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The Ramsey County Attorney’s Office worked with partner organizations to support legislation that will provide 
more equity and transparency for families in Minnesota. The legislation is based in part on the work of the 
Child Support Guidelines Task Force established by the Minnesota Legislature in 2016.   
 
The Task Force first met in September 2016 and worked on recommendations for over two years. The final 
report was issued in October 2019. The Task Force reviewed research and data on child support, engaged 
experts and conducted outreach to the public. The Task Force spent substantial time and effort reviewing how 
to revise the child support basic support table. This legislation reflects the work of the Task Force as it relates 
to updating the basic support table found in Minn. Stat. § 518A.35. 
 
The outline below provides an overview of the legislative changes included in HF 980, First Engrossment. 
 

Changes to Child Support Guidelines 
 
Basic Child Support Table  
 
Issue:  The Child Support Basic Support Table (“the Table”) has not been updated since 2007 and is based on 
economic data that is almost 20 years old. The current Table has significant negative effects on low income 
child support obligors as well as larger families and obligors with multiple children. This implicates that a 
higher percentage of lower income families of color are affected by the inequities of the low-income 
calculations. In its final report, the Child Support Guidelines Task Force recommended updating the Table to 
bring it in line with the current economic conditions relating to the cost of raising children. The 
recommendations also included an expanded low-income adjustment, increasing the current limit of $15,000 
of combined Parental Income for Child Support (PICS), and other minor changes. Updating the Table will help 
to benefit families as child support orders will be more realistic based on the current economy. 
 
HF 980, First Engrossment:  HF 980, First Engrossment includes the Task Force recommendations along with 
some additional changes. These changes were included in similar legislation that passed the House Civil Law 
and Judiciary Finance Committee last year. Negotiated changes are reflected in notes where applicable. 

1. Update the Table:  The Table is found at Minn. Stat. § 518A.35, subd. 2. Based on the 
recommendations of the Task Force, the Table was updated to bring Minnesota’s guidelines in line 
with current economic conditions relating to the cost of raising children and to make the guidelines 
more equitable and transparent.1  

2. Low-Income Adjustment – The expanded low-income adjustment makes basic support obligations 
more manageable for low income obligors. 

	
1 NOTE: Section 4 of the 2021 bill updates the Table recommended by the Task Force due to changes in the Federal Poverty Guideline 
since 2018. 
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3. Increased Limit – An increase to the limit of the Table provides for greater uniformity for families at 
higher incomes by increasing the current limit of $15,000 per month to $20,000 per month of 
combined monthly PICS, which is the parents’ combined “gross income minus deductions for nonjoint 
children.”  (See Minn. Stat. § 518A.26, subd. 15).2 The limit has not been updated since 2007. 

4. Deviation Factor for Limited Circumstances – During the 2020 legislative session, an additional 
deviation factor was added to the bill for the limited circumstance when the only change in 
circumstances is that the custodial parent’s income has increased, and the noncustodial parent’s 
income is low.3  

HF 980, First Engrossment includes other recommendations made by the Task Force and partner organizations 
which are not directly tied to the Table but achieve modernization of the guidelines and achieve more 
equitable treatment for all children of the parents. 
 

1. Deducting court-ordered support obligations when determining PICS - Currently the parents’ 
deductions for non-joint children are subtracted at different steps in the child support calculation 
depending on whether there is a court-ordered support obligation. The proposal is for both deductions 
to occur at the same step in the calculations process. 

2. Increasing the cap on the deduction for nonjoint children - Currently the nonjoint child deduction is 
capped at two children regardless of how many nonjoint children the parent is supporting in their 
household. Additionally, there is no limit to how many court-ordered child support obligations may be 
deducted from the parents’ income. Thus this step in the calculation can be inequitable.  The proposal 
is to increase the cap from two to six nonjoint children. 

3. Applying the nonjoint child deduction to all legally recognized nonjoint children - Currently the 
guidelines do not provide for a deduction for all of the nonjoint children that a parent is supporting 
without a court order. The current child support guidelines limit this deduction to children who live in 
the parent’s household. To allocate support more fairly, the proposal applies the deduction for all 
legally recognized non-joint children without a court order whether or not the children live in the 
household of the parent. 

4. Increasing the calculation of the nonjoint child deduction from 50% to 75% - Currently the nonjoint 
child deduction is calculated at 50% of the guideline amount. However, 50% has been economically 
proven to not equalize support available for all children for whom the parent is legally responsible to 
support. Minnesota is the only state that has such a deduction that uses 50%, while states with a 
similar deduction use 75%. 

5. Self-support reserve (SSR) - Currently the SSR is applied by subtracting the SSR from a parent’s gross 
income. This can result in disparate outcomes because the deduction for children in the parents’ home 
is not included when calculating their gross income. The proposal to subtract the SSR from the PICS 
instead of gross income would remedy this inequity. This allows parents with court orders for non-joint 
children and parents with non-joint children in their home to be treated similarly. 

6. Calculate support for caretaker - Clarifies Minn. Stat. § 518A.35, subd. 1(d) relating to how to calculate 
support for a caretaker who has a child living in his or her household when at least one of the parents 

	
2 NOTE: The original Task Force recommendation was to increase the limit to $30,000, but in 2020 it was negotiated to have the limit be 
$20,000 which is consistent with economic data but does not go further based on credible extrapolations of that data. (Section 3 of bill) 
 
3 NOTE: The negotiated deviation factor applies when the only change in circumstance is an increase to the custodial parent’s income, 
the parties combined gross income is $6,000 or less, the obligor’s income is $2,000 or less, and the basic support would increase if the 
order is modified. (Section 8 of bill) 
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has statutory or court-ordered custody, but the caretaker does not have court-ordered custody of the 
child. How the statute is currently worded causes confusion and different interpretations.  

7. Child care expenses: In 2020, language was added to clarify child care support and increase 
transparency and ensure childcare expenses are accurately reflected in child support orders. It 
requires communication between parents and the childcare provider and requires the parent who 
pays for the childcare to notify the other parent of the termination of childcare expenses and the date 
of that termination. It is a clarification of existing law and policy.4 

 
Changes to Consumer Credit Reporting 

 
Issue:  Federal law provides that States must have a mechanism to report child support arrears to consumer 
credit reporting agencies (credit bureaus). Minnesota’s law is found in Minn. Stat. § 518A.6855, which states 
that arrears shall be reported to the credit bureaus when an obligor has not paid current monthly support plus 
any required arrears payment for three months. Once arrears are reported, there is no further communication 
with the credit bureaus until additional arrears are added or no arrears are left owing by the obligor.  
 
Because credit bureaus do not allow positive reporting of payments, counties should have the discretion to 
decide whether and when to report the arrears to the credit bureaus. This is important because credit bureau 
reporting has an adverse impact on obligors. Reporting can impede the ability to obtain a mortgage or rental 
housing, purchase a reliable vehicle, obtain lines of credit, and employment. The adverse impact may hinder 
the obligor’s ability to exercise parenting time, pay child support, and otherwise provide for and parent the 
child. The negative consequences of credit bureau reporting have a significant impact on low income obligors 
and obligors of color, who are overrepresented in the child support system and are more likely to experience 
barriers to employment, housing and bias in credit reporting already. 
 
HF 980, First Engrossment:  Minn. Stat. § 518A.685 requires the State to report to the credit bureaus when an 
obligor has not paid current monthly support plus any required arrears payment for three months. The 
proposal is to simply change “must” to “may” to allow the counties discretion to only report appropriate cases 
in which credit reporting is likely to be an effective enforcement tool. The proposal also provides an avenue for 
negotiation and communication between the county and the obligor by adding language to allow an obligor to 
prevent credit bureau reporting by entering into a written payment agreement.  
 

Changes to Interest on Child Support Arrears 
 
Issue:  Federal law provides that States have the option to implement a collections tool of charging interest on 
child support arrears. Minnesota elected to do so in the 1990’s with the assumption that interest charging 
would encourage the child support obligor to pay timely. This decision was made before many of the 
enforcement remedies used today were available. For many obligors, charging interest on arrears has made 
their arrears payments nearly impossible to meet, sometimes having interest payments being higher than 
monthly obligations owed. Counties are aware of this and some frequently request for interest charging to be 
stayed, or they use the child support debt and arrears management statute found in Minn. Stat. § 518A.62 to 
forgive the interest on public assistance arrears. 

 

	
4 NOTE:  Changes #1-5 are modifications to the child support guidelines and were specifically recommended by the task 
force.  Changes #6-7 were recommended by Ramsey County and partner organizations. 
 
5	DHS pursued a bill that reflected the limitation in credit bureaus’ reporting limitations which was enacted in 2020, but 
did not pursue allowing discretion in whether and when an obligor should be reported to the credit bureau.	
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Interest charging contributes to unpayable support obligations and mounting debts. Some child support 
obligors fall behind in their obligations because the order exceeds their ability to pay. The most recent major 
study of how interest on child support payments effects child support arrears was issued by the U.S. 
Department of Health and Human Services in 2007. “Assessing Child Support Arrears in Nine Large States and 
the Nation,”6 recommended that states revise policies governing interest on child support arrears to ensure 
application of interest does not result in ever-increasing arrears balances that can never be paid in full. 
 
HF 980, First Engrossment:  In the past several years, some states have either eliminated or have moved 
towards eliminating interest charging. Since the Federal Government has made the interest collections tool 
optional at the State level, we propose eliminating interest charging on child support arrears in Minnesota. 
This will allow both the State and County IV-D child support programs to focus on collecting current support 
and arrears.  
 

	
6 https://www.urban.org/sites/default/files/publication/29736/1001242-Assessing-Child-Support-Arrears-in-Nine-Large-States-and-
the-Nation.PDF 


