
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 3638 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 APPROPRIATIONS​

1.5 Section 1. HIGHER EDUCATION APPROPRIATIONS.​

1.6 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are added to the appropriations​

1.7 in Laws 2017, chapter 89, article 1, unless otherwise specified, to the agencies and for the​

1.8 purposes specified in this article. The appropriations are from the general fund, or another​

1.9 named fund, and are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose. The figures​

1.10 "2018" and "2019" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under them are​

1.11 available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2018, or June 30, 2019, respectively. "The first​

1.12 year" is fiscal year 2018. "The second year" is fiscal year 2019. "The biennium" is fiscal​

1.13 years 2018 and 2019.​

1.14 APPROPRIATIONS​
1.15 Available for the Year​
1.16 Ending June 30​

2019​1.17 2018​

1.18 Sec. 2. MINNESOTA OFFICE OF HIGHER​
1.19 EDUCATION​

500,000​$​-0-​$​1.20 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

1.21 The amounts that may be spent for each​

1.22 purpose are specified in the following​

1.23 subdivisions.​

350,000​-0-​1.24 Subd. 2. State Grants​

1.25 This is a onetime appropriation.​

1​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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100,000​-0-​
2.1 Subd. 3. Agricultural Educators Loan​
2.2 Forgiveness​

2.3 For transfer to the agricultural education loan​

2.4 forgiveness account in the special revenue​

2.5 fund under Minnesota Statutes, section​

2.6 136A.1794, subdivision 2. This is a onetime​

2.7 appropriation.​

50,000​-0-​2.8 Subd. 3. Student Loan Debt Counseling​

2.9 For a student loan debt counseling grant under​

2.10 Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1705. This​

2.11 is a onetime appropriation.​

2.12 Sec. 3. BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE​
2.13 MINNESOTA STATE COLLEGES AND​
2.14 UNIVERSITIES​

5,500,000​$​-0-​$​2.15 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

2.16 The amounts that may be spent for each​

2.17 purpose are specified in the following​

2.18 subdivisions.​

5,500,000​-0-​2.19 Subd. 2. Operations and Maintenance​

2.20 (a) This appropriation includes $5,000,000 in​

2.21 fiscal year 2019 for cyber security programs​

2.22 at Metropolitan State University. This is a​

2.23 onetime appropriation.​

2.24 (b) This appropriation includes $500,000 in​

2.25 fiscal year 2019 for renewal of workforce​

2.26 development scholarships first awarded in​

2.27 academic year 2018-2019 under Minnesota​

2.28 Statutes, section 136F.38. This is a onetime​

2.29 appropriation and is available until June 30,​

2.30 2020.​

2.31 ARTICLE 2​

2.32 HIGHER EDUCATION POLICY​

2.33 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 135A.15, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

2​Article 2 Section 1.​
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3.1 Subd. 2. Victims' rights. The policy required under subdivision 1 shall, at a minimum,​

3.2 require that students and employees be informed of the policy, and shall include provisions​

3.3 for:​

3.4 (1) filing criminal charges with local law enforcement officials in sexual assault cases;​

3.5 (2) the prompt assistance of campus authorities, at the request of the victim, in notifying​

3.6 the appropriate law enforcement officials and disciplinary authorities of a sexual assault​

3.7 incident;​

3.8 (3) allowing sexual assault victims to decide whether to report a case to law enforcement;​

3.9 (4) requiring campus authorities to treat sexual assault victims with dignity;​

3.10 (5) requiring campus authorities to offer sexual assault victims fair and respectful health​

3.11 care, counseling services, or referrals to such services;​

3.12 (6) preventing campus authorities from suggesting to a victim of sexual assault that the​

3.13 victim is at fault for the crimes or violations that occurred;​

3.14 (7) preventing campus authorities from suggesting to a victim of sexual assault that the​

3.15 victim should have acted in a different manner to avoid such a crime;​

3.16 (8) subject to subdivision 10, protecting the privacy of sexual assault victims by only​

3.17 disclosing data collected under this section to the victim, persons whose work assignments​

3.18 reasonably require access, and, at a sexual assault victim's request, police conducting a​

3.19 criminal investigation;​

3.20 (9) an investigation and resolution of a sexual assault complaint by campus disciplinary​

3.21 authorities;​

3.22 (10) a sexual assault victim's participation in and the presence of the victim's attorney​

3.23 or other support person who is not a fact witness to the sexual assault at any meeting with​

3.24 campus officials concerning the victim's sexual assault complaint or campus disciplinary​

3.25 proceeding concerning a sexual assault complaint;​

3.26 (11) ensuring that a sexual assault victim may decide when to repeat a description of​

3.27 the incident of sexual assault;​

3.28 (12) notice to a sexual assault victim of the availability of a campus or local program​

3.29 providing sexual assault advocacy services and information on legal resources;​

3.30 (13) notice to a sexual assault victim of the outcome of any campus disciplinary​

3.31 proceeding concerning a sexual assault complaint, consistent with laws relating to data​

3.32 practices;​

3​Article 2 Section 1.​
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4.1 (14) the complete and prompt assistance of campus authorities, at the direction of law​

4.2 enforcement authorities, in obtaining, securing, and maintaining evidence in connection​

4.3 with a sexual assault incident;​

4.4 (15) the assistance of campus authorities in preserving for a sexual assault complainant​

4.5 or victim materials relevant to a campus disciplinary proceeding;​

4.6 (16) during and after the process of investigating a complaint and conducting a campus​

4.7 disciplinary procedure, the assistance of campus personnel, in cooperation with the​

4.8 appropriate law enforcement authorities, at a sexual assault victim's request, in shielding​

4.9 the victim from unwanted contact with the alleged assailant, including transfer of the victim​

4.10 to alternative classes or to alternative college-owned housing, if alternative classes or housing​

4.11 are available and feasible;​

4.12 (17) forbidding retaliation, and establishing a process for investigating complaints of​

4.13 retaliation, against sexual assault victims by campus authorities, the accused, organizations​

4.14 affiliated with the accused, other students, and other employees;​

4.15 (18) at the request of the victim, providing students who reported sexual assaults to the​

4.16 institution and subsequently choose to transfer to another postsecondary institution with​

4.17 information about resources for victims of sexual assault at the institution to which the​

4.18 victim is transferring; and​

4.19 (19) consistent with laws governing access to student records, providing a student who​

4.20 reported an incident of sexual assault with access to the student's description of the incident​

4.21 as it was reported to the institution, including if that student transfers to another postsecondary​

4.22 institution.​

4.23 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 136A.901, is amended by adding a subdivision​

4.24 to read:​

4.25 Subd. 3. Account. A spinal cord injury and traumatic brain injury research grant account​

4.26 is created in the special revenue fund in the state treasury. The commissioner shall deposit​

4.27 into the account appropriations made for the purposes of this section. Money in the account​

4.28 is appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes for which it was appropriated.​

4.29 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 137.0245, is amended to read:​

4.30 137.0245 REGENT CANDIDATE ADVISORY COUNCIL LEGISLATIVE​

4.31 COMMISSION ON REGENT SELECTION.​

4​Article 2 Sec. 3.​
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5.1 Subdivision 1. Establishment. A Regent Candidate Advisory Council Legislative​

5.2 Commission on Regent Selection is established to assist in determining criteria for, and​

5.3 identifying and recruiting qualified candidates for membership on the Board of Regents​

5.4 and making recommendations to the joint legislative committee described in section​

5.5 137.0246, subdivision 2.​

5.6 Subd. 2. Membership. (a) The Regent Candidate Advisory Council shall consist​

5.7 Legislative Commission on Regent Selection consists of: 24 members. Twelve members​

5.8 shall be appointed by the Subcommittee on Committees of the Committee on Rules and​

5.9 Administration of the senate. Twelve members shall be appointed by the speaker of the​

5.10 house. Each appointing authority must appoint one member who is a student enrolled in a​

5.11 degree program at the University of Minnesota at the time of appointment. No more than​

5.12 one-third of the members appointed by each appointing authority may be current or former​

5.13 legislators. No more than two-thirds of the members appointed by each appointing authority​

5.14 may belong to the same political party; however, political activity or affiliation is not required​

5.15 for the appointment of any member. Geographical representation must be taken into​

5.16 consideration when making appointments. Section 15.0575 shall govern the advisory council,​

5.17 except that:​

5.18 (1) the members shall be appointed to six-year terms with one-third appointed each​

5.19 even-numbered year; and​

5.20 (2) student members are appointed to two-year terms with two students appointed each​

5.21 even-numbered year.​

5.22 A member may not serve more than two full terms​

5.23 (1) four members of the house of representatives, two of whom are appointed by the​

5.24 speaker of the house and two of whom are appointed by the minority leader; and​

5.25 (2) four members of the senate, two of whom are appointed by the majority leader and​

5.26 two of whom are appointed by the minority leader.​

5.27 (b) Members serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority. The first appointments​

5.28 must be made by September 1, 2018.​

5.29 (c) A chair of the commission serves a two-year term, expiring on June 30 in an​

5.30 even-numbered year. The chair must alternate biennially between a designee of the speaker​

5.31 of the house of representatives and a designee of the senate majority leader. The speaker of​

5.32 the house of representatives shall designate the first chair. The chair may vote on any matter​

5.33 before the commission.​

5​Article 2 Sec. 3.​
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6.1 Subd. 3. Duties. (a) The advisory council commission shall:​

6.2 (1) develop, in consultation with current and former regents, the University of Minnesota​

6.3 Alumni Association, and the administration of the University of Minnesota, a statement of​

6.4 the selection criteria to be applied and a description of the responsibilities and duties of a​

6.5 regent, and shall distribute this to potential candidates; and​

6.6 (2) for each position on the board, identify and recruit qualified candidates for the Board​

6.7 of Regents, based on the background and experience of the candidates, their potential for​

6.8 discharging the responsibilities of a member of the Board of Regents, and the needs of the​

6.9 board. The selection criteria must not include a limitation on the number of terms an​

6.10 individual may serve on the Board of Regents.​

6.11 (b) The selection criteria developed under paragraph (a), clause (1), must include a​

6.12 criterion that regents represent diversity in geography; gender; race; occupation, including​

6.13 business and labor; and experience.​

6.14 (c) The selection criterion must include an identification of the membership needs of​

6.15 the board for individual skills relevant to the governance of the University of Minnesota​

6.16 and the needs for certain individual characteristics. Individual characteristics relate to​

6.17 qualities such as gender, race, and geographic location of residence.​

6.18 Subd. 4. Recommendations. (a) The advisory council commission shall recommend at​

6.19 least two one and not more than four three candidates for each vacancy. By January 15 of​

6.20 each odd-numbered year, the advisory council commission shall submit its recommendations​

6.21 to the joint legislative committee described in section 137.0246, subdivision 2.​

6.22 (b) The advisory council commission must submit a report to the joint committee on the​

6.23 needs criterion identified under subdivision 3, paragraph (c), at the same time it submits its​

6.24 recommendations.​

6.25 Subd. 5. Support services. The Legislative Coordinating Commission shall provide​

6.26 administrative and support services for the advisory council commission. The Legislative​

6.27 Coordinating Commission shall collect application materials from regent candidates and​

6.28 forward all materials to the Legislative Commission on Regent Selection.​

6.29 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 137.0246, is amended to read:​

6.30 137.0246 REGENT NOMINATION AND ELECTION.​

6.31 Subd. 2. Regent nomination joint committee. (a) The joint legislative committee​

6.32 consists of the members of the higher education budget and policy divisions in each house​

6​Article 2 Sec. 4.​
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7.1 of the legislature. The chairs of the divisions from each body shall be cochairs of the joint​

7.2 legislative committee. A majority of the members from each house is a quorum of the joint​

7.3 committee.​

7.4 (b) By February 28 of each odd-numbered year, or at a date agreed to by concurrent​

7.5 resolution, the joint legislative committee shall meet to consider the advisory council's​

7.6 Legislative Commission on Regent Selection's recommendations for regent of the University​

7.7 of Minnesota for possible presentation to a joint convention of the legislature.​

7.8 (c) The joint committee may recommend to the joint convention candidates recommended​

7.9 by the advisory council Legislative Commission on Regent Selection and the other candidates​

7.10 nominated by the joint committee. A candidate other than those recommended by the​

7.11 advisory council Legislative Commission on Regent Selection may be nominated for​

7.12 consideration by the joint committee only if the nomination receives the support of at least​

7.13 three house of representatives members of the committee and two senate members of the​

7.14 committee. A candidate must receive a majority vote of members from the house of​

7.15 representatives and from the senate on the joint committee to be recommended to the joint​

7.16 convention. The joint committee may recommend no more than one candidate for each​

7.17 vacancy. In recommending nominees, the joint committee must consider the needs of the​

7.18 board of regents and the balance of the board membership with respect to gender, racial,​

7.19 and ethnic composition.​

7.20 Sec. 5. Laws 2017, chapter 89, article 1, section 2, subdivision 20, is amended to read:​

3,000,000​3,000,000​
7.21 Subd. 20. Spinal Cord Injury and Traumatic​
7.22 Brain Injury Research Grant Program​

7.23 For transfer to the spinal cord injury and​

7.24 traumatic brain injury research grant account​

7.25 in the special revenue fund.​

7.26 For spinal cord injury and traumatic brain​

7.27 injury research grants authorized under​

7.28 Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.901.​

7.29 The commissioner may use no more than three​

7.30 percent of this appropriation to administer the​

7.31 grant program under this subdivision.​

7​Article 2 Sec. 5.​
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8.1 Sec. 6. AFFORDABLE TEXTBOOK PLAN AND REPORT.​

8.2 The Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities shall develop​

8.3 a plan to increase the use of affordable textbooks and instructional materials. The board​

8.4 must explore and study registration software or other systems and methods to disclose or​

8.5 display the cost of all textbooks and instructional materials required for a course at or prior​

8.6 to course registration. The plan must describe the systems or methods examined and the​

8.7 results of the study. The plan must establish a goal for the percentage of all courses offered​

8.8 at state colleges and universities that will use affordable textbooks and instructional materials.​

8.9 The plan must identify and describe key terms, including "affordable textbook," "instructional​

8.10 material," and "course." The board must submit the plan to the chairs and ranking minority​

8.11 members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction over higher education by January​

8.12 15, 2020.​

8.13 ARTICLE 3​

8.14 OFFICE OF HIGHER EDUCATION AGENCY POLICY​

8.15 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 127A.70, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

8.16 Subd. 2. Powers and duties; report. (a) The partnership shall develop recommendations​

8.17 to the governor and the legislature designed to maximize the achievement of all P-20 students​

8.18 while promoting the efficient use of state resources, thereby helping the state realize the​

8.19 maximum value for its investment. These recommendations may include, but are not limited​

8.20 to, strategies, policies, or other actions focused on:​

8.21 (1) improving the quality of and access to education at all points from preschool through​

8.22 graduate education;​

8.23 (2) improving preparation for, and transitions to, postsecondary education and work;​

8.24 (3) ensuring educator quality by creating rigorous standards for teacher recruitment,​

8.25 teacher preparation, induction and mentoring of beginning teachers, and continuous​

8.26 professional development for career teachers; and​

8.27 (4) realigning the governance and administrative structures of early education,​

8.28 kindergarten through grade 12, and postsecondary systems in Minnesota.​

8.29 (b) Under the direction of the P-20 Education Partnership Statewide Longitudinal​

8.30 Education Data System Governance Committee, the Office of Higher Education and the​

8.31 Departments of Education and Employment and Economic Development shall improve and​

8.32 expand the Statewide Longitudinal Education Data System (SLEDS) to provide policymakers,​

8​Article 3 Section 1.​
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9.1 education and workforce leaders, researchers, and members of the public with data, research,​

9.2 and reports to:​

9.3 (1) expand reporting on students' educational outcomes for diverse student populations​

9.4 including at-risk students, children with disabilities, English learners, and gifted students,​

9.5 among others, and include formative and summative evaluations based on multiple measures​

9.6 of child well-being, early childhood development, and student progress toward career and​

9.7 college readiness;​

9.8 (2) evaluate the effectiveness of (i) investments in young children and families and (ii)​

9.9 educational and workforce programs; and​

9.10 (3) evaluate the relationship between (i) investments in young children and families and​

9.11 (ii) education and workforce outcomes, consistent with section 124D.49.​

9.12 To the extent possible under federal and state law, research and reports should be​

9.13 accessible to the public on the Internet, and disaggregated by demographic characteristics,​

9.14 organization or organization characteristics, and geography.​

9.15 It is the intent of the legislature that the Statewide Longitudinal Education Data System​

9.16 inform public policy and decision-making. The SLEDS governance committee, with​

9.17 assistance from staff of the Office of Higher Education, the Department of Education, and​

9.18 the Department of Employment and Economic Development, shall respond to legislative​

9.19 committee and agency requests on topics utilizing data made available through the Statewide​

9.20 Longitudinal Education Data System as resources permit. Any analysis of or report on the​

9.21 data must contain only summary data.​

9.22 (c) By January 15 of each year, the partnership shall submit a report to the governor and​

9.23 to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with​

9.24 jurisdiction over P-20 education policy and finance that summarizes the partnership's progress​

9.25 in meeting its goals and identifies the need for any draft legislation when necessary to further​

9.26 the goals of the partnership to maximize student achievement while promoting efficient use​

9.27 of resources.​

9.28 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 136A.1275, subdivision 2, is amended​

9.29 to read:​

9.30 Subd. 2. Eligibility. To be eligible for a grant under this section, a teacher candidate​

9.31 must:​

9​Article 3 Sec. 2.​
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10.1 (1) be enrolled in a Professional Educator Licensing and Standards Board-approved​

10.2 teacher preparation program that requires at least 12 weeks of student teaching in order to​

10.3 be recommended for a full professional teaching license;​

10.4 (2) demonstrate financial need based on criteria established by the commissioner under​

10.5 subdivision 3;​

10.6 (3) intend to teach in a shortage area or belong to an underrepresented racial or ethnic​

10.7 group be meeting satisfactory academic progress as defined under section 136A.101,​

10.8 subdivision 10; and​

10.9 (4) be meeting satisfactory academic progress as defined under section 136A.101,​

10.10 subdivision 10 intend to teach in a shortage area or belong to an underrepresented racial or​

10.11 ethnic group. Intent can be documented based on the teacher license field the student is​

10.12 pursuing or a statement of intent to teach in an economic development region defined as a​

10.13 shortage area in the year the student receives a grant.​

10.14 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 136A.1275, subdivision 3, is amended​

10.15 to read:​

10.16 Subd. 3. Administration; repayment. (a) The commissioner must establish an​

10.17 application process and other guidelines for implementing this program, including repayment​

10.18 responsibilities for stipend recipients who do not complete student teaching or who leave​

10.19 Minnesota to teach in another state during the first year after student teaching.​

10.20 (b) The commissioner must determine each academic year the stipend amount up to​

10.21 $7,500 based on the amount of available funding, the number of eligible applicants, and the​

10.22 financial need of the applicants.​

10.23 (c) The percentage of the total award funds available at the beginning of the fiscal year​

10.24 reserved for teacher candidates who identify as belonging to an underrepresented a racial​

10.25 or ethnic group underrepresented in the Minnesota teacher workforce must be equal to or​

10.26 greater than the total percentage of students of underrepresented racial or ethnic groups​

10.27 underrepresented in the Minnesota teacher workforce as measured under section 120B.35,​

10.28 subdivision 3. If this percentage cannot be met because of a lack of qualifying candidates,​

10.29 the remaining amount may be awarded to teacher candidates who intend to teach in a shortage​

10.30 area.​

10​Article 3 Sec. 3.​
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11.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 136A.15, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

11.2 Subd. 8. Eligible student. "Eligible student" means a student who is officially registered​

11.3 or accepted for enrollment at an eligible institution in Minnesota or a Minnesota resident​

11.4 who is officially registered as a student or accepted for enrollment at an eligible institution​

11.5 in another state or province. Non-Minnesota residents are eligible students if they are enrolled​

11.6 or accepted for enrollment in a minimum of one course of at least 30 days in length during​

11.7 the academic year that requires physical attendance at an eligible institution located in​

11.8 Minnesota. Non-Minnesota resident students enrolled exclusively during the academic year​

11.9 in correspondence courses or courses offered over the Internet are not eligible students.​

11.10 Non-Minnesota resident students not physically attending classes in Minnesota due to​

11.11 enrollment in a study abroad program for 12 months or less are eligible students.​

11.12 Non-Minnesota residents enrolled in study abroad programs exceeding 12 months are not​

11.13 eligible students. An eligible student, for section 136A.1701, means a student who gives​

11.14 informed consent authorizing the disclosure of data specified in section 136A.162, paragraph​

11.15 (c), to a consumer credit reporting agency.​

11.16 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 136A.16, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

11.17 Subdivision 1. Designation. Notwithstanding chapter 16C, the office is designated as​

11.18 the administrative agency for carrying out the purposes and terms of sections 136A.15 to​

11.19 136A.1702 136A.1704. The office may establish one or more loan programs.​

11.20 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 136A.16, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

11.21 Subd. 2. Rules, policies, and conditions. The office shall adopt policies and may​

11.22 prescribe appropriate rules and conditions to carry out the purposes of sections 136A.15 to​

11.23 136A.1702. The policies and rules except as they relate to loans under section 136A.1701​

11.24 must be compatible with the provisions of the National Vocational Student Loan Insurance​

11.25 Act of 1965 and the provisions of title IV of the Higher Education Act of 1965, and any​

11.26 amendments thereof.​

11.27 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 136A.16, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

11.28 Subd. 5. Agencies. The office may contract with loan servicers, collection agencies,​

11.29 credit bureaus, or any other person, to carry out the purposes of sections 136A.15 to​

11.30 136A.1702 136A.1704.​

11​Article 3 Sec. 7.​
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12.1 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 136A.16, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

12.2 Subd. 8. Investment. Money made available to the office that is not immediately needed​

12.3 for the purposes of sections 136A.15 to 136A.1702 136A.1704 may be invested by the​

12.4 office. The money must be invested in bonds, certificates of indebtedness, and other fixed​

12.5 income securities, except preferred stocks, which are legal investments for the permanent​

12.6 school fund. The money may also be invested in prime quality commercial paper that is​

12.7 eligible for investment in the state employees retirement fund. All interest and profits from​

12.8 such investments inure to the benefit of the office or may be pledged for security of bonds​

12.9 issued by the office or its predecessors.​

12.10 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 136A.16, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

12.11 Subd. 9. Staff. The office may employ the professional and clerical staff the commissioner​

12.12 deems necessary for the proper administration of the loan programs established and defined​

12.13 by sections 136A.15 to 136A.1702 136A.1704.​

12.14 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 136A.162, is amended to read:​

12.15 136A.162 CLASSIFICATION OF DATA.​

12.16 (a) Except as provided in paragraphs (b) and (c), data on applicants for financial assistance​

12.17 collected and used by the office for student financial aid programs administered by that​

12.18 office are private data on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12.​

12.19 (b) Data on applicants may be disclosed to the commissioner of human services to the​

12.20 extent necessary to determine eligibility under section 136A.121, subdivision 2, clause (5).​

12.21 (c) The following data collected in the Minnesota supplemental loan program under​

12.22 section sections 136A.1701 and 136A.1704 may be disclosed to a consumer credit reporting​

12.23 agency only if the borrower and the cosigner give informed consent, according to section​

12.24 13.05, subdivision 4, at the time of application for a loan:​

12.25 (1) the lender-assigned borrower identification number;​

12.26 (2) the name and address of borrower;​

12.27 (3) the name and address of cosigner;​

12.28 (4) the date the account is opened;​

12.29 (5) the outstanding account balance;​

12.30 (6) the dollar amount past due;​

12​Article 3 Sec. 10.​
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13.1 (7) the number of payments past due;​

13.2 (8) the number of late payments in previous 12 months;​

13.3 (9) the type of account;​

13.4 (10) the responsibility for the account; and​

13.5 (11) the status or remarks code.​

13.6 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 136A.1701, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

13.7 Subd. 7. Repayment of loans. (a) The office shall establish repayment procedures for​

13.8 loans made under this section, but in no event shall the period of permitted repayment for​

13.9 SELF II or SELF III loans exceed ten years from the eligible student's termination of the​

13.10 student's postsecondary academic or vocational program, or 15 years from the date of the​

13.11 student's first loan under this section, whichever is less in accordance with the policies,​

13.12 rules, and conditions authorized under section 136A.16, subdivision 2. The office will take​

13.13 into consideration the loan limits and current financial market conditions when establishing​

13.14 repayment terms.​

13.15 (b) For SELF IV loans, eligible students with aggregate principal loan balances from​

13.16 all SELF phases that are less than $18,750 shall have a repayment period not exceeding ten​

13.17 years from the eligible student's graduation or termination date. For SELF IV loans, eligible​

13.18 students with aggregate principal loan balances from all SELF phases of $18,750 or greater​

13.19 shall have a repayment period not exceeding 15 years from the eligible student's graduation​

13.20 or termination date. For SELF IV loans, the loans shall enter repayment no later than seven​

13.21 years after the first disbursement date on the loan.​

13.22 (c) For SELF loans from phases after SELF IV, eligible students with aggregate principal​

13.23 loan balances from all SELF phases that are:​

13.24 (1) less than $20,000, must have a repayment period not exceeding ten years from the​

13.25 eligible student's graduation or termination date;​

13.26 (2) $20,000 up to $40,000, must have a repayment period not exceeding 15 years from​

13.27 the eligible student's graduation or termination date; and​

13.28 (3) $40,000 or greater, must have a repayment period not exceeding 20 years from the​

13.29 eligible student's graduation or termination date. For SELF loans from phases after SELF​

13.30 IV, the loans must enter repayment no later than nine years after the first disbursement date​

13.31 of the loan.​
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14.1 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 136A.1789, subdivision 2, is​

14.2 amended to read:​

14.3 Subd. 2. Creation of account. (a) An aviation degree loan forgiveness program account​

14.4 is established in the special revenue fund to provide qualified pilots and qualified aircraft​

14.5 technicians with financial assistance in repaying qualified education loans. The commissioner​

14.6 must use money from the account to establish and administer the aviation degree loan​

14.7 forgiveness program.​

14.8 (b) Appropriations made to the aviation degree loan forgiveness program account do​

14.9 not cancel and are available until expended.​

14.10 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 136A.1791, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

14.11 Subd. 8. Fund Account established. A teacher shortage loan forgiveness repayment​

14.12 fund account is created in the special revenue fund for depositing money appropriated to​

14.13 or received by the commissioner for the program. Money deposited in the fund shall not​

14.14 revert to any state fund at the end of any fiscal year but remains in the loan forgiveness​

14.15 repayment fund and is continuously available for loan forgiveness under this section.​

14.16 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 136A.1795, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

14.17 Subd. 2. Establishment; administration. (a) The commissioner shall establish and​

14.18 administer a loan forgiveness program for large animal veterinarians who:​

14.19 (1) agree to practice in designated rural areas that are considered underserved; and​

14.20 (2) work full time in a practice that is at least 50 percent involved with the care of food​

14.21 animals.​

14.22 (b) A large animal veterinarian loan forgiveness program account is established in the​

14.23 special revenue fund. The commissioner must use money from the account to establish and​

14.24 administer the program under this section. Appropriations to the commissioner for the​

14.25 program are for transfer to the fund.​

14.26 (c) Appropriations made to the program do not cancel and are available until expended.​

14.27 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 136A.646, is amended to read:​

14.28 136A.646 ADDITIONAL SECURITY.​

14.29 (a) New schools that have been granted conditional approval for degrees or names to​

14.30 allow them the opportunity to apply for and receive accreditation under section 136A.65,​

14​Article 3 Sec. 15.​
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15.1 subdivision 7, or shall provide a surety bond in a sum equal to ten percent of the net revenue​

15.2 from tuition and fees in the registered institution's prior fiscal year, but in no case shall the​

15.3 bond be less than $10,000.​

15.4 (b) Any registered institution that is notified by the United States Department of Education​

15.5 that it has fallen below minimum financial standards and that its continued participation in​

15.6 Title IV will be conditioned upon its satisfying either the Zone Alternative, Code of Federal​

15.7 Regulations, title 34, section 668.175, paragraph (f), or a Letter of Credit Alternative, Code​

15.8 of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 668.175, paragraph (c), shall provide a surety bond​

15.9 in a sum equal to the "letter of credit" required by the United States Department of Education​

15.10 in the Letter of Credit Alternative, but in no event shall such bond be less than $10,000 nor​

15.11 more than $250,000. In the event the letter of credit required by the United States Department​

15.12 of Education is higher than ten percent of the Title IV, Higher Education Act program funds​

15.13 received by the institution during its most recently completed fiscal year, the office shall​

15.14 reduce the office's surety requirement to represent ten percent of the Title IV, Higher​

15.15 Education Act program funds received by the institution during its most recently completed​

15.16 fiscal year, subject to the minimum and maximum in this paragraph.​

15.17 (b) (c) In lieu of a bond, the applicant may deposit with the commissioner of management​

15.18 and budget:​

15.19 (1) a sum equal to the amount of the required surety bond in cash;​

15.20 (2) securities, as may be legally purchased by savings banks or for trust funds, in an​

15.21 aggregate market value equal to the amount of the required surety bond; or​

15.22 (3) an irrevocable letter of credit issued by a financial institution to the amount of the​

15.23 required surety bond.​

15.24 (c) (d) The surety of any bond may cancel it upon giving 60 days' notice in writing to​

15.25 the office and shall be relieved of liability for any breach of condition occurring after the​

15.26 effective date of cancellation.​

15.27 (d) (e) In the event of a school closure, the additional security must first be used to​

15.28 destroy any private educational data under section 13.32 left at a physical campus in​

15.29 Minnesota after all other governmental agencies have recovered or retrieved records under​

15.30 their record retention policies. Any remaining funds must then be used to reimburse tuition​

15.31 and fee costs to students that were enrolled at the time of the closure or had withdrawn in​

15.32 the previous 120 calendar days but did not graduate. Priority for refunds will be given to​

15.33 students in the following order:​
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16.1 (1) cash payments made by the student or on behalf of a student;​

16.2 (2) private student loans; and​

16.3 (3) Veteran Administration education benefits that are not restored by the Veteran​

16.4 Administration. If there are additional security funds remaining, the additional security​

16.5 funds may be used to cover any administrative costs incurred by the office related to the​

16.6 closure of the school.​

16.7 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 136A.822, subdivision 6, is amended​

16.8 to read:​

16.9 Subd. 6. Bond. (a) No license shall be issued to any private career school which​

16.10 maintains, conducts, solicits for, or advertises within the state of Minnesota any program,​

16.11 unless the applicant files with the office a continuous corporate surety bond written by a​

16.12 company authorized to do business in Minnesota conditioned upon the faithful performance​

16.13 of all contracts and agreements with students made by the applicant.​

16.14 (b)(1) The amount of the surety bond shall be ten percent of the preceding year's net​

16.15 income revenue from student tuition, fees, and other required institutional charges collected,​

16.16 but in no event less than $10,000, except that a private career school may deposit a greater​

16.17 amount at its own discretion. A private career school in each annual application for licensure​

16.18 must compute the amount of the surety bond and verify that the amount of the surety bond​

16.19 complies with this subdivision. A private career school that operates at two or more locations​

16.20 may combine net income revenue from student tuition, fees, and other required institutional​

16.21 charges collected for all locations for the purpose of determining the annual surety bond​

16.22 requirement. The net revenue from tuition and fees used to determine the amount of the​

16.23 surety bond required for a private career school having a license for the sole purpose of​

16.24 recruiting students in Minnesota shall be only that paid to the private career school by the​

16.25 students recruited from Minnesota.​

16.26 (2) A person required to obtain a private career school license due to the use of​

16.27 "academy," "institute," "college," or "university" in its name and which is also licensed by​

16.28 another state agency or board, except not including those schools licensed exclusively in​

16.29 order to participate in state grants or SELF loan financial aid programs, shall be required​

16.30 to provide a school bond of $10,000.​

16.31 (c) The bond shall run to the state of Minnesota and to any person who may have a cause​

16.32 of action against the applicant arising at any time after the bond is filed and before it is​

16.33 canceled for breach of any contract or agreement made by the applicant with any student.​
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17.1 The aggregate liability of the surety for all breaches of the conditions of the bond shall not​

17.2 exceed the principal sum deposited by the private career school under paragraph (b). The​

17.3 surety of any bond may cancel it upon giving 60 days' notice in writing to the office and​

17.4 shall be relieved of liability for any breach of condition occurring after the effective date​

17.5 of cancellation.​

17.6 (d) In lieu of bond, the applicant may deposit with the commissioner of management​

17.7 and budget a sum equal to the amount of the required surety bond in cash, an irrevocable​

17.8 letter of credit issued by a financial institution equal to the amount of the required surety​

17.9 bond, or securities as may be legally purchased by savings banks or for trust funds in an​

17.10 aggregate market value equal to the amount of the required surety bond.​

17.11 (e) Failure of a private career school to post and maintain the required surety bond or​

17.12 deposit under paragraph (d) may result in denial, suspension, or revocation of the school's​

17.13 license.​

17.14 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 136A.822, subdivision 10, is amended to read:​

17.15 Subd. 10. Catalog, brochure, or electronic display. Before a license is issued to a​

17.16 private career school, the private career school shall furnish to the office a catalog, brochure,​

17.17 or electronic display including:​

17.18 (1) identifying data, such as volume number and date of publication;​

17.19 (2) name and address of the private career school and its governing body and officials;​

17.20 (3) a calendar of the private career school showing legal holidays, beginning and ending​

17.21 dates of each course quarter, term, or semester, and other important dates;​

17.22 (4) the private career school policy and regulations on enrollment including dates and​

17.23 specific entrance requirements for each program;​

17.24 (5) the private career school policy and regulations about leave, absences, class cuts,​

17.25 make-up work, tardiness, and interruptions for unsatisfactory attendance;​

17.26 (6) the private career school policy and regulations about standards of progress for the​

17.27 student including the grading system of the private career school, the minimum grades​

17.28 considered satisfactory, conditions for interruption for unsatisfactory grades or progress, a​

17.29 description of any probationary period allowed by the private career school, and conditions​

17.30 of reentrance for those dismissed for unsatisfactory progress;​

17.31 (7) the private career school policy and regulations about student conduct and conditions​

17.32 for dismissal for unsatisfactory conduct;​
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18.1 (8) a detailed schedule of fees, charges for tuition, books, supplies, tools, student​

18.2 activities, laboratory fees, service charges, rentals, deposits, and all other charges;​

18.3 (9) the private career school policy and regulations, including an explanation of section​

18.4 136A.827, about refunding tuition, fees, and other charges if the student does not enter the​

18.5 program, withdraws from the program, or the program is discontinued;​

18.6 (10) a description of the available facilities and equipment;​

18.7 (11) a course outline syllabus for each course offered showing course objectives, subjects​

18.8 or units in the course, type of work or skill to be learned, and approximate time, hours, or​

18.9 credits to be spent on each subject or unit;​

18.10 (12) the private career school policy and regulations about granting credit for previous​

18.11 education and preparation;​

18.12 (13) a notice to students relating to the transferability of any credits earned at the private​

18.13 career school to other institutions;​

18.14 (14) a procedure for investigating and resolving student complaints; and​

18.15 (15) the name and address of the office; and​

18.16 (16) the student complaint process and rights under section 136A.8295.​

18.17 A private career school that is exclusively a distance education school is exempt from​

18.18 clauses (3) and (5).​

18.19 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2017 Supplement, section 136A.8295, is amended by adding​

18.20 a subdivision to read:​

18.21 Subd. 6. Disclosure. Schools must disclose on their Web site, student handbook, and​

18.22 student catalog the student complaint process under this section to students.​

18.23 Sec. 19. Laws 2017, chapter 89, article 1, section 2, subdivision 29, is amended to read:​

175,000​175,000​18.24 Subd. 29. Emergency Assistance for​
18.25 Postsecondary Students​

18.26 (a) This appropriation is for the Office of​

18.27 Higher Education to allocate grant funds on a​

18.28 matching basis to schools eligible institutions​

18.29 as defined under Minnesota Statutes, section​

18.30 136A.103, located in Minnesota with a​

18.31 demonstrable homeless student population.​
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19.1 (b) This appropriation shall be used to meet​

19.2 immediate student needs that could result in​

19.3 a student not completing the term or their​

19.4 program including, but not limited to,​

19.5 emergency housing, food, and transportation.​

19.6 Emergency assistance does not impact the​

19.7 amount of state financial aid received.​

19.8 (c) The commissioner shall determine the​

19.9 application process and the grant amounts.​

19.10 Any balance in the first year does not cancel​

19.11 but shall be available in the second year. The​

19.12 Office of Higher Education shall partner with​

19.13 interested postsecondary institutions, other​

19.14 state agencies, and student groups to establish​

19.15 the programs.​

19.16 Sec. 20. Laws 2017, chapter 89, article 1, section 2, subdivision 31, is amended to read:​

200,000​200,000​19.17 Subd. 31. Teacher Shortage Loan Forgiveness​

19.18 For transfer to the teacher shortage  loan​

19.19 forgiveness program repayment account in the​

19.20 special revenue fund under Minnesota​

19.21 Statutes, section 136A.1791, subdivision 8.​

19.22 The commissioner may use no more than three​

19.23 percent of this appropriation to administer the​

19.24 program under this subdivision.​

19.25 Sec. 21. Laws 2017, chapter 89, article 1, section 2, subdivision 32, is amended to read:​

375,000​375,000​
19.26 Subd. 32. Large Animal Veterinarian Loan​
19.27 Forgiveness Program​

19.28 For transfer to the large animal veterinarian​

19.29 loan forgiveness program account in the​

19.30 special revenue fund under Minnesota​

19.31 Statutes, section 136A.1795, subdivision 2.​
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20.1 Sec. 22. Laws 2017, chapter 89, article 1, section 2, subdivision 33, is amended to read:​

50,000​50,000​
20.2 Subd. 33. Agricultural Educators Loan​
20.3 Forgiveness​

20.4 For deposit in transfer to the agricultural​

20.5 education loan forgiveness account in the​

20.6 special revenue fund under Minnesota​

20.7 Statutes, section 136A.1794, subdivision 2.​

20.8 Sec. 23. Laws 2017, chapter 89, article 1, section 2, subdivision 34, is amended to read:​

25,000​25,000​
20.9 Subd. 34. Aviation Degree Loan Forgiveness​
20.10 Program​

20.11 For transfer to the aviation degree loan​

20.12 forgiveness program account in the special​

20.13 revenue fund under Minnesota Statutes,​

20.14 section 136A.1789, subdivision 2.​

20.15 Sec. 24. ONGOING APPROPRIATION.​

20.16 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 136A.1791, subdivision 8, the appropriation​

20.17 made in Laws 2016, chapter 189, article 25, section 62, subdivision 11, is available until​

20.18 June 30, 2019.​

20.19 Sec. 25.  REPEALER.​

20.20 Minnesota Statutes 2016, sections 136A.15, subdivisions 2 and 7; and 136A.1701,​

20.21 subdivision 12, are repealed."​

20.22 Amend the title accordingly​

20​Article 3 Sec. 25.​
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