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ARTICLE 2 24.14

ENVIRONMENT AND NATURAL RESOURCES POLICY 24.15
Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.027, subdivision 14a, is amended to read:

Subd. 14a. Permitting efficiency; public notice. (a) It is the goal of the state that
environmental and resource management permits be issued or denied within 90 days for
tier 1 permits or 150 days for tier 2 permits following submission of a permit application.
The commissioner of natural resources shall establish management systems designed to
achieve the goal.

(b) The commissioner shall prepare an annual permitting efficiency report that includes
statistics on meeting the goal in paragraph (a) and the criteria for tier 2 by permit categories.
The report is due Asgast October 1 each year. For permit applications that have not met
the goal, the report must state the reasons for not meeting the goal. In stating the reasons
for not meeting the goal, the commissioner shall separately identify delays caused by the
responsiveness of the proposer, lack of staff, scientific or technical disagreements, or the
level of public engagement. The report must specify the number of days from initial
submission of the application to the day of determination that the application is complete.
The report must aggregate the data for the year and assess whether program or system
changes are necessary to achieve the goal. The report must be posted on the department's
website and submitted to the governor and the chairs and ranking minority members of the
house of representatives and senate committees having jurisdiction over natural resources
policy and finance.

(c) The commissioner shall allow electronic submission of environmental review and
permit documents to the department.

(d) Within 30 business days of application for a permit subject to paragraph (a), the
commissioner of natural resources shall notify the permit applicant, in writing, whether the
application is complete or incomplete. If the commissioner determines that an application
is incomplete, the notice to the applicant must enumerate all deficiencies, citing specific
provisions of the applicable rules and statutes, and advise the applicant on how the
deficiencies can be remedied. If the commissioner determines that the application is complete,
the notice must confirm the application's tier 1 or tier 2 permit status. If the commissioner
believes that a complete application for a tier 2 construction permit cannot be issued within
the 150-day goal, the commissioner must provide notice to the applicant with the
commissioner's notice that the application is complete and, upon request of the applicant,
provide the permit applicant with a schedule estimating when the agency will begin drafting
the permit and issue the public notice of the draft permit. This paragraph does not apply to
an application for a permit that is subject to a grant or loan agreement under chapter 446A.

(e) When public notice of a draft individual tier 2 permit is required, the commissioner
must provide the applicant a draft permit for review by the applicant within 30 days after
determining the proposal conforms to all federal and state laws and rules, unless the permit
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applicant and the commissioner mutually agree to a different date. The commissioner must
consider all comments submitted by the applicant before issuing the permit.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.027, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 14c. Unadopted rules. The commissioner of natural resources must not enforce
or attempt to enforce an unadopted rule. For purposes of this subdivision, "unadopted rule"
means a guideline, bulletin, criterion, manual standard, interpretive statement, policy plan,
or similar pronouncement if the guideline, bulletin, criterion, manual standard, interpretive
statement, policy plan, or similar pronouncement has not been adopted according to the
rulemaking process provided under chapter 14. If an unadopted rule is challenged under
section 14.381, the commissioner must cease enforcement of the unadopted rule and
overcome a presumption that the unadopted rule must be adopted according to the rulemaking
process provided under chapter 14.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.788, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Report of ownership transfers; fee. (a) Application for transfer of ownership
of an off-highway motorcycle registered under this section must be made to the commissioner
within 15 days of the date of transfer.

(b) An application for transfer must be executed by the registered current owner and the
purchaser using a bill of sale that includes the vehicle serial number.

(c) The purchaser is subject to the penalties imposed by section 84.774 if the purchaser
fails to apply for transfer of ownership as provided under this subdivision.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.82, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Application, issuance, issuing fee. (a) Application for registration or
reregistration shall be made to the commissioner or an authorized deputy registrar of motor
vehicles in a format prescribed by the commissioner and shall state the legal name and
address of every owner of the snowmobile.

(b) A person who purchases a snowmobile from a retail dealer shall make application
for registration to the dealer at the point of sale. The dealer shall issue a dealer temporary
21-day registration permit to each purchaser who applies to the dealer for registration. The
temporary permit must contain the dealer's identification number and phone number. Each
retail dealer shall submit completed registration and fees to the deputy registrar at least once
a week. No fee may be charged by a dealer to a purchaser for providing the temporary
permit.

(c) Upon receipt of the application and the appropriate fee, the commissioner or deputy
registrar shall issue to the applicant, or provide to the dealer, an assigned registration number
or a commissioner or deputy registrar temporary 21-day permit. The registration number
must be printed on a registration decal issued by the commissioner or deputy registrar. Once
issued, the registration smber decal must be affixed to the snowmobile in a clearly visible
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and permanent manner for enforcement purposes as-the-eemmissioner-ofnatural resourees

shall-preseribe according to subdivision 3b. A dealer subject to paragraph (b) shall provide

the registration materials or temporary permit to the purchaser within the temporary 21-day
permit period. The registration is not valid unless signed by at least one owner.

(d) Each deputy registrar of motor vehicles acting pursuant to section 168.33 shall also
be a deputy registrar of snowmobiles. The commissioner of natural resources in agreement
with the commissioner of public safety may prescribe the accounting and procedural
requirements necessary to ensure efficient handling of registrations and registration fees.
Deputy registrars shall strictly comply with these accounting and procedural requirements.

(e) In addition to other fees prescribed by law, an issuing fee of $4.50 is charged for
each snowmobile registration renewal, duplicate or replacement registration card, and
replacement decal, and an issuing fee of $7 is charged for each snowmobile registration and
registration transfer issued by:

(1) a registrar or a deputy registrar and must be deposited in the manner provided in
section 168.33, subdivision 2; or

(2) the commissioner and must be deposited in the state treasury and credited to the
snowmobile trails and enforcement account in the natural resources fund.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.82, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 3b. Display of registration decal. (a) A person must not operate a snowmobile
in the state or allow another to operate the person's snowmobile in the state unless the
snowmobile has its unexpired registration decal affixed to each side of the snowmobile and

the decal is legible.
(b) The registration decal must be affixed:

(1) for snowmobiles made after June 30, 1972, in the area provided by the manufacturer
under section 84.821, subdivision 2; and

(2) for all other snowmobiles, on each side of the cowling on the upper half of the
snowmobile.

(c) When any previously affixed registration decal is destroyed or lost, a duplicate must
be affixed in the same manner as provided in paragraph (b).

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.821, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Area for registration number. All snowmobiles made after June 30, 1972,
and sold in Minnesota, shall be des1gned and made to prov1de an area on which to afﬁx the
registration aumber decal. Fhis-area y
rule-of the-eommissiener: A clear area must be prov1ded on each 51de of the cowhng w1th
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a minimum size of 3-1/2 square inches and at least 12 inches from the ground when the
machine is resting on a hard surface.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.84, is amended to read:
84.84 TRANSFER OR TERMINATION OF SNOWMOBILE OWNERSHIP.

(a) Within 15 days after the transfer of ownership, or any part thereof, other than a
security interest, or the destruction or abandonment of any snowmobile, written notice of
the transfer or destruction or abandonment shall be given to the commissioner in such form
as the commissioner shall prescribe.

(b) An application for transfer must be executed by the registered current owner and the
purchaser using a bill of sale that includes the vehicle serial number.

(c) The purchaser is subject to the penalties imposed by section 84.88 if the purchaser
fails to apply for transfer of ownership as provided under this subdivision. Every owner or
part owner of a snowmobile shall, upon failure to give notice of destruction or abandonment,
be subject to the penalties imposed by section 84.88.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.86, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Required rules, fees, and reports. (a) With a view of achieving maximum
use of snowmobiles consistent with protection of the environment the commissioner of
natural resources shall adopt rules in the manner provided by chapter 14, for the following
purposes:

(1) registration of snowmobiles and-display-ofregistration-numbers:;

(2) use of snowmobiles insofar as game and fish resources are affected:;
(3) use of snowmobiles on public lands and waters, or on grant-in-aid trails:;

(4) uniform signs to be used by the state, counties, and cities, which are necessary or
desirable to control, direct, or regulate the operation and use of snowmobiles:;

(5) specifications relating to snowmobile mufflers:; and

(6) a comprehensive snowmobile information and safety education and training program;
inelading that includes but is not limited to the-preparation-and-dissemination-of preparing
and disseminating snowmobile information and safety advice to the public, the training ef
snowmobile operators, and the-issuanee-of issuing snowmobile safety certificates to
snowmobile operators who successfully complete the snowmobile safety education and
training course.

(b) For the purpose of administering steh the program under paragraph (a), clause (6),
and to defray expenses of training and certifying snowmobile operators, the commissioner
shall collect a fee from each person who receives the youth or adult training. The
commissioner shall collect a fee, to include a $1 issuing fee for licensing agents, for issuing
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a duplicate snowmobile safety certificate. The commissioner shall establish both fees in a
manner that neither significantly overrecovers nor underrecovers costs, including overhead
costs, involved in providing the services. The fees are not subject to the rulemaking provisions
of chapter 14 and section 14.386 does not apply. The fees may be established by the
commissioner notwithstanding section 16A.1283. The fees, except for the issuing fee for
licensing agents under this subdivision, shall be deposited in the snowmobile trails and
enforcement account in the natural resources fund and the amount thereof, except for the
electronic licensing system commission established by the commissioner under section
84.027, subdivision 15, and issuing fees collected by the commissioner, is appropriated
annually to the Enforcement Division of the Department of Natural Resources for the
administration-of-saeh administering the programs. In addition to the fee established by the
commissioner, instructors may charge each person any fee paid by the instructor for the
person's online training course and up to the established fee amount for class materials and
expenses. The commissioner shall cooperate with private organizations and associations,
private and public corporations, and local governmental units in furtherance of the program
established under this paragraph (a), clause (6). School districts may cooperate with the
commissioner and volunteer instructors to provide space for the classroom portion of the
training. The commissioner shall consult with the commissioner of public safety in regard
to training program subject matter and performance testing that leads to the certification of
snowmobile operators.

€D (c) The operator of any snowmobile involved in an accident resulting in injury
requiring medical attention or hospitalization to or death of any person or total damage to
an extent of $500 or more, shall forward a written report of the accident to the commissioner
on sueh a form as prescribed by the commissioner shalt-preseribe. If the operator is killed
or is unable to file a report due to incapacitation, any peace officer investigating the accident
shall file the accident report within ten business days.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.87, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Operation on streets and highways. (a) No person shall operate a
snowmobile upon the roadway, shoulder, or inside bank or slope of any trunk, county
state-aid, or county highway in this state and, in the case of a divided trunk or county
highway, on the right-of-way between the opposing lanes of traffic, except as provided in
sections 84.81 to 84.90. No person shall operate a snowmobile within the right-of-way of
any trunk, county state-aid, or county highway between the hours of one-half hour after
sunset to one-half hour before sunrise, except on the right-hand side of such right-of-way
and in the same direction as the highway traffic on the nearest lane of the roadway adjacent
thereto. No snowmobile shall be operated at any time within the right-of-way of any interstate
highway or freeway within this state.

(b) Notwithstanding any provision of paragraph (a) to the contrary:

(1) under conditions prescribed by the commissioner of transportation, the commissioner
of transportation may allow two-way operation of snowmobiles on either side of the trunk
highway right-of-way where the commissioner of transportation determines that two-way
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operation will not endanger users of the trunk highway or riders of the snowmobiles using
the trail,

(2) under conditions prescribed by a local road authority as defined in section 160.02,
subdivision 25, the road authority may allow two-way operation of snowmobiles on either
side of the right-of-way of a street or highway under the road authority's jurisdiction, where
the road authority determines that two-way operation will not endanger users of the street
or highway or riders of the snowmobiles using the trail;

(3) the commissioner of transportation under clause (1) and the local road authority
under clause (2) shall notify the commissioner of natural resources and the local law
enforcement agencies responsible for the streets or highways of the locations of two-way
snowmobile trails authorized under this paragraph; and

(4) two-way snowmobile trails authorized under this paragraph shall be posted for
two-way operation at the authorized locations.

(c) A snowmobile may make a direct crossing of a street or highway at any hour of the
day provided:

(1) the crossing is made at an angle of approximately 90 degrees to the direction of the
highway and at a place where no obstruction prevents a quick and safe crossing; and

(2) the snowmobile is brought to a complete stop before crossing the shoulder or main
traveled way of the highway; and

(3) the driver yields the right-of-way to all oncoming traffic which constitutes an
immediate hazard; and

(4) in crossing a divided highway, the crossing is made only at an intersection of such
highway with another public street or highway, or at a safe location approved by the road

authority; and
(5) if the crossing is made between the hours of one-half hour after sunset to one-half

hour before sunrise or in conditions of reduced visibility, only if both front and rear lights
are on; and

(6) a snowmobile may be operated upon a bridge, other than a bridge that is part of the
main traveled lanes of an interstate highway, when required for the purpose of avoiding
obstructions to travel when no other method of avoidance is possible; provided the
snowmobile is operated in the extreme right-hand lane, the entrance to the roadway is made
within 100 feet of the bridge and the crossing is made without undue delay.

(d) No snowmobile shall be operated upon a public street or highway unless it is equipped
with at least one headlamp, one tail lamp, each of minimum candlepower as prescribed by
rules of the commissioner, reflector material of a minimum area of 16 square inches mounted
on each side forward of the handle bars, and with brakes each of which shall conform to
standards prescribed by rule of the commissioner pursuant to the authority vested in the
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commissioner by section 84.86, and each of which shall be subject to approval of the
commissioner of public safety.

(e) A snowmobile may be operated upon a public street or highway other than as provided
by paragraph (c) in an emergency during the period of time when and at locations where
snow upon the roadway renders travel by automobile impractical.

() All provisions of chapters 169 and 169A shall apply to the operation of snowmobiles
upon streets and highways, except for those relating to required equipment, and except those
which by their nature have no application. Section 169.09 applies to the operation of
snowmobiles anywhere in the state or on the ice of any boundary water of the state.

(g) Any sled, trailer, or other device being towed by a snowmobile must be equipped
with reflective materials as required by rule of the commissioner.

Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 84.92, subdivision 8, is amended
to read:

Subd. 8. All-terrain vehicle or vehicle. (a) "All-terrain vehicle" or "vehicle" means a
motorized vehicle with: (1) not less than three, but not more than six lew-pressure-or
nen-preumatie tires; (2) a total dry weight of 258000 3,000 pounds or less; and (3) a total
width from outside of tire rim to outside of tire rim that is 65 inches or less. All-terrain
vehicle includes a class 1 all-terrain vehicle and class 2 all-terrain vehicle.

(b) All-terrain vehicle does not include an electric-assisted bicycle as defined in section
169.011, subdivision 27, golf cart, mini-truck, dune buggy, or go-cart or a vehicle designed
and used specifically for lawn maintenance, agriculture, logging, or mining purposes.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84.922, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Report of transfers. (a) Application for transfer of ownership must be made
to the commissioner within 15 days of the date of transfer.

(b) An application for transfer must be executed by the registered current owner and the
purchaser using a bill of sale that includes the vehicle serial number.

(c) The purchaser is subject to the penalties imposed by section 84.774 if the purchaser
fails to apply for transfer of ownership as provided under this subdivision.

Sec. 12. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 85.015, subdivision 10, is amended to read: 28.6
Subd. 10. Luce Line Trail, Hennepin, McLeod, and Meeker Counties. (a) The trail 28.7
shall originate at Gleason Lake in Plymouth Village, Hennepin County, and-shalt follow 28.8
the route of the Chicago Northwestern Railroad, and include a connection to Greenleaf Lake 28.9
State Recreation Area. 28.10
(b) The trail shall be developed for multiuse wherever feasible. The department shall 28.11
cooperate in maintaining its integrity for modes of use consistent with local ordinances. 28.12
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Sec. 10. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 85.015, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Luce Line Trail, Hennepin, McLeod, and Meeker Counties. (a) The trail
shall originate at Gleason Lake in Plymouth Village, Hennepin County, and-shalt follow
the route of the Chicago Northwestern Railroad, and include a connection to Greenleaf Lake
State Recreation Area.

(b) The trail shall be developed for multiuse wherever feasible. The department shall
cooperate in maintaining its integrity for modes of use consistent with local ordinances.
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(c) In establishing, developing, maintaining, and operating the trail, the commissioner
shall cooperate with local units of government and private individuals and groups. Before
acquiring any parcel of land for the trail, the commissioner of natural resources shall develop
a management program for the parcel and conduct a public hearing on the proposed
management program in the vicinity of the parcel to be acquired. The management program
of the commissioner shall include but not be limited to the following:

ta) (1) fencing ef portions of the trail where necessary to protect adjoining landowners;
and

{b)-the-maintenanee-of (2) maintaining the trail in a ktterfree litter-free condition to the

extent practicable.

(d) The commissioner shall not acquire any of the right-of-way of the Chicago
Northwestern Railway Company until the abandonment of the line described in this
subdivision has been approved by the Surface Transportation Board or the former Interstate
Commerce Commission. Compensation, in addition to the value of the land, shall include
improvements made by the railroad, including but not limited to, bridges, trestles, public
road crossings, or any portion thereof, it being the desire of the railroad that such
improvements be included in the conveyance. The fair market value of the land and
improvements shall be recommended by two independent appraisers mutually agreed upon
by the parties. The fair market value thus recommended shall be reviewed by a review
appraiser agreed to by the parties, and the fair market value thus determined, and supported
by appraisals, may be the purchase price. The commissioner may exchange lands with
landowners abutting the right-of-way described in this section to eliminate diagonally shaped
separate fields.

Sec. 13. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 85.052, subdivision 6, is amended
to read:

Subd. 6. State park reservation system. (a) The commissioner may, by written order,
develop reasonable reservation policies for eampsites-and-other using camping, lodging,
and day-use facilities and for tours, educational programs, seminars, events, and rentals.
The policies are exempt from the rulemaking provisions under chapter 14, and section
14.386 does not apply.

(b) The revenue collected from the state park reservation fee established under subdivision

5, including interest earned, shalt must be deposited in the state park account in the natural
resources fund and is annually appropriated to the commissioner for the cost of operating
the state park reservation and point-of-sale system.

Sec. 14. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 90.181, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Deferred payments. (a) If the amount of the statement is not paid or payment
is not postmarked within 30 days of the statement date thereefiit-shalt-bear, the amount
bears interest at the rate determined pursuant to section 16A.124, except that the purchaser
shall-netbe is not required to pay interest that totals $1 or less. If the amount is not paid
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(c) In establishing, developing, maintaining, and operating the trail, the commissioner
shall cooperate with local units of government and private individuals and groups. Before
acquiring any parcel of land for the trail, the commissioner of natural resources shall develop
a management program for the parcel and conduct a public hearing on the proposed
management program in the vicinity of the parcel to be acquired. The management program
of the commissioner shall include but not be limited to the following:

ta) (1) fencing ef portions of the trail where necessary to protect adjoining landowners;
and

{b)-the-maintenanee-of (2) maintaining the trail in a ktterfree litter-free condition to the

extent practicable.

(d) The commissioner shall not acquire any of the right-of-way of the Chicago
Northwestern Railway Company until the abandonment of the line described in this
subdivision has been approved by the Surface Transportation Board or the former Interstate
Commerce Commission. Compensation, in addition to the value of the land, shall include
improvements made by the railroad, including but not limited to, bridges, trestles, public
road crossings, or any portion thereof, it being the desire of the railroad that such
improvements be included in the conveyance. The fair market value of the land and
improvements shall be recommended by two independent appraisers mutually agreed upon
by the parties. The fair market value thus recommended shall be reviewed by a review
appraiser agreed to by the parties, and the fair market value thus determined, and supported
by appraisals, may be the purchase price. The commissioner may exchange lands with
landowners abutting the right-of-way described in this section to eliminate diagonally shaped
separate fields.

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 90.181, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Deferred payments. (a) If the amount of the statement is not paid or payment
is not postmarked within 30 days of the statement date thereefiit-shalt-bear, the amount
bears interest at the rate determined pursuant to section 16A.124, except that the purchaser
shall-retbe is not required to pay interest that totals $1 or less. If the amount is not paid
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within 60 days, the commissioner shall place the account in the hands of the commissioner
of revenue according to chapter 16D, who shall proceed to collect the samre amount due.
When deemed in the best interests of the state, the commissioner shall take possession of
the timber for which an amount is due wherever it may be found and sell the same timber
informally or at public auction after giving reasonable notice.

(b) The proceeds of the sale shall must be applied, first, to the payment of the expenses
of seizure and sale; and, second, to the payment of the amount due for the timber, with
interest;-and. The surplus, if any, shall-belong belongs to the states-ands;. In case a sufficient
amount is not realized to pay these amounts in full, the balance shalt must be collected by
the attorney general. Neither Payment of the amount, ner-the recovery of judgment therefor
for the amount, ner satisfaction of the judgment, ner-the or seizure and sale of timber;-shatt
does not:

(1) release the sureties on any security deposit given pursuant to this chapters-er;

(2) preclude the state from afterwards claiming that the timber was cut or removed
contrary to law and recovering damages for the trespass thereby committeds; or

(3) preclude the state from prosecuting the offender criminally.

Sec. 15.[93.70] ENSURING TIMELY ENVIRONMENTAL REVIEW OF
METALLIC MINING PROJECTS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms defined in this
subdivision have the meanings given.

(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of natural resources.

(c) "Covered mining project”" means a proposed metallic mineral mining project or a
modification to an existing metallic mining project for which an environmental assessment
worksheet or an environmental impact statement must be or is being prepared according to

chapter 116D.

(d) "Submission date" means the date on which a project proposer of a covered mining
project submits the completed data portion of an environmental assessment worksheet to
the responsible governmental unit for environmental review under chapter 116D.

Subd. 2. Environmental review goals. To ensure an environmental review process that
is both timely and environmentally responsible, the responsible governmental unit for a
covered mining project must attempt to ensure that all environmental reviews, permits, and
approvals, including those at the federal level to the extent practicable, are completed in
accordance with the following timelines:

(1) when an environmental assessment worksheet is prepared for a project for which an
environmental impact statement is not required, the decision on the need for an environmental
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within 60 days, the commissioner shall place the account in the hands of the commissioner
of revenue according to chapter 16D, who shall proceed to collect the same amount due.
When deemed in the best interests of the state, the commissioner shall take possession of
the timber for which an amount is due wherever it may be found and sell the same timber
informally or at public auction after giving reasonable notice.

(b) The proceeds of the sale shall must be applied, first, to the payment of the expenses
of seizure and sale; and, second, to the payment of the amount due for the timber, with
interest;-and. The surplus, if any, shall-belong belongs to the states-and;. In case a sufficient
amount is not realized to pay these amounts in full, the balance shalt must be collected by
the attorney general. Neither Payment of the amount, ner-the recovery of judgment therefor
for the amount, ner satisfaction of the judgment, ner-the or seizure and sale of timber;shatt
does not:

(1) release the sureties on any security deposit given pursuant to this chapters-er;

(2) preclude the state from afterwards claiming that the timber was cut or removed
contrary to law and recovering damages for the trespass thereby committeds; or

(3) preclude the state from prosecuting the offender criminally.
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impact statement must be made no later than 18 months after the environmental assessment
worksheet submission date; and

(2) when an environmental impact statement is prepared for a project, the decision on
the adequacy of the final environmental impact statement must be made no later than three
years after the environmental assessment worksheet submission date.

Subd. 3. Report. If a responsible governmental unit fails to meet a goal set forth in
subdivision 2, it must within five days report to the project proposer and to the chairs and
ranking minority members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over
mining to explain the reason for the failure and must provide an estimate of the additional
time that will be required to determine whether an environmental impact statement is required
or whether the final environmental impact statement is adequate, as applicable.

Sec. 16. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97A.015, subdivision 29, is amended to read:

Subd. 29. Minnows. "Minnows" means: (1) members of the minnow family, Cyprinidae,
except carp and goldfish; (2) members of the mudminnow family, Umbridae; (3) members
of the sucker family, Catostomidae;net-ever12-inehesinlength; (4) bullheads, ciscoes,
lake whitefish, goldeyes, and mooneyes, not over seven inches long; (5) leeches; and (6)
tadpole madtoms (willow cats) and stonecats.

Sec. 17. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97A.015, subdivision 51, is amended to read:

Subd. 51. Unloaded. "Unloaded" means, with reference to a firearm, without ammunition
in the barrels and magazine, if the magazine is in the firearm. A muzzle-loading firearm
with is unloaded if:

(1) for a flintlock ignition is-tnteadedf, it does not have priming powder in a pan—A
mruzzle-loading firearm-with;

(2) for a percussion ignition is-unleaded-i, it does not have a percussion cap on a nipple:;

(3) for an electronic ignition system, the battery is removed and is disconnected from
the firearm; and

(4) for an encapsulated powder charge ignition system, the primer and powder charge
are removed from the firearm.

Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97A.126, as amended by Laws 2021, First
Special Session chapter 6, article 2, section 52, is amended to read:

97A.126 WALK-IN ACCESS PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Establishment. A walk-in access program is established to provide public
access to wildlife habitat on private land for hunting, bird-watching, nature photography,
and similar compatible uses, excluding trapping, as provided under this section. The
commissioner may enter into agreements with other units of government and landowners
to provide private land hunting access.
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Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97A.015, subdivision 51, is amended to read:

Subd. 51. Unloaded. "Unloaded" means, with reference to a firearm, without ammunition
in the barrels and magazine, if the magazine is in the firearm. A muzzle-loading firearm
with is unloaded if:

(1) for a flintlock ignition is-tnteadedf, it does not have priming powder in a pan—4A
muzzle-loading firearmrwith;

(2) for a percussion ignition is-unleaded-i, it does not have a percussion cap on a nipple:;

(3) for an electronic ignition system, the battery is removed and is disconnected from
the firearm; and

(4) for an encapsulated powder charge ignition system, the primer and powder charge
are removed from the firearm.

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97A.126, as amended by Laws 2021, First
Special Session chapter 6, article 2, section 52, is amended to read:

97A.126 WALK-IN ACCESS PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Establishment. A walk-in access program is established to provide public
access to wildlife habitat on private land for hunting, bird-watching, nature photography,
and similar compatible uses, excluding trapping, as provided under this section. The
commissioner may enter into agreements with other units of government and landowners
to provide private land hunting access.
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Subd. 2. Use of enrolled lands. (a) From September 1 to May 31, a person must have
a walk-in access hunter validation in possession to hunt, photograph, and watch wildlife on
private lands, including agricultural lands, that are posted as being enrolled in the walk-in
access program.

(b) Hunting, bird-watching, nature photography, and similar compatible uses on private
lands that are posted as enrolled in the walk-in access program is allowed from one-half
hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset.

(c) Hunter Access on private lands that are posted as enrolled in the walk-in access
program is restricted to nonmotorized use, except by hunters persons with disabilities
operatmg motor vehlcles on estabhshed tralls or ﬁeld roads who possess-a-valid-permitte

provide credible
assurance to the commissioner that the device or motor boat is used because of a disability.

(d) The general provisions for use of wildlife management areas adopted under sections
86A.06 and 97A.137, relating to overnight use, alcoholic beverages, use of motorboats,
firearms and target shooting, hunting stands, abandonment of trash and property, destruction
or removal of property, introduction of plants or animals, and animal trespass, apply to
hunters-en use of lands enrolled in the walk-in access program.

(e) Any use of enrolled lands other than kunting-aeeordingte use authorized under this
section is prohibited, including:

(1) harvesting bait, including minnows, leeches, and other live bait;

(2) training dogs or using dogs for activities other than hunting; and

(3) constructing or maintaining any building, dock, fence, billboard, sign, hunting blind,

or other structure, unless constructed or maintained by the landowner.

Subd. 3. Walk-in-access hunter validation; fee. The fee for a walk-in-access hunter
validation is $3.

Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97A.137, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Use of motorized vehicles by disabled-hunters people with disabilities. The
commissioner may isste provide an accommodation by issuing a special permit, without a
fee authorlzmg a huﬂter person W1th a pefmaﬂeﬁt—physxea-} disability to use asnovwmebile;

> an other power-driven mobility device, as
defined under Code of Federal Regulations, t1tle 28, section 35.104, or a motor boat in
wildlife management areas. To qualify for a permit under this subdivision, the disabled

person must pessess:
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Subd. 2. Use of enrolled lands. (a) From September 1 to May 31, a person must have
a walk-in access hunter validation in possession to hunt, photograph, and watch wildlife on
private lands, including agricultural lands, that are posted as being enrolled in the walk-in
access program.

(b) Hunting, bird-watching, nature photography, and similar compatible uses on private
lands that are posted as enrolled in the walk-in access program is are allowed from one-half
hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset.

(c) Hunter Access on private lands that are posted as enrolled in the walk-in access
program is restricted to nonmotorized use, except by hunters persons with disabilities
operating motor vehicles on established trails or field roads who possess a valid permit to
shoot from a stationary vehicle under section 97B.055, subdivision 3.

(d) The general provisions for use of wildlife management areas adopted under sections
86A.06 and 97A.137, relating to overnight use, alcoholic beverages, use of motorboats,
firearms and target shooting, hunting stands, abandonment of trash and property, destruction
or removal of property, introduction of plants or animals, and animal trespass, apply to
hunters-en use of lands enrolled in the walk-in access program.

(e) Any use of enrolled lands other than kunting-aeeordingte use authorized under this
section is prohibited, including:

(1) harvesting bait, including minnows, leeches, and other live bait;
(2) training dogs or using dogs for activities other than hunting; and

(3) constructing or maintaining any building, dock, fence, billboard, sign, hunting blind,
or other structure, unless constructed or maintained by the landowner.

Subd. 3. Walk-in-access hunter validation; fee. The fee for a walk-in-access hunter
validation is $3.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97A.137, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Use of motorized vehicles by disabled-hunters people with disabilities. The
commissioner may isste provide an accommodation by issuing a special permit, without a
fee authorlzmg a huﬂter person W1th a pefmaﬂeﬁt—physxea-} disability to use asnovwmebile;

> an other power-driven mobility device, as
defined under Code of Federal Regulations, t1tle 28, section 35.104, or a motor boat in
wildlife management areas. To qualify for a permit under this subdivision, the disabled

person must pessess:
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a-permttto-shootfrom-a-stattonary-vehiele-underseetion-97B-055;-subdtviston3- 39.27
provide credible assurance to the commissioner that the device or motor boat is used because 39.28
of a disability. 39.29

Sec. 20. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97A.137, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Portable stands. (a) Prior to the Saturday on or nearest September 16, a portable
stand may be left overnight in a wildlife management area by a person with a valid bear
license who is hunting within 100 yards of a bear bait site that is legally tagged and registered
as prescribed under section 97B.425. Any person leaving a portable stand overnight under
this subdivision must affix a tag with: (1) the person's name and address; (2) the licensee's
driver's license number; or (3) the "MDNR#" license identification number issued to the
licensee. The tag must be affixed to the stand in a manner that it can be read from the ground.

(b) From November 1 through December 31, a portable stand may be left overnight by
a person possessing a license to take deer in a wildlife management area located in whole
or in part north and west of a line described as follows:

State Trunk Highway 1 from the west boundary of the state to State Trunk Highway 89;
then north along State Trunk Highway 89 to Fourtown; then north on County State-Aid
Highway 44, Beltrami County, to County Road 704, Beltrami County; then north on County
Road 704 to Dick's Parkway State Forest Road; then north on Dick's Parkway to County
State-Aid Highway 5, Roseau County; then north on County State-Aid Highway 5 to
Warroad; then north on State Trunk Highway 11 to State Trunk Highway 313; then north
on State Trunk Highway 313 to the north boundary of the state.

A person leaving a portable stand overnight under this paragraph must affix a tag with: (1)
the person's name and address; (2) the licensee's driver's license number; or (3) the "MDNR#"
license identification number issued to the licensee. The tag must be affixed to the stand so
that it can be read from the ground and must be made of a material sufficient to withstand
weather conditions. A person leaving a portable stand overnight in a wildlife management
area under this paragraph may not leave more than two portable stands in any one wildlife
management area. Unoccupied portable stands left overnight under this paragraph may be

used by any member of the public. Fhis-paragraph-expires Deecember34;2049-

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective retroactively from July 1, 2019, and
Minnesota Statutes, section 97A.137, subdivision 5, paragraph (b), is revived and reenacted
as of that date.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97A.405, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Resident licenses. (a) To obtain a resident license, a-restdent an individual 21
years of age or older must be a resident and:

(1) possess a current Minnesota driver's license or a valid application receipt for a driver's
license that is at least 60 days past the issuance date;
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provide credible assurance to the commissioner that the device or motor boat is used because
of a disability.
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(2) possess a current identification card issued by the commissioner of public safety or
a valid application receipt for an identification card that is at least 60 days past the issuance

date; or
(3) present evidence showing proof of residency in cases when clause (1) or (2) would
violate the Religious Freedom Restoration Act of 1993, Public Law 103-141:; or

(4) possess a Tribal identification card as provided in paragraph (b).

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "Tribal identification card" means an unexpired
identification card as provided under section 171.072, paragraphs (b) and (c). The Tribal
identification card:

(1) must contain the enrolled Tribal member's Minnesota residence address; and

(2) may be used to obtain a resident license under paragraph (a) only if the Tribal member
does not have a current driver's license or state identification card in any state.

(c) A person must not have applied for, purchased, or accepted a resident hunting, fishing,
or trapping license issued by another state or foreign country within 60 days before applying
for a resident license under this section.

Sec. 22. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97B.031, subdivision 1, is amended to read: 40.7

Subdivision 1. Permissible firearms and ammunition; big game and wolves. A person 40.8

may take big game and wolves with a firearm only if: 40.9
(1) the any rifle, shotgun, and or handgun used is a caliber of at least .22 inches and with 40.10
has centerfire ignition; 40.11
(2) the firearm is loaded only with single projectile ammunition; 40.12
(3) a projectile used is a caliber of at least .22 inches and has a soft point or is an 40.13
expanding bullet type; 40.14
(4) the any muzzleloader used is-ineapable-of-being has the projectile loaded only at the 40.15
breech muzzle; 40.16
(5) the any smooth-bore muzzleloader used is a caliber of at least .45 inches; and 40.17
(6) the any rifled muzzleloader used is a caliber of at least .40 inches. 40.18

Sec. 23. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97B.071, is amended to read:

97B.071 CLOTHING AND GROUND BLIND REQUIREMENTS; BLAZE
ORANGE OR BLAZE PINK.

(a) Except as provided in rules adopted under paragraph ¢e) (d), a person may not hunt
or trap during the open season where deer may be taken by firearms under applicable laws
and ordinances, unless the visible portion of the person's cap and outer clothing above the
waist, excluding sleeves and gloves, is blaze orange or blaze pink. Blaze orange or blaze
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Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97B.031, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Permissible firearms and ammunition; big game and wolves. A person
may take big game and wolves with a firearm only if:

(1) the any rifle, shotgun, and or handgun used is a caliber of at least .22 inches and with
has centerfire ignition;

(2) the firearm is loaded only with single projectile ammunition;

(3) a projectile used is a caliber of at least .22 inches and has a soft point or is an
expanding bullet type;

(4) the any muzzleloader used is-ineapable-of-being has the projectile loaded only at the
breech muzzle;

(5) the any smooth-bore muzzleloader used is a caliber of at least .45 inches; and

(6) the any rifled muzzleloader used is a caliber of at least .40 inches.
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pink includes a camouflage pattern of at least 50 percent blaze orange or blaze pink within
each foot square. This section does not apply to migratory-waterfowl hunters on waters of
this state or in a stationary shooting location or to trappers on waters of this state.

(b) Except as provided in rules adopted under paragraph (d) and in addition to the
requirements under paragraph (a), during the open season where deer may be taken by
firearms under applicable laws and ordinances, a person in a fabric or synthetic ground
blind on public land must have:

(1) a blaze orange or blaze pink safety covering on the top of the blind visible for 360
degrees around the blind; or

(2) at least 144 square inches of blaze orange or blaze pink material on each side of the
blind.

) (c) Except as provided in rules adopted under paragraph te) (d), and in addition to
the reguirement requirements in paragraph paragraphs (a) and (b), a person may not take
small game other than turkey, migratory birds, raccoons, and predators, except while trapping,
unless a visible portion of at least one article of the person's clothing above the waist is
blaze orange or blaze pink. This paragraph does not apply to a person when in a stationary
location while hunting deer by archery or when hunting small game by falconry.

te) (d) The commissioner may, by rule, prescribe an alternative color in cases where
paragraph-(a)y-or(b) paragraphs (a) to (c) would violate the Religious Freedom Restoration
Act of 1993, Public Law 103-141.

&) (e) A violation of paragraph (b)-shel (c) does not result in a penalty, but is punishable
only by a safety warning.

Sec. 24. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97B.311, is amended to read:
97B.311 DEER SEASONS AND RESTRICTIONS.

(a) Except as provided under paragraph (c), the commissioner may, by rule, prescribe
restrictions and designate areas where deer may be taken, including hunter selection criteria
for special hunts established under section 97A.401, subdivision 4. The commissioner may,
by rule, prescribe the open seasons for deer within the following periods:

(1) taking with firearms, other than muzzle-loading firearms, between November 1 and
December 15;

(2) taking with muzzle-loading firearms between September 1 and December 31; and
(3) taking by archery between September 1 and December 31.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the commissioner may establish special seasons
within designated areas at any time of year.
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(c) The commissioner may not impose an antler point restriction other than that imposed
under Minnesota Rules, part 6232.0200, subpart 6.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97B.318, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Shotgun use area. During the regular firearms season in the shotgun use
area, only legal shotguns loaded with single-slug shotgun shells, legal muzzle-loading long
guns, and legal handguns may be used for taking deer. Legal shotguns include those with
rifled barrels. The shotgun use area is that portion of the state dying-withinthe-follewing

g consisting

Sec. 26. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97B.415, is amended to read:

97B.415 TAKING BEAR TO PROTECT PROPERTY; SPECIAL PERMIT FOR
TAKING NUISANCE BEAR.

(a) A person may take a bear at any time to protect the person's property. The person
must report the bear taken to a conservation officer within 48 hours. The bear may be
disposed of as prescribed by the commissioner.

(b) The commissioner must issue a bear control special permit according to section
97A.401 for wildlife control operators to take nuisance bear by live trapping and relocating
the bear. When a bear is trapped and released, an enforcement officer or a wildlife manager
must approve the release location. The commissioner must provide specific training to
wildlife control operators who are issued a permit under this paragraph, including a refresher
course every five years. The commissioner may not charge a fee for the bear control special
permit or training. A wildlife control operator with a special permit issued under this
paragraph may use remote surveillance equipment to monitor live traps.
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Sec. 27. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97B.668, is amended to read:
97B.668 GAMEBIRDS ANIMALS CAUSING DAMAGE.

Subdivision 1. Game birds causing damage. Notwithstanding sections 97B.091 and
97B.805, subdivisions 1 and 2, a person or agent of that person on lands and nonpublic
waters owned or operated by the person may nonlethally scare, haze, chase, or harass game
birds that are causing property damage or to protect a disease risk at any time or place that
a hunting season for the game birds is not open. This section does not apply to public waters
as defined under section 103G.005, subdivision 15. This section does not apply to migratory
waterfowl on nests and other federally protected game birds on nests, except ducks and
geese on nests when a permit is obtained under section 97A.401.

Subd. 2. Deer and elk causing damage. (a) Notwithstanding section 97B.091, a property
owner, the property owner's immediate family member, or an agent of the property owner
may nonlethally scare, haze, chase, or harass deer or elk that are causing damage to
agricultural crops propagated under generally accepted agricultural practices.

(b) Paragraph (a) applies only:

(1) in the immediate area of the crop damage; and

(2) during the closed season for taking deer or elk.

(c) Paragraph (a) does not allow:

1) using poisons;

(2) using dogs;

(3) conduct that drives a deer or elk to the point of exhaustion;

(4) activities requiring a permit under section 97A.401; or

(5) causing the death of a deer or elk or actions likely to cause the death of a deer or elk.

(d) A property owner or the owner's agent must report the death of any deer or elk to
Division of Fish and Wildlife staff within 24 hours of the death if the death resulted from
actions taken under paragraph (a).

Sec. 28. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97C.211, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. Acquiring fish. (a) A private fish hatchery may not obtain fish outside of the
state unless the fish or the source of the fish are approved by the commissioner. The
commissioner may apply more stringent requirements to fish or a source of fish from outside
the state than are applied to fish and sources of fish from within the state. The commissioner
must either approve or deny the acqulsmon w1th1n 30 days after recelVlng a wrltten request
for approval. Minne rd-rotre e

e*eept—as—pfeﬂded—m—seeﬁeﬁ@#%%é—wbdﬁ%ﬁeﬁ—# A request may be for armual

acqulsltlon
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(b) If the commissioner denies approval, a written notice must be submitted to the
applicant stating the reasons for the denial and the commissioner must:

(1) designate approved sources to obtain the desired fish or fish eggs; or
(2) sell the fish or fish eggs from state fish hatcheries at fair market value.
Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97C.315, subdivision 1, is amended to read:
Subdivision 1. Lines. An angler may not use more than one line except:
(1) two lines may be used to take fish through the ice; and

(2) the commissioner may, by rule, authorize the use of two lines in areas designated by
the commissioner in Lake Superior:; and

(3) two lines may be used in the Minnesota River downstream of the Granite Falls dam
and in the Mississippi River downstream of St. Anthony Falls.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97C.515, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Permit for transpertation importation. (a) A person may transpett import
live minnows threugh into the state with a permit from the commissioner. The-permitrrast

(b) Minnows must be certified as healthy according to standards of the World

Organisation for Animal Health or the Fish Health Section Blue Book of the American
Fisheries Society.
(c) Minnows must be certified free of viral hemorrhagic septicemia, infectious

hematopoietic necrosis, infectious pancreatic necrosis, spring viremia of carp virus, fathead
minnow nidovirus, and Heterosporis within the past 12 months.

(d) Minnows must originate from a biosecure facility that has tested negative for invasive
species in the past 12 months.
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(e) Only a person that holds a minnow dealer's license issued under section 97C.501,
subdivision 2, may obtain a permit to import minnows.

(f) The following information must be available to the commissioner upon request for
each load of imported minnows:

(1) the date minnows were imported;

(2) the number of pounds or gallons imported;

(3) the facility name from which the minnows originated; and

(4) a fish health certificate for the minnows.

(g) Minnows may be imported to feed hatchery fish if the requirements in paragraphs
a) to (f) are met.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.201, is amended to read:
103G.201 PUBLIC WATERS INVENTORY.

(a) The commissioner shall must maintain a public waters inventory map of each county
that shows the waters of this state that are designated as public waters under the public
waters inventory and classification procedures prescribed under Laws 1979, chapter 199,
and shalt must provide access to a copy of the maps. As county public waters inventory
maps are revised according to this section, the commissioner skalt must send a notification
or a copy of the maps to the auditor of each affected county.

(b) The commissioner is authorized to revise the map of public waters established under
Laws 1979, chapter 199, to reclassify those types 3, 4, and 5 wetlands previously identified
as public waters wetlands under Laws 1979, chapter 199, as public waters or as wetlands
under section 103G.005, subdivision 19. The commissioner may only reclassify public
waters wetlands as public waters if:

(1) they are assigned a shoreland management classification by the commissioner under
sections 103F.201 to 103F.221;

(2) they are classified as lacustrine wetlands or deepwater habitats according to
Classification of Wetlands and Deepwater Habitats of the United States (Cowardin, et al.,
1979 edition); or

(3) the state or federal government has become titleholder to any of the beds or shores
of the public waters wetlands, subsequent to the preparation of the public waters inventory
map filed with the auditor of the county, pursuant to paragraph (a), and the responsible state
or federal agency declares that the water is necessary for the purposes of the public
ownership.

(c) The commissioner must provide notice of the a reclassification under paragraph (b)
or a revision under paragraph (e) to the local government unit, the county board, the
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watershed district, if one exists for the area, and the soil and water conservation district.
Within 60 days of receiving notice from the commissioner, a party required to receive the
notice may provide a resolution stating objections to the reclassification or revision. If the
commissioner receives an objection from a party required to receive the notice, the
reclassification or revision is not effective. If the commissioner does not receive an objection
from a party required to receive the notice, the reclassification of a wetland under paragraph
(b) or revision under paragraph (e) is effective 60 days after the notice is received by all of
the parties.

(d) The commissioner shal must give priority to the reclassification of public waters
wetlands that are or have the potential to be affected by public works projects.

(e) The commissioner may revise the public waters inventory map of each county:
(1) to reflect the changes authorized in paragraph (b); and

(2) as needed, to:

(i) correct errors in the original inventory;

(ii) add or subtract trout stream tributaries within sections that contain a designated trout
stream following written notice to the landowner;

(iii) add depleted quarries, and sand and gravel pits, when the body of water exceeds 50
acres and the shoreland has been zoned for residential development; and

(iv) add or subtract public waters that have been created or eliminated as a requirement
of a permit authorized by the commissioner under section 103G.245.

Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.211, is amended to read:

103G.211 DRAINING PUBLIC WATERS PROHIBITED WITHOUT
REPLACEMENT.

(a) Except as provided in sections 103G.221 to 103G.235, public waters may not be
drained, and a permit authorizing drainage of public waters may not be issued, unless the
public waters to be drained are replaced by public waters that will have equal or greater
public value.

(b) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent the commissioner from issuing
or amending a water-use permit for appropriation from groundwater where:

(1) the application is for a new groundwater well or to increase appropriation amounts
under an existing permit;

(2) the applicant is a municipality wholly or partially located within a five-mile radius
of White Bear Lake; and
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(3) the amount of water to be appropriated under the proposal is consistent with the
amount anticipated to be needed by the applicant each year according to a water supply
plan approved by the commissioner under section 103G.291 before 2021.

(c) Paragraph (b) and this paragraph expire January 1, 2041.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
applies to applications for new or modified permits filed on or after that date.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.223, is amended to read:
103G.223 CALCAREOUS FENS.

(a) Calcareous fens, as identified by the commissioner by written order published in the
State Register, may not be filled, drained, or otherwise degraded, wholly or partially, by
any activity, unless the commissioner, under an approved management plan, decides some
alteration is necessary or as provided in paragraph (b). Identifications made by the
commissioner are not subject to the rulemaking provisions of chapter 14 and section 14.386
does not apply.

(b) The commissioner may allow water appropriations that result in temporary reductions
in groundwater resources on a seasonal basis under an approved calcareous fen management
plan.

(c) If the commissioner determines that a water appropriation permit cannot be issued
or renewed because of this section, the commissioner must, within one year of the date of
denial and at no cost to the applicant, provide the applicant with a groundwater and surface
water hydrologic evaluation that demonstrates by a preponderance of the evidence the basis
for that conclusion.

(d) An applicant whose permit is denied under this section may file a written request
with the commissioner to designate a mutually agreed upon third-party expert to review the
evaluation provided under paragraph (c) at no cost to the applicant and to make
recommendations to the commissioner about whether the permit should be issued. The third
party expert must agree to provide the commissioner and applicant with the expert's
recommendations within 90 days of agreeing to review the evaluation.

(e) A permit applicant may file for a contested case hearing under chapter 14 within 30
days of the later of the following:

(1) the date by which the hydrologic evaluation was required to have been provided to
the applicant under paragraph (c);

(2) receiving the recommendations of the third party who is reviewing the evaluation
under paragraph (d); or

(3) determining that no mutually agreed upon third-party expert can be found.
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(f) Any permit applicant who has had a water appropriation permit previously denied
under this section may resubmit a permit application under this section and is entitled to all
rights and reviews available under this section.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 103G.271, subdivision 4a, is
amended to read:

Subd. 4a. Mt. Simon-Hinckley aquifer. The commissioner may not issue new water-use
permits that will appropriate water from the Mt. Simon-Hinckley aquifer unless:

(1) the appropriation is for potable water use, there are no feasible or practical alternatives
to this source, and a water conservation plan is incorporated with the permit; or

(2) the appropriation is for less than 4,000,000 gallons per year and is to facilitate the
growth of trees.
Sec. 35. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.271, subdivision 7, is amended to read:

Subd. 7. Transferring permit. (a) A water-use permit may be transferred to a successive
owner of real property if the permittee conveys the real property where the source of water
is located. The new owner must notify the commissioner immediately after the conveyance
and request transfer of the permit. The commissioner must not deny the transfer of a permit
if the permittee is in compliance with all permit conditions and the permit meets the
requirements of sections 103G.255 to 103G.301.

(b) When transferring a permit, the commissioner must not require additional conditions
on the permit, reduce the appropriation, reduce the term, or require any testing.

Sec. 36. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.271, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 8. Management plans; effect on land values. Before a management plan for
appropriating water is prepared, the commissioner must provide estimates of the impact of
any new restriction or policy on land values in the affected area. Strategies to address adverse
impacts to land values must be included in the plan.

Sec. 37. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.285, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 7. Application. (a) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent the
commissioner from issuing or amending a water-use permit for appropriation from

groundwater where:

(1) the application is for a new groundwater well or to increase appropriation amounts
under an existing permit;

(2) the applicant is a municipality wholly or partially located within a five-mile radius
of White Bear Lake; and
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(3) the amount of water to be appropriated under the proposal is consistent with the
amount anticipated to be needed by the applicant each year according to a water supply
plan approved by the commissioner under section 103G.291 before 2021.

(b) This subdivision expires January 1, 2041.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
applies to applications for new or modified permits filed on or after that date.

Sec. 38. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.287, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Groundwater management areas. (a) The commissioner may designate
groundwater management areas and limit total annual water appropriations and uses within
a designated area to ensure sustainable use of groundwater that protects ecosystems, water
quality, and the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. Water appropriations
and uses within a designated management area must be consistent with a groundwater
management area plan approved by the commissioner that addresses water conservation
requirements and water allocation priorities established in section 103G.261. During
development of a groundwater management area plan, the commissioner and employees
and agents of the department may disseminate information related to the timing, location,
and agendas of meetings related to the plan, but must otherwise limit public information
related to the groundwater management area plan to direct factual responses to public and
media inquiries. At least 30 days prior to implementing or modifying a groundwater
management area plan under this subdivision, the commissioner shall consult with the
advisory team established in paragraph (c).

(b) Notwithstanding section 103G.271, subdivision 1, paragraph (b), and Minnesota
Rules, within designated groundwater management areas, the commissioner may require
general permits as specified in section 103G.271, subdivision 1, paragraph (c), for water
users using less than 10,000 gallons per day or 1,000,000 gallons per year and water suppliers
serving less than 25 persons for domestic purposes. The commissioner may waive the
requirements under section 103G.281 for general permits issued under this paragraph, and
the fee specified in section 103G.301, subdivision 2, paragraph (c), does not apply to general
permits issued under this paragraph.

(c) When designating a groundwater management area, the commissioner shall assemble
an advisory team to assist in developing a groundwater management area plan for the area.
The advisory team members shall be selected from public and private entities that have an
interest in the water resources affected by the groundwater management area. A majority
of the advisory team members shall be public and private entities that currently hold water-use
permits for water appropriations from the affected water resources. The commissioner shall
consult with the League of Minnesota Cities, the Association of Minnesota Counties, the
Minnesota Association of Watershed Districts, and the Minnesota Association of Townships
in appointing the local government representatives to the advisory team. The advisory team
may also include representatives from the University of Minnesota, the Minnesota State
Colleges and Universities, other institutions of higher learning in Minnesota, political

PAGE R22-Art2

House Language UES4062-2



38.1
38.2

383
38.4
385

38.7
38.8
389
38.10
38.11

38.12
38.13

38.14
38.15

38.16
38.17
38.18

38.19
38.20

38.21
38.22

38.23
38.24
38.25

38.26

38.27
38.28

39.1
39.2

39.3
39.4
39.5

Environment and Natural Resources

Senate Language S4062-3

subdivisions with jurisdiction over water issues, nonprofits with expertise in water, and
federal agencies.

(d) Before designating a groundwater management area, the commissioner must provide
estimates of the impact of any new restriction or policy on land values in the affected area.
Strategies to address adverse impacts to land values must be included in any plan.

Sec. 39. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.287, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Sustainability standard. (a) The commissioner may issue water-use permits
for appropriation from groundwater only if the commissioner determines that the groundwater
use is sustainable to supply the needs of future generations and the proposed use will not
harm ecosystems, degrade water, or reduce water levels beyond the reach of public water
supply and private domestic wells constructed according to Minnesota Rules, chapter 4725.

(b) For the purposes of this subdivision and subdivision 4, "sustainable" means a change
in hydrologic regime of 20 percent or less relative to the August median stream flow.

Sec. 40. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.287, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 6. Application. (a) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prevent the
commissioner from issuing or amending a water-use permit for appropriation from

groundwater where:

(1) the application is for a new groundwater well or to increase appropriation amounts
under an existing permit;

(2) the applicant is a municipality wholly or partially located within a five-mile radius
of White Bear Lake; and

(3) the amount of water to be appropriated under the proposal is consistent with the
amount anticipated to be needed by the applicant each year according to a water supply
plan approved by the commissioner under section 103G.291 before 2021.

(b) This subdivision expires January 1, 2041.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
applies to applications for new or modified permits filed on or after that date.

Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.287, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 7. Issuance of certain permits. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law,
the commissioner must issue a water-use permit for appropriation from groundwater that
meets the criteria of subdivision 6. Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to prohibit
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Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.287, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Sustainability standard. (a) The commissioner may issue water-use permits
for appropriation from groundwater only if the commissioner determines that the groundwater
use is sustainable to supply the needs of future generations and the proposed use will not
harm ecosystems, degrade water, or reduce water levels beyond the reach of public water
supply and private domestic wells constructed according to Minnesota Rules, chapter 4725.

(b) When determining whether a consumptive use of groundwater is sustainable, the
commissioner must make a determination that the level of recharge to the aquifer impacted
is sufficient to replenish the groundwater supply to meet the needs of future generations.
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the commissioner from imposing conditions on the permit so long as the conditions do not
prevent the applicant from appropriating the amount of groundwater applied for.

(b) This subdivision expires January 1, 2041.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
applies to applications for new or modified permits filed on or after that date.

Sec. 42. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.289, is amended to read:

103G.289 WELL INTERFERENCE; WELL-SEALING VALIDATION;
CONTESTED CASE.

(a) The commissioner shall not validate a claim for well interference etaim if the affected
well has been sealed prior to the completion of the commissioner's investigation of the
complaint. If the well is sealed prior to completion of the investigation, the commissioner
must dismiss the complaint.

(b) When validating a claim for well interference, the commissioner must take into
account the condition of the affected well.

(c) Within 30 days after the commissioner's decision on a claim for well interference, a
party ordered by the commissioner to contribute to an affected well owner may petition for
a contested case hearing under sections 14.57 to 14.62. The commissioner must grant the
petitioner a contested case hearing on the commissioner's decision.

Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Generally. (a) The agency is hereby given and charged with the following
powers and duties:

a) (1) to administer and enforce all laws relating to the pollution of any of the waters
of the state;

) (2) to investigate the extent, character, and effect of the pollution of the waters of
this state and to gather data and information necessary or desirable in the administration or
enforcement of pollution laws, and to make such classification of the waters of the state as
it may deem advisable;

te) (3) to establish and alter such reasonable pollution standards for any waters of the
state in relation to the public use to which they are or may be put as it shalt must deem
necessary for the purposes of this chapter and, with respect to the pollution of waters of the
state, chapter 116;

&) (4) to encourage waste treatment, including advanced waste treatment, instead of
stream low-flow augmentation for dilution purposes to control and prevent pollution;

te) (5) to adopt, issue, reissue, modify, deny, or revoke, enter into or enforce reasonable
orders, permits, variances, standards, rules, schedules of compliance, and stipulation
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agreements, under such conditions as it may prescribe, in order to prevent, control or abate
water pollution, or for the installation or operation of disposal systems or parts thereof, or
for other equipment and facilities:

5 (i) requiring the discontinuance of the discharge of sewage, industrial waste or other
wastes into any waters of the state resulting in pollution in excess of the applicable pollution
standard established under this chapter;

2) (ii) prohibiting or directing the abatement of any discharge of sewage, industrial
waste, or other wastes, into any waters of the state or the deposit thereof or the discharge
into any municipal disposal system where the same is likely to get into any waters of the
state in violation of this chapter and, with respect to the pollution of waters of the state,
chapter 116, or standards or rules promulgated or permits issued pursuant thereto, and
specifying the schedule of compliance within which such prohibition or abatement must be
accomplished;

3 (iii) prohibiting the storage of any liquid or solid substance or other pollutant in a
manner which does not reasonably assure proper retention against entry into any waters of
the state that would be likely to pollute any waters of the state;

t4) (iv) requiring the construction, installation, maintenance, and operation by any person
of any disposal system or any part thereof, or other equipment and facilities, or the
reconstruction, alteration, or enlargement of its existing disposal system or any part thereof,
or the adoption of other remedial measures to prevent, control or abate any discharge or
deposit of sewage, industrial waste or other wastes by any person;

£5) (v) establishing, and from time to time revising, standards of performance for new
sources taking into consideration, among other things, classes, types, sizes, and categories
of sources, processes, pollution control technology, cost of achieving such effluent reduction,
and any nonwater quality environmental impact and energy requirements. Said standards
of performance for new sources shall must encompass those standards for the control of the
discharge of pollutants which reflect the greatest degree of effluent reduction which the
agency determines to be achievable through application of the best available demonstrated
control technology, processes, operating methods, or other alternatives, including, where
practicable, a standard permitting no discharge of pollutants. New sources shall must
encompass buildings, structures, facilities, or installations from which there is or may be
the discharge of pollutants, the construction of which is commenced after the publication
by the agency of proposed rules prescribing a standard of performance which will be
applicable to such source. Notwithstanding any other provision of the law of this state, any
point source the construction of which is commenced after May 20, 1973, and which is so
constructed as to meet all applicable standards of performance for new sources shall must,
consistent with and subject to the provisions of section 306(d) of the Amendments of 1972
to the Federal Water Pollution Control Act, not be subject to any more stringent standard
of performance for new sources during a ten-year period beginning on the date of completion
of such construction or during the period of depreciation or amortization of such facility
for the purposes of section 167 or 169, or both, of the Federal Internal Revenue Code of
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1954, whichever period ends first. Construction shalt must encompass any placement,
assembly, or installation of facilities or equipment, including contractual obligations to
purchase such facilities or equipment, at the premises where such equipment will be used,
including preparation work at such premises;

£6) (vi) establishing and revising pretreatment standards to prevent or abate the discharge
of any pollutant into any publicly owned disposal system, which pollutant interferes with,
passes through, or otherwise is incompatible with such disposal system;

A (vii) requiring the owner or operator of any disposal system or any point source to
establish and maintain such records, make such reports, install, use, and maintain such
monitoring equipment or methods, including where appropriate biological monitoring
methods, sample such effluents in accordance with such methods, at such locations, at such
intervals, and in such a manner as the agency shal must prescribe, and providing such other
information as the agency may reasonably require;

€8) (viii) notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, and with respect to the
pollution of waters of the state, chapter 116, requiring the achievement of more stringent
limitations than otherwise imposed by effluent limitations in order to meet any applicable
water quality standard by establishing new effluent limitations, based upon section 115.01,
subdivision 13, clause (b), including alternative effluent control strategies for any point
source or group of point sources to insure the integrity of water quality classifications,
whenever the agency determines that discharges of pollutants from such point source or
sources, with the application of effluent limitations required to comply with any standard
of best available technology, would interfere with the attainment or maintenance of the
water quality classification in a specific portion of the waters of the state. Prior to
establishment of any such effluent limitation, the agency shall must hold a public hearing
to determine the relationship of the economic and social costs of achieving such limitation
or limitations, including any economic or social dislocation in the affected community or
communities, to the social and economic benefits to be obtained and to determine whether
or not such effluent limitation can be implemented with available technology or other
alternative control strategies. If a person affected by such limitation demonstrates at such
hearing that, whether or not such technology or other alternative control strategies are
available, there is no reasonable relationship between the economic and social costs and
the benefits to be obtained, such limitation shalt must not become effective and shalt must
be adjusted as it applies to such person;

9 (ix) modifying, in its discretion, any requirement or limitation based upon best
available technology with respect to any point source for which a permit application is filed
after July 1, 1977, upon a showing by the owner or operator of such point source satisfactory
to the agency that such modified requirements will represent the maximum use of technology
within the economic capability of the owner or operator and will result in reasonable further
progress toward the elimination of the discharge of pollutants; and

40) (x) requiring that applicants for wastewater discharge permits evaluate in their
applications the potential reuses of the discharged wastewater;
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5 (6) to require to be submitted and to approve plans and specifications for disposal
systems or point sources, or any part thereof and to inspect the construction thereof for
compliance with the approved plans and specifications thereof;

t2) (7) to prescribe and alter rules, not inconsistent with law, for the conduct of the
agency and other matters within the scope of the powers granted to and imposed upon it by
this chapter and, with respect to pollution of waters of the state, in chapter 116, provided
that every rule affecting any other department or agency of the state or any person other
than a member or employee of the agency shall must be filed with the secretary of state;

th) (8) to conduct such investigations, issue such notices, public and otherwise, and hold
such hearings as are necessary or which it may deem advisable for the discharge of its duties
under this chapter and, with respect to the pollution of waters of the state, under chapter
116, including, but not limited to, the issuance of permits, and to authorize any member,
employee, or agent appointed by it to conduct such investigations or, issue such notices and
hold such hearings;

1) (9) for the purpose of water pollution control planning by the state and pursuant to
the Federal Water Pollution Control Act, as amended, to establish and revise planning areas,
adopt plans and programs and continuing planning processes, including, but not limited to,
basin plans and areawide waste treatment management plans, and to provide for the
implementation of any such plans by means of, including, but not limited to, standards, plan
elements, procedures for revision, intergovernmental cooperation, residual treatment process
waste controls, and needs inventory and ranking for construction of disposal systems;

) (10) to train water pollution control personnel; and charge sueh fees therefor-as-are
for the training as necessary to cover the agency's costs. The fees under this clause are
subject to legislative approval under section 16A.1283. All such fees received shall must
be paid into the state treasury and credited to the Pollution Control Agency training account;

to (11) to impose as additional conditions in permits to publicly owned disposal systems
appropriate measures to insure compliance by industrial and other users with any pretreatment
standard, including, but not limited to, those related to toxic pollutants, and any system of
user charges ratably as is hereby required under state law or said Federal Water Pollution
Control Act, as amended, or any regulations or guidelines promulgated thereunder;

) (12) to set a period not to exceed five years for the duration of any national pollutant
discharge elimination system permit or not to exceed ten years for any permit issued as a
state disposal system permit only;

) (13) to require each governmental subdivision identified as a permittee for a
wastewater treatment works to evaluate in every odd-numbered year the condition of its
existing system and identify future capital improvements that will be needed to attain or
maintain compliance with a national pollutant discharge elimination system or state disposal
system permit; and
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) (14) to train subsurface sewage treatment system personnel, including persons who
design, construct, install, inspect, service, and operate subsurface sewage treatment systems,
and charge fees for the training as necessary to pay the agency's costs. The fees under this
clause are subject to legislative approval under section 16A.1283. All fees received must
be paid into the state treasury and credited to the agency's training account. Money in the
account is appropriated to the agency to pay expenses related to training.

(b) The information required in paragraph (a), clause ¢y (13), must be submitted in
every odd-numbered year to the commissioner on a form provided by the commissioner.
The commissioner shalt must provide technical assistance if requested by the governmental
subdivision.

(c) The powers and duties given the agency in this subdivision also apply to permits
issued under chapter 114C.

Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115.455, is amended to read:
115.455 EFFLUENT LIMITATIONS; COMPLIANCE.

To the extent allowable under federal law, for a municipality that constructs a publicly
owned treatment works or for an industrial national pollutant discharge elimination system
and state disposal system permit holder that constructs a treatment works to comply with a
new or modified effluent limitation, compliance with any new or modified effluent limitation
adopted after construction begins that would require additional capital investment is required
no sooner than 16 years after the date the facility begins operating.

Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115.55, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 3a. Repaired drainage holes. A precast reinforced concrete tank that has one or
more openings in the exterior walls or tank bottom below the tank liquid level meets
minimum standards and criteria for subsurface sewage treatment systems if:

(1) the openings have been repaired or sealed; and

(2) all other requirements of the rules adopted under subdivision 3 are met.

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115.77, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Fees. The agency shalt must collect fees in amounts necessary, but no
greater than the amounts necessary, to cover the reasonable costs of reviewing applications
and issuing certifications. The fees under this subdivision are subject to legislative approval
under section 16A.1283.
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Sec. 47. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115.84, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Rules. The agency may adopt rules to govern certification of laboratories
according to this section. Netwithstandingseetion1+H6A128 may-a

establishingfees:

Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115.84, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Fees. (a) Until the agency adopts a rule establishing fees for certification, the
agency shall must collect fees from laboratories registering with the agency, but not
accredited by the commissioner of health under sections 144.97 to 144.99, in amounts
necessary to cover the reasonable costs of the certification program, including reviewing
applications, issuing certifications, and conducting audits and compliance assistance. The
fees under this paragraph are subject to legislative approval under section 16A.1283.

(b) Fees under this section must be based on the number, type, and complexity of
analytical methods that laboratories are certified to perform.

(c) Revenue from fees charged by the agency for certification shall must be credited to
the environmental fund.

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 3b. Chemical plastic recycling. "Chemical plastic recycling" means a
manufacturing process for converting post-use polymers into products, such as monomers,
oligomers, plastics, basic and unfinished chemicals, and other raw materials. Chemical
plastic recycling is not processing, treatment, incineration, disposal, or waste management,
as those terms are defined or used pursuant to chapters 115, 115A, and 116.

Sec. 50. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 3c. Chemical plastic recycling facility. "Chemical plastic recycling facility"
means a manufacturing facility that receives, stores, and converts post-use polymers it
receives using chemical plastic recycling. A chemical plastic recycling facility is not a
disposal facility, resource recovery facility, solid waste facility, or waste facility as those
terms are defined and regulated pursuant to chapters 115, 115A, and 116.

Sec. 51. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115A.03, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 24c. Post-use polymers. "Post-use polymers" means plastic that:

(1) is derived from any industrial, commercial, agricultural, or domestic activities;

(2) is used as feedstock for chemical plastic recycling;
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(3) is processed at a chemical plastic recycling facility or held at a chemical plastic
recycling facility before processing;

(4) is not stored at any one location for more than three years without being utilized for
chemical plastic recycling; and

(5) has been sorted from solid waste and regulated waste but may contain residual
amounts of solid waste such as organic materials and individual contaminants or impurities,
such as paper labels and metal rings.

Sec. 52. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115A.03, subdivision 35, is amended to read:

Subd. 35. Waste facility. "Waste facility" means all property, real or personal, including
negative and positive easements and water and air rights, which is or may be needed or
useful for the processing or disposal of waste, except property for the collection of the waste
and property used primarily for the manufacture of scrap metal ex, paper, or post-use
polymers. Waste facility includes but is not limited to transfer stations, processing facilities,
and disposal sites and facilities.

Sec. 53. [115A.571] CHEMICAL PLASTIC RECYCLING.

Subdivision 1. Chemical plastic recycling facility. A chemical plastic recycling facility
and chemical plastic recycling are subject to all applicable federal, state, and local laws,
except chapters 115, 115A, and 116, and the rules adopted pursuant to those chapters.

Subd. 2. Solid waste management exemption requirements. (a) The solid waste
management exemption in subdivision 1 does not apply:

(1) if any solid waste other than or in addition to a post-use polymer or residual amounts
of organic material and incidental contaminants are treated, stored, processed, transferred,
or disposed of at a chemical plastic recycling facility; or

(2) to management of post-use polymers at any location other than a chemical plastic
recycling facility.
(b) To qualify for the solid waste management facility permit exemption in subdivision

1, a chemical plastic recycling facility must only treat, store, or process post-use polymers
in a fully enclosed building.

(c) The commissioner may enter and inspect any chemical plastic recycling facility to
determine whether the storage of materials prior to chemical plastic recycling is a nuisance
or poses a threat to human health or the environment. The commissioner may use the
enforcement authority under section 116.072 and Minnesota Rules, chapter 7035, to require
abatement of the nuisance or threat if found.

PAGE R30-Art2

House Language UES4062-2



473
474
475

47.6

47.7
47.8

479
47.10

47.11
47.12
47.13

47.14
47.15
47.16
47.17

47.18

47.19
47.20

47.21

4722
47.23
47.24

47.25

47.26
47.27
47.28
47.29

47.30
47.31
48.1
48.2

48.3

48.4
48.5
48.6

Environment and Natural Resources
Senate Language S4062-3

Subd. 3. Duty to report. The owner or operator of a chemical plastic recycling facility
must submit an annual report to the commissioner in a form and manner prescribed by the
commissioner that must include:

(1) the amount of post-use polymers accepted, stored, and managed at the facility;

(2) annual chemical plastic recycling throughput at the facility, including beginning and
ending volumes stored in a calendar year;

(3) to the extent known, the source and county of origin of the post-use polymers and
the amount and type of material collected from each source; and

(4) the amount, type, and destination of products and by-products produced through the
chemical plastic recycling, such as what weight of post-use polymers received went to an
end market, a broker, a processor, or a manufacturer or was managed as a waste.

Subd. 4. Duty to provide information. Any person must furnish to the commissioner
any information that the person may have or may reasonably obtain that the commissioner
requests for the purposes of determining compliance with statutes or rules pertaining to
chemical plastic recycling.

Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115B.52, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Reporting. The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency and the
commissioner of natural resources must jointly submit:

(1) by April 1, 2019, an implementation plan detailing how the commissioners will:

(1) determine how the priorities in the settlement will be met and how the spending will
move from the first priority to the second priority and the second priority to the third priority
outlined in the settlement; and

(i) evaluate and determine what projects receive funding;

(2) by Eebraaryt-and-August October 1 each year, a biannual report to the chairs and
ranking minority members of the legislative policy and finance committees with jurisdiction
over environment and natural resources on expenditures from the water quality and
sustainability account during the previous six-menths fiscal year; and

(3) by Augustd;2049;-and October 1 each year thereafter, a report to the legislature on
expenditures from the water quality and sustainability account during the previous fiscal
year and a spending plan for anticipated expenditures from the account during the current
fiscal year.

Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116.03, subdivision 2b, is amended to read:

Subd. 2b. Permitting efficiency. () It is the goal of the state that environmental and
resource management permits be issued or denied within 90 days for tier 1 permits or 150
days for tier 2 permits following submission of a permit application. The commissioner of
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Sec. 55. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115B.52, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Reporting. The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency and the
commissioner of natural resources must jointly submit:

(1) by April 1, 2019, an implementation plan detailing how the commissioners will:

(1) determine how the priorities in the settlement will be met and how the spending will
move from the first priority to the second priority and the second priority to the third priority
outlined in the settlement; and

(i) evaluate and determine what projects receive funding;

(2) by Eebraaryt-and-August October 1 each year, a biannual report to the chairs and
ranking minority members of the legislative policy and finance committees with jurisdiction
over environment and natural resources on expenditures from the water quality and
sustainability account during the previous six-menths fiscal year; and

(3) by Augustd;2049;-and October 1 each year thereafter, a report to the legislature on
expenditures from the water quality and sustainability account during the previous fiscal
year and a spending plan for anticipated expenditures from the account during the current
fiscal year.
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the Pollution Control Agency shal must establish management systems designed to achieve
the goal. For the purposes of this section, "tier 1 permits" are permits that do not require
individualized actions or public comment periods, and "tier 2 permits" are permits that
require individualized actions or public comment periods.

(b) The commissioner shall must prepare an-annual semiannual permitting efficiency
report reports that inetudes include statistics on meeting the tier 2 goal in paragraph (a) and
the criteria for tier 2 by permit categories. The repertis reports are due on February 1 and
August 1 each year. For permit applications that have not met the goal, the each report must
state the reasons for not meeting the goal. In stating the reasons for not meeting the goal,
the commissioner shalt must separately identify delays caused by the responsiveness of the
proposer, laek-efstaff; scientific or technical disagreements, or the level of public
engagement. Fhe Each report must specify the number of days from initial submission of
the application to the day of determination that the application is complete. Fhe Each report
must aggregate the data for the year reporting period and assess whether program or system
changes are necessary to achieve the goal. Whenever a report required by this subdivision
states the number of permits completed within a particular period, the report must,
immediately after the number and in parentheses, state the percentage of total applications
received for that permit category that the number represents. Whenever a report required
by this subdivision states the number of permits completed within a particular period, the
report must separately state completion data for industrial and municipal permits. The repert
reports must be posted on the agency's website and submitted to the governor and the chairs
and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees having
jurisdiction over environment policy and finance.

(c) The commissioner shalt must allow electronic submission of environmental review
and permit documents to the agency.

(d) Within 30 business days of application for a permit subject to paragraph (a), the
commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency skhal must notify the permit applicant, in
writing, whether the application is complete or incomplete. If the commissioner determines
that an application is incomplete, the notice to the applicant must enumerate all deficiencies,
citing specific provisions of the applicable rules and statutes, and advise the applicant on
how the deficiencies can be remedied. If the commissioner determines that the application
is complete, the notice must confirm the application's tier 1 or tier 2 permit status. If the
commissioner believes that a complete application for a tier 2 construction permit cannot
be issued within the 150-day goal, the commissioner must provide notice to the applicant
with the commissioner's notice that the application is complete and, upon request of the
applicant, provide the permit applicant with a schedule estimating when the agency will
begin drafting the permit and issue the public notice of the draft permit. This paragraph
does not apply to an application for a permit that is subject to a grant or loan agreement
under chapter 446A.

(e) For purposes of this subdivision, "permit professional" means an individual not
employed by the Pollution Control Agency who:
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(1) has a professional license issued by the state of Minnesota in the subject area of the
permit;

(2) has at least ten years of experience in the subject area of the permit; and

(3) abides by the duty of candor applicable to employees of the Pollution Control Agency
under agency rules and complies with all applicable requirements under chapter 326.

(f) Upon the agency's request, an applicant relying on a permit professional must
participate in a meeting with the agency before submitting an application:

(1) at least two weeks prior to the preapplication meeting, the applicant must submit at
least the following:

(i) project description, including, but not limited to, scope of work, primary emissions
points, discharge outfalls, and water intake points;

(i) location of the project, including county, municipality, and location on the site;
(iii) business schedule for project completion; and

(iv) other information requested by the agency at least four weeks prior to the scheduled
meeting; and

(2) during the preapplication meeting, the agency shalt must provide for the applicant
at least the following:

(i) an overview of the permit review program;

(ii) a determination of which specific application or applications will be necessary to
complete the project;

(iii) a statement notifying the applicant if the specific permit being sought requires a
mandatory public hearing or comment period;

(iv) a review of the timetable established in the permit review program for the specific
permit being sought; and

(v) a determination of what information must be included in the application, including
a description of any required modeling or testing.

(g) The applicant may select a permit professional to undertake the preparation of the
permit application and draft permit.

(h) If a preapplication meeting was held, the agency shal must, within seven business
days of receipt of an application, notify the applicant and submitting permit professional
that the application is complete or is denied, specifying the deficiencies of the application.

(i) Upon receipt of notice that the application is complete, the permit professional shalt
must submit to the agency a timetable for submitting a draft permit. The permit professional
shal must submit a draft permit on or before the date provided in the timetable. Within 60
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days after the close of the public comment period, the commissioner shalt must notify the
applicant whether the permit can be issued.

(j) Nothing in this section shalt must be construed to modify:

(1) any requirement of law that is necessary to retain federal delegation to or assumption
by the state; or

(2) the authority to implement a federal law or program.

(k) The permit application and draft permit shalt must identify or include as an appendix
all studies and other sources of information used to substantiate the analysis contained in
the permit application and draft permit. The commissioner shall must request additional
studies, if needed, and the permit applicant shal must submit all additional studies and
information necessary for the commissioner to perform the commissioner's responsibility
to review, modify, and determine the completeness of the application and approve the draft
permit.

Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116.07, subdivision 4d, is amended to read:

Subd. 4d. Permit fees. (a) The agency may collect permit fees in amounts not greater
than those necessary to cover the reasonable costs of developing, reviewing, and acting
upon applications for agency permits and implementing and enforcing the conditions of the
permits pursuant to agency rules. Permit fees shall must not include the costs of litigation.
The fee schedule must reflect reasonable and routine direct and indirect costs associated
with permitting, implementation, and enforcement. The agency may impose an additional
enforcement fee to be collected for a-perted-of up to two years to cover the reasonable costs
of implementing and enforcing the conditions of a permit under the rules of the agency.
Water fees under this paragraph are subject to legislative approval under section 16A.1283.
Any money collected under this paragraph shalt must be deposited in the environmental
fund.

(b) Notwithstanding paragraph (a), the agency shalt must collect an annual fee from the
owner or operator of all stationary sources, emission facilities, emissions units, air
contaminant treatment facilities, treatment facilities, potential air contaminant storage
facilities, or storage facilities subject to a notification, permit, or license requirement under
this chapter, subchapters I and V of the federal Clean Air Act, United States Code, title 42,
section 7401 et seq., or rules adopted thereunder. The annual fee shall must be used to pay
for all direct and indirect reasonable costs, including legal costs, required to develop and
administer the notification, permit, or license program requirements of this chapter,
subchapters [ and V of the federal Clean Air Act, United States Code, title 42, section 7401
et seq., or rules adopted thereunder. Those costs include the reasonable costs of reviewing
and acting upon an application for a permit; implementing and enforcing statutes, rules, and
the terms and conditions of a permit; emissions, ambient, and deposition monitoring;
preparing generally applicable regulations; responding to federal guidance; modeling,
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analyses, and demonstrations; preparing inventories and tracking emissions; and providing
information to the public about these activities.

(c) The agency shall must set fees that:

(1) will result in the collection, in the aggregate, from the sources listed in paragraph
(b), of an amount not less than $25 per ton of each volatile organic compound; pollutant
regulated under United States Code, title 42, section 7411 or 7412 (section 111 or 112 of
the federal Clean Air Act); and each pollutant, except carbon monoxide, for which a national
primary ambient air quality standard has been promulgated,

(2) may result in the collection, in the aggregate, from the sources listed in paragraph
(b), of an amount not less than $25 per ton of each pollutant not listed in clause (1) that is
regulated under this chapter or air quality rules adopted under this chapter; and

(3) shal must collect, in the aggregate, from the sources listed in paragraph (b), the
amount needed to match grant funds received by the state under United States Code, title
42, section 7405 (section 105 of the federal Clean Air Act).

The agency must not include in the calculation of the aggregate amount to be collected
under clauses (1) and (2) any amount in excess of 4,000 tons per year of each air pollutant
from a source. The increase in air permit fees to match federal grant funds shatt-be is a
surcharge on existing fees. The commissioner may not collect the surcharge after the grant
funds become unavailable. In addition, the commissioner shalt must use nonfee funds to
the extent practical to match the grant funds so that the fee surcharge is minimized.

(d) To cover the reasonable costs described in paragraph (b), the agency shat must
provide in the rules promulgated under paragraph (c) for an increase in the fee collected in
each year by the percentage, if any, by which the Consumer Price Index for the most recent
calendar year ending before the beginning of the year the fee is collected exceeds the
Consumer Price Index for the calendar year 1989. For purposes of this paragraph, the
Consumer Price Index for any calendar year is the average of the Consumer Price Index for
all-urban consumers published by the United States Department of Labor, as of the close
of the 12-month period ending on August 31 of each calendar year. The revision of the
Consumer Price Index that is most consistent with the Consumer Price Index for calendar
year 1989 shall must be used.

(e) Any money collected under paragraphs (b) to (d) must be deposited in the
environmental fund and must be used solely for the activities listed in paragraph (b).

(f) Permit applicants who wish to construct, reconstruct, or modify a project may offer
to reimburse the agency for the costs of staff time or consultant services needed to expedite
the preapplication process and permit development process through the final decision on
the permit, including the analysis of environmental review documents. The reimbursement
shatbbe is in addition to permit application fees imposed by law. When the agency determines
that it needs additional resources to develop the permit application in an expedited manner;
and that expediting the development is consistent with permitting program priorities, the
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agency may accept the reimbursement. The commissioner must give the applicant an estimate
of costs to be incurred by the commissioner. The estimate must include a brief description
of the tasks to be performed, a schedule for completing the tasks, and the estimated cost for
each task. The applicant and the commissioner must enter into a written agreement detailing
the estimated costs for the expedited permit decision-making process to be incurred by the
agency. The agreement must also identify staff anticipated to be assigned to the project.

The commissioner must not issue a permit until the applicant has paid all fees in full. The
commissioner must refund any unobligated balance of fees paid. Reimbursements accepted
by the agency are appropriated to the agency for the purpose of developing the permit or
analyzing environmental review documents. Reimbursement by a permit applicant shal
must precede and not be contingent upon issuance of a permit; shall must not affect the
agency's decision on whether to issue or deny a permit, what conditions are included in a
permit, or the application of state and federal statutes and rules governing permit
determinations; and shall must not affect final decisions regarding environmental review.

(g) The fees under this subdivision are exempt from section 16A.1285.

Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 13. Unadopted rules. The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency must
not enforce or attempt to enforce an unadopted rule. For purposes of this subdivision,
"unadopted rule" means a guideline, bulletin, criterion, manual standard, interpretive
statement, policy plan, or similar pronouncement if the guideline, bulletin, criterion, manual
standard, interpretive statement, policy plan, or similar pronouncement has not been adopted
according to the rulemaking process provided under chapter 14. If an unadopted rule is
challenged under section 14.381, the commissioner must cease enforcement of the unadopted
rule and overcome a presumption that the unadopted rule must be adopted according to the
rulemaking process provided under chapter 14.

Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116B.03, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Parties. Any person residing within the state; the attorney general; any
political subdivision of the state; any instrumentality or agency of the state or of a political
subdivision thereof; or any partnership, corporation, association, organization, or other
entity having shareholders, members, partners or employees residing within the state may
maintain a civil action in the district court for declaratory or equitable relief in the name of
the state of Minnesota against any person, for the protection of the air, water, land, or other
natural resources located within the state, whether publicly or privately owned, from
pollution, impairment, or destruction; provided, however, that no action shat-be is allowable
hereunder under this section for:

(1) acts taken by a person on land leased or owned by said person pursuant to a permit
or license issued by the owner of the land to said person which do not and can not reasonably
be expected to pollute, impair, or destroy any other air, water, land, or other natural resources
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located within the state; p
for

(2) conduct taken by a person pursuant to any environmental quality standard, limitation,
rule, order, license, stipulation agreement or permit issued by the Pollution Control Agency,
Department of Natural Resources, Department of Health or Department of Agriculture:; or

(3) issuance of a groundwater appropriation permit that meets the criteria under section
103G.287, subdivision 6, by the Department of Natural Resources. This clause expires

January 1, 2041.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
applies to applications for new or modified permits filed on or after that date.

Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116B.10, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 6. Application. No action is allowable under this section for issuance of a
groundwater appropriation permit that meets the criteria under section 103G.287, subdivision
6, by the Department of Natural Resources. This subdivision expires January 1, 2041.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
applies to applications for new or modified permits filed on or after that date.

Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116D.04, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. When prepared. (a) Where there is potential for significant environmental
effects resulting from any major governmental action, the action must be preceded by a
detailed environmental impact statement prepared by the responsible governmental unit.
The environmental impact statement must be an analytical rather than an encyclopedic
document that describes the proposed action in detail, analyzes its significant environmental
impacts, discusses appropriate alternatives to the proposed action and their impacts, and
explores methods by which adverse environmental impacts of an action could be mitigated.
The environmental impact statement must also analyze those economic, employment, and
sociological effects that cannot be avoided should the action be implemented. To ensure its
use in the decision-making process, the environmental impact statement must be prepared
as early as practical in the formulation of an action.

(b) The board skhal must by rule establish categories of actions for which environmental
impact statements and for which environmental assessment worksheets must be prepared
as well as categories of actions for which no environmental review is required under this
section. A mandatory environmental assessment worksheet is not required for the expansion
of an ethanol plant, as defined in section 41A.09, subdivision 2a, paragraph (b), or the
conversion of an ethanol plant to a biobutanol facility or the expansion of a biobutanol
facility as defined in section 41A.15, subdivision 2d, based on the capacity of the expanded
or converted facility to produce alcohol fuel, but must be required if the ethanol plant or
biobutanol facility meets or exceeds thresholds of other categories of actions for which
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environmental assessment worksheets must be prepared. The responsible governmental unit
for an ethanol plant or biobutanol facility project for which an environmental assessment
worksheet is prepared is the state agency with the greatest responsibility for supervising or
approving the project as a whole.

(c) A mandatory environmental impact statement is not required for a facility or plant
located outside the seven-county metropolitan area that produces less than 125,000,000
gallons of ethanol, biobutanol, or cellulosic biofuel annually, or produces less than 400,000
tons of chemicals annually, if the facility or plant is: an ethanol plant, as defined in section
41A.09, subdivision 2a, paragraph (b); a biobutanol facility, as defined in section 41A.15,
subdivision 2d; or a cellulosic biofuel facility. A facility or plant that only uses a cellulosic
feedstock to produce chemical products for use by another facility as a feedstock is not
considered a fuel conversion facility as used in rules adopted under this chapter.

(d) The responsible governmental unit shalt must promptly publish notice of the
completion of an environmental assessment worksheet by publishing the notice in at least
one newspaper of general circulation in the geographic area where the project is proposed,
by posting the notice on a website that has been designated as the official publication site
for publication of proceedings, public notices, and summaries of a political subdivision in
which the project is proposed, or in any other manner determined by the board and shalt
must provide copies of the environmental assessment worksheet to the board and its member
agencies. Comments on the need for an environmental impact statement may be submitted
to the responsible governmental unit during a 30-day period following publication of the
notice that an environmental assessment worksheet has been completed. The responsible
governmental unit may extend the 30-day comment period for an additional 30 days one
time. Further extensions of the comment period may not be made unless approved by the
project's proposer. The responsible governmental unit's decision on the need for an
environmental impact statement must be based on the environmental assessment worksheet
and the comments received during the comment period, and must be made within 15 days
after the close of the comment period. The board's chair may extend the 15-day period by
not more than 15 additional days upon the request of the responsible governmental unit.

(e) An environmental assessment worksheet must also be prepared for a proposed action
whenever material evidence accompanying a petition by not less than 100 individuals who
reside or own property in the-state a county where the proposed action will be undertaken
or in one or more adjoining counties, submitted before the proposed project has received
final approval by the appropriate governmental units, demonstrates that, because of the
nature or location of a proposed action, there may be potential for significant environmental
effects. Petitions requesting the preparation of an environmental assessment worksheet must
be submitted to the board. The chair of the board shall must determine the appropriate
responsible governmental unit and forward the petition to it. A decision on the need for an
environmental assessment worksheet must be made by the responsible governmental unit
within 15 days after the petition is received by the responsible governmental unit. The
board's chair may extend the 15-day period by not more than 15 additional days upon request
of the responsible governmental unit.
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(f) Except in an environmentally sensitive location where Minnesota Rules, part
4410.4300, subpart 29, item B, applies, the proposed action is exempt from environmental
review under this chapter and rules of the board, if:

(1) the proposed action is:
(i) an animal feedlot facility with a capacity of less than 1,000 animal units; or

(ii) an expansion of an existing animal feedlot facility with a total cumulative capacity
of less than 1,000 animal units;

(2) the application for the animal feedlot facility includes a written commitment by the
proposer to design, construct, and operate the facility in full compliance with Pollution
Control Agency feedlot rules; and

(3) the county board holds a public meeting for citizen input at least ten business days
before the Pollution Control Agency or county issuing a feedlot permit for the animal feedlot
facility unless another public meeting for citizen input has been held with regard to the
feedlot facility to be permitted. The exemption in this paragraph is in addition to other
exemptions provided under other law and rules of the board.

(g) The board may, before final approval of a proposed project, require preparation of
an environmental assessment worksheet by a responsible governmental unit selected by the
board for any action where environmental review under this section has not been specifically
provided for by rule or otherwise initiated.

(h) An early and open process must be used to limit the scope of the environmental
impact statement to a discussion of those impacts that, because of the nature or location of
the project, have the potential for significant environmental effects. The same process must
be used to determine the form, content, and level of detail of the statement as well as the
alternatives that are appropriate for consideration in the statement. In addition, the permits
that will be required for the proposed action must be identified during the scoping process.
Further, the process must identify those permits for which information will be developed
concurrently with the environmental impact statement. The board skal must provide in its
rules for the expeditious completion of the scoping process. The determinations reached in
the process must be incorporated into the order requiring the preparation of an environmental
impact statement.

(i) The responsible governmental unit shall must, to the extent practicable, avoid
duplication and ensure coordination between state and federal environmental review and
between environmental review and environmental permitting. Whenever practical,
information needed by a governmental unit for making final decisions on permits or other
actions required for a proposed project must be developed in conjunction with the preparation
of an environmental impact statement. When an environmental impact statement is prepared
for a project requiring multiple permits for which two or more agencies' decision processes
include either mandatory or discretionary hearings before a hearing officer before the
agencies' decision on the permit, the agencies may, notwithstanding any law or rule to the
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contrary, conduct the hearings in a single consolidated hearing process if requested by the
proposer. All agencies having jurisdiction over a permit that is included in the consolidated
hearing skall must participate. The responsible governmental unit shal must establish
appropriate procedures for the consolidated hearing process, including procedures to ensure
that the consolidated hearing process is consistent with the applicable requirements for each
permit regarding the rights and duties of parties to the hearing, and shall must use the earliest
applicable hearing procedure to initiate the hearing. All agencies having jurisdiction over

a permit identified in the draft environmental assessment worksheet scoping document must
begin reviewing any permit application upon publication of the notice of preparation of the
environmental impact statement.

(j) An environmental impact statement must be prepared and its adequacy determined
within 280 days after notice of its preparation unless the time is extended by consent of the
parties or by the governor for good cause. The responsible governmental unit shal must
determine the adequacy of an environmental impact statement, unless within 60 days after
notice is published that an environmental impact statement will be prepared, the board
chooses to determine the adequacy of an environmental impact statement. If an environmental
impact statement is found to be inadequate, the responsible governmental unit has 60 days
to prepare an adequate environmental impact statement.

(k) The proposer of a specific action may include in the information submitted to the
responsible governmental unit a preliminary draft environmental impact statement under
this section on that action for review, modification, and determination of completeness and
adequacy by the responsible governmental unit. A preliminary draft environmental impact
statement prepared by the project proposer and submitted to the responsible governmental
unit must identify or include as an appendix all studies and other sources of information
used to substantiate the analysis contained in the preliminary draft environmental impact
statement. The responsible governmental unit shalt must require additional studies, if needed,
and obtain from the project proposer all additional studies and information necessary for
the responsible governmental unit to perform its responsibility to review, modify, and
determine the completeness and adequacy of the environmental impact statement.

() A mandatory environmental assessment worksheet is not required for a project that
will diminish the course, current, or cross-section of one acre or more of any water unless
the affected water is on the public waters inventory described in section 103G.201.

Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116U.55, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 3. Events promotion account. The events promotion account is established as a
separate account in the natural resources fund. Money received under section 297A.94,
paragraph (1), must be deposited into the events promotion account for promoting special
events in the state. At least 50 percent of the money appropriated under this subdivision
must be for promoting special events outside of the metropolitan area.
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Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 127A.353, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Qualifications. The governor shall select the school trust lands director on the
basis of outstanding professional qualifications and knowledge of finance, business practices,
minerals, forest and real estate management, and the fiduciary responsibilities of a trustee
to the beneficiaries of a trust. The school trust lands director serves in the unclassified service
for a term of four years. Fhefirstterm-shall-end-onDeeember34+,2020: The governor may
remove the school trust lands director for cause. If a director resigns or is removed for cause,
the governor shall appoint a director for the remainder of the term.

Sec. 63. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 127A.353, subdivision 4, is amended
to read:

Subd. 4. Duties; powers. (a) The school trust lands director shall:

ake-an-oath 8 g8 as-th act in a fiduciary
capacity for trust beneficiaries in accordance w1th the principles under section 127A.351;

(2) evaluate the school trust land asset position;

(3) determine the estimated current and potential market value of school trust lands;

(4) adv1se and prov1de recommendatlons to the governor—E*ee&Hve—Geuﬂeﬂ—

: on school trust land management policies
and other policies that may affect the goal of the permanent school fund under section
127A.31;

(5) advise and provide recommendations to the Executive Council and Land Exchange
Board on all matters regarding school trust lands presented to either body;

(6) advise and provide recommendations to the commissioner of natural resources on
managing school trust lands, including but not limited to advice and recommendations on:

(i) Department of Natural Resources school trust land management plans;
(ii) leases of school trust lands;

(iii) royalty agreements on school trust lands;

(iv) land sales and exchanges;

(v) cost certification; and

(vi) revenue generating options;

(7) serve as temporary trustee of school trust lands for school trust lands subject to
proposed or active eminent domain proceedings;
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Sec. 73. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 127A.353, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

Subd. 2. Qualifications. The governor shall select the school trust lands director on the
basis of outstanding professional qualifications and knowledge of finance, business practices,
minerals, forest and real estate management, and the fiduciary responsibilities of a trustee
to the beneficiaries of a trust. The school trust lands director serves in the unclassified service
for a term of four years. Thefirstterm-shall-end-onDeeember34+,2020: The governor may
remove the school trust lands director for cause. If a director resigns or is removed for cause,
the governor shall appoint a director for the remainder of the term.

Sec. 74. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 127A.353, subdivision 4, is amended
to read:

Subd. 4. Duties; powers. (a) The school trust lands director shall:

ake-an-oath 8 g8 as-th act in a fiduciary
capacity for trust beneficiaries in accordance w1th the principles under section 127A.351;

(2) evaluate the school trust land asset position;

(3) determine the estimated current and potential market value of school trust lands;

(4) adv1se and prov1de recommendatlons to the governor—E*ee&Hve—Geuﬂeﬂ—

: on school trust land management policies
and other policies that may affect the goal of the permanent school fund under section
127A.31;

(5) advise and provide recommendations to the Executive Council and Land Exchange
Board on all matters regarding school trust lands presented to either body;

(6) advise and provide recommendations to the commissioner of natural resources on
managing school trust lands, including but not limited to advice and recommendations on:

(i) Department of Natural Resources school trust land management plans;
(ii) leases of school trust lands;

(iii) royalty agreements on school trust lands;

(iv) land sales and exchanges;

(v) cost certification; and

(vi) revenue generating options;

(7) serve as temporary trustee of school trust lands for school trust lands subject to
proposed or active eminent domain proceedings;
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(8) serve as temporary trustee of school trust lands pursuant to section 94.342, subdivision

5)yprepese (9) submit to the Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission for review
an annual budget and management plan for the director that includes proposed legislative
changes that will improve the asset allocation of the school trust lands;

£6) (10) develop and implement a ten-year strategic plan and a 25-year framework for
management of school trust lands, in conjunction with the commissioner of natural resources,

that is updated every five years and-implemented-by-the-eommissioner, with goals to:

(i) retain core real estate assets;
(ii) increase the value of the real estate assets and the cash flow from those assets;

(iii) rebalance the portfolio in assets with high performance potential and the strategic
disposal of selected assets;

(iv) establish priorities for management actions;
(v) balance revenue enhancement and resource stewardship; and

(vi) advance strategies on school trust lands to capitalize on ecosystem services markets;

€8 (11) keep the beneficiaries, governor, legislature, and the public informed about the
work of the director by reporting to the Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission
in a public meeting at least once during each calendar quarter.

(b) In carrying out the duties under paragraph (a), the school trust lands director shal
have-the-autherity-to may:

(1) direct and control money appropriated to the director;

(2) establish job descriptions and employ up-te-five-employees-in-the-unelassified-serviee;

staff within the limitations of money appropriated to the director;
(3) enter into interdepartmental agreements with any other state agency;
(4) enter into joint powers agreements under chapter 471;

(5) evaluate and initiate real estate development projects on school trust lands in
conjunction with the commissioner of natural resources and with the advice of the Legislative
Permanent School Fund Commission in-erder to generate long-term economic return to the
permanent school fund; and
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(8) serve as temporary trustee of school trust lands pursuant to section 94.342, subdivision

5)rprepese (9) submit to the Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission for review
an annual budget and management plan for the director that includes proposed legislative
changes that will improve the asset allocation of the school trust lands;

£6) (10) develop and implement a ten-year strategic plan and a 25-year framework for
management of school trust lands, in conjunction with the commissioner of natural resources,

that is updated every five years and-implemented-by-the-eommissioner, with goals to:

(i) retain core real estate assets;
(ii) increase the value of the real estate assets and the cash flow from those assets;

(iii) rebalance the portfolio in assets with high performance potential and the strategic
disposal of selected assets;

(iv) establish priorities for management actions;
(v) balance revenue enhancement and resource stewardship; and

(vi) advance strategies on school trust lands to capitalize on ecosystem services markets;

€8 (11) keep the beneficiaries, governor, legislature, and the public informed about the
work of the director by reporting to the Legislative Permanent School Fund Commission
in a public meeting at least once during each calendar quarter.

(b) In carrying out the duties under paragraph (a), the school trust lands director shal
have-the-autherity-to may:

(1) direct and control money appropriated to the director;

(2) establish job descriptions and employ up-te-five-employees-in-the-unelassified-serviee;

staff within the limitations of money appropriated to the director;
(3) enter into interdepartmental agreements with any other state agency;
(4) enter into joint powers agreements under chapter 471;

(5) evaluate and initiate real estate development projects on school trust lands in
conjunction with the commissioner of natural resources and with the advice of the Legislative
Permanent School Fund Commission in-erder to generate long-term economic return to the
permanent school fund; and
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5 (6) submit recommendations on strategies for school trust land leases, sales, or
exchanges to the commissioner of natural resources and the Legislative Permanent School
Fund Commission.

Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 282.08, is amended to read:
282.08 APPORTIONMENT OF PROCEEDS TO TAXING DISTRICTS.

The net proceeds from the sale or rental of any parcel of forfeited land, or from the sale
of products from the forfeited land, must be apportioned by the county auditor to the taxing
districts interested in the land, as follows:

(1) the portion required to pay any amounts included in the appraised value under section
282.01, subdivision 3, as representing increased value due to any public improvement made
after forfeiture of the parcel to the state, but not exceeding the amount certified by the
appropriate governmental authority must be apportioned to the governmental subdivision
entitled to it;

(2) the portion required to pay any amount included in the appraised value under section
282.019, subdivision 5, representing increased value due to response actions taken after
forfeiture of the parcel to the state, but not exceeding the amount of expenses certified by
the Pollution Control Agency or the commissioner of agriculture, must be apportioned to
the agency or the commissioner of agriculture and deposited in the fund from which the
expenses were paid;

(3) the portion of the remainder required to discharge any special assessment chargeable
against the parcel for drainage or other purpose whether due or deferred at the time of
forfeiture, must be apportioned to the governmental subdivision entitled to it; and

(4) any balance must be apportioned as follows:

(i) The county board may annually by resolution set aside no more than 30 percent of
the receipts remaining to be used for forest development on tax-forfeited land and dedicated
memorial forests, to be expended under the supervision of the county board. It must be
expended only on projects improving the health and management of the forest resource.

(i1) The county board may annually by resolution set aside no more than 20 percent of
the receipts remaining to be used for the acquisition and maintenance of county parks or
recreational areas as defined in sections 398.31 to 398.36, to be expended under the
supervision of the county board.

(iii) The county board may by resolution set aside up to 100 percent of the receipts
remaining to be used:
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5 (6) submit recommendations on strategies for school trust land leases, sales, or
exchanges to the commissioner of natural resources and the Legislative Permanent School
Fund Commission.

Sec. 76. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 282.08, is amended to read:
282.08 APPORTIONMENT OF PROCEEDS TO TAXING DISTRICTS.

The net proceeds from the sale or rental of any parcel of forfeited land, or from the sale
of products from the forfeited land, must be apportioned by the county auditor to the taxing
districts interested in the land, as follows:

(1) the portion required to pay any amounts included in the appraised value under section
282.01, subdivision 3, as representing increased value due to any public improvement made
after forfeiture of the parcel to the state, but not exceeding the amount certified by the
appropriate governmental authority must be apportioned to the governmental subdivision
entitled to it;

(2) the portion required to pay any amount included in the appraised value under section
282.019, subdivision 5, representing increased value due to response actions taken after
forfeiture of the parcel to the state, but not exceeding the amount of expenses certified by
the Pollution Control Agency or the commissioner of agriculture, must be apportioned to
the agency or the commissioner of agriculture and deposited in the fund from which the
expenses were paid;

(3) the portion of the remainder required to discharge any special assessment chargeable
against the parcel for drainage or other purpose whether due or deferred at the time of
forfeiture, must be apportioned to the governmental subdivision entitled to it; and

(4) any balance must be apportioned as follows:

(i) The county board may annually by resolution set aside no more than 30 percent of
the receipts remaining to be used for forest development on tax-forfeited land and dedicated
memorial forests, to be expended under the supervision of the county board. It must be
expended only on projects improving the health and management of the forest resource.

(i1) The county board may annually by resolution set aside no more than 20 percent of
the receipts remaining to be used for the acquisition and maintenance of county parks or
recreational areas as defined in sections 398.31 to 398.36, to be expended under the
supervision of the county board.

(iii) The county board may by resolution set aside up to 100 percent of the receipts
remaining to be used:
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(A) according to section 282.09, subdivision 2;

(B) for remediating contamination at tax-forfeited properties; or

(C) for correcting blighted conditions at tax-forfeited properties.

An election made under this item is effective for a minimum of five years, unless the county
board specifies a shorter duration.

(iv) Any balance remaining must be apportioned as follows: county, 40 percent; town
or city, 20 percent; and school district, 40 percent, provided, however, that in unorganized
territory that portion which would have accrued to the township must be administered by
the county board of commissioners.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 297A.94, is amended to read:
297A.94 DEPOSIT OF REVENUES.

(a) Except as provided in this section, the commissioner shall deposit the revenues,
including interest and penalties, derived from the taxes imposed by this chapter in the state
treasury and credit them to the general fund.

(b) The commissioner shall deposit taxes in the Minnesota agricultural and economic
account in the special revenue fund if:

(1) the taxes are derived from sales and use of property and services purchased for the
construction and operation of an agricultural resource project; and

(2) the purchase was made on or after the date on which a conditional commitment was
made for a loan guaranty for the project under section 41A.04, subdivision 3.

The commissioner of management and budget shall certify to the commissioner the date on
which the project received the conditional commitment. The amount deposited in the loan
guaranty account must be reduced by any refunds and by the costs incurred by the Department
of Revenue to administer and enforce the assessment and collection of the taxes.

(c) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties, derived
from the taxes imposed on sales and purchases included in section 297A.61, subdivision 3,
paragraph (g), clauses (1) and (4), in the state treasury, and credit them as follows:

(1) first to the general obligation special tax bond debt service account in each fiscal
year the amount required by section 16A.661, subdivision 3, paragraph (b); and

(2) after the requirements of clause (1) have been met, the balance to the general fund.

(d) Beginning with sales taxes remitted after July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall deposit
in the state treasury the revenues collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 1, including
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(1) according to section 282.09, subdivision 2;

(2) for remediating contamination at tax-forfeited properties; or

(3) for correcting blighted conditions at tax-forfeited properties.

An election made under this item is effective for a minimum of five years, unless the county
board specifies a shorter duration.

(iv) Any balance remaining must be apportioned as follows: county, 40 percent; town
or city, 20 percent; and school district, 40 percent, provided, however, that in unorganized
territory that portion which would have accrued to the township must be administered by
the county board of commissioners.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 77. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 297A.94, is amended to read:
297A.94 DEPOSIT OF REVENUES.

(a) Except as provided in this section, the commissioner shall deposit the revenues,
including interest and penalties, derived from the taxes imposed by this chapter in the state
treasury and credit them to the general fund.

(b) The commissioner shall deposit taxes in the Minnesota agricultural and economic
account in the special revenue fund if:

(1) the taxes are derived from sales and use of property and services purchased for the
construction and operation of an agricultural resource project; and

(2) the purchase was made on or after the date on which a conditional commitment was
made for a loan guaranty for the project under section 41A.04, subdivision 3.

The commissioner of management and budget shall certify to the commissioner the date on
which the project received the conditional commitment. The amount deposited in the loan
guaranty account must be reduced by any refunds and by the costs incurred by the Department
of Revenue to administer and enforce the assessment and collection of the taxes.

(c) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties, derived
from the taxes imposed on sales and purchases included in section 297A.61, subdivision 3,
paragraph (g), clauses (1) and (4), in the state treasury, and credit them as follows:

(1) first to the general obligation special tax bond debt service account in each fiscal
year the amount required by section 16A.661, subdivision 3, paragraph (b); and

(2) after the requirements of clause (1) have been met, the balance to the general fund.

(d) Beginning with sales taxes remitted after July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall deposit
in the state treasury the revenues collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 1, including
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interest and penalties and minus refunds, and credit them to the highway user tax distribution
fund.

(e) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties,
collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 5, in the state treasury and credit them to the
general fund. By July 15 of each year the commissioner shall transfer to the highway user
tax distribution fund an amount equal to the excess fees collected under section 297A.64,
subdivision 5, for the previous calendar year.

(f) Beginning with sales taxes remitted after July 1, 2017, in conjunction with the deposit
of revenues under paragraph (d), the commissioner shall deposit into the state treasury and
credit to the highway user tax distribution fund an amount equal to the estimated revenues
derived from the tax rate imposed under section 297A.62, subdivision 1, on the lease or
rental for not more than 28 days of rental motor vehicles subject to section 297A.64. The
commissioner shall estimate the amount of sales tax revenue deposited under this paragraph
based on the amount of revenue deposited under paragraph (d).

(g) Starting after July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall deposit an amount of the
remittances monthly into the state treasury and credit them to the highway user tax
distribution fund as a portion of the estimated amount of taxes collected from the sale and
purchase of motor vehicle repair parts in that month. For the remittances between July 1,
2017, and June 30, 2019, the monthly deposit amount is $2,628,000. For remittances in
each subsequent fiscal year, the monthly deposit amount is $12,137,000. For purposes of
this paragraph, "motor vehicle" has the meaning given in section 297B.01, subdivision 11,
and "motor vehicle repair and replacement parts" includes (i) all parts, tires, accessories,
and equipment incorporated into or affixed to the motor vehicle as part of the motor vehicle
maintenance and repair, and (ii) paint, oil, and other fluids that remain on or in the motor
vehicle as part of the motor vehicle maintenance or repair. For purposes of this paragraph,
"tire" means any tire of the type used on highway vehicles, if wholly or partially made of
rubber and if marked according to federal regulations for highway use.

(h) 72.43 percent of the revenues, including interest and penalties, transmitted to the
commissioner under section 297A.65, must be deposited by the commissioner in the state
treasury as follows:

(1) 50 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the heritage enhancement account in
the game and fish fund, and may be spent only on activities that improve, enhance, or protect
fish and wildlife resources, including conservation, restoration, and enhancement of land,
water, and other natural resources of the state;

(2) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
be spent only for state parks and trails;

(3) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
be spent only on metropolitan park and trail grants;
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interest and penalties and minus refunds, and credit them to the highway user tax distribution
fund.

(e) The commissioner shall deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties,
collected under section 297A.64, subdivision 5, in the state treasury and credit them to the
general fund. By July 15 of each year the commissioner shall transfer to the highway user
tax distribution fund an amount equal to the excess fees collected under section 297A.64,
subdivision 5, for the previous calendar year.

(f) Beginning with sales taxes remitted after July 1, 2017, in conjunction with the deposit
of revenues under paragraph (d), the commissioner shall deposit into the state treasury and
credit to the highway user tax distribution fund an amount equal to the estimated revenues
derived from the tax rate imposed under section 297A.62, subdivision 1, on the lease or
rental for not more than 28 days of rental motor vehicles subject to section 297A.64. The
commissioner shall estimate the amount of sales tax revenue deposited under this paragraph
based on the amount of revenue deposited under paragraph (d).

(g) Starting after July 1, 2017, the commissioner shall deposit an amount of the
remittances monthly into the state treasury and credit them to the highway user tax
distribution fund as a portion of the estimated amount of taxes collected from the sale and
purchase of motor vehicle repair parts in that month. For the remittances between July 1,
2017, and June 30, 2019, the monthly deposit amount is $2,628,000. For remittances in
each subsequent fiscal year, the monthly deposit amount is $12,137,000. For purposes of
this paragraph, "motor vehicle" has the meaning given in section 297B.01, subdivision 11,
and "motor vehicle repair and replacement parts" includes (i) all parts, tires, accessories,
and equipment incorporated into or affixed to the motor vehicle as part of the motor vehicle
maintenance and repair, and (ii) paint, oil, and other fluids that remain on or in the motor
vehicle as part of the motor vehicle maintenance or repair. For purposes of this paragraph,
"tire" means any tire of the type used on highway vehicles, if wholly or partially made of
rubber and if marked according to federal regulations for highway use.

(h) 7243 97 percent of the revenues, including interest and penalties, transmitted to the
commissioner under section 297A.65, must be deposited by the commissioner in the state
treasury as follows:

(1) 50 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the heritage enhancement account in
the game and fish fund, and may be spent only on activities that improve, enhance, or protect
fish and wildlife resources, including conservation, restoration, and enhancement of land,
water, and other natural resources of the state;

(2) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
be spent only for state parks and trails;

(3) 22.5 percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
be spent only on metropolitan park and trail grants;
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(4) three percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and
may be spent only on local trail grants; and

(5) two percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
be spent only for the Minnesota Zoological Garden, the Como Park Zoo and Conservatory,
and the Duluth Zoo.

(i) The revenue dedicated under paragraph (h) may not be used as a substitute for
traditional sources of funding for the purposes specified, but the dedicated revenue shall
supplement traditional sources of funding for those purposes. Land acquired with money
deposited in the game and fish fund under paragraph (h) must be open to public hunting
and fishing during the open season, except that in aquatic management areas or on lands
where angling easements have been acquired, fishing may be prohibited during certain times
of the year and hunting may be prohibited. At least 87 percent of the money deposited in
the game and fish fund for improvement, enhancement, or protection of fish and wildlife
resources under paragraph (h) must be allocated for field operations.

(j) The commissioner must deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties minus
any refunds, derived from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1,
that may be sold to persons 18 years old or older and that are not prohibited from use by
the general public under section 624.21, in the state treasury and credit:

(1) 25 percent to the volunteer fire assistance grant account established under section
88.068;

(2) 25 percent to the fire safety account established under section 2971.06, subdivision
3; and

(3) the remainder to the general fund.

For purposes of this paragraph, the percentage of total sales and use tax revenue derived
from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1, that are allowed to be
sold to persons 18 years old or older and are not prohibited from use by the general public
under section 624.21, is a set percentage of the total sales and use tax revenues collected in
the state, with the percentage determined under Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter
1, article 3, section 39.

(k) The revenues deposited under paragraphs (a) to (j) do not include the revenues,
including interest and penalties, generated by the sales tax imposed under section 297A.62,
subdivision 1a, which must be deposited as provided under the Minnesota Constitution,
article XI, section 15.

(1) One percent of the revenues, including interest and penalties, transmitted to the
commissioner under section 297A.65, must be deposited in the state treasury and credited
to the events promotion account under section 116U.55, subdivision 3.

PAGE R46-Art2

79.14
79.15

79.16
79.17
79.18

79.19
79.20
79.21
79.22
79.23
79.24
79.25
79.26
79.27

79.28
79.29
79.30
79.31

79.32
79.33

80.1
80.2

80.3

80.4
80.5
80.6
80.7
80.8
80.9

80.10
80.11
80.12
80.13

House Language UES4062-2

(4) three percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and
may be spent only on local trail grants; and

(5) two percent of the receipts must be deposited in the natural resources fund, and may
be spent only for the Minnesota Zoological Garden, the Como Park Zoo and Conservatory,
and the Duluth Zoo.

(i) The revenue dedicated under paragraph (h) may not be used as a substitute for
traditional sources of funding for the purposes specified, but the dedicated revenue shall
supplement traditional sources of funding for those purposes. Land acquired with money
deposited in the game and fish fund under paragraph (h) must be open to public hunting
and fishing during the open season, except that in aquatic management areas or on lands
where angling easements have been acquired, fishing may be prohibited during certain times
of the year and hunting may be prohibited. At least 87 percent of the money deposited in
the game and fish fund for improvement, enhancement, or protection of fish and wildlife
resources under paragraph (h) must be allocated for field operations.

(j) The commissioner must deposit the revenues, including interest and penalties minus
any refunds, derived from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1,
that may be sold to persons 18 years old or older and that are not prohibited from use by
the general public under section 624.21, in the state treasury and credit:

(1) 25 percent to the volunteer fire assistance grant account established under section
88.068;

(2) 25 percent to the fire safety account established under section 2971.06, subdivision
3; and

(3) the remainder to the general fund.

For purposes of this paragraph, the percentage of total sales and use tax revenue derived
from the sale of items regulated under section 624.20, subdivision 1, that are allowed to be
sold to persons 18 years old or older and are not prohibited from use by the general public
under section 624.21, is a set percentage of the total sales and use tax revenues collected in
the state, with the percentage determined under Laws 2017, First Special Session chapter
1, article 3, section 39.

(k) The revenues deposited under paragraphs (a) to (j) do not include the revenues,
including interest and penalties, generated by the sales tax imposed under section 297A.62,
subdivision 1a, which must be deposited as provided under the Minnesota Constitution,
article XI, section 15.
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Sec. 66. Laws 2015, First Special Session chapter 4, article 4, section 136, as amended
by Laws 2017, chapter 93, article 2, section 149, is amended to read:
Sec. 136. WILD RICE WATER QUALITY STANDARDS.

(a) Until the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency amends rules refining the
wild rice water quality standard in Minnesota Rules, part 7050.0224, subpart 2, to consider
all independent research and publicly funded research and to include criteria for identifying
waters and a list of waters subject to the standard, implementation of the wild rice water
quality standard in Minnesota Rules, part 7050.0224, subpart 2, shall be limited to the
following, unless the permittee requests additional conditions:

(1) when issuing, modifying, or renewing national pollutant discharge elimination system
(NPDES) or state disposal system (SDS) permits, the agency shall endeavor to protect wild
rice, and in doing so shall be limited by the following conditions:

(i) the agency shall not require permittees to expend money for design or implementation
of sulfate treatment technologies or other forms of sulfate mitigation; and

(ii) the agency may require sulfate minimization plans in permits; and

(2) the agency shall not list waters containing natural beds of wild rice as impaired for
sulfate under section 303(d) of the federal Clean Water Act, United States Code, title 33,
section 1313, until the rulemaking described in this paragraph takes effect.

(b) Upon the rule described in paragraph (a) taking effect, the agency may reopen permits
issued or reissued after the effective date of this section as needed to include numeric permit
limits based on the wild rice water quality standard.

(c) The commissioner shall complete the rulemaking described in paragraph (a) by
January 15, 2649 2025.

Sec. 67. CONTINUATION OF OTHER WATER APPROPRIATION PERMITS.

Prior to additional rulemaking or legislative action in response to the findings and
recommendations submitted pursuant to section 69, the commissioner of natural resources
shall not reduce appropriations under a groundwater appropriations permit, terminate
groundwater appropriations authorized by a permit, or decline to renew a groundwater
appropriations permit where:

(1) the permit was in effect as of December 31, 2021;

(2) the permit authorized appropriation of groundwater from a site located wholly or
partially within a five-mile radius of White Bear Lake;

(3) the permittee is in compliance with applicable permit terms; and

(4) the permittee is not a municipality.
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Sec. 68. DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES REGISTRATION SYSTEM.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the following terms have
the meanings given.

(b) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of natural resources.

(c) "DNR" means the Department of Natural Resources.

(d) "DNR registration system" means the current Department of Natural Resources
system for boat, all-terrain vehicle, and snowmobile registrations.

Subd. 2. Request for proposals; scoring preference. When the commissioner issues
a request for proposals to replace the DNR registration system and scores the responses to
the request for proposals, the commissioner may give a preference to a software vendor that
currently provides vehicle registration software to the state in an amount commensurate
with the commissioner's assessments of the benefits of using an existing software vendor.

Subd. 3. Report to legislature. Within 45 days after a vendor has been selected to
provide software to replace the DNR registration system, the commissioner must report to
the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees with jurisdiction
over transportation policy and finance and natural resources policy and finance. At a
minimum, the commissioner must include in the report:

(1) the names of all vendors who submitted a proposal;

(2) which vendor was selected;

(3) the estimated timeline for implementing the new registration system;

(4) if a preference was given as described in subdivision 2, what the preference was and
how the commissioner arrived at that number; and

(5) if a software vendor that currently provides vehicle registration software to the state
submitted a proposal and that vendor was not selected, an explanation of why that vendor
was not selected.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 69. ENSURING SUSTAINABLE GROUNDWATER LEVELS IN WHITE
BEAR LAKE AND RELATED AQUIFERS.

The commissioner of natural resources, in cooperation with the Minnesota Department
of Health, the Metropolitan Council, and representatives of east metropolitan area
municipalities, must explore available options for supplying east metropolitan area
communities with safe drinking water in a manner that allows municipal growth while
simultaneously ensuring the sustainability and quality of the state's water resources in and
around White Bear Lake and neighboring aquifers. By October 1, 2023, the commissioner
must report findings and recommendations to the chairs and ranking minority members of
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the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over environment and natural
resources.

Sec. 70. FACILITATING SAFE TRAVEL ON COUNTY STATE-AID HIGHWAY
13 IN MURRAY COUNTY.

Subdivision 1. Requirements. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the
commissioner of natural resources must do all of the following to ensure that the portion
of County State-Aid Highway 13 in Murray County that extends over Lake Shetek between
170th Avenue and Lakeview Drive can be widened to a sufficient width to ensure traveler

safety:
(1) issue any permits applied for by the county as part of a project to widen the highway;

and

(2) convey to the county any right-of-way, easement, or other interest in real property
administered by the Department of Natural Resources that is necessary to facilitate the

widening.

Subd. 2. Sufficient width. For purposes of subdivision 1, "sufficient width to ensure
traveler safety" means a width of at least 70 feet, including room for two lanes of vehicular
traffic, a shoulder on each side, and a shared-use path on each side to safely accommodate
bicycle and pedestrian transportation. Any riprap needed to ensure the structural integrity
of the widened highway must be in addition to the 70-foot width required by this subdivision.

Subd. 3. Reporting. The commissioner of natural resources must immediately report
to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate
committees and divisions with jurisdiction over environment and natural resources if the
commissioner denies any permit or other request made by Murray County in connection
with the widening described in this section. A report under this subdivision must explain
the reason for the denial, including the statute or rule that prohibits the commissioner from
granting the permit or other request. A policy decision by the Department of Natural
Resources that the lake is more important than protecting the lives of travelers on the highway
does not constitute a sufficient explanation for a decision to deny a permit under this
subdivision.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day after the governing body of
Murray County and its chief clerical officer comply with the requirements of Minnesota
Statutes, section 645.021, subdivisions 2 and 3.

Sec. 71. FILLING OF CERTAIN POLLUTION CONTROL AGENCY AIR PERMIT
PROGRAM VACANCIES.

Subdivision 1. Duty to fill certain positions. The commissioner of the Pollution Control
Agency must do the following for each position in the agency's air permit program that has
been open for at least one year as of the effective date of this section:
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(1) within 60 days of the effective date of this section, post job opening information for
each position in the manner normally used by the commissioner to post job openings;

(2) within 90 days of the effective date of this section, conduct interviews to fill each
position; and

(3) within 120 days of the effective date of this section, complete hiring to fill each
position.

Subd. 2. Report. By January 15, 2024, the commissioner must submit a report to the
chairs and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees

and divisions with jurisdiction over environment and natural resources on efforts to comply
with this section. The report must include the following:

(1) a summary of the commissioner's efforts to comply with each clause in subdivision
1; and

(2) for any position that receives less than five applicants, an explanation of the need
for each of the job requirements included in the job posting.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 72. INTERIM PROVISIONS.

(a) From the effective date of this section until the rules under section 77 are adopted,
to the extent allowable under the federal Clean Water Act or other federal laws, this section
applies to discharges from facilities that process sugar beets outside the Lake Superior basin.

(b) If a whole effluent toxicity test, as defined under Minnesota Rules, part 7050.0218,
subpart 3, item AAA, is performed on the effluent of a point source discharger that is a
facility that processes sugar beets and results in less than 50 percent mortality of the test
organisms or if a demonstration is provided under Minnesota Rules, part 7052.0210, subpart
1, that 0.3 acute toxic units can be met at the edge of an approved acute mixing zone, the
effluent must not be considered acutely toxic or lethal to aquatic organisms unless the
commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency finds that the test species do not represent
sensitive organisms in the affected surface water body or the whole effluent toxicity test
was performed on a sample not representative of the effluent quality.

(c) The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency must establish whole effluent
toxicity mixing zones and whole effluent toxicity water-quality-based effluent limitations
and permit conditions for facilities that process sugar beets according to Minnesota Rules,
parts 7052.0210, subparts 1 and 2, and 7052.0240.

(d) The antibacksliding provisions of Minnesota Rules, part 7001.1080, subpart 9, do
not apply to new or revised permit conditions established under paragraph (c).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
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Sec. 73. REGISTRATION DECAL FORMAT TRANSITION.

Separately displaying registration numbers is not required when a larger-format
registration decal as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section 84.82, subdivision 2, is
displayed according to Minnesota Statutes, section 84.82, subdivision 3b. Snowmobiles
displaying valid but older smaller-format registration decals must display the separate
registration numbers. Persons may obtain duplicate registration decals in the new, larger
format, when available, without being required to display the separate registration numbers.

Sec. 74. REQUIRED RULEMAKING.

(a) The commissioner of natural resources must amend Minnesota Rules as follows:

(1) part 6100.5000, subpart 1, by striking the last sentence and inserting "The registration
number remains the same if renewed by July 1 following the expiration date.";

(2) part 6100.5700, subpart 1, item C, by striking the reference to registration numbers;

and

(3) part 6230.0250, subpart 10, item A, subitem (2), by changing the word "hunter" to
"person".

(b) The commissioner may use the good-cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes,
section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to adopt rules under this section, and Minnesota

Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply except as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section
14.388.

Sec. 75. STATE IMPLEMENTATION PLAN REVISIONS.

(a) The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency must seek approval from the
federal Environmental Protection Agency for revisions to the state's federal Clean Air Act
state implementation plan so that under the revised plan, the Pollution Control Agency is
prohibited from applying a national or state ambient air quality standard in a permit issued
solely to authorize operations to continue at an existing facility with unmodified emissions
levels. Nothing in this section must be construed to require the commissioner to apply for
a revision that would prohibit the agency from applying a national or state ambient air
quality standard in a permit that authorizes an increase in emissions due to construction of
a new facility or in a permit that authorizes changes to existing facilities that result in a
significant net emissions increase of a regulated NSR pollutant, as defined in Code of Federal
Regulations, title 40, section 52.21(b)(50).

(b) The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency must report quarterly to the chairs
and ranking minority members of the house of representatives and senate committees and
divisions with jurisdiction over environment and natural resources policy on the status of
efforts to implement paragraph (a) until the revisions required by paragraph (a) have been
either approved or denied.
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Sec. 84. PERSON WITH A DISABILITY; RULEMAKING.

(a) The commissioner of natural resources must amend Minnesota Rules, part 6230.0250,
subpart 10, item A, subitem (2), by changing the word "hunter" to "person."

(b) The commissioner may use the good-cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes,
section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to adopt rules under this section, and Minnesota
Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply except as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section
14.388.
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Sec. 76. WHOLE EFFLUENT TOXICITY RULEMAKING FOR FACILITIES
THAT PROCESS SUGAR BEETS.

(a) By January 31, 2023, the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency must adopt
rules on:

(1) evaluating and applying whole effluent toxicity (WET) as water-quality-based effluent
limitations and permit conditions for discharges from facilities that process sugar beets that
are located outside the Lake Superior basin; and

(2) the applicability and standards for acute and chronic mixing zones at those facilities.

(b) Rules adopted under this section must be substantially identical to Minnesota Rules,
parts 7052.0210, subparts 1 and 2, and 7052.0240, so that, to the greatest extent possible,
facilities that process sugar beets in all parts of the state are subject to the same mixing
zones requirements and acute and chronic WET requirements for establishing permit
conditions.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 77. PFAS MONITORING PLAN EXPENSES.

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the commissioner of the Pollution Control
Agency shall not require a person, facility, or other entity to monitor PFAS as part of its
March 2022 PFAS monitoring plan unless the monitoring can be done at no cost to the
person, facility, or other entity or unless the commissioner agrees to reimburse the person,
facility, or other entity for all costs of the monitoring. Nothing in this section shall be
construed to prohibit:

(1) voluntary compliance with an agency request to monitor PFAS;

(2) compliance with a PFAS monitoring requirement that is not part of the March 2022
PFAS monitoring plan; or

(3) a PFAS monitoring requirement imposed as a result of a known release or threatened
release of PFAS from a facility.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 78. RED RIVER OF THE NORTH; ADAPTIVE PHOSPHORUS
MANAGEMENT FEASIBILITY ASSESSMENT.

Subdivision 1. Assessment contents. The Red River Basin Commission must facilitate
the development of a feasibility assessment of adaptive phosphorus management for the
Red River of the North. The commission may contract with outside experts or academic
institutions in developing the assessment. The assessment:

(1) must address applicable water quality targets for phosphorous loading;
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(2) must include an allocation of phosphorus between point and nonpoint sources;

(3) must identify cost-effective nutrient reduction implementation strategies; and

(4) may include other state water quality goals and objectives.

Subd. 2. Advisory group. In developing the assessment, the Red River Basin Commission
shall work in cooperation with an advisory group consisting of representatives from the
Minnesota Agricultural Water Resource Center, the Red River Watershed Management
Board, other agricultural groups, soil and water conservation districts, watershed districts,
cities, and other Minnesota organizations represented on the board of directors of the Red
River Basin Commission. The Red River Basin Commission may also work with
representatives from similar organizations from North Dakota, South Dakota, and Manitoba.

Subd. 3. Reporting. By June 30, 2024, the Red River Basin Commission must submit
the final assessment to the chairs and ranking minority members of the house of
representatives and senate committees with jurisdiction over agriculture policy and finance.
By December 31 of each year prior to the submission of the final assessment, the commission
must submit a progress report on the assessment's development to these same recipients.

Sec. 79. WEST NEWTON SPECIAL USE DISTRICT; WABASHA COUNTY.

Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 394.36, subdivision 4; Minnesota Rules,
part 6120.5800, subpart 3; or any other law to the contrary, an existing structure in the West
Newton Special Use District may be expanded. The expansion must follow the requirements
for expansions of structures in the West Newton Special Use District as provided in the
Wabasha County floodplain management ordinance in effect on January 1, 2022.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day after the governing body of
Wabasha County and its chief clerical officer timely complete their compliance with
Minnesota Statutes, section 645.021, subdivisions 2 and 3.

Sec. 80. REPEALER.

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97C.515, subdivisions 4 and 5, are repealed.

(b) Minnesota Rules, parts 6100.5000, subparts 3, 4, and 5; 6100.5700, subpart 4; and
6232.0350, are repealed.

(c) Laws 2013, chapter 121, section 53, is repealed.
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Sec. 96. REPEALER.

(a) Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97C.605, subdivisions 2, 2a, 2b, and 5, and
Minnesota Rules, part 6256.0500, subparts 2, 2a, 2b, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8, are repealed.

(b) Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 325E.389; and 325E.3891, are repealed.
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94.10 (c) Minnesota Statutes 2020, sections 86B.101; 86B.305; and 86B.313, subdivisions 2
94.11 and 3, are repealed.
94.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. Paragraph (b) is effective July 1, 2023. Paragraph (c) is effective

94.13  July 1, 2024.
24.16 Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 15A.0815, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

24.17 Subd. 3. Group II salary limits. The salary for a position listed in this subdivision shall
24.18 not exceed 120 percent of the salary of the governor. This limit must be adjusted annually
24.19 on January 1. The new limit must equal the limit for the prior year increased by the percentage
24.20 increase, if any, in the Consumer Price Index for all urban consumers from October of the
24.21 second prior year to October of the immediately prior year. The commissioner of management
24.22 and budget must publish the limit on the department's website. This subdivision applies to
24.23 the following positions:

24.24 Executive director of Gambling Control Board;

24.25 Commissioner of Iron Range resources and rehabilitation;

24.26 Commissioner, Bureau of Mediation Services;

24.27 Ombudsman for mental health and developmental disabilities;

24.28 Ombudsperson for corrections;

24.29 Chair, Metropolitan Council;

24.30 School trust lands director;

2431 Executive director of pari-mutuel racing; and

25.1 Commissioner, Public Utilities Commission; and

25.2 Director of the Minnesota Outdoor Recreation Office.

253 Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 18B.09, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
25.4 Subd. 2. Authority. (a) Statutory and home rule charter cities may enact an ordinance,

25.5  which may include penalty and enforcement provisions, containing one or both of the
25.6  following:

25.7 (1) the pesticide application warning info
S theirown-Heons

rmation contained in subdivision 3;-ineluding
provistons:; and

5 S O

25.9 (2) the pesticide prohibition contained in subdivision 4.
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(b) Statutory and home rule charter cities may not enact an ordinance that-eentains more

restrictive pestietde-appheationsvarntretnformation than fs-contathedtisubeivist

subdivisions 3 and 4.

Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 18B.09, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 4. Application of certain pesticides prohibited. (a) A person may not apply or
use a pollinator-lethal pesticide within the geographic boundaries of a city that has enacted
an ordinance under subdivision 2 prohibiting such use.

(b) For purposes of this subdivision, "pollinator-lethal pesticide" means a pesticide that
has a pollinator protection box on the label or labeling or a pollinator, bee, or honey bee
precautionary statement in the environmental hazards section of the label or labeling.

(c) This subdivision does not apply to:

(1) pet care products used to mitigate fleas, mites, ticks, heartworms, or other animals
that are harmful to the health of a domesticated animal;

(2) personal care products used to mitigate lice and bedbugs;

(3) indoor pest control products used to mitigate insects indoors, including ant bait;

(4) a pesticide as used or applied by the Metropolitan Mosquito Control District for
public health protection if the pesticide includes vector species on the label; and

(5) a pesticide-treated wood product.

(d) The commissioner must maintain a list of pollinator-lethal pesticides on the
department's website.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 21.81, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 5a. Coated agricultural seed. "Coated agricultural seed" means any seed unit
covered with a coating material.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 21.86, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
Subd. 2. Miscellaneous violations. No person may:

ta) (1) detach, alter, deface, or destroy any label required in sections 21.82 and 21.83,
alter or substitute seed in a manner that may defeat the purposes of sections 21.82 and 21.83,
or alter or falsify any seed tests, laboratory reports, records, or other documents to create a
misleading impression as to kind, variety, history, quality, or origin of the seed;

) (2) hinder or obstruct in any way any authorized person in the performance of duties
under sections 21.80 to 21.92;
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te) (3) fail to comply with a "stop sale" order or to move or otherwise handle or dispose
of any lot of seed held under a stop sale order or attached tags, except with express permission
of the enforcing officer for the purpose specified,;

&) (4) use the word "type" in any labeling in connection with the name of any agricultural
seed variety;

) (5) use the word "trace" as a substitute for any statement which is required;

D (6) plant any agricultural seed which the person knows contains weed seeds or noxious
weed seeds in excess of the limits for that seed; ot

t2) (7) advertise or sell seed containing patented, protected, or proprietary varieties used
without permission of the patent or certificate holder of the intellectual property associated
with the variety of seed:; or

(8) use or sell as food, feed, oil, or ethanol feedstock any seed treated with neonicotinoid
pesticide.

Sec. 6. [21.915] PESTICIDE-TREATED SEED USE AND DISPOSAL; CONSUMER
GUIDANCE REQUIRED.

(a) The commissioner, in consultation with the commissioner of the Pollution Control
Agency, must develop and maintain consumer guidance regarding the proper use and disposal
of seed treated with neonicotinoid pesticide.

(b) A person selling seed treated with neonicotinoid pesticide at retail must post in a
conspicuous location the guidance developed by the commissioner under paragraph (a).

Sec. 7. [84.0345] PEAT SOIL GOAL.

It is the goal of the state of Minnesota to protect, restore, and enhance at least the
following amounts of the state's presettlement peat soils, or histosols, that were drained for
and as of August 1, 2022, are used for agricultural cultivation or pasture:

(1) 25 percent by August 1, 2030; and
(2) 50 percent by August 1, 2040.
Sec. 8. [84.9735] INSECTICIDES ON STATE LANDS.

A person may not use a pesticide containing an insecticide in a wildlife management
area, state park, state forest, aquatic management area, or scientific and natural area if the
insecticide is from the neonicotinoid class of insecticides or contains chlorpyrifos.

Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 84D.02, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Management plan. By December 31, 2022, and every five years thereafter,
the commissioner shall must prepare and-maintain a long-term plan, which may include
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specific plans for individual species and actions, for the statewide management of invasive
species of aquatic plants and wild animals. The plan must address:

(1) coordinated detection and prevention of accidental introductions;

(2) coordinated dissemination of information about invasive species of aquatic plants
and wild animals among resource management agencies and organizations;

(3) a coordinated public education and awareness campaign;

(4) coordinated control of selected invasive species of aquatic plants and wild animals
on lands and public waters;

(5) participation by lake associations, local citizen groups, and local units of government
in the development and implementation of local management efforts;

(6) a reasonable and workable inspection requirement for watercraft and equipment
including those participating in organized events on the waters of the state;

(7) the closing of points of access to infested waters, if the commissioner determines it
is necessary, for a total of not more than seven days during the open water season for control
or eradication purposes;

(8) maintaining public accesses on infested waters to be reasonably free of aquatic
macrophytes; ané

(9) notice to travelers of the penalties for violation of laws relating to invasive species
of aquatic plants and wild animals; and

(10) the impacts of climate change on invasive species management.

Sec. 11. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 85A.01, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Creation. (a) The Minnesota Zoological Garden is established under the
supervision and control of the Minnesota Zoological Board. The board consists of 30 public
and private sector members having a background or interest in zoological societies or zoo
management or an ability to generate community interest in the Minnesota Zoological
Garden. Fifteen members shall be appointed by the board after consideration of a list supplied
by board members serving on a nominating committee, and 15 members shall be appointed
by the governor. One member of the board must be a resident of Dakota County and shall
be appointed by the governor after consideration of the recommendation of the Dakota
County Board. Board appointees shall not be subject to the advice and consent of the senate.

(b) To the extent possible, the board and governor shall appoint members who are
residents of the various geographic regions of the state. Terms, compensation, and removal
of members are as provided in section 15.0575, except that a member may be compensated
at the rate of up to $125 a day. In making appointments, the governor and board shall utilize
the appointment process as provided under section 15.0597 and consider, among other
factors, the ability of members to garner support for the Minnesota Zoological Garden.
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(c) A member of the board may not be an employee of or have a direct or immediate
family financial interest in a business that provides goods or services to the zoo. A member
of the board may not be an employee of the zoo.

Sec. 12. [86A.50] MINNESOTA OUTDOOR RECREATION OFFICE.

Subdivision 1. Establishment. The Minnesota Outdoor Recreation Office is established.
The governor, in consultation with the commissioner of natural resources and the director
of Explore Minnesota Tourism, must appoint the director of the Minnesota Outdoor
Recreation Office. The director's appointment is subject to the advice and consent of the
senate.

Subd. 2. Office; administration. The commissioner of administration must provide
administrative services for the Minnesota Outdoor Recreation Office. The Minnesota Outdoor
Recreation Office must have locations in the cities of Ely and Winona.

Subd. 3. Purpose; goals. The purpose of the Minnesota Outdoor Recreation Office is

to:

(1) increase participation in outdoor recreation by advancing equity, diversity, and
inclusivity across the state's outdoor recreation sector;

(2) unite the state's outdoor recreation community; and

(3) unify communications among the state's diverse outdoor recreation sector by
developing a shared narrative about the health, economic, and other benefits of outdoor
recreation.

Subd. 4. Duties. To achieve the purposes of the Minnesota Outdoor Recreation Office,
the director must:

(1) increase participation by:

(i) bringing outdoor recreation stakeholders together, including historically
underrepresented populations, to develop a shared strategy to build community, improve
cultural relevance, foster relationships, and facilitate an inclusive and safe outdoor recreation

experience for all;
(i) creating and implementing a marketing strategy to coordinate across public and

private entities that welcomes historically underrepresented populations into the outdoor
recreation community;

(iii) welcoming and integrating underrepresented populations as customers, owners,
employees, and vendors of outdoor recreation agencies, groups, and businesses;

(iv) identifying and developing solutions to overcome barriers such as cost and
transportation and creating new ways for accessing outdoor recreation activities;
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(v) promoting and facilitating a culture of welcoming everyone outdoors by practicing
inclusivity and ensuring that historically underrepresented populations are equally valued;

(vi) promoting conservation strategies that connect diverse outdoor recreation groups
under a unified mission;

(vii) reviewing outdoor recreation trends and use patterns provided by the commissioner
of natural resources, Explore Minnesota Tourism, and other agencies; and

(viii) identifying what the public feels is missing in outdoor recreation and then
collaborating with other state agencies, residents, and businesses to provide those

opportunities;

(2) unite the state's outdoor recreation community by:

(i) bringing together users, government agencies, nonprofit organizations, for-profit
companies, and Tribal governments with an interest in outdoor recreation to build a united
community, drive relationships, and facilitate a shared vision for outdoor recreation in
Minnesota;

(ii) identifying stewardship and conservation priorities that will bring together diverse
outdoor stakeholders around a common goal;

(iii) annually convening outdoor recreation stakeholders, including underrepresented
populations, and measuring and sharing the benefits of coordinating at the event;

(iv) developing coordinated messaging and welcoming new narratives for Minnesota's
outdoors;

(v) ensuring all of Minnesota's varied geographies, landscapes, and recreation
opportunities are positioned as equal tenants within Minnesota's brand;

(vi) building, strengthening, and growing public-private partnerships at local, regional,
state, national, and international levels to unite the outdoor recreation community;

(vii) encouraging private sector partnerships to recognize the market potential of
historically underrepresented audiences;

(viii) promoting partnerships between communities, conservation, and stewardship
groups as well as outdoor user groups to maintain recreational infrastructure and preserve
Minnesota's natural spaces; and

(ix) encouraging conservation and outdoor recreation groups to work together more for
the common good; and

(3) unify communications by:

(i) defining and promoting Minnesota's unique value as a world-class inclusive outdoor
destination;
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(ii) developing new communication mediums such as applications and mobile-first
strategies to reach target audiences;

(iii) strengthening land and water stewardship messaging and education in order to grow
public investment and attention from people who will help steward Minnesota's outdoor
resources;

(iv) developing best practices for outdoor recreation communication for the commissioner
of natural resources and Explore Minnesota Tourism;

(v) developing methods to amplify communication resources and to do more with less
through communication partnership creation and focusing these efforts both in and outside
Minnesota; and

(vi) measuring and communicating the return on investment of outdoor recreation
investments, specifically focused on measurable economic, health, and well-being benefits.

Subd. 5. Powers. The director of the Minnesota Outdoor Recreation Office may:

(1) direct and control money appropriated to the director;

(2) apply for, receive, and spend money for the purposes of this section;

(3) employ assistants and other officers, employees, and agents that the director considers
necessary for the purposes of this section;

(4) enter into interdepartmental agreements with any other state agency; and

(5) enter into joint powers agreements under chapter 471.

Subd. 6. Report. By January 15 each year, the director of the Minnesota Outdoor
Recreation Office must submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the
legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over the environment and natural
resources and tourism on the office's performance in achieving its purpose under subdivision
3 and how money appropriated to the office was expended.

Sec. 13. [86B.30] DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Applicability. The definitions in this section apply to sections 86B.30
to 86B.341.

Subd. 2. Accompanying operator. "Accompanying operator" means a person 21 years
of age or older who:

(1) is in a personal watercraft or other type of motorboat;

(2) is within immediate reach of the controls of the motor; and

(3) possesses a valid operator's permit or is an exempt operator.
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Subd. 3. Adult operator. "Adult operator" means a motorboat operator, including a
personal watercraft operator, who is 12 years of age or older and who was:

(1) effective July 1, 2024, born on or after July 1, 2003;
(2) effective July 1, 2025, born on or after July 1, 1999;
(3) effective July 1, 2026, born on or after July 1, 1995; and
(4) effective July 1, 2027, born on or after July 1, 1987.

Subd. 4. Exempt operator. "Exempt operator" means a motorboat operator, including
a personal watercraft operator, who is 12 years of age or older and who:

(1) possesses a valid license to operate a motorboat issued for maritime personnel by
the United States Coast Guard under Code of Federal Regulations, title 46, part 10, or a
marine certificate issued by the Canadian government;

(2) is not a resident of the state or country, is temporarily using the waters of the state
for a period not to exceed 60 days, and:

(i) meets any applicable requirements of the state of residency; or

(ii) possesses a Canadian pleasure craft operator's card;

(3) is operating a motorboat under a dealer's license according to section 86B.405; or

(4) is operating a motorboat during an emergency.

Subd. 5. Motorboat rental business. "Motorboat rental business" means a person
engaged in the business of renting or leasing motorboats, including personal watercraft and
houseboats, for a period not exceeding 30 days. Motorboat rental business includes a person's
agents and employees.

Subd. 6. Young operator. "Young operator" means a motorboat operator, including a
personal watercraft operator, younger than 12 years of age.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
Sec. 14. [86B.302] WATERCRAFT OPERATOR'S PERMIT.

Subdivision 1. Generally. The commissioner must issue a watercraft operator's permit
to a person 12 years of age or older who successfully completes a water safety course and
written test according to section 86B.304, paragraph (a), or who provides proof of completion
of a program subject to a reciprocity agreement or certified by the commissioner as
substantially similar.

Subd. 2. Issuing permit to certain young operators. The commissioner may issue a
permit under this section to a person who is at least 11 years of age, but the permit is not
valid until the person becomes an adult operator.
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33.29 Subd. 3. Personal possession required. (a) A person who is required to have a watercraft
33.30 operator's permit must have in personal possession:
33.31 (1) a valid watercraft operator's permit;
34.1 (2) a driver's license that has a valid watercraft operator's permit indicator issued under

342 section 171.07, subdivision 20; or

34.3 (3) an identification card that has a valid watercraft operator's permit indicator issued
34.4  under section 171.07, subdivision 20.

34.5 (b) A person who is required to have a watercraft operator's permit must display one of
34.6  the documents described in paragraph (a) to a conservation officer or peace officer upon

34.7 request.

34.8 Subd. 4. Using electronic device to display proof of permit. If a person uses an
34.9  electronic device to display a document described in subdivision 3 to a conservation officer

34.10  or peace officer:

34.11 (1) the officer is immune from liability for any damage to the device, unless the officer
34.12  does not exercise due care in handling the device; and

34.13 (2) this does not constitute consent for the officer to access other contents on the device.
34.14 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

34.15 Sec. 15. [86B.303] OPERATING PERSONAL WATERCRAFT AND OTHER
3416 MOTORBOATS.

34.17 Subdivision 1. Adult operators. An adult operator may not operate a motorboat,

34.18 including a personal watercraft, unless:

34.19 (1) the adult operator possesses a valid watercraft operator's permit;

34.20 (2) the adult operator is an exempt operator; or

34.21 (3) an accompanying operator is in the motorboat.

34.22 Subd. 2. Young operators. (a) A young operator may not operate a personal watercraft

34.23 or any motorboat powered by a motor with a factory rating of more than 75 horsepower.

34.24 (b) A young operator may operate a motorboat that is not a personal watercraft and that
34.25 is powered by a motor with a factory rating of up to 75 horsepower if an accompanying
34.26 operator is in the motorboat.

34.27 Subd. 3. Accompanying operators. For purposes of this section and section 169A.20,
34.28 an accompanying operator, as well as the actual operator, is operating and is in physical
34.29 control of a motorboat.
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Subd. 4. Owners may not allow unlawful use. An owner or other person in lawful
control of a motorboat may not allow the motorboat to be operated contrary to this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
Sec. 16. [86B.304] WATERCRAFT SAFETY PROGRAM.

(a) The commissioner must establish a water safety course and testing program for
personal watercraft and watercraft operators and must prescribe a written test as part of the
course. The course must be approved by the National Association of State Boating Law
Administrators and must be available online. The commissioner may allow designated water
safety courses administered by third parties to meet the requirements of this paragraph and
may enter into reciprocity agreements or otherwise certify boat safety education programs
from other states that are substantially similar to in-state programs. The commissioner must
establish a working group of interested parties to develop course content and implementation.
The course must include content on aquatic invasive species mitigation best management
practices, reducing conflicts among user groups, and limiting the ecological impacts of
watercraft.

(b) The commissioner must create or designate a short boater safety examination to be
administered by motorboat rental businesses, as required by section 86B.306, subdivision
3. The examination developed pursuant to this paragraph must be one that can be
administered electronically or on paper, at the option of the motorboat rental business
administering the examination.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
Sec. 17. [86B.306] MOTORBOAT RENTAL BUSINESSES.

Subdivision 1. Requirements. A motorboat rental business must not rent or lease a
motorboat, including a personal watercraft, to any person for operation on the waters of the
state unless the renter or lessee:

(1) has a valid watercraft operator's permit or is an exempt operator; and

(2) is 18 years of age or older.

Subd. 2. Authorized operators. A motorboat rental business must list on each motorboat
rental or lease agreement the name and age of each operator who is authorized to operate
the motorboat or personal watercraft. The renter or lessee of the motorboat must ensure that
only listed authorized operators operate the motorboat or personal watercraft.

Subd. 3. Summary of boating regulations; examination. (a) A motorboat rental
business must provide each authorized operator a summary of the statutes and rules governing
operation of motorboats and personal watercraft in the state and instructions for safe

operation.
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36.3 (b) Each authorized operator must review the summary provided under this subdivision
36.4  and must take a short boater safety examination in a form approved by the commissioner
36.5  before the motorboat or personal watercraft leaves the motorboat rental business premises,
36.6  unless the authorized operator has taken the examination during the previous 60 days.

36.7 Subd. 4. Safety equipment for personal watercraft. A motorboat rental business must
36.8  provide at no additional cost a United States Coast Guard (USCG) approved wearable

36.9  personal flotation device with a USCG label indicating it either is approved for or does not
36.10 prohibit use with personal watercraft or water-skiing and any other required safety equipment
36.11 to all persons who rent a personal watercraft.

36.12 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

36.13 Sec. 18. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 86B.313, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

36.14 Subd. 4. Dealers and rental operations. (a) A dealer of personal watercraft shall
36.15 distribute a summary of the laws and rules governing the operation of personal watercraft
36.16 and, upon request, shall provide instruction to a purchaser regarding:

36.17 (1) the laws and rules governing personal watercraft; and
36.18 (2) the safe operation of personal watercraft.
36.19

36.20
36.21
36.22

36.23
36.24
36.25
36.26

36.27
36.28

3620 thatagetSund-shatrecord-thepermiton-theformprovided-by-the-commission

36.30 te) Each dealer of personal watercraft erpersen-offering personal-wwatereraftforrent

36.31 shall have the person who purchases errents a personal watercraft sign a form provided by
36.32 the commissioner acknowledging that the purchaser or renter has been provided a copy of
37.1  the laws and rules regarding personal watercraft operation and has read them. The form
37.2  must be retained by the dealer erpersen-offeringpersonal-watereraftforrent for a period
373 of six months following the date of signature and must be made available for inspection by
37.4  sheriff's deputies or conservation officers during normal business hours.

37.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
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Sec. 19. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 89A.03, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Membership regulation. Terms, compensation, nomination, appointment, and
removal of council members are governed by section 15.059, except that a council member
may be compensated at the rate of up to $125 a day.

Sec. 21. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97A.015, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 32b. Native swan. "Native swan" means trumpeter swans and tundra swans and
does not include mute swans.

Sec. 25. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97A.475, subdivision 41, is amended to read:

Subd. 41. Turtle leenses license. (a)The-fee-fora-turtle-seller'sticense-to-sel-turtles
o-taketransport biry—ard-possess-tartlesforsale 155256~

Y Pott,oty;

) The fee for a recreational turtle license to take, transport, and possess turtles for
personal use is $25.

The-foeS 1o selles! ool 5 $100-

Sec. 27. [97B.673] NONTOXIC SHOT REQUIRED FOR TAKING SMALL GAME
IN CERTAIN AREAS.

Subdivision 1. Nontoxic shot on wildlife management areas in farmland zone. After
July 1, 2023, a person may not take small game, rails, or common snipe on any wildlife
management area within the farmland zone with shot other than:

(1) steel shot;

(2) copper-plated, nickel-plated, or zinc-plated steel shot; or

(3) shot made of other nontoxic material approved by the director of the United States
Fish and Wildlife Service.

Subd. 2. Farmland zone. For the purposes of this section, the farmland zone is the
portion of the state that falls south and west of Minnesota Highway 70 westward from the
Wisconsin border to Minnesota Highway 65 to Minnesota Highway 23 to U.S. Highway
169 at Milaca to Minnesota Highway 18 at Garrison to Minnesota Highway 210 at Brainerd
to U.S. Highway 10 at Motley to U.S. Highway 59 at Detroit Lakes northward to the
Canadian border.

Sec. 28. [97B.735] SWANS.

A person who takes, harasses, destroys, buys, sells, possesses, transports, or ships a
native swan in violation of the game and fish laws is guilty of a gross misdemeanor.
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Sec. 29. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97C.605, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Resident-angling license required Taking turtles; requirements. s
addition-to-any-other licenserequired-in-this-seetion; (a) A person may not take, possess,
or transport turtles without a resident angling license;exeeptasprovided-in-subdivision2e

and a recreational turtle license.

(b) Turtles taken from the wild are for personal use only and may not be resold.

Sec. 30. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 97C.605, subdivision 2c¢, is amended to read:

Subd. 2c. License exemptions. (a) A person does not need a-turtleselter'sticense-oran
anghnglieense the licenses specified under subdivision 1:

2) (1) when buying a turtle at a retail outlet; or

04

42.5

42.6

42.7

42.8

429

42.10

) (2) to take, possess, and rent ersel up to 25 turtles greater than four inches in length
for the purpose of providing the turtles to participants at a nonprofit turtle race, if the person
is a resident under age 18. The person is responsible for the well-being of the turtles.

(b) A person with an aquatic farm license with a turtle endorsement or a private fish
hatchery license with a turtle endorsement may sell, obtain, possess, transport, and propagate
turtles and turtle eggs according to Minnesota Rules, part 6256.0900, without the licenses
specified under subdivision 1.

Sec. 31. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 97C.605, subdivision 3, is amended
to read:

Subd. 3. Taking; methods prohibited. &} A person may not take turtles by using:
(1) explosives, drugs, poisons, lime, and other harmful substances;

(2) traps;-exeepta

(3) nets other than anglers' fish landing nets;

(4) commercial equipment:

(5) firearms and ammunition;
(6) bow and arrow or crossbow; or

(7) spears, harpoons, or any other implements that impale turtles.
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Sec. 32. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 97C.611, is amended to read:
97C.611 TURTLE SPECIES; LIMITS.

Subdivision 1. Snapping turtles. A person may not possess more than three snapping
turtles of the species Chelydra serpentina witheut-a-tartle-seller's-Hieense. Until new rules
are adopted under section 97C.605, a person may not take snapping turtles of a size less
than ten inches wide including curvature, measured from side to side across the shell at
midpoint. After new rules are adopted under section 97C.605, a person may only take
snapping turtles of a size specified in the adopted rules.

Subd. 2. Western painted turtles. (a) A person may not possess more than three Western
painted turtles of the species Chrysemys picta withouta-turtleseller'slieense. Western
painted turtles must be between 4 and 5-1/2 inches in shell length.

(b) This subdivision does not apply to persons acting under section 97C.605, subdivision
2c, paragraph (a), clause (4} (2).

Subd. 3. Spiny softshell. A person may not possess spiny softshell turtles of the species
Apalone spinifera afterDeeember1;202+, without an aquatic farm or private fish hatchery
license with a turtle endorsement.

Subd. 4. Other species. A person may not possess any other species of turtle witheut
except with an aquatic farm or private fish hatchery license with a turtle endorsement or as
specified under section 97C.605, subdivision 2c.

Sec. 33. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103B.101, subdivision 2, is amended to read:
Subd. 2. Voting members. (a) The members are:
(1) three county commissioners;
(2) three soil and water conservation district supervisors;
(3) three watershed district or watershed management organization representatives;

(4) three citizens who are not employed by, or the appointed or elected officials of, a
state governmental office, board, or agency;

(5) one township officer;

(6) two elected city officials, one of whom must be from a city located in the metropolitan
area, as defined under section 473.121, subdivision 2;
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(7) the commissioner of agriculture;

(8) the commissioner of health;

(9) the commissioner of natural resources;

(10) the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency; and

(11) the director of the University of Minnesota Extension Service.

(b) Members in paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (6), must be distributed across the state
with at least four members but not more than six members from the metropolitan area, as
defined by section 473.121, subdivision 2.

(c) Members in paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (6), are appointed by the governor. In making
the appointments, the governor may consider persons recommended by the Association of
Minnesota Counties, the Minnesota Association of Townships, the League of Minnesota
Cities, the Minnesota Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts, and the
Minnesota Association of Watershed Districts. The list submitted by an association must
contain at least three nominees for each position to be filled.

(d) The membership terms, compensation, removal of members and filling of vacancies
on the board for members in paragraph (a), clauses (1) to (6), are as provided in section
15.0575, except that a member may be compensated at the rate of up to $125 a day.

Sec. 34. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103B.103, is amended to read:
103B.103 EASEMENT STEWARDSHIP ACCOUNTS.

Subdivision 1. Accounts established; sources. (a) The water and soil conservation
easement stewardship account and the mitigation easement stewardship account are created
in the special revenue fund. The accounts consist of money credited to the accounts and
interest and other earnings on money in the accounts. The State Board of Investment must
manage the accounts to maximize long-term gain.

(b) Revenue from contributions and money appropriated for any purposes of the account
as described in subdivision 2 must be deposited in the water and soil conservation easement
stewardship account. Revenue from contributions, wetland-banking mitigation fees designated
for stewardship purposes by the board, easement stewardship payments authorized under
subdivision 3, and money appropriated for any purposes of the account as described in
subdivision 2 must be deposited in the mitigation easement stewardship account.

Subd. 2. Appropriation; purposes of accounts. (a) Five percent of the balance on July
1 each year in the water and soil conservation easement stewardship account and five percent
of the balance on July 1 each year in the mitigation easement stewardship account are
annually appropriated to the board and may be spent enly to cover the costs of managing
easements held by the board, including costs associated with:
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(1) repairing or replacing structures;

(2) monitorings;

(3) landowner contactss;

(4) records storage and managements;

(5) processing landowner noticess;

(6) requests for approval or amendments;

(7) enforcement;; and

(8) legal services associated with easement management activities.

(b) In addition to the amounts appropriated under paragraph (a), up to ten percent of the
balance on July 1 each year in the water and soil conservation easement stewardship account
and up to ten percent of the balance on July 1 each year in the mitigation easement
stewardship account are annually appropriated to the board for emergency repair and
replacement of water control structures when the amount appropriated in paragraph (a) is
insufficient to cover the costs. The board must include a summary of how money appropriated
under this paragraph in the prior two fiscal years was used in the report required under
section 103B.101, subdivision 9, paragraph (a), clause (7).

Subd. 3. Financial contributions. The board shall seek a financial contribution to the
water and soil conservation easement stewardship account for each conservation easement
acquired by the board. The board shall seek a financial contribution or assess an easement
stewardship payment to the mitigation easement stewardship account for each wetland
banking mitigation easement acquired by the board. Unless otherwise provided by law, the
board shall determine the amount of the contribution or payment, which must be an amount
calculated to earn sufficient money to meet the costs of managing the easement at a level
that neither significantly overrecovers nor underrecovers the costs. In determining the
amount of the financial contribution, the board shall consider:

(1) the estimated annual staff hours needed to manage the conservation easement, taking
into consideration factors such as easement type, size, location, and complexity;

(2) the average hourly wages for the class or classes of state and local employees expected
to manage the easement;

(3) the estimated annual travel expenses to manage the easement;

(4) the estimated annual miscellaneous costs to manage the easement, including supplies
and equipment, information technology support, and aerial flyovers;

(5) the estimated annualized costs of legal services, including the cost to enforce the
easement in the event of a violation; and
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(6) the estimated annualized costs for repairing or replacing water control structures;
and

6 (7) the expected rate of return on investments in the account.
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 35. [103B.104] LAWNS TO LEGUMES PROGRAM.

The Board of Water and Soil Resources must establish a program to provide grants or
payments to plant residential lawns with native vegetation and pollinator-friendly forbs and
legumes to protect a diversity of pollinators. The board must establish criteria for grants or
payments awarded under this section. Grants or payments awarded under this section may
be made for up to 75 percent of the costs of the project, except that, in areas identified by
the United States Fish and Wildlife Service as areas where there is a high potential for rusty
patched bumble bees to be present, grants may be awarded for up to 90 percent of the costs

of the project.
Sec. 36. [103C.701] SOIL HEALTH GOALS.

The state of Minnesota's soil health goals are that:

(1) at least 5,750,000 acres employ cover crops, perennial crops, no-till, or managed
rotational grazing by 2030;

(2) at least 11,500,000 acres employ cover crops, perennial crops, no-till, or managed
rotational grazing by 2035; and

(3) at least 23,000,000 acres employ cover crops, perennial crops, no-till, or managed
rotational grazing by 2040.

Sec. 37. [103E.122] DRAINAGE REGISTRY INFORMATION PORTAL.

(a) The executive director of the Board of Water and Soil Resources must establish and
maintain a drainage registry information portal that includes a searchable electronic database
of all documents initiating proceedings and nonpetitioned repairs under this chapter. The
database must permit members of the public to easily search for and retrieve documents by:

(1) the name of the county or watershed district where the petition or document was
filed;

(2) the type of petition or document filed;

(3) the date of the petition or document; and

(4) other identifiers that allow members of the public to easily access information on
the proceeding or repair.
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(b) For each proceeding, the database must include the contact information for a local
contact that can provide additional information on the proceeding or repair.

(c) For any proceeding or nonpetitioned repair brought under this chapter, the drainage
authority must file with the executive director an electronic copy of the petition or other
document initiating the drainage project or repair. The petition or other document must be
filed within ten calendar days of filing the petition or other document with the county auditor
or secretary or, for nonpetitioned repairs, within ten days of ordering the repair. A drainage
authority may not take any action on a drainage proceeding or repair if the proceeding does
not comply with this section.

(d) For any repair or maintenance undertaken under this chapter without a petition, the
drainage authority must file with the executive director an electronic copy of the drainage
inspection report or other document initiating the repair or maintenance within ten calendar
days of the drainage inspection report or other document being presented to the drainage
authority. A drainage authority may not take any action on a drainage inspector's report or
otherwise order a repair or maintenance until the drainage inspector's report has been posted
on the drainage registry information portal for 30 days.

Sec. 38. [103F.49] SOIL HEALTH COST-SHARE PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For purposes of this section, the terms in this subdivision
have the meanings given.

(b) "Board" means the Board of Water and Soil Resources.

(c) "Local units of government" has the meaning given under section 103B.305,
subdivision 5.

(d) "Soil health" has the meaning given under section 103C.101, subdivision 10a.

Subd. 2. Establishment. The board must administer a cost-share program consistent
with section 103C.501 to establish soil health practices that mitigate climate change impacts,
improve water quality, and provide related public benefits.

Subd. 3. Financial assistance. (a) The board may provide financial assistance to local
units of government, private sector providers, and farmers for the costs of soil health and
related water-quality practices consistent with a plan approved according to chapter 103B,
103C, or 103D. The board must establish costs eligible for financial and technical assistance
under this section.

(b) The board may enter into agreements with local units of government receiving
financial assistance under this subdivision.

(c) Financial assistance under this subdivision must give priority to multiyear contracts
and to leveraging contributions from nonstate sources.
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(d) Financial assistance under this subdivision must give priority to multiyear contracts
that prioritize long-term soil health practices, including but not limited to no-till, field
borders, prairie strips, and other practices sanctioned by the board or the United States
Department of Agriculture's Natural Resources Conservation Service, that, separately or
together with other conservation practices, provide durable soil health and related benefits.

Subd. 4. Technical assistance; review. (a) The board may employ or contract with
experts to implement the soil health program under this section.

(b) When implementing the soil health program, the board must:

(1) assist local units of government in achieving the objectives of the program;

(2) review and assess practice standards; and

(3) evaluate the effectiveness of completed practices.

Subd. 5. Federal aid availability. The board must regularly complete an analysis of the
availability of federal funds and programs to supplement or complement state and local
efforts consistent with the purposes of this section.

Sec. 39. [103G.134] ORDERS AND INVESTIGATIONS.

(a) The commissioner has the following powers and duties when acting pursuant to the
enforcement provisions of this chapter:

(1) to adopt, issue, reissue, modify, deny, revoke, enter into, or enforce reasonable orders,
schedules of compliance, and stipulation agreements;

(2) to issue notices of violation;

(3) to require a person holding a permit issued under this chapter or otherwise impacting
the public waters of the state without a permit issued under this chapter to:

(i) make reports;

(ii) install, use, and maintain monitoring equipment or methods;

(iii) perform tests according to methods, at locations, at intervals, and in a manner as
the commissioner prescribes; and

(iv) provide other information as the commissioner may reasonably require; and

(4) to conduct investigations; issue notices, public and otherwise; and order hearings as
the commissioner deems necessary or advisable to discharge duties under this chapter,
including but not limited to issuing permits and authorizing an employee or agent appointed
by the commissioner to conduct the investigations and other authorities cited in this section.
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49.1 Sec. 40. [103G.146] DUTY OF CANDOR.
49.2 (a) A person must not knowingly:
493 (1) make a false statement of fact or fail to correct a false statement of material fact

49.4  regarding any matter pertaining to this chapter;

49.5 (2) fail to disclose information that the person knows is necessary for the commissioner
49.6  to make an informed decision under this chapter; or

49.7 (3) offer information that the person knows to be false.

49.8 (b) If a person has offered material information to the commissioner and the person
49.9  comes to know the information is false, the person must take reasonable remedial measures
49.10  to provide the accurate information.

49.11 Sec. 41. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.271, is amended by adding a subdivision
49.12  to read:

49.13 Subd. 2a. Public meeting. Before issuing a water-use permit or a plan for consumptive
49.14  use of more than 100,000,000 gallons per year average, the commissioner must hold a public
49.15 meeting. The meeting may be held in the county affected most by the potential impact to
49.16  the public groundwater resource or by using interactive technology that allows members of
49.17  the public to participate from a remote location, including providing public comments during
49.18  the public comment period of the meeting. At least 21 days before the public meeting, the
49.19 commissioner must publish notice of the meeting in a newspaper of general circulation in
49.20 the county and must mail the notice to persons who have registered their names with the
49.21 commissioner for this purpose.

50.1 Sec. 43. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.299, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

50.2 Subdivision 1. Authority to issue administrative penalty orders. (a) As provided in
50.3  paragraph (b), the commissioner may issue an order requiring violations to be corrected
50.4  and administratively assessing monetary penalties for violations of sections 103G.271 and
50.5  103G.275, and any rules adopted under those sections.

50.6 (b) An order under this section may be issued to a person for water appropriation activities
50.7  without a required permit or for violating the terms of a required permit.

50.8 (c) The order must be issued as provided in this section and in accordance with the plan
50.9  prepared under subdivision 12.

50.10 Sec. 44. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.299, subdivision 2, is amended to read:

50.11 Subd. 2. Amount of penalty; c0n51derat10ns. (a) The commlssmner may issue orders
50.12 assessing administrative penalties ba g 3

50.13  Fera-violationthatpresents: up to $40, 000
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(b) In determining the amount of a penalty the commissioner may consider:

(1) the gravity of the violation, including potential for, or real, damage to the public
interest or natural resources of the state;

(2) the history of past violations;
(3) the number of violations;

(4) the economic benefit gained by the person by allowing or committing the violation
based on data from local or state bureaus or educational institutions; and

(5) other factors as justice may require, if the commissioner specifically identifies the
additional factors in the commissioner's order.

(c) For a violation after an initial violation, including a continuation of the initial violation,
the commissioner must, in determining the amount of a penalty, consider the factors in
paragraph (b) and the:

(1) similarity of the most recent previous violation and the violation to be penalized;
(2) time elapsed since the last violation;
(3) number of previous violations; and
(4) response of the person to the most recent previous violation identified.
Sec. 45. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.299, subdivision 5, is amended to read:

Subd. 5. Penalty. (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), if the commissioner determines
that the violation has been corrected or appropriate steps have been taken to correct the
action, the penalty must be forgiven. Unless the person requests review of the order under
subdivision 6 or 7 before the penalty is due, the penalty in the order is due and payable:

(1) on the 31st day after the order was received, if the person subject to the order fails
to provide information to the commissioner showing that the violation has been corrected
or that appropriate steps have been taken toward correcting the violation; or

(2) on the 20th day after the person receives the commissioner's determination under
subdivision 4, paragraph (c), if the person subject to the order has provided information to
the commissioner that the commissioner determines is not sufficient to show that the violation
has been corrected or that appropriate steps have been taken toward correcting the violation.
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(b) For repeated or serious violations, the commissioner may issue an order with a penalty
that is not forgiven after the corrective action is taken. The penalty is due by 31 days after
the order was is received, unless review of the order under subdivision 6 or 7 has-beet: is
sought.

(c) Interest at the rate established in section 549.09 begins to accrue on penalties under
this subdivision on the 31st day after the order with the penalty was is received.

Sec. 46. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 103G.299, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Cumulative remedy. The authority of the commissioner to issue a corrective
order assessmg penaltles is in addition to other remedles avallable under statutory or common

in connection with the violation for which the penalty was assessed.

Sec. 47. [103G.2991] PENALTIES; ENFORCEMENT.

Subdivision 1. Civil penalties. (a) The commissioner, according to section 103G.134,
may issue a notice to a person who violates:

(1) this chapter;
(2) a permit issued under this chapter or a term or condition of a permit issued under
this chapter;

(3) a duty under this chapter to permit an inspection, entry, or monitoring activity or a
duty under this chapter to carry out an inspection or monitoring activity;

(4) a rule adopted under this chapter;

(5) a stipulation agreement, variance, or schedule of compliance entered into under this
chapter; or

(6) an order issued by the commissioner under this chapter.

(b) A person issued a notice forfeits and must pay to the state a penalty, in an amount
to be determined by the district court, of not more than $10,000 per day of violation.

(c) In the discretion of the district court, a defendant under this section may be required

to:

(1) forfeit and pay to the state a sum that adequately compensates the state for the
reasonable value of restoration, monitoring, and other expenses directly resulting from the
unauthorized use of or damage to natural resources of the state; and
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(2) forfeit and pay to the state an additional sum to constitute just compensation for any
damage, loss, or destruction of the state's natural resources and for other actual damages to
the state caused by an unauthorized use of natural resources of the state.

(d) As a defense to damages assessed under paragraph (c), a defendant may prove that
the violation was caused solely by:

(1) an act of God;
(2) an act of war;

(3) negligence on the part of the state;

(4) an act or failure to act that constitutes sabotage or vandalism; or

(5) any combination of clauses (1) to (5).

(e) The civil penalties and damages provided for in this subdivision may be recovered
by a civil action brought by the attorney general in the name of the state in Ramsey County
District Court. Civil penalties and damages provided for in this subdivision may be resolved
by the commissioner through a negotiated stipulation agreement according to the authority
granted to the commissioner in section 103G.134.

Subd. 2. Enforcement. This chapter and rules, standards, orders, stipulation agreements,
schedules of compliance, and permits adopted or issued by the commissioner under this
chapter or any other law for preventing, controlling, or abating damage to natural resources
may be enforced by one or more of the following:

(1) criminal prosecution;

(2) action to recover civil penalties;
(3) injunction;

(4) action to compel performance; or

(5) other appropriate action according to this chapter.

Subd. 3. Injunctions. A violation of this chapter or rules, standards, orders, stipulation
agreements, variances, schedules of compliance, and permits adopted or issued under this
chapter constitutes a public nuisance and may be enjoined as provided by law in an action,
in the name of the state, brought by the attorney general.

Subd. 4. Actions to compel performance. (a) In an action to compel performance of
an order issued by the commissioner for any purpose related to preventing, controlling, or
abating damage to natural resources under this chapter, the court may require a defendant
adjudged responsible to do and perform any and all acts and things within the defendant's
power that are reasonably necessary to accomplish the purposes of the order.
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53.24 (b) In case a municipality or its governing or managing body or any of its officers is a
53.25 defendant, the court may require the municipality to exercise its powers, without regard to
53.26 any limitation of a requirement for an election or referendum imposed thereon by law and
53.27 without restricting the powers of the commissioner, to do any or all of the following, without
53.28 limiting the generality hereof:

53.29 (1) levy taxes or special assessments;

53.30 (2) prescribe service or use charges;

53.31 (3) borrow money;
53.32 (4) issue bonds;

54.1 (5) employ assistance;

54.2 (6) acquire real or personal property;

54.3 (7) let contracts;

54.4 (8) otherwise provide for doing work or constructing, installing, maintaining, or operating

54.5  facilities; and

54.6 (9) do all other acts and things reasonably necessary to accomplish the purposes of the
54.7  order.
54.8 (c) The court must grant a municipality under paragraph (b) the opportunity to determine

54.9  the appropriate financial alternatives to be used to comply with the court-imposed
54.10 requirements.

54.11 (d) An action brought under this subdivision must be venued in Ramsey County District
54.12  Court.

54.13 Sec. 48. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115.061, is amended to read:
54.14 115.061 DUTY TO NOTIFY; AVOIDING WATER POLLUTION.

54.15 (a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), it is the duty of every person to notify the agency
54.16 immediately of the discharge, accidental or otherwise, of any substance or material under
54.17 its control which, if not recovered, may cause pollution of waters of the state, and the

54.18 responsible person shall recover as rapidly and as thoroughly as possible such substance or
54.19 material and take immediately such other action as may be reasonably possible to minimize
54.20 or abate pollution of waters of the state caused thereby.

54.21 (b) Notification is not required under paragraph (a) for a discharge of five gallons or
54.22 less of petroleum, as defined in section 115C.02, subdivision 10. This paragraph does not
54.23  affect the other requirements of paragraph (a).

54.24 (c) Promptly after notifying the agency of a discharge under paragraph (a), a publicly
54.25 owned treatment works or a publicly or privately owned domestic sewer system owner must
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provide notice to the potentially impacted public and to any downstream drinking water
facility that may be impacted by the discharge. Notice to the public and to any drinking
water facility must be made using the most efficient communications system available to
the facility owner such as in person, phone call, radio, social media, web page, or another
expedited form. In addition, signs in sufficient number to alert the public must be posted at
all impacted public use areas within the same jurisdiction or notice must be provided to the
entity that has jurisdiction over any impacted public use areas. A notice under this paragraph
must include the date and time of the discharge, a description of the material released, a
warning of the potential public health risk, and the permittee's contact information. The
agency must provide guidance that includes but is not limited to methods and protocols for
providing timely notice under this section.

Sec. 49. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115.071, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 3a. Public informational meeting. (a) The commissioner, before finalizing a
stipulation agreement or consent decree with a facility in which the agency is seeking a
settlement amount greater than $25,000, must hold a public informational meeting at a
convenient time at a location near the facility to:

(1) notwithstanding section 13.39, subdivision 2, describe the amount, frequency,
duration, and chemical nature of the pollution released or emitted by the facility and the
risks to public health and the environment from that exposure; and

(2) allow members of the public, including those persons potentially exposed to pollution
released or emitted from the facility, to make the agency aware of:

(i) interactions between the facility and the public regarding the facility's operations;

(ii) operational problems or incidents that have occurred at the facility; and

(iii) suggestions regarding supplemental environmental projects that the public may
prefer as part of a stipulation agreement or consent decree between the facility and the

agency.
(b) For the purposes of this section, "supplemental environmental project” means a
project that benefits the environment or public health and that a regulated facility agrees to

undertake as part of a settlement with respect to an enforcement action taken by the agency
to resolve noncompliance.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 50. [115A.5591] COMPOSTING; MULTIFAMILY BUILDINGS;
COMPETITIVE GRANT PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have
the meanings given.
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(b) "Common interest community" has the meaning given in section 515B.1-103, clause
10).

(c) "Composting" means the controlled biological decomposition of source-separated
food wastes through an aerobic method of accelerating natural decomposition that takes
place at a site separate from the residence or location of any generator of source-separated
food wastes.

(d) "Homeowners association" means an association of residential unit owners that is
organized to govern and administer a common interest community, regardless of whether
the common interest community is subject to chapter 515B.

(e) "Minnesota Tribal government" has the meaning given in section 10.65, subdivision
2, paragraph (a), clause (4).

() "Multifamily building" means an apartment facility containing four or more dwelling
units, each to be rented by a person or family for use as a residence.

(g) "Source-separated food wastes" means food wastes that are separated at the source
by waste generators for the purpose of preparing them for composting.

Subd. 2. Grant program established. The commissioner must establish a competitive
grant program to provide financial assistance to develop and implement pilot projects that
encourage and increase composting by residents of multifamily buildings in areas where
compost is not collected at curbside. Each grant must include an educational component on
the methods and benefits of composting.

Subd. 3. Eligible applicants. A grant may be awarded under this section to:

(1) a political subdivision;

(2) an owner of a multifamily building;

(3) an organization that is exempt from taxation under section 501(c)(3) of the Internal
Revenue Code;

(4) a Minnesota Tribal government; or

(5) a homeowners association.

Subd. 4. Application. The commissioner must develop forms and procedures for
soliciting and reviewing applications for grants under this section.

Subd. 5. Eligible expenditures. Appropriations made for the grant program under this
section may be used only to:

(1) provide grants as specified in this section; and
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(2) reimburse the reasonable expenses of the Pollution Control Agency in administering
the grant program.

Subd. 6. Grant awards. In awarding grants under this section, the commissioner shall
give priority to applications filed by applicants who meet the conditions of subdivision 3,
clause (3).

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 51. [115A.561] ZERO-WASTE GRANT PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following definitions
apply.
(b) "Adaptive management practices" means the integration of project design,

management, and monitoring to identify project impacts and outcomes as they arise and
adjust behaviors to improve outcomes.

(c) "Eligible entity" means a nonprofit or unit of government.

(d) "Embodied energy" means energy that was used to create a product or material.

(e) "Living wage" means the minimum income necessary to allow a person working 40
hours per week to afford the cost of housing, food, and other material necessities.

(f) "Organics recycling" means the biological processes by which organics streams are
converted to compost that is not harmful to humans, plants, or animals.

(g) "Recycling" means the mechanical processing of materials that have reached the end
of their current use into materials to be used in the production of new products. Recycling
does not include incineration or any energy recovery process or depolymerization or a

similar process.

(h) "Reuse" does not mean incineration, but does mean:

(1) using a product, packaging, or resource more than once for the same or a new function
with little or no processing; or

(2) repairing a product so it can be used longer, sharing or renting it, or selling or donating
it to another party.

(1) "Source reduction" does not mean incineration, but does mean:

(1) activities that reduce consumption of products or services that create physical outputs,
such as packaging, that are secondary to the intended use of the item being consumed;

(2) measures or techniques that reduce the amount of waste generated during production
processes; and
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(3) reducing or eliminating use of materials that are not able to be recycled without
degrading the quality of the material.

(j) "Source-separated" means the separation of a stream of recyclable materials at the
point of waste creation before materials are collected and centralized. Source-separated
does not include technologies that sort mixed municipal solid waste into recyclable and
nonrecyclable materials.

(k) "Waste prevention" means reuse, recycling, and other methods to reduce the amount
of materials disposed of in landfills or incinerated.

(1) "Zero waste" means conservation of all resources by means of responsible production,
consumption, reuse, and recovery of products, packaging, and materials without burning
or otherwise destroying embodied energy, with no discharges to land, water, or air that
threaten the environment or human health.

(m) "Zero-waste practice" means a practice used to help achieve zero waste, including
source reduction and waste prevention.

Subd. 2. Establishment. The commissioner must establish a competitive grant program
for eligible entities to pursue projects that are consistent with zero-waste practices, including
projects in the following four categories:

(1) electronic waste reuse and recycling under subdivision 3;

(2) source reduction under subdivision 4;

(3) market development under subdivision 5; and

(4) organics recycling infrastructure under subdivision 6.

Subd. 3. Electronic waste reuse and recycling. Projects under this subdivision must
relate to electronic waste reuse and recycling and must be carried out by an organization
certified in sustainable electronic waste standards by an organization accredited by the
National Accreditation Board of the American National Standards Institute and the American
Society for Quality, or another accrediting body as determined by the commissioner. Grant
funds for the projects may be used for infrastructure, technology, research and development,
and product refurbishment. Projects must not include an electronic waste buy-back program
that provides compensation for used electronics as a credit toward the purchase of additional
electronics.

Subd. 4. Source reduction. Projects under this subdivision must relate to source
reduction. Grants for the projects may be used for educational programming and outreach
activities to encourage consumer behavior change or for product or manufacturing redesign
or redevelopment to reduce by-products, packaging, and other outputs. For projects involving
product or manufacturing redesign or redevelopment, the applicable manufacturer must pay
a living wage and the redevelopment or redesign must not result in higher toxicity or more
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complicated recyclability of the product or by-products or increased volume of the
by-products.

Subd. 5. Market development. Projects under this subdivision must relate to market
development with respect to source reduction or waste prevention, including creating demand
for sorted recyclable commodities and refurbished goods. The projects must target easily
or commonly recycled materials that are disproportionately disposed of in landfills or
incinerated and must reduce the volume, weight, or toxicity of waste and waste by-products.
Projects must not conflict with other laws or requirements as identified by the commissioner.

Subd. 6. Organics recycling infrastructure. Projects under this subdivision must relate
to organics recycling infrastructure. Grants for the projects may be used for facilities,
machinery, equipment, and other physical necessities required for organics collection or
processing on a city- or county-wide scale. Projects under this subdivision must result in
increased capacity for residential and commercial source-separated organics streams and
generate a usable product that has demonstrable environmental benefits when compared to
the input materials, such as compost with added nutritional content. Projects may not include
mixed-waste composting.

Subd. 7. Grant process. (a) The commissioner must award grants to eligible entities
through a competitive grant process.

(b) To receive a grant, an eligible entity must submit a written application to the
commissioner using the form developed by the commissioner and including any information
requested by the commissioner.

(c) The application must demonstrate that the eligible entity has set specific source
reduction or waste prevention targets and that the project will take place in a community in
the 80th percentile or higher for one or more pollutants as noted in the EJScreen tool, or
any successor system, of the federal Environmental Protection Agency.

Subd. 8. Award criteria. In awarding grants under this section, the commissioner must
give priority to eligible entities with projects that:

(1) could lead to the creation of new jobs that pay a living wage, with additional
preference for jobs for individuals with barriers to employment;

(2) achieve source reduction or waste prevention in schools;

(3) employ adaptive management practices to identify, prevent, or address any negative
environmental consequences of the proposed project;

(4) demonstrate need for additional investment in infrastructure and projects to achieve
source reduction and waste prevention targets set by the local unit of government responsible
for waste and recycling projects in the geographic area;
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(5) will develop innovative or new technologies or strategies for source reduction and

(6) will encourage further investment in source reduction and waste prevention projects;

(7) will incorporate multistakeholder involvement, including nonprofit, commercial,
and public sector partners.

Subd. 9. Report to the legislature. By January 15, 2024, the commissioner must submit
a report as required under section 3.195 that details the use of grant money. A copy of this
report must also be sent to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative
committees with jurisdiction over economic development and environment.

Sec. 52. [115A.993] PROHIBITED DISPOSAL METHODS.

A person must not dispose of seed treated with neonicotinoid pesticide in a manner
inconsistent with the product label, where applicable, or by:

(1) burying near a drinking water source or any creek, stream, river, lake, or other surface
water;

(2) composting; or

(3) incinerating within a home or other dwelling.

Sec. 53. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115B.17, subdivision 14, is amended to read:

Subd. 14. Requests for review, investigation, and oversight. (a) The commissioner
may, upon request, assist a person in determining whether real property has been the site
of a release or threatened release of a hazardous substance, pollutant, or contaminant. The
commissioner may also assist in, or supervise, the development and implementation of
reasonable and necessary response actions. Assistance may include review of agency records
and files, and review and approval of a requester's investigation plans and reports and
response action plans and implementation.

(b) Except as otherwise provided in this paragraph, the person requesting assistance
under this subdivision shall pay the agency for the agency's cost, as determined by the
commissioner, of providing assistance. A state agency, political subdivision, or other public
entlty is not requlred to pay for the agency s cost to rev1ew agency records and files. Meney
r The first $350,000 received annually
by the agency for ass1stance under thls subdivision from persons who are not otherwise
responsible under sections 115B.01 to 115B.18 must be deposited in the remediation fund
and is exempt from section 16A.1285. Money received after the first $350,000 must be
deposited in the state treasury and credited to an account in the special revenue fund. Money
in the account is annually appropriated to the commissioner for the purposes of administering
this subdivision.
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(c) When a person investigates a release or threatened release in accordance with an
investigation plan approved by the commissioner under this subdivision, the investigation
does not associate that person with the release or threatened release for the purpose of section
115B.03, subdivision 3, paragraph (a), clause (4).

Sec. 54. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 115B.171, is amended to read:
115B.171 TESTING FOR PRIVATE WELLS; EAST METROPOLITAN AREA.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have
the meanings given.

(b) "East metropolitan area" means:

(1) the cities of Afton, Cottage Grove, Lake Elmo, Maplewood, Newport, Oakdale, St.
Paul Park, and Woodbury;

(2) the townships of Denmark, Grey Cloud Island, and West Lakeland; and

(3) other areas added by the commissioner that have a potential for significant
groundwater pollution from PEEs PFAS.

(c) “PECs" "PFAS" means i i perfluoroalkyl and
polyfluoroalkyl substances.

Subd. 2. Testing for private wells. To provide results of PE€ PFAS groundwater
monitoring to the public, the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency must develop
a web page that may include, but is not limited to, the following:

(1) the process for private and public well PEE PFAS sampling in the east metropolitan
area;

(2) an interactive map system that allows the public to view locations of the Department
of Health well advisories and areas projected to be sampled for PECs PFAS; and

(3) how to contact the Pollution Control Agency or Department of Health staff to answer
questions on sampling of private wells.

Subd. 3. Test reporting. (a) By January February 15 each year, the commissioner of
the Pollution Control Agency must report to each community in the east metropolitan area
a summary of the results of the testing for private wells in the community. The report must
include information on the number of wells tested and trends of PFE€ PFAS contamination
in private wells in the community. Reports to communities under this section must also be
published on the Pollution Control Agency's website.

(b) By January February 15 each year, the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency
must report to the legislature, as provided in section 3.195, on the testing for private wells
conducted in the east metropolitan area, including copies of the community reports required
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in paragraph (a), the number of requests for well testing in each community, and the total
amount spent for testing private wells in each community.

Sec. 56. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116.06, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Applicability. The definitions given in this section shall obtain for the
purposes of sections 116.01 to H6-075 116.076 except as otherwise expressly provided or
indicated by the context.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 57. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 6a. Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Pollution

Control Agency.
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 58. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 10a. Environmental justice. "Environmental justice" means that:

(1) communities of color, Indigenous communities, and low-income communities have
a healthy environment and are treated fairly when environmental statutes, rules, and policies
are developed, adopted, implemented, and enforced; and

(2) in all decisions that have the potential to affect the environment of an environmental
justice area or the public health of its residents, due consideration is given to the history of
the area's and its residents' cumulative exposure to pollutants and to any current
socioeconomic conditions that increase the physical sensitivity of those residents to additional
exposure to pollutants.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 59. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 10b. Environmental justice area. "Environmental justice area" means one or
more census tracts in the state:

(1) in which, based on the most recent data published by the United States Census Bureau:

(1) 40 percent or more of the population is nonwhite;

(ii) 35 percent or more of the households have an income at or below 200 percent of the
federal poverty level; or
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(iii) 40 percent or more of the population over the age of five has limited English
(2) that is in Indian Country, as defined in United States Code, title 18, section 1151.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 60. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 14a. Microplastics. "Microplastics" means small pieces of plastic debris in the
environment that are less than five millimeters in length and that result from the disposal
and breakdown of consumer products and industrial waste.

Sec. 61. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 14b. Nanoplastics. "Nanoplastics" means particles with a size ranging from one
to 1,000 nanometers that are unintentionally produced from the manufacture or degradation
of plastic objects and that exhibit a colloidal behavior.

Sec. 62. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116.06, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 17a. Plastic. "Plastic" means an organic or petroleum derivative synthetic or a
semisynthetic organic solid that is moldable and to which additives or other substances may
have been added. Plastic does not mean natural polymers that have not been chemically
modified.

Sec. 63. [116.062] AIR TOXICS EMISSIONS REPORTING.

(a) The commissioner must require each facility operating under an air quality permit
issued by the agency to annually report the facility's air toxics emissions to the agency,
including a facility not required as a condition of its air quality permit to keep records of
air toxics emissions. The commissioner must determine the method to be used by a facility
to directly measure or estimate air toxics emissions. The commissioner must incorporate
the requirement to annually report air toxics emissions into the air quality permit of each
facility subject to this section.

(b) For the purposes of this section, "air toxic" means a chemical compound or compound
class that is emitted into the air by a permitted facility and that is listed, reported, or identified
under any of the following categories:

(1) hazardous air pollutants listed under the federal Clean Air Act, United States Code,
title 42, section 7412, as amended;
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(2) chemicals reported as released into the atmosphere by a facility located in the state
for the Toxic Release Inventory under the federal Emergency Planning and Community
Right-to-Know Act, United States Code, title 42, section 11023, as amended;

(3) chemicals of high concern, as listed by the Department of Health under section
116.9402;

(4) chemicals for which the Department of Health has adopted health-based values or
risk assessment advice;

(5) chemicals for which the risk to human health has been assessed by the federal
Environmental Protection Agency's Integrated Risk Information System;

(6) chemicals for which emission limits are incorporated into current facility permits;

and

(7) chemicals reported by facilities in the agency's triennial emissions inventory.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 64. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116.07, subdivision 4a, is amended to read:

Subd. 4a. Permits. (a) The PeHution-Contrel- Ageney commissioner may issue, continue
in effect or deny permits, under such conditions as it may prescribe for the prevention of

pollution, for the emission of air contaminants, or for the installation or operation of any
emission facility, air contaminant treatment facility, treatment facility, potential air
contaminant storage facility, or storage facility, or any part thereof, or for the sources or
emissions of noise pollution.

(b) The PeHution-Contrel-Ageney commissioner may also issue, continue in effect or

deny permits, under such conditions as it may prescribe for the prevention of pollution, for
the storage, collection, transportation, processing, or disposal of waste, or for the installation
or operation of any system or facility, or any part thereof, related to the storage, collection,
transportation, processing, or disposal of waste.

(c) The ageney commissioner may not issue a-pessit, renew, or approve a major
amendment to a facility permit that potentially increases pollution levels or the toxicity of
emissions in an environmental justice area without analyzing and considering:

(1) the cumulative levels and effects of past and current environmental pollution from
all sources on the environment and residents of the geegraphie-area-within-which-the-faetlity's

1
O vty

environmental justice area, including mobile sources and toxic chemicals contaminating
soils; and
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(2) the demographic, social, and economic characteristics of the exposed population in
the environmental justice area that affect the population's sensitivity to exposure to additional

pollution, as required under subdivision 4m.

(d) The PeHution-Contrel-Ageney commissioner may revoke or modify any permit issued
under this subdivision and section 116.081 whenever it is necessary, in the opinion of the

ageney commissioner, to prevent or abate pollution.

(e) The Pellution-Centrol-Ageney commissioner has the authority for approval over the
siting, expansion, or operation of a solid waste facility with regard to environmental issues.

However, the-ageney's issuance of a permit does not release the permittee from any liability,
penalty, or duty imposed by any applicable county ordinances. Nothing in this chapter
precludes, or shall be construed to preclude, a county from enforcing land use controls,
regulations, and ordinances existing at the time of the permit application and adopted
pursuant to sections 366.10 to 366.181, 394.21 to 394.37, or 462.351 to 462.365, with regard
to the siting, expansion, or operation of a solid waste facility.

(f) Except as prohibited by federal law, a person may commence construction,
reconstruction, replacement, or modification of any facility prierte-theissuaneeofa
eonstruetion-permitby-the-ageney before the commissioner issues a construction permit.

(g) A permit application must indicate whether the permit action sought is likely to
impact the environment or the health of residents of an environmental justice area and must
include the data used by the applicant to make the determination. If the application is filed
before the commissioner identifies all environmental justice areas in the state under section
116.076, the commissioner must determine whether, based on the application's projected
impacts of issuing the permit, the area impacted qualifies as an environmental justice area
and whether, as a result, a cumulative analysis is required.

(h) The commissioner must review the applicant's determination made under paragraph
(g), and is responsible for determining whether a proposed permit will impact the environment
or health of an environmental justice area.
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(i) The agency's reasonable costs of complying with this subdivision are to be reimbursed
by the permit applicant.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
applies to an application for a new permit, permit renewal, or major permit amendment filed
with the commissioner on or after that date.

Sec. 65. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 4m. Demographic analysis. (a) A permit applicant subject to subdivision 4a,
paragraph (c), must provide the information listed in clauses (1) to (15), if available, in the
permit application. The commissioner, in collaboration with the State Demographic Center,
the Minnesota Department of Health, and other state agencies, must provide an applicant
with a list of sources for the information required in clauses (1) to (15). The information is
intended to indicate the degree of sensitivity of the exposed population to incremental
pollution emitted from a facility seeking a permit or permit amendment and the exposed
population's ability to withstand, respond to, or recover from exposure to additional pollution.
This required information includes:

(1) racial and ethnic characteristics;

(2) income and poverty levels;

(3) the age distribution;

(4) the birth rate;

(5) education levels;

(6) the incidence of and hospital admission rates for respiratory disease, pulmonary
disease, cancer, diabetes, asthma, high levels of blood lead concentrations, compromised
immune systems, and other conditions that may be exacerbated by exposure to pollution;

(7) the incidence of substandard housing conditions;

(8) the proportion of the population without access to health insurance and medical care;

(9) the proportion of the population receiving public assistance and medical assistance;

(10) the incidence of low and very low food security, as defined by the United States
Department of Agriculture publication Food Security in the U.S., Definitions of Food
Security (2006 and as subsequently amended);

(11) biomonitoring data indicating body burdens of environmental pollutants;

(12) the presence of subpopulations that may be particularly sensitive to exposure to
additional pollutants, including workers exposed to toxic chemicals in the workplace and
subsistence fishers and hunters;
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(13) microclimate or topographical factors of the area that affect exposure levels;

(14) other environmental stressors, including but not limited to noise, that impact the
area population; and

(15) how the factors examined under this paragraph may interact to increase the likelihood
of portions of the population sustaining an adverse effect from exposure to the additional
pollution emitted by the permitted facility.

(b) A permit applicant must provide the information required under this subdivision to
the commissioner in a format and at a level of quality and completeness required by the

(c) The costs of complying with this subdivision must be paid by the permit applicant.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
applies to an application for a new permit, permit renewal, or major permit amendment filed
with the commissioner on or after that date.

Sec. 66. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 4n. Permits; environmental justice area. (a) At a public meeting held on a permit
application required to undergo a cumulative analysis under subdivision 4a, paragraph (c),
the commissioner must ensure that an accurate and complete reporting of public comments
is made part of the public record on which the decision on permit issuance is based.

(b) Notwithstanding any other law, the commissioner must, after reviewing the permit
application, the analysis of cumulative pollution conducted under subdivision 4a, paragraph
(c), the permit applicant's demographic analysis under subdivision 4m, and any additional
relevant information, including testimony and written comments received at a public meeting,
determine whether the incremental environmental impacts that would result in an
environmental justice area from approving the permit will, in conjunction with the cumulative
pollution impacts and any heightened sensitivity to additional pollution of residents of the
environmental justice area, cause or contribute to increased levels of environmental or health
impacts compared with denying the permit.

(b) If the commissioner determines that approving the permit would cause or contribute
to increased levels of environmental or health impacts compared with denying the permit,
the commissioner must:

(1) deny the permit; or

(2) place conditions on the permit that eliminate any contribution to increased levels of
environmental or health impacts from the permitted facility in an environmental justice
area.
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EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
applies to an application for a new permit, permit renewal, or major permit amendment filed
with the agency on or after that date.

Sec. 67. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 7f. Financial assurance. (a) Before the commissioner issues or renews a permit
for a feedlot with a capacity of 1,000 or more animal units, the permit applicant must submit
to the commissioner proof of financial assurance that satisfies the requirements under this
subdivision. Financial assurance must be of an amount sufficient to pay the closure costs
determined under paragraph (c) for the feedlot and manure storage area, with all terms and
conditions of the financial assurance instrument approved by the commissioner. The
commissioner, in evaluating financial assurance, may consult individuals with documented
experience in the analysis. The applicant must pay all costs incurred by the commissioner
to obtain this analysis.

(b) A permittee must maintain sufficient financial assurance for the duration of the permit
and demonstrate to the commissioner's satisfaction that:

(1) the funds will be available and made payable to the commissioner if the commissioner
determines the permittee is not in full compliance with the closure requirements established
by the commissioner in rule for feedlots and manure storage areas;

(2) the financial assurance instrument is fully valid, binding, and enforceable under state
and federal law;

(3) the financial assurance instrument is not dischargeable through bankruptcy; and

(4) the financial assurance provider will give the commissioner at least 120 days' notice
before canceling the financial assurance instrument.

(c) The permit applicant must submit to the commissioner a documented estimate of
costs required to implement the closure requirements established by the commissioner in
rule for feedlots and manure storage areas. Cost estimates must incorporate current dollar
values at the time of estimate and any additional costs required by the commissioner to
oversee and hire a third party to implement the closure requirements. The applicant must
not incorporate the estimated salvage or market value of manure, animals, structures,
equipment, land, or other assets. The commissioner must evaluate and may modify the
applicant's cost estimates and may consult individuals with documented experience in feedlot
or manure storage area closure or remediation. The applicant must pay all costs incurred
by the commissioner to obtain this consultation.

Sec. 68. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 7g. Abandoned manure storage areas. At least annually, the commissioner must
compile a list of abandoned manure storage areas in this state. A list compiled under this
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subdivision is not a feedlot inventory for purposes of subdivision 7b. For purposes of this
subdivision, "abandoned manure storage areas" means solid and liquid manure storage areas
that have:

(1) been previously registered with the state as a feedlot with a manure storage area; and

(2) permanently ceased operation and are subject to, but not in compliance with, the
closure requirements established by the commissioner in rule for feedlots and manure storage
areas; or

(3) been unused for at least three years.

Sec. 69. [116.076] ENVIRONMENTAL JUSTICE AREAS; BOUNDARIES; MAPS.

(a) No later than December 1, 2022, the commissioner must determine the boundaries
of all environmental justice areas in Minnesota. The determination of the geographic
boundaries of an environmental justice area may be appealed by filing a petition that contains
evidence to support amending the commissioner's determination. The petition must be
signed by at least 100 residents of census tracts within or adjacent to the environmental
justice area, as determined by the commissioner. The commissioner may, after reviewing
the petition, amend the boundaries of an environmental justice area.

(b) The commissioner must post updated maps of each environmental justice area in the
state on the agency website.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 70. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116C.03, subdivision 2a, is amended to read:

Subd. 2a. Public members. The membership terms, compensation, removal, and filling
of vacancies of public members of the board shall be as provided in section 15.0575, except
that a public member may be compensated at the rate of up to $125 a day.

Sec. 71. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116D.04, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 2c. Demographic analysis. An environmental assessment worksheet and
environmental impact statement that indicate that a proposed project increases pollution
levels or the toxicity of emissions in an environmental justice area, as defined under section
116.06, must contain a demographic analysis of the population exposed to the proposed
project's impacts as required under section 116.07, subdivision 4m.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment and
applies to an environmental assessment worksheet that has been determined by a responsible
governmental unit to be complete on or after that date and to an environmental impact
statement determined by a responsible governmental unit to be adequate on or after that
date.
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Sec. 72. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 116P.05, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Membership. (a) A Legislative-Citizen Commission on Minnesota
Resources of 17 members is created in the legislative branch, consisting of the chairs of the
house of representatives and senate committees on environment and natural resources finance
or designees appointed for the terms of the chairs, four members of the senate appointed
by the Subcommittee on Committees of the Committee on Rules and Administration, and
four members of the house of representatives appointed by the speaker.

(b) At least two members from the senate and two members from the house of
representatives must be from the minority caucus. Members are entitled to reimbursement
for per diem expenses plus travel expenses incurred in the services of the commission.

(c) Seven citizens are members of the commission, five appointed by the governor, one
appointed by the Senate Subcommittee on Committees of the Committee on Rules and
Administration, and one appointed by the speaker of the house. The citizen members are
selected and recommended to the appointing authorities according to subdivision la and
must:

(1) have experience or expertise in the science, policy, or practice of the protection,
conservation, preservation, and enhancement of the state's air, water, land, fish, wildlife,
and other natural resources;

(2) have strong knowledge in the state's environment and natural resource issues around
the state; and

(3) have demonstrated ability to work in a collaborative environment.

(d) Members shall develop procedures to elect a chair that rotates between legislative
and citizen members each meeting. A citizen member, a senate member, and a house of
representatives member shall serve as chairs. The citizen members, senate members, and
house of representatives members must select their respective chairs. The chair shall preside
and convene meetings as often as necessary to conduct duties prescribed by this chapter.

(e) Appointed legislative members shall serve on the commission for two-year terms,
beginning in January of each odd-numbered year and continuing through the end of December
of the next even-numbered year. Appointed citizen members shall serve four-year terms,
beginning in January of the first year and continuing through the end of December of the
final year. Citizen and legislative members continue to serve until their successors are
appointed.

(f) A citizen member may be removed by an appointing authority for cause. Vacancies
occurring on the commission shall not affect the authority of the remaining members of the
commission to carry out their duties, and vacancies shall be filled for the remainder of the
term in the same manner under paragraphs (a) to (c).
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73.5 (g) Citizen members are entitled to per diem and reimbursement for expenses incurred
73.6  in the services of the commission, as provided in section 15.059, subdivision 3, except that
73.7  acitizen member may be compensated at the rate of up to $125 a day.

73.8 (h) The governor's appointments are subject to the advice and consent of the senate.
75.20 Sec. 75. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 171.07, is amended by adding a subdivision to
7521 read:

75.22 Subd. 20. Watercraft operator's permit. (a) The department must maintain in its

75.23  records information transmitted electronically from the commissioner of natural resources
75.24  identifying each person to whom the commissioner of natural resources has issued a

75.25 watercraft operator's permit. The records transmitted from the Department of Natural
75.26  Resources must contain the full name and date of birth as required for the driver's license
75.27 or identification card. Records that are not matched to a driver's license or identification
75.28 card record may be deleted after seven years.

75.29 (b) After receiving information under paragraph (a) that a person has received a watercraft
7530 operator's permit, the department must include on all drivers' licenses or Minnesota

75.31 identification cards subsequently issued to the person a graphic or written indication that

75.32  the person has received the permit.

76.1 (c) If a person who has received a watercraft operator's permit applies for a driver's
76.2  license or Minnesota identification card before that information has been transmitted to the
76.3  department, the department may accept a copy of the certificate as proof of its issuance and
76.4  must then follow the procedures in paragraph (b).

76.5 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.

80.14 Sec. 78. [325E.3892] LEAD AND CADMIUM IN CONSUMER PRODUCTS;
80.15 PROHIBITION.

80.16 Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, "covered product" means any
80.17  of the following products or product components:

80.18 (1) jewelry;

80.19 (2) toys;

80.20 (3) cosmetics and personal care products;

80.21 (4) puzzles, board games, card games, and similar games;
80.22 (5) play sets and play structures;

80.23 (6) outdoor games;
80.24 (7) school supplies;
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(8) pots and pans;

(9) cups, bowls, and other food containers;

(10) craft supplies and jewelry-making supplies;

(11) chalk, crayons, paints, and other art supplies;

(12) fidget spinners;

(13) costumes, costume accessories, and children's and seasonal party supplies;

(14) keys, key chains, and key rings; and

(15) clothing, footwear, headwear, and accessories.

Subd. 2. Prohibition. (a) A person must not import, manufacture, sell, hold for sale, or
distribute or offer for use in this state any covered product containing;:

(1) lead at more than 0.009 percent by total weight (90 parts per million); or

(2) cadmium at more than 0.0075 percent by total weight (75 parts per million).

(b) This section does not apply to covered products containing lead or cadmium, or both,
when regulation is preempted by federal law.

Subd. 3. Enforcement. The commissioners of the Pollution Control Agency, commerce,
and health may coordinate in enforcing this section. The commissioner of the Pollution
Control Agency or commerce may, with the attorney general, enforce any federal restrictions
on the sale of products containing lead or cadmium, or both, as allowed under federal law.
The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency may enforce this section under sections
115.071 and 116.072. The commissioner of commerce may enforce this section under
section 45.027, subdivisions 1 to 6, 325F.10 to 325F.12, and 325F.14 to 325F.16. The
attorney general may enforce this section under section 8.31.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2023.

Sec. 79. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 394.36, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Nonconformities; certain classes of property. This subdivision applies to
homestead and nonhomestead residential real estate and seasonal residential real estate
occupied for recreational purposes. Except as otherwise provided by law, a nonconformity,
including the lawful use or occupation of land or premises existing at the time of the adoption
of an official control under this chapter, may be continued, including through repair,
replacement, restoration, maintenance, or improvement, but not including expansion. If the
nonconformity or occupancy is discontinued for a period of more than one year, or any
nonconforming building or structure is destroyed by fire or other peril to the extent of greater
than 50 percent of its estimated market value, as indicated in the records of the county
assessor at the time of damage, and no building permit has been applied for within 180 days
of when the property is damaged, any subsequent use or occupancy of the land or premises
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must be a conforming use or occupancy. If a nonconforming building or structure is destroyed
by fire or other peril to the extent of greater than 50 percent of its estimated market value,

as indicated in the records of the county assessor at the time of damage, the board may
impose reasonable conditions upon a zoning or building permit in order to mitigate any
newly created impact on adjacent property or water body. When a nonconforming structure
in the shoreland district with less than 50 percent of the required setback from the water is
destroyed by fire or other peril to greater than 50 percent of its estimated market value, as
indicated in the records of the county assessor at the time of damage, the structure setback
may be increased if practicable and reasonable conditions are placed upon a zoning or
building permit to mitigate created impacts on the adjacent property or water body. A county
may, by ordinance, permit an expansion or impose upon nonconformities reasonable
regulations to prevent and abate nuisances and to protect the public health, welfare, or safety.

Sec. 80. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 473.121, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 37. Community water system. "Community water system" has the meaning
given in United States Code, title 42, section 300f(15).

Sec. 81. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 473.121, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 38. Lead service line. "Lead service line" means a water supply connection that
is made of or lined with a material consisting of lead and that connects a water main to a
building. A lead pigtail, lead gooseneck, or other lead fitting is considered a lead service
line, regardless of the composition of the service line or other portions of piping to which
the piece is attached. A galvanized service line is considered a lead service line.

Sec. 82. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 473.121, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 39. Service line. "Service line" means any piping, tubing, or fitting connecting a
water main to a building. Service line includes the property owner side and the system side
of a service line.

Sec. 83. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 473.121, is amended by adding a subdivision
to read:

Subd. 40. System side. "System side" means the portion of a service line that is owned
by a community water system.

Sec. 85. COMMUNITY AIR MONITORING SYSTEM PILOT GRANT PROGRAM.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have
the meanings given.
(b) "Agency" means the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.
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(c) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency.

(d) "Community air monitoring system" means a system of devices monitoring ambient
air quality at many locations within a small geographic area that is subject to air pollution
from a variety of stationary and mobile sources in order to obtain frequent measurements
of pollution levels, to detect differences in exposure to pollution over distances no larger
than a city block, and to identify areas where pollution levels are inordinately elevated.

(e) "Environmental justice area" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section
116.06, subdivision 10b.

(f) "Nonprofit organization" means an organization that is exempt from taxation under
section 501(c)(3) of the Internal revenue Code.

Subd. 2. Establishment of program. A community air monitoring system pilot grant
program is established in the Pollution Control Agency to measure air pollution levels at
many locations within an environmental justice area in Minneapolis.

Subd. 3. Eligible applicants. Grants under this section may be awarded to applicants
consisting of a partnership between a nonprofit organization located in an environmental
justice area in which the community air monitoring system is to be deployed and an entity
that has experience deploying, operating, and interpreting data from air monitoring systems.

Subd. 4. Eligible projects. Grants may be awarded under this section to applicants
whose proposals:
(1) use a variety of air monitoring technologies approved for use by the commissioner,

including but not limited to stationary monitors, sensor-based handheld devices, and mobile
devices that can be attached to vehicles or drones to measure air pollution levels;

(2) obtain data at fixed locations and from handheld monitoring devices that are carried
by residents of the community on designated walking routes in the targeted community and
that can provide high-frequency measurements; and

(3) use the monitoring data to generate maps of pollution levels throughout the monitored
area.

Subd. 5. Eligible expenditures. Grants may be used only for the following activities:

(1) planning the configuration and deployment of the community air monitoring system;

(2) purchasing and installing air monitoring devices as part of the community air

(3) training and paying persons who operate stationary, handheld, and mobile devices
to measure air pollution;
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(4) developing data and mapping systems to analyze, organize, and present the air
monitoring data collected; and

(5) writing a final report on the project according to subdivision 9.

Subd. 6. Air monitoring technologies; commissioner approval. The commissioner
must approve air monitoring technologies proposed to be used in a project awarded a grant
under this section. Approved air monitoring technologies must meet a reasonable level of
accuracy and consistency.

Subd. 7. Application and grant award process. An eligible applicant must submit an
application to the commissioner on a form prescribed by the commissioner. The
commissioner must develop administrative procedures governing the application and grant
award process. The commissioner must act as fiscal agent for the grant program and is
responsible for receiving and reviewing grant applications and awarding grants under this
section.

Subd. 8. Grant awards; priorities. In awarding grants under this section, the
commissioner must give priority to proposed projects that:

(1) take place in areas with high rates of illness associated with exposure to air pollution,
including asthma, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, heart disease, chronic bronchitis,
and cancer;

(2) promote public access to and transparency of air monitoring data developed through
the project; and

(3) conduct outreach activities to promote community awareness of and engagement
with the project.

Subd. 9. Report to agency. No later than 90 days after a project ends, the grantee must
submit a written report to the commissioner describing the project's findings and results,
and any recommendations for agency actions, programs, or activities to reduce levels of air
pollution measured by the community air monitoring system. The grantee must also forward
to the commissioner all air monitoring data developed by the project.

Subd. 10. Report to legislature. No later than January 15, 2024, the commissioner must
submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees
with primary jurisdiction over environment policy and finance on the results of the grant

program, including:

(1) any changes in the agency's air monitoring network that will occur as a result of data
developed under the program;

(2) any actions the agency has taken or proposes to take to reduce levels of pollution
that impact the environmental justice areas that received grants under the program; and
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(3) any recommendations for legislation, including whether the program should be
extended or expanded.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 86. RULEMAKING; AIR TOXICS EMISSIONS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For the purposes of this section:

(1) "agency" means the Minnesota Pollution Control Agency;

(2) "air toxic" has the meaning given under section 116.062;

(3) "commissioner" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section 116.06,
subdivision 6a;

(4) "continuous emission monitoring system" has the meaning given in Minnesota Rules,
part 7017.1002, subpart 4;

(5) "environmental justice area" has the meaning given in Minnesota Statutes, section
116.06,subdivision 10b;

(6) "performance test" has the meaning given in Minnesota Rules, part 7017.2005,
subpart 4; and
(7) "volatile organic compound" means any compound of carbon that participates in

atmospheric photochemical reactions, except for carbon monoxide, carbon dioxide, carbonic
acid, metallic carbides or carbonates, and ammonium carbonate.

Subd. 2. Rulemaking required. No later than January 15, 2023, the commissioner of
the Pollution Control Agency must initiate rulemaking under Minnesota Statutes, chapter
14, to regulate air toxics emissions by providing notice of a rulemaking hearing according
to Minnesota Statutes, section 14.14, subdivision 1a.

Subd. 3. Content of rules. (a) The rules required under subdivision 2 must address, at
a minimum, the following issues:

(1) the specific air toxics to be regulated, including, at a minimum, those defined in

(2) the types of facilities to be regulated, including, at a minimum, facilities that have
been issued an air quality permit by the commissioner and:

(i) emit air toxics, whether or not the emissions are limited in a permit; or

(ii) purchase or use material containing volatile organic compounds;

(3) performance tests conducted by facilities to measure the volume of air toxics emissions
and testing methods, procedures, protocols, and frequency;
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(4) required air monitoring, including using continuous emission monitoring systems
for certain facilities;

(5) requirements for reporting information to the agency to assist the agency in
determining the volume of the facility's air toxics emissions and the facility's compliance
with emission limits in the facility's permit;

(6) record keeping related to air toxics emissions; and

(7) frequency of facility inspections and inspection activities that provide information
about air toxics emissions.

(b) In developing rules, the commissioner must establish testing, monitoring, reporting,
record-keeping, and inspection requirements for facilities that reflect:

(1) the different risks to human health and the environment posed by the specific air
toxics and volumes emitted by a facility, such that facilities posing greater risks are required
to more frequently conduct performance tests and air monitoring, receive inspections, and
report to the agency;

(2) the facility's record of compliance with air toxics emission limits and other permit
conditions; and

(3) any exposure of residents of an environmental justice area to the facility's air toxics
emissions.

(c) The rules developed under this section must specify that the commissioner, in
developing air toxics emission limits for a specific facility, must consider the additive nature
of risk posed by exposure to all the air toxics emitted by the facility.

Subd. 4. Modifying permits. After adopting the rules required in subdivision 2, the
commissioner must incorporate air toxics emission limits to conform with the rule changes
in existing air quality permits that:

(1) contain emission limits for air toxics; or

(2) do not contain emission limits for air toxics but are held by facilities that emit air
toxics.

Subd. 5. Relation to federal law. The commissioner must implement this section
consistent with federal law and to the fullest extent allowed by federal law. Nothing in this
section may be construed to conflict with federal law.

Subd. 6. Rulemaking cost. The commissioner must collect the agency's costs to adopt
rules required under this section and to conduct regulatory activities required as a result of
the adopted rules through the annual fee paid by owners or operators of facilities required
to obtain air quality permits from the agency, as required under Minnesota Statutes, section
116.07, subdivision 4d, paragraph (b).
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87.24 EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
87.25 Sec. 87. PIG'S EYE AREA TASK FORCE.

87.26 Subdivision 1. Pig's Eye Area Task Force. The commissioner of the Pollution Control
87.27 Agency must establish a Pig's Eye Area Task Force to coordinate efforts to remediate and
87.28 restore the Pig's Eye Landfill Superfund site, including adjacent contaminated sites, to

87.29 address contaminated groundwater, surface water, and sediments. Contaminants to evaluate
87.30 include but are not limited to perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) within
87.31 Battle Creek, Pig's Eye Lake, and nearby groundwater. The task force is subject to Minnesota
87.32  Statutes, section 15.059, subdivision 6.

88.1 Subd. 2. Membership. The task force must consist of:

88.2 (1) the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency or a designee;
88.3 (2) the commissioner of natural resources or a designee;

88.4 (3) the commissioner of health or a designee;

88.5 (4) a representative from the Metropolitan Council;

88.6 (5) a representative from the United States Army Corps of Engineers;
88.7 (6) a representative from the United States Coast Guard;

88.8 (7) a representative from the federal Environmental Protection Agency;
88.9 (8) a representative from the National Park Service;

88.10 (9) a representative from the United States Fish and Wildlife Service;
88.11 (10) a representative from the Ramsey-Washington Metro Watershed District;
88.12 (11) one representative from each of the following local governments:

88.13 (i) Newport;
88.14 (ii) St. Paul;

88.15 iii) South St. Paul;

88.16 (iv) Dakota County;

88.17 (v) Ramsey County; and

88.18 (vi) Washington County; and

88.19 (12) three members of the public.

88.20 Subd. 3. Organization. (a) By January 15, 2023, the commissioner or the commissioner's

88.21 designee must convene the first meeting of the task force.
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(b) The task force must meet monthly or as determined by the chair. Meetings of the
task force must be open to the public.

(c) The members of the task force must annually elect a chair, vice chair, and other
officers as the members deem necessary.

Subd. 4. Staff. The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency must provide support
staff, office space, and administrative services for the task force.

Subd. 5. Reports. Beginning in 2024, by February 15 each year, the commissioner of
the Pollution Control Agency must submit an annual report to the chairs and ranking minority
members of the legislative committees and divisions with jurisdiction over the environment
and natural resources on the status of the task force's work. The final report, due February
15, 2026, must:

(1) summarize the history of the Pig's Eye Landfill, including cleanup efforts and impacts;

(2) include a coordinated plan to:

(i) clean up and remediate the contamination;

(ii) restore and enhance wildlife habitat;

(iii) prevent future water contamination; and

(iv) address existing water quality issues;

(3) identify infrastructure needs;

(4) identify potential funding sources; and

(5) include any recommendations for legislative action.
Subd. 6. Sunset. The task force expires June 30, 2026.
Sec. 88. TURTLE SELLER'S LICENSES; TRANSFER AND RENEWAL.

The commissioner of natural resources must not renew or transfer a turtle seller's license
after the effective date of this section.

Sec. 89. SEED DISPOSAL RULEMAKING REQUIRED.

The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency, in consultation with the commissioner
of agriculture and the University of Minnesota, must adopt rules under Minnesota Statutes,
chapter 14, providing for the safe and lawful disposal of unwanted or unused seed treated
with neonicotinoid pesticide. The rules must clearly identify the regulatory jurisdiction of
state agencies and local governments with regard to such seed.
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89.25 Sec. 90. DESIGNATED SWAN RESTING AREAS.

89.26 Subdivision 1. Swan resting areas. The commissioner of natural resources may designate
89.27 waters within Minnesota's swan migration corridor as swan resting areas.

90.1 Subd. 2. Public notice and meeting. (a) Before the commissioner designates or removes
90.2  adesignation of a swan resting area, public comment must be received and a public meeting
90.3  must be held in the county where the largest portion of the water is located.

90.4 (b) At least 90 days before the public meeting, notice of the proposed designation or
90.5  removal of the designation must be posted at publicly maintained access points on the water.

90.6 (c) Before the public meeting, notice of the meeting must be published in a news release
90.7  issued by the commissioner and in a newspaper of general circulation in the area where the
90.8  proposed swan resting area is located. The notice must be published at least once between
90.9 30 and 60 days before the meeting and at least once between seven and 30 days before the

90.10 meeting.

90.11 (d) The notices required in this subdivision must summarize the proposed action, invite
90.12 public comment, and specify a deadline for receiving public comments. The commissioner
90.13 must send each required notice to persons who have registered their names with the

90.14 commissioner for this purpose. The commissioner must consider any public comments
90.15 received in making a final decision.

90.16 Subd. 3. Using lead sinkers. A person may not use lead sinkers on a water designated
90.17 by the commissioner as a swan resting area under subdivision 1. The commissioner must
90.18 maintain a list of swan resting areas and information on the lead sinker restrictions on the
90.19  department's website and in any summary of fishing regulations required under Minnesota
90.20  Statutes, section 97A.051.

90.21 Subd. 4. Report. By January 15, 2025, the commissioner of natural resources must
90.22 submit a report to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees
90.23 and divisions with jurisdiction over the environment and natural resources on the

90.24 implementation of this section and any recommendations.

90.25 Subd. 5. Sunset. This section expires January 1, 2026.
90.26 Sec. 91. SWAN RESTITUTION VALUES; RULE AMENDMENTS.

90.27 (a) The commissioner of natural resources must amend Minnesota Rules, part 6133.0030,
90.28 to increase the restitution value of a tundra swan from $200 to $1,000 and the restitution
90.29  value of a trumpeter swan from $1,000 to $2,500.

90.30 (b) The commissioner may use the good cause exemption under Minnesota Statutes,
90.31 section 14.388, subdivision 1, clause (3), to adopt rules under this section, and Minnesota
90.32  Statutes, section 14.386, does not apply except as provided under Minnesota Statutes, section
90.33 14.388.
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Sec. 92. FEEDLOT FINANCIAL ASSURANCE REQUIREMENTS COMPLIANCE
SCHEDULE.

The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency may phase in the new financial
assurance requirements under Minnesota Statutes, section 116.07, subdivision 7f, during
the next reissuance of the National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System General Permit
for Concentrated Animal Feeding Operations, MNG440000. The commissioner of the
Pollution Control Agency must establish a schedule for permittees to come into compliance
with the requirements. The schedule must require 250 permittees per year to comply starting
with the operations with the largest number of animal units.

Sec. 93. MANURE STORAGE AREA REPORTS REQUIRED.

(a) No later than December 15, 2022, the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency
must develop a list based on registration data for each county of potentially abandoned
manure storage areas.

(b) No later than January 15, 2024, each delegated county must report to the commissioner
of the Pollution Control Agency a list of abandoned manure storage areas located in the
county. The report must be submitted by the county feedlot officer.

(c) No later than January 15, 2024, the Pollution Control Agency regional feedlot staff
must compile a list of abandoned manure storage areas located in counties under their
regulatory jurisdiction that do not have delegation agreements with the agency.

(d) No later than February 15, 2024, the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency
must submit a compilation report and list of abandoned manure storage areas to the legislative
committees with jurisdiction over agriculture and environment. The report must include
recommendations for remediation. The commissioner must seek advice from the Minnesota
Association of County Feedlot Officers and livestock associations for recommendations,
including existing and any proposed options for remediation.

(e) For purposes of this section, "abandoned manure storage areas" has the meaning
given in Minnesota Statutes, section 116.07, subdivision 7g.

() Reports and lists required under this section are not feedlot inventories for purposes
of Minnesota Statutes, section 116.07, subdivision 7b.

Sec. 94. PETROLEUM TANK RELEASE CLEANUP; REPORT TO
LEGISLATURE.

The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency must perform the duties under clauses
(1) to (5) with respect to the petroleum tank release cleanup program governed by Minnesota
Statutes, chapter 115C, and must, no later than January 15, 2023, report the results to the
chairs and ranking minority members of the senate and house of representatives committees
with primary jurisdiction over environment policy and finance. The report must include any
recommendations for legislation. The commissioner must:
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(1) explicitly define the conditions that must be present in order for the commissioner
to classify a site as posing a low potential risk to public health and the environment and
ensure that all agency staff use the definition in assessing potential risks. In determining
the conditions that indicate that a site poses a low risk, the commissioner must consider the
biodegradable nature of the petroleum contaminants found at the site and relevant site
conditions, including but not limited to the nature of groundwater flow, soil type, and
proximity of features at or near the site that could potentially become contaminated;

(2) develop guidelines to incorporate consideration of potential future uses of a
contaminated property into all agency staff decisions regarding site remediation;

(3) develop measurable objectives that allow the quality of the agency's performance in
remediating petroleum-contaminated properties to be evaluated and conduct such evaluations

periodically;

(4) in collaboration with the Petroleum Tank Release Compensation Board and the
commissioner of commerce, examine whether and how to establish technical qualifications
for consultants hired to remediate petroleum-contaminated properties as a strategy to improve
the quality of remediation work, and how agencies can share information on consultant

performance; and

(5) in collaboration with the commissioner of commerce, make consultants who remediate
petroleum-contaminated sites more accountable for the quality of their work by:

(i) developing a formal system of measures and procedures by which to evaluate the
work; and

(ii) sharing evaluations with the commissioner of commerce and with responsible parties.
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.
Sec. 95. CARPET STEWARDSHIP PROGRAM; REPORT.

Subdivision 1. Carpet stewardship program plan. The commissioner of the Pollution
Control Agency must develop a plan for establishing a carpet stewardship program designed
to reduce carpet-related waste generation by promoting the collection and recycling of
discarded carpet. The plan must include:

(1) an organizational structure for the program, including roles for the state, carpet
producers, retailers, collection site operators, and recyclers;

(2) a timeline for implementing the program;

(3) a fee structure that ensures the costs of the program are recovered, including
recommendations for determining the amount, methods of collecting the fee, and how fee
revenues will be managed;




Senate Language S4062-3

Environment and Natural Resources

PAGE R106-Art2

93.12
93.13

93.14
93.15

93.16

93.17
93.18
93.19

93.20
93.21
93.22
93.23
93.24
93.25

93.26
93.27

93.28
93.29
93.30

94.1
94.2

94.3
94.4
94.5

94.14

94.15
94.16

94.17
94.18
94.19
94.20

94.21

House Language UES4062-2

(4) a plan for how discarded carpet will be collected and transported to recyclers in this
state;

(5) strategies for improving education and training of retailers, carpet installers, and
collection site operators to improve the recycling rates of carpet; and

(6) draft legislation necessary for implementing the plan.

Subd. 2. Task force; public engagement. (a) The commissioner must convene a task
force to assist with developing the plan required under subdivision 1. The task force must
include:

(1) one representative of a statewide association representing retailers;

(2) two representatives of producers;

(3) two representatives of recyclers;

(4) one representative of statewide associations representing waste disposal companies;

(5) one representative of an environmental organization;

(6) one representative of county or municipal waste management programs;

(7) two representatives of companies that use discarded carpet to manufacture products
other than new carpet;

(8) one representative of carpet installers; and

(9) two members of the general public.

(b) Members of the task force must not be registered lobbyists.

(c) The commissioner must provide opportunities for the public to provide input on the
program.

Subd. 3. Report. The commissioner must submit a report with the plan required under
this section to the chairs and ranking minority members of the legislative committees and
divisions with jurisdiction over the environment by January 15, 2023.

ARTICLE 3

FARMED CERVIDAE
Section 1. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 13.643, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Animal premises data. (a) Except for farmed Cervidae premises location data
collected and maintained under section 35.155, the following data collected and maintained
by the Board of Animal Health related to registration and identification of premises and
animals under chapter 35, are classified as private or nonpublic:

(1) the names and addresses;
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(2) the location of the premises where animals are kept; and
(3) the identification number of the premises or the animal.

(b) Except as provided in section 347.58, subdivision 5, data collected and maintained
by the Board of Animal Health under sections 347.57 to 347.64 are classified as private or
nonpublic.

(c) The Board of Animal Health may disclose data collected under paragraph (a) or (b)
to any person, agency, or to the public if the board determines that the access will aid in the
law enforcement process or the protection of public or animal health or safety.

Sec. 2. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 35.155, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Running at large prohibited. (a) An owner may not allow farmed
Cervidae to run at large. The owner must make all reasonable efforts to return escaped
farmed Cervidae to their enclosures as soon as possible. The owner must immediately notify
the commissioner of natural resources of the escape of farmed Cervidae if the farmed
Cervidae are not returned or captured by the owner within 24 hours of their escape.

(b) An owner is liable for expenses of another person in capturing, caring for, and
returning farmed Cervidae that have left their enclosures if the person capturing the farmed
Cervidae contacts the owner as soon as possible.

(c) If an owner is unwilling or unable to capture escaped farmed Cervidae, the
commissioner of natural resources may destroy the escaped farmed Cervidae. The
commissioner of natural resources must allow the owner to attempt to capture the escaped
farmed Cervidae prior to destroying the farmed Cervidae. Farmed Cervidae that are not
captured by 24 hours after escape may be destroyed.

(d) A hunter licensed by the commissioner of natural resources under chapter 97A may
kill and possess escaped farmed Cervidae in a lawful manner and is not liable to the owner
for the loss of the animal.

(e) Escaped farmed Cervidae killed by a hunter or destroyed by the commissioner of
natural resources must be tested for chronic wasting disease at the owner's expense.

(f) The owner is responsible for proper disposal, as determined by the board, of farmed
Cervidae that are killed or destroyed under this subdivision and test positive for chronic

wasting disease.

(g) An owner is liable for any additional costs associated with escaped farmed Cervidae
that are infected with chronic wasting disease, including the cost of additional surveillance
and capture caused by the escape. This paragraph may be enforced by the attorney general
on behalf of any state agency affected.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 1, 2022.
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Sec. 3. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 35.155, subdivision 4, is amended to read:

Subd. 4. Fencing. Farmed Cervidae must be confined in a manner designed to prevent
escape. Except as provided in subdivision 4a, all perimeter fences for farmed Cervidae must
be at least 96 inches in height and be constructed and maintained in a way that prevents the
escape of farmed Cervidae et, entry into the premises by free-roaming Cervidae, and physical
contact between farmed Cervidae and free- -roaming Cervidae. AfterJuly1;2649; All new
fencing installed and all fencing used to repair deficiencies must be high tensile. By
Deeember1;2049; All entry areas for farmed Cervidae enclosure areas must have two
redundant gates, which must be maintained to prevent the escape of animals through an
open gate. If a fence deficiency allows entry or ex1t by farmed or wild Cerv1dae the owner
must repair the deficiency within & determin e rime
Hesalth;nette-exeeed45 14 days. If a fence deﬁc1ency is detected durmg an inspection, the
facility must be remspected at least once in the subsequent three months. The farmed
Cervidae owner must pay a reinspection fee equal to one-half the applicable annual inspection
fee under subdivision 7a for each reinspection related to a fence violation. If the facility
experiences more than one escape incident in any six-month period or fails to correct a
deficiency found during an inspection, the board may revoke the facility's registration and
order the owner to remove or destroy the animals as directed by the board. If the board
revokes a facility's registration, the commissioner of natural resources may seize and destroy
animals at the facility.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 1, 2023.

Sec. 4. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 35.155, is amended by adding a subdivision to
read:

Subd. 4a. Fencing; commercial herds. In addition to the requirements in subdivision
4, commercially farmed white-tailed deer must be confined by two or more perimeter fences,
with each perimeter fence at least 120 inches in height.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 1, 2023.

Sec. 5. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 35.155, subdivision 6, is amended to read:

Subd. 6. Identification. (a) Farmed Cervidae must be identified by means approved by
the Board of Animal Health. The identification must include a distinct number that has not
been used during the previous three years and must be visible to the naked eye during
daylight under normal conditions at a distance of 50 yards. Within 14 days of birth,

Whlte talled deer must be 1dent1ﬁed beﬁafe@eteber%i—e#ﬂ&e—ye&ﬁm%ﬁheh—the—&mm&l—ts

w1th an ear tag that adheres to the Natlonal Uniform Ear-Taggmg System (NUES) or the

Animal Identification Number (AIN) system. Elk and other cervids must be identified by
December 31 of the year in which the animal is born or before movement from the premises,
whichever occurs first. As coordinated by the board, the commissioner of natural resources
may destroy any animal that is not identified as required under this subdivision.
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(b) The Board of Animal Health shall register farmed Cervidae. The owner must submit
the registration request on forms provided by the board. The forms must include sales
receipts or other documentation of the origin of the Cervidae. The board must provide copies
of the registration information to the commissioner of natural resources upon request. The
owner must keep written records of the acquisition and disposition of registered farmed
Cervidae.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective September 1, 2023.

Sec. 6. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 35.155, subdivision 10, is amended to read:

Subd. 10. Mandatory registration. (a) A person may not possess live Cervidae in
Minnesota unless the person is registered with the Board of Animal Health and meets all
the requirements for farmed Cervidae under this section. Cervidae possessed in violation
of this subdivision may be seized and destroyed by the commissioner of natural resources.

(b) A person whose registration is revoked by the board is ineligible for future registration
under this section unless the board determines that the person has undertaken measures that
make future escapes extremely unlikely.

(c) The board must not allow new registrations under this section for possessing
white-tailed deer. This paragraph does not prohibit a person holding a valid registration
under this subdivision from selling or transferring the person's registration to a family
member who resides in this state and is related to the person within the third degree of
kindred according to the rules of civil law. A valid registration may be sold or transferred
only once under this paragraph. Before the board approves a sale or transfer under this
paragraph, the board must verify that the herd is free from chronic wasting disease and the
person or eligible family member must pay a onetime transfer fee of $500 to the board.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective the day following final enactment.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2021 Supplement, section 35.155, subdivision 11, is amended
to read:

Subd. 11. Mandatory surveillance for chronic wasting disease; depopulation. (a)
An inventory for each farmed Cervidae herd must be verified by an accredited veterinarian
and filed with the Board of Animal Health every 12 months.

(b) Movement of farmed Cervidae from any premises to another location must be reported
to the Board of Animal Health within 14 days of the movement on forms approved by the
Board of Animal Health. A person must not move farmed white-tailed deer from any premises
to another location.

(c) All animals from farmed Cervidae herds that are over 42 six months of age that die
or are slaughtered must be tested for chronic wasting disease.

(d) The owner of a premises where chronic wasting disease is detected must:
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(1) allow and cooperate with inspections of the premises as determined by the Board of
Animal Health and Department of Natural Resources conservation officers and wildlife

managers;

5 (2) depopulate the premises of Cervidae after the federal indemnification process
has been completed or, if an 1ndemn1ﬁcat10n apphcatlon is not submltted within a-reasenable

2) (3) maintain the fencing required under subdiviston subdivisions 4 and 4a on the
premises for five ten years after the date of detection; and

3 (4) post the fencing on the premises with biohazard signs as directed by the board:;

(5) not raise farmed Cervidae on the premises for at least ten years;

(6) before any sale or transfer of the premises, test the soil for evidence of chronic wasting
disease using a method approved by the board and report the results to the board; and

(7) record with the county recorder or registrar of titles a notice, in the form required by
the board, that includes the location and legal description of the premises, the date of
detection, the date of depopulation, the landowner requirements under this paragraph, and
any other information required by the board.

(e) An owner of farmed Cervidae that test positive for chronic wasting disease is
responsible for proper disposal of the animals, as determined by the board.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 35.155, subdivision 12, is amended to read:

Subd. 12. Importation. (a) A person must not import live Cervidae or Cervidae semen
into the state from a herd that is:

(1) infected with or has been exposed to chronic wasting disease; or

(2) from a knewn state or province where chronic wasting disease endemie-area;as
determined-by-the-board is present in farmed or wild Cervidae populations.

(b) A person may import live Cervidae or Cervidae semen into the state only from a
herd that:

(1) is not #-a-knewn located in a state or province where chronic wasting disease endentie
afea—&s—defeﬂﬁﬁmed-by—t-he—beafd- is present in farmed or wild Cervidae populations; and

(2) has been subject to a state-orprovinetal-approved state- or provincial-approved

chronic wasting disease monitoring program for at least three years.

(c) Cervidae or Cervidae semen imported in violation of this section may be seized and
destroyed by the commissioner of natural resources.
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Sec. 9. WHITE-TAILED DEER TESTING REQUIRED; CHRONIC WASTING
DISEASE.

Subdivision 1. Live-animal testing. No later than December 31, 2022, an owner of
farmed white-tailed deer registered with the Board of Animal Health under Minnesota
Statutes, section 35.155, must have each farmed white-tailed deer tested for chronic wasting
disease using a real-time quaking-induced conversion (RT-QulC) test and report the results
to the Board of Animal Health in the form required by the board. If a white-tailed deer tests
positive, the owner must have the animal tested a second time using an RT-QuIC test.

Subd. 2. Postmortem testing. If a farmed white-tailed deer tests positive twice under
subdivision 1, the owner must have the animal destroyed and tested for chronic wasting
disease using a postmortem test approved by the Board of Animal Health.

Subd. 3. Herd depopulation. If a farmed white-tailed deer tests positive for chronic
wasting disease under subdivision 2, the owner must depopulate the premises of farmed
Cervidae as required under Minnesota Statutes, section 35.155.

Sec. 10. TRANSFER OF DUTIES; FARMED CERVIDAE.

(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b), the responsibilities for administering and
enforcing the statutes and rules listed in clauses (1) and (2) are transferred pursuant to
Minnesota Statutes, section 15.039, from the Board of Animal Health to the commissioner
of natural resources:

(1) Minnesota Statutes, sections 35.153 and 35.155; and
(2) Minnesota Rules, parts 1721.0370 to 1721.0420.

(b) Notwithstanding Minnesota Statutes, section 15.039, subdivision 7, the transfer of
personnel will not take place. The commissioner of natural resources may contract with the
Board of Animal Health for any veterinary services required to administer this program.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective July 1, 2024.
Sec. 11. REVISOR INSTRUCTION.

The revisor of statutes must recodify the relevant sections in Minnesota Statutes, chapter
35, and Minnesota Rules, chapter 1721, as necessary to conform with section 10. The revisor
must also change the responsible agency, remove obsolete language, and make necessary
cross-reference changes consistent with section 10 and the renumbering.
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ARTICLE 4

POLLUTION CONTROL; PFAS
Section 1. [116.943] PFAS IN CARPETS AND TEXTILES.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given:

(1) "carpet or rug" means a fabric marketed or intended for use as a floor covering;

(2) "fabric treatment" means a substance applied to fabric to give the fabric one or more
characteristics, including but not limited to stain resistance or water resistance;

(3) "perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances" or "PFAS" means substances that
include any member of the class of fluorinated organic chemicals containing at least one
fully fluorinated carbon atom;

(4) "upholstered furniture" means an article of furniture that is designed to be used for
sitting, resting, or reclining and that is wholly or partly stuffed or filled with any filling
material;

(5) "textile" means an item made in whole or part from a natural or synthetic fiber, yarn,
or fabric. Textile includes but is not limited to leather, cotton, silk, jute, hemp, wool, nylon,

and polyester; and
(6) "textile furnishings" means textile goods of a type customarily used in households

and businesses, including but not limited to draperies, floor coverings, furnishings, beddings,
towels, and tablecloths.

Subd. 2. Prohibition. (a) A person must not manufacture, sell, offer to sell, or distribute
for sale in the state any of the following that contains perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl
substances:

(1) a carpet or rug;

(2) a fabric treatment;

(3) upholstered furniture; or

(4) textile furnishings.

(b) This subdivision does not apply to sale or resale of used products.

Subd. 3. Enforcement. (a) The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency may
enforce this section under sections 115.071 and 116.072. The commissioner may coordinate
with the commissioners of commerce and health in enforcing this section.
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(b) When requested by the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency, a person
must furnish to the commissioner any information that the person may have or may
reasonably obtain that is relevant to show compliance with this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
Sec. 2. [116.944] PFAS IN COOKWARE.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given:
(1) "cookware" means durable houseware items that are used in homes and restaurants

to prepare, dispense, or store food, foodstuffs, or beverages. Cookware includes pots, pans,
skillets, grills, baking sheets, baking molds, trays, bowls, and cooking utensils; and

(2) "perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances" or "PFAS" means substances that
include any member of the class of fluorinated organic chemicals containing at least one
fully fluorinated carbon atom.

Subd. 2. Prohibition. (a) A person must not manufacture, distribute, sell, or offer for
sale in the state any cookware that contains perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances.

(b) This subdivision does not apply to the sale or resale of used products.

Subd. 3. Enforcement. (a) The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency may
enforce this section under sections 115.071 and 116.072. The commissioner may coordinate
with the commissioners of commerce and health in enforcing this section.

(b) When requested by the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency, a person
must furnish to the commissioner any information that the person may have or may
reasonably obtain that is relevant to show compliance with this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
Sec. 3. [116.945] PFAS IN COSMETICS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given:

(1) "cosmetic product" means an article intended to be applied to the human body for
cleansing, beautifying, promoting attractiveness, or altering appearance. Cosmetic product
does not include a product for which a prescription is required for distribution or dispensing;
and

(2) "perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances" or "PFAS" means substances that
include any member of the class of fluorinated organic chemicals containing at least one
fully fluorinated carbon atom.
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Subd. 2. Prohibition. A person must not manufacture, distribute, sell, or offer for sale
in the state any cosmetic product that contains perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances.

Subd. 3. Enforcement. (a) The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency may
enforce this section under sections 115.071 and 116.072. The commissioner may coordinate
with the commissioners of commerce and health in enforcing this section.

(b) When requested by the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency, a person
must furnish to the commissioner any information that the person may have or may
reasonably obtain that is relevant to show compliance with this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
Sec. 4. [116.946] PFAS IN JUVENILE PRODUCTS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given:

(1) "adult mattress" means a mattress other than a crib mattress or toddler mattress;

(2) "juvenile product" means a product designed or marketed for use by infants and
children under 12 years of age:

(i) including but not limited to a baby or toddler foam pillow; bassinet; bedside sleeper;
booster seat; changing pad; child restraint system for use in motor vehicles and aircraft;
co-sleeper; crib mattress; highchair; highchair pad; infant bouncer; infant carrier; infant
seat; infant sleep positioner; infant swing; infant travel bed; infant walker; nap cot; nursing
pad; nursing pillow; play mat; playpen; play yard; polyurethane foam mat, pad, or pillow;
portable foam nap mat; portable infant sleeper; portable hook-on chair; soft-sided portable
crib; stroller; and toddler mattress; and

(ii) not including a children's electronic product such as a personal computer, audio and
video equipment, calculator, wireless phone, game console, handheld device incorporating
a video screen, or any associated peripheral such as a mouse, keyboard, power supply unit,
or power cord; a medical device; or an adult mattress;

(3) "medical device" has the meaning given "device" under United States Code, title 21,
section 321, subsection (h); and

(4) "perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances" or "PFAS" means substances that
include any member of the class of fluorinated organic chemicals containing at least one
fully fluorinated carbon atom.

Subd. 2. Prohibition. (a) A person must not manufacture, sell, offer for sale, or distribute
in commerce in the state any new juvenile product that contains perfluoroalkyl and
polyfluoroalkyl substances.

(b) This subdivision does not apply to sale or resale of used juvenile products.
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Subd. 3. Enforcement. (a) The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency may
enforce this section under sections 115.071 and 116.072. The commissioner may coordinate
with the commissioners of commerce and health in enforcing this section.

(b) When requested by the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency, a person
must furnish to the commissioner any information that the person may have or may
reasonably obtain that is relevant to show compliance with this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
Sec. 5. [116.947] PFAS IN SKI WAX.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the
meanings given:
(1) "perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances" or "PFAS" means substances that

include any member of the class of fluorinated organic chemicals containing at least one
fully fluorinated carbon atom; and

(2) "ski wax" means a lubricant applied to the bottom of snow runners, including skis
and snowboards, to improve their grip and glide properties.

Subd. 2. Prohibition. (2) A person must not manufacture, distribute, sell, or offer for
sale in the state ski wax or a related tuning product that contains perfluoroalkyl and
polyfluoroalkyl substances.

(b) This subdivision does not apply to the sale or resale of used products.

Subd. 3. Enforcement. (a) The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency may
enforce this section under sections 115.071 and 116.072. The commissioner may coordinate
with the commissioners of commerce and health in enforcing this section.

(b) When requested by the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency, a person
must furnish to the commissioner any information that the person may have or may
reasonably obtain that is relevant to show compliance with this section.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2025.
Sec. 6. [116.948] DISCLOSURE OF PFAS IN PRODUCTS.

Subdivision 1. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the

meanings given:

(1) "commissioner" means the commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency;

(2) "intentionally added PFAS" means PFAS that a manufacturer intentionally adds to
a product and that have a functional or technical effect in the product, including the PFAS
components of intentionally added chemicals and PFAS that are intentional breakdown
products of an added chemical that also have a functional or technical effect in the product;
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(3) "manufacturer" means the person that manufactures a product or whose brand name
is affixed to the product. In the case of a product imported into the United States,
manufacturer includes the importer or first domestic distributor of the product if the person
that manufactured or assembled the product or whose brand name is affixed to the product
does not have a presence in the United States;

(4) "perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances" or "PFAS" means substances that
include any member of the class of fluorinated organic chemicals containing at least one
fully fluorinated carbon atom;

(5) "product" means an item manufactured, assembled, packaged, or otherwise prepared
for sale to consumers, including the product components, sold or distributed for personal,
residential, commercial, or industrial use, including for use in making other products. Product
does not mean used products offered for sale or resale; and

(6) "product component" means an identifiable component of a product, regardless of
whether the manufacturer of the product is the manufacturer of the component.

Subd. 2. Notice required. (a) Except as provided under subdivision 3 and rules adopted
under subdivision 4, a manufacturer of a product for sale in the state that contains
intentionally added PFAS must submit to the commissioner a written notice that includes:

(1) a brief description of the product;

(2) the function served by PFAS in the product, including in any product components;

(3) the amount of each of the PFAS, identified by its Chemical Abstracts Service Registry
number, in the product, reported as an exact quantity determined using commercially
available analytical methods or as falling within a range approved for reporting purposes
by the commissioner;

(4) the name and address of the manufacturer and the name, address, and telephone
number of a contact person for the manufacturer; and

(5) any other information, as required by rule adopted by the commissioner, necessary
to implement this section.

(b) This subdivision does not apply to the sale or resale of used products.

(c) For products containing intentionally added PFAS that are sold, offered for sale, or
distributed in the state as of the effective date of this subdivision, a manufacturer must
submit the notice required under paragraph (a) to the commissioner before April 1, 2025.
For products containing intentionally added PFAS that are first sold, offered for sale, or
distributed in the state after the effective date of this subdivision, a manufacturer must
submit the notice required under paragraph (a) to the commissioner no later than 30 days
before the initial sale, offer for sale, or distribution of the products in the state.
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Subd. 3. Commissioner's authority. (a) The commissioner may waive all or part of the
notice requirement under subdivision 2 if the commissioner determines that substantially
equivalent information is already publicly available.

(b) The commissioner may enter into an agreement with one or more other states or
political subdivisions of a state to collect notices and may accept notices to a shared system
as meeting the notice requirement under subdivision 2.

(c) The commissioner may extend the deadline for a manufacturer to submit the notice
under subdivision 2 if the commissioner determines that more time is needed by the
manufacturer to comply.

Subd. 4. Rulemaking. The commissioner must adopt rules to implement this section.
The rules:

(1) may prioritize products subject to subdivision 2 based on the products that, in the
commissioner's judgment, are most likely to cause contamination of the state's land or water
resources;

(2) may allow a manufacturer to supply the notice under subdivision 2 for a category or
type of product rather than for each individual product;

(3) must require a manufacturer to update and revise the information required in the
notice under subdivision 2 when there is a substantive change in the information; and

(4) notwithstanding section 16A.1283, may establish a fee to be paid by a manufacturer
upon submitting the notice under subdivision 2 to cover the commissioner's reasonable costs
in developing rules to implement this section. The fees may be based on the volume of
PFAS, volume of sales, or type of PFAS.

EFFECTIVE DATE. Subdivisions 1, 3, and 4 are effective the day following final
enactment. Subdivision 2 is effective January 1, 2025.

Sec. 7. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325E.046, is amended to read:

325E.046 STANDARDS FOR LABELING PEASHE BAGS, FOOD OR
BEVERAGE PRODUCTS, AND PACKAGING.

Subdivision 1. 'Biodegradable™ label. A manufacturer, distributor, or wholesaler may
not sell or offer for sale and any other person may not knowingly sell or offer for sale in
this state a plastte-bag covered product labeled "biodegradable," "degradable,"
"decomposable,"” or any form of those terms, or in any Way 1mply that the b&g covered

Qroduc W111 chemically-decompose-into-innoe

staﬁdafd— break down fragment degrade blodegrade or decompose ina landﬁll or other
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environment, unless an ASTM standard specification is adopted for the term claimed and
the specification is approved by the legislature.

Subd. 2. *Compostable™ label. (a) A manufacturer, distributor, or wholesaler may not
sell or offer for sale and any other person may not knowingly sell or offer for sale in this
state a plastie-bag covered product labeled "compostable" unless, at the time of sale or offer

for sale, the bag covered product:

(1) meets the ASTM Standard Specification for Cempestable Labeling of Plastics
Desrgned to be Aerobrcally Composted in Munlclpal or Industrral Facrhtres (D6400)—Eaeh

ASTM Standard Specrfrcatron for Labehng of End Items that Incorporate Plastics and

Polymers as Coatings or Additives with Paper and Other Substrates Designed to be
Acrobically Composted in Municipal or Industrial Facilities (D6868), or its successor, and
the covered product is labeled to reflect that it meets the specification;

(2) is comprised of only wood without any coatings or additives; or

(3) is comprised of only paper without any coatings or additives.

(b) A covered product labeled "compostable" and meeting the criteria under paragraph
(a) must be clearly and prominently labeled on the product, or on the product's smallest unit
of sale, to reflect that it is intended for an industrial or commercial compost facility. The
label required under this paragraph must be in a legible text size and font.

Subd. 2a. Certification of compostable products. Beginning January 1, 2024, a
manufacturer, distributor, or wholesaler may not sell or offer for sale and any other person
may not knowingly sell or offer for sale in this state a covered product labeled as
"compostable" unless the covered product is certified as meeting the requirements of
subdivision 2 by an entity that:

(1) is a nonprofit corporation;

(2) as its primary focus of operation, promotes the production, use, and appropriate end
of life for materials and products that are designed to fully biodegrade in specific biologically
active environments such as industrial composting; and

(3) is technically capable of and willing to perform analysis necessary to determine a
product's compliance with subdivision 2.

Subd. 3. Enforcement; civil penalty; injunctive relief. (a) A manufactarerdistributor;
or-wholesaler person who violates subdivision+or2 this section is subject to a civil or
administrative penalty of $100 for each prepackaged saleable unit sold or offered for “sale
up to a maximum of $5,000 and may be enjoined from those violations.

(b) The attorney general may bring an action in the name of the state in a court of
competent jurisdiction for recovery of civil penalties or for injunctive relief as provided in
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this subdivision. The attorney general may accept an assurance of discontinuance of acts
in violation of subdivisten—+er2 this section in the manner provided in section 8.31,
subdivision 2b.

(c) The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency may enforce this section under
sections 115.071 and 116.072.

(d) When requested by the attorney general or the commissioner of the Pollution Control
Agency, a person selling or offering for sale a covered product labeled as "compostable"
must furnish to the attorney general or the commissioner any information that the person
may have or may reasonably obtain that is relevant to show compliance with this section.

Subd. 4. Definitions. For purposes of this section, the following terms have the meanings
given:

(1) "ASTM" has the meaning given in section 296A.01, subdivision 6;

(2) "covered product" means a bag, food or beverage product, or packaging;

(3) "food or beverage product" means a product that is used to wrap, package, contain,
serve, store, prepare, or consume a food or beverage, such as plates, bowls, cups, lids, trays,
straws, utensils, and hinged or lidded containers; and

(4) "packaging" has the meaning given in section 115A.03, subdivision 22b.
EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2024.

Sec. 8. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325F.072, subdivision 1, is amended to read:

Subdivision 1. Definitions. (a) For the purposes of this section, the following terms have
the meanings given.

(b) "Class B firefighting foam" means foam designed forflammable-tiquid-fires to

prevent or extinguish a fire in flammable liquids, combustible liquids, petroleum greases,
tars, oils, oil-based paints, solvents, lacquers, alcohols, and flammable gases.

(c) "PFAS chemicals" or "perfluoroalkyl and polyfluoroalkyl substances" means;fer
the-purpeses-of firefightingagents; a class of fluorinated organic chemicals containing at

least one fully fluorinated carbon atom and-designed-to-be-fullyfunetionalinelass B
(d) "Political subdivision" means a county, city, town, or a metropolitan airports
commission organized and existing under sections 473.601 to 473.679.

(e) "State agency" means an agency as defined in section 16B.01, subdivision 2.

(f) "Testing" means calibration testing, conformance testing, and fixed system testing.
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Sec. 9. Minnesota Statutes 2020, section 325F.072, subdivision 3, is amended to read:

Subd. 3. Prohibition eftesting-and-training. (a) BeginningJuly1;2620; No person,
political subdivision, or state agency shall diseharge-elass Bfirefightingfoam-that-contains
ntentionally-added manufacture or knowingly sell, offer for sale, distribute for sale, or

distribute for use in this state, and no person shall use in this state, class B firefighting foam

containing PFAS chemicals:.
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(b) This subdivision does not apply to the manufacture, sale, distribution, or use of class
B firefighting foam for which the inclusion of PFAS chemicals is required by federal law,
including but not limited to Code of Federal Regulations, title 14, section 139.317. If a
federal requirement to include PFAS chemicals in class B firefighting foam is revoked after
January 1, 2023, class B firefighting foam subject to the revoked requirements is no longer
exempt under this paragraph effective one year following the day of revocation.

EFFECTIVE DATE. This section is effective January 1, 2023.
Sec. 10. PFAS WATER QUALITY STANDARDS.

The commissioner of the Pollution Control Agency must adopt rules establishing water
quality standards for perfluorooctanoic acid (PFOA) and perfluorooctanesulfonic acid
(PFOS). The commissioner must adopt the rules establishing the PFOA and PFOS water
quality standards by July 1, 2025, and Minnesota Statutes, section 14.125, does not apply.

Sec. 11. HEALTH RISK LIMIT; PERFLUOROOCTANE SULFONATE.

By July 1, 2024, the commissioner of health must amend the health risk limit for
perfluorooctane sulfonate (PFOS) in Minnesota Rules, part 4717.7860, subpart 15, so that
the health risk limit does not exceed 0.015 parts per billion. In amending the health risk
limit for PFOS, the commissioner must comply with Minnesota Statutes, section 144.0751,
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110.11 requiring a reasonable margin of safety to adequately protect the health of infants, children,
110.12 and adults.
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