## STATE OF MINNESOTA THIRTY-NINTH MN HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY FIRST SESSION

## EDUCATION FINANCE DIVISION MINUTES

Representative Jim Davnie, Chair of the Education Finance Division, called the meeting to order at 9:45am on March 10, 2020 in Room 5 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

DAVNIE, Jim SANDSTEDE, Julie KRESHA, Ron BENNETT, Peggy DANIELS, Brian DETTMER, Bob DEMUTH, Lisa ERICKSON, Sondra HUOT, John JURGENS, Tony KOTYZA-WITTHUHN, Carlie KUNESH-PODEIN, Mary MARQUART, Paul MURPHY, Mary NORNES, Bud PRYOR, Laurie RICHARDSON, Ruth SANDELL, Steve YOUAKIM, Cheryl

Excused:

EDELSON, Heather

A quorum was present.

Presentations provided by various Full-Service Community Schools including Duluth, Rochester, Deer River, St. Paul, Brooklyn Center, and Minneapolis.

Rep. Murphy moved that the minutes from March 4, 2020 be approved. Motion prevailed.

Testifiers:

Brian Kazmierczak, Principal, Lincoln Park Middle School Rachel Thapa, Site Coordinator, Lincoln Park Middle School Kayla Allen, Mayo Clinic Lap Nguyen, Student, John Marshall High School Jocelyn Hernandez, Student, Rochester Alternative Learning Center Matt Grose, Superintendent, Deer River Public Schools Morgan Hanson, Ross Resources – Truancy Prevention Specialist, Deer River Public Schools Erianna Reyelts, Assistant Director, Children's Dental Services, St. Paul Achievement Plus Partner Seth Ryan, Community Engagement Director, Brooklyn Center Community Schools Patrice Howard, Executive Director of Community Education, Minneapolis Public Schools

Additional Testifiers:

Jodee Buhr John Solovan Mr. Rooney Deanna Rhone Ms. Hedlund

The meeting of the Education Finance Division was adjourned 11:15 am.

Representative Jim Davnie, Chair

Brittney Sunderland, Committee Legislative Assistant