EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Ruth Richardson, Chair of the Committee on Education Policy, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00pm on March 18, 2022, pursuant to House Rule 10.01. The meeting was conducted over Zoom and broadcast via House Public Information Services.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

RICHARSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

A quorum was present.

Representative Poston moved the minutes from the committee meeting on March 16, 2022, be approved. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Representative Moller assumed the gavel at 1:02pm.

Chair Richardson moved HF951 be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

Chair Richardson moved Amendment H951A1. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED. THE AMENDMENT WAS ADOPTED.</u>

The following testified on HF951, as amended:

- Bernadeia H. Johnson, EdD, Assistant Professor, Department of Educational Leadership, Minnesota State University
- Josh Crosson, Executive Director, EdAllies
- Idil Abdull, Parent Advocate
- Mariam Adam, District Program Facilitator for Multilingual Programs, Minneapolis Public Schools
- Adosh Unni, Director of Government Relations, Minnesota Department of Education
- Khulia Pringle, Member, National Parents Union
- Tonya Draughn, Minnesota Delegate, National Parents Union
- Marea Perry, Executive Director, Secrets 2 Truth
- Jenifer Davis, Parent, Teacher in ECFE
- Kevion Ellis, Policy Strategist, Education Minnesota
- Nancy Antoine, MESPA, Principal, Northfield

Chair Richardson renewed the motion to refer HF951, as amended, to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES

RICHARSON, Ruth, Chair

HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair

BERG, Kaela

CHRISTENSEN, Shelly

EDELSON, Heather

FEIST, Sandra

FRAZIER, Cedrick

IODDAN G

JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

MOLLER, Kelly

WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS

ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead

BENNETT, Peggy

BOE, Greg

DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

MUELLER, Patricia

POSTON, John

SCOTT, Peggy

URDAHL, Dean

With a vote of 11 AYES AND 8 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Richardson reassumed the gavel at 1:52pm.

Representative Edelson moved HF3402 be referred to the Committee to Education Finance.

The following testified on HF3402:

- Simon Hofer, Student, Minneapolis, MN
- Gwen Anderson, Educator, St. Cloud, MN
- Khulia Pringle, Member, National Parents Union
- Marea Perry, Executive Director, Secrets 2 Truth
- Jenifer Davis, Parent, Teacher in ECFERoger J. Aronson

Representative Edelson renewed the motion to refer HF3402 to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES

RICHARSON, Ruth, Chair

HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair

BERG, Kaela

CHRISTENSEN, Shelly

EDELSON, Heather

FEIST, Sandra

FRAZIER, Cedrick

JORDAN, Sydney

KEELER, Heather

MOLLER, Kelly

URDAHL, Dean

WAZLAWIK, Ami

NAYS
ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead
BENNETT, Peggy
BOE, Greg
MUELLER, Patricia
POSTON, John
SCOTT, Peggy

ABSENT DRAZKOWSKI, Steve

With a vote of 12 AYES, 6 NAYS, and 1 ABSENT, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Chair Richardson moved HF1362 be laid over for possible inclusion in a Committee Omnibus bill.

The following testified on HF1362:

- The Honorable Mike Freiberg, State Representative
- Jillian Nelson, Community Resource and Policy Advocate, Autism Society of Minnesota
- Jules Edwards, Executive Director, Autism Society of Minnesota

Chair Richardson laid over HF1362 for possible inclusion in a Committee Omnibus Bill.

Chair Richardson moved HF4039 be referred to the Committee on Education Finance.

The following testified on HF4039.

- The Honorable Jim Davnie, State Representative.
- Aaron Vande Linde, Director, Minnesota Office of School Trust Lands

Chair Richardson renewed the motion to refer HF3049 to the Committee on Education Finance.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES RICHARSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean

ABSENT

KEELER, Heather

WAZLAWIK, Ami

With a vote of 18 AYES, 0 NAYS, and 1 ABSENT, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Representative Moller moved HF1362 to be before the committee again. <u>THE MOTION PREVAILED.</u>

Chair Richardson moved HF1362 be referred to the Committee on Judiciary Finance and Civil Law.

The clerk took the roll.

AYES RICHARSON, Ruth, Chair HASSAN, Hodan, Vice Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Republican Lead BENNETT, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

With a vote of 19 AYES, 0 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

The following gave a presentation on the RIPL Training Program:

• Ben Rudrud, Founder and Owner, RIPL Training

The meeting adjourned at 2:46pm.

Representative Ruth Richardson, Chair
Isabel Rolfes, Committee Legislative Assistant