## TAXES COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Aisha Gomez, Chair of the Committee on Taxes, called the meeting to order at 1:01 PM on April 18, 2024 in Room 5 of the State Office Building.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

## **Members present:**

GOMEZ, Aisha, Chair

NORRIS, Matt, Vice Chair

DAVIDS, Greg, Minority Lead

AGBAJE, Esther

ANDERSON, Patti

BRAND, Jeff

ELKINS, Steve

HOWARD, Michael

JOY, Jim

KOZNICK, Jon

LEE, Liz

LISLEGARD, Dave

OLSON, Bjorn

OLSON, Liz

PINTO, Dave

ROBBINS, Kristin

SMITH, Andy

SWEDZINSKI, Chris

WIENER, Mike

WITTE, Jeff

YOUAKIM, Cheryl

A quorum was present.

Vice Chair Norris moved that the minutes from April 17, 2024 be adopted. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

HF5247 (Gomez) Property taxes, individual income and corporate franchise taxes, gross receipts taxes, and local governments aids modified; definition of certain attachments and appurtenances clarified; advanced payments of child tax credit proposed; Tribal Nation aid payment dates modified; and money appropriated.

Chair Gomez presented HF5427 on an informational basis.

Chair Gomez presented A24-0302 on an informational basis.

Testifying on HF5427, as proposed to be amended:

- Paul Marquart, Commissioner, Minnesota Department of Revenue
- Julie Blaha, Auditor, Office of the State Auditor
- Rena Moran, Commissioner, Ramsey County District Four
- Jessica Webster, Staff Attorney, Minnesota Legal Services Advocacy Project, Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid

- Nan Madden, Director, Minnesota Budget Project
- Beth Kadoun, Vice President of Tax and Fiscal Policy, Minnesota Chamber of Commerce
- Largs Negstad, Policy Director, ISAIAH
- Roz Peterson, Public Policy Director, National Association for Industrial and Office Parks
- Ben Baglio, Government Relations Specialist, Minnesota Nurses Association
- Gavin Hansen, Fiscal and Economic Policy Director, Minnesota Business Partnership
- Eric Bernstein, Coalition Director, We Make Minnesota
- Kristine Snyder, Policy and Systems Transformation Officer, Youthprise
- Natletha Sumo Kollie, Economic Justice Manager, Children's Defense Fund Minnesota
- Pete Hyduke, Mayor, City of Hibbing
- Richard Kampsula, President, American Federation of State, County and Municipal Employees Local 94
- Sierra Napoli-Thein, Resident, Hibbing Southview Apartments
- Matt Hilgart, Director of Government Relations, Association of Minnesota Counties
- Patricia Nauman, Executive Director, Metro Cities
- Cap O'Rourke, Executive Director, Minnesota Association of Small Cities
- Matt Massman, Executive Director, Minnesota Inter-County Association
- Joel Carlson, Government Affairs Representative, Community of Minnesota Resorts, Expedia Group
- Nathan Jesson, Intergovernmental Relations Representative, League of Minnesota Cities
- Marion Greene, Commissioner, Hennepin County District Three
- Anne Oelke, Superintendent, Independent School District #696
- Lana Fralich, City Administrator, City of Silver Bay
- Paul McDonald, Commissioner, St. Louis County

The me	eting	adjourne	d at	2:05	PM.