STATE GOVERNMENT FINANCE & ELECTIONS COMMITTEE MINUTES

Representative Michael V. Nelson, Chair of the Committee, called the virtual State Government Finance & Elections Committee meeting to order at 8:31 AM, February 10, 2022 pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members Present:

NELSON, Michael V. - Chair CARLSON, Andrew - Vice Chair NASH, Jim - Minority Lead BAHNER, Kristin DRAZKOWSKI, Steve ELKINS, Steve GREENMAN, Emma KLEVORN, Ginny KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra NEU BRINDLEY, Anne PELOWSKI, Gene QUAM, Duane

A quorum was present.

Representative Klevorn moved that the minutes for February 8, 2022, be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Nelson moved HF2399 to be referred to the Judiciary Finance & Civil Law Committee.

Chair Nelson moved Amendment H2399A1. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Noor presented HF2399 as amended, Legislative Budget Office authority to order fiscal notes expanded, fiscal note data classification changed, and unofficial fiscal note treatment modified.

The following testified on HF2399 as amended: Christian Larson, Interim Director, LBO Michelle Weber, Executive Director, LCC Britta Reitan, Deputy Director, MMB

Chair Nelson renewed the motion that HF2399, as amended, be referred to the Judiciary Finance & Civil Law Committee.

The clerk noted the roll.

AYES NELSON, Michael V. - Chair CARLSON, Andrew - Vice Chair BAHNER, Kristin ELKINS, Steve GREENMAN, Emma KLEVORN, Ginny MASIN, Sandra

NAYS

With a vote of 8 AYES and 5 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Nelson moved HF2017 to be referred to the Workforce and Business Development Finance and Policy Committee.

Chair Nelson moved Amendment H2017A1. THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Representative Reyer presented HF2017 as amended, Advisory Task Force on State Employment and Retention of Employees with Disabilities recommendations adopted, and report required.

The following testified on HF2017 as amended: Trevor Turner, Director of Public Policy, Minnesota Council on Disability Eric Nooker, Citizen Bobby Silverstein, Legislative and Policy Counsel, State Exchange on Employment and Disability (SEED) Kenneth Rodgers, Disability Program Coordinator, Department of Transportation Affirmative Action Officer Thomas DeVita, DPS, Support Services Program Director, Driver & Vehicle Services David Fenley, ADA Director, Minnesota Council on Disability Matt Gehring, Staff Coordinator/Attorney, Minnesota House of Representatives

The following submitted written testimonies on HF2017 as amended: Bobby Silverstein, Legislative and Policy Counsel, State Exchange on Employment and Disability (SEED) Thomas DeVita, DPS, Support Services Program Director, Driver & Vehicle Services

Chair Nelson renewed the motion that HF2017, as amended, be referred to the Workforce and Business Development Finance and Policy Committee.

The clerk noted the roll.

AYES NELSON, Michael V. - Chair CARLSON, Andrew - Vice Chair BAHNER, Kristin ELKINS, Steve GREENMAN, Emma KLEVORN, Ginny MASIN, Sandra

NAYS NASH, Jim - Minority Lead DRAZKOWSKI, Steve KOZNICK, Jon NEU BRINDLEY, Anne PELOWSKI, Gene QUAM, Duane

With a vote of 8 AYES and 5 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Bahner moved HF3136 to be referred to the General Register.

Representative Bahner presented HF3136, PERA, MSRS; Continuing payment of annuity to health care workers who return to employment from retirement or continue employment on a phased retirement agreement.

The following submitted written testimonies on HF3136: Representative Bahner

Representative Bahner renewed the motion that HF3136 be referred to the General Register.

The clerk noted the roll.

AYES

NELSON, Michael V. - Chair CARLSON, Andrew - Vice Chair NASH, Jim - Minority Lead BAHNER, Kristin ELKINS, Steve GREENMAN, Emma KLEVORN, Ginny MASIN, Sandra NEU BRINDLEY, Anne PELOWSKI, Gene QUAM, Duane

NAYS KOZNICK, Jon

ABSTAIN DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

With a vote of 11 AYES, 1 NAYS, and 1 ABSTAIN, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Vice Chair Carlson assumed the gavel at 9:50 am.

Chair Nelson moved HF3091 to be referred to the General Register.

Chair Nelson presented HF3091, Department of Administration provisions changed.

The following testified on HF3091: Julie Bayerl, Legislative Director, Minnesota Department of Administration Ann Voda, Architect, AIA Minnesota Wayne Waslaski, Senior Director, Real Estate and Construction Services, Department of Administration

The meeting was adjourned at 10:03 AM.

Representative Michael Nelson, Chair

Benjamin Brinks, Committee Legislative Assistant