FORTY-SECOND MEETING – Government Operations

2019-2020 Regular Session

STATE OF MINNESOTA FORTY-SECOND MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-FIRST SESSION

GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Mike Freiberg Chair of the Committee, called the virtual Government Operations Committee meeting to order at 9:45am on May 5th, 2020, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting is being broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

FREIBERG, Mike - Chair

SAUKE, Duane -Vice Chair

QUAM, Duane

BAHNER, Kristin

ELKINS, Steve

GOMEZ, Aisha

HEINRICH, John

KOEGEL, Erin

LEE, Fue

LILLIE, Leon

MASIN, Sandra

NASH, Jim

NELSON, Michael

THEIS, Tama

VOGEL, Bob

WEST, Nolan

Absent, excused:

LAYMAN, Sandy

A quorum was present.

Representative Freiberg moved the minutes from May 1st, 2020. MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Freiberg moved HF4257 be referred to the General Register.

Representative Freiberg moved HF4257A1 (Moller). MOTION PREVAILED.

HF4257 (Moller) Teacher license renewal requirements amended to include mental illness training, and rulemaking required.

Representative Kelly Moller presented the bill.

Representative Freiberg renewed the motion to refer HF4257 to the General Register.

AYES

FREIBERG, Mike

SAUKE, Duane

QUAM, Duane

BAHNER, Kristin

ELKINS, Steve

GOMEZ, Aisha

HEINRICH, John

KOEGEL, Erin

LEE, Fue

LILLIE, Leon

NASH, Jim

NELSON, Michael

THEIS, Tama

VOGEL, Bob

WEST, Nolan

MOTION PREVAILED. HF4257 was referred to the General Register.

Representative Bahner moved HF4527 be referred to the General Register.

HF4527 (Bahner) MN.IT office renamed to Department of Information Technology Services.

Representative Kristin Bahner presented the bill.

Representative Bahner moved A20-0755 (Bahner) 16E. MOTION PREVAILED.

The following testified on HF4527:

Rick King, Chair, Governor's Blue Ribbon Council on Information Technology Jon Eichten, Deputy Commissioner, Minnesota IT Services

Representative Bahner renewed the motion to refer HF4527 as amended to the General Register

There was a roll call:

THEIS, Tama VOGEL, Bob WEST, Nolan

AYES
FREIBERG, Mike – Chair
SAUKE, Duane –Vice Chair
QUAM, Duane
BAHNER, Kristin
ELKINS, Steve
GOMEZ, Aisha
HEINRICH, John
KOEGEL, Erin
LEE, Fue
LILLIE, Leon
NASH, Jim
NELSON, Michael

THE MOTION PREVAILED. HF4527 was referred to the General Register.

Representative Bahner moved HF4536 be referred to the State Government Finance Committee.

Representative Bahner moved A20-0762 (Bahner). MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 4536 (Bahner) - Legislative Commission on Cybersecurity established and legislative appointments provided.

Representative Kristin Bahner presented the bill.

The following testified on HF4536:

Rick King, Chair, Governor's Blue Ribbon Council on Information Technology

Representative Freiberg renewed the motion to refer HF4536 to the State Government Finance Committee.

AYES
FREIBERG, Mike
SAUKE, Duane
QUAM, Duane
BAHNER, Kristin
ELKINS, Steve
GOMEZ, Aisha
HEINRICH, John
KOEGEL, Erin
LEE, Fue
LILLIE, Leon
NASH, Jim

NELSON, Michael

THEIS, Tama VOGEL, Bob WEST, Nolan

MOTION PREVAILED. HF4536 was referred to the State Government Finance Committee.

Representative Freiberg moved HF4605 be referred to the General Register.

Representative Freiberg moved HF4605A1. MOTION PREVAILED.

HF4605 (Freiberg) Counties, cities, and townships authorized to accept documents and signatures electronically, by mail, or fascimile.

Representative Mike Freiberg presented the bill.

The following testified on HF4605: Matt Hilgart, Minnesota Counties Bruce Messelt, Sherburned County Administrator Marivel Ansera, Sr. Interior Designer, CID, IIDA Catherine Harrington, ASID, CID

Representative Freiberg renewed the motion to refer HF4605 to the General Register.

AYES FREIBERG, Mike - Chair SAUKE, Duane -Vice Chair QUAM, Duane BAHNER, Kristin ELKINS, Steve GOMEZ, Aisha HEINRICH, John KOEGEL, Erin LEE, Fue LILLIE, Leon MASIN, Sandra NASH, Jim NELSON, Michael THEIS, Tama VOGEL, Bob

WEST, Nolan

MOTION PREVAILED. HF4605 was referred to the General Register.

Meeting was adjourned at 10:45am.	
CHAIR, Mike Freiberg	Lindy Sowmick, Committee Legislative Assistant