
1.1 .................... moves to amend H.F. No. 1804 as follows:​

1.2 Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:​

1.3 "Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 53C.01, is amended by adding a subdivision​

1.4 to read:​

1.5 Subd. 4a. Global positioning system starter interrupt device. "Global positioning​

1.6 system starter interrupt device" or "GPS starter interrupt device" means a device installed​

1.7 on a motor vehicle that enables an individual who is not in possession of the motor vehicle​

1.8 to remotely disable the motor vehicle's ignition. GPS starter interrupt device includes a​

1.9 device commonly referred to as a fuel or ignition kill switch.​

1.10 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 53C.01, subdivision 12c, is amended to read:​

1.11 Subd. 12c. Theft deterrent device. "Theft deterrent device" means the following devices:​

1.12 (1) a vehicle alarm system;​

1.13 (2) a window etch product;​

1.14 (3) a body part marking product;​

1.15 (4) a steering lock; or​

1.16 (5) a pedal or ignition lock; or.​

1.17 (6) a fuel or ignition kill switch.​

1.18 Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 53C.08, subdivision 1a, is amended to read:​

1.19 Subd. 1a. Disclosures required. Prior to the execution of a retail installment contract,​

1.20 the seller shall provide to a buyer, and obtain the buyer's signature on, a written disclosure​

1.21 that sets forth the following information:​
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2.1 (1) a description and the total price of all items sold in the following categories if the​

2.2 contract includes a charge for the item:​

2.3 (i) a service contract;​

2.4 (ii) an insurance product;​

2.5 (iii) a debt cancellation agreement;​

2.6 (iv) a theft deterrent device; or​

2.7 (v) a surface protection product;​

2.8 (2) if a GPS starter interrupt device is installed on a motor vehicle, regardless of whether​

2.9 the contract includes a charge for a GPS starter interrupt device;​

2.10 (2) (3) the amount that would be calculated under the contract as the regular installment​

2.11 payment if charges for the items referenced under clause (1) are not included in the contract;​

2.12 (3) (4) the amount that would be calculated under the contract as the regular installment​

2.13 payment if charges for the items referenced under clause (1) are included in the contract;​

2.14 and​

2.15 (4) (5) the disclosures required under this subdivision must be in at least ten-point type​

2.16 and must be contained in a single document that is separate from the retail installment​

2.17 contract and any other vehicle purchase documents.​

2.18 Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.662, subdivision 2, is amended to read:​

2.19 Subd. 2. Written warranty required. (a) Every used motor vehicle sold by a dealer is​

2.20 covered by an express warranty which the dealer shall provide to the consumer in writing.​

2.21 At a minimum, the express warranty applies for the following terms:​

2.22 (1) if the used motor vehicle has less than 36,000 miles, the warranty must remain in​

2.23 effect for at least 60 days or 2,500 miles, whichever comes first;​

2.24 (2) if the used motor vehicle has 36,000 miles or more, but less than 75,000 miles, the​

2.25 warranty must remain in effect for at least 30 days or 1,000 miles, whichever comes first.;​

2.26 and​

2.27 (3) unless the vehicle is sold by a new motor vehicle dealer, as defined in section 168A.27,​

2.28 subdivision 2, if the used motor vehicle has 75,000 miles or more, the warranty must remain​

2.29 in effect for at least 15 days or 500 miles, whichever comes first.​

2.30 (b) The express warranty must require the dealer, in the event of a malfunction, defect,​

2.31 or failure in a covered part, to repair or replace the covered part, or at the dealer's election,​
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3.1 to accept return of the used motor vehicle from the consumer and provide a refund to the​

3.2 consumer.​

3.3 (c) For used motor vehicles with less than 36,000 miles, the dealer's express warranty​

3.4 shall cover, at minimum, the following parts:​

3.5 (1) with respect to the engine, all lubricated parts, intake manifolds, engine block, cylinder​

3.6 head, rotary engine housings, and ring gear;​

3.7 (2) with respect to the transmission, the automatic transmission case, internal parts, and​

3.8 the torque converter; or, the manual transmission case, and the internal parts;​

3.9 (3) with respect to the drive axle, the axle housings and internal parts, axle shafts, drive​

3.10 shafts and output shafts, and universal joints; but excluding the secondary drive axle on​

3.11 vehicles, other than passenger vans, mounted on a truck chassis;​

3.12 (4) with respect to the brakes, the master cylinder, vacuum assist booster, wheel cylinders,​

3.13 hydraulic lines and fittings, and disc brakes calipers;​

3.14 (5) with respect to the steering, the steering gear housing and all internal parts, power​

3.15 steering pump, valve body, piston, and rack;​

3.16 (6) the water pump;​

3.17 (7) the externally mounted mechanical fuel pump;​

3.18 (8) the radiator;​

3.19 (9) the alternator, generator, and starter.​

3.20 (d) For used motor vehicles with 36,000 miles or more, but less than 75,000 miles, the​

3.21 dealer's express warranty shall cover, at minimum, the following parts:​

3.22 (1) with respect to the engine, all lubricated parts, intake manifolds, engine block, cylinder​

3.23 head, rotary engine housings, and ring gear;​

3.24 (2) with respect to the transmission, the automatic transmission case, internal parts, and​

3.25 the torque converter; or, the manual transmission case, and internal parts;​

3.26 (3) with respect to the drive axle, the axle housings and internal parts, axle shafts, drive​

3.27 shafts and output shafts, and universal joints; but excluding the secondary drive axle on​

3.28 vehicles, other than passenger vans, mounted on a truck chassis;​

3.29 (4) with respect to the brakes, the master cylinder, vacuum assist booster, wheel cylinders,​

3.30 hydraulic lines and fittings, and disc brake calipers;​
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4.1 (5) with respect to the steering, the steering gear housing and all internal parts, power​

4.2 steering pump, valve body, and piston;​

4.3 (6) the water pump;​

4.4 (7) the externally mounted mechanical fuel pump.​

4.5 (e)(1) A dealer's obligations under the express warranty remain in effect notwithstanding​

4.6 the fact that the warranty period has expired, if the consumer promptly notified the dealer​

4.7 of the malfunction, defect, or failure in the covered part within the specified warranty period​

4.8 and, within a reasonable time after notification, brings the vehicle or arranges with the dealer​

4.9 to have the vehicle brought to the dealer for inspection and repair.​

4.10 (2) If a dealer does not have a repair facility, the dealer shall designate where the vehicle​

4.11 must be taken for inspection and repair.​

4.12 (3) In the event the malfunction, defect, or failure in the covered part occurs at a location​

4.13 which makes it impossible or unreasonable to return the vehicle to the selling dealer, the​

4.14 consumer may have the repairs completed elsewhere with the consent of the selling dealer,​

4.15 which consent may not be unreasonably withheld.​

4.16 (4) Notwithstanding the provisions of this paragraph, a consumer may have nonwarranty​

4.17 maintenance and nonwarranty repairs performed other than by the selling dealer and without​

4.18 the selling dealer's consent.​

4.19 (f) Nothing in this section diminishes the obligations of a manufacturer under an express​

4.20 warranty issued by the manufacturer. The express warranties created by this section do not​

4.21 require a dealer to repair or replace a covered part if the repair or replacement is covered​

4.22 by a manufacturer's new car warranty, or the manufacturer otherwise agrees to repair or​

4.23 replace the part.​

4.24 (g) The express warranties created by this section do not cover defects or repair problems​

4.25 which result from collision, abuse, negligence, or lack of adequate maintenance following​

4.26 sale to the consumer.​

4.27 (h) The terms of the express warranty, including the duration of the warranty and the​

4.28 parts covered, must be fully, accurately, and conspicuously disclosed by the dealer on the​

4.29 front of the Buyers Guide.​

4.30 Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2022, section 325F.662, subdivision 3, is amended to read:​

4.31 Subd. 3. Exclusions. Notwithstanding the provisions of subdivision 2, a dealer is not​

4.32 required to provide an express warranty for a used motor vehicle:​
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5.1 (1) except for a used motor vehicle described in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (3),​

5.2 sold for a total cash sale price of less than $3,000, including the trade-in value of any vehicle​

5.3 traded in by the consumer, but excluding tax, license fees, registration fees, and finance​

5.4 charges;​

5.5 (2) with an engine designed to use diesel fuel;​

5.6 (3) with a gross weight, as defined in section 168.002, subdivision 13, in excess of 9,000​

5.7 pounds;​

5.8 (4) that has been custom-built or modified for show or for racing;​

5.9 (5) except for a used motor vehicle described in subdivision 2, paragraph (a), clause (3),​

5.10 that is eight years of age or older, as calculated from the first day in January of the designated​

5.11 model year of the vehicle;​

5.12 (6) that has been produced by a manufacturer which has never manufactured more than​

5.13 10,000 motor vehicles in any one year;​

5.14 (7) that has 75,000 miles or more at time of sale;​

5.15 (8) (7) that has not been manufactured in compliance with applicable federal emission​

5.16 standards in force at the time of manufacture as provided by the Clean Air Act, United​

5.17 States Code, title 42, sections 7401 through 7642, and regulations adopted pursuant thereto,​

5.18 and safety standards as provided by the National Traffic and Motor Safety Act, United​

5.19 States Code, title 15, sections 1381 through 1431, and regulations adopted pursuant thereto;​

5.20 or​

5.21 (9) (8) that has been issued a certificate of title that bears a "salvage" brand or stamp​

5.22 under section 168A.151."​

5.23 Amend the title accordingly​
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