TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY

MINUTES

Representative Murphy, member of the Transportation Finance and Policy Committee, called the meeting to order at 1:01 PM on March 17th, 2025, in Room 123 of the Capitol Building. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll:

Members present:

KOZNICK, Jon, Chair MYERS, Andrew, Vice- Chair ANDERSON, Patti BERG, Kaela FOGELMAN, Marj GREENE, Julie JONES, Katie JOY, Jim KRAFT, Larry MURPHY, Tom OLSON, Bjorn REHM, Lucy SENCER-MURA, Samantha SKRABA, Roger TABKE, Brad

Non-voting member present:

KOEGEL, Erin, Lead

Members excused:

Chair Koznick moved to approve the minutes of March 12th, 2025. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

HF566 (Skraba) Provisions for operating all-terrain vehicles on public roads modified.

Representative Murphy moved **HF566** be re-referred to the Committee on Elections Finance and Government Operations.

The following individuals testified:

Heidi Omerza, Mayor, City of Ely, MN Nick Wognum, Secretary, All Terrain Vehicles of Minnesota (ATV) Ken Johnson, Assistant State Traffic Engineer, Minnesota Department of Transportation

Representative Murphy renewed the motion that **HF566** be re-referred to the Committee on Elections Finance and Government Operations. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

HF340 (Stier) Crime of fleeing peace officer in motor vehicle modified to add heightened penalty for fleeing in culpably negligent manner, and crime of fleeing in motor vehicle and failing to obey certain traffic laws established.

Representative Murphy moved **HF340** be re-referred to the Committee on Judiciary Finance and Civil Law.

The following individuals testified:

Jay Henthorne, Chief, Richfield Police Department Shane Myre, President, Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association

Representative Murphy renewed the motion that **HF340** be re-referred to the Committee on Judiciary Finance and Civil Law. **THE MOTION PREVAILED**.

HF2066 (Wiener) Electric-assisted bicycle tax rebate repealed, appropriation cancelled, and money transferred.

Representative Murphy moved HF2066 be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

The following individuals testified:

Michael Wojcik, Executive Director, Bicycle Alliance of Minnesota Martha Njolomole, Economist, Center of the American Experiment

Representative Murphy renewed the motion that **HF2066** be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

Representative Skraba assumed the gavel at 1:42PM.

HF341 (Heintzeman) Penalties enhanced, and minimum fines established for repeat violations of driving without a valid license.

Representative Skraba moved HF341 be placed on the General Register.

Representative Skraba renewed the motion that **HF341** be placed on the General Register. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

HF2107 (West) Rental motor vehicle license plates established.

Representative Olson moved **HF2107** be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

Representative Olson presented HF2107.

The following individuals testified:

Sam Krueger, Lobbyist, Hill Capitol Strategies Steve Hari, Controller, Enterprise Rent-A-Car

Chair Koznick moved the **HF2107A1** Amendment. **THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED**.

Representative Skraba renewed the motion that **HF2107**, as amended, be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means. **THE MOTION PREVAILED**.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:56PM

IE MOTIC	<u>ON PREVAILED</u> .
PM.	
	Representative Jon Koznick, Chair
	Cyndy Wallin, Committee Legislative Assistant