
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 5242 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "ARTICLE 1​

1.4 TRANSPORTATION APPROPRIATIONS​

1.5 Section 1. TRANSPORTATION APPROPRIATIONS.​

1.6 The sums shown in the columns marked "Appropriations" are added to the appropriations​

1.7 in Laws 2023, chapter 68, article 1, to the agencies and for the purposes specified in this​

1.8 article. The appropriations are from the trunk highway fund, or another named fund, and​

1.9 are available for the fiscal years indicated for each purpose. Amounts for "Total​

1.10 Appropriation" and sums shown in the corresponding columns marked "Appropriations by​

1.11 Fund" are summary only and do not have legal effect. Unless specified otherwise, the​

1.12 amounts in fiscal year 2025 under "Appropriations by Fund" are added to the base within​

1.13 the meaning of Minnesota Statutes, section 16A.11, subdivision 3, by fund. The figures​

1.14 "2024" and "2025" used in this article mean that the appropriations listed under them are​

1.15 available for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, or June 30, 2025, respectively. "Each​

1.16 year" is each of fiscal years 2024 and 2025.​

1.17 APPROPRIATIONS​
1.18 Available for the Year​
1.19 Ending June 30​

2025​1.20 2024​

1.21 Sec. 2. DEPARTMENT OF​
1.22 TRANSPORTATION​

14,100,000​$​-0-​$​1.23 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

1.24 Appropriations by Fund​

2025​1.25 2024​

1​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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9,000,000​-0-​2.1 General​

5,100,000​-0-​2.2 Trunk Highway​

2.3 The appropriations in this section are to the​

2.4 commissioner of transportation.​

2.5 The amounts that may be spent for each​

2.6 purpose are specified in the following​

2.7 subdivisions.​

2.8 Subd. 2. State Roads​

1,300,000​-0-​2.9 (a) Operations and Maintenance​

2.10 $300,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for rumble​

2.11 strips under Minnesota Statutes, section​

2.12 161.1258.​

2.13 $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for​

2.14 landscaping improvements under the​

2.15 Department of Transportation's community​

2.16 roadside landscape partnership program, with​

2.17 prioritization of tree planting as feasible.​

3,800,000​-0-​2.18 (b) Program Planning and Research​

2.19 $3,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for​

2.20 implementation and development of statewide​

2.21 and regional travel demand modeling related​

2.22 to the requirements under Minnesota Statutes,​

2.23 section 161.178. This is a onetime​

2.24 appropriation and is available until June 30,​

2.25 2026.​

2.26 $800,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for one or more​

2.27 grants to metropolitan planning organizations​

2.28 outside the metropolitan area, as defined in​

2.29 Minnesota Statutes, section 473.121,​

2.30 subdivision 2, for modeling activities related​

2.31 to the requirements under Minnesota Statutes,​

2.32 section 161.178. This is a onetime​

2.33 appropriation.​

2​Article 1 Sec. 2.​
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9,000,000​-0-​3.1 Subd. 3. Small Cities​

3.2 $9,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is from the​

3.3 general fund for the small cities assistance​

3.4 program under Minnesota Statutes, section​

3.5 162.145. This appropriation must be allocated​

3.6 and distributed in the July 2024 payment. This​

3.7 is a onetime appropriation.​

1,000,000​$​-0-​$​3.8 Sec. 3. METROPOLITAN COUNCIL​

3.9 The appropriation in this section is from the​

3.10 general fund to the Metropolitan Council.​

3.11 $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for a grant​

3.12 to the Ramsey County Regional Railroad​

3.13 Authority for a portion of the costs of​

3.14 insurance coverage related to rail-related​

3.15 incidents occurring at Union Depot in the city​

3.16 of St. Paul. This is a onetime appropriation.​

3.17 Sec. 4. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY​

1,211,000​$​-0-​$​3.18 Subdivision 1. Total Appropriation​

3.19 The appropriations in this section are from the​

3.20 driver and vehicle services operating account​

3.21 in the special revenue fund to the​

3.22 commissioner of public safety.​

3.23 The amounts that may be spent for each​

3.24 purpose are specified in the following​

3.25 subdivisions.​

1,211,000​-0-​3.26 Subd. 2. Driver Services​

3.27 $1,211,000 in fiscal year 2025 is for staff and​

3.28 related operating costs for the intensive testing​

3.29 program under Minnesota Statutes, section​

3.30 171.307.​

3.31 The base from the driver and vehicle services​

3.32 operating account in the special revenue fund​

3​Article 1 Sec. 4.​

HOUSE RESEARCH MB/MC H5242DE1​04/12/24 05:04 pm ​



4.1 is increased by $934,000 in fiscal year 2026​

4.2 and $794,000 in fiscal year 2027.​

4.3 Sec. 5. APPROPRIATION CANCELLATION.​

4.4 $8,000,000 of the appropriation in fiscal year 2024 from the trunk highway fund for​

4.5 Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA) discretionary matches under Laws 2023,​

4.6 chapter 68, article 1, section 2, subdivision 5, paragraph (a), is canceled to the trunk highway​

4.7 fund on June 29, 2024.​

4.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

4.9 Sec. 6. Laws 2021, First Special Session chapter 5, article 1, section 2, subdivision 2, is​

4.10 amended to read:​

4.11 Subd. 2. Multimodal Systems​

4.12 (a) Aeronautics​

18,598,000​24,198,000​4.13 (1) Airport Development and Assistance​

4.14 Appropriations by Fund​

2023​4.15 2022​

-0-​5,600,000​4.16 General​

18,598,000​18,598,000​4.17 Airports​

4.18 This appropriation is from the state airports​

4.19 fund and must be spent according to​

4.20 Minnesota Statutes, section 360.305,​

4.21 subdivision 4.​

4.22 $5,600,000 in fiscal year 2022 is from the​

4.23 general fund for a grant to the city of Karlstad​

4.24 for the acquisition of land, predesign, design,​

4.25 engineering, and construction of a primary​

4.26 airport runway. This appropriation is for Phase​

4.27 1 of the project.​

4.28 Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section​

4.29 16A.28, subdivision 6, this appropriation is​

4.30 available for five years after the year of the​

4.31 appropriation. If the appropriation for either​

4​Article 1 Sec. 6.​
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5.1 year is insufficient, the appropriation for the​

5.2 other year is available for it.​

5.3 If the commissioner of transportation​

5.4 determines that a balance remains in the state​

5.5 airports fund following the appropriations​

5.6 made in this article and that the appropriations​

5.7 made are insufficient for advancing airport​

5.8 development and assistance projects, an​

5.9 amount necessary to advance the projects, not​

5.10 to exceed the balance in the state airports fund,​

5.11 is appropriated in each year to the​

5.12 commissioner and must be spent according to​

5.13 Minnesota Statutes, section 360.305,​

5.14 subdivision 4. Within two weeks of a​

5.15 determination under this contingent​

5.16 appropriation, the commissioner of​

5.17 transportation must notify the commissioner​

5.18 of management and budget and the chairs,​

5.19 ranking minority members, and staff of the​

5.20 legislative committees with jurisdiction over​

5.21 transportation finance concerning the funds​

5.22 appropriated. Funds appropriated under this​

5.23 contingent appropriation do not adjust the base​

5.24 for fiscal years 2024 and 2025.​

8,340,000​8,332,000​5.25 (2) Aviation Support Services​

5.26 Appropriations by Fund​

2023​5.27 2022​

1,650,000​1,650,000​5.28 General​

6,690,000​6,682,000​5.29 Airports​

5.30 $28,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $36,000 in​

5.31 fiscal year 2023 are from the state airports​

5.32 fund for costs related to regulating unmanned​

5.33 aircraft systems.​

80,000​80,000​5.34 (3) Civil Air Patrol​

5​Article 1 Sec. 6.​
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6.1 This appropriation is from the state airports​

6.2 fund for the Civil Air Patrol.​

18,201,000​23,501,000​6.3 (b) Transit and Active Transportation​

6.4 This appropriation is from the general fund.​

6.5 $5,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for the active​

6.6 transportation program under Minnesota​

6.7 Statutes, section 174.38. This is a onetime​

6.8 appropriation and is available until June 30,​

6.9 2025.​

6.10 $300,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for a grant to​

6.11 the 494 Corridor Commission. The​

6.12 commissioner must not retain any portion of​

6.13 the funds appropriated under this section. The​

6.14 commissioner must make grant payments in​

6.15 full by December 31, 2021. Funds under this​

6.16 grant are for programming and service​

6.17 expansion to assist companies and commuters​

6.18 in telecommuting efforts and promotion of​

6.19 best practices. A grant recipient must provide​

6.20 telework resources, assistance, information,​

6.21 and related activities on a statewide basis. This​

6.22 is a onetime appropriation.​

500,000​5,500,000​6.23 (c) Safe Routes to School​

6.24 This appropriation is from the general fund​

6.25 for the safe routes to school program under​

6.26 Minnesota Statutes, section 174.40.​

6.27 If the appropriation for either year is​

6.28 insufficient, the appropriation for the other​

6.29 year is available for it.​

500,000​10,500,000​6.30 (d) Passenger Rail​

6.31 This appropriation is from the general fund​

6.32 for passenger rail activities under Minnesota​

6.33 Statutes, sections 174.632 to 174.636.​

6​Article 1 Sec. 6.​
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7.1 $10,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 is for final​

7.2 design and construction to provide for a​

7.3 second daily Amtrak train service between​

7.4 Minneapolis and St. Paul and Chicago. The​

7.5 commissioner may expend funds for program​

7.6 delivery and administration from this amount.​

7.7 This is a onetime appropriation and is​

7.8 available until June 30, 2025.​

7,323,000​8,342,000​7.9 (e) Freight​

7.10 Appropriations by Fund​

2023​7.11 2022​

1,445,000​2,464,000​7.12 General​

5,878,000​5,878,000​7.13 Trunk Highway​

7.14 $1,000,000 in fiscal year 2022 is from the​

7.15 general fund for procurement costs of a​

7.16 statewide freight network optimization tool.​

7.17 This is a onetime appropriation and is​

7.18 available until June 30, 2023.​

7.19 $350,000 in fiscal year 2022 and $287,000 in​

7.20 fiscal year 2023 are from the general fund for​

7.21 two additional rail safety inspectors in the state​

7.22 rail safety inspection program under​

7.23 Minnesota Statutes, section 219.015. In each​

7.24 year, the commissioner must not increase the​

7.25 total assessment amount under Minnesota​

7.26 Statutes, section 219.015, subdivision 2, from​

7.27 the most recent assessment amount.​

7.28 ARTICLE 2​

7.29 TRANSPORTATION FINANCE​

7.30 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.6905, is amended by adding a subdivision​

7.31 to read:​

7.32 Subd. 38. Intensive testing program data. Data on participants in the intensive testing​

7.33 program are governed by section 171.307, subdivision 7.​

7​Article 2 Section 1.​
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8.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.​

8.2 Sec. 2. [161.1258] RUMBLE STRIPS.​

8.3 (a) The commissioner must maintain transverse rumble strips in association with each​

8.4 stop sign that is located (1) on a trunk highway segment with a speed limit of at least 55​

8.5 miles per hour, and (2) outside the limits of a statutory or home rule charter city.​

8.6 (b) The commissioner must meet the requirements under paragraph (a) at each applicable​

8.7 location by the earlier of August 1, 2034, or the date of substantial completion of any​

8.8 construction, resurfacing, or reconditioning at the location.​

8.9 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.14, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

8.10 read:​

8.11 Subd. 104. Mayor Dave Smiglewski Memorial Bridge. The bridge on marked U.S.​

8.12 Highway 212 over the Minnesota River in the city of Granite Falls is designated as "Mayor​

8.13 Dave Smiglewski Memorial Bridge." Subject to section 161.139, the commissioner must​

8.14 adopt a suitable design to mark the bridge and erect appropriate signs.​

8.15 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 161.178, is amended to read:​

8.16 161.178 TRANSPORTATION GREENHOUSE GAS EMISSIONS IMPACT​

8.17 ASSESSMENT.​

8.18 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

8.19 the meanings given.​

8.20 (b) "Applicable entity" means the commissioner with respect to a capacity expansion​

8.21 project or portfolio for inclusion in the state transportation improvement program or a​

8.22 metropolitan planning organization with respect to a capacity expansion project or portfolio​

8.23 for inclusion in the appropriate metropolitan transportation improvement program.​

8.24 (c) "Assessment" means the capacity expansion impact assessment under this section.​

8.25 (d) "Capacity expansion project" means a project for trunk highway construction or​

8.26 reconstruction that:​

8.27 (1) is a major highway project, as defined in section 174.56, subdivision 1, paragraph​

8.28 (b); and​

8.29 (2) adds highway traffic capacity or provides for grade separation of motor vehicle traffic​

8.30 at an intersection, excluding auxiliary lanes with a length of less than 2,500 feet.​

8​Article 2 Sec. 4.​
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9.1 (e) "Greenhouse gas emissions" includes those emissions described in section 216H.01,​

9.2 subdivision 2.​

9.3 Subd. 2. Project or portfolio assessment. (a) Prior to inclusion of a capacity expansion​

9.4 project or portfolio in the state transportation improvement program or in a metropolitan​

9.5 transportation improvement program, the applicable entity must perform a capacity expansion​

9.6 an impact assessment of the project or portfolio. Following the assessment, the applicable​

9.7 entity must determine if the project conforms or portfolio is proportionally in conformance​

9.8 with:​

9.9 (1) the greenhouse gas emissions reduction targets under section 174.01, subdivision 3;​

9.10 and​

9.11 (2) the vehicle miles traveled reduction targets established in the statewide multimodal​

9.12 transportation plan under section 174.03, subdivision 1a.​

9.13 (b) If the applicable entity determines that the capacity expansion project or portfolio is​

9.14 not in conformance with paragraph (a), the applicable entity must:​

9.15 (1) alter the scope or design of the project or any number of projects, remove one or​

9.16 more projects from the portfolio, or undertake a combination, and subsequently perform a​

9.17 revised assessment that meets the requirements under this section;​

9.18 (2) interlink sufficient impact mitigation as provided in subdivision 4; or​

9.19 (3) halt project development and disallow inclusion of the project or portfolio in the​

9.20 appropriate transportation improvement program.​

9.21 Subd. 2a. Applicable projects. (a) For purposes of this section:​

9.22 (1) prior to the date established under paragraph (b), a project or portfolio is a capacity​

9.23 expansion project; and​

9.24 (2) on and after the date established under paragraph (b), a project or portfolio is a​

9.25 capacity expansion project or a collection of trunk highway projects for a fiscal year and​

9.26 specific region.​

9.27 (b) The commissioner must establish a date to implement impact assessments on the​

9.28 basis of assessing a portfolio or program of projects instead of on a project-by-project basis.​

9.29 The date must be:​

9.30 (1) August 1, 2027, which applies to projects that first enter the appropriate transportation​

9.31 improvement program for fiscal year 2031 or a subsequent year; or​

9.32 (2) as established by the commissioner, if the commissioner:​

9​Article 2 Sec. 4.​
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10.1 (i) consults with metropolitan planning organizations;​

10.2 (ii) prioritizes and makes reasonable efforts to meet the date under clause (1) or an earlier​

10.3 date;​

10.4 (iii) determines that the date established under this clause is the earliest practicable in​

10.5 which the necessary models and tools are sufficient for analysis under this section; and​

10.6 (iv) submits a notice to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative​

10.7 committees and divisions with jurisdiction over transportation finance and policy, which​

10.8 must identify the date established and summarize the efforts under item (ii) and the​

10.9 determination under item (iii).​

10.10 Subd. 3. Assessment requirements. (a) The commissioner must establish a process to​

10.11 perform capacity expansion impact assessments. An assessment must provide for the​

10.12 determination under subdivision 2. implement the requirements under this section, which​

10.13 includes:​

10.14 (1) any necessary policies, procedures, manuals, and technical specifications;​

10.15 (2) procedures to perform an impact assessment that provide for the determination under​

10.16 subdivision 2;​

10.17 (3) in consultation with the technical advisory committee under section 161.1782, criteria​

10.18 for identification of a capacity expansion project; and​

10.19 (4) related data reporting from local units of government on local multimodal​

10.20 transportation systems and local project impacts on greenhouse gas emissions and vehicle​

10.21 miles traveled.​

10.22 (b) Analysis under an assessment must include but is not limited to estimates resulting​

10.23 from the a project or portfolio for the following:​

10.24 (1) greenhouse gas emissions over a period of 20 years; and​

10.25 (2) a net change in vehicle miles traveled for the affected network.; and​

10.26 (3) impacts to trunk highways and related impacts to local road systems, on a local,​

10.27 regional, or statewide basis, as appropriate.​

10.28 Subd. 4. Impact mitigation; interlinking. (a) To provide for impact mitigation, the​

10.29 applicable entity must interlink the capacity expansion project or portfolio as provided in​

10.30 this subdivision.​

10​Article 2 Sec. 4.​
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11.1 (b) Impact mitigation is sufficient under subdivision 2, paragraph (b), if the capacity​

11.2 expansion project or portfolio is interlinked to mitigation offset actions such that the total​

11.3 greenhouse gas emissions reduction from the mitigation offset actions, after accounting for​

11.4 the greenhouse gas emissions otherwise resulting from the capacity expansion project or​

11.5 portfolio, is consistent with meeting the targets specified under subdivision 2, paragraph​

11.6 (a). Each comparison under this paragraph must be performed over equal comparison periods.​

11.7 (c) A mitigation An offset action consists of a project, program, or operations​

11.8 modification, or mitigation plan in one or more of the following areas:​

11.9 (1) transit expansion, including but not limited to regular route bus, arterial bus rapid​

11.10 transit, highway bus rapid transit, rail transit, and intercity passenger rail;​

11.11 (2) transit service improvements, including but not limited to increased service level,​

11.12 transit fare reduction, and transit priority treatments;​

11.13 (3) active transportation infrastructure;​

11.14 (4) micromobility infrastructure and service, including but not limited to shared vehicle​

11.15 services;​

11.16 (5) transportation demand management, including but not limited to vanpool and shared​

11.17 vehicle programs, remote work, and broadband access expansion;​

11.18 (6) parking management, including but not limited to parking requirements reduction​

11.19 or elimination and parking cost adjustments;​

11.20 (7) land use, including but not limited to residential and other density increases, mixed-use​

11.21 development, and transit-oriented development;​

11.22 (8) infrastructure improvements related to traffic operations, including but not limited​

11.23 to roundabouts and reduced conflict intersections; and​

11.24 (9) natural systems, including but not limited to prairie restoration, reforestation, and​

11.25 urban green space; and​

11.26 (10) as specified by the commissioner in the manner provided under paragraph (e).​

11.27 (d) A mitigation An offset action may be identified as interlinked to the capacity​

11.28 expansion project or portfolio if:​

11.29 (1) there is a specified project, program, or modification, or mitigation plan;​

11.30 (2) the necessary funding sources are identified and sufficient amounts are committed;​

11.31 (3) the mitigation is localized as provided in subdivision 5; and​

11​Article 2 Sec. 4.​
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12.1 (4) procedures are established to ensure that the mitigation action remains in substantially​

12.2 the same form or a revised form that continues to meet the calculation under paragraph (b).​

12.3 (e) The commissioner may authorize additional offset actions under paragraph (c) if:​

12.4 (1) the offset action is reviewed and recommended by the technical advisory committee​

12.5 under section 161.1782; and​

12.6 (2) the commissioner determines that the offset action is directly related to reduction in​

12.7 the transportation sector of greenhouse gas emissions or vehicle miles traveled.​

12.8 Subd. 5. Impact mitigation; localization. (a) A mitigation An offset action under​

12.9 subdivision 4 must be localized in the following priority order:​

12.10 (1) if the offset action is for one project, within or associated with at least one of the​

12.11 communities impacted by the capacity expansion project;​

12.12 (2) if clause (1) does not apply or there is not a reasonably feasible location under clause​

12.13 (1), in areas of persistent poverty or historically disadvantaged communities, as measured​

12.14 and defined in federal law, guidance, and notices of funding opportunity;​

12.15 (3) if there is not a reasonably feasible location under clauses (1) and (2), in the region​

12.16 of the capacity expansion project or portfolio; or​

12.17 (4) if there is not a reasonably feasible location under clauses (1) to (3), on a statewide​

12.18 basis.​

12.19 (b) The applicable entity must include an explanation regarding the feasibility and​

12.20 rationale for each mitigation action located under paragraph (a), clauses (2) to (4).​

12.21 Subd. 6. Public information. The commissioner must publish information regarding​

12.22 capacity expansion impact assessments on the department's website. The information must​

12.23 include:​

12.24 (1) for each project evaluated separately under this section, identification of capacity​

12.25 expansion projects the project; and​

12.26 (2) for each project evaluated separately, a summary that includes an overview of the​

12.27 expansion impact assessment, the impact determination by the commissioner, and project​

12.28 disposition, including a review of any mitigation offset actions.;​

12.29 (3) for each portfolio of projects, an overview of the projects, the impact determination​

12.30 by the commissioner, and a summary of any offset actions;​

12.31 (4) a review of any interpretation of or additions to offset actions under subdivision 4;​

12​Article 2 Sec. 4.​
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13.1 (5) identification of the date established by the commissioner under subdivision 2a,​

13.2 paragraph (b); and​

13.3 (6) a summary of the activities of the technical advisory committee under section​

13.4 161.1782, including but not limited to any findings or recommendations made by the advisory​

13.5 committee.​

13.6 Subd. 7. Safety and well-being. The requirements of this section are in addition to and​

13.7 must not supplant the safety and well-being goals established under section 174.01,​

13.8 subdivision 2, clauses (1) and (2).​

13.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective is effective February 1, 2025. This section​

13.10 does not apply to a capacity expansion project that was either included in the state​

13.11 transportation improvement program or has been submitted for approval of the geometric​

13.12 layout before February 1, 2025.​

13.13 Sec. 5. [161.1782] TRANSPORTATION IMPACT ASSESSMENT; TECHNICAL​

13.14 ADVISORY COMMITTEE.​

13.15 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

13.16 the meanings given.​

13.17 (b) "Advisory committee" means the technical advisory committee established in this​

13.18 section.​

13.19 (c) "Project or portfolio" is as provided in section 161.178.​

13.20 Subd. 2. Establishment. The commissioner must establish a technical advisory committee​

13.21 to assist in implementation review related to the requirements under section 161.178.​

13.22 Subd. 3. Membership; appointments. The advisory committee is composed of the​

13.23 following members:​

13.24 (1) one member from the Department of Transportation, appointed by the commissioner​

13.25 of transportation;​

13.26 (2) one member from the Pollution Control Agency, appointed by the commissioner of​

13.27 the Pollution Control Agency;​

13.28 (3) one member from the Metropolitan Council, appointed by the chair of the​

13.29 Metropolitan Council;​

13.30 (4) one member from the Center for Transportation Studies, appointed by the president​

13.31 of the University of Minnesota;​

13​Article 2 Sec. 5.​
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14.1 (5) one member representing metropolitan planning organizations outside the metropolitan​

14.2 area, as defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2, appointed by the Association of​

14.3 Metropolitan Planning Organizations; and​

14.4 (6) up to four members who are not employees of the state, with no more than two who​

14.5 are employees of a political subdivision, appointed by the commissioner of transportation.​

14.6 Subd. 4. Membership; requirements. (a) To be eligible for appointment to the advisory​

14.7 committee, an individual must have experience or expertise sufficient to provide assistance​

14.8 in implementation or technical review related to the requirements under section 161.178.​

14.9 Each appointing authority must consider appointment of individuals with expertise in travel​

14.10 demand modeling, emissions modeling, traffic forecasting, land use planning, or​

14.11 transportation-related greenhouse gas emissions assessment and analysis. In appointing the​

14.12 members under subdivision 3, clause (6), the commissioner must also consider technical​

14.13 expertise in other relevant areas, which may include but is not limited to public health or​

14.14 natural systems management.​

14.15 (b) Members of the advisory committee serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority.​

14.16 Vacancies must be filled by the appointing authority.​

14.17 Subd. 5. Duties. The advisory committee must assist the commissioner in implementation​

14.18 of the requirements under section 161.178 by:​

14.19 (1) performing technical review and validation of processes and methodologies used for​

14.20 impact assessment and impact mitigation;​

14.21 (2) reviewing and making recommendations on:​

14.22 (i) impact assessment requirements;​

14.23 (ii) models and tools for impact assessment;​

14.24 (iii) methods to determine sufficiency of impact mitigation;​

14.25 (iv) procedures for interlinking a project or portfolio to impact mitigation; and​

14.26 (v) reporting and data collection;​

14.27 (3) advising on the approach used to determine the area of influence for a project or​

14.28 portfolio for a geographic or transportation network area;​

14.29 (4) developing recommendations on any clarifications, modifications, or additions to​

14.30 the offset actions authorized under section 161.178, subdivision 4; and​

14.31 (5) performing other analysis or activities as requested by the commissioner.​

14​Article 2 Sec. 5.​
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15.1 Subd. 6. Administration. (a) The commissioner must provide administrative support​

15.2 to the advisory committee. Upon request, the commissioner must provide information and​

15.3 technical support to the advisory committee.​

15.4 (b) Members of the advisory committee are not eligible for compensation under this​

15.5 section.​

15.6 (c) The advisory committee is subject to the Minnesota Data Practices Act under chapter​

15.7 13 and to the Minnesota Open Meeting Law under chapter 13D.​

15.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

15.9 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.45, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

15.10 read:​

15.11 Subd. 4. High voltage transmission; placement in right-of-way. (a) For purposes of​

15.12 this subdivision and subdivisions 5 to 7, "high voltage transmission line" has the meaning​

15.13 given in section 216E.01, subdivision 4.​

15.14 (b) Notwithstanding subdivision 1, paragraph (a), high voltage transmission lines under​

15.15 the laws of this state or the ordinance of any city or county may be constructed, placed, or​

15.16 maintained across or along any trunk highway including an interstate highway and a trunk​

15.17 highway that is an expressway or a freeway, except as deemed necessary by the commissioner​

15.18 of transportation to protect public safety or ensure the proper function of the trunk highway​

15.19 system.​

15.20 (c) If the commissioner denies a high voltage electric line colocation request, the reasons​

15.21 for the denial must be submitted for review to the chairs and ranking minority members of​

15.22 the committees with jurisdiction over energy and transportation, the Public Utilities​

15.23 Commission executive secretary, and the commissioner of commerce within 90 days of the​

15.24 commissioner's denial.​

15.25 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the day following final enactment​

15.26 and applies to colocation requests for a high voltage transmission line on or after that date.​

15.27 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.45, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

15.28 read:​

15.29 Subd. 5. High voltage transmission; coordination required. Upon written request,​

15.30 the commissioner must engage in coordination activities with a utility or transmission line​

15.31 developer to review requested highway corridors for potential permitted locations for​

15.32 transmission lines. The commissioner must assign a project coordinator within 30 days of​
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16.1 receiving the written request. The commissioner must share all known plans with affected​

16.2 utilities or transmission line developers on potential future projects in the highway corridor​

16.3 if the potential highway project impacts the placement or siting of high voltage transmission​

16.4 lines.​

16.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the day following final enactment.​

16.6 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.45, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

16.7 read:​

16.8 Subd. 6. High voltage transmission; constructability report; advance notice. (a) If​

16.9 the commissioner and a utility or transmission line developer identify a permittable route​

16.10 along a highway corridor for possible colocation of transmission lines, a constructability​

16.11 report must be prepared by the utility or transmission line developer in consultation with​

16.12 the commissioner. A constructability report developed under this subdivision must be utilized​

16.13 by both parties to plan and approve colocation projects.​

16.14 (b) A constructability report developed under this section between the commissioner​

16.15 and the parties seeking colocation must include terms and conditions for building the​

16.16 colocation project. Notwithstanding the requirements in subdivision 1, the report must be​

16.17 approved by the commissioner and the party or parties seeking colocation prior to the​

16.18 commissioner approving and issuing a permit for use of the trunk highway right-of-way.​

16.19 (c) A constructability report must include an agreed upon timeframe for which there​

16.20 will not be a request from the commissioner for relocation of the transmission line. If the​

16.21 commissioner determines that relocation of a transmission line in the trunk highway​

16.22 right-of-way is necessary, the commissioner, as much as practicable, must give a seven-year​

16.23 advance notice.​

16.24 (d) Notwithstanding the requirements of subdivision 7 and section 161.46, subdivision​

16.25 2, if the commissioner requires the relocation of a transmission line in the interstate highway​

16.26 right-of-way earlier than what was agreed upon in paragraph (c) in the constructability​

16.27 report or provides less than a seven-year notice of relocation in the agreed upon​

16.28 constructability report, the commissioner is responsible for 75 percent of the relocation​

16.29 costs.​

16.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the day following final enactment.​
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17.1 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.45, is amended by adding a subdivision to​

17.2 read:​

17.3 Subd. 7. High voltage transmission; relocation reimbursement prohibited. (a) A​

17.4 high voltage transmission line that receives a route permit under chapter 216E on or after​

17.5 July 1, 2024, is not eligible for relocation reimbursement under section 161.46, subdivision​

17.6 2.​

17.7 (b) If the commissioner orders relocation of a high voltage transmission line that is​

17.8 subject to paragraph (a):​

17.9 (1) a public utility, as defined in section 216B.02, subdivision 4, may recover its portion​

17.10 of costs of relocating the line that the Public Utilities Commission deems prudently incurred​

17.11 as a transmission cost adjustment pursuant to section 216B.16, subdivision 7b; and​

17.12 (2) a consumer-owned utility, as defined in section 216B.2402, subdivision 2, may​

17.13 recover its portion of costs of relocating the line in any manner approved by its governing​

17.14 board.​

17.15 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the day following final enactment.​

17.16 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 161.46, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

17.17 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section the following terms shall​

17.18 have the meanings ascribed to given them:.​

17.19 (1) (b) "Utility" means all publicly, privately, and cooperatively owned systems for​

17.20 supplying power, light, gas, telegraph, telephone, water, pipeline, or sewer service if such​

17.21 systems be authorized by law to use public highways for the location of its facilities.​

17.22 (2) (c) "Cost of relocation" means the entire amount paid by such utility properly​

17.23 attributable to such relocation after deducting therefrom any increase in the value of the​

17.24 new facility and any salvage value derived from the old facility.​

17.25 (d) "High voltage transmission line" has the meaning given in section 216E.01,​

17.26 subdivision 4.​

17.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the day following final enactment.​

17.28 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 161.46, subdivision 2, is amended​

17.29 to read:​

17.30 Subd. 2. Relocation of facilities; reimbursement. (a) Whenever the commissioner shall​

17.31 determine determines that the relocation of any utility facility is necessitated by the​
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18.1 construction of a project on the routes of federally aided state trunk highways, including​

18.2 urban extensions thereof, which routes that are included within the National System of​

18.3 Interstate Highways, the owner or operator of such the utility facility shall must relocate​

18.4 the same utility facility in accordance with the order of the commissioner. After the​

18.5 completion of such relocation the cost thereof shall be ascertained and paid by the state out​

18.6 of trunk highway funds; provided, however, the amount to be paid by the state for such​

18.7 reimbursement shall not exceed the amount on which the federal government bases its​

18.8 reimbursement for said interstate system. Except as provided in section 161.45, subdivision​

18.9 6, paragraph (d), or 7, upon the completion of relocation of a utility facility, the cost of​

18.10 relocation must be ascertained and paid out of the trunk highway fund by the commissioner,​

18.11 provided the amount paid by the commissioner for reimbursement to a utility does not​

18.12 exceed the amount on which the federal government bases its reimbursement for the interstate​

18.13 highway system.​

18.14 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), on or after January 1, 2024, any entity that receives​

18.15 a route permit under chapter 216E for a high-voltage transmission line necessary to​

18.16 interconnect an electric power generating facility is not eligible for relocation reimbursement​

18.17 unless the entity directly, or through its members or agents, provides retail electric service​

18.18 in this state.​

18.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the day following final enactment.​

18.20 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.09, subdivision 7, is amended to read:​

18.21 Subd. 7. Display of temporary permit. (a) A vehicle that displays a Minnesota plate​

18.22 issued under this chapter may display a temporary permit The commissioner may issue a​

18.23 temporary permit under this subdivision in conjunction with the conclusion of a registration​

18.24 period or a recently expired registration, if:​

18.25 (1) the current registration tax and all other fees and taxes have been paid in full; and​

18.26 (2) the plate has special plates have been applied for.​

18.27 (b) A vehicle may display a temporary permit in conjunction with expired registration,​

18.28 with or without a registration plate, if:​

18.29 (1) the plates have been applied for;​

18.30 (2) the registration tax and other fees and taxes have been paid in full; and​
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19.1 (3) either the vehicle is used solely as a collector vehicle while displaying the temporary​

19.2 permit and not used for general transportation purposes or the vehicle was issued a 21-day​

19.3 permit under section 168.092, subdivision 1.​

19.4 (c) (b) The permit is valid for a period of 60 days. The permit must be in a format​

19.5 prescribed by the commissioner, affixed to the rear of the vehicle where a license plate​

19.6 would normally be affixed, and plainly visible. The permit is valid only for the vehicle for​

19.7 which it was issued to allow a reasonable time for the new plates to be manufactured and​

19.8 delivered to the applicant. The permit may be issued only by the commissioner or by a​

19.9 deputy registrar under section 168.33.​

19.10 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.​

19.11 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.092, is amended to read:​

19.12 168.092 21-DAY 60-DAY TEMPORARY VEHICLE PERMIT.​

19.13 Subdivision 1. Resident buyer. The motor vehicle registrar commissioner may issue a​

19.14 permit to a person purchasing a new or used motor vehicle in this state for the purpose of​

19.15 allowing the purchaser a reasonable time to register the vehicle and pay fees and taxes due​

19.16 on the transfer. The permit is valid for a period of 21 60 days. The permit must be in a form​

19.17 as the registrar may determine format prescribed by the commissioner, affixed to the rear​

19.18 of the vehicle where a license plate would normally be affixed, and plainly visible. Each​

19.19 permit is valid only for the vehicle for which issued.​

19.20 Subd. 2. Dealer. The registrar commissioner may issue permits to licensed dealers.​

19.21 When issuing a permit, the dealer shall must complete the permit in the manner prescribed​

19.22 by the department.​

19.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.​

19.24 Sec. 14. [168.1283] ROTARY INTERNATIONAL PLATES.​

19.25 Subdivision 1. Issuance of plates. The commissioner must issue Rotary International​

19.26 special license plates or a single motorcycle plate to an applicant who:​

19.27 (1) is a registered owner of a passenger automobile, noncommercial one-ton pickup​

19.28 truck, motorcycle, or self-propelled recreational motor vehicle;​

19.29 (2) pays the registration tax as required under section 168.013;​

19.30 (3) pays a fee in the amount specified under section 168.12, subdivision 5, for each set​

19.31 of plates, along with any other fees required by this chapter;​
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20.1 (4) contributes $25 upon initial application and a minimum of $5 annually to the Rotary​

20.2 District 5950 Foundation account; and​

20.3 (5) complies with this chapter and rules governing registration of motor vehicles and​

20.4 licensing of drivers.​

20.5 Subd. 2. Design. The commissioner must adopt a suitable design for the plate that must​

20.6 include the Rotary International symbol and the phrase "Service Above Self."​

20.7 Subd. 3. Plates transfer. On application to the commissioner and payment of a transfer​

20.8 fee of $5, special plates may be transferred to another qualified motor vehicle that is​

20.9 registered to the same individual to whom the special plates were originally issued.​

20.10 Subd. 4. Exemption. Special plates issued under this section are not subject to section​

20.11 168.1293, subdivision 2.​

20.12 Subd. 5. Contributions; account; appropriation. Contributions collected under​

20.13 subdivision 1, clause (4), must be deposited in the Rotary District 5950 Foundation account,​

20.14 which is established in the special revenue fund. Money in the account is annually​

20.15 appropriated to the commissioner of public safety. This appropriation is first for the annual​

20.16 cost of administering the account funds, and the remaining funds must be distributed to​

20.17 Rotary District 5950 Foundation to further the rotary's mission of service, fellowship,​

20.18 diversity, integrity, and leadership. Funds distributed under this subdivision must be used​

20.19 on projects within this state.​

20.20 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025, for Rotary International​

20.21 special plates issued on or after that date.​

20.22 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.301, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

20.23 Subd. 3. Late fee. In addition to any fee or tax otherwise authorized or imposed upon​

20.24 the transfer of title for a motor vehicle, the commissioner of public safety shall must impose​

20.25 a $2 additional fee for failure to deliver a title transfer within ten business days the period​

20.26 specified under section 168A.10, subdivision 2.​

20.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024.​

20.28 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168A.10, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

20.29 Subd. 2. Application for new certificate. Except as provided in section 168A.11, the​

20.30 transferee shall must, within ten 20 days after assignment to the transferee of the vehicle​

20.31 title certificate, execute the application for a new certificate of title in the space provided​
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21.1 on the certificate, and cause the certificate of title to be mailed or delivered to the department.​

21.2 Failure of the transferee to comply with this subdivision shall result results in the suspension​

21.3 of the vehicle's registration under section 168.17.​

21.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024, and applies to title​

21.5 transfers on or after that date.​

21.6 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168A.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

21.7 Subdivision 1. Requirements upon subsequent transfer; service fee. (a) A dealer who​

21.8 buys a vehicle and holds it for resale need not apply for a certificate of title. Upon transferring​

21.9 the vehicle to another person, other than by the creation of a security interest, the dealer​

21.10 shall must promptly execute the assignment and warranty of title by a dealer, showing the​

21.11 names and addresses of the transferee and of any secured party holding a security interest​

21.12 created or reserved at the time of the resale, and the date of the security agreement in the​

21.13 spaces provided therefor on the certificate of title or secure reassignment.​

21.14 (b) If a dealer elects to apply for a certificate of title on a vehicle held for resale, the​

21.15 dealer need not register the vehicle but shall must pay one month's registration tax. If a​

21.16 dealer elects to apply for a certificate of title on a vehicle held for resale, the department​

21.17 shall commissioner must not place any legend on the title that no motor vehicle sales tax​

21.18 was paid by the dealer, but may indicate on the title whether the vehicle is a new or used​

21.19 vehicle.​

21.20 (c) With respect to motor vehicles subject to the provisions of section 325E.15, the dealer​

21.21 shall must also, in the space provided therefor on the certificate of title or secure​

21.22 reassignment, state the true cumulative mileage registered on the odometer or that the exact​

21.23 mileage is unknown if the odometer reading is known by the transferor to be different from​

21.24 the true mileage.​

21.25 (d) The transferee shall must complete the application for title section on the certificate​

21.26 of title or separate title application form prescribed by the department commissioner. The​

21.27 dealer shall must mail or deliver the certificate to the registrar commissioner or deputy​

21.28 registrar with the transferee's application for a new certificate and appropriate taxes and​

21.29 fees, within ten business days the period specified under section 168A.10, subdivision 2.​

21.30 (e) With respect to vehicles sold to buyers who will remove the vehicle from this state,​

21.31 the dealer shall must remove any license plates from the vehicle, issue a 31-day temporary​

21.32 permit pursuant to section 168.091, and notify the registrar commissioner within 48 hours​

21.33 of the sale that the vehicle has been removed from this state. The notification must be made​
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22.1 in an electronic format prescribed by the registrar commissioner. The dealer may contract​

22.2 with a deputy registrar for the notification of sale to an out-of-state buyer. The deputy​

22.3 registrar may charge a fee of $7 per transaction to provide this service.​

22.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective October 1, 2024, and applies to title​

22.5 transfers on or after that date.​

22.6 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 169A.44, subdivision 1, is amended​

22.7 to read:​

22.8 Subdivision 1. Nonfelony violations. (a) This subdivision applies to a person charged​

22.9 with a nonfelony violation of section 169A.20 (driving while impaired) under circumstances​

22.10 described in section 169A.40, subdivision 3 (certain DWI offenders; custodial arrest).​

22.11 (b) Except as provided in subdivision 3, unless maximum bail is imposed under section​

22.12 629.471, a person described in paragraph (a) may be released from detention only if the​

22.13 person agrees to the following conditions pending resolution of the charge:​

22.14 (1) abstain from alcohol and nonprescribed controlled or intoxicating substances; and​

22.15 (2) submit to a program of electronic alcohol monitoring, involving at least daily​

22.16 measurements of the person's alcohol concentration, pending resolution of the charge to​

22.17 monitor that abstinence.​

22.18 (c) A defendant charged with a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision 1, clause (1),​

22.19 (5), or (6); subdivision 1, clause (4), where one of the elements involves a violation of clause​

22.20 (1); subdivision 2, clause (1); or subdivision 2, clause (2), if the court issued the warrant​

22.21 based on probable cause to believe that the person was under the influence of alcohol must​

22.22 be monitored through the use of:​

22.23 (1) electronic alcohol monitoring, involving at least daily measurements of the person's​

22.24 alcohol concentration if electronic alcohol-monitoring equipment is available to the court;​

22.25 or​

22.26 (2) random alcohol tests conducted at least weekly if electronic alcohol-monitoring​

22.27 equipment is not available to the court.​

22.28 (d) A defendant charged with a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision 1, clause (2),​

22.29 (3), (4), (7), or (8); or subdivision 2, clause (2), if the court issued the warrant based on​

22.30 probable cause to believe that the person was under the influence of a controlled substance​

22.31 or an intoxicating substance must be monitored through the use of random urine analyses​

22.32 conducted at least weekly.​
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23.1 Clause (2) applies only when electronic alcohol-monitoring equipment is available to​

23.2 the court. (e) The court shall require partial or total reimbursement from the person for the​

23.3 cost of the electronic alcohol monitoring, random alcohol tests, and random urine analyses,​

23.4 to the extent the person is able to pay.​

23.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to defendants​

23.6 charged on or after that date.​

23.7 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169A.55, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

23.8 Subd. 4. Reinstatement of driving privileges; multiple incidents. (a) A person whose​

23.9 driver's license has been revoked as a result of an alcohol-related offense listed under clause​

23.10 (2) shall not be eligible for reinstatement of driving privileges without an ignition interlock​

23.11 restriction until the commissioner certifies that either:​

23.12 (1) the person did not own or lease a vehicle at the time of the offense or at any time​

23.13 between the time of the offense and the driver's request for reinstatement, or commit a​

23.14 violation of chapter 169, 169A, or 171 between the time of the offense and the driver's​

23.15 request for reinstatement or at the time of the arrest for the offense listed under clause (2),​

23.16 item (i), subitem (A) or (B), or (ii), subitem (A) or (B), as based on:​

23.17 (i) a request by the person for reinstatement, on a form to be provided by the Department​

23.18 of Public Safety;​

23.19 (ii) the person's attestation under penalty of perjury; and​

23.20 (iii) the submission by the driver of certified copies of vehicle registration records and​

23.21 driving records for the period from the arrest until the driver seeks reinstatement of driving​

23.22 privileges; or​

23.23 (2) the person used the ignition interlock device and complied with section 171.306 for​

23.24 a period of not less than:​

23.25 (i) one year, for a person whose driver's license was revoked for:​

23.26 (A) an offense occurring within ten years of a qualified prior impaired driving incident;​

23.27 or​

23.28 (B) an offense occurring after two qualified prior impaired driving incidents; or​

23.29 (ii) two years, for a person whose driver's license was revoked for:​

23.30 (A) an offense occurring under item (i), subitem (A) or (B), and the test results indicated​

23.31 an alcohol concentration of twice the legal limit or more; or​
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24.1 (B) an offense occurring under item (i), subitem (A) or (B), and the current offense is​

24.2 for a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision 2.​

24.3 (b) A person whose driver's license has been canceled or denied as a result of three or​

24.4 more qualified impaired driving incidents involving at least one alcohol-related offense​

24.5 shall not be eligible for reinstatement of driving privileges without an ignition interlock​

24.6 restriction until the person:​

24.7 (1) has completed rehabilitation according to rules adopted by the commissioner or been​

24.8 granted a variance from the rules by the commissioner; and​

24.9 (2) has submitted verification of abstinence from alcohol and controlled substances​

24.10 under paragraph (c), as evidenced by the person's use of an ignition interlock device or other​

24.11 chemical monitoring device approved by the commissioner.​

24.12 (c) The verification of abstinence must show that the person has abstained from the use​

24.13 of alcohol and controlled substances for a period of not less than:​

24.14 (1) three years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense​

24.15 occurring within ten years of the first of two qualified prior impaired driving incidents, or​

24.16 occurring after three qualified prior impaired driving incidents;​

24.17 (2) four years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense​

24.18 occurring within ten years of the first of three qualified prior impaired driving incidents; or​

24.19 (3) six years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense​

24.20 occurring after four or more qualified prior impaired driving incidents.​

24.21 (d) A person whose driver's license has been revoked as a result of a controlled or​

24.22 intoxicating substance offense listed under clause (2) shall not be eligible for reinstatement​

24.23 of driving privileges without participating in the intensive testing program established under​

24.24 section 171.307 until the commissioner certifies that either:​

24.25 (1) the person did not own or lease a vehicle at the time of the offense or at any time​

24.26 between the time of the offense and the driver's request for reinstatement, or commit a​

24.27 violation of chapter 169, 169A, or 171 between the time of the offense and the driver's​

24.28 request for reinstatement or at the time of the arrest for the offense listed under clause (2),​

24.29 item (i), subitem (A) or (B), or (ii), subitem (A) or (B), as based on:​

24.30 (i) a request by the person for reinstatement, on a form to be provided by the Department​

24.31 of Public Safety;​

24.32 (ii) the person's attestation under penalty of perjury; and​
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25.1 (iii) the submission by the driver of certified copies of vehicle registration records and​

25.2 driving records for the period from the arrest until the driver seeks reinstatement of driving​

25.3 privileges; or​

25.4 (2) the person participated in the intensive testing program and complied with section​

25.5 171.307 for a period of not less than:​

25.6 (i) one year, for a person whose driver's license was revoked for:​

25.7 (A) an offense occurring within ten years of a qualified prior impaired driving incident;​

25.8 or​

25.9 (B) an offense occurring after two qualified prior impaired driving incidents; or​

25.10 (ii) two years, for a person whose driver's license was revoked for:​

25.11 (A) an offense occurring under item (i), subitem (A) or (B), and the test results indicated​

25.12 an alcohol concentration of twice the legal limit or more; or​

25.13 (B) an offense occurring under item (i), subitem (A) or (B), and the current offense is​

25.14 for a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision 2.​

25.15 (e) A person whose driver's license has been canceled or denied as a result of three or​

25.16 more qualified impaired driving incidents involving at least one controlled or intoxicating​

25.17 substance offense shall not be eligible for reinstatement of driving privileges without​

25.18 participating in the intensive testing program until the person:​

25.19 (1) has completed rehabilitation according to rules adopted by the commissioner or been​

25.20 granted a variance from the rules by the commissioner; and​

25.21 (2) has submitted verification of abstinence from alcohol and controlled substances​

25.22 under paragraph (f), as evidenced by the person's participation in the intensive testing​

25.23 program or other monitoring approved by the commissioner.​

25.24 (f) The verification of abstinence must show that the person has abstained from the use​

25.25 of alcohol and controlled substances for a period of not less than:​

25.26 (1) three years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense​

25.27 occurring within ten years of the first of two qualified prior impaired driving incidents, or​

25.28 occurring after three qualified prior impaired driving incidents;​

25.29 (2) four years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense​

25.30 occurring within ten years of the first of three qualified prior impaired driving incidents; or​
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26.1 (3) six years, for a person whose driver's license was canceled or denied for an offense​

26.2 occurring after four or more qualified prior impaired driving incidents.​

26.3 (g) As used in this subdivision:​

26.4 (1) "alcohol-related offense" means a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision 1, clause​

26.5 (1), (5), or (6); subdivision 1, clause (4), where one of the elements involves a violation of​

26.6 clause (1); subdivision 2, clause (1); or subdivision 2, clause (2), if the court issued the​

26.7 warrant based on probable cause to believe that the person was under the influence of​

26.8 alcohol; and​

26.9 (2) "controlled or intoxicating substance offense" means a violation of section 169A.20,​

26.10 subdivision 1, clause (2), (3), (4), (7), or (8); or subdivision 2, clause (2), if the court issued​

26.11 the warrant based on probable cause to believe that the person was under the influence of​

26.12 a controlled substance or an intoxicating substance.​

26.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to revocations​

26.14 and cancellations or denials that occur on or after that date.​

26.15 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.306, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

26.16 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the terms in this subdivision have​

26.17 the meanings given them.​

26.18 (b) "Ignition interlock device" or "device" means equipment that is designed to measure​

26.19 breath alcohol concentration and to prevent a motor vehicle's ignition from being started​

26.20 by a person whose breath alcohol concentration measures 0.02 or higher on the equipment.​

26.21 (c) "Incident involving alcohol" means:​

26.22 (1) a test failure as described in section 169A.52, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause​

26.23 (1) or (2); or section 171.177, subdivision 3, clause (2), item (i) or (ii);​

26.24 (2) a test refusal as described in section 169A.52, subdivision 3, or section 171.177,​

26.25 subdivision 3, clause (1), when there was probable cause to believe the person had been​

26.26 driving, operating, or in physical control of a motor vehicle in violation of section 169A.20,​

26.27 subdivision 1, clause (1), (5), or (6); or subdivision 1, clause (4), where one of the elements​

26.28 involves a violation of clause (1);​

26.29 (3) a conviction for a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision 1, clause (1), (5), or (6);​

26.30 or subdivision 1, clause (4), where one of the elements involves a violation of clause (1);​

26.31 or​
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27.1 (4) a determination by the commissioner pursuant to section 171.04, subdivision 1,​

27.2 clause (10), that the person is inimical to public safety based on one or more violations of​

27.3 section 169A.20, subdivision 1, clause (1), (5), or (6); or subdivision 1, clause (4), where​

27.4 one of the elements involves a violation of clause (1).​

27.5 (c) (d) "Location tracking capabilities" means the ability of an electronic or wireless​

27.6 device to identify and transmit its geographic location through the operation of the device.​

27.7 (d) (e) "Program participant" means a person who has qualified to take part in the ignition​

27.8 interlock program under this section, and whose driver's license, as a result of an incident​

27.9 involving alcohol, has been:​

27.10 (1) revoked, canceled, or denied under section 169A.52; 169A.54; 171.04, subdivision​

27.11 1, clause (10); or 171.177; or​

27.12 (2) revoked under section 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), or suspended​

27.13 under section 171.187, for a violation of section 609.2113, subdivision 1, clause (2), item​

27.14 (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); subdivision 2, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); or subdivision​

27.15 3, clause (2), item (i) or (iii), (3), or (4); or 609.2114, subdivision 2, clause (2), item (i) or​

27.16 (iii), (3), or (4), resulting in bodily harm, substantial bodily harm, or great bodily harm.​

27.17 (e) (f) "Qualified prior impaired driving incident" has the meaning given in section​

27.18 169A.03, subdivision 22.​

27.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to revocations​

27.20 and cancellations or denials that occur on or after that date.​

27.21 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 171.306, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

27.22 Subd. 8. Rulemaking. In establishing The commissioner may adopt rules to implement​

27.23 this section, including but not limited to rules regarding the performance standards and​

27.24 certification process of subdivision 2, and the program guidelines of subdivision 3, and any​

27.25 other rules necessary to implement this section, the commissioner is subject to chapter 14.​

27.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.​

27.27 Sec. 22. [171.307] INTENSIVE TESTING PROGRAM.​

27.28 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms have the​

27.29 meanings given.​

27.30 (b) "Incident involving a controlled substance or intoxicating substance" means:​
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28.1 (1) a test failure as described in section 169A.52, subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause​

28.2 (3); or 171.177, subdivision 3, clause (2), item (iii);​

28.3 (2) a test refusal as described in section 169A.52, subdivision 3, or 171.177, subdivision​

28.4 3, clause (1), when there was probable cause to believe the person had been driving,​

28.5 operating, or in physical control of a motor vehicle in violation of section 169A.20,​

28.6 subdivision 1, clause (2), (3), (4), (7), or (8); or subdivision 2, clause (2), if the court issued​

28.7 the warrant based on probable cause to believe that the person was under the influence of​

28.8 a controlled substance or an intoxicating substance;​

28.9 (3) a conviction for a violation of section 169A.20, subdivision 1, clause (2), (3), (4),​

28.10 (7), or (8); or​

28.11 (4) a determination by the commissioner pursuant to section 171.04, subdivision 1,​

28.12 clause (10), that the person is inimical to public safety based on one or more violations of​

28.13 section 169A.20, subdivision 1, clause (2), (3), (4), (7), or (8).​

28.14 (c) "Program participant" means a person who has qualified to take part in the intensive​

28.15 testing program under this section, and whose driver's license, as the result of an incident​

28.16 involving a controlled substance or intoxicating substance, has been:​

28.17 (1) revoked, canceled, or denied under section 169A.52; 169A.54; 171.04, subdivision​

28.18 1, clause (10); or 171.177; or​

28.19 (2) revoked under section 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause (1), or suspended​

28.20 under section 171.187, for a violation of section 609.2113, subdivision 1, clause (2), item​

28.21 (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6); subdivision 2, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6); or​

28.22 subdivision 3, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6); or 609.2114, subdivision 2, clause​

28.23 (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6), resulting in bodily harm, substantial bodily harm, or​

28.24 great bodily harm.​

28.25 (d) "Qualified prior impaired driving incident" has the meaning given in section 169A.03,​

28.26 subdivision 22.​

28.27 Subd. 2. Program requirements. (a) The commissioner must establish guidelines for​

28.28 participation in the intensive testing program. A person who seeks to participate in the​

28.29 program must sign a written acknowledgment that the person has received, reviewed, and​

28.30 agreed to abide by the program guidelines.​

28.31 (b) The program guidelines must include provisions clearly identifying and prohibiting​

28.32 the use of masking agents.​
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29.1 (c) The program guidelines must include provisions requiring disclosure of any​

29.2 prescription medications and protocols to assure that testing accounts for prescribed​

29.3 medications that are taken within the therapeutic range.​

29.4 (d) The commissioner must enter a notation on a person's driving record to indicate that​

29.5 the person is a program participant.​

29.6 (e) A person under the age of 18 years is not eligible to be a program participant.​

29.7 (f) A program participant must pay costs associated with any required urine analyses.​

29.8 (g) A program participant must participate in any treatment recommended in a chemical​

29.9 use assessment report.​

29.10 (h) A program participant must submit to regular and random urine analyses and other​

29.11 testing that take place at least weekly. The results of a random urine analysis or other test​

29.12 that is ordered by a court or required by probation satisfy the requirement in this paragraph​

29.13 for the week in which the urine analysis or other test was administered if the results clearly​

29.14 indicate that the program participant submitted to the urine analysis or test, identify the date​

29.15 of the test, and are submitted to the commissioner in a form and manner approved by the​

29.16 commissioner. If a program participant chooses to submit the results of urine analyses or​

29.17 other tests ordered by a court or required by probation, the commissioner may require that​

29.18 the program participant sign a written authorization for the release of the results and any​

29.19 related information including but not limited to information that is a health record as defined​

29.20 in section 144.291, subdivision 2, paragraph (c).​

29.21 Subd. 3. Issuance of restricted license. (a) Beginning January 1, 2026, the commissioner​

29.22 must issue a class D driver's license, subject to the applicable limitations and restrictions​

29.23 of this section, to a program participant who meets the requirements of this section and the​

29.24 program guidelines. The commissioner must not issue a license unless the program participant​

29.25 has provided satisfactory proof that:​

29.26 (1) the participant has submitted to a minimum number of preliminary urine analyses​

29.27 as required by the commissioner that tested negative for the presence of a controlled substance​

29.28 or its metabolite and for the presence of specified intoxicating substances; and​

29.29 (2) the participant has insurance coverage on any vehicle the participant owns or operates​

29.30 regularly. If the participant has previously been convicted of violating section 169.791,​

29.31 169.793, or 169.797 or the participant's license has previously been suspended or canceled​

29.32 under section 169.792 or 169.797, the commissioner must require the participant to present​
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30.1 an insurance identification card that is certified by the insurance company to be noncancelable​

30.2 for a period not to exceed 12 months.​

30.3 (b) A program participant whose driver's license has been: (1) revoked under section​

30.4 169A.52, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), or (3), or subdivision 4, paragraph​

30.5 (a), clause (1), (2), or (3); 169A.54, subdivision 1, clause (1), (2), (3), or (4); or 171.177,​

30.6 subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (1), (2), or (3), or subdivision 5, paragraph (a), clause​

30.7 (1), (2), or (3); or (2) revoked under section 171.17, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), clause​

30.8 (1), or suspended under section 171.187, for a violation of section 609.2113, subdivision​

30.9 1, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6); subdivision 2, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or​

30.10 (iv), (5), or (6); or subdivision 3, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6); or 609.2114,​

30.11 subdivision 2, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6), resulting in bodily harm,​

30.12 substantial bodily harm, or great bodily harm, where the participant has fewer than two​

30.13 qualified prior impaired driving incidents within the past ten years or fewer than three​

30.14 qualified prior impaired driving incidents ever; may apply for conditional reinstatement of​

30.15 the driver's license, subject to the intensive testing program.​

30.16 (c) A program participant whose driver's license has been: (1) revoked, canceled, or​

30.17 denied under section 169A.52, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6), or​

30.18 subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6); 169A.54, subdivision 1, clause (5), (6),​

30.19 or (7); or 171.177, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6), or subdivision 5,​

30.20 paragraph (a), clause (4), (5), or (6); or (2) revoked under section 171.17, subdivision 1,​

30.21 paragraph (a), clause (1), or suspended under section 171.187, for a violation of section​

30.22 609.2113, subdivision 1, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6); subdivision 2, clause​

30.23 (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6); or subdivision 3, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5),​

30.24 or (6); or 609.2114, subdivision 2, clause (2), item (ii), (iii), or (iv), (5), or (6), resulting in​

30.25 bodily harm, substantial bodily harm, or great bodily harm, where the participant has two​

30.26 or more qualified prior impaired driving incidents within the past ten years or three or more​

30.27 qualified prior impaired driving incidents ever; may apply for conditional reinstatement of​

30.28 the driver's license, subject to the intensive testing program, if the program participant is​

30.29 enrolled in a licensed substance use disorder treatment or rehabilitation program as​

30.30 recommended in a chemical use assessment. As a prerequisite to eligibility for eventual​

30.31 reinstatement of full driving privileges, a participant whose chemical use assessment​

30.32 recommended treatment or rehabilitation must complete a licensed substance use disorder​

30.33 treatment or rehabilitation program. If the program participant submits a urine analysis that​

30.34 tests positive for the presence of a controlled substance or its metabolite or for the presence​

30.35 of any specified intoxicating substances, the commissioner must extend the time period that​
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31.1 the participant must participate in the program until the participant has reached the required​

31.2 abstinence period described in section 169A.55, subdivision 4.​

31.3 (d) Notwithstanding any statute or rule to the contrary, the commissioner has authority​

31.4 to determine when a program participant is eligible for restoration of full driving privileges,​

31.5 except that the commissioner must not reinstate full driving privileges until the program​

31.6 participant has met all applicable prerequisites for reinstatement under section 169A.55 and​

31.7 until the program participant has not tested positive for the presence of a controlled substance​

31.8 or its metabolite or for the presence of any specified intoxicating substances during the​

31.9 preceding 90 days.​

31.10 Subd. 4. Penalties; program violations. (a) If a program participant violates a condition​

31.11 of a license conditionally reinstated under subdivision 3 and section 171.30, or violates the​

31.12 program guidelines under subdivision 2, the commissioner must extend the person's​

31.13 revocation period under section 169A.52, 169A.54, or 171.177 by:​

31.14 (1) 180 days for a first violation;​

31.15 (2) one year for a second violation; or​

31.16 (3) 545 days for a third and each subsequent violation.​

31.17 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner may terminate participation in the​

31.18 program by any person when, in the commissioner's judgment, termination is necessary to​

31.19 the interests of public safety and welfare. In the event of termination, the commissioner​

31.20 must not reduce the applicable revocation period under section 169A.52, 169A.54, or 171.177​

31.21 by the amount of time during which the person possessed a limited or restricted driver's​

31.22 license issued under the authority of subdivision 3.​

31.23 Subd. 5. Tampering; penalties. A program participant who tampers with a test required​

31.24 under this section, including but not limited to submitting a false or adulterated sample or​

31.25 a person who advises or otherwise assists a program participant in tampering with a test​

31.26 required under this section is guilty of a misdemeanor.​

31.27 Subd. 6. Venue. In addition to the provisions of Rule 24 of the Rules of Criminal​

31.28 Procedure and section 627.01, a violation of subdivision 5 may be prosecuted in:​

31.29 (1) the county in which the tampering is alleged to have taken place;​

31.30 (2) the county in which the accused resides; or​

31.31 (3) the county in which the impaired driving incident occurred, which resulted in the​

31.32 accused being issued a driver's license with an intensive testing program restriction.​
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32.1 Subd. 7. Data. Data on program participants collected under this section are private data​

32.2 on individuals as defined in section 13.02, subdivision 12. Data must be maintained in the​

32.3 same manner as all other driver's license records. Access to the data is subject to the​

32.4 provisions of section 171.12, subdivision 1a.​

32.5 Subd. 8. Rulemaking. The commissioner may adopt rules to implement this section,​

32.6 including but not limited to rules establishing or amending the program guidelines under​

32.7 subdivision 2.​

32.8 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to revocations​

32.9 and cancellations or denials that occur on or after that date.​

32.10 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 216E.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

32.11 Subdivision 1. Policy. The legislature hereby declares it to be the policy of the state to​

32.12 locate large electric power facilities and high voltage transmission lines in an orderly manner​

32.13 compatible with environmental preservation and the efficient use of resources. In accordance​

32.14 with this policy the commission shall choose locations that minimize adverse human and​

32.15 environmental impact while insuring continuing electric power system reliability and integrity​

32.16 and insuring that electric energy needs are met and fulfilled in an orderly and timely fashion.​

32.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective on the day following final enactment.​

32.18 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 219.015, subdivision 2, is amended​

32.19 to read:​

32.20 Subd. 2. Railroad company assessment; account; appropriation. (a) As provided in​

32.21 this subdivision, the commissioner must annually assess railroad companies that are (1)​

32.22 defined as common carriers under section 218.011; (2) classified by federal law or regulation​

32.23 as Class I Railroads, Class I Rail Carriers, Class II Railroads, or Class II Rail Carriers; and​

32.24 (3) operating in this state.​

32.25 (b) The assessment must be calculated to allocate state rail safety inspection program​

32.26 costs proportionally among carriers based on route miles operated in Minnesota at the time​

32.27 of assessment. The commissioner must include in the assessment calculation all state rail​

32.28 safety inspection program costs to support up to six rail safety inspector positions, including​

32.29 but not limited to salary, administration, supervision, travel, equipment, training, and ongoing​

32.30 state rail inspector duties.​

32.31 (c) The assessments collected under this subdivision must be deposited in a state rail​

32.32 safety inspection account, which is established in the special revenue fund. The account​
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33.1 consists of funds provided by this subdivision and section 221.0255 and any other money​

33.2 donated, allotted, transferred, or otherwise provided to the account. Money in the account​

33.3 is annually appropriated to the commissioner to administer the state rail safety inspection​

33.4 program and for costs under section 221.0255.​

33.5 Sec. 25. [219.382] WAYSIDE DETECTOR SYSTEMS.​

33.6 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

33.7 the meanings given.​

33.8 (b) "Hazardous substance" has the meaning given in section 219.055, subdivision 1,​

33.9 paragraph (e).​

33.10 (c) "Wayside detector system" means one or more electronic devices that: (1) perform​

33.11 automated scanning of passing trains, rolling stock, and on-track equipment to detect defects​

33.12 or precursors to defects in equipment or component parts; and (2) provide notification to​

33.13 individuals of a defect or precursor to a defect.​

33.14 Subd. 2. Application. The requirements in this section apply to:​

33.15 (1) a Class I railroad; and​

33.16 (2) a Class II railroad or Class III railroad when transporting a hazardous substance at​

33.17 a speed that exceeds ten miles per hour.​

33.18 Subd. 3. Wayside detector system requirements. (a) A railroad must maintain​

33.19 operational wayside detector systems located at intervals of:​

33.20 (1) at least every ten miles of mainline track in the state; or​

33.21 (2) at least every 15 miles of mainline track in the state if necessary due to the natural​

33.22 terrain.​

33.23 (b) A wayside detector system under this section must include a hot bearings detector​

33.24 and a dragging equipment detector.​

33.25 Subd. 4. Defect notifications. Promptly after a wayside detector system provides a​

33.26 notification regarding a defect, the railroad must:​

33.27 (1) stop the train in accordance with the railroad's applicable safety procedures;​

33.28 (2) inspect the location of the defect from a position on the ground;​

33.29 (3) if the inspection indicates that the train is not safe for movement, make necessary​

33.30 repairs prior to movement;​
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34.1 (4) if the inspection indicates that the train is safe for movement or if repairs are​

34.2 performed under clause (3):​

34.3 (i) proceed at a speed that does not exceed (A) 30 miles per hour if the train is not​

34.4 transporting a hazardous substance, or (B) ten miles per hour if the train is transporting a​

34.5 hazardous substance; and​

34.6 (ii) remove and set out any defective car at the earliest opportunity; and​

34.7 (5) provide for the train crew to prepare a written inspection report and submit it to the​

34.8 appropriate personnel within the railroad.​

34.9 Subd. 5. Report to commissioner. By January 15 annually, a railroad that is subject to​

34.10 this section must submit a report to the commissioner on wayside detector systems installed​

34.11 in this state. At a minimum, the report must include:​

34.12 (1) an overview of each wayside detector system, which must include:​

34.13 (i) its type and primary characteristics;​

34.14 (ii) the nearest milepost number, latitude and longitude coordinates, or other information​

34.15 that specifically identifies its location; and​

34.16 (iii) a review of the operational status of the hot bearings detector and the dragging​

34.17 equipment detector throughout the prior 12 months; and​

34.18 (2) other information on wayside detector systems as required by the commissioner.​

34.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.​

34.20 Sec. 26. [219.5505] TRAIN LENGTH.​

34.21 Subdivision 1. Definition. For purposes of this section, "railroad" means a common​

34.22 carrier that is classified by federal law or regulation as a Class I railroad, Class II railroad,​

34.23 or Class III railroad.​

34.24 Subd. 2. Maximum length. A railroad must not operate a train in this state that has a​

34.25 total length in excess of 8,500 feet.​

34.26 Subd. 3. Penalty. (a) A railroad that violates this section is subject to a penalty of:​

34.27 (1) not less than $1,000 or more than $5,000 for a first offense;​

34.28 (2) not less than $5,000 or more than $10,000 for a second offense committed within​

34.29 three years of the first offense; and​
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35.1 (3) not less than $25,000 for a third or subsequent offense committed within three years​

35.2 of the first offense.​

35.3 (b) The commissioner of transportation may enforce this section in a civil action before​

35.4 a judge of a county in which the violation occurs.​

35.5 (c) Fines collected under this section must be deposited in the state rail safety inspection​

35.6 account in the special revenue fund.​

35.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to violations​

35.8 committed on or after that date.​

35.9 Sec. 27. [219.756] YARDMASTER HOURS OF SERVICE.​

35.10 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​

35.11 the meanings given.​

35.12 (b) "Railroad" means a common carrier that is classified by federal law or regulation as​

35.13 Class I railroad, Class II railroad, or Class III railroad.​

35.14 (c) "Yardmaster" means an employee of a common carrier who is responsible for​

35.15 supervising and coordinating the control of trains and engines operating within a railyard,​

35.16 not including a dispatching service employee, signal employee, or train employee as those​

35.17 terms are defined in United States Code, title 49, section 21101.​

35.18 Subd. 2. Hours of service. (a) A railroad operating in this state must not require or allow​

35.19 a yardmaster to remain or go on duty:​

35.20 (1) in any month when the employee has spent a total of 276 hours on duty or in any​

35.21 other mandatory service for the carrier;​

35.22 (2) for a period exceeding 12 consecutive hours; and​

35.23 (3) unless the employee has had at least ten consecutive hours off duty during the prior​

35.24 24 hours.​

35.25 (b) A railroad operating in this state must not require or allow a yardmaster to remain​

35.26 or go on duty after the employee has initiated an on-duty period each day for six consecutive​

35.27 days unless the employee has had 48 consecutive hours off at the employee's home terminal,​

35.28 during which time the employee is unavailable for any service.​

35.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.​
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36.1 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 221.0255, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

36.2 Subd. 4. Motor carrier of railroad employees; requirements. (a) The motor carrier​

36.3 of railroad employees must implement a policy that provides for annual training and​

36.4 certification of the operator in:​

36.5 (1) safe operation of the vehicle transporting railroad employees;​

36.6 (2) knowing and understanding relevant laws, rules of the road, and safety policies;​

36.7 (3) handling emergency situations;​

36.8 (4) proper use of seat belts;​

36.9 (5) performance of pretrip and posttrip vehicle inspections, and inspection record keeping;​

36.10 and​

36.11 (6) proper maintenance of required records.​

36.12 (b) The motor carrier of railroad employees must:​

36.13 (1) confirm that the person is not disqualified under subdivision 6, by performing a​

36.14 criminal background check of the operator, which must include:​

36.15 (i) a criminal history check of the state criminal records repository; and​

36.16 (ii) if the operator has resided in Minnesota less than five years, a criminal history check​

36.17 from each state of residence for the previous five years;​

36.18 (2) annually verify the operator's driver's license;​

36.19 (3) document meeting the requirements in this subdivision, which must include​

36.20 maintaining at the carrier's business location:​

36.21 (i) a driver qualification file on each operator who transports passengers under this​

36.22 section; and​

36.23 (ii) records of pretrip and posttrip vehicle inspections as required under subdivision 3,​

36.24 paragraph (a), clause (3);​

36.25 (4) maintain liability insurance in a minimum amount of $5,000,000 regardless of the​

36.26 seating capacity of the vehicle;​

36.27 (5) maintain uninsured and underinsured coverage in a minimum amount of $1,000,000​

36.28 $5,000,000; and​

36.29 (6) ensure inspection of each vehicle operated under this section as provided under​

36.30 section 169.781.​
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37.1 (c) A driver qualification file under paragraph (b), clause (3), must include:​

37.2 (1) a copy of the operator's most recent medical examiner's certificate;​

37.3 (2) a copy of the operator's current driver's license;​

37.4 (3) documentation of annual license verification;​

37.5 (4) documentation of annual training;​

37.6 (5) documentation of any known violations of motor vehicle or traffic laws; and​

37.7 (6) responses from previous employers, if required by the current employer.​

37.8 (d) The driver qualification file must be retained for one year following the date of​

37.9 separation of employment of the driver from the carrier. A record of inspection under​

37.10 paragraph (b), clause (3), item (ii), must be retained for one year following the date of​

37.11 inspection.​

37.12 (e) If a party contracts with the motor carrier on behalf of the railroad to transport the​

37.13 railroad employees, then the insurance requirements may be satisfied by either that party​

37.14 or the motor carrier, so long as the motor carrier is a named insured or additional insured​

37.15 under any policy.​

37.16 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.​

37.17 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 221.0255, subdivision 9, is amended to read:​

37.18 Subd. 9. Inspection and investigation authority. (a) Upon receipt of a complaint form​

37.19 or other information alleging a violation of this section, the commissioner must investigate​

37.20 the relevant matter. Representatives of the Department of Transportation and the State Patrol​

37.21 have the authority to enter, at a reasonable time and place, any vehicle or facility of the​

37.22 carrier for purposes of complaint investigations, random inspections, safety reviews, audits,​

37.23 or accident investigations.​

37.24 (b) Failure of a railroad or motor carrier of railroad employees to permit a complaint​

37.25 investigation under this subdivision is grounds for issuance of a civil penalty under​

37.26 subdivision 10.​

37.27 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024.​
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38.1 Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 221.0255, is amended by adding a subdivision​

38.2 to read:​

38.3 Subd. 10. Civil penalty. (a) After completion of an investigation or as provided in​

38.4 subdivision 9, paragraph (b), the commissioner may issue a civil penalty to a railroad or​

38.5 motor carrier of railroad employees that violates this section. A civil penalty issued under​

38.6 this paragraph is in the amount of:​

38.7 (1) not less than $200 but not more than $500 for a first offense;​

38.8 (2) not less than $500 but not more than $1,000 for a second offense; and​

38.9 (3) not less than $1,000 but not more than $5,000 for a third or subsequent offense​

38.10 committed within three years of the first offense.​

38.11 (b) The civil penalty amounts identified under paragraph (a) are for all violations​

38.12 identified in a single investigation and are not per violation.​

38.13 (c) The recipient of a civil penalty under this subdivision has 30 days to notify the​

38.14 commissioner in writing of intent to contest the civil penalty. If within 30 days after receiving​

38.15 the civil penalty the recipient fails to notify the commissioner of intent to contest the penalty,​

38.16 the civil penalty is not subject to further review.​

38.17 (d) Civil penalties assessed under this subdivision are subject to chapter 14 and may be​

38.18 recovered in a civil action.​

38.19 (e) Civil penalties collected under this section must be deposited in the state rail safety​

38.20 inspection account in the special revenue fund.​

38.21 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, and applies to violations​

38.22 committed on or after that date.​

38.23 Sec. 31. COMMUNITY ROADSIDE LANDSCAPE PARTNERSHIPS.​

38.24 Subject to available funds, the commissioner of transportation must assess and undertake​

38.25 methods to improve and expand the Department of Transportation's community roadside​

38.26 landscape partnership program, including:​

38.27 (1) identifying and evaluating locations for partnership opportunities throughout the​

38.28 state where there is high traffic volume and minimal existing vegetation coverage in the​

38.29 form of trees or large shrubs;​

38.30 (2) performing outreach and engagement about the program with eligible community​

38.31 partners;​

38​Article 2 Sec. 31.​
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39.1 (3) prioritizing roadsides where vegetation could reduce neighborhood noise impacts or​

39.2 improve aesthetics for neighborhoods that border interstate highways without regard to​

39.3 whether there are existing noise walls; and​

39.4 (4) analyzing methods to include cost sharing between the department and participating​

39.5 community partners for ongoing landscape maintenance.​

39.6 Sec. 32. REPEALER.​

39.7 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168.1297, is repealed.​

39.8 (b) Minnesota Rules, part 7410.6180, is repealed.​

39.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (b) is effective the day following final enactment."​

39.10 Amend the title accordingly​

39​Article 2 Sec. 32.​
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