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          Fund Impact  

   F.Y. 2022 F.Y. 2023 F.Y. 2024 F.Y. 2025 

 (000’s) 

Wine Excise Tax $0 $140 $180 $220 

Small Winery Credit $0 (negl.) (negl.) (negl.) 

General Fund – Total $0 $140 $180 $220 

 

Effective for sales and purchases occurring on or after July 1, 2022. 

 

EXPLANATION OF THE BILL 

 

Current Law:  Wine is subject to the alcoholic beverage excise tax at various rates.  

 

An exemption from the excise tax on wine may be granted for certain shipments of wine under the 

following conditions: 1) the winery is licensed in their own state; 2) the wine will be used for 

personal use and not for resale; 3) no more than two cases of wine will be shipped in any calendar 

year, with a maximum of nine liters per case; and 4) the shipping container must be clearly labeled 

to indicate that the package cannot be delivered to a person under the age of 21 years. 

 

Qualified wineries are entitled to a credit equal to the excise tax due on wine or cider sold not to 

exceed the lesser of the tax liability or $136,275 in any fiscal year.  A qualified winery is defined as 

a winery, whether or not located in the state, manufacturing fewer than 75,000 gallons of wine and 

cider annually. 

 

Proposed Law: The bill would remove the exemption on wine shipped into the state for personal 

use and require wineries to collect and remit any wine excise tax, sales tax, and liquor gross receipts 

tax due on shipments into Minnesota. The limit on wine shipped into the state for personal use is 

increased from two cases to 12 cases, with a maximum of nine liters per case, in any calendar year. 

 

Out-of-state wineries who ship wine directly into Minnesota must be licensed in their own state, 

apply for a direct ship license from the Minnesota Department of Public Safety, and register with 

the Minnesota Department of Revenue to pay all taxes due on wine shipped to Minnesota.  

 

REVENUE ANALYSIS DETAIL 

 

• Data from Direct-to-Consumer Wine Shipping Reports were used to estimate wine shipments of 

130,000 cases directly to Minnesota residents in 2020.   

• The annual growth of wine shipped to Minnesota is assumed to be 20% for the forecast period.  

• It is assumed that direct wine shippers will claim the small winery credit at the same rate as 

currently claimed and that rate will remain constant over the forecast period.  
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REVENUE ANALYSIS DETAIL (Cont.) 

 

• It is assumed that direct wine shipments into Minnesota will increase but statewide wine 

consumption will not be impacted.  

• The fiscal year 2023 estimates are adjusted for eleven months of impact.  
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