## STATE OF MINNESOTA NINETEENTH MEETING HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES NINETY-SECOND SESSION

## EDUCATION POLICY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

Representative Hassan, Vice-Chair of the Education Policy Committee, called the virtual meeting to order at 1:00 PM on March 15, 2021, pursuant to House rule 10.01. The meeting was broadcast via Zoom and House Public Information Services. A quorum was present.

The Committee Legislative Assistant noted the roll.

Members present:

HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead **BENNETT**, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney **KEELER**, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused: RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair

Rep. Jordan moved that the minutes from March 12, 2021 be approved. THE MINUTES WERE ADOPTED.

Rep. Sandell presented HF 710.

Testifiers:

Joe Brown, Superintendent, Fairmont Public Schools

Vice-Chair Hassan moved that HF 710 be re-referred to the Education Finance Committee.

Vice-Chair Hassan renewed her motion that HF 710 be re-referred to the Education Finance Committee.

The chair instructed that there would be a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE:

HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair ERICKSON, Sondra, Lead **BENNETT**, Peggy BERG, Kaela BOE, Greg CHRISTENSEN, Shelly DRAZKOWSKI, Steve EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney **KEELER**, Heather MOLLER, Kelly MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members excused: RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair

On a vote of 18 AYES and 0 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Vice-Chair Hassan moved that HF 1188 be re-referred to the Education Finance Committee.

Rep. Morrison presented HF 1188.

Testifiers: Erica Yoney, Director of Health Services, Moorhead Area Public Schools Sandy Munson, School Nurse, Walker-Hackensack-Akeley School District

Vice-Chair Hassan renews her motion that HF 1188 be re-referred to the Education Finance Committee.

The chair instructed that there would be a roll call vote.

Members voting AYE: HASSAN, Hodan, Vice-Chair BERG, Kaela CHRISTENSEN, Shelly EDELSON, Heather FEIST, Sandra FRAZIER, Cedrick JORDAN, Sydney KEELER, Heather MOLLER, Kelly URDAHL, Dean WAZLAWIK, Ami

Members voting NAY: ERICKSON, Sondra DRAZKOWSKI, Steve BENNETT, Peggy BOE, Greg MUELLER, Patricia POSTON, John SCOTT, Peggy

Members excused: RICHARDSON, Ruth, Chair

On a vote of 11 AYES and 7 NAYS, THE MOTION PREVAILED.

Rep. Mueller moved that HF 699 be laid over for future consideration.

Rep. Mueller presented HF 699.

Testifiers: Mark Raymond, Austin Public Schools Christine Tucci Osorio, Superintendent, School District 622

Rep. Mueller renewed her motion that HF 699 be laid over for future consideration.

The committee was adjourned at 2:13 PM.