1.2	Page 2, delete article 1
1.3	Page 31, delete article 2
1.4	Page 55, delete article 3
1.5	Page 82, delete article 4
1.6	Page 107, after line 2, insert:
1.7	"EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."
1.8	Page 107, after line 25, insert:
1.9	"Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256D.44, subdivision 5, is amended to read:
1.10	Subd. 5. <b>Special needs.</b> (a) In addition to the state standards of assistance established
1.11	in subdivisions 1 to 4, payments are allowed for the following special needs of recipients
1.12	of Minnesota supplemental aid who are not residents of a nursing home, a regional treatment
1.13	center, or a setting authorized to receive housing support payments under chapter 256I.
1.14	(b) The county agency shall pay a monthly allowance for medically prescribed diets if
1.15	the cost of those additional dietary needs cannot be met through some other maintenance
1.16	benefit. The need for special diets or dietary items must be prescribed by a licensed physician,
1.17	advanced practice registered nurse, or physician assistant. Costs for special diets shall be
1.18	determined as percentages of the allotment for a one-person household under the thrifty
1.19	food plan as defined by the United States Department of Agriculture. The types of diets and
1.20	the percentages of the thrifty food plan that are covered are as follows:
1.21	(1) high protein diet, at least 80 grams daily, 25 percent of thrifty food plan;

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 2900 as follows:

1.1

1.21

(2) controlled protein diet, 40 to 60 grams and requires special products, 100 percent of thrifty food plan;

- (3) controlled protein diet, less than 40 grams and requires special products, 125 percent of thrifty food plan;
- 2.5 (4) low cholesterol diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan;
- 2.6 (5) high residue diet, 20 percent of thrifty food plan;

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.13

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.22

2.23

2.24

2.25

2.26

2.27

2.28

2.29

2.30

2.31

- 2.7 (6) pregnancy and lactation diet, 35 percent of thrifty food plan;
- 2.8 (7) gluten-free diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan;
- 2.9 (8) lactose-free diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan;
- 2.10 (9) antidumping diet, 15 percent of thrifty food plan;
- 2.11 (10) hypoglycemic diet, 15 percent of thrifty food plan; or
- 2.12 (11) ketogenic diet, 25 percent of thrifty food plan.
  - (c) Payment for nonrecurring special needs must be allowed for necessary home repairs or necessary repairs or replacement of household furniture and appliances using the payment standard of the AFDC program in effect on July 16, 1996, for these expenses, as long as other funding sources are not available.
  - (d) A fee for guardian or conservator service is allowed at a reasonable rate negotiated by the county or approved by the court. This rate shall not exceed five percent of the assistance unit's gross monthly income up to a maximum of \$100 per month. If the guardian or conservator is a member of the county agency staff, no fee is allowed.
  - (e) The county agency shall continue to pay a monthly allowance of \$68 for restaurant meals for a person who was receiving a restaurant meal allowance on June 1, 1990, and who eats two or more meals in a restaurant daily. The allowance must continue until the person has not received Minnesota supplemental aid for one full calendar month or until the person's living arrangement changes and the person no longer meets the criteria for the restaurant meal allowance, whichever occurs first.
  - (f) A fee of ten percent of the recipient's gross income or \$25, whichever is less, equal to the maximum monthly amount allowed by the Social Security Administration is allowed for representative payee services provided by an agency that meets the requirements under SSI regulations to charge a fee for representative payee services. This special need is available to all recipients of Minnesota supplemental aid regardless of their living arrangement.

02/22/22 12:06	HOUSE DESEADOH	TITIC/NAVA	112000 A 1
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

3.1	(g)(1) Notwithstanding the language in this subdivision, an amount equal to one-half or
3.2	the maximum federal Supplemental Security Income payment amount for a single individual
3.3	which is in effect on the first day of July of each year will be added to the standards of
3.4	assistance established in subdivisions 1 to 4 for adults under the age of 65 who qualify as
3.5	in need of housing assistance and are:
3.6	(i) relocating from an institution, a setting authorized to receive housing support under
3.7	chapter 256I, or an adult mental health residential treatment program under section
3.8	256B.0622;
3.9	(ii) eligible for personal care assistance under section 256B.0659; or
3.10	(iii) home and community-based waiver recipients living in their own home or rented
3.11	or leased apartment.
3.12	(2) Notwithstanding subdivision 3, paragraph (c), an individual eligible for the shelter
3.13	needy benefit under this paragraph is considered a household of one. An eligible individua
3.14	who receives this benefit prior to age 65 may continue to receive the benefit after the age
3.15	of 65.
3.16	(3) "Housing assistance" means that the assistance unit incurs monthly shelter costs that
3.17	exceed 40 percent of the assistance unit's gross income before the application of this special
3.18	needs standard. "Gross income" for the purposes of this section is the applicant's or recipient's
3.19	income as defined in section 256D.35, subdivision 10, or the standard specified in subdivision
3.20	3, paragraph (a) or (b), whichever is greater. A recipient of a federal or state housing subsidy
3.21	that limits shelter costs to a percentage of gross income, shall not be considered in need or
3.22	housing assistance for purposes of this paragraph.
3.23	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is effective January 1, 2024."
3.24	Page 108, line 6, delete "medical assistance"
3.25	Page 108, line 14, delete "medical"
3.26	Page 108, line 15, delete "assistance" and delete everything after "in"
3.27	Page 108, line 16, delete everything before "does not" and insert "section 256B.35"
3.28	Page 108, line 19, after "SSI" insert "and the general assistance personal needs allowance
3.29	Page 108, line 23, delete "medical assistance"
3.30	Page 108, line 24, delete everything after "in"
3.31	Page 108, line 25, delete everything before "does not" and insert "section 256B.35"

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

"(e) For a recipient who lives in a setting as described in section 2561.04, subdivision 2a, paragraph (b), clause (2), and receives general assistance, the personal needs allowance described in section 256B.35 is not countable unearned income."  Page 108, line 26, delete "January 1, 2025" and insert "October 1, 2024"  Page 110, after line 27, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 113, after line 18, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 113, after line 32, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 114, line 2, delete "AND HOMELESSNESS"  Page 114, delete section 1  Page 115, delete section 3  Page 116, delete section 3  Page 120, line 28, before "including" insert a comma  Page 120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma  Page 123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma  Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, delete section 5  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor: (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules; (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements; (3) is not a jail or prison;	Page	108, after line 25, insert:
described in section 256B.35 is not countable unearned income."  Page 108, line 26, delete "January 1, 2025" and insert "October 1, 2024"  Page 110, after line 27, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 113, after line 18, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 113, after line 32, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 114, line 2, delete "AND HOMELESSNESS"  Page 114, delete section 1  Page 115, delete section 3  Page 120, line 28, before "including" insert a comma  Page 120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma  Page 123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma  Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	" <u>(e)</u> ]	For a recipient who lives in a setting as described in section 256I.04, subdivision
Page 108, line 26, delete "January 1, 2025" and insert "October 1, 2024"  Page 110, after line 27, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 113, after line 18, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 113, after line 32, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 114, line 2, delete "AND HOMELESSNESS"  Page 114, delete section 1  Page 115, delete section 3  Page 116, delete section 3  Page 120, line 28, before "including" insert a comma  Page 120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma  Page 123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma  Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules; (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	2a, para	graph (b), clause (2), and receives general assistance, the personal needs allowance
Page 110, after line 27, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 113, after line 18, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 113, after line 32, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 114, line 2, delete "AND HOMELESSNESS"  Page 114, delete section 1  Page 115, delete section 3  Page 116, delete section 3  Page 120, line 28, before "including" insert a comma  Page 120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma  Page 123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma  Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, delete section 5  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:  Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	describe	d in section 256B.35 is not countable unearned income."
"EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 113, after line 18, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 113, after line 32, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 114, line 2, delete "AND HOMELESSNESS"  Page 114, delete section 1  Page 115, delete section 3  Page 120, line 28, before "including" insert a comma  Page 120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma  Page 123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma  Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, delete section 5  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000, Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	Page	108, line 26, delete "January 1, 2025" and insert "October 1, 2024"
Page 113, after line 18, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 113, after line 32, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 114, line 2, delete "AND HOMELESSNESS"  Page 114, delete section 1  Page 115, delete section 3  Page 116, delete section 3  Page 120, line 28, before "including" insert a comma  Page 120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma  Page 123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma  Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, delete section 5  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000, Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	Page	110, after line 27, insert:
"EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 113, after line 32, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 114, line 2, delete "AND HOMELESSNESS"  Page 115, delete section 1  Page 115, delete section 3  Page 120, line 28, before "including" insert a comma  Page 120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma  Page 123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma  Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, delete section 5  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:  Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	" <u>EF</u>	FECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."
Page 113, after line 32, insert:  "EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 114, line 2, delete "AND HOMELESSNESS"  Page 114, delete section 1  Page 115, delete section 3  Page 116, delete sections 4 and 5  Page 120, line 28, before "including" insert a comma  Page 120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma  Page 123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma  Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:  Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000, Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	Page	113, after line 18, insert:
"EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."  Page 114, line 2, delete "AND HOMELESSNESS"  Page 114, delete section 1  Page 115, delete sections 4 and 5  Page 120, line 28, before "including" insert a comma  Page 120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma  Page 123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma  Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, delete section 5  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:  Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	" <u>EF</u>	FECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."
Page 114, line 2, delete "AND HOMELESSNESS"  Page 116, delete section 3  Page 120, line 28, before "including" insert a comma  Page 120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma  Page 123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma  Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, delete section 5  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:  Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	Page	113, after line 32, insert:
Page 114, delete section 1  Page 115, delete section 3  Page 116, delete sections 4 and 5  Page 120, line 28, before "including" insert a comma  Page 120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma  Page 123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma  Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, delete section 5  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:  Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	" <u>EF</u>	FECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023."
Page 115, delete section 3  Page 116, delete sections 4 and 5  Page 120, line 28, before "including" insert a comma  Page 120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma  Page 123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma  Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, delete section 5  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read: Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000, Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	Page	114, line 2, delete "AND HOMELESSNESS"
Page 120, line 28, before "including" insert a comma  Page 120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma  Page 123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma  Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, delete section 5  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:  Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	Page	114, delete section 1
Page 120, line 28, before "including" insert a comma  Page 120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma  Page 123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma  Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, delete section 5  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:  Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	Page	115, delete section 3
Page 120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma  Page 123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma  Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, delete section 5  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:  Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	Page	116, delete sections 4 and 5
Page 123, line 19, after "when" insert a comma  Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, delete section 5  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:  Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	Page	120, line 28, before "including" insert a comma
Page 123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"  Page 123, delete section 5  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:  Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	Page	120, line 29, after "disorders" insert a comma
Page 123, delete section 5  Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:  Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	Page	123, line 19, after "centers" insert a comma
Page 123, after line 25, insert:  "Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:  Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	Page	123, line 20, after "when" insert "the comprehensive assessment is"
"Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:  Subd. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,  Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	Page	123, delete section 5
Subd. 1a. <b>Room and board provider requirements.</b> (a) Effective January 1, 2000, Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	Page	123, after line 25, insert:
Vendors of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:  (1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	"Sec	Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 254B.05, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
<ul><li>(1) has rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;</li><li>(2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;</li></ul>	Subc	l. 1a. Room and board provider requirements. (a) Effective January 1, 2000,
while residing in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;  (2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	Vendors	of room and board are eligible for behavioral health fund payment if the vendor:
(2) is determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;	(1) h	as rules prohibiting residents bringing chemicals into the facility or using chemicals
	while re	siding in the facility and provide consequences for infractions of those rules;
(3) is not a jail or prison;	(2) is	s determined to meet applicable health and safety requirements;
	(3) is	s not a jail or prison;

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1
U3/22/23 12.00 DIII	HOUSE RESEARCH	11113/1V1 V	114300A.

5.1	(4) is not concurrently receiving funds under chapter 256I for the recipient;
5.2	(5) admits individuals who are 18 years of age or older;
5.3	(6) is registered as a board and lodging or lodging establishment according to section
5.4	157.17;
5.5	(7) has awake staff on site 24 hours per day;
5.6	(8) has staff who are at least 18 years of age and meet the requirements of section
5.7	245G.11, subdivision 1, paragraph (b);
5.8	(9) has emergency behavioral procedures that meet the requirements of section 245G.16;
5.9	(10) meets the requirements of section 245G.08, subdivision 5, if administering
5.10	medications to clients;
5.11	(11) meets the abuse prevention requirements of section 245A.65, including a policy on
5.12	fraternization and the mandatory reporting requirements of section 626.557;
5.13	(12) documents coordination with the treatment provider to ensure compliance with
5.14	section 254B.03, subdivision 2;
5.15	(13) protects client funds and ensures freedom from exploitation by meeting the
5.16	provisions of section 245A.04, subdivision 13;
5.17	(14) has a grievance procedure that meets the requirements of section 245G.15,
5.18	subdivision 2; and
5.19	(15) has sleeping and bathroom facilities for men and women separated by a door that
5.20	is locked, has an alarm, or is supervised by awake staff.
5.21	(b) Programs licensed according to Minnesota Rules, chapter 2960, are exempt from
5.22	paragraph (a), clauses (5) to (15).
5.23	(c) Programs providing children's mental health crisis admissions and stabilization under
5.24	section 245.4882, subdivision 6, are eligible vendors of room and board.
5.25	(d) Programs providing children's residential services under section 245.4882, except
5.26	services for individuals who have a placement under chapter 260C or 260D, are eligible
5.27	vendors of room and board.
5.28	(d) (e) Licensed programs providing intensive residential treatment services or residential
5.29	crisis stabilization services pursuant to section 256B.0622 or 256B.0624 are eligible vendors
5.30	of room and board and are exempt from paragraph (a), clauses (6) to (15).

5.31

**EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2023.

02/22/22 12 06	HOUSE DESEADOR	TITIC /N AXI	TT2000 A 1
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256.478, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 6.1 Subd. 2. Eligibility. An individual is eligible for the transition to community initiative 6.2 if the individual does not meet eligibility criteria for the medical assistance program under 6.3 section 256B.056 or 256B.057, but who meets at least one of the following criteria: 6.4 (1) the person otherwise meets the criteria under section 256B.092, subdivision 13, or 6.5 256B.49, subdivision 24; 6.6 (2) the person has met treatment objectives and no longer requires a hospital-level care 6.7 or a secure treatment setting, but the person's discharge from the Anoka Metro Regional 6.8 Treatment Center, the Minnesota Security Hospital Forensic Mental Health Program, the 6.9 Child and Adolescent Behavioral Health Hospital program, a psychiatric residential treatment 6.10 facility under section 256B.0941, intensive residential treatment services under section 6.11 256B.0622, children's residential services under section 245.4882, or a community behavioral 6.12 health hospital would be substantially delayed without additional resources available through 6.13 the transitions to community initiative; or 6.14 (3) the person is in a community hospital, but alternative community living options 6.15 would be appropriate for the person, and the person has received approval from the 6.16 commissioner; or 6.17  $\frac{(4)(i)}{(3)}$  (3) the person (i) is receiving customized living services reimbursed under section 6.18 256B.4914, 24-hour customized living services reimbursed under section 256B.4914, or 6.19 community residential services reimbursed under section 256B.4914; (ii) the person expresses 6.20 a desire to move; and (iii) the person has received approval from the commissioner. 6.21 **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective July 1, 2023." 6.22 Page 124, delete section 6 6.23 Page 125, delete sections 7 and 8 6.24 Page 127, delete section 9 6.25 Page 130, delete section 10 6.26 Page 131, line 13, after "(a)" insert "The commissioner shall establish start-up and 6.27 capacity-building grants for psychiatric residential treatment facility sites." 6.28 Page 131, line 18, after "resources" insert a comma 6.29 Page 132, line 2, after "commissioner" insert "of human services" 6.30 Page 132, line 4, delete "will" and insert "must" 6.31

	03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1
7.1	Page 132, line 5, before "crisis" inser	rt "a" and after "crisis" i	nsert a comma	
7.2	Page 132, line 7, delete "crisis" and i	nsert " <u>crises</u> "		
7.3	Page 132, line 15, delete "the"			
7.4	Page 132, line 16, delete "evaluation	u		
7.5	Page 132, after line 21, insert:			
7.6	"Sec RATE INCREASE FOR ME	ENTAL HEALTH ADU	J <b>LT DAY TRE</b> A	ATMENT.
7.7	The commissioner of human services	s must increase the reim	bursement rate	for adult
7.8	day treatment under Minnesota Statutes,	section 256B.0671, sub	odivision 3, by 5	50 percent
7.9	over the reimbursement rate in effect as	of June 30, 2023.		
7.10	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is	effective January 1, 2024	4, or upon federa	ıl approval,
7.11	whichever is later. The commissioner of	human services shall no	otify the revisor	of statutes
7.12	when federal approval is obtained.			
7.13	Sec ROOM AND BOARD COST	S IN CHILDREN'S R	RESIDENTIAL	,
7.14	FACILITIES.			<u>:</u>
7.15	The commissioner of human services	s must update the behav	ioral health fund	d room and
7.16	board rate schedule to include services pro	ovided under Minnesota	Statutes, section	245.4882,
7.17	for individuals who do not have a placer	nent under Minnesota S	statutes, chapter	260C or
7.18	260D. The commissioner must establish	room and board rates c	ommensurate w	ith current
7.19	room and board rates for adolescent prog	grams licensed under M	innesota Statute	es, section
7.20	<u>245G.18.</u>			
7.21	<b>EFFECTIVE DATE.</b> This section is	s effective July 1, 2023.	"	
7.22	Page 143, line 1, delete "July 1, 2023	and insert "the day fo	llowing final en	actment"
7.23	Page 143, after line 6, insert:			
7.24	"(1) a child under 19 years of age who	is determined eligible f	for medical assis	tance must
7.25	remain eligible for a period of 12 month	<u>s;</u> "		
7.26	Renumber the clauses in sequence			
7.27	Page 143, line 7, and after "child" ins	sert "19 years of age or	older and"	

Page 143, line 23, after "approval" insert "and the implementation of required

Sec. . 7

administrative and systems changes"

7.28

7.29

Page 143, line 25, after "obtained" insert "and the administrative and systems changes 8.1 are implemented" 8.2 Page 145, line 2, after the semicolon, insert "and" 8.3 Page 145, line 3, strike "; and" and insert a period 8.4 Page 145, delete line 4 8.5 Page 150, after line 11, insert: 8.6 "Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, subdivision 22, is amended to read: 8.7 Subd. 22. Hospice care. Medical assistance covers hospice care services under Public 8.8 Law 99-272, section 9505, to the extent authorized by rule, except that a recipient age 21 8.9 8.10 or under who elects to receive hospice services does not waive coverage for services that are related to the treatment of the condition for which a diagnosis of terminal illness has 8.11 been made. Hospice respite and end-of-life care under subdivision 22a are not hospice 8.12 services under this subdivision. 8.13 Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0625, is amended by adding a subdivision 8.14 to read: 8.15 Subd. 22a. Residential hospice facility; hospice respite and end-of-life care for 8.16 children. (a) Medical assistance covers hospice respite and end-of-life care if the care is 8.17 for recipients age 21 or under who elect to receive hospice care delivered in a facility that 8.18 is licensed under sections 144A.75 to 144A.755 and that is a residential hospice facility 8.19 under section 144A.75, subdivision 13, paragraph (a). Hospice care services under 8.20 subdivision 22 are not hospice respite or end-of-life care under this subdivision. 8.21 (b) The payment rates for coverage under this subdivision must be 100 percent of the 8.22 Medicare rate for continuous home care hospice services as published in the Centers for 8.23 Medicare and Medicaid Services annual final rule updating payments and policies for hospice 8.24 care. The commissioner shall seek federal financial participation for payment for hospice 8.25 respite and end-of-life care under this subdivision. If federal financial participation is not 8.26 available, payment must be made from state-only funds. Payment for hospice respite and 8.27 end-of-life care must be paid to the residential hospice facility and is not included in any 8.28 limits or cap amounts applicable to hospice services payments to the elected hospice services 8.29 provider. 8.30

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1
03/22/23 12.00 DIII	HOUSE RESEARCH	11115/1V1 V	11470071

9.1	(c) Certification of the residential hospice facility by the federal Medicare program must
9.2	not be a requirement of medical assistance payment for hospice respite and end-of-life care
9.3	under this subdivision."
9.4	Page 158, after line 4, insert:
9.5	"Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0631, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
9.6	Subd. 3. Collection. (a) The medical assistance reimbursement to the provider shall be
9.7	reduced by the amount of the co-payment or deductible, except that reimbursements shall
9.8	not be reduced:
9.9	(1) once a recipient has reached the \$12 per month maximum for prescription drug
9.10	co-payments; or
9.11	(2) for a recipient who has met their monthly five percent cost-sharing limit.
9.12	(b) The provider collects the co-payment or deductible from the recipient. Providers
9.13	may not deny services to recipients who are unable to pay the co-payment or deductible.
9.14	(c) Medical assistance reimbursement to fee-for-service providers and payments to
9.15	managed care plans shall not be increased as a result of the removal of co-payments or
9.16	deductibles effective on or after January 1, 2009.
9.17	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024."
9.18	Page 167, delete lines 21 to 23
9.19	Page 170, line 5, delete "Medical" and insert "Medicare"
9.20	Page 172, line 19, delete everything after "2024" and insert a period
9.21	Page 172, delete lines 20 and 21
9.22	Page 172, before line 22, insert:
9.23	"Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.764, is amended to read:
9.24	256B.764 REIMBURSEMENT FOR FAMILY PLANNING SERVICES.
9.25	(a) Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2007, payment rates for family
9.26	planning services shall be increased by 25 percent over the rates in effect June 30, 2007,
9.27	when these services are provided by a community clinic as defined in section 145.9268,
9.28	subdivision 1.

10.1

10.2

10.3

10.4

10.5

10.6

10.7

10.8

10.9

10.10

10.11

10.12

10.13

10.14

10.15

10.16

10.17

10.18

10.19

10.20

10.21

10.22

10.23

10.24

10.25

10.26

10.27

10.28

10.29

10.30

10.31

10.32

10.33

(b) Effective for services rendered on or after July 1, 2013, payment rates for family planning services shall be increased by 20 percent over the rates in effect June 30, 2013, when these services are provided by a community clinic as defined in section 145.9268, subdivision 1. The commissioner shall adjust capitation rates to managed care and county-based purchasing plans to reflect this increase, and shall require plans to pass on the full amount of the rate increase to eligible community clinics, in the form of higher payment rates for family planning services.

- (c) Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2024, payment rates for family planning and abortion services shall be increased by ten percent. This increase does not apply to federally qualified health centers, rural health centers, or Indian health services.
- Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.766, is amended to read:

## 256B.766 REIMBURSEMENT FOR BASIC CARE SERVICES.

- (a) Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2009, total payments for basic care services, shall be reduced by three percent, except that for the period July 1, 2009, through June 30, 2011, total payments shall be reduced by 4.5 percent for the medical assistance and general assistance medical care programs, prior to third-party liability and spenddown calculation. Effective July 1, 2010, the commissioner shall classify physical therapy services, occupational therapy services, and speech-language pathology and related services as basic care services. The reduction in this paragraph shall apply to physical therapy services, occupational therapy services, and speech-language pathology and related services provided on or after July 1, 2010.
- (b) Payments made to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans shall be reduced for services provided on or after October 1, 2009, to reflect the reduction effective July 1, 2009, and payments made to the plans shall be reduced effective October 1, 2010, to reflect the reduction effective July 1, 2010.
- (c) Effective for services provided on or after September 1, 2011, through June 30, 2013, total payments for outpatient hospital facility fees shall be reduced by five percent from the rates in effect on August 31, 2011.
- (d) Effective for services provided on or after September 1, 2011, through June 30, 2013, total payments for ambulatory surgery centers facility fees, medical supplies and durable medical equipment not subject to a volume purchase contract, prosthetics and orthotics, renal dialysis services, laboratory services, public health nursing services, physical therapy services, occupational therapy services, speech therapy services, eyeglasses not subject to

a volume purchase contract, hearing aids not subject to a volume purchase contract, and anesthesia services shall be reduced by three percent from the rates in effect on August 31, 2011.

11.1

11.2

11.3

11.4

11.5

11.6

11.7

11.8

11.9

11.10

11.11

11.12

11.13

11.14

11.15

11.16

11.17

11.18

11.19

11.20

11.21

11.22

11.23

11.24

11.25

11.26

11.27

11.28

11.29

11.30

11.31

11.32

11.33

- (e) Effective for services provided on or after September 1, 2014, payments for ambulatory surgery centers facility fees, hospice services, renal dialysis services, laboratory services, public health nursing services, eyeglasses not subject to a volume purchase contract, and hearing aids not subject to a volume purchase contract shall be increased by three percent and payments for outpatient hospital facility fees shall be increased by three percent. Payments made to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans shall not be adjusted to reflect payments under this paragraph.
- (f) Payments for medical supplies and durable medical equipment not subject to a volume purchase contract, and prosthetics and orthotics, provided on or after July 1, 2014, through June 30, 2015, shall be decreased by .33 percent. Payments for medical supplies and durable medical equipment not subject to a volume purchase contract, and prosthetics and orthotics, provided on or after July 1, 2015, shall be increased by three percent from the rates as determined under paragraphs (i) and (j).
- (g) Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2015, payments for outpatient hospital facility fees, medical supplies and durable medical equipment not subject to a volume purchase contract, prosthetics, and orthotics to a hospital meeting the criteria specified in section 62Q.19, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (4), shall be increased by 90 percent from the rates in effect on June 30, 2015. Payments made to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans shall not be adjusted to reflect payments under this paragraph.
- (h) This section does not apply to physician and professional services, inpatient hospital services, family planning services, mental health services, dental services, prescription drugs, medical transportation, federally qualified health centers, rural health centers, Indian health services, and Medicare cost-sharing.
- (i) Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2015, the following categories of medical supplies and durable medical equipment shall be individually priced items: enteral nutrition and supplies, customized and other specialized tracheostomy tubes and supplies, electric patient lifts, and durable medical equipment repair and service. This paragraph does not apply to medical supplies and durable medical equipment subject to a volume purchase contract, products subject to the preferred diabetic testing supply program, and items provided to dually eligible recipients when Medicare is the primary payer for the item. The

commissioner shall not apply any medical assistance rate reductions to durable medical equipment as a result of Medicare competitive bidding.

12.1

12.2

12.3

12.4

12.5

12.6

12.7

12.8

12.9

12.10

12.11

12.12

12.13

12.14

12.15

12.16

12.17

12.18

12.19

12.20

12.21

12.22

12.23

12.24

12.25

12.26

12.27

12.28

12.29

12.30

12.31

12.32

12.33

12.34

- (j) Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2015, medical assistance payment rates for durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, or supplies shall be increased as follows:
- (1) payment rates for durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, or supplies that were subject to the Medicare competitive bid that took effect in January of 2009 shall be increased by 9.5 percent; and
- (2) payment rates for durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics, or supplies on the medical assistance fee schedule, whether or not subject to the Medicare competitive bid that took effect in January of 2009, shall be increased by 2.94 percent, with this increase being applied after calculation of any increased payment rate under clause (1).
- This paragraph does not apply to medical supplies and durable medical equipment subject to a volume purchase contract, products subject to the preferred diabetic testing supply program, items provided to dually eligible recipients when Medicare is the primary payer for the item, and individually priced items identified in paragraph (i). Payments made to managed care plans and county-based purchasing plans shall not be adjusted to reflect the rate increases in this paragraph.
- (k) Effective for nonpressure support ventilators provided on or after January 1, 2016, the rate shall be the lower of the submitted charge or the Medicare fee schedule rate. Effective for pressure support ventilators provided on or after January 1, 2016, the rate shall be the lower of the submitted charge or 47 percent above the Medicare fee schedule rate. For payments made in accordance with this paragraph, if, and to the extent that, the commissioner identifies that the state has received federal financial participation for ventilators in excess of the amount allowed effective January 1, 2018, under United States Code, title 42, section 1396b(i)(27), the state shall repay the excess amount to the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services with state funds and maintain the full payment rate under this paragraph.
- (l) Payment rates for durable medical equipment, prosthetics, orthotics or supplies, that are subject to the upper payment limit in accordance with section 1903(i)(27) of the Social Security Act, shall be paid the Medicare rate. Rate increases provided in this chapter shall not be applied to the items listed in this paragraph.
- (m) Beginning July 1, 2023, enteral nutrition and supplies must be paid according to the applicable method in clauses (1) to (3). For methods based upon the 50th percentile, the commissioner must determine the 50th percentile based on data that exists for that product

13.1

13.2

13.3

13.4

13.5

13.6

13.7

13.8

13.9

13.10

13.11

13.12

13.13

13.14

13.15

13.16

13.17

13.18

13.19

13.20

13.21

13.22

13.23

13.24

13.25

13.26

13.27

13.28

13.29

13.30

13.31

or supply on the effective date of that rate. The commissioner must make the 50th percentile determination based on at least 100 paid claim lines by at least ten different providers for a given product or supply. If the commissioner does not have at least 100 paid claim lines from ten different providers for a given product or supply, the commissioner must make the 50th percentile determination based on at least 20 claim lines by at least five different providers for a product or supply. If the commissioner does not have at least 20 claim lines by five different providers for a product or supply, payment for enteral nutrition and supplies must be made according to clause (3). (1) For dates of service on or after July 1, 2023, through December 31, 2023, payment must be based on the 50th percentile of the usual and customary charges per product code submitted to the commissioner for the previous fiscal year, using only charges submitted per unit. Rate increases must not exceed 50 percent of the previous rate per code and product combination. (2) For dates of service on or after January 1, 2024, payment must be based on the 50th percentile of the usual and customary charges per product code submitted to the commissioner for the previous calendar year, using only charges submitted per unit. The commissioner must update the payment rates effective for each calendar year annually using the previous calendar year's data, not to exceed an increase of 50 percent of the previous year's rate per code and product combination. (3) For dates of service on or after July 1, 2023, if data are not available to calculate the 50th percentile for enteral products or supplies under clause (1) or (2), the payment must be based on the manufacturer's suggested retail price of that product or supply minus 20 percent. If the manufacturer's suggested retail price is not available, payment must be based on the actual acquisition cost of that product or supply plus 20 percent." Page 174, line 13, strike "256B.057, subdivision 9," Page 174, lines 15 to 18, reinstate the stricken language and delete the new language Page 175, line 10, after "assistance" insert "and MinnesotaCare" Page 175, line 17, after "recipient" insert ", and provide MinnesotaCare benefits, pending the outcome of a fair hearing decision, to any MinnesotaCare recipient," Page 175, lines 20, 25, and 28, after "assistance" insert "or MinnesotaCare" Page 176, after line 2, insert:

			******
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

14.1	"(g) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.15, subdivision 2, the
14.2	commissioner shall make MinnesotaCare available with no premium payments required,
14.3	for coverage beginning June 1, 2023, through June 30, 2024.
14.4	(h) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 256B.057, subdivision 9, or any other
14.5	provision to the contrary, the commissioner shall not collect any unpaid premium for a
14.6	coverage month that occurred during the COVID-19 public health emergency declared by
14.7	the United States Secretary of Health and Human Services through the month after the
14.8	enrollee's first renewal is conducted, following the resumption of medical assistance renewals
14.9	after March 31, 2023.
14.10	(i) Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, the commissioner shall, as required
14.11	by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, suspend certain procedural terminations
14.12	for medical assistance enrollees."
14.13	Page 180, line 10, delete "who" and insert "that"
14.14	Page 182, after line 11, insert:
14.15	"Sec [144.1913] CLINICAL DENTAL EDUCATION INNOVATION GRANTS.
14.16	(a) The commissioner shall award clinical dental education innovation grants to teaching
14.17	institutions and clinical training sites for projects that increase dental access for underserved
14.18	populations and promote innovative clinical training of dental professionals. In awarding
14.19	the grants, the commissioner shall consider the following:
14.20	(1) potential to successfully increase access to dental services for an underserved
14.21	population;
14.22	(2) the long-term viability of the project to improve access to dental services beyond
14.23	the period of initial funding;
14.24	(3) evidence of collaboration between the applicant and local communities;
14.25	(4) efficiency in the use of grant funding; and
14.26	(5) the priority level of the project in relation to state education, access, and workforce
14.27	goals.
14.28	(b) The commissioner shall periodically evaluate the priorities in awarding innovations
14.29	grants under this section to ensure that the priorities meet the changing workforce needs of
14.30	the state."
14.31	Page 186, delete lines 12 to 16

Page 189, line 16, delete "with" and insert "who: (1) have" 15.1 Page 189, line 17, delete ", including those" 15.2 Page 189, line 18, delete "with" and insert "; (2) have" 15.3 Page 189, line 18, delete the second comma and insert "; or (3) are undocumented 15.4 noncitizens 19 years of age or older," 15.5 Page 189, line 19, after "requirements" insert a comma 15.6 Page 195, after line 2, insert: 15.7 "Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.46, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 15.8 Subd. 4. Licensing data. (a) As used in this subdivision: 15.9 (1) "licensing data" are all data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated by the 15.10 welfare system pertaining to persons licensed or registered or who apply for licensure or 15.11 15.12 registration or who formerly were licensed or registered under the authority of the commissioner of human services; 15.13 (2) "client" means a person who is receiving services from a licensee or from an applicant 15.14 for licensure; and 15.15 (3) "personal and personal financial data" are Social Security numbers, identity of and 15.16 letters of reference, insurance information, reports from the Bureau of Criminal 15.17 Apprehension, health examination reports, and social/home studies. 15.18 15.19 (b)(1)(i) Except as provided in paragraph (c), the following data on applicants, license holders, and former licensees are public: name, address, telephone number of licensees, 15.20 date of receipt of a completed application, dates of licensure, licensed capacity, type of 15.21 client preferred, variances granted, record of training and education in child care and child 15.22 development, type of dwelling, name and relationship of other family members, previous 15.23 license history, class of license, the existence and status of complaints, and the number of 15.24 serious injuries to or deaths of individuals in the licensed program as reported to the 15.25 commissioner of human services, the local social services agency, or any other county 15.26 welfare agency. For purposes of this clause, a serious injury is one that is treated by a 15.27 15.28 physician. (ii) Except as provided in item (v), when a correction order, an order to forfeit a fine, 15.29 an order of license suspension, an order of temporary immediate suspension, an order of 15.30 license revocation, an order of license denial, or an order of conditional license has been 15.31 issued, or a complaint is resolved, the following data on current and former licensees and

Sec. . 15

15.32

16.1

16.2

16.3

16.4

16.5

16.6

16.7

16.8

16.9

16.10

16.11

16.12

16.13

16.14

16.15

16.16

16.17

16.18

16.19

16.20

16.21

16.22

16.23

16.24

16.25

16.26

16.27

16.28

16.29

16.30

16.31

16.32

16.33

16.34

applicants are public: the general nature of the complaint or allegations leading to the temporary immediate suspension; the substance and investigative findings of the licensing or maltreatment complaint, licensing violation, or substantiated maltreatment; the existence of settlement negotiations; the record of informal resolution of a licensing violation; orders of hearing; findings of fact; conclusions of law; specifications of the final correction order, fine, suspension, temporary immediate suspension, revocation, denial, or conditional license contained in the record of licensing action; whether a fine has been paid; and the status of any appeal of these actions.

- (iii) When a license denial under section 245A.05 or a sanction under section 245A.07 is based on a determination that a license holder, applicant, or controlling individual is responsible for maltreatment under section 626.557 or chapter 260E, the identity of the applicant, license holder, or controlling individual as the individual responsible for maltreatment is public data at the time of the issuance of the license denial or sanction.
- (iv) When a license denial under section 245A.05 or a sanction under section 245A.07 is based on a determination that a license holder, applicant, or controlling individual is disqualified under chapter 245C, the identity of the license holder, applicant, or controlling individual as the disqualified individual and the reason for the disqualification are is public data at the time of the issuance of the licensing sanction or denial. If the applicant, license holder, or controlling individual requests reconsideration of the disqualification and the disqualification is affirmed, the reason for the disqualification and the reason to not set aside the disqualification are public private data.
- (v) A correction order or fine issued to a child care provider for a licensing violation is private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12, or nonpublic data under section 13.02, subdivision 9, if the correction order or fine is seven years old or older.
- (2) For applicants who withdraw their application prior to licensure or denial of a license, the following data are public: the name of the applicant, the city and county in which the applicant was seeking licensure, the dates of the commissioner's receipt of the initial application and completed application, the type of license sought, and the date of withdrawal of the application.
- (3) For applicants who are denied a license, the following data are public: the name and address of the applicant, the city and county in which the applicant was seeking licensure, the dates of the commissioner's receipt of the initial application and completed application, the type of license sought, the date of denial of the application, the nature of the basis for the denial, the existence of settlement negotiations, the record of informal resolution of a

denial, orders of hearings, findings of fact, conclusions of law, specifications of the final order of denial, and the status of any appeal of the denial.

17.1

17.2

17.3

17.4

17.5

17.6

17.7

17.8

17.9

17.10

17.11

17.12

17.13

17.14

17.15

17.16

17.17

17.18

17.19

17.20

17.21

17.22

17.23

17.24

17.25

17.26

17.27

17.28

17.29

- (4) When maltreatment is substantiated under section 626.557 or chapter 260E and the victim and the substantiated perpetrator are affiliated with a program licensed under chapter 245A, the commissioner of human services, local social services agency, or county welfare agency may inform the license holder where the maltreatment occurred of the identity of the substantiated perpetrator and the victim.
- (5) Notwithstanding clause (1), for child foster care, only the name of the license holder and the status of the license are public if the county attorney has requested that data otherwise classified as public data under clause (1) be considered private data based on the best interests of a child in placement in a licensed program.
- (c) The following are private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12, or nonpublic data under section 13.02, subdivision 9: personal and personal financial data on family day care program and family foster care program applicants and licensees and their family members who provide services under the license.
- (d) The following are private data on individuals: the identity of persons who have made reports concerning licensees or applicants that appear in inactive investigative data, and the records of clients or employees of the licensee or applicant for licensure whose records are received by the licensing agency for purposes of review or in anticipation of a contested matter. The names of reporters of complaints or alleged violations of licensing standards under chapters 245A, 245B, 245C, and 245D, and applicable rules and alleged maltreatment under section 626.557 and chapter 260E, are confidential data and may be disclosed only as provided in section 260E.21, subdivision 4; 260E.35; or 626.557, subdivision 12b.
- (e) Data classified as private, confidential, nonpublic, or protected nonpublic under this subdivision become public data if submitted to a court or administrative law judge as part of a disciplinary proceeding in which there is a public hearing concerning a license which has been suspended, immediately suspended, revoked, or denied.
- (f) Data generated in the course of licensing investigations that relate to an alleged violation of law are investigative data under subdivision 3.
- (g) Data that are not public data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated under this subdivision that relate to or are derived from a report as defined in section 260E.03, or 626.5572, subdivision 18, are subject to the destruction provisions of sections 260E.35, subdivision 6, and 626.557, subdivision 12b.

18.1

18.2

18.3

18.4

18.5

18.6

18.7

18.8

18.9

18.10

18.11

18.12

18.13

18.14

18.15

18.16

18.17

18.18

18.19

18.20

18.21

18.22

18.23

18.24

18.25

18.26

18.27

18.28

18.29

18.30

18.31

18.32

18.33

18.34

18.35

(h) Upon request, not public data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated under this subdivision that relate to or are derived from a report of substantiated maltreatment as defined in section 626.557 or chapter 260E may be exchanged with the Department of Health for purposes of completing background studies pursuant to section 144.057 and with the Department of Corrections for purposes of completing background studies pursuant to section 241.021.

- (i) Data on individuals collected according to licensing activities under chapters 245A and 245C, data on individuals collected by the commissioner of human services according to investigations under section 626.557 and chapters 245A, 245B, 245C, 245D, and 260E may be shared with the Department of Human Rights, the Department of Health, the Department of Corrections, the ombudsman for mental health and developmental disabilities, and the individual's professional regulatory board when there is reason to believe that laws or standards under the jurisdiction of those agencies may have been violated or the information may otherwise be relevant to the board's regulatory jurisdiction. Background study data on an individual who is the subject of a background study under chapter 245C for a licensed service for which the commissioner of human services is the license holder may be shared with the commissioner and the commissioner's delegate by the licensing division. Unless otherwise specified in this chapter, the identity of a reporter of alleged maltreatment or licensing violations may not be disclosed.
- (j) In addition to the notice of determinations required under sections 260E.24, subdivisions 5 and 7, and 260E.30, subdivision 6, paragraphs (b), (c), (d), (e), and (f), if the commissioner or the local social services agency has determined that an individual is a substantiated perpetrator of maltreatment of a child based on sexual abuse, as defined in section 260E.03, and the commissioner or local social services agency knows that the individual is a person responsible for a child's care in another facility, the commissioner or local social services agency shall notify the head of that facility of this determination. The notification must include an explanation of the individual's available appeal rights and the status of any appeal. If a notice is given under this paragraph, the government entity making the notification shall provide a copy of the notice to the individual who is the subject of the notice.
- (k) All not public data collected, maintained, used, or disseminated under this subdivision and subdivision 3 may be exchanged between the Department of Human Services, Licensing Division, and the Department of Corrections for purposes of regulating services for which the Department of Human Services and the Department of Corrections have regulatory authority.

03/22/23 12:06 pm HOUSE RESEARCH HHS/MV	H2900A1
---	---------

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.02, is amended by adding a subdivision 19.1 19.2 to read: Subd. 7a. Conservator. "Conservator" has the meaning given under section 524.1-201, 19.3 clause (10), and includes proposed and current conservators. 19.4 Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.02, is amended by adding a subdivision 19.5 to read: 19.6 Subd. 11f. Guardian. "Guardian" has the meaning given under section 524.1-201, clause 19.7 (27), and includes proposed and current guardians. 19.8 Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.02, subdivision 13e, is amended to read: 19.9 Subd. 13e. NETStudy 2.0. "NETStudy 2.0" means the commissioner's system that 19.10 replaces both NETStudy and the department's internal background study processing system. 19.11 NETStudy 2.0 is designed to enhance protection of children and vulnerable adults by 19.12 improving the accuracy of background studies through fingerprint-based criminal record 19.13 checks and expanding the background studies to include a review of information from the 19.14 Minnesota Court Information System and the national crime information database. NETStudy 19.15 2.0 is also designed to increase efficiencies in and the speed of the hiring process by: 19.16 (1) providing access to and updates from public web-based data related to employment 19.17 eligibility; 19.18 (2) decreasing the need for repeat studies through electronic updates of background 19.19 study subjects' criminal records; 19.20 (3) supporting identity verification using subjects' Social Security numbers and 19.21 photographs; 19.22 (4) using electronic employer notifications; and 19.23 (5) issuing immediate verification of subjects' eligibility to provide services as more 19.24 studies are completed under the NETStudy 2.0 system-; and 19.25 (6) providing electronic access to certain notices for entities and background study 19.26 subjects. 19.27 Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 19.28 19.29 Subdivision 1. Licensed programs. (a) The commissioner shall conduct a background

Sec. . 19

study on:

19.30

- 03/22/23 12:06 pm HOUSE RESEARCH HHS/MV H2900A1 (1) the person or persons applying for a license; 20.1 (2) an individual age 13 and over living in the household where the licensed program 20.2 will be provided who is not receiving licensed services from the program; 20.3 (3) current or prospective employees or contractors of the applicant who will have direct 20.4 20.5 contact with persons served by the facility, agency, or program; (4) volunteers or student volunteers who will have direct contact with persons served 20.6 by the program to provide program services if the contact is not under the continuous, direct 20.7 supervision by an individual listed in clause (1) or (3); 20.8 (5) an individual age ten to 12 living in the household where the licensed services will 20.9 be provided when the commissioner has reasonable cause as defined in section 245C.02, 20.10 subdivision 15; 20.11 (6) an individual who, without providing direct contact services at a licensed program, 20.12 may have unsupervised access to children or vulnerable adults receiving services from a 20.13 program, when the commissioner has reasonable cause as defined in section 245C.02, 20.14 subdivision 15; 20.15 (7) all controlling individuals as defined in section 245A.02, subdivision 5a; 20.16 (8) notwithstanding the other requirements in this subdivision, child care background 20.17 study subjects as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 6a; and 20.18 (9) notwithstanding clause (3), for children's residential facilities and foster residence 20.19 settings, any adult working in the facility, whether or not the individual will have direct 20.20 contact with persons served by the facility. 20.21 (b) For child foster care when the license holder resides in the home where foster care 20.22 services are provided, a short-term substitute caregiver providing direct contact services for 20.23 a child for less than 72 hours of continuous care is not required to receive a background 20.24 study under this chapter. 20.25 (c) This subdivision applies to the following programs that must be licensed under 20.26 chapter 245A: 20.27
- 20.28 (1) adult foster care;
- 20.29 (2) child foster care;
- 20.30 (3) children's residential facilities;
- 20.31 (4) family child care;

- 21.1 (5) licensed child care centers;
- 21.2 (6) licensed home and community-based services under chapter 245D;
- 21.3 (7) residential mental health programs for adults;
- 21.4 (8) substance use disorder treatment programs under chapter 245G;
- 21.5 (9) withdrawal management programs under chapter 245F;
- 21.6 (10) adult day care centers;
- 21.7 (11) family adult day services;
- 21.8 (12) independent living assistance for youth;
- 21.9 (13) detoxification programs;
- 21.10 (14) community residential settings; and
- 21.11 (15) intensive residential treatment services and residential crisis stabilization under
- 21.12 chapter 245I-; and
- 21.13 (16) treatment programs for persons with sexual psychopathic personality or sexually
- dangerous persons, licensed under chapter 245A and according to Minnesota Rules, parts
- 21.15 9515.3000 to 9515.3110.
- Sec. ... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.03, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:
- Subd. 1a. **Procedure.** (a) Individuals and organizations that are required under this
- 21.18 section to have or initiate background studies shall comply with the requirements of this
- 21.19 chapter.
- 21.20 (b) All studies conducted under this section shall be conducted according to sections
- 21.21 299C.60 to 299C.64. This requirement does not apply to subdivisions 1, paragraph (c),
- 21.22 clauses (2) to (5), and 6a.
- 21.23 (c) All data obtained by the commissioner for a background study completed under this
- 21.24 <u>section shall be classified as private data.</u>
- Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.031, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. Alternative background studies. (a) The commissioner shall conduct
- 21.27 an alternative background study of individuals listed in this section.

00/00/00 10 06	HOHER BESEAR SH	TITTO A ITT	TT000011
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

- (b) Notwithstanding other sections of this chapter, all alternative background studies except subdivision 12 shall be conducted according to this section and with sections 299C.60 to 299C.64.
- (c) All terms in this section shall have the definitions provided in section 245C.02.

22.1

22.2

22.3

22.18

22.19

22.20

22.21

22.22

22.23

22.24

22.25

- 22.5 (d) The entity that submits an alternative background study request under this section shall submit the request to the commissioner according to section 245C.05.
- (e) The commissioner shall comply with the destruction requirements in section 245C.051.
- 22.8 (f) Background studies conducted under this section are subject to the provisions of section 245C.32.
- 22.10 (g) The commissioner shall forward all information that the commissioner receives under section 245C.08 to the entity that submitted the alternative background study request under subdivision 2. The commissioner shall not make any eligibility determinations regarding background studies conducted under this section.
- 22.14 (h) All data obtained by the commissioner for a background study completed under this
  22.15 section shall be classified as private data.

## 22.16 Sec. .... [245C.033] GUARDIANS AND CONSERVATORS; MALTREATMENT 22.17 AND STATE LICENSING AGENCY CHECKS.

- Subdivision 1. Maltreatment data. Requests for maltreatment data and records checks submitted pursuant to section 524.5-118 shall include information regarding whether the guardian or conservator has been a perpetrator of substantiated maltreatment of a vulnerable adult under section 626.557 or a minor under chapter 260E. If the guardian or conservator has been the perpetrator of substantiated maltreatment of a vulnerable adult or a minor, the commissioner must include a copy of any available public portion of the investigation memorandum under section 626.557, subdivision 12b, or any available public portion of the investigation memorandum under section 260E.30.
- Subd. 2. State licensing agency data. (a) Requests for state licensing agency data and records checks submitted pursuant to section 524.5-118 shall include information from a check of state licensing agency records.
- (b) The commissioner shall provide the court with licensing agency data for licenses
  directly related to the responsibilities of a guardian or conservator if the guardian or
  conservator has a current or prior affiliation with the:
- 22.32 (1) Lawyers Responsibility Board;

23.1	(2) State Board of Accountancy;
23.2	(3) Board of Social Work;
23.3	(4) Board of Psychology;
23.4	(5) Board of Nursing;
23.5	(6) Board of Medical Practice;
23.6	(7) Department of Education;
23.7	(8) Department of Commerce;
23.8	(9) Board of Chiropractic Examiners;
23.9	(10) Board of Dentistry;
23.10	(11) Board of Marriage and Family Therapy;
23.11	(12) Department of Human Services;
23.12	(13) Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) Board; and
23.13	(14) Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board.
23.14	(c) The commissioner shall provide to the court the electronically available data
23.15	maintained in the agency's database, including whether the guardian or conservator is or
23.16	has been licensed by the agency and whether a disciplinary action or a sanction against the
23.17	individual's license, including a condition, suspension, revocation, or cancellation, is in the
23.18	licensing agency's database.
23.19	Subd. 3. Procedure; maltreatment and state licensing agency data. Requests for
23.20	maltreatment and state licensing agency data checks shall be submitted by the guardian or
23.21	conservator to the commissioner on the form or in the manner prescribed by the
23.22	commissioner. Upon receipt of a signed informed consent, and payment under 245C.10,
23.23	the commissioner shall complete the maltreatment and state licensing agency checks. Upon
23.24	completion of the checks, the commissioner shall provide the requested information to the
23.25	courts on the form or in the manner prescribed by the commissioner.
23.26	Subd. 4. Classification of maltreatment and state licensing agency data; access to
23.27	information. All data obtained by the commissioner for maltreatment and state licensing
23.28	agency checks completed under this section shall be classified as private data

HOUSE RESEARCH

03/22/23 12:06 pm

HHS/MV

H2900A1

02/22/22 12 06	HOUSE DESEADOR	TITIC /N AXI	TT2000 A 1
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 24.1 Subdivision 1. Individual studied. (a) The individual who is the subject of the 24.2 background study must provide the applicant, license holder, or other entity under section 24.3 245C.04 with sufficient information to ensure an accurate study, including: 24.4 24.5 (1) the individual's first, middle, and last name and all other names by which the individual has been known: 24.6 24.7 (2) current home address, city, and state of residence; (3) current zip code; 24.8 24.9 (4) sex; (5) date of birth; 24.10 (6) driver's license number or state identification number; and 24.11 (7) upon implementation of NETStudy 2.0, the home address, city, county, and state of 24.12 residence for the past five years. 24.13 (b) Every subject of a background study conducted or initiated by counties or private 24.14 agencies under this chapter must also provide the home address, city, county, and state of 24.15 residence for the past five years. 24.16 (c) Every subject of a background study related to private agency adoptions or related 24.17 to child foster care licensed through a private agency, who is 18 years of age or older, shall 24.18 also provide the commissioner a signed consent for the release of any information received 24.19 from national crime information databases to the private agency that initiated the background 24.20 study. 24.21 (d) The subject of a background study shall provide fingerprints and a photograph as 24.22 required in subdivision 5. 24.23 (e) The subject of a background study shall submit a completed criminal and maltreatment 24.24 history records check consent form for applicable national and state level record checks. 24.25 (f) A background study subject who has access to the NETStudy 2.0 applicant portal 24.26 must provide updated contact information to the commissioner via NETStudy 2.0 any time 24.27 their personal information changes for as long as they remain affiliated on any roster. 24.28 (g) An entity must update contact information in NETStudy 2.0 for a background study 24.29 subject on the entity's roster any time the entity receives new contact information from the 24.30 study subject. 24.31

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.05, subdivision 2c, is amended to read:

- Subd. 2c. **Privacy notice to background study subject.** (a) Prior to initiating each background study, the entity initiating the study must provide the commissioner's privacy notice to the background study subject required under section 13.04, subdivision 2. The notice must be available through the commissioner's electronic NETStudy and NETStudy 2.0 systems and shall include the information in paragraphs (b) and (c).
- (b) The background study subject shall be informed that any previous background studies that received a set-aside will be reviewed, and without further contact with the background study subject, the commissioner may notify the agency that initiated the subsequent background study:
- (1) that the individual has a disqualification that has been set aside for the program or agency that initiated the study;
  - (2) the reason for the disqualification; and

25.1

25.2

25.3

25.4

25.5

25.6

25.7

25.8

25.9

25.10

25.11

25.12

25.13

25.17

25.18

25.19

25.20

25.21

25.22

25.23

25.24

25.25

25.26

25.27

25.28

25.29

25.30

25.31

25.32

- 25.14 (3) that information about the decision to set aside the disqualification will be available
  25.15 to the license holder upon request without the consent of the background study subject.
- 25.16 (c) The background study subject must also be informed that:
  - (1) the subject's fingerprints collected for purposes of completing the background study under this chapter must not be retained by the Department of Public Safety, Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, or by the commissioner. The Federal Bureau of Investigation will not retain background study subjects' fingerprints;
    - (2) effective upon implementation of NETStudy 2.0, the subject's photographic image will be retained by the commissioner, and if the subject has provided the subject's Social Security number for purposes of the background study, the photographic image will be available to prospective employers and agencies initiating background studies under this chapter to verify the identity of the subject of the background study;
    - (3) the authorized fingerprint collection vendor or vendors shall, for purposes of verifying the identity of the background study subject, be able to view the identifying information entered into NETStudy 2.0 by the entity that initiated the background study, but shall not retain the subject's fingerprints, photograph, or information from NETStudy 2.0. The authorized fingerprint collection vendor or vendors shall retain no more than the subject's name and the date and time the subject's fingerprints were recorded and sent, only as necessary for auditing and billing activities;

02/22/22 12:06	HOUSE DESEADOH	TITIC/NAVA	112000 A 1
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

26.1	(4) the commissioner shall provide the subject notice, as required in section 245C.17,
26.2	subdivision 1, paragraph (a), when an entity initiates a background study on the individual;
26.3	(5) the subject may request in writing a report listing the entities that initiated a
26.4	background study on the individual as provided in section 245C.17, subdivision 1, paragraph
26.5	(b);
26.6	(6) the subject may request in writing that information used to complete the individual's
26.7	background study in NETStudy 2.0 be destroyed if the requirements of section 245C.051,
26.8	paragraph (a), are met; and
26.9	(7) notwithstanding clause (6), the commissioner shall destroy:
26.10	(i) the subject's photograph after a period of two years when the requirements of section
26.11	245C.051, paragraph (c), are met; and
26.12	(ii) any data collected on a subject under this chapter after a period of two years following
26.13	the individual's death as provided in section 245C.051, paragraph (d).
26.14	Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.05, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
26.15	Subd. 4. Electronic transmission. (a) For background studies conducted by the
26.16	Department of Human Services, the commissioner shall implement a secure system for the
26.17	electronic transmission of:
26.18	(1) background study information to the commissioner;
26.19	(2) background study results to the license holder;
26.20	(3) background study information obtained under this section and section 245C.08 to
26.21	counties and private agencies for background studies conducted by the commissioner for
26.22	child foster care, including a summary of nondisqualifying results, except as prohibited by
26.23	law; and
26.24	(4) background study results to county agencies for background studies conducted by
26.25	the commissioner for adult foster care and family adult day services and, upon
26.26	implementation of NETStudy 2.0, family child care and legal nonlicensed child care
26.27	authorized under chapter 119B.
26.28	(b) Unless the commissioner has granted a hardship variance under paragraph (c), a
26.29	license holder or an applicant must use the electronic transmission system known as
26.30	NETStudy or NETStudy 2.0 to submit all requests for background studies to the
26.31	commissioner as required by this chapter.

(c) A license holder or applicant whose program is located in an area in which high-speed 27.1 Internet is inaccessible may request the commissioner to grant a variance to the electronic 27.2 27.3 transmission requirement. (d) Section 245C.08, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), applies to results transmitted under 27.4 27.5 this subdivision. (e) The background study subject shall access background study-related documents 27.6 electronically in the applicant portal. A background study subject may request the 27.7 commissioner to grant a variance to the requirement to access documents electronically in 27.8 the NETStudy 2.0 applicant portal, and maintains the ability to request paper documentation 27.9 27.10 of their background studies. 27.11 Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read: Subdivision 1. Background studies conducted by Department of Human Services. (a) 27.12 For a background study conducted by the Department of Human Services, the commissioner 27.13 shall review: 27.14 (1) information related to names of substantiated perpetrators of maltreatment of 27.15 vulnerable adults that has been received by the commissioner as required under section 27.16 626.557, subdivision 9c, paragraph (j); 27.17 27.18 (2) the commissioner's records relating to the maltreatment of minors in licensed programs, and from findings of maltreatment of minors as indicated through the social 27.19 service information system; 27.20 (3) information from juvenile courts as required in subdivision 4 for individuals listed 27.21 in section 245C.03, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), when there is reasonable cause; 27.22 (4) information from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, including information 27.23 regarding a background study subject's registration in Minnesota as a predatory offender 27.24 under section 243.166; 27.25 (5) except as provided in clause (6), information received as a result of submission of 27.26 fingerprints for a national criminal history record check, as defined in section 245C.02, 27.27 subdivision 13c, when the commissioner has reasonable cause for a national criminal history 27.28 27.29 record check as defined under section 245C.02, subdivision 15a, or as required under section 144.057, subdivision 1, clause (2); 27.30

foster residence settings, children's residential facilities, a transfer of permanent legal and

(6) for a background study related to a child foster family setting application for licensure,

Sec. . 27

27.31

physical custody of a child under sections 260C.503 to 260C.515, or adoptions, and for a background study required for family child care, certified license-exempt child care, child care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B, the commissioner shall also review:

28.1

28.2

28.3

28.4

28.5

28.6

28.7

28.8

28.9

28.10

28.11

28.12

28.13

28.14

28.15

28.16

28.17

28.18

28.19

28.20

28.21

28.22

28.23

28.24

28.25

28.26

28.27

28.28

28.29

28.30

28.31

28.32

28.33

- (i) information from the child abuse and neglect registry for any state in which the background study subject has resided for the past five years;
- (ii) when the background study subject is 18 years of age or older, or a minor under section 245C.05, subdivision 5a, paragraph (c), information received following submission of fingerprints for a national criminal history record check; and
- (iii) when the background study subject is 18 years of age or older or a minor under section 245C.05, subdivision 5a, paragraph (d), for licensed family child care, certified license-exempt child care, licensed child care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B, information obtained using non-fingerprint-based data including information from the criminal and sex offender registries for any state in which the background study subject resided for the past five years and information from the national crime information database and the national sex offender registry; and
- (7) for a background study required for family child care, certified license-exempt child care centers, licensed child care centers, and legal nonlicensed child care authorized under chapter 119B, the background study shall also include, to the extent practicable, a name and date-of-birth search of the National Sex Offender Public website-; and
- (8) for a background study required for treatment programs for sexual psychopathic personality or sexually dangerous persons, the background study shall only include a review of the information required under paragraph (a), clauses (1), (2), (3), and (4).
- (b) Notwithstanding expungement by a court, the commissioner may consider information obtained under paragraph (a), clauses (3) and (4), unless the commissioner received notice of the petition for expungement and the court order for expungement is directed specifically to the commissioner.
- (c) The commissioner shall also review criminal case information received according to section 245C.04, subdivision 4a, from the Minnesota court information system that relates to individuals who have already been studied under this chapter and who remain affiliated with the agency that initiated the background study.
- (d) When the commissioner has reasonable cause to believe that the identity of a background study subject is uncertain, the commissioner may require the subject to provide

02/22/22 12:06	HOUGE DECEADOH	TITIC /N AND	TT2000 A 1
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

a set of classifiable fingerprints for purposes of completing a fingerprint-based record check with the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. Fingerprints collected under this paragraph shall not be saved by the commissioner after they have been used to verify the identity of the background study subject against the particular criminal record in question.

- (e) The commissioner may inform the entity that initiated a background study under NETStudy 2.0 of the status of processing of the subject's fingerprints."
- 29.7 Page 198, after line 8, insert:

29.1

29.2

29.3

29.4

29.5

29.6

29.9

29.10

29.11

29.12

29.13

29.14

29.15

29.16

29.17

29.18

- "Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.10, subdivision 15, is amended to read:
  - Subd. 15. **Guardians and conservators.** The commissioner shall recover the cost of conducting background studies maltreatment and state licensing agency checks for guardians and conservators under section 524.5-118 245C.033 through a fee of no more than \$110 \$50 per study. The fees collected under this subdivision are appropriated to the commissioner for the purpose of conducting background studies maltreatment and state licensing agency checks. The fee for conducting an alternative background study for appointment of a professional guardian or conservator must be paid by the guardian or conservator. In other cases, the fee must be paid as follows: must be paid directly to and in the manner prescribed by the commissioner before any maltreatment and state licensing agency checks under
- 29.19 (1) if the matter is proceeding in forma pauperis, the fee must be paid as an expense for purposes of section 524.5-502, paragraph (a);
- 29.21 (2) if there is an estate of the ward or protected person, the fee must be paid from the estate; or
- 29.23 (3) in the case of a guardianship or conservatorship of a person that is not proceeding
  29.24 in forma pauperis, the fee must be paid by the guardian, conservator, or the court."
- 29.25 Page 199, after line 11, insert:

section 245C.033 may be conducted.

- "Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.17, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Disqualification notice sent to subject.** (a) If the information in the study indicates the individual is disqualified from direct contact with, or from access to, persons served by the program, the commissioner shall disclose to the individual studied:
- 29.30 (1) the information causing disqualification;
- 29.31 (2) instructions on how to request a reconsideration of the disqualification;

(3) an explanation of any restrictions on the commissioner's discretion to set aside the disqualification under section 245C.24, when applicable to the individual;

30.1

30.2

30.3

30.4

30.5

30.6

30.7

30.8

30.9

30.10

30.11

30.12

30.13

30.14

30.15

30.16

30.17

30.18

30.19

30.24

30.25

30.26

30.27

30.28

30.29

30.30

30.31

30.32

(4) a statement that, if the individual's disqualification is set aside under section 245C.22, the applicant, license holder, or other entity that initiated the background study will be provided with the reason for the individual's disqualification and an explanation that the factors under section 245C.22, subdivision 4, which were the basis of the decision to set aside the disqualification shall be made available to the license holder upon request without the consent of the subject of the background study;

- (5) a statement indicating that if the individual's disqualification is set aside or the facility is granted a variance under section 245C.30, the individual's identity and the reason for the individual's disqualification will become public data under section 245C.22, subdivision 7, when applicable to the individual;
- (6) (4) a statement that when a subsequent background study is initiated on the individual following a set-aside of the individual's disqualification, and the commissioner makes a determination under section 245C.22, subdivision 5, paragraph (b), that the previous set-aside applies to the subsequent background study, the applicant, license holder, or other entity that initiated the background study will be informed in the notice under section 245C.22, subdivision 5, paragraph (c)÷
  - (i) of the reason for the individual's disqualification; and
- 30.20 (ii) that the individual's disqualification is set aside for that program or agency; and
- (iii) that information about the factors under section 245C.22, subdivision 4, that were
  the basis of the decision to set aside the disqualification are available to the license holder
  upon request without the consent of the background study subject; and
  - (7) (5) the commissioner's determination of the individual's immediate risk of harm under section 245C.16.
    - (b) If the commissioner determines under section 245C.16 that an individual poses an imminent risk of harm to persons served by the program where the individual will have direct contact with, or access to, people receiving services, the commissioner's notice must include an explanation of the basis of this determination.
  - (c) If the commissioner determines under section 245C.16 that an individual studied does not pose a risk of harm that requires immediate removal, the individual shall be informed of the conditions under which the agency that initiated the background study may allow the

individual to have direct contact with, or access to, people receiving services, as provided under subdivision 3.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.17, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

31.1

31.2

31.11

31.12

31.13

31.14

31.15

31.16

31.17

31.18

31.19

31.20

31.21

31.22

31.23

31.24

31.25

- Subd. 3. **Disqualification notification.** (a) The commissioner shall notify an applicant, license holder, or other entity as provided in this chapter who is not the subject of the study:
- (1) that the commissioner has found information that disqualifies the individual studied from being in a position allowing direct contact with, or access to, people served by the program; and
- 31.9 (2) the commissioner's determination of the individual's risk of harm under section 31.10 245C.16.
  - (b) If the commissioner determines under section 245C.16 that an individual studied poses an imminent risk of harm to persons served by the program where the individual studied will have direct contact with, or access to, people served by the program, the commissioner shall order the license holder to immediately remove the individual studied from any position allowing direct contact with, or access to, people served by the program.
  - (c) If the commissioner determines under section 245C.16 that an individual studied poses a risk of harm that requires continuous, direct supervision, the commissioner shall order the applicant, license holder, or other entities as provided in this chapter to:
  - (1) immediately remove the individual studied from any position allowing direct contact with, or access to, people receiving services; or
  - (2) before allowing the disqualified individual to be in a position allowing direct contact with, or access to, people receiving services, the applicant, license holder, or other entity, as provided in this chapter, must:
  - (i) obtain from the disqualified individual a copy of the individual's notice of disqualification from the commissioner that explains the reason for disqualification;
- (ii) (i) ensure that the individual studied is under continuous, direct supervision when in a position allowing direct contact with, or access to, people receiving services during the period in which the individual may request a reconsideration of the disqualification under section 245C.21; and
- 31.30 (iii) (ii) ensure that the disqualified individual requests reconsideration within 30 days of receipt of the notice of disqualification.

02/22/22 12 06	HOUSE DESEADOR	TITIC /N AXI	TT2000 A 1
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

32.1	(d) If the commissioner determines under section 245C.16 that an individual studied
32.2	does not pose a risk of harm that requires continuous, direct supervision, the commissioner
32.3	shall order the applicant, license holder, or other entities as provided in this chapter to:
32.4	(1) immediately remove the individual studied from any position allowing direct contact
32.5	with, or access to, people receiving services; or
32.6	(2) before allowing the disqualified individual to be in any position allowing direct
32.7	contact with, or access to, people receiving services, the applicant, license holder, or other
32.8	entity as provided in this chapter must:
32.9	(i) obtain from the disqualified individual a copy of the individual's notice of
32.10	disqualification from the commissioner that explains the reason for disqualification; and
32.11	(ii) ensure that the disqualified individual requests reconsideration within 15 days of
32.12	receipt of the notice of disqualification.
32.13	(e) The commissioner shall not notify the applicant, license holder, or other entity as
32.14	provided in this chapter of the information contained in the subject's background study
32.15	unless:
32.16	(1) the basis for the disqualification is failure to cooperate with the background study
32.17	or substantiated maltreatment under section 626.557 or chapter 260E;
32.18	(2) the Data Practices Act under chapter 13 provides for release of the information; or
32.19	(3) the individual studied authorizes the release of the information.
32.20	Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.22, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
32.21	Subd. 7. Classification of certain data. (a) Notwithstanding section 13.46, except as
32.22	provided in paragraph (f) (e), upon setting aside a disqualification under this section, the
32.23	identity of the disqualified individual who received the set-aside and the individual's
32.24	disqualifying characteristics are public private data if the set-aside was:.
32.25	(1) for any disqualifying characteristic under section 245C.15, except a felony-level
32.26	conviction for a drug-related offense within the past five years, when the set-aside relates
32.27	to a child care center or a family child care provider licensed under chapter 245A, certified
32.28	license-exempt child care center, or legal nonlicensed family child care; or
32.29	(2) for a disqualifying characteristic under section 245C.15, subdivision 2.
32.30	(b) Notwithstanding section 13.46, upon granting a variance to a license holder under
32.31	section 245C.30, the identity of the disqualified individual who is the subject of the variance,

33.1	the individual's disqualifying characteristics under section 245C.15, and the terms of the
33.2	variance are public data, except as provided in paragraph (c), clause (6), when the variance:
33.3	private.
33.4	(1) is issued to a child care center or a family child care provider licensed under chapter
33.5	<del>245A; or</del>
33.6	(2) relates to an individual with a disqualifying characteristic under section 245C.15,
33.7	subdivision 2.
33.8	(c) The identity of a disqualified individual and the reason for disqualification remain
33.9	private data when:
33.10	(1) a disqualification is not set aside and no variance is granted, except as provided under
33.11	section 13.46, subdivision 4;
33.12	(2) the data are not public under paragraph (a) or (b);
33.13	(3) the disqualification is rescinded because the information relied upon to disqualify
33.14	the individual is incorrect;
33.15	(4) the disqualification relates to a license to provide relative child foster care. As used
33.16	in this clause, "relative" has the meaning given it under section 260C.007, subdivision 26b
33.17	or 27;
33.18	(5) the disqualified individual is a household member of a licensed foster care provider
33.19	and:
33.20	(i) the disqualified individual previously received foster care services from this licensed
33.21	foster care provider;
33.22	(ii) the disqualified individual was subsequently adopted by this licensed foster care
33.23	provider; and
33.24	(iii) the disqualifying act occurred before the adoption; or
33.25	(6) a variance is granted to a child care center or family child care license holder for an
33.26	individual's disqualification that is based on a felony-level conviction for a drug-related
33.27	offense that occurred within the past five years.
33.28	(d) Licensed family child care providers and child care centers must provide notices as
33.29	required under section 245C.301.
33.30	(e) (d) Notwithstanding paragraphs (a) and (b), the identity of household members who
33.31	are the subject of a disqualification related set-aside or variance is not public data if:

(1) the household member resides in the residence where the family child care is provided;

(2) the subject of the set-aside or variance is under the age of 18 years; and

34.1

34.2

34.3

34.4

34.5

34.6

34.7

34.8

34.9

34.11

34.12

34.13

34.14

34.15

34.16

34.17

34.18

34.19

34.20

34.21

34.22

34.23

34.24

34.25

34.26

34.27

34.28

34.29

34.30

34.31

34.32

34.33

- (3) the set-aside or variance only relates to a disqualification under section 245C.15, subdivision 4, for a misdemeanor-level theft crime as defined in section 609.52.
- (f) (e) When the commissioner has reason to know that a disqualified individual has received an order for expungement for the disqualifying record that does not limit the commissioner's access to the record, and the record was opened or exchanged with the commissioner for purposes of a background study under this chapter, the data that would otherwise become public under paragraph (a) or (b) remain private data.
- Sec. ... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245C.23, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
  - Subdivision 1. **Disqualification that is rescinded or set aside.** (a) If the commissioner rescinds or sets aside a disqualification, the commissioner shall notify the applicant, license holder, or other entity in writing or by electronic transmission of the decision.
  - (b) In the notice from the commissioner that a disqualification has been rescinded, the commissioner must inform the applicant, license holder, or other entity that the information relied upon to disqualify the individual was incorrect.
  - (c) Except as provided in paragraphs (d) and (e), in the notice from the commissioner that a disqualification has been set aside, the commissioner must inform the applicant, license holder, or other entity of the reason for the individual's disqualification and that information about which factors under section 245C.22, subdivision 4, were the basis of the decision to set aside the disqualification are available to the license holder upon request without the consent of the background study subject.
  - (d) When the commissioner has reason to know that a disqualified individual has received an order for expungement for the disqualifying record that does not limit the commissioner's access to the record, and the record was opened or exchanged with the commissioner for purposes of a background study under this chapter, the information provided under paragraph (c) must only inform the applicant, license holder, or other entity that the disqualifying eriminal record is sealed under a court order.
  - (e) The notification requirements in paragraph (c) do not apply when the set aside is granted to an individual related to a background study for a licensed child care center, certified license-exempt child care center, or family child care license holder, or for a legal nonlicensed child care provider authorized under chapter 119B, and the individual is disqualified for a felony-level conviction for a drug-related offense that occurred within the

00/00/00 10 06	HOHER BESEAR SH	TITTO A TIT	TT0000 4 4
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

35.1	past five years. The notice that the individual's disqualification is set aside must inform the
35.2	applicant, license holder, or legal nonlicensed child care provider that the disqualifying
35.3	eriminal record is not public."
35.4	Page 199, delete section 21
35.5	Page 200, delete section 22
35.6	Page 204, delete sections 23 and 24
35.7	Page 207, delete section 25
35.8	Page 211, delete section 26
35.9	Page 212, delete section 27
35.10	Page 213, delete section 28
35.11	Page 215, delete sections 29 and 30
35.12	Page 216, delete section 31
35.13	Page 217, delete section 32
35.14	Page 218, delete section 33
35.15	Page 224, delete section 34
35.16	Page 225, delete section 35
35.17	Page 228, delete sections 36 to 38
35.18	Page 229, delete section 39
35.19	Page 231, delete section 40
35.20	Page 234, delete section 41
35.21	Page 235, delete sections 42 to 44
35.22	Page 236, delete section 45
35.23	Page 239, delete section 46
35.24	Page 240, delete section 47
35.25	Page 241, delete sections 48 and 49
35.26	Page 242, before line 27, insert:

02/22/22 12:06	HOUSE DECEADOR	TITIC /N AXA	TT2000 A 1
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 524.5-118, is amended to read:

36.1

36.2

36.3

36.4

36.5

36.6

36.7

36.8

36.9

36.10

36.11

36.12

36.13

36.14

36.15

36.16

36.17

36.18

36.19

36.20

36.21

36.22

36.23

36.24

36.25

36.26

36.27

36.28

36.29

524.5-118 BACKGROUND STUDY N	MALTREATMENT AND STATE LICENSING
AGENCY CHECKS; CRIMINAL HIS	TORY CHECK.

- Subdivision 1. **When required; exception.** (a) The court shall require a background study maltreatment and state licensing agency checks and a criminal history check under this section:
- (1) before the appointment of a guardian or conservator, unless a background study has maltreatment and state licensing agency checks and a criminal history check have been done on the person under this section within the previous five years; and
- (2) once every five years after the appointment, if the person continues to serve as a guardian or conservator.
- (b) The background study maltreatment and state licensing agency checks and criminal history check under this section must include:
- (1) criminal history data from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, other criminal history data held by the commissioner of human services, and data regarding whether the person has been a perpetrator of substantiated maltreatment of a vulnerable adult or minor;
- (2) criminal history data from a national criminal history record check as defined in section 245C.02, subdivision 13e; and
- (3) state licensing agency data if a search of the database or databases of the agencies listed in subdivision 2a shows that the proposed guardian or conservator has ever held a professional license directly related to the responsibilities of a professional fiduciary from an agency listed in subdivision 2a that was conditioned, suspended, revoked, or canceled-; and
- (4) data regarding whether the person has been a perpetrator of substantiated maltreatment of a vulnerable adult or minor.
- (c) If the guardian or conservator is not an individual, the background study maltreatment and state licensing agency checks and criminal history check must be done on all individuals currently employed by the proposed guardian or conservator who will be responsible for exercising powers and duties under the guardianship or conservatorship.
- 36.30 (d) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), if the court determines that it would be in the best 36.31 interests of the person subject to guardianship or conservatorship to appoint a guardian or 36.32 conservator before the <del>background study</del> maltreatment and state licensing agency checks

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

and criminal history check can be completed, the court may make the appointment pending the results of the study checks, however, the background study maltreatment and state licensing agency checks and criminal history check must then be completed as soon as reasonably possible after appointment, no later than 30 days after appointment.

- (e) The fee fees for background studies the maltreatment and state licensing agency checks and the criminal history check conducted under this section is are specified in section sections 245C.10, subdivision 14 15, and 299C.10, subdivisions 4 and 5. The fee fees for conducting a background study these checks for appointment of a professional guardian or conservator must be paid by the guardian or conservator. In other cases, the fee must be paid as follows:
- 37.11 (1) if the matter is proceeding in forma pauperis, the fee is an expense for purposes of section 524.5-502, paragraph (a);
- 37.13 (2) if there is an estate of the person subject to guardianship or conservatorship, the fee 37.14 must be paid from the estate; or
- 37.15 (3) in the case of a guardianship or conservatorship of the person that is not proceeding in forma pauperis, the court may order that the fee be paid by the guardian or conservator or by the court.
- 37.18 (f) The requirements of this subdivision do not apply if the guardian or conservator is:
- 37.19 (1) a state agency or county;

37.1

37.2

37.3

37.4

37.5

37.6

37.7

37.8

37.9

37.10

37.20

37.21

37.22

37.23

37.24

37.25

37.26

37.27

37.28

37.29

- (2) a parent or guardian of a person proposed to be subject to guardianship or conservatorship who has a developmental disability, if the parent or guardian has raised the person proposed to be subject to guardianship or conservatorship in the family home until the time the petition is filed, unless counsel appointed for the person proposed to be subject to guardianship or conservatorship under section 524.5-205, paragraph (e); 524.5-304, paragraph (b); 524.5-405, paragraph (a); or 524.5-406, paragraph (b), recommends a background study; or
- (3) a bank with trust powers, bank and trust company, or trust company, organized under the laws of any state or of the United States and which is regulated by the commissioner of commerce or a federal regulator.
- Subd. 2. Procedure; maltreatment and state licensing agency checks and criminal
  history and maltreatment records background check. (a) The eourt guardian or
  conservator shall request the commissioner of human services Bureau of Criminal
  Apprehension to complete a background study under section 245C.32 criminal history

03/22/23 12:06 pm HOUSE RESEARCH HHS/MV H2900A1

38.1

38.2

38.3

38.4

38.5

38.6

38.7

38.8

38.9

38.10

38.11

38.12

38.13

38.14

38.15

38.16

38.17

38.18

38.19

38.20

38.21

38.22

38.23

38.24

38.25

38.26

38.27

38.28

38.29

38.30

38.31

38.32

38.33

38.34

38.35

check. The request must be accompanied by the applicable fee and acknowledgment that the study subject guardian or conservator received a privacy notice required under subdivision 3. The eommissioner of human services Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall conduct a national criminal history record check. The study subject guardian or conservator shall submit a set of classifiable fingerprints. The fingerprints must be recorded on a fingerprint card provided by the eommissioner of human services Bureau of Criminal Apprehension.

- (b) The commissioner of human services Bureau of Criminal Apprehension shall provide the court with criminal history data as defined in section 13.87 from the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension in the Department of Public Safety, other criminal history data held by the commissioner of human services, data regarding substantiated maltreatment of vulnerable adults under section 626.557, and substantiated maltreatment of minors under chapter 260E, and criminal history information from other states or jurisdictions as indicated from a national criminal history record check within 20 working days of receipt of a request. In accordance with section 245C.033, the commissioner of human services shall provide the court with data regarding substantiated maltreatment of vulnerable adults under section 626.557, and substantiated maltreatment of minors under chapter 260E within 25 working days of receipt of a request. If the subject of the study guardian or conservator has been the perpetrator of substantiated maltreatment of a vulnerable adult or minor, the response must include a copy of the any available public portion of the investigation memorandum under section 626.557, subdivision 12b, or the any available public portion of the investigation memorandum under section 260E.30. The commissioner shall provide the court with information from a review of information according to subdivision 2a if the study subject provided information indicating current or prior affiliation with a state licensing agency.
- (c) Notwithstanding section 260E.30 or 626.557, subdivision 12b, if the commissioner of human services or a county lead agency or lead investigative agency has information that a person on whom a background study was previously done under this section has been determined to be a perpetrator of maltreatment of a vulnerable adult or minor, the commissioner or the county may provide this information to the court that requested the background study is determining eligibility for the guardian or conservator. The commissioner may also provide the court with additional criminal history or substantiated maltreatment information that becomes available after the background study is done.

Subd. 2a. **Procedure; state licensing agency data.** (a) <u>In response to a request submitted under section 245C.033</u>, the <del>court shall request the</del> commissioner of human services to <u>shall</u> provide the court within 25 working days of receipt of the request with licensing agency data for licenses directly related to the responsibilities of a professional fiduciary if the <del>study</del>

03/22/23 12:06 pm HOUSE RESEARCH HHS/MV H2900A1

subject indicates guardian or conservator has a current or prior affiliation from the following 39.1 agencies in Minnesota: 39.2 (1) Lawyers Responsibility Board; 39.3 (2) State Board of Accountancy; 39.4 (3) Board of Social Work; 39.5 (4) Board of Psychology; 39.6 (5) Board of Nursing; 39.7 (6) Board of Medical Practice; 39.8 (7) Department of Education; 39.9 (8) Department of Commerce; 39.10 (9) Board of Chiropractic Examiners; 39.11 (10) Board of Dentistry; 39.12 (11) Board of Marriage and Family Therapy; 39.13 (12) Department of Human Services; 39.14 (13) Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) Board; and 39.15 (14) Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board. 39.16 39.17 (b) The commissioner shall enter into agreements with these agencies to provide the commissioner with electronic access to the relevant licensing data, and to provide the 39.18 commissioner with a quarterly list of new sanctions issued by the agency. 39.19 (c) (b) The commissioner shall provide information to the court the electronically 39.20 available data maintained in the agency's database, including whether the proposed guardian 39.21 39.22 or conservator is or has been licensed by the agency, and if the licensing agency database indicates a disciplinary action or a sanction against the individual's license, including a 39.23 condition, suspension, revocation, or cancellation in accordance with section 245C.033. 39.24 (d) If the proposed guardian or conservator has resided in a state other than Minnesota 39.25 in the previous ten years, licensing agency data under this section shall also include the 39.26 licensing agency data from any other state where the proposed guardian or conservator 39.27 reported to have resided during the previous ten years if the study subject indicates current 39.28 or prior affiliation. If the proposed guardian or conservator has or has had a professional 39.29

license in another state that is directly related to the responsibilities of a professional fiduciary

Sec. . 39

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1
J3/44/43 14.00 DIII	HOUSE KESEAKCH	11113/1V1 V	11470071

from one of the agencies listed under paragraph (a), state licensing agency data shall also 40.1 include data from the relevant licensing agency of that state. 40.2 (e) The commissioner is not required to repeat a search for Minnesota or out-of-state 40.3 licensing data on an individual if the commissioner has provided this information to the 40.4 court within the prior five years. 40.5 (f) The commissioner shall review the information in paragraph (c) at least once every 40.6 four months to determine if an individual who has been studied within the previous five 40.7 years: 40.8 (1) has new disciplinary action or sanction against the individual's license; or 40.9 (2) did not disclose a prior or current affiliation with a Minnesota licensing agency. 40.10 (g) If the commissioner's review in paragraph (f) identifies new information, the 40.11 commissioner shall provide any new information to the court. 40.12 Subd. 3. Forms and systems. The court In accordance with section 245C.033, subdivision 40.13 3, the commissioner must provide the study subject guardian or conservator with a privacy 40.14 notice for the maltreatment and state licensing agency checks that complies with section 40.15 245C.05, subdivision 2e 13.04, subdivision 2. The commissioner of human services shall 40.16 use the NETStudy 2.0 system to conduct a background study under this section. The Bureau 40.17 of Criminal Apprehension must provide the guardian or conservator with a privacy notice 40.18 for the criminal history check. 40.19 Subd. 4. **Rights.** The court shall notify the subject of a background study guardian or 40.20 conservator that the subject has they have the following rights: 40.21 (1) the right to be informed that the court will request a background study on the subject 40.22 maltreatment and state licensing agency checks and a criminal history check on the guardian 40.23 or conservator for the purpose of determining whether the person's appointment or continued 40.24 appointment is in the best interests of the person subject to guardianship or conservatorship; 40.25 (2) the right to be informed of the results of the study and to obtain from the court a 40.26 copy of the results; and 40.27 (3) the right to challenge the accuracy and completeness of information contained in the 40.28 results under section 13.04, subdivision 4, except to the extent precluded by section 256.045, 40.29 subdivision 3." 40.30 Page 242, line 28, after the first semicolon, insert "245C.031, subdivisions 5, 6, and 7;" 40.31

03/22/23 12:06 pm HOUSE RESEARCH HHS/MV H2900A1

41.1	Page 246, line 18, delete "diagnosed with behavioral health disorders" and insert
41.2	"experiencing behavioral health concerns"
41.3	Page 246, delete subdivision 2
41.4	Page 246, line 25, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"
41.5	Page 247, line 8, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"
41.6	Page 247, delete subdivisions 8 and 9
41.7	Page 248, delete subdivisions 12, 15, and 19
41.8	Page 248, delete lines 7 to 10
41.9	Page 248, line 24, delete everything after "that" and insert "is person-centered and
41.10	family-centered, and that is formulated to respond to a client's needs and goals. The integrated
41.11	treatment plan must integrate prevention, medical needs, and behavioral health needs and
41.12	service delivery. The CCBHC must develop the integrated treatment plan in collaboration
41.13	with and receive endorsement from the client, the adult client's family to the extent the client
41.14	wishes, and a child or youth client's family or caregivers, and coordinate with staff or
41.15	programs necessary to effectuate the plan."
41.16	Page 248, delete line 25
41.17	Page 249, delete subdivision 24
41.18	Renumber the subdivisions in sequence
41.19	Page 249, lines 25 and 29, before "process" insert "or recertification"
41.20	Page 249, line 26, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"
41.21	Page 249, line 30, delete "certification process must:" and insert "commissioner shall
41.22	recertify a CCBHC provider entity every 36 months using the provider entity's certification
41.23	anniversary or the calendar year end. The commissioner may approve a recertification
41.24	extension in the interest of sustaining services when a certain date for recertification is
41.25	identified."
41.26	Page 249, delete lines 31 and 32 and insert:
41.27	"(c) The commissioner shall establish a process for decertification of a CCBHC provider
41.28	entity and shall require corrective action, medical assistance repayment, or decertification
41.29	of a provider entity that no longer meets the requirements in sections 245.7351 to 245.7357
41.30	or that fails to meet the clinical quality standards or administrative standards provided by
41.31	the commissioner in the application and certification processes.

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

42.1	(d) The commissioner shall provide the following to CCBHC provider entities for the
12.2	certification, recertification, and decertification processes:
12.3	(1) a structured listing of required provider entity certification criteria;
12.4	(2) a formal written letter with a determination of certification, recertification, or
12.5	decertification, signed by the commissioner or the appropriate division director; and
42.6	(3) a formal written communication outlining the process for necessary corrective action
42.7	and follow-up by the commissioner, if applicable, signed by the commissioner or the
42.8	appropriate division director."
12.9	Page 250, delete lines 1 to 5
42.10	Page 250, line 7, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"
42.11	Page 250, after line 7, insert:
42.12	"(1) comply with the standards issued by the commissioner relating to CCBHC screenings,
42.13	assessments, and evaluations;"
42.14	Renumber the clauses in sequence
42.15	Page 250, line 18, delete "and"
42.16	Page 250, line 20, delete the period and insert "; and"
42.17	Page 250, after line 20, insert:
42.18	"(10) directly employ or through a formal arrangement utilize a medically trained
42.19	behavioral health care provider with independent authority under state law to prescribe and
42.20	manage medications, including buprenorphine and other medications used to treat opioid
42.21	and alcohol use disorders."
12.22	Page 250, line 24, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"
42.23	Page 250, delete subdivision 3
42.24	Page 251, line 12, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"
42.25	Page 251, delete subdivision 8
12.26	Renumber the subdivisions in sequence
12.27	Page 252, delete section 5
12.28	Page 254, line 1, delete "[245.7355]" and insert "[245.7354]"
42.29	Page 254, line 6, after "including" insert "a medical director,"

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1
Page 254, delete subdivisions 1 to 5	and insert:		
"(a) A CCBHC must meet minimum s	taffing requirements as ide	entified in the c	ertification
process.			
(b) A CCBHC must employ or contra	ect for clinic staff who have	e backgrounds	in diverse
disciplines, including licensed mental he	ealth professionals, licens	ed alcohol and	drug
counselors, staff who are culturally and	linguistically trained to m	neet the needs	of the
population the clinic serves, and staff wh	o are trained to make acc	ommodations t	to meet the
needs of clients with disabilities."			
Page 255, delete sections 7 and 8			
Page 258, line 1, delete "[245.7358]"	' and insert "[245.7355]"		
Page 258, line 5, delete "245.736" ar	nd insert " <u>245.7357</u> "		
Page 258, line 7, delete "levels" and	insert " <u>level</u> " and delete '	'and 2.0"	
Page 258, line 23, delete everything	after the period		
Page 258, delete lines 24 to 30			
Page 259, delete lines 1 and 2			
Page 259, line 8, delete everything af	ter " <u>and</u> " and insert " <u>must</u>	contain all dat	a elements
listed in the commissioner's public clinic	cal guidance."		
Page 259, delete line 9			
Page 259, line 12, delete everything	after " <u>must</u> " and insert " <u>f</u>	ollow the time	lines
established in the CCBHC certification of	criteria published by the S	Substance Abu	se and
Mental Health Services Administration as	nd the commissioner's pub	olished clinical	guidance."
Page 259, delete lines 13 to 15 and 1	9 to 30		
Page 260, delete lines 1 to 3			
Page 260, line 4, delete "245.736" ar	nd insert "245.7357"		
Page 260, line 5, delete the second "i	n" and insert "for"		

Page 260, delete lines 7 and 8

Renumber the clauses in sequence

Page 260, line 6, after "(1)" insert "a brief diagnostic assessment under"

43.1

43.2

43.3

43.4

43.5

43.6

43.7

43.8

43.9

43.10

43.11

43.12

43.13

43.14

43.15

43.16

43.17

43.18

43.19

43.20

43.21

43.22

43.23

43.24

43.25

43.26

43.27

22/22/22 12 06	HOUSE BESEARCH	TITIC A IX	TT0000 4 1
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

44.1	Page 260, line 9, before "section" insert "an individual family assessment summary
44.2	under"
44.3	Page 260, line 10, before "section" insert "an individual assessment summary under"
44.4	Page 260, line 11, before "Minnesota" insert "a diagnostic assessment under"
44.5	Page 260, line 12, before "Minnesota" insert "a local agency determination based on a
44.6	diagnostic assessment under"
44.7	Page 260, line 13, before "Minnesota" insert "an individual family community support
44.8	plan and an individual community support plan under"
44.9	Page 260, line 14, before "Minnesota" insert "an individual family community support
44.10	plan under"
44.11	Page 260, line 15, before "Minnesota" insert "an individual community support plan
44.12	under"
44.13	Page 260, line 21, delete everything after "and" and insert "must contain all data elements
44.14	listed in the commissioner's public clinical guidance."
44.15	Page 260, delete lines 22 to 28
44.16	Page 261, line 3, delete "as defined in section 245G.11, subdivision 5"
44.17	Page 261, line 5, delete "section 245G.05" and insert "chapter 245G" and after the comma
44.18	insert "if the comprehensive evaluation includes a diagnosis of a substance use disorder or
44.19	a finding that the client does not meet the criteria for a substance use disorder."
44.20	Page 261, delete lines 6 to 27
44.21	Reletter the paragraphs in sequence
44.22	Page 262, line 22, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357" and delete "initial" and insert
44.23	"comprehensive"
44.24	Page 262, line 23, delete the second "in" and insert "for"
44.25	Page 262, line 24, before "section" insert "a diagnostic assessment or crisis assessment
44.26	under" and delete "2a" and insert "2, paragraph (a)"
44.27	Page 262, line 25, before "section" insert "a diagnostic assessment under"
44.28	Page 262, line 26, before "section" insert "an initial services plan under"
44.29	Page 262, delete lines 27 and 28
44.30	Renumber the clauses in sequence

	03/22/23 12:06 p	om	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1
--	------------------	----	----------------	--------	---------

45.1	Page 262, line 29, before "section" insert "a diagnostic assessment under"
15.2	Page 262, line 30, before "section" insert "a diagnostic assessment under"
15.3	Page 263, line 1, before "Minnesota" insert "a diagnostic assessment under"
15.4	Page 263, line 2, before "Minnesota" insert "a diagnostic assessment under"
15.5	Page 263, line 3, before "Minnesota" insert "an individual family community support
15.6	plan and an individual community support plan under"
15.7	Page 263, line 9, delete everything after "use"
15.8	Page 263, delete line 10
15.9	Page 263, line 11, delete everything before "a"
45.10	Page 263, line 25, delete "in sections" and insert "for"
45.11	Page 263, delete line 26
45.12	Renumber the clauses in sequence
15.13	Page 263, line 27, before "245I.10" insert "an individual treatment plan under section"
45.14	Page 263, line 28, before "245G.06" insert "an individual treatment plan under section"
45.15	Page 263, line 29, before "245G.09" insert "an individual treatment plan under section"
45.16	Page 263, after line 29, insert:
15.17	"(h) The CCBHC functional assessment requirements replace the requirements for:
45.18	(1) a functional assessment under section 256B.0623, subdivision 9;
15.19	(2) a functional assessment under section 245.4711, subdivision 3; and
15.20	(3) functional assessments under Minnesota Rules, part 9520.0914, subpart 2, items A
15.21	and B."
15.22	Page 263, delete subdivision 9 and insert:
15.23	"Subd. 9. Licensing and certification requirements. The requirements for initial
15.24	evaluations under subdivision 6, comprehensive evaluations under subdivision 7, and
15.25	integrated treatment plans under subdivision 8 are part of the licensing requirements for
15.26	substance use disorder treatment programs licensed according to chapter 245G and
15.27	certification requirements for mental health clinics certified according to section 245I.20 if
15.28	the program or clinic is part of a CCBHC. The Department of Human Services licensing

02/22/22 12:06	HOUSE DESEADOH	TITIC/NAVA	112000 A 1
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

46.1 46.2	subdivisions 6 to 8."
46.3	Page 264, delete lines 19 to 21
46.4	Page 264, line 22, delete "[245.7359]" and insert "[245.7356]"
46.5	Page 265, line 18, delete "[245.736]" and insert "[245.7357]"
46.6	Page 265, lines 20, 21, and 29, delete "245.7358" and insert "245.7355"
46.7	Page 266, line 20, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"
46.8	Page 267, delete section 12
46.9	Page 276, lines 9 to 11, delete the new language
46.10	Page 276, line 15, delete the new language
46.11	Page 276, line 16, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider
46.12	hub, the appeal must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days from the
46.13	date the commissioner issued the order through the hub."
46.14	Page 277, line 22, delete everything after the period
46.15	Page 277, lines 23 and 24, delete the new language
46.16	Page 277, line 31, delete the new language
46.17	Page 278, line 1, delete the new language and after "order" insert ", or submitted in the
46.18	provider licensing and reporting hub within 20 calendar days from the date the commissioner
46.19	issued the order through the hub,"
46.20	Page 279, line 1, delete the new language
46.21	Page 279, line 2, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider hub,
46.22	the request must be received by the commissioner within ten calendar days from the date
46.23	the commissioner issued the order through the hub."
46.24	Page 280, lines 28 to 30, delete the new language
46.25	Page 281, line 6, delete the new language
46.26	Page 281, line 7, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider hub,
46.27	the appeal must be received by the commissioner within ten calendar days from the date
46.28	the commissioner issued the order through the hub."
46.29	Page 281, lines 18 and 19, delete the new language

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1
J3/44/43 14.00 DIII	HOUSE KESEAKCH	11113/1V1 V	11470071

Page 281, line 20, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider hub, the appeal must be received by the commissioner within ten calendar days from the date the commissioner issued the order through the hub."

Page 283, after line 28, insert:

47.1

47.2

47.3

47.4

47.5

47.6

47.7

47.8

47.9

47.10

47.11

47.12

47.13

47.14

47.15

47.16

47.17

47.18

47.19

47.20

47.21

"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.13, is amended to read:

## 245A.13 INVOLUNTARY RECEIVERSHIP FOR RESIDENTIAL OR NONRESIDENTIAL PROGRAMS.

Subdivision 1. **Application.** (a) In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the commissioner may petition the district court in Ramsey County for an order directing the controlling individuals of a residential or nonresidential program licensed or certified by the commissioner to show cause why the commissioner should not be appointed receiver to operate the program. The petition to the district court must contain proof by affidavit that one or more of the following exists: (1) that the commissioner has either begun proceedings to suspend or revoke a license or certification, has suspended or revoked a license or certification, or has decided to deny an application for licensure or certification of the program; or (2) it appears to the commissioner that the health, safety, or rights of the residents or persons receiving care from the program may be in jeopardy because of the manner in which the program may close, the program's financial condition, or violations committed by the program of federal or state laws or rules.

- (1) the commissioner has commenced proceedings to suspend or revoke the state license, or refused to renew a license;
- 47.22 (2) there is a threat of imminent abandonment by the provider or its controlling individuals;
- 47.24 (3) there is a pattern of failure to meet ongoing financial obligations such as failing to 47.25 pay for food, pharmaceuticals, personnel, or required insurance;
- 47.26 (4) it appears to the commissioner that the health, safety, or rights of the residents or
  47.27 person receiving care from the program may be in jeopardy because of the manner in which
  47.28 the program may close, the program's financial condition, or violations committed by the
  47.29 program of federal or state laws or rules; or
- 47.30 (5) the commissioner has notified the provider or its controlling individuals that their 47.31 federal Medicare or Medicaid provider agreement will be terminated, revoked, canceled, 47.32 or not renewed.

(b) If the license holder, applicant, or controlling individual operates more than one program, the commissioner's petition must specify and be limited to the program for which it seeks receivership. The affidavit submitted by the commissioner must set forth alternatives to receivership that have been considered, including rate adjustments. The order to show cause is returnable not less than five days after service is completed and must provide for personal service of a copy to the program administrator and to the persons designated as agents by the controlling individuals to accept service on their behalf.

- (c) The order to show cause shall be personally served on the provider through its authorized agent or, in the event the authorized agent cannot be located, on any controlling individual for the program.
- Subd. 2. **Appointment of receiver.** (a) If the court finds that involuntary receivership is necessary as a means of protecting the health, safety, or rights of persons being served by the program, the court shall appoint the commissioner as receiver to operate the program. The commissioner as receiver may contract with another entity or group to act as the managing agent during the receivership period. The managing agent will be responsible for the day-to-day operations of the program subject at all times to the review and approval of the commissioner. A managing agent cannot:
- 48.18 (1) be the license holder or controlling individual of the program;
- (2) have a financial interest in the program at the time of the receivership;
- 48.20 (3) be otherwise affiliated with the program; or

48.1

48.2

48.3

48.4

48.5

48.6

48.7

48.8

48.9

48.10

48.22

48.23

48.24

48.25

48.26

48.27

48.28

48.29

48.30

48.31

48.32

48.33

- (4) have had a licensed program that has been ordered into receivership.
  - (b) Notwithstanding state contracting requirements in chapter 16C, the commissioner shall establish and maintain a list of qualified persons or entities with experience in delivering services under chapters 245A, 245D, or 245G, or other service types licensed by the commissioner, and experience winding down these programs. The list shall be a resource for choosing a managing agent, and the commissioner may update the list at any time.
  - Subd. 3. **Powers and duties of receiver.** Within 36 months after the receivership order, the receiver shall provide for the orderly transfer of the persons served by the program to other programs or make other provisions to protect their health, safety, and rights. (a) A receiver appointed pursuant to this section shall, within 18 months after the receivership order, determine whether to close the program or to make other provisions intended to keep it open. If the receiver determines that program closure is appropriate, the commissioner shall provide for the orderly transfer of individuals served by the program to other programs

or make other provisions to protect the health, safety, and rights of individuals served by the program.

49.1

49.2

49.3

49.4

49.5

49.6

49.7

49.8

49.9

49.10

49.11

49.12

49.13

49.14

49.15

49.16

49.17

49.18

49.19

49.20

49.21

49.22

49.23

49.24

49.25

49.26

49.27

49.28

49.29

49.30

49.31

- (b) During the receivership, the receiver or the managing agent shall correct or eliminate deficiencies in the program that the commissioner determines endanger the health, safety, or welfare of the persons being served by the program unless the correction or elimination of deficiencies at a residential program involves major alteration in the structure of the physical plant. If the correction or elimination of the deficiencies at a residential program requires major alterations in the structure of the physical plant, the receiver shall take actions designed to result in the immediate transfer of persons served by the residential program. During the period of the receivership, the receiver and the managing agent shall operate the residential or nonresidential program in a manner designed to preserve the health, safety, rights, adequate care, and supervision of the persons served by the program.
- (c) The receiver or the managing agent may make contracts and incur lawful expenses.
- (d) The receiver or the managing agent shall use the building, fixtures, furnishings, and any accompanying consumable goods in the provision of care and services to the clients during the receivership period. The receiver shall take action as is reasonably necessary to protect or conserve the tangible assets or property during receivership.
- (e) The receiver or the managing agent shall collect incoming payments from all sources and apply them to the cost incurred in the performance of the functions of the receivership including the fee set under subdivision 4. No security interest in any real or personal property comprising the program or contained within it, or in any fixture of the physical plant, shall be impaired or diminished in priority by the receiver or the managing agent.
- (f) The receiver has authority to hire, direct, manage, and discharge any employees of the program including management level staff for the program.
- (g) The commissioner, as the receiver appointed by the court, may hire a managing agent to work on the commissioner's behalf to operate the program during the receivership, and the managing agent is entitled to a reasonable fee. The receiver and managing agent shall be liable only in an official capacity for injury to person and property by reason of the conditions of the program. The receiver and managing agent shall not be personally liable, except for gross negligence and intentional acts. The commissioner shall assist the managing agent in carrying out the managing agent's duties.
- Subd. 3a. **Liability.** The provisions contained in section 245A.12, subdivision 6, shall also apply to receiverships ordered according to this section.

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1
03/22/23 12.00 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	11113/1VI V	112900A

Subd. 3b. **Liability for financial obligations.** The provisions contained in section 245A.12, subdivision 7, also apply to receiverships ordered according to this section.

50.1

50.2

50.3

50.4

50.5

50.6

50.7

50.8

50.9

50.10

50.11

50.12

50.13

50.14

50.15

50.16

50.17

50.18

50.19

50.20

50.21

50.25

50.26

50.27

- Subd. 3c. **Physical plant of the program.** Occupation of the physical plant under an involuntary receivership shall be governed by paragraphs (a) and (b).
- (a) The physical plant owned by a controlling individual of the program or related party must be made available for the use of the program throughout the receivership period. The court shall determine a fair monthly rental for the physical plant, taking into account all relevant factors necessary to meet required arm's-length obligations of controlling individuals such as mortgage payments, real estate taxes, and special assessments. The rental fee must be paid by the receiver to the appropriate controlling individuals or related parties for each month that the receivership remains in effect. No payment made to a controlling individual or related party by the receiver or the managing agent or any state agency during a period of the receivership shall include any allowance for profit or be based on any formula that includes an allowance for profit.
- (b) If the owner of the physical plant of a program is not a related party, the court shall order the controlling individual to continue as the lessee of the property during the receivership period. Rental payments during the receivership period shall be made to the owner of the physical plant by the commissioner or the managing agent on behalf of the controlling individual.
- Subd. 4. **Fee.** A receiver appointed under an involuntary receivership or the managing agent is entitled to a reasonable fee as determined by the court.
- Subd. 5. **Termination.** An involuntary receivership terminates 3618 months after the date on which it was ordered or at any other time designated by the court or when any of the following events occurs:
  - (1) the commissioner determines that the program's license or certification application should be granted or should not be suspended or revoked;
  - (2) a new license or certification is granted to the program;
- 50.28 (3) the commissioner determines that all persons residing in a residential program have 50.29 been provided with alternative residential programs or that all persons receiving services 50.30 in a nonresidential program have been referred to other programs; or
- 50.31 (4) the court determines that the receivership is no longer necessary because the conditions 50.32 which gave rise to the receivership no longer exist.

51.1

51.2

51.3

51.4

51.5

51.6

51.7

51.8

51.9

51.10

51.11

51.12

51.13

51.14

51.15

51.16

51.17

51.18

51.19

51.20

51.21

51.22

51.23

51.24

51.25

51.26

51.27

51.28

51.29

51.30

51.31

51.32

51.33

51.34

Subd. 6. **Emergency procedure.** (a) If it appears from the petition filed under subdivision 1, from an affidavit or affidavits filed with the petition, or from testimony of witnesses under oath if the court determines it necessary, that there is probable cause to believe that an emergency exists in a residential or nonresidential program, the court shall issue a temporary order for appointment of a receiver within five two days after receipt of the petition.

(b) Notice of the petition must be served on the program administrator and on the persons designated as agents by the controlling individuals to accept service on their behalf authorized agent, as defined by section 245A.02, of the program that is subject to the receivership petition, or if service is not immediately available on the authorized agent on at least one of the controlling individuals as defined by section 245A.02, subdivision 5a, for the program. A hearing on the petition must be held within five days after notice is served unless the administrator or authorized agent or other controlling individual consents to a later date. After the hearing, the court may continue, modify, or terminate the temporary order.

Subd. 7. Rate recommendation. For any program receiving Medicaid funds and ordered into receivership, the commissioner of human services may review rates of a residential or nonresidential program participating in the medical assistance program which is in receivership and that has needs or deficiencies documented by the Department of Health or the Department of Human Services. If the commissioner of human services determines that a review of the rate established under sections 256B.5012 and 256B.5013 is needed, the commissioner shall:

- (1) review the order or determination that cites the deficiencies or needs; and
- (2) determine the need for additional staff, additional annual hours by type of employee, and additional consultants, services, supplies, equipment, repairs, or capital assets necessary to satisfy the needs or deficiencies.
- Subd. 8. **Adjustment to the rate.** Upon review of rates under subdivision 7, the commissioner may adjust the program's payment rate. The commissioner shall review the circumstances, together with the program's most recent income and expense report, to determine whether or not the deficiencies or needs can be corrected or met by reallocating program staff, costs, revenues, or any other resources including investments. If the commissioner determines that any deficiency cannot be corrected or the need cannot be met with the payment rate currently being paid, the commissioner shall determine the payment rate adjustment by dividing the additional annual costs established during the commissioner's review by the program's actual client days from the most recent income and expense report

03/22/23 12:06 pm HOUSE RESEARCH HHS/MV H2900A1

or the estimated client days in the projected receivership period. The payment rate adjustment remains in effect during the period of the receivership or until another date set by the commissioner. Upon the subsequent sale, closure, or transfer of the program, the commissioner may recover amounts that were paid as payment rate adjustments under this subdivision. This recovery shall be determined through a review of actual costs and client days in the receivership period. The costs the commissioner finds to be allowable shall be divided by the actual client days for the receivership period. This rate shall be compared to the rate paid throughout the receivership period, with the difference multiplied by client days, being the amount to be repaid to the commissioner. Allowable costs shall be determined by the commissioner as those ordinary, necessary, and related to client care by prudent and cost-conscious management. The buyer or transferee shall repay this amount to the commissioner within 60 days after the commissioner notifies the buyer or transferee of the obligation to repay. This provision does not limit the liability of the seller to the commissioner pursuant to section 256B.0641.

Subd. 9. **Receivership accounting.** The commissioner may <u>use adjust Medicaid rates</u> and use Medicaid funds, including but not limited to waiver funds, and the medical assistance account and funds for receivership cash flow, receivership administrative fees, and accounting purposes, to the extent permitted by the state's approved Medicaid plan.

Subd. 10. **Receivership costs.** The commissioner may use the accounts and funds that would have been available for the room and board, services, and program costs of persons in the program for costs, cash flow, and accounting purposes related to the receivership.

Subd. 11. **Controlling individuals; restrictions on licensure.** No controlling individual of a program placed into receivership under this section may apply for or receive a license or certification to operate a residential or nonresidential program for five years from the commencement of the receivership period. This subdivision does not apply to programs that are owned or operated by controlling individuals that were in existence before the date of the receivership agreement, and that have not been placed into receivership."

Page 284, delete sections 27 and 28

Page 285, delete section 29

52.1

52.2

52.3

52.4

52.5

52.6

52.7

52.8

52.9

52.10

52.11

52.12

52.13

52.14

52.15

52.16

52.17

52.18

52.19

52.20

52.21

52.22

52.23

52.24

52.25

52.26

52.27

52.28

Page 286, delete section 30

Page 287, delete section 31

Page 288 delete sections 32 and 33 and insert:

			******
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

53.1	"Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245G.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
53.2	Subdivision 1. License requirements. (a) An applicant for a license to provide substance
53.3	use disorder treatment must comply with the general requirements in section 626.557;
53.4	chapters 245A, 245C, and 260E; and Minnesota Rules, chapter 9544.
53.5	(b) The commissioner may grant variances to the requirements in this chapter that do
53.6	not affect the client's health or safety if the conditions in section 245A.04, subdivision 9,
53.7	are met.
53.8	(c) If a program is licensed according to this chapter and is part of a certified community
53.9	behavioral health clinic under sections 245.7351 to 245.7357, the license holder must comply
53.10	with the requirements in section 245.7355, subdivision 10, as part of the licensing
53.11	requirements under this chapter."
53.12	Page 289, lines 9 to 11, delete the new language
53.13	Page 289, line 19, delete the new language
53.14	Page 289, line 20, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider
53.15	hub, the request must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days from the
53.16	date the commissioner issued the order through the hub."
53.17	Page 290, line 3, delete everything after the period
53.18	Page 290, lines 4 and 5, delete the new language
53.19	Page 290, line 22, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider
53.20	hub, the request must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days from the
53.21	date the commissioner issued the order through the hub."
53.22	Page 291, line 10, delete everything after the period
53.23	Page 291, lines 11 and 12, delete the new language
53.24	Page 291, line 20, delete the new language
53.25	Page 291, line 21, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider
53.26	hub, the request must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days from the
53.27	date the commissioner issued the order through the hub."
53.28	Page 291, after line 26, insert:

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1
J3/44/43 14.00 DIII	HOUSE KESEAKCH	11113/1V1 V	11470071

"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.011, subdivision 3, is amended to read: 54.1 Subd. 3. Certification required. (a) An individual, organization, or government entity 54.2 that is exempt from licensure under section 245A.03, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause 54.3 (19), and chooses to be identified as a certified mental health clinic must: 54.4 (1) be a mental health clinic that is certified under section 245I.20; 54.5 (2) comply with all of the responsibilities assigned to a license holder by this chapter 54.6 54.7 except subdivision 1; and (3) comply with all of the responsibilities assigned to a certification holder by chapter 54.8 245A. 54.9 (b) An individual, organization, or government entity described by this subdivision must 54.10 obtain a criminal background study for each staff person or volunteer who provides direct 54.11 contact services to clients. 54.12 (c) If a program is licensed according to this chapter and is part of a certified community 54.13 behavioral health clinic under sections 245.7351 to 245.7357, the license holder must comply 54.14 with the requirements in section 245.7355, subdivision 10, as part of the licensing 54.15 requirements under this chapter. 54.16 Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.04, subdivision 14, is amended to read: 54.17 Subd. 14. Mental health rehabilitation worker qualifications. (a) A mental health 54.18 rehabilitation worker must: 54.19 (1) have a high school diploma or equivalent; and 54.20 (2) have the training required under section 245I.05, subdivision 3, paragraph (c); and 54.21 (2) (3) meet one of the following qualification requirements: 54.22 (i) be fluent in the non-English language or competent in the culture of the ethnic group 54.23 to which at least 20 percent of the mental health rehabilitation worker's clients belong; 54.24 (ii) have an associate of arts degree; 54.25 (iii) have two years of full-time postsecondary education or a total of 15 semester hours 54.26 or 23 quarter hours in behavioral sciences or related fields; 54.27 (iv) be a registered nurse; 54.28 (v) have, within the previous ten years, three years of personal life experience with 54.29 mental illness;

54 Sec

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1
-------------------	----------------	--------	---------

55.1	(vi) have, within the previous ten years, three years of life experience as a primary
55.2	caregiver to an adult with a mental illness, traumatic brain injury, substance use disorder,
55.3	or developmental disability; or
55.4	(vii) have, within the previous ten years, 2,000 hours of work experience providing
55.5	health and human services to individuals.
55.6	(b) A mental health rehabilitation worker who is exclusively scheduled as an overnight
55.7	staff person and works alone is exempt from the additional qualification requirements in
55.8	paragraph (a), clause $\frac{(2)}{(3)}$ .
55.9	Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.04, subdivision 16, is amended to read:
55.10	Subd. 16. Mental health behavioral aide qualifications. (a) A level 1 mental health
55.11	behavioral aide must have the training required under section 245I.05, subdivision 3,
55.12	paragraph (c), and: (1) a high school diploma or equivalent; or (2) two years of experience
55.13	as a primary caregiver to a child with mental illness within the previous ten years.
55.14	(b) A level 2 mental health behavioral aide must: (1) have the training required under
55.15	section 245I.05, subdivision 3, paragraph (c), and an associate or bachelor's degree; or (2)
55.16	be certified by a program under section 256B.0943, subdivision 8a.
55.17	Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
55.18	Subd. 2. <b>Documentation standards.</b> A license holder must ensure that all documentation
55.19	required by this chapter:
55.20	(1) is legible;
55.21	(2) identifies the applicable client name on each page of the client file and staff person
55.22	name on each page of the personnel file; and
55.23	(3) is signed and dated by the staff persons who provided services to the client or
55.24	completed the documentation, including the staff persons' credentials.
55.25	Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.08, subdivision 4, is amended to read:
55.26	Subd. 4. <b>Progress notes.</b> A license holder must use a progress note to document each
55.27	occurrence of a mental health service that a staff person provides to a client. A progress
55.28	note must include the following:
55.29	(1) the type of service;
55.30	(2) the date of service;

(3) the start and stop time of the service unless the license holder is licensed as a residential program;

(4) the location of the service;

56.1

56.2

56.3

56.4

56.5

56.6

56.7

56.8

- (5) the scope of the service, including: (i) the targeted goal and objective; (ii) the intervention that the staff person provided to the client and the methods that the staff person used; (iii) the client's response to the intervention; and (iv) the staff person's plan to take future actions, including changes in treatment that the staff person will implement if the intervention was ineffective; and (v) the service modality;
- 56.9 (6) the signature and credentials of the staff person who provided the service to the client;
- 56.11 (7) the mental health provider travel documentation required by section 256B.0625, if applicable; and
- (8) significant observations by the staff person, if applicable, including: (i) the client's current risk factors; (ii) emergency interventions by staff persons; (iii) consultations with or referrals to other professionals, family, or significant others; and (iv) changes in the client's mental or physical symptoms.
- Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.10, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
- Subd. 2. **Generally.** (a) A license holder must use a client's diagnostic assessment or crisis assessment to determine a client's eligibility for mental health services, except as provided in this section.
- 56.21 (b) Prior to completing a client's initial diagnostic assessment, a license holder may 56.22 provide a client with the following services:
- 56.23 (1) an explanation of findings;
- 56.24 (2) neuropsychological testing, neuropsychological assessment, and psychological testing;
- 56.26 (3) any combination of psychotherapy sessions, family psychotherapy sessions, and 56.27 family psychoeducation sessions not to exceed three sessions;
- 56.28 (4) crisis assessment services according to section 256B.0624; and
- 56.29 (5) ten days of intensive residential treatment services according to the assessment and treatment planning standards in section 245I.23, subdivision 7.

(c) Based on the client's needs that a crisis assessment identifies under section 256B.0624, a license holder may provide a client with the following services:

57.1

57.2

57.3

57.4

57.5

57.6

57.7

57.8

57.9

57.10

57.11

57.12

57.13

57.14

57.15

- (1) crisis intervention and stabilization services under section 245I.23 or 256B.0624; and
  - (2) any combination of psychotherapy sessions, group psychotherapy sessions, family psychotherapy sessions, and family psychoeducation sessions not to exceed ten sessions within a 12-month period without prior authorization.
  - (d) Based on the client's needs in the client's brief diagnostic assessment, a license holder may provide a client with any combination of psychotherapy sessions, group psychotherapy sessions, family psychotherapy sessions, and family psychoeducation sessions not to exceed ten sessions within a 12-month period without prior authorization for any new client or for an existing client who the license holder projects will need fewer than ten sessions during the next 12 months.
- (e) Based on the client's needs that a hospital's medical history and presentation examination identifies, a license holder may provide a client with:
- (1) any combination of psychotherapy sessions, group psychotherapy sessions, family psychotherapy sessions, and family psychoeducation sessions not to exceed ten sessions within a 12-month period without prior authorization for any new client or for an existing client who the license holder projects will need fewer than ten sessions during the next 12 months; and
- 57.21 (2) up to five days of day treatment services or partial hospitalization.
- 57.22 (f) A license holder must complete a new standard diagnostic assessment of a client <u>or</u>
  57.23 an update to an assessment as permitted under paragraph (g):
- 57.24 (1) when the client requires services of a greater number or intensity than the services 57.25 that paragraphs (b) to (e) describe;
- (2) at least annually following the client's initial diagnostic assessment if the client needs additional mental health services and the client does not meet the criteria for a brief assessment;
- 57.29 (3) when the client's mental health condition has changed markedly since the client's most recent diagnostic assessment; or
- 57.31 (4) when the client's current mental health condition does not meet the criteria of the client's current diagnosis.

22/22/22 12 06	HOUSE BESEARCH	TITIC A IX	TT0000 4 1
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

(g) For an existing a client who is already engaged in services and has a prior assessment, the license holder must ensure that a new standard diagnostic assessment includes complete a written update containing all significant new or changed information about the client, removal of outdated or inaccurate information, and an update regarding what information has not significantly changed, including a discussion with the client about changes in the client's life situation, functioning, presenting problems, and progress with achieving treatment goals since the client's last diagnostic assessment was completed.

- Sec. ... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.10, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
  - Subd. 3. **Continuity of services.** (a) For any client with a diagnostic assessment completed under Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.0370 to 9505.0372, before July 1, 2022, or upon federal approval, whichever is later, the diagnostic assessment is valid for authorizing the client's treatment and billing for one calendar year after the date that the assessment was completed.
- (b) For any client with an individual treatment plan completed under section 256B.0622, 256B.0623, 256B.0943, 256B.0946, or 256B.0947 or Minnesota Rules, parts 9505.0370 to 9505.0372, the client's treatment plan is valid for authorizing treatment and billing until the treatment plan's expiration date.
- 58.18 (c) This subdivision expires <del>July 1</del> October 17, 2023.
- Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.10, subdivision 6, is amended to read:
- Subd. 6. **Standard diagnostic assessment; required elements.** (a) Only a mental health professional or a clinical trainee may complete a standard diagnostic assessment of a client. A standard diagnostic assessment of a client must include a face-to-face interview with a client and a written evaluation of the client. The assessor must complete a client's standard diagnostic assessment within the client's cultural context.
  - (b) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client, the assessor must gather and document information about the client's current life situation, including the following information:
- 58.28 (1) the client's age;

58.1

58.2

58.3

58.4

58.5

58.6

58.7

58.9

58.10

58.11

58.12

58.13

58.25

58.26

58.27

- 58.29 (2) the client's current living situation, including the client's housing status and household members;
- 58.31 (3) the status of the client's basic needs;

(4) the client's education level and employment status; 59.1 (5) the client's current medications; 59.2 (6) any immediate risks to the client's health and safety; 59.3 (7) the client's perceptions of the client's condition; 59.4 (8) the client's description of the client's symptoms, including the reason for the client's 59.5 referral; 59.6 (9) the client's history of mental health treatment; and 59.7 (10) cultural influences on the client. 59.8 (c) If the assessor cannot obtain the information that this paragraph requires without 59.9 retraumatizing the client or harming the client's willingness to engage in treatment, the 59.10 assessor must identify which topics will require further assessment during the course of the 59.11 client's treatment. The assessor must gather and document information related to the following 59.12 topics: 59.13 (1) the client's relationship with the client's family and other significant personal 59.14 relationships, including the client's evaluation of the quality of each relationship; 59.15 (2) the client's strengths and resources, including the extent and quality of the client's 59.16 social networks; 59.17 (3) important developmental incidents in the client's life; 59.18 (4) maltreatment, trauma, potential brain injuries, and abuse that the client has suffered; 59.19 (5) the client's history of or exposure to alcohol and drug usage and treatment; and 59.20 (6) the client's health history and the client's family health history, including the client's 59.21 physical, chemical, and mental health history. 59.22 (d) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client, an assessor must use 59.23 a recognized diagnostic framework. 59.24 (1) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client who is five years of 59.25 age or younger, the assessor must use the current edition of the DC: 0-5 Diagnostic 59.26 Classification of Mental Health and Development Disorders of Infancy and Early Childhood 59.27 published by Zero to Three. 59.28

(2) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client who is six years of age or older, the assessor must use the current edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders published by the American Psychiatric Association.

59 Sec

59.29

59.30

02/22/22 12:06	HOUSE DESEADOH	TITIC/NAVA	112000 A 1
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

(3) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client who is five years of age or younger, an assessor must administer the Early Childhood Service Intensity Instrument (ECSII) to the client and include the results in the client's assessment.

- (4) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client who is six to 17 years of age, an assessor must administer the Child and Adolescent Service Intensity Instrument (CASII) to the client and include the results in the client's assessment.
- (5) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client who is 18 years of age or older, an assessor must use either (i) the CAGE-AID Questionnaire or (ii) the criteria in the most recent edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders published by the American Psychiatric Association to screen and assess the client for a substance use disorder.
- (e) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client, the assessor must include and document the following components of the assessment:
- (1) the client's mental status examination;

60.1

60.2

60.3

60.4

60.5

60.6

60.7

60.8

60.9

60.10

60.11

60.12

60.13

60.14

60.15

60.16

60.17

60.18

60.19

60.20

60.21

60.22

60.23

60.24

60.25

60.26

- (2) the client's baseline measurements; symptoms; behavior; skills; abilities; resources; vulnerabilities; safety needs, including client information that supports the assessor's findings after applying a recognized diagnostic framework from paragraph (d); and any differential diagnosis of the client;
- (3) an explanation of: (i) how the assessor diagnosed the client using the information from the client's interview, assessment, psychological testing, and collateral information about the client; (ii) the client's needs; (iii) the client's risk factors; (iv) the client's strengths; and (v) the client's responsivity factors.
- (f) When completing a standard diagnostic assessment of a client, the assessor must consult the client and the client's family about which services that the client and the family prefer to treat the client. The assessor must make referrals for the client as to services required by law.
- (g) Information from other providers and prior assessments may be used to complete
  the diagnostic assessment if the source of the information is documented in the diagnostic
  assessment.
- Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.10, subdivision 7, is amended to read:
- Subd. 7. **Individual treatment plan.** A license holder must follow each client's written individual treatment plan when providing services to the client with the following exceptions:

(1) services that do not require that a license holder completes a standard diagnostic 61.1 assessment of a client before providing services to the client; 61.2 (2) when developing a treatment or service plan; and 61.3 (3) when a client re-engages in services under subdivision 8, paragraph (b). 61.4 Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.10, subdivision 8, is amended to read: 61.5 Subd. 8. Individual treatment plan; required elements. (a) After completing a client's 61.6 diagnostic assessment or reviewing a client's diagnostic assessment received from a different 61.7 provider, and before providing services to the client beyond those permitted under subdivision 61.8 7, the license holder must complete the client's individual treatment plan. The license holder 61.9 must: 61.10 (1) base the client's individual treatment plan on the client's diagnostic assessment and 61.11 baseline measurements; 61.12 (2) for a child client, use a child-centered, family-driven, and culturally appropriate 61.13 planning process that allows the child's parents and guardians to observe and participate in 61.14 61.15 the child's individual and family treatment services, assessments, and treatment planning; (3) for an adult client, use a person-centered, culturally appropriate planning process 61.16 that allows the client's family and other natural supports to observe and participate in the 61.17 client's treatment services, assessments, and treatment planning; 61.18 (4) identify the client's treatment goals, measureable treatment objectives, a schedule 61.19 for accomplishing the client's treatment goals and objectives, a treatment strategy, and the 61.20 individuals responsible for providing treatment services and supports to the client. The 61.21 license holder must have a treatment strategy to engage the client in treatment if the client: 61.22 (i) has a history of not engaging in treatment; and 61.23 (ii) is ordered by a court to participate in treatment services or to take neuroleptic 61.24 medications; 61.25 (5) identify the participants involved in the client's treatment planning. The client must 61.26

(6) review the client's individual treatment plan every 180 days and update the client's 61.30 individual treatment plan with the client's treatment progress, new treatment objectives and

be a participant in the client's treatment planning. If applicable, the license holder must

document the reasons that the license holder did not involve the client's family or other

61 Sec

natural supports in the client's treatment planning;

61.27

61.28

61.29

00/00/00 10 06	HOUSE BESEAR OH	TTTTC /2 /TT	TT000011
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

goals or, if the client has not made treatment progress, changes in the license holder's approach to treatment; and

62.1

62.2

62.3

62.4

62.5

62.6

62.7

62.8

62.9

62.10

62.11

62.12

62.13

- (7) ensure that the client approves of the client's individual treatment plan unless a court orders the client's treatment plan under chapter 253B.
- (b) If the client disagrees with the client's treatment plan, the license holder must document in the client file the reasons why the client does not agree with the treatment plan. If the license holder cannot obtain the client's approval of the treatment plan, a mental health professional must make efforts to obtain approval from a person who is authorized to consent on the client's behalf within 30 days after the client's previous individual treatment plan expired. A license holder may not deny a client service during this time period solely because the license holder could not obtain the client's approval of the client's individual treatment plan. A license holder may continue to bill for the client's otherwise eligible services when the client re-engages in services.
- 62.14 Sec. ... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.11, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
- Subd. 3. **Storing and accounting for medications.** (a) If a license holder stores client medications, the license holder must:
- 62.17 (1) store client medications in original containers in a locked location;
- 62.18 (2) store refrigerated client medications in special trays or containers that are separate from food;
- 62.20 (3) store client medications marked "for external use only" in a compartment that is 62.21 separate from other client medications;
- 62.22 (4) store Schedule II to IV drugs listed in section 152.02, subdivisions subdivision 3 to 62.23 5, in a compartment that is locked separately from other medications;
- 62.24 (5) ensure that only authorized staff persons have access to stored client medications;
- 62.25 (6) follow a documentation procedure on each shift to account for all scheduled Schedule
  62.26 II to V drugs listed in section 152.02, subdivisions 3 to 6; and
- (7) record each incident when a staff person accepts a supply of client medications and destroy discontinued, outdated, or deteriorated client medications.
- (b) If a license holder is licensed as a residential program, the license holder must allow clients who self-administer medications to keep a private medication supply. The license holder must ensure that the client stores all private medication in a locked container in the client's private living area, unless the private medication supply poses a health and safety

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1
J3/44/43 14.00 DIII	HOUSE KESEAKCH	11113/1V1 V	11470071

risk to any clients. A client must not maintain a private medication supply of a prescription medication without a written medication order from a licensed prescriber and a prescription label that includes the client's name.

- Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.11, subdivision 4, is amended to read: 63.4
- Subd. 4. Medication orders. (a) If a license holder stores, prescribes, or administers 63.5 medications or observes a client self-administer medications, the license holder must: 63.6
- (1) ensure that a licensed prescriber writes all orders to accept, administer, or discontinue 63.7 client medications; 63.8
- (2) accept nonwritten orders to administer client medications in emergency circumstances 63.9 63.10 only;
  - (3) establish a timeline and process for obtaining a written order with the licensed prescriber's signature when the license holder accepts a nonwritten order to administer client medications; and
  - (4) obtain prescription medication renewals from a licensed prescriber for each client every 90 days for psychotropic medications and annually for all other medications; and
- (5) (4) maintain the client's right to privacy and dignity. 63.16

63.1

63.2

63.3

63.11

63.12

63.13

63.14

63.15

63.17

- (b) If a license holder employs a licensed prescriber, the license holder must inform the client about potential medication effects and side effects and obtain and document the client's 63.18 informed consent before the licensed prescriber prescribes a medication. 63.19
- Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.20, subdivision 6, is amended to read: 63.20
- Subd. 6. Additional policy and procedure requirements. (a) In addition to the policies 63.21 and procedures required by section 245I.03, the certification holder must establish, enforce, 63.22 and maintain the policies and procedures required by this subdivision. 63.23
- (b) The certification holder must have a clinical evaluation procedure to identify and 63.24 63.25 document each treatment team member's areas of competence.
- (c) The certification holder must have policies and procedures for client intake and case 63.26 assignment that: 63.27
- (1) outline the client intake process; 63.28

63 Sec

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1
U3/22/23 12:U0 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/WV	H2900AT

64.1	(2) describe how the mental health clinic determines the appropriateness of accepting a
64.2	client into treatment by reviewing the client's condition and need for treatment, the clinical
64.3	services that the mental health clinic offers to clients, and other available resources; and
64.4	(3) contain a process for assigning a client's case to a mental health professional who is
64.5	responsible for the client's case and other treatment team members.
64.6	(d) Notwithstanding the requirements under section 245I.10, subdivisions 5 to 10, for
64.7	the required elements of a diagnostic assessment and a treatment plan, psychiatry billed as
64.8	evaluation and management services must be documented in accordance with the most
64.9	recent current procedural terminology as published by the American Medical Association."
64.10	Page 292, lines 17 to 19, delete the new language
64.11	Page 292, line 26, delete the new language
64.12	Page 292, line 27, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider
64.13	hub, the request must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days from the
64.14	date the commissioner issued the order through the hub."
64.15	Page 293, line 22, delete everything after the period and insert "If the order is issued
64.16	through the provider hub, the request must be received by the commissioner within 20
64.17	calendar days from the date the commissioner issued the order through the hub."
64.18	Page 293, delete lines 23 and 24
64.19	Page 294, line 10, delete everything after the period
64.20	Page 294, lines 11 and 12, delete the new language
64.21	Page 294, line 18, delete the new language
64.22	Page 294, line 19, after the period, insert "If the order is issued through the provider
64.23	hub, the request must be received by the commissioner within 20 calendar days from the
64.24	date the commissioner issued the order through the hub."
64.25	Page 295, after line 19, insert:
64.26	"Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0623, subdivision 3, is amended to read:
64.27	Subd. 3. Eligibility. An eligible recipient is an individual who:
64.28	(1) is age 18 or older;
64.29	(2) is diagnosed with a medical condition, such as mental illness or traumatic brain
64.30	injury, for which adult rehabilitative mental health services are needed;

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

65.1	(3) has substantial disability and functional impairment in three or more of the areas
65.2	listed in section 245I.10, subdivision 9, clause (4), so that self-sufficiency is markedly
65.3	reduced; and
65.4	(4) has had a recent standard diagnostic assessment by a qualified professional or an
65.5	initial evaluation or comprehensive evaluation performed by a certified community behavioral
65.6	health center according to section 245.7355, subdivision 6, that documents adult rehabilitative
65.7	mental health services are medically necessary to address identified disability and functional
65.8	impairments and individual recipient goals."
65.9	Page 295, line 24, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"
65.10	Page 296, lines 7 and 12, delete "245.7358" and insert "245.7355"
65.11	Page 296, line 15, delete "245.736" and insert "245.7357"
65.12	Page 298, after line 28, insert:
65.13	"Sec Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0671, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
65.14	Subd. 2. Generally. (a) An individual, organization, or government entity providing
65.15	mental health services to a client under this section must obtain a criminal background study
65.16	of each staff person or volunteer who is providing direct contact services to a client.
65.17	(b) An individual, organization, or government entity providing mental health services
65.18	to a client under this section must comply with all responsibilities that chapter 245I assigns
65.19	to a license holder, except section 245I.011, subdivision 1, unless all of the individual's,
65.20	organization's, or government entity's treatment staff are qualified as mental health
65.21	professionals.
65.22	(c) An individual, organization, or government entity providing mental health services
65.23	to a client under this section must comply with the following requirements if all of the
65.24	license holder's treatment staff are qualified as mental health professionals:
65.25	(1) provider qualifications and scopes of practice under section 245I.04;
65.26	(2) maintaining and updating personnel files under section 245I.07;
65.27	(3) documenting under section 245I.08;
65.28	(4) maintaining and updating client files under section 245I.09;
65.29	(5) completing client assessments and treatment planning under section 245I.10;
65.30	(6) providing clients with health services and medications under section 245I.11; and

02/22/22 12 06	HOUSE DESEADOR	TITIC /N AXI	TT2000 A 1
03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1

(7) respecting and enforcing client rights under section 245I.12.

66.1

66.

66.

66.

66.5

66.6

66.7

66.8

66.9

66.10

66.11

66.12

66.13

66.14

66.15

66.16

66.17

66.18

2	(d) The requirements of this section do not apply to evaluation and management services
3	reimbursed as physician services and professional services under section 256B.0625,
4	subdivisions 3, 4, 28, or 28a.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 256B.0943, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

- Subd. 3. **Determination of client eligibility.** (a) A client's eligibility to receive children's therapeutic services and supports under this section shall be determined based on a standard diagnostic assessment by a mental health professional or a clinical trainee, or an initial evaluation or comprehensive evaluation performed by a certified community behavioral health center according to section 245.7355, subdivision 6, that is performed within one year before the initial start of service. The standard diagnostic assessment or evaluation must:
- (1) determine whether a child under age 18 has a diagnosis of emotional disturbance or, if the person is between the ages of 18 and 21, whether the person has a mental illness;
- (2) document children's therapeutic services and supports as medically necessary to address an identified disability, functional impairment, and the individual client's needs and goals; and
  - (3) be used in the development of the individual treatment plan.
- (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a client may be determined to be eligible for up to five days of day treatment under this section based on a hospital's medical history and presentation examination of the client.
- 66.22 (c) Children's therapeutic services and supports include development and rehabilitative 66.23 services that support a child's developmental treatment needs."
- Page 299, line 11, delete "required to report under section 260E.06, subdivision 1" and insert "who has an account with the provider licensing and reporting hub and is required to report suspected maltreatment as a licensed program under section 260E.06, subdivision 1"
- Page 299, line 13, delete everything after the period and insert "A report submitted through the provider licensing and reporting hub must be made immediately."
- 66.29 Page 299, delete line 14
- 66.30 Page 302, line 25, delete "(1,363,772,000)" and insert "(1,453,441,000)"
- 66.31 Page 302, line 28, delete "(1,156,872,000)" and insert "(1,228,684,000)"

Page 302, line 29, delete "(196,098,000)" and insert "(203,530,000)" 67.1 Page 302, line 30, delete "(10,802,000)" and insert "(21,227,000)" 67.2 Page 303, line 5, delete "3,636,000" and insert "(99,000)" 67.3 Page 303, line 6, delete "(10,802,000)" and insert "(21,227,000)" 67.4 Page 303, line 8, delete "(521,000)" and insert "(1,632,000)" 67.5 Page 303, line 9, delete "(5,000)" and insert "783,000" 67.6 Page 303, line 10, delete "221,000" and insert "180,000" 67.7 Page 303, line 11, delete "(12,670,000)" and insert "(18,038,000)" 67.8 Page 303, line 12, delete "(196,098,000)" and insert "(203,530,000)" 67.9 Page 303, line 18, delete "(1,110,576,000)" and insert "(1,172,921,000)" 67.10 Page 304, line 7, delete "6,244,921,000" and insert "6,249,805,000" and delete 67.11 "6,489,006,000" and insert "6,479,601,000" 67.12 Page 304, line 10, delete "4,949,348,000" and insert "4,948,930,000" and delete 67.13 "4,597,204,000" and insert "4,592,728,000" 67.14 Page 304, line 13, delete "1,005,106,000" and insert "1,019,146,000" and delete 67.15 "1,617,914,000" and insert "1,617,894,000" 67.16 Page 304, line 14, delete "285,691,000" and insert "276,953,000" and delete 67.17 "286,604,000" and insert "281,694,000" 67.18 Page 306, line 21, delete "(d)" and insert "(c)" 67.19 Page 308, line 6, delete "297,580,000" and insert "307,843,000" and delete "258,240,000" 67.20 and insert "261,501,000" 67.21 Page 309, line 6, delete "\$251,157,000" and insert "\$254,181,000" 67.22 Page 309, line 7, delete "\$248,981,000" and insert "252,062,000" 67.23 Page 309, line 13, delete "40,568,000" and insert "42,378,000" and delete "42,523,000" 67.24 and insert "43,022,000" 67.25 Page 309, line 21, delete "\$41,848,000" and insert "42,272,000" 67.26 Page 309, line 22, delete "\$40,452,000" and insert "41,061,000" 67.27 Page 309, line 25, delete "49,059,000" and insert "53,655,000" and delete "32,969,000" 67.28

Sec. . 67

and insert "33,935,000"

68.1	Page 310, line 10, delete "\$32,111,000" and insert "\$33,035,000"
68.2	Page 310, line 11, delete "\$35,798,000" and insert "\$36,392,000"
68.3	Page 310, line 16, delete "1,098,000" and insert "3,773,000" and delete "1,277,000" and
68.4	insert "4,839,000"
68.5	Page 310, after line 16, insert:
68.6	"Base level adjustment. The general fund
68.7	base is \$4,518,000 in fiscal year 2026 and
68.8	\$4,353,000 in fiscal year 2027."
68.9	Page 312, line 20, delete "\$120,000,000" and insert "\$166,550,000"
68.10	Page 312, line 23, after "119B.27" insert ", and the transition grant program"
68.11	Page 312, after line 33, insert:
68.12	"(c) Child care one-stop shop. \$2,920,000 in
68.13	fiscal year 2025 is for a grant to the statewide
68.14	child care resource and referral network to
68.15	administer the child care one-stop shop
68.16	regional assistance network under Minnesota
68.17	Statutes, section 119B.19, subdivision 7,
68.18	clause (9).
68.19	(d) Child care workforce development
68.20	grants administration. Beginning in fiscal
68.21	year 2025, the base shall include \$1,300,000
68.22	for a grant to the statewide child care resource
68.23	and referral network to administer child care
68.24	workforce development grants under
68.25	Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.19,
68.26	subdivision 7, clause (10).
68.27	(e) Shared services grants. \$500,000 in fiscal
68.28	year 2024 and \$500,000 in fiscal year 2025
68.29	are for shared services grants under Minnesota
68.30	Statutes, section 119B.28.
68.31	(f) Access to technology grants. \$300,000 in
68.32	fiscal year 2024 and \$300,000 in fiscal year

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1
03/22/23 12:00 pm	Hoose reserren	11110/1111	112700111

69.1	2025 are for child care provider access to
69.2	technology grants under Minnesota Statutes,
69.3	section 119B.29.
69.4	(g) Business training and consultation.
69.5	\$1,250,000 in fiscal year 2024 and \$1,500,000
69.6	in fiscal year 2025 are for business training
69.7	and consultation under Minnesota Statutes,
69.8	section 119B.25, subdivision 3, paragraph (a),
69.9	clause (6).
69.10	(h) <b>Scholarship program.</b> \$695,000 in fiscal
69.11	year 2025 is for a scholarship program for
69.12	early childhood and school age educators
69.13	under Minnesota Statutes, section 119B.251."
69.14	Page 313, line 1, delete "(c)" and insert "(i)"
69.15	Page 313, after line 10, insert:
69.16	"(a) Title IV-E adoption assistance. (1) The
69.17	commissioner shall allocate funds from the
69.18	state's savings from the Fostering Connections
69.19	to Success and Increasing Adoptions Act's
69.20	expanded eligibility for Title IV-E adoption
69.21	assistance as required in Minnesota Statutes,
69.22	section 256N.261, and as allowable under
69.23	federal law.
69.24	(2) Additional savings to the state as a result
69.25	of the Fostering Connections to Success and
69.26	Increasing Adoptions Act's expanded
69.27	eligibility for Title IV-E adoption assistance
69.28	is for postadoption, foster care, adoption, and
69.29	kinship services, including a parent-to-parent
69.30	support network and as allowable under
69.31	federal law."
69.32	Page 313, after line 31, insert:

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1
"(d) White Earth Nation American I	ndian_		
Child Welfare Initiative. \$824,000 in	fiscal		
year 2024 and \$824,000 in fiscal year 2	2025		
are from the general fund for the White	Earth Earth		
Nation to participate in the American I	<u>ndian</u>		
child welfare initiative."			
Reletter the paragraphs in sequence	;		
Page 314, line 19, delete "under"			
Page 314, line 20, delete "Minneson	ta Statutes, section 260.01	<u>4</u> "	
Page 314, line 22, after the period,	insert " <u>Funds shall be trar</u>	sferred to the	special
revenue fund."			
Page 315, line 10, delete "256K.47"	' and insert " <u>256K.48</u> "		
Page 315, line 24, after "(h)" insert "	, and to expand the public-	private adoption	on initiative
to similarly support permanency of chi	ldren in foster care throug	sh transfer of p	ermanent
legal and physical custody to a relative of	or equivalent permanency	disposition in T	Tribal code"
Page 316, line 22, after "(c)" delete	"Tribal food sovereignty	y grants." and	insert
"American Indian food sovereignty f	unding."		
Page 316, line 25, delete "for grants	<u>8</u> "		
Page 316, line 31, delete "support	grants" and insert "shelf	program"	
Page 318, lines 1, 2, and 10, delete	" <u>\$1,000,000</u> " and insert "	\$2,500,000"	
Page 318, line 21, delete "\$1,064,00	00" and insert "\$1,936,000	<u>o</u> "	
Page 318, after line 27, insert:			
"(d) Lead agency allocations. \$36,000	0,000		
in fiscal year 2024 is from the health ca	are_		
access fund for allocations to county ar	<u>nd</u>		
Tribal processing entities to assist proc	essing		
entities with resuming medical assistan	<u>ice</u>		
renewals following the expiration of th	<u>e</u>		
commissioner's CV17 waiver to human	1		
services programs as described in Laws	2020,		
First Special Session chapter 7 section	· 1		

subdivision 1, as amended by Laws 2021, First

70.1

70.2

70.3

70.4

70.5

70.6

70.7

70.8

70.9

70.10

70.11

70.12

70.13

70.14

70.15

70.16

70.17

70.18

70.19

70.20

70.21

70.22

70.23

70.24

70.25

70.26

70.27

70.28

70.29

70.30

70.31

03/22/23 12:06 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	HHS/MV	H2900A1
Special Session chapter 7, article 2, sec	tion		

71.1	Special Session chapter 7, article 2, section
71.2	71; Laws 2022, chapter 98, article 4, section
71.3	49, and this act. The commissioner must
71.4	distribute the entire amount of this
71.5	appropriation to county and Tribal processing
71.6	entities in proportion to each entity's March
71.7	2023 share of statewide enrollment in
71.8	Minnesota health care programs other than
71.9	MinnesotaCare. This is a onetime
71.10	appropriation."
71.11	Page 318, line 28, delete "(d)" and insert "(e)"

- Page 319, after line 6, insert:
- 71.13 "Heading Home Corps. \$1,100,000 in fiscal
   71.14 year 2024 and \$1,100,000 in fiscal year 2025
- 71.15 <u>are for the AmeriCorps Heading Home Corps</u>
- 71.16 **program.**"
- Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references
- 71.18 Amend the title accordingly