
1.1 ARTICLE 13​

1.2 CHILD CARE LICENSING​

1.3 Section 1. [142B.171] CHILD CARE WEIGHTED RISK SYSTEM.​

1.4 Subdivision 1. Implementation. The commissioner shall develop and implement a child​

1.5 care weighted risk system that provides a tiered licensing enforcement framework for child​

1.6 care licensing requirements in this chapter or Minnesota Rules, chapter 9502 or 9503.​

1.7 Subd. 2. Documented technical assistance. (a) In lieu of a correction order under section​

1.8 142B.16, the commissioner shall provide documented technical assistance to a family child​

1.9 care or child care center license holder if the commissioner finds that:​

1.10 (1) the license holder has failed to comply with a requirement in this chapter or Minnesota​

1.11 Rules, chapter 9502 or 9503, that the commissioner determines to be low risk as determined​

1.12 by the child care weighted risk system;​

1.13 (2) the noncompliance does not imminently endanger the health, safety, or rights of the​

1.14 persons served by the program; and​

1.15 (3) the license holder did not receive documented technical assistance or a correction​

1.16 order for the same violation at the license holder's most recent annual licensing inspection.​

1.17 (b) Documented technical assistance must include communication from the commissioner​

1.18 to the license holder that:​

1.19 (1) states the conditions that constitute a violation of a law or rule;​

1.20 (2) references the specific law or rule violated; and​

1.21 (3) explains remedies for correcting the violation.​

1.22 (c) The commissioner shall not publicly publish documented technical assistance on the​

1.23 department's website.​

1.24 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245A.065, is amended to read:​

1.25 245A.065 CHILD CARE FIX-IT TICKET.​

1.26 Subdivision 1. Fix-it ticket. (a) In lieu of a correction order under section 245A.06, the​

1.27 commissioner shall issue a fix-it ticket to a family child care or child care center license​

1.28 holder if the commissioner finds that:​

1.29 (1) the license holder has failed to comply with a requirement in this chapter or Minnesota​

1.30 Rules, chapter 9502 or 9503, that the commissioner determines to be eligible for a fix-it​

1.31 ticket;​
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2.1 (2) the violation does not imminently endanger the health, safety, or rights of the persons​

2.2 served by the program;​

2.3 (3) the license holder did not receive a fix-it ticket or correction order for the violation​

2.4 at the license holder's last licensing inspection;​

2.5 (4) the violation can be corrected at the time of inspection or within 48 hours, excluding​

2.6 Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays; and​

2.7 (5) the license holder corrects the violation at the time of inspection or agrees to correct​

2.8 the violation within 48 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays.​

2.9 (b) The fix-it ticket must state:​

2.10 (1) the conditions that constitute a violation of the law or rule;​

2.11 (2) the specific law or rule violated; and​

2.12 (3) that the violation was corrected at the time of inspection or must be corrected within​

2.13 48 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays.​

2.14 (c) The commissioner shall not publicly publish a fix-it ticket on the department's website.​

2.15 (d) Within 48 hours, excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, of receiving a fix-it​

2.16 ticket, the license holder must correct the violation and within one week submit evidence​

2.17 to the licensing agency that the violation was corrected.​

2.18 (e) If the violation is not corrected at the time of inspection or within 48 hours, excluding​

2.19 Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays, or the evidence submitted is insufficient to establish that​

2.20 the license holder corrected the violation, the commissioner must issue a correction order​

2.21 for the violation of Minnesota law or rule identified in the fix-it ticket according to section​

2.22 245A.06.​

2.23 Subd. 2. Expiration. This section expires upon the implementation of the child care​

2.24 weighted risk system in section 142B.171. The commissioner of children, youth, and families​

2.25 shall notify the revisor of statutes when the system has been implemented.​

2.26 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.50, subdivision 3, is amended​

2.27 to read:​

2.28 Subd. 3. First aid. (a) Before initial licensure and before caring for a child, license​

2.29 holders, second adult caregivers, and substitutes must be trained in pediatric first aid. The​

2.30 first aid training must have been provided by an individual approved to provide first aid​

2.31 instruction. First aid training may be less than eight hours and persons qualified to provide​
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3.1 first aid training include individuals approved as first aid instructors. License holders, second​

3.2 adult caregivers, and substitutes must repeat pediatric first aid training every two years​

3.3 within 90 days of the date the training was previously taken. License holders, second adult​

3.4 caregivers, and substitutes must not let the training expire.​

3.5 (b) Video training reviewed and approved by the county licensing agency satisfies the​

3.6 training requirement of this subdivision.​

3.7 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2023 Supplement, section 245A.50, subdivision 4, is amended​

3.8 to read:​

3.9 Subd. 4. Cardiopulmonary resuscitation. (a) Before initial licensure and before caring​

3.10 for a child, license holders, second adult caregivers, and substitutes must be trained in​

3.11 pediatric cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR), including CPR techniques for infants and​

3.12 children, and in the treatment of obstructed airways. The CPR training must have been​

3.13 provided by an individual approved to provide CPR instruction. License holders, second​

3.14 adult caregivers, and substitutes must repeat pediatric CPR training at least once every two​

3.15 years within 90 days of the date the training was previously taken, and the training must​

3.16 document the training be documented in the license holder's records. License holders, second​

3.17 adult caregivers, and substitutes must not let the training expire.​

3.18 (b) Persons providing CPR training must use CPR training that has been developed:​

3.19 (1) by the American Heart Association or the American Red Cross and incorporates​

3.20 psychomotor skills to support the instruction; or​

3.21 (2) using nationally recognized, evidence-based guidelines for CPR training and​

3.22 incorporates psychomotor skills to support the instruction.​
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