

February 22, 2022

Commissioner Margaret Anderson Kelliher Minnesota Department of Transportation 395 John Ireland Blvd. St. Paul, MN 55155

Sent via email to: MnDOT_Commissioner@state.mn.us

Dear Commissioner Anderson Kelliher:

The undersigned presidents of private nonprofit colleges and universities in Minnesota respectfully urge your support for implementation of the 2015 (Draft) Minnesota Statewide Rail Plan.

State implementation of the combined statewide network would reintroduce regional passenger rail service to all private colleges in the MPCC, provide a safe and affordable regional public transit connection between our campuses and the largest urban centers of our State and Upper Midwest Region, and open the way for improved inter-state passenger rail connections to the National Passenger Rail (Amtrak) network. Train service on the network envisioned in the Statewide Rail Plan would expand affordable transportation options for students and thereby expand the range of higher education options open to them. With a development process that addresses environmental concerns, we strongly urge the state to take the steps necessary to make the plan a reality.

Congress has now appropriated \$67 billion for regional passenger rail development through the Infrastructure Investment and Jobs Act (IIJA). Your leadership now in championing Minnesota's Rail Plan will position our state to compete successfully for the federal funds now available for its implementation. Minnesota's Rail Plan exactly aligns with all three prioritized funding selection criteria identified by the Biden Administration for IIJA funds: equity, economic development, and environment/climate action. Implementation of it would widen access to Minnesota's private and public post-secondary institutions (equity), re-connect regions that are currently unserved by regional transit options (equity and economic development), and shift regional travel demand from roads to rails (climate action).

We would be most grateful for your support.

Sincerely,

Rebecca Bergman

Lebeum By

Chair, Minnesota Private College Council President, Gustavus Adolphus College Paul Cerkvenik President

Minnesota Private College Council

Law Cuprient

Paul Pribbenow
Augsburg University

Ross Allen Bethel University

Barbara McDonald
The College of St. Scholastica

/ muzuru

Brian Friedrich
Concordia University

Fayneese Miller Hamline University

Sanjit Sethi

Minneapolis College of Art and Design

James Mullen

Saint John's University

David R. Anderson

David R. Anderson St. Olaf College

cc:

Leve Régisser

Gene Pfeifer

Bethany Lutheran College

Alison Byenly

Alison Byerly Carleton College

William J. Craft Concordia College

Laurie Hamen

College of Saint Benedict

Sugarre M. Rivera

ReBucca Koerig Roloff

Suzanne M. Rivera Macalester College

ReBecca Koenig Roloff

St. Catherine University

James Burns, IVD

Saint Mary's University of Minnesota

James P. Burns IVO

Nancy Daubenberger, Deputy Commissioner and Chief Engineer Katie Hatt, Rail Director