STATE OF MINNESOTA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Environment and Natural Resources Finance Division

MINUTES

Representative Hansen, Chair of the Environment and Natural Resources Finance Division, called the meeting to order at 12:45 P.M. on April 21st, 2020, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcasted via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HANSEN, Rick, Chair CLAFLIN, Anne, Vice Chair FABIAN, Dan, GOP Lead BACKER, Jeff BECKER-FINN, Jamie ECKLUND, Rob FISCHER, Peter GREEN, Steve HEINTZEMAN, Josh LEE, Fue LUECK, Dale MORRISON, Kelly NELSON, Nathan PERSELL, John SANDELL, Steve SUNDIN, Mike THEIS, Tama WAGENIUS, Jean

Chair Hansen called the meeting to order at 12:45 P.M. A quorum was present.

Representative Becker-Finn moved to approve the minutes of March 12th, 2020 with amendment to correct a typo. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF4498 (Hansen) Environment and natural resources trust fund funding provided, previous appropriations modified, and money appropriated.

Chair Hansen moved that HF4498 be recommended to be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means.

Representative Heintzeman moved to adopt the A2 amendment. A roll-call was taken as required by House rule 10.01. The results were as follows:

A	Y	E	

NAY

HANSEN
CLAFLIN
BECKER-FINN
ECKLUND

LUECK NELSON, N. THEIS FISCHER LEE MORRISON PERSELL SANDELL SUNDIN WAGENIUS

On a vote of 7 AYES and 11 NAYS; THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL AND THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.

Chair Hansen moved to adopt the A3 amendment.

Testifying on the A3 amendment: Becca Nash, Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota Resources

Chair Hansen renewed the motion to adopt the A3 amendment. A roll-call was taken as required by House rule 10.01. The results were as follows:

AYE

NAY

HANSEN CLAFIN BECKER-FINN ECKLUND FISCHER LEE MORRISON PERSELL SANDELL SUNDIN WAGENIUS FABIAN BACKER GREEN HEINTZEMAN LUECK NELSON, N. THEIS

On a vote of 11 AYES and 7 NAYS; THE MOTION PREVAILED AND THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Ecklund moved to adopt the A4 amendment.

Testifying on the A4 amendment: Kaci Nowicki; Duluth Airport Authority Bob Meier; Department of Natural Resources

Representative Ecklund renewed the motion to adopt the A4 amendment. A roll-call was taken as required by House rule 10.01. The results were as follows:

AYE

NAY

HANSEN BACKER ECKLUND HEINTZEMAN LUECK NELSON, N. PERSELL SUNDIN	CLAFLIN FABIAN BECKER-FINN FISCHER GREEN LEE MORRISON SANDELL
THEIS	WAGENIUS

On a vote of 9 AYES and 9 NAYS; THE MOTION DID NOT PREVAIL AND THE AMENDMENT WAS NOT ADOPTED.

Chair Hansen renewed the motion that HF4498 as amended be recommended to be re-referred to the Committee on Ways and Means. A roll-call was taken as required by House rule 10.01. The results were as follows:

NAY

HANSEN CLAFIN BECKER-FINN ECKLUND FISCHER LEE MORRISON PERSELL SANDELL SUNDIN WAGENIUS FABIAN BACKER GREEN HEINTZEMAN LUECK NELSON, N. THEIS

On a vote of 11 AYES and 7 NAYS; THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:01 P.M.