## COMMERCE FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

## **MINUTES**

Representative Zack Stephenson, Chair of the Commerce Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 3:00 PM on February 9, 2021 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

Members present:

STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair

KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair

O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead

BAHR. Cal

CARLSON, Andrew

DAVNIE, Jim

ELKINS, Steve

HALEY, Barb

KOEGEL, Erin

LEE, Fue

LILLIE, Leon

LISLEGARD, Dave

LUCERO, Eric

OLSON, Liz

PFARR, Brian

RASMUSSON, Jordan

RICHARDSON, Ruth

THEIS, Tama

A quorum was present.

Representative Kotyza-Witthuhn moved to approve the minutes from the committee meeting on February 3, 2021. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Overview of individual and small group health insurance markets by Commissioner Grace Arnold, Department of Commerce.

HF11 (Schultz); Public option created, MinnesotaCare eligibility expanded, enrollee premiums modified, and implementation plan and recommendations required for an alternative delivery and payment system.

Representative Stephenson moved HF11 be recommended to be re-referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee.

Representative Stephenson moved the A0011A8 (Schultz) amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

The following testified on HF11:

Cindy VanDerPol, Minnesota Farmer's Union Theresa Dorsey Meis, Small Business Owner Carolina Perdomo, COPAL Dan Dwight, Minnesota Business Partnership Ryan Batalden, Farmer Dan Endreson, Minnesota Council of Health Plans Angela Schwesndel, Owner -Moon Palace Books

Representative O'Driscoll moved the A0011A12 (O'Driscoll) amendment and requested a roll call vote.

**AYES** 

O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead

HALEY, Barb

LUCERO, Eric

PFARR, Brian

RASMUSSON, Jordan

THEIS, Tama

NAYS

STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair

KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair

CARLSON, Andrew

DAVNIE, Jim

ELKINS, Steve

KOEGEL, Erin

LEE, Fue

LILLIE, Leon

LISLEGARD, Dave

OLSON, Liz

RICHARDSON, Ruth

NOT VOTING

BAHR, Cal

With a vote of 6 AYES, 11 NAYS, and 1 NOT VOTING, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL. THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.

Representative Haley moved the A0011A10 (Haley) amendment. THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL. THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.

Representative Haley moved the A0011A11 (Haley) amendment. THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL. THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.

Representative Rasmusson moved the A0011A15 (Rasmusson) amendment and requested a roll call vote.

**AYES** 

O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead

BAHR, Cal

HALEY, Barb

LUCERO, Eric

PFARR, Brian

RASMUSSON, Jordan

THEIS, Tama

NAYS

STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair

KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair

CARLSON, Andrew

DAVNIE, Jim

ELKINS, Steve

KOEGEL, Erin

LEE, Fue

LILLIE, Leon

LISLEGARD, Dave

OLSON, Liz

RICHARDSON, Ruth

With a vote of 7 AYES and 11 NAYS, THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL. THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.

Representative Stephenson renewed the motion that HF11, as amended, be recommended to be re-referred to the Health Finance and Policy Committee. The clerk took the roll.

AYES
STEPHENSON, Zack, Chair
KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie, Vice Chair
CARLSON, Andrew
DAVNIE, Jim
ELKINS, Steve
KOEGEL, Erin
LEE, Fue
LILLIE, Leon
LISLEGARD, Dave
OLSON, Liz
RICHARDSON, Ruth

NAYS
O'DRISCOLL, Tim, GOP Lead
BAHR, Cal
HALEY, Barb
LUCERO, Eric
PFARR, Brian
RASMUSSON, Jordan
THEIS, Tama

With a vote of 11 AYES and 7 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF330 (Davids); Catalytic converter purchase requirements established.

Representative Kotyza-Witthuhn moved the H0330A1 (Kotyza-Witthuhn) amendment. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

The following testified on HF330: Lance Klatt, Minnesota Service Station and Convenience Store Association Brad Wise, Police Chief, Coon Rapids

HF330, as amended, was laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:30 PM.

Representative Zack Stephenson, Chair
Simon Brown,
Committee Legislative Assistant