0.5/1.5/0.0 0.4.05	COLDICEL	CIT/III	CCTT 4000 4 00
05/17/22 04:27 pm	COUNSEL	SJJ/HF	SCH4293A88

Senator ...... moves to amend H.F. No. 4293, in conference committee, as 1.1 follows: 1.2 On R45A-2, Senate language, (UEH4293-1) 1.3 Page 64, delete section 49, and insert: 1.4 "Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 161.1419, subdivision 2, is amended to read: 1.5 Subd. 2. **Members.** (a) The commission shall be composed of 15 members of whom: 1.6 (1) one shall be appointed by the commissioner of transportation; 1.7 (2) one shall be appointed by the commissioner of natural resources; 1.8 (3) one shall be appointed by the director of Explore Minnesota Tourism; 1.9 (4) one shall be appointed by the commissioner of agriculture; 1.10 (5) one shall be appointed by the director of the Minnesota Historical Society; 1.11 (6) two shall be members of the senate to be appointed by the Committee on Committees; 1.12 (7) two shall be members of the house of representatives to be appointed by the speaker; 1.13 (8) one shall be the secretary appointed pursuant to subdivision 3; and 1.14 (9) five shall be citizen members appointed to staggered four-year terms by the members 1.15 appointed under clauses (1) to (8) after receiving recommendations from five citizen 1.16 committees established by the members appointed under clauses (1) to (8), with each citizen 1.17 committee established within and representing each of the following geographic segments 1.18 along the Mississippi River: 1.19 (i) Lake Itasca to but not including the city of Grand Rapids; 1.20 (ii) Grand Rapids to but not including the city of Brainerd; 1.21 (iii) Brainerd to but not including the city of Elk River; 1.22 (iv) Elk River to but not including the city of Hastings; and 1.23 (v) Hastings to the Iowa border. 1.24 Each citizen committee member shall be a resident of the geographic segment that the 1.25 committee and member represents. 1.26

serve for a term expiring at the close of each regular session of the legislature and until their successors are appointed.

(b) The members of the commission appointed in paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (8), shall

Sec. 49.

1.27

2.1

2.2

2.3

2.4

2.5

2.6

2.7

2.8

(c) Successor members shall be appointed by the same appointing authorities. Members may be reappointed. Any vacancy shall be filled by the appointing authority. The commissioner of transportation, the commissioner of natural resources, and the director of the Minnesota Historical Society shall be ex officio members, and shall be in addition to the 15 members heretofore provided for. Immediately upon making the appointments to the commission the appointing authorities shall so notify the Mississippi River Parkway Commission, hereinafter called the National Commission, giving the names and addresses of the members so appointed."

Sec. 49. 2