	and:
1.16	(i) the person or an accomplice possesses on their person or within immediate reach, or
1.17	uses, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a
1.18	firearm; or
1.19	(ii) the offense involves two aggravating factors;
1.20	(3) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
1.21	more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more, or 40 dosage units or more, containing
1.22	heroin or fentanyl;

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 615 as follows:

Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:

1.1

1.2

Sec. 2.

03/16/23 09:18 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/RK	H0615DE3
U3/10/23 U9.16 alli	HOUSE RESEARCH	JIJ/NN	ロいいしいしょう

2.1	(4) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
2.2	more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams or more containing a narcotic drug other than
2.3	cocaine, heroin, fentanyl, or methamphetamine;
2.4	(5) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
2.5	more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine,
2.6	or hallucinogen or, if the controlled substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 200 or
2.7	more dosage units; or
2.8	(6) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
2.9	more mixtures of a total weight of 25 kilograms or more containing marijuana or
2.10	Tetrahydrocannabinols.
2.11	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective the day following final enactment and
2.12	applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
2.13	Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.021, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
2.14	
2.14	Subd. 2. <b>Possession crimes.</b> (a) A person is guilty of a controlled substance crime in
2.15	the first degree if:
2.16	(1) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams
2.17	or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine;
2.18	(2) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25 grams
2.19	or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine and:
2.20	(i) the person or an accomplice possesses on their person or within immediate reach, or
2.21	uses, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a
2.22	firearm; or
2.23	(ii) the offense involves two aggravating factors;
2.24	(3) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25 grams
2.25	or more, or 100 dosage units or more, containing heroin or fentanyl;
2.26	(4) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 500 grams
2.27	or more containing a narcotic drug other than cocaine, heroin, <u>fentanyl</u> , or methamphetamine;
2.28	(5) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 500 grams
2.29	or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine, or hallucinogen or, if the controlled
2.30	substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 500 or more dosage units; or

Sec. 3. 2

	03/16/23 09:18 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/RK	H0615DE3
--	-------------------	----------------	-------	----------

3.1	(6) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50
3.2	kilograms or more containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols, or possesses 500 or
3.3	more marijuana plants.
3.4	(b) For the purposes of this subdivision, the weight of fluid used in a water pipe may
3.5	not be considered in measuring the weight of a mixture except in cases where the mixture
3.6	contains four or more fluid ounces of fluid.
3.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
3.8	applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
3.9	Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.022, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
3.10	Subdivision 1. Sale crimes. A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the
3.11	second degree if:
3.12	(1) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
3.13	more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing a narcotic drug other than
3.14	heroin or fentanyl;
3.15	(2) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
3.16	more mixtures of a total weight of three grams or more containing cocaine or
3.17	methamphetamine and:
3.18	(i) the person or an accomplice possesses on their person or within immediate reach, or
3.19	uses, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a
3.20	firearm; or
3.21	(ii) the offense involves three aggravating factors;
3.22	(3) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
3.23	more mixtures of a total weight of three grams or more, or 12 dosage units or more,
3.24	containing heroin or fentanyl;
3.25	(4) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
3.26	more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine,
3.27	or hallucinogen or, if the controlled substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 50 or
3.28	more dosage units;
3.29	(5) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully sells one or
3.30	more mixtures of a total weight of ten kilograms or more containing marijuana or
3.31	Tetrahydrocannabinols;

Sec. 4. 3

03/16/23 09:18 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/RK	H0615DE3
U3/10//3 U9:1X am	HUUNE KENEAKUH	II J/ K K	HUNINDEN

4.1	(6) the person unlawfully sells any amount of a Schedule I or II narcotic drug to a person
4.2	under the age of 18, or conspires with or employs a person under the age of 18 to unlawfully
4.3	sell the substance; or
4.4	(7) the person unlawfully sells any of the following in a school zone, a park zone, a
4.5	public housing zone, or a drug treatment facility:
4.6	(i) any amount of a Schedule I or II narcotic drug, lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD),
4.7	3,4-methylenedioxy amphetamine, or 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine;
4.8	(ii) one or more mixtures containing methamphetamine or amphetamine; or
4.9	(iii) one or more mixtures of a total weight of five kilograms or more containing marijuana
4.10	or Tetrahydrocannabinols.
4.11	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective the day following final enactment and
4.12	applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
4.13	Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.022, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
4.14	Subd. 2. Possession crimes. (a) A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the
4.15	second degree if:
4.16	(1) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25 grams
4.17	or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine;
4.18	(2) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams
4.19	or more containing cocaine or methamphetamine and:
4.20	(i) the person or an accomplice possesses on their person or within immediate reach, or
4.21	uses, whether by brandishing, displaying, threatening with, or otherwise employing, a
4.22	firearm; or
4.23	(ii) the offense involves three aggravating factors;
4.24	(3) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of six grams
4.25	or more, or 50 dosage units or more, containing heroin or fentanyl;
4.26	(4) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams
4.27	or more containing a narcotic drug other than cocaine, heroin, fentanyl, or methamphetamine;
4.28	(5) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 50 grams
4.28	or more containing amphetamine, phencyclidine, or hallucinogen or, if the controlled
4.29	substance is packaged in dosage units, equaling 100 or more dosage units; or
	saccione is paralled in desuge units, equaling 100 of more desuge units, of

Sec. 5. 4

03/16/23 09:18 am HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H0615DE3

5.1	(6) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures of a total weight of 25
5.2	kilograms or more containing marijuana or Tetrahydrocannabinols, or possesses 100 or
5.3	more marijuana plants.
5.4	(b) For the purposes of this subdivision, the weight of fluid used in a water pipe may
5.5	not be considered in measuring the weight of a mixture except in cases where the mixture
5.6	contains four or more fluid ounces of fluid.
5.7	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
5.8	applies to crimes committed on or after that date.
5.9	Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 152.023, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
5.10	Subd. 2. <b>Possession crimes.</b> (a) A person is guilty of controlled substance crime in the
5.11	third degree if:
5.12	(1) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses
5.13	one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten grams or more containing a narcotic drug other
5.14	than heroin or fentanyl;
5.15	(2) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses
5.16	one or more mixtures of: (i) a total weight of three grams or more containing heroin; or (ii)
5.17	a total weight of five grams or more, or 25 dosage units or more, containing fentanyl;
5.18	(3) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses
5.19	one or more mixtures containing a narcotic drug, it is packaged in dosage units, and equals
5.20	50 or more dosage units;
5.21	(4) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses
5.22	any amount of a schedule I or II narcotic drug or five or more dosage units of lysergic acid
5.23	diethylamide (LSD), 3,4-methylenedioxy amphetamine, or
5.24	3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine in a school zone, a park zone, a public housing zone,
5.25	or a drug treatment facility;
5.26	(5) on one or more occasions within a 90-day period the person unlawfully possesses
5.27	one or more mixtures of a total weight of ten kilograms or more containing marijuana or
5.28	Tetrahydrocannabinols; or
5.29	(6) the person unlawfully possesses one or more mixtures containing methamphetamine
5.30	or amphetamine in a school zone, a park zone, a public housing zone, or a drug treatment
5.31	facility.

Sec. 6. 5

03/16/23 09:18 am HOUSE RESEARCH JD/RK H0615DE3

(b) For the purposes of this subdivision, the weight of fluid used in a water pipe may 6.1 not be considered in measuring the weight of a mixture except in cases where the mixture 6.2 contains four or more fluid ounces of fluid. 6.3 Sec. 7. [626.8443] OPIATE ANTAGONISTS; TRAINING; CARRYING; USE. 6.4 Subdivision 1. Training. A chief law enforcement officer must provide basic training 6.5 to peace officers employed by the chief's agency on: 6.6 (1) identifying persons who are suffering from narcotics overdoses; and 6.7 (2) the proper use of opiate antagonists to treat a narcotics overdose. 6.8 Subd. 2. Mandatory supply. A chief law enforcement officer must maintain a sufficient 6.9 supply of opiate antagonists to ensure that officers employed by the chief's agency can 6.10 satisfy the requirements of subdivision 3. 6.11 Subd. 3. Mandatory carrying. Each on-duty peace officer who is assigned to respond 6.12 to emergency calls must have at least two unexpired opiate antagonist doses readily available 6.13 when the officer's shift begins. An officer who depletes their supply of opiate antagonists 6.14 6.15 during the officer's shift shall replace the expended doses from the officer's agency's supply so long as replacing the doses will not compromise public safety. 6.16 Subd. 4. Authorization of use. (a) A chief law enforcement officer must authorize peace 6.17 officers employed by the chief's agency to perform administration of an opiate antagonist 6.18 when an officer believes a person is suffering a narcotics overdose. 6.19

(b) In order to administer opiate antagonists, a peace officer must comply with section

Amend the title accordingly

6.20

6.21

6.22

Sec. 7. 6

151.37, subdivision 12, paragraph (b), clause (1)."