TAX COMMITTEE

MINUTES

Representative Paul Marquart, Chair of the Committee, called the virtual Tax Committee meeting to order at 1:00 P.M. on Wednesday, April 6, 2022, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting is being broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

MARQUART, Paul CHAIR LISLEGARD, Dave VC DAVIDS, Greg Lead AGBAJE, Esther CARLSON, Andrew DETTMER, Bob GAROFALO, Pat GOMEZ, Aisha HER, Kaohly HERTAUS, Jerry HOWARD, Michael MCDONALD, Joe MORAN, Rena MORTENSON, Erik ROBBINS, Kristin SANDELL, Steve SCHULTZ, Jennifer

Members excused:

STEPHENSON, Zack SWEDZINSKI, Chris YOUAKIM, Cheryl

MILLER, Tim

A quorum was present.

Representative McDonald moved the approval of the April 5, 2022 minutes. THE MOTION PREVAILED.

HF 3669 (Marquart) Taxation; various provisions modified relating to income, sales and use, property, local government aid, and corporate franchise taxes; public safety aid and soil and water conservation district aid for local governments proposed; onetime direct payments to taxpayers proposed; and money appropriated.

Providing testimony:

Commissioner Robert Doty, Minnesota Department of Revenue Commissioner Marion Greene, Hennepin County Trista MastasCastillo, Board Chair, Ramsey County Jeff Corey, One Roof Community Housing Gary Carlson, League of Minnesota Cities Patricia Nauman, Metro Cities
Matt Norris, Youthprise
Katy Schultz, Prepare+Prosper
Matt Hilgart, Association of Minnesota Counties
Bradley Peterson, Coalition of Greater Minnesota Cities
Ben Wogsland, Hospitality Minnesota
Eric Bernstein, We Make Minnesota
Nan Madden, Minnesota Budget Project
Isaac Meyer, Kootasca Community Action
Matt Massman, Minnesota Inter-County Association
Natletha Sumo, Children's Defense Fund
Bob Zahler, St. Michael's-Albertville Teacher
Brad Lundell, Schools for Equity in Education
Libby Murphy, Minnesota Housing Partnership
Amina Adan, Advocate

The meeting was adjourned at 2:10 P.M.

Representative Paul Marquart, Chair	
Urszula Gryska,	Committee Legislative Assistant