1.2	Page 1, after line 31, insert:
1.3	"Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 84.788, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
1.4	Subd. 2. Exemptions. Registration is not required for off-highway motorcycles:
1.5	(1) owned and used by the United States, an Indian tribal government, the state, another
1.6	state, or a political subdivision;
1.7	(2) registered in another state or country that have not been within this state for more
1.8	than 30 consecutive days;
1.9	(3) registered under chapter 168, when operated on forest roads to gain access to a state
1.10	forest campground;
1.11	(4) used exclusively in organized track racing events;
1.12	(5) operated on state or grant-in-aid trails by a nonresident possessing a nonresident
1.13	off-highway motorcycle state trail pass; or
1.14	(6) operated by a person participating in an event for which the commissioner has issued
1.15	a special use permit; or
1.16	(7) operated on boundary trails and registered in another state or country providing equal
1.17	reciprocal registration or licensing exemptions for registrants of this state."
1.18	Page 2, delete sections 2 and 3, and insert:
1.19	"Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 84.793, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
1.20	Subdivision 1. Prohibitions on youthful operators. (a) A person six years or older but
1.21	less than 16 years of age operating an off-highway motorcycle on public lands or waters
1.22	must possess a valid off-highway motorcycle safety certificate issued by the commissioner.

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 1673 as follows:

1.1

Sec. 2.

02/28/17 11:20 AM	HOUSE RESEARCH	JT/JF	H1673A2
02/26/1/ 11.20 AIVI	HOUSE RESEARCH	$JI/J\Gamma$	110/3A2

(b) Except for operation on public road rights-of-way that is permitted under section 84.795, subdivision 1, a driver's license issued by the state or another state is required to operate an off-highway motorcycle along or on a public road right-of-way.

(c) A person under 12 years of age may not:

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.14

2.15

2.16

2.17

2.18

2.19

2.20

2.21

2.27

- (1) make a direct crossing of a public road right-of-way;
 - (2) operate an off-highway motorcycle on a public road right-of-way in the state; or
- 2.7 (3) operate an off-highway motorcycle on public lands or waters unless accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older or participating in an event for which the commissioner has issued a special use permit.
- 2.10 (d) Except for public road rights-of-way of interstate highways, a person less than 16
 2.11 years of age may make a direct crossing of a public road right-of-way of a trunk, county
 2.12 state-aid, or county highway only if that person is accompanied by a person 18 years of age
 2.13 or older who holds a valid driver's license.
 - (e) A person less than 16 years of age may operate an off-highway motorcycle on public road rights-of-way in accordance with section 84.795, subdivision 1, paragraph (a), only if that person is accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who holds a valid driver's license.
 - (f) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a nonresident less than 16 years of age may operate an off-highway motorcycle on public lands or waters if the nonresident youth has in possession evidence of completing an off-road safety course offered by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation or another state as provided in section 84.791, subdivision 4.
- Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 84.9256, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
- Subdivision 1. **Prohibitions on youthful operators.** (a) Except for operation on public road rights-of-way that is permitted under section 84.928 and as provided under paragraph (j), a driver's license issued by the state or another state is required to operate an all-terrain vehicle along or on a public road right-of-way.
 - (b) A person under 12 years of age shall not:
- 2.28 (1) make a direct crossing of a public road right-of-way;
- 2.29 (2) operate an all-terrain vehicle on a public road right-of-way in the state; or
- 2.30 (3) operate an all-terrain vehicle on public lands or waters, except as provided in paragraph (f).

Sec. 3. 2

02/28/17 11:20 AM	HOUSE RESEARCH	IT/IF	H1673A2
02/20/1/ 11.20 AW	HOUSE RESEARCH	JI/JI	1110/3A2

3.1

3.2

3.3

3.4

3.5

3.6

3.7

3.8

3.9

3.10

3.11

3.12

3.13

3.14

3.15

3.16

3.17

3.18

3.19

3.20

3.21

3.22

3.23

3.24

3.25

3.26

3.27

3.28

3.29

3.30

(c) Except for public road rights-of-way of interstate highways, a person 12 years of age but less than 16 years may make a direct crossing of a public road right-of-way of a trunk, county state-aid, or county highway or operate on public lands and waters or state or grant-in-aid trails, only if that person possesses a valid all-terrain vehicle safety certificate issued by the commissioner and is accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who holds a valid driver's license.

- (d) To be issued an all-terrain vehicle safety certificate, a person at least 12 years old, but less than 16 years old, must:
- (1) successfully complete the safety education and training program under section 84.925, subdivision 1, including a riding component; and
- (2) be able to properly reach and control the handle bars and reach the foot pegs while sitting upright on the seat of the all-terrain vehicle.
- (e) A person at least <u>H six</u> years of age may take the safety education and training program and may receive an all-terrain vehicle safety certificate under paragraph (d), but the certificate is not valid until the person reaches age 12.
- (f) A person at least ten years of age but under 12 years of age may operate an all-terrain vehicle with an engine capacity up to 90cc on public lands or waters if accompanied by a parent or legal guardian.
 - (g) A person under 15 years of age shall not operate a class 2 all-terrain vehicle.
- (h) A person under the age of 16 may not operate an all-terrain vehicle on public lands or waters or on state or grant-in-aid trails if the person cannot properly reach and control the handle bars and reach the foot pegs while sitting upright on the seat of the all-terrain vehicle.
 - (i) Notwithstanding paragraph (c), a nonresident at least 12 years old, but less than 16 years old, may make a direct crossing of a public road right-of-way of a trunk, county state-aid, or county highway or operate an all-terrain vehicle on public lands and waters or state or grant-in-aid trails if:
- (1) the nonresident youth has in possession evidence of completing an all-terrain safety course offered by the ATV Safety Institute or another state as provided in section 84.925, subdivision 3; and
- 3.31 (2) the nonresident youth is accompanied by a person 18 years of age or older who holds 3.32 a valid driver's license.

Sec. 3. 3

02/28/17 11:20 AM	HOUSE RESEARCH	JT/JF	H1673A2
UZ/Z8/1 / 11.ZU AWI	HOUSE RESEARCH	$JI/J\Gamma$	$\Pi 10/3AZ$

(j) A person 12 years of age but less than 16 years of age may operate an all-terrain
vehicle on the roadway, bank, slope, or ditch of a public road right-of-way as permitted
under section 84.928 if the person:

- (1) possesses a valid all-terrain vehicle safety certificate issued by the commissioner; and
- 4.6 (2) is accompanied by a parent or legal guardian on a separate all-terrain vehicle."
- 4.7 Renumber the sections in sequence and correct the internal references
- 4.8 Amend the title accordingly

4.1

4.2

4.3

4.4

4.5

Sec. 3. 4