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.................... moves to amend H.F. No. 4, the first engrossment, as follows:

Page 6, delete section 3

Page 23, after line 10, insert:
"Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0671, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Credit allowed. (a) An individual who is a resident of Minnesota is
allowed a credit against the tax imposed by this chapter equal to a percentage of earned
income. To receive a credit, a taxpayer must be eligible for a credit under section 32 of the

Internal Revenue Code-, except that:

(1) the earned income and adjusted gross income limitations of section 32 of the Internal

Revenue Code do not apply; and

(2) a taxpayer with no qualifying children who has attained the age of 21 but not attained

the age of 65 before the close of the taxable year and is otherwise eligible for a credit under

section 32 of the Internal Revenue Code may also receive a credit.

(b) For individuals with no qualifying children, the credit equals 238 three percent of
the first $6;380 $6,550 of earned income. The credit is reduced by 2:64 three percent of

earned income or adjusted gross income, whichever is greater, in excess of $8;:436 $12,100,

but in no case is the credit less than zero.

(c) For individuals with one qualifying child, the credit equals 9:35 12.71 percent of the
first $H5420 $8,420 of earned income. The credit is reduced by 6-02 5.2 percent of earned
income or adjusted gross income, whichever is greater, in excess of $24:499 $21,790, but

1n no case is the credit less than zero.

(d) For individuals with two or more qualifying children, the credit equals H- 14.94
percent of the first $18;240 $13,810 of earned income. The credit is reduced by +6-82 9.2

Sec. .... 1
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percent of earned income or adjusted gross income, whichever is greater, in excess of

$25:130 $25,850, but in no case is the credit less than zero.

(e) For a part-year resident, the credit must be allocated based on the percentage calculated

under section 290.06, subdivision 2c, paragraph (e).

(f) For a person who was a resident for the entire tax year and has earned income not
subject to tax under this chapter, including income excluded under section 290.0132,
subdivision 10, the credit must be allocated based on the ratio of federal adjusted gross
income reduced by the earned income not subject to tax under this chapter over federal
adjusted gross income. For purposes of this paragraph, the subtractions for military pay
under section 290.0132, subdivisions 11 and 12, are not considered "earned income not

subject to tax under this chapter."

For the purposes of this paragraph, the exclusion of combat pay under section 112 of
the Internal Revenue Code is not considered "earned income not subject to tax under this

chapter."

(g) For tax years beginning after Peeember31;2007-and-before December31;2010;
and-fortax-yearsbeginningafter December 31, 2017, the $8:430 $12,100 in paragraph (b),
the $245190 §21,790 in paragraph (c), and the $25;130 $25,850 in paragraph (d), after being
adjusted for inflation under subdivision 7, are each increased by $3,000 for married taxpayers
filing joint returns. For tax years beginning after December 31, 2008 2017, the commissioner
shall annually adjust the $3,000 by the percentage determined pursuant to the provisions of
section 1(f) of the Internal Revenue Code, except that in section 1(f)(3)(B), the word "2007"
shall be substituted for the word "1992." For 2609 2018, the commissioner shall then
determine the percent change from the 12 months ending on August 31, 2007, to the 12
months ending on August 31, 2008 2017, and in each subsequent year, from the 12 months
ending on August 31, 2007, to the 12 months ending on August 31 of the year preceding
the taxable year. The earned income thresholds as adjusted for inflation must be rounded
to the nearest $10. If the amount ends in $5, the amount is rounded up to the nearest $10.
The determination of the commissioner under this subdivision is not a rule under the

Administrative Procedure Act.

taxpayers{iling jointreturns-and-(2) For tax years beginning after December 31, 2043
2016, and before January 1, 2018, the $8;430 $12,100 in paragraph (b), the $24:190 $21,790

Sec. .... 2
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in paragraph (c), and the $25;430 $25,850 in paragraph (d), after being adjusted for inflation
under subdivision 7, are each increased by $5,000 for married taxpayers filing joint returns.
For tax years beginning after December 31, 2010,-and-before January 12042 -and fortax
years-beginning after December 31, 2043 2016, and before January 1, 2018, the commissioner
shall annually adjust the $5,000 by the percentage determined pursuant to the provisions of
section 1(f) of the Internal Revenue Code, except that in section 1(f)(3)(B), the word "2008"
shall be substituted for the word "1992." For 204+ 2017, the commissioner shall then
determine the percent change from the 12 months ending on August 31, 2008, to the 12
months ending on August 31, 20640 2016, and in each subsequent year, from the 12 months
ending on August 31, 2008, to the 12 months ending on August 31 of the year preceding
the taxable year. The earned income thresholds as adjusted for inflation must be rounded
to the nearest $10. If the amount ends in $5, the amount is rounded up to the nearest $10.
The determination of the commissioner under this subdivision is not a rule under the

Administrative Procedure Act.

(1) The commissioner shall construct tables showing the amount of the credit at various
income levels and make them available to taxpayers. The tables shall follow the schedule
contained in this subdivision, except that the commissioner may graduate the transition

between income brackets.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December
31, 2016.

Sec. .... Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 290.0671, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Inflation adjustment. The earned income amounts used to calculate the credit
and the income thresholds at which the maximum credit begins to be reduced in subdivision
1 must be adjusted for inflation. The commissioner shall adjust by the percentage determined
pursuant to the provisions of section 1(f) of the Internal Revenue Code, except that in section

1()(3)(B) the word “2643" "2016" shall be substituted for the word "1992." For 2645 2018,

the commissioner shall then determine the percent change from the 12 months ending on
August 31, 2613 2016, to the 12 months ending on August 31, 2044 2017, and in each
subsequent year, from the 12 months ending on August 31, 2643 2016, to the 12 months
ending on August 31 of the year preceding the taxable year. The earned income thresholds
as adjusted for inflation must be rounded to the nearest $10 amount. If the amount ends in
$5, the amount is rounded up to the nearest $10 amount. The determination of the

commissioner under this subdivision is not a rule under the Administrative Procedure Act.

Sec. .... 3
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective for taxable years beginning after December

31,2017."

Page 47, delete section 40 and insert:
"Sec. ... Minnesota Statutes 2016, section 291.03, subdivision 11, is amended to read:

Subd. 11. Recapture tax. (a) If, within three years after the decedent's death and before
the death of the qualified heir, the qualified heir disposes of any interest in the qualified
property, other than by a disposition to a family member, or a family member ceases to
satisfy the requirement under subdivision 9, clause (7); or 10, clause (5), an additional estate
tax 1s imposed on the property. In the case of a sole proprietor, if the qualified heir replaces
qualified small business property excluded under subdivision 9 with similar property, then

the qualified heir will not be treated as having disposed of an interest in the qualified property.

(b) The amount of the additional tax equals the amount of the exclusion claimed by the

estate under subdivision 8, paragraph (d), multiplied by 16 percent.

(c) The additional tax under this subdivision is due on the day which is six months after

the date of the disposition or cessation in paragraph (a).

(d) The tax under this subdivision does not apply to the following: acquisition of title

or possession of the qualified property by a federal, state, or local government unit, or any

other entity with the power of eminent domain for a public purpose, as defined in section

117.025, subdivision 11, within the three-year holding period.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively for estates of decedents

dying after June 30, 2011."

Page 48, delete section 41
Page 58, delete section 50
Page 58, delete lines 28 to 30
Page 58, line 31, delete "(b)"

Page 59, line 1, delete "Paragraph (a) is effective retroactively for estates of decedents"

Page 59, delete line 2 and insert "This section is effective for taxable years beginning

after"

Renumber the sections in sequence and correct internal references

Amend the title accordingly

Sec. ... 4



