STATE OF MINNESOTA FORTY-FIFTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy

MINUTES

Representative Rick Hansen, Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. March 10, 2022, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll

Members present:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff **BECKER-FINN**, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter **GREEN.** Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney **KEELER**, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

A quorum was present.

Representative Acomb moved that the minutes of March 8, 2022, be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Hansen moved that HF 2200 (Vang) be recommended to be re-referred to the Climate and Energy Finance and Policy Committee.

Representative Vang presented HF 2200; Climate change grant program established to provide financial assistance to cities, and money appropriated.

Testifying on HF 2200:

- Larry Kraft, City Council Member, St. Louis Park.
- Dr. Kate Knuth, Citizen.
- Kathleen Doran Norton, Citizen.

Chair Hansen renewed his motion that HF 2200 be recommended to be re-referred to the Climate and Energy Finance and Policy Committee.

Chair Hansen directed the clerk to take the roll on HF 2200.

AYES: HANSEN, Rick WAZLAWIK, Ami ACOMB, Patty BECKER-FINN, Jamie FISCHER, Peter KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd MORRISON, Kelly THEIS, Tama

NAYS: HEINTZEMAN, Josh AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer LUECK, Dale NELSON, Nathan

EXCUSED: ECKLUND, Rob JORDAN, Sydney

There being 10 ayes, 7 nays and 2 excused, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Hansen moved that HF 3916 (Sandell) be recommended to be re-referred to the Ways and Means Committee.

Chair Hansen moved that the A2 amendment be adopted.

Representative Sandell presented the A2 amendment.

Testifying on the A2 amendment:

- Susan Damon, Lands and Minerals Division Assistant Director, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR).
- Julie Marinucci, Land and Minerals Director, St. Louis County.

Chair Hansen renewed his motion that the A2 amendment be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Sandell presented HF 3916, as amended; State land easement and leasing conveying requirements modified.

Testifying on HF 3916, as amended:

- Susan Damon, Lands and Minerals Division Assistant Director, DNR.
- Julie Marinucci, Land and Minerals Director, St. Louis County.

Representative Lueck moved to table HF 3916, as amended.

Chair Hansen directed the clerk to take the roll on the motion to table HF 3916, as amended.

AYES: HEINTZEMAN, Josh AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff ECKLUND, Rob GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer KEELER, Heather LUECK, Dale NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

NAYS: WAZLAWIK, Ami ACOMB, Patty BECKER-FINN, Jamie FISCHER, Peter JORDAN, Sydney LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd

ABSTAIN: HANSEN, Rick MORRISON, Kelly

There being 10 ayes, 7 nays and 2 abstentions, THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE BILL WAS TABLED.

Representative Morrison moved that HF 3630 (Morrison) be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Representative Morrison presented HF 3630; Lawns to legumes grant program funding provided, and money appropriated.

Testifying on HF 3630:

- Dan Shaw, Senior Ecologist, Board of Water and Soil Resources (BWSR).

Representative Morrison renewed her motion that House File 3630 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill. The bill was laid over.

Chair Hansen moved that HF 2367 (Hornstein) be recommended to be re-referred to the Taxes Committee.

Chair Hansen moved that the A1 amendment be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Hornstein presented HF 2367, as amended; Solid waste management tax revenue allocation amended.

Testifying on HF 2367, as amended

- Steve Barrows, Crow Wing County Commissioner, Association of Minnesota Counties (AMC), Minnesota Inter-County Association (MICA), Minnesota Solid Waste Administrators Association (MSWAA), Partnership on Waste and Energy (PWE).
- Fran Miron, Washington County Commissioner, AMC, MICA, MSWAA, PWE.
- Nels Paulsen, Policy Director, Conservation Minnesota.
- Doug Carnival, National Waste and Recycling Association.
- Kirk Koudelka, Assistant Commissioner, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.

Representative Ecklund moved that the A2 amendment be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Chair Hansen renewed his motion that HF 2367, as amended, be recommended to be re-referred to the Taxes Committee.

Chair Hansen directed the clerk to take the roll on HF 2367, as amended.

AYES: HANSEN, Rick WAZLAWIK, Ami HEINTZEMAN ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff BECKER-FINN, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

There being 19 ayes and 0 nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Hansen adjourned the meeting at 2:37 P.M.

Rick Hansen Chair of Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy

> Scotland Kraker Committee Legislative Assistant