MINNESOTA CORRECTIONS ASSOCIATION PO Box 261 • Wyoming, MN 55092 Phone: 651.462.8320 mca-mn@hotmail.com · www.mn-ca.org



4 May 2023

The Honorable Frank Hornstein Chair, Transportation Finance and Policy Committee State Office Building, Room 563

The Honorable Scott Dibble **Chair Transportation Committee** Minnesota Senate Building, Room 3107

Re: Support for Driver's License provisions from HF503/SF577 and HF490/SF777

Dear Chair Hornstein, Chair Dibble, and Conference Committee,

Thank you so much for supporting two important pieces of legislation that will assist with reducing immediate financial barriers after a person is released from incarceration.

My name is Mark Groves. I am a Minnesota Licensed Alcohol and Drug Counselor and President of the Minnesota Corrections Association (MCA). I currently work as a Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor at the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development. Prior to that I was the Director of Rehabilitation and Veterans Services at the Volunteers of America - Minnesota where I managed two Residential Reentry Centers serving 120 federal inmates transitioning from prison to community for the Federal Bureau of Prisons, and the director of the Amicus program. Previous to that, I was the Facilities ReEntry Coordinator for the Minnesota Department of Corrections (DOC). In that capacity, I developed, managed, and coordinated transition/reentry services in the Minnesota Correctional Facilities. I have worked in the corrections, community corrections, and human services professions since 1977.

Without a license, formerly incarcerated individuals are often unable to gain and keep employment, make scheduled appointments with probation officers, attend required substance use disorder and/or mental health counseling. During such a crucial time frame, this lack of a major necessity can increase the chances of an individual recidivating or being subject to revocation.

MCA supports and thanks you for your ongoing efforts with the Reintegration License legislation and Retroactive Reinstatement Driver's License legislation.

Sincerely, Mark Groves, MSEd., LADC

MCA President

cc: Senator Foung Hawj; Senator Jennifer McEwen; Senator Jim Carlson; Senator Kelly Morrison, Senator John Jasinski; Representative Dave Pinto, Representative Jamie Becker-Finn; Representative Erin Koegel, Representative Jeff Brand, Representative Brad Tabke, Representative John Petersburg; Enid Swaggert, Kevin Petrie; Beth Ethier; Alex Will; Maikao Vue; Jack Fisher