
1.22 ARTICLE 1​

1.23 DATA PRIVACY​

1.23 ARTICLE 1​

1.24 CIVIL LAW, PROPERTY, AND BOARD MEMBERSHIP​

24.20 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169A.63, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​1.25 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 169A.63, subdivision 8, is amended to read:​

24.21 Subd. 8. Administrative forfeiture procedure. (a) A motor vehicle used to commit a​
24.22 designated offense or used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation is subject​
24.23 to administrative forfeiture under this subdivision.​

1.26 Subd. 8. Administrative forfeiture procedure. (a) A motor vehicle used to commit a​
1.27 designated offense or used in conduct resulting in a designated license revocation is subject​
1.28 to administrative forfeiture under this subdivision.​

24.24 (b) Within 60 days from when a motor vehicle is seized under subdivision 2, or within​
24.25 a reasonable time after seizure, the appropriate agency shall serve the driver or operator of​

2.1 (b) Within 60 days from when a motor vehicle is seized under subdivision 2, or within​
2.2 a reasonable time after seizure, the appropriate agency shall serve the driver or operator of​

24.26 the vehicle with a notice of the seizure and intent to forfeit the vehicle. Additionally, when​2.3 the vehicle with a notice of the seizure and intent to forfeit the vehicle. Additionally, when​
24.27 a motor vehicle is seized under subdivision 2, or within a reasonable time after that, all​2.4 a motor vehicle is seized under subdivision 2, or within a reasonable time after that, all​
24.28 persons known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest in the vehicle must​2.5 persons known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest in the vehicle must​
24.29 be notified of the seizure and the intent to forfeit the vehicle. For those vehicles required to​2.6 be notified of the seizure and the intent to forfeit the vehicle. For those vehicles required to​
24.30 be registered under chapter 168, the notification to a person known to have a security interest​2.7 be registered under chapter 168, the notification to a person known to have a security interest​
24.31 in the vehicle is required only if the vehicle is registered under chapter 168 and the interest​2.8 in the vehicle is required only if the vehicle is registered under chapter 168 and the interest​
24.32 is listed on the vehicle's title. Upon motion by the appropriate agency or prosecuting​2.9 is listed on the vehicle's title. Upon motion by the appropriate agency or prosecuting​
25.1 authority, a court may extend the time period for sending notice for a period not to exceed​2.10 authority, a court may extend the time period for sending notice for a period not to exceed​
25.2 90 days for good cause shown. Notice mailed by certified mail to the address shown in​2.11 90 days for good cause shown. Notice mailed by certified mail to the address shown in​
25.3 Department of Public Safety records is sufficient notice to the registered owner of the​2.12 Department of Public Safety records is sufficient notice to the registered owner of the​
25.4 vehicle. For motor vehicles not required to be registered under chapter 168, notice mailed​2.13 vehicle. For motor vehicles not required to be registered under chapter 168, notice mailed​
25.5 by certified mail to the address shown in the applicable filing or registration for the vehicle​2.14 by certified mail to the address shown in the applicable filing or registration for the vehicle​
25.6 is sufficient notice to a person known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest​2.15 is sufficient notice to a person known to have an ownership, possessory, or security interest​
25.7 in the vehicle. Otherwise, notice may be given in the manner provided by law for service​
25.8 of a summons in a civil action.​

2.16 in the vehicle. Otherwise, notice may be given in the manner provided by law for service​
2.17 of a summons in a civil action.​

25.9 (c) The notice must be in writing and contain:​2.18 (c) The notice must be in writing and contain:​

25.10 (1) a description of the vehicle seized;​2.19 (1) a description of the vehicle seized;​

25.11 (2) the date of seizure; and​2.20 (2) the date of seizure; and​

25.12 (3) notice of the right to obtain judicial review of the forfeiture and of the procedure for​
25.13 obtaining that judicial review, printed in English. This requirement does not preclude the​
25.14 appropriate agency from printing the notice in other languages in addition to English.​

2.21 (3) notice of the right to obtain judicial review of the forfeiture and of the procedure for​
2.22 obtaining that judicial review, printed in English. This requirement does not preclude the​
2.23 appropriate agency from printing the notice in other languages in addition to English.​

25.15 Substantially the following language must appear conspicuously in the notice:​2.24 Substantially the following language must appear conspicuously in the notice:​

25.16 "WARNING: If you were the person arrested when the property was seized, you will​
25.17 automatically lose the above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do​

2.25 "WARNING: If you were the person arrested when the property was seized, you will​
2.26 automatically lose the above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do​

25.18 not file a lawsuit and serve the prosecuting authority within 60 days. You may file your​2.27 not file a lawsuit and serve the prosecuting authority within 60 days. You may file your​
25.19 lawsuit in conciliation court if the property is worth $15,000 or less; otherwise, you must​
25.20 file in district court. You do not have to pay a filing fee for your lawsuit.​

2.28 lawsuit in conciliation court if the property is worth $15,000 or less; otherwise, you must​
2.29 file in district court. You do not have to pay a filing fee for your lawsuit.​

25.21 WARNING: If you have an ownership interest in the above-described property and were​
25.22 not the person arrested when the property was seized, you will automatically lose the​

2.30 WARNING: If you have an ownership interest in the above-described property and were​
2.31 not the person arrested when the property was seized, you will automatically lose the​
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2.32 above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do not notify the​
2.33 prosecuting authority of your interest in writing within 60 days."​

25.23 above-described property and the right to be heard in court if you do not notify the​
25.24 prosecuting authority of your interest in writing within 60 days."​

25.25 (d) If notice is not sent in accordance with paragraph (b), and no time extension is granted​
25.26 or the extension period has expired, the appropriate agency shall return the vehicle to the​

3.1 (d) If notice is not sent in accordance with paragraph (b), and no time extension is granted​
3.2 or the extension period has expired, the appropriate agency shall return the vehicle to the​

25.27 owner. An agency's return of property due to lack of proper notice does not restrict the​
25.28 agency's authority to commence a forfeiture proceeding at a later time.​

3.3 owner. An agency's return of property due to lack of proper notice does not restrict the​
3.4 agency's authority to commence a forfeiture proceeding at a later time.​

25.29 (e) Within 60 days following service of a notice of seizure and forfeiture under this​
25.30 subdivision, a claimant may file a demand for a judicial determination of the forfeiture. The​

3.5 (e) Within 60 days following service of a notice of seizure and forfeiture under this​
3.6 subdivision, a claimant may file a demand for a judicial determination of the forfeiture. The​

25.31 demand must be in the form of a civil complaint and must be filed with the court​3.7 demand must be in the form of a civil complaint and must be filed with the court​
25.32 administrator in the county in which the seizure occurred, together with proof of service of​3.8 administrator in the county in which the seizure occurred, together with proof of service of​
25.33 a copy of the complaint on the prosecuting authority having jurisdiction over the forfeiture.​3.9 a copy of the complaint on the prosecuting authority having jurisdiction over the forfeiture.​
26.1 The claimant may serve the complaint by certified mail or any means permitted by court​3.10 The claimant may serve the complaint by certified mail or any means permitted by court​
26.2 rules. If the value of the seized property is $15,000 or less, the claimant may file an action​3.11 rules. If the value of the seized property is $15,000 or less, the claimant may file an action​
26.3 in conciliation court for recovery of the seized vehicle. A copy of the conciliation court​3.12 in conciliation court for recovery of the seized vehicle. A copy of the conciliation court​
26.4 statement of claim must may be served personally or by mail as permitted by the Rules of​3.13 statement of claim must may be served personally or by mail as permitted by the Rules of​
26.5 Conciliation Court Procedure on the prosecuting authority having jurisdiction over the​3.14 Conciliation Court Procedure on the prosecuting authority having jurisdiction over the​
26.6 forfeiture within 60 days following service of the notice of seizure and forfeiture under this​
26.7 subdivision. The claimant does not have to pay the court filing fee.​

3.15 forfeiture within 60 days following service of the notice of seizure and forfeiture under this​
3.16 subdivision. The claimant does not have to pay the court filing fee.​

26.8 No responsive pleading is required of the prosecuting authority and no court fees may​
26.9 be charged for the prosecuting authority's appearance in the matter. The prosecuting authority​

3.17 No responsive pleading is required of the prosecuting authority and no court fees may​
3.18 be charged for the prosecuting authority's appearance in the matter. The prosecuting authority​

26.10 may appear for the appropriate agency. Pleadings, filings, and methods of service are​3.19 may appear for the appropriate agency. Pleadings, filings, and methods of service are​
26.11 governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure and, where applicable, by the Rules of Conciliation​
26.12 Court Procedure.​

3.20 governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure and, where applicable, by the Rules of Conciliation​
3.21 Court Procedure.​

26.13 (f) The complaint must be captioned in the name of the claimant as plaintiff and the​
26.14 seized vehicle as defendant, and must state with specificity the grounds on which the claimant​

3.22 (f) The complaint must be captioned in the name of the claimant as plaintiff and the​
3.23 seized vehicle as defendant, and must state with specificity the grounds on which the claimant​

26.15 alleges the vehicle was improperly seized, the claimant's interest in the vehicle seized, and​3.24 alleges the vehicle was improperly seized, the claimant's interest in the vehicle seized, and​
26.16 any affirmative defenses the claimant may have. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary,​3.25 any affirmative defenses the claimant may have. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary,​
26.17 an action for the return of a vehicle seized under this section may not be maintained by or​3.26 an action for the return of a vehicle seized under this section may not be maintained by or​
26.18 on behalf of any person who has been served with a notice of seizure and forfeiture unless​
26.19 the person has complied with this subdivision.​

3.27 on behalf of any person who has been served with a notice of seizure and forfeiture unless​
3.28 the person has complied with this subdivision.​

26.20 (g) If the claimant makes a timely demand for a judicial determination under this​
26.21 subdivision, the forfeiture proceedings must be conducted as provided under subdivision​
26.22 9.​

3.29 (g) If the claimant makes a timely demand for a judicial determination under this​
3.30 subdivision, the forfeiture proceedings must be conducted as provided under subdivision​
3.31 9.​

26.23 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​3.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

29.14 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.11, is amended to read:​

29.15 259.11 ORDER; FILING COPIES.​

4.1 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.11, is amended to read:​

4.2 259.11 ORDER; FILING COPIES.​

29.16 (a) Upon meeting the requirements of section 259.10, the court shall grant the application​
29.17 unless: (1) it finds that there is an intent to defraud or mislead; (2) section 259.13 prohibits​

4.3 (a) Upon meeting the requirements of section 259.10, the court shall grant the application​
4.4 unless: (1) it finds that there is an intent to defraud or mislead; (2) section 259.13 prohibits​
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4.5 granting the name change; or (3) in the case of the change of a minor child's name, the court​
4.6 finds that such name change is not in the best interests of the child. The court shall set forth​

29.18 granting the name change; or (3) in the case of the change of a minor child's name, the court​
29.19 finds that such name change is not in the best interests of the child. The court shall set forth​

4.7 in the order the name and age of the applicant's spouse and each child of the applicant, if​ 29.20 in the order the name and age of the applicant's spouse and each child of the applicant, if​
4.8 any, and shall state a description of the lands, if any, in which the applicant and the spouse​ 29.21 any, and shall state a description of the lands, if any, in which the applicant and the spouse​
4.9 and children, if any, claim to have an interest. The court administrator shall file such order,​ 29.22 and children, if any, claim to have an interest. The court administrator shall file such order,​
4.10 and record the same in the judgment book. If lands be described therein, a certified copy of​ 29.23 and record the same in the judgment book. If lands be described therein, a certified copy of​
4.11 the order shall be filed for record, by the applicant, with the county recorder of each county​ 29.24 the order shall be filed for record, by the applicant, with the county recorder of each county​
4.12 wherein any of the same are situated. Before doing so the court administrator shall present​ 29.25 wherein any of the same are situated. Before doing so the court administrator shall present​
4.13 the same to the county auditor who shall enter the change of name in the auditor's official​ 29.26 the same to the county auditor who shall enter the change of name in the auditor's official​
4.14 records and note upon the instrument, over an official signature, the words "change of name​ 29.27 records and note upon the instrument, over an official signature, the words "change of name​
4.15 recorded." Any such order shall not be filed, nor any certified copy thereof be issued, until​ 29.28 recorded." Any such order shall not be filed, nor any certified copy thereof be issued, until​
4.16 the applicant shall have paid to the county recorder and court administrator the fee required​
4.17 by law. No application shall be denied on the basis of the marital status of the applicant.​

29.29 the applicant shall have paid to the county recorder and court administrator the fee required​
29.30 by law. No application shall be denied on the basis of the marital status of the applicant.​

30.1 (b) When a person applies for a name change, the court shall determine whether the​
30.2 person has a criminal history in this or any other state. The court may conduct a search of​

4.18 (b) When a person applies for a name change, the court shall determine whether the​
4.19 person has a criminal history in this or any other state. The court may conduct a search of​

30.3 national records through the Federal Bureau of Investigation by submitting a set of​4.20 national records through the Federal Bureau of Investigation by submitting a set of​
30.4 fingerprints and the appropriate fee to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. If it is​4.21 fingerprints and the appropriate fee to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. If it is​
30.5 determined that the person has a criminal history in this or any other state, the court shall,​4.22 determined that the person has a criminal history in this or any other state, the court shall,​
30.6 within ten days after the name change application is granted, report the name change to the​4.23 within ten days after the name change application is granted, report the name change to the​
30.7 Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. The person whose name is changed shall also report the​4.24 Bureau of Criminal Apprehension. The person whose name is changed shall also report the​
30.8 change to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension within ten days. The court granting the​4.25 change to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension within ten days. The court granting the​
30.9 name change application must explain this reporting duty in its order. Any person required​4.26 name change application must explain this reporting duty in its order. Any person required​
30.10 to report the person's name change to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension who fails to​
30.11 report the name change as required under this paragraph is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.​

4.27 to report the person's name change to the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension who fails to​
4.28 report the name change as required under this paragraph is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.​

30.12 (c) Paragraph (b) does not apply to either:​4.29 (c) Paragraph (b) does not apply to either:​

30.13 (1) a request for a name change as part of an application for a marriage license under​
30.14 section 517.08; or​

4.30 (1) a request for a name change as part of an application for a marriage license under​
4.31 section 517.08; or​

30.15 (2) a request for a name change in conjunction with a marriage dissolution under section​
30.16 518.27; or​

4.32 (2) a request for a name change in conjunction with a marriage dissolution under section​
4.33 518.27; or​

30.17 (3) a request for a name change filed under section 259.14.​4.34 (3) a request for a name change filed under section 259.14.​

30.18 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​5.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

30.19 Subdivision 1. Procedure for seeking name change. (a) A person with a felony​
30.20 conviction under Minnesota law or the law of another state or federal jurisdiction shall serve​

5.2 Subdivision 1. Procedure for seeking name change. (a) A person with a felony​
5.3 conviction under Minnesota law or the law of another state or federal jurisdiction shall serve​

30.21 a notice of application for a name change on the prosecuting authority that obtained the​5.4 a notice of application for a name change on the prosecuting authority that obtained the​
30.22 conviction against the person when seeking a name change through one of the following​
30.23 procedures:​

5.5 conviction against the person when seeking a name change through one of the following​
5.6 procedures:​

30.24 (1) an application for a name change under section 259.10;​5.7 (1) an application for a name change under section 259.10; or​
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30.25 (2) a request for a name change as part of an application for a marriage license under​
30.26 section 517.08; or​

5.8 (2) a request for a name change as part of an application for a marriage license under​
5.9 section 517.08; or​

30.27 (3) (2) a request for a name change in conjunction with a marriage dissolution under​
30.28 section 518.27.; or​

5.10 (3) (2) a request for a name change in conjunction with a marriage dissolution under​
5.11 section 518.27.​

30.29 (3) a request for a name change under section 259.14.​

30.30 If the conviction is from another state or federal jurisdiction, notice of application must also​
30.31 be served on the attorney general.​

5.12 If the conviction is from another state or federal jurisdiction, notice of application must also​
5.13 be served on the attorney general.​

31.1 (b) A person who seeks a name change under section 259.10 or 518.27 shall file proof​
31.2 of service with the court as part of the name change request. A person who seeks a name​

5.14 (b) A person who seeks a name change under section 259.10 or 518.27 shall file proof​
5.15 of service with the court as part of the name change request. A person who seeks a name​

31.3 change under section 517.08 shall file proof of service with the county as part of the​
31.4 application for a marriage license.​

5.16 change under section 517.08 shall file proof of service with the county as part of the​
5.17 application for a marriage license.​

31.5 (c) The name change request may not be granted during the 30-day period provided for​
31.6 in subdivision 2 or, if an objection is filed under subdivision 2, until satisfaction of the​

5.18 (c) The name change request may not be granted during the 30-day period provided for​
5.19 in subdivision 2 or, if an objection is filed under subdivision 2, until satisfaction of the​

31.7 requirements in subdivision 3 or 4. Nothing in this section shall delay the granting of a​
31.8 marriage license under section 517.08, which may be granted without the name change.​

5.20 requirements in subdivision 3 or 4. Nothing in this section shall delay the granting of a​
5.21 marriage license under section 517.08, which may be granted without the name change.​

2.8 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.72, subdivision 19, is amended to read:​

2.9 Subd. 19. Transit customer data. (a) The following data on applicants, users, and​
2.10 customers of public transit are private data on individuals: (1) data collected by or through​
2.11 a government entity's personalized web services or the Metropolitan Council's regional fare​
2.12 collection system are private data on individuals; and (2) data collected by telephone or​
2.13 through a third-party software program for the purposes of booking and using public transit​
2.14 services. As used in this subdivision, the following terms have the meanings given them:​

2.15 (1) "regional fare collection system" means the fare collection system created and​
2.16 administered by the council that is used for collecting fares or providing fare cards or passes​
2.17 for transit services which includes:​

2.18 (i) regular route bus service within the metropolitan area and paratransit service, whether​
2.19 provided by the council or by other providers of regional transit service;​

2.20 (ii) light rail transit service within the metropolitan area;​

2.21 (iii) rideshare programs administered by the council;​

2.22 (iv) special transportation services provided under section 473.386; and​

2.23 (v) commuter rail service;​

2.24 (2) "personalized web services" means services for which transit service applicants,​
2.25 users, and customers must establish a user account; and​

2.26 (3) "metropolitan area" means the area defined in section 473.121, subdivision 2.; and​
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2.27 (4) "third-party software program" means a software program that is proprietary to a​
2.28 third party, including a third-party software program commonly known as a mobile app,​
2.29 that collects and uses a public transit customer's name and other personally identifiable​
2.30 information, pick-up and drop-off locations, and other trip data for the purposes of booking​
2.31 and using public transit services.​

3.1 (b) A government entity may disseminate data on user and customer transaction history​
3.2 and fare card use to government entities, organizations, school districts, educational​
3.3 institutions, and employers that subsidize or provide fare cards to their clients, students, or​
3.4 employees. "Data on user and customer transaction history and fare card use" means:​

3.5 (1) the date a fare card was used;​

3.6 (2) the time a fare card was used;​

3.7 (3) the mode of travel;​

3.8 (4) the type of fare product used; and​

3.9 (5) information about the date, time, and type of fare product purchased.​

3.10 Government entities, organizations, school districts, educational institutions, and employers​
3.11 may use customer transaction history and fare card use data only for purposes of measuring​
3.12 and promoting fare card use and evaluating the cost-effectiveness of their fare card programs.​
3.13 If a user or customer requests in writing that the council limit the disclosure of transaction​
3.14 history and fare card use, the council may disclose only the card balance and the date a card​
3.15 was last used.​

3.16 (c) A government entity may disseminate transit service applicant, user, and customer​
3.17 data to another government entity to prevent unlawful intrusion into government electronic​
3.18 systems, or as otherwise provided by law.​

3.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

3.20 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.72, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
3.21 read:​

3.22 Subd. 20. Transit assistance program data. (a) Data on applicants and users of​
3.23 Metropolitan Council programs established under section 473.387, subdivision 4, are​
3.24 classified as private data on individuals under section 13.02, subdivision 12.​

3.25 (b) The council may disclose transit assistance program data to public or private agencies​
3.26 or organizations for the purposes of administering and coordinating human services programs​
3.27 and other support services for the applicants or users.​

3.28 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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4.1 Sec. 4. [13.991] JUDICIAL OFFICIAL DATA; PERSONAL INFORMATION.​

4.2 Personal information of all judicial officials collected, created, or maintained by a​
4.3 government entity is private data on individuals. For purposes of this section, the terms​
4.4 "personal information" and "judicial official" have the meanings given in section 480.40,​
4.5 subdivision 1.​

6.16 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168B.07, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

6.17 Subd. 3. Retrieval of contents; right to reclaim. (a) For purposes of this subdivision:​

6.18 (1) "contents" does not include any permanently affixed mechanical or nonmechanical​
6.19 automobile parts; automobile body parts; or automobile accessories, including audio or​
6.20 video players; and​

6.21 (2) "relief based on need" includes, but is not limited to, receipt of MFIP and Diversionary​
6.22 Work Program, medical assistance, general assistance, emergency general assistance,​
6.23 Minnesota supplemental aid, MSA-emergency assistance, MinnesotaCare, Supplemental​
6.24 Security Income, energy assistance, emergency assistance, Supplemental Nutrition Assistance​
6.25 Program (SNAP) benefits, earned income tax credit, or Minnesota working family tax credit.​

6.26 (b) A unit of government or impound lot operator shall must establish reasonable​
6.27 procedures for retrieval of vehicle contents, and may establish reasonable procedures to​
6.28 protect the safety and security of the impound lot and its personnel.​

6.29 (c) At any time before the expiration of the waiting periods provided in section 168B.051,​
6.30 a registered owner of a vehicle who provides proof of identity that includes photographic​
6.31 identification and documentation from a government or nonprofit agency or legal aid office​
7.1 that the registered owner is homeless, receives relief based on need, or is eligible for legal​
7.2 aid services, has the unencumbered right to retrieve any and all contents without charge and​
7.3 regardless of whether the registered owner pays incurred charges or fees, transfers title, or​
7.4 reclaims the vehicle. A refusal by the impound lot operator to allow the registered owner​
7.5 to retrieve the vehicle contents after the owner provides valid documentation is a violation​
7.6 of this paragraph.​

7.7 (d) An impound lot operator may make copies of the documents presented by the​
7.8 registered owner under paragraph (c), and the impound lot operator must return all of the​
7.9 original documents to the registered owner immediately after copying them.​

7.10 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
7.11 read:​

7.12 Subd. 3a. Retrieval of contents; identification, medicine, and medical equipment. An​
7.13 impound lot operator must allow any registered vehicle owner to retrieve, or must retrieve​
7.14 for the vehicle owner, the following from the impounded vehicle: proof of identification;​
7.15 prescription medicine; and durable medical equipment, including but not limited to​
7.16 wheelchairs, prosthetics, canes, crutches, walkers, and external braces.​
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7.17 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
7.18 read:​

7.19 Subd. 3b. Retrieval of contents; notice of denial. (a) This subdivision applies to an​
7.20 impound lot operator (1) who operates a nonpublic impound lot, or (2) with which a unit​
7.21 of government exclusively contracts to operate an impound lot solely for public use under​
7.22 section 168B.09.​

7.23 (b) An impound lot operator who denies a request of a registered vehicle owner to retrieve​
7.24 vehicle contents after the registered owner presents documentation pursuant to subdivision​
7.25 3, paragraph (c), must, at the time of denial, provide the registered owner with a written​
7.26 statement that identifies the specific reasons for the denial.​

7.27 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
7.28 read:​

7.29 Subd. 3c. Retrieval of contents; public notice. (a) This subdivision applies to an​
7.30 impound lot operator (1) who operates a nonpublic impound lot, or (2) with which a unit​
7.31 of government exclusively contracts to operate an impound lot solely for public use under​
7.32 section 168B.09.​

8.1 (b) An impound lot operator must post a conspicuous notice at its place of operation in​
8.2 the following form:​

8.3 "If you receive government benefits, are currently homeless, or are eligible for legal aid​
8.4 services, you have the right to get the contents out of your car free of charge IF you provide:​

8.5 (1) a photo ID (such as a driver's license, passport, or employer ID); AND​

8.6 (2) documentation from a government or nonprofit agency or from a legal aid office that​
8.7 shows you get benefits from a government program based on your income, you are homeless,​
8.8 or you are eligible for legal aid services. Examples of this documentation include BUT ARE​
8.9 NOT LIMITED TO:​

8.10 - an EBT card;​

8.11 - a Medical Assistance or MinnesotaCare card;​

8.12 - a Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) card; and​

8.13 - a letter, email, or other document from a government agency, nonprofit organization,​
8.14 or legal aid organization showing that you get benefits from a government program based​
8.15 on your income, you are homeless, or you are eligible for legal aid services."​
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8.16 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 168B.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
8.17 read:​

8.18 Subd. 3d. Retrieval of contents; remedy. (a) This subdivision applies to an impound​
8.19 lot operator (1) who operates a nonpublic impound lot, or (2) with which a unit of government​
8.20 exclusively contracts to operate an impound lot solely for public use under section 168B.09.​

8.21 (b) If an impound lot operator denies the registered owner the right to retrieve the vehicle​
8.22 contents in violation of subdivision 3, paragraph (c), an aggrieved registered vehicle owner​
8.23 has a cause of action against the impound lot operator as provided in this subdivision.​

8.24 (c) If the vehicle and its contents remain in the possession of the impound lot operator​
8.25 and retrieval of the vehicle contents was denied in violation of subdivision 3, paragraph (c),​
8.26 an aggrieved registered vehicle owner is entitled to injunctive relief to retrieve the vehicle​
8.27 contents as well as reasonable attorney fees and costs.​

8.28 (d) If an impound lot operator sells or disposes of the vehicle contents after the registered​
8.29 owner has provided the documentation required under subdivision 3, paragraph (c), an​
8.30 aggrieved registered vehicle owner is entitled to statutory damages in an amount of $1,000​
8.31 and reasonable attorney fees and costs. An action brought pursuant to this paragraph must​
8.32 be brought within 12 months of when the vehicle was impounded.​

45.7 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.0597, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

45.8 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) As used in this section, the following terms shall have​
45.9 the meanings given them.​

45.10 (b) "Agency" means (1) a state board, commission, council, committee, authority, task​
45.11 force, including an advisory task force created under section 15.014 or 15.0593, a group​
45.12 created by executive order of the governor, or other similar multimember agency created​
45.13 by law and having statewide jurisdiction; and (2) the Metropolitan Council, metropolitan​
45.14 agency, Capitol Area Architectural and Planning Board, and any agency with a regional​
45.15 jurisdiction created in this state pursuant to an interstate compact.​

45.16 (c) "Vacancy" or "vacant agency position" means (1) a vacancy in an existing agency,​
45.17 or (2) a new, unfilled agency position. Vacancy includes a position that is to be filled through​
45.18 appointment of a nonlegislator by a legislator or group of legislators; Vacancy does not​
45.19 mean (1) a vacant position on an agency composed exclusively of persons employed by a​
45.20 political subdivision or another agency, or (2) a vacancy to be filled by a person required​
45.21 to have a specific title or position, (3) a vacancy that is to be filled through appointment of​
45.22 a legislator by a legislator or group of legislators, or (4) a position appointed by a private​
45.23 entity or individual, in the manner specified in the document creating the agency, unless​
45.24 otherwise provided.​

45.25 (d) "Secretary" means the secretary of state.​

45.26 (e) "Appointing authority" means the individual or entity with the specific authority to​
45.27 appoint open or direct appointment positions. This includes, but is not limited to, the​
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45.28 governor, state agency commissioners, indigenous Tribal leaders, designated legislative​
45.29 leaders and local agency heads, persons who have been specifically delegated the authority​
45.30 to make those appointments, or private entities or persons as designated by the document​
45.31 creating the agency. Appointments should be evidenced by a document signed by the​
46.1 appointing authority's most senior official. Appointments that do not specify an appointing​
46.2 authority shall be made in the manner provided in section 4.04.​

46.3 (f) "Direct appointments" means: (1) the appointment of members to an agency, pursuant​
46.4 to a process not subject to this section; and (2) those members of an agency appointed​
46.5 through a process not subject to this section. Direct appointments must be provided for​
46.6 specifically in the documents creating the agency, whether enabling law, executive order,​
46.7 commissioner's order, or otherwise.​

46.8 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.0597, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

46.9 Subd. 4. Notice of vacancies. The chair of an existing agency, shall notify the secretary​
46.10 by electronic means of a vacancy scheduled to occur in the agency as a result of the expiration​
46.11 of membership terms at least 45 days before the vacancy occurs. The chair of an existing​
46.12 agency shall give electronic notification to must notify the secretary of each vacancy​
46.13 occurring as a result of newly created agency positions and of every other vacancy occurring​
46.14 for any reason other than the expiration of membership terms as soon as possible upon​
46.15 learning of the vacancy and in any case within 15 days after the occurrence of the vacancy.​
46.16 The chair may submit vacancy notices by posting seat openings on the secretary of state's​
46.17 boards and commissions website.​

46.18 (b) If a vacancy is to be appointed by the governor, the chair must first notify the governor​
46.19 and receive permission to post the vacancy. Where a vacancy is created by resignation, the​
46.20 vacancy may not be posted until receipt and acceptance of the resignation of the incumbent​
46.21 as provided by section 351.01, subdivision 1, clause (2), is confirmed by the governor.​

46.22 (c) The appointing authority for newly created agencies shall give electronic notification​
46.23 to the secretary of all vacancies in the new agency within 15 days after the creation of the​
46.24 agency. The secretary may require the submission of notices required by this subdivision​
46.25 by electronic means.​

46.26 (d) The secretary shall publish monthly on the website of the secretary of state a list of​
46.27 all vacancies of which the secretary has been so notified. Only one notice of a vacancy shall​
46.28 be so published, unless the appointing authority rejects all applicants and requests the​
46.29 secretary to republish the notice of vacancy. One copy of the listing shall be made available​
46.30 at the office of the secretary to any interested person. The secretary shall distribute by mail​
46.31 or electronic means copies of the listings to requesting persons.​

47.1 (e) The listing for all vacancies scheduled to occur in the month of January shall be​
47.2 published on the website of the secretary of state together with the compilation of agency​
47.3 data required to be published pursuant to subdivision 3.​
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47.4 (f) If a vacancy occurs within three months after an appointment is made to fill a regularly​
47.5 scheduled vacancy, the appointing authority may, upon notification by electronic means to​
47.6 the secretary, fill the vacancy by appointment from the list of persons submitting applications​
47.7 to fill the regularly scheduled vacancy.​

47.8 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.0597, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

47.9 Subd. 5. Nominations for vacancies. Any person may make a self-nomination for​
47.10 appointment to an agency vacancy by completing an application on a form prepared and​
47.11 distributed by the secretary. The secretary may provide for the submission of the application​
47.12 by electronic means. Any person or group of persons may, on the prescribed application​
47.13 form, nominate another person to be appointed to a vacancy so long as the person so​
47.14 nominated consents on the application form to the nomination. The application form shall​
47.15 specify the nominee's name, mailing address, electronic mail address, telephone number,​
47.16 preferred agency position sought, a statement that the nominee satisfies any legally prescribed​
47.17 qualifications, a statement whether the applicant has ever been convicted of a felony, and​
47.18 any other information the nominating person feels would be helpful to the appointing​
47.19 authority. The nominating person has the option of indicating the nominee's sex, political​
47.20 party preference or lack thereof, status with regard to disability, race, veteran status, and​
47.21 national origin on the application form. The application form shall make the option known.​
47.22 If a person submits an application at the suggestion of an appointing authority, the person​
47.23 shall so indicate on the application form. Twenty-one days after publication of a vacancy​
47.24 on the website of the secretary of state pursuant to subdivision 4, the secretary shall submit​
47.25 electronic copies of all applications received for a position to the appointing authority​
47.26 charged with filling the vacancy. If no applications have been received by the secretary for​
47.27 the vacant position by the date when electronic copies must be submitted to the appointing​
47.28 authority, the secretary shall so inform the appointing authority. Applications received by​
47.29 the secretary shall be deemed to have expired one year after receipt of the application. An​
47.30 application for a particular agency position shall be deemed to be an application for all​
47.31 vacancies in that agency occurring prior to the expiration of the application and shall be​
47.32 public information.​

48.1 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.0597, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

48.2 Subd. 6. Appointments. (a) In making an appointment to a vacant agency position, the​
48.3 appointing authority shall consider applications for positions in that agency supplied by the​
48.4 secretary. No appointing authority may appoint someone to a vacant agency position until​
48.5 (1) ten five days after receipt of the applications for positions in that agency from the​
48.6 secretary or (2) receipt of notice from the secretary that no applications have been received​
48.7 for vacant positions in that agency as provided for in subdivision 5. At least five days before​
48.8 the date of appointment, the appointing authority shall issue a public announcement and​
48.9 inform the secretary by electronic means of the name of the person the appointing authority​
48.10 intends to appoint has appointed to fill the agency vacancy and the expiration date of that​
48.11 person's term.​
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48.12 (b) No person may serve in a position until the appointing authority has submitted either​
48.13 (1) a signed notice of appointment or (2) the documents required by paragraph (e) to the​
48.14 secretary of state, and the term of the appointee may not commence on a date preceding the​
48.15 date of the signature on the notice of appointment or the paragraph (e) submission.​

48.16 (c) An oath of office for each appointee to an agency must be submitted to the secretary​
48.17 of state under section 358.05.​

48.18 (d) If the appointing authority intends to appoint a person other than one for whom an​
48.19 application was submitted pursuant to this section, the appointing authority shall complete​
48.20 an application form on behalf of the appointee and submit it to the secretary indicating on​
48.21 the application that it is submitted by the appointing authority.​

48.22 (e) An appointing authority making a direct appointment must submit a letter to the​
48.23 secretary of state stating the name of the person appointed, the agency and the specific seat​
48.24 to which they are appointed, contact information, the date on which the term begins, and​
48.25 length of the term.​

48.26 (f) No person may simultaneously occupy more than one position on the same agency​
48.27 board. Appointment or designation of a member as chair of an agency does not constitute​
48.28 a violation of this paragraph.​

5.22 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 259.13, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

5.23 Subd. 5. Costs. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), a person seeking a name change​
5.24 under this section may proceed in forma pauperis only when the failure to allow the name​
5.25 change would infringe upon a constitutional right.​

5.26 (b) A court shall not require a person with a felony conviction to pay filing fees for a​
5.27 name change application provided that the person files the action within 180 days after the​
5.28 marriage and submits to the court a certified copy of the marriage certificate.​

31.9 Sec. 3. [259.14] POSTDISSOLUTION NAME CHANGE.​5.29 Sec. 5. [259.14] POSTDISSOLUTION NAME CHANGE.​

31.10 (a) Unless section 259.13 applies, a person who has resided in this state for at least six​
31.11 months and obtained the person's most recent final marriage dissolution from a district court​

5.30 (a) A person who has resided in this state for at least six months and obtained the person's​
5.31 most recent final marriage dissolution from a district court in this state may apply to the​

31.12 may apply to the district court in the county where the person resides to change the person's​6.1 district court in the county where the person resides to change the person's name to the legal​
31.13 name to the legal name on the person's birth certificate. A person applying for a name change​6.2 name on the person's birth certificate. A person applying for a name change must submit a​
31.14 must submit a certified copy of the certificate of dissolution issued pursuant to section​6.3 certified copy of the certificate of dissolution issued pursuant to section 518.148 and a​

6.4 certified copy of the person's birth certificate.​ 31.15 518.148 and a certified copy of the person's birth certificate. A person applying for a name​
31.16 change who obtained a divorce in a state other than Minnesota must submit a certified copy​
31.17 of the certificate of dissolution or a certified copy of an equivalent court order ending the​
31.18 marriage and a certified copy of the person's birth certificate.​

31.19 (b) A court shall not require a person applying for a name change to pay filing fees for​
31.20 an application submitted pursuant to this section. Notwithstanding section 259.10, a court​

6.5 (b) A court shall not require a person applying for a name change to pay filing fees for​
6.6 an application submitted pursuant to this section. Notwithstanding section 259.10, a court​

31.21 shall not require the person applying for a name change pursuant to this section to provide​6.7 shall not require the person applying for a name change to provide proof of the person's​
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6.8 identity by two witnesses unless the proof of identity is necessary to determine whether the​
6.9 person has an intent to defraud or mislead the court.​

31.22 proof of the person's identity by two witnesses unless the proof of identity is necessary to​
31.23 determine whether the person has an intent to defraud or mislead the court.​

31.24 (c) Upon meeting the requirements of this section, the court shall grant the application​
31.25 for a name change unless the court finds that (1) the person has an intent to defraud or​

6.10 (c) Upon meeting the requirements of this section, the court shall grant the application​
6.11 for a name change unless the court finds that: (1) the person has an intent to defraud or​

31.26 mislead the court; or (2) the name change is subject to section 259.13. The court shall notify​6.12 mislead the court; or (2) section 259.13 prohibits granting the name change. The court shall​
31.27 the person applying for a name change that using a different surname without complying​
31.28 with section 259.13, if applicable, is a gross misdemeanor.​

6.13 notify the person applying for a name change that using a different surname without​
6.14 complying with section 259.13, if applicable, is a gross misdemeanor.​

9.1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.70, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
9.2 read:​

9.3 Subd. 3. Private enforcement. (a) In addition to the remedies otherwise provided by​
9.4 law, a consumer injured by a violation of sections 325F.68 to 325F.70, in connection with​
9.5 a sale of merchandise for personal, family, household, or agricultural purposes, may bring​
9.6 a civil action and recover damages, together with costs and disbursements, including costs​
9.7 of investigation and reasonable attorney fees, and receive other equitable relief as determined​
9.8 by the court. An action brought under this section benefits the public.​

9.9 (b) For the purposes of this subdivision:​

9.10 (1) "consumer" means a natural person or family farmer;​

9.11 (2) "family farmer" means a person or persons operating a family farm; and​

9.12 (3) "family farm" has the meaning given in section 116B.02, subdivision 6.​

9.13 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to causes​
9.14 of action commenced on or after that date.​

6.15 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.992, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

6.16 Subd. 3. Penalties; remedies. In addition to any other remedies available under the law,​
6.17 the military beneficiary injured by a violation of this section may bring a cause of action to​
6.18 recover damages, reasonable attorney fees and costs, or and equitable relief related to a​
6.19 violation of subdivision 2. The attorney general may enforce this section pursuant to​
6.20 applicable law.​

35.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 336.9-601, is amended to read:​

35.4 336.9-601 RIGHTS AFTER DEFAULT; JUDICIAL ENFORCEMENT;​
35.5 CONSIGNOR OR BUYER OF ACCOUNTS, CHATTEL PAPER, PAYMENT​
35.6 INTANGIBLES, OR PROMISSORY NOTES.​

6.21 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 336.9-601, is amended to read:​

6.22 336.9-601 RIGHTS AFTER DEFAULT; JUDICIAL ENFORCEMENT;​
6.23 CONSIGNOR OR BUYER OF ACCOUNTS, CHATTEL PAPER, PAYMENT​
6.24 INTANGIBLES, OR PROMISSORY NOTES.​

35.7 (a) Rights of secured party after default. After default, a secured party has the rights​
35.8 provided in this part and, except as otherwise provided in section 336.9-602, those provided​
35.9 by agreement of the parties. A secured party:​

6.25 (a) Rights of secured party after default. After default, a secured party has the rights​
6.26 provided in this part and, except as otherwise provided in section 336.9-602, those provided​
6.27 by agreement of the parties. A secured party:​
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35.10 (1) may reduce a claim to judgment, foreclose, or otherwise enforce the claim, security​
35.11 interest, or agricultural lien by any available judicial procedure; and​

6.28 (1) may reduce a claim to judgment, foreclose, or otherwise enforce the claim, security​
6.29 interest, or agricultural lien by any available judicial procedure; and​

35.12 (2) if the collateral is documents, may proceed either as to the documents or as to the​
35.13 goods they cover.​

6.30 (2) if the collateral is documents, may proceed either as to the documents or as to the​
6.31 goods they cover.​

35.14 (b) Rights and duties of secured party in possession or control. A secured party in​
35.15 possession of collateral or control of collateral under section 336.7-106, 336.9-104,​
35.16 336.9-105, 336.9-106, or 336.9-107 has the rights and duties provided in section 336.9-207.​

7.1 (b) Rights and duties of secured party in possession or control. A secured party in​
7.2 possession of collateral or control of collateral under section 336.7-106, 336.9-104,​
7.3 336.9-105, 336.9-106, or 336.9-107 has the rights and duties provided in section 336.9-207.​

35.17 (c) Rights cumulative; simultaneous exercise. The rights under subsections (a) and​
35.18 (b) are cumulative and may be exercised simultaneously.​

7.4 (c) Rights cumulative; simultaneous exercise. The rights under subsections (a) and​
7.5 (b) are cumulative and may be exercised simultaneously.​

35.19 (d) Rights of debtor and obligor. Except as otherwise provided in subsection (g) and​
35.20 section 336.9-605, after default, a debtor and an obligor have the rights provided in this part​
35.21 and by agreement of the parties.​

7.6 (d) Rights of debtor and obligor. Except as otherwise provided in subsection (g) and​
7.7 section 336.9-605, after default, a debtor and an obligor have the rights provided in this part​
7.8 and by agreement of the parties.​

35.22 (e) Lien of levy after judgment. If a secured party has reduced its claim to judgment,​
35.23 the lien of any levy that may be made upon the collateral by virtue of an execution based​
35.24 upon the judgment relates back to the earliest of:​

7.9 (e) Lien of levy after judgment. If a secured party has reduced its claim to judgment,​
7.10 the lien of any levy that may be made upon the collateral by virtue of an execution based​
7.11 upon the judgment relates back to the earliest of:​

35.25 (1) the date of perfection of the security interest or agricultural lien in the collateral;​7.12 (1) the date of perfection of the security interest or agricultural lien in the collateral;​

35.26 (2) the date of filing a financing statement covering the collateral; or​7.13 (2) the date of filing a financing statement covering the collateral; or​

35.27 (3) any date specified in a statute under which the agricultural lien was created.​7.14 (3) any date specified in a statute under which the agricultural lien was created.​

35.28 (f) Execution sale. A sale pursuant to an execution is a foreclosure of the security interest​
35.29 or agricultural lien by judicial procedure within the meaning of this section. A secured party​

7.15 (f) Execution sale. A sale pursuant to an execution is a foreclosure of the security interest​
7.16 or agricultural lien by judicial procedure within the meaning of this section. A secured party​

35.30 may purchase at the sale and thereafter hold the collateral free of any other requirements​
35.31 of this article.​

7.17 may purchase at the sale and thereafter hold the collateral free of any other requirements​
7.18 of this article.​

36.1 (g) Consignor or buyer of certain rights to payment. Except as otherwise provided​
36.2 in section 336.9-607 (c), this part imposes no duties upon a secured party that is a consignor​
36.3 or is a buyer of accounts, chattel paper, payment intangibles, or promissory notes.​

7.19 (g) Consignor or buyer of certain rights to payment. Except as otherwise provided​
7.20 in section 336.9-607 (c), this part imposes no duties upon a secured party that is a consignor​
7.21 or is a buyer of accounts, chattel paper, payment intangibles, or promissory notes.​

36.4 (h) Security interest in collateral that is agricultural property; enforcement. A​
36.5 person may not begin to enforce a security interest in collateral that is agricultural property​

7.22 (h) Security interest in collateral that is agricultural property; enforcement. A​
7.23 person may not begin to enforce a security interest in collateral that is agricultural property​

36.6 subject to sections 583.20 to 583.32 that has secured a debt of more than the amount provided​7.24 subject to sections 583.20 to 583.32 that has secured a debt of more than the amount provided​
36.7 in section 583.24, subdivision 5, unless: a mediation notice under subsection (i) is served​7.25 in section 583.24, subdivision 5, unless: a mediation notice under subsection (i) is served​
36.8 on the debtor after a condition of default has occurred in the security agreement and a copy​7.26 on the debtor after a condition of default has occurred in the security agreement and a copy​
36.9 served on the director of the agricultural Minnesota extension service; and the debtor and​7.27 served on the director of the agricultural Minnesota extension service; and the debtor and​
36.10 creditor have completed mediation under sections 583.20 to 583.32; or as otherwise allowed​
36.11 under sections 583.20 to 583.32.​

7.28 creditor have completed mediation under sections 583.20 to 583.32; or as otherwise allowed​
7.29 under sections 583.20 to 583.32.​

36.12 (i) Mediation notice. A mediation notice under subsection (h) must contain the following​
36.13 notice with the blanks properly filled in.​

7.30 (i) Mediation notice. A mediation notice under subsection (h) must contain the following​
7.31 notice with the blanks properly filled in.​

36.14 "TO: ...(Name of Debtor)...​7.32 "TO: ...(Name of Debtor)...​
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36.15 YOU HAVE DEFAULTED ON THE ...(Debt in Default)... SECURED BY​
36.16 AGRICULTURAL PROPERTY DESCRIBED AS ...(Reasonable Description of Agricultural​

8.1 YOU HAVE DEFAULTED ON THE ...(Debt in Default)... SECURED BY​
8.2 AGRICULTURAL PROPERTY DESCRIBED AS ...(Reasonable Description of Agricultural​

36.17 Property Collateral). THE AMOUNT OF THE OUTSTANDING DEBT IS ...(Amount of​
36.18 Debt)...​

8.3 Property Collateral). THE AMOUNT OF THE OUTSTANDING DEBT IS ...(Amount of​
8.4 Debt)...​

36.19 AS A SECURED PARTY, ...(Name of Secured Party)... INTENDS TO ENFORCE​
36.20 THE SECURITY AGREEMENT AGAINST THE AGRICULTURAL PROPERTY​

8.5 AS A SECURED PARTY, ...(Name of Secured Party)... INTENDS TO ENFORCE​
8.6 THE SECURITY AGREEMENT AGAINST THE AGRICULTURAL PROPERTY​

36.21 DESCRIBED ABOVE BY REPOSSESSING, FORECLOSING ON, OR OBTAINING A​
36.22 COURT JUDGMENT AGAINST THE PROPERTY.​

8.7 DESCRIBED ABOVE BY REPOSSESSING, FORECLOSING ON, OR OBTAINING A​
8.8 COURT JUDGMENT AGAINST THE PROPERTY.​

36.23 YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO HAVE THE DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION.​
36.24 IF YOU REQUEST MEDIATION, A DEBT THAT IS IN DEFAULT WILL BE​

8.9 YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO HAVE THE DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION.​
8.10 IF YOU REQUEST MEDIATION, A DEBT THAT IS IN DEFAULT WILL BE​

36.25 MEDIATED ONLY ONCE. IF YOU DO NOT REQUEST MEDIATION, THIS DEBT​8.11 MEDIATED ONLY ONCE. IF YOU DO NOT REQUEST MEDIATION, THIS DEBT​
36.26 WILL NOT BE SUBJECT TO FUTURE MEDIATION IF THE SECURED PARTY​
36.27 ENFORCES THE DEBT.​

8.12 WILL NOT BE SUBJECT TO FUTURE MEDIATION IF THE SECURED PARTY​
8.13 ENFORCES THE DEBT.​

36.28 IF YOU PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION, THE DIRECTOR OF THE​
36.29 AGRICULTURAL MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE WILL PROVIDE AN​

8.14 IF YOU PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION, THE DIRECTOR OF THE​
8.15 AGRICULTURAL MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE WILL PROVIDE AN​

36.30 ORIENTATION MEETING AND A FINANCIAL ANALYST TO HELP YOU TO​8.16 ORIENTATION MEETING AND A FINANCIAL ANALYST TO HELP YOU TO​
36.31 PREPARE FINANCIAL INFORMATION. IF YOU DECIDE TO PARTICIPATE IN​8.17 PREPARE FINANCIAL INFORMATION. IF YOU DECIDE TO PARTICIPATE IN​
36.32 MEDIATION, IT WILL BE TO YOUR ADVANTAGE TO ASSEMBLE YOUR FARM​8.18 MEDIATION, IT WILL BE TO YOUR ADVANTAGE TO ASSEMBLE YOUR FARM​
36.33 FINANCE AND OPERATION RECORDS AND TO CONTACT A COUNTY EXTENSION​8.19 FINANCE AND OPERATION RECORDS AND TO CONTACT A COUNTY EXTENSION​
37.1 OFFICE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. MEDIATION WILL ATTEMPT TO ARRIVE AT​
37.2 AN AGREEMENT FOR HANDLING FUTURE FINANCIAL RELATIONS.​

8.20 OFFICE AS SOON AS POSSIBLE. MEDIATION WILL ATTEMPT TO ARRIVE AT​
8.21 AN AGREEMENT FOR HANDLING FUTURE FINANCIAL RELATIONS.​

37.3 TO HAVE THE DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION YOU MUST FILE A​
37.4 MEDIATION REQUEST WITH THE DIRECTOR WITHIN 14 DAYS AFTER YOU​

8.22 TO HAVE THE DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION YOU MUST FILE A​
8.23 MEDIATION REQUEST WITH THE DIRECTOR WITHIN 14 DAYS AFTER YOU​

37.5 RECEIVE THIS NOTICE. THE MEDIATION REQUEST FORM IS AVAILABLE AT​8.24 RECEIVE THIS NOTICE. THE MEDIATION REQUEST FORM IS AVAILABLE AT​
37.6 ANY COUNTY RECORDER'S OR COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE FROM THE​
37.7 DIRECTOR OF THE MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE.​

8.25 ANY COUNTY RECORDER'S OR COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE FROM THE​
8.26 DIRECTOR OF THE MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE.​

37.8 FROM: ...(Name and Address of Secured Party)..."​8.27 FROM: ...(Name and Address of Secured Party)..."​

26.24 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 504B.301, is amended to read:​

26.25 504B.301 EVICTION ACTION FOR UNLAWFUL DETENTION.​

8.28 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 504B.301, is amended to read:​

8.29 504B.301 EVICTION ACTION FOR UNLAWFUL DETENTION.​

26.26 A person may be evicted if the person has unlawfully or forcibly occupied or taken​
26.27 possession of real property or unlawfully detains or retains possession of real property.​

8.30 A person may be evicted if the person has unlawfully or forcibly occupied or taken​
8.31 possession of real property or unlawfully detains or retains possession of real property.​

26.28 A seizure under section 609.5317, subdivision 1, for which there is not a defense under​
26.29 section 609.5317, subdivision 3, constitutes unlawful detention by the tenant.​

8.32 A seizure under section 609.5317, subdivision 1, for which there is not a defense under​
8.33 section 609.5317, subdivision 3, constitutes unlawful detention by the tenant.​

26.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​9.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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37.9 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 507.07, is amended to read:​

37.10 507.07 WARRANTY AND QUITCLAIM DEEDS; FORMS.​

37.11 Warranty and quitclaim deeds may be substantially in the following forms:​

37.12 WARRANTY DEED​

37.13 A.B., grantor, of (here insert the place of residence), for and in consideration of (here​
37.14 insert the consideration), conveys and warrants to C.D., grantee, of (here insert the place​
37.15 of residence), the following described real estate in the county of .........................., in the​
37.16 state of Minnesota: (here describe the premises).​

37.17 Dated this ............... day of ................, .......​

37.18 (Signature) ...................................​

37.19 Every such instrument, duly executed as required by law, shall be a conveyance in fee​
37.20 simple of the premises described to the grantee, the grantee's heirs and assigns, with​
37.21 covenants on the part of the grantor, the grantor's heirs and personal representatives, that​
37.22 the grantor is lawfully seized of the premises in fee simple and has good right to convey​
37.23 the same; that the premises are free from all encumbrances; that the grantor warrants to the​
37.24 grantee, the grantee's heirs and assigns, the quiet and peaceable possession thereof; and that​
37.25 the grantor will defend the title thereto against all persons who may lawfully claim the same.​
37.26 Such covenants shall be obligatory upon any grantor, the grantor's heirs and personal​
37.27 representatives, as fully and with like effect as if written at length in such deed.​

37.28 QUITCLAIM DEED​

37.29 A.B., grantor, of (here insert the place of residence), for the consideration of (here insert​
37.30 the consideration), conveys and quitclaims to C.D., the grantee, of (here insert the place of​
37.31 residence), all interest in the following described real estate in the county of ..........................,​
37.32 in the state of Minnesota: (here describe the premises).​

38.1 Dated this ............... day of ................, .......​

38.2 (Signature) ...................................​

38.3 Every such instrument, duly executed, shall be a conveyance to the grantee, the grantee's​
38.4 heirs and assigns, of all right, title, and interest of the grantor in the premises described, but​
38.5 shall not extend to after acquired title, unless words expressing such intention be added.​

38.6 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 508.52, is amended to read:​

38.7 508.52 CONVEYANCE; CANCELLATION OF OLD AND ISSUANCE OF NEW​
38.8 CERTIFICATE.​

9.2 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 508.52, is amended to read:​

9.3 508.52 CONVEYANCE; CANCELLATION OF OLD AND ISSUANCE OF NEW​
9.4 CERTIFICATE.​

38.9 An owner of registered land who desires to convey the land, or a portion thereof, in fee,​
38.10 shall execute a deed of conveyance, and record the deed with the registrar. The deed of​

9.5 An owner of registered land who desires to convey the land, or a portion thereof, in fee,​
9.6 shall execute a deed of conveyance, and record the deed with the registrar. The deed of​

38.11 conveyance shall be recorded and endorsed with the number and place of registration of​9.7 conveyance shall be recorded and endorsed with the number and place of registration of​
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9.8 the certificate of title. Before canceling the outstanding certificate of title the registrar shall​
9.9 show by memorial thereon the registration of the deed on the basis of which it is canceled.​

38.12 the certificate of title. Before canceling the outstanding certificate of title the registrar shall​
38.13 show by memorial thereon the registration of the deed on the basis of which it is canceled.​

9.10 The encumbrances, claims, or interests adverse to the title of the registered owner shall be​ 38.14 The encumbrances, claims, or interests adverse to the title of the registered owner shall be​
9.11 stated upon the new certificate, except so far as they may be simultaneously released or​ 38.15 stated upon the new certificate, except so far as they may be simultaneously released or​
9.12 discharged. The registrar shall not carry forward as a memorial on the new certificate of​ 38.16 discharged. The registrar shall not carry forward as a memorial on the new certificate of​
9.13 title any memorials of a transfer on death deed if the grantors of the transfer on death deed​ 38.17 title any memorials of a transfer on death deed if the grantors of the transfer on death deed​
9.14 retain no fee interest in the land covered by the new certificate. The certificate of title shall​ 38.18 retain no fee interest in the land covered by the new certificate. The certificate of title shall​
9.15 be marked "Canceled" by the registrar, who shall enter in the register a new certificate of​ 38.19 be marked "Canceled" by the registrar, who shall enter in the register a new certificate of​
9.16 title to the grantee and prepare and deliver to the grantee a copy of the new certificate of​ 38.20 title to the grantee and prepare and deliver to the grantee a copy of the new certificate of​
9.17 title. The registrar, upon request, shall deliver to the grantee a copy of the new certificate​ 38.21 title. The registrar, upon request, shall deliver to the grantee a copy of the new certificate​
9.18 of title. If a deed in fee is for a portion of the land described in a certificate of title, the​ 38.22 of title. If a deed in fee is for a portion of the land described in a certificate of title, the​
9.19 memorial of the deed entered by the registrar shall include the legal description contained​ 38.23 memorial of the deed entered by the registrar shall include the legal description contained​
9.20 in the deed and the registrar shall enter a new certificate of title to the grantee for the portion​ 38.24 in the deed and the registrar shall enter a new certificate of title to the grantee for the portion​
9.21 of the land conveyed and, except as otherwise provided in this section, issue a residue​ 38.25 of the land conveyed and, except as otherwise provided in this section, issue a residue​
9.22 certificate of title to the grantor for the portion of the land not conveyed. The registrar shall​ 38.26 certificate of title to the grantor for the portion of the land not conveyed. The registrar shall​
9.23 prepare and, upon request, deliver to each of the parties a copy of their respective certificates​ 38.27 prepare and, upon request, deliver to each of the parties a copy of their respective certificates​
9.24 of title. In lieu of canceling the grantor's certificate of title and issuing a residue certificate​ 38.28 of title. In lieu of canceling the grantor's certificate of title and issuing a residue certificate​
9.25 to the grantor for the portion of the land not conveyed, the registrar may if the grantor's​ 38.29 to the grantor for the portion of the land not conveyed, the registrar may if the grantor's​
9.26 deed does not divide a parcel of unplatted land, and in the absence of a request to the contrary​ 38.30 deed does not divide a parcel of unplatted land, and in the absence of a request to the contrary​
9.27 by the registered owner, mark by the land description on the certificate of title "Part of land​ 38.31 by the registered owner, mark by the land description on the certificate of title "Part of land​
9.28 conveyed, see memorials." The fee for a residue certificate of title shall be paid to the​ 38.32 conveyed, see memorials." The fee for a residue certificate of title shall be paid to the​
9.29 registrar only when the grantor's certificate of title is canceled after the conveyance by the​ 38.33 registrar only when the grantor's certificate of title is canceled after the conveyance by the​
9.30 grantor of a portion of the land described in the grantor's certificate of title. When two or​ 38.34 grantor of a portion of the land described in the grantor's certificate of title. When two or​
9.31 more successive conveyances of the same property are filed for registration on the same​ 39.1 more successive conveyances of the same property are filed for registration on the same​
9.32 day the registrar may enter a certificate in favor of the grantee or grantees in the last of the​ 39.2 day the registrar may enter a certificate in favor of the grantee or grantees in the last of the​
9.33 successive conveyances, and the memorial of the previous deed or deeds entered on the​ 39.3 successive conveyances, and the memorial of the previous deed or deeds entered on the​
9.34 prior certificate of title shall have the same force and effect as though the prior certificate​ 39.4 prior certificate of title shall have the same force and effect as though the prior certificate​
9.35 of title had been entered in favor of the grantee or grantees in the earlier deed or deeds in​ 39.5 of title had been entered in favor of the grantee or grantees in the earlier deed or deeds in​
10.1 the successive conveyances. The fees for the registration of the earlier deed or deeds shall​ 39.6 the successive conveyances. The fees for the registration of the earlier deed or deeds shall​
10.2 be the same as the fees prescribed for the entry of memorials. The registrar of titles, with​ 39.7 be the same as the fees prescribed for the entry of memorials. The registrar of titles, with​
10.3 the consent of the transferee, may mark "See memorials for new owner(s)" by the names​ 39.8 the consent of the transferee, may mark "See memorials for new owner(s)" by the names​
10.4 of the registered owners on the certificate of title and also add to the memorial of the​ 39.9 of the registered owners on the certificate of title and also add to the memorial of the​
10.5 transferring conveyance a statement that the memorial shall serve in lieu of a new certificate​ 39.10 transferring conveyance a statement that the memorial shall serve in lieu of a new certificate​
10.6 of title in favor of the grantee or grantees therein noted and may refrain from canceling the​ 39.11 of title in favor of the grantee or grantees therein noted and may refrain from canceling the​
10.7 certificate of title until the time it is canceled by a subsequent transfer, and the memorial​ 39.12 certificate of title until the time it is canceled by a subsequent transfer, and the memorial​
10.8 showing such transfer of title shall have the same effect as the entry of a new certificate of​ 39.13 showing such transfer of title shall have the same effect as the entry of a new certificate of​
10.9 title for the land described in the certificate of title; the fee for the registration of a conveyance​ 39.14 title for the land described in the certificate of title; the fee for the registration of a conveyance​
10.10 without cancellation of the certificate of title shall be the same as the fee prescribed for the​
10.11 entry of a memorial.​

39.15 without cancellation of the certificate of title shall be the same as the fee prescribed for the​
39.16 entry of a memorial.​

32.10 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 517.08, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​10.12 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 517.08, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

32.11 Subd. 1a. Form. Application for a civil marriage license shall be made by both of the​
32.12 parties upon a form provided for the purpose and shall contain the following information:​

10.13 Subd. 1a. Form. Application for a civil marriage license shall be made by both of the​
10.14 parties upon a form provided for the purpose and shall contain the following information:​
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32.13 (1) the full names of the parties and the sex of each party;​10.15 (1) the full names of the parties and the sex of each party;​

32.14 (2) their post office addresses and county and state of residence;​10.16 (2) their post office addresses and county and state of residence;​

32.15 (3) their full ages;​10.17 (3) their full ages;​

32.16 (4) if either party has previously been married, the party's married name, and the date,​
32.17 place and court in which the civil marriage was dissolved or annulled or the date and place​
32.18 of death of the former spouse;​

10.18 (4) if either party has previously been married, the party's married name, and the date,​
10.19 place and court in which the civil marriage was dissolved or annulled or the date and place​
10.20 of death of the former spouse;​

32.19 (5) whether the parties are related to each other, and, if so, their relationship;​10.21 (5) whether the parties are related to each other, and, if so, their relationship;​

32.20 (6) the address of the parties after the civil marriage is entered into to which the local​
32.21 registrar shall send a certified copy of the civil marriage certificate;​

10.22 (6) the address of the parties after the civil marriage is entered into to which the local​
10.23 registrar shall send a certified copy of the civil marriage certificate;​

32.22 (7) the full names the parties will have after the civil marriage is entered into and the​
32.23 parties' Social Security numbers. The Social Security numbers must be collected for the​

10.24 (7) the full names the parties will have after the civil marriage is entered into and the​
10.25 parties' Social Security numbers. The Social Security numbers must be collected for the​

32.24 application but must not appear on the civil marriage license. If a party listed on a civil​10.26 application but must not appear on the civil marriage license. If a party listed on a civil​
32.25 marriage application does not have a Social Security number, the party must certify on the​10.27 marriage application does not have a Social Security number, the party must certify on the​
32.26 application, or a supplement to the application, that the party does not have a Social Security​
32.27 number;​

10.28 application, or a supplement to the application, that the party does not have a Social Security​
10.29 number;​

32.28 (8) if one or both of the parties party to the civil marriage license has a felony conviction​
32.29 under Minnesota law or the law of another state or federal jurisdiction, the parties shall​

10.30 (8) if one or both of the parties party to the civil marriage license has a felony conviction​
10.31 under Minnesota law or the law of another state or federal jurisdiction, the parties shall​

32.30 provide to the county proof of service upon the prosecuting authority and, if applicable, the​10.32 provide to the county proof of service upon the prosecuting authority and, if applicable, the​
32.31 attorney general, as required by party may not change the party's name through the marriage​11.1 attorney general, as required by party may not change the party's name through the marriage​
33.1 application process and must follow the process in section 259.13 to change the party's​
33.2 name; and​

11.2 application process and must follow the process in section 259.13 to change the party's​
11.3 name; and​

33.3 (9) notice that a party who has a felony conviction under Minnesota law or the law of​
33.4 another state or federal jurisdiction may not use a different name after a civil marriage​
33.5 except as authorized by section 259.13, and that doing so is a gross misdemeanor.​

11.4 (9) notice that a party who has a felony conviction under Minnesota law or the law of​
11.5 another state or federal jurisdiction may not use a different name after a civil marriage​
11.6 except as authorized by section 259.13, and that doing so is a gross misdemeanor.​

33.6 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 517.08, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:​11.7 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 517.08, subdivision 1b, is amended to read:​

33.7 Subd. 1b. Term of license; fee; premarital education. (a) The local registrar shall​
33.8 examine upon oath the parties applying for a license relative to the legality of the​

11.8 Subd. 1b. Term of license; fee; premarital education. (a) The local registrar shall​
11.9 examine upon oath the parties applying for a license relative to the legality of the​

33.9 contemplated civil marriage. Both parties must present proof of age to the local registrar.​11.10 contemplated civil marriage. Both parties must present proof of age to the local registrar.​
33.10 If one party is unable to appear in person, the party appearing may complete the absent​11.11 If one party is unable to appear in person, the party appearing may complete the absent​
33.11 applicant's information. The local registrar shall provide a copy of the civil marriage​11.12 applicant's information. The local registrar shall provide a copy of the civil marriage​
33.12 application to the party who is unable to appear, who must verify the accuracy of the​11.13 application to the party who is unable to appear, who must verify the accuracy of the​
33.13 appearing party's information in a notarized statement. The verification statement must be​11.14 appearing party's information in a notarized statement. The verification statement must be​
33.14 accompanied by a copy of proof of age of the party. The civil marriage license must not be​11.15 accompanied by a copy of proof of age of the party. The civil marriage license must not be​
33.15 released until the verification statement and proof of age has been received by the local​11.16 released until the verification statement and proof of age has been received by the local​
33.16 registrar. If the local registrar is satisfied that there is no legal impediment to it, including​11.17 registrar. If the local registrar is satisfied that there is no legal impediment to it, including​
33.17 the restriction contained in section 259.13, the local registrar shall issue the license,​11.18 the restriction contained in section 259.13, the local registrar shall issue the license,​
33.18 containing the full names of the parties before and after the civil marriage, and county and​11.19 containing the full names of the parties before and after the civil marriage, and county and​
33.19 state of residence, with the county seal attached, and make a record of the date of issuance.​11.20 state of residence, with the county seal attached, and make a record of the date of issuance.​
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11.21 The license shall be valid for a period of six months. Except as provided in paragraph (b),​
11.22 the local registrar shall collect from the applicant a fee of $115 for administering the oath,​

33.20 The license shall be valid for a period of six months. Except as provided in paragraph (b),​
33.21 the local registrar shall collect from the applicant a fee of $115 for administering the oath,​

11.23 issuing, recording, and filing all papers required, and preparing and transmitting to the state​ 33.22 issuing, recording, and filing all papers required, and preparing and transmitting to the state​
11.24 registrar of vital records the reports of civil marriage required by this section. If the license​ 33.23 registrar of vital records the reports of civil marriage required by this section. If the license​
11.25 should not be used within the period of six months due to illness or other extenuating​ 33.24 should not be used within the period of six months due to illness or other extenuating​
11.26 circumstances, it may be surrendered to the local registrar for cancellation, and in that case​ 33.25 circumstances, it may be surrendered to the local registrar for cancellation, and in that case​
11.27 a new license shall issue upon request of the parties of the original license without fee. A​ 33.26 a new license shall issue upon request of the parties of the original license without fee. A​
11.28 local registrar who knowingly issues or signs a civil marriage license in any manner other​ 33.27 local registrar who knowingly issues or signs a civil marriage license in any manner other​
11.29 than as provided in this section shall pay to the parties aggrieved an amount not to exceed​
11.30 $1,000.​

33.28 than as provided in this section shall pay to the parties aggrieved an amount not to exceed​
33.29 $1,000.​

33.30 (b) The civil marriage license fee for parties who have completed at least 12 hours of​
33.31 premarital education is $40. In order to qualify for the reduced license fee, the parties must​

11.31 (b) The civil marriage license fee for parties who have completed at least 12 hours of​
11.32 premarital education is $40. In order to qualify for the reduced license fee, the parties must​

33.32 submit at the time of applying for the civil marriage license a statement that is signed, dated,​11.33 submit at the time of applying for the civil marriage license a statement that is signed, dated,​
33.33 and notarized or marked with a church seal from the person who provided the premarital​11.34 and notarized or marked with a church seal from the person who provided the premarital​
33.34 education on their letterhead confirming that it was received. The premarital education must​12.1 education on their letterhead confirming that it was received. The premarital education must​
34.1 be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized​12.2 be provided by a licensed or ordained minister or the minister's designee, a person authorized​
34.2 to solemnize civil marriages under section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage​12.3 to solemnize civil marriages under section 517.18, or a person authorized to practice marriage​
34.3 and family therapy under section 148B.33. The education must include the use of a premarital​
34.4 inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.​

12.4 and family therapy under section 148B.33. The education must include the use of a premarital​
12.5 inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills.​

34.5 (c) The statement from the person who provided the premarital education under paragraph​
34.6 (b) must be in the following form:​

12.6 (c) The statement from the person who provided the premarital education under paragraph​
12.7 (b) must be in the following form:​

34.7 "I, .......................... (name of educator), confirm that .......................... (names of both​
34.8 parties) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that included the use of a premarital​

12.8 "I, .......................... (name of educator), confirm that .......................... (names of both​
12.9 parties) received at least 12 hours of premarital education that included the use of a premarital​

34.9 inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills. I am a licensed​12.10 inventory and the teaching of communication and conflict management skills. I am a licensed​
34.10 or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize civil marriages under Minnesota​12.11 or ordained minister, a person authorized to solemnize civil marriages under Minnesota​
34.11 Statutes, section 517.18, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under​
34.12 Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33."​

12.12 Statutes, section 517.18, or a person licensed to practice marriage and family therapy under​
12.13 Minnesota Statutes, section 148B.33."​

34.13 The names of the parties in the educator's statement must be identical to the legal names​
34.14 of the parties as they appear in the civil marriage license application. Notwithstanding​

12.14 The names of the parties in the educator's statement must be identical to the legal names​
12.15 of the parties as they appear in the civil marriage license application. Notwithstanding​

34.15 section 138.17, the educator's statement must be retained for seven years, after which time​
34.16 it may be destroyed.​

12.16 section 138.17, the educator's statement must be retained for seven years, after which time​
12.17 it may be destroyed.​

34.17 (d) If section 259.13 applies to the request for a civil marriage license, the local registrar​
34.18 shall grant the civil marriage license without the requested name change. Alternatively, the​

12.18 (d) If section 259.13 applies to the request for a civil marriage license, the local registrar​
12.19 shall grant the civil marriage license without the requested name change. Alternatively, the​

34.19 local registrar may delay the granting of the civil marriage license until the party with the​
34.20 conviction:​

12.20 local registrar may delay the granting of the civil marriage license until the party with the​
12.21 conviction:​

34.21 (1) certifies under oath that 30 days have passed since service of the notice for a name​
34.22 change upon the prosecuting authority and, if applicable, the attorney general and no​
34.23 objection has been filed under section 259.13; or​

12.22 (1) certifies under oath that 30 days have passed since service of the notice for a name​
12.23 change upon the prosecuting authority and, if applicable, the attorney general and no​
12.24 objection has been filed under section 259.13; or​
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34.24 (2) provides a certified copy of the court order granting it. The parties seeking the civil​
34.25 marriage license shall have the right to choose to have the license granted without the name​
34.26 change or to delay its granting pending further action on the name change request.​

12.25 (2) provides a certified copy of the court order granting it. The parties seeking the civil​
12.26 marriage license shall have the right to choose to have the license granted without the name​
12.27 change or to delay its granting pending further action on the name change request.​

39.17 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518.191, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​12.28 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518.191, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

39.18 Subdivision 1. Abbreviated judgment and decree. If real estate is described in a​
39.19 judgment and decree of dissolution, the court may shall direct either of the parties or their​

12.29 Subdivision 1. Abbreviated judgment and decree. If real estate is described in a​
12.30 judgment and decree of dissolution, the court may shall direct either of the parties or their​

39.20 legal counsel to prepare and submit to the court a proposed summary real estate disposition​12.31 legal counsel to prepare and submit to the court a proposed summary real estate disposition​
39.21 judgment. Upon approval by the court and filing of the summary real estate disposition​12.32 judgment. Upon approval by the court and filing of the summary real estate disposition​
39.22 judgment with the court administrator, the court administrator shall provide to any party​
39.23 upon request certified copies of the summary real estate disposition judgment.​

13.1 judgment with the court administrator, the court administrator shall provide to any party​
13.2 upon request certified copies of the summary real estate disposition judgment.​

39.24 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518.191, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​13.3 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 518.191, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

39.25 Subd. 3. Court order. An order or provision in a judgment and decree that provides​
39.26 that the judgment and decree must be recorded in the office of the county recorder or filed​

13.4 Subd. 3. Court order. An order or provision in a judgment and decree that provides​
13.5 that the judgment and decree must be recorded in the office of the county recorder or filed​

39.27 in the office of the registrar of titles means, if a summary real estate disposition judgment​13.6 in the office of the registrar of titles means, if a summary real estate disposition judgment​
39.28 has been approved by the court, that the summary real estate disposition judgment, rather​13.7 has been approved by the court, that the summary real estate disposition judgment, rather​
39.29 than the judgment and decree, must be recorded in the office of the county recorder or filed​13.8 than the judgment and decree, must be recorded in the office of the county recorder or filed​
39.30 in the office of the registrar of titles. The recorder or registrar of titles is not responsible for​
39.31 determining if a summary real estate disposition judgment has been approved by the court.​

13.9 in the office of the registrar of titles. The recorder or registrar of titles is not responsible for​
13.10 determining if a summary real estate disposition judgment has been approved by the court.​

40.1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 541.023, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

40.2 Subd. 6. Limitations; certain titles not affected. This section shall not affect any rights​
40.3 of the federal government; nor increase the effect as notice, actual or constructive, of any​
40.4 instrument now of record; nor bar the rights of any person, partnership, state agency or​
40.5 department, or corporation in possession of real estate. This section shall not impair the​
40.6 record title or record interest, or title obtained by or through any congressional or legislative​
40.7 grant, of any railroad corporation or other public service corporation or any trustee or receiver​
40.8 thereof or of any educational or religious corporation in any real estate by reason of any​
40.9 failure to record further evidence of such title or interest even though the record thereof is​
40.10 now or hereafter more than 40 years old; nor shall this section require the recording of any​
40.11 notice as provided for in this section as to any undischarged mortgage or deed of trust​
40.12 executed by any such corporation or any trustee or receiver thereof or to any claim or action​
40.13 founded upon any such undischarged mortgage or deed of trust. The exceptions of this​
40.14 subdivision shall not include (1) reservations or exceptions of land for right-of-way or other​
40.15 railroad purposes contained in deeds of conveyance made by a railroad company or by​
40.16 trustees or receivers thereof, unless said reserved or excepted land shall have been put to​
40.17 railroad use within 40 years after the date of said deeds of conveyance, (2) nor any rights​
40.18 under any conditions subsequent or restrictions contained in any such deeds of conveyance.​

40.19 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.365, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​13.11 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 550.365, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

40.20 Subd. 2. Contents. A mediation notice must contain the following notice with the blanks​
40.21 properly filled in.​

13.12 Subd. 2. Contents. A mediation notice must contain the following notice with the blanks​
13.13 properly filled in.​
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40.22 "TO: ....(Name of Judgment Debtor)....​13.14 "TO: ....(Name of Judgment Debtor)....​

40.23 A JUDGMENT WAS ORDERED AGAINST YOU BY ....(Name of Court).... ON​
40.24 ....(Date of Judgment).​

13.15 A JUDGMENT WAS ORDERED AGAINST YOU BY ....(Name of Court).... ON​
13.16 ....(Date of Judgment).​

40.25 AS A JUDGMENT CREDITOR, ....(Name of Judgment Creditor).... INTENDS TO​
40.26 TAKE ACTION AGAINST THE AGRICULTURAL PROPERTY DESCRIBED​

13.17 AS A JUDGMENT CREDITOR, ....(Name of Judgment Creditor).... INTENDS TO​
13.18 TAKE ACTION AGAINST THE AGRICULTURAL PROPERTY DESCRIBED​

40.27 AS....(Description of Agricultural Property).... TO SATISFY THE JUDGMENT IN THE​
40.28 AMOUNT OF ....(Amount of Debt)....​

13.19 AS....(Description of Agricultural Property).... TO SATISFY THE JUDGMENT IN THE​
13.20 AMOUNT OF ....(Amount of Debt)....​

40.29 YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO HAVE THE DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION.​
40.30 IF YOU REQUEST MEDIATION, A DEBT THAT IS IN DEFAULT WILL BE​

13.21 YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO HAVE THE DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION.​
13.22 IF YOU REQUEST MEDIATION, A DEBT THAT IS IN DEFAULT WILL BE​

40.31 MEDIATED ONLY ONCE. IF YOU DO NOT REQUEST MEDIATION, THIS DEBT​13.23 MEDIATED ONLY ONCE. IF YOU DO NOT REQUEST MEDIATION, THIS DEBT​
40.32 WILL NOT BE SUBJECT TO FUTURE MEDIATION IF THE SECURED PARTY​
40.33 ENFORCES THE DEBT.​

13.24 WILL NOT BE SUBJECT TO FUTURE MEDIATION IF THE SECURED PARTY​
13.25 ENFORCES THE DEBT.​

41.1 IF YOU PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION, THE DIRECTOR OF THE​
41.2 AGRICULTURAL MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE WILL PROVIDE AN​

13.26 IF YOU PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION, THE DIRECTOR OF THE​
13.27 AGRICULTURAL MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE WILL PROVIDE AN​

41.3 ORIENTATION MEETING AND A FINANCIAL ANALYST TO HELP YOU PREPARE​13.28 ORIENTATION MEETING AND A FINANCIAL ANALYST TO HELP YOU PREPARE​
41.4 FINANCIAL INFORMATION. IF YOU DECIDE TO PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION,​13.29 FINANCIAL INFORMATION. IF YOU DECIDE TO PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION,​
41.5 IT WILL BE TO YOUR ADVANTAGE TO ASSEMBLE YOUR FARM FINANCE AND​13.30 IT WILL BE TO YOUR ADVANTAGE TO ASSEMBLE YOUR FARM FINANCE AND​
41.6 OPERATION RECORDS AND TO CONTACT A COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE AS​13.31 OPERATION RECORDS AND TO CONTACT A COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE AS​
41.7 SOON AS POSSIBLE. MEDIATION WILL ATTEMPT TO ARRIVE AT AN​
41.8 AGREEMENT FOR HANDLING FUTURE FINANCIAL RELATIONS.​

14.1 SOON AS POSSIBLE. MEDIATION WILL ATTEMPT TO ARRIVE AT AN​
14.2 AGREEMENT FOR HANDLING FUTURE FINANCIAL RELATIONS.​

41.9 TO HAVE THE DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION YOU MUST FILE A​
41.10 MEDIATION REQUEST WITH THE DIRECTOR WITHIN 14 DAYS AFTER YOU​

14.3 TO HAVE THE DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION YOU MUST FILE A​
14.4 MEDIATION REQUEST WITH THE DIRECTOR WITHIN 14 DAYS AFTER YOU​

41.11 RECEIVE THIS NOTICE. THE MEDIATION REQUEST FORM IS AVAILABLE AT​14.5 RECEIVE THIS NOTICE. THE MEDIATION REQUEST FORM IS AVAILABLE AT​
41.12 ANY COUNTY RECORDER'S OR COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE FROM THE​
41.13 DIRECTOR OF THE MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE.​

14.6 ANY COUNTY RECORDER'S OR COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE FROM THE​
14.7 DIRECTOR OF THE MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE.​

41.14 FROM: ....(Name and Address of Judgment Creditor)...."​14.8 FROM: ....(Name and Address of Judgment Creditor)...."​

41.15 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 559.209, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​14.9 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 559.209, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

41.16 Subd. 2. Contents. A mediation notice must contain the following notice with the blanks​
41.17 properly filled in.​

14.10 Subd. 2. Contents. A mediation notice must contain the following notice with the blanks​
14.11 properly filled in.​

41.18 "TO: ....(Name of Contract for Deed Purchaser)....​14.12 "TO: ....(Name of Contract for Deed Purchaser)....​

41.19 YOU HAVE DEFAULTED ON THE CONTRACT FOR DEED OF THE​
41.20 AGRICULTURAL PROPERTY DESCRIBED AS ....(Size and Reasonable Location of​

14.13 YOU HAVE DEFAULTED ON THE CONTRACT FOR DEED OF THE​
14.14 AGRICULTURAL PROPERTY DESCRIBED AS ....(Size and Reasonable Location of​

41.21 Property, Not Legal Description). THE AMOUNT OF THE OUTSTANDING DEBT IS​
41.22 ....(Amount of Debt)....​

14.15 Property, Not Legal Description). THE AMOUNT OF THE OUTSTANDING DEBT IS​
14.16 ....(Amount of Debt)....​

41.23 AS THE CONTRACT FOR DEED VENDOR, ....(Contract for Deed Vendor)....​
41.24 INTENDS TO TERMINATE THE CONTRACT AND TAKE BACK THE PROPERTY.​

14.17 AS THE CONTRACT FOR DEED VENDOR, ....(Contract for Deed Vendor)....​
14.18 INTENDS TO TERMINATE THE CONTRACT AND TAKE BACK THE PROPERTY.​
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41.25 YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO HAVE THE CONTRACT FOR DEED DEBT​
41.26 REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION. IF YOU REQUEST MEDIATION, A DEBT THAT IS​

14.19 YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO HAVE THE CONTRACT FOR DEED DEBT​
14.20 REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION. IF YOU REQUEST MEDIATION, A DEBT THAT IS​

41.27 IN DEFAULT WILL BE MEDIATED ONLY ONCE. IF YOU DO NOT REQUEST​14.21 IN DEFAULT WILL BE MEDIATED ONLY ONCE. IF YOU DO NOT REQUEST​
41.28 MEDIATION, THIS DEBT WILL NOT BE SUBJECT TO FUTURE MEDIATION IF​14.22 MEDIATION, THIS DEBT WILL NOT BE SUBJECT TO FUTURE MEDIATION IF​
41.29 THE CONTRACT FOR DEED VENDOR BEGINS REMEDIES TO ENFORCE THE​
41.30 DEBT.​

14.23 THE CONTRACT FOR DEED VENDOR BEGINS REMEDIES TO ENFORCE THE​
14.24 DEBT.​

41.31 IF YOU PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION, THE DIRECTOR OF THE​
41.32 AGRICULTURAL MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE WILL PROVIDE AN​

14.25 IF YOU PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION, THE DIRECTOR OF THE​
14.26 AGRICULTURAL MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE WILL PROVIDE AN​

41.33 ORIENTATION MEETING AND A FINANCIAL ANALYST TO HELP YOU PREPARE​14.27 ORIENTATION MEETING AND A FINANCIAL ANALYST TO HELP YOU PREPARE​
42.1 FINANCIAL INFORMATION. IF YOU DECIDE TO PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION,​14.28 FINANCIAL INFORMATION. IF YOU DECIDE TO PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION,​
42.2 IT WILL BE TO YOUR ADVANTAGE TO ASSEMBLE YOUR FARM FINANCE AND​14.29 IT WILL BE TO YOUR ADVANTAGE TO ASSEMBLE YOUR FARM FINANCE AND​
42.3 OPERATION RECORDS AND TO CONTACT A COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE AS​14.30 OPERATION RECORDS AND TO CONTACT A COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE AS​
42.4 SOON AS POSSIBLE. MEDIATION WILL ATTEMPT TO ARRIVE AT AN​
42.5 AGREEMENT FOR HANDLING FUTURE FINANCIAL RELATIONS.​

14.31 SOON AS POSSIBLE. MEDIATION WILL ATTEMPT TO ARRIVE AT AN​
14.32 AGREEMENT FOR HANDLING FUTURE FINANCIAL RELATIONS.​

42.6 TO HAVE THE CONTRACT FOR DEED DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION​
42.7 YOU MUST FILE A MEDIATION REQUEST WITH THE DIRECTOR WITHIN 14​

15.1 TO HAVE THE CONTRACT FOR DEED DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION​
15.2 YOU MUST FILE A MEDIATION REQUEST WITH THE DIRECTOR WITHIN 14​

42.8 DAYS AFTER YOU RECEIVE THE NOTICE. THE MEDIATION REQUEST FORM​15.3 DAYS AFTER YOU RECEIVE THE NOTICE. THE MEDIATION REQUEST FORM​
42.9 IS AVAILABLE AT ANY COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE FROM THE DIRECTOR​
42.10 OF THE MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE.​

15.4 IS AVAILABLE AT ANY COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE FROM THE DIRECTOR​
15.5 OF THE MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE.​

42.11 FROM: ....(Name and Address of Contract for Deed Vendor)...."​15.6 FROM: ....(Name and Address of Contract for Deed Vendor)...."​

9.15 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 573.01, is amended to read:​

9.16 573.01 SURVIVAL OF CAUSES.​

15.7 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 573.01, is amended to read:​

15.8 573.01 SURVIVAL OF CAUSES.​

9.17 A cause of action arising out of an injury to the person dies with the person of the party​
9.18 in whose favor it exists, except as provided in survives the death of any party in accordance​

15.9 A cause of action arising out of an injury to the person dies with the person of the party​
15.10 in whose favor it exists, except as provided in survives the death of any party in accordance​

9.19 with section 573.02. All other causes of action by one against another, whether arising on​15.11 with section 573.02. All other causes of action by one against another, whether arising on​
9.20 contract or not, survive to the personal representatives of the former and against those of​
9.21 the latter.​

15.12 contract or not, survive to the personal representatives of the former and against those of​
15.13 the latter.​

9.22 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​
9.23 applies to causes of action pending on or commenced on or after that date.​

15.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​
15.15 applies to causes of action pending on or commenced on or after that date.​

9.24 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 573.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​15.16 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 573.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

9.25 Subdivision 1. Death action. When death is caused by the wrongful act or omission of​
9.26 any person or corporation, the trustee appointed as provided in subdivision 3 may maintain​

15.17 Subdivision 1. Death action. When death is caused by the wrongful act or omission of​
15.18 any person or corporation, the trustee appointed as provided in subdivision 3 may maintain​

9.27 an action therefor if the decedent might have maintained an action, had the decedent lived,​15.19 an action therefor if the decedent might have maintained an action, had the decedent lived,​
9.28 for an injury caused by the wrongful act or omission. An action to recover damages for a​15.20 for an injury caused by the wrongful act or omission. An action to recover damages for a​
9.29 death caused by the alleged professional negligence of a physician, surgeon, dentist, hospital​15.21 death caused by the alleged professional negligence of a physician, surgeon, dentist, hospital​
9.30 or sanitarium, or an employee of a physician, surgeon, dentist, hospital or sanitarium shall​15.22 or sanitarium, or an employee of a physician, surgeon, dentist, hospital or sanitarium shall​
9.31 be commenced within three years of the date of death, but in no event shall be commenced​15.23 be commenced within three years of the date of death, but in no event shall be commenced​
10.1 beyond the time set forth in section 541.076. An action to recover damages for a death​15.24 beyond the time set forth in section 541.076. An action to recover damages for a death​

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE​PAGE R21​

May 03, 2023 01:53 PM​Civil Law​
Senate Language S0200-1​House Language H0447-2​



15.25 caused by an intentional act constituting murder may be commenced at any time after the​
15.26 death of the decedent. Any other action under this section may be commenced within three​

10.2 caused by an intentional act constituting murder may be commenced at any time after the​
10.3 death of the decedent. Any other action under this section may be commenced within three​

15.27 years after the date of death provided that the action must be commenced within six years​ 10.4 years after the date of death provided that the action must be commenced within six years​
15.28 after the act or omission. The recovery in the action is the amount the jury deems fair and​ 10.5 after the act or omission. The recovery in the action is the amount the jury deems fair and​
15.29 just in reference to for all damages suffered by the decedent resulting from the injury prior​ 10.6 just in reference to for all damages suffered by the decedent resulting from the injury prior​
15.30 to the decedent's death and the pecuniary loss resulting from the death, and shall be for the​ 10.7 to the decedent's death and the pecuniary loss resulting from the death, and shall be for the​
15.31 exclusive benefit of the surviving spouse and next of kin, proportionate to the pecuniary​ 10.8 exclusive benefit of the surviving spouse and next of kin, proportionate to the pecuniary​
15.32 loss severally suffered by the death. The court then determines the proportionate pecuniary​ 10.9 loss severally suffered by the death. The court then determines the proportionate pecuniary​
15.33 loss of the persons entitled to the recovery and orders distribution accordingly. Funeral​ 10.10 loss of the persons entitled to the recovery and orders distribution accordingly. Funeral​
16.1 expenses and any demand for the support of the decedent allowed by the court having​ 10.11 expenses and any demand for the support of the decedent allowed by the court having​
16.2 jurisdiction of the action, are first deducted and paid. Punitive damages may be awarded as​
16.3 provided in section 549.20.​

10.12 jurisdiction of the action, are first deducted and paid. Punitive damages may be awarded as​
10.13 provided in section 549.20.​

10.14 If an action for the injury was commenced by the decedent and not finally determined​
10.15 while living, it may be continued by the trustee for recovery of all damages for the exclusive​

16.4 If an action for the injury was commenced by the decedent and not finally determined​
16.5 while living, it may be continued by the trustee for recovery of all damages for the exclusive​

10.16 benefit of the surviving spouse and next of kin, proportionate to the pecuniary loss severally​16.6 benefit of the surviving spouse and next of kin, proportionate to the pecuniary loss severally​
10.17 suffered by the death. The court on motion shall make an order allowing the continuance​
10.18 and directing pleadings to be made and issues framed as in actions begun under this section.​

16.7 suffered by the death. The court on motion shall make an order allowing the continuance​
16.8 and directing pleadings to be made and issues framed as in actions begun under this section.​

10.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​
10.20 applies to causes of action pending on or commenced on or after that date.​

16.9 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​
16.10 applies to causes of action pending on or commenced on or after that date.​

10.21 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 573.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​16.11 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 573.02, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

10.22 Subd. 2. Injury action. When injury is caused to a person by the wrongful act or omission​
10.23 of any person or corporation and the person thereafter dies from a cause unrelated to those​

16.12 Subd. 2. Injury action. When injury is caused to a person by the wrongful act or omission​
16.13 of any person or corporation and the person thereafter dies from a cause unrelated to those​

10.24 injuries, the trustee appointed in subdivision 3 may maintain an action for special damages​16.14 injuries, the trustee appointed in subdivision 3 may maintain an action for special damages​
10.25 all damages arising out of such injury if the decedent might have maintained an action​16.15 all damages arising out of such injury if the decedent might have maintained an action​
10.26 therefor had the decedent lived. An action under this subdivision may be commenced within​16.16 therefor had the decedent lived. An action under this subdivision may be commenced within​
10.27 three years after the date of death provided that the action must be commenced within six​
10.28 years after the act or omission.​

16.17 three years after the date of death provided that the action must be commenced within six​
16.18 years after the act or omission.​

10.29 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​
10.30 applies to causes of action pending on or commenced on or after that date.​

16.19 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and​
16.20 applies to causes of action pending on or commenced on or after that date.​

42.12 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 582.039, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​16.21 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 582.039, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

42.13 Subd. 2. Contents. A mediation notice must contain the following notice with the blanks​
42.14 properly filled in.​

16.22 Subd. 2. Contents. A mediation notice must contain the following notice with the blanks​
16.23 properly filled in.​

42.15 "TO: ....(Name of Record Owner)....​16.24 "TO: ....(Name of Record Owner)....​

42.16 YOU HAVE DEFAULTED ON THE MORTGAGE OF THE AGRICULTURAL​
42.17 PROPERTY DESCRIBED AS ....(Size and Reasonable Location, Not Legal Description).​

16.25 YOU HAVE DEFAULTED ON THE MORTGAGE OF THE AGRICULTURAL​
16.26 PROPERTY DESCRIBED AS ....(Size and Reasonable Location, Not Legal Description).​

42.18 THE AMOUNT OF THE OUTSTANDING DEBT ON THIS PROPERTY IS ....(Amount​
42.19 of Debt)....​

16.27 THE AMOUNT OF THE OUTSTANDING DEBT ON THIS PROPERTY IS ....(Amount​
16.28 of Debt)....​
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42.20 AS HOLDER OF THE MORTGAGE, ....(Name of Holder of Mortgage).... INTENDS​
42.21 TO FORECLOSE ON THE PROPERTY DESCRIBED ABOVE.​

16.29 AS HOLDER OF THE MORTGAGE, ....(Name of Holder of Mortgage).... INTENDS​
16.30 TO FORECLOSE ON THE PROPERTY DESCRIBED ABOVE.​

42.22 YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO HAVE THE MORTGAGE DEBT REVIEWED FOR​
42.23 MEDIATION. IF YOU REQUEST MEDIATION, A DEBT THAT IS IN DEFAULT WILL​

17.1 YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO HAVE THE MORTGAGE DEBT REVIEWED FOR​
17.2 MEDIATION. IF YOU REQUEST MEDIATION, A DEBT THAT IS IN DEFAULT WILL​

42.24 BE MEDIATED ONLY ONCE. IF YOU DO NOT REQUEST MEDIATION, THIS DEBT​17.3 BE MEDIATED ONLY ONCE. IF YOU DO NOT REQUEST MEDIATION, THIS DEBT​
42.25 WILL NOT BE SUBJECT TO FUTURE MEDIATION IF THE SECURED PARTY​
42.26 ENFORCES THE DEBT.​

17.4 WILL NOT BE SUBJECT TO FUTURE MEDIATION IF THE SECURED PARTY​
17.5 ENFORCES THE DEBT.​

42.27 IF YOU PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION, THE DIRECTOR OF THE​
42.28 AGRICULTURAL MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE WILL PROVIDE AN​

17.6 IF YOU PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION, THE DIRECTOR OF THE​
17.7 AGRICULTURAL MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE WILL PROVIDE AN​

42.29 ORIENTATION MEETING AND A FINANCIAL ANALYST TO HELP YOU PREPARE​17.8 ORIENTATION MEETING AND A FINANCIAL ANALYST TO HELP YOU PREPARE​
42.30 FINANCIAL INFORMATION. IF YOU DECIDE TO PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION,​17.9 FINANCIAL INFORMATION. IF YOU DECIDE TO PARTICIPATE IN MEDIATION,​
42.31 IT WILL BE TO YOUR ADVANTAGE TO ASSEMBLE YOUR FARM FINANCE AND​17.10 IT WILL BE TO YOUR ADVANTAGE TO ASSEMBLE YOUR FARM FINANCE AND​
42.32 OPERATION RECORDS AND TO CONTACT A COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE AS​17.11 OPERATION RECORDS AND TO CONTACT A COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE AS​
43.1 SOON AS POSSIBLE. MEDIATION WILL ATTEMPT TO ARRIVE AT AN​
43.2 AGREEMENT FOR HANDLING FUTURE FINANCIAL RELATIONS.​

17.12 SOON AS POSSIBLE. MEDIATION WILL ATTEMPT TO ARRIVE AT AN​
17.13 AGREEMENT FOR HANDLING FUTURE FINANCIAL RELATIONS.​

43.3 TO HAVE THE MORTGAGE DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION YOU MUST​
43.4 FILE A MEDIATION REQUEST WITH THE DIRECTOR WITHIN 14 DAYS AFTER​

17.14 TO HAVE THE MORTGAGE DEBT REVIEWED FOR MEDIATION YOU MUST​
17.15 FILE A MEDIATION REQUEST WITH THE DIRECTOR WITHIN 14 DAYS AFTER​

43.5 YOU RECEIVE THIS NOTICE. THE MEDIATION REQUEST FORM IS AVAILABLE​17.16 YOU RECEIVE THIS NOTICE. THE MEDIATION REQUEST FORM IS AVAILABLE​
43.6 AT ANY COUNTY RECORDER'S OR COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE FROM THE​
43.7 DIRECTOR OF THE MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE.​

17.17 AT ANY COUNTY RECORDER'S OR COUNTY EXTENSION OFFICE FROM THE​
17.18 DIRECTOR OF THE MINNESOTA EXTENSION SERVICE.​

43.8 FROM: ....(Name and Address of Holder of Mortgage)...."​17.19 FROM: ....(Name and Address of Holder of Mortgage)...."​

43.9 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 583.25, is amended to read:​

43.10 583.25 VOLUNTARY MEDIATION PROCEEDINGS.​

17.20 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 583.25, is amended to read:​

17.21 583.25 VOLUNTARY MEDIATION PROCEEDINGS.​

43.11 A debtor that owns agricultural property or a creditor of the debtor may request mediation​
43.12 of the indebtedness by a farm mediator by applying to the director. The director shall make​

17.22 A debtor that owns agricultural property or a creditor of the debtor may request mediation​
17.23 of the indebtedness by a farm mediator by applying to the director. The director shall make​

43.13 provide voluntary mediation application forms available at the county recorder's and county​17.24 provide voluntary mediation application forms available at the county recorder's and county​
43.14 extension office in each county when requested. The director must evaluate each request​
43.15 and may direct a mediator to meet with the debtor and creditor to assist in mediation.​

17.25 extension office in each county when requested. The director must evaluate each request​
17.26 and may direct a mediator to meet with the debtor and creditor to assist in mediation.​

43.16 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 583.26, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​17.27 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 583.26, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

43.17 Subd. 2. Mediation request. (a) A debtor must file a mediation request form with the​
43.18 director by 14 days after receiving a mediation notice. The debtor must state all known​

17.28 Subd. 2. Mediation request. (a) A debtor must file a mediation request form with the​
17.29 director by 14 days after receiving a mediation notice. The debtor must state all known​

43.19 creditors with debts secured for agricultural property and must authorize the director to​17.30 creditors with debts secured for agricultural property and must authorize the director to​
43.20 obtain the debtor's credit report from one or more credit reporting agencies. The mediation​17.31 obtain the debtor's credit report from one or more credit reporting agencies. The mediation​
43.21 request form must include an instruction that the debtor must state all known creditors with​17.32 request form must include an instruction that the debtor must state all known creditors with​
43.22 debts secured by agricultural property and unsecured creditors that are necessary for the​18.1 debts secured by agricultural property and unsecured creditors that are necessary for the​
43.23 farm operation of the debtor. It is the debtor's discretion as to which unsecured creditors​18.2 farm operation of the debtor. It is the debtor's discretion as to which unsecured creditors​
43.24 are necessary for the farm operation but the mediation request form must notify the debtor​18.3 are necessary for the farm operation but the mediation request form must notify the debtor​
43.25 that omission of a significant unsecured creditor could result in a bad-faith determination​18.4 that omission of a significant unsecured creditor could result in a bad-faith determination​

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE​PAGE R23​

May 03, 2023 01:53 PM​Civil Law​
Senate Language S0200-1​House Language H0447-2​



18.5 pursuant to section 583.27, subdivisions 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), and 2. The mediation​
18.6 request must state the date that the notice was served on the debtor. The director shall make​

43.26 pursuant to section 583.27, subdivisions 1, paragraph (a), clause (2), and 2. The mediation​
43.27 request must state the date that the notice was served on the debtor. The director shall make​

18.7 provide mediation request forms available in the county recorder's and county extension​
18.8 office of each county when requested.​

43.28 provide mediation request forms available in the county recorder's and county extension​
43.29 office of each county when requested.​

43.30 (b) Except as provided in section 583.24, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (3), a​
43.31 debtor who fails to file a timely mediation request waives the right to mediation for that​

18.9 (b) Except as provided in section 583.24, subdivision 4, paragraph (a), clause (3), a​
18.10 debtor who fails to file a timely mediation request waives the right to mediation for that​

43.32 debt under the Farmer-Lender Mediation Act. The director shall notify the creditor who​18.11 debt under the Farmer-Lender Mediation Act. The director shall notify the creditor who​
44.1 served the mediation notice stating that the creditor may proceed against the agricultural​
44.2 property because the debtor has failed to file a mediation request.​

18.12 served the mediation notice stating that the creditor may proceed against the agricultural​
18.13 property because the debtor has failed to file a mediation request.​

44.3 (c) If a debtor has not received a mediation notice and is subject to a proceeding of a​
44.4 creditor enforcing a debt against agricultural property under chapter 580 or 581 or sections​

18.14 (c) If a debtor has not received a mediation notice and is subject to a proceeding of a​
18.15 creditor enforcing a debt against agricultural property under chapter 580 or 581 or sections​

44.5 336.9-601 to 336.9-628, terminating a contract for deed to purchase agricultural property​18.16 336.9-601 to 336.9-628, terminating a contract for deed to purchase agricultural property​
44.6 under section 559.21, or garnishing, levying on, executing on, seizing, or attaching​18.17 under section 559.21, or garnishing, levying on, executing on, seizing, or attaching​
44.7 agricultural property, the debtor may file a mediation request with the director. The mediation​
44.8 request form must indicate that the debtor has not received a mediation notice.​

18.18 agricultural property, the debtor may file a mediation request with the director. The mediation​
18.19 request form must indicate that the debtor has not received a mediation notice.​

44.9 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 600.23, is amended to read:​

44.10 600.23 RECORDERS AND COURT ADMINISTRATORS.​

18.20 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 600.23, is amended to read:​

18.21 600.23 RECORDERS AND COURT ADMINISTRATORS.​

44.11 Subdivision 1. Deposit of papers. Every county recorder, upon being paid the legal fees​
44.12 therefor, shall may receive and deposit in the office any instruments or papers which shall​

18.22 Subdivision 1. Deposit of papers. Every county recorder, upon being paid the legal fees​
18.23 therefor, shall may receive and deposit in the office any instruments or papers which shall​

44.13 be are offered for that purpose and, if required requested, shall give to the person depositing​
44.14 the same a receipt therefor.​

18.24 be are offered for that purpose and, if required requested, shall give to the person depositing​
18.25 the same a receipt therefor.​

44.15 Subd. 2. Endorsed and filed. Any such instruments or papers so received shall be filed​
44.16 by the officer receiving the same, and so endorsed as to indicate their general nature, the​

18.26 Subd. 2. Endorsed and filed. Any such instruments or papers so received shall be filed​
18.27 by the officer receiving the same, and so endorsed as to indicate their general nature, the​

44.17 names of the parties thereto, and time when received, and shall be deposited and kept by​18.28 names of the parties thereto, and time when received, and shall be deposited and kept by​
44.18 the officer and successors in office in the same manner as the officer's official papers, but​
44.19 in a place separate therefrom.​

18.29 the officer and successors in office in the same manner as the officer's official papers, but​
18.30 in a place separate therefrom.​

44.20 Subd. 3. Withdrawal. Papers and instruments so deposited shall not be made public or​
44.21 withdrawn from the office except upon the written order of the person depositing the same,​

18.31 Subd. 3. Withdrawal. Papers and instruments so deposited shall not be made public or​
18.32 withdrawn from the office except upon the written order of the person depositing the same,​

44.22 or the person's executors or administrators, or on the order of some court for the purpose​
44.23 of being read in the court, and then to be returned to the office.​

19.1 or the person's executors or administrators, or on the order of some court for the purpose​
19.2 of being read in the court, and then to be returned to the office.​

44.24 Subd. 3a. Retention and disposal. Papers and instruments deposited for safekeeping​
44.25 shall be retained, at a minimum, until the earlier of:​

19.3 Subd. 3a. Retention and disposal. Papers and instruments deposited for safekeeping​
19.4 shall be retained, at a minimum, until the earlier of:​

44.26 (1) the county recorder learns of the depositor's death, at which time the county recorder​
44.27 may deliver the paper or instrument to the appropriate court, or deliver the paper or instrument​
44.28 to the depositor's executors or administrators; or​

19.5 (1) the county recorder learns of the depositor's death, at which time the county recorder​
19.6 may deliver the paper or instrument to the appropriate court, or deliver the paper or instrument​
19.7 to the depositor's executors or administrators; or​

44.29 (2) 20 years following the deposit of the paper or instrument, at which time the county​
44.30 recorder shall dispose of the paper or instrument pursuant to its county's retention policy.​

19.8 (2) 20 years following the deposit of the paper or instrument, at which time the county​
19.9 recorder shall dispose of the paper or instrument pursuant to its county's retention policy.​
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44.31 Subd. 4. Certificate that instrument cannot be found. The certificate of any officer​
44.32 to whom the legal custody of any instrument belongs, stating that the officer has made​

19.10 Subd. 4. Certificate that instrument cannot be found. The certificate of any officer​
19.11 to whom the legal custody of any instrument belongs, stating that the officer has made​

45.1 diligent search for such instrument and that it cannot be found, shall be prima facie evidence​
45.2 of the fact so certified to in all cases, matters, and proceedings.​

19.12 diligent search for such instrument and that it cannot be found, shall be prima facie evidence​
19.13 of the fact so certified to in all cases, matters, and proceedings.​

27.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 590.01, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

27.2 Subd. 4. Time limit. (a) No petition for postconviction relief may be filed more than​
27.3 two years after the later of:​

27.4 (1) the entry of judgment of conviction or sentence if no direct appeal is filed; or​

27.5 (2) an appellate court's disposition of petitioner's direct appeal.​

27.6 (b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), a court may hear a petition for postconviction relief​
27.7 if:​

27.8 (1) the petitioner establishes that a physical disability or mental disease precluded a​
27.9 timely assertion of the claim;​

27.10 (2) the petitioner alleges the existence of newly discovered evidence, including scientific​
27.11 evidence, that provides the factual predicate for one or more claims for relief, if such evidence​
27.12 could not have been ascertained by the exercise of due diligence by the petitioner or​
27.13 petitioner's attorney within the two-year time period for filing a postconviction petition, and​
27.14 the evidence is not cumulative to evidence presented at trial, and is not for impeachment​
27.15 purposes, and establishes by a clear and convincing standard that the petitioner is innocent​
27.16 of the offense or offenses for which the petitioner was convicted;​

27.17 (3) the petitioner asserts a new interpretation of federal or state constitutional or statutory​
27.18 law by either the United States Supreme Court or a Minnesota appellate court and the​
27.19 petitioner establishes that this interpretation is retroactively applicable to the petitioner's​
27.20 case;​

27.21 (4) the petition is brought pursuant to subdivision 3; or​

27.22 (5) the petitioner establishes to the satisfaction of the court that the petition is not frivolous​
27.23 and is in the interests of justice.​

27.24 (c) Any petition invoking an exception provided in paragraph (b) must be filed within​
27.25 two years of the date the claim arises.​

27.26 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023.​

27.27 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.5314, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​19.14 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.5314, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

27.28 Subd. 3. Judicial determination. (a) Within 60 days following service of a notice of​
27.29 seizure and forfeiture under this section, a claimant may file a demand for a judicial​

19.15 Subd. 3. Judicial determination. (a) Within 60 days following service of a notice of​
19.16 seizure and forfeiture under this section, a claimant may file a demand for a judicial​

27.30 determination of the forfeiture. The demand must be in the form of a civil complaint and​19.17 determination of the forfeiture. The demand must be in the form of a civil complaint and​
27.31 must be filed with the court administrator in the county in which the seizure occurred,​19.18 must be filed with the court administrator in the county in which the seizure occurred,​
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19.19 together with proof of service of a copy of the complaint on the prosecuting authority for​
19.20 that county. The claimant may serve the complaint on the prosecuting authority by certified​

28.1 together with proof of service of a copy of the complaint on the prosecuting authority for​
28.2 that county. The claimant may serve the complaint on the prosecuting authority by certified​

19.21 mail or any means permitted by court rules. If the value of the seized property is $15,000​ 28.3 mail or any means permitted by court rules. If the value of the seized property is $15,000​
19.22 or less, the claimant may file an action in conciliation court for recovery of the seized​ 28.4 or less, the claimant may file an action in conciliation court for recovery of the seized​
19.23 property. A copy of the conciliation court statement of claim may be served personally or​ 28.5 property. A copy of the conciliation court statement of claim may be served personally or​
19.24 as permitted by the Rules of Conciliation Court Procedure on the prosecuting authority​ 28.6 as permitted by the Rules of Conciliation Court Procedure on the prosecuting authority​
19.25 having jurisdiction over the forfeiture within 60 days following service of the notice of​ 28.7 having jurisdiction over the forfeiture within 60 days following service of the notice of​
19.26 seizure and forfeiture under this subdivision. The claimant does not have to pay the court​ 28.8 seizure and forfeiture under this subdivision. The claimant does not have to pay the court​
19.27 filing fee. No responsive pleading is required of the prosecuting authority and no court fees​ 28.9 filing fee. No responsive pleading is required of the prosecuting authority and no court fees​
19.28 may be charged for the prosecuting authority's appearance in the matter. The district court​ 28.10 may be charged for the prosecuting authority's appearance in the matter. The district court​
19.29 administrator shall schedule the hearing as soon as practicable after, and in any event no​ 28.11 administrator shall schedule the hearing as soon as practicable after, and in any event no​
19.30 later than 90 days following, the conclusion of the criminal prosecution. The proceedings​ 28.12 later than 90 days following, the conclusion of the criminal prosecution. The proceedings​
19.31 are governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure and, where applicable, by the Rules of​
19.32 Conciliation Court Procedure.​

28.13 are governed by the Rules of Civil Procedure and, where applicable, by the Rules of​
28.14 Conciliation Court Procedure.​

28.15 (b) The complaint must be captioned in the name of the claimant as plaintiff and the​
28.16 seized property as defendant, and must state with specificity the grounds on which the​

20.1 (b) The complaint must be captioned in the name of the claimant as plaintiff and the​
20.2 seized property as defendant, and must state with specificity the grounds on which the​

28.17 claimant alleges the property was improperly seized and the plaintiff's interest in the property​20.3 claimant alleges the property was improperly seized and the plaintiff's interest in the property​
28.18 seized. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an action for the return of property seized​20.4 seized. Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, an action for the return of property seized​
28.19 under this section may not be maintained by or on behalf of any person who has been served​
28.20 with a notice of seizure and forfeiture unless the person has complied with this subdivision.​

20.5 under this section may not be maintained by or on behalf of any person who has been served​
20.6 with a notice of seizure and forfeiture unless the person has complied with this subdivision.​

28.21 (c) If the claimant makes a timely demand for judicial determination under this​
28.22 subdivision, the appropriate agency must conduct the forfeiture under section 609.531,​

20.7 (c) If the claimant makes a timely demand for judicial determination under this​
20.8 subdivision, the appropriate agency must conduct the forfeiture under section 609.531,​

28.23 subdivision 6a. The limitations and defenses set forth in section 609.5311, subdivision 3,​
28.24 apply to the judicial determination.​

20.9 subdivision 6a. The limitations and defenses set forth in section 609.5311, subdivision 3,​
20.10 apply to the judicial determination.​

28.25 (d) If a demand for judicial determination of an administrative forfeiture is filed under​
28.26 this subdivision and the court orders the return of the seized property, the court may order​

20.11 (d) If a demand for judicial determination of an administrative forfeiture is filed under​
20.12 this subdivision and the court orders the return of the seized property, the court may order​

28.27 sanctions under section 549.211. If the court orders payment of these costs, they must be​20.13 sanctions under section 549.211. If the court orders payment of these costs, they must be​
28.28 paid from forfeited money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property from the appropriate​20.14 paid from forfeited money or proceeds from the sale of forfeited property from the appropriate​
28.29 law enforcement and prosecuting agencies in the same proportion as they would be distributed​
28.30 under section 609.5315, subdivision 5.​

20.15 law enforcement and prosecuting agencies in the same proportion as they would be distributed​
20.16 under section 609.5315, subdivision 5.​

28.31 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​20.17 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​

4.6 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 473.387, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

4.7 Subd. 4. Transit disadvantaged. The council shall establish a program and policies to​
4.8 reduce transportation costs for persons who are, because of limited incomes, age, disability,​
4.9 or other reasons, especially dependent on public transit for common mobility. Data on​
4.10 applicants and users of council programs under this subdivision are classified as private​
4.11 data on individuals under section 13.72, subdivision 20.​

4.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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4.13 Sec. 6. [480.40] PERSONAL INFORMATION; CONFIDENTIALITY.​

4.14 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​
4.15 the meanings given.​

4.16 (b) "Judicial official" includes:​

4.17 (1) every Minnesota district court judge, senior judge, and every judge of the Minnesota​
4.18 Court of Appeals and every active, senior, recalled, or retired federal judge who resides in​
4.19 Minnesota;​

4.20 (2) each justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court; and​

4.21 (3) all employees of the Minnesota judicial branch.​

4.22 (c) "Personal information" means:​

4.23 (1) the home address of a judicial official;​

4.24 (2) the home address of the spouse, domestic partner, or children of a judicial official;​

4.25 (3) a nonjudicial branch issued telephone number or email address of a judicial official;​

4.26 (4) the name of any child of a judicial official; and​

4.27 (5) the name of any childcare facility or school that is attended by a child of a judicial​
4.28 official.​

5.1 Subd. 2. Confidentiality. The personal information of all judicial officials maintained​
5.2 by a person, business, or association shall be confidential and no person, business, or​
5.3 association shall publicly post, display, or otherwise make publicly available on the Internet​
5.4 the personal information of any judicial official. Personal information shall be kept in a​
5.5 secure manner to prevent unauthorized access. Personal information may be disseminated​
5.6 pursuant to a specific authorization in law or with the written consent of the judicial official.​

5.7 Sec. 7. [484.94] ATTORNEY ACCESS TO COURT RECORDS.​

5.8 An attorney who is admitted and licensed to practice law in the state may apply for a​
5.9 Minnesota Government Access account to access electronic court records and documents​
5.10 stored in the Minnesota Court Information System for cases in state district courts. An​
5.11 attorney shall be able to view and print case documents and information without cost to the​
5.12 attorney.​

5.13 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 609.5151, is amended to read:​

5.14 609.5151 DISSEMINATION OF PERSONAL INFORMATION ABOUT LAW​
5.15 ENFORCEMENT OR THE JUDICIARY PROHIBITED; PENALTY.​

5.16 Subdivision 1. Definitions. As used in this section:​
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5.17 (1) "family or household member" has the meaning given in section 518B.01, subdivision​
5.18 2;​

5.19 (2) "judicial official" includes:​

5.20 (i) every Minnesota district court judge, senior judge, and every judge of the Minnesota​
5.21 Court of Appeals and every active, senior, recalled, or retired federal judge who resides in​
5.22 Minnesota;​

5.23 (ii) each justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court; and​

5.24 (iii) all employees of the Minnesota judicial branch;​

5.25 (3) "law enforcement official" means both peace officers as defined in section 626.84,​
5.26 subdivision 1, and persons employed by a law enforcement agency; and​

5.27 (3) (4) "personal information" means a home address, directions to a home, or​
5.28 photographs of a home.​

5.29 Subd. 2. Crime described. (a) It is a misdemeanor for a person to knowingly and without​
5.30 consent make publicly available, including but not limited to through the Internet, personal​
6.1 information about a law enforcement official or judicial official or an official's family or​
6.2 household member, if:​

6.3 (1) the dissemination poses an imminent and serious threat to the official's safety or the​
6.4 safety of an official's family or household member; and​

6.5 (2) the person making the information publicly available knows or reasonably should​
6.6 know of the imminent and serious threat.​

6.7 (b) A person is guilty of a gross misdemeanor if the person violates paragraph (a) and​
6.8 a law enforcement official or judicial official or an official's family or household member​
6.9 suffers great bodily harm or death as a result of the violation.​

6.10 (c) A person who is convicted of a second or subsequent violation of this section is guilty​
6.11 of a gross misdemeanor.​

6.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2023, and applies to crimes​
6.13 committed on or after that date.​

48.29 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 351.01, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

48.30 Subd. 2. When effective. Except as provided by subdivision 3 or other express provision​
48.31 of law or charter to the contrary, a resignation is effective when it is received by the officer,​
48.32 body, or board authorized to receive it. In the case of a position appointed by the governor​
48.33 under section 15.0597, the resignation must be submitted to the governor.​
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49.1 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 364.021, is amended to read:​

49.2 364.021 PUBLIC AND PRIVATE EMPLOYMENT; CONSIDERATION OF​
49.3 CRIMINAL RECORDS.​

49.4 (a) A public or private employer may not inquire into or consider or require disclosure​
49.5 of the criminal record or criminal history of an applicant for employment until the applicant​
49.6 has been selected for an interview by the employer or, if there is not an interview, before a​
49.7 conditional offer of employment is made to the applicant.​

49.8 (b) This section does not apply to the Department of Corrections or to employers who​
49.9 have a statutory duty to conduct a criminal history background check or otherwise take into​
49.10 consideration a potential employee's criminal history during the hiring process.​

49.11 (c) This section does not prohibit an employer from notifying applicants that law or the​
49.12 employer's policy will disqualify an individual with a particular criminal history background​
49.13 from employment in particular positions.​

49.14 (d) An appointing authority may not inquire into or consider or require disclosure of the​
49.15 criminal record or criminal history of an applicant for appointment to multimember agencies,​
49.16 including boards, commissions, agencies, committees, councils, authorities, advisory task​
49.17 forces, and advisory councils, on an application form or, until the applicant has been selected​
49.18 for an interview by the appointing authority or is otherwise selected as a final candidate for​
49.19 appointment.​

49.20 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 364.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

49.21 Subdivision 1. Public employers. Any complaints or grievances concerning violations​
49.22 of sections 364.01 to 364.10 by public employers or violations of section 364.021 by public​
49.23 appointing authorities shall be processed and adjudicated in accordance with the procedures​
49.24 set forth in chapter 14, the Administrative Procedure Act.​

20.18 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 611.215, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

20.19 Subdivision 1. Structure; membership. (a) The State Board of Public Defense is a part​
20.20 of, but is not subject to the administrative control of, the judicial branch of government.​
20.21 The State Board of Public Defense shall consist of seven nine members including:​

20.22 (1) four attorneys admitted to the practice of law, well acquainted with the defense of​
20.23 persons accused of crime, but not employed as prosecutors, appointed by the supreme court,​
20.24 of which one must be a retired or former public defender within the past five years; and​

20.25 (2) three five public members appointed by the governor.​

20.26 The appointing authorities may not appoint a person who is a judge to be a member of​
20.27 the State Board of Public Defense, other than as a member of the ad hoc Board of Public​
20.28 Defense.​
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20.29 (b) All members shall demonstrate an interest in maintaining a high quality, independent​
20.30 defense system for those who are unable to obtain adequate representation. Appointments​
20.31 to the board shall include qualified women and members of minority groups. At least three​
20.32 members of the board shall be from judicial districts other than the First, Second, Fourth,​
20.33 and Tenth Judicial Districts. The terms, compensation, and removal of members shall be​
21.1 as provided in section 15.0575. The chair shall be elected by the members from among the​
21.2 membership for a term of two years.​

21.3 (c) In addition, the State Board of Public Defense shall consist of a nine-member ad hoc​
21.4 board when considering the appointment of district public defenders under section 611.26,​
21.5 subdivision 2. The terms of chief district public defenders currently serving shall terminate​
21.6 in accordance with the staggered term schedule set forth in section 611.26, subdivision 2.​

21.7 (d) Meetings of the board are subject to chapter 13D.​

45.3 Sec. 13. REPEALER.​21.8 Sec. 25. REPEALER.​

45.4 Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 346.02; and 582.14, are repealed.​21.9 (a) Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 346.02; and 582.14, are repealed.​

21.10 (b) Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 504B.305, is repealed.​

21.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (b) is effective the day following final enactment.​

6.14 ARTICLE 2​

6.15 CIVIL REMEDIES​

21.12 ARTICLE 2​

21.13 CONSTRUCTION CONTRACTS​

21.14 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.71, is amended by adding a subdivision​
21.15 to read:​

21.16 Subd. 1a. Indemnification agreement. "Indemnification agreement" means an agreement​
21.17 by the promisor to indemnify, defend, or hold harmless the promisee against liability or​
21.18 claims of liability for damages arising out of bodily injury to persons or out of physical​
21.19 damage to tangible or real property.​

21.20 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.71, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
21.21 read:​

21.22 Subd. 1b. Promisee. "Promisee" includes that party's independent contractors, agents,​
21.23 employees, or indemnitees.​

21.24 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 15.72, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
21.25 read:​

21.26 Subd. 3. Unenforceability of certain agreements. (a) An indemnification agreement​
21.27 contained in, or executed in connection with, a contract for a public improvement is​
21.28 unenforceable except to the extent that:​
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22.1 (1) the underlying injury or damage is attributable to the negligent or otherwise wrongful​
22.2 act or omission, including breach of a specific contractual duty, of the promisor or the​
22.3 promisor's independent contractors, agents, employees, or delegatees; or​

22.4 (2) an owner, a responsible party, or a governmental entity agrees to indemnify a​
22.5 contractor directly or through another contractor with respect to strict liability under​
22.6 environmental laws.​

22.7 (b) A provision in a public building or construction contract that requires a party to​
22.8 provide insurance coverage to one or more other parties, including third parties, for the​
22.9 negligence or intentional acts or omissions of any of those other parties, including third​
22.10 parties, is against public policy and is void and unenforceable.​

22.11 (c) Paragraph (b) does not affect the validity of a provision that requires a party to provide​
22.12 or obtain workers' compensation insurance, construction performance or payment bonds,​
22.13 builder's risk policies, or owner or contractor-controlled insurance programs or policies.​

22.14 (d) Paragraph (b) does not affect the validity of a provision that requires the promisor​
22.15 to provide or obtain insurance coverage for the promisee's vicarious liability, or liability​
22.16 imposed by warranty, arising out of the acts or omissions of the promisor.​

22.17 (e) Paragraph (b) does not apply to building and construction contracts for work within​
22.18 50 feet of public or private railroads or railroads regulated by the Federal Railroad​
22.19 Administration.​

22.20 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 337.01, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

22.21 Subd. 3. Indemnification agreement. "Indemnification agreement" means an agreement​
22.22 by the promisor to indemnify, defend, or hold harmless the promisee against liability or​
22.23 claims of liability for damages arising out of bodily injury to persons or out of physical​
22.24 damage to tangible or real property.​

22.25 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 337.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

22.26 Subdivision 1. Agreements valid. (a) Except as otherwise provided in paragraph (b),​
22.27 sections 337.01 to 337.05 do not affect the validity of agreements whereby a promisor agrees​
22.28 to provide specific insurance coverage for the benefit of others.​

22.29 (b) A provision that requires a party to provide insurance coverage to one or more other​
22.30 parties, including third parties, for the negligence or intentional acts or omissions of any of​
22.31 those other parties, including third parties, is against public policy and is void and​
22.32 unenforceable.​

23.1 (c) Paragraph (b) does not affect the validity of a provision that requires a party to provide​
23.2 or obtain workers' compensation insurance, construction performance or payment bonds,​
23.3 or project-specific insurance, including, without limitation, builder's risk policies, or owner​
23.4 or contractor-controlled insurance programs or policies.​
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23.5 (d) Paragraph (b) does not affect the validity of a provision that requires the promisor​
23.6 to provide or obtain insurance coverage for the promisee's vicarious liability, or liability​
23.7 imposed by warranty, arising out of the acts or omissions of the promisor.​

23.8 (e) Paragraph (b) does not apply to building and construction contracts for work within​
23.9 50 feet of public or private railroads, or railroads regulated by the Federal Railroad​
23.10 Administration.​

23.11 Sec. 6. EFFECTIVE DATE.​

23.12 Sections 1 to 5 are effective the day following final enactment and apply to agreements​
23.13 entered into on or after that date.​

11.1 ARTICLE 3​

11.2 HUMAN RIGHTS​

23.14 ARTICLE 3​

23.15 CIVIL RIGHTS LAW​

23.16 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 82B.195, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

23.17 Subd. 3. Additional requirements. In addition to the requirements of subdivisions 1​
23.18 and 2, an appraiser must:​

23.19 (1) not knowingly make any of the following unacceptable appraisal practices:​

23.20 (i) include inaccurate or misleading factual data about the subject neighborhood, site,​
23.21 improvements, or comparable sales;​

23.22 (ii) fail to comment on negative factors with respect to the subject neighborhood, subject​
23.23 property, or proximity of the subject property to adverse influences;​

23.24 (iii) unless otherwise disclosed in the appraisal report, use comparables in the valuation​
23.25 process that the appraiser has not at least personally inspected from the exterior by driving​
23.26 by them;​

23.27 (iv) select and use inappropriate comparable sales or fail to use comparables that are​
23.28 physically and by location the most similar to the subject property;​

23.29 (v) use data, particularly comparable sales data, that was provided by parties who have​
23.30 a financial interest in the sale or financing of the subject property without the appraiser's​
23.31 verification of the information from a disinterested source. For example, it would be​
24.1 inappropriate for an appraiser to use comparable sales provided by the builder of the subject​
24.2 property or a real estate broker who is handling the sale of the subject property, unless the​
24.3 appraiser verifies the accuracy of the data provided through another source. If a signed HUD​
24.4 Settlement Statement is used for this verification, the appraiser must also verify the sale​
24.5 data with the buyer or county records. The appraiser must also make an independent​
24.6 investigation to determine that the comparable sales provided were the best ones available;​
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24.7 (vi) use adjustments to the comparable sales that do not reflect the market's reaction to​
24.8 the differences between the subject property and the comparables, or fail to make adjustments​
24.9 when they are clearly indicated;​

24.10 (vii) develop a valuation conclusion that is based either partially or completely on factors​
24.11 identified in chapter 363A, including race, color, creed, religion, sex, gender identity, marital​
24.12 status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, sexual orientation, familial status​
24.13 of the owner or occupants of nearby property, or national origin of either the prospective​
24.14 owners or occupants of the properties in the vicinity of the subject property; or​

24.15 (viii) develop a valuation conclusion that is not supported by available market data;​

24.16 (2) provide a resume, current within six months of the date it is provided, to anyone who​
24.17 employs the appraiser, indicating all professional degrees and licenses held by the appraiser;​
24.18 and​

24.19 (3) reject any request by the person who has employed the appraiser that is in conflict​
24.20 with the requirements of Minnesota law or this chapter and withdraw from the appraisal​
24.21 assignment if the employing party persists in the request.​

24.22 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 245I.12, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

24.23 Subdivision 1. Client rights. A license holder must ensure that all clients have the​
24.24 following rights:​

24.25 (1) the rights listed in the health care bill of rights in section 144.651;​

24.26 (2) the right to be free from discrimination based on age, race, color, creed, religion,​
24.27 national origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, disability, sexual orientation, and status​
24.28 with regard to public assistance. The license holder must follow all applicable state and​
24.29 federal laws including the Minnesota Human Rights Act, chapter 363A; and​

24.30 (3) the right to be informed prior to a photograph or audio or video recording being made​
24.31 of the client. The client has the right to refuse to allow any recording or photograph of the​
24.32 client that is not for the purposes of identification or supervision by the license holder.​

11.3 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​25.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.02, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

11.4 Subdivision 1. Freedom from discrimination. (a) It is the public policy of this state to​
11.5 secure for persons in this state, freedom from discrimination:​

25.2 Subdivision 1. Freedom from discrimination. (a) It is the public policy of this state to​
25.3 secure for persons in this state, freedom from discrimination:​

11.6 (1) in employment because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital​
11.7 status, disability, status with regard to public assistance, gender identity, sexual orientation,​
11.8 familial status, and age;​

25.4 (1) in employment because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, gender​
25.5 identity, marital status, disability, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation,​
25.6 familial status, and age;​

11.9 (2) in housing and real property because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin,​
11.10 sex, marital status, disability, status with regard to public assistance, gender identity, sexual​
11.11 orientation, and familial status;​

25.7 (2) in housing and real property because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin,​
25.8 sex, gender identity, marital status, disability, status with regard to public assistance, sexual​
25.9 orientation, and familial status;​
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11.12 (3) in public accommodations because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin,​
11.13 sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, and disability;​

25.10 (3) in public accommodations because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin,​
25.11 sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, and disability;​

11.14 (4) in public services because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital​
11.15 status, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation, and status with regard to public​
11.16 assistance; and​

25.12 (4) in public services because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, gender​
25.13 identity, marital status, disability, sexual orientation, and status with regard to public​
25.14 assistance; and​

11.17 (5) in education because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status,​
11.18 disability, status with regard to public assistance, gender identity, sexual orientation, and​
11.19 age.​

25.15 (5) in education because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, gender​
25.16 identity, marital status, disability, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation,​
25.17 and age.​

11.20 (b) Such discrimination threatens the rights and privileges of the inhabitants of this state​
11.21 and menaces the institutions and foundations of democracy. It is also the public policy of​

25.18 (b) Such discrimination threatens the rights and privileges of the inhabitants of this state​
25.19 and menaces the institutions and foundations of democracy. It is also the public policy of​

11.22 this state to protect all persons from wholly unfounded charges of discrimination. Nothing​25.20 this state to protect all persons from wholly unfounded charges of discrimination. Nothing​
11.23 in this chapter shall be interpreted as restricting the implementation of positive action​
11.24 programs to combat discrimination.​

25.21 in this chapter shall be interpreted as restricting the implementation of positive action​
25.22 programs to combat discrimination.​

11.25 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.03, subdivision 23, is amended to read:​25.23 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.03, subdivision 23, is amended to read:​

11.26 Subd. 23. Local commission. "Local commission" means an agency of a city, county,​
11.27 or group of counties created pursuant to law, resolution of a county board, city charter, or​

25.24 Subd. 23. Local commission. "Local commission" means an agency of a city, county,​
25.25 or group of counties created pursuant to law, resolution of a county board, city charter, or​

11.28 municipal ordinance for the purpose of dealing with discrimination on the basis of race,​25.26 municipal ordinance for the purpose of dealing with discrimination on the basis of race,​
11.29 color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, age, disability, marital status, status with regard​
11.30 to public assistance, gender identity, sexual orientation, or familial status.​

25.27 color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, gender identity, age, disability, marital status,​
25.28 status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, or familial status.​

12.1 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.03, subdivision 44, is amended to read:​25.29 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.03, subdivision 44, is amended to read:​

12.2 Subd. 44. Sexual orientation. "Sexual orientation" means having or being perceived as​
12.3 having an emotional, physical, or sexual attachment to another person without regard to the​

25.30 Subd. 44. Sexual orientation. "Sexual orientation" means having or being perceived as​
25.31 having an emotional, physical, or sexual attachment to another person without regard to the​

12.4 sex of that person or having or being perceived as having an orientation for such attachment,​26.1 sex of that person or having or being perceived as having an orientation for such attachment,​
12.5 or having or being perceived as having a self-image or identity not traditionally associated​26.2 or having or being perceived as having a self-image or identity not traditionally associated​
12.6 with one's biological maleness or femaleness. "Sexual orientation" does not include a physical​
12.7 or sexual attachment to children by an adult.​

26.3 with one's biological maleness or femaleness. "Sexual orientation" does not include a physical​
26.4 or sexual attachment to children by an adult.​

12.8 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
12.9 read:​

26.5 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision to​
26.6 read:​

12.10 Subd. 50. Gender identity. "Gender identity" means a person's inherent sense of being​
12.11 a man, woman, both, or neither. A person's gender identity may or may not correspond to​

26.7 Subd. 50. Gender identity. "Gender identity" means a person's inherent sense of being​
26.8 a man, woman, both, or neither. A person's gender identity may or may not correspond to​

12.12 their assigned sex at birth or to their primary or secondary sex characteristics. A person's​
12.13 gender identity is not necessarily visible to others.​

26.9 their assigned sex at birth or to their primary or secondary sex characteristics. A person's​
26.10 gender identity is not necessarily visible to others.​

12.14 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.04, is amended to read:​

12.15 363A.04 CONSTRUCTION AND EXCLUSIVITY.​

26.11 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.04, is amended to read:​

26.12 363A.04 CONSTRUCTION AND EXCLUSIVITY.​

12.16 The provisions of this chapter shall be construed liberally for the accomplishment of the​
12.17 purposes thereof. Nothing contained in this chapter shall be deemed to repeal any of the​

26.13 The provisions of this chapter shall be construed liberally for the accomplishment of the​
26.14 purposes thereof. Nothing contained in this chapter shall be deemed to repeal any of the​
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26.15 provisions of the civil rights law or of any other law of this state relating to discrimination​
26.16 because of race, creed, color, religion, sex, gender identity, age, disability, marital status,​

12.18 provisions of the civil rights law or of any other law of this state relating to discrimination​
12.19 because of race, creed, color, religion, sex, age, disability, marital status, status with regard​

26.17 status with regard to public assistance, national origin, sexual orientation, or familial status;​ 12.20 to public assistance, national origin, gender identity, sexual orientation, or familial status;​
26.18 but, as to acts declared unfair by sections 363A.08 to 363A.19, and 363A.28, subdivision​
26.19 10, the procedure herein provided shall, while pending, be exclusive.​

12.21 but, as to acts declared unfair by sections 363A.08 to 363A.19, and 363A.28, subdivision​
12.22 10, the procedure herein provided shall, while pending, be exclusive.​

12.23 Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​26.20 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

12.24 Subdivision 1. Formulation of policies. (a) The commissioner shall formulate policies​
12.25 to effectuate the purposes of this chapter and shall do the following:​

26.21 Subdivision 1. Formulation of policies. (a) The commissioner shall formulate policies​
26.22 to effectuate the purposes of this chapter and shall do the following:​

12.26 (1) exercise leadership under the direction of the governor in the development of human​
12.27 rights policies and programs, and make recommendations to the governor and the legislature​
12.28 for their consideration and implementation;​

26.23 (1) exercise leadership under the direction of the governor in the development of human​
26.24 rights policies and programs, and make recommendations to the governor and the legislature​
26.25 for their consideration and implementation;​

12.29 (2) establish and maintain a principal office in St. Paul, and any other necessary branch​
12.30 offices at any location within the state;​

26.26 (2) establish and maintain a principal office in St. Paul, and any other necessary branch​
26.27 offices at any location within the state;​

12.31 (3) meet and function at any place within the state;​26.28 (3) meet and function at any place within the state;​

13.1 (4) employ attorneys, clerks, and other employees and agents as the commissioner may​
13.2 deem necessary and prescribe their duties;​

26.29 (4) employ attorneys, clerks, and other employees and agents as the commissioner may​
26.30 deem necessary and prescribe their duties;​

13.3 (5) to the extent permitted by federal law and regulation, utilize the records of the​
13.4 Department of Employment and Economic Development of the state when necessary to​
13.5 effectuate the purposes of this chapter;​

27.1 (5) to the extent permitted by federal law and regulation, utilize the records of the​
27.2 Department of Employment and Economic Development of the state when necessary to​
27.3 effectuate the purposes of this chapter;​

13.6 (6) obtain upon request and utilize the services of all state governmental departments​
13.7 and agencies;​

27.4 (6) obtain upon request and utilize the services of all state governmental departments​
27.5 and agencies;​

13.8 (7) adopt suitable rules for effectuating the purposes of this chapter;​27.6 (7) adopt suitable rules for effectuating the purposes of this chapter;​

13.9 (8) issue complaints, receive and investigate charges alleging unfair discriminatory​
13.10 practices, and determine whether or not probable cause exists for hearing;​

27.7 (8) issue complaints, receive and investigate charges alleging unfair discriminatory​
27.8 practices, and determine whether or not probable cause exists for hearing;​

13.11 (9) subpoena witnesses, administer oaths, take testimony, and require the production for​
13.12 examination of any books or papers relative to any matter under investigation or in question​
13.13 as the commissioner deems appropriate to carry out the purposes of this chapter;​

27.9 (9) subpoena witnesses, administer oaths, take testimony, and require the production for​
27.10 examination of any books or papers relative to any matter under investigation or in question​
27.11 as the commissioner deems appropriate to carry out the purposes of this chapter;​

13.14 (10) attempt, by means of education, conference, conciliation, and persuasion to eliminate​
13.15 unfair discriminatory practices as being contrary to the public policy of the state;​

27.12 (10) attempt, by means of education, conference, conciliation, and persuasion to eliminate​
27.13 unfair discriminatory practices as being contrary to the public policy of the state;​

13.16 (11) develop and conduct programs of formal and informal education designed to​
13.17 eliminate discrimination and intergroup conflict by use of educational techniques and​
13.18 programs the commissioner deems necessary;​

27.14 (11) develop and conduct programs of formal and informal education designed to​
27.15 eliminate discrimination and intergroup conflict by use of educational techniques and​
27.16 programs the commissioner deems necessary;​

13.19 (12) make a written report of the activities of the commissioner to the governor each​
13.20 year;​

27.17 (12) make a written report of the activities of the commissioner to the governor each​
27.18 year;​
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13.21 (13) accept gifts, bequests, grants, or other payments public and private to help finance​
13.22 the activities of the department;​

27.19 (13) accept gifts, bequests, grants, or other payments public and private to help finance​
27.20 the activities of the department;​

13.23 (14) create such local and statewide advisory committees as will in the commissioner's​
13.24 judgment aid in effectuating the purposes of the Department of Human Rights;​

27.21 (14) create such local and statewide advisory committees as will in the commissioner's​
27.22 judgment aid in effectuating the purposes of the Department of Human Rights;​

13.25 (15) develop such programs as will aid in determining the compliance throughout the​
13.26 state with the provisions of this chapter, and in the furtherance of such duties, conduct​

27.23 (15) develop such programs as will aid in determining the compliance throughout the​
27.24 state with the provisions of this chapter, and in the furtherance of such duties, conduct​

13.27 research and study discriminatory practices based upon race, color, creed, religion, national​27.25 research and study discriminatory practices based upon race, color, creed, religion, national​
13.28 origin, sex, age, disability, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, familial​27.26 origin, sex, gender identity, age, disability, marital status, status with regard to public​
13.29 status, gender identity, sexual orientation, or other factors and develop accurate data on the​27.27 assistance, familial status, sexual orientation, or other factors and develop accurate data on​
13.30 nature and extent of discrimination and other matters as they may affect housing,​
13.31 employment, public accommodations, schools, and other areas of public life;​

27.28 the nature and extent of discrimination and other matters as they may affect housing,​
27.29 employment, public accommodations, schools, and other areas of public life;​

14.1 (16) develop and disseminate technical assistance to persons subject to the provisions​
14.2 of this chapter, and to agencies and officers of governmental and private agencies;​

27.30 (16) develop and disseminate technical assistance to persons subject to the provisions​
27.31 of this chapter, and to agencies and officers of governmental and private agencies;​

14.3 (17) provide staff services to such advisory committees as may be created in aid of the​
14.4 functions of the Department of Human Rights;​

28.1 (17) provide staff services to such advisory committees as may be created in aid of the​
28.2 functions of the Department of Human Rights;​

14.5 (18) make grants in aid to the extent that appropriations are made available for that​
14.6 purpose in aid of carrying out duties and responsibilities; and​

28.3 (18) make grants in aid to the extent that appropriations are made available for that​
28.4 purpose in aid of carrying out duties and responsibilities; and​

14.7 (19) cooperate and consult with the commissioner of labor and industry regarding the​
14.8 investigation of violations of, and resolution of complaints regarding section 363A.08,​
14.9 subdivision 7.​

28.5 (19) cooperate and consult with the commissioner of labor and industry regarding the​
28.6 investigation of violations of, and resolution of complaints regarding section 363A.08,​
28.7 subdivision 7.​

14.10 In performing these duties, the commissioner shall give priority to those duties in clauses​
14.11 (8), (9), and (10) and to the duties in section 363A.36.​

28.8 In performing these duties, the commissioner shall give priority to those duties in clauses​
28.9 (8), (9), and (10) and to the duties in section 363A.36.​

14.12 (b) All gifts, bequests, grants, or other payments, public and private, accepted under​
14.13 paragraph (a), clause (13), must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to a special​

28.10 (b) All gifts, bequests, grants, or other payments, public and private, accepted under​
28.11 paragraph (a), clause (13), must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to a special​

14.14 account. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner of human rights to help​
14.15 finance activities of the department.​

28.12 account. Money in the account is appropriated to the commissioner of human rights to help​
28.13 finance activities of the department.​

14.16 Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​28.14 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.07, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

14.17 Subd. 2. Referral from commissioner. The commissioner, whether or not a charge has​
14.18 been filed under this chapter, may refer a matter involving discrimination because of race,​

28.15 Subd. 2. Referral from commissioner. The commissioner, whether or not a charge has​
28.16 been filed under this chapter, may refer a matter involving discrimination because of race,​

14.19 color, religion, sex, creed, disability, marital status, status with regard to public assistance,​28.17 color, religion, sex, gender identity, creed, disability, marital status, status with regard to​
14.20 national origin, age, gender identity, sexual orientation, or familial status to a local​
14.21 commission for study and report.​

28.18 public assistance, national origin, age, sexual orientation, or familial status to a local​
28.19 commission for study and report.​

14.22 Upon referral by the commissioner, the local commission shall make a report and make​
14.23 recommendations to the commissioner and take other appropriate action within the scope​
14.24 of its powers.​

28.20 Upon referral by the commissioner, the local commission shall make a report and make​
28.21 recommendations to the commissioner and take other appropriate action within the scope​
28.22 of its powers.​
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14.25 Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​28.23 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.08, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

14.26 Subdivision 1. Labor organization. Except when based on a bona fide occupational​
14.27 qualification, it is an unfair employment practice for a labor organization, because of race,​

28.24 Subdivision 1. Labor organization. Except when based on a bona fide occupational​
28.25 qualification, it is an unfair employment practice for a labor organization, because of race,​

14.28 color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public​
14.29 assistance, familial status, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation, or age:​

28.26 color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, status with regard​
28.27 to public assistance, familial status, disability, sexual orientation, or age:​

14.30 (1) to deny full and equal membership rights to a person seeking membership or to a​
14.31 member;​

28.28 (1) to deny full and equal membership rights to a person seeking membership or to a​
28.29 member;​

15.1 (2) to expel a member from membership;​28.30 (2) to expel a member from membership;​

15.2 (3) to discriminate against a person seeking membership or a member with respect to​
15.3 hiring, apprenticeship, tenure, compensation, terms, upgrading, conditions, facilities, or​
15.4 privileges of employment; or​

29.1 (3) to discriminate against a person seeking membership or a member with respect to​
29.2 hiring, apprenticeship, tenure, compensation, terms, upgrading, conditions, facilities, or​
29.3 privileges of employment; or​

15.5 (4) to fail to classify properly, or refer for employment or otherwise to discriminate​
15.6 against a person or member.​

29.4 (4) to fail to classify properly, or refer for employment or otherwise to discriminate​
29.5 against a person or member.​

15.7 Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​29.6 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.08, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

15.8 Subd. 2. Employer. Except when based on a bona fide occupational qualification, it is​
15.9 an unfair employment practice for an employer, because of race, color, creed, religion,​

29.7 Subd. 2. Employer. Except when based on a bona fide occupational qualification, it is​
29.8 an unfair employment practice for an employer, because of race, color, creed, religion,​

15.10 national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, familial status,​29.9 national origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, status with regard to public assistance,​
15.11 membership or activity in a local commission, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation,​
15.12 or age to:​

29.10 familial status, membership or activity in a local commission, disability, sexual orientation,​
29.11 or age to:​

15.13 (1) refuse to hire or to maintain a system of employment which unreasonably excludes​
15.14 a person seeking employment; or​

29.12 (1) refuse to hire or to maintain a system of employment which unreasonably excludes​
29.13 a person seeking employment; or​

15.15 (2) discharge an employee; or​29.14 (2) discharge an employee; or​

15.16 (3) discriminate against a person with respect to hiring, tenure, compensation, terms,​
15.17 upgrading, conditions, facilities, or privileges of employment.​

29.15 (3) discriminate against a person with respect to hiring, tenure, compensation, terms,​
29.16 upgrading, conditions, facilities, or privileges of employment.​

15.18 Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.08, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​29.17 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.08, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

15.19 Subd. 3. Employment agency. Except when based on a bona fide occupational​
15.20 qualification, it is an unfair employment practice for an employment agency, because of​

29.18 Subd. 3. Employment agency. Except when based on a bona fide occupational​
29.19 qualification, it is an unfair employment practice for an employment agency, because of​

15.21 race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public​
15.22 assistance, familial status, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation, or age to:​

29.20 race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, status with​
29.21 regard to public assistance, familial status, disability, sexual orientation, or age to:​

15.23 (1) refuse or fail to accept, register, classify properly, or refer for employment or​
15.24 otherwise to discriminate against a person; or​

29.22 (1) refuse or fail to accept, register, classify properly, or refer for employment or​
29.23 otherwise to discriminate against a person; or​

15.25 (2) comply with a request from an employer for referral of applicants for employment​
15.26 if the request indicates directly or indirectly that the employer fails to comply with the​
15.27 provisions of this chapter.​

29.24 (2) comply with a request from an employer for referral of applicants for employment​
29.25 if the request indicates directly or indirectly that the employer fails to comply with the​
29.26 provisions of this chapter.​
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15.28 Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.08, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​29.27 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.08, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

15.29 Subd. 4. Employer, employment agency, or labor organization. (a) Except when​
15.30 based on a bona fide occupational qualification, it is an unfair employment practice for an​

29.28 Subd. 4. Employer, employment agency, or labor organization. (a) Except when​
29.29 based on a bona fide occupational qualification, it is an unfair employment practice for an​

16.1 employer, employment agency, or labor organization, before a person is employed by an​
16.2 employer or admitted to membership in a labor organization, to:​

29.30 employer, employment agency, or labor organization, before a person is employed by an​
29.31 employer or admitted to membership in a labor organization, to:​

16.3 (1) require or request the person to furnish information that pertains to race, color, creed,​
16.4 religion, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, familial​

30.1 (1) require or request the person to furnish information that pertains to race, color, creed,​
30.2 religion, national origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, status with regard to public​

16.5 status, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation, or age; or, subject to section 363A.20,​30.3 assistance, familial status, disability, sexual orientation, or age; or, subject to section 363A.20,​
16.6 to require or request a person to undergo physical examination; unless for the sole and​30.4 to require or request a person to undergo physical examination; unless for the sole and​
16.7 exclusive purpose of national security, information pertaining to national origin is required​30.5 exclusive purpose of national security, information pertaining to national origin is required​
16.8 by the United States, this state or a political subdivision or agency of the United States or​30.6 by the United States, this state or a political subdivision or agency of the United States or​
16.9 this state, or for the sole and exclusive purpose of compliance with the Public Contracts​30.7 this state, or for the sole and exclusive purpose of compliance with the Public Contracts​
16.10 Act or any rule, regulation, or laws of the United States or of this state requiring the​30.8 Act or any rule, regulation, or laws of the United States or of this state requiring the​
16.11 information or examination. A law enforcement agency may, after notifying an applicant​30.9 information or examination. A law enforcement agency may, after notifying an applicant​
16.12 for a peace officer or part-time peace officer position that the law enforcement agency is​30.10 for a peace officer or part-time peace officer position that the law enforcement agency is​
16.13 commencing the background investigation on the applicant, request the applicant's date of​30.11 commencing the background investigation on the applicant, request the applicant's date of​
16.14 birth, gender, and race on a separate form for the sole and exclusive purpose of conducting​30.12 birth, gender, and race on a separate form for the sole and exclusive purpose of conducting​
16.15 a criminal history check, a driver's license check, and fingerprint criminal history inquiry.​30.13 a criminal history check, a driver's license check, and fingerprint criminal history inquiry.​
16.16 The form shall include a statement indicating why the data is being collected and what its​30.14 The form shall include a statement indicating why the data is being collected and what its​
16.17 limited use will be. No document which has date of birth, gender, or race information will​30.15 limited use will be. No document which has date of birth, gender, or race information will​
16.18 be included in the information given to or available to any person who is involved in selecting​30.16 be included in the information given to or available to any person who is involved in selecting​
16.19 the person or persons employed other than the background investigator. No person may act​30.17 the person or persons employed other than the background investigator. No person may act​
16.20 both as background investigator and be involved in the selection of an employee except that​30.18 both as background investigator and be involved in the selection of an employee except that​
16.21 the background investigator's report about background may be used in that selection as long​
16.22 as no direct or indirect references are made to the applicant's race, age, or gender; or​

30.19 the background investigator's report about background may be used in that selection as long​
30.20 as no direct or indirect references are made to the applicant's race, age, or gender; or​

16.23 (2) seek and obtain for purposes of making a job decision, information from any source​
16.24 that pertains to the person's race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status,​

30.21 (2) seek and obtain for purposes of making a job decision, information from any source​
30.22 that pertains to the person's race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, gender identity,​

16.25 status with regard to public assistance, familial status, disability, gender identity, sexual​30.23 marital status, status with regard to public assistance, familial status, disability, sexual​
16.26 orientation, or age, unless for the sole and exclusive purpose of compliance with the Public​30.24 orientation, or age, unless for the sole and exclusive purpose of compliance with the Public​
16.27 Contracts Act or any rule, regulation, or laws of the United States or of this state requiring​
16.28 the information; or​

30.25 Contracts Act or any rule, regulation, or laws of the United States or of this state requiring​
30.26 the information; or​

16.29 (3) cause to be printed or published a notice or advertisement that relates to employment​
16.30 or membership and discloses a preference, limitation, specification, or discrimination based​

30.27 (3) cause to be printed or published a notice or advertisement that relates to employment​
30.28 or membership and discloses a preference, limitation, specification, or discrimination based​

16.31 on race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public​
16.32 assistance, familial status, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation, or age.​

30.29 on race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, status​
30.30 with regard to public assistance, familial status, disability, sexual orientation, or age.​

16.33 (b) Any individual who is required to provide information that is prohibited by this​
16.34 subdivision is an aggrieved party under sections 363A.06, subdivision 4, and 363A.28,​
16.35 subdivisions 1 to 9.​

30.31 (b) Any individual who is required to provide information that is prohibited by this​
30.32 subdivision is an aggrieved party under sections 363A.06, subdivision 4, and 363A.28,​
30.33 subdivisions 1 to 9.​
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17.1 Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.08, is amended by adding a subdivision​
17.2 to read:​

31.1 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.08, is amended by adding a subdivision​
31.2 to read:​

17.3 Subd. 8. Inquiries into pay history prohibited. (a) "Pay history" as used in this​
17.4 subdivision means any prior or current wage, salary, earnings, benefits, or any other​
17.5 compensation of an applicant for employment.​

31.3 Subd. 8. Inquiries into pay history prohibited. (a) "Pay history" as used in this​
31.4 subdivision means any prior or current wage, salary, earnings, benefits, or any other​
31.5 compensation about an applicant for employment.​

17.6 (b) An employer, employment agency, or labor organization shall not inquire into,​
17.7 consider, or require disclosure from any source the pay history of an applicant for​

31.6 (b) An employer, employment agency, or labor organization shall not inquire into,​
31.7 consider, or require disclosure from any source the pay history of an applicant for​

17.8 employment for the purpose of determining wages, salary, earnings, benefits, or other​31.8 employment for the purpose of determining wages, salary, earnings, benefits, or other​
17.9 compensation for that applicant. The general prohibition against inquiring into the pay​31.9 compensation for that applicant. The general prohibition against inquiring into the pay​
17.10 history of an applicant does not apply if the job applicant's pay history is a matter of public​31.10 history of an applicant does not apply if the job applicant's pay history is a matter of public​
17.11 record under federal or state law, unless the employer, employment agency, or labor​31.11 record under federal or state law, unless the employer, employment agency, or labor​
17.12 organization sought access to those public records with the intent of obtaining pay history​31.12 organization sought access to those public records with the intent of obtaining pay history​
17.13 of the applicant for the purpose of determining wages, salary, earnings, benefits, or other​
17.14 compensation for that applicant.​

31.13 of the applicant for the purpose of determining wages, salary, earnings, benefits, or other​
31.14 compensation for that applicant.​

17.15 (c) Nothing in this subdivision shall prevent an applicant for employment from voluntarily​
17.16 and without asking, encouraging, or prompting disclosing pay history for the purposes of​

31.15 (c) Nothing in this subdivision shall prevent an applicant for employment from voluntarily​
31.16 and without asking, encouraging, or prompting disclosing pay history for the purposes of​

17.17 negotiating wages, salary, benefits, or other compensation. If an applicant for employment​31.17 negotiating wages, salary, benefits, or other compensation. If an applicant for employment​
17.18 voluntarily and without asking, encouraging, or prompting discloses pay history to a​31.18 voluntarily and without asking, encouraging, or prompting discloses pay history to a​
17.19 prospective employer, employment agency, or labor organization, nothing in this subdivision​31.19 prospective employer, employment agency, or labor organization, nothing in this subdivision​
17.20 shall prohibit that employer, employment agency, or labor organization from considering​31.20 shall prohibit that employer, employment agency, or labor organization from considering​
17.21 or acting on that voluntarily disclosed salary history information to support a wage or salary​
17.22 higher than initially offered by the employer, employment agency, or labor organization.​

31.21 or acting on that voluntarily disclosed salary history information to support a wage or salary​
31.22 higher than initially offered by the employer, employment agency, or labor organization.​

17.23 (d) Nothing in this subdivision limits, prohibits, or prevents a person from bringing a​
17.24 charge, grievance, or any other cause of action alleging wage discrimination because of​

31.23 (d) Nothing in this subdivision limits, prohibits, or prevents a person from bringing a​
31.24 charge, grievance, or any other cause of action alleging wage discrimination because of​

17.25 race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, status with​31.25 race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, status with​
17.26 regard to public assistance, familial status, membership or activity in a local commission,​
17.27 disability, sexual orientation, or age, as otherwise provided in this chapter.​

31.26 regard to public assistance, familial status, membership or activity in a local commission,​
31.27 disability, sexual orientation, or age, as otherwise provided in this chapter.​

17.28 (e) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to prevent an employer from:​31.28 (e) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to prevent an employer from:​

17.29 (1) providing information about the wages, benefits, compensation, or salary offered in​
17.30 relation to a position; or​

31.29 (1) providing information about the wages, benefits, compensation, or salary offered in​
31.30 relation to a position; or​

17.31 (2) inquiring about or otherwise engaging in discussions with an applicant about the​
17.32 applicant's expectations or requests with respect to wages, salary, benefits, or other​
17.33 compensation.​

31.31 (2) inquiring about or otherwise engaging in discussions with an applicant about the​
31.32 applicant's expectations or requests with respect to wages, salary, benefits, or other​
31.33 compensation.​

18.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024. For employment covered​
18.2 by collective bargaining agreements, this section is not effective until the date of​

32.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024. For employment covered​
32.2 by collective bargaining agreements, this section is not effective until the date of​

18.3 implementation of the applicable collective bargaining agreement that is after January 1,​
18.4 2024.​

32.3 implementation of the applicable collective bargaining agreement that is after January 1,​
32.4 2024.​
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18.5 Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.09, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​32.5 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.09, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

18.6 Subdivision 1. Real property interest; action by owner, lessee, and others. It is an​
18.7 unfair discriminatory practice for an owner, lessee, sublessee, assignee, or managing agent​

32.6 Subdivision 1. Real property interest; action by owner, lessee, and others. It is an​
32.7 unfair discriminatory practice for an owner, lessee, sublessee, assignee, or managing agent​

18.8 of, or other person having the right to sell, rent or lease any real property, or any agent of​
18.9 any of these:​

32.8 of, or other person having the right to sell, rent or lease any real property, or any agent of​
32.9 any of these:​

18.10 (1) to refuse to sell, rent, or lease or otherwise deny to or withhold from any person or​
18.11 group of persons any real property because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin,​

32.10 (1) to refuse to sell, rent, or lease or otherwise deny to or withhold from any person or​
32.11 group of persons any real property because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin,​

18.12 sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, gender identity, sexual​
18.13 orientation, or familial status; or​

32.12 sex, gender identity, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, sexual​
32.13 orientation, or familial status; or​

18.14 (2) to discriminate against any person or group of persons because of race, color, creed,​
18.15 religion, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability,​

32.14 (2) to discriminate against any person or group of persons because of race, color, creed,​
32.15 religion, national origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, status with regard to public​

18.16 gender identity, sexual orientation, or familial status in the terms, conditions or privileges​32.16 assistance, disability, sexual orientation, or familial status in the terms, conditions or​
18.17 of the sale, rental or lease of any real property or in the furnishing of facilities or services​32.17 privileges of the sale, rental or lease of any real property or in the furnishing of facilities or​
18.18 in connection therewith, except that nothing in this clause shall be construed to prohibit the​32.18 services in connection therewith, except that nothing in this clause shall be construed to​
18.19 adoption of reasonable rules intended to protect the safety of minors in their use of the real​
18.20 property or any facilities or services furnished in connection therewith; or​

32.19 prohibit the adoption of reasonable rules intended to protect the safety of minors in their​
32.20 use of the real property or any facilities or services furnished in connection therewith; or​

18.21 (3) in any transaction involving real property, to print, circulate or post or cause to be​
18.22 printed, circulated, or posted any advertisement or sign, or use any form of application for​

32.21 (3) in any transaction involving real property, to print, circulate or post or cause to be​
32.22 printed, circulated, or posted any advertisement or sign, or use any form of application for​

18.23 the purchase, rental or lease of real property, or make any record or inquiry in connection​32.23 the purchase, rental or lease of real property, or make any record or inquiry in connection​
18.24 with the prospective purchase, rental, or lease of real property which expresses, directly or​32.24 with the prospective purchase, rental, or lease of real property which expresses, directly or​
18.25 indirectly, any limitation, specification, or discrimination as to race, color, creed, religion,​32.25 indirectly, any limitation, specification, or discrimination as to race, color, creed, religion,​
18.26 national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, gender​32.26 national origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, status with regard to public assistance,​
18.27 identity, sexual orientation, or familial status, or any intent to make any such limitation,​32.27 disability, sexual orientation, or familial status, or any intent to make any such limitation,​
18.28 specification, or discrimination except that nothing in this clause shall be construed to​32.28 specification, or discrimination except that nothing in this clause shall be construed to​
18.29 prohibit the advertisement of a dwelling unit as available to adults-only if the person placing​32.29 prohibit the advertisement of a dwelling unit as available to adults-only if the person placing​
18.30 the advertisement reasonably believes that the provisions of this section prohibiting​
18.31 discrimination because of familial status do not apply to the dwelling unit.​

32.30 the advertisement reasonably believes that the provisions of this section prohibiting​
32.31 discrimination because of familial status do not apply to the dwelling unit.​

19.1 Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​33.1 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

19.2 Subd. 2. Real property interest; action by brokers, agents, and others. It is an unfair​
19.3 discriminatory practice for a real estate broker, real estate salesperson, or employee, or agent​
19.4 thereof:​

33.2 Subd. 2. Real property interest; action by brokers, agents, and others. It is an unfair​
33.3 discriminatory practice for a real estate broker, real estate salesperson, or employee, or agent​
33.4 thereof:​

19.5 (1) to refuse to sell, rent, or lease or to offer for sale, rental, or lease any real property​
19.6 to any person or group of persons or to negotiate for the sale, rental, or lease of any real​

33.5 (1) to refuse to sell, rent, or lease or to offer for sale, rental, or lease any real property​
33.6 to any person or group of persons or to negotiate for the sale, rental, or lease of any real​

19.7 property to any person or group of persons because of race, color, creed, religion, national​33.7 property to any person or group of persons because of race, color, creed, religion, national​
19.8 origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, gender identity,​33.8 origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability,​
19.9 sexual orientation, or familial status or represent that real property is not available for​33.9 sexual orientation, or familial status or represent that real property is not available for​
19.10 inspection, sale, rental, or lease when in fact it is so available, or otherwise deny or withhold​33.10 inspection, sale, rental, or lease when in fact it is so available, or otherwise deny or withhold​
19.11 any real property or any facilities of real property to or from any person or group of persons​33.11 any real property or any facilities of real property to or from any person or group of persons​
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33.12 because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, gender identity, marital status,​
33.13 status with regard to public assistance, disability, sexual orientation, or familial status; or​

19.12 because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard​
19.13 to public assistance, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation, or familial status; or​

19.14 (2) to discriminate against any person because of race, color, creed, religion, national​
19.15 origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, gender identity,​

33.14 (2) to discriminate against any person because of race, color, creed, religion, national​
33.15 origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability,​

19.16 sexual orientation, or familial status in the terms, conditions or privileges of the sale, rental​33.16 sexual orientation, or familial status in the terms, conditions or privileges of the sale, rental​
19.17 or lease of real property or in the furnishing of facilities or services in connection therewith;​
19.18 or​

33.17 or lease of real property or in the furnishing of facilities or services in connection therewith;​
33.18 or​

19.19 (3) to print, circulate, or post or cause to be printed, circulated, or posted any​
19.20 advertisement or sign, or use any form of application for the purchase, rental, or lease of​

33.19 (3) to print, circulate, or post or cause to be printed, circulated, or posted any​
33.20 advertisement or sign, or use any form of application for the purchase, rental, or lease of​

19.21 any real property or make any record or inquiry in connection with the prospective purchase,​33.21 any real property or make any record or inquiry in connection with the prospective purchase,​
19.22 rental or lease of any real property, which expresses directly or indirectly, any limitation,​33.22 rental or lease of any real property, which expresses directly or indirectly, any limitation,​
19.23 specification or discrimination as to race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, marital​33.23 specification or discrimination as to race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, gender​
19.24 status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, gender identity, sexual orientation,​33.24 identity, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, sexual orientation,​
19.25 or familial status or any intent to make any such limitation, specification, or discrimination​33.25 or familial status or any intent to make any such limitation, specification, or discrimination​
19.26 except that nothing in this clause shall be construed to prohibit the advertisement of a​33.26 except that nothing in this clause shall be construed to prohibit the advertisement of a​
19.27 dwelling unit as available to adults-only if the person placing the advertisement reasonably​33.27 dwelling unit as available to adults-only if the person placing the advertisement reasonably​
19.28 believes that the provisions of this section prohibiting discrimination because of familial​
19.29 status do not apply to the dwelling unit.​

33.28 believes that the provisions of this section prohibiting discrimination because of familial​
33.29 status do not apply to the dwelling unit.​

19.30 Sec. 15. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.09, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​33.30 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.09, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

19.31 Subd. 3. Real property interest; action by financial institution. It is an unfair​
19.32 discriminatory practice for a person, bank, banking organization, mortgage company,​

33.31 Subd. 3. Real property interest; action by financial institution. It is an unfair​
33.32 discriminatory practice for a person, bank, banking organization, mortgage company,​

19.33 insurance company, or other financial institution or lender to whom application is made for​33.33 insurance company, or other financial institution or lender to whom application is made for​
20.1 financial assistance for the purchase, lease, acquisition, construction, rehabilitation, repair​
20.2 or maintenance of any real property or any agent or employee thereof:​

34.1 financial assistance for the purchase, lease, acquisition, construction, rehabilitation, repair​
34.2 or maintenance of any real property or any agent or employee thereof:​

20.3 (1) to discriminate against any person or group of persons because of race, color, creed,​
20.4 religion, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability,​

34.3 (1) to discriminate against any person or group of persons because of race, color, creed,​
34.4 religion, national origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, status with regard to public​

20.5 gender identity, sexual orientation, or familial status of the person or group of persons or​34.5 assistance, disability, sexual orientation, or familial status of the person or group of persons​
20.6 of the prospective occupants or tenants of the real property in the granting, withholding,​34.6 or of the prospective occupants or tenants of the real property in the granting, withholding,​
20.7 extending, modifying or renewing, or in the rates, terms, conditions, or privileges of the​
20.8 financial assistance or in the extension of services in connection therewith; or​

34.7 extending, modifying or renewing, or in the rates, terms, conditions, or privileges of the​
34.8 financial assistance or in the extension of services in connection therewith; or​

20.9 (2) to use any form of application for the financial assistance or make any record or​
20.10 inquiry in connection with applications for the financial assistance which expresses, directly​

34.9 (2) to use any form of application for the financial assistance or make any record or​
34.10 inquiry in connection with applications for the financial assistance which expresses, directly​

20.11 or indirectly, any limitation, specification, or discrimination as to race, color, creed, religion,​34.11 or indirectly, any limitation, specification, or discrimination as to race, color, creed, religion,​
20.12 national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, disability, gender​34.12 national origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, status with regard to public assistance,​
20.13 identity, sexual orientation, or familial status or any intent to make any such limitation,​
20.14 specification, or discrimination; or​

34.13 disability, sexual orientation, or familial status or any intent to make any such limitation,​
34.14 specification, or discrimination; or​

20.15 (3) to discriminate against any person or group of persons who desire to purchase, lease,​
20.16 acquire, construct, rehabilitate, repair, or maintain real property in a specific urban or rural​

34.15 (3) to discriminate against any person or group of persons who desire to purchase, lease,​
34.16 acquire, construct, rehabilitate, repair, or maintain real property in a specific urban or rural​

20.17 area or any part thereof solely because of the social, economic, or environmental conditions​34.17 area or any part thereof solely because of the social, economic, or environmental conditions​
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34.18 of the area in the granting, withholding, extending, modifying, or renewing, or in the rates,​
34.19 terms, conditions, or privileges of the financial assistance or in the extension of services in​
34.20 connection therewith.​

20.18 of the area in the granting, withholding, extending, modifying, or renewing, or in the rates,​
20.19 terms, conditions, or privileges of the financial assistance or in the extension of services in​
20.20 connection therewith.​

20.21 Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.09, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​34.21 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.09, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

20.22 Subd. 4. Real property transaction. It is an unfair discriminatory practice for any real​
20.23 estate broker or real estate salesperson, for the purpose of inducing a real property transaction​

34.22 Subd. 4. Real property transaction. It is an unfair discriminatory practice for any real​
34.23 estate broker or real estate salesperson, for the purpose of inducing a real property transaction​

20.24 from which the person, the person's firm, or any of its members may benefit financially, to​34.24 from which the person, the person's firm, or any of its members may benefit financially, to​
20.25 represent that a change has occurred or will or may occur in the composition with respect​34.25 represent that a change has occurred or will or may occur in the composition with respect​
20.26 to race, creed, color, national origin, sex, marital status, status with regard to public​34.26 to race, creed, color, national origin, sex, gender identity, marital status, status with regard​
20.27 assistance, gender identity, sexual orientation, or disability of the owners or occupants in​34.27 to public assistance, sexual orientation, or disability of the owners or occupants in the block,​
20.28 the block, neighborhood, or area in which the real property is located, and to represent,​34.28 neighborhood, or area in which the real property is located, and to represent, directly or​
20.29 directly or indirectly, that this change will or may result in undesirable consequences in the​34.29 indirectly, that this change will or may result in undesirable consequences in the block,​
20.30 block, neighborhood, or area in which the real property is located, including but not limited​34.30 neighborhood, or area in which the real property is located, including but not limited to the​
20.31 to the lowering of property values, an increase in criminal or antisocial behavior, or a decline​
20.32 in the quality of schools or other public facilities.​

34.31 lowering of property values, an increase in criminal or antisocial behavior, or a decline in​
34.32 the quality of schools or other public facilities.​

21.1 Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​35.1 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.11, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

21.2 Subdivision 1. Full and equal enjoyment of public accommodations. (a) It is an unfair​
21.3 discriminatory practice:​

35.2 Subdivision 1. Full and equal enjoyment of public accommodations. (a) It is an unfair​
35.3 discriminatory practice:​

21.4 (1) to deny any person the full and equal enjoyment of the goods, services, facilities,​
21.5 privileges, advantages, and accommodations of a place of public accommodation because​

35.4 (1) to deny any person the full and equal enjoyment of the goods, services, facilities,​
35.5 privileges, advantages, and accommodations of a place of public accommodation because​

21.6 of race, color, creed, religion, disability, national origin, marital status, gender identity,​35.6 of race, color, creed, religion, disability, national origin, marital status, sexual orientation,​
21.7 sexual orientation, or sex, or for a taxicab company to discriminate in the access to, full​
21.8 utilization of, or benefit from service because of a person's disability; or​

35.7 or sex, or gender identity, or for a taxicab company to discriminate in the access to, full​
35.8 utilization of, or benefit from service because of a person's disability; or​

21.9 (2) for a place of public accommodation not to make reasonable accommodation to the​
21.10 known physical, sensory, or mental disability of a disabled person. In determining whether​
21.11 an accommodation is reasonable, the factors to be considered may include:​

35.9 (2) for a place of public accommodation not to make reasonable accommodation to the​
35.10 known physical, sensory, or mental disability of a disabled person. In determining whether​
35.11 an accommodation is reasonable, the factors to be considered may include:​

21.12 (i) the frequency and predictability with which members of the public will be served by​
21.13 the accommodation at that location;​

35.12 (i) the frequency and predictability with which members of the public will be served by​
35.13 the accommodation at that location;​

21.14 (ii) the size of the business or organization at that location with respect to physical size,​
21.15 annual gross revenues, and the number of employees;​

35.14 (ii) the size of the business or organization at that location with respect to physical size,​
35.15 annual gross revenues, and the number of employees;​

21.16 (iii) the extent to which disabled persons will be further served from the accommodation;​35.16 (iii) the extent to which disabled persons will be further served from the accommodation;​

21.17 (iv) the type of operation;​35.17 (iv) the type of operation;​

21.18 (v) the nature and amount of both direct costs and legitimate indirect costs of making​
21.19 the accommodation and the reasonableness for that location to finance the accommodation;​
21.20 and​

35.18 (v) the nature and amount of both direct costs and legitimate indirect costs of making​
35.19 the accommodation and the reasonableness for that location to finance the accommodation;​
35.20 and​

21.21 (vi) the extent to which any persons may be adversely affected by the accommodation.​35.21 (vi) the extent to which any persons may be adversely affected by the accommodation.​
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21.22 (b) State or local building codes control where applicable. Violations of state or local​
21.23 building codes are not violations of this chapter and must be enforced under normal building​
21.24 code procedures.​

35.22 (b) State or local building codes control where applicable. Violations of state or local​
35.23 building codes are not violations of this chapter and must be enforced under normal building​
35.24 code procedures.​

35.25 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.11, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

35.26 Subd. 2. General prohibitions. This subdivision lists general prohibitions against​
35.27 discrimination on the basis of disability. For purposes of this subdivision, "individual" or​
35.28 "class of individuals" refers to the clients or customers of the covered public accommodation​
35.29 that enter into the contractual, licensing, or other arrangement.​

35.30 (1) It is discriminatory to:​

36.1 (i) subject an individual or class of individuals on the basis of a disability of that​
36.2 individual or class, directly or through contractual, licensing, or other arrangements, to a​
36.3 denial of the opportunity of the individual or class to participate in or benefit from the goods,​
36.4 services, facilities, privileges, advantages, or accommodations of an entity;​

36.5 (ii) afford an individual or class of individuals on the basis of the disability of that​
36.6 individual or class, directly or through contractual, licensing, or other arrangements, with​
36.7 the opportunity to participate in or benefit from the goods, services, facilities, privileges,​
36.8 advantages, or accommodations that are not equal to those afforded to other individuals;​
36.9 and​

36.10 (iii) provide an individual or class of individuals, on the basis of a disability of that​
36.11 individual or class, directly or through contractual, licensing, or other arrangements, with​
36.12 goods, services, facilities, privileges, advantages, or accommodations that are different or​
36.13 separate from those provided to other individuals, unless the action is necessary to provide​
36.14 the individual or class of individuals with goods, services, facilities, privileges, advantages,​
36.15 or accommodations, or other opportunities that are as effective as those provided to others.;​
36.16 and​

36.17 (iv) not provide a deaf or hard-of-hearing individual or class of deaf or hard-of-hearing​
36.18 individuals with closed-captioned television when television services are provided to other​
36.19 individuals.​

36.20 (2) Goods, services, facilities, privileges, advantages, and accommodations must be​
36.21 afforded to an individual with a disability in the most integrated setting appropriate to the​
36.22 needs of the individual.​

36.23 (3) Notwithstanding the existence of separate or different programs or activities provided​
36.24 in accordance with sections 363A.08 to 363A.19, and 363A.28, subdivision 10, the individual​
36.25 with a disability may not be denied the opportunity to participate in the programs or activities​
36.26 that are not separate or different.​

36.27 (4) An individual or entity may not, directly or through contractual or other arrangements,​
36.28 use standards or criteria and methods of administration:​
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36.29 (i) that have the effect of discriminating on the basis of disability; or​

36.30 (ii) that perpetuate the discrimination of others who are subject to common administrative​
36.31 control.​

36.32 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective August 1, 2024, for all places of public​
36.33 accommodation.​

21.25 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.12, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​37.1 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.12, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

21.26 Subdivision 1. Access to public service. It is an unfair discriminatory practice to​
21.27 discriminate against any person in the access to, admission to, full utilization of or benefit​

37.2 Subdivision 1. Access to public service. It is an unfair discriminatory practice to​
37.3 discriminate against any person in the access to, admission to, full utilization of or benefit​

21.28 from any public service because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, disability,​37.4 from any public service because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, disability,​
21.29 sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, or status with regard to public assistance or to fail​37.5 sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, or status with regard to public assistance or to fail​
21.30 to ensure physical and program access for disabled persons unless the public service can​37.6 to ensure physical and program access for disabled persons unless the public service can​
21.31 demonstrate that providing the access would impose an undue hardship on its operation. In​37.7 demonstrate that providing the access would impose an undue hardship on its operation. In​
22.1 determining whether providing physical and program access would impose an undue​
22.2 hardship, factors to be considered include:​

37.8 determining whether providing physical and program access would impose an undue​
37.9 hardship, factors to be considered include:​

22.3 (1) the type and purpose of the public service's operation;​37.10 (1) the type and purpose of the public service's operation;​

22.4 (2) the nature and cost of the needed accommodation;​37.11 (2) the nature and cost of the needed accommodation;​

22.5 (3) documented good faith efforts to explore less restrictive or less expensive alternatives;​
22.6 and​

37.12 (3) documented good faith efforts to explore less restrictive or less expensive alternatives;​
37.13 and​

22.7 (4) the extent of consultation with knowledgeable disabled persons and organizations.​37.14 (4) the extent of consultation with knowledgeable disabled persons and organizations.​

22.8 Physical and program access must be accomplished within six months of June 7, 1983,​
22.9 except for needed architectural modifications, which must be made within two years of June​
22.10 7, 1983.​

37.15 Physical and program access must be accomplished within six months of June 7, 1983,​
37.16 except for needed architectural modifications, which must be made within two years of June​
37.17 7, 1983.​

22.11 Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​37.18 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.13, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

22.12 Subdivision 1. Utilization; benefit or services. It is an unfair discriminatory practice​
22.13 to discriminate in any manner in the full utilization of or benefit from any educational​

37.19 Subdivision 1. Utilization; benefit or services. It is an unfair discriminatory practice​
37.20 to discriminate in any manner in the full utilization of or benefit from any educational​

22.14 institution, or the services rendered thereby to any person because of race, color, creed,​37.21 institution, or the services rendered thereby to any person because of race, color, creed,​
22.15 religion, national origin, sex, age, marital status, status with regard to public assistance,​37.22 religion, national origin, sex, gender identity, age, marital status, status with regard to public​
22.16 gender identity, sexual orientation, or disability, or to fail to ensure physical and program​37.23 assistance, sexual orientation, or disability, or to fail to ensure physical and program access​
22.17 access for disabled persons. For purposes of this subdivision, program access includes but​37.24 for disabled persons. For purposes of this subdivision, program access includes but is not​
22.18 is not limited to providing taped texts, interpreters or other methods of making orally​37.25 limited to providing taped texts, interpreters or other methods of making orally delivered​
22.19 delivered materials available, readers in libraries, adapted classroom equipment, and similar​37.26 materials available, readers in libraries, adapted classroom equipment, and similar auxiliary​
22.20 auxiliary aids or services. Program access does not include providing attendants, individually​37.27 aids or services. Program access does not include providing attendants, individually​
22.21 prescribed devices, readers for personal use or study, or other devices or services of a​
22.22 personal nature.​

37.28 prescribed devices, readers for personal use or study, or other devices or services of a​
37.29 personal nature.​
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22.23 Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.13, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​37.30 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.13, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

22.24 Subd. 2. Exclude, expel, or selection. It is an unfair discriminatory practice to exclude,​
22.25 expel, or otherwise discriminate against a person seeking admission as a student, or a person​

37.31 Subd. 2. Exclude, expel, or selection. It is an unfair discriminatory practice to exclude,​
37.32 expel, or otherwise discriminate against a person seeking admission as a student, or a person​

22.26 enrolled as a student because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, age, marital​
22.27 status, status with regard to public assistance, gender identity, sexual orientation, or disability.​

38.1 enrolled as a student because of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, sex, gender​
38.2 identity, age, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation, or​
38.3 disability.​

22.28 Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.13, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​38.4 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.13, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

22.29 Subd. 3. Admission form or inquiry. It is an unfair discriminatory practice to make or​
22.30 use a written or oral inquiry, or form of application for admission that elicits or attempts to​

38.5 Subd. 3. Admission form or inquiry. It is an unfair discriminatory practice to make or​
38.6 use a written or oral inquiry, or form of application for admission that elicits or attempts to​

22.31 elicit information, or to make or keep a record, concerning the creed, religion, gender identity,​38.7 elicit information, or to make or keep a record, concerning the creed, religion, gender identity,​
23.1 sexual orientation, or disability of a person seeking admission, except as permitted by rules​
23.2 of the department.​

38.8 sexual orientation, or disability of a person seeking admission, except as permitted by rules​
38.9 of the department.​

23.3 Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.13, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​38.10 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.13, subdivision 4, is amended to read:​

23.4 Subd. 4. Purpose for information and record. It is an unfair discriminatory practice​
23.5 to make or use a written or oral inquiry or form of application that elicits or attempts to​

38.11 Subd. 4. Purpose for information and record. It is an unfair discriminatory practice​
38.12 to make or use a written or oral inquiry or form of application that elicits or attempts to​

23.6 elicit information, or to keep a record concerning the race, color, national origin, sex, gender​38.13 elicit information, or to keep a record concerning the race, color, national origin, sex, gender​
23.7 identity, sexual orientation, age, or marital status of a person seeking admission, unless the​38.14 identity, sexual orientation, age, or marital status of a person seeking admission, unless the​
23.8 information is collected for purposes of evaluating the effectiveness of recruitment,​
23.9 admissions, and other educational policies, and is maintained separately from the application.​

38.15 information is collected for purposes of evaluating the effectiveness of recruitment,​
38.16 admissions, and other educational policies, and is maintained separately from the application.​

38.17 Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.15, is amended to read:​

38.18 363A.15 REPRISALS.​

38.19 It is an unfair discriminatory practice for any individual who participated in the alleged​
38.20 discrimination as a perpetrator, employer, labor organization, employment agency, public​
38.21 accommodation, public service, educational institution, or owner, lessor, lessee, sublessee,​
38.22 assignee or managing agent of any real property, or any real estate broker, real estate​
38.23 salesperson, or employee or agent thereof to intentionally engage in any reprisal against​
38.24 any person because that person:​

38.25 (1) opposed a practice forbidden under this chapter or has filed a charge, testified,​
38.26 assisted, or participated in any manner in an investigation, proceeding, or hearing under​
38.27 this chapter; or​

38.28 (2) associated with a person or group of persons who are disabled or who are of different​
38.29 race, color, creed, religion, gender identity, sexual orientation, or national origin.​

38.30 A reprisal includes, but is not limited to, any form of intimidation, retaliation, or​
38.31 harassment. It is a reprisal for an employer to do any of the following with respect to an​
39.1 individual because that individual has engaged in the activities listed in clause (1) or (2):​
39.2 refuse to hire the individual; depart from any customary employment practice; transfer or​
39.3 assign the individual to a lesser position in terms of wages, hours, job classification, job​
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39.4 security, or other employment status; or inform another employer that the individual has​
39.5 engaged in the activities listed in clause (1) or (2).​

23.10 Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.16, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​39.6 Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.16, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

23.11 Subdivision 1. Personal or commercial credit. It is an unfair discriminatory practice​
23.12 to discriminate in the extension of personal or commercial credit to a person, or in the​

39.7 Subdivision 1. Personal or commercial credit. It is an unfair discriminatory practice​
39.8 to discriminate in the extension of personal or commercial credit to a person, or in the​

23.13 requirements for obtaining credit, because of race, color, creed, religion, disability, national​39.9 requirements for obtaining credit, because of race, color, creed, religion, disability, national​
23.14 origin, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, or marital status, or due to the receipt of​
23.15 federal, state, or local public assistance including medical assistance.​

39.10 origin, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, or marital status, or due to the receipt of​
39.11 federal, state, or local public assistance including medical assistance.​

23.16 Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.17, is amended to read:​

23.17 363A.17 BUSINESS DISCRIMINATION.​

39.12 Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.17, is amended to read:​

39.13 363A.17 BUSINESS DISCRIMINATION.​

23.18 It is an unfair discriminatory practice for a person engaged in a trade or business or in​
23.19 the provision of a service:​

39.14 It is an unfair discriminatory practice for a person engaged in a trade or business or in​
39.15 the provision of a service:​

23.20 (1) to refuse to do business with or provide a service to a woman based on her use of​
23.21 her current or former surname; or​

39.16 (1) to refuse to do business with or provide a service to a woman based on her use of​
39.17 her current or former surname; or​

23.22 (2) to impose, as a condition of doing business with or providing a service to a woman,​
23.23 that a woman use her current surname rather than a former surname; or​

39.18 (2) to impose, as a condition of doing business with or providing a service to a woman,​
39.19 that a woman use her current surname rather than a former surname; or​

23.24 (3) to intentionally refuse to do business with, to refuse to contract with, or to discriminate​
23.25 in the basic terms, conditions, or performance of the contract because of a person's race,​

39.20 (3) to intentionally refuse to do business with, to refuse to contract with, or to discriminate​
39.21 in the basic terms, conditions, or performance of the contract because of a person's race,​

23.26 national origin, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, or disability, unless the alleged​
23.27 refusal or discrimination is because of a legitimate business purpose.​

39.22 national origin, color, sex, gender identity, sexual orientation, or disability, unless the alleged​
39.23 refusal or discrimination is because of a legitimate business purpose.​

23.28 Nothing in this section shall prohibit positive action plans.​39.24 Nothing in this section shall prohibit positive action plans.​

23.29 Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.21, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​39.25 Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 363A.21, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

23.30 Subdivision 1. Housing. The provisions of section 363A.09 shall not apply to:​39.26 Subdivision 1. Housing. The provisions of section 363A.09 shall not apply to:​

24.1 (1) rooms in a temporary or permanent residence home run by a nonprofit organization,​
24.2 if the discrimination is by sex; or​

39.27 (1) rooms in a temporary or permanent residence home run by a nonprofit organization,​
39.28 if the discrimination is by sex; or​

24.3 (2) the rental by a resident owner or occupier of a one-family accommodation of a room​
24.4 or rooms in the accommodation to another person or persons if the discrimination is by sex,​

39.29 (2) the rental by a resident owner or occupier of a one-family accommodation of a room​
39.30 or rooms in the accommodation to another person or persons if the discrimination is by sex,​

24.5 marital status, status with regard to public assistance, gender identity, sexual orientation,​40.1 gender identity, marital status, status with regard to public assistance, sexual orientation,​
24.6 or disability. Except as provided elsewhere in this chapter or other state or federal law, no​40.2 or disability. Except as provided elsewhere in this chapter or other state or federal law, no​
24.7 person or group of persons selling, renting, or leasing property is required to modify the​40.3 person or group of persons selling, renting, or leasing property is required to modify the​
24.8 property in any way, or exercise a higher degree of care for a person having a disability​40.4 property in any way, or exercise a higher degree of care for a person having a disability​
24.9 than for a person who does not have a disability; nor shall this chapter be construed to relieve​40.5 than for a person who does not have a disability; nor shall this chapter be construed to relieve​
24.10 any person or persons of any obligations generally imposed on all persons regardless of any​40.6 any person or persons of any obligations generally imposed on all persons regardless of any​
24.11 disability in a written lease, rental agreement, or contract of purchase or sale, or to forbid​40.7 disability in a written lease, rental agreement, or contract of purchase or sale, or to forbid​
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40.8 distinctions based on the inability to fulfill the terms and conditions, including financial​
40.9 obligations of the lease, agreement, or contract; or.​

24.12 distinctions based on the inability to fulfill the terms and conditions, including financial​
24.13 obligations of the lease, agreement, or contract; or.​

24.14 (3) the rental by a resident owner of a unit in a dwelling containing not more than two​
24.15 units, if the discrimination is on the basis of sexual orientation.​

40.10 (3) the rental by a resident owner of a unit in a dwelling containing not more than two​
40.11 units, if the discrimination is on the basis of sexual orientation.​

40.12 Sec. 30. [363A.265] GENERAL EXCLUSIONS.​

40.13 The physical or sexual attachment to children by an adult is not a protected class under​
40.14 this chapter.​

40.15 Sec. 31. REPEALER.​

40.16 Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 363A.20, subdivision 3; and 363A.27, are repealed.​

24.18 ARTICLE 4​

24.19 CIVIL AND CRIMINAL PROCEDURE​

40.17 ARTICLE 4​

40.18 DATA​

S2909-3​
37.31 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.072, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​40.19 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.072, subdivision 1, is amended to read:​

37.32 Subdivision 1. Opinion; when required. (a) Upon request of a government entity, the​
37.33 commissioner may give a written opinion on any question relating to public access to​

40.20 Subdivision 1. Opinion; when required. (a) Upon request of a government entity, the​
40.21 commissioner may give a written opinion on any question relating to public access to​

38.1 government data, rights of subjects of data, or classification of data under this chapter or​40.22 government data, rights of subjects of data, or classification of data under this chapter or​
38.2 other Minnesota statutes governing government data practices. Upon request of any person​40.23 other Minnesota statutes governing government data practices. Upon request of any person​
38.3 who disagrees with a determination regarding data practices made by a government entity,​40.24 who disagrees with a determination regarding data practices made by a government entity,​
38.4 the commissioner may give a written opinion regarding the person's rights as a subject of​
38.5 government data or right to have access to government data.​

40.25 the commissioner may give a written opinion regarding the person's rights as a subject of​
40.26 government data or right to have access to government data.​

38.6 (b) Upon request of a body subject to chapter 13D, the commissioner may give a written​
38.7 opinion on any question relating to the body's duties under chapter 13D. Upon request of a​

40.27 (b) Upon request of a body subject to chapter 13D, the commissioner may give a written​
40.28 opinion on any question relating to the body's duties under chapter 13D. Upon request of a​

38.8 person who disagrees with the manner in which members of a governing body perform their​40.29 person who disagrees with the manner in which members of a governing body perform their​
38.9 duties under chapter 13D, the commissioner may give a written opinion on compliance with​40.30 duties under chapter 13D, the commissioner may give a written opinion on compliance with​
38.10 chapter 13D. A governing body or person requesting an opinion under this paragraph must​40.31 chapter 13D. A governing body or person requesting an opinion under this paragraph must​
38.11 pay the commissioner a fee of $200. Money received by the commissioner under this​
38.12 paragraph is appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes of this section.​

41.1 pay the commissioner a fee of $200. Money received by the commissioner under this​
41.2 paragraph is appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes of this section.​

38.13 (c) If the commissioner determines that no opinion will be issued, the commissioner​
38.14 shall give the government entity or body subject to chapter 13D or person requesting the​

41.3 (c) If the commissioner determines that no opinion will be issued, the commissioner​
41.4 shall give the government entity or body subject to chapter 13D or person requesting the​

38.15 opinion notice of the decision not to issue the opinion within five business days of receipt​41.5 opinion notice of the decision not to issue the opinion within five business days of receipt​
38.16 of the request. Notice must be in writing. For notice by mail, the decision not to issue an​41.6 of the request. Notice must be in writing. For notice by mail, the decision not to issue an​
38.17 opinion is effective when placed with the United States Postal Service or with the central​41.7 opinion is effective when placed with the United States Postal Service or with the central​
38.18 mail system of the state of Minnesota. If this notice is not given, the commissioner shall​
38.19 issue an opinion within 20 50 days of receipt of the request.​

41.8 mail system of the state of Minnesota. If this notice is not given, the commissioner shall​
41.9 issue an opinion within 20 50 days of receipt of the request.​

38.20 (d) For good cause and upon written notice to the person requesting the opinion, the​
38.21 commissioner may extend this deadline for one additional 30-day period. The notice must​

41.10 (d) For good cause and upon written notice to the person requesting the opinion, the​
41.11 commissioner may extend this deadline for one additional 30-day period. The notice must​
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41.12 state the reason for extending the deadline. The government entity or the members of a body​
41.13 subject to chapter 13D must be provided a reasonable opportunity to explain the reasons​

38.22 state the reason for extending the deadline. The government entity or the members of a body​
38.23 subject to chapter 13D must be provided a reasonable opportunity to explain the reasons​

41.14 for its decision regarding the data or how they perform their duties under chapter 13D. The​ 38.24 for its decision regarding the data or how they perform their duties under chapter 13D. The​
41.15 commissioner or the government entity or body subject to chapter 13D may choose to give​ 38.25 commissioner or the government entity or body subject to chapter 13D may choose to give​
41.16 notice to the subject of the data concerning the dispute regarding the data or compliance​
41.17 with chapter 13D.​

38.26 notice to the subject of the data concerning the dispute regarding the data or compliance​
38.27 with chapter 13D.​

38.28 (e) This section does not apply to a determination made by the commissioner of health​
38.29 under section 13.3805, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), or 144.6581.​

41.18 (e) This section does not apply to a determination made by the commissioner of health​
41.19 under section 13.3805, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), or 144.6581.​

38.30 (f) A written, numbered, and published opinion issued by the attorney general shall take​
38.31 precedence over an opinion issued by the commissioner under this section.​

41.20 (f) A written, numbered, and published opinion issued by the attorney general shall take​
41.21 precedence over an opinion issued by the commissioner under this section.​

S0200-1​
1.24 Section 1. [13.204] POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS LICENSING DATA.​41.22 Sec. 2. [13.204] POLITICAL SUBDIVISIONS LICENSING DATA.​

1.25 (a) The following data submitted to a political subdivision by a person seeking to obtain​
1.26 a license are classified as private data on individuals or nonpublic data:​

41.23 (a) The following data submitted to a political subdivision by a person seeking to obtain​
41.24 a license are classified as private data on individuals or nonpublic data:​

1.27 (1) a tax return, as defined by section 270B.01, subdivision 2; and​41.25 (1) a tax return, as defined by section 270B.01, subdivision 2; and​

1.28 (2) a bank account statement.​41.26 (2) a bank account statement.​

2.1 (b) Notwithstanding section 138.17, data collected by a political subdivision as part of​
2.2 a license application and classified under paragraph (a) must be destroyed no later than 90​
2.3 days after a final decision on the license application.​

41.27 (b) Notwithstanding section 138.17, data collected by a political subdivision as part of​
41.28 a license application and classified under paragraph (a) must be destroyed no later than 90​
41.29 days after a final decision on the license application.​

2.4 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Data​
2.5 which a political subdivision collected or created before the effective date of this section,​

41.30 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment. Data​
41.31 which a political subdivision collected or created before the effective date of this act, and​

2.6 and which would otherwise be subject to the destruction requirement in paragraph (b), must​
2.7 be destroyed no later than 90 days following final enactment.​

42.1 which would otherwise be subject to the destruction requirement, must be destroyed no​
42.2 later than 90 days following final enactment.​

42.3 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.32, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

42.4 Subd. 3. Private data; when disclosure is permitted. Except as provided in subdivision​
42.5 5, educational data is private data on individuals and shall not be disclosed except as follows:​

42.6 (a) pursuant to section 13.05;​

42.7 (b) pursuant to a valid court order;​

42.8 (c) pursuant to a statute specifically authorizing access to the private data;​

42.9 (d) to disclose information in health, including mental health, and safety emergencies​
42.10 pursuant to the provisions of United States Code, title 20, section 1232g(b)(1)(I), and Code​
42.11 of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 99.36;​
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42.12 (e) pursuant to the provisions of United States Code, title 20, sections 1232g(b)(1),​
42.13 (b)(4)(A), (b)(4)(B), (b)(1)(B), (b)(3), (b)(6), (b)(7), and (i), and Code of Federal Regulations,​
42.14 title 34, sections 99.31, 99.32, 99.33, 99.34, 99.35, and 99.39;​

42.15 (f) to appropriate health authorities to the extent necessary to administer immunization​
42.16 programs and for bona fide epidemiologic investigations which the commissioner of health​
42.17 determines are necessary to prevent disease or disability to individuals in the public​
42.18 educational agency or institution in which the investigation is being conducted;​

42.19 (g) when disclosure is required for institutions that participate in a program under title​
42.20 IV of the Higher Education Act, United States Code, title 20, section 1092;​

42.21 (h) to the appropriate school district officials to the extent necessary under subdivision​
42.22 6, annually to indicate the extent and content of remedial instruction, including the results​
42.23 of assessment testing and academic performance at a postsecondary institution during the​
42.24 previous academic year by a student who graduated from a Minnesota school district within​
42.25 two years before receiving the remedial instruction;​

42.26 (i) to appropriate authorities as provided in United States Code, title 20, section​
42.27 1232g(b)(1)(E)(ii), if the data concern the juvenile justice system and the ability of the​
42.28 system to effectively serve, prior to adjudication, the student whose records are released;​
42.29 provided that the authorities to whom the data are released submit a written request for the​
42.30 data that certifies that the data will not be disclosed to any other person except as authorized​
42.31 by law without the written consent of the parent of the student and the request and a record​
42.32 of the release are maintained in the student's file;​

43.1 (j) to volunteers who are determined to have a legitimate educational interest in the data​
43.2 and who are conducting activities and events sponsored by or endorsed by the educational​
43.3 agency or institution for students or former students;​

43.4 (k) to provide student recruiting information, from educational data held by colleges​
43.5 and universities, as required by and subject to Code of Federal Regulations, title 32, section​
43.6 216;​

43.7 (l) to the juvenile justice system if information about the behavior of a student who poses​
43.8 a risk of harm is reasonably necessary to protect the health or safety of the student or other​
43.9 individuals;​

43.10 (m) with respect to Social Security numbers of students in the adult basic education​
43.11 system, to Minnesota State Colleges and Universities and the Department of Employment​
43.12 and Economic Development for the purpose and in the manner described in section 124D.52,​
43.13 subdivision 7;​

43.14 (n) to the commissioner of education for purposes of an assessment or investigation of​
43.15 a report of alleged maltreatment of a student as mandated by chapter 260E. Upon request​
43.16 by the commissioner of education, data that are relevant to a report of maltreatment and are​
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43.17 from charter school and school district investigations of alleged maltreatment of a student​
43.18 must be disclosed to the commissioner, including, but not limited to, the following:​

43.19 (1) information regarding the student alleged to have been maltreated;​

43.20 (2) information regarding student and employee witnesses;​

43.21 (3) information regarding the alleged perpetrator; and​

43.22 (4) what corrective or protective action was taken, if any, by the school facility in response​
43.23 to a report of maltreatment by an employee or agent of the school or school district;​

43.24 (o) when the disclosure is of the final results of a disciplinary proceeding on a charge​
43.25 of a crime of violence or nonforcible sex offense to the extent authorized under United​
43.26 States Code, title 20, section 1232g(b)(6)(A) and (B), and Code of Federal Regulations,​
43.27 title 34, sections 99.31(a)(13) and (14);​

43.28 (p) when the disclosure is information provided to the institution under United States​
43.29 Code, title 42, section 14071, concerning registered sex offenders to the extent authorized​
43.30 under United States Code, title 20, section 1232g(b)(7); or​

43.31 (q) when the disclosure is to a parent of a student at an institution of postsecondary​
43.32 education regarding the student's violation of any federal, state, or local law or of any rule​
44.1 or policy of the institution, governing the use or possession of alcohol or of a controlled​
44.2 substance, to the extent authorized under United States Code, title 20, section 1232g(i), and​
44.3 Code of Federal Regulations, title 34, section 99.31(a)(15), and provided the institution has​
44.4 an information release form signed by the student authorizing disclosure to a parent. The​
44.5 institution must notify parents and students about the purpose and availability of the​
44.6 information release forms. At a minimum, the institution must distribute the information​
44.7 release forms at parent and student orientation meetings.;​

44.8 (r) a student's name, home address, telephone number, email address, or other personal​
44.9 contact information may be disclosed to a public library for purposes of issuing a library​
44.10 card to the student; or​

44.11 (s) with Tribal Nations about Tribally enrolled or descendant students to the extent​
44.12 necessary for the Tribal Nation and school district or charter school to support the educational​
44.13 attainment of the student.​

44.14 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.32, subdivision 5, is amended to read:​

44.15 Subd. 5. Directory information. Information (a) Educational data designated as directory​
44.16 information is public data on individuals to the extent required under federal law. Directory​
44.17 information must be designated pursuant to the provisions of:​

44.18 (1) this subdivision; and​
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44.19 (2) United States Code, title 20, section 1232g, and Code of Federal Regulations, title​
44.20 34, section 99.37, which are were in effect on January 3, 2012, is public data on individuals,​
44.21 to the extent required under federal law.​

44.22 (b) When conducting the directory information designation and notice process required​
44.23 by federal law, an educational agency or institution shall give parents and students notice​
44.24 of the right to refuse to let the agency or institution designate any or all specified data about​
44.25 the student as directory information. This notice may be given by any means reasonably​
44.26 likely to inform the parents and students of the right.​

44.27 (c) An educational agency or institution may not designate a student's home address,​
44.28 telephone number, email address, or other personal contact information as directory​
44.29 information under this subdivision. This paragraph does not apply to a postsecondary​
44.30 institution.​

44.31 (d) When requested, educational agencies or institutions must share personal student​
44.32 contact information and directory information, whether public or private, with the Minnesota​
44.33 Department of Education, as required for federal reporting purposes.​

45.1 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
45.2 Beginning upon the effective date of this section, a student's personal contact information​
45.3 subject to this section must be treated by an educational agency or institution as private​
45.4 educational data under Minnesota Statutes, section 13.32, regardless of whether that contact​
45.5 information was previously designated as directory information under Minnesota Statutes,​
45.6 section 13.32, subdivision 5.​

45.7 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 13.643, subdivision 6, is amended to read:​

45.8 Subd. 6. Animal premises data. (a) Except for farmed Cervidae premises location data​
45.9 collected and maintained under section 35.155, the following data collected and maintained​
45.10 by the Board of Animal Health related to registration and identification of premises and​
45.11 animals under chapter 35, are classified as private or nonpublic:​

45.12 (1) the names and addresses;​

45.13 (2) the location of the premises where animals are kept; and​

45.14 (3) the identification number of the premises or the animal.​

45.15 (b) Except as provided in section 347.58, subdivision 5, data collected and maintained​
45.16 by the Board of Animal Health under sections 347.57 to 347.64 are classified as private or​
45.17 nonpublic.​

45.18 (c) The Board of Animal Health may disclose data collected under paragraph (a) or (b)​
45.19 to any person, agency, or to the public if the board determines that the access will aid in the​
45.20 law enforcement process or the protection of public or animal health or safety.​

REVISOR FULL-TEXT SIDE-BY-SIDE​PAGE R51​

May 03, 2023 01:53 PM​Civil Law​
Senate Language S0200-1​House Language H0447-2​



29.12 ARTICLE 5​

29.13 MARRIAGE AND NAME CHANGE​

45.21 ARTICLE 5​

45.22 NOTARIES PUBLIC​

45.23 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 357.17, is amended to read:​

45.24 357.17 NOTARIES PUBLIC.​

45.25 (a) The maximum fees to be charged and collected by a notary public shall be as follows:​

45.26 (1) for protest of nonpayment of note or bill of exchange or of nonacceptance of such​
45.27 bill; where protest is legally necessary, and copy thereof, $5;​

45.28 (2) for every other protest and copy, $5;​

45.29 (3) for making and serving every notice of nonpayment of note or nonacceptance of bill​
45.30 and copy thereof, $5;​

46.1 (4) for any affidavit or paper for which provision is not made herein, $5 per folio, and​
46.2 $1 per folio for copies;​

46.3 (5) for each oath administered, $5;​

46.4 (6) for acknowledgments of deeds and for other services authorized by law, the legal​
46.5 fees allowed other officers for like services;​

46.6 (7) for recording each instrument required by law to be recorded by the notary, $5 per​
46.7 folio.​

46.8 (b) A notary public may charge a fee for performing a marriage in excess of the fees in​
46.9 paragraph (a) if the notary is a member, director, or partner of an entity organized under​
46.10 the laws of this state.​

46.11 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 359.04, is amended to read:​

46.12 359.04 POWERS.​

46.13 Every notary public so appointed, commissioned, and qualified shall have power​
46.14 throughout this state to administer all oaths required or authorized to be administered in​
46.15 this state; to take and certify all depositions to be used in any of the courts of this state; to​
46.16 take and certify all acknowledgments of deeds, mortgages, liens, powers of attorney, and​
46.17 other instruments in writing or electronic records; to receive, make out, and record notarial​
46.18 protests; to perform civil marriages consistent with this chapter and chapter 517; and to​
46.19 perform online remote notarial acts in compliance with the requirements of sections 358.645​
46.20 and 358.646.​

46.21 Sec. 3. [359.115] CIVIL MARRIAGE OFFICIANT.​

46.22 (a) A notary public shall have the power to solemnize civil marriages throughout the​
46.23 state if the notary public has filed a copy of the notary public's notary credentials with the​
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46.24 local registrar of a county in this state. When a local registrar records notary credentials for​
46.25 a notary public, the local registrar shall provide a certificate of filing to the notary whose​
46.26 credentials are recorded. A notary public shall endorse and record the county where the​
46.27 notary public's credentials are recorded upon each certificate of civil marriage granted by​
46.28 the notary.​

46.29 (b) A past or current Minnesota elected official, who was elected to a local government​
46.30 office or to a state or federal government office, shall have the power to solemnize a civil​
46.31 marriage throughout the state if the elected official has filed a copy of the elected official's​
46.32 certificate of election with the local registrar of a county in this state. When a local registrar​
47.1 records an elected official's credentials, the local registrar shall provide a certificate of filing​
47.2 that the elected official's credentials are recorded, and the elected official shall endorse and​
47.3 record the county where the elected official's credentials are recorded upon each certificate​
47.4 of civil marriage granted by the elected official.​

31.29 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 517.04, is amended to read:​

31.30 517.04 PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO PERFORM CIVIL MARRIAGES.​

47.5 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 517.04, is amended to read:​

47.6 517.04 PERSONS AUTHORIZED TO PERFORM CIVIL MARRIAGES.​

31.31 Civil marriages may be solemnized throughout the state by an individual who has attained​
31.32 the age of 21 years and is a judge of a court of record, a retired judge of a court of record,​

47.7 Civil marriages may be solemnized throughout the state by an individual who has attained​
47.8 the age of 21 years and is a judge of a court of record, a retired judge of a court of record,​

32.1 a court administrator, a retired court administrator with the approval of the chief judge of​47.9 a court administrator, a retired court administrator with the approval of the chief judge of​
32.2 the judicial district, a former court commissioner who is employed by the court system or​47.10 the judicial district, a former court commissioner who is employed by the court system or​
32.3 is acting pursuant to an order of the chief judge of the commissioner's judicial district, the​47.11 is acting pursuant to an order of the chief judge of the commissioner's judicial district, a​
32.4 residential school superintendent of the Minnesota State Academy for the Deaf and the​47.12 notary authorized by the Office of the Secretary of State, a past or current Minnesota elected​
32.5 Minnesota State Academy for the Blind, a licensed or ordained minister of any religious​47.13 official authorized by section 359.115, the residential school superintendent of the Minnesota​
32.6 denomination, an individual who registers as a civil marriage officiant with a local registrar​47.14 State Academy for the Deaf and the Minnesota State Academy for the Blind, a licensed or​
32.7 in a county of this state, or by any mode recognized in section 517.18. For purposes of this​47.15 ordained minister of any religious denomination, or by any mode recognized in section​
32.8 section, a court of record includes the Office of Administrative Hearings under section​
32.9 14.48.​

47.16 517.18. For purposes of this section, a court of record includes the Office of Administrative​
47.17 Hearings under section 14.48.​

47.18 ARTICLE 6​

47.19 HEALTH CARE MEDIATION​

47.20 Section 1. [145.685] COMMUNICATION AND RESOLUTION AFTER A HEALTH​
47.21 CARE ADVERSE INCIDENT.​

47.22 Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have​
47.23 the meanings given.​

47.24 (b) "Health care adverse incident" means an objective and definable outcome arising​
47.25 from or related to patient care that results in the death or physical injury of a patient.​
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47.26 (c) "Health care provider" means a person who is licensed, certified, or registered, or​
47.27 otherwise permitted by state law, to administer health care in the ordinary course of business​
47.28 or in the practice of a profession and practices at a health facility.​

47.29 (d) "Health facility" means a hospital or outpatient surgical center licensed under sections​
47.30 144.50 to 144.56; a medical, dental, or health care clinic; a diagnostic laboratory; or a​
47.31 birthing center licensed under section 144.615. The definition of health facility includes​
48.1 any corporation, professional corporation, partnership, limited liability company, limited​
48.2 liability partnership, or other entity comprised of health facilities or health care providers.​

48.3 (e) "Open discussion" means all communications that are made during an open discussion​
48.4 process under this section and includes memoranda, work product, documents, and other​
48.5 materials that are prepared for or submitted in the course of or in connection with​
48.6 communications made under this section. Open discussion does not include any​
48.7 communication, memoranda, work product, or other materials that would otherwise be​
48.8 subject to discovery and were not prepared specifically for use in an open discussion pursuant​
48.9 to this section.​

48.10 (f) "Patient" means a person who receives health care from a health care provider. If the​
48.11 patient is under 18 years of age and is not an emancipated minor, the definition of patient​
48.12 includes the patient's legal guardian or parent. If the patient is deceased or incapacitated,​
48.13 the definition of patient includes the patient's legal representative.​

48.14 Subd. 2. Engaging in an open discussion. (a) If a health care adverse incident occurs,​
48.15 a health care provider involved in the health care adverse incident, the health facility involved​
48.16 in the health care adverse incident, or both jointly may provide the patient with written​
48.17 notice of their desire to enter into an open discussion with the patient to discuss potential​
48.18 outcomes following a health care adverse incident in accordance with this section. A health​
48.19 facility may designate a person or class of persons who has the authority to provide the​
48.20 notice on behalf of the health facility. The patient involved in the health care adverse incident​
48.21 may provide oral notice to the health care provider, the health facility involved in the health​
48.22 care adverse incident, or both, of the patient's desire to enter into an open discussion with​
48.23 either the health care provider, or the health care provider and health facility jointly, to​
48.24 discuss potential outcomes following a health care adverse incident in accordance with this​
48.25 section.​

48.26 (b) If a health care provider or health facility decides to enter into an open discussion​
48.27 as specified in this section, the written notice must be sent to the patient within 365 days​
48.28 from the date the health care provider or the health facility knew, or through the use of​
48.29 diligence should have known, of the health care adverse incident. The notice must include:​

48.30 (1) the health care provider, health facility, or both jointly desire to pursue an open​
48.31 discussion in accordance with this section;​
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48.32 (2) the patient's right to receive a copy of the medical records related to the health care​
48.33 adverse incident and the patient's right to authorize the release of the patient's medical​
48.34 records related to the health care adverse incident to a third party;​

49.1 (3) the patient's right to seek legal counsel and to have legal counsel present throughout​
49.2 the open discussion process;​

49.3 (4) a copy of section 541.076 with notice that the time for a patient to bring a lawsuit is​
49.4 limited under section 541.076 and will not be extended by engaging in an open discussion​
49.5 under this section unless all parties agree in writing to an extension;​

49.6 (5) that if the patient chooses to engage in an open discussion with the health care​
49.7 provider, health facility, or jointly with both, all communications made during the course​
49.8 of the open discussion process, including communications regarding the initiation of an​
49.9 open discussion are:​

49.10 (i) privileged and confidential;​

49.11 (ii) not subject to discovery, subpoena, or other means of legal compulsion for release;​
49.12 and​

49.13 (iii) not admissible as evidence in a proceeding arising directly out of the health care​
49.14 adverse incident, including a judicial, administrative, or arbitration proceeding; and​

49.15 (6) that any communications, memoranda, work product, documents, or other material​
49.16 that are otherwise subject to discovery and not prepared specifically for use in an open​
49.17 discussion under this section are not confidential.​

49.18 (c) If the patient agrees to engage in an open discussion with a health care provider,​
49.19 health facility, or jointly with both, the agreement must be in writing and must state that​
49.20 the patient has received the notice described in paragraph (b).​

49.21 (d) Upon agreement to engage in an open discussion, the patient, health care provider,​
49.22 or health facility may include other persons in the open discussion process. All other persons​
49.23 included in the open discussion must be advised of the parameters of communications made​
49.24 during the open discussion process specified under paragraph (b), clauses (5) and (6).​

49.25 (e) If a health care provider or health facility decides to engage in an open discussion,​
49.26 the health care provider or health facility may:​

49.27 (1) investigate how the health care adverse incident occurred, including gathering​
49.28 information regarding the medical care or treatment and disclose the results of the​
49.29 investigation to the patient;​

49.30 (2) openly communicate to the patient the steps the health care provider or health facility​
49.31 will take to prevent future occurrences of the health care adverse incident; and​
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50.1 (3) determine that no offer of compensation for the health care adverse incident is​
50.2 warranted or that an offer of compensation for the health care adverse incident is warranted.​

50.3 (f) If a health care provider or health facility determines that no offer of compensation​
50.4 is warranted, the health care provider or health facility shall orally communicate that decision​
50.5 to the patient.​

50.6 (g) If a health care provider or a health facility determines that an offer of compensation​
50.7 is warranted, the health care provider or health facility shall provide the patient with a written​
50.8 offer of compensation. If an offer of compensation is made under this paragraph, and the​
50.9 patient is not represented by legal counsel, the health care provider or health facility shall:​

50.10 (1) advise the patient of the patient's right to seek legal counsel regarding the offer of​
50.11 compensation and encourage the patient to seek legal counsel; and​

50.12 (2) provide notice to the patient that the patient may be legally required to repay medical​
50.13 and other expenses that were paid by a third party on the patient's behalf, including private​
50.14 health insurance, Medicaid, or Medicare, along with an itemized statement from the health​
50.15 provider showing all charges and third-party payments.​

50.16 (h) Except for an offer of compensation made under paragraph (g), open discussions​
50.17 between the health care provider or health facility and the patient about compensation shall​
50.18 not be in writing.​

50.19 Subd. 3. Confidentiality of open discussions and offers of compensation. (a) Open​
50.20 discussion communications made under this section, including offers of compensation made​
50.21 under subdivision 2:​

50.22 (1) do not constitute an admission of liability;​

50.23 (2) are privileged and confidential and shall not be disclosed;​

50.24 (3) are not admissible as evidence in any subsequent judicial, administrative, or arbitration​
50.25 proceeding arising directly out of the health care adverse incident, except as provided in​
50.26 paragraph (b);​

50.27 (4) are not subject to discovery, subpoena, or other means of legal compulsion for release;​
50.28 and​

50.29 (5) shall not be disclosed by any party in any subsequent judicial, administrative, or​
50.30 arbitration proceeding arising directly out of the health care adverse incident.​

50.31 (b) A party may move the court or other decision maker in a subsequent proceeding to​
50.32 adjudicate the matter to admit as evidence a communication made during an open discussion​
51.1 that contradicts a statement made during the proceeding. The court or other decision maker​
51.2 shall allow a communication made during an open discussion that contradicts a statement​
51.3 made at a subsequent proceeding to adjudicate the matter into evidence only if the​
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51.4 communication made during an open discussion is material to the claims presented in the​
51.5 subsequent proceeding.​

51.6 (c) Communications, memoranda, work product, documents, and other materials that​
51.7 are otherwise subject to discovery and that were not prepared specifically for use in an open​
51.8 discussion under this section are not confidential.​

51.9 (d) The limitation on disclosure imposed by this subdivision includes disclosure during​
51.10 any discovery conducted as part of a subsequent adjudicatory proceeding, and a court or​
51.11 other adjudicatory body shall not compel any person who engages in an open discussion​
51.12 under this section to disclose confidential communications or agreements made under this​
51.13 section.​

51.14 (e) This subdivision does not affect any other law, rule, or requirement with respect to​
51.15 confidentiality.​

51.16 Subd. 4. Payment and resolution. (a) If a patient accepts an offer of compensation​
51.17 made pursuant to this section, and payment of compensation is made to a patient as a result,​
51.18 the payment to the patient is not payment resulting from:​

51.19 (1) a written claim or demand for payment;​

51.20 (2) a final judgment, settlement, or arbitration award against a health care institution for​
51.21 medical malpractice purposes; or​

51.22 (3) a malpractice claim settled or in which judgment is rendered against a health care​
51.23 professional for purposes of reporting by malpractice insurance companies under sections​
51.24 146A.03, 147.111, 147A.14, 148.102, 148.263, 148B.381, 148F.205, 150A.13, and 153.24.​

51.25 (b) A health care provider or health facility may require, as a condition of an offer of​
51.26 compensation made pursuant to this section, a patient to execute all documents and obtain​
51.27 any necessary court approval to resolve a health care adverse incident. The parties shall​
51.28 negotiate the form of the documents to be executed and obtain court approval as necessary.​

51.29 Subd. 5. Sunset. This section sunsets on June 30, 2031.​

51.30 Subd. 6. Applicability. This section applies only to health care adverse incidents that​
51.31 occur on or after August 1, 2023.​

35.1 ARTICLE 6​

35.2 REAL PROPERTY​

24.16 Sec. 26. REPEALER.​

24.17 Minnesota Statutes 2022, sections 363A.20, subdivision 3; and 363A.27, are repealed.​
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28.32 Sec. 5. [634.025] CONFESSION; INADMISSIBLE WHEN DECEPTION IS USED.​

28.33 Any admission, confession, or statement, whether written or oral, made by any person​
28.34 during a custodial interrogation by a law enforcement agency official, juvenile court official,​
29.1 or their agent, is involuntarily made and inadmissible in any proceeding if, during the​
29.2 interrogation, a law enforcement agency official or juvenile court official or their agent​
29.3 knowingly:​

29.4 (1) communicated false facts about evidence;​

29.5 (2) misrepresented the accuracy of facts; or​

29.6 (3) communicated unauthorized statements regarding leniency.​

29.7 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024, and applies to admission,​
29.8 confession, or statement, whether written or oral, made on or after that date.​

29.9 Sec. 6. REPEALER.​

29.10 Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 504B.305, is repealed.​

29.11 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.​
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