Energy Finance and Policy Committee

MINUTES

Representative Swedzinski, Chair of the Energy Finance and Policy Committee, began the meeting at 1:00 PM, on February 27, 2025, in Room 123 of the Capitol Building. A quorum was not present.

Chair Swedzinski called the meeting to order at 1:01 PM. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

SWEDZINSKI, Chris, Chair MURPHY, Tom, Vice Chair ACOMB, Patty, Lead ANDERSON, Paul BAKER, Dave CARROLL, Ned FRAZIER, Cedrick HOLLINS, Athena IGO, Spencer JONES, Katie KRAFT, Larry MAHAMOUD, Anquam MEKELAND, Shane SEXTON, Thomas WIENER, Mike

Non-voting member present:

TABKE, Brad

Representative Murphy moved the minutes of February 25, 2025, be approved. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

HF1040 (Scott) Wind and solar infrastructure product stewardship program required, retail sales fee provided for wind and solar infrastructure, wind and solar energy infrastructure moratorium established in landfills, report required, and money appropriated.

Chair Swedzinski moved HF1040 be re-referred to the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee.

Chair Swedzinski moved an oral amendment to HF 1040:

Page 4, line 5, delete "5" and insert "4" THE ORAL AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Chair Swedzinski moved an oral amendment to HF 1040:

Page 5, line 31, delete "5" and insert "4" THE ORAL AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Testifiers:

Kirk Koudelka, Minnesota Pollution Control Agency Madelyn Smerillo, American Clean Power Association James Lehner, Conservation Minnesota Adam Sokolski, EDF Renewables George Damian, Clean Energy Economy MN David Moberg, MnSEIA Nicholas Cain, SOLARCYCLE Chair Swedzinski renewed the motion that HF1040, as amended, be re-referred to the Environment and Natural Resources Finance and Policy Committee. **THE MOTION PREVAILED.**

The meeting was adjourned at 2:00 PM.	
	Representative Chris Swedzinski, Chair
	Sharon Goblisch, Committee Legislative Assistant