TRANSPORTATION FINANCE AND POLICY COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair of the Transportation Finance and Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00pm on February 22, 2022, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HORNSTEIN, Frank, Chair KOEGEL, Erin, Vice-Chair PETERSBURG, John, Lead BAHR, Cal BERNARDY, Connie EKLINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael OLSON, Bjorn RICHARDSON, Ruth TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

A quorum was present.

Representative Petersburg moved that the February 17 minutes be adopted. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF2993 (Baker) - Kandiyohi County; John Schlegel Memorial Highway designated on U.S. Highway 71

Chair Hornstein moved that HF 2993 be rereferred to the committee on Ways and Means.

Rep. Baker gave an overview on HF 2993.

Public Testimony on HF 2993 Kristin Schlegel

Chair Hornstein renewed the motion that HF 2993 be rereferred to the committee on Ways and Means. The results were as follows:

AYES:

HORNSTEIN, Frank KOEGEL, Erin PETERSBURG, John BERNARDY, Connie EKLINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael OLSON, Bjorn RICHARDSON, Ruth TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan NAYS: BAHR, Cal There being 16 AYE

There being 16 AYES and 1 NAY, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF2966 (Koznick) - Veteran designation on drivers' licenses or ID cards eligibility amended.

Rep. Koznick moved that HF 2966 be referred to the committee on Labor, Industry, Veterans and Military Affairs Finance & Policy.

Rep. Koznick moved that the H2966A1 amendment be adopted. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Rep. Koznick gave have overview of HF 2966, as amended.

Public Testimony on HF 2966, as amended

Vicki Schwartz

Rep. Koznick renewed the motion that HF 2966, as amended, be referred to the committee on Labor, Industry, Veterans and Military Affairs Finance and Policy. The results were as follows:

AYES:

HORNSTEIN, Frank KOEGEL, Erin PETERSBURG, John BAHR, Cal BERNARDY, Connie EKLINS, Steve FREDERICK, Luke HAUSMAN, Alice HEINRICH, John KOZNICK, Jon MASIN, Sandra MURPHY, Mary NELSON, Michael OLSON, Bjorn RICHARDSON, Ruth TORKELSON, Paul WEST, Nolan

NAYS:

None.

There being 17 AYES and 0 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF3219 (Koegel) – Transportation Policy Bill

Vice-Chair Koegel moved HF 3219.

Vice-Chair Koegel moved that the A22-0314 amendment be adopted. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.

Vice-Chair Koegel gave an overview of HF 3219, as amended.

Public Testimony on HF 3219, as amended

Erik Rudeen, MnDOT Government Affairs

Chair Hornstein laid over HF 3219, as amended.

HF3220 (Lippert) - Electric vehicle charging station installation and fee collection allowed at interstate rest areas

Rep. Lippert gave an overview of HF 3220.

Public Testimony on HF 3220

Erik Rudeen, MnDOT Government Affairs Anna Johnson, Fresh Energy Tim Sexton, Assistant Commissioner, MnDOT

Chair Hornstein laid over HF 3220.

Chair Hornstein adjourned the meeting at 2:23pm.

Representative Frank Hornstein, Chair

Dan Dodge, Committee Legislative Assistant