STATE OF MINNESOTA FORTY-FOURTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy

MINUTES

Representative Rick Hansen, Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. March 8, 2022, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll

Members present:

HANSEN, Rick (Chair) WAZLAWIK, Ami (Vice Chair) HEINTZEMAN, Josh (Lead) ACOMB, Patty AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff BECKER-FINN, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter GREEN. Steve IGO, Spencer JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather LEE, Fue LIPPERT, Todd LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan

A quorum was present.

THEIS, Tama

Vice-Chair Wazlawik assumed the gavel at 1:02 P.M.

Representative Fischer moved that the minutes of March 3, 2022, be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Vice-Chair Wazlawik moved that HF 3787 (Koegel) be recommended to be re-referred to the Transportation Finance and Policy Committee.

Vice-Chair Wazlawik moved that the DE2 amendment be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Koegel presented HF 3787, as amended, Watercraft operator safety education and permitting required.

Testifying on HF 3787, as amended:

- Jill Sims, Great Lakes Policy and Engagement Manager, National Marine Manufacturers Association.
- Joe Shneider, Minnesota Coalition of Lake Associations (MNCOLA).
- Gabe Jabbour, Owner, Tonka Bay Marina.
- Adam Block, State Boating Law Administrator, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR).
- Cpt. Shane Magnuson, Hennepin County Sheriff's Office.
- Joel Carlson, Community of Minnesota Resorts.

Vice-Chair Wazlawik renewed her motion that HF 3787, as amended, be recommended to be rereferred to the Transportation Finance and Policy Committee.

Vice-Chair Wazlawik directed the clerk to take the roll on HF 3787, as amended.

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick

WAZLAWIK, Ami

HEINTZEMAN, Josh

ACOMB, Patty

AKLAND, Susan

BACKER, Jeff

BECKER-FINN, Jamie

ECKLUND, Rob

FISCHER, Peter

IGO, Spencer

JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

LEE, Fue

LIPPERT, Todd

LUECK, Dale

MORRISON, Kelly

NELSON, Nathan

THEIS, Tama

NAYS:

GREEN, Steve

There being 18 ayes and 1 nay, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Hansen assumed the gavel at 1:39 P.M.

Representative Becker-Finn moved that HF 3761 (Becker-Finn) be recommended to be rereferred to the Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Committee.

Representative Becker-Finn moved that the A1 amendment be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Becker-Finn presented HF 3761, as amended, Appropriating water authority enforcement modified.

Testifying on HF 3761, as amended:

- Katie Smith, Director of Ecological and Water Resources, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR).
- Craig Johnson, League of Minnesota Cities.
- Jake Wildman, President, Irrigators Association of Minnesota.

Representative Becker-Finn renewed her motion that HF 3761, as amended, be recommended to be re-referred to the Judiciary Finance and Civil Law Committee.

Chair Hansen directed the clerk to take the roll on HF 3761, as amended.

AYES:

HANSEN, Rick
WAZLAWIK, Ami
ACOMB, Patty
BECKER-FINN, Jamie
ECKLUND, Rob
FISCHER, Peter
JORDAN, Sydney
KEELER, Heather
LEE, Fue
LIPPERT, Todd

NAYS:

HEINTZEMAN, Josh AKLAND, Susan BACKER, Jeff GREEN, Steve IGO, Spencer LUECK, Dale NELSON, Nathan THEIS, Tama

MORRISON, Kelly

There being 11 ayes and 8 nays, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Vice-Chair Wazlawik assumed the gavel at 2:06 P.M.

Representative Hansen moved that HF 3765 (Hansen) be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill.

Representative Hansen presented HF 3765; Environment and natural resources trust fund appropriation extensions provided.

Testifying on HF 3765:

- Becca Nash, Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources

Representative Hansen renewed his motion that HF 3765 be laid over for possible inclusion in an omnibus bill. The bill was laid over.

Vice-Chair Wazlawik adjourned the meeting at 2:10 P.M.

Rick Hansen
Chair of Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy
Scotland Kraker Committee Legislative Assistant