1.2	Delete everything after the enacting clause and insert:
1.3	"Section 1. MULTIJURISDICTIONAL LAW ENFORCEMENT TRAINING IN
1.4	THE PROPER USE OF FORCE, DUTY TO INTERCEDE, AND CONFLICT
1.5	DE-ESCALATION; REIMBURSEMENT; APPROPRIATION.
1.6	(a) \$2,500,000 in fiscal year 2023 is appropriated from the general fund to the
1.7	commissioner of the Office of Higher Education to provide reimbursement grants to
1.8	postsecondary schools certified to provide programs of professional peace officer education
1.9	for providing in-service training programs for peace officers on the proper use of force,
1.10	including deadly force, the duty to intercede, and conflict de-escalation. Of this amount, up
1.11	to 2.5 percent is for administration and monitoring of the program.
1.12 1.13	(b) To be eligible for reimbursement, training offered by a postsecondary school must consist of no less than eight hours of instruction and:
1.14 1.15	(1) satisfy the requirements of Minnesota Statutes, section 626.8452, and be approved by the Board of Peace Officer Standards and Training, for use of force training;
1.16 1.17	(2) utilize scenario-based training that simulates real-world situations and involves the use of real firearms that fire nonlethal ammunition when appropriate;
1.18	(3) include a block of instruction on the physical and psychological effects of stress
1.19 1.20	before, during, and after a high risk or traumatic incident and the cumulative impact of stress on the health of officers;
1.21	(4) include blocks of instruction on de-escalation methods and tactics, bias motivation,
1.22	unknown risk training, defensive tactics, and force-on-force training; and

..... moves to amend H.F. No. 3293 as follows:

1.1

Section 1.

02/22/22 04:43 pm	HOUSE RESEARCH	JD/JF	H3293DE1
U/////// U4:43 nm	HUUNERENEARUE	11)/ 1 년	H 4 / 9 4 D F T

2.1	(5) be offered to peace officers at no charge to the peace officer or an officer's law
2.2	enforcement agency.
2.3	(c) A postsecondary school that offers training consistent with the requirements of
2.4	paragraph (b) may apply for reimbursement for the costs of offering the training.
2.5	Reimbursement shall be made at a rate of \$450 for each officer who participates in the
2.6	training. The postsecondary school must submit the name and peace officer license number
2.7	of the peace officer who received the training.
2.8	(d) As used in this section:
2.9	(1) "law enforcement agency" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section
2.10	626.84, subdivision 1, paragraph (f); and
2.11	(2) "peace officer" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 626.84,
2.12	subdivision 1, paragraph (c)."
2.13	Amend the title accordingly

Section 1. 2