04/05/21 10:02 am HOUSE RESEARCH MB/RK H2142A1

1.2	Page 3, after line 6, insert:		
1.3	"Sec. 3. DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY		
1.4	Subdivision 1. Appropriations		
1.5	The appropriations in this section are to the		
1.6	commissioner of public safety. The amounts		
1.7	that may be spent for each purpose are		
1.8	specified in the following subdivisions.		
1.9	Subd. 2. Vehicle Services	<u>221,000</u>	198,000
1.10	This appropriation is from the vehicle services		
1.11	operating account in the special revenue fund,		
1.12	for one additional vehicle inspection site,		
1.13	including the costs of equipment and staff."		
1.14	Page 4, after line 28, insert:		
1.15	"Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.	01, subdivision 6a, is amen	ded to read:
1.16	Subd. 6a. High-value vehicle. "High-value vehic	ele" means a vehicle that h	ad an actual
1.17	cash value in excess of \$9,000 \$7,000 before being damaged, or a vehicle with a		
1.18	manufacturer's rating of over 26,000 pounds gross vehicle weight that is not a late-mode		
1.19	vehicle.		
1.20	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective Ja	nuary 1, 2023.	

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 2142 as follows:

1.1

Section 1.

04/05/21 10:02 am HOUSE RESEARCH MB/RK H2142A1

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.01, subdivision 8a, is amended to read:

Subd. 8a. **Late-model vehicle.** "Late-model vehicle" means a vehicle with a

manufacturer's designated model year equal to or <u>greater more recent</u> than the <u>fifth seventh</u>

calendar year immediately preceding the current calendar year.

- **EFFECTIVE DATE.** This section is effective January 1, 2023.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 168A.151, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Salvage titles.** (a) When an insurer, licensed to conduct business in

 Minnesota, acquires ownership of a late-model or high-value vehicle through payment of
 damages, the insurer shall immediately apply for a salvage certificate of title or shall stamp
 the existing certificate of title with the legend "SALVAGE CERTIFICATE OF TITLE" in
 a manner prescribed by the department. Within ten days of obtaining the title of a vehicle
 through payment of damages, an insurer must notify the department in a manner prescribed
 by the department, and must identify the nature of the damage to the vehicle, including
- 2.14 whether the damage was due to:
- 2.15 (1) flood;

2.4

2.5

- 2.16 (2) hail;
- 2.17 (3) fire; or
- 2.18 **(4)** collision.
- 2.19 (b) A person shall immediately apply for a salvage certificate of title if the person acquires 2.20 a damaged late-model or high-value vehicle with an out-of-state title and the vehicle:
- 2.21 (1) is a vehicle that was acquired by an insurer through payment of damages;
- 2.22 (2) is a vehicle for which the cost of repairs exceeds the value of the damaged vehicle; 2.23 or
- 2.24 (3) has an out-of-state salvage certificate of title as proof of ownership.
- 2.25 (c) A self-insured owner of a late-model or high-value vehicle that sustains damage by
 2.26 collision or other occurrence which exceeds 80 percent of its actual cash value shall
 2.27 immediately apply for a salvage certificate of title.
- (d) A person who retains ownership of a late-model or high-value motor vehicle and
 receives a total loss settlement from an insurance company, must immediately apply for a
 salvage certificate of title.

Sec. 3. 2

04/05/21 10:02 am	HOUSE RESEARCH	MB/RK	H2142A1

3.1	EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023, and applies to: (1) a
3.2	vehicle subject to this section that is acquired on or after that date; (2) a vehicle that sustains
3.3	damage by collision as described in paragraph (c) on or after that date; or (3) a vehicle for
3.4	which a person receives a total loss settlement as described in paragraph (d) on or after that
3.5	date."

- Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references
- 3.7 Amend the title accordingly

Sec. 3. 3