



- Subject Prohibiting certain fees by landlords; restricting landlord entry
- Authors Her and others
- Analyst Mary Davis
 - Date January 18, 2023

Overview

Updates and amends landlord-tenant provisions. The sections in this bill apply to leases signed before, on, or after August 1, 2024.

Summary

Section Description

1 **Prohibited fees.**

Prohibits landlords from imposing ongoing fees that do not relate to a service provided by the landlord and imposes a penalty for violating this section.

2 Entry by landlord.

Restricts landlords entry into a residential unit to between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. and clarifies that notice must be at least 24 hours before entry.

3 Penalty.

Changes the penalty for a landlord who enters an apartment without proper notice or in violation of the section to damages not less than one month's rent and reasonable attorney's fees instead of a civil penalty of \$100. Provides that a violation of the section on unlawful entry by a landlord is a violation of the lease.

Minnesota House Research Department provides nonpartisan legislative, legal, and information services to the Minnesota House of Representatives. This document can be made available in alternative formats.